About Clay Pit

1601 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations.

At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence.

Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 322-5131

Website:
http://www.claypit.com/

Catering:
Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We have a tradition of collaborating with our guests to create a menu befitting the celebration.

We also offer a wide variety of options around catering off-site events.

Parking Details:
Clay Pit offers self parking in a 22 car private parking lot at the north end of the building, available after 6p on weekdays, after 2:30p on Saturdays and all day Sunday.
There is also ample metered street parking available around the restaurant building.

Public Transit:
Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Balinder Singh, Navdeep Singh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Samosa
Malai Kofta
Curried Mussels
garlic naan
Chakra Martini
Kothmir Salmon
tandoori vegetables
Mango Lassi Aka Happy Lassi
Hot And Cold Love "Gajjar Halva And Vanilla Ince Cream
Kufte Veggie Something!
Khuroos-E-Tursh
Gulab Jaman
chicken tikka masala
Naan Bread
Samosa Chat
Tandoori Sirloin Kebab
Curry Crab Cakes
Crispy Vegetable Pakoras
Fried Calamari
Coriander Calamari
Samosa Chaat
Kashmiri Style Lamb Shank
Rack of Lamb
Tandoori Rib Eye Steak
Vegtable Bites
Fish of the day
Beef Kabob
Cucumber Salad
Saag Goat
Mirch masala w paneer
chicken vindaloo
Chicken Tikka Masala, Rice, Aloo Ghobi, And Naan
Batata Cham
Clay Pit Pakoras
Salad And Tandoori Kabobs
Salad
Masala Duck
Pappadam & Chutneys
Friday Lunch Buffet
Fruit Pudding
Maslatini
Tandoori Malai Kabob
Chicken Tikka Marsala, Rack of Lamb, Seafood Grill, Roti, Garlic Naan

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests.

Clay Pit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (67)
Good for Groups (67)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Romantic (30)
Great for Lunch (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Hot Spot (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, very good food, parki ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, very good food, parking is easy after 6pm, excellent wine selection

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Clay Pit provides good Indian food in co ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Clay Pit provides good Indian food in comfortable setting with good service. Good choice for an interesting meal for all in a group containing both vegetarians and meat lovers

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great restaurant with outstanding Indian ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great restaurant with outstanding Indian cuisine! I would recommend this restaurant to anybody looking for something great food in a nice environment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

food is always delicious. service is fri ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

food is always delicious. service is friendly and never pretentious. unique drink list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I like Clay Pit for the f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My husband and I like Clay Pit for the food, prices, and atmosphere. It was a little loud this last time. We like the main dining room as opposed to the more lighted secondary room. The main room has candles and low lit and I also like the windows which incorporates outside ambiance. The rib eye is great as are the curries. The service this last time was quick and efficient but a little "cut--and-dried". We try to come during the happy hour which makes the evening a little more inexpensive, so we can come more often. I do find the benches that are outside and chained together concerning. I always wonder why they are chained, like do people steal them? One time there were "street people" laying all over them. It is still our favorite place. We go out to eat maybe once a month, sometimes twice. Hopes this helps.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Indian food and extensive menu! Se ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great Indian food and extensive menu! Service was a little lackluster but fair.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

we were in town to drop my daughter off ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

we were in town to drop my daughter off at school and had a GREAT meal here! The food was delicious and the server was friendly and helpful with suggestions for each of the four of us. A lovely evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken was served raw from Tandoor... M ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Chicken was served raw from Tandoor... Manager fought me when stating beef tasted sour/spoiled, and stated it was marinated in yogurt, this was not a yogurt sour flavor.(menu didn't state yogurt marinated as well...)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Best Indian food I've ever eaten. The se ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best Indian food I've ever eaten. The service was great. Kind staff, and we didn't wait long. Every thing we ordered was amazing. (I got the Chana Masala, vegetable somosas, and garlic naan)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Clay Pit. The food is always amazi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved Clay Pit. The food is always amazing! No matter what we've gotten, it's always been great. Any creamy or curry dish with lamb is our favorite and the garlic naan. We booked through OpenTable and requested a corner table (for privacy sake), and we were very pleased to see that with an almost full dining room, they were able to accommodate our request. The servers are always very pleasant. Love coming to Clay Pit for nice dates.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I've been coming to Clay Pit for about 8 ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I've been coming to Clay Pit for about 8 years. I've never had a bad experience. The service is always fantastic --- buspeople, host/hostess, servers, bartenders. Plenty of food for very reasonable cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was bette ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was delicious and service was better than the last 2 times we were there. Noise level is too high, in my opinion~

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our server, Rachel was excellent. As has ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server, Rachel was excellent. As has always been the case our food was tasty and served hot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, great food, we were treat ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great service, great food, we were treated like we were special. Side note, if you don't like cilantro, inform you waiter because it is on a lot of dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Indian food in an historic bui ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Delicious Indian food in an historic building reported to be haunted. What more could you want?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Took my date here after pa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great place! Took my date here after passing it on the street. The energy was vibrant, very loud, and the food was incredible. Would highly recommend checking it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food isn't as good as it used to be ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food isn't as good as it used to be but over all the restaurant has the the best indo-American food you can find in Texas if not all of the southwest USA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

wonderful food; very authentic. Our gro ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

wonderful food; very authentic. Our group included 3 very interested in curries and one looking for a milder meal. The tandoori satisfied the latter need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the Clay Pit and eat here every t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love the Clay Pit and eat here every time I'm in Austin. It was our first time to sit in the basement level which is very intimate with low ceilings, brick walls, and candles. The restaurant is in a refurbished warehouse with exposed brick throughout. They did a great job with ambiance/interior design. We both had the Chicken Tikka Masala which is my absolute favorite (which I order every single time). I need to spread my wings. Delicious Indian food and a great date night (or any night) restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. The server ok ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was great as always. The server ok but it appeared to me she had to many tables. Service was very slow, had to wait 10 for more rice and water. First time I have had slow service there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Food...Very nice down in the cave. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great Food...Very nice down in the cave. Only problem all the food came out at once, wine, salads and main course. Real disappointing and no space on the table for everything.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It's always a pleasure to indulge here. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It's always a pleasure to indulge here. The food never fails to impress me and it's all been delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Clay Pit is on of our local favorites. T ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Clay Pit is on of our local favorites. The food is outstanding and the service is always good. If you are craving delicious Indian food in a great downtown location, this is your place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I realize that the general public isn't ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I realize that the general public isn't on its best behavior regarding you buffet, but the tandoori chicken and samosas ran out really quick. I have not eaten there in aprox. 20 years and came back for those two items. I waited and waited but finally had to go. I spent too much money without enjoying what I like.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Some of the best Indian food I've ever h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Some of the best Indian food I've ever had. Very flavorful and complex. I would love if you made Pistchio lasi and had Kulfi on your desert list. I'll be back...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Indian food I have had.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best Indian food I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Too many employees. 1-6 different folks ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Too many employees. 1-6 different folks took care of us. it was not very efficient. Many moments without a drink or a concern for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

No other special comments. Awkward wait ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

No other special comments. Awkward waiter but great food and interesting drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was not good.We went to early to ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service was not good.We went to early to avoid crowds,but got terrible service.Multiple items were forgotten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Still the best Indian food in Austin. W ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Still the best Indian food in Austin. We took a couple who were visiting from out of town. The husband is Scottish and they have lived all over Asia. They loved the food and found it very authentic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I love Indian food and think Clay Pit ha ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love Indian food and think Clay Pit has some of the best spices and flavors. The goat curry was "the real thing" with bones and tough and tender bits and the spices outstanding.

We were in the cellar which was great because it was quieter, which I prefer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a 5k race and wanted ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were in town for a 5k race and wanted something different and fresh. We got it! Amazing food and our serve Shana was awesome! Will come again when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Clay Pit is my favorite Indian restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Clay Pit is my favorite Indian restaurant anywhere and I always make a point to eat here when I'm in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Out of towners

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Just picked this restaurant as it was close to our hotel and we could walk over. What an awesome and yummy surprise!!! We loved it❤️ The appetizers, the entree and desserts were wonderful. So much so that we went back another night! We are from Santa Fe, NM and have many outstanding restaurants.

Thank you for a wonderful experience X 2.

Culinary Delight

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clay Pit: De-lish!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Dining at the Clay Pit is always a pleasure. They have an array of Indian specialties to suit everyone, and it's always well prepared. Their calamari appetizer is among the best in Austin! We also had the Khuroos-E-Tursh and Mirch Masala curry with lamb -- both delicious! You can't go wrong with the Clay Pit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, poor service as usual

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, poor service as usual. As a non-Indian food lover, we continue to frequent the Clay Pit because my husband LOVES the food and thinks it is one of the best places in Austin to get good Indian food. Even though I do not care for Indian food as a whole, I can usually find something and it is consistently good. They also have great bar drinks! However, I gave the rating of 3 stars because they also consistently provide poor service. We always have to seek out our server to get water refills, place our order, ask for the check, etc.... On our last visit (5/30/16) I mentioned to the server that we were celebrating my husbands birthday hoping for better service.... that didn't happen. We had to ask the gentleman cleaning the table next to us for a beer refill for my husband and a fork for me because the server had not come back to the table once our food was brought out. I really wish there was an alternative Indian option that my husband liked because I get so frustrated every time we visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great Indian food..

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I haven't had Indian food in awhile, but I remember that The Clay Pit had some tasty dishes.. My girlfriend is not very adventurous when it comes to food, so I was surprised when she agreed to come here for dinner. She didn't love all the items, but I did and I have had Indian food before and knew what to expect. She really like the Tikka Masala and the jalapeno cream cheese na'an and the curry dishes. The advantage of being able to pick your spice level is good for newbies too..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and outstanding service

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to Clay Pit. We chose to try some new dishes this time and were totally satisfied. We got great advice from our server, Jarvis. He gave great recommendations and his service was friendly, attentive, and entertaining without being overbearing. We had a great night all around!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Hands down the best Indian food in Austin. A must go!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Indian food for group dinners near ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Good Indian food for group dinners near downtown and UT campus. The grilled proteins are recommended - the chicken is fantastic.

Getting there before the evening dinner rush is important. Otherwise, expect slower service. Happy hour at the bar is great. $1 off drinks and 1/2 price appetizers.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.