About City Kitchen

201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

City Kitchen family welcomes you with wholesome American fare prepared through simple, time-honored cooking methods such as roasting, braising, preserving and smoking. This urban, contemporary neighborhood eatery evokes the warmth and convivial setting of a residential kitchen and gaathering place dedicated to quality and sourcing locally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm , Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
15-501

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 928-8200

Website:
http://citykitchenchapelhill.com/

Catering:
Our catering staff shares the same values as our restaurant staff. They are here to create a fun, unforgettable dining experience. We will take care of everything, exceeding your every expectation along the way. Don’t know what you want? We’ll happily walk you through our offerings.. Loved that entree you had last night that’s not on our catering menu? As far as we’re concerned, it is now. Our goal is to create amazing memories that also fit within your budget.

Parking Details:
Easy access from Chapel Hill Bus Lines

Executive Chef:
Jessie Flores

Private Party Facilities:
City Kitchen offers a venue like no other, its back drop creates a stage to relax, enjoy, have fun citiy kitchen weddings and celebrate. The décor is contemporary, rustic and fun and each defined space is flexible allowing numerous possibilities to create the elements of an amazing event. If it is a ceremony, wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, shower, bridal luncheon or morning after breakfast, the possibilities are endless. With a detail orientated wedding coordinator on hand at all times you are given expert advice allowing your special event to be tailored to exactly what you desire. We dedicate ourselves to giving you an outstanding experience at a price you can afford. From traditional southern affairs to elaborate fine dining occasions City Kitchen provides the space, the experience, the professionalism and the detailed planning and service to make your event flawless and one you, your family and friends will remember for a life time.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Myers: (919)928-8200x201

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
  • City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
  • City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
  • City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
  • City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Chef Jesse Flores - City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Glass Room - City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
Chef Jesse Flores - City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
Glass Room - City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

City Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Chapel Hill
Best Value
Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Business Meals (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Romantic (7)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (5)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Private Room (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great waitress. Kitchen was a little s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Great waitress. Kitchen was a little slow but we didn't mind. Had a great time.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, even for the younger kids. G ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, even for the younger kids. Great service. Even the manager was very hospitable and friendly. A very nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Will never go back again. Menu is very b ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Will never go back again. Menu is very boring and limited. Noise level high from the bar. Bar full restaurant had many empty tables. Others learned faster than I did about dinning there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very good meal. Had the smoked trout and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very good meal. Had the smoked trout and Greek salad.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times the last f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have eaten here many times the last few years and always find it above average!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to City Kitchen for there Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went to City Kitchen for there Thanksgiving buffet, the variety and food were outstanding. Something for all to choose from and it was delicious! Will definitely consider going back again next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My brother and his wife came down from W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My brother and his wife came down from Wisconsin to help me celebrate Thanksgiving and I took them City Kitchen for the buffet. It was tremendous, tasty, plentiful, and varied. All of us enjoyed ourselves and were impressed. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but not outstanding fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food was good but not outstanding for the price. The service was awful. Never refill drinks or removed plates from table. Brought check before asking if we wanted dessert. One guest fries were over cooked and replacement never brought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The hostesses, the first impression of t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The hostesses, the first impression of the restaurant, are woefully clueless. We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and were told we could not be seated until our reservation time. Fifteen minutes after our scheduled reservation time, while sitting in an empty lobby area directly across from the hostess, we got to watch her gloss her lips and fix her hair while ignoring our presence completely. Finally, I went to ask about the reservation. With a panicked look in her eyes, she said she would seat us now but not at the table she was thinking about for us...reallly? We passed three empty tables on our way to our table.

Everything else was wonderful. The service was amazing. The food was delicious and beautiful. I would go back in a heartbeat with the knowledge that the hostesses need babysitting.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

City Kitchen is reliable. And that's pre ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

City Kitchen is reliable. And that's pretty great. The food is always good as is the service. The wine pours are generous and it's a nice place to take just about anyone from picky eaters to gourmands.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed dinner with my husband and two y ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with my husband and two young adult children! Great food. Beautiful presentation and delicious. Very cool decor.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom sandwich was very good but the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Mushroom sandwich was very good but the special quesadilla of the day had very little cheese in it which made dipping it in sauce a problem--the ingredients kept falling out --plus it was pricey at $16 (which wait staff didn't say at the time she mentioned it ). Like the decor and the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant decor and vibe. Fri ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful restaurant decor and vibe. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We came here to celebrate our daughter's ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We came here to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Overall very nice place with excellent service. We had a dragon roll, spinach dip (very good), short rib (very tender), salmon (lightly crisp exterior and moist inside), lamb chops (delicious, but tiny), warm crisp dessert (yummy!) and creme brûlée (okay). Overall a nice place for a special occasion, but be prepared to pay a bit of a premium for the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just stopped by for a chat and a quick b ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Just stopped by for a chat and a quick bite. Coffee was good, Deviled eggs were very good and the Calamari was excellent. The decor is new and modern, tending to darker shades but with good ambiance. THe staff was friendly and available. but I was there during a quiet period.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Their burgers are delicious, and cooked ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Their burgers are delicious, and cooked to perfection. If you really want to treat yourself, opt for the sweet potato fries instead of the regular fries--they are worth the extra couple of dollars (even though I wish they didn't cost extra!).

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice experience. The only reason t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very nice experience. The only reason that I did not rate higher is because both of my beverages were without ice and ran empty. No one brought more water, or asked if we'd like more.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mediocre on all accounts, but the locati ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Mediocre on all accounts, but the location is convenient for most in Chapel Hill-Durham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was very slow. Food was good but ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was good but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very good food. A bit pricy though. Not ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very good food. A bit pricy though. Not much of a menu. Wish there were more of a selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have had several great meals at City Ki ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Have had several great meals at City Kitchen. This was for my birthday with a small group of friends before catching a special event at the SilverSpot cinema. The 5 hr. braised beef short rib was fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

we took friends there for their first ti ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

we took friends there for their first time and everything was wonderful. They really enjoyed the food an the service was exceptional. We will definitely visit this restaurant in the very near future.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed wonderful service by a young gen ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Enjoyed wonderful service by a young gentleman by the name of Wade. What an inviting disposition. Definitely made our dining experience even more enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We totally enjoyed sharing a meal at Cit ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We totally enjoyed sharing a meal at City Kitchen with very good friends. I would recommend and return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent Service good not great To ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food excellent

Service good not great

Too noisy better later at night

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I ordered the CK Greek salad and sounded ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I ordered the CK Greek salad and sounded great. It was supposed to have all kinds of veggies in it and didn't list any greens so I thought it would be loaded with beets, cucumbers, fingerling potatoes, peppers, tomatoes, olives, feta and a great lemon vinaigrette. I requested added avocado. Good thing I did because it was at least 90% romaine lettuce. There was exactly one tiny fingerling, two tiny beets, tiny slivers of cucumber and I don't remember any tomatoes. Hugely disappointing. This is their "signature" salad?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The golden beet risotto was amazing!

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The golden beet risotto was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent and waiter and cook allowed fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent and waiter and cook allowed for a few alterations on my menu choice. The Salad was very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Brunch was fabulous. enough said. We all ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Brunch was fabulous. enough said. We all had something different and everything was delicious

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating of large groups. Exce ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very accommodating of large groups. Excellent food for each course. Good beer and wine selection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place with good food and a fun atmo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Nice place with good food and a fun atmosphere. I've been there a few times and the only let down I've had was they house burger which was bland and boring. Service has always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had absolutely excellent service and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had absolutely excellent service and a wonderful meal! We were running short on time to see a movie and our waiter helped us make dinner choices that would come out of the kitchen quickly. He was incredibly accommodating and he made our evening! He was also fantastic at recommending wines that paired well with our meal. Saed even came over to our table to make sure everything was going well. City Kitchen is so well run--diners can relax and enjoy the excellent food without having to worry about anything at all. Love this place--a true Chapel Hill gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I don't consider it a premier rest ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

While I don't consider it a premier restaurant in the area, my wife and I have never been disappointed when we've dined at City Kitchen. Since it is close to home, it's often a fall back restaurant when we don't want to drive too far, or spend a lot of time making a decision. The menu is fit for foodies, and it boasts often excellent nightly specials. There are also nightly promotions, such as half price bottles of wine on Tuesday, which are worth considering. I have found the food and service to be consistently very good. I should also mention that there is some Asian influences and a surprisingly good (though limited) sushi menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is usually good tonight it was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food is usually good tonight it was OK we had to send back an appetizer due to overcooking and we were brought another and charged a higher price. Not really how to take care of the customer. just my opinion. The entree had sides overcooked as well. We had the table by the waitress station so lots of traffic. We will gin=ve them another shot later.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

We made a late booking for a Friday even ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We made a late booking for a Friday evening and clearly got last and smallest table near kitchen access. The place was busy. Waitress was very friendly and attentive. Had steak frites: they came as they were apparently supposed to be but to my untrained tourist eye, the fries looked awful. Waitress got me ordinary fries - but charged. Not an inexpensive place to eat. Came away feeling slightly cheated all in but was a last minute booking and I did get the fries I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was not memorable. Previous vis ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was not memorable. Previous visits were quite good, but this time was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

WE COME HERE FREQUENTLY WHEN COMING TO F ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

WE COME HERE FREQUENTLY WHEN COMING TO FOOTBALL GAMES AND ALWAYS IND IT TO BE GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint was that the restauran ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My only complaint was that the restaurant was very warm...to the point of being uncomfortable. The food and service was excellent!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service were good. Portion size ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and service were good. Portion size on the ribs was smaller than expected, but good. Seated right away and was a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.