About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (51)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Romantic (8)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vegan (3)
Family Style (2)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The meals initially arrived undercooked ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The meals initially arrived undercooked and not hot (not cold, but not appropriate temp for serving). My steak was undercooked (raw in the middle, not medium, as requested). The wait staff removed and replaced the meal right away and the second attempt was perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Not enough choices on Mid level food bet ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Not enough choices on Mid level food between salads and Main courses Used to have Shrimp an grits as an example

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Third time at Citilites, and we were ver ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Third time at Citilites, and we were very pleased. Between us we had the Wintergreen Salad w/chicken, crab cakes, tomato bisque soup, and the cheese board. All of the food was very good/excellent. Service, which was a bit of a problem the previous two times, was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, and we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service, food, ambiance, etc. are all ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service, food, ambiance, etc. are all excellent. Great place for pre-performance dining at the Schuster.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Citilites is located in the Schuster Cen ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Citilites is located in the Schuster Center making it a very convenient pre concert dinner spot. Unfortunately once again our experience was not acceptable. It took 43 minutes to deliver a house salad snd crab cakes appetizer to my wife (and they did not get the salad dressing right) and a house salad and steaks frites to me. The stake was room temperature, over done (I ordered rare, not a trace of pink to be found) and flavorless.

The waitress checked infrequently, stopped to talk with other tables when she said she was going to solve the problem.

We have eaten at Citilites before events at the Schuster Center a number of times over the past decade and too many of our experiences have been like this one. I've tried to like Citilites but after last night we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Meatball special on 2/1/17 was dry and n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Meatball special on 2/1/17 was dry and not tasty at all. First meal I have had that was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The dining experience overall very good. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The dining experience overall very good. The table for two was kind of small, but it worked. The food was proportioned pretty good for the cost. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Nice place for dinner if you are attending an event and this allows you one stop for everything which worked out fine for me. I would possibly dine at your facilities again if I am attending another show which I do attend at least a few every year.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The menu items we selected were wonderfu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The menu items we selected were wonderful. However, the restaurant could stand to have a few more items on their menu; especially some kind of pasta dish is needed. Our server, Sara, was excellent. We always request her when we eat dinner at Citilites prior to a performance.

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends and I traveled to Ohio for a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My friends and I traveled to Ohio for a poetry play. We looked at th menu before we came. Our expectations were not met with our food. We told our server I believe her name was Diana (not sure). Her customer service was wonderful. She apologized and offered us deserts on the house. It's a nice place we were just expecting better quality food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

The service was courteous and prompt. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was courteous and prompt. The food exceeded my expectations for a casual restaurant. The greens were fresh and the salad dressing tasted homemade. The main course was tastefully presented and each part was prepared excellently and the cocoa on the chicken was a delicious surprise. Between the friendliness of our server, Courtney and high level quality of the food; the Cililites enhanced the enjoyment of the concert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

2 of the four entrée's were served a lit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

2 of the four entrée's were served a little to cool for our taste, however, the issue was resolved very quickly for us with apologies from our waitress. We have visited this restaurant before and have been very pleased with the experience. Thjis incident will not keep us from returning to dine here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a meal of a collection of appetizer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Made a meal of a collection of appetizers. Spicy crab cakes were great. Tuna should have been seared.

Baby brussel sprouts were fantastic. Limited wine choices but selection was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Made a reservation through Open Table wh ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Made a reservation through Open Table which was quick and easy!!! Promptly seated -- though the hostess was rather perfunctory in her interaction. A smile would have been nice! Server -- April I believe -- was WONDERFUL!!! Attentive, anticipatory on refilling drinks, knew the menu! Food -- butter poached Lobster with risotta BRILLIANT!!! Pricey, but lobster in the Midwest, understandable. Disappointed that we did not get the short ribs as they looked FANTASTIC -- and upon querying the table next to us that did -- found out that they WERE Fantastic!!! Tomato Bisque soup... I generally hate soups. The Tomato Bisque -- an excellent soup that both my wife and I enjoyed! Passed on dessert as we were full after the meal. GREAT Place for dinner before a show at the Schuster Theater!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best part of the meal was the food, whic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best part of the meal was the food, which is good. It has a unique atmosphere, and is good when going to The Schuster Center.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This location is very convenient when yo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This location is very convenient when you are attending a show at the Schuster as well as the fact that the food is good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I dine here often before the Matinee sho ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I dine here often before the Matinee show. It's so convenient and the service has always been great! On our last visit this past Sunday, my guest had to send back her tomato soup as it wasn't hot & she also commented that her grilled cheese wasn't warm either. My pumpkin coconut soup was bland but warm. I love the salad selection and I usually choose that as my luncheon option. I have also tried some of the sandwich items in the past and they have also been very good. I like the variety and the fact that some of them are unlike I would find anywhere else. Just love that it's in the Schuster!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good meal and food but HORRIBLE bar serv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good meal and food but HORRIBLE bar service. We went the night of a Broadway Show at the Schuster and they were full. As we were told, management made a decision to go from 2 bartenders to 1, but add a bar back (helper). Then they made the decision to give the bar back 6 tables in the bar area to serve, so guess what, he was swamped!! Of no use to the bartender. A bottle of wine and 2 glasses took 30 minutes to serve.

This restaurant goes from zero mph to 200 mph in about 30 minutes on show nights. There is a 2 1/2-3 hour window where they need to be "staffed to the nines", then close up and go home. C'mon CitiLites, think!!!!....let's not screw up this limited staffing timeframe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Waitress was pleasant and well-meaning, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Waitress was pleasant and well-meaning, but service was poor...especially drinks from the bar. Our first round took over 30 minutes from ordering to delivery to the table. The waitress kept checking the bar on progress, but the bar was painfully slow. One steak was ordered 'medium, no pink', but was served 'very rare'. The waitress insisted on bringing a fresh plate, and that was served 'well done'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Went before 42nd street. Food was avg, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went before 42nd street. Food was avg, wouldn't go out of way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Took out of towns friends to lunch befor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Took out of towns friends to lunch before 42nd Street show. Sat in the atrium area, which is very lovely. Had a light lunch of salad and sandwich and meal was delish. Bloody Mary was nicely down as well.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We love the Brussel Sprouts! All else ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We love the Brussel Sprouts! All else is pretty good, very easy when going to the theatre. Server forgot to bring bread to the table, my husband didn't mind however that is a big no no in my book. It's the little things that make a difference. When asking the server when paying the bill - she said she forgot. Shouldn't be forgotten when they only have one seating a night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was good but the waitress needed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was good but the waitress needed wine lessons. Couldn't open the bottle and didn't serve it properly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the filet mignon with mashed white ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I had the filet mignon with mashed white sweet potatoes and asparagus. My wife had the barramundi. We both enjoyed our meals. Our server was attentive even though the restaurant was quite busy. We enjoy eating at Citilites before attending productions at the Schuster Center.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There is nothing bad to say about Citili ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

There is nothing bad to say about Citilies. I just love spending time with my daughter and we really enjoy the time at Citilites, the food is great, the service is great, and we love the music. We were there to see 42nd. Street. The show was amazing. Just a wonderful time all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dining for before a musical perf ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Perfect dining for before a musical performing at the Schuster!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is convenient when attending the thea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It is convenient when attending the theater. Steak was over-cooked. Prices a little high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Every time I visit Citilites there are n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Every time I visit Citilites there are new dishes to order and every single time what I order has been tasty and inventive. The chef makes the vegetables sing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to eat here before Schuster perfo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We try to eat here before Schuster performances. It's lively, bustling, friendly and upscale with good service and good food.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice dinner before the music pe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a nice dinner before the music performance. My husband's dinner was slightly better with the risotto as my pork dinner was cooked too much. We have dined there before and I am beginning to think the appetizers might be the way to go but we had a nice time anyway. The staff is very nice and the restaurant is quite pleasing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amy's service was excellent. Food tempe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amy's service was excellent. Food temperture for both entrees was only luke warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was charming and accommodated ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our server was charming and accommodated all our wishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining Experience!! A friend and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Elegant Dining Experience!! A friend and our young-ish daughters dined before The Nutcracker. Fun and yummy! We shared appetizers all around. The girls loved their Chicken Nachos with homemade tortillas and we raved over the Brussels sprouts. Crab cakes had a sauce we weren't too keen on. Over all I highly recommend enjoying this place. Atmosphere is good, wish our table had a private heater.. a bit hard to make it warm in the rotunda so ask for a seat inside the restaurant proper.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance is the worst. No music playing ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ambiance is the worst. No music playing? The place is filthy. (Sit at your bar top and look up.) Bar tender was potentially fantastic but they were so understaffed she never stood a chance. Sandwiches from the lunch menu were well prepared and a decent price value.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

I brought my 7 year old granddaughters t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I brought my 7 year old granddaughters to eat before the Nutcracker. Service was extremely slow. When the girls Grilled cheese & fries finally came out, my meal didn't come out for 10 more minutes. We were not asked if we wanted desert. We probably wouldn't have had time anyways. I had the lobster risotto. It was chewy & the claw meat was shredded. I will probably not be back. I wanted a special treat for the girls & it was disappointing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing experience at Citilies. Ve ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Disappointing experience at Citilies. Very cold air coming in through Schuster center doors made is freezing. My $30+ entree of lobster "risotto" was just a plain piece of lobster on some regular white rice with little flavor, and it was not hot. Brussels sprouts appetizer was the highlight. Server was nice enough but ill-informed about how to serve a bottle of wine. Great location and so convenient before Nutcracker but will find another option next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Creative menu. Well prepared. On this n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Creative menu. Well prepared. On this night it was a little cold in the Winter Garden.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We sat in the lobby and it was very cold ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We sat in the lobby and it was very cold and drafty. Meals and appetizers were good. Great service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Good place for lunch with friends or bus ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Good place for lunch with friends or business associates. Meal was excellent but somewhat pricey. Waitress not particularly friendly but efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I was to dine with a friend pre-theater, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I was to dine with a friend pre-theater, however friend was stuck in traffic behind shut-down highway for an accident. Waitress Sara was very attentive, kind, and understanding of the situation. After a very good cocktail paired with a very boring cheese board, I inquired about several entrée options that were of interest. She was kind to inform me that the chicken and pork were reporting as too dry, so I opted for lobster risotto. The lobster was tender, but cold. The risotto was hot and creamy. I left her a very generous tip for kindly waiting on one at a table reserved for two. This was my second experience at this restaurant, and am not impressed with the expensive price for so-so food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

delightful service, delicious food, very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

delightful service, delicious food, very convenient for heading into the theatre for a production!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.