About Clay Pit

1601 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations.

At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence.

Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm -11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 322-5131

Website:
http://www.claypit.com/

Catering:
Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests. We have a tradition of collaborating with our guests to create a menu befitting the celebration.

We also offer a wide variety of options around catering off-site events.

Parking Details:
Clay Pit offers self parking in a 22 car private parking lot at the north end of the building, available after 6p on weekdays, after 2:30p on Saturdays and all day Sunday.
There is also ample metered street parking available around the restaurant building.

Public Transit:
Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Balinder Singh, Navdeep Singh

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Samosa
Malai Kofta
Curried Mussels
garlic naan
Kothmir Salmon
Chakra Martini
tandoori vegetables
Mango Lassi Aka Happy Lassi
Hot And Cold Love "Gajjar Halva And Vanilla Ince Cream
Kufte Veggie Something!
Khuroos-E-Tursh
Gulab Jaman
Naan Bread
chicken tikka masala
Samosa Chat
Tandoori Sirloin Kebab
Curry Crab Cakes
Crispy Vegetable Pakoras
Coriander Calamari
Fried Calamari
Samosa Chaat
Kashmiri Style Lamb Shank
Rack of Lamb
Vegtable Bites
Tandoori Rib Eye Steak
Fish of the day
Cucumber Salad
Beef Kabob
Saag Goat
Mirch masala w paneer
chicken vindaloo
Clay Pit Pakoras
Chicken Tikka Masala, Rice, Aloo Ghobi, And Naan
Batata Cham
Friday Lunch Buffet
Tandoori Malai Kabob
Fruit Pudding
Pappadam & Chutneys
Salad And Tandoori Kabobs
Masala Duck
Salad
Maslatini
Chicken Tikka Marsala, Rack of Lamb, Seafood Grill, Roti, Garlic Naan

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Clay Pit offers several private onsite dining options, including a banquet room that can accommodate up to 250 guests.

Clay Pit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (71)
fit for foodies (71)
special occasion (48)
See All
great for lunch (29)
neighborhood gem (28)
romantic (24)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (14)
notable wine list (12)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
583 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great as always. The server ok ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great as always. The server ok but it appeared to me she had to many tables. Service was very slow, had to wait 10 for more rice and water. First time I have had slow service there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Food...Very nice down in the cave. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great Food...Very nice down in the cave. Only problem all the food came out at once, wine, salads and main course. Real disappointing and no space on the table for everything.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It's always a pleasure to indulge here. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It's always a pleasure to indulge here. The food never fails to impress me and it's all been delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Clay Pit is on of our local favorites. T ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Clay Pit is on of our local favorites. The food is outstanding and the service is always good. If you are craving delicious Indian food in a great downtown location, this is your place.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I realize that the general public isn't ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I realize that the general public isn't on its best behavior regarding you buffet, but the tandoori chicken and samosas ran out really quick. I have not eaten there in aprox. 20 years and came back for those two items. I waited and waited but finally had to go. I spent too much money without enjoying what I like.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Some of the best Indian food I've ever h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Some of the best Indian food I've ever had. Very flavorful and complex. I would love if you made Pistchio lasi and had Kulfi on your desert list. I'll be back...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Indian food I have had.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best Indian food I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Too many employees. 1-6 different folks ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Too many employees. 1-6 different folks took care of us. it was not very efficient. Many moments without a drink or a concern for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

No other special comments. Awkward wait ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

No other special comments. Awkward waiter but great food and interesting drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was not good.We went to early to ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service was not good.We went to early to avoid crowds,but got terrible service.Multiple items were forgotten.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Still the best Indian food in Austin. W ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Still the best Indian food in Austin. We took a couple who were visiting from out of town. The husband is Scottish and they have lived all over Asia. They loved the food and found it very authentic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I love Indian food and think Clay Pit ha ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love Indian food and think Clay Pit has some of the best spices and flavors. The goat curry was "the real thing" with bones and tough and tender bits and the spices outstanding.

We were in the cellar which was great because it was quieter, which I prefer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a 5k race and wanted ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were in town for a 5k race and wanted something different and fresh. We got it! Amazing food and our serve Shana was awesome! Will come again when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Clay Pit is my favorite Indian restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Clay Pit is my favorite Indian restaurant anywhere and I always make a point to eat here when I'm in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Out of towners

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Just picked this restaurant as it was close to our hotel and we could walk over. What an awesome and yummy surprise!!! We loved it❤️ The appetizers, the entree and desserts were wonderful. So much so that we went back another night! We are from Santa Fe, NM and have many outstanding restaurants.

Thank you for a wonderful experience X 2.

Culinary Delight

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clay Pit: De-lish!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Dining at the Clay Pit is always a pleasure. They have an array of Indian specialties to suit everyone, and it's always well prepared. Their calamari appetizer is among the best in Austin! We also had the Khuroos-E-Tursh and Mirch Masala curry with lamb -- both delicious! You can't go wrong with the Clay Pit.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, poor service as usual

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, poor service as usual. As a non-Indian food lover, we continue to frequent the Clay Pit because my husband LOVES the food and thinks it is one of the best places in Austin to get good Indian food. Even though I do not care for Indian food as a whole, I can usually find something and it is consistently good. They also have great bar drinks! However, I gave the rating of 3 stars because they also consistently provide poor service. We always have to seek out our server to get water refills, place our order, ask for the check, etc.... On our last visit (5/30/16) I mentioned to the server that we were celebrating my husbands birthday hoping for better service.... that didn't happen. We had to ask the gentleman cleaning the table next to us for a beer refill for my husband and a fork for me because the server had not come back to the table once our food was brought out. I really wish there was an alternative Indian option that my husband liked because I get so frustrated every time we visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great Indian food..

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I haven't had Indian food in awhile, but I remember that The Clay Pit had some tasty dishes.. My girlfriend is not very adventurous when it comes to food, so I was surprised when she agreed to come here for dinner. She didn't love all the items, but I did and I have had Indian food before and knew what to expect. She really like the Tikka Masala and the jalapeno cream cheese na'an and the curry dishes. The advantage of being able to pick your spice level is good for newbies too..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and outstanding service

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to Clay Pit. We chose to try some new dishes this time and were totally satisfied. We got great advice from our server, Jarvis. He gave great recommendations and his service was friendly, attentive, and entertaining without being overbearing. We had a great night all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Hands down the best Indian food in Austin. A must go!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Indian food for group dinners near ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Good Indian food for group dinners near downtown and UT campus. The grilled proteins are recommended - the chicken is fantastic.

Getting there before the evening dinner rush is important. Otherwise, expect slower service. Happy hour at the bar is great. $1 off drinks and 1/2 price appetizers.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

An Unmissable Classic

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I've had my ups and downs with the service at Clay Pit, most notably once when my boyfriend (now husband) and I were turned away at the door for not having reservations on a Thursday evening several years ago (it wasn't even that crowded? we definitely got a bad vibe that time and we were never sure why...), but mostly the experiences have been positive and the food is superb every time. This most recent time using OpenTable made the evening flawless.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Flavorful

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was our second time visiting Clay Pit, and of course, it did not disappoint! The flavor in each dish is unique and bursting with spice. Portions are great for sharing, which is the way to go since you can try many different dishes. Must gets are the samosas, garlic naan, vindaloo and coconut curry (my new favorit). The staff is also very attentive. We'll surely dine here again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I took some friends to the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I took some friends to the restaurant, and they loved it. We all had a very enjoyable experience and the food was marvelous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Having been disappointed by Indian food ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Having been disappointed by Indian food in the past I decided to give it one more try. The Clay Pit was wonderful! The food was very fresh and seasoned perfectly. The naan was warm and delicious. My wife and I had a great meal and plan to return soon as the menu is so diverse it was hard to make a choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my second visit to the Clay Pit. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This is my second visit to the Clay Pit. We had to drive an hour to visit the restaurant but it was well worth it. The food and service were outstanding. I will return often. The subtleties of Indian food tickle the palate with numerous new flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great meal of Indian dishes

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a must if you are into Indian food and are in Austin. As good as similar places in London or even Delhi

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dowstairs in the "cave" is really quiet ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Dowstairs in the "cave" is really quiet and cool. I took four of my indian colleagues here and they were all very happy with the food and ambiane, plus excellent friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ended up Eating at the Bar for Happy Hour

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The bartender was friendly and gave us great service. The 1/2 price apps and discounted drinks for happy hour was a great find. Food was good and hot. Served and presented well. Great time, nice ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

solid Indian food performer with great atmosphere.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Also book ahead and expect a great greeting. If you don't book you can wait in the bar which is a really lively scene. Starters are terrific and make sure you do not go extreme on the heat as the Hot is really hot.

Enjoyable after so many years.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Indian food I've had ... ever!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I've eaten Indian food in countries spanning 4 continents (including India). This is hands down the best food I've ever had. The flavours were so layered yet the food tasted light, not heavy or overdone. The restaurant itself is lovely ..... an old general store beautifully restored to an open and airy restaurant with great atmosphere. Although the rooms are big, the sound is well insulated so you can have a good conversation without a loud ambiance noise. Loved this place! If I didn't live in Seattle, I'd be a regular patron.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the worst service. My boyfriend a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had the worst service. My boyfriend and I had a reservation at 9pm. We arrived slightly early and were immediately seated. We then proceeded to wait 10 minutes before we were asked for our drink orders. 20 minutes later the drinks came out. Dinner arrived 45 minutes into the experience. The food was good. Our server became more and more apathetic as dinner went on. This was one of the worst dining experiences I've ever had. We were very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The food and drinks were incredible! Try ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and drinks were incredible! Try the samosas chaat to start. We will definitely be going back for more. Ask to be seated downstairs for the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

generally unimpressed.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

1. Not the best Indian food in Austin. For the price, you'd think they would have at least asked our spice preference (ended up getting zero spice and paying for a side of spicy stuff to put into the dishes ourselves).

2. The lighting is awful - please replace your LED high beams with something more restraunt-appropriate.

3. I think our server was stoned or something, which really detracted from the overall experience, as well.

Listen, I might be biased growing up eating Indian food, but we live in Austin, TX where every restaurant is a critics choice establishment - step it up or people will continue choosing Garaj Mahal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I have had great experiences at the Clay ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I have had great experiences at the Clay Pit, but I've been lucky enough to be seated in the basement both times. It is quiet and great ambiance, low lighting and intimate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food Service in need of improvement

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my second time at the Clay Pit. As before the food was excellent. Service was a little slow and impersonal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My family really enjoyed the experience! ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My family really enjoyed the experience! They thought that the food was excellent, and the spiciness of the curry was just right. The mango cheesecake was the best part. This will certainly be a restaurant that we will return to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Claypitgch

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Restaurant has been around more than 20 years but is unusual in that it keeps getting better, not tired.Menu tasty and well-executed. Definitely a local best for Indian, and a pleasure. Historic building has seen at least 6 restaurants in 70 or so years--this by far the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous, as usual.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The Clay Pit has to be one of the best restaurants in Austin. Always great food and fantastic service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never been so disappointed in my life!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I've never been so disappointed in my life with a restaurant! My fiancé had bragged about it for over a year so as a surprise I took her there and what an aweful experience.

The kitchen really messed up! The fish was dry and partly burnt. They didn't bring our whole order out at the same time.

The ambiance was uncomfortable due to spotlights glaring in our eyes and the noise was overbearing and the waiter dropping a full set of plates didn't help.

We felt a little insulted when the waiter offered us a discount for the un-edible food we were served, the manager did make that right by not charging us at all and trying regain our business he gave us a $25 gift certificate but I can assure you we won't be going back!

Just go to their lower cost restaurant Tarka, it's 100% better and you'll always get a perfect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.