About City Grocery

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Neighborhood Gem
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
1 More
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

fit for foodies (52)
special occasion (43)
neighborhood gem (31)
See All
romantic (26)
hot spot (21)
notable wine list (21)
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (18)
great for brunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

City Grocery is hands down the best plac ...

Dined 5 days ago

City Grocery is hands down the best place to eat in Oxford. The restaurant offers it all, ambiance, good food, great location on the square and we had the best waiter in the world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

If you had ONE restaurant to go to in Ox ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

If you had ONE restaurant to go to in Oxford ever in your life, make it City Grocery. Simply the best.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best caesar salads I've ever ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best caesar salads I've ever had! They even had oysters as an option for an add on to the salad! Highly recommended restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time. Food was fabulo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Food was fabulous, service exceptional and atmosphere most congenial. We will return when next in Oxford.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really think this place is special. T ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We really think this place is special. The shrimp and grits are GREAT. we try and go there as often as we can. We live just about an hour away....worth the drive and a great bookstore is just down the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at City ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first time to dine at City Grocery. Although we had visited Oxford, MS many times we had not been able to dine here and really wanted to. City Grocery was everything we thought it would be. From the casual bar upstairs where we waited to be called, the polite bus boy, and the best waiter ever we were not disappointed. This dining experience rates with other great dining experiences that we've had in New York, New Orleans, and even Paris. We will be making another trip to Oxford and going to City Grocery!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must On the square. Filet was amazing. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

A must On the square. Filet was amazing. Will visit again next time we are in town. And just happened to have Morgan Freeman walk past our table ...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening

Dined on June 9, 2016

The service at City Grocery was wonderful and my food was very good. I did not find out until the next day that my mother's duck was very tough and difficult to chew. I feel if she would have let me or our waiter know, that another dish would have been brought to her. Our waiter was attentive and checked on us and our food regularly. Other than the duck, the food was delicious, including appetizers and desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Best place on the square, and food was g ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Best place on the square, and food was good, just not special. Consistently "good."

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for an early lunch. Seated near the ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Went for an early lunch. Seated near the street window facing the Square which was fun. Had the best shrimp and grits of my life. Excellent, friendly service. Will definitely return.

food4
ambience5
service5

did sunday brunch. charcuterie plate was ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

did sunday brunch. charcuterie plate was great. probably a top 2 or 3 burger experience for me. wife went with an egg dish, loved most of it but the poached egg was more rubber than poach. still, a great experience for us both. we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great! We had Shrimp & grits a ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was great! We had Shrimp & grits and Herb Roasted Chicken. Both were outstanding. Great desserts, too.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Frequent diner at this place. A go to pl ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Frequent diner at this place. A go to place for our family as well as most of my business dinners. Menu always fresh and changing with great mixture of fresh gourmet southern ingredients. One of my favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New customer

Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding dining experience in every respect; definitely look forward to another opportunity to try additional items on the menu; strongly support the use of local foods.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

3 appetizers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts, win ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

3 appetizers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts, wine and port, and all were outstanding!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed with food, service and noise level.

Dined on May 1, 2016

My shrimp and grits were over seasoned - too hot. My wife's fish was over cooked.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I was so excited to see this menu, but...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I was so excited to see this menu and had a hard time deciding what to choose. Then when the waiter told us about the specials I was even more excited. Then when my meal appeared, it had very little crab and a whole lot of corn! The corn was not even mentioned when we were told of the special. It was very disappointing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious dinner

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary there. We have eaten at City Grocery many times over the years and have never been disappointed. The pickle and cheese appetizer was delicious. I ordered the mushroom carbonara and husband has the shrimp and grits (their signature dish). Both were wonderful. The restaurant can get very noisy. We hope to eat there again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Butternut squash ravioli was delicious!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Butternut squash ravioli was delicious!

food4
ambience3
service3

Usually one of my favorites but it was p ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Usually one of my favorites but it was packed and it was noisy and service was impacted by the crowd. For some reason our table was the cut through for rhe staff and they were not very courteous.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had high hopes for City Grocery, but we were disappointed. The food was not terrible, but at the prices they charge, it should be better. We went for brunch and there was nothing on the menu that interested me. It seems they are trying too hard to be creative and everything on the menu was just a bunch of crazy ingredients put together. I ordered the trout which is my favorite fish. It was paired with German potato salad which had a strong mustard flavor. The result was only tasting mustard and the trout tasting flavorless. My husband had an open faced sandwich with bread, bacon, egg and cheese. I tried some and it was too rich and had too much bread. I will say I am tired of restaurants that are trying so hard to be creative you cannot get a simple, well prepared meal. I do not recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on April 10, 2016

City Grocery is fine Southern dining in a cool atmosphere. Convenient, on the square, with a menu that's always changing but features the local ingredients and flavors. Something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great, service off

Dined on April 9, 2016

We are at every restaurant in this family on a trip to oxford and this was my least favorite. The food was fantastic but the service was rushed and the ambiance is crowded.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

City Grocery will always be one of the b ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

City Grocery will always be one of the best. It was fantastic celebrating with family and friends there!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Ultimately Disappointing

Dined on March 27, 2016

A long detour to Oxford for a mediocre meal...even the shrimp and grits were not worthy of the time and expense. However, the restaurant does have a well thought out and very fairly priced wine program that helped make the experience less than a total failure.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A little disappointing

Dined on March 22, 2016

We were referred to City Grocery by a local/friend. There were four of us dining and two out of four did not like our entree at all. The trout was outstanding! Pork Chop was HUGE and very juicy. Ask to have it cooked pink, we had to send ours back to cook a bit longer. It was cool on the inside. The wild mushroom pasta had 1 mushroom and no flavor. Lastly the butternut ravioli was chewy, dry and strangely spicy. It was very cozy seating so much that we were constantly bumped by passerby's and wait staff. Our waitress was polite, informative and attentive until they were unfortunately slammed with several large tables shortly after we arrived. She did apologize and we understood. I would dine here again, sit in a booth and order the trout.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

SALTY!

Dined on March 18, 2016

I ordered the shrimp and grits because everyone in the state of Mississippi told me that is what you shoul get there, but it was so salty I didn't enjoy it. disappointed. No body's food was really great, but it is a cool place and service was really good.

food1
ambience1
service1

This was our first and last visit to Cit ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

This was our first and last visit to City Grocery. I am a foodie from Nashville and I always like to find the best restaurants. I was very excited about trying it after reviews from Southern Living, Taste of the Town and Nashville Lifestyles. We had asked for a nice table in our reservation, but were told that the 2 tables by the window were already reserved. The experience just got worse from there. Our service was lackluster at best. Nothing was explained and we seemed to be an afterthought. My mom and I both ordered the shrimp and grits (since this was the recommended dish). I must say that I have never actually been in physical pain trying to eat something this spicy. It was by definition inedible and $27 a plate to boot. I have been to several James Beard awarded restaurants and I don't understand how this is possible at City Grocery!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner at bar.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Had dinner at bar.

food4
ambience3
service2

The food here is great but the house is ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The food here is great but the house is so busy that the service is overwhelmed. We did better eating at the bar, where we had captive service. Great place, but needs work.

food5
ambience4
service2

We appreciated the advice I found here t ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

We appreciated the advice I found here to ask for a table at the window. The staff was able to fulfill my request and the people watching on the square was great! The staff also was great in accommodating our request to push our reservation back 30 minutes. The service once seated was not as good. Everyone from the person who filled our water glasses to our server seemed disinterested in us to the point of being cold. We had lunch at Soulshine Pizza the next day and had a great server (along with great food)! The restaurant also become loud enough that it was uncomfortable. It didn't help that we had a table of sorority girls behind us who were enjoying cocktails and convinced that they could speak loudly enough for their whole table to hear them over the ambient noise!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Night

Dined on February 14, 2016

I thought the restaurant did an excellent job on what is usually a big gamble (dining out on Valentine's Night). The restaurant was completely packed, but the staff kept everything flowing really well. Food arrived quickly and was excellent. I highly recommend the shrimp n grits! Pass on the duck and dumplings though. Our waiter was very knowledgeable!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't try to turn your tables so fast

Dined on February 13, 2016

You never disappoint. From Food, Service, Ambiance but don't try to rush to many people thru in one night. I don't want to eat in one hour! That's not a dining experience that's cracker barrel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Unique combination

Dined on February 13, 2016

Considered, thoughtful, interesting, excellent food in a non-fussy artsy environment. We live in a much bigger nearby city with lots of good restaurants, none of which have this special combination. When you want the best food but don't want a precious, stuffy, or dull environment, this is the place to go. It's definitely worth the trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch on the square

Dined on February 6, 2016

Very Southern eclectic! The waiter made wonderful suggestions and was not too pushy. He also did not just recommend the most expensive items on the menu. The place has charm and personality along with great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Rough start

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

I did my research, and we chose City Grocery over the chef's other acclaimed restaurants. We were seated promptly, and we were not in a rush. Our table was in the window; this was fun to "people watch", it was a beautiful day on the square. We started with the Black Eye Pea & Country Ham Cakes, which eventually came out hot and delicious. After a while, another table was seated next to us, as were the patrons' overwhelmingly strong perfumes, the aroma was the downfall to our experience, unfortunately. When our entrees finally came out (about 45 minutes later), the steak sandwich was much more condiment than meat. My pork tenderloin sandwich was tasty, but the meat was hardly "pounded", it was a lump of meat which did not want to cooperate on the ciabetta roll. I finally gave up and finished my meal with knife and fork. It was flavorful, but no trace of hot sauce and it was nothing that I would order again. My side of fried brussel sprouts were mushy. I was disappointed, and I kept looking at the James Beard awards on the wall, thinking this is not worthy of such an honor. I hope the chef knows that his recipes have been compromised.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner - Thank you City Grocery.

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Again, City Grocery lived up to its stellar reputation as an innovative purveyor of ambiance, fine dining and impeccable service. From the moment one walks in, the welcoming from the staff and the compete dining experience, a patron will no doubt embark on culinary journey that will be memorable to say the least. Our entrees were perfectly prepared and balanced. The wine selection paired perfectly. Our server was attentive and his enthusiasm of our selections heightened our excitement for being there. We look forward to returning to Oxford and City Grocery very soon. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops in US

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

This is not just a great local restaurant - it's one of the best restaurants in America, even if you considered only the food. Add to that the cozy ambiance, impeccable service, and unparalleled location and you have an unforgettable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We ordered a special appetizer which we ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

We ordered a special appetizer which we were told included five large Ruby Red Shrimp. The flavor was excellent, but we were both served 5 very small Shrimp, one of which was only a head - no body. The sauce was excellent and the sour dough toast points were crispy and very flavorful. The cream of celery was quite good and the City Salad delivered, too! Always delicious!

food2
ambience3
service3

This is a meandering review so be patien ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

This is a meandering review so be patient. This was our first time to Oxford and we decided to try City Grocery. Downtown was busy on this cold Saturday night. I was surprised the restaurant didn't offer valet parking. I am disabled and I saw very view disabled spots, none near the restaurant. Fortunately we happened to nab a regular spot one block away. We arrived around 6:30pm and were seated at a table at the front of the restaurant. I'm glad we got this table as the place quickly filled and became very noisy. This was accompanied by a low bass thump I assumed was coming from an adjacent bar. Our waitress was o.k. but slightly inattentive or had too many tables to attend. I was a amused when she quaintly described bok choy as an Asian collard. I began my meal with the tamale appetizer. This was a severe disappointment. The two small tamales were about the size of a #2 pencil. And had about the same amount of flavor. They were extremely dry and cried for a sauce. My entree was the pork belly. It was served with a bread pudding and about a quarter of a single leaf of bok choy. The pork belly was tender with a nice taste from the soy orange glaze. The bread pudding was flavorless, textureless, and shared the same suffocating dryness of the tamales. My wife had the grilled medallions of teres major (think steak tips). She wasn't asked how she would like them prepared, and to my eye they were all over cooked. I sampled a piece and the house "sauce" was cloyingly thick. These were served with an adequate mash and broccoli. The saving grace of the meal was dessert. We had the cheesecake and the sweet corn panna cotta. Both were excellent but the mini popcorn balls should have been left off the one dish as they were inedible. The coffee was satisfying. Would I try City Grocery again? Perhaps. Would I recommend it? No.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.