Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.85mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About City Grocery

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (28)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Cozy (17)
Fun (17)
Romantic (17)
Historic (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Authentic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant and in a perfect location on the square. The staff is great and very professional which is rare in a college town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Shrimp and grits can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The appetizers were good and not too filling. We had the smoked deviled egg, the roasted Brussel sprouts, and the shrimp and toast. Small tapas for sure! For dinner I had the fish of the day which was a whole red snapper. Nicely cooked and tender. My husband had the Mississippi catfish. It was much better than the snapper. If you go for nothing else but dessert, you have to have the Honey Pie. It is AMAZING. the lavender ice cream is so light and fresh.

Our service was great but it is very loud from the chatter! Otherwise, no complaints.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My first time & not a disappointment. Food was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our server was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food. Even better service. Sierra was a great server. Innovative menu. Everything was first rate
Only negative was door to bar was continually slamming and shaking the table

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent meal. Busy weekend in oxford, but it seems like this restaurant is always busy. Had a lovely old fashioned in the upstairs bar before our dinner reservation. We weee seated promptly but then were abandoned for about 10 minutes before someone asked us for a drink order. Once we got their attention, the service was spot on though. Food was as excellent as expected and advertised. Would definitely return. Seems like would be great fun for a larger group as restaurant is louder.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 6, 2017

When I walked in the restaurant smelled like bad fish/seafood. Very pungent. I endured. Manager really needs to take hold of the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I had never been to a restaurant owned by this chef but my family and I were very pleased with our experience. The food was wonderful and the servers were extremely helpful. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were so excited to finally have dinner @ the local favorite, City Grocery. Although the service was fantastic, the food didn't match its reputation. The crawfish ravioli was delicious, but it was too small to be an entree. The pork chop, although presented beautifully, was dry & fatty. We also found the appetizers to be disappointing. The Caesar salad was our favorite part of the meal and was displayed beautifully. Considering the prices on the menu and its notoriety, we expected a better overall product.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was outstanding and very helpful. Appetizers, main course, deserts were all consistently unbelievably good. We had read other reviews and wanted to try for ourselves. Very glad we did. Priced slightly higher than nearby restaurants, but worth every penny. Deviled eggs appetizer 5 stars and reason enough to try City Grocery.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great service, Great food. This is one of the great restaurants in America. Worth a trip from Memphis any time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went here to celebrate an anniversary and was not disappointed. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoyed the tomato soup and City salad w fried oysters added.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent choice for the feel of Oxford. The choices for entrees are creative and do not disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Have visited Oxford sevral times but never ate here.
Food is outstanding as was our service. My wife and I were very pleased.
It was crowded, noise level was okay to still have a conversation.
I had Quail, my wife chicken. Salads were exceptional.
Poached Pear dessert, incredible.
Great wine list.
The place though is cramped, narrow aisles and tables very close. Not a romantic place.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

For our anniversary, we received the best table in the restaurant. And complimentary Prosecco. Wonderful food & experience. We enjoy every time we go. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were only visiting Oxford and not familiar with the area. The restaurant was recommended by a friend. A great choice. Phenomenal service. Not a large menu but more than enough variety. Recommend the shrimp and grits.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great meal - everyone at our table loved their food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was our first visit to Oxford, and I'd read this was a must. Absolutely everything is was cracked up to be! Our server, Jennifer, was just wonderful. Knowledgable, professional and (like everyone else we met in Oxford in our three days there) charming and friendly. The shrimp and grits is to die for. Don't go in expecting to dodge calories--embrace the comfort food while you are there. We were with our son for a college visit and so sat at a table, but on a future visit as a couple, we'd be right at the bar, which was very inviting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. Drove down from Memphis and it was worth the drive. We will be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 9, 2017

City grocery is located directly on the town square and is a charming building inside and out. Our waiter was friendly and knew the menu inside and out. Cocktails were terrific with a decent wine and beer menu as well. Our family was in town for vacation and eating vegan-- which it turns out is not easy to do in Oxford! The chef offered to create off-menu vegan dishes for us, and they were by far the best meals we ate on the trip. Our experience was good enough that we seriously considered cancelling out other reservations to come back and eat here the rest of our trip.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great...as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very attentive and well informed service. Entree portions smaller than expected but very well prepared.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Four of us dined, and all four agreed that our meal at the City Grocery might have been the best meal we had ever eaten! Wow - turkey necks? Yummy! Pork osso bucco - again yummy! And the list goes on. And the prices are amazingly fair. Wine list was good with reasonable prices by the glass or bottle. Overall, I can't think of a single negative. Atmosphere is fun and festive with a sophisticated flair. Great location on the Square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We went here because we heard so many good things. I had a steak that was perfectly cooked sitting on a bed of puréed carrots and nestled among crunchy fingerling potatoes. It was wonderful. My husband had an ahi tuna special. He forgot to tell them to cook the tuna medium rare. He thought there were too many flavors going on. He was not as happy as I was. We also enjoyed the Bibb lettuce salad and the special crab cakes.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The restaurant was very busy. Our server was polite. We waited almost one hour for our dinner. The food was not very hot, but tasted fine. The restaurant is very loud. Not good if you want to go for a romantic dining experience. Superb wine list. We will give it another try in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was good. Food was good. Table was the best in the house. Only smudge was the fact that I order a cocktail and they didn't make it the way I asked. I just left a $10 drink on the table ☹️ I will say, I did not report it as I just didn't feel like the hassle.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We drove almost two hours for a special date night and I am so glad we made the choice to visit city grocery! The food was absolutely top notch and our service was phenomenal as well. It felt a little bit crowded, as in, our neighboring tables were pretty darn close to each side, but we didn't struggle to hear each other talking in normal voices. Loved the white-tablecloth atmosphere and felt like the quality of the food and service appropriately matched the price point. Will definitely be back for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The restaurant is very nicely laid out, with a romantic atmosphere. The food was very good. Service was extremely friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Soooo loud! Loud to the point the waiter didn't hear my order or messed up. Wife's food was undercooked, and my salad never made it out. Waiters worked hard, food was good, but not worth the round trip from Tupelo.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 16, 2017

City Grocery is a unique menu that has items for a mature palette. I was visiting my son at College and we had some wonderful one on one time coupled with excellent food, service and wine.

Our waitress was exceptional, and all her recommendations were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My four friends and I dined at City Grocery on 2/11/17. Everyone's food was beautiful and really delicious. The vibe was great--dining room was packed and lively. I have dined at City Grocery a few times over the years, so I wondered if the experience would be as good as I remembered. CG exceeded my expectations. I will definitely be back.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The quality and taste of the food was AMAZING! Very flavorful! GO FOR THE FOOD!!!

The service was ok but not "fine dining" quality and the table was very wobbly. I still LOVED the food and enjoy the experience VERY much!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first visit and it was for lunch. The menu was creative and the service knowlegeable. My wife and I split a tasty burger and an interesting salad, paired with wines from a well-priced wine list (like all John Currence restaurants we later found when we went to them as well). Highly-recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our food was good. We waited over an hour for our dinner. The portion size was not generous, but the quality of ingredients was very high. I would try City Grocery again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had s family dinner there. We each ordered separate entrees. They were all delicious. I would recommend it highly

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent. Pork osso bucco excellent.
Very helpful. Party went from 2-6 the week prior to dining and they accommodated.
Overall excellent. City Grocery never disappoints.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Waiter was VERY attentive and very well knowledgeable about the menu and history of the restaurant! Food was fantastic! I had the shrimp and grits, the wife had the grilled bavette. Both was great and cooked to perfection! Would absolutely recommend this place for anyone!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Perfect as always! Get the shrimp and grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.