Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

MonteverdeMonteverde
(780)
$$$$
Italian | West Loop, Chicago
Booked 90 times today
Bavette'sBavette's
(2242)
$$$$
Steakhouse | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 133 times today
Girl & the GoatGirl & the Goat
(7445)
$$$$
Contemporary American | West Loop, Chicago
Booked 165 times today
RPM ItalianRPM Italian
(7363)
$$$$
Italian | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 221 times today
Duck Duck GoatDuck Duck Goat
(1119)
$$$$
Chinese | West Loop, Chicago
Booked 216 times today
Gilt BarGilt Bar
(1825)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 88 times today
The Hampton SocialThe Hampton Social
(294)
$$$$
American | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 167 times today
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone CrabJoe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab
(9213)
$$$$
Seafood | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 182 times today
EmaEma
(637)
$$$$
Mediterranean | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 137 times today
Siena TavernSiena Tavern
(1919)
$$$$
Italian | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 135 times today
SundaSunda
(4520)
$$$$
Asian | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 183 times today
Beatrix - River NorthBeatrix - River North
(1954)
$$$$
American | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 227 times today
TantaTanta
(1606)
$$$$
Peruvian | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 93 times today
Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse - ChicagoGibsons Bar & Steakhouse - Chicago
(3707)
$$$$
Steak | Gold Coast / Streeterville, Chicago
Booked 142 times today
GT PrimeGT Prime
(350)
$$$$
Steakhouse | River North (Chicago), Chicago
Booked 81 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Permanently Closed - Citizen Bar

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Enjoy great food and a drink at Citizen Bar. It features rooftop seating with wonderful scenic views. Citizen Bar is an ideal spot for hanging out with friends or colleagues after work. Patrons can enjoy a starter of corn chowder, red pepper hummus with pita or a fresh salad. An entrée of hickory-smoked chicken wings, Cajun shrimp tacos, pizza with a choice of tasty toppings or a pulled pork sandwich will satisfy the appetite.

Citizen Bar offers brunch on Sundays with an all-you-can-eat bacon special. It has a patio for patrons to converse and enjoy the weather. This trendy pub also provides catering services and take-out.

364 W Erie St
Chicago, Illinois 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Tuesday: 4PM-Midnight
Wednesday-Thursday: 4PM-2AM
Friday: 11AM-2Am
Saturday: 11AM-3AM
Sunday: 11AM-Midnight

Rooftop opens at 4PM everyday, weather permitting.
The rooftop operates on a first come, first serve basis.

Cross Street:
Orleans

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 640-1156

Website:
http://www.citizenbar.com/

Entertainment:
DJs play night time. Indoor/Outdoor TVs with Chicago Sports, Notre Dame Football and ACC Basketball

Catering:
Tray Portions of current menu items are available. Begin inquiring at our website. Click on Food Packages to see available options.

Parking Details:
There is a Millenium parking lot behind Citizen.

Meter parking is readily accessible.
*Do not park on Erie past 9pm. You will get a parking ticket. There is little signage indicating this.
*We recommend parking a block just north of us on Huron.

Public Transit:
Chicago Brown Line Stop

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I really enjoyed visiting this place for my birthday. The drinks were good and the food was delicious. I was disappointed they had run out of wings because I wanted to try them because I had heard they were good. I also was sad to know that Fried Ice cream was not available even though it was on the online menu. That was also one of the reasons I selected the place so it was a shame they didn't even offer it and their web site was not accurate. Overall it still was a nice place but I would call ahead to confirm their current menu since their website may not always be updated.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our server Maria was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The nacho is amazing!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2016

So the food here is pretty good but the serivce is truly awful. They were out of 4 different things I tried ordering and mind you the menu is small to begin with.
I really wanted to like this place but it was just sub par. We went with a group of 6 which I really do not recommend.
The worst part is 1 of the drinks was literally missing the vodka together and they refused to replace it.
Seriously there are too many good in the area to spend your money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were looking for a roof top spot! The vibe was good, but I realized the crowd was a little young for me. The security checked id's but not mine! No need! I've been 21, two and a half times! The music inside caused us to scream across the table at each other! The outside seating is much better. The drinks and food--excellent! It's a great spot from my 21+ aged sons, but not for me. I guess I need a more senior Citizen Bar with jazz or Motown!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food way OK—tacos and sandwiches mostly—but there were fewer vegetarian options than they had posted on their website. Drinks were tasty, but expensive. The outdoor patio was extremely noisy, between the music and other diners.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2016

We as a group loved the food but the service really took away from our fun night. When we got there and I said we has reservations they seemed very confused and it took 15 minutes to seat us. The waitress took our order for drinks and it took 15 minutes to get them, then we ordered and our food was great but my dinner was forgotten and I waited about 10 minutes after all my friends were served to get mine. Some people in our party saw our waitress taking shots and she was generally disheveled and didn't seem like she was ready to work. We had to ask twice for silverware after we got our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We went to a friends dinner at Citizen during a beautiful night out. The waitress was the worst. Any time she came near our table, she acted put out. She was irritated by asking us what we wanted to drink. Numerous drinks were never delivered to our table. She was the worst. We had no napkins. we asked for utensils, she brought three sets for a table of 8. She acted offended when we asked for more. Her attitude was awful. We couldn't wait to leave.

Good scene, but we probably had the worst waitress in Chicago.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great outdoor dining for a small group of friends. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Showed up a bit late. However they said they didn't have any open tables. I let them know I made a reservation. They said they should have a table opened up soon. 20 mins later I was told the regular at the table refused to leave because of the game and we were late.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2016

I called Citizen and requested an outdoor table for my reservation earlier that day, and they told me that my reservation through Open Table was not in their records. I set it up again, and then they promptly hung up on me while I was trying to confirm the note for a table outside. When I showed up with my party they (of course) had no tables outside and made no effort to accommodate my reservation request. We promptly left, and don't plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my birthday/St. Paddy's Day at Citizen! The staff was super attentive/responsive on what's normally a hectic day in Chicago! Will definitely be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2016

This bar has a great staff and the atmosphere is awesome. However, the cocktails are horrible. They need to revamp their drink menu in general!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2015

The food was not bad for bar food, and the drinks were awesome. Our server was helpful, friendly, and fun. We'd definitely return when we're in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2015

Good bar for a game watch. Service was average - took awhile to get a drink.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Except for one bad TV, the place was a great spot for the game with friends and fellow Domers. Would recommend it for the season. Remodeled, very clean and super service. Big shoutout to Valerie, our server. Very attentive, all afternoon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Lunch menu is a bit limited. But the appetizers we ordered were great! The service was good. Wine list was horrible. As an ND Game Watch Bar, it was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Met with some friends for an early evening get together. Lovely patio, great atmosphere, and good food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Portions were good. Drinks were cold and service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2015

Fantastic rooftop atmosphere. They do not serve dinner on the roof though only finger foods. Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2015

Our server was personable and attentive. The outdoor setting was quiet enough to have a conversation but still busy and lively. The view of the surrounding neighborhood is superb. Limited menu but everything on it sounded great, and what we had was perfect for a light dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Food was good ( wish that you could get any of the tacos on any days- went on Friday and had the pulled chicken which was delicious, but I wanted to try the other ones)
Waitress was very friendly but we waited forever for food, the bill, our receipts, etc. We all had to go back to work and what should have been a 45 minute lunch took almost 2 hours

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2015

Made a reservation to have dinner and watch the Hawks win the Stanley Cup. Samantha called to confirm my reservation and told me she had us at a table with a great view of the game. So I had a great first impression...then when we got there the door staff and host were super friendly..then they seat us at a table in front of the bar where people were standing right in front of us so we could barely see the tvs!! And water was dripping from the ceiling onto my boyfriends head. They had to have known that it was actually a terrible table to enjoy a game. We asked to be moved but there were no other tables available. It was a very uncomfortable experience. I will never come back here to watch a game that I really want to see.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2015

Citizen has a great outdoor patio and rooftop. Inside is dark and cozy. The food is okay bar food, but nothing special. It's a great location to watch a game or grab a drink after work.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Citizen Bar has a great deck as the title states. They seemed to be able to accommodate groups large and small for Sunday brunch. My only complaint was the size of the brunch menu. I believe there were only 4 choices of meals and no listed side or ala carte items. My friend and I both got the burrito which was pretty good. I'd recommend but more for the deck than food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2015

Good location for a quick bite before heading to a club.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2014

went here w/some friends and ordered the mac n cheese w/pulled pork. u want the pulled pork!! great bar scene and huge tv screens showing the game

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2014

Cool outside patio scene at night. Good diversified music to go with my awesome shrimp tacos. I will definitely be back for my tacos and awesome glass of Riesling wine. Great chill neighborhood chill spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2014

I brought 6 girlfriends with me to Citizen Bar-we had a fun time! This place is not necessarily a place to get great food or great alcohol-it's a fun hip place to go and get drinks with your friends. We sat outside on the patio and we were very happy with the ambiance. There's nothing pretentious about this bar/restaurant-wine bottle service isn't standard-the bottle comes to you uncorked and if you want to taste it beforehand you will have to serve yourself-this just adds to the relaxed atmosphere. The main delight of our meals were the Tator Tots! That should say it all. The waitress was friendly and attentive. The manager Manny was nice as well and made sure we were having a good time. Overall it was a great place to start for the night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2014

Summer in Chicago is energetic and fun. Citizens Bar has the patio and deck to match that vibe. Had the summer salad which had a nice combination of Bibb lettuce, berries, and caramelized nuts - the chicken I added was strangely chopped into miniscule pieces that added texture but little taste. The pizzas around me looked appetizing - will sample on my next visit. Service was fine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2014

One of the best rooftop and patios I have seen in Chicago

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2014

Service was slow. They were out of things like garnishes for specialty drinks. Staff was somewhat clueless.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2014

Fabulous patio (reserve here so you can snag a space!) and food is pretty good too. Not the quickest, so plan ahead if you've got to get back to the office.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2014

The restaurant is awesome overall, the food is great and the location is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2014

I took my date there for an early dinner. The bar was closed due to some work but the bartender allowed us to come in before 5 PM to sit and warm up after being out in the cold. The place was empty but this is very early in the evening. The servers were all very nice and friendly. I bet this place gets more happening later on in the evening, we just got there very early. I would definitely come back in the summer when the rooftop area is open. I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.