HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Claw Daddy's

4.1
87 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups (135)
  • Fit for Foodies (87)
  • Neighborhood Gem (60)

Similar Restaurants

About

On Orchard Street in the heart of the Lower East Side of New York City, you will find Claw Daddy's. Since the doors opened in September of 2012, this has been the place to go to order up authentic Cajun Louisiana boil and indulge in an amazing raw bar. The bright contemporary atmosphere at Claw Daddy's is perfect for a night out. Start off your night with one of the many craft beers or signature adult Capri Sun cocktails.

Fried pickles, shrimp ceviche or crab cake fritters are just a few of the starters served. But the real claim to fame is a Louisiana boil from Claw Daddy's. Choose from shrimp, clams, crawfish, lobster or crab legs to put in your boil. Mix with the sauce of your choice and make it as spicy as you would like for the perfect meal.

-

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch:
Sat-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(646) 590-6816
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wine
What 87 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1  based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
5.0
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on October 30, 2015

I have only one word for this spot----AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
vipLSMT (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on October 29, 2015

Loved this place. Great vibe and energy. Very fun and great food.

Report
Helpful
vipaas395 (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on October 24, 2015

I haven't been able to find a really spectacular place for snow crab in the city yet and I had high hopes for this place, but the crab I had seemed overcooked. The owner was incredibly friendly, though, our waiters and waitresses were also very helpful and friendly, and some of the other dishes (fries, spinach) were really good. I'm hoping they can really nail the snow crab preparation methods (or whatever it was that made the meat somewhat limp and the shell less than crisp) so I can come back and gorge myself regularly.

Report
Helpful
vipEmosleazy (Nashville)
4.0  Dined on October 24, 2015

Being from Louisiana I was very excited about finding a cajun restaurant fairly close to home. They got just about everything right with the decor, menu, and the layout of the place.

The food was a bit disappointing and the service was below average. I ordered the crab and shrimp (spicy with the Clawdaddy's Special seasoning) and the jalepeno cornbread. The portions were fine but I was disappointed with the lack of spice, lack of flavor, and lack of sauces (we had to ask for butter and cocktail sauce and they were out of tarter sauce). I also don't like shrimp with the heads still on them without being warned (I would have just ordered the crab). In Louisiana if they serve them that way they tell you when you order. The corn bread was close, but needed either more jalepenos or a sauce to go with it.

I will return to try the crab with the insane spice level and a simpler seasoning. Also I can't really rate a cajun place without trying their gumbo first. They also have chicken wings so maybe two more visits.

Report
Helpful
ZDK94 (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on October 17, 2015

Great food, great service. The Adult Caprisun was a neat twist, and the food was a great taste of Orleans. Be careful about the spice level--its spicier than you might think!

Report
Helpful
vipESai (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on October 16, 2015

Good bar food, cold beer and entertaining presentation of food (bucket and gloves etc, etc).
Happy hour offers a great savings and the total charge for 7 people was sooo cheap!
Could be noisy.

Report
Helpful
Dmvtravelgirl (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on October 16, 2015

Great good, people and seafood. Hands down my favorite place to get authentic seafood in the city.

Report
Helpful
vipNikki (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on October 11, 2015

Their brunch is yummy. They have adult drinks served in plastic containers that remind you of Capri Sun juice boxes. We had their lobster eggs benedict which was very good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
1.0  Dined on October 4, 2015

over booked under staffed waited 1 hour and 45 minutes for food and then the waiter gave it to the couple next to me who got there 20 minutes before, even though they said they didn't order it

Report
Helpful
UncleGeer (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on October 4, 2015

After noticing this place on line, my girlfriend and I thought it could be a good Funday Sunday brunch spot. I was first lured by the "house-made" bloody marry with crab meat. When the waitress returned with what looked like an iv bag with a straw, I thought it was a joke. That's right, my bloody marry came in a firm plastic bag with a few shreds of crab meat, and what tasted like straight tomato juice- far from "house-made". The portions were small, and came in little cookie trays that I might feed my dog with. Don't get the jambalaya. Its the saddest looking jambalaya I've ever seen, and more closely resembles cat food. The mac and cheese was good, but I can't recall ever having a "bad" mac and cheese. The space, which wouldn't have mattered at all if the food and drinks were good, felt more like a pop-up than a real restaurant- a fish net hanging from the ceiling and a couple of boat ropes on the wall. The staff was very nice, but on two occasions, never came back with what we asked for- they may have just been overwhelmed.

A Bloody Mary in a plastic bag?????

Report
Helpful
vipViolet (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on October 3, 2015

Easily accommodated a large birthday party including last minute time change. Great food. Great service. The boils are amazing, and such a good deal for the cost! They even had a live DJ. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
Ellie (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on October 2, 2015

The service was great. The wait staff was very nice. We were a group of 10 people to celebrate a birthday. Usually with a large group, it is very hard and takes a long time to get orders in. And, Claw Daddy was nice enough to store our birthday cake before our reservation so the birthday girl didn't realize there was cake.

The food was great. The seafood lovers were happy and the non-seafood lovers (allergic to seafood) were happy too (they didn't starve). The drinks were so-so.

Report
Helpful
vipSpeaperboxx08 (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on September 30, 2015

Food was so good. Drink list could be expanded.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New England)
4.0  Dined on September 18, 2015

I don't know how you can run a restaurant that advertises crawfish and then not have any....we came from out of state just to eat the crawfish but we're disappointed when they told us they didn't have any. They didn't even offer us anything. This is poor service on their part. This being said, the other items were very good. I would go back, but I'm will definitely call ahead next time.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on September 17, 2015

Amazing food in a spacious restaurant with a chill atmosphere in a great area

Report
Helpful
Feedmegood (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on September 15, 2015

I personally like Boil but I like the price here. Ambience is better here too.

Report
Helpful
Stewart (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on September 13, 2015

This was our first time at ClawDaddy's and we will definitely return. The boils were great -- I had the snow crab leg boil in their "spicy" Cajun sauce and it was superb. The craw-fish were also very good. The lobster roll was respectable but nothing exceptional. We also tried the shrimp gumbo, which had ample shrimp in it, but it lacked that real roux flavour. The service was very good. It was going excellently until our server forgot to bring the last round of beer!

I do not think there is another restaurant in NYC right now that serves boils or such authentic Cajun food. Furthermore. with the closing of Cookin' With Jazz, the Delta Grill, and Acme, there are few places left. This one is worth a try if you haven't been there yet.

Report
Helpful
PDiesel (London)
4.0  Dined on September 9, 2015

Brilliant meal to introduce our new flatmates to NYC. Five of us went and all enjoyed our food greatly. Service was good and food was delicious. Will definitely be returning, perhaps for brunch!

Report
Helpful
vipJazzyLi (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on August 24, 2015

I am a crab leg aficionado, but these did not do it for me. I got the lemon pepper seasoning, spicy. It was not spicy at all. If you like spicy then maybe try the "insane" sauce. The waiter talked me out of it saying it would be too hot, but I probably would have liked it. The lemon pepper sauce had a slight sweetness to it which I did not understand. the sauce was also a bit watery.

The blue point oysters were nice and big.

The drinks were tasty, but they definitely put too much ice in the bag. After about 3 sips, it's done. Not really worth the $7 if you ask me.

Overall, the service was good and the music was even better (old school 90s jams the day I went) and I would go back for the oysters, but not my 1st choice for cheap drinks and crab legs.

Report
Helpful
lainey (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on August 22, 2015

Love this place so much.. Great service , amazing menu. wonderful staff I have the most fun when I dine at claw daddy's. Oh and the prices are just rite!😉

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5