Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

City Tavern - Downtown LA

4.0
67 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Outdoor Dining

Similar Restaurants

About

From the Rush Street and the first City Tavern guys – Ken Kaufman & Brian McKeaney – comes their newest Downtown Los Angeles venue, an old school tavern, CITY TAVERN to be exact! Distressed brick walls, reclaimed wood floors & walls, warm wood tables and chairs plus a lounge with comfy couches. Old school, until you look at the menu where you will find refined comfort food for lunch and dinner, 28 of the best California craft draft beers behind the bar, a boutique California specific wine program and some of the best hand crafted cocktails in DTLA.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Happy Hour: Daily: 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(213) 239-5654
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jessica Christensen
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
7th st
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is available on Figueroa st. Otherwise there is a lot for the Fig at 7th complex with entrances on both 7th and 8th streets. Park on the bottom 3 floors for restaurants and shops.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a metro station for subway at 7th and flower (1 block away)and bus stops 1 block away at 8th and flower, and 7th and francisco
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 67 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on December 31, 2016

I made the reservation and showed up at the time I made it for and the restaurant was closed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

We always have a pleasant experience at The Tavern. Excellent service and good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2016

We had our Holiday work party at City Tavern and everyone enjoyed themselves. Food, Drinks and service was great. The Short rib, baby back ribs and Shrimp risotto were the bomb! My co-workers were pleasantly surprised but I loved City Tavern already because of their great craft cocktails. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 17, 2016

Good happy hour specials. Lunch time can appear busy, but it's not unbearable and actually good for people watching.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Love this place! Full bar, great craft beer, great food, the servers are awesome!!
Very reasonably priced!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 29, 2016

City Tavern is located in the FIGat7th shopping center at the bottom level next to the food court. It has both indoor and outside dining and is very smartly and handsomely furnished. It has a pretty varied menu and everything I've had there has been great. My friend and I shared a Market Salad, and steak and salmon, all of which were flavorful and enticingly presented. It's a great alternative to some of the more pricey places at LA Live to dine before events in South Downtown LA. Very much recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 25, 2016

nice venue for a lunch or happ hour to unwind. Always a convenient place to go to.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 5, 2016

Went for lunch with friends. Food was very good but the menu limited.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 27, 2016

Had the most delicious shrimp risotto at the Downtown Tavern. Absolutely perfect, in a quiet and cool setting. Location is perfect, right at the 7th & Fig mall, lower level. Lots of parking available, they validate, and prices were reasonable. Not a huge selection of items on their menu, but so far, what I've had, has been delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 22, 2016

We came specifically because that weekend was advertised as NFL Sunday. When we got there, no games were playing on any of the TVs. I asked to put on a game and the manager(?) put on... soccer. I asked a waitress to assist about twenty minutes later, and was joined in by another very upset gentleman. Finally, NFL, after 30 minutes. But all the tvs were running from the same channel so they didn't appear to be able to play multiple games even though there were like a dozen games on. Games were already half over nearly. My sister ordered tea - plain hot tea - and she had to wait because she was told the restaurant was out of hot water. What? Finally, they got rid of the cool lounge on the second level patio area. It's just a bunch of tables that don't match the DJ vibe. Was really disappointed and won't be going back. This place is so great on weekdays. I don't know why they can't get their brunch hour together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 20, 2016

My friends and I came here for one of their birthdays. We were seated right away (it was 12:30 on a Tuesday) and I had made reservations. We ordered our drinks (which were very yummy but a bit on the strong side). The food came quickly and was filling and delicious. I would go back again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 13, 2016

Hostess refused to seat us despite having reservation. Stated that manager said last table was already seated.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 20, 2016

Place to eat before a Rams game since the Blue Line stop is a block away. Good burgers and fries. Great happy hour values. Service was hit and miss. Empty water glasses were ignored and when noticed, only one got filled. What up wit dat?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2016

Good service
The staff is amazing
The beer is excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2016

Cool place for lunch and happy hour. The food is good and so is the service. Very difficult to get a hold of a live person when you need to speak to someone. You are directed to leave a message with your question/request and someone will get back to you. I made a change in the number of guests attending and apparently they had not checked their messages from the day before so they had to scramble around to accommodate us.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 16, 2016

Second time I've been here and disappointed. Is it so hard to cook a burger well done? It took them 25 minutes to deliver our food and still it wasn't cooked as requested. No manager follow up and waitress still charged me $4.50 for the Fry's that came with the burger. No customer service and no quality control.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2016

I wanted a place my buddies and I could go to before a concert at the Sports Arena. This fit the bill perfectly. Good food; fun, sports atmosphere; relaxed/casual vibe. We told the waitress we had a show to get to and she was extra attentive in getting the order in and getting us out on time. I recommend it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 8, 2016

When we arrived, all the booths were open so we asked to be seated in one. Hostess said it's for groups of 4 or more. We noticed during our stay that a booth was given to a party of 2 and another party of 3. This is the third time I've been told they are reserved for larger groups but either the booths stay open or are given to small parties like mine. Don't understand their reasoning.

Our waitress was very nice though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2016

Perfect location for dinner before an event at Staples Center

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Fantastic service, gorgeous interior, delicious food, and pretty calm. Not rowdy or anything.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 5, 2016

There were some good craft beer choices though the wine options were limited. Service was good though a little too fast - we were there for dinner and had appetizers, mains and a dessert in an hour. The poutine was particularly nice and my son loved the enormous pastrami burger.

It's unfortunately located in a mall under the Target store so the ambiance isn't that great and the place was pretty empty at 7.30pm when we went, but maybe it's the kind of place that gets going later.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2016

They have some of the standard fare with just a little pop that makes it unique and interesting. I was really surprised to be able to order, eat and get back to work in my allotted hour. I may try dinner or the happy hour in the near future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2015

Disappointed I couldn't use my Opentable points. Restaurant was empty...requested a booth and told they had to hold them for other people. Very few customers came in..booths remained empty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2015

Met up with my friends at City Tavern, tucked in a corner on the first floor of FIGat7th. Not much of a beer person but their variety looked great. I recommend the Risotto and the Burgers. Service was great. Drinks were a little on the pricier side. Good for a casual night out to entertain.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 1, 2015

Food and service is more than often consistent and reliable. Favorites are the roasted chicken and the salads. Staff is friendly and very helpful with selecting food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2015

Always great service and food. Easy access from my Office.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2015

This is a great restaurant. They have great food, expecially the deviled eggs. They also have great specialty cocktails. The cocktails change so it's worth stopping in periodically to see what's new on the drink menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2015

This is my third time coming here and I always order the Pastrami Burger which I love. The green beans in the appetizer menu are very tasty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2015

Went for a quick work lunch. The cheesesteak was decent, but messy. The burger was good. We go here more out of convenience because of the location, but are usually not disappointed. It's good quality bar food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2015

Love the food and everything about this place!!!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2015

Great grub, good beer. Perfect for a Friday lunch with a coworker.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2015

Location is hard to find since it's in the sub-level (3rd) in a shopping mall in DTLA. Menu selection is limited and very noisy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2015

Went here during DinaLA week. Great deal and great selection on the DinaLA menu. Service was good, but it did take a bit to get our food. Overall, it was a great experience and would recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2015

Always outstanding food and service! They have one of the best burgers in downtown. This is a must go to place. Job well done City Tavern!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2015

Didn't know what to expect given the challenge of finding this gem among other stores and shops of all kinds. At first, we thought it might be too noisy, but it wasn't. Loved the menu and presentation as well as the taste. The salmon was delicious but I loved the Caesar salad. Very plentiful and not ridiculously priced. Our server was not overboard, hovering. Just a great experience and yes, we will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 9, 2015

Convenient spot before an event at Staples as they had tables open. Beer selection was good but it took a while to get our beers. Grits were good. Burgers were overcooked and a little dry. Nothing special, which was disappointing as I was looking for an awesome juicy burger. I'd go back but with expectations in check.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 18, 2014

Went here for a quick work lunch and it was good. We both had the burger and were pleased with it. Service was good as was the food. I would return for a quick work lunch. I did think the menu was a little limited, but it was all we needed for lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2014

I would recommend City Tavern to anyone and everyone. Great service and the food is consistently delicious! Great outdoor patio too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2014

This place is hard 2 find but well worth the effort. It's casual, warm and uncomplicated. Great variety of good foods and an incredible selection of beers. Sidrah, our server, was very knowledgeable, patient and kind as were the hostesses.
I will return when back in town!

Report
Helpful
1
2