About City Kitchen

201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

City Kitchen family welcomes you with wholesome American fare prepared through simple, time-honored cooking methods such as roasting, braising, preserving and smoking. This urban, contemporary neighborhood eatery evokes the warmth and convivial setting of a residential kitchen and gaathering place dedicated to quality and sourcing locally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm , Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
15-501

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 928-8200

Website:
http://citykitchenchapelhill.com/

Catering:
Our catering staff shares the same values as our restaurant staff. They are here to create a fun, unforgettable dining experience. We will take care of everything, exceeding your every expectation along the way. Don’t know what you want? We’ll happily walk you through our offerings.. Loved that entree you had last night that’s not on our catering menu? As far as we’re concerned, it is now. Our goal is to create amazing memories that also fit within your budget.

Parking Details:
Easy access from Chapel Hill Bus Lines

Executive Chef:
Jessie Flores

Private Party Facilities:
City Kitchen offers a venue like no other, its back drop creates a stage to relax, enjoy, have fun citiy kitchen weddings and celebrate. The décor is contemporary, rustic and fun and each defined space is flexible allowing numerous possibilities to create the elements of an amazing event. If it is a ceremony, wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, shower, bridal luncheon or morning after breakfast, the possibilities are endless. With a detail orientated wedding coordinator on hand at all times you are given expert advice allowing your special event to be tailored to exactly what you desire. We dedicate ourselves to giving you an outstanding experience at a price you can afford. From traditional southern affairs to elaborate fine dining occasions City Kitchen provides the space, the experience, the professionalism and the detailed planning and service to make your event flawless and one you, your family and friends will remember for a life time.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Myers: (919)928-8200x201

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

City Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Good for Groups (48)
Special Occasion (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Romantic (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time visit Food was excellent and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

First time visit

Food was excellent and service good although the server was very busy

Would recommend without hesitation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our evening out at The City K ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening out at The City Kitchen. We were seated promptly and our server was with us within a few minutes. We had a very delicious steak, done correctly as ordered and a delicious risotto. The wine and cocktail list was also pretty extensive. All in all a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ah, summer fresh vegetables and fruits u ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Ah, summer fresh vegetables and fruits used in the preparation of our meals. This was a married couple's (~21 years) mid-week date night since all the rest of the household was out of town/at camp for the week!

Flavor profiles were excellent but not overpowering in the appetizer, main course and dessert. Cocktails were prepared with plenty of the main ingredient-ample alcohol without the sting. Value rated at mid range only to indicate most dinners are around $25 for the main course but well within range of tolerances cost-wise for the volume and caliber of food provided. We enjoyed our time at City Kitchen on a Tuesday evening with a reservation at 7:30 PM - no waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for brunch. Good food. Good service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch. Good food. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great. Unique take on dishes an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was great. Unique take on dishes and excellent technique. Our waiter was excellent and incredibly knowledgeable! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

have been here several times and have ne ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

have been here several times and have never been dissapointed. The staff is accommodating, friendly and knowledgable, but not too intrusive. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. They have a nice wine selections and some some interesting and delicious cocktails. This place is festive enough for friends to gather, nice enough for a date night too. Look forward to going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the 3rd time I have been there. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is the 3rd time I have been there. Second time for dinner and have never been disappointed. Love the atmosphere, the soaring ceiling and the food is outstanding.

Waiters are very friendly and helpful as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had dinner with my spouse and two friend ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had dinner with my spouse and two friends from out of town. The food was superb: fresh, wide variety, locally-grown when possible, beautifully presented. The portion sizes were good for the price. I definitely plan to come here again. The only downside was the noise level, which made conversation a bit difficult at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quickly seated. Warm welcome. Timely ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Quickly seated. Warm welcome. Timely service. Excellent tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This may seem silly, but at this price p ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This may seem silly, but at this price point, I would expect my silverware be replaced between courses. When I put it on the plate, my server took my dirty utensils off the plate and placed them on the table and only removed the plate. That's just tacky. From a water conservation perspective, I can understand, and am trying to work though my issues. Otherwise, this place is great and I can't wait to return. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This is the third time we visited City K ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is the third time we visited City Kitchen. I always give every restaurant three chances to impress. City Kitchen did not make the grade. First visit was a brunch - long lines and food was not replenished in time for all in line to try. Second time was dinner for two (me and my husband). They sat us in a shared booth under the air conditioner and we froze! Third visit was with friends and family - big table for 8 of us. It is always so noisey that you can't hear others across the table and the food is very average, especially for the price. The service is okay but the waiter brought wine glasses for our champagne and couldn't split the tab correctly between two families. We chose City Kitchen for its convenience to the movie theatre, but we won't be back. There are just too many other great places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Friends recommended City Kitchen-- thank ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Friends recommended City Kitchen-- thank you friends! It took longer than we expected for our salads/apps and meals, but every bite was worth the time! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a delicious meal at our favorite nei ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had a delicious meal at our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Ordered the daily special appetizer (melon soup), grilled halibut with a paired wine. Everything was delicious and came out a an appropriate pace. They make a great gin martini too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food as usual but very, very slow m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food as usual but very, very slow meal prep. Service was excellent but took an inordinant amount of time for our order to come and it was not that busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It is a wonderful restaurant in Chapel H ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

It is a wonderful restaurant in Chapel Hill for many different type of occasions. Always a winner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Father's Day Brunch there was a huge suc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day Brunch there was a huge success. Everyone was very pleased with his or her selection. Our waiter was very helpful in guiding each of us to the menu item that would be most satisfying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love this place

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent, as always

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

In general, there's nothing too special about City Kitchen other than the look of the place. We happen to have a pretty terrible waiter this time. He knew nothing about Triangle Restaurant Week and kept telling me they weren't participating, and then that they were only doing it for dinner. Of course, neither of those were correct. The food was fine... nothing to write home about, but it's a good location, affordable, and decent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Date Review

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Really good food and great service. All off the food felt artisan. I went for my girlfriends birthday. She really enjoyed it and I really enjoyed it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Dinner!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The server brought a birthday plate out without being requested - he was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

energetic

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

City Kitchen is a happening place. Lots of groups enjoying time together. Very nice wine selection. The food was well prepared and tasty, nothing extraordinary. Prices are moderate and up for the value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner & a movie

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

second time at city kitchen this month. Nice option for before or after a movie at the SilverSpot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Neighborhood standard

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We've used City Kitchen as a neighborhood standby for years. Three of us gathered for wine, supper and a long-overdue chat. Our server was personable and gave us ample time to sit together; the wine options were varied enough to meet all needs. Our meals were well-prepared, tasty, at proper temperature. All in, we were quite happy and will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, nice ambience for our birthd ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food, nice ambience for our birthday celebrations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of us ordered the golden beet risott ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

One of us ordered the golden beet risotto. The portion was not only small, the beets and beet flavor were almost non-existent. For the most part, the risotto seemed to be filled with celery and tasted of nothing but chicken stock. This was a disappointing experience. Cannot recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was ok, service was terrible. I be ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was ok, service was terrible. I believe our server forgot about us and the timing of the meal was off. Two people at our table received their food 10 mins before the others. It was very unpredictable service. Probably would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Celebrating my birthday!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I came to Durham and chose to eat here to celebrate my birthday. Wonderful food, different choices. The waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful. I had the sea bass. We ordered a dessert to share. The waiter brought me a mini sampler for my birthday and wrote "Happy Birthday 29" in chocolate on the plate. He made my celebration even more special. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but overpriced

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to city kitchen for Mother's Day brunch. The food was excellent as always but the $40 price tag was too high. Have been here previous years on Mother's Day and ordered off the brunch menu and the food was equally as good but the value much greater. While I will eat again at city kitchen I will think twice before returning for this special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good Food

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

It was a great place to eat, especially with regards to food and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday Lunch Celebration

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a party of seven for lunch to celebrate a birthday. Unfortunately it was the Friday before UNC Chapel Hill's graduation so the menu was condensed and our choices were limited. However, our waitress gave us the run down and everyone was able to find an item they wanted and we all enjoyed everything. Several members of our party had not been there before but are definitely going back to try the full City Kitchen experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty lunch

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I stopped in for lunch on a Tuesday afternoon, and ordered the poached shrimp salad, with the orange slices on the side. The shrimp were very nicely poached and there was a good amount of them, the avocado, radishes and bibb lettuce were fresh, and it was just plain tasty. The waiter was attentive, my water glass was always full, the check arrived and was collected when I was ready, and then my change was returned promptly. It was a very nice experience, and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Food and service were great however the noise level too high. It made having a conversation difficult.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter (think it was Ahmid?) was won ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Our waiter (think it was Ahmid?) was wonderful. Very personable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food ! Was very noisy.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food ! Was very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Noise level

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

the service was great---the food was good even though one of us didn't get what we ordered but the noise level was so bad that the four of us could barely carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our date night dinner was absolutely delicious. I won a gift card from work and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, fresh food. Just an all aroun ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent, fresh food. Just an all around excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always great

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Decided to grab dinner with my daughter. Had a great meal with great service. Will come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish we had eaten outdoors, but ate well

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Indoor seating was dark and noisy making communication exhausting. Food was really tasty and healthy: great mussels, salads, mains. Great value on Wednesday with half-off glasses of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The most amazing ribs and excellent wine ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The most amazing ribs and excellent wine combined with first rate service. Couldn't be happier with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.