Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Clearie's Restaurant and Lounge

Welcome to Clearie’s Restaurant and Lounge, with a warm a friendly atmosphere we offer a new fine dining experience in Redding. Let us enhance your dining experience with mouthwatering appetizers, signature entrées, and outrageously delicious desserts. Did we mention our smokin' martinis?

Our extraordinary menu selections resonate with the zesty spices and creamy sauces that make our restaurant one of the best. Whether you join us for lunch, dinner, or take your favorites home, you’ll discover why everyone raves about Clearie’s Restaurant and Lounge.

1325 Eureka Way
Redding, CA 96001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 241-4535

Website:
http://cleariesrestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour

Clearie's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Very impressed with this restaurant , I am from SF but lived the majority of my life in sonoma county. This absolutely would fit nicely in the high quality restaurants in those locations. Very impressed with our service from when we walked in the door till when we left. Everything was excellent . Food and drink menu was fantastic and dessert for "special occassion" was unique. Our waiter was attentive and very cordial and easy to talk to. He had excellent knowledge of all you served and it was no problem for me to change how i wanted my champagne cocktail (with chambord instead of sugar cube and bitters). .. Keep up the good work - I have already referred you to many people and for sure will be back. Why havent' i been here before? Thank you for such a wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

What an absolutely wonderful dining experience!! My sister and I had a small family dinner celebration for our father who recently turned 96. The ambiance was perfect, the employees were gracious, the food was amazing, and service was impeccable. A little on the pricey side, but that’s ok for that “special occasion.”

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My husband and I went for my Birthday dinner. Ambiance was great, servers were very friendly. Took our order quickly. Food arrived right on time. Food portion seemed small, but was so rich tasting, I could barely finish it. I ordered Scallops, which was the special for the night. They were cooked to perfection. I highly recommend this place for any special occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

First time in and I must say it was fabulous. We had such a fun time and awesome food. Absolutely great service and comfortable atmosphere. 5 stars plus!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The food was very good and the service was also very good. They played music from the 40s and 50s, which added to the ambiance. We arrived kind of late so there was no wait. Seems to be a popular place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I hosted a business related dinner at Clearies. The food was as good as ever and the service was excellent. The specials sounded awesome but the standard menu won the day for all my group, I believe. We had a nice dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This visit was for a birthday lunch and , by going by Open Table's reviews, we chose this location for this celebration and were not disappointed by the romantic ambiance of Clearie's. The entres were pricey with the portion amount. B'day girl ordered the seafood salad and the "red crab" was from a can and only served 4 medium shrimp. Not worth the $18 they charged. This was filling but very disappointing to the person consuming. I had the fish tacos. OK but I really wanted the shrimp taco (a $4 up-sale) . Overall, the restaurant was very good in atmosphere but not so good in $ vs. quality. Service was great though!! They never acknowledged my b'day and wine request.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was amazing, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We chose Clearie's for dinner on account of it being my birthday. We chose this business on account of the prices, fine tasting, ambiance and the very good service. We recommend it to everyone but everyone already knows what a fine place it is to eat at.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As usual Clearie's was very good. Despite having a reservation there was a waiting period. It is a pleasant environment and one could easily carry on a conversation. My dinner partner had lamb chops cooked to perfection, rare. The presentation of the lamb chops was artistically arranged. I had the frog legs and they too were excellent for the palate and the presentation was equally as good. We were impressed when the chef visited the table and truly seemed interested in our opinion as to presentation and flavor of the meal. Service was excellent. It was good to see a full house and to my surprise I reconnected with a work partner from many years ago. V

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Thank you so much for the awesome dinner, the steamer clams we're out of this world, the best that we ever had, our server was excellent, You made our 40th Anniversary perfect! We will be back, highly recommend this place, The best in Redding !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 19, 2017

What a great find this place was! Both of our dinners were outstanding, I had the Crispy Duck with a lovely balsamic reduction sauce and grilled vegetables/potatoes, WOW. My fiancé ordered the Tuxedo Ahi Sesame Tuna with sliced avocado house made black bean cakes with thai balsamic sauce, mango napa slaw and sriracha aioli, it was equally as good as mine!
We shared. They surprised us with ice cream steaming in a bowl of dry ice, making our birthday extra special.
Thank you Clearies!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Organic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Found this restaurant on Trip Advisor so we decided to try it. We had a very fun dining experience from the smoking cocktails to the dinner and dessert, Every was so friendly and the chef visited our table and talked about the food. The early bird specials are amazing both in taste content and value. The bar makes their own syrups and are very creative with their drinks and the smoking martinis are a real hit. When we are back in Redding, we will return,

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our experience was great! We were greeted upon arrival and seated right away. The food and service was wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

What a lucky find! Clearie's popped up on Open Table as an alternative when another restaurant had no reservations left and wasn't available. We live about an hour away, had tickets to see a comedian at the Redding Civic Auditorium (which is only 5 minutes from the restaurant) and wanted to have dinner first. We arrived at 6:15 (our reservation time) on a Friday evening and it was packed. The bar was really crowded but we were seated immediately so it didn't matter. They have an early bird dinner deal from 5-6pm which factored into the full house along with the limited amount of tables due to the size.

Back to the food. It was really good and there were a variety of options. Many restaurants don't include a salad or soup with your entree but Clearie's does. I had the house ceasar and my husband the clam chowder which he said was delicious and full of clams. Fresh, hot sourdough loaf with garlic butter was also served. I ended up having a special, fresh sea bass with fresh mango-corn-pepper salsa on creamy polenta with chili oil. Wow. The piece of fish was large and cooked perfectly. I love polenta and it was delicious. The chili oil drizzled around the perimeter of the large rimmed bowl and gave the meal a little kick. My husband's bourbon beef tips over pasta with fresh tomatoes was good, all that was left were tomatoes (he's not a fan of tomatoes).

They served beautiful drinks, I saw a martinis with dry ice that smoked. They also served memorable deserts. One table was celebrating a birthday and had one of every dessert on the menu. It was quite a sight, many are made to order (churros with vanilla ice cream looked delicious) so be prepared to dine. It could take a while.

We were there for an hour. We didn't have dessert. We were really full and needed to get to the comedy show. I definitely enjoyed my meal and will come again next time I'm in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

We have yet to be disappointed by Clearies dinners! This night the specials were outstanding!!! A little pricey, but well worth the splurge. Service is exceptional. Ambiance is intimate. Great date night for my husband and me. My only complaint is the dessert options...I love a good dessert from time to time and we landed on a peach cobbler with vanilla gelato, which was very good, but is was the only option on the list that even tempted us. Would highly recommend this place for special occasions or just a fun night on the town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and hope to visit there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I met a friend for lunch. Our server, Loren, did a great job (as always!), very attentive and welcoming. We enjoyed are food and the ambiance. Very happy with Clearie's !

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Once again the food is wonderful. Our server Haley was great. My husband always has the same the Pastrami sandwich with garlic fries. I had the Crab and Shrimp Louie it was fabulous. Love that you can get a large glass of wine. They do have an excellent wine list and cocktail list.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My wife and I were traveling through Redding and made a reservation based on reviews. We found the place to be as advertised. We arrived early and had drinks at the bar/lounge. The mai tai was good and the white wine was as well. There were people being served meals there. We read about the family history and third generation of ownership. The food was very good and the service as well. The linen tablecloth and napkins sent a signal that this was a very nice place and it turned out to be. We saw a lot on the menu that we liked but we decided to try the specials. The prime rib was very good with garlic mashed potatoes. The salmon over risotto was also very good. This might be one of the best places in Redding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Clearie's is a very familiar name in Redding, having been the "place to go" at its former location overlooking the City and owned by the present owner's grandfather, "Doc Clearie". The new location is more intimate, but the cuisine could not be better! Owned and closely looked after by Doc's granddaughter, Robbie Clearie. Thus, the great food - with entrees changing and constantly and consistently being interesting and wonderful. The Lounge is great for locals meeting and the Lounge menu is great! Can't say enough about the food and drinks! I always take my out-of-town visitors there and they remark very positively about the food, drinks and service!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great experience as always. Clearie's is a great place to enjoy a n evening with someone special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The only bad thing about our service is that our waitress did not tell us the specials or what sides are available. We over heard the waiter at the table behind us give his customers both. I had one at my table that would havexplain had the special and one that would have had garlic fries which is her favorite. Even if your customers have made up their minds the wait staff needs to ask the customer if they want to hear the specials

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Enjoyed a special 60th anniversary fine dining at Clearie's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Five stars for Redding. Do not believe any reviews claiming poor or rude service. James and his team took great care of us elevating this rating to five stars. Paris this is not but in Redding, this has to be tops.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This restaurant is outstanding and the owner and staff are very friendly and accommodating.
Chef Les is a master creator of great flavor a and plate presentation...
Excellent wine list.
Our favorite!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always count on a good meal and great service. Make sure you make a reservation-crowded on the weekends.
Owners been in the food service business for years and knows what she's doing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was delicious! Service was a bit slow, but we weren't in a hurry. The pull apart Brie bread sounded like a dream but there wasn't much Brie and it was so over cooked it was too hard to eat. However, the abalone was delicious as was the chicken Marsala. Overall I would absolutely go back but be more selective on what I order.

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Always a great experience and delicious food. The waitstaff were prompt and attentive to my requests and needs. The food came out in a fast and acceptable time. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good meal, great price and the need to unwind from daily life.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Good meal with friends. Very good service by wait staff.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Went to this restaurant traveling through California. Saw the Sunset Dinner and thought it worked for us, but only three choices of entrees. That was disappointing.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Well its Redding so lets not compare to LA, SF, LV, Manhattan restaurants. But for the price and quality of food its good value. The lobsters were a little chewy. The hostess sat us near the door even though there were tables available towards the interior of the restaurant. After a couple of drinks that was no longer an issue for us. If we ever drive by Redding on I5 and are hungry will stop to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Food and service is always great. James is in a class of his own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Consistently good upscale restaurant in Redding CA

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Once again Clears never disappoints.I had the Sesame Ahi salad it was delicious. My husband had the Crab and Shrimp Louie he was really impressed. I love the fact that you can get a large glass of wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Good food, good drinks, good service and nice ambiance!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Clearie's is a two block walk from the delightful Bridgehouse B & B.
The first selection on the menu is a bacon wrapped fillet mignon meatloaf,
which I highly recommend.
Leslie is the executive chef and has been there since the restaurant opened six years ago.
The wine list is very extensive and they also have a featured wine selection of the month.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

cool local restaurant. great swordfish special, grilled hearts of romaine salad, Good Hearth bread with garlic cloves from a local bakery. Sweetbread appetizer was unusual and good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went to Clearie's on the recommendation of a friend, and it was well worth it. The food was well-prepared and delicious. Our server could have been more attentive, but the restaurant was full at the time and the other staff took up the slack. We enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.