About City Kitchen

201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

City Kitchen family welcomes you with wholesome American fare prepared through simple, time-honored cooking methods such as roasting, braising, preserving and smoking. This urban, contemporary neighborhood eatery evokes the warmth and convivial setting of a residential kitchen and gaathering place dedicated to quality and sourcing locally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm , Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
15-501

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 928-8200

Website:
http://citykitchenchapelhill.com/

Catering:
Our catering staff shares the same values as our restaurant staff. They are here to create a fun, unforgettable dining experience. We will take care of everything, exceeding your every expectation along the way. Don’t know what you want? We’ll happily walk you through our offerings.. Loved that entree you had last night that’s not on our catering menu? As far as we’re concerned, it is now. Our goal is to create amazing memories that also fit within your budget.

Parking Details:
Easy access from Chapel Hill Bus Lines

Executive Chef:
Jessie Flores

Private Party Facilities:
City Kitchen offers a venue like no other, its back drop creates a stage to relax, enjoy, have fun citiy kitchen weddings and celebrate. The décor is contemporary, rustic and fun and each defined space is flexible allowing numerous possibilities to create the elements of an amazing event. If it is a ceremony, wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, shower, bridal luncheon or morning after breakfast, the possibilities are endless. With a detail orientated wedding coordinator on hand at all times you are given expert advice allowing your special event to be tailored to exactly what you desire. We dedicate ourselves to giving you an outstanding experience at a price you can afford. From traditional southern affairs to elaborate fine dining occasions City Kitchen provides the space, the experience, the professionalism and the detailed planning and service to make your event flawless and one you, your family and friends will remember for a life time.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Myers: (919)928-8200x201

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

City Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Good for Groups (41)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Romantic (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great place to frequent in the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great place to frequent in the Chapel. Very. Busy on Friday nites but that is to be expected..,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

City Kitchen is a Chapel Hill dining tre ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

City Kitchen is a Chapel Hill dining treasure with an amazing menu.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by our Realtor when we moved ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Recommended by our Realtor when we moved here a while back. Been here many times, never disappointed. Basically on our A list rotation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

City Kitchen is a Local Treasure and is ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

City Kitchen is a Local Treasure and is highly recommended!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places we go ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is one of our favorite places we go for our date nights. Food is delicious and staff is great. We highly recommend a visit to City Kitchen.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a very enjoyable lunch at the invi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I had a very enjoyable lunch at the invitation of some work friends. Easy place to find and park and a really delightful and inviting atmosphere. It is a lively setting for eating so if it is crowded, it can get a bit hard to hear one another. But the food and great service make the City Kitchen a really worth while stop. I liked the variety on the wine list with good reasonable choices. We shared the calamari appetizer and it was not overly breaded and obviously prepared in house. We asked for the waiter recommended aoli dip as well as the marinara and that was a very good choice. Several of us ordered the hamburger on the menu and again that was great. Perfectly prepared half-pound burger with generous fixings. We also ordered salads instead of the fries and that made the lunch a bit lighter and even more enjoyable. All in all, a very nice lunch experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for lunch and dinner. The food is ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Good for lunch and dinner. The food is always good and service is great. The sushi options (very good!) along with "American" selections make it easy to find something everyone will like.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Along with great food and service, I ver ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Along with great food and service, I very much appreciated the quiet atmosphere. We could actually have a conversation at our table- which too often isn't possible in today's restaurants

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

perfect for dinner and a movie at silver ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

perfect for dinner and a movie at silver spot next door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were placed in a table right next to ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were placed in a table right next to the kitchen, which is very unusual when I book through Open Table. I requested we be moved and the server was very accommodating. Service was excellent and the timing was also great - not rushed, extra bread and drinks provided without asking, and great suggestions for every course. I was pleased and had a much better experience here with good quality and service than our last visit a year ago. Thanks for the improvements! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have never had a bad meal at City Kit ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We have never had a bad meal at City Kitchen! The fresh seafood and the sushi is fabulous as are the desserts and wine list.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I go to City Kitchen there is ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Every time I go to City Kitchen there is something that bothers me when it is all said and done. This time, I called I hour ahead and said that it was a birthday, please bring a dessert at the end with a candle, and split the check four ways. This was never communicated to the wait staff.

I ordered iced tea. A staple in the south. I asked my waitress if she could give me a little more tea, without anymore ice, because my glass was filled with ice. I was charged for another iced tea.

Every time I leave there I feel nickled and dimed to death.

I really love the food, and don't mind paying for good food, but if there are extra charges I want to be apprised of them before I get the bill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent service and nice range on menu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service and nice range on menu. Excellent date night choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I enjoyed a great birthday ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My family and I enjoyed a great birthday celebration at City Kitchen with excellent food and wonderful service. We enjoyed the restaurant "specials" and stayed for dessert and coffee afterwards. Also I am grateful for the cupcakes with candles for the birthday people. Thanks to City Kitchen for a night to remember!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! A wonderful meal and great se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious! A wonderful meal and great service. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting, pleasing ambience. Nice ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Interesting, pleasing ambience. Nice outdoor seating. Unfortunately, food expensive and nothing to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We've been coming here for years and are ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We've been coming here for years and are never disappointed. Our daughter came home (from college) for the long weekend and we celebrated her arrival Friday night. Lovely evening, excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice place to hit. Can accommodate la ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

A nice place to hit. Can accommodate large groups, if scheduled well in advance. As a vegetarian, these sort of places are always limiting, but at least there are a couple main entrees here. The chocolate dessert was the only thing I didn't like. I got a new fashioned cocktail, and it was delish. The spinach spread app was great and my risotto was great with a dash of salt and pepper. It seemed like everyone else enjoyed their dishes. Service was fast--perhaps a tad too fast. But, that may be because they thought we were rushing for a movie. Turns out we had plenty of time since the Silverspot Cinema has assigned seats.

A great night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit Food was excellent and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

First time visit

Food was excellent and service good although the server was very busy

Would recommend without hesitation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our evening out at The City K ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening out at The City Kitchen. We were seated promptly and our server was with us within a few minutes. We had a very delicious steak, done correctly as ordered and a delicious risotto. The wine and cocktail list was also pretty extensive. All in all a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ah, summer fresh vegetables and fruits u ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Ah, summer fresh vegetables and fruits used in the preparation of our meals. This was a married couple's (~21 years) mid-week date night since all the rest of the household was out of town/at camp for the week!

Flavor profiles were excellent but not overpowering in the appetizer, main course and dessert. Cocktails were prepared with plenty of the main ingredient-ample alcohol without the sting. Value rated at mid range only to indicate most dinners are around $25 for the main course but well within range of tolerances cost-wise for the volume and caliber of food provided. We enjoyed our time at City Kitchen on a Tuesday evening with a reservation at 7:30 PM - no waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for brunch. Good food. Good service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch. Good food. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great. Unique take on dishes an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was great. Unique take on dishes and excellent technique. Our waiter was excellent and incredibly knowledgeable! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

have been here several times and have ne ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

have been here several times and have never been dissapointed. The staff is accommodating, friendly and knowledgable, but not too intrusive. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. They have a nice wine selections and some some interesting and delicious cocktails. This place is festive enough for friends to gather, nice enough for a date night too. Look forward to going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the 3rd time I have been there. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is the 3rd time I have been there. Second time for dinner and have never been disappointed. Love the atmosphere, the soaring ceiling and the food is outstanding.

Waiters are very friendly and helpful as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had dinner with my spouse and two friend ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had dinner with my spouse and two friends from out of town. The food was superb: fresh, wide variety, locally-grown when possible, beautifully presented. The portion sizes were good for the price. I definitely plan to come here again. The only downside was the noise level, which made conversation a bit difficult at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quickly seated. Warm welcome. Timely ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Quickly seated. Warm welcome. Timely service. Excellent tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This may seem silly, but at this price p ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This may seem silly, but at this price point, I would expect my silverware be replaced between courses. When I put it on the plate, my server took my dirty utensils off the plate and placed them on the table and only removed the plate. That's just tacky. From a water conservation perspective, I can understand, and am trying to work though my issues. Otherwise, this place is great and I can't wait to return. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This is the third time we visited City K ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is the third time we visited City Kitchen. I always give every restaurant three chances to impress. City Kitchen did not make the grade. First visit was a brunch - long lines and food was not replenished in time for all in line to try. Second time was dinner for two (me and my husband). They sat us in a shared booth under the air conditioner and we froze! Third visit was with friends and family - big table for 8 of us. It is always so noisey that you can't hear others across the table and the food is very average, especially for the price. The service is okay but the waiter brought wine glasses for our champagne and couldn't split the tab correctly between two families. We chose City Kitchen for its convenience to the movie theatre, but we won't be back. There are just too many other great places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Friends recommended City Kitchen-- thank ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Friends recommended City Kitchen-- thank you friends! It took longer than we expected for our salads/apps and meals, but every bite was worth the time! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a delicious meal at our favorite nei ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had a delicious meal at our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Ordered the daily special appetizer (melon soup), grilled halibut with a paired wine. Everything was delicious and came out a an appropriate pace. They make a great gin martini too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food as usual but very, very slow m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food as usual but very, very slow meal prep. Service was excellent but took an inordinant amount of time for our order to come and it was not that busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It is a wonderful restaurant in Chapel H ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

It is a wonderful restaurant in Chapel Hill for many different type of occasions. Always a winner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Father's Day Brunch there was a huge suc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day Brunch there was a huge success. Everyone was very pleased with his or her selection. Our waiter was very helpful in guiding each of us to the menu item that would be most satisfying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love this place

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent, as always

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

In general, there's nothing too special about City Kitchen other than the look of the place. We happen to have a pretty terrible waiter this time. He knew nothing about Triangle Restaurant Week and kept telling me they weren't participating, and then that they were only doing it for dinner. Of course, neither of those were correct. The food was fine... nothing to write home about, but it's a good location, affordable, and decent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Date Review

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Really good food and great service. All off the food felt artisan. I went for my girlfriends birthday. She really enjoyed it and I really enjoyed it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Dinner!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The server brought a birthday plate out without being requested - he was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

energetic

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

City Kitchen is a happening place. Lots of groups enjoying time together. Very nice wine selection. The food was well prepared and tasty, nothing extraordinary. Prices are moderate and up for the value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner & a movie

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

second time at city kitchen this month. Nice option for before or after a movie at the SilverSpot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.