About City Grocery

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Mississippi
Best Overall
North Mississippi
Best Food
North Mississippi
4 More
Best Service
North Mississippi
Best Ambiance
North Mississippi
Best Value
North Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

Fit for Foodies (33)
Special Occasion (29)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
See All
Hot Spot (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Historic (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic service, tantalizing flavorful ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic service, tantalizing flavorful entrees, capped off with extraordinary desserts! I had the Trout special, it was fabulous!! While the Cornmeal Pavlova might not sound like anything exciting it is a true treat! I thought there would be a cornmeal texture, the meringue shell is done to perfection and the corn husk crema adds the best flavor with the carmel corn topping! You must give this a try!! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Historic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food! Be sure to try the shri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fabulous food!

Be sure to try the shrimp and grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our brunch and hope to ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our brunch and hope to catch the lunch and dinner menus, eventually. Open Table reservations made this easily possible.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love everything about this place from th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love everything about this place from the cool ambiance, great service and fabulous food! We were a party of 8 and our reservations were for 6 people and they quickly accommodated us. I've been here every time I come to Oxford.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time my family and I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was the second time my family and I have eaten brunch at City Grocery while in Oxford for a football game and it has yet to disappoint. We ordered a variety of items from the menu and all were delicious. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A southern bistro with consistently goo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A southern bistro with consistently good food. The menu, ambience and location are a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great lunch. Lots of energy Great wine a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great lunch.

Lots of energy

Great wine and food. We will come back for sure

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We caught City Grocery on a crazy night- ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We caught City Grocery on a crazy night-Sat night before Sunday bid day. Had a reservation but still had to wait. The food was worth it. I think the wait staff may have been exhausted from the diners ahead of us because everything was just a small step off. Probably to be expected on that kind of night. Food was really great. We started with the cheese plate and it was super great. Good variety and beautiful presentation. For entrees, I had the redfish with risotto, another in our group had the hangar steak. Both were well prepared and full of flavor. Love the atmosphere, too. Obviously bustling on the night we were there but it managed to be charming, too. Definitely be back if we're ever in Oxford again. Really great spot!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved the restaurant and this was our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We loved the restaurant and this was our first time. The food was great and the Bloody Mary was fabulous. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything, from the handcrafted cocktai ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything, from the handcrafted cocktail to the pickle and cheese appetizer to

the fish entrée and the dessert of apple fritters, was fantastic! This new menu is worth the trip

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Although dinner wasn't bad, it certainly ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Although dinner wasn't bad, it certainly did not live up to expectations. Our shrimp appetizer was tasty, charred and just enough spice but there were only four rather smallish shrimp. My wife's pork chop was cooked perfectly and pretty good. The biggest disappointment was the special of the night, the NY strip steak. It was pale in color, even underneath the sauce, and very thin and tough. The problem was not the preparation, it was the cut of meat. When it was served, it looked like a fish fillet. Also, they did not share the price, one of my pet peeves. When I asked, they said $35, making it the most expensive dish on the menu. I've had better steaks for half the price.

The service was fine and the ambience nice. I really can't recommend it for a fine dining experience though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent as always! Delicious new offer ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent as always! Delicious new offerings on their menu for fall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Appetizers were good, but husband's roas ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Appetizers were good, but husband's roasted chicken was raw inside. With only 2 occupied tables in the entire restaurant, you'd expect the manager to come by and discuss options. But no, no discussion, no offer for a different entree, no apology. The waitress (who was attentive) took the raw chicken away, kitchen reheated it and sent it back out (which no one at our table was brave enough to eat), then we watched the manager come out to talk to the only other table of customers. And City Grocery charged us full price for the opportunity to get food poisoning. By the way, our tab for 3 was over $150. We'll never set foot in there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Service was excellent. The shrimp and g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Service was excellent. The shrimp and grits that have been on the menu for 25 years was delicious and an understandable classic. Wish we lived close enough to go again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a very exceptional meal! The ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We enjoyed a very exceptional meal! The staff was incredible and the food was divine! The staff went the extra mile to ensure my niece's 21st birthday was unforgettable. Everything was so delicious! We could not eat enough of the spicy corn muffins, the ceviche was unbelievable, and each of our entrees were top notch! The pastry chef did an fabulous job on the red velvet birthday cake! It was all perfect! Our server Jennifer was such a gem! She really made the evening very special and lots of fun!! Thank you all!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had made reservations here because we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had made reservations here because we had heard it was so wonderful & so may people we talked to said it was hard to get in…. The place was only half full, of course it was during the Ole Miss game but lucky for us since it made it quick to get our food. We tried the steak special, it was amazing & also the fish was so good too. I would certainly go back as the place is very neat & service & food excellent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my second visit to City Grocery. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was my second visit to City Grocery. I am a Chef Currence's admirer and now that I have family in Oxford, it will always be a stop, even though this time there were a few hiccups. The corn muffins served pre-dinner were hard and cold, even though we were there with an early reservation. Loved the Brussel sprout appetizer, very flavorful. Had the trout, not hot but still enjoyed it and the fingerling potato salad; cole slaw just so so. I have been a food writer for a newspaper and have always praised John. He writes about sweet tea and I tried it along with 2 martinis, all good. Service was friendly. Check $60 plus tip, reasonable for upscale restaurant. I'll be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had another exceptional lunch at City ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had another exceptional lunch at City Grocery thanks to our longtime favorite wait person Jennifer: she knows the menu, she knows our preferences, she has a great sense of humor, she is very efficient, and on this particular occasion she helped by tweaking a couple of items to accommodate my wife's new low-FODMAP diet as a result of IBS. Don't get me wrong: it is not just Jennifer because the ingredients are always very fresh and the preparations imaginative, but Jennifer made this work for us without it seeming any extra effort at all. We both had the pompano, which is a beautiful white fish with a lot of flavor that was very simply cooked; mine was atop the hoppin' John and turmeric cauliflower as listed, while my wife's was over frites. We were both quite pleased and agreed that the pompano was near the top of our all-time fish favorites. We began by splitting a City Salad, always good, always fresh, then also had the roasted eggplant with shaved Parmesan and basil (on the menu it also has a homemade Marinara that my wife could not have and which was not really needed) which was a delicious starter. We enjoyed a very reasonable bottle of Solane' Valpolicella Ripasso with our meal and then cappucinos and espressos afterward. Our tab before tip was under $100 for a superior dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp and grits good as always

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Shrimp and grits good as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had brunch today at City Grocery, our se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Had brunch today at City Grocery, our server Terry was outstanding! The food was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was excited to try this highly recommend ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Was excited to try this highly recommended gem but unfortunately chose the worst weekend possible. With that said, I do fault the manager for throwing an inexperienced young server to the wolves on one of the busiest weekends (UGA/Ole Miss game) in Sept. Though the waiter was super nice, he was absolutely clueless about the food, beers on tap, and wine selections. He literally would say, "I don't know" when we asked basic questions like, "What beer do you have on tap?" or "What's the best dish at City Grocery?"...the food was subpar at best. They actually got hushpuppies and beignets confused? Not sure why this place is ranked to high...and worst of all they were out of EVERYTHING including muffelatas. Seriously? You're out of your signature sandwich? WTH? Not worth the price or hassle....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

City Grocery has always been my favorite ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 23, 2016

City Grocery has always been my favorite Oxford restaurant. Although I don't get back to Ole Miss often, I recommend City Grocery to my friends who visit Oxford. Your Shrimp and Grits are the best in the world.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful place for lunch or dinner. Be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful place for lunch or dinner. Best shrimp and grits I have ever had. 2 thumbs up for this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Sunday brunch following a ho ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch following a home football game on Saturday. It was just what we needed before our drive back to Birmingham. I had the monte cristo, and it was delicious. The service was spot on as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of the best Oxford restauran ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is one of the best Oxford restaurants. It's always our first choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an exciting Friday before Saturda ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had an exciting Friday before Saturday football lunch. Even though the restaurant was packed, our waitress was calm and patient. The Bloody Mary's to start the meal were delicious. We needed to add another guest at the last minute, and they accommodated us cheerfully. We all had salads with either fried oysters or chicken ... All were delicious. The excitement, the tradition, the food cannot be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food way too salty and oily, no pie for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food way too salty and oily, no pie for dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Consistently fabulous!! Food, cocktails ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Consistently fabulous!! Food, cocktails, service... Loved the charred okra!! Chilled cucumber soup was so "bright" and yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed our lunch at City G ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We very much enjoyed our lunch at City Grocery. We requested a table in the window since it was my husband's birthday and it was just perfect! Also, our daughter has celiac disease and must eat gluten-free. We were so very pleased with the delicious options available for her. We all enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience. We had he ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. We had heard great things, but didn't expect the fine dining experience we had. This restaurant holds its own against anything in Houston or New York.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at City Grocery many times. ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I have dined at City Grocery many times. The dinner on August 29, 2016 (pompano) was the best I have ever had. It was exquisite, as was the table by the window.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed an evening of fine dining in the ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed an evening of fine dining in the square. First time visiting Oxford and would highly recommend for small groups or relaxing date night.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Maybe the best in Oxford, and there are ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Maybe the best in Oxford, and there are a lot of good ones.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were good, not great.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food and service were good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We love City Grocery for brunch! Always ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love City Grocery for brunch! Always delicious and the specials never disappoint. I highly recommend City Grocery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very tasty meal with an excellent staff. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very tasty meal with an excellent staff. Items are costly so be prepared to open your wallet wide.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous food as always!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fabulous food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really love this place, & try to have ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 16, 2016

I really love this place, & try to have a meal here every time I come to Oxford!! Everything on the menu that I've tried is excellent, but my favorite is the shrimp & grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had high expectations going in. It was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

I had high expectations going in. It was a fine restaurant - from the service to the drinks and food - but nothing wowed me. Maybe stick to the regular items on the menu rather than the specials and don't waste time ordering dessert. I'd suggest BBB or Snackbar if you are looking for higher quality food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.