About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Dayton ›

Pre/post Theatre (30)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Casual (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Romantic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was to dine with a friend pre-theater, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I was to dine with a friend pre-theater, however friend was stuck in traffic behind shut-down highway for an accident. Waitress Sara was very attentive, kind, and understanding of the situation. After a very good cocktail paired with a very boring cheese board, I inquired about several entrée options that were of interest. She was kind to inform me that the chicken and pork were reporting as too dry, so I opted for lobster risotto. The lobster was tender, but cold. The risotto was hot and creamy. I left her a very generous tip for kindly waiting on one at a table reserved for two. This was my second experience at this restaurant, and am not impressed with the expensive price for so-so food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

delightful service, delicious food, very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

delightful service, delicious food, very convenient for heading into the theatre for a production!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very convenient for a bite before a show ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very convenient for a bite before a show. It is a bit pricey for quality. Out waiter was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a pre-theatre meal for us. I w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This was a pre-theatre meal for us. I was glad to see a dinner salad on the menu as I didn't want a really big entrée prior to sitting for two hours! Excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall good experience. The Brussels Sp ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Overall good experience.

The Brussels Sprouts had a good flavor but was way under cooked. We didn't complain but noticed two other tables that left the sprouts on the table barley touched. Guess I should have made a comment earlier! Although, we were asked many times if the food tasted good. So we had the opportunity to complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Have dined 3 times before a show at Citi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Have dined 3 times before a show at Citilites good food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy the fact that I always find some ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I enjoy the fact that I always find something new and creative on the menu that often is a modern twist on an old favorite. It also has dishes that are new to me and always, always a delight to consume. And the bartenders are aces! Such interesting cocktails to sample.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Citilites is very inviting for a meal pr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Citilites is very inviting for a meal prior to a Schuster Center event. We like it inside across from the bar where there is lots of activity and energy and not so formal as in the Wintergarden. Wait staff know us and it's nice to be treated well and have good service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Imagine my surprise when I showed up at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Imagine my surprise when I showed up at my reservation time and was told that there was no reservation under my name. The fact that I received this followup email asking for a review, suggests that there is a problem with the open table reservation system. I will make sure a call my reservations in from now on to avoid further embarrassment and inconvenience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First we were shown a table in the bar a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

First we were shown a table in the bar area which was very warm and confined and noisy from the kitchen so we asked to be seated out front. Mistake--it was freezing cold. My main meal was cold and had to be re-heated (re-plated in a much smaller portion.) Our server, Mary, was excellent and really made it fun. Otherwise, the appetizer of samples was dried out and over-cooked (fried). and the main was rather garish with a lump of pork and one small brussel sprout sliced. Really!? Salad had too much spikey- weed type leaves. And it all got so cold so quickly because of the fans or air coming from above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

This is such a great place to eat prior ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is such a great place to eat prior to a concert or play or production of any kind at the Schuster Center. Service can vary a bit depending on the size of the crowd before an event since timing is of the essence. We like our vegetables a bit crunchy, as opposed to mushy, but I will admit that on this occasion our appetizer of very tasty roasted brussel sprouts, and the broccolini that came with my risotto, were a bit too crunchy even for me. And the broccolini had no flavor; clearly had not been touched with any seasoning or sauce or marinade of any kind. But this will not stop us from returning.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious food, attentive server! I wil ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food, attentive server! I will enjoy future dinners at Citilites with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the meal and our wonderful serve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and our wonderful server Mary. This is a regular stop for my wife and I, and we are rarely disappointed. My wife enjoyed the Ratpack Manhattan and Juicy Burger. I am a big fan of the kale salad, this time with salmon. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a perfect location when attending ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It is a perfect location when attending a show at the Schuster, Victoria, or the Loft. The food is very good and served in an artistic manner. The menu has something to please everyone. We always enjoy our meal at Citilites.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I’m a season holder to the DPAA and enjo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I’m a season holder to the DPAA and enjoy eating at Citilites for its atmosphere and convenience of being at Schuster Center. However the food quality and temperature varies from time to time. Dinner price averages to be about $30-40 per person and if it’s a special event there a chance your food may be disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

First our reservation was lost, second m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First our reservation was lost, second my food (Pork tenderloin) was cold, second serving was lukewarm, wife's food was also lukewarm. Service was better than previous visits. Like the idea of dining there before the DPO Performance, but just not worth the problems. We try the place once or twice a year and always problems!! If we are there only for small plates usually no issue.

I asked for a refill on my coffee, got it , but my wife's cup was ignored. Attention to detail is not a hallmark of this place, get you in, out and close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

On the afternoon that we dined, there wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 23, 2016

On the afternoon that we dined, there was much to be desired. Citilites was very understaffed. The food arrived barely warm. Wait time for drinks and food was not very satisfactory. We have dined here numerous times and certainly did not expect this experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was different but good. Soup w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was different but good. Soup was served lukewarm and we waited longer than I would expect for soup and sand. Mom ordered coffee and cheesecake for dessert. Coffee came right away bu cheesecake took at least 20 minutes. Our server was very nice and personable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food! The crab cakes and filet mi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food! The crab cakes and filet mignon sandwich are delicious! The dessert and coffee were both outstanding as well!!

Tags: Family Style, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and our waitress ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was excellent and our waitress did a fabulous job. Convenient and great way to start our evening before our show .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed great food, tomato bisque and Me ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Enjoyed great food, tomato bisque and Metropolitan Salad (one with chicken and one with salmon). Very convenient for the theatre!

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We were very disappointed in the food an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food and service. The price was very high for a ver low quality of food. The best part of the dinner was the location to the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Overall Fantastic. Hostess was not frien ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall Fantastic. Hostess was not friendly nor did she even welcome us or make eye contact.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had the chef's special - which w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We both had the chef's special - which was delicious. My dessert was also yummy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time for lunch. Excellent sandwich ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

First time for lunch. Excellent sandwich. Enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wouldn't think of dining anywhere els ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We wouldn't think of dining anywhere else before going to the theatre. The variety of dishes including small plates is perfect. The staff goes out of the way to accommodate us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here prior to attending a sho ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Had dinner here prior to attending a show in the Schuster Center. It appeared to be a busy night for the restaurant, perhaps busier than what they were prepared for. Service was pleasant, but spotty. Waited 20+ minutes after ordering to be served the salad/soup portion of our meals. One of us had the Pastrami Short Ribs, the other had the Pork “Wellington” Crepinette. Presentation of both were excellent. The short ribs were prepared differently than expected, but still tasted good. The meal was supposed to be served with roasted root vegetables, but most of the vegetables were brussels sprouts. The Pork dish was dry and not very delicious, so based on this one experience could not recommend that. Given the quality of the servings, the entree price (average $27 each) was a bit pricey. Still, it was very convenient for attending a show at the Schuster Center, and there was promise shown in the food, so we will give it another chance the next time we go to a show there. (Reservations are highly recommended, as we observed many other show goers dining there, and those just walking in had 15 to 20 minute waits.)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We took my sister out for her 72nd birth ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We took my sister out for her 72nd birthday with dinner and Jersey Boys as her gift. The service was terrific, and the only problem was getting our steaks well done instead of medium. They still tasted good and we did not send them back, but for the price, they should have been done to order. Will we come back......certainly, but I will ensure our food is prepared as ordered. Overall, between dinner and the show, it was a great birthday.

Rick & Susan Lockwood

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined here before and had great food; th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Dined here before and had great food; this time, not so much. Food was very bland and over cooked. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The entire experience was fabulous. We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The entire experience was fabulous. We plan on eating at Citilites again before our next play!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Food was delicious and we enjoyed having cast members of Jersey Boys sitting at next table.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love everything about Citilites, from ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I love everything about Citilites, from the first time I was I was there. The service, the food, the music, just everything about it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Read a lot of negative reviews so I was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Read a lot of negative reviews so I was a little apprehensive.

But we were going to see Jersey Boys and the restaurant is right there.

We had a wonderful experience. Our waitress Hillary was very attentive , always checking on us.

Our drinks came out fast, and our food order very timely. Had plenty of time to enjoy our meal, which was very good, and people watch. We will do this again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Live Music, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely dinner here before our o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here before our opera. My friend is on a special diet called whole 30 and she was able to find things on the menu that were compliant with her diet. My dinner was delicious, and the service was great as usual. So convenient to the Schuster center too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with both our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were very disappointed with both our dinners. The lobster was tasteless, the risotto were like Uncle Ben rice and both main courses were served lukewarm at best. We have had great dinners prior to this! Wonder what happened. We complained to our server who offered to warm our food but we were half way through by then. She said she will let the chef know but no feed back from her.

We will not be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We much enjoyed our meal. For us, it's ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We much enjoyed our meal. For us, it's the best way to relax and enjoy wine and appetizers before a performance of the Dayton Philharmonic.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Meat was tough even when cooked medium r ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Meat was tough even when cooked medium rare. Great idea to have delicious and fiery hot fries in little paper bag. Nice presentation. Accompanying sauce was too sweet and syrupy. We dined for a pre-concert supper.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food! After several hiccups wi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very good food! After several hiccups with my wife's dish, everything was good! Would def go back

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Expectations- Did not deliver We ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great Expectations- Did not deliver

We have been to Citilites before and it was a low key gourmet experience- not so this time. We made a reservation 1 month ahead of the event we were attending at Schuster with the intent of getting a quiet table etc. Instead they ignored our Open Table reservation- and gave us a table next to the kitchen.The service was extremely slow considering that the restaurant KNEW this was a sell out performance and they HAVE seen these before. When the food finally did come it was 10 min before the performance and we had to literally choke our food down. The food was not gourmet- although the prices were high. It was a big disappointment. We also eat across the street at Pizza Uno's not a fancy place but they get you out on time. We have no plans to go back to Citilites in the near future when we are attending events at the Schuster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Another wonderful evening at Citilites. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Another wonderful evening at Citilites. It was opening night for the 2016-2017 arts season, so the restaurant was packed and there was a new menu. I had to send my entree back as it was just mildly warm. It was refired and excellent upon return. My husband's entree was excellent as well. We were glad we made reservations for an early time as some of the later arriving guests had to wait awhile for their entrees. But then again, the place was packed. We sat in the inside portion of the restaurant. It was fun to watch the activity in the kitchen and the expediting of the food items. Our server Mary was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.