About Clay Pit

1601 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations.

At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence.

Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 322-5131

Website:
http://www.claypit.com/

Catering:
Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We have a tradition of collaborating with our guests to create a menu befitting the celebration.

We also offer a wide variety of options around catering off-site events.

Parking Details:
Clay Pit offers self parking in a 22 car private parking lot at the north end of the building, available after 6p on weekdays, after 2:30p on Saturdays and all day Sunday.
There is also ample metered street parking available around the restaurant building.

Public Transit:
Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Balinder Singh, Navdeep Singh

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Samosa
Curried Mussels
Malai Kofta
garlic naan
Kothmir Salmon
Chakra Martini
tandoori vegetables
Mango Lassi Aka Happy Lassi
Hot And Cold Love "Gajjar Halva And Vanilla Ince Cream
Kufte Veggie Something!
Chicken Tikka Masala, Rice, Aloo Ghobi, And Naan
Khuroos-E-Tursh
Gulab Jaman
Naan Bread
chicken tikka masala
Samosa Chat
Tandoori Sirloin Kebab
Curry Crab Cakes
Crispy Vegetable Pakoras
Coriander Calamari
Fried Calamari
Samosa Chaat
Kashmiri Style Lamb Shank
Rack of Lamb
Vegtable Bites
Tandoori Rib Eye Steak
Fish of the day
Cucumber Salad
Beef Kabob
Saag Goat
Mirch masala w paneer
chicken vindaloo
Clay Pit Pakoras
Batata Cham
Friday Lunch Buffet
Tandoori Malai Kabob
Fruit Pudding
Pappadam & Chutneys
Salad And Tandoori Kabobs
Masala Duck
Salad
Maslatini
Chicken Tikka Marsala, Rack of Lamb, Seafood Grill, Roti, Garlic Naan

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests.

Clay Pit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (73)
good for groups (69)
special occasion (50)
See All
great for lunch (29)
neighborhood gem (29)
romantic (28)
hot spot (15)
kid-friendly (14)
notable wine list (12)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in town for a 5k race and wanted ...

Dined a day ago

We were in town for a 5k race and wanted something different and fresh. We got it! Amazing food and our serve Shana was awesome! Will come again when in town.

food5
ambience4
service4

Clay Pit is my favorite Indian restauran ...

Dined 3 days ago

Clay Pit is my favorite Indian restaurant anywhere and I always make a point to eat here when I'm in Austin.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of towners

Dined on June 9, 2016

Just picked this restaurant as it was close to our hotel and we could walk over. What an awesome and yummy surprise!!! We loved it❤️ The appetizers, the entree and desserts were wonderful. So much so that we went back another night! We are from Santa Fe, NM and have many outstanding restaurants. Thank you for a wonderful experience X 2. Culinary Delight

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Clay Pit: De-lish!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Dining at the Clay Pit is always a pleasure. They have an array of Indian specialties to suit everyone, and it's always well prepared. Their calamari appetizer is among the best in Austin! We also had the Khuroos-E-Tursh and Mirch Masala curry with lamb -- both delicious! You can't go wrong with the Clay Pit.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food, poor service as usual

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, poor service as usual. As a non-Indian food lover, we continue to frequent the Clay Pit because my husband LOVES the food and thinks it is one of the best places in Austin to get good Indian food. Even though I do not care for Indian food as a whole, I can usually find something and it is consistently good. They also have great bar drinks! However, I gave the rating of 3 stars because they also consistently provide poor service. We always have to seek out our server to get water refills, place our order, ask for the check, etc.... On our last visit (5/30/16) I mentioned to the server that we were celebrating my husbands birthday hoping for better service.... that didn't happen. We had to ask the gentleman cleaning the table next to us for a beer refill for my husband and a fork for me because the server had not come back to the table once our food was brought out. I really wish there was an alternative Indian option that my husband liked because I get so frustrated every time we visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Indian food..

Dined on May 29, 2016

I haven't had Indian food in awhile, but I remember that The Clay Pit had some tasty dishes.. My girlfriend is not very adventurous when it comes to food, so I was surprised when she agreed to come here for dinner. She didn't love all the items, but I did and I have had Indian food before and knew what to expect. She really like the Tikka Masala and the jalapeno cream cheese na'an and the curry dishes. The advantage of being able to pick your spice level is good for newbies too..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and outstanding service

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to Clay Pit. We chose to try some new dishes this time and were totally satisfied. We got great advice from our server, Jarvis. He gave great recommendations and his service was friendly, attentive, and entertaining without being overbearing. We had a great night all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on May 28, 2016

Hands down the best Indian food in Austin. A must go!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good Indian food for group dinners near ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Good Indian food for group dinners near downtown and UT campus. The grilled proteins are recommended - the chicken is fantastic. Getting there before the evening dinner rush is important. Otherwise, expect slower service. Happy hour at the bar is great. $1 off drinks and 1/2 price appetizers.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Unmissable Classic

Dined on May 20, 2016

I've had my ups and downs with the service at Clay Pit, most notably once when my boyfriend (now husband) and I were turned away at the door for not having reservations on a Thursday evening several years ago (it wasn't even that crowded? we definitely got a bad vibe that time and we were never sure why...), but mostly the experiences have been positive and the food is superb every time. This most recent time using OpenTable made the evening flawless.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Flavorful

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was our second time visiting Clay Pit, and of course, it did not disappoint! The flavor in each dish is unique and bursting with spice. Portions are great for sharing, which is the way to go since you can try many different dishes. Must gets are the samosas, garlic naan, vindaloo and coconut curry (my new favorit). The staff is also very attentive. We'll surely dine here again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I took some friends to the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I took some friends to the restaurant, and they loved it. We all had a very enjoyable experience and the food was marvelous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Having been disappointed by Indian food ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Having been disappointed by Indian food in the past I decided to give it one more try. The Clay Pit was wonderful! The food was very fresh and seasoned perfectly. The naan was warm and delicious. My wife and I had a great meal and plan to return soon as the menu is so diverse it was hard to make a choice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second visit to the Clay Pit. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This is my second visit to the Clay Pit. We had to drive an hour to visit the restaurant but it was well worth it. The food and service were outstanding. I will return often. The subtleties of Indian food tickle the palate with numerous new flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great meal of Indian dishes

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a must if you are into Indian food and are in Austin. As good as similar places in London or even Delhi

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Dowstairs in the "cave" is really quiet ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Dowstairs in the "cave" is really quiet and cool. I took four of my indian colleagues here and they were all very happy with the food and ambiane, plus excellent friendly service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ended up Eating at the Bar for Happy Hour

Dined on April 26, 2016

The bartender was friendly and gave us great service. The 1/2 price apps and discounted drinks for happy hour was a great find. Food was good and hot. Served and presented well. Great time, nice ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

solid Indian food performer with great atmosphere.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Also book ahead and expect a great greeting. If you don't book you can wait in the bar which is a really lively scene. Starters are terrific and make sure you do not go extreme on the heat as the Hot is really hot. Enjoyable after so many years.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Indian food I've had ... ever!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I've eaten Indian food in countries spanning 4 continents (including India). This is hands down the best food I've ever had. The flavours were so layered yet the food tasted light, not heavy or overdone. The restaurant itself is lovely ..... an old general store beautifully restored to an open and airy restaurant with great atmosphere. Although the rooms are big, the sound is well insulated so you can have a good conversation without a loud ambiance noise. Loved this place! If I didn't live in Seattle, I'd be a regular patron.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1

We had the worst service. My boyfriend a ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had the worst service. My boyfriend and I had a reservation at 9pm. We arrived slightly early and were immediately seated. We then proceeded to wait 10 minutes before we were asked for our drink orders. 20 minutes later the drinks came out. Dinner arrived 45 minutes into the experience. The food was good. Our server became more and more apathetic as dinner went on. This was one of the worst dining experiences I've ever had. We were very disappointed

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and drinks were incredible! Try ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and drinks were incredible! Try the samosas chaat to start. We will definitely be going back for more. Ask to be seated downstairs for the ambience.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

generally unimpressed.

Dined on April 23, 2016

1. Not the best Indian food in Austin. For the price, you'd think they would have at least asked our spice preference (ended up getting zero spice and paying for a side of spicy stuff to put into the dishes ourselves). 2. The lighting is awful - please replace your LED high beams with something more restraunt-appropriate. 3. I think our server was stoned or something, which really detracted from the overall experience, as well. Listen, I might be biased growing up eating Indian food, but we live in Austin, TX where every restaurant is a critics choice establishment - step it up or people will continue choosing Garaj Mahal.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I have had great experiences at the Clay ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have had great experiences at the Clay Pit, but I've been lucky enough to be seated in the basement both times. It is quiet and great ambiance, low lighting and intimate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food Service in need of improvement

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my second time at the Clay Pit. As before the food was excellent. Service was a little slow and impersonal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My family really enjoyed the experience! ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

My family really enjoyed the experience! They thought that the food was excellent, and the spiciness of the curry was just right. The mango cheesecake was the best part. This will certainly be a restaurant that we will return to!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Claypitgch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Restaurant has been around more than 20 years but is unusual in that it keeps getting better, not tired.Menu tasty and well-executed. Definitely a local best for Indian, and a pleasure. Historic building has seen at least 6 restaurants in 70 or so years--this by far the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous, as usual.

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The Clay Pit has to be one of the best restaurants in Austin. Always great food and fantastic service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I've never been so disappointed in my life!

Dined on April 1, 2016

I've never been so disappointed in my life with a restaurant! My fiancé had bragged about it for over a year so as a surprise I took her there and what an aweful experience. The kitchen really messed up! The fish was dry and partly burnt. They didn't bring our whole order out at the same time. The ambiance was uncomfortable due to spotlights glaring in our eyes and the noise was overbearing and the waiter dropping a full set of plates didn't help. We felt a little insulted when the waiter offered us a discount for the un-edible food we were served, the manager did make that right by not charging us at all and trying regain our business he gave us a $25 gift certificate but I can assure you we won't be going back! Just go to their lower cost restaurant Tarka, it's 100% better and you'll always get a perfect meal.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very Good Indian Cuisine

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food here is very good. Austin hardly has a large Indian community so as someone from out of town finding a restaurant this good was a pleasant surprise and a truly memorable meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Indian Food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always on my bucket list of places to eat whenever in Austin. Buffet is a great way to sample several different dishes. Call ahead to confirm buffet hours and availability.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Indian Food Restaurant in Austin

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Really, the food is authentic and consistently delish.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The building was beautiful and a little ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The building was beautiful and a little mysterious. There is an upstairs and downstairs which we did not get the chance to go. Very nice place, would go again next time in Austin.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Delish

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

I think the food at Clay Pit is really outstanding.This visit we were placed downstairs which I had never dined in before.Very intimate..really special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was fresh and delicious!

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was fresh and delicious!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

21st birthday

Dined on March 16, 2016

My son chose the Clay pit for his 21st birthday. The food was awesome and our waitress was great! The hostess at the front however was quite rude and acted like we were a nuisance. Not sure why since we had a reservation, we were on time and the restaurant was not crowded. Luckily, that first impression was the only sour spot. Everything else was everything we hoped it would be.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our Favorites

Dined on March 10, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed Clay Pit for special occasions for many years. Great for a date night! Great martinis, the try the Lal Toofan with 4 kinds of rum. Fantastic food! Reserve a table for two in the cellar! Very romantic :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food with subpar service

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food here was excellent! We tried the chicken tikka masala and the mixed grill, both delicious and spicy as requested. The service unfortunately was fairly poor. We never received the appetizers we ordered, never received the naans we ordered (which kind of inhibits dipping into the curry sauce), no drink refills, and never saw our waitress to bring these issues to staff attention except when she took our order and brought the bill. I would expect a much higher standard if service from somewhere such as The Clay Pit which is more of an upscale Indian restaurant than other cheaper alternatives.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

There are a lot of reasons one might go to any given restaurant, but at the end of the day, doesn't truly amazing food seem like it should be a top reason? Clay Pit is some of the best food I have ever had. So, it was just bonus that the service, ambiance, and value were also super groovy. EAT HERE ASAP.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Indian!

Dined on March 2, 2016

We just move here from London and were told not to get our hopes up for finding Indian food of the same caliber. We did a bit of research and decided on The Clay Pit. We were not disappointed. I would recommend them to any of my English friends and anyone interested in a break from the smoked brisket. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love the Clay Pit!

Dined on February 17, 2016

The Clay Pit is one of my go-to special occasion places in Austin. The food, atmosphere, and service are always over the top. And I love the historic building (heard there's a ghost - if friendly, would love to meet it)! I live an hour away. If I lived in Austin I would probably consider it my dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.