About Clay Pit

1601 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations.

At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence.

Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 322-5131

Website:
http://www.claypit.com/

Catering:
Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We have a tradition of collaborating with our guests to create a menu befitting the celebration.

We also offer a wide variety of options around catering off-site events.

Parking Details:
Clay Pit offers self parking in a 22 car private parking lot at the north end of the building, available after 6p on weekdays, after 2:30p on Saturdays and all day Sunday.
There is also ample metered street parking available around the restaurant building.

Public Transit:
Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Balinder Singh, Navdeep Singh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Samosa - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Malai Kofta - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Chakra Martini - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
tandoori vegetables - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Mango Lassi Aka Happy Lassi - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Curried Mussels - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
garlic naan - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Kothmir Salmon - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Hot And Cold Love "Gajjar Halva And Vanilla Ince Cream - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Khuroos-E-Tursh - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Gulab Jaman - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
chicken tikka masala - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Naan Bread - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Samosa Chat - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Tandoori Sirloin Kebab - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Curry Crab Cakes - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Crispy Vegetable Pakoras - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Fried Calamari - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Coriander Calamari - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Samosa Chaat - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Kashmiri Style Lamb Shank - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Rack of Lamb - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Tandoori Rib Eye Steak - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Vegtable Bites - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Fish of the day - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Beef Kabob - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Cucumber Salad - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Saag Goat - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Mirch masala w paneer - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
chicken vindaloo - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Chicken Tikka Masala, Rice, Aloo Ghobi, And Naan - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Batata Cham - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Clay Pit Pakoras - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Salad And Tandoori Kabobs - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Salad - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Masala Duck - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Pappadam & Chutneys - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Friday Lunch Buffet - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Fruit Pudding - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Maslatini - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Tandoori Malai Kabob - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Kufte Veggie Something! - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Chicken Tikka Marsala, Rack of Lamb, Seafood Grill, Roti, Garlic Naan - Clay Pit, Austin, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests.

Clay Pit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Authentic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Spicy (18)
Romantic (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Healthy (11)
Family Style (11)
Cozy (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Vegan (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Historic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fun (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well, it was our 1st time and we where a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Well, it was our 1st time and we where asking questions and the waitress new it was and she didn't help much at all she didn't even ask my Nephew if he wanted anything to drink she just walked off. So our service was terrible she didn't even offer us any refills some other waitress did. I wish the lady with the blue hair with tattoos was our waitress because she was sweet & she didn't have to offer us a refill because that wasn't her job it was our blonde waitress job. I operate my own starbucks I am the store manager & this kind of thing would never happen under my watch.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Went here for the first time and really ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Went here for the first time and really liked it. Excellent food, mine was nice and spicy the way I like it. Nice cocktails and service very good. Would definitely come again but I am leaving Austin soon.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just around the corner from my daughter' ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Just around the corner from my daughter's apartment, our second visit for dinner this year did not disappoint. It will likely be a regular stop on our visits to Austin.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Spicy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We sat down ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We sat downstairs which was cozy. Great authentic Indian food and great value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Indian food, with many vegetarian ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great Indian food, with many vegetarian choices. Great service as well

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was fairly unattentive and unenth ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Waiter was fairly unattentive and unenthusiastic. To bad. The food was great as usual!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Certainly the best upscale Indian in Aus ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Certainly the best upscale Indian in Austin. Delicious food, nice cocktails and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They sat us right at our reservation tim ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They sat us right at our reservation time. The food was maybe a little slow coming but it was great. We weren't in much of a hurry so it was not a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality and serving size were wonde ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food quality and serving size were wonderful. Korma for myself, Chicken Tikka Masala for my wife. Service was absolutely excellent. Would happily go back and try other menu items.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall, my wife and I liked the food an ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall, my wife and I liked the food and the service...and we'll be back; however, before I tell friends to try the restaurant, I have to caveat my recommendation with, "it's quite busy and noisy." Not a deal-breaker for some, but not the place for a quaint dinner date.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around. I needed to impres ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent all around. I needed to impress a business associate from India and The Clay Pit came through big time!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Indian food. Infused vodka martin ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great Indian food. Infused vodka martini, you can't get it anywhere else (ginger flavored).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Indian food and Service! The infu ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great Indian food and Service! The infused vodka is amazing, try a free sample!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Our server, L ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Our server, Lyndsey, was amazing. Definitely will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Indian food in the States!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best Indian food in the States!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Incredible food and wine! We make it our ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Incredible food and wine! We make it our mission to return every year while In Austin for the Grand Prix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal in every aspect! Hosts and se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great meal in every aspect! Hosts and servers were attentive and knowledgeable, food was great, and very nice ambience. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a great night out! delicious food and fa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

a great night out! delicious food and fantastic value. plenty to eat for reasonable price. i'm never disappointed when i eat here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Historic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was good, but my steak came out a l ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was good, but my steak came out a little bit cold. My wife and I felt that our waitress was spending most of her attention on her bigger tables than us. Service was mediocre. Usually we have a great time at Clay Pit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was very good and the creative ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was very good and the creative cocktails were great, but they ran out after one. The waiter forgot about the non alcoholic drinks.

Even though I mentioned to the maitre d and the waiter that we were celebrating my daughter's birthday, they forgot and even brought the bill without ever asking whether we wanted dessert, so not too festive for her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great ambience. Great service and great ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great ambience. Great service and great authentic food. Would always come

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

FWIW... review by an American-born North ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 26, 2016

FWIW... review by an American-born North-Indian: Food is 4/10-5/10 if comparing against the rest of the world, 6/10 if comparing against Indian restaurants around the US... 6/10-7/10 against other Austin-area restaurants. The real kicker is the horrendously slow service and poor communication. I feel like a majority of that is slow back-of-the-house operations; but, the front of the house doesn't help by not giving updates, checking in with the table, forgetting to bring items, minding drink orders, refilling water. We sat down at 8:05p-8:10p on a Sunday (a busy time there), got our appetizers at 8:45p, got our entrees at 9:30p. Minimal communication by the waitress, but it seemed like it was just something she was used to as there were no explanations nor apologies for the ridiculous wait times. I had been there twice before: 1st for a meeting, so it was buffet style and I couldn't really knock them because one can only expect so much from those; 2nd for a date. On this 3rd visit, I had deja vu and remembered that it was the slow service that turned me off the last time. I have a feeling the reason they survive is because of their lunch-buffets, and their location. There are not many other Indian restaurants to compete in that area. Well, there is Teji's... their food is much better, and service way faster; but, the ambiance is more of a dhaba-style (ie, hole-in-the-wall). And, not a hell of a lot of Indians in this area (or non-Indos who would have a breadth of experience for comparison) to make a significant impact on their practices. Doubt this review will change much there, but there's my 2 shiny pennies worth of thoughts anyhow. Cheers!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Sadly The Clay Pit has lost its edge. S ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sadly The Clay Pit has lost its edge. Service was marginal to downright poor. The table settings looked plain and industrial. Meals used to start with what I believe were Papadums and a couple of dipping sauces. I get to Austin a couple of times a year and used to look forward to my Clay Pit visit. Not so much anymore. A friend said it sounds like the accountants have gotten ahold of the restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Clay Pit is a reliable place to dig in t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Clay Pit is a reliable place to dig in to some quality Indian food. It's popular and gets pretty manic on the weekends. If you arrive early, grab a cocktail, glass of wine or Kingfisher draft in the bar area.

The samoosa starter comes with two insanely delicious dipping sauces. Naan and pappadams highly recommended to see you through your main courses. The veggie korma stood out as a winner, level Indian-hot did not disappoint!

Don't expect polished service but try go with the flow and enjoy the bustling atmosphere and tasty dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was excellent as usual. However ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was excellent as usual. However, the wait time to be served our food was almost an hour and the service was not up to par as in the past. You did not get the feeling that they cared whether you were there or not.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Really loved this spot. We ate in the ba ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Really loved this spot. We ate in the basement, which was like a Spanish castle with low curved ceilings and brick walls. Cocktails were really nice. But the food truly was wonderful. This is now our favorite Indian place in Austin.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I plan our anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 22, 2016

My wife and I plan our anniversary dinners here and reserve a cozy table downstairs. Flowers and champagne are waiting at our table and always makes my wife smile. The atmosphere always rekindles our love for each other and the menu serves to our taste for special out of the ordinary dinners. We have been spending our anniversaries here for five years now and we will do it again next year as we have set this up as our tradition. The building itself is rich in Texas history and a thrill to take it all in.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitress was knowledgeable and very ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The waitress was knowledgeable and very helpful. She was prompt with our order and drinks and answered all our questions. Additionally, she did not hover around the table, which is great!

Excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Family Style, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Second visit, food and service were exce ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Second visit, food and service were excellent both times. Our request for a quiet table--small infant and teenager with noise issues was accommodated. Their vodka infusions and cocktails are innovative. The only complaint was that the medium Vindaloo wasn't as spicy as expected, seemed more like mild. The Shrimp Korma Medium and Chicken Tikka Masala Mild were both perfect. Definitely will return on my next visit to Austin.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We've enjoyed eating at Clay Pit for man ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We've enjoyed eating at Clay Pit for many years. It is consistently a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Warm, inviting atmosphere. The food is a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Warm, inviting atmosphere. The food is always flavorful and seems to be prepared with care. Servers are attentive and good about refilling water. I recommend Clay Pit to those who want to try Indian food but maybe don't know where to start -- the naan and curry are excellent and won't disappoint!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best restaurant in Austin! The food, se ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best restaurant in Austin! The food, service, atmosphere is always amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Indian food in a classy, but n ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent Indian food in a classy, but non-pretentious atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Clay Pit. My husband and I driv ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We love Clay Pit. My husband and I drive from Houston to dine there. Have for years. Although we usually hit one of the new foodie hotspots as well on our weekend trips there, if we only have one night, we make it Clay Pit. I have said repeatedly that their mussels would be my choice for my last meal. Like my LAST meal. Ever. So it was to our great disappointment that our meal there was just ok, certainly not worth a 2-hour drive. We ordered our usual, the mussels, garlic basil naan and mirch masala. None was up to par. Even our drinks, infused vodka martinis, were off. So cloyingly sweet we had to send them back. We hope this was just a rare "off" night for our beloved Clay Pit. If not, we're jumping ship to G'Raj Mahal. 😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Delicious food every time we go there!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious food every time we go there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in all of Austin. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant in all of Austin. I've traveled all over the world and have never had Indian like I've had at the Clay Pit. 5 stars!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to the Clay Pit when we are cravin ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We go to the Clay Pit when we are craving exceptional Indian Food in a nicer setting and it's not too much of an effort to go downtown. Our waiter was exceptional. I have found a new favorite - their Tandoori Vegetables. We'll go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, very good food, parki ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent service, very good food, parking is easy after 6pm, excellent wine selection

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Clay Pit provides good Indian food in co ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Clay Pit provides good Indian food in comfortable setting with good service. Good choice for an interesting meal for all in a group containing both vegetarians and meat lovers

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great restaurant with outstanding Indian ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great restaurant with outstanding Indian cuisine! I would recommend this restaurant to anybody looking for something great food in a nice environment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.