About Coach House Oklahoma City

6437 Avondale Drive
Oklahoma City, OK 73116
View Larger Map

Since 1985, The Coach House has been considered Oklahoma City's finest upscale restaurant. Under the experienced hand of Chef Kurt Fleischfresser, The Coach House offers an ever-changing seasonal cuisine highlighting the best local produce and regional specialties, prepared with classical perfection.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
63rd & Western

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 842-1000

Website:
http://www.thecoachhouseokc.com/

Catering:
Let us cater to your needs. We can customize a menu for groups of 20 to 300. We can provide hors d'oeuvres and bartenders for a cocktail party or servers and kitchen staff for a full service multi-course meal. We can arrange for all necessary rentals. Call (405) 842-1000 and ask for Sara (e-mail: sara@thecoachhouseokc.com). She can assist you in all details and menu planning. Planning your party is as easy as picking up the phone. Bring The Coach House to your house.

Executive Chef:
Kurt Fleischfresser

Private Party Facilities:
Quiet. Secluded. Intimate. Whether it's a rehearsal dinner or a corporate board meeting, The Coach House offers the very best in private dining services to suit your special event. In addition to outstanding food and drink, our experienced staff offers thoughtful, personalized service for you and your guests. Our fine restaurant presents an elegant ambiance, ensuring that your time with us will be an exceptional and memorable experience. Flexibility. That's what we're all about at The Coach House. We can plan the perfect menu for any special occasion or corporate function. We'll go out of our way to ensure that you have the most memorable and unique dining experience available in Oklahoma. Call us for assistance with your special occasion or event.

Private Party Contact:
Sara Dougherty: 405-842-1000

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Coach House Oklahoma City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Oklahoma City
Best Food
Oklahoma City
Best Service
Oklahoma City
15 More
Best Ambiance
Oklahoma City
Best Value
Oklahoma City
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Notable Wine List
Oklahoma City
Romantic
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Best Overall
Oklahoma City
Best Food
Oklahoma City
Best Service
Oklahoma City
Best Ambiance
Oklahoma City
Best Value
Oklahoma City
Fit for Foodies
Oklahoma City
Notable Wine List
Oklahoma City
Romantic
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Best Restaurants in Oklahoma City ›

romantic (11)
special occasion (9)
fit for foodies (8)
See All
notable wine list (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for lunch (3)
good for groups (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I will miss the Coach House.

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

I will miss the Coach House.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for up scale meal

Dined on February 5, 2016

This is our go to restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soon to be missed

Dined on February 5, 2016

Had to return here in it's next- to -last week. Quiet, understated excellence with exquisite food as always. Dover sole was delicately favored and delicious. Escargot with mushrooms and red wine sauce a great variant on a classic. Service was excellent. Wine list is extensive with moderately priced selections and oil-baron splurges alike. Looking forward to the reincarnation of this legendary restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite for special evenings.

Dined on January 22, 2016

Our favorite for special evenings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to place for specual occasions.

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Love everything about the Coach House. Will miss it when it closes. No place in OKC to take its place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One last time!

Dined on January 21, 2016

Knowing that The Coach House is closing to reopen with a new concept, my friend and I wanted to go one last time. We both had the lunch special - blackened salmon with Caesar salad and a glass of Cult Cabernet. Both were excellent. This is a place where we have always been able to converse. It's quiet and clubby feeling and we hope when it reopens that feeling remains. Excellent food and top service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Treat

Dined on January 20, 2016

We were treated very well by the staff from the beginning of our visit until the end. The food was outstanding from start to finish as well. I had a steak and my wife had fish. We both were very pleased with the taste and presentation. I would recommend this restaurant to any couple who wanted a special night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awsome dinner on my Aniversary

Dined on January 17, 2016

A friend recommended the Coach house to us for our 22yr anniversary, and it was great. My wife had a Curry Grouper meal, delish, and I had the surf and turf with potato's, it was very good, cooked just right. The server was very professional, the ambiance quaint, and the evening was delightful. They are going to remodel just after Valentines, but we will definitely go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hate to see the Coach House go!

Dined on January 16, 2016

The food at the Coach House is always superb! We have celebrated important dates there for many years and are quite sad to see it go. I know it will be back in another form, but it just won't be the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coach House Finale Superlative

Dined on January 6, 2016

After many years, eldest granddaughter and I enjoyed the Coach House for a final time. It is indeed closing in less than a month. True to past and present, that which it does, was done precisely and artistically with attention to all details culinary, artistic and service-wise. Wait staff superbly knowledgeable about every aspect of each dish. We'll miss you old friend. May your metamorphosis stay true to the past with a modicum of tomorrow. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Went with a friend who had never experie ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Went with a friend who had never experienced The Coach House before and wanted to check it out before the retool… Boy was she impressed! Attentive staff, perfect pace, delectable dishes, wonderful wine list and The perfect blend of fine dining and exceptional service! Can't wait to see the new concept coming in 2016!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the rack of lamb it is a must!!

Dined on December 29, 2015

Loved the rack of lamb it is a must!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always: fantastic

Dined on December 19, 2015

One of my favorite places for 18 years while passing through OK. Too bad they are going to change things. It was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, as expected

Dined on December 6, 2015

Apparently, Coach House will be ending its existence soon, which is much too bad for OKC and surrounding area. Nothing else in OKC comes close to competing with the Coach House for a high quality menu of choices, properly served for a first class dining experience. Yes they serve an excellent steak, if thats what you must have. For the rest of us, there are other choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening with fabulous food, marvel ...

Dined on November 24, 2015

Great evening with fabulous food, marvelous service, and nice and quiet!

food5
ambience3
service5

Interested to see what's next

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

Coach House is closing and revamping after Valentines Day and I'm anxious to see how our favorite wedding anniversary restaurant will change. The food and service has always been impeccable. This last visit was no exception but we were the only people there on a Thursday night. It was an 8:30 reservation so perhaps a bit late, but this place used to be full every night till closing. Maybe a little shake up will be good. A more interesting bar area, a little soft music, etc might be a good thing. And some food items that are at a little lesser price point won't kill the fine dining experience . Hope it doesn't change much though because I love this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As We've Become Accustom to Expect

Dined on November 19, 2015

Superb dinner to celebrate my 77 birthday. Our many previous pleasant dining experiences at The Coach House has spoiled us to the point that we expect nothing but. However, now that we have learned that they are closing, what shall we ever do??

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining is gone! Long live fine dining!

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

The 30th anniversary was a special event in several ways. Classic Coach House food AND drink with the service you have expected for 30 years. Enjoy it soon. It won't be around much longer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

RLL Birthday 11112015

Dined on November 12, 2015

My wife and I went to the Coach House for the first time for my 69th birthday. Our initial impression was of a small, intimate space with nice table separation. Our waiter, David, was excellent with detailed knowledge of how everything was prepared as well as the wine list. We each had a Caesar's salad. I had an excellent rack of lamb and my wife had the salmon which she enjoyed. We topped off the meals with the raspberry soufflé which were superb! We will definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Lunch at Coach House 3/4 times a year.

Dined on November 6, 2015

I eat at the Coach House for lunch three or four times a year. I like the place. I recalled the food being better on past visits. Perhaps the Chef changed recently.

food5
ambience5
service5

Coach House is a "Keeper"

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

The Coach House in Oklahoma City would be a real find anywhere. Very elegant, club-like decorating. Plenty of room between tables to keep conversations private. Beautiful table settings. The menu is smaller, allowing the kitchen staff to focus on preparing excellent plates. Menu selections are pricey. Wine list is complementary to the menu. Bar staff are experts at their craft. Coach House is a small place, so reservations strongly advised. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on October 24, 2015

We have been going to the Coach House for 16 years to celebrate our Anniversary. We wanted a special place to celebrate and we found it on our 5th Anniversary and we have been back every year since then. The staff is wonderful, the atmosphere is quiet and romantic, and the food is impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the lamb chops. They were maybe th ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

I had the lamb chops. They were maybe the best lamb chops I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a Wonderful Experience

Dined on October 4, 2015

Absolutely perfect. The end of a perfect week in Oklahoma - one of the best dining experiences ever, and we've dined all over the world!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

Dined on September 20, 2015

I absolutely love this place. The food is absolutely amazing. I would highly recommend anyone that can make a reservation now.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Indeed, for a Special Occasion

Dined on September 5, 2015

You can't go wrong in booking a table at this well know establishment for a special occasion. The food is prepared by a master chef trained by the mast of chefs. Presentation is perfect and the setting is outstanding. The wait staff is well trained.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great dining experience! Great fo ...

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

Such a great dining experience! Great food, service & ambience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best service in town

Dined on August 23, 2015

Great food, great environment, and fantastic, personalized service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Birthday Lunch

Dined on August 18, 2015

Took my mother for her 85th birthday. It was perfect for us. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Business Lunch

Dined on August 18, 2015

The Coach House is a wonderful place for a business lunch. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is quiet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Poor reservation execution; caused a goo ...

Dined on August 14, 2015

Poor reservation execution; caused a good dining experience into a frustating experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Special restaurant

Dined on August 3, 2015

This is an elegant restaurant which is sufficiently quiet to allow conversation with your table mates. The food is terrific and beautifully presented. Although a little pricey, this is the restaurant we always choose for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a perfect meal and evening at ...

Dined on July 8, 2015

We enjoyed a perfect meal and evening at The Coach House! The ambiance was perfect for a romantic dinner. The tone was set from the beginning when our waiter delivered a spoon of ceviche for each of us from the chef. An unexpected and very pleasant, not to mention delicious, surprise. We started with a chesse tray, followed by casear salad. I had the lamb with cherry compote .... and my mouth was in heaven! My dinner date had the No Name Ranch rib eye. We ended with their Grand Marnier souffle, which was possibly the best dessert I've ever tasted! Truly! I didn't think the lamb could be topped, but the souffle was amazing beyond words! Order it at the beginning of your meal, since it is made fresh "to order. It is worth the wait! We also enjoyed a fabulous bottle of wine. Since my date ordered, I didn't see the list, but he commented that they had a very nice list to choose from. All I can say is that the wine was fabulous and not a drop was left. It was a Darioush cab. Finally, our waiter was superb! He was knowledgeable about the menu, food preparation, history of the area and the building, as well as helpful with a list minute surprise for me! As we left, my well-traveled date remarked that he had found a new favorite place and would definitely return. I whole-heartedly agree!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food, and atmoshpere, pricey but worth it.

Dined on July 3, 2015

Great mainstay resturant for OKC. Very consistent

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS A PLEASURE

vip
Dined on June 5, 2015

I dine at Coach House whenever possible. ( I do not live in Oklahoma City.) The food is always carefully prepared, and is equal to any other restuarant in the US or Europe. (In my experience.) The wine list is good, but has fewer mid-range bottles, than on my last visit. The half-bottle menu is pretty good, and an excellent choice for the solo diner. The waiter, (like many in Oklahoma,) seemed not to be aware of the difference between Champagne and sparking wine produced in other areas. There was only one Champagne by the glass, but it was a good small producer from Vezelay. It is annoying to ask what champage is available by the glass, and first be offered cava or spumante or even Loire petulant, before finally arriving at champagne. The service was efficient, and the food arrived in good order, without excessive haste or bustle. The foie gras appetizer was excellent, the lamb exactly right, and the Frangelico souffle a pleasure. It is the #1 restaurant in Oklahoma, and I plan to patronize it frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Food

vip
Dined on May 31, 2015

The food is fabulous. The place is quiet and perfect for a quiet dinner. The service lacked at times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A new favorite

Dined on May 14, 2015

Took my wife and the couple that introduced us to dinner for wife's birthday and had an as enjoyable experience as we have had in many years. The atmosphere was wonderful. It was not loud so we could enjoy our conversation, the service was exceptional and the food was excellent. This place was recommended to me by a friend a number of years ago, but unfortunately I never took the opportunity to experience it until now. It moved to the top of the list for a new place to eat for either romantic or important business dinners. Especially enjoyed the conversation with Steve our waiter. He knew his food. You would not have needed a reservation the night we ate; however, it is highly recommended you take the time to make one. And what better way than utilizing "Open Table".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our 25th Anniversary. We wer ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2015

We went for our 25th Anniversary. We were treated like royalty. They really helped make our day special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food

Dined on April 18, 2015

Best food in OKC. Not a wide menu, but there is a variety. Everything is fresh and high-end. The chef uses few, but interesting ingredients that really lets the food be the star. Great cozy ambiance with outstanding service. Perfect for a special occasion, business dinner, or date night treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Sets the standard high

Dined on April 17, 2015

The Coach House consistently meets and exceeds my expectations of excellence in dining. The food, the ambience and service are top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.