Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

La BoucherieLa Boucherie
(115)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 42 times today
DekkadanceDekkadance
(72)
$$$$
International | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 54 times today
SoraSora
(54)
$$$$
Sushi | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 14 times today
MiroMiro
(235)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 27 times today
Morton's The Steakhouse - Los AngelesMorton's The Steakhouse - Los Angeles
(1390)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 9 times today
10e10e
(197)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 10 times today
Perch LAPerch LA
(3567)
$$$$
French American | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 163 times today
71Above71Above
(787)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 53 times today
Faith & FlowerFaith & Flower
(1061)
$$$$
Californian | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 54 times today
Water Grill - DowntownWater Grill - Downtown
(3060)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 59 times today
Takami Sushi & Robata RestaurantTakami Sushi & Robata Restaurant
(1957)
$$$$
Japanese | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 48 times today
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Los AngelesFogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Los Angeles
(581)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 34 times today
Katsuya - L.A. LiveKatsuya - L.A. Live
(1834)
$$$$
Japanese | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 89 times today
Broken SpanishBroken Spanish
(609)
$$$$
Mexican | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 55 times today
Little Sister DowntownLittle Sister Downtown
(548)
$$$$
Southeast Asian | Downtown, Downtown / South and East LA
Booked 44 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About City Tavern - Downtown LA

From the Rush Street and the first City Tavern guys – Ken Kaufman & Brian McKeaney – comes their newest Downtown Los Angeles venue, an old school tavern, CITY TAVERN to be exact! Distressed brick walls, reclaimed wood floors & walls, warm wood tables and chairs plus a lounge with comfy couches. Old school, until you look at the menu where you will find refined comfort food for lunch and dinner, 28 of the best California craft draft beers behind the bar, a boutique California specific wine program and some of the best hand crafted cocktails in DTLA.

735 S. Figueroa Street
#132
Los Angeles, CA 90017
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
7th st

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 239-5654

Website:
http://www.citytaverndtla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available on Figueroa st. Otherwise there is a lot for the Fig at 7th complex with entrances on both 7th and 8th streets. Park on the bottom 3 floors for restaurants and shops.

Public Transit:
There is a metro station for subway at 7th and flower (1 block away)and bus stops 1 block away at 8th and flower, and 7th and francisco

Executive Chef:
Jessica Christensen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

City Tavern - Downtown LA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (67)
Good for Groups (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
67 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I made the reservation and showed up at the time I made it for and the restaurant was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We always have a pleasant experience at The Tavern. Excellent service and good food.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had our Holiday work party at City Tavern and everyone enjoyed themselves. Food, Drinks and service was great. The Short rib, baby back ribs and Shrimp risotto were the bomb! My co-workers were pleasantly surprised but I loved City Tavern already because of their great craft cocktails. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good happy hour specials. Lunch time can appear busy, but it's not unbearable and actually good for people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love this place! Full bar, great craft beer, great food, the servers are awesome!!
Very reasonably priced!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

City Tavern is located in the FIGat7th shopping center at the bottom level next to the food court. It has both indoor and outside dining and is very smartly and handsomely furnished. It has a pretty varied menu and everything I've had there has been great. My friend and I shared a Market Salad, and steak and salmon, all of which were flavorful and enticingly presented. It's a great alternative to some of the more pricey places at LA Live to dine before events in South Downtown LA. Very much recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

nice venue for a lunch or happ hour to unwind. Always a convenient place to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Went for lunch with friends. Food was very good but the menu limited.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Had the most delicious shrimp risotto at the Downtown Tavern. Absolutely perfect, in a quiet and cool setting. Location is perfect, right at the 7th & Fig mall, lower level. Lots of parking available, they validate, and prices were reasonable. Not a huge selection of items on their menu, but so far, what I've had, has been delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We came specifically because that weekend was advertised as NFL Sunday. When we got there, no games were playing on any of the TVs. I asked to put on a game and the manager(?) put on... soccer. I asked a waitress to assist about twenty minutes later, and was joined in by another very upset gentleman. Finally, NFL, after 30 minutes. But all the tvs were running from the same channel so they didn't appear to be able to play multiple games even though there were like a dozen games on. Games were already half over nearly. My sister ordered tea - plain hot tea - and she had to wait because she was told the restaurant was out of hot water. What? Finally, they got rid of the cool lounge on the second level patio area. It's just a bunch of tables that don't match the DJ vibe. Was really disappointed and won't be going back. This place is so great on weekdays. I don't know why they can't get their brunch hour together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My friends and I came here for one of their birthdays. We were seated right away (it was 12:30 on a Tuesday) and I had made reservations. We ordered our drinks (which were very yummy but a bit on the strong side). The food came quickly and was filling and delicious. I would go back again.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Hostess refused to seat us despite having reservation. Stated that manager said last table was already seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Place to eat before a Rams game since the Blue Line stop is a block away. Good burgers and fries. Great happy hour values. Service was hit and miss. Empty water glasses were ignored and when noticed, only one got filled. What up wit dat?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good service
The staff is amazing
The beer is excellent

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Cool place for lunch and happy hour. The food is good and so is the service. Very difficult to get a hold of a live person when you need to speak to someone. You are directed to leave a message with your question/request and someone will get back to you. I made a change in the number of guests attending and apparently they had not checked their messages from the day before so they had to scramble around to accommodate us.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Second time I've been here and disappointed. Is it so hard to cook a burger well done? It took them 25 minutes to deliver our food and still it wasn't cooked as requested. No manager follow up and waitress still charged me $4.50 for the Fry's that came with the burger. No customer service and no quality control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2016

I wanted a place my buddies and I could go to before a concert at the Sports Arena. This fit the bill perfectly. Good food; fun, sports atmosphere; relaxed/casual vibe. We told the waitress we had a show to get to and she was extra attentive in getting the order in and getting us out on time. I recommend it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2016

When we arrived, all the booths were open so we asked to be seated in one. Hostess said it's for groups of 4 or more. We noticed during our stay that a booth was given to a party of 2 and another party of 3. This is the third time I've been told they are reserved for larger groups but either the booths stay open or are given to small parties like mine. Don't understand their reasoning.

Our waitress was very nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Perfect location for dinner before an event at Staples Center

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Fantastic service, gorgeous interior, delicious food, and pretty calm. Not rowdy or anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2016

There were some good craft beer choices though the wine options were limited. Service was good though a little too fast - we were there for dinner and had appetizers, mains and a dessert in an hour. The poutine was particularly nice and my son loved the enormous pastrami burger.

It's unfortunately located in a mall under the Target store so the ambiance isn't that great and the place was pretty empty at 7.30pm when we went, but maybe it's the kind of place that gets going later.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2016

They have some of the standard fare with just a little pop that makes it unique and interesting. I was really surprised to be able to order, eat and get back to work in my allotted hour. I may try dinner or the happy hour in the near future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Disappointed I couldn't use my Opentable points. Restaurant was empty...requested a booth and told they had to hold them for other people. Very few customers came in..booths remained empty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Met up with my friends at City Tavern, tucked in a corner on the first floor of FIGat7th. Not much of a beer person but their variety looked great. I recommend the Risotto and the Burgers. Service was great. Drinks were a little on the pricier side. Good for a casual night out to entertain.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2015

Food and service is more than often consistent and reliable. Favorites are the roasted chicken and the salads. Staff is friendly and very helpful with selecting food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2015

Always great service and food. Easy access from my Office.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2015

This is a great restaurant. They have great food, expecially the deviled eggs. They also have great specialty cocktails. The cocktails change so it's worth stopping in periodically to see what's new on the drink menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (México)·Dined on July 24, 2015

This is my third time coming here and I always order the Pastrami Burger which I love. The green beans in the appetizer menu are very tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2015

Went for a quick work lunch. The cheesesteak was decent, but messy. The burger was good. We go here more out of convenience because of the location, but are usually not disappointed. It's good quality bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2015

Love the food and everything about this place!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2015

Great grub, good beer. Perfect for a Friday lunch with a coworker.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2015

Location is hard to find since it's in the sub-level (3rd) in a shopping mall in DTLA. Menu selection is limited and very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2015

Went here during DinaLA week. Great deal and great selection on the DinaLA menu. Service was good, but it did take a bit to get our food. Overall, it was a great experience and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2015

Always outstanding food and service! They have one of the best burgers in downtown. This is a must go to place. Job well done City Tavern!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2015

Didn't know what to expect given the challenge of finding this gem among other stores and shops of all kinds. At first, we thought it might be too noisy, but it wasn't. Loved the menu and presentation as well as the taste. The salmon was delicious but I loved the Caesar salad. Very plentiful and not ridiculously priced. Our server was not overboard, hovering. Just a great experience and yes, we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2015

Convenient spot before an event at Staples as they had tables open. Beer selection was good but it took a while to get our beers. Grits were good. Burgers were overcooked and a little dry. Nothing special, which was disappointing as I was looking for an awesome juicy burger. I'd go back but with expectations in check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2014

Went here for a quick work lunch and it was good. We both had the burger and were pleased with it. Service was good as was the food. I would return for a quick work lunch. I did think the menu was a little limited, but it was all we needed for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2014

I would recommend City Tavern to anyone and everyone. Great service and the food is consistently delicious! Great outdoor patio too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2014

This place is hard 2 find but well worth the effort. It's casual, warm and uncomplicated. Great variety of good foods and an incredible selection of beers. Sidrah, our server, was very knowledgeable, patient and kind as were the hostesses.
I will return when back in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.