About City Kitchen

201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

City Kitchen family welcomes you with wholesome American fare prepared through simple, time-honored cooking methods such as roasting, braising, preserving and smoking. This urban, contemporary neighborhood eatery evokes the warmth and convivial setting of a residential kitchen and gaathering place dedicated to quality and sourcing locally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm , Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
15-501

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 928-8200

Website:
http://citykitchenchapelhill.com/

Catering:
Our catering staff shares the same values as our restaurant staff. They are here to create a fun, unforgettable dining experience. We will take care of everything, exceeding your every expectation along the way. Don’t know what you want? We’ll happily walk you through our offerings.. Loved that entree you had last night that’s not on our catering menu? As far as we’re concerned, it is now. Our goal is to create amazing memories that also fit within your budget.

Parking Details:
Easy access from Chapel Hill Bus Lines

Executive Chef:
Jessie Flores

Private Party Facilities:
City Kitchen offers a venue like no other, its back drop creates a stage to relax, enjoy, have fun citiy kitchen weddings and celebrate. The décor is contemporary, rustic and fun and each defined space is flexible allowing numerous possibilities to create the elements of an amazing event. If it is a ceremony, wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, shower, bridal luncheon or morning after breakfast, the possibilities are endless. With a detail orientated wedding coordinator on hand at all times you are given expert advice allowing your special event to be tailored to exactly what you desire. We dedicate ourselves to giving you an outstanding experience at a price you can afford. From traditional southern affairs to elaborate fine dining occasions City Kitchen provides the space, the experience, the professionalism and the detailed planning and service to make your event flawless and one you, your family and friends will remember for a life time.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Myers: (919)928-8200x201

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chef Jesse Flores - City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
Glass Room - City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC
City Kitchen, Chapel Hill, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

City Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Modern Decor (23)
Casual (21)
Business Meals (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Fun (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Live Sports (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was so great to go to a restaurant wh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

It was so great to go to a restaurant where everyone had many choices...and everything we chose was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a selection of appetizers for dinner ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a selection of appetizers for dinner...everything was great

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was attentive and food was excell ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was attentive and food was excellent. Nice for a relaxing time with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service at the bar before our meal ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service at the bar before our meal. Comfortable bar seating. Good drinks, interesting options on the menu. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to City Kitchen for brunch befor ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to City Kitchen for brunch before a 1:00 UNC basketball game, the food was great and our waiter was awesome! I ordered the Eggs Florentine, which was delicious. The only downfall was that we couldn't order brunch drinks because it was before 12:00 on a Sunday. I would definitely come to City Kitchen again to get food and drinks!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, , Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ours was an early dinner on New Years Ev ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ours was an early dinner on New Years Eve. The restaurant was set up for special celebrations to begin at 9, and I feel their efforts were concentrated on that rather than the early diners. We ordered halibut and chicken breast. Both of us need a sharp knife to cut the meat- it was that dry/tough. I would expect the fish to be able to be flaked with a fork. Our waiter kept trying to remove our plates as we were still eating. This was not our usual experience at this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We like City Kitchen. Its a great locati ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We like City Kitchen. Its a great location, and our family goes there about once a month. Servers are always friendly, and food is delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit prior to a movie at Sil ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time visit prior to a movie at SilverSpot Theatre. Wait staff was sensitive to our time limitation and responsive without being interruptive. Complimentary bread and sun-dried tomato spread was an interesting pre-dinner treat but wish the waiter had not scooped it away when dinner was served. Would have been a nice accompaniment to our meal. Very large beef short rib on wild mushroom ragout with mashed potatoes was tender and delicious. Not a dish many can get right. Roasted chicken on tomato/vegetable ragout was tasty, moist and very well seasoned. Accompanied by a fennel, onion and pepper salad which was quite refreshing to the palate. No time for dessert but offerings were tempting. Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant space and a reliably good menu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Pleasant space and a reliably good menu make this a go-to spot for lunch or dinner. The bar is great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great server with some tremendous wine r ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great server with some tremendous wine recommendations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was terrific. He made it clea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our server was terrific. He made it clear that he was there to help us enjoy our meal and told us he was willing to answer any questions we had about the menu. The food was delicious - lamb chops, ribeye steak, halibut, short ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

City Kitchen is a wonderful restaurant t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

City Kitchen is a wonderful restaurant that takes special care with its customers and has delicious food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spent a long lunch here with friends to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Spent a long lunch here with friends to celebrate the holidays and catch up. Adults and teenaged kids were pleased with the menu choices and once it arrived, the food was delicious. Service was excellent, even though they were very busy that day. Love the atmosphere of this place, as well as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just had a great experience. We had ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We just had a great experience. We had old friends gathering for a dinner that did not disappoint. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Live Sports, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service! Our waiter was very f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic service! Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable regarding menu options. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food exceeded my expectations. Very wel ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food exceeded my expectations. Very well balanced dishes with fresh ingredients. I had the special which was a blackened trout over pasta with a red pepper sauce. It was excellent! Deserts and coffee were also well prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great and unique brunch food. The atmosp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great and unique brunch food. The atmosphere was elegant and low key. Waitstaff were polite and very on top of things.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. We were there on a S ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was great. We were there on a Saturday night at about 645 and the hostess told us they weren't seating walk-ins until 8pm. We stepped away, made a reservation for 7pm and were seated immediately! Thank goodness for open table (and what a silly move by the hostess!). Other than this small glitch it was a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Server started out very friendly. We wer ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Server started out very friendly. We were 3 couples and asked for 3 separate checks, and each sat across from our spouse so it would be easy to do the checks. Asked for no onions on one salad, which server said was easy to accommodate. Another requested a Greek salad, without potatoes. That salad arrived with just romaine and a few tomatoes, so was sent back. Other salad had onions all through it, which my spouse picked out but didn't complain. 2 of the 3 bills were tallied incorrectly, so we politely asked that they be redone. Server was visibly crankier as night progressed and flat out rude by the end, and I promise, none of us were rude to her. Oh, and she had a guaranteed 20% gratuity since we were a party of 6. Food was all lack-luster. Chicken on salad was rubbery and cold. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very nice meal with old friends. The di ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very nice meal with old friends. The dining room, where we sat, was bustling, so the service was a wee bit erratic. Congenial waiter, competent floor manager, but somehow two of our salads came out before our cocktails, which was not the 'pace' we were after. Once we sorted that out, everything went well; good food, nice service, until the check, when we had to wait and wait, and finally needed to ask someone other than our waiter for it. But, overall, a pleasant experience, with most of our party really enjoying their dinners.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We have been to City Kitchen a handful o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We have been to City Kitchen a handful of times and have always been very pleased, and this time was no different. It is nice to have a fun, modern place to go with great food that also has convenient parking and easy to get it. It is also great that they have nice dinners, that are delicious, but also cheaper options and a children's menu- oh and great salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious food; great lunch spot! I enj ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delicious food; great lunch spot! I enjoyed a terrific lamb burger--nicely seasoned, cooked perfectly and topped creatively--delicious! Wonderful side salad with tasty, light dressing. My friend enjoyed the beef barley soup with hearty bread. Can't wait to return for a date night with my husband!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious food! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious food! My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary there. Somehow the staff got wind of that and brought us a delicious dessert after dinner.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Holiday dinner with close friends and Ci ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Holiday dinner with close friends and City Kitchen was everyone's pick to celebrate. Consistently wonderful. Love City Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch... There bread plate were ( ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great brunch... There bread plate were (brunch) sweet rolls, sweet bread, con. Raison, biscuit... Very nice, smoked salmon flat bread had lots of good salmon and arugala.,.. the Benedict was great, eggs runny, great Hollandaise and even love the English muffin. It was quiet but it was Sunday at 11:30am. I'm going back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great waitress. Kitchen was a little s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great waitress. Kitchen was a little slow but we didn't mind. Had a great time.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, even for the younger kids. G ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food, even for the younger kids. Great service. Even the manager was very hospitable and friendly. A very nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Will never go back again. Menu is very b ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Will never go back again. Menu is very boring and limited. Noise level high from the bar. Bar full restaurant had many empty tables. Others learned faster than I did about dinning there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very good meal. Had the smoked trout and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very good meal. Had the smoked trout and Greek salad.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times the last f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have eaten here many times the last few years and always find it above average!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to City Kitchen for there Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went to City Kitchen for there Thanksgiving buffet, the variety and food were outstanding. Something for all to choose from and it was delicious! Will definitely consider going back again next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My brother and his wife came down from W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My brother and his wife came down from Wisconsin to help me celebrate Thanksgiving and I took them City Kitchen for the buffet. It was tremendous, tasty, plentiful, and varied. All of us enjoyed ourselves and were impressed. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, , People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but not outstanding fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food was good but not outstanding for the price. The service was awful. Never refill drinks or removed plates from table. Brought check before asking if we wanted dessert. One guest fries were over cooked and replacement never brought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The hostesses, the first impression of t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The hostesses, the first impression of the restaurant, are woefully clueless. We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and were told we could not be seated until our reservation time. Fifteen minutes after our scheduled reservation time, while sitting in an empty lobby area directly across from the hostess, we got to watch her gloss her lips and fix her hair while ignoring our presence completely. Finally, I went to ask about the reservation. With a panicked look in her eyes, she said she would seat us now but not at the table she was thinking about for us...reallly? We passed three empty tables on our way to our table.

Everything else was wonderful. The service was amazing. The food was delicious and beautiful. I would go back in a heartbeat with the knowledge that the hostesses need babysitting.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

City Kitchen is reliable. And that's pre ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

City Kitchen is reliable. And that's pretty great. The food is always good as is the service. The wine pours are generous and it's a nice place to take just about anyone from picky eaters to gourmands.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed dinner with my husband and two y ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with my husband and two young adult children! Great food. Beautiful presentation and delicious. Very cool decor.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom sandwich was very good but the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Mushroom sandwich was very good but the special quesadilla of the day had very little cheese in it which made dipping it in sauce a problem--the ingredients kept falling out --plus it was pricey at $16 (which wait staff didn't say at the time she mentioned it ). Like the decor and the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant decor and vibe. Fri ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful restaurant decor and vibe. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We came here to celebrate our daughter's ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We came here to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Overall very nice place with excellent service. We had a dragon roll, spinach dip (very good), short rib (very tender), salmon (lightly crisp exterior and moist inside), lamb chops (delicious, but tiny), warm crisp dessert (yummy!) and creme brûlée (okay). Overall a nice place for a special occasion, but be prepared to pay a bit of a premium for the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just stopped by for a chat and a quick b ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Just stopped by for a chat and a quick bite. Coffee was good, Deviled eggs were very good and the Calamari was excellent. The decor is new and modern, tending to darker shades but with good ambiance. THe staff was friendly and available. but I was there during a quiet period.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.