Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

BoureBoure
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
American | Oxford, North Mississippi
McEwens - OxfordMcEwens - Oxford
(423)
$$$$
American | Oxford, North Mississippi
Booked 8 times today
King'sKing's
(32)
$$$$
Steak | Oxford, North Mississippi
Booked 10 times today
STEAK by MelissaSTEAK by Melissa
(122)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Southaven, North Mississippi
Woody's Tupelo SteakhouseWoody's Tupelo Steakhouse
(311)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Tupelo, North Mississippi
TGI FRIDAYS - SouthavenTGI FRIDAYS - Southaven
(2)
$$$$
American | Robinsonville, North Mississippi
ForkliftForklift
(62)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Tupelo, North Mississippi
Park HeightsPark Heights
(116)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Tupelo, North Mississippi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About City Grocery

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Historic (4)
Romantic (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great place to dine. Our go to spot any time we are in town!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Spicy, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This was the first time I have been to City Grocery for dinner, though I've had many good experiences at lunch. Most of my issues this time were caused by our server. He was a fast talker, pushy and way too much of a smart--- for all of us. The most unfortunate thing he did was to tell me the wrong ingredients in my smoked oysters over pappardelle before I ordered. There was an ingredient listed that I had never heard of, and he quickly responded that it was parsley, olive oil, etc., just a nice little topping. Sounded good to me. Later I Googled it, and it was described as a hot chili pepper. It was so spicy hot it that I found it to be mostly inedible. Also, he and the hostess said there would be 10 oysters over the pasta. There were 4. Pretty steep for $27, I thought. I was there for my birthday, and it was a real downer. I wouldn't say I will never go back, but, if I did, I would make sure that I was not served by the same guy. By the way, they were not busy that evening, so there was no excuse for poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

There was a lot of hype for City Grocery, and it lived up to it -- one of the most delicious and enjoyable meals I've ever had in the States. Each one in our party ordered a different entree, and we were all delighted with our choices. The salted honey pie with lavender ice cream was transformational! Service was excellent; we were well attended to on a busy Saturday night. The only knock: after about 8 pm, the noise level was extreme. After a relatively quiet evening at Snackbar the night before, we were acutely aware of how loud CG was. But for our small group, it worked fine, mostly because we were too busy cleaning our plates. Thanks to City Grocery for a very memorable Oxford experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great except the appetizer of local tomatoes. They were over salted.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was a special occasion for my wife and me. We came up from Mandeville, La to celebrate our forty-fifth wedding anniversary and wanted to do something special. That is why we chose to celebrate at City Grocery. It is a special place. By the way, we are both graduates of Ole Miss.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This restaurant is so quaint! Perfect brunch on the square! Food was delicious and the atmosphere is fun and inviting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Best meal I've had in years! I'm not usually that adventurous, but the waitress convinced me to get the braised beef cheeks. The different items on the plate all had an interesting in a good way taste. But the combination of all of them came together in perfect harmony.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Shrimp & grits are phenomenal. The rest of our food was average. Our server was excellent, and very helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was good but left hungry. Not much on the plate for the price. Tea glass was never full.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Feels like family and great food and wine. Service is always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our Mother's Day Brunch was a delight. We arrived rather skeptical of the service we might receive on such a busy holiday/graduation weekend, but were pleasantly surprised at the good service and timing of the food delivery. Everything we ordered was delicious. The only snafu was the burgers ordered by two people at the table did not come out with the fried egg that was ordered, but the kitchen quickly made it right. I have dined here before for dinner and it was good; however, I enjoyed the lunch menu options more than the dinner menu and will definitely head back there soon for brunch or lunch when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As always, delicious food and delightful service...

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 2, 2017

3 tables (ours included) all ordered the same thing- beef cheeks and shrimp and grits. No one was disappointed!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Her parents came in from Cali and we took them on little scenic trip of Oxford & Ole Miss campus and of course had to have lunch at your restaurant they had an awesome experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food is predictably good. Wait staff is hit or miss. Was FREEZING inside the restaurant which made the meal uncomfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First time eating at city grocery. It was unbelievable. But you should expect unbelievable from a James Beard award winning chef. The waitstaff was incredible. Very attentive and willing to serve. The food was incredible. Very tasty, very fresh and very savory. We will definitely be back. This little place should be on everyone's list of places to eat in the south. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had not been to City Grocery in awhile, and it was really great. I had one of the specials: pork sliders, and they were really good. We took our daughter, who is a college student who looks forward to our visits so she can go for lunch and/or dinner at some of the nicer places in Oxford. City Grocery was a great choice. We had reservations because it was Double Decker weekend, so no wait, which was really awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was amazing as always. Second time we had Claire as our server and she was the highlight of our lunch. Hope to have her every time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great restaurant and in a perfect location on the square. The staff is great and very professional which is rare in a college town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Shrimp and grits can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The appetizers were good and not too filling. We had the smoked deviled egg, the roasted Brussel sprouts, and the shrimp and toast. Small tapas for sure! For dinner I had the fish of the day which was a whole red snapper. Nicely cooked and tender. My husband had the Mississippi catfish. It was much better than the snapper. If you go for nothing else but dessert, you have to have the Honey Pie. It is AMAZING. the lavender ice cream is so light and fresh.

Our service was great but it is very loud from the chatter! Otherwise, no complaints.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My first time & not a disappointment. Food was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food. Even better service. Sierra was a great server. Innovative menu. Everything was first rate
Only negative was door to bar was continually slamming and shaking the table

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent meal. Busy weekend in oxford, but it seems like this restaurant is always busy. Had a lovely old fashioned in the upstairs bar before our dinner reservation. We weee seated promptly but then were abandoned for about 10 minutes before someone asked us for a drink order. Once we got their attention, the service was spot on though. Food was as excellent as expected and advertised. Would definitely return. Seems like would be great fun for a larger group as restaurant is louder.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 5, 2017

When I walked in the restaurant smelled like bad fish/seafood. Very pungent. I endured. Manager really needs to take hold of the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I had never been to a restaurant owned by this chef but my family and I were very pleased with our experience. The food was wonderful and the servers were extremely helpful. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were so excited to finally have dinner @ the local favorite, City Grocery. Although the service was fantastic, the food didn't match its reputation. The crawfish ravioli was delicious, but it was too small to be an entree. The pork chop, although presented beautifully, was dry & fatty. We also found the appetizers to be disappointing. The Caesar salad was our favorite part of the meal and was displayed beautifully. Considering the prices on the menu and its notoriety, we expected a better overall product.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was outstanding and very helpful. Appetizers, main course, deserts were all consistently unbelievably good. We had read other reviews and wanted to try for ourselves. Very glad we did. Priced slightly higher than nearby restaurants, but worth every penny. Deviled eggs appetizer 5 stars and reason enough to try City Grocery.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great service, Great food. This is one of the great restaurants in America. Worth a trip from Memphis any time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went here to celebrate an anniversary and was not disappointed. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoyed the tomato soup and City salad w fried oysters added.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent choice for the feel of Oxford. The choices for entrees are creative and do not disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Have visited Oxford sevral times but never ate here.
Food is outstanding as was our service. My wife and I were very pleased.
It was crowded, noise level was okay to still have a conversation.
I had Quail, my wife chicken. Salads were exceptional.
Poached Pear dessert, incredible.
Great wine list.
The place though is cramped, narrow aisles and tables very close. Not a romantic place.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

For our anniversary, we received the best table in the restaurant. And complimentary Prosecco. Wonderful food & experience. We enjoy every time we go. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were only visiting Oxford and not familiar with the area. The restaurant was recommended by a friend. A great choice. Phenomenal service. Not a large menu but more than enough variety. Recommend the shrimp and grits.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great meal - everyone at our table loved their food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was our first visit to Oxford, and I'd read this was a must. Absolutely everything is was cracked up to be! Our server, Jennifer, was just wonderful. Knowledgable, professional and (like everyone else we met in Oxford in our three days there) charming and friendly. The shrimp and grits is to die for. Don't go in expecting to dodge calories--embrace the comfort food while you are there. We were with our son for a college visit and so sat at a table, but on a future visit as a couple, we'd be right at the bar, which was very inviting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. Drove down from Memphis and it was worth the drive. We will be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 8, 2017

City grocery is located directly on the town square and is a charming building inside and out. Our waiter was friendly and knew the menu inside and out. Cocktails were terrific with a decent wine and beer menu as well. Our family was in town for vacation and eating vegan-- which it turns out is not easy to do in Oxford! The chef offered to create off-menu vegan dishes for us, and they were by far the best meals we ate on the trip. Our experience was good enough that we seriously considered cancelling out other reservations to come back and eat here the rest of our trip.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.