About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Dayton
Special Occasion
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Dayton ›

Special Occasion (40)
Great for Lunch (24)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (6)
Scenic View (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food! After several hiccups wi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food! After several hiccups with my wife's dish, everything was good! Would def go back

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Expectations- Did not deliver We ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great Expectations- Did not deliver

We have been to Citilites before and it was a low key gourmet experience- not so this time. We made a reservation 1 month ahead of the event we were attending at Schuster with the intent of getting a quiet table etc. Instead they ignored our Open Table reservation- and gave us a table next to the kitchen.The service was extremely slow considering that the restaurant KNEW this was a sell out performance and they HAVE seen these before. When the food finally did come it was 10 min before the performance and we had to literally choke our food down. The food was not gourmet- although the prices were high. It was a big disappointment. We also eat across the street at Pizza Uno's not a fancy place but they get you out on time. We have no plans to go back to Citilites in the near future when we are attending events at the Schuster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Another wonderful evening at Citilites. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Another wonderful evening at Citilites. It was opening night for the 2016-2017 arts season, so the restaurant was packed and there was a new menu. I had to send my entree back as it was just mildly warm. It was refired and excellent upon return. My husband's entree was excellent as well. We were glad we made reservations for an early time as some of the later arriving guests had to wait awhile for their entrees. But then again, the place was packed. We sat in the inside portion of the restaurant. It was fun to watch the activity in the kitchen and the expediting of the food items. Our server Mary was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The crowd was quite small, yet the servi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The crowd was quite small, yet the service was slow. Our waitress was very inattentive ...had to go look for her so we could get our drinks correctly made and ensure our order had been placed since it had been some time. Believe this would be a very nice gathering place for drinks but need some improvement in ambiance and service. Have previously enjoyed lunch here and was very pleased with food quality and service....not so this time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I always enjoy dining at Citilites. The ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I always enjoy dining at Citilites. The menu has a nice variety, and the staff is friendly and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very disappointing. We have been coming ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very disappointing. We have been coming to Citilites before our Broadway series shows for a couple of years. Initially we were more than pleased. The menu was appealing and varied and the convenience of being in the show building prior to curtain call was a big plus. Slowly things seemed to slip. Two shows ago the food was mediocre and tasteless (in fact my Short Rib Hot Shot was served cold). My husband ordered Key Lime Pie which was inexplicably served coated with an hard chocolate shell. This shell couldn't be cut or broken, even with a steak knife. Okay. Every kitchen can have an off day. Sunday we again made reservations. After deciding on our dishes we were then informed both the Short Rib Hot Shot and the Steak Sandwich were not available. I gave a second choice only to be informed it was unavailable as well. I then ordered the Salmon Club. The salmon was dry, overcooked and looked like it was slapped together at a fast food joint. Have they changed management? Is there any management? On the bright side, during both disasters the wait staff was exemplary. They tried their best to apologize and and to make up for the kitchen's shortcomings. As season ticket holders we certainly hope the situation improves over the summer break, else we will have to hunt for a before lunch elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

They were out of a lot of food and we ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

They were out of a lot of food and we had very limited choices so one of the people in our party was not happy, our choices were steak and steak. I was ok with that and my food was very good, but being out of your menu choices isnt good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

July 2 Dining with friends before Lion K ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

July 2

Dining with friends before Lion King.

Ordered Seafood Pasta-Out

Ordered Leg of Lamb-Out

Ordered Eggplant-Out

Ended up having 3 Salmon Club sandwiches and a Wintergreen Salad with Chicken

Almost missed show beginning because of service.

Would not recommend Citilites to friends.

I will go across the street next time I want dinner before a show.

This is really sad because the Schuster Performing Arts Center is such a great venue and we like to support the arts when we can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We went to celebrate our 20th wedding an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and left very disappointed! I ordered the petite filets which were $35. The filets were very tiny and had about 4-5 mushrooms total on top and were very dry. It came with a side of broccolini and mashed potatoes . The potatoes were like wallpaper paste and the broccolini was bland. I asked the waiter if they had an au jus as everything was dry. He brought me some butter and said that was all they had available. Needless to say, it did not help. I then asked the waiter to let the chef know that the meal was terrible and absolutely nothing was done! No manager, no new meal, no credit adjustment, nothing! The waiter said I could fill out a comment card and they would contact me- 1 week later not a word from the restaurant! My husband ordered the Salmon club which seemed fine at first but very soon after he was suffering terribly from indigestion from the fat content in the chips and the sandwich. Left very upset as this was suppose to be a special evening for us and the expensive and bad food left a bad taste is our mouths-literally!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was good. Atmosphere is unique. It' ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was good. Atmosphere is unique. It's super convenient if you're going to a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a reservation for 2pm. We walked ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had a reservation for 2pm. We walked in at 2:07, according to the hostesses' watch and we're told the restaurant is closed a d they can't serve us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Located in the lovely wintergarden of t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Located in the lovely wintergarden of the Schuster Center in downtown Dayton, Citilites is our place to go before the show! Always delicious! Took some friends from Columbus for their first time and they were quite impressed. Thanks Citilites

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were disappointed in the food. My foo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were disappointed in the food. My food was barely Luke warm and was bland. My husband was also disappointed with meal. The presentation of the food looked nice, however the flavor was bland. We will remember this the next time we get tickets for a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Citilites is a convenient eatery steps o ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Citilites is a convenient eatery steps outside the Schuster Theater. Perfect for a light snack or full meal before or after a performance. The tomato bisque was luke warm which diminished the overall appeal. My lobster was tasty though I found the accompanying risotto and broccolini unimpressive. It lacked seasoning and eye appeal. My dining companion had the seafood pappardelle. She enjoyed the generous portion of mussels and salmon but the noodles in cream sauce failed to deliver. On the plus side, the seafood timbale, kale salad and warm bread were delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The convenience of using Citilites for d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The convenience of using Citilites for dining before a Schuster Center arts performance is a great asset. Because we park early to attend dinner before a performance we avoid the "last minute" hassle of finding a parking place if we dine someplace else before a show.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our time at Citilites very mu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Citilites very much, and appreciated the beautiful view of Dayton's downtown architecture. The neighboring buildings are never very visible for very long as we drive through, and it was wonderful to be able to gaze upward at the details. The food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Quality of food was poor for the price y ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Quality of food was poor for the price you pay. Was seated at a table that faced the bar, in the back of the restaurant, so the ambiance was not the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Took 12 minutes after we were seated for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Took 12 minutes after we were seated for our waiter to come. Very slow, seemed to not like job. Food was good but didn't feel like it worth what I normally get for the cost.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

It was. Rey pleasant and relaxing before ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was. Rey pleasant and relaxing before the show. Everyone on the group was. Rey pleased with the wonderful food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Citilites prior to a performan ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We ate at Citilites prior to a performance of the Lion King. While convenient, I food was very mediocre and fairly pricey. I had gone online to check out the menu before reserving a table and was presented the lunch menu. The dinner menu, which is only served before evening performances, was either not online or not extremely visible because I missed it. The food is rather pricey ($24 barbecue chicken) and was served lukewarm. I expected $9 sandwiches and got $24-35 entrees, which would have been ok had the food been better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Citilites is mainly for the convenience ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Citilites is mainly for the convenience of eating before a show at the Schuster. This is our second time eating there before a show, but the food hasn't been all that great. We will be eating somewhere else beforehand.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The lunch menu was full of light and per ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The lunch menu was full of light and perfect meal choices. The prices were slightly less than I anticipated, so that was a pleasant surprise. Service was great. The food was not spectacular, but good. We had an apple dumpling for dessert which had obviously been microwaved to re-heat. It was nuked about two minutes too long. It came out too hot to eat, then became chewy. Other than that, the meal was good and I would go back anytime.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined before LION KING performance. Foo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Dined before LION KING performance. Food and service were great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brussels sprout appetizer was amazin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The brussels sprout appetizer was amazing and the crab cakes appetizer was very good too.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great when attending the plays it is qui ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great when attending the plays it is quick and convenient t

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place to eat before seeing a show ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great place to eat before seeing a show at the theater in the same building.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When I saw the menu online I was really ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

When I saw the menu online I was really excited to go here. So many of the dishes sounded amazing! If only the food lived up to the descriptions.

We started with the charcuterie plate. Nothing bad, but nothing wowed us. The prosciutto was cut too thick so it was a little chewy, the sausages were a bit overcooked, and two of the three cheeses weren't anything I couldn't buy at Kroger in the standard cheese section, but nothing was terrible. My kale Caesar salad ($2 upcharge from the house salad that comes with my meal) was actually pretty good. The kale wasn't cut down so I had a hard time eating elegantly (the stems kept stabbing my face), and it was a little heavily dressed, but the croutons were really flavorful and crispy.

Then came the mains. My wife had the salmon sandwich and the few bites I had actually weren't too bad (and it was reasonably priced considering the giant piece of fish that came with it). The "heirloom tomatoes" were just standard beefsteak, and the salmon was way overcooked for my liking (my wife didn't mind), but overall not bad. My lobster risotto was downright terrible. The lobster was flavorless and chewy (and half of it looked pre-chewed), and the broccoli rabe was completely devoid of salt. The risotto itself was my favorite part, but I was promised truffle in the menu description and it tasted of nothing but rice. We did not try the desserts because nothing sounded good, and based on the meal we had had so far, I bet they were all store bought with Hershey's syrup slathered over the top.

In terms of ambience, the place was pretty meh, but that's not entirely their fault. The outside portion (in the lobby) was quieter, but had a lot of echos. It reminded me of eating in an airport cafe. Our table was also almost too small for two people. Inside was a lot nicer, but very loud. Our waitress was nice and attentive, but kept apologizing for the food being late, even though it wasn't. It was really kind of awkward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We enjoyed our dinner at Citilites, as ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Citilites, as we did the previous time. We requested to sit in the bar area, because we like the lower ceiling and a more intimate atmosphere than out in the open area. Both times we were impressed with the staff, their efficiency, friendliness, and knowledge of the menu. We tried the chardonnay which was featured, and found it smooth and enjoyable. I ordered the crab cakes, which I had done before, and this time they were too spicy for my taste. Other than that, I have no criticisms of our food, and we look forward to going to Citilites again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to Citilites several times pri ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Have been to Citilites several times prior to the theatre. It's a great location for those occasions and comes with an interesting and pleasant ambience. It is quiet for being mostly open and seating is comfortable. The menu is somewhat limited and they try to be responsive to the people there for the shows. My particular dinner was not very good and the one they brought to replace it wasn't either. It appears to have been cooked much earlier and it dried out. Bringing out a sauce to cover the dry meat was no help. My wife's dish was excellent as was the salads. Service was excellent and management intervened with options that were satisfactory and fair.

Drinks were adequate and fairly priced. Passed on the desert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu actually read better than the f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The menu actually read better than the food. It was presented beautifully! The biggest issue I found was the lack of seasoning. Food would have benefitted from salt and pepper; was bland. The risotto had no flavor at all! Butter - poached Lobster was tough and chewy. Sorry I couldn't give a better review.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Small meal not really worth the expense. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Small meal not really worth the expense. We were their merely for the convenience of eating in the schuster center to attend a performance . Handicapped people need more time and cannot walk in with the usual crowd. Service was excellent!!!!! Bigger meals of the same quality would be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Patrons go to Citilites for a meal prior ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Patrons go to Citilites for a meal prior to performances at the Schuster Center and, consequently, are always anxious to get their food and drinks in a timely manner. While our food and drinks did arrive in time to be finished before the show, the wait staff did not acknowledge the deadline nor did they appear to recognize the anxiety that customers at several tables seemed to be consumed with. The meal was good but not great especially where value versus price is concerned. No drink order was taken for almost 10 minutes and it was nearly another 10 minutes before they arrived. No bread appeared at the table until after the main course arrived. The lettuce on our dinner salads was limp but the house dressing was very good. The shrimp on the appetizer were small and overcooked and without much flavor. The Barbecue Chicken was a bit dry. Overall, while I consider the food quality and service to be average at best and the prices too high, I would only go back for the convenience of eating at the venue itself.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, wonderful ambiance, good serv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, wonderful ambiance, good service. This is a great place for a meal before a show at the Schuster!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Citilites givea Daytonians a wonderful e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Citilites givea Daytonians a wonderful evening of a great meal and theater

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We actually eat here every time we go to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We actually eat here every time we go to a performance at the Schuster Center and have always enjoyed it. Although the menu is not extensive I think that the variety is enough that anyone could find something to enjoy. Even though we usually go only for performances, I would say it is a good choice for any occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a disappointment. My husband's lam ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

What a disappointment. My husband's lamb dinner was a very small end-rack that consisted of mostly bone and a small mouthful of meat. We found the entire menu to be described with fancy words and very little substance. Even the desert was over-cooked and dried out. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Sara, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Sara, our server, was a gem.

we loved the atmosphere and the food was superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful seating in the Winter Garden. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful seating in the Winter Garden. Food is interesting, some combinations work better than others or depends on your taste, but overall quite good. Nice presentation. Only open for dinner when an event is presented in the theatre.

They are also open for lunch every week day. Nice place for an upscale lunch or to take a friend to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was absolutely delicious! It wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious! It was definitely a lot more expensive than I was hoping to spend, but it did taste wonderful.

Our service could have been a lot better. Our server had a bad habit of ignoring my daughter. My daughter didn't get her drink until after our main course was delivered to our table, even though we asked multiple times! We finally asked another server and had the drink in minutes. We also ordered desserts and again our server ignored my daughter's order! My daughter is 12 and has been ordering for herself for years with no problems like this before!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Very good. Nice salad and panini. Servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very good. Nice salad and panini. Service very attentive

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.