About Cliffside Restaurant

511 S. Airport Road
St. George, UT 84770
View Larger Map

Welcome to Cliffside Restaurant! We are located directly on the cliff above the boulevard, overlooking the scenic St. George valley. Nestled right next to the beautifully renovated hotel Inn on The Cliff, the restaurant offers not only an amazing view but also a unique experience that you will not find anywhere else in southern Utah.

Cliffside Restaurant boasts a huge open dining room with giant windows, offering every seat in the restaurant an unprecedented view. For an even better view the restaurant has a 48 seat, glassed rail patio that is perfect for a romantic dinner or casual Saturday brunch with friends and family. Also offering a very large banquet room, Cliffside gives customers the option for a quick company lunch meeting or any bride's dream wedding party. The restaurant is also proud to offer a very discreet private dining room that literally hangs over the cliff, sure to make any special occasion unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(435) 216-5864

Website:
http://www.cliffsiderestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jared Painter

Additional:
Banquet, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View

Cliffside Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

5.0

value

5.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Scenic View (1)
See All
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
64 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my first visit to the Cliffside R ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was my first visit to the Cliffside Restaurant. It was nice. I ordered the flat iron steak and it was missing seasoning.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It's all about the view

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

We don't venture to St. George that often. Wanted to try something scenic and this is certainly the place for that! The menu is pretty limited and there is only beer and wine which was a disappointment but not unheard of in Utah. The food was pretty good. All in all, you're paying for the view I think. I would go back to try the patio sitting.

A little disappointing that we had a reservation and there was an open table near the window overlooking the view but we weren't offered that table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

St. George at its Best

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 15, 2015

Unfortunately we originally made this reservation so that out of town guests could enjoy the view, but it was a horribly windy night and the view was obscured! However, the food and service were very good, and the menu was eclectic enough to meet everyone's tastes. I would recommend sitting at least one row back from the window if you want the view, as the hillside on which the restaurant sits is not very attractive to look at. We did enjoy our meal very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Portions

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 15, 2015

The seafood portions have gotten smaller compared to prior dinners,

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wine!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 9, 2015

For the second time they were out of the wine we wanted. The first time it was the house Pinot Grigio and this last time it was the house white Zinfandel. This is too good a restaurant for this to happen!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Healthy food options limited, not romantic.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 31, 2015

Food was ok for the price. We visit many fine dining establishments. For most in southern UT, this will feel like fine dining. For someone well traveled, it will feel plain.

The tables need to be wiped down as the meal progresses. I would recommend tablecloth and scraping tools.

They did not box our leftovers for us, which at this price range and their attempt to feel 'upscale', seemed like a major miss.

Waters ran dry a few times.

Staff was nice although the cooks were a bit scrubby looking. We may return someday simply due to the lack of choices in St. George

View is great! Noise is well controlled considering the open room. Not a romantic setting IMO.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Lunch was soDelicious and presentation s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2015

Lunch was soDelicious and presentation so lovely we decided to come back for dinner. Lunch server, Josh, was excellent and Sooo professional. Then at dinner, we loved our window table and Austin spoiled us as our server. Really yummy dinner and then the BEST Chocolate Molten cake I've ever had!! It also had really good vanilla ice cream beside it too. I am a snob about ice cream as I am partial to Blue Bell homemade vanilla, so theirs was awfully good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!! Our server at lunch was Josh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 24, 2015

Fabulous!! Our server at lunch was Josh was very attentive and then dinner we had Ausin who was also very good! Their training was excellent and knew the menue backwards and forwards so could help guide us in selections. Wonderful restaurant and gorgeous setting .... A muse for dining!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sgu 2014

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

tried dinner one last time. INCONSISTENT ,as always. chicken fried chicken

OVERCOOKED. we even made sure to tell our waitress to please tell the chef

NOT to over fry like they had done previously more than once. again, food ok;

not great.

we will only do lunch here from now on. less expensive and more enjoyable.

the pork carnita appetizer will be my new entree and the sorbet will be our

new dessert.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

A Must See and Do in St. George

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

Everything was excellent....food, service, ambience, etc....the view, however steals the show!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

I was very impressed with the friendly staff. The food was excellent and as we left we both commended on how enjoyable it had been. We will definitely return. Our server was Beau, and he was so friendly and very helpful in all our needs. He made our dining experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

could be better

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

This place could be much better if out had a bat to wait at while you are waiting to be seated,

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Cliff Side Restaurant more than a view

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 8, 2015

Surprisingly the food was well thought out, well prepared and presented. The wait staff was helpful and they have filled my request for a window seat both times I have made reservations. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best Place I've Been To

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

The service was the best I've ever seen. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The food was by far the best that my wife and I have ever tested. The chef deserves to be recognized for the perfect way the meal was cooked and how everything worked so well together. We will be coming back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch with Wife

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

After raving about lunch at the Cliffside with some men from the neighborhood my wife wanted to try it. So we had lunch on Saturday and it was as good as the previous lunch. I have now tried the Rustic Tomato soup and the Butternut Squash soup. Both are wonderful. The Coconut Shrimp and a bowl of soup makes a perfect lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Lunch

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 24, 2015

A group of 5 men from the neighborhood have lunch together once a month. We try different restaurants each time. Our lunch at Cliffside was outstanding. The lunch special was very good overall and the two soups that were tried at our table, the Rustic Tomato and the Butternut Squash, were outstanding. We will return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, amateur service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

We very much enjoyed our evening at Cliffside. The view and food were very good. We had the house salad with their honey vinaigrette. The salad was very tasty and suitable to open for the main course. We both had a ribeye steak special. The steaks were cooked correctly and delicious. The view of st George is also enjoyable. I like restaurants that are quiet enough to allow for a pleasant conversation.

Now the amateur side. As the salad was served, we had to ask for bread. As our steaks were served, we had to ask for steak knives. Although the waiter was pleasant, it must have been his first week. When we arrived, we asked if a table was available at the window. The hostess left us standing among the tables for 10 minutes while she figured out they could not seat us at the window while people nearby wondered why we were standing there. I had previewed the on-line menu and was ready to order prime rib. I found out that the menu had been changed the day before and prime rib had been deleted. Ok, but disappointing.

Nice evening and place if you have patience

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Great view , good food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

View was special , as promised . Service was efficient and pleasant . Would be happy to go back and recommend to others. On a side note , left my glasses on the table and was able to retreive them the next day , always a good sign

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Gorgeous view of beautiful St. George

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2015

We dined here on Tuesday, February, 17 and it was surprisingly busy! A little bit noisy because of that - but the food was delicious, the service exceptional, and the view - well - beyond compare! We think everyone at Cliffside did a great job - if we lived closer - we'd return regularly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Iffy beginnings.....marvelous conclusion

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

My review for Cliffside is top of the line. My review of Open Table is not so great. After using Open Table to make my reservation, we found that the table assigned to us was outside on the patio? This is February, and even though St. George is having a very mild winter, we did not want or plan to eat outside for our special Valentine's Day dinner. After finding out that this had been done without our consent, we were given the best remaining inside table at a much later time than we had planned originally. The manager was profoundly sorry for the misinformation from Open Table and gave us a perfect window table for our late night meal. The meal was prix fix and was excellent. We were not surprised by the food, service or view as we had eaten there before. The chef outdid himself for this holiday meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice location, food was fine.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Nice location, food was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good, but relatively expensive

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

The one reason to go to this restaurant is for the view. The food was good, but expensive for the quality. Nothing unique that would warrant prices that high. Good service, to the extent that we were done in just over an hour. Don't let them seat you in the side room; you still have the view, but it is drafty and not nearly as nice as the main dining area. I might rate it higher if we had been in the main area.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The food and service was great!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

The food and service was freat and the views of the city are to die for. It was very loud so I wish we would have sat outside so we could have had better conversation. All in all it was a great night out with friends and I would go back any time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good food with a view

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 23, 2015

Only had the fish tacos which were good but not outstanding. The view and the service set this restaurant apart.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was really good the service was gre ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 22, 2015

Food was really good the service was great however I think the ambience could be improved with more ways to buffer the sound in the room. Also tablecloth's would be a nice touch and some mood lighting of some sort maybe some nice piano music soft sounds to make more romantic. That will go along with the beautiful scene of St. George below.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

sgu top 3!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 21, 2015

was a little disappointed when we had dinner here a few weeks back. inconsistent all around.

decided to come back to lunch after writing a less than stellar review. SEEMED TO HAVE read

review and made changes. chicken fried chicken not OVERCOOKED.perfect. wine prices @ $6

a glass ok.....better than the $9 @ dinner. place seemed a little empty for 1:00pm on a weekday

WEDNESDAY? all the FEMALE waitresses seemed to be getting it done!

PULLING FOR THIS RESTAURANT.ONE OF THE BEST RESTAURANT VEWS I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY ADULT LIFE. AMAZING.....not to even mention their COOL,CONTEMPORARY adjacent hotel.

WOW!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid food with a stunning view

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on December 27, 2014

Solid food with a stunning view from atop a cliff, overlooking St. George. Filet steak special was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Favorite Restaurant

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 10, 2014

This is my favorite restaurant and I bring all my friends and guest to Cliffside. The food is excellent and the staff are very people oriented. The view tops off the experience but if it weren't for the good food and staff the view wouldn't matter.

I also like that it isn't child friendly. There are plenty of places in St. George where people can take their children. So it is nice to have a more ADULT atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fine dining experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 25, 2014

I always bring guests to The Cliffside for the delicious food but also for the amazing view of St. George. The service is excellent and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the Finest Meals Ever!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 23, 2014

My two sisters & I came back to St. George after a day, outdoors & driving in the car, visiting Bryce Canyon Nat. Park. Cleaned up, had some wine then to Cliffside for dinner. They had a pork chop special that one of my sisters & I split, salads, and a bottle of wine. The special dinner was one of the finest tasting meals that I have ever had. Dorothy, owner, was charming & gracious...she took us to see one of the rooms in the adjacent motel, Inn on the Cliff, that she and her husband own. Both motel & restaurant were tastefully contemporary, clean, and neat as a pin. Great dinner conclusion to a wonderful full day. I would guess that Cliffside is the best or one of the very best restaurants in St. George. They have only been open a few months, prices were reasonable. Try it if you are in St. George for the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Above average for St George, Food was go ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 19, 2014

Above average for St George, Food was good, views were spectular wine list limited service and staff very helpful , to cold to sit outside but it looked lovely

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A keeper in St George.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

It's wonderful to have a good restaurant in town with good food and a great view. Sky is a wonderful young man and does a good job as a server. The food has been consistent and hopefully will continue to be.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

great yet annoyed!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

I loved the scene, very beautiful!! I just didn't like that the waiter didn't mention that the 'special' was a special dinner, not a special price. When we got our bill, we were a bit annoyed, I think they should have mentioned that during the spill! But, it is what it is.. nothing we can do about it now!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fantastic views

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 6, 2014

Wonderful views of the red rocks and city from all tables. Food is reasonably priced. Great chocolate molten cake!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice restaurant, amateur staff.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

In St. George, Utah, this restaurant is probably one of the best prepared plates available. And the view from the dining room would be difficult to beat. Sadly, the only negative I have is that I was told by the front staff that we were being seated late because we had used Open Table. They let my guests know that had I called in, I would have been seated on time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Another fine dining experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

The Cliffside Restaurant is perfect for taking guests from out of town....the view of St. George and the surrounding mountain scenery is magnificent. The menu is diverse for everyone's dietary requirements....especially delicious are the fish tacos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Love the View!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 28, 2014

An exceptional view and good food is hard to beat. Very convenient to reserve a table online. We have a group of ladies that like to go out for lunch at least once a month and this is one of our favorite places to go. Love the molten chocolate cake! I think we have tried most of the menu items and haven't had a bad meal yet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

INCREDIBLE VIEWS & FOOD

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 19, 2014

The views of the city are incredible and the food presentation, service and overall experience is superior. We had the salmon and fish tacos for our entree and both were outstanding. The salmon salad is also a good main dish. We have dined here several times and each time has been excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and great food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Was recommended to try Cliffside by a friend. It was a great restaurant. We loved the service and the view. We brought a 4 year old and a 8 year old.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful and and great dining

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

Cliffside is a great little gem. The view is spectacular and the food offers a great range to please the whole family. The staff was very welcoming and friendly and made a lunch very enjoyable. If you are visiting from out of town, you must make this one of your dining stops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.