HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

City Tavern - Downtown LA

4.0
67 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch (67)
  • Good for Groups (63)
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (47)

Similar Restaurants

About

From the Rush Street and the first City Tavern guys – Ken Kaufman & Brian McKeaney – comes their newest Downtown Los Angeles venue, an old school tavern, CITY TAVERN to be exact! Distressed brick walls, reclaimed wood floors & walls, warm wood tables and chairs plus a lounge with comfy couches. Old school, until you look at the menu where you will find refined comfort food for lunch and dinner, 28 of the best California craft draft beers behind the bar, a boutique California specific wine program and some of the best hand crafted cocktails in DTLA.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Happy Hour: Daily: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(213) 239-5654
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 67 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0
  based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
1.0
Dined on December 31, 2016

I made the reservation and showed up at the time I made it for and the restaurant was closed.

Report
Helpful
vipSusan (Los Angeles)
5.0
Dined on December 28, 2016

We always have a pleasant experience at The Tavern. Excellent service and good food.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0
Dined on December 14, 2016

We had our Holiday work party at City Tavern and everyone enjoyed themselves. Food, Drinks and service was great. The Short rib, baby back ribs and Shrimp risotto were the bomb! My co-workers were pleasantly surprised but I loved City Tavern already because of their great craft cocktails. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
erudite1906 (Los Angeles)
4.0
Dined on November 17, 2016

Good happy hour specials. Lunch time can appear busy, but it's not unbearable and actually good for people watching.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0
Dined on October 29, 2016

Love this place! Full bar, great craft beer, great food, the servers are awesome!!
Very reasonably priced!

Report
Helpful
vipLuvDiningOut (Los Angeles)
4.0
Dined on October 29, 2016

City Tavern is located in the FIGat7th shopping center at the bottom level next to the food court. It has both indoor and outside dining and is very smartly and handsomely furnished. It has a pretty varied menu and everything I've had there has been great. My friend and I shared a Market Salad, and steak and salmon, all of which were flavorful and enticingly presented. It's a great alternative to some of the more pricey places at LA Live to dine before events in South Downtown LA. Very much recommended.

Report
Helpful
vipTrebla10 (Los Angeles)
3.0
Dined on October 25, 2016

nice venue for a lunch or happ hour to unwind. Always a convenient place to go to.

Report
Helpful
Avalon2 (Los Angeles)
4.0
Dined on October 5, 2016

Went for lunch with friends. Food was very good but the menu limited.

Report
Helpful
SukiKunitz (Los Angeles)
4.0
Dined on September 27, 2016

Had the most delicious shrimp risotto at the Downtown Tavern. Absolutely perfect, in a quiet and cool setting. Location is perfect, right at the 7th & Fig mall, lower level. Lots of parking available, they validate, and prices were reasonable. Not a huge selection of items on their menu, but so far, what I've had, has been delicious.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0
Dined on September 22, 2016

We came specifically because that weekend was advertised as NFL Sunday. When we got there, no games were playing on any of the TVs. I asked to put on a game and the manager(?) put on... soccer. I asked a waitress to assist about twenty minutes later, and was joined in by another very upset gentleman. Finally, NFL, after 30 minutes. But all the tvs were running from the same channel so they didn't appear to be able to play multiple games even though there were like a dozen games on. Games were already half over nearly. My sister ordered tea - plain hot tea - and she had to wait because she was told the restaurant was out of hot water. What? Finally, they got rid of the cool lounge on the second level patio area. It's just a bunch of tables that don't match the DJ vibe. Was really disappointed and won't be going back. This place is so great on weekdays. I don't know why they can't get their brunch hour together.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Happy Hour: Daily: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
7th st
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(213) 239-5654
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is available on Figueroa st. Otherwise there is a lot for the Fig at 7th complex with entrances on both 7th and 8th streets. Park on the bottom 3 floors for restaurants and shops.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a metro station for subway at 7th and flower (1 block away)and bus stops 1 block away at 8th and flower, and 7th and francisco
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jessica Christensen
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine