Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Claw Daddy's

4.1
87 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

On Orchard Street in the heart of the Lower East Side of New York City, you will find Claw Daddy's. Since the doors opened in September of 2012, this has been the place to go to order up authentic Cajun Louisiana boil and indulge in an amazing raw bar. The bright contemporary atmosphere at Claw Daddy's is perfect for a night out. Start off your night with one of the many craft beers or signature adult Capri Sun cocktails.

Fried pickles, shrimp ceviche or crab cake fritters are just a few of the starters served. But the real claim to fame is a Louisiana boil from Claw Daddy's. Choose from shrimp, clams, crawfish, lobster or crab legs to put in your boil. Mix with the sauce of your choice and make it as spicy as you would like for the perfect meal.

-

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Cajun
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch:
Sat-Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(646) 590-6816
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wine
What 87 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
5.0
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on October 30, 2015

I have only one word for this spot----AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2015

Loved this place. Great vibe and energy. Very fun and great food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 24, 2015

I haven't been able to find a really spectacular place for snow crab in the city yet and I had high hopes for this place, but the crab I had seemed overcooked. The owner was incredibly friendly, though, our waiters and waitresses were also very helpful and friendly, and some of the other dishes (fries, spinach) were really good. I'm hoping they can really nail the snow crab preparation methods (or whatever it was that made the meat somewhat limp and the shell less than crisp) so I can come back and gorge myself regularly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 24, 2015

Being from Louisiana I was very excited about finding a cajun restaurant fairly close to home. They got just about everything right with the decor, menu, and the layout of the place.

The food was a bit disappointing and the service was below average. I ordered the crab and shrimp (spicy with the Clawdaddy's Special seasoning) and the jalepeno cornbread. The portions were fine but I was disappointed with the lack of spice, lack of flavor, and lack of sauces (we had to ask for butter and cocktail sauce and they were out of tarter sauce). I also don't like shrimp with the heads still on them without being warned (I would have just ordered the crab). In Louisiana if they serve them that way they tell you when you order. The corn bread was close, but needed either more jalepenos or a sauce to go with it.

I will return to try the crab with the insane spice level and a simpler seasoning. Also I can't really rate a cajun place without trying their gumbo first. They also have chicken wings so maybe two more visits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2015

Great food, great service. The Adult Caprisun was a neat twist, and the food was a great taste of Orleans. Be careful about the spice level--its spicier than you might think!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 16, 2015

Good bar food, cold beer and entertaining presentation of food (bucket and gloves etc, etc).
Happy hour offers a great savings and the total charge for 7 people was sooo cheap!
Could be noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2015

Great good, people and seafood. Hands down my favorite place to get authentic seafood in the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2015

Their brunch is yummy. They have adult drinks served in plastic containers that remind you of Capri Sun juice boxes. We had their lobster eggs benedict which was very good.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 4, 2015

over booked under staffed waited 1 hour and 45 minutes for food and then the waiter gave it to the couple next to me who got there 20 minutes before, even though they said they didn't order it

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 4, 2015

After noticing this place on line, my girlfriend and I thought it could be a good Funday Sunday brunch spot. I was first lured by the "house-made" bloody marry with crab meat. When the waitress returned with what looked like an iv bag with a straw, I thought it was a joke. That's right, my bloody marry came in a firm plastic bag with a few shreds of crab meat, and what tasted like straight tomato juice- far from "house-made". The portions were small, and came in little cookie trays that I might feed my dog with. Don't get the jambalaya. Its the saddest looking jambalaya I've ever seen, and more closely resembles cat food. The mac and cheese was good, but I can't recall ever having a "bad" mac and cheese. The space, which wouldn't have mattered at all if the food and drinks were good, felt more like a pop-up than a real restaurant- a fish net hanging from the ceiling and a couple of boat ropes on the wall. The staff was very nice, but on two occasions, never came back with what we asked for- they may have just been overwhelmed.

A Bloody Mary in a plastic bag?????

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2015

Easily accommodated a large birthday party including last minute time change. Great food. Great service. The boils are amazing, and such a good deal for the cost! They even had a live DJ. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 2, 2015

The service was great. The wait staff was very nice. We were a group of 10 people to celebrate a birthday. Usually with a large group, it is very hard and takes a long time to get orders in. And, Claw Daddy was nice enough to store our birthday cake before our reservation so the birthday girl didn't realize there was cake.

The food was great. The seafood lovers were happy and the non-seafood lovers (allergic to seafood) were happy too (they didn't starve). The drinks were so-so.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 30, 2015

Food was so good. Drink list could be expanded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 18, 2015

I don't know how you can run a restaurant that advertises crawfish and then not have any....we came from out of state just to eat the crawfish but we're disappointed when they told us they didn't have any. They didn't even offer us anything. This is poor service on their part. This being said, the other items were very good. I would go back, but I'm will definitely call ahead next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2015

Amazing food in a spacious restaurant with a chill atmosphere in a great area

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 15, 2015

I personally like Boil but I like the price here. Ambience is better here too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 13, 2015

This was our first time at ClawDaddy's and we will definitely return. The boils were great -- I had the snow crab leg boil in their "spicy" Cajun sauce and it was superb. The craw-fish were also very good. The lobster roll was respectable but nothing exceptional. We also tried the shrimp gumbo, which had ample shrimp in it, but it lacked that real roux flavour. The service was very good. It was going excellently until our server forgot to bring the last round of beer!

I do not think there is another restaurant in NYC right now that serves boils or such authentic Cajun food. Furthermore. with the closing of Cookin' With Jazz, the Delta Grill, and Acme, there are few places left. This one is worth a try if you haven't been there yet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2015

Brilliant meal to introduce our new flatmates to NYC. Five of us went and all enjoyed our food greatly. Service was good and food was delicious. Will definitely be returning, perhaps for brunch!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 24, 2015

I am a crab leg aficionado, but these did not do it for me. I got the lemon pepper seasoning, spicy. It was not spicy at all. If you like spicy then maybe try the "insane" sauce. The waiter talked me out of it saying it would be too hot, but I probably would have liked it. The lemon pepper sauce had a slight sweetness to it which I did not understand. the sauce was also a bit watery.

The blue point oysters were nice and big.

The drinks were tasty, but they definitely put too much ice in the bag. After about 3 sips, it's done. Not really worth the $7 if you ask me.

Overall, the service was good and the music was even better (old school 90s jams the day I went) and I would go back for the oysters, but not my 1st choice for cheap drinks and crab legs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 22, 2015

Love this place so much.. Great service , amazing menu. wonderful staff I have the most fun when I dine at claw daddy's. Oh and the prices are just rite!😉

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 22, 2015

I've been twice now and it is just amazing. The food is delicious and a fun find. The seafood is so fresh and the spice options are excellent. Just love this place!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 22, 2015

The hh is a great deal $1 wings and oysters. The boil was Delish! I'm still thinking about the sauce.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2015

good food, fun place. Kids love the food. Staff was attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 8, 2015

The food was delicious, particularly the hush puppies, which were absolutely scrumptious! The drinks were tasty an strong (we got a brunch deal on pulsd). And the staff was welcoming and attentive. They didn't rush us, it was a great time and we'll be back!-207

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 8, 2015

Boozy brunch done right. Great deal with the pulsd voucher! Will be coming back for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 7, 2015

We love this place - discovered it around May and have been back several times since then. It's become our go-to place for spicy seafood and cold beers. It was especially awesome to catch the happy hour prices after spending the day at the beach - OYSTERS! Service is kind of hit or miss, but the food is great. Lively atmosphere, would be good for a fun date or dinner with friends. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 3, 2015

Server was very curt and attempted to pull plates from the table as we were eating. We were one of the night's last tables, but certainly did not arrive at the last minute to possibly justify her behavior. We were also never served the crawfish that we ordered. I'll just go to the Boil next time for sure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 2, 2015

The only thing people should get from here is the seafood and drinks. The brunch menu wasn't that good but the seafood in a bag looked very good. I was upset that i brought a pulsd package for them and was disappointed with the brunch menu and the appearance of the blooding mary. In the pictures it looks so cool in a mason jar with crab meat and shrimp coming out of it but you get a capri sun looking bag with the blooding mary mix in it. Other then that the waitress was great and the cranberry bellini was amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 27, 2015

Very good dining atmosphere! The $1 happy hour wing and oyster were really great deal. However, , strictly speaking, I thought the taste of cajun style shrimp and clam cumbo I ordered was just mediocre. Overall it was not a bad cajun seafood cuisine dining experience in NYC :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 19, 2015

The food at Claw Daddy's was excellent! Our waitress was kind, and knew the menu well. My only criticisms are the weak drinks and the high prices. Everything seems a little too marked up for a restaurant that's trying to get back on its feet. But the food is absolutely delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2015

Great foods!! So yummy, always want to go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 17, 2015

I loved the wonderful New Orleans food eaten with my fingers while wearing plastic gloves provided with the bib. The noise level was excruciatingly loud, making it impossible to have a conversation. The service was warm friendly and helpful. I will go there again but not with anyone with whom I want to talk.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 16, 2015

Although the restaurant smelled good walking in, I couldn't even handle how loud the place was. The room is essentially a concrete box with no acoustics so all the noise reverberates extensively. Felt more like being in the middle of a noisy mall food court filled with high schoolers than a restaurant in New York. I wish I was able to comment on the food but I had to leave before we could even order. The thought of spending around $50 for a meal in that kind of environment was something that even a drink couldn't assuage. Also, their cocktail menu only has one kind of liquor - Soju - and the cocktails seem to come in a plastic bag like a boozy capri sun.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 16, 2015

$1 oysters/wings, $5 beer, $7 wine for happy hour. Pretty good deal. The oysters are pretty fresh, the wings are not overcooked. The calamari was even better - thought it was rather expensive ($7, I think) for about 7 pieces of calamari. Garlic noodles was very delicious; it is very garlicky. The noodles were cooked perfectly and well seasoned. The seafood in the broil was rather tasty, though the potatoes and corn were cold in the middle, a little disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 12, 2015

Food was pretty good, service not so much. Took FOREVER for the bartender to make one drink. Wouldn't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2015

You guys are great! Drinks are great- although plastic bags might not be environmental friendly...Food is delicious. Loving the $1 oysters. Huge draw.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2015

Great place for seafoods. Many selections of sauces and very tastly. We love this place, will go back soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 25, 2015

we got to sit one table over from the large pole - we must be moving up in the world. Word of advice, unless the food served at that table is cheaper, remove the table from there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2015

Highly recommended, good place for any occasion, great food an service. Thank you Claw Daddy's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2015

Came a month ago and our lovely waitress still remembered me. Came during happy hour on a Saturday. $1 wings tasted great which no one at our table expected! Ordered 40 wings on top of everything for our table of 7 and was super tempted to get another batch.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Claw Daddy's