Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About City Grocery

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Hot Spot (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (13)
Historic (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

There was a lot of hype for City Grocery, and it lived up to it -- one of the most delicious and enjoyable meals I've ever had in the States. Each one in our party ordered a different entree, and we were all delighted with our choices. The salted honey pie with lavender ice cream was transformational! Service was excellent; we were well attended to on a busy Saturday night. The only knock: after about 8 pm, the noise level was extreme. After a relatively quiet evening at Snackbar the night before, we were acutely aware of how loud CG was. But for our small group, it worked fine, mostly because we were too busy cleaning our plates. Thanks to City Grocery for a very memorable Oxford experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great except the appetizer of local tomatoes. They were over salted.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was a special occasion for my wife and me. We came up from Mandeville, La to celebrate our forty-fifth wedding anniversary and wanted to do something special. That is why we chose to celebrate at City Grocery. It is a special place. By the way, we are both graduates of Ole Miss.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This restaurant is so quaint! Perfect brunch on the square! Food was delicious and the atmosphere is fun and inviting.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Best meal I've had in years! I'm not usually that adventurous, but the waitress convinced me to get the braised beef cheeks. The different items on the plate all had an interesting in a good way taste. But the combination of all of them came together in perfect harmony.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Shrimp & grits are phenomenal. The rest of our food was average. Our server was excellent, and very helpful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As always, delicious food and delightful service...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 3, 2017

3 tables (ours included) all ordered the same thing- beef cheeks and shrimp and grits. No one was disappointed!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Her parents came in from Cali and we took them on little scenic trip of Oxford & Ole Miss campus and of course had to have lunch at your restaurant they had an awesome experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food is predictably good. Wait staff is hit or miss. Was FREEZING inside the restaurant which made the meal uncomfortable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First time eating at city grocery. It was unbelievable. But you should expect unbelievable from a James Beard award winning chef. The waitstaff was incredible. Very attentive and willing to serve. The food was incredible. Very tasty, very fresh and very savory. We will definitely be back. This little place should be on everyone's list of places to eat in the south. Reservations are a must.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had not been to City Grocery in awhile, and it was really great. I had one of the specials: pork sliders, and they were really good. We took our daughter, who is a college student who looks forward to our visits so she can go for lunch and/or dinner at some of the nicer places in Oxford. City Grocery was a great choice. We had reservations because it was Double Decker weekend, so no wait, which was really awesome.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was amazing as always. Second time we had Claire as our server and she was the highlight of our lunch. Hope to have her every time!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great restaurant and in a perfect location on the square. The staff is great and very professional which is rare in a college town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Shrimp and grits can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The appetizers were good and not too filling. We had the smoked deviled egg, the roasted Brussel sprouts, and the shrimp and toast. Small tapas for sure! For dinner I had the fish of the day which was a whole red snapper. Nicely cooked and tender. My husband had the Mississippi catfish. It was much better than the snapper. If you go for nothing else but dessert, you have to have the Honey Pie. It is AMAZING. the lavender ice cream is so light and fresh.

Our service was great but it is very loud from the chatter! Otherwise, no complaints.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My first time & not a disappointment. Food was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our server was awesome!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food. Even better service. Sierra was a great server. Innovative menu. Everything was first rate
Only negative was door to bar was continually slamming and shaking the table

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent meal. Busy weekend in oxford, but it seems like this restaurant is always busy. Had a lovely old fashioned in the upstairs bar before our dinner reservation. We weee seated promptly but then were abandoned for about 10 minutes before someone asked us for a drink order. Once we got their attention, the service was spot on though. Food was as excellent as expected and advertised. Would definitely return. Seems like would be great fun for a larger group as restaurant is louder.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 6, 2017

When I walked in the restaurant smelled like bad fish/seafood. Very pungent. I endured. Manager really needs to take hold of the situation.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I had never been to a restaurant owned by this chef but my family and I were very pleased with our experience. The food was wonderful and the servers were extremely helpful. Would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were so excited to finally have dinner @ the local favorite, City Grocery. Although the service was fantastic, the food didn't match its reputation. The crawfish ravioli was delicious, but it was too small to be an entree. The pork chop, although presented beautifully, was dry & fatty. We also found the appetizers to be disappointing. The Caesar salad was our favorite part of the meal and was displayed beautifully. Considering the prices on the menu and its notoriety, we expected a better overall product.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was outstanding and very helpful. Appetizers, main course, deserts were all consistently unbelievably good. We had read other reviews and wanted to try for ourselves. Very glad we did. Priced slightly higher than nearby restaurants, but worth every penny. Deviled eggs appetizer 5 stars and reason enough to try City Grocery.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great service, Great food. This is one of the great restaurants in America. Worth a trip from Memphis any time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went here to celebrate an anniversary and was not disappointed. Would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoyed the tomato soup and City salad w fried oysters added.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent choice for the feel of Oxford. The choices for entrees are creative and do not disappoint.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Have visited Oxford sevral times but never ate here.
Food is outstanding as was our service. My wife and I were very pleased.
It was crowded, noise level was okay to still have a conversation.
I had Quail, my wife chicken. Salads were exceptional.
Poached Pear dessert, incredible.
Great wine list.
The place though is cramped, narrow aisles and tables very close. Not a romantic place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

For our anniversary, we received the best table in the restaurant. And complimentary Prosecco. Wonderful food & experience. We enjoy every time we go. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were only visiting Oxford and not familiar with the area. The restaurant was recommended by a friend. A great choice. Phenomenal service. Not a large menu but more than enough variety. Recommend the shrimp and grits.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great meal - everyone at our table loved their food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was our first visit to Oxford, and I'd read this was a must. Absolutely everything is was cracked up to be! Our server, Jennifer, was just wonderful. Knowledgable, professional and (like everyone else we met in Oxford in our three days there) charming and friendly. The shrimp and grits is to die for. Don't go in expecting to dodge calories--embrace the comfort food while you are there. We were with our son for a college visit and so sat at a table, but on a future visit as a couple, we'd be right at the bar, which was very inviting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. Drove down from Memphis and it was worth the drive. We will be going back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 9, 2017

City grocery is located directly on the town square and is a charming building inside and out. Our waiter was friendly and knew the menu inside and out. Cocktails were terrific with a decent wine and beer menu as well. Our family was in town for vacation and eating vegan-- which it turns out is not easy to do in Oxford! The chef offered to create off-menu vegan dishes for us, and they were by far the best meals we ate on the trip. Our experience was good enough that we seriously considered cancelling out other reservations to come back and eat here the rest of our trip.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great...as usual!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very attentive and well informed service. Entree portions smaller than expected but very well prepared.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Four of us dined, and all four agreed that our meal at the City Grocery might have been the best meal we had ever eaten! Wow - turkey necks? Yummy! Pork osso bucco - again yummy! And the list goes on. And the prices are amazingly fair. Wine list was good with reasonable prices by the glass or bottle. Overall, I can't think of a single negative. Atmosphere is fun and festive with a sophisticated flair. Great location on the Square.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We went here because we heard so many good things. I had a steak that was perfectly cooked sitting on a bed of puréed carrots and nestled among crunchy fingerling potatoes. It was wonderful. My husband had an ahi tuna special. He forgot to tell them to cook the tuna medium rare. He thought there were too many flavors going on. He was not as happy as I was. We also enjoyed the Bibb lettuce salad and the special crab cakes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The restaurant was very busy. Our server was polite. We waited almost one hour for our dinner. The food was not very hot, but tasted fine. The restaurant is very loud. Not good if you want to go for a romantic dining experience. Superb wine list. We will give it another try in the near future.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.