About Clay Pit

1601 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations.

At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence.

Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 322-5131

Website:
http://www.claypit.com/

Catering:
Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We have a tradition of collaborating with our guests to create a menu befitting the celebration.

We also offer a wide variety of options around catering off-site events.

Parking Details:
Clay Pit offers self parking in a 22 car private parking lot at the north end of the building, available after 6p on weekdays, after 2:30p on Saturdays and all day Sunday.
There is also ample metered street parking available around the restaurant building.

Public Transit:
Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Balinder Singh, Navdeep Singh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Samosa - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Malai Kofta - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Chakra Martini - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
tandoori vegetables - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Mango Lassi Aka Happy Lassi - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Kothmir Salmon - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Curried Mussels - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Hot And Cold Love "Gajjar Halva And Vanilla Ince Cream - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
garlic naan - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Khuroos-E-Tursh - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Gulab Jaman - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
chicken tikka masala - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Naan Bread - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Samosa Chat - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Tandoori Sirloin Kebab - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Curry Crab Cakes - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Crispy Vegetable Pakoras - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Fried Calamari - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Coriander Calamari - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Samosa Chaat - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Kashmiri Style Lamb Shank - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Rack of Lamb - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Tandoori Rib Eye Steak - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Vegtable Bites - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Fish of the day - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Beef Kabob - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Cucumber Salad - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Saag Goat - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Mirch masala w paneer - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
chicken vindaloo - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Chicken Tikka Masala, Rice, Aloo Ghobi, And Naan - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Batata Cham - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Clay Pit Pakoras - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Salad And Tandoori Kabobs - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Salad - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Masala Duck - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Pappadam & Chutneys - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Friday Lunch Buffet - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Fruit Pudding - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Maslatini - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Tandoori Malai Kabob - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Kufte Veggie Something! - Clay Pit, Austin, TX
Chicken Tikka Marsala, Rack of Lamb, Seafood Grill, Roti, Garlic Naan - Clay Pit, Austin, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests.

Clay Pit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Authentic (23)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Spicy (23)
Special Occasion (19)
Family Style (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Vegan (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Historic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food with great service. We had v ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food with great service.

We had various curries, soup, and dessert.

Tags: Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time to eat here and both times i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Second time to eat here and both times it was excellent. Upstairs was buzzing, but we ate downstairs this time and it was nice and quiet. Food and service were both excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always tasty, perfect & true with every ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always tasty, perfect & true with every return visit!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Family Style, Historic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our food, the service was just ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We loved our food, the service was just right! We shared an appetizer and (4) entrees for a party of (4)...we could have done with one less entree and still had plenty of food.

No regrets though, it was all delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried several different dishes, they ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We tried several different dishes, they were all outstanding. Reasonably priced drinks. The service was OK, we got our main course dishes right after they served the appetizer.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was great! I was surprised by the e ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was great! I was surprised by the extensive wine menu. We tried a few new things and loved every dish. This is definitely a great dinner spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Indian food I've had in forever and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Best Indian food I've had in forever and the service was impeccable. We were in town for the weekend and restaurant found out about our engagement and gave us dessert and champagne. Adam was the best, amazing knowledge of menu and great recommendations that let us try a lot of great dishes. My new fave Austin place to eat! Thanks for a fabulous night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far my favorite place to take a crowd ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

By far my favorite place to take a crowd, or even enjoy alone! Favorite food of all time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is one of our favorites. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant is one of our favorites. The food is delicious, the place is vibrant, and happy hour is fun if you arrive early,

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent experience! Will definitely be ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent experience! Will definitely be back. Came with my family and we had a great time. Thanks for changing our table location to accommodate a quieter room (one of guests has hearing issue).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

One of the Best Indian Food Restaurants ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

One of the Best Indian Food Restaurants around! Always delicious!

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great !

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent menu, fantasticcurties and fla ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent menu, fantasticcurties and flavors. Great bar/cocktail menu as well. Something for every palate.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved it - again!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I loved it - again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had to ask to turn on the heat as I wa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had to ask to turn on the heat as I was extremely cold and I noticed everyone was wearing their coats while they were eating. Even the hostess has a jacket on. It was not a comfy warm eating environment until I asked for the heat to be turned up but the food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and Service were good but it al ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food and Service were good but it always takes so long to get our meal. It was busy, but not as busy as a Saturday night. Still, we waited nearly an hour for our food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent meal and a great attentive wai ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent meal and a great attentive waiter (e.g., noticed that our rice dish was empty and brought more before we asked). Terrific naan, papadum, and sauces. I departed from my usual chicken saag and tried the goat saag (described in the menu as meat on the bone); delicious saag and goat, but too many bones; will stick with my usual in the future.

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Clay Pit is somewhere that I forget how ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Clay Pit is somewhere that I forget how good it is. The service is timely and the food is really good. You can dictate mild to heavy spice on most dishes which makes it feel catered to your preference.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food at the Clay Pit is always outst ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food at the Clay Pit is always outstanding, but we can never figure out why service is so slow. Took a long time to be greeted by our server, long time for drinks and a long time for our food to arrive.

Also, the restaurant was freezing cold in December.

We always go back for the food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We came here as a group of eight and as ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We came here as a group of eight and as first time guests, we enjoyed the restaurant in all aspects. The service was great and the food was outstanding! Although our group was quite big, our orders arrived relatively quick, and our server was very professional and friendly. I will definitely recommend this to a friend. We will return!

Tags: Spicy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is amazing, the setting looks more ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food is amazing, the setting looks more cozy in the photo than it is for an evening. Bright fluorescent lighting, fairly chilly inside on a winter night. Great food makes up for it.

Tags: Spicy, Family Style, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Well, it was our 1st time and we where a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Well, it was our 1st time and we where asking questions and the waitress new it was and she didn't help much at all she didn't even ask my Nephew if he wanted anything to drink she just walked off. So our service was terrible she didn't even offer us any refills some other waitress did. I wish the lady with the blue hair with tattoos was our waitress because she was sweet & she didn't have to offer us a refill because that wasn't her job it was our blonde waitress job. I operate my own starbucks I am the store manager & this kind of thing would never happen under my watch.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Went here for the first time and really ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went here for the first time and really liked it. Excellent food, mine was nice and spicy the way I like it. Nice cocktails and service very good. Would definitely come again but I am leaving Austin soon.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just around the corner from my daughter' ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Just around the corner from my daughter's apartment, our second visit for dinner this year did not disappoint. It will likely be a regular stop on our visits to Austin.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Spicy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We sat down ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We sat downstairs which was cozy. Great authentic Indian food and great value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Clay Pit very rarely disappoints. We've ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Clay Pit very rarely disappoints. We've dined in half a dozen times and ordered takeout 40-50 times. The food is second to none. I'm convinced this is the best Indian food from here to the west coast. The samosas are heavenly as are the biryanis, tikka masalas, and who could forget that fantastic naan... Just try it all, you won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Indian food, with many vegetarian ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great Indian food, with many vegetarian choices. Great service as well

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was fairly unattentive and unenth ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Waiter was fairly unattentive and unenthusiastic. To bad. The food was great as usual!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Certainly the best upscale Indian in Aus ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Certainly the best upscale Indian in Austin. Delicious food, nice cocktails and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They sat us right at our reservation tim ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They sat us right at our reservation time. The food was maybe a little slow coming but it was great. We weren't in much of a hurry so it was not a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality and serving size were wonde ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food quality and serving size were wonderful. Korma for myself, Chicken Tikka Masala for my wife. Service was absolutely excellent. Would happily go back and try other menu items.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall, my wife and I liked the food an ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall, my wife and I liked the food and the service...and we'll be back; however, before I tell friends to try the restaurant, I have to caveat my recommendation with, "it's quite busy and noisy." Not a deal-breaker for some, but not the place for a quaint dinner date.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around. I needed to impres ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent all around. I needed to impress a business associate from India and The Clay Pit came through big time!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Indian food. Infused vodka martin ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great Indian food. Infused vodka martini, you can't get it anywhere else (ginger flavored).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Indian food and Service! The infu ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great Indian food and Service! The infused vodka is amazing, try a free sample!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Our server, L ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Our server, Lyndsey, was amazing. Definitely will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Indian food in the States!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best Indian food in the States!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Incredible food and wine! We make it our ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Incredible food and wine! We make it our mission to return every year while In Austin for the Grand Prix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal in every aspect! Hosts and se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great meal in every aspect! Hosts and servers were attentive and knowledgeable, food was great, and very nice ambience. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a great night out! delicious food and fa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

a great night out! delicious food and fantastic value. plenty to eat for reasonable price. i'm never disappointed when i eat here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Historic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.