About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (39)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food in a beautiful setting! I would recommend reservations but they are not necessary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Slow service
Didn’t get special orders correct 2/4.
Manager didn’t offer anything to compensate
Grilled cheese was nothing special. Was given heel of the loaf.
Soup wasn’t hot

Usually have dinner there which was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great, portions generous. Service was really good! However, I do miss the "pick two" that used to be an option (at least for lunch) in the past. I really like the "Winter-garden Salad" but can't eat an entire salad and I really appreciated pairing it with the tomato bisque soup. Please think about bringing that back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great but sitting in the atrium area was cold. Every time people walked tin the outside doors we could feel the cold air.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised by the dining area that is not seen from the general area. Also service was exceptional and food was good as well. Also there was an atmosphere of excitement which was nice. Thanks for a pleasant evening!!! ❤️🎶✌️😁👌❤️🎉❤️

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was average, portions were too small, and price was way to high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2018

While my experience this particular visit was a bit disappointing, I highly recommend eating here. Past experiences have been wonderful & I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2018

My meal was delicious (filet mignon and Wintergreen salad) and our server was very attentive. I accidentally left my gloves there, and was happy to find them after the concert on the table where I'd been seated. I love the convenience of eating here before a performance!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Food was cold for the 4th time I have been there. Food was a very small portion .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Great service, food & ambiance. We were treated to some live entertainment while dining & waiting to be seated for the evening's performance. Be sure to try the "Fried Brussels Sprouts in a sage Dijon cream sauce", you won't regret it (the best preparation of sprouts I've ever had & enough for 2 people).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Before attending a performance at the Schuster, this is the best place to dine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2018

IN PAST DINNERS AT CITILITES, WE HAVE ALWAYS HAD A 5-STAR MEAL AND HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO OTHERS. HOWEVER, WHEN WE DINED 1/20/18 PRIOR TO THE DAYTON SYMPHONY PROGRAM, WE FELT OUR FOOD WAS MEDIOCRE. ONE OF US HAD THE HALIBUT WHICH HAD BEEN SUBSTITUTED DUE TO SALMON NOT AVAILABLE - & FISH WAS DRY & OVERCOOKED, NOT SEASONED WELL. THE OTHER ENTREE WAS THE SCALLOPS WHICH WERE GOOD B UT COLD & WITH ALMOST A NON-EXISTENT DOLLOP OF SAUCE & HARD, TASTELESS CROSTINI(?) ON TOP OF SCALLOP. THE WINTER GARDEN SALAD & DRESSING WAS EXCELLENT, AS WERE THE WINE AND COFFEE. PERHAPS IT WAS A BAD NIGHT FOR THE KITCHEN STAFF FOR SOME REASON, WHICH HAPPENS IN ANY RESTAURANT OCCASIONALLY. WE WILL RETURN FOR A MEAL AGAIN BUT HOPE TO HAVE A BETTER MEAL TO ENJOY AND REMEMBER.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Our filet mignons were cooked very well and the service was superb. However, every time someone entered the Schuster Center a very cold draft went through the restaurant. I would have been more comfortable eating in my winter coat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We know that when we go to Citilites and Sara is our server we will have a wonderful experience, with attentive, friendly and well-paced service. Our orders were all prepared as requested and met our expectations. One usual issue was that tact that our table, on the periphery of the restaurant seating area, was chilly due to the extreme cold Dayton was experiencing that evening, and should be addressed by Citilites and the Schuster Center to avoid in the future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We choose a pasta dish and it was really bland for the cost of the meal. We were disappointed. Love to eat here before working or attending Schuster shows. On a brighter note our server was wonderful. Taylor is believe was her name.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Love Citilites!! We spend a lot of time at the Schuyler Center so this is our go to resturant. The menu changes seasonally and the options are amazing! The food is always great here. Cooked to perfection every time. This time we had a surprise! They didn’t have the salmon so we were pleasantly surprised with halibut!! My favorite!! It was delicious. We even had a little room left for the wonderful cherry pie for dessert.
I totally recommend this resturant to everyone attending any event at the Schuster Center!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Our whole table of 10 laughed when the grilled cheese and tomato soup cam out the grilled cheese was as flat as a piece of paper. probably will not be back again, sad cause we are in the 111 building with 600 people.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We enjoyed the food. Service was excellent. Only minor complaint was that the main entrance door let in a lot of COLD air that night and my wife had to put a coat over her shoulders.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Exceptional service, wonderful desserts! A perfect accompaniment to a play or ballet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Celebrated the 4th birthday of our Granddaughter. Had a delicious meal and the staff really catered to her birthday celebration. Beautiful scenery as our visit was December 17. After the meal, we attended the Nutcracker. A very memorable afternoon. Highly recommend Citilites.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Disabled Access, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 16, 2017

So far food has been amazing! It’s convenient for dinner before the show. A change in menu would be nice occasionally

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Food was okay but somewhat overpriced. Two entrees (out of about 8) were not available early on a Saturday evening. Service was only adequate. There are better options in Dayton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Made reservation for convenience to the Schuster Center presentation. The open area seating was too close to the doors creating an uncomfortably cool meal. The food value was low given the price vs. serving size. I would not consider dining here for anything other than the proximity convenience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Fantastic! The food was amazing, service excellent and atmosphere was wonderful

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Very good food, good service, good ambience. The Brie pasta with shrimp was special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Brought two grandsons, 12 and 17. They thought it was impressive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Because of it's proximity, this place is perfect for a pre-Schuster Center show. Of course there are better high quality meals elsewhere for the price, but like the food at a ski lodge or other captive audience facility, one expects to pay more for the convenience. My wife and I will definitely do it again next time we have a date at Schuster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 29, 2017

We were rhere at 6:00, and, they were already out of the scallops. I got the short ribs, which were good, but, not as good as the scallops which I was looking forward to having again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Service was excellent. Menu had enough choice options to choose from. All items from appetizers to soup and salad were quite good. Entrees and wine pairings were also good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great location for dinner before a show. The house salad dressing was wonderful, the scallops entree was delicious and a large serving, and the chocolate cake with candied bacon was a delightful end to the meal. It is a little loud due to the high ceiling in the Schuster lobby, but nothing too annoying. Will certainly go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We were so happy we were able to make a reservation before our show. We could relax, eat a fantastic meal and not feel rushed to get to the theatre on time. Bartender directly in front of Citilites was awesome!!
We will be back!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 17, 2017

We ate at Citilites for convenience. This was the second time there in 9 days that we ate there because of work schedules and trying to get to a show at the Schuster. Both times, the first thing one of us ordered was not available. Our second time there, the first two entrees my husband ordered were already gone. He finally asked our sever, “What DO you have?” The food was fine and our server was apologetic. It’s just a shame they seem to operate on such a shoestring that they run out of their already-limited selection of entrees.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Food was hot, service great and ambience good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Enjoyed the updated menu. We noticed lots of new servers for the new theater season. Our service was great, everyone had lots of hustle. Hostess was a big improvement. Phillip as wonderful as always. Had the short ribs, yum! Great kick off for our theater season!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This is a great concept for pre-theatre and show dining...and I so want them succeed. But it is overpriced, the food is just not that good, and the servers are not polished or informed about the menu or wine list. I ordered the salmon with pea risotto - sounded fabulous based on the description, but the fish was bland, and the pea risotto tasted like green pea baby food, ick. And it was lukewarm at best - rather than send it back I choked down a few bites so as not to disrupt our group, but super disappointing, especially for $30+ dollars. The burger was a hit, the crab cakes are reliable...but generally this place has a long way to go. For the upcoming Nutcracker we will try another option, thankfully more choices are popping up downtown! If you go...stick with the appetizers and salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2017

good food for pretheater, easy to get reservations

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We have eaten here many times over the years before seeing a Broadway Series Show. But, this last one was a bad experience from every aspect. Service was poor, wife's food was tasteless, my soup had some sort of strings in it( I told waitress once she finally came around and she came back much later to tell me that it was probably from their butter brush(?), in my soup???
Waited a long time for our bill and no comp for the bad food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our waitress was AWESOME! We think her name is Taylor. Really super curly hair. She served us with kindness and was very genuine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We went there after a matinee show , first time but won’t be the last. The special drink of the night fit in with the Show. The food was superb and a great presentation. Wine also very good. Oh yes the artichoke appetizer was beyond compare. Can’t forget our server, she made it all fun and completed a perfect eating experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Schuster theatre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.