About City Kitchen

201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

City Kitchen family welcomes you with wholesome American fare prepared through simple, time-honored cooking methods such as roasting, braising, preserving and smoking. This urban, contemporary neighborhood eatery evokes the warmth and convivial setting of a residential kitchen and gaathering place dedicated to quality and sourcing locally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm , Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:30am - 3pm

Cross Street:
15-501

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 928-8200

Website:
http://citykitchenchapelhill.com/

Catering:
Our catering staff shares the same values as our restaurant staff. They are here to create a fun, unforgettable dining experience. We will take care of everything, exceeding your every expectation along the way. Don’t know what you want? We’ll happily walk you through our offerings.. Loved that entree you had last night that’s not on our catering menu? As far as we’re concerned, it is now. Our goal is to create amazing memories that also fit within your budget.

Parking Details:
Easy access from Chapel Hill Bus Lines

Executive Chef:
Jessie Flores

Private Party Facilities:
City Kitchen offers a venue like no other, its back drop creates a stage to relax, enjoy, have fun citiy kitchen weddings and celebrate. The décor is contemporary, rustic and fun and each defined space is flexible allowing numerous possibilities to create the elements of an amazing event. If it is a ceremony, wedding, reception, rehearsal dinner, shower, bridal luncheon or morning after breakfast, the possibilities are endless. With a detail orientated wedding coordinator on hand at all times you are given expert advice allowing your special event to be tailored to exactly what you desire. We dedicate ourselves to giving you an outstanding experience at a price you can afford. From traditional southern affairs to elaborate fine dining occasions City Kitchen provides the space, the experience, the professionalism and the detailed planning and service to make your event flawless and one you, your family and friends will remember for a life time.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Myers: (919)928-8200x201

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
We'll be offering some delicious brunch specials & craft cocktails in honor of the fantastic gentlemen we know and love as our DADS!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

City Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

fit for foodies (75)
good for groups (67)
special occasion (50)
See All
neighborhood gem (43)
great for lunch (41)
great for outdoor dining (36)
great for brunch (31)
vibrant bar scene (29)
hot spot (27)
romantic (19)
kid-friendly (17)
notable wine list (9)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

One of us ordered the golden beet risott ...

Dined 3 days ago

One of us ordered the golden beet risotto. The portion was not only small, the beets and beet flavor were almost non-existent. For the most part, the risotto seemed to be filled with celery and tasted of nothing but chicken stock. This was a disappointing experience. Cannot recommend to friends.

food3
ambience3
service1

Food was ok, service was terrible. I be ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was ok, service was terrible. I believe our server forgot about us and the timing of the meal was off. Two people at our table received their food 10 mins before the others. It was very unpredictable service. Probably would not recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday!

Dined on May 12, 2016

I came to Durham and chose to eat here to celebrate my birthday. Wonderful food, different choices. The waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful. I had the sea bass. We ordered a dessert to share. The waiter brought me a mini sampler for my birthday and wrote "Happy Birthday 29" in chocolate on the plate. He made my celebration even more special. I recommend it highly.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good but overpriced

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to city kitchen for Mother's Day brunch. The food was excellent as always but the $40 price tag was too high. Have been here previous years on Mother's Day and ordered off the brunch menu and the food was equally as good but the value much greater. While I will eat again at city kitchen I will think twice before returning for this special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Food

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was a great place to eat, especially with regards to food and the atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Lunch Celebration

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a party of seven for lunch to celebrate a birthday. Unfortunately it was the Friday before UNC Chapel Hill's graduation so the menu was condensed and our choices were limited. However, our waitress gave us the run down and everyone was able to find an item they wanted and we all enjoyed everything. Several members of our party had not been there before but are definitely going back to try the full City Kitchen experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty lunch

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I stopped in for lunch on a Tuesday afternoon, and ordered the poached shrimp salad, with the orange slices on the side. The shrimp were very nicely poached and there was a good amount of them, the avocado, radishes and bibb lettuce were fresh, and it was just plain tasty. The waiter was attentive, my water glass was always full, the check arrived and was collected when I was ready, and then my change was returned promptly. It was a very nice experience, and I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were great.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food and service were great however the noise level too high. It made having a conversation difficult.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter (think it was Ahmid?) was won ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Our waiter (think it was Ahmid?) was wonderful. Very personable and attentive.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food ! Was very noisy.

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food ! Was very noisy.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Noise level

Dined on April 23, 2016

the service was great---the food was good even though one of us didn't get what we ordered but the noise level was so bad that the four of us could barely carry on a conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our date night dinner was absolutely delicious. I won a gift card from work and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, fresh food. Just an all aroun ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent, fresh food. Just an all around excellent experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Decided to grab dinner with my daughter. Had a great meal with great service. Will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Wish we had eaten outdoors, but ate well

Dined on April 18, 2016

Indoor seating was dark and noisy making communication exhausting. Food was really tasty and healthy: great mussels, salads, mains. Great value on Wednesday with half-off glasses of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing ribs and excellent wine ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

The most amazing ribs and excellent wine combined with first rate service. Couldn't be happier with the experience.

food2
ambience3
service1

Took over 10 min to be waited on, the fo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Took over 10 min to be waited on, the food was not worth the price that's for sure and will not be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here several times for lunc ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We have been here several times for lunch and dinner. Never disappointed. Service from bar might be slow but all meals came with just a short wait. The specials for the day have always been outstanding. Worth a try. Despite being noisy, the is an excellent restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a neighborhood treasure. Fantastic Food!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is a great spot in Chapel Hill, that is fun and has great tables for a family dinner as well as a fun bar with good selections. The food is outstanding and the service gracious. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great atmosphere and delicious food.

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was a fantastic choice for our Easter brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to Mother's day brunch in the past and was excited to come back. The salads were amazing. However, the meat selection was a little disapointing. We look forward to returning!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great for veggies for Easter Brunch Lots of other tasty dishes to eat for breakfast or lunch as well

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed with dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

We were disappointed with the dinner menu, food, and prices. We had a good experience there at lunch but wouldn't return or recommend for dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Didn't realize no sushi served on a Sund ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Didn't realize no sushi served on a Sunday night. Was difficult to find Gluten Free and Vegan choices. Average tasting swordfish special, even with the mango salsa...just not exciting flavors. Waiter forgot to bring apprentices we ordered and didn't check in much, despite it not being crowded. Have been here twice before (and have loved it) when visiting kids in college, but a little disappointed this time unfortunately.

food5
ambience4
service5

We were passing through town and sought ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We were passing through town and sought out City Kitchen - we were not disappointed. Great venue and well thought out decor and artwork. Broad menu, but well planned. Fantastic choice of wine and beers, supported by well executed food (good portion size as well) If we lived in this town, it would be a regular go to spot.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great calamari appetizer, great roasted ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great calamari appetizer, great roasted chicken, and great salads. Nice later-night spot.

food2
ambience5
service3

Good menu but not well executed. Short r ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good menu but not well executed. Short ribs good but mashed potato accompaniment cold. Duck confit pot pie a nice idea but the reality was soggy crust, light on duck but heavy on celery, bland flavor. Because of low quality of food it became a very overpriced meal i.e. Not worth it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful lunch experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was delicious and had enough variety for light eaters as well as those with hearty appetites. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, personable and gave excellent recommendations.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding short ribs!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great experience at City Kitchen! It was a busy Saturday night, but I was able to make reservations the day before for 4 people. We had excellent food (the short ribs were AMAZING!!) and the service was fine. We did feel that the the server was rushing us a little, continually asking if he could remove plates while people were still eating, but overall it was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place will continue to visit

Dined on February 20, 2016

Awesome place will continue to visit

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday Brunch

Dined on February 20, 2016

The restaurant was quiet at 11:00, but the scene began to liven up around 12:15. I have eaten at City Kitchen several times and their food this visit did not disappoint. Great menu options and dependable waitstaff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love food~

Dined on February 19, 2016

The City Kitchen was superb. I was so impressed to find this was so cool inside as it is in a shopping center and was not expecting it. The decor is fabulous and the staff is friendly, courteous. They were also very knowledgeable about the food. And the chef worked with my demands as I needed some menu items exchanged due to diet restrictions. I just really had a great experience and found this restaurant a fun place to be. The items on the menu are not so many that you can't figure anything out. I like not being overwhelmed and they had a fantastic looking sushi menu which we did not partake of since we had all just had sushi in the past week but watching the plates go by was making me wish I had not just eaten it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the above!

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

All of the above!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food is good, but not mind-blowing. ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is good, but not mind-blowing. The service can be a little slow if they are busy. Good for groups. This place as a great, open air space. However, it can be a bit loud and impersonal at times.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Cheese player was great. Short Ribs entr ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Cheese player was great. Short Ribs entree very tender and flavorful. Wok fried rib app was tasty.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Service was ok. We ordered the slow brai ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was ok. We ordered the slow braised ribs upon recommendation of our waiter. They were so fatty they were inedible. Worst Ceasar salad we have ever had too. $250 for dinner and it was a nightmare . We will never return

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect for a romantic date night or out with friends. Second floor dining is a fun experience, especially when it overlooks the dining area. Great restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

What a wonderful place for not only a romantic dinner but for a great night on the town. food was wonderful and everyone working made it a great experience. We will be going back sooner then later for another wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch on Valentine's Day with ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for brunch on Valentine's Day with my boyfriend. Perfect environment for a laid back, yet energetic vibe. Didn't feel like we were in Chapel hill at all. Bottomless mimosas were a plus too! Can't wait to go back. Food was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!! Outstanding service and food! ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome!! Outstanding service and food!! One of the best restaurants in the area!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.