About City Grocery

152 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

City Grocery has become a landmark in the Oxford dining scene. Exposed brick walls and heart pine plank floor augment the candle light and white linen staging some the most inventive and interesting food in the South. "Their (dishes) deft presentation is imaginative, skillful and disciplined, elevating them above qualification as regional and ethnic cuisine."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Van Buren

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 232-8080

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
John Currence

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

City Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Mississippi
Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
1 More
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

Fit for Foodies (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
See All
Hot Spot (29)
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love City Grocery for brunch! Always ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love City Grocery for brunch! Always delicious and the specials never disappoint. I highly recommend City Grocery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very tasty meal with an excellent staff. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very tasty meal with an excellent staff. Items are costly so be prepared to open your wallet wide.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous food as always!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fabulous food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really love this place, & try to have ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I really love this place, & try to have a meal here every time I come to Oxford!! Everything on the menu that I've tried is excellent, but my favorite is the shrimp & grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had high expectations going in. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I had high expectations going in. It was a fine restaurant - from the service to the drinks and food - but nothing wowed me. Maybe stick to the regular items on the menu rather than the specials and don't waste time ordering dessert. I'd suggest BBB or Snackbar if you are looking for higher quality food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

i was very impressed with the fish being ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

i was very impressed with the fish being that far from the coast the fish was as good as any i have ever had on the coast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food and service were both fabulous. ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food and service were both fabulous. Pan Seared Mississippi Redfish and Fried Trout were both delicious and the Ceviche appetizer was a perfect way to start our meal. Our servers were friendly and courteous even though they were very busy. It was a great experience and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at City Grocery has always ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My experience at City Grocery has always been wonderful. My last visit was no different. The chef was incredibly accommodating to my food allergies--gluten and dairy--and the waiter was attentive when we needed him to be. Everyone in my party loved their meal (I cleaned my plate), and we are looking forward to going back again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service and cold food---very, v ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Terrible service and cold food---very, very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Have eaten at City Grocery many times. T ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Have eaten at City Grocery many times. The food is always excellent. It wasn't this time. My flank steak was butchered incorrectly, under cooked, and seasoned terribly. All I tasted was over whelming smoked paprika. My wife ordered the special, a Cajun pasta, that was much spicer than advertised and lacked very much crawfish which was the main ingredient. Although our server was very polite, he was nearly non-existent. Hope they can get things turned around. I expect more from Oxfords most famed restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Phenomenal! My wife and I like to try a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Phenomenal! My wife and I like to try a bunch of items and dine in courses enjoying each item individually with our wine and conversation. Our waiter gladly conformed to our wish of ordering in courses and the kitchen staff came through with splitting the individual items for us. The kitchen...WOW! Can't say enough...Great food! Thank you very much!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had the flounder special and crab bisque ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had the flounder special and crab bisque. Both a touch of heaven - delicious. Our waitress was adorable and great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can always expect to have delicious ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

You can always expect to have delicious food, the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

too loud and seats were so close every t ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

too loud and seats were so close every time the waiter came by he bumped my chair or I had to move up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Love this place! But book an early reser ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love this place! But book an early reservation or one of the last because it gets extremely loud and crowded, and the wait staff gets overwhelmed at the peak of the night. I recommend sticking with the main menu. The chef's specials aren't always vetted to the perfection of their menu classics.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointing food. Not very flavorful a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Disappointing food. Not very flavorful and minimal. Small portion for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Basically, very good with above average ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Basically, very good with above average service. Their signature dish of Shrimp and Grits was more highly spiced that I remembered. Too much cayenne, in my opinion. The Caesar Salad was served in a unique way. The romaine was cut in half and grilled---very good. One in our party had it with fried oysters which where delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

City Grocery is hands down the best plac ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

City Grocery is hands down the best place to eat in Oxford. The restaurant offers it all, ambiance, good food, great location on the square and we had the best waiter in the world.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you had ONE restaurant to go to in Ox ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

If you had ONE restaurant to go to in Oxford ever in your life, make it City Grocery. Simply the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best caesar salads I've ever ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best caesar salads I've ever had! They even had oysters as an option for an add on to the salad! Highly recommended restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time. Food was fabulo ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Food was fabulous, service exceptional and atmosphere most congenial. We will return when next in Oxford.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really think this place is special. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We really think this place is special. The shrimp and grits are GREAT. we try and go there as often as we can. We live just about an hour away....worth the drive and a great bookstore is just down the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at City ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first time to dine at City Grocery. Although we had visited Oxford, MS many times we had not been able to dine here and really wanted to. City Grocery was everything we thought it would be. From the casual bar upstairs where we waited to be called, the polite bus boy, and the best waiter ever we were not disappointed. This dining experience rates with other great dining experiences that we've had in New York, New Orleans, and even Paris. We will be making another trip to Oxford and going to City Grocery!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must On the square. Filet was amazing. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A must On the square. Filet was amazing. Will visit again next time we are in town. And just happened to have Morgan Freeman walk past our table ...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The service at City Grocery was wonderful and my food was very good. I did not find out until the next day that my mother's duck was very tough and difficult to chew. I feel if she would have let me or our waiter know, that another dish would have been brought to her. Our waiter was attentive and checked on us and our food regularly. Other than the duck, the food was delicious, including appetizers and desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place on the square, and food was g ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Best place on the square, and food was good, just not special. Consistently "good."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Went for an early lunch. Seated near the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Went for an early lunch. Seated near the street window facing the Square which was fun. Had the best shrimp and grits of my life. Excellent, friendly service. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

did sunday brunch. charcuterie plate was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

did sunday brunch. charcuterie plate was great. probably a top 2 or 3 burger experience for me. wife went with an egg dish, loved most of it but the poached egg was more rubber than poach. still, a great experience for us both. we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was great! We had Shrimp & grits a ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was great! We had Shrimp & grits and Herb Roasted Chicken. Both were outstanding. Great desserts, too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Frequent diner at this place. A go to pl ...

 
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Frequent diner at this place. A go to place for our family as well as most of my business dinners. Menu always fresh and changing with great mixture of fresh gourmet southern ingredients. One of my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New customer

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding dining experience in every respect; definitely look forward to another opportunity to try additional items on the menu; strongly support the use of local foods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 appetizers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts, win ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

3 appetizers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts, wine and port, and all were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with food, service and noise level.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My shrimp and grits were over seasoned - too hot. My wife's fish was over cooked.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was so excited to see this menu, but...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I was so excited to see this menu and had a hard time deciding what to choose. Then when the waiter told us about the specials I was even more excited. Then when my meal appeared, it had very little crab and a whole lot of corn! The corn was not even mentioned when we were told of the special. It was very disappointing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious dinner

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary there. We have eaten at City Grocery many times over the years and have never been disappointed. The pickle and cheese appetizer was delicious. I ordered the mushroom carbonara and husband has the shrimp and grits (their signature dish). Both were wonderful. The restaurant can get very noisy. We hope to eat there again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Butternut squash ravioli was delicious!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Butternut squash ravioli was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Usually one of my favorites but it was p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Usually one of my favorites but it was packed and it was noisy and service was impacted by the crowd. For some reason our table was the cut through for rhe staff and they were not very courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had high hopes for City Grocery, but we were disappointed. The food was not terrible, but at the prices they charge, it should be better. We went for brunch and there was nothing on the menu that interested me. It seems they are trying too hard to be creative and everything on the menu was just a bunch of crazy ingredients put together. I ordered the trout which is my favorite fish. It was paired with German potato salad which had a strong mustard flavor. The result was only tasting mustard and the trout tasting flavorless. My husband had an open faced sandwich with bread, bacon, egg and cheese. I tried some and it was too rich and had too much bread. I will say I am tired of restaurants that are trying so hard to be creative you cannot get a simple, well prepared meal. I do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

City Grocery is fine Southern dining in a cool atmosphere. Convenient, on the square, with a menu that's always changing but features the local ingredients and flavors. Something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.