About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://www.schustercenter.org/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Dayton
1 More
Special Occasion
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Dayton ›

special occasion (64)
fit for foodies (37)
great for lunch (36)
See All
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for brunch (18)
scenic view (14)
romantic (13)
notable wine list (10)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The convenience of using Citilites for d ...

Dined 3 days ago

The convenience of using Citilites for dining before a Schuster Center arts performance is a great asset. Because we park early to attend dinner before a performance we avoid the "last minute" hassle of finding a parking place if we dine someplace else before a show.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We enjoyed our time at Citilites very mu ...

Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our time at Citilites very much, and appreciated the beautiful view of Dayton's downtown architecture. The neighboring buildings are never very visible for very long as we drive through, and it was wonderful to be able to gaze upward at the details. The food was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Took 12 minutes after we were seated for ...

Dined 3 days ago

Took 12 minutes after we were seated for our waiter to come. Very slow, seemed to not like job. Food was good but didn't feel like it worth what I normally get for the cost.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was. Rey pleasant and relaxing before ...

Dined 3 days ago

It was. Rey pleasant and relaxing before the show. Everyone on the group was. Rey pleased with the wonderful food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We ate at Citilites prior to a performan ...

Dined 3 days ago

We ate at Citilites prior to a performance of the Lion King. While convenient, I food was very mediocre and fairly pricey. I had gone online to check out the menu before reserving a table and was presented the lunch menu. The dinner menu, which is only served before evening performances, was either not online or not extremely visible because I missed it. The food is rather pricey ($24 barbecue chicken) and was served lukewarm. I expected $9 sandwiches and got $24-35 entrees, which would have been ok had the food been better.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Citilites is mainly for the convenience ...

Dined 3 days ago

Citilites is mainly for the convenience of eating before a show at the Schuster. This is our second time eating there before a show, but the food hasn't been all that great. We will be eating somewhere else beforehand.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The lunch menu was full of light and per ...

Dined 3 days ago

The lunch menu was full of light and perfect meal choices. The prices were slightly less than I anticipated, so that was a pleasant surprise. Service was great. The food was not spectacular, but good. We had an apple dumpling for dessert which had obviously been microwaved to re-heat. It was nuked about two minutes too long. It came out too hot to eat, then became chewy. Other than that, the meal was good and I would go back anytime.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined before LION KING performance. Foo ...

Dined 3 days ago

Dined before LION KING performance. Food and service were great!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great when attending the plays it is qui ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great when attending the plays it is quick and convenient t

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to eat before seeing a show ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great place to eat before seeing a show at the theater in the same building.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

When I saw the menu online I was really ...

Dined 4 days ago

When I saw the menu online I was really excited to go here. So many of the dishes sounded amazing! If only the food lived up to the descriptions. We started with the charcuterie plate. Nothing bad, but nothing wowed us. The prosciutto was cut too thick so it was a little chewy, the sausages were a bit overcooked, and two of the three cheeses weren't anything I couldn't buy at Kroger in the standard cheese section, but nothing was terrible. My kale Caesar salad ($2 upcharge from the house salad that comes with my meal) was actually pretty good. The kale wasn't cut down so I had a hard time eating elegantly (the stems kept stabbing my face), and it was a little heavily dressed, but the croutons were really flavorful and crispy. Then came the mains. My wife had the salmon sandwich and the few bites I had actually weren't too bad (and it was reasonably priced considering the giant piece of fish that came with it). The "heirloom tomatoes" were just standard beefsteak, and the salmon was way overcooked for my liking (my wife didn't mind), but overall not bad. My lobster risotto was downright terrible. The lobster was flavorless and chewy (and half of it looked pre-chewed), and the broccoli rabe was completely devoid of salt. The risotto itself was my favorite part, but I was promised truffle in the menu description and it tasted of nothing but rice. We did not try the desserts because nothing sounded good, and based on the meal we had had so far, I bet they were all store bought with Hershey's syrup slathered over the top. In terms of ambience, the place was pretty meh, but that's not entirely their fault. The outside portion (in the lobby) was quieter, but had a lot of echos. It reminded me of eating in an airport cafe. Our table was also almost too small for two people. Inside was a lot nicer, but very loud. Our waitress was nice and attentive, but kept apologizing for the food being late, even though it wasn't. It was really kind of awkward.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at Citilites, as ...

Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner at Citilites, as we did the previous time. We requested to sit in the bar area, because we like the lower ceiling and a more intimate atmosphere than out in the open area. Both times we were impressed with the staff, their efficiency, friendliness, and knowledge of the menu. We tried the chardonnay which was featured, and found it smooth and enjoyable. I ordered the crab cakes, which I had done before, and this time they were too spicy for my taste. Other than that, I have no criticisms of our food, and we look forward to going to Citilites again.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to Citilites several times pri ...

Dined 5 days ago

Have been to Citilites several times prior to the theatre. It's a great location for those occasions and comes with an interesting and pleasant ambience. It is quiet for being mostly open and seating is comfortable. The menu is somewhat limited and they try to be responsive to the people there for the shows. My particular dinner was not very good and the one they brought to replace it wasn't either. It appears to have been cooked much earlier and it dried out. Bringing out a sauce to cover the dry meat was no help. My wife's dish was excellent as was the salads. Service was excellent and management intervened with options that were satisfactory and fair. Drinks were adequate and fairly priced. Passed on the desert.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The menu actually read better than the f ...

Dined 6 days ago

The menu actually read better than the food. It was presented beautifully! The biggest issue I found was the lack of seasoning. Food would have benefitted from salt and pepper; was bland. The risotto had no flavor at all! Butter - poached Lobster was tough and chewy. Sorry I couldn't give a better review.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Small meal not really worth the expense. ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Small meal not really worth the expense. We were their merely for the convenience of eating in the schuster center to attend a performance . Handicapped people need more time and cannot walk in with the usual crowd. Service was excellent!!!!! Bigger meals of the same quality would be great.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Patrons go to Citilites for a meal prior ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Patrons go to Citilites for a meal prior to performances at the Schuster Center and, consequently, are always anxious to get their food and drinks in a timely manner. While our food and drinks did arrive in time to be finished before the show, the wait staff did not acknowledge the deadline nor did they appear to recognize the anxiety that customers at several tables seemed to be consumed with. The meal was good but not great especially where value versus price is concerned. No drink order was taken for almost 10 minutes and it was nearly another 10 minutes before they arrived. No bread appeared at the table until after the main course arrived. The lettuce on our dinner salads was limp but the house dressing was very good. The shrimp on the appetizer were small and overcooked and without much flavor. The Barbecue Chicken was a bit dry. Overall, while I consider the food quality and service to be average at best and the prices too high, I would only go back for the convenience of eating at the venue itself.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, wonderful ambiance, good serv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, wonderful ambiance, good service. This is a great place for a meal before a show at the Schuster!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Citilites givea Daytonians a wonderful e ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Citilites givea Daytonians a wonderful evening of a great meal and theater

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We actually eat here every time we go to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We actually eat here every time we go to a performance at the Schuster Center and have always enjoyed it. Although the menu is not extensive I think that the variety is enough that anyone could find something to enjoy. Even though we usually go only for performances, I would say it is a good choice for any occasion.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

What a disappointment. My husband's lam ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

What a disappointment. My husband's lamb dinner was a very small end-rack that consisted of mostly bone and a small mouthful of meat. We found the entire menu to be described with fancy words and very little substance. Even the desert was over-cooked and dried out. Never again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Sara, ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Sara, our server, was a gem. we loved the atmosphere and the food was superb!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful seating in the Winter Garden. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful seating in the Winter Garden. Food is interesting, some combinations work better than others or depends on your taste, but overall quite good. Nice presentation. Only open for dinner when an event is presented in the theatre. They are also open for lunch every week day. Nice place for an upscale lunch or to take a friend to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was absolutely delicious! It wa ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious! It was definitely a lot more expensive than I was hoping to spend, but it did taste wonderful. Our service could have been a lot better. Our server had a bad habit of ignoring my daughter. My daughter didn't get her drink until after our main course was delivered to our table, even though we asked multiple times! We finally asked another server and had the drink in minutes. We also ordered desserts and again our server ignored my daughter's order! My daughter is 12 and has been ordering for herself for years with no problems like this before!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good. Nice salad and panini. Servic ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Very good. Nice salad and panini. Service very attentive

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We like to eat here when going to someth ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We like to eat here when going to something at the Schuster because it's so very convenient. Service tonight was very good, but it has sometimes been spotty. My eggplant dish was a little disappointing, although the sauce was delicious. Noise level fine. Food is usually reasonably good, not usually outstanding,

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a very good dinner prior to the Lion ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had a very good dinner prior to the Lion King at the Schuster. Our table was in the atrium and was quite nice. The menu selection was good. I had the lobster risotto. Although the rice wasn't quite like a true soupy/creamy risotto, it was very good. I was surprised that there was a decent amount of lobster and it was properly cooked. Very good.The accompanying house salad with the house dressing was delicious. My mother ordered the salmon sandwich. The salmon portion was generous. It was served on two very, very thick sliced of bread (like Texas toast) which was overwhelming. So my mother didn't eat the bread. There was plenty of salmon and the sweet potato chips were delicious and plentiful. I would suggest they serve the salmon over rice or with potatoes and skip the bread. Service was excellent. We were not rushed and had plenty of time to get to our seats for the play. Overall, we were very pleased.

food4
ambience4
service5

One of the few places to eat if you are ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

One of the few places to eat if you are attending a show at the Schuster. Be sure to reserve a week early.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on June 9, 2016

We ordered the lobster and truffle risotto, the lobster was cold. The waitress took it back to have our order remade. It was no better the second time plus the risotto was gummy. They gave us free desserts to compensate. My friend had the apple dumpling which she said was very good. I had the bread pudding which was not pudding at all. More like baked bread, very dry and tasteless. I would have to eat there again to see if another entree was better prepared before recommending this restaurant. 😝 The food was always very good with the previous chef.

food3
ambience4
service3

Great pre-theater dinning experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great pre-theater dinning experience

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

theater dinner

Dined on June 8, 2016

As this restaurant is on the first floor of the theater building we find that it is a great place for dinner before attending a theater presentation. Food and service are always great. Once finished with your meal or drinks it is convenient not having to leave the building .

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Evening with my granddaughter.

Dined on June 7, 2016

It was not my first time eating at Citilites, the food was great, but this time I was a little disappointed with the servicer. But over all it was a great evening. I will re-turn.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Exceptional cuisine, convenient for theater goers

Dined on June 7, 2016

Located in the Schuster Center for the Performing Arts, downtown Dayton, Ohio. Citilites offers a short, yet excellent menu, capable wine list and a wait staff dedicated to enhancing our dining experience. Whenever we are attending a performance at Dayton's Schuster Center, we always look to Citilites to add a nice dining experience to our enjoyment of the show.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

If you have tickets for The Shuster, it is OK.

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

But not more. 3 of us had the lamb, all well done. Nobody asked for the desired doneness. A few misfires for service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent

Dined on May 20, 2016

We love coming here. We always have excellent food and impeccable service. We really enjoy the menu changes. This is one of our top three places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was good overall. The salads a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was good overall. The salads and the soup were great. The waitress was awkward, overly invested in whether we followed her advice, hovering in a way/checking a bit too often, pushing dessert/coffee. She was nice, but the interaction was awkward. The atmosphere is fantastic, although the tables out in the atrium are far more pleasant than those by the bar.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Premiere performance

Dined on May 20, 2016

From the moment we were seated, we were well cared for by a very attentive waitress who was knowledgeable about the menu offerings and wine list. Our meals were delicious, the duck practically melted in my mouth with flavor. Many thanks for a great beginning to a musical extravaganza of Sung and Orff.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always wonderful. That's why I keep comi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always wonderful. That's why I keep coming back! One of my Dayton favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for concerts on May 13th a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were there for concerts on May 13th and 20th and decided to eat at Citilites. We loved it, the food was great and the portions were perfect for going to a concert after dinner. Our servers both times were right on point. Taylor was our server on the 20th and was new and did a great job. Citilites will be our go to place for dinner before a concert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day treat

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was first-time visit. Service was prompt and continuous. Duck was excellent, and Filet Mignon was excellent as well and cooked exactly as ordered. Sides were very good, and chocolate cheesecake was extremely good! Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Needs polish

Dined on May 7, 2016

Waited 15min+ for recognition by server. Menu on web site was not offered. Lamb overcooked.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.