About City Tavern - Downtown LA

735 S. Figueroa Street
#132
Los Angeles, CA 90017
View Larger Map

From the Rush Street and the first City Tavern guys – Ken Kaufman & Brian McKeaney – comes their newest Downtown Los Angeles venue, an old school tavern, CITY TAVERN to be exact! Distressed brick walls, reclaimed wood floors & walls, warm wood tables and chairs plus a lounge with comfy couches. Old school, until you look at the menu where you will find refined comfort food for lunch and dinner, 28 of the best California craft draft beers behind the bar, a boutique California specific wine program and some of the best hand crafted cocktails in DTLA.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
7th st

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 239-5654

Website:
http://www.citytaverndtla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available on Figueroa st. Otherwise there is a lot for the Fig at 7th complex with entrances on both 7th and 8th streets. Park on the bottom 3 floors for restaurants and shops.

Public Transit:
There is a metro station for subway at 7th and flower (1 block away)and bus stops 1 block away at 8th and flower, and 7th and francisco

Executive Chef:
Jessica Christensen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

City Tavern - Downtown LA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (4)
See All
great for outdoor dining (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
fit for foodies (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
51 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cool place for lunch and happy hour. Th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Cool place for lunch and happy hour. The food is good and so is the service. Very difficult to get a hold of a live person when you need to speak to someone. You are directed to leave a message with your question/request and someone will get back to you. I made a change in the number of guests attending and apparently they had not checked their messages from the day before so they had to scramble around to accommodate us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Second time I've been here and disappoin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Second time I've been here and disappointed. Is it so hard to cook a burger well done? It took them 25 minutes to deliver our food and still it wasn't cooked as requested. No manager follow up and waitress still charged me $4.50 for the Fry's that came with the burger. No customer service and no quality control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Great for pre-concert

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

I wanted a place my buddies and I could go to before a concert at the Sports Arena. This fit the bill perfectly. Good food; fun, sports atmosphere; relaxed/casual vibe. We told the waitress we had a show to get to and she was extra attentive in getting the order in and getting us out on time. I recommend it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Booths

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

When we arrived, all the booths were open so we asked to be seated in one. Hostess said it's for groups of 4 or more. We noticed during our stay that a booth was given to a party of 2 and another party of 3. This is the third time I've been told they are reserved for larger groups but either the booths stay open or are given to small parties like mine. Don't understand their reasoning.

Our waitress was very nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Perfect location for dinner before an ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Perfect location for dinner before an event at Staples Center

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service, gorgeous interior, de ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Fantastic service, gorgeous interior, delicious food, and pretty calm. Not rowdy or anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for craft beer

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

There were some good craft beer choices though the wine options were limited. Service was good though a little too fast - we were there for dinner and had appetizers, mains and a dessert in an hour. The poutine was particularly nice and my son loved the enormous pastrami burger.

It's unfortunately located in a mall under the Target store so the ambiance isn't that great and the place was pretty empty at 7.30pm when we went, but maybe it's the kind of place that gets going later.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

quick and fun

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

They have some of the standard fare with just a little pop that makes it unique and interesting. I was really surprised to be able to order, eat and get back to work in my allotted hour. I may try dinner or the happy hour in the near future.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Disappointed I couldn't use my Opentable points. Restaurant was empty...requested a booth and told they had to hold them for other people. Very few customers came in..booths remained empty.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Casual Night Out

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Met up with my friends at City Tavern, tucked in a corner on the first floor of FIGat7th. Not much of a beer person but their variety looked great. I recommend the Risotto and the Burgers. Service was great. Drinks were a little on the pricier side. Good for a casual night out to entertain.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Local Place

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

Food and service is more than often consistent and reliable. Favorites are the roasted chicken and the salads. Staff is friendly and very helpful with selecting food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always great service and food. Easy acc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

Always great service and food. Easy access from my Office.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Tavern in the City

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

This is a great restaurant. They have great food, expecially the deviled eggs. They also have great specialty cocktails. The cocktails change so it's worth stopping in periodically to see what's new on the drink menu.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my third time coming here and I ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

This is my third time coming here and I always order the Pastrami Burger which I love. The green beans in the appetizer menu are very tasty.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a quick work lunch. The cheese ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2015

Went for a quick work lunch. The cheesesteak was decent, but messy. The burger was good. We go here more out of convenience because of the location, but are usually not disappointed. It's good quality bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Love this place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 13, 2015

Love the food and everything about this place!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great grub, good beer. Perfect for a Fri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

Great grub, good beer. Perfect for a Friday lunch with a coworker.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Disappointing

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 12, 2015

Location is hard to find since it's in the sub-level (3rd) in a shopping mall in DTLA. Menu selection is limited and very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Graet Location and Good Food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 26, 2015

Went here during DinaLA week. Great deal and great selection on the DinaLA menu. Service was good, but it did take a bit to get our food. Overall, it was a great experience and would recommend to friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love this place!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

Always outstanding food and service! They have one of the best burgers in downtown. This is a must go to place. Job well done City Tavern!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very impressive

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

Didn't know what to expect given the challenge of finding this gem among other stores and shops of all kinds. At first, we thought it might be too noisy, but it wasn't. Loved the menu and presentation as well as the taste. The salmon was delicious but I loved the Caesar salad. Very plentiful and not ridiculously priced. Our server was not overboard, hovering. Just a great experience and yes, we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pretty Average

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

Convenient spot before an event at Staples as they had tables open. Beer selection was good but it took a while to get our beers. Grits were good. Burgers were overcooked and a little dry. Nothing special, which was disappointing as I was looking for an awesome juicy burger. I'd go back but with expectations in check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Went here for a quick work lunch and it ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 18, 2014

Went here for a quick work lunch and it was good. We both had the burger and were pleased with it. Service was good as was the food. I would return for a quick work lunch. I did think the menu was a little limited, but it was all we needed for lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Always delicious!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 17, 2014

I would recommend City Tavern to anyone and everyone. Great service and the food is consistently delicious! Great outdoor patio too.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a fun place

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 15, 2014

This place is hard 2 find but well worth the effort. It's casual, warm and uncomplicated. Great variety of good foods and an incredible selection of beers. Sidrah, our server, was very knowledgeable, patient and kind as were the hostesses.

I will return when back in town!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great Burger!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 30, 2014

The burgers here are amazing! The have a large patio as well which would be good for groups. Definitely worth a try.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was okay service was ....

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 21, 2014

Food was okay service was ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Got better when we got the food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

First time here and we had a difficult time locating the place since it was on the bottom floor of a mall. We almost gave up looking for it since we couldn't see it from the street. Service started off slow and we waited about 5 minutes until the server showed up. Things got much better when we got our food. The burger was great. The chicken sandwich with jalapeños was alright but it was served on a roll that was bigger than the chicken. No problem. Just remove the bread. The side of Brussels sprouts was the standout and worth getting and if we get back here, we would definitely order them again. Great fries too. Don't know the actual name of the drink my husband ordered but it had pineapple juice and jalapeño in it. Very drinkable.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We thought the food was great, service a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

We thought the food was great, service as well, I personally will order with a friend, the portions were so generous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Beer Selection

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

and happy hour deals on great craft beers. Great location and just far enough away from Staples Center that you can get a table for dinner before a game and walk a few extra blocks. Wonderful pastrami burger!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unique Pub Grub

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

They have unusual menu items like friend green tomatoes, tortilla soup. You can't go wrong with the beer selections. Good addition to downtown scene

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 13, 2014

Came with a friend on a early Sunday evening, caught about an hour of their happy hour, which was a surprise (who doesn't love a sunday happy hour) Great service, love the decor,and the drinks and food was good too. Not what I was expecting but I was pleasantly surprised overall!

I'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very Good Food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 5, 2014

The best thing about this place is the food. The burger I had was delicious, as were the harissa seasoned fingerling potatoes and brussel sprouts. My tablemates really seemed to gobble the devilled eggs up. No complaints about the food at all... it's good place to go before the Staples Center. Atmospherically it could be a little better. I know it's not really a chain, but being located in the 7th/Fig complex, it did sort of have that feel. Even with the good food, I couldn't help feeling a little like I was an a slightly more "edgy" version of Claim Jumper. But, instead of saccharine smiling costumed employees with Sheriff's badges, it was angry hipsters who snidely looked down on your beer choice. But, really, the place is good.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

First time at City Tavern

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 30, 2014

I was looking so forward to lunch at City Tavern, and the menu looked great. I ordered a Chopped Vegetable Salad, but there were hardly any vegetables in it. A few green beans (really?) and very few other small dice veggies on way too many greens (I guess to fill up the bowl and give the impression it's a good sized salad.) I ate the two or three green beans and left most of the rest, as it was just fluff filling the bowl. At $12, I would say quite a rip-off. There are far better places at Figat7th to bother with this place. I left starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great find in Fig at 7th!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2014

I've visited the Fig at 7th many times since the location was renovated, but have not dined at City Tavern until last Friday 9/19/14. I made a reservation there a month in advance for a working lunch and had no issues with the wait or the possibility of accommodating an extra person. The food and service was excellent! I'm curious to try the other food items upon my anticipated future returns! Definitely a great find for dining and happy hour!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful lunch there

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2014

We went for lunch and it was my first time being in City Tavern. It was a great experience. I had the steak cseasar sald with garlic fries and it was very very good. I ordered my steak medium rare and it was perfectly done. The place was very noisy though in my opinion. I felt I had to yell when I talked to my coworkers sitting across the table. Our waiter Michael was attentive, quick, polite. You could tell he's a guy getting the work done. I'd take my young kids here for lunch since my kids are loud. I haven't been there for dinner so I wouldn't know anything about the noise level or the atmosphere at night. The set-up and the decoration throughout the restaurant is great too. Very at ease yet chic. I'd suggest this place to everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pastrami hamburger

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2014

Might be the best burger I've ever had. The burg was like silk, and the pastrami was tender. Fun place, too.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was okay, nothing special. I l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

The food was okay, nothing special. I loved that they had so many beers though.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great find!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

A little hard to find as it is below street level in fig@7th complex but well worth it especially if you like local brews, wines and liquors. Food was great. Tried the pork sliders, deviled eggs, Brussels sprouts, steak salad and chicken salad. Nothing disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2014

Waitress disappeared plenty of times during happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.