About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (50)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Healthy (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
People Watching (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 11 hours ago

Wouldn't recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We were pleased with everything. The server, whose name I believe was Paul, was first-rate!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Small portions and overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been dining here as season ticket holders (at Schuster) for 12 years. In the last year or so I think there had been changes at the executive chef level and for us it was a bit of a rough start. The menu was rife with mushrooms and polenta and there seemed to be a noticeable price jump. However the chef has seemed extremely responsive to feedback, each successive menu is better than the last. There is also more of a variety in pricing as well. This latest menu has so many appetizing options it was hard to decide. I had the braised beef and it was decadent. I don't tend to get effusive over a cut of meat but it was just that awesome! I could cut it with the edge of my fork it was soooo sumptuous. My friend had the shrimp and pasta dish, which she loved. Now I have the best kind of problem with Citilites, deciding what to order, it all looks so good. I feel like Citilites is back to being a bright spot on my calendar that I look forward to experiencing each month. The waitstaff is always excellent, the managers actively work the floor and the ambiance is stellar. We look forward to dining here for many seasons to come.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We went here for dinner before our show at the Schuster. Our service was very good. Courtney A. was out server and she did a very good job. The food was good too, good serving size, though maybe a bit overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good and enjoyable lunch with family before watching the afternoon performance at the Schuster!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went here before seeing a show. We didn't want to worry about running late and the menu looked good. Once we got there I realized the menu was not the same as posted online (a little disappointing but not a big deal, I realize restaurants update there menus and I may have been looking at an older version). It was really busy since it was right before a show and our waitress seemed a bit flustered but none of this was a real negative for me. Everything up until we got our food (which came out fairly quick) was a decent experience and as expected. However, when we got our meals my opinion completely changed! The food was terrible for the price, my husbands steak was over cooked and my pasta was completely flavorless.
We dine out at really nice restaurants only a few times a year for special occasions when we don't mind spending a pretty penny on a really high quality meal. If we are spending $85 for two drinks and two meals (no appetizers, no dessert) I expected it to be better than something I could make at home from a jar! As my husband said "I had a better meal at Bob Evans for lunch." which is just unacceptable when charging the prices they are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We try to have dinner at CitiLites before every Broadway Series play. It's convenient for us in that I use a cane. The food has gotten better, although it has it's ups and downs. I guess it depends on present chef and cooks! Service is always great! Taylor did a great job!

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This place is only open pre-and post theater, as it is in the Schuster Center theater lobby. Rather large area, lots to look at, great bar .The food was excellent

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Upon arrival the staff was pleasant but dressed very poorly and not very professional. The menu wasn't the same as posted online. While the drinks were good, the meal was just plain blah. There was nothing special about it & the prices for what you actually got were ridiculous. For the convenience of it to the show we tried it, but it is somewhere we will definitely not be returning. Don't waste your money, go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Outstanding and was our first visit. Will be sure to return!

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Portions are a bit small but food and atmosphere are wonderful...one of my favorite dinner and show options!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Convenient for pre-show meal, but allow hour and a half to not feel rushed. Must have reservations though. Food was good but pricey. Derrick was good server, very personable.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We placed our order and were told 15 minutes later that you were out of what both of us ordered, so we ordered something else. Both of our meals came out cold and tasteless. It will be our last visit to your facility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Citilites is only open evenings when there is an event at the Schuster Performing Arts Center. The restaurant is hit and miss as they have had some great chefs and now just an average. The food was OK, but served room temperature.

This is a great venue if you plan on seeing a play at Schuster Performing Arts Center

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I was unable to ultilize my reservation due to being 10 minutes late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The ran out of the burger one of our party ordered. .. only made 15 for the night. They did not have the dessert that was on the menu. The food was good and the service was okay.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Granted weather outside was below 30 degrees but the room was very cold with breeze everytime someone entered Wintergarden on that side of building. Food was good but while mine was really good, my partner's food was cold. We didn't bother to complain since while we know they could have redone it, we had a show to catch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I chose to eat at Citilites before seeing a performance at the Schuster because of convenience. The food was good. A bit pricey for the quality, but still above average.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A unique pre-show atmosphere. Food is outstanding, and it has an imaginative menu. It is a little pricey though.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Disappointed unable to take huge portion home. Have put in.call to manager about this

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Had the lobster risotto for the first time - delicious! Creamy risotto and a good portion of lobster meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Again, ate dinner here before attending a performance at the Shuster Center. It is very convenient place to dine before going to the show. The food was very good, but to be fair we both had the Wintergarden Salad with Chicken, the tomato bisque soup, and shared a cheese plate -- not exactly challenging fare. But, it was all very tasty, and we had no complaints about the food. Service was excellent until we were finished with our main course and was thinking about dessert. All of the sudden we were left alone. And, when we finally put our dessert order in (Banana Fosters Bread Pudding and the chocolate cake) it took almost 20 minutes to be served. It took us 40 minutes to be seated, served appetizers, and to eat our main meal; and it took another 45 minutes to order and get dessert. Maybe they got extra busy in the last hour, but I couldn't tell that it was. Fortunately, our dinner reservations were early enough that we still had time to easily get to our seats before curtain, but it could have easily been problematic. We will still return for a future meal, but we may skip dessert if we get our normal reservation time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great meal, and a wonderful waitperson in Christopher, he knew the menu and his recommendations were fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were pleased with service, cuisine, and Winter Garden environment. It was a delightful experience. One complaint: the dessert (cheesecake) was hard as a ROCK! It could not (even) be cut it with a knife! Customers at a nearby table had the same experience.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was a very overpriced mediocre meal that was not representative of the menu pictures on their website. The beef was very overcooked, dry with no sauce. The fish picture showed lots of tomatoes and olives, I had two small tomatoes, four olives, and the fish was very tough. The tomato bisque soup was wonderful, and our waitress and hostess were very good. While we enjoy a wonderful meal and love to try new things, this chef is trying too hard to be sophisticated and this leads to limited choices for many because nothing sounded very appealing.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love going to Citilites before performances at the Schuster.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The meals initially arrived undercooked and not hot (not cold, but not appropriate temp for serving). My steak was undercooked (raw in the middle, not medium, as requested). The wait staff removed and replaced the meal right away and the second attempt was perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Not enough choices on Mid level food between salads and Main courses Used to have Shrimp an grits as an example

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Third time at Citilites, and we were very pleased. Between us we had the Wintergreen Salad w/chicken, crab cakes, tomato bisque soup, and the cheese board. All of the food was very good/excellent. Service, which was a bit of a problem the previous two times, was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, and we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service, food, ambiance, etc. are all excellent. Great place for pre-performance dining at the Schuster.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Citilites is located in the Schuster Center making it a very convenient pre concert dinner spot. Unfortunately once again our experience was not acceptable. It took 43 minutes to deliver a house salad snd crab cakes appetizer to my wife (and they did not get the salad dressing right) and a house salad and steaks frites to me. The stake was room temperature, over done (I ordered rare, not a trace of pink to be found) and flavorless.

The waitress checked infrequently, stopped to talk with other tables when she said she was going to solve the problem.

We have eaten at Citilites before events at the Schuster Center a number of times over the past decade and too many of our experiences have been like this one. I've tried to like Citilites but after last night we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Meatball special on 2/1/17 was dry and not tasty at all. First meal I have had that was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The dining experience overall very good. The table for two was kind of small, but it worked. The food was proportioned pretty good for the cost. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Nice place for dinner if you are attending an event and this allows you one stop for everything which worked out fine for me. I would possibly dine at your facilities again if I am attending another show which I do attend at least a few every year.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The menu items we selected were wonderful. However, the restaurant could stand to have a few more items on their menu; especially some kind of pasta dish is needed. Our server, Sara, was excellent. We always request her when we eat dinner at Citilites prior to a performance.

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My friends and I traveled to Ohio for a poetry play. We looked at th menu before we came. Our expectations were not met with our food. We told our server I believe her name was Diana (not sure). Her customer service was wonderful. She apologized and offered us deserts on the house. It's a nice place we were just expecting better quality food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was courteous and prompt. The food exceeded my expectations for a casual restaurant. The greens were fresh and the salad dressing tasted homemade. The main course was tastefully presented and each part was prepared excellently and the cocoa on the chicken was a delicious surprise. Between the friendliness of our server, Courtney and high level quality of the food; the Cililites enhanced the enjoyment of the concert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

2 of the four entrée's were served a little to cool for our taste, however, the issue was resolved very quickly for us with apologies from our waitress. We have visited this restaurant before and have been very pleased with the experience. Thjis incident will not keep us from returning to dine here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Made a meal of a collection of appetizers. Spicy crab cakes were great. Tuna should have been seared.
Baby brussel sprouts were fantastic. Limited wine choices but selection was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Made a reservation through Open Table which was quick and easy!!! Promptly seated -- though the hostess was rather perfunctory in her interaction. A smile would have been nice! Server -- April I believe -- was WONDERFUL!!! Attentive, anticipatory on refilling drinks, knew the menu! Food -- butter poached Lobster with risotta BRILLIANT!!! Pricey, but lobster in the Midwest, understandable. Disappointed that we did not get the short ribs as they looked FANTASTIC -- and upon querying the table next to us that did -- found out that they WERE Fantastic!!! Tomato Bisque soup... I generally hate soups. The Tomato Bisque -- an excellent soup that both my wife and I enjoyed! Passed on dessert as we were full after the meal. GREAT Place for dinner before a show at the Schuster Theater!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.