Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Clearie's Restaurant and Lounge

Welcome to Clearie’s Restaurant and Lounge, with a warm a friendly atmosphere we offer a new fine dining experience in Redding. Let us enhance your dining experience with mouthwatering appetizers, signature entrées, and outrageously delicious desserts. Did we mention our smokin' martinis?

Our extraordinary menu selections resonate with the zesty spices and creamy sauces that make our restaurant one of the best. Whether you join us for lunch, dinner, or take your favorites home, you’ll discover why everyone raves about Clearie’s Restaurant and Lounge.

1325 Eureka Way
Redding, CA 96001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 241-4535

Website:
http://cleariesrestaurant.com/

Clearie's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (11)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently good upscale restaurant in Redding CA

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Once again Clears never disappoints.I had the Sesame Ahi salad it was delicious. My husband had the Crab and Shrimp Louie he was really impressed. I love the fact that you can get a large glass of wine.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food, good drinks, good service and nice ambiance!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Clearie's is a two block walk from the delightful Bridgehouse B & B.
The first selection on the menu is a bacon wrapped fillet mignon meatloaf,
which I highly recommend.
Leslie is the executive chef and has been there since the restaurant opened six years ago.
The wine list is very extensive and they also have a featured wine selection of the month.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

cool local restaurant. great swordfish special, grilled hearts of romaine salad, Good Hearth bread with garlic cloves from a local bakery. Sweetbread appetizer was unusual and good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went to Clearie's on the recommendation of a friend, and it was well worth it. The food was well-prepared and delicious. Our server could have been more attentive, but the restaurant was full at the time and the other staff took up the slack. We enjoyed our meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Clearie's is excellent in service, cuisine, ambiance, and presentation.
Chef Les is a master with creativity and flavor matching, we have followed his career and he just keeps getting better and better!
Robbie Clearie is a fabulous restaurateur who always makes us feel welcome and at home in her establishment.
The wine list is excellent and the service from both wait staff and busser support is top notch.
We highly recommend this restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family has visited the restaurant many times over the past few years and have always had a pleasant experience! 4/5 of my family went this time for Mothers Day!
The food was excellent however the menu was weak on offerings, and the service was not up to par and it wasn't that crowded!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was a bit strange but all in all a great Mothers Day Brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my 2nd time dining. Everything was perfect. I will recommend this place👍

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was so good and the wine list is a good one too :)

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was fantastic, escargot app, mango curry halibut, bread pudding dessert. The four of us had a great time. Others had prime rib meatloaf and catfish which were equally as good. Just a perfect dinner!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Super delicious, great service, comfortable booths----best restaurant we have eaten at in Redding. We will return with guests and will recommend Clearies to others!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

ALWAYS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, FOOD--SERVICE AND ATMOSPHERE. HARD TO BEAT!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I am not sure why this place getting four stars. The the chicken as well as prime rib was mediocre. I have eaten better food at Danny's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was mixed - good duck breast, ahi tuna below par, chicken "special of the day" very good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Clearie's is the best in Redding for a nice meal. For the overall dining package of good food, excellent service and nice, relaxed atmosphere this is our first choice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Please read full review in Tripadvisor, You will find a wonderful review there

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My chicken dish with asparagus and brie cheese over risotto with spinach and mushrooms was absolutely delicious!! My husband's meal was very disappointing for him. He ordered a medium rare new york steak and it came extra rare and very tough. He tried to eat it but had to take it home in a to go box. Our waiter checked with us to see if we liked our meal and I gave a thumbs up but my husband didn't respond. He didn't give Cleary's a chance to make it right. I loved my butternut squash and parsnip soup...amazing! Sourdough bread with garlic butter was very good too.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Celebrated my daughters 58th birthday there and as always, the service was excellent, the food was outstanding, the hostess was most gracious as was our server and we appreciated the fact that the chef came around to the table to ask how we were enjoying our meal. Also a suprise birthday dessert was brought after dinner! Great time. Thank you all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Doc Clearies Hilltop Restaurant was my all time favorite back in the day. We would take the 35 mile trip to Redding for special occasions. My favorite dish was the sweetbreads. I will have to say, they are not the same here. The recipe was published in the Ford Times magazine, which is currently on display on their walls in the bar. (I still have a copy of that issue in the recipe book rack.) The original recipe was a white sauce, with white wine. They now make it with a brown sauce and red wine. The brown sauce is probably flavored out of a bottle. There was more mushrooms than sweet breads in the dish.

My wife's filet was not cooked as she requested. She also questioned the baby potatoes, she thought they may not have been trimmed of defects as well as they should have been. I suggested she should request a baked potato instead (if they have that option).

Of course I know "you can't go home again", but with the write-ups recently, we hoped for better. I hope that Clearies can succeed as an upscale establishment. I really want to "go home again".

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Once again the meal was delicious. I always try something new but went back to an old favorite the Champagne Salad with Grilled chicken so good. My husband always orders the Hot Pastrami Sandwich which he says is the best.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Never disappointed with Clearie's food or service! The noise level can reach pretty loud if there is a large party at a table. Dining room is cozy, but not really a good fit for large groups. The food, service, ambience, wine selection, bar etc are all outstanding. We are locals, so now they pretty much know our faces. Clearie's is the #1 place to eat for us as a couple! You won't be disappointed!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Lived up to its great reputation as usual! The only reason I didn't give the food 5 stars instead of 4 is that the special that I ordered was just not my most fave or flavorful dish I've had there but ultimately it is a 5 star dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place to eat and enjoy a date. Service,food,ambiance was excellent. They are the number one restaurant in Redding in our eyes.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband and I went to Clarie's for our anniversary dinner. The food was excellent, even though they were out of prime rib.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

put us in a tiny booth in a far corner of the place. menu is very limited. No fish except $75 abalone. Best thing about the place is their generous cocktails and good service. Food was average. I do better at home.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Clearie's for either lunch or dinner. Love the atmosphere, the service and the food. Everything about Clearie's is a huge cut above most restaurants. You combine that with consistency and Clearie's is a real gem!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Clearie's is easily our favorite dinner spot in Redding. The food is consistently excellent and the service top-notch. My wife often has the filet and it is always cooked perfectly. I like to rove around the menu and explore the interesting variety. When we are looking for low-carb meals, it is never a problem to substitute a green veggie for the potatoes. There are a few specials before 6:00 and I suggest reservations.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Third time we've been here and this time was Valentine's Day. Service was fantastic, prompt, attentive and friendly. Martinis were great, prime rib was perfect and atmosphere is perfect for enjoying a nice dinner. Very fair value for the opportunity to treat yourself to something better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very attentive great service
Husband happy with high end scotch

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again, we were well taken care of, and made to feel welcome as old friends. Lastly, our meals were beyond expectations delicious and expertly prepared and presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great for special occasions. Nice ambiance. Really good service. Good food. Like most restraints, best if not a general holiday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband always has the pastrami sandwich with garlic fries I always try to try something new. I had the crab/shrimp louie it was so good. So far haven't had a bad meal yet. Love the servers love the food. The cocktails are great

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Classy. Tasty. Invitingly comfortable. Great food, service and atmosphere. Try fresh salmon on the champagne salad! Recommend again and again. Namaste 🕉

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Chef prepared special dish for this vegan visitor from San Francisco. Nice wine selection and excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was good but expensive for Redding. Lots of meals had mushrooms so not much choice if you don't like those. Also many desserts had nuts so again not great if you're allergic or don't like nuts. Food took a long time but tasted good. Service was friendly. Would come back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Once again had a great meal. My husband always has the Pastrami sandwich with garlic fries. I always get something different, This time I had the half sandwich with the cup of soup which was a BLT with New England Clam Chowder, both were so good. Cocktails were excellent too.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Amazing ambiance, great service, outstanding menu prepared superbly, fantastic specials! It's a cozy setting great for date night & special occasions.
Parking can be tricky due to it becoming more and more popular and it's a small intimate location, but it is well worth finding a place to park! Highly recommended for a memorable evening

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.