About City Grocery

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

Fit for Foodies (48)
Special Occasion (46)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Hot Spot (27)
Romantic (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Historic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had brunch today at City Grocery, our se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 2 days ago

Had brunch today at City Grocery, our server Terry was outstanding! The food was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was excited to try this highly recommend ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Was excited to try this highly recommended gem but unfortunately chose the worst weekend possible. With that said, I do fault the manager for throwing an inexperienced young server to the wolves on one of the busiest weekends (UGA/Ole Miss game) in Sept. Though the waiter was super nice, he was absolutely clueless about the food, beers on tap, and wine selections. He literally would say, "I don't know" when we asked basic questions like, "What beer do you have on tap?" or "What's the best dish at City Grocery?"...the food was subpar at best. They actually got hushpuppies and beignets confused? Not sure why this place is ranked to high...and worst of all they were out of EVERYTHING including muffelatas. Seriously? You're out of your signature sandwich? WTH? Not worth the price or hassle....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful place for lunch or dinner. Be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful place for lunch or dinner. Best shrimp and grits I have ever had. 2 thumbs up for this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Sunday brunch following a ho ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch following a home football game on Saturday. It was just what we needed before our drive back to Birmingham. I had the monte cristo, and it was delicious. The service was spot on as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of the best Oxford restauran ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is one of the best Oxford restaurants. It's always our first choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an exciting Friday before Saturda ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had an exciting Friday before Saturday football lunch. Even though the restaurant was packed, our waitress was calm and patient. The Bloody Mary's to start the meal were delicious. We needed to add another guest at the last minute, and they accommodated us cheerfully. We all had salads with either fried oysters or chicken ... All were delicious. The excitement, the tradition, the food cannot be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food way too salty and oily, no pie for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food way too salty and oily, no pie for dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Consistently fabulous!! Food, cocktails ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Consistently fabulous!! Food, cocktails, service... Loved the charred okra!! Chilled cucumber soup was so "bright" and yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed our lunch at City G ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We very much enjoyed our lunch at City Grocery. We requested a table in the window since it was my husband's birthday and it was just perfect! Also, our daughter has celiac disease and must eat gluten-free. We were so very pleased with the delicious options available for her. We all enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience. We had he ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. We had heard great things, but didn't expect the fine dining experience we had. This restaurant holds its own against anything in Houston or New York.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at City Grocery many times. ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I have dined at City Grocery many times. The dinner on August 29, 2016 (pompano) was the best I have ever had. It was exquisite, as was the table by the window.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed an evening of fine dining in the ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed an evening of fine dining in the square. First time visiting Oxford and would highly recommend for small groups or relaxing date night.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Maybe the best in Oxford, and there are ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Maybe the best in Oxford, and there are a lot of good ones.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were good, not great.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food and service were good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We love City Grocery for brunch! Always ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love City Grocery for brunch! Always delicious and the specials never disappoint. I highly recommend City Grocery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very tasty meal with an excellent staff. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very tasty meal with an excellent staff. Items are costly so be prepared to open your wallet wide.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous food as always!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fabulous food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really love this place, & try to have ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I really love this place, & try to have a meal here every time I come to Oxford!! Everything on the menu that I've tried is excellent, but my favorite is the shrimp & grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had high expectations going in. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I had high expectations going in. It was a fine restaurant - from the service to the drinks and food - but nothing wowed me. Maybe stick to the regular items on the menu rather than the specials and don't waste time ordering dessert. I'd suggest BBB or Snackbar if you are looking for higher quality food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

i was very impressed with the fish being ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

i was very impressed with the fish being that far from the coast the fish was as good as any i have ever had on the coast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food and service were both fabulous. ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food and service were both fabulous. Pan Seared Mississippi Redfish and Fried Trout were both delicious and the Ceviche appetizer was a perfect way to start our meal. Our servers were friendly and courteous even though they were very busy. It was a great experience and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at City Grocery has always ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My experience at City Grocery has always been wonderful. My last visit was no different. The chef was incredibly accommodating to my food allergies--gluten and dairy--and the waiter was attentive when we needed him to be. Everyone in my party loved their meal (I cleaned my plate), and we are looking forward to going back again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service and cold food---very, v ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Terrible service and cold food---very, very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Have eaten at City Grocery many times. T ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Have eaten at City Grocery many times. The food is always excellent. It wasn't this time. My flank steak was butchered incorrectly, under cooked, and seasoned terribly. All I tasted was over whelming smoked paprika. My wife ordered the special, a Cajun pasta, that was much spicer than advertised and lacked very much crawfish which was the main ingredient. Although our server was very polite, he was nearly non-existent. Hope they can get things turned around. I expect more from Oxfords most famed restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Phenomenal! My wife and I like to try a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Phenomenal! My wife and I like to try a bunch of items and dine in courses enjoying each item individually with our wine and conversation. Our waiter gladly conformed to our wish of ordering in courses and the kitchen staff came through with splitting the individual items for us. The kitchen...WOW! Can't say enough...Great food! Thank you very much!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had the flounder special and crab bisque ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had the flounder special and crab bisque. Both a touch of heaven - delicious. Our waitress was adorable and great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can always expect to have delicious ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

You can always expect to have delicious food, the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

too loud and seats were so close every t ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

too loud and seats were so close every time the waiter came by he bumped my chair or I had to move up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Love this place! But book an early reser ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love this place! But book an early reservation or one of the last because it gets extremely loud and crowded, and the wait staff gets overwhelmed at the peak of the night. I recommend sticking with the main menu. The chef's specials aren't always vetted to the perfection of their menu classics.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointing food. Not very flavorful a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Disappointing food. Not very flavorful and minimal. Small portion for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Basically, very good with above average ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Basically, very good with above average service. Their signature dish of Shrimp and Grits was more highly spiced that I remembered. Too much cayenne, in my opinion. The Caesar Salad was served in a unique way. The romaine was cut in half and grilled---very good. One in our party had it with fried oysters which where delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

City Grocery is hands down the best plac ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

City Grocery is hands down the best place to eat in Oxford. The restaurant offers it all, ambiance, good food, great location on the square and we had the best waiter in the world.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you had ONE restaurant to go to in Ox ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

If you had ONE restaurant to go to in Oxford ever in your life, make it City Grocery. Simply the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best caesar salads I've ever ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best caesar salads I've ever had! They even had oysters as an option for an add on to the salad! Highly recommended restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time. Food was fabulo ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Food was fabulous, service exceptional and atmosphere most congenial. We will return when next in Oxford.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really think this place is special. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We really think this place is special. The shrimp and grits are GREAT. we try and go there as often as we can. We live just about an hour away....worth the drive and a great bookstore is just down the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at City ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first time to dine at City Grocery. Although we had visited Oxford, MS many times we had not been able to dine here and really wanted to. City Grocery was everything we thought it would be. From the casual bar upstairs where we waited to be called, the polite bus boy, and the best waiter ever we were not disappointed. This dining experience rates with other great dining experiences that we've had in New York, New Orleans, and even Paris. We will be making another trip to Oxford and going to City Grocery!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must On the square. Filet was amazing. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A must On the square. Filet was amazing. Will visit again next time we are in town. And just happened to have Morgan Freeman walk past our table ...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service at City Grocery was wonderful and my food was very good. I did not find out until the next day that my mother's duck was very tough and difficult to chew. I feel if she would have let me or our waiter know, that another dish would have been brought to her. Our waiter was attentive and checked on us and our food regularly. Other than the duck, the food was delicious, including appetizers and desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.