About City Kitchen

201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

City Kitchen family welcomes you with wholesome American fare prepared through simple, time-honored cooking methods such as roasting, braising, preserving and smoking. This urban, contemporary neighborhood eatery evokes the warmth and convivial setting of a residential kitchen and gaathering place dedicated to quality and sourcing locally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm , Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
15-501

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 928-8200

Website:
http://citykitchenchapelhill.com/

Catering:
Our catering staff shares the same values as our restaurant staff. They are here to create a fun, unforgettable dining experience. We will take care of everything, exceeding your every expectation along the way. Don’t know what you want? We’ll happily walk you through our offerings.. Loved that entree you had last night that’s not on our catering menu? As far as we’re concerned, it is now. Our goal is to create amazing memories that also fit within your budget.

Parking Details:
Easy access from Chapel Hill Bus Lines

Executive Chef:
Jessie Flores

Private Party Facilities:
City Kitchen offers a venue like no other, its back drop creates a stage to relax, enjoy, have fun citiy kitchen weddings and celebrate. The décor is contemporary, rustic and fun and each defined space is flexible allowing numerous possibilities to create the elements of an amazing event. If it is a ceremony, wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, shower, bridal luncheon or morning after breakfast, the possibilities are endless. With a detail orientated wedding coordinator on hand at all times you are given expert advice allowing your special event to be tailored to exactly what you desire. We dedicate ourselves to giving you an outstanding experience at a price you can afford. From traditional southern affairs to elaborate fine dining occasions City Kitchen provides the space, the experience, the professionalism and the detailed planning and service to make your event flawless and one you, your family and friends will remember for a life time.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Myers: (919)928-8200x201

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
  • City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen
City Kitchen

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

City Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

good for groups (60)
fit for foodies (59)
great for outdoor dining (47)
See All
special occasion (45)
neighborhood gem (43)
great for lunch (41)
great for brunch (26)
vibrant bar scene (24)
hot spot (21)
romantic (16)
kid-friendly (15)
notable wine list (10)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a wonderful restaurant in Chapel H ...

Dined 5 days ago

It is a wonderful restaurant in Chapel Hill for many different type of occasions. Always a winner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Father's Day Brunch there was a huge suc ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day Brunch there was a huge success. Everyone was very pleased with his or her selection. Our waiter was very helpful in guiding each of us to the menu item that would be most satisfying.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We love this place

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Decent, as always

Dined on June 7, 2016

In general, there's nothing too special about City Kitchen other than the look of the place. We happen to have a pretty terrible waiter this time. He knew nothing about Triangle Restaurant Week and kept telling me they weren't participating, and then that they were only doing it for dinner. Of course, neither of those were correct. The food was fine... nothing to write home about, but it's a good location, affordable, and decent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Review

Dined on June 3, 2016

Really good food and great service. All off the food felt artisan. I went for my girlfriends birthday. She really enjoyed it and I really enjoyed it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Birthday Dinner!

Dined on June 2, 2016

The server brought a birthday plate out without being requested - he was awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

energetic

Dined on June 1, 2016

City Kitchen is a happening place. Lots of groups enjoying time together. Very nice wine selection. The food was well prepared and tasty, nothing extraordinary. Prices are moderate and up for the value.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner & a movie

Dined on May 28, 2016

second time at city kitchen this month. Nice option for before or after a movie at the SilverSpot.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Neighborhood standard

Dined on May 28, 2016

We've used City Kitchen as a neighborhood standby for years. Three of us gathered for wine, supper and a long-overdue chat. Our server was personable and gave us ample time to sit together; the wine options were varied enough to meet all needs. Our meals were well-prepared, tasty, at proper temperature. All in, we were quite happy and will return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, nice ambience for our birthd ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food, nice ambience for our birthday celebrations.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

One of us ordered the golden beet risott ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

One of us ordered the golden beet risotto. The portion was not only small, the beets and beet flavor were almost non-existent. For the most part, the risotto seemed to be filled with celery and tasted of nothing but chicken stock. This was a disappointing experience. Cannot recommend to friends.

food3
ambience3
service1

Food was ok, service was terrible. I be ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was ok, service was terrible. I believe our server forgot about us and the timing of the meal was off. Two people at our table received their food 10 mins before the others. It was very unpredictable service. Probably would not recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday!

Dined on May 12, 2016

I came to Durham and chose to eat here to celebrate my birthday. Wonderful food, different choices. The waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful. I had the sea bass. We ordered a dessert to share. The waiter brought me a mini sampler for my birthday and wrote "Happy Birthday 29" in chocolate on the plate. He made my celebration even more special. I recommend it highly.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good but overpriced

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to city kitchen for Mother's Day brunch. The food was excellent as always but the $40 price tag was too high. Have been here previous years on Mother's Day and ordered off the brunch menu and the food was equally as good but the value much greater. While I will eat again at city kitchen I will think twice before returning for this special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Food

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was a great place to eat, especially with regards to food and the atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Lunch Celebration

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a party of seven for lunch to celebrate a birthday. Unfortunately it was the Friday before UNC Chapel Hill's graduation so the menu was condensed and our choices were limited. However, our waitress gave us the run down and everyone was able to find an item they wanted and we all enjoyed everything. Several members of our party had not been there before but are definitely going back to try the full City Kitchen experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty lunch

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I stopped in for lunch on a Tuesday afternoon, and ordered the poached shrimp salad, with the orange slices on the side. The shrimp were very nicely poached and there was a good amount of them, the avocado, radishes and bibb lettuce were fresh, and it was just plain tasty. The waiter was attentive, my water glass was always full, the check arrived and was collected when I was ready, and then my change was returned promptly. It was a very nice experience, and I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were great.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food and service were great however the noise level too high. It made having a conversation difficult.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter (think it was Ahmid?) was won ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Our waiter (think it was Ahmid?) was wonderful. Very personable and attentive.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food ! Was very noisy.

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food ! Was very noisy.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Noise level

Dined on April 23, 2016

the service was great---the food was good even though one of us didn't get what we ordered but the noise level was so bad that the four of us could barely carry on a conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our date night dinner was absolutely delicious. I won a gift card from work and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, fresh food. Just an all aroun ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent, fresh food. Just an all around excellent experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Decided to grab dinner with my daughter. Had a great meal with great service. Will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Wish we had eaten outdoors, but ate well

Dined on April 18, 2016

Indoor seating was dark and noisy making communication exhausting. Food was really tasty and healthy: great mussels, salads, mains. Great value on Wednesday with half-off glasses of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing ribs and excellent wine ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

The most amazing ribs and excellent wine combined with first rate service. Couldn't be happier with the experience.

food2
ambience3
service1

Took over 10 min to be waited on, the fo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Took over 10 min to be waited on, the food was not worth the price that's for sure and will not be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here several times for lunc ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We have been here several times for lunch and dinner. Never disappointed. Service from bar might be slow but all meals came with just a short wait. The specials for the day have always been outstanding. Worth a try. Despite being noisy, the is an excellent restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a neighborhood treasure. Fantastic Food!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is a great spot in Chapel Hill, that is fun and has great tables for a family dinner as well as a fun bar with good selections. The food is outstanding and the service gracious. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great atmosphere and delicious food.

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was a fantastic choice for our Easter brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to Mother's day brunch in the past and was excited to come back. The salads were amazing. However, the meat selection was a little disapointing. We look forward to returning!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great for veggies for Easter Brunch Lots of other tasty dishes to eat for breakfast or lunch as well

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed with dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

We were disappointed with the dinner menu, food, and prices. We had a good experience there at lunch but wouldn't return or recommend for dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Didn't realize no sushi served on a Sund ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Didn't realize no sushi served on a Sunday night. Was difficult to find Gluten Free and Vegan choices. Average tasting swordfish special, even with the mango salsa...just not exciting flavors. Waiter forgot to bring apprentices we ordered and didn't check in much, despite it not being crowded. Have been here twice before (and have loved it) when visiting kids in college, but a little disappointed this time unfortunately.

food5
ambience4
service5

We were passing through town and sought ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We were passing through town and sought out City Kitchen - we were not disappointed. Great venue and well thought out decor and artwork. Broad menu, but well planned. Fantastic choice of wine and beers, supported by well executed food (good portion size as well) If we lived in this town, it would be a regular go to spot.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great calamari appetizer, great roasted ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great calamari appetizer, great roasted chicken, and great salads. Nice later-night spot.

food2
ambience5
service3

Good menu but not well executed. Short r ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Good menu but not well executed. Short ribs good but mashed potato accompaniment cold. Duck confit pot pie a nice idea but the reality was soggy crust, light on duck but heavy on celery, bland flavor. Because of low quality of food it became a very overpriced meal i.e. Not worth it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful lunch experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was delicious and had enough variety for light eaters as well as those with hearty appetites. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, personable and gave excellent recommendations.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding short ribs!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great experience at City Kitchen! It was a busy Saturday night, but I was able to make reservations the day before for 4 people. We had excellent food (the short ribs were AMAZING!!) and the service was fine. We did feel that the the server was rushing us a little, continually asking if he could remove plates while people were still eating, but overall it was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place will continue to visit

Dined on February 20, 2016

Awesome place will continue to visit

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.