About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://www.schustercenter.org/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Dayton
Special Occasion
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Dayton ›

special occasion (47)
fit for foodies (31)
great for lunch (30)
See All
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (13)
scenic view (12)
romantic (10)
notable wine list (10)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (9)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent

Dined 5 days ago

We love coming here. We always have excellent food and impeccable service. We really enjoy the menu changes. This is one of our top three places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was good overall. The salads a ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was good overall. The salads and the soup were great. The waitress was awkward, overly invested in whether we followed her advice, hovering in a way/checking a bit too often, pushing dessert/coffee. She was nice, but the interaction was awkward. The atmosphere is fantastic, although the tables out in the atrium are far more pleasant than those by the bar.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Premiere performance

Dined 5 days ago

From the moment we were seated, we were well cared for by a very attentive waitress who was knowledgeable about the menu offerings and wine list. Our meals were delicious, the duck practically melted in my mouth with flavor. Many thanks for a great beginning to a musical extravaganza of Sung and Orff.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always wonderful. That's why I keep comi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always wonderful. That's why I keep coming back! One of my Dayton favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for concerts on May 13th a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were there for concerts on May 13th and 20th and decided to eat at Citilites. We loved it, the food was great and the portions were perfect for going to a concert after dinner. Our servers both times were right on point. Taylor was our server on the 20th and was new and did a great job. Citilites will be our go to place for dinner before a concert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day treat

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was first-time visit. Service was prompt and continuous. Duck was excellent, and Filet Mignon was excellent as well and cooked exactly as ordered. Sides were very good, and chocolate cheesecake was extremely good! Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Needs polish

Dined on May 7, 2016

Waited 15min+ for recognition by server. Menu on web site was not offered. Lamb overcooked.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Some good some bad – great location.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Foremost, I think it's ridiculously overpriced. They are missing a middle spot between their appetizers and their entrées. It's hard to think about spending $80 for dinner, for two, on top of the ticket prices. That is a very expensive evening. The food is generally good but not comparable to a truly top restaurant you could find in larger cities. Usually the service is good, this last time though, both the receptionist and the wait staff seemed a bit confused about everything. Topping it off, my main course was undercooked and cold. You can't beat the location though. So, it's worth putting up with the shortcomings for the advantages.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

I have eaten at Citilites many times over the years. I am always impressed with prompt, courteous service and the kale Caesar salad. On a recent occasion, I had ordered the twin filets medium, and they showed up a little overcooked. I mentioned to Kyle (the manager) that my meal was unsatisfactory, and he immediately made amends. In addition to a fresh, medium-cooked steak, I received a complimentary cocktail for my inconvenience. All very unnecessary, but much appreciated. My wife and I eat out often, but rarely do we encounter such accommodating service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot to dine before a Schuster performance

Dined on April 24, 2016

The menu has recently been changed, and the inclusion of at least two items that have a vegetarian option, is a welcome addition. This visit was for lunch prior to an afternoon event at the Schuster, and we were not disappointed, and found that the service was as great as has been our experience when dining here before an evening concert. The lunch dessert menu could be expanded a bit with a bit more variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Citilites is Great

Dined on April 23, 2016

Six of us went to Citilites before a recent performance. The food was great, the service great (Aarika!). Very enjoyable.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Sever was most attentive. Thank you.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Surprised that the dining area was almost empty. Wish more people would appreciate the opportunity to park, dine, walk to the performance. We will plan to return for some future events.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Menu

Dined on April 16, 2016

As regular visitors to Citilites before a concert, we were please to see the new menu. A menu that has a couple of items listed with "Vegetarian option available". This is great for not only vegetarian diners, but also those who are allergic to seafood. Our server was wonderful, and the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

joni

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We go to Citilites before the Dayton Philharmonic events. Food on Friday was great. Duck and the Lobster risotto both delicious. This is the new summer menu. Service was courteous and efficient, but not annoying. So enjoyable, perfect really. This is now much better than just a pre-theater restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Food was good but it took almost an hour ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was good but it took almost an hour to get our food we were rushed to make the show

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant

Dined on April 2, 2016

Always excellent service, food and atmosphere. I love dining here before catching a performance at the Schuster Center or for lunch during the week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Fine food overshadowed by poor service

Dined on April 2, 2016

We visited Citilites before a performance of Dayton Ballet, making our reservation for 6:00 pm in the hopes of catching some, if not all, of the pre-show presentation. We arrived on time and were seated inside the restaurant, right in front of the kitchen. I almost asked for a quieter table, but then thought that it might be fun to see the food preparation and interaction with the wait staff. When we ordered, we let our server know that we planned to attend the ballet, and were surprised that she seemed unsure if we'd be finished in time. Our soups and salad arrived in a reasonable time and were quite good. However, when our food still had not arrived one hour and twenty minutes after we ordered, I asked the server when she thought we might receive it. She offered us a free glass of wine and did bring it, but when the food had still not arrived ten minutes later, I asked again. This time, the manager told me, quite rudely, that they were cooking it as fast as they could. We had ordered scallops, lamb chops and gnocchi, none of which take over 90 minutes to cook! The food arrived at 7:35 pm and we ate by 7:45 pm. When asked if we wanted dessert, we noted that there wasn't time, and asked for our check. While the food, overall, was good, the evening, planned as a fun-filled prelude to the ballet, certainly was not enjoyable. Since the restaurant is only open prior to performances, perhaps it should limit the menu to meals that can be prepared more quickly, or inform diners requesting a 6:00 pm reservation that they might not be able to finish before the performance.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As always a wonderful meal and excellent ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

As always a wonderful meal and excellent service. It is so convenient to dine at Citilites before a performance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting food before Feasting on performances

Dined on April 1, 2016

Amazing dinner before fantastic Schuster performance? Why not taste the best, at Citi Lites

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

dinner review

Dined on March 25, 2016

Service was great. I wish there were more options on dinner menu that were not so seafood based. Also, bring back the egg rolls or allow the zucchini cakes to be on dinner menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place to eat before a show

Dined on March 25, 2016

This has amazing food and drink list. Its the perfect place to eat right before a show. Our waitress was great. Our food and drinks came out promptly. I like that it has a small menu. I got the filet mignon and it was really good, and my friend got the scallops. Everything was so good and cooked perfectly I def. recommend this place.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and service

Dined on March 25, 2016

The service was outstanding! The tomato soup was absolutely delcious, the crab cakes cooked perfectly. The salad crisp and fresh.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Waitress was good and cordial. But food ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Waitress was good and cordial. But food order was wrong x 2. Scallops were tough. Food not as good as it should have been. Disappointed this time.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Citilites

Dined on March 25, 2016

I like that the restaurant menu offers different choices each time we go there. Eating there for dinner before the show acts as an appetizer for the main entree, which is the show itself. Dinner there helps to bring excitement for seeing the show. It's enjoyable watching the people come in for the show while eating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner before the show

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our food and service was excellent. Mary B was our server and she did an excellent job. We had the brussel sprouts as an appetizer. Very tasty. I had the Scallops and my dinner companion had the filet. Both were very good. The ambiance here is very nice. Citilites is a convenient place to eat before attending a show at the Schuster.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

Went for dinner before the show and spil ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Went for dinner before the show and spilt the 1/2 chicken entrée. Service was extremely slow--not sure if it was the waiter or the kitchen. I also found it disingenuous that the glass of White Zinfandel I pointed too from the menu for $6.00 was replaced the the waiter with a $9.00 glass! I have visited there numerous times and it's always hit or miss with the service. Our best experience has been going for an appetizer and desert, and not a dinner.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I don't think the selection is very good.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Need a better menu. I miss the good bread, they used to have. I think they are overpriced, considering the quality and selection.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable

Dined on March 12, 2016

Enjoyed dinner and drinks at the bar, our favorite seat. Courtney at the bar took good care of us! Might be time to update the small plates menu a bit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Second experience at Citilites. Wonderfu ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Second experience at Citilites. Wonderful food though pricey. Be prepared for that. Great to relax and dine at the Schuster Center before attending a performance. Lamb was wonderful and the filet was divine. Roasted Brussels Sprouts were great, though a huge serving for two people to share as a starter. Erica was our excellent server. Would like to dine in the inside area next time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner prior to a show at The Schuster!

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was amazing and so complex with the ingredients and wonderful flavors. Excellent service with trying to make showtime!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food: Delicious. Atmosphere: Beautiful!

Dined on March 11, 2016

So thankful I have more than 50 Characters to review Citilites! We love this restaurant. We have experienced Citilites several times and have always enjoyed great food, impeccable service and the lovely atmosphere you create for your guests! It always feels like a new restaurant as the menu changes often yet is always unbelievable. We recommend this restaurant for a special event. Make sure you prepare to leave a big tip!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Eat at the Schuster Center Before the Concert

Dined on March 5, 2016

Once again we dined before the concert. Nicely prepared dinner and bar service. Crab cakes were over done but otherwise no complaints as everyone is rushing to serve the diners and get them out before the concert/ play starts. Only comment would be that I would like more menu choices but with that would be a greater chance of not finishing on time and being late for the event we will attend AFTER dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent per concert dininh

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had the grilled walleye special. Wonderful meal. Good server. Pleasant and efficient

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the bst part of the opera

Dined on February 26, 2016

We come to Citilites before any performance we attend. The food is excellent and always a surprise in a good way. The bar mixes up fine cocktails. Try the Scottish Harvest. i also find the waitstaff competent and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Citilites offers a very nice upscale din ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Citilites offers a very nice upscale dining experience compatible with and convenient to special events at Schuster. Food quality and service is excellent. We would consider it as an occasional luncheon spot if we were in the downtown area. Otherwise, always for its values (above) as an evening venue in conjunction with the theatre. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Citilites is the perfectly located dinin ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Citilites is the perfectly located dining spot for persons about to attend performances at the Schuster Center or the Victoria Theater. The food is tasty and tastefully presented and the creative menu selections go far beyond the ordinary and predictable. Prices are somewhat high, but worth it considering the quality of the food and the convenient close proximity to the performance venues.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Ok experience

Dined on February 19, 2016

If they're going to seat people out on the floor of the Schuster Center the restaurant should work on sprucing up the area and creating more ambiance considering the menu prices. Had the bass and it was very mediocre. It didn't taste like it had been seasoned and the sauces were bland. The service and drinks were good.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Convenient is Sometimes what You Need

Dined on February 14, 2016

Before a matinee performance at Schuster, Citilites is a good alternative for lunch. Arriving early enough for lunch also guarantees you a good parking spot in the adjacent parking garage, which pays dividends upon leaving. The food is not spectacular and the menu is not deep, but it is good. The Brussel Sprouts are quite good, actually! The service is harried with a big crowd, but they do their best to serve everyone. The price is reflective of most luncheon pricing these days, so that is nice, since you don't feel taken advantage of for the convenience.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Citilites is a great dining choice befor ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Citilites is a great dining choice before a show at the Schuster Center. I am not sure I would recommend as a dinner choice otherwise.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Good food needs better setting

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was friendly and the food was good. The seating area was noisy due to being in the lobby area. It was also very cold since the a blast of very cold air came through every time the outer doors where opened. Perhaps the seating in the interior has a better ambiance and better temperature control.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.