About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (52)
Special Occasion (28)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (7)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Romantic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We visited Citilites for a meal before the performance of Circus 1903, and to celebrate Father's Day. The show was great. Citilites was disappointing and forgettable.

We waited nearly a half hour for our entree after finishing our appetizer... and when the food arrived it was nearly cold. My wife's braised beef tips looked like lumps of charcoal and the Yukon potatoes were leathery. My walleye was barely above room temperature, very little flavor, and the rye bread pudding was cold and tough. When the food finally arrived, we had to wolf it down to make the curtain for the show---or we would have sent it back. The waiter... who pretty much ignored us... had the gall to try to sell us a dessert---when we had already told him we needed to cash out NOW to get to our show. The restaurant was NOT busy and other tables who ordered after us got their food before we did.

In short; Poor service, poor food, WAY overpriced, and an overall forgettable experience. We won't be back and we wouldn't recommend this place for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Dinner and drinks were mostly delicious, but my dad's steak was not cooked as requested...he wanted it "medium" and it was "well done" and not as good as the steaks have been there in the past.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

So nice to have lunch and go right in show at Schuster

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

WE HAD A GOOD EXPERIENCE FOR MUCH OF THE MEAL; HOWEVER AT THE END WE WAITED ABOUT 25 MIN. FOR OUR CHECK, ASKED ANOTHER SERVER FOR ASSIST AND WAITED YET LONGER. I FINALLY GOT UP AND SPOKE WITH MANAGER. WE FINALLY DID GET OUR CHECK WITH A BARE MINIMUM APOLOGY AND FURTHER WAIT OF SEVERAL MINUTES. THE SITUATION COULD HAVE BEEN HANDLED MUCH BETTER IF PEOPLE HAD BEEN MORE RESPONSIVE WHEN BROUGHT TO THEIR ATTENTION. G W TEMPLETON

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I was expecting to be lots nicer. Food tasted pretty good. Service was NOT great. Was very slow service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife and I both enjoyed the meal and the experience at Citilites. We decided to give it a try since were attending a show in the Schuster Center anyway and we were pleasantly surprised by the food and the service. Our waiter was extremely helpful and intuitive to our needs and truly enhanced our time there. We would both enthusiastically recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have made Citilites our go to restaurant before each Saturday evening Broadway Musical we attend at the Schuster Center. In order to relax a joy our company and food, we make reservations for 2+ hours before the show begins. We have never had a bad meal! Tomato Bisque Soup and Crab Cakes made a perfect meal for me while my husband enjoyed the Cheese Plate and a Filet Mignon! Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

very nice and wonderful food. pleasant experience before the show

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our very favorite place to enjoy fine food before a performance. We love the diverse and tasty selections, and the staff is outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Service was fine, but food was very, very slow coming out of the kitchen. It's gets slower every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food could have been very good, and the presentation was excellent, but the food was served cold. Except for the fact that we had theater tickets and not a lot of extra time, we would have sent the food back. The waiter was pleasant, but knew nothing about the menu or the wine list. A properly trained staff would have made this a very enjoyable experience, but based on this one exposure I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and service. The food is cooked to order and fresh. The drinks are well made and desserts are excellent. I would recommend this to everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Thus was our first experience at Citilites. When asked whether it was ok to seat us "inside," we said yes, not knowing we'd be seated looking at the backs of the people at the bar.
On the other hand, we thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary dinner. The food was prepared well, and the wait staff was appropriately attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Good service and food. Lively conversation before going to Philharmonic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Women's restroom had an overflowing toilet.
Server was very pleasant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We often eat at Citilites before events at the Schuster, in this case "Kinky Boots". My wife ordered the fruit and cheese plate, and I ordered the chef's cut, which was salmon, risotto, asparagus and salad. She enjoyed the lightness of her meal. My meal was nothing short of OUTSTANDING!! Every bite was delicious, and it was cooked perfectly. I've dined all over the world, and this was one of the best-tasting meals I have ever had.

Major downside to the experience: A completely inattentive waitress. Two other couples came into the restaurant 5 and 15 minutes after we did, and both had their drinks long before our waitress finally deigned to bring water and ask for our drink order. She needs to be trained better.

I should not have left a tip, but spoken to the manager. The only reason I didn't ask for the manager was because my food was so delicious, and I didn't want to spoil that part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went at 5:45 before 7:30 Sunday performance. Just the right amount of time for dinner - not rushed. Good service despite being short some wait staff over holiday weekend. Nice presentation of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The tomato bisque was tasty although I think many people would find it too salty. It was just warm when it was served, and it looked like it had been sitting awhile. The grilled cheese was just ok. The kale caesar salad was awesome as usual. I was there to see a show and I wanted to have dessert since I had plenty of time. The waitress took a long time to get back to us and seemed to be in a hurry to get us out so I didn't order any dessert. Based on past experience and things I overheard the waitress say to other tables I'd say they have a problem getting food out of the kitchen while it's still hot. They have some really good salads, and you can't beat the convenience if you're headed to a show, but I'm not sure I'd make a special trip downtown just to eat here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Could offer better bread options, like whole grains..

Portions are good for dinner.
Waitress and person seating us was helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with the girls before seeing Kinky Boots the food presentation was very nice, I had chicken confit with mashed, collard greens and a waffle, it was well cooked and seasoned good. It was nice they had a signature cocktail named for the musical

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The house salad with the added chicken was perfect before a show! I wish I would have tried the chocolate cheesecake. It looked so good! Service was outstanding!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 25, 2017

brie sauce on pasta with shrimp was milder than expected. would have appreciated wine pairing recommendation to go with the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We were dining before attending Kinky Boots. The delivery of the food seemed to take a long time from when we ordered. Our waiter was great, I believe the problem must have been with the kitchen. I ordered the Brie Pasta. It could have been warmer. It tasted good, but it definitely needed to be warmer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I have eaten here before and enjoyed. However, this night the food was not good at all. We had a great waitress. We had to send back our steaks twice. The manager was not helpful. He felt that since it was a special and reasonably priced, we should eat the VERY overdone steak. His comment was that "you're not at Ruth's Chris". Granted, but we still deserved a good meal. He said he would take 50% off our food bill - which he did not. He also told us that since he is leaving this job very soon for another one, he wasn't overly concerned. My guess is that he won't last a long time in the new job either. I will try Citilites again, but was not remotely impressed with management.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Citilites is my go-to dining option when I go to the Schuster. It is always good quality in every way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at CitiLites many times and this last time before the opera, Carmen, was a huge disappointment. I selected the Beef Tips from the Culinary Adventures potion of the menu and it was an adventure I do not care to repeat. Instead of beef tips, I was served beef shreds that looked and tasted the scrapping from the rib of a rib roast. They were covered in a tasteless bechamel sauce with microgreens The micogreens on beef were odd and did not complement the meat. The potatoes were mushy and tasted like yesterday's leftover potatoes. The "wild" mushrooms served with the asparagus were the familiar button mushrooms found in every grocery. The asparagus was fine but the sauce on it was oily. I would have been embarrassed to have served this meal in my own home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I have eaten at Citilites at least 15 times before; always have dinner here before a performance.
Most have been very good to excellent.

Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with this last visit. The special, Paella, was served luke-warm/cold. Service was also slow with the waiter taking care of several tables. He never stopped by and inquired on how the meal was.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Citilites continues to be my first pick when I go to a performance downtown. The food is excellent and so is the service. I love being "in the room where it happens".

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our server, Sara, was, as usual, phenomenal. Unfortunately, this time around, my filet was atypically not up to par. Not much flavor to speak of, and a bit overdone. The rest of the my meal, my spouse's meal, and the dessert were great, however.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent, but when food served it was cold, to much money to pay for cold food. Expensive for comparable food at comparable restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The Wintergarden salad is amazing...I'm always craving it. The atmosphere is so cool; very unique and totally underrated downtown restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Hamburger too greasy. Chips were cold, no seasoning, tasted like cardboard

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Every thing was good except I had to send my pork chop back(under cooked)

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. We requested a table in the Schuster open area and loved it. I highly recommend CitiLites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Perfect and convenient for pre show drinks and meal. Upscale decor and Menu with prompt service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Disappointing meal, especially since an earlier dining experience had been great across the board. The entree' featured more rye bread than walleye. The dessert was too sweet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very pleased with the food , great to have dinner right before a performance in the same building. A little bit pricy, but still would come back.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Person serving came out of the restroom, wiping his nose and rubbing his stomach. He did not have on gloves when serving and I watched him serve several people and kept wiping his nose on his hand while walking back to the kitchen/counter. I wish I had taken a video to show their management and Health Department.
Food was barely luke warm when served and small portions for over $28.00 meal. Food is not the quality expected with service. I only choose restaurant due to convenient for Schuster Center Shows but will not choose in future.

Tags: Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent service - eat here frequently when attending theatre. Steak not up to it's usual caliber this visit. Ordered medium rare but was medium. Wine and sides with meal excellent. Truffle dessert good but not great. Will return - like the atmosphere and their tomato basil soup is excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.