About City Grocery

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Mississippi
Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
1 More
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (42)
neighborhood gem (27)
See All
romantic (25)
hot spot (21)
notable wine list (16)
good for groups (16)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointing food. Not very flavorful a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Disappointing food. Not very flavorful and minimal. Small portion for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Basically, very good with above average ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Basically, very good with above average service. Their signature dish of Shrimp and Grits was more highly spiced that I remembered. Too much cayenne, in my opinion. The Caesar Salad was served in a unique way. The romaine was cut in half and grilled---very good. One in our party had it with fried oysters which where delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

City Grocery is hands down the best plac ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

City Grocery is hands down the best place to eat in Oxford. The restaurant offers it all, ambiance, good food, great location on the square and we had the best waiter in the world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you had ONE restaurant to go to in Ox ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

If you had ONE restaurant to go to in Oxford ever in your life, make it City Grocery. Simply the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best caesar salads I've ever ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best caesar salads I've ever had! They even had oysters as an option for an add on to the salad! Highly recommended restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time. Food was fabulo ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Food was fabulous, service exceptional and atmosphere most congenial. We will return when next in Oxford.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really think this place is special. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We really think this place is special. The shrimp and grits are GREAT. we try and go there as often as we can. We live just about an hour away....worth the drive and a great bookstore is just down the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at City ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first time to dine at City Grocery. Although we had visited Oxford, MS many times we had not been able to dine here and really wanted to. City Grocery was everything we thought it would be. From the casual bar upstairs where we waited to be called, the polite bus boy, and the best waiter ever we were not disappointed. This dining experience rates with other great dining experiences that we've had in New York, New Orleans, and even Paris. We will be making another trip to Oxford and going to City Grocery!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must On the square. Filet was amazing. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A must On the square. Filet was amazing. Will visit again next time we are in town. And just happened to have Morgan Freeman walk past our table ...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service at City Grocery was wonderful and my food was very good. I did not find out until the next day that my mother's duck was very tough and difficult to chew. I feel if she would have let me or our waiter know, that another dish would have been brought to her. Our waiter was attentive and checked on us and our food regularly. Other than the duck, the food was delicious, including appetizers and desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place on the square, and food was g ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Best place on the square, and food was good, just not special. Consistently "good."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Went for an early lunch. Seated near the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Went for an early lunch. Seated near the street window facing the Square which was fun. Had the best shrimp and grits of my life. Excellent, friendly service. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

did sunday brunch. charcuterie plate was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

did sunday brunch. charcuterie plate was great. probably a top 2 or 3 burger experience for me. wife went with an egg dish, loved most of it but the poached egg was more rubber than poach. still, a great experience for us both. we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was great! We had Shrimp & grits a ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was great! We had Shrimp & grits and Herb Roasted Chicken. Both were outstanding. Great desserts, too.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Frequent diner at this place. A go to pl ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Frequent diner at this place. A go to place for our family as well as most of my business dinners. Menu always fresh and changing with great mixture of fresh gourmet southern ingredients. One of my favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New customer

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding dining experience in every respect; definitely look forward to another opportunity to try additional items on the menu; strongly support the use of local foods.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 appetizers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts, win ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

3 appetizers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts, wine and port, and all were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with food, service and noise level.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My shrimp and grits were over seasoned - too hot. My wife's fish was over cooked.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was so excited to see this menu, but...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I was so excited to see this menu and had a hard time deciding what to choose. Then when the waiter told us about the specials I was even more excited. Then when my meal appeared, it had very little crab and a whole lot of corn! The corn was not even mentioned when we were told of the special. It was very disappointing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious dinner

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary there. We have eaten at City Grocery many times over the years and have never been disappointed. The pickle and cheese appetizer was delicious. I ordered the mushroom carbonara and husband has the shrimp and grits (their signature dish). Both were wonderful. The restaurant can get very noisy. We hope to eat there again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Butternut squash ravioli was delicious!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Butternut squash ravioli was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Usually one of my favorites but it was p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Usually one of my favorites but it was packed and it was noisy and service was impacted by the crowd. For some reason our table was the cut through for rhe staff and they were not very courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had high hopes for City Grocery, but we were disappointed. The food was not terrible, but at the prices they charge, it should be better. We went for brunch and there was nothing on the menu that interested me. It seems they are trying too hard to be creative and everything on the menu was just a bunch of crazy ingredients put together. I ordered the trout which is my favorite fish. It was paired with German potato salad which had a strong mustard flavor. The result was only tasting mustard and the trout tasting flavorless. My husband had an open faced sandwich with bread, bacon, egg and cheese. I tried some and it was too rich and had too much bread. I will say I am tired of restaurants that are trying so hard to be creative you cannot get a simple, well prepared meal. I do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

City Grocery is fine Southern dining in a cool atmosphere. Convenient, on the square, with a menu that's always changing but features the local ingredients and flavors. Something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great, service off

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We are at every restaurant in this family on a trip to oxford and this was my least favorite. The food was fantastic but the service was rushed and the ambiance is crowded.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

City Grocery will always be one of the b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

City Grocery will always be one of the best. It was fantastic celebrating with family and friends there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ultimately Disappointing

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

A long detour to Oxford for a mediocre meal...even the shrimp and grits were not worthy of the time and expense. However, the restaurant does have a well thought out and very fairly priced wine program that helped make the experience less than a total failure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A little disappointing

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We were referred to City Grocery by a local/friend. There were four of us dining and two out of four did not like our entree at all. The trout was outstanding! Pork Chop was HUGE and very juicy. Ask to have it cooked pink, we had to send ours back to cook a bit longer. It was cool on the inside. The wild mushroom pasta had 1 mushroom and no flavor. Lastly the butternut ravioli was chewy, dry and strangely spicy.

It was very cozy seating so much that we were constantly bumped by passerby's and wait staff. Our waitress was polite, informative and attentive until they were unfortunately slammed with several large tables shortly after we arrived. She did apologize and we understood.

I would dine here again, sit in a booth and order the trout.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

SALTY!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I ordered the shrimp and grits because everyone in the state of Mississippi told me that is what you shoul get there, but it was so salty I didn't enjoy it. disappointed. No body's food was really great, but it is a cool place and service was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first and last visit to Cit ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

This was our first and last visit to City Grocery. I am a foodie from Nashville and I always like to find the best restaurants. I was very excited about trying it after reviews from Southern Living, Taste of the Town and Nashville Lifestyles. We had asked for a nice table in our reservation, but were told that the 2 tables by the window were already reserved. The experience just got worse from there. Our service was lackluster at best. Nothing was explained and we seemed to be an afterthought. My mom and I both ordered the shrimp and grits (since this was the recommended dish). I must say that I have never actually been in physical pain trying to eat something this spicy. It was by definition inedible and $27 a plate to boot. I have been to several James Beard awarded restaurants and I don't understand how this is possible at City Grocery!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had dinner at bar.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Had dinner at bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is great but the house is ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food here is great but the house is so busy that the service is overwhelmed. We did better eating at the bar, where we had captive service. Great place, but needs work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We appreciated the advice I found here t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We appreciated the advice I found here to ask for a table at the window. The staff was able to fulfill my request and the people watching on the square was great! The staff also was great in accommodating our request to push our reservation back 30 minutes.

The service once seated was not as good. Everyone from the person who filled our water glasses to our server seemed disinterested in us to the point of being cold. We had lunch at Soulshine Pizza the next day and had a great server (along with great food)!

The restaurant also become loud enough that it was uncomfortable. It didn't help that we had a table of sorority girls behind us who were enjoying cocktails and convinced that they could speak loudly enough for their whole table to hear them over the ambient noise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Valentine's Night

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I thought the restaurant did an excellent job on what is usually a big gamble (dining out on Valentine's Night). The restaurant was completely packed, but the staff kept everything flowing really well. Food arrived quickly and was excellent. I highly recommend the shrimp n grits! Pass on the duck and dumplings though. Our waiter was very knowledgeable!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't try to turn your tables so fast

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

You never disappoint. From Food, Service, Ambiance but don't try to rush to many people thru in one night. I don't want to eat in one hour! That's not a dining experience that's cracker barrel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique combination

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Considered, thoughtful, interesting, excellent food in a non-fussy artsy environment. We live in a much bigger nearby city with lots of good restaurants, none of which have this special combination. When you want the best food but don't want a precious, stuffy, or dull environment, this is the place to go. It's definitely worth the trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great lunch on the square

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Very Southern eclectic! The waiter made wonderful suggestions and was not too pushy. He also did not just recommend the most expensive items on the menu. The place has charm and personality along with great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rough start

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I did my research, and we chose City Grocery over the chef's other acclaimed restaurants. We were seated promptly, and we were not in a rush. Our table was in the window; this was fun to "people watch", it was a beautiful day on the square. We started with the Black Eye Pea & Country Ham Cakes, which eventually came out hot and delicious. After a while, another table was seated next to us, as were the patrons' overwhelmingly strong perfumes, the aroma was the downfall to our experience, unfortunately. When our entrees finally came out (about 45 minutes later), the steak sandwich was much more condiment than meat. My pork tenderloin sandwich was tasty, but the meat was hardly "pounded", it was a lump of meat which did not want to cooperate on the ciabetta roll. I finally gave up and finished my meal with knife and fork. It was flavorful, but no trace of hot sauce and it was nothing that I would order again. My side of fried brussel sprouts were mushy. I was disappointed, and I kept looking at the James Beard awards on the wall, thinking this is not worthy of such an honor. I hope the chef knows that his recipes have been compromised.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful Dinner - Thank you City Grocery.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Again, City Grocery lived up to its stellar reputation as an innovative purveyor of ambiance, fine dining and impeccable service. From the moment one walks in, the welcoming from the staff and the compete dining experience, a patron will no doubt embark on culinary journey that will be memorable to say the least. Our entrees were perfectly prepared and balanced. The wine selection paired perfectly. Our server was attentive and his enthusiasm of our selections heightened our excitement for being there. We look forward to returning to Oxford and City Grocery very soon. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops in US

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

This is not just a great local restaurant - it's one of the best restaurants in America, even if you considered only the food. Add to that the cozy ambiance, impeccable service, and unparalleled location and you have an unforgettable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.