Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Clearie's Restaurant and Lounge

Welcome to Clearie’s Restaurant and Lounge, with a warm a friendly atmosphere we offer a new fine dining experience in Redding. Let us enhance your dining experience with mouthwatering appetizers, signature entrées, and outrageously delicious desserts. Did we mention our smokin' martinis?

Our extraordinary menu selections resonate with the zesty spices and creamy sauces that make our restaurant one of the best. Whether you join us for lunch, dinner, or take your favorites home, you’ll discover why everyone raves about Clearie’s Restaurant and Lounge.

1325 Eureka Way
Redding, CA 96001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 241-4535

Website:
http://cleariesrestaurant.com/

Clearie's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Historic (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Clearie's is the best in Redding for a nice meal. For the overall dining package of good food, excellent service and nice, relaxed atmosphere this is our first choice.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Please read full review in Tripadvisor, You will find a wonderful review there

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My chicken dish with asparagus and brie cheese over risotto with spinach and mushrooms was absolutely delicious!! My husband's meal was very disappointing for him. He ordered a medium rare new york steak and it came extra rare and very tough. He tried to eat it but had to take it home in a to go box. Our waiter checked with us to see if we liked our meal and I gave a thumbs up but my husband didn't respond. He didn't give Cleary's a chance to make it right. I loved my butternut squash and parsnip soup...amazing! Sourdough bread with garlic butter was very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Celebrated my daughters 58th birthday there and as always, the service was excellent, the food was outstanding, the hostess was most gracious as was our server and we appreciated the fact that the chef came around to the table to ask how we were enjoying our meal. Also a suprise birthday dessert was brought after dinner! Great time. Thank you all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Doc Clearies Hilltop Restaurant was my all time favorite back in the day. We would take the 35 mile trip to Redding for special occasions. My favorite dish was the sweetbreads. I will have to say, they are not the same here. The recipe was published in the Ford Times magazine, which is currently on display on their walls in the bar. (I still have a copy of that issue in the recipe book rack.) The original recipe was a white sauce, with white wine. They now make it with a brown sauce and red wine. The brown sauce is probably flavored out of a bottle. There was more mushrooms than sweet breads in the dish.

My wife's filet was not cooked as she requested. She also questioned the baby potatoes, she thought they may not have been trimmed of defects as well as they should have been. I suggested she should request a baked potato instead (if they have that option).

Of course I know "you can't go home again", but with the write-ups recently, we hoped for better. I hope that Clearies can succeed as an upscale establishment. I really want to "go home again".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Once again the meal was delicious. I always try something new but went back to an old favorite the Champagne Salad with Grilled chicken so good. My husband always orders the Hot Pastrami Sandwich which he says is the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Never disappointed with Clearie's food or service! The noise level can reach pretty loud if there is a large party at a table. Dining room is cozy, but not really a good fit for large groups. The food, service, ambience, wine selection, bar etc are all outstanding. We are locals, so now they pretty much know our faces. Clearie's is the #1 place to eat for us as a couple! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Lived up to its great reputation as usual! The only reason I didn't give the food 5 stars instead of 4 is that the special that I ordered was just not my most fave or flavorful dish I've had there but ultimately it is a 5 star dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place to eat and enjoy a date. Service,food,ambiance was excellent. They are the number one restaurant in Redding in our eyes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband and I went to Clarie's for our anniversary dinner. The food was excellent, even though they were out of prime rib.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

put us in a tiny booth in a far corner of the place. menu is very limited. No fish except $75 abalone. Best thing about the place is their generous cocktails and good service. Food was average. I do better at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Clearie's for either lunch or dinner. Love the atmosphere, the service and the food. Everything about Clearie's is a huge cut above most restaurants. You combine that with consistency and Clearie's is a real gem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Clearie's is easily our favorite dinner spot in Redding. The food is consistently excellent and the service top-notch. My wife often has the filet and it is always cooked perfectly. I like to rove around the menu and explore the interesting variety. When we are looking for low-carb meals, it is never a problem to substitute a green veggie for the potatoes. There are a few specials before 6:00 and I suggest reservations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Third time we've been here and this time was Valentine's Day. Service was fantastic, prompt, attentive and friendly. Martinis were great, prime rib was perfect and atmosphere is perfect for enjoying a nice dinner. Very fair value for the opportunity to treat yourself to something better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very attentive great service
Husband happy with high end scotch

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again, we were well taken care of, and made to feel welcome as old friends. Lastly, our meals were beyond expectations delicious and expertly prepared and presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great for special occasions. Nice ambiance. Really good service. Good food. Like most restraints, best if not a general holiday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband always has the pastrami sandwich with garlic fries I always try to try something new. I had the crab/shrimp louie it was so good. So far haven't had a bad meal yet. Love the servers love the food. The cocktails are great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Classy. Tasty. Invitingly comfortable. Great food, service and atmosphere. Try fresh salmon on the champagne salad! Recommend again and again. Namaste 🕉

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Chef prepared special dish for this vegan visitor from San Francisco. Nice wine selection and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was good but expensive for Redding. Lots of meals had mushrooms so not much choice if you don't like those. Also many desserts had nuts so again not great if you're allergic or don't like nuts. Food took a long time but tasted good. Service was friendly. Would come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Once again had a great meal. My husband always has the Pastrami sandwich with garlic fries. I always get something different, This time I had the half sandwich with the cup of soup which was a BLT with New England Clam Chowder, both were so good. Cocktails were excellent too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Amazing ambiance, great service, outstanding menu prepared superbly, fantastic specials! It's a cozy setting great for date night & special occasions.
Parking can be tricky due to it becoming more and more popular and it's a small intimate location, but it is well worth finding a place to park! Highly recommended for a memorable evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We always look forward to dining there. It is such a welcoming experience - best service we have found in Redding. You would expect the menu to match and it does. No wonder everyone there is happy. Be sure to make reservations so you don't miss out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My wife, daughters, and I started at the bar with very good house Cabernet Sauvignon at happy hour. The dinner was fantastic and the service exceptional! The atmosphere makes you feel special. This is my favorite Redding restaurant. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Been there several times and the food was excellent. But for some reason the food was less than desirable. Was actually going to call the next day to inquire if the had a new chef. The menu had changed and was quite surprised at what was on it. Anyway hope they figure it out. The risotto was mushy and had no flavor and the put a poached egg on top of a rolled up piece of sole that was raw and cold. Ooooops. Not nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Good food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Even with a reservation, we waited an hour to be seated, another half an hour to order and yet another half hour for the meal to be delivered. As we left, the busboy was in the ladies room and there was disinfectant all over the toilet seats and floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It's a great place to eat! We haven't had a bad meal in the half dozen times we've dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We love Clearie's but it seemed to be an off night. We had a reservation for 6:30 and had to wait more than 1/2 hour to be seated. It took a long time to get our drinks, our appetizer ticket was lost (we rec'd free dessert) and 2 of our orders were not quite what we ordered - medium rather than medium rare and one dinner came without veggies. We'll come back, but it wasn't their best night for us. Thankfully the friends made it worthwhile!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

great place. only complaint is not enough parking. everything else was fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

New in Redding, first time at Clearie's. Impressed with the food quality and preparation, menu, prices, friendly people, ambiance. My checked reasons to recommend are based on that one visit. I expect I'll find more reasons in the future. Both my dinner and my lady's dinner were excellent. I will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience on New Year's Eve. We were also celebrating my husband's birthday. The staff was great, very courtesy and professional, they took great care of us, they were flexible and helpful dealing with my husband's avoidance of gluten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner, good food, relaxing, some good smoking drinks. Great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been here numerous times and we ALWAYS find both great food and excellent service. All of your waiters/waitresses are well trained and very accommodating. The food here rates near the top for the Redding area. Never had even a mediocre meal. Excellent and I would recommend to anyone!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was slow; food was very good. Not a busy night but the waiter was not very attentive. The water person was very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I took my husband to Clearies for his birthday dinner. The wait staff was excellent. The menu is fabulous. Although the main menu is spendy, they offer affordable happy hour options and a few entrees that are only $16 before 6pm, making Clearies affordable and enjoyable in any budget! It is one of the nicest restaurants in Redding!!!! We had awesome food, a wonderful time, and will be back for sure! They even treated my hubby to a special bday dessert that was yummy and fun and topped off our dinner perfectly. :-)

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

really special eating experience, each person ordered something yummy and fantastic. Cioppino authentic robust full of best seafood....the grilled chicken on my salad generous succulent....blackberry lavender hot ice martini festive and potent, the gluten free choco cake utterly perfect and they even gave us an extra slice to share....my family goes here every Christmas (eve)after we open gifts. Thanks to the chef, he also came out and greeted each table!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great restaurant. Amazing food. Professional staff.
Definitely will be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.