About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (57)
Special Occasion (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
People Watching (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Fun (10)
Romantic (9)
Scenic View (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great location for dinner before a show. The house salad dressing was wonderful, the scallops entree was delicious and a large serving, and the chocolate cake with candied bacon was a delightful end to the meal. It is a little loud due to the high ceiling in the Schuster lobby, but nothing too annoying. Will certainly go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We were so happy we were able to make a reservation before our show. We could relax, eat a fantastic meal and not feel rushed to get to the theatre on time. Bartender directly in front of Citilites was awesome!!
We will be back!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We ate at Citilites for convenience. This was the second time there in 9 days that we ate there because of work schedules and trying to get to a show at the Schuster. Both times, the first thing one of us ordered was not available. Our second time there, the first two entrees my husband ordered were already gone. He finally asked our sever, “What DO you have?” The food was fine and our server was apologetic. It’s just a shame they seem to operate on such a shoestring that they run out of their already-limited selection of entrees.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Enjoyed the updated menu. We noticed lots of new servers for the new theater season. Our service was great, everyone had lots of hustle. Hostess was a big improvement. Phillip as wonderful as always. Had the short ribs, yum! Great kick off for our theater season!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This is a great concept for pre-theatre and show dining...and I so want them succeed. But it is overpriced, the food is just not that good, and the servers are not polished or informed about the menu or wine list. I ordered the salmon with pea risotto - sounded fabulous based on the description, but the fish was bland, and the pea risotto tasted like green pea baby food, ick. And it was lukewarm at best - rather than send it back I choked down a few bites so as not to disrupt our group, but super disappointing, especially for $30+ dollars. The burger was a hit, the crab cakes are reliable...but generally this place has a long way to go. For the upcoming Nutcracker we will try another option, thankfully more choices are popping up downtown! If you go...stick with the appetizers and salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2017

good food for pretheater, easy to get reservations

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We have eaten here many times over the years before seeing a Broadway Series Show. But, this last one was a bad experience from every aspect. Service was poor, wife's food was tasteless, my soup had some sort of strings in it( I told waitress once she finally came around and she came back much later to tell me that it was probably from their butter brush(?), in my soup???
Waited a long time for our bill and no comp for the bad food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our waitress was AWESOME! We think her name is Taylor. Really super curly hair. She served us with kindness and was very genuine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We went there after a matinee show , first time but won’t be the last. The special drink of the night fit in with the Show. The food was superb and a great presentation. Wine also very good. Oh yes the artichoke appetizer was beyond compare. Can’t forget our server, she made it all fun and completed a perfect eating experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Schuster theatre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

The special was mussels and Brussels spouts. The Brussels were great but the mussels were over cooked and chewy. We split a blueberry cheesecake that had a burned crust, and very faint blueberry flavor. The server wasn’t concerned when we pointed out the cheesecake issue. Also one of the bar servers wore very offensive perfume.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2017

The waitress was really rude. Tried to rush us through our meal. We booked for plenty of time to relax before the play. The waitress was condescending and impersonal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Nice place to dine prior to a show at the Schuster. The crab cake appetizer was good as well as the wine selection. The salmon was over cooked for an upscale restaurant. We informed the server the salmon was dry and over cooked. Disappointed no replacement or apology by management was offered.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 7, 2017

I've always enjoyed eating at Citilites. The menu is limited and allows for more attention to the quality of food preparation. That being said, I feel that an additional bus person should be checking tables to see if water is needed or any requests for service. At the height of the dinner hour it seems to be a tad too rushed for the servers and they must nearly run to accommodate their tables. I must say that I miss the squash lasagna from the previous menu. The house wine is very good. The scallop dish could use more flavor among the garnishments. The filet's mushrooms weren't as described. These are all small suggestions that, by no means, would keep me from Citilites. Always enjoyable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We come here for dinner prior to every show/concert that we attend at the Schuster. So convenient!! Our server, Sara, as always did a wonderful job - super friendly and attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Superb experience, personable service, great vegetarian dishes.
We always try and pair an event at the Schuster with Citilites.

Marvin Miller

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

We were seated immediately. We both chose the scallops, and, they were excellent. Service was quite attentive, despite a little wait for the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Nice obience. Waitress wasn't all that great. Beautiful presentation of food, however, toppings to my entrêe was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Food is pretty good but pricey. The service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 13, 2017

My wife and I ate at Citilites before a symphony performance. We both had the filet, which were cooked exactly as requested. The side dish of mushrooms was quite good and our server, Taylor was attentive but not overbearing. An excellent combination of food and service and very convenient for attending an event at the Schuster Center.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great service from Joycelyn who remembered us. She got the martinis perfect this time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Presentation of scallops was a beautiful surprise. Salmon dinner chosen by my companion and my scallops dinner were exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I love Citilites. I come before almost all the shows I attend. The drinks, food and service are great!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Stopped in for dinner before the show. In our party, we had the following:
Brie Pasta with grilled chicken. The pasta looked like it had been sitting under a heating lamp. It had very little flavor and the pasta was rather dry.
Scallops - these were very good.
Filet Mignon - also very good - however requested med and it was pretty well-done.
Chicken Dinner - was good.
For appetizers we had soup (tomato bisque - very good) and Brussel sprouts which were delicious!
For dessert we had Bread pudding - which was good and Chocolate cake which was very very dry.
Overall an adequate dinner - but definitely not up to the standards we are used to when dining at Citilites.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The meal and service were great, but there was some concern about getting our bills and payments processed so we would get seated for the performance on time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food is always good...I look forward to their specials.
They are quite busy before theatre matinees so service can be slow...we plan plenty of time for our meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We always eat here before the theater. It is convenient, easy for me to access, decent food, good service, friendly waitresses, and the prices aren't to lofty.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2017

lunch was good; cherry pie was excellent! I would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Staff is exceptionally nice. One of our favorite places. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Our server, Derek, was wonderful! Great food and cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Service was slow, they were out of the appetizer I ordered, and drinks arrived ungarnished. They always seem unprepared for show night crowds. A missed opportunity for the VTA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food and wine were excellent and service was great.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

we had reservations at 645 for an 8 oclock performance by the Dayton philharmonic. service was excellent, our server very pleasant, and we were done with time to spare for the Prince tribute. A great night and fun experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Love this place!!!!! Food is always amazing!
I tell everyone I know how great Citilites is !!!!!!
Keep up the Great work!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My experience was simply amazing. The food was absolutely delicious. The service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food oddly flavored. Pasta dish was bland. Eggplant dish sauce strangely sweet. Blue cheese salad dressing poor. Portions smaller, which for us older folks might be better, but they just a bit too small. Higher priced. Service was fairly good.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We booked a table prior to a show at the Schuster Center, which is our custom. Booking it on Open Table was a plus! We had plenty of time to have drinks before we perused the menu for dinner. I don't eat much and had to decide among a few tasty looking appetizers. My husband had a filet that was perfectly grilled. We were able to take our time dining and still have time before the doors to the seating opened. We will continue to dine at Citilites before our events at the Schuster Center.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, People Watching, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

This was my first use of Open Table in making a reservation. It worked perfectly.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Fun, Vegan, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Perfect pre-concert venue. Inside Shuster made dining so convenient. Reservations were very well worked, even in advance for a particular table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

food was good but did not get all that was ordered....since I was attending symphony, did not want to try to reorder....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.