Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

4.3
559 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(937) 222-0623
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main Street
What 559 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Had some amazing appetizers and dinner. Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Our waiter was a little slow and didn't check on our table timely however it was very busy. I would recommend for fun special occasions etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

A great choice for dinner before the show but also just for the food. Not a large menu but very creative. Also a great drink menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed a delightful lunch at Citilites before the afternoon performance of Phantom of the Opera. Our table in the Wintergarden allowed us to enjoy the lovely palm trees while we dined. Our server was very pleasant, and service was good during a rather busy pre-performance seating time. The luncheon menu offered enough variety to satisfy the dietary preferences and requirements of all of us in our party, including vegetarian and gluten-free options—delicious soups, salads, sandwiches and fries—and still, room for desserts. I personally enjoyed and recommend the blueberry crepes. So convenient to have this lovely restaurant right at the Schuster Center, just a short walk to our seats!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Food good, drinks better. Love the tomato bisque! Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding filet mignon. And I love the Wintergreen salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We had dinner here prior to attending Phantom of the Opera. It was good to get to the theatre early and avoid the traffic. We were 15 mins early for our reservation and were seated right away. We had the crabcake appetizer and the roasted pork chop. Both were excellent. The pork chop was accompanied by roasted brussel sprouts which were delicious. Service was outstanding and we just walked into the lobby when it was time to enter the theatre - very convenient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

When we arrived, there was a lot of turmoil centered around the kitchen area, and we waited quite a while for someone to wait on us (and we had theater tickets). However, once we placed our order it arrived very quickly. The food was incredible. The salad with an herb dressing was delicious - very fresh tasting. Initially I had ordered the lobster entree, but then found out they were out of it. So both of us ended up ordering the scallops which were served with a delicately flavored lemon curd risotto and a blueberry gastrique. I can guarantee if only one of us had ordered it, the other would have suffered from food envy. It was one of the best meals I've had (and not just in Dayton) - absolutely delectable! The scallops were expertly seared, and the risotto was almost like a dessert with its light lemony flavor and perfect texture. The slightly tart blueberry gastrique was also wonderfully flavorful and complemented the scallops perfectly. We will definitely return to eat there whether we are going to the theater or just out for a nice dinner. HIGHLY recommend!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

The menu was very limited and had some unusual selections/ingredients. Even for someone who is not picky, selecting a dish was difficult. The appetizers were appealing (we shared a cheese dip and a shrimp and scallop dish - although portions were small). The presentation of the food was very nice. However, the chicken and beef tasted as though it had been pre-cooked and then re-heated prior to serving. The chicken, although complete with grill marks, tasted as though it had been steamed (or boiled)...not grilled. The hamburger, that we requested to replace the filet (which was apparently a replacement for the ribeye, that was on the menu, which they could not acquire) went down well. Had the food been good, I probably wouldn't have minded the high prices, but the quality didn't justify the price. It is certainly conveniently located at the theater, but we won't go back unless something changes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

The food is always great but place is super noisy. So for a romantic night it may not be what you want. But for a meal before theater it’s wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We dined at Citilites before a showing of Phantom of the Opera and enjoyed the evening and the meal immensely. The service was wonderful and attentive even though the restaurant was packed and busy. Our food was amazing. We would definitely dine there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I had dinner here before see The Phantom of the Opera. The food was excellent. The wine was excellent. The restaurant is in the Wintergarden at the Schuster Center. Sometimes it can be loud, but watching the people as them come for the show is always entertaining. We will definitely eat here again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

I am a fan of Citilites. I eat there before most performances. The food is always top-notch. Excellent cocktails too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Went to see Phantom and have some dinner prior. They substituted the ribeye for a fillet. It melted in your mouth. My wife order hers medium well and it still came out Bloody. Had to send it back and by then I was half way done with my meal. They should have a thermometer to help them. I have one at home.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The convenience to the theater is wonderful. The food is very good. I believe it to be overpriced for small servings. I had an appetizer it was $16, it had two shrimp and one scallop and a fancy garnish. I had the filet sous vide, it was delicious but not seared properly. I probably won't go back. There's too many other really good places very close by.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Food was very good and Taylor our server was great. My friends and I prefer seating in the bar area and that is where we drink and dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Great food and great atmosphere. They didn't have the rib-eye so we got the filet mignon. It was delicious and you could cut the steak with a fork! Great place for a dinner date.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Ran out of a lot on their menu. Very busy pre-show which I understood but the server got so frazzled and seated in succession she couldn't keep her tables straight. An employee came and took our menus without asking if we'd ordered yet (we hadn't). The portion of the lobster was TINY. Not a $31 meal by any means. It tasted wonderful, but I was still really hungry after I was done. Our server was really nice and did her best. Just needed more staff communication and maybe something to make that lobster dish worth $31. We'll be back as it's convenient for shows and the cocktails are fantastic. Just hope they have the staffing worked out better for a busy night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This was a nice place to go before the theatre. It was also good for taking young teens for a less formal outing before the theatre. They experienced the almost formal in a casual, relaxed setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Always eat here before performanaces at Schuster center

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The new menu is great. Food is good, portions large. Service this time was wonderful, but can sometimes be a little slow. I reserve a table before each of my Sunday afternoon Broadway productions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always enjoy coming to Citilities before a performances at Broadway series.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was good, but service slow. Got my bread after my salad was d8ne, did not get my wine until after dinner was served. Not staffed appropriately.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The whole experience was great. The food, the appetizer, the entree and dessert were excellent. The best dining experience we have ever had there. Definetely will be returning.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2018

poor service for the number of diners. food cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We ate here before seeing "The Phantom of the Opera" with friends and we all enjoyed our meals. Excellent quality, flavor, and presentation. We'll return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good food and great service. Amy H our server did a great job. Have expedited that made sure food delivered promptly. Preferred inside as lobby area noisy and a little drafty.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

My wife and I had 6:45 dinner reservations but we arrived earlier to allow more time for dinner before the 8:00 show. We were seated immediately at 6:30. We ordered the Lobster Beignets for an appetizer, I selected the Roasted Chicken and my wife ordered the Roasted Pork Chop. The waitress informed her that they no longer had the Tamarind Caramel Potatoes as a side dish but they could substitute Mashed Potatoes. Later the waitress came back to tell us they ran out of the Lobster Beignets. I ordered the Crab Cakes instead. Our waitress returned to our table again to inform me they were out of the Roasted Chicken too. I went with a Hamburger. Seems to me an established restaurant like Citilites could plan their menu better. This was our first time there and probably our last.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We always reserve a table for 4 at Citilites before the theatre. The menu choices are diverse and the chef keeps it interesting. They do a great job accommodating guests wanting to enjoy a good meal and get to the theatre on time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I was one of a group of 8 who ate at Citilites before seeing a show at the Schuster Center. Our server was very attentive, and the food was delicious! The menu offers a wide range of options so that every member of our group was able to order something appropriate, from a vegetarian to a confirmed carnivore. I have never been disappointed here!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Our dinner was very tasty, and we enjoyed our experience overall. However, we ordered the cinnamon coffee cake with kahlua sauce for dessert. It arrived covered with nuts, and it was a good thing I asked when I saw the sprinkling as I am highly allergic to nuts. The server asked if I wanted to order another dessert, suggesting I would need to pay for it myself instead of being able to split one. Maybe there was a fancy term for nuts in the desert description , but I think foods you serve with nuts should clearly indicate so on the menu. Thank you for consideration of this issue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Along with a companion went to Citilites before we attended a performance of "Phantom of the Opera" Service was pleasant, efficient, attentive. Our meals were fabulous! Whenever we attend a show or event at the Schuster Center, we make a point of visiting Citilites and are never, ever disappointed! Compliments to the entire staff of Citilites...I will definitely be back and encourage others to do the same!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Great restaurant! Love eating here! Celebrated my birthday before “phantom “ and had a wonderful lunch! Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We ate at Citilites prior to seeing The Phantom of the Opera and it was amazing! The staff was courteous and responsive, the food was wonderful and the convenience of dining at the venue can't be beat. I will definitely be back when attending future Schuster Center performances. Thank you for a great experience, Citilites!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The entrees that we ordered were great. We were, however, disappointed to see that the filet has been dropped with the implementation of a new menu. Don't see that the ribeye, especially the way it is prepared, is a reasonable substitute. Due to a computer issue our checks were slow in coming which meant we were rushed getting to the concert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was very good. The atmosphere was lovely. The service was friendly, but quite distracted. There were long gaps between revisits; it seemed as though the waiter had too many tables. The result was the soup came with the entrée, not the salad and there was a very long wait to order coffee and dessert. It is really nice not to be rushed, but there was a lack of situation awareness. This has been an issue in the past, so this isn't so much a problem with a particular person, but the wait staff (training or management?).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I had the Southwest Corn Chowder, Salmon BLT & Blueberry Crepes. Wonderful & enough food for 2 meals.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Veggie burger🙁

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Food was not good. Over priced. Service was timely. Server was hospitable and polite. Convenient for show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Good food, service and convenient for the show or any downtown activity.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Love the new menu, however, I miss the "pick two" option of soup and sandwich or soup and salad. My friend ordered the open-face fish lunch and was surprised at the amount of food. I ordered the three beef taco "things" which were very good, but I probably won't order them again. The service was awesome!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14