About Citizen Bar

364 W Erie St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Citizen is one of River North’s favorite neighborhood bars. It offers a multi-dimensional indoor/outdoor experience unlike any other bar in Chicago. Perfect for a summertime lunch or dinner for two on the patio, leaving work early to have beers on the rooftop or booking you birthday party, Citizen is great for any occasion. Its multi-level, 5000 square-foot outdoor area is complete with two bars, music and TVs, making Citizen one of the hottest outdoor spots in the city. The menu features classic American bar food items that are made from scratch and never frozen. The menu changes with the seasons and strives to deliver the food that you, the bar-going Chicagoan, is looking for. But it's the energetic staff and friendly neighborhood regulars that really make Citizen a great place to be. No VIP section, no dress code, no bottle service, Citizen is a spot for everyone in River North to enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11AM-Midnight
Tuesday-Friday: 11AM-2AM
Saturday: 11AM-3AM
Sunday: 11AM-Midnight

Rooftop opens at 4PM everyday, weather permitting.
The rooftop operates on a first come, first serve basis.

Cross Street:
Orleans

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 640-1156

Website:
http://www.citizenbar.com/

Entertainment:
DJs play night time. Indoor/Outdoor TVs with Chicago Sports, Notre Dame Football and ACC Basketball

Catering:
Tray Portions of current menu items are available. Begin inquiring at our website. Click on Food Packages to see available options.

Parking Details:
There is a Millenium parking lot behind Citizen.

Meter parking is readily accessible.
*Do not park on Erie past 9pm. You will get a parking ticket. There is little signage indicating this.
*We recommend parking a block just north of us on Huron.

Public Transit:
Chicago Brown Line Stop

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Waldren: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Citizen Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.2

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (4)
See All
hot spot (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
28 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

The worst service I have had in years....

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to a friends dinner at Citizen during a beautiful night out. The waitress was the worst. Any time she came near our table, she acted put out. She was irritated by asking us what we wanted to drink. Numerous drinks were never delivered to our table. She was the worst. We had no napkins. we asked for utensils, she brought three sets for a table of 8. She acted offended when we asked for more. Her attitude was awful. We couldn't wait to leave. Good scene, but we probably had the worst waitress in Chicago.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great outdoor dining

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great outdoor dining for a small group of friends. Highly recommend

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Didn't accommodate reservation

Dined on April 24, 2016

Showed up a bit late. However they said they didn't have any open tables. I let them know I made a reservation. They said they should have a table opened up soon. 20 mins later I was told the regular at the table refused to leave because of the game and we were late.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Poor Customer Service

Dined on April 16, 2016

I called Citizen and requested an outdoor table for my reservation earlier that day, and they told me that my reservation through Open Table was not in their records. I set it up again, and then they promptly hung up on me while I was trying to confirm the note for a table outside. When I showed up with my party they (of course) had no tables outside and made no effort to accommodate my reservation request. We promptly left, and don't plan on returning.

food4
ambience5
service4

Had a great time celebrating my birthday ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my birthday/St. Paddy's Day at Citizen! The staff was super attentive/responsive on what's normally a hectic day in Chicago! Will definitely be back again soon.

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Great Ambiance. Horrible drinks!

Dined on January 31, 2016

This bar has a great staff and the atmosphere is awesome. However, the cocktails are horrible. They need to revamp their drink menu in general!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

Great find!

Dined on December 6, 2015

The food was not bad for bar food, and the drinks were awesome. Our server was helpful, friendly, and fun. We'd definitely return when we're in town.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service3

Good bar for a game watch. Service was a ...

Dined on October 8, 2015

Good bar for a game watch. Service was average - took awhile to get a drink.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great nd game watch

Dined on September 19, 2015

Except for one bad TV, the place was a great spot for the game with friends and fellow Domers. Would recommend it for the season. Remodeled, very clean and super service. Big shoutout to Valerie, our server. Very attentive, all afternoon.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5

Lunch menu is a bit limited. But the ap ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

Lunch menu is a bit limited. But the appetizers we ordered were great! The service was good. Wine list was horrible. As an ND Game Watch Bar, it was great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sports bar

Dined on September 5, 2015

Met with some friends for an early evening get together. Lovely patio, great atmosphere, and good food and drinks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and drinks

Dined on August 21, 2015

Portions were good. Drinks were cold and service was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service3

Fantastic rooftop atmosphere. They do no ...

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

Fantastic rooftop atmosphere. They do not serve dinner on the roof though only finger foods. Bummer.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and setting!

vip
Dined on August 3, 2015

Our server was personable and attentive. The outdoor setting was quiet enough to have a conversation but still busy and lively. The view of the surrounding neighborhood is superb. Limited menu but everything on it sounded great, and what we had was perfect for a light dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was good ( wish that you could get ...

Dined on July 24, 2015

Food was good ( wish that you could get any of the tacos on any days- went on Friday and had the pulled chicken which was delicious, but I wanted to try the other ones) Waitress was very friendly but we waited forever for food, the bill, our receipts, etc. We all had to go back to work and what should have been a 45 minute lunch took almost 2 hours

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service2

disappointed

Dined on June 16, 2015

Made a reservation to have dinner and watch the Hawks win the Stanley Cup. Samantha called to confirm my reservation and told me she had us at a table with a great view of the game. So I had a great first impression...then when we got there the door staff and host were super friendly..then they seat us at a table in front of the bar where people were standing right in front of us so we could barely see the tvs!! And water was dripping from the ceiling onto my boyfriends head. They had to have known that it was actually a terrible table to enjoy a game. We asked to be moved but there were no other tables available. It was a very uncomfortable experience. I will never come back here to watch a game that I really want to see.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience3
service3

Great outdoor space

Dined on April 25, 2015

Citizen has a great outdoor patio and rooftop. Inside is dark and cozy. The food is okay bar food, but nothing special. It's a great location to watch a game or grab a drink after work.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3

Great deck...limited brunch options

Dined on April 12, 2015

Citizen Bar has a great deck as the title states. They seemed to be able to accommodate groups large and small for Sunday brunch. My only complaint was the size of the brunch menu. I believe there were only 4 choices of meals and no listed side or ala carte items. My friend and I both got the burrito which was pretty good. I'd recommend but more for the deck than food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service3

typical bar food and scene

Dined on January 24, 2015

Good location for a quick bite before heading to a club.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

the best mac and cheese

Dined on December 7, 2014

went here w/some friends and ordered the mac n cheese w/pulled pork. u want the pulled pork!! great bar scene and huge tv screens showing the game

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2

Rooftop Lounging

Dined on September 5, 2014

Cool outside patio scene at night. Good diversified music to go with my awesome shrimp tacos. I will definitely be back for my tacos and awesome glass of Riesling wine. Great chill neighborhood chill spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2

Great outdoor spot

vip
Dined on August 9, 2014

I brought 6 girlfriends with me to Citizen Bar-we had a fun time! This place is not necessarily a place to get great food or great alcohol-it's a fun hip place to go and get drinks with your friends. We sat outside on the patio and we were very happy with the ambiance. There's nothing pretentious about this bar/restaurant-wine bottle service isn't standard-the bottle comes to you uncorked and if you want to taste it beforehand you will have to serve yourself-this just adds to the relaxed atmosphere. The main delight of our meals were the Tator Tots! That should say it all. The waitress was friendly and attentive. The manager Manny was nice as well and made sure we were having a good time. Overall it was a great place to start for the night.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Patio and Deck

vip
Dined on July 1, 2014

Summer in Chicago is energetic and fun. Citizens Bar has the patio and deck to match that vibe. Had the summer salad which had a nice combination of Bibb lettuce, berries, and caramelized nuts - the chicken I added was strangely chopped into miniscule pieces that added texture but little taste. The pizzas around me looked appetizing - will sample on my next visit. Service was fine.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best rooftop and patio

vip
Dined on June 16, 2014

One of the best rooftop and patios I have seen in Chicago

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service1

Service

Dined on June 6, 2014

Service was slow. They were out of things like garnishes for specialty drinks. Staff was somewhat clueless.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service3

Outside Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2014

Fabulous patio (reserve here so you can snag a space!) and food is pretty good too. Not the quickest, so plan ahead if you've got to get back to the office.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5

Energetic Bar

Dined on March 14, 2014

The restaurant is awesome overall, the food is great and the location is exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

A Good Place

Dined on February 15, 2014

I took my date there for an early dinner. The bar was closed due to some work but the bartender allowed us to come in before 5 PM to sit and warm up after being out in the cold. The place was empty but this is very early in the evening. The servers were all very nice and friendly. I bet this place gets more happening later on in the evening, we just got there very early. I would definitely come back in the summer when the rooftop area is open. I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.