About City Grocery

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Historic (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We drove almost two hours for a special ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We drove almost two hours for a special date night and I am so glad we made the choice to visit city grocery! The food was absolutely top notch and our service was phenomenal as well. It felt a little bit crowded, as in, our neighboring tables were pretty darn close to each side, but we didn't struggle to hear each other talking in normal voices. Loved the white-tablecloth atmosphere and felt like the quality of the food and service appropriately matched the price point. Will definitely be back for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Soooo loud! Loud to the point the wait ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Soooo loud! Loud to the point the waiter didn't hear my order or messed up. Wife's food was undercooked, and my salad never made it out. Waiters worked hard, food was good, but not worth the round trip from Tupelo.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

City Grocery is a unique menu that has i ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

City Grocery is a unique menu that has items for a mature palette. I was visiting my son at College and we had some wonderful one on one time coupled with excellent food, service and wine.

Our waitress was exceptional, and all her recommendations were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My four friends and I dined at City Groc ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My four friends and I dined at City Grocery on 2/11/17. Everyone's food was beautiful and really delicious. The vibe was great--dining room was packed and lively. I have dined at City Grocery a few times over the years, so I wondered if the experience would be as good as I remembered. CG exceeded my expectations. I will definitely be back.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The quality and taste of the food was AM ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The quality and taste of the food was AMAZING! Very flavorful! GO FOR THE FOOD!!!

The service was ok but not "fine dining" quality and the table was very wobbly. I still LOVED the food and enjoy the experience VERY much!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our first visit and it was for ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first visit and it was for lunch. The menu was creative and the service knowlegeable. My wife and I split a tasty burger and an interesting salad, paired with wines from a well-priced wine list (like all John Currence restaurants we later found when we went to them as well). Highly-recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our food was good. We waited over an ho ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our food was good. We waited over an hour for our dinner. The portion size was not generous, but the quality of ingredients was very high. I would try City Grocery again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

We had s family dinner there. We each or ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had s family dinner there. We each ordered separate entrees. They were all delicious. I would recommend it highly

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent. Pork osso bucco exc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent. Pork osso bucco excellent.

Very helpful. Party went from 2-6 the week prior to dining and they accommodated.

Overall excellent. City Grocery never disappoints.

Tags: , Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waiter was VERY attentive and very well ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Waiter was VERY attentive and very well knowledgeable about the menu and history of the restaurant! Food was fantastic! I had the shrimp and grits, the wife had the grilled bavette. Both was great and cooked to perfection! Would absolutely recommend this place for anyone!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as always! Get the shrimp and gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Perfect as always! Get the shrimp and grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly disappointed for a James Beard Awa ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sadly disappointed for a James Beard Award winner. So many fond memories of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We love City Grocery. It's always delici ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love City Grocery. It's always delicious and the service is always fantastic. We try to eat there every time we're in Oxford.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional! It was my first time dining ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Exceptional! It was my first time dining here and it wasn't disappointing! My wife and I both had the shrimp and grits (it's incredible).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!! A trip to Oxford is not co ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Outstanding!! A trip to Oxford is not complete without AT LEAST one trip to City Grocery. We each had different entrees and had to share quite a bit with others. Everything was special, tasty and perfectly prepared. Our server, Claire, was knowledgeable and engaging. We enjoyed chatting with her and her recommendations were perfect. Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!!!

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of six had a very good meal wi ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our group of six had a very good meal with excellent service.

Creative menu with good flavors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wish it could have been better but eit ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I wish it could have been better but either snack bar or ravine would have been better in the area for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

We were seated upon arrival and greeted ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were seated upon arrival and greeted by a very pleasant waiter. The entire meal was absolutely wonderful. Great food, wine, and service. We could not have picked a better restaurant for a night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have always liked this venue. This time ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Have always liked this venue. This time the pork chop was all fat. They did comp the pork chop and I got shrimp and grits but were cold. Brussels sprouts were an appetizer and there was only 8 small halves.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic service, tantalizing flavorful ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Fantastic service, tantalizing flavorful entrees, capped off with extraordinary desserts! I had the Trout special, it was fabulous!! While the Cornmeal Pavlova might not sound like anything exciting it is a true treat! I thought there would be a cornmeal texture, the meringue shell is done to perfection and the corn husk crema adds the best flavor with the carmel corn topping! You must give this a try!! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Historic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food! Be sure to try the shri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fabulous food!

Be sure to try the shrimp and grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our brunch and hope to ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our brunch and hope to catch the lunch and dinner menus, eventually. Open Table reservations made this easily possible.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love everything about this place from th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love everything about this place from the cool ambiance, great service and fabulous food! We were a party of 8 and our reservations were for 6 people and they quickly accommodated us. I've been here every time I come to Oxford.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time my family and I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was the second time my family and I have eaten brunch at City Grocery while in Oxford for a football game and it has yet to disappoint. We ordered a variety of items from the menu and all were delicious. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A southern bistro with consistently goo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A southern bistro with consistently good food. The menu, ambience and location are a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great lunch. Lots of energy Great wine a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great lunch.

Lots of energy

Great wine and food. We will come back for sure

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We caught City Grocery on a crazy night- ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We caught City Grocery on a crazy night-Sat night before Sunday bid day. Had a reservation but still had to wait. The food was worth it. I think the wait staff may have been exhausted from the diners ahead of us because everything was just a small step off. Probably to be expected on that kind of night. Food was really great. We started with the cheese plate and it was super great. Good variety and beautiful presentation. For entrees, I had the redfish with risotto, another in our group had the hangar steak. Both were well prepared and full of flavor. Love the atmosphere, too. Obviously bustling on the night we were there but it managed to be charming, too. Definitely be back if we're ever in Oxford again. Really great spot!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved the restaurant and this was our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We loved the restaurant and this was our first time. The food was great and the Bloody Mary was fabulous. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although dinner wasn't bad, it certainly ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Although dinner wasn't bad, it certainly did not live up to expectations. Our shrimp appetizer was tasty, charred and just enough spice but there were only four rather smallish shrimp. My wife's pork chop was cooked perfectly and pretty good. The biggest disappointment was the special of the night, the NY strip steak. It was pale in color, even underneath the sauce, and very thin and tough. The problem was not the preparation, it was the cut of meat. When it was served, it looked like a fish fillet. Also, they did not share the price, one of my pet peeves. When I asked, they said $35, making it the most expensive dish on the menu. I've had better steaks for half the price.

The service was fine and the ambience nice. I really can't recommend it for a fine dining experience though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent as always! Delicious new offer ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent as always! Delicious new offerings on their menu for fall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Appetizers were good, but husband's roas ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Appetizers were good, but husband's roasted chicken was raw inside. With only 2 occupied tables in the entire restaurant, you'd expect the manager to come by and discuss options. But no, no discussion, no offer for a different entree, no apology. The waitress (who was attentive) took the raw chicken away, kitchen reheated it and sent it back out (which no one at our table was brave enough to eat), then we watched the manager come out to talk to the only other table of customers. And City Grocery charged us full price for the opportunity to get food poisoning. By the way, our tab for 3 was over $150. We'll never set foot in there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Service was excellent. The shrimp and g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Service was excellent. The shrimp and grits that have been on the menu for 25 years was delicious and an understandable classic. Wish we lived close enough to go again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a very exceptional meal! The ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We enjoyed a very exceptional meal! The staff was incredible and the food was divine! The staff went the extra mile to ensure my niece's 21st birthday was unforgettable. Everything was so delicious! We could not eat enough of the spicy corn muffins, the ceviche was unbelievable, and each of our entrees were top notch! The pastry chef did an fabulous job on the red velvet birthday cake! It was all perfect! Our server Jennifer was such a gem! She really made the evening very special and lots of fun!! Thank you all!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had made reservations here because we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had made reservations here because we had heard it was so wonderful & so may people we talked to said it was hard to get in…. The place was only half full, of course it was during the Ole Miss game but lucky for us since it made it quick to get our food. We tried the steak special, it was amazing & also the fish was so good too. I would certainly go back as the place is very neat & service & food excellent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my second visit to City Grocery. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was my second visit to City Grocery. I am a Chef Currence's admirer and now that I have family in Oxford, it will always be a stop, even though this time there were a few hiccups. The corn muffins served pre-dinner were hard and cold, even though we were there with an early reservation. Loved the Brussel sprout appetizer, very flavorful. Had the trout, not hot but still enjoyed it and the fingerling potato salad; cole slaw just so so. I have been a food writer for a newspaper and have always praised John. He writes about sweet tea and I tried it along with 2 martinis, all good. Service was friendly. Check $60 plus tip, reasonable for upscale restaurant. I'll be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had another exceptional lunch at City ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had another exceptional lunch at City Grocery thanks to our longtime favorite wait person Jennifer: she knows the menu, she knows our preferences, she has a great sense of humor, she is very efficient, and on this particular occasion she helped by tweaking a couple of items to accommodate my wife's new low-FODMAP diet as a result of IBS. Don't get me wrong: it is not just Jennifer because the ingredients are always very fresh and the preparations imaginative, but Jennifer made this work for us without it seeming any extra effort at all. We both had the pompano, which is a beautiful white fish with a lot of flavor that was very simply cooked; mine was atop the hoppin' John and turmeric cauliflower as listed, while my wife's was over frites. We were both quite pleased and agreed that the pompano was near the top of our all-time fish favorites. We began by splitting a City Salad, always good, always fresh, then also had the roasted eggplant with shaved Parmesan and basil (on the menu it also has a homemade Marinara that my wife could not have and which was not really needed) which was a delicious starter. We enjoyed a very reasonable bottle of Solane' Valpolicella Ripasso with our meal and then cappucinos and espressos afterward. Our tab before tip was under $100 for a superior dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp and grits good as always

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Shrimp and grits good as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had brunch today at City Grocery, our se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Had brunch today at City Grocery, our server Terry was outstanding! The food was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was excited to try this highly recommend ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Was excited to try this highly recommended gem but unfortunately chose the worst weekend possible. With that said, I do fault the manager for throwing an inexperienced young server to the wolves on one of the busiest weekends (UGA/Ole Miss game) in Sept. Though the waiter was super nice, he was absolutely clueless about the food, beers on tap, and wine selections. He literally would say, "I don't know" when we asked basic questions like, "What beer do you have on tap?" or "What's the best dish at City Grocery?"...the food was subpar at best. They actually got hushpuppies and beignets confused? Not sure why this place is ranked to high...and worst of all they were out of EVERYTHING including muffelatas. Seriously? You're out of your signature sandwich? WTH? Not worth the price or hassle....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.