About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (29)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Disabled Access (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (6)
Romantic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

This was my first use of Open Table in making a reservation. It worked perfectly.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Fun, Vegan, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Very accommodating. Exceptional service. Attractive presentation. Good range of selections on menu. Perfect for eating before a DPAA performance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We like Citilites and have dined there for years. We especially enjoy dining prior to Schuster events. We did like the new fall menu on Friday and so did our friends.
We noticed the wait staff change the other night. Although they were most attentive, they served skimpier drinks even though the drink price went up a dollar. In the past the martinis were always up to the brim & the waiter and we would laugh about sipping before spilling. Friday the liquid was 1/2 " below the brim. We did not say anything but will next time. Please serve an honest pour in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Good as always. Food is great and it is convenient when attending the Schuster shows. I liked being able to reserve a table on line/

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I've noticed the reviews concerning the slowness of the kitchen. Yes, it is slow but when you start from scratch it tends to take more time than a microwaved frozen entree.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Super location and nice menu for business lunch. Amy is a great server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Most enjoyable, my 9 year old great granddaughter especially enjoyed the special Little Mermaid drink .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We love having lunch before the Broadway Series on Sunday afternoons.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always it was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful. My fish special was barley luke warm and not very tasty. The others in my part ordered the filet which they all agreed was wonderful. I just ordered the raring item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I ordered egg plant napoleon. It was very tasteful and vegetarian and the presentation was fantastic. Could not have asked for better after show dinner. We saw the matinee of The Little Mermaid and had dinner after. It was just a fantastic day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I think they should offer some kid-friendly selections during the matinee performances that are geared towards children, eg The Little Mermaid, Cinderella, etc..
There is not much on the menu that kids would enjoy besides chips and fries.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We dined at Citilites before an afternoon matinee at the Schuster. The service was wonderful, the food was extraordinary, and the price was reasonable. You cannot beat the convenience of dining on good food and then walking right to your seats in the theater. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The burgers were good except for the soggy buns. The cheese sauce for the pasta tasted like watered down alfredo sauce. The caprese appetizer was not impressive at all. The tomato bisque was delicious. though. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We have season tickets to the Victoria Theater Broadway Series, and we love Citilites before a show. The food can be trendy with specials such as Brie pasta with shrimp that I had, or traditional with huge cooked-to-order burgers that my son enjoyed. Our server worked hard to accommodate my mom's request, and she was so thrilled. The wine is great, the server really knows the food, and being able to relax and enjoy in the theater before a show is wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great experience with my niece before a show. Our waiter Derrek H. was wonderful and friendly.
Besides making sure we were taken care of he went above and beyond for me. I left my sweater on my chair. We went to the show, during intermission I went back to Citilites and my sweater was on a chair, great! We were standing around waiting to go back to the show and Derrek found us to tell me about my sweater! Wow! What service
Thanks Derrek!
Tammy Sage

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Making the reservation using Open Table was excellent. Very convenient and easy to use. The food at Citilites is very good though a little pricey. Convenient location as well when attending a show or event at the Schuster Center.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We visited Citilites for a meal before the performance of Circus 1903, and to celebrate Father's Day. The show was great. Citilites was disappointing and forgettable.

We waited nearly a half hour for our entree after finishing our appetizer... and when the food arrived it was nearly cold. My wife's braised beef tips looked like lumps of charcoal and the Yukon potatoes were leathery. My walleye was barely above room temperature, very little flavor, and the rye bread pudding was cold and tough. When the food finally arrived, we had to wolf it down to make the curtain for the show---or we would have sent it back. The waiter... who pretty much ignored us... had the gall to try to sell us a dessert---when we had already told him we needed to cash out NOW to get to our show. The restaurant was NOT busy and other tables who ordered after us got their food before we did.

In short; Poor service, poor food, WAY overpriced, and an overall forgettable experience. We won't be back and we wouldn't recommend this place for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Dinner and drinks were mostly delicious, but my dad's steak was not cooked as requested...he wanted it "medium" and it was "well done" and not as good as the steaks have been there in the past.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

So nice to have lunch and go right in show at Schuster

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

WE HAD A GOOD EXPERIENCE FOR MUCH OF THE MEAL; HOWEVER AT THE END WE WAITED ABOUT 25 MIN. FOR OUR CHECK, ASKED ANOTHER SERVER FOR ASSIST AND WAITED YET LONGER. I FINALLY GOT UP AND SPOKE WITH MANAGER. WE FINALLY DID GET OUR CHECK WITH A BARE MINIMUM APOLOGY AND FURTHER WAIT OF SEVERAL MINUTES. THE SITUATION COULD HAVE BEEN HANDLED MUCH BETTER IF PEOPLE HAD BEEN MORE RESPONSIVE WHEN BROUGHT TO THEIR ATTENTION. G W TEMPLETON

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I was expecting to be lots nicer. Food tasted pretty good. Service was NOT great. Was very slow service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife and I both enjoyed the meal and the experience at Citilites. We decided to give it a try since were attending a show in the Schuster Center anyway and we were pleasantly surprised by the food and the service. Our waiter was extremely helpful and intuitive to our needs and truly enhanced our time there. We would both enthusiastically recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have made Citilites our go to restaurant before each Saturday evening Broadway Musical we attend at the Schuster Center. In order to relax a joy our company and food, we make reservations for 2+ hours before the show begins. We have never had a bad meal! Tomato Bisque Soup and Crab Cakes made a perfect meal for me while my husband enjoyed the Cheese Plate and a Filet Mignon! Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

very nice and wonderful food. pleasant experience before the show

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our very favorite place to enjoy fine food before a performance. We love the diverse and tasty selections, and the staff is outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Service was fine, but food was very, very slow coming out of the kitchen. It's gets slower every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food could have been very good, and the presentation was excellent, but the food was served cold. Except for the fact that we had theater tickets and not a lot of extra time, we would have sent the food back. The waiter was pleasant, but knew nothing about the menu or the wine list. A properly trained staff would have made this a very enjoyable experience, but based on this one exposure I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and service. The food is cooked to order and fresh. The drinks are well made and desserts are excellent. I would recommend this to everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Thus was our first experience at Citilites. When asked whether it was ok to seat us "inside," we said yes, not knowing we'd be seated looking at the backs of the people at the bar.
On the other hand, we thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary dinner. The food was prepared well, and the wait staff was appropriately attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Good service and food. Lively conversation before going to Philharmonic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Women's restroom had an overflowing toilet.
Server was very pleasant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We often eat at Citilites before events at the Schuster, in this case "Kinky Boots". My wife ordered the fruit and cheese plate, and I ordered the chef's cut, which was salmon, risotto, asparagus and salad. She enjoyed the lightness of her meal. My meal was nothing short of OUTSTANDING!! Every bite was delicious, and it was cooked perfectly. I've dined all over the world, and this was one of the best-tasting meals I have ever had.

Major downside to the experience: A completely inattentive waitress. Two other couples came into the restaurant 5 and 15 minutes after we did, and both had their drinks long before our waitress finally deigned to bring water and ask for our drink order. She needs to be trained better.

I should not have left a tip, but spoken to the manager. The only reason I didn't ask for the manager was because my food was so delicious, and I didn't want to spoil that part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went at 5:45 before 7:30 Sunday performance. Just the right amount of time for dinner - not rushed. Good service despite being short some wait staff over holiday weekend. Nice presentation of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The tomato bisque was tasty although I think many people would find it too salty. It was just warm when it was served, and it looked like it had been sitting awhile. The grilled cheese was just ok. The kale caesar salad was awesome as usual. I was there to see a show and I wanted to have dessert since I had plenty of time. The waitress took a long time to get back to us and seemed to be in a hurry to get us out so I didn't order any dessert. Based on past experience and things I overheard the waitress say to other tables I'd say they have a problem getting food out of the kitchen while it's still hot. They have some really good salads, and you can't beat the convenience if you're headed to a show, but I'm not sure I'd make a special trip downtown just to eat here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Could offer better bread options, like whole grains..

Portions are good for dinner.
Waitress and person seating us was helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with the girls before seeing Kinky Boots the food presentation was very nice, I had chicken confit with mashed, collard greens and a waffle, it was well cooked and seasoned good. It was nice they had a signature cocktail named for the musical

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The house salad with the added chicken was perfect before a show! I wish I would have tried the chocolate cheesecake. It looked so good! Service was outstanding!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 25, 2017

brie sauce on pasta with shrimp was milder than expected. would have appreciated wine pairing recommendation to go with the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.