Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Clearie's Restaurant and Lounge

Welcome to Clearie’s Restaurant and Lounge, with a warm a friendly atmosphere we offer a new fine dining experience in Redding. Let us enhance your dining experience with mouthwatering appetizers, signature entrées, and outrageously delicious desserts. Did we mention our smokin' martinis?

Our extraordinary menu selections resonate with the zesty spices and creamy sauces that make our restaurant one of the best. Whether you join us for lunch, dinner, or take your favorites home, you’ll discover why everyone raves about Clearie’s Restaurant and Lounge.

1325 Eureka Way
Redding, CA 96001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 241-4535

Website:
http://cleariesrestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour

Clearie's Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience as always. Clearie's is a great place to enjoy a n evening with someone special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

The only bad thing about our service is that our waitress did not tell us the specials or what sides are available. We over heard the waiter at the table behind us give his customers both. I had one at my table that would havexplain had the special and one that would have had garlic fries which is her favorite. Even if your customers have made up their minds the wait staff needs to ask the customer if they want to hear the specials

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Enjoyed a special 60th anniversary fine dining at Clearie's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Five stars for Redding. Do not believe any reviews claiming poor or rude service. James and his team took great care of us elevating this rating to five stars. Paris this is not but in Redding, this has to be tops.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This restaurant is outstanding and the owner and staff are very friendly and accommodating.
Chef Les is a master creator of great flavor a and plate presentation...
Excellent wine list.
Our favorite!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always count on a good meal and great service. Make sure you make a reservation-crowded on the weekends.
Owners been in the food service business for years and knows what she's doing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was delicious! Service was a bit slow, but we weren't in a hurry. The pull apart Brie bread sounded like a dream but there wasn't much Brie and it was so over cooked it was too hard to eat. However, the abalone was delicious as was the chicken Marsala. Overall I would absolutely go back but be more selective on what I order.

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Always a great experience and delicious food. The waitstaff were prompt and attentive to my requests and needs. The food came out in a fast and acceptable time. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good meal, great price and the need to unwind from daily life.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Good meal with friends. Very good service by wait staff.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Went to this restaurant traveling through California. Saw the Sunset Dinner and thought it worked for us, but only three choices of entrees. That was disappointing.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Well its Redding so lets not compare to LA, SF, LV, Manhattan restaurants. But for the price and quality of food its good value. The lobsters were a little chewy. The hostess sat us near the door even though there were tables available towards the interior of the restaurant. After a couple of drinks that was no longer an issue for us. If we ever drive by Redding on I5 and are hungry will stop to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Food and service is always great. James is in a class of his own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Consistently good upscale restaurant in Redding CA

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Once again Clears never disappoints.I had the Sesame Ahi salad it was delicious. My husband had the Crab and Shrimp Louie he was really impressed. I love the fact that you can get a large glass of wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Good food, good drinks, good service and nice ambiance!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Clearie's is a two block walk from the delightful Bridgehouse B & B.
The first selection on the menu is a bacon wrapped fillet mignon meatloaf,
which I highly recommend.
Leslie is the executive chef and has been there since the restaurant opened six years ago.
The wine list is very extensive and they also have a featured wine selection of the month.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

cool local restaurant. great swordfish special, grilled hearts of romaine salad, Good Hearth bread with garlic cloves from a local bakery. Sweetbread appetizer was unusual and good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went to Clearie's on the recommendation of a friend, and it was well worth it. The food was well-prepared and delicious. Our server could have been more attentive, but the restaurant was full at the time and the other staff took up the slack. We enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Clearie's is excellent in service, cuisine, ambiance, and presentation.
Chef Les is a master with creativity and flavor matching, we have followed his career and he just keeps getting better and better!
Robbie Clearie is a fabulous restaurateur who always makes us feel welcome and at home in her establishment.
The wine list is excellent and the service from both wait staff and busser support is top notch.
We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family has visited the restaurant many times over the past few years and have always had a pleasant experience! 4/5 of my family went this time for Mothers Day!
The food was excellent however the menu was weak on offerings, and the service was not up to par and it wasn't that crowded!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was a bit strange but all in all a great Mothers Day Brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my 2nd time dining. Everything was perfect. I will recommend this place👍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was so good and the wine list is a good one too :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything was fantastic, escargot app, mango curry halibut, bread pudding dessert. The four of us had a great time. Others had prime rib meatloaf and catfish which were equally as good. Just a perfect dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Super delicious, great service, comfortable booths----best restaurant we have eaten at in Redding. We will return with guests and will recommend Clearies to others!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

ALWAYS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, FOOD--SERVICE AND ATMOSPHERE. HARD TO BEAT!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I am not sure why this place getting four stars. The the chicken as well as prime rib was mediocre. I have eaten better food at Danny's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was mixed - good duck breast, ahi tuna below par, chicken "special of the day" very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Clearie's is the best in Redding for a nice meal. For the overall dining package of good food, excellent service and nice, relaxed atmosphere this is our first choice.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Please read full review in Tripadvisor, You will find a wonderful review there

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My chicken dish with asparagus and brie cheese over risotto with spinach and mushrooms was absolutely delicious!! My husband's meal was very disappointing for him. He ordered a medium rare new york steak and it came extra rare and very tough. He tried to eat it but had to take it home in a to go box. Our waiter checked with us to see if we liked our meal and I gave a thumbs up but my husband didn't respond. He didn't give Cleary's a chance to make it right. I loved my butternut squash and parsnip soup...amazing! Sourdough bread with garlic butter was very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Celebrated my daughters 58th birthday there and as always, the service was excellent, the food was outstanding, the hostess was most gracious as was our server and we appreciated the fact that the chef came around to the table to ask how we were enjoying our meal. Also a suprise birthday dessert was brought after dinner! Great time. Thank you all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Doc Clearies Hilltop Restaurant was my all time favorite back in the day. We would take the 35 mile trip to Redding for special occasions. My favorite dish was the sweetbreads. I will have to say, they are not the same here. The recipe was published in the Ford Times magazine, which is currently on display on their walls in the bar. (I still have a copy of that issue in the recipe book rack.) The original recipe was a white sauce, with white wine. They now make it with a brown sauce and red wine. The brown sauce is probably flavored out of a bottle. There was more mushrooms than sweet breads in the dish.

My wife's filet was not cooked as she requested. She also questioned the baby potatoes, she thought they may not have been trimmed of defects as well as they should have been. I suggested she should request a baked potato instead (if they have that option).

Of course I know "you can't go home again", but with the write-ups recently, we hoped for better. I hope that Clearies can succeed as an upscale establishment. I really want to "go home again".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Once again the meal was delicious. I always try something new but went back to an old favorite the Champagne Salad with Grilled chicken so good. My husband always orders the Hot Pastrami Sandwich which he says is the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Never disappointed with Clearie's food or service! The noise level can reach pretty loud if there is a large party at a table. Dining room is cozy, but not really a good fit for large groups. The food, service, ambience, wine selection, bar etc are all outstanding. We are locals, so now they pretty much know our faces. Clearie's is the #1 place to eat for us as a couple! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Lived up to its great reputation as usual! The only reason I didn't give the food 5 stars instead of 4 is that the special that I ordered was just not my most fave or flavorful dish I've had there but ultimately it is a 5 star dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place to eat and enjoy a date. Service,food,ambiance was excellent. They are the number one restaurant in Redding in our eyes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I went to Clarie's for our anniversary dinner. The food was excellent, even though they were out of prime rib.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 23, 2017

put us in a tiny booth in a far corner of the place. menu is very limited. No fish except $75 abalone. Best thing about the place is their generous cocktails and good service. Food was average. I do better at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Clearie's for either lunch or dinner. Love the atmosphere, the service and the food. Everything about Clearie's is a huge cut above most restaurants. You combine that with consistency and Clearie's is a real gem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.