About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (51)
Special Occasion (24)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
People Watching (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Live Music (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Scenic View (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed dinner with the girls before seeing Kinky Boots the food presentation was very nice, I had chicken confit with mashed, collard greens and a waffle, it was well cooked and seasoned good. It was nice they had a signature cocktail named for the musical

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

brie sauce on pasta with shrimp was milder than expected. would have appreciated wine pairing recommendation to go with the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

We were dining before attending Kinky Boots. The delivery of the food seemed to take a long time from when we ordered. Our waiter was great, I believe the problem must have been with the kitchen. I ordered the Brie Pasta. It could have been warmer. It tasted good, but it definitely needed to be warmer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

I have eaten here before and enjoyed. However, this night the food was not good at all. We had a great waitress. We had to send back our steaks twice. The manager was not helpful. He felt that since it was a special and reasonably priced, we should eat the VERY overdone steak. His comment was that "you're not at Ruth's Chris". Granted, but we still deserved a good meal. He said he would take 50% off our food bill - which he did not. He also told us that since he is leaving this job very soon for another one, he wasn't overly concerned. My guess is that he won't last a long time in the new job either. I will try Citilites again, but was not remotely impressed with management.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Citilites is my go-to dining option when I go to the Schuster. It is always good quality in every way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at CitiLites many times and this last time before the opera, Carmen, was a huge disappointment. I selected the Beef Tips from the Culinary Adventures potion of the menu and it was an adventure I do not care to repeat. Instead of beef tips, I was served beef shreds that looked and tasted the scrapping from the rib of a rib roast. They were covered in a tasteless bechamel sauce with microgreens The micogreens on beef were odd and did not complement the meat. The potatoes were mushy and tasted like yesterday's leftover potatoes. The "wild" mushrooms served with the asparagus were the familiar button mushrooms found in every grocery. The asparagus was fine but the sauce on it was oily. I would have been embarrassed to have served this meal in my own home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I have eaten at Citilites at least 15 times before; always have dinner here before a performance.
Most have been very good to excellent.

Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with this last visit. The special, Paella, was served luke-warm/cold. Service was also slow with the waiter taking care of several tables. He never stopped by and inquired on how the meal was.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Citilites continues to be my first pick when I go to a performance downtown. The food is excellent and so is the service. I love being "in the room where it happens".

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our server, Sara, was, as usual, phenomenal. Unfortunately, this time around, my filet was atypically not up to par. Not much flavor to speak of, and a bit overdone. The rest of the my meal, my spouse's meal, and the dessert were great, however.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent, but when food served it was cold, to much money to pay for cold food. Expensive for comparable food at comparable restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Family Style, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The Wintergarden salad is amazing...I'm always craving it. The atmosphere is so cool; very unique and totally underrated downtown restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Every thing was good except I had to send my pork chop back(under cooked)

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Hamburger too greasy. Chips were cold, no seasoning, tasted like cardboard

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. We requested a table in the Schuster open area and loved it. I highly recommend CitiLites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Perfect and convenient for pre show drinks and meal. Upscale decor and Menu with prompt service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Disappointing meal, especially since an earlier dining experience had been great across the board. The entree' featured more rye bread than walleye. The dessert was too sweet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very pleased with the food , great to have dinner right before a performance in the same building. A little bit pricy, but still would come back.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Person serving came out of the restroom, wiping his nose and rubbing his stomach. He did not have on gloves when serving and I watched him serve several people and kept wiping his nose on his hand while walking back to the kitchen/counter. I wish I had taken a video to show their management and Health Department.
Food was barely luke warm when served and small portions for over $28.00 meal. Food is not the quality expected with service. I only choose restaurant due to convenient for Schuster Center Shows but will not choose in future.

Tags: Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent service - eat here frequently when attending theatre. Steak not up to it's usual caliber this visit. Ordered medium rare but was medium. Wine and sides with meal excellent. Truffle dessert good but not great. Will return - like the atmosphere and their tomato basil soup is excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I had the filet mignon and was surprised by the poor quality. The cut was small and of less than average quality. To make things worse it was overcooked and tough to cut and chew. The restaurant is very convenient for dinner before Schuster and Victoria events and that's the biggest draw. Hopefully the steaks that my dining group had was just a one time breakdown in their quality, if not they will lose customers!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We usually utilize Schuster CitiLites before our Broadway Series performances. We are season ticket holders and find it very convenient. We also stop by when we go to other performances at the Victoria Theater.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Luncheon menu was OK. Nothing spectacular. My chicken salad sandwich was literally tasteless.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I always try to include dinner here as part of my night out when seeing a show....good food and super accessible!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2017

average food, kind of pricey, but nice surroundings and views were great with open spaces and glass ceiling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Great friendly service. Good food. Served hot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Just wanted to mention the double burger I had. I had it last month before the Broadway Series and again this month . Last month it was 2 thin patties and I loved it. This month I was expecting the same and the burgers were each almost double in size that they were before. While the larger ones were good, my preference would have been the thinner ones I had previously.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I prefer dining in the bar side of the restaurant because of the cozy atmosphere. Food choices offer something for everyone and the service was great. Wine was affordable. Beer only in bottles or cans. I would rather have some beer choices on tap.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great menu ! Great food !! Great service ! !
Great atmosphere !
ALL of this , before attending a dynamite musical ....MOTOWN THE MUSICAL !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Romantic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Good food, excellent service. We did enjoy our dinner. A bit pricey tho

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Maybe the worse meal I have had out in 70 years! My wife's was equally bad. The
meals took 45 minutes to get. My beef was way overcooked and delivered cold (as
was the lady's at the table next to us). The beef was full of gelatin. My wife
got the pheasant special and she could not cut it with a steak knife (and she
has excellent arm strength). I filled out the card with the details and we
tipped Courtney as if all was well (none of it was her fault). I heard bad
things about you from our bed & breakfast, but it was mostly after the fact.
Citilites can turn the lights out as far as we are concerned. Bill Harris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waitress was courteous and informed. The food was delicious. Mine was not hot when I was served but our waitress took it back and heated it up quickly and it was perfect when she returned it. My martini was the one of the largest and best I have ever tasted. I had the trout and my friend had the scallops and shrimp. Both meals were perfection. Our dessert of butterscotch ice cream tasted nothing like butterscotch but whatever it was was delicious and refreshing. It's a relaxing and very nice place to dine and conveniently attend a production in the same facility. I wouldn't hesitate to do it again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The portions were good and the server was very pleasant. Food arriving at the table was not hot and the veggies were obviously cooked waynahead of serving. Nice to be able to eat there tn attend the concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was amazing!!! So deliciously prepared, you could actually taste the love that went into the preparation!! We had the smoked trout special!!! Truly the best smoked trout ever! The vegetables cooked perfectly. We also had the Brussels Sprouts Frites!!! Yummy!!!
Thank you for making our evening with the Dayton Philharmonics the best!!! We will be back to eat at Citilites!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was meeting a friend from out of town for dinner and the symphony. We decided to eat at Citilites because it was convenient. I throughly enjoyed my meal. I highly recommend the pastrami salmon appetizer. I had the chef's choice, which was trout with asparagus and roasted potatoes. The food was excellent, as was the service and it was nice to just walk a few feet to attend the show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Wouldn't recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We were pleased with everything. The server, whose name I believe was Paul, was first-rate!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Small portions and overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been dining here as season ticket holders (at Schuster) for 12 years. In the last year or so I think there had been changes at the executive chef level and for us it was a bit of a rough start. The menu was rife with mushrooms and polenta and there seemed to be a noticeable price jump. However the chef has seemed extremely responsive to feedback, each successive menu is better than the last. There is also more of a variety in pricing as well. This latest menu has so many appetizing options it was hard to decide. I had the braised beef and it was decadent. I don't tend to get effusive over a cut of meat but it was just that awesome! I could cut it with the edge of my fork it was soooo sumptuous. My friend had the shrimp and pasta dish, which she loved. Now I have the best kind of problem with Citilites, deciding what to order, it all looks so good. I feel like Citilites is back to being a bright spot on my calendar that I look forward to experiencing each month. The waitstaff is always excellent, the managers actively work the floor and the ambiance is stellar. We look forward to dining here for many seasons to come.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We went here for dinner before our show at the Schuster. Our service was very good. Courtney A. was out server and she did a very good job. The food was good too, good serving size, though maybe a bit overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good and enjoyable lunch with family before watching the afternoon performance at the Schuster!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.