Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

4.5
593 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(937) 222-0623
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main Street
What 593 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent service. Delicious salad. Delicious appetizers. (We didn't't order an entre.)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

I would suggest an extension to the appetizer menu. Other than that it was a good introduction to their Happy Hour.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The table was wobbly. We had to put a sugar packet under the table leg & a chair leg to keep it steady. The serves was slow. The drink was incorrect. The food was not as good as it should have been for the price. Have decided, after having 2 poor meals in a row, to eat somewhere else before the show.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Superpops concert dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Went to CitiLites before a show at the Schuster. Good food, good service. Got us through dinner efficiently, as we were working towards showtime. We were back by the kitchen, which was an interesting dynamic, but noisy. Would definitely go back before a show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great service, refreshing berry mule, rosemary bread/rolls were yummy and warm, salad with sweet basil dressing was nice, and scallops with blueberry sauce and risotto very interesting and perfectly cooked. Great meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We had dinner here before the show. The meal was excellent. We had the Lobster Beignet appetizer - it was delicious! 2 in our party had the Pork Chop dinner, one the Ribeye and 1 the chicken. All were delicious! Generous portions too! Usually the portions here are smaller, but this time they were very generous. For dessert we shared the bread pudding - it was a cinnamon/coffee cake bread pudding. Very delicious! Making the reservation on Open Table is very convenient! We were seated right away and our food came out fairly quickly too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

convenient and tasty. It is good to relax before the shows

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

It was good, but pricey for what it was . Service was quick. I wish the mantinee menu was more " brunch oriented "

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

First experience at Citilites and it did not disappoint. The server was very attentive, the food exceptional, the overall experience was great. A fantastic start to a fantastic show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The food ordered was attractively plated, generously sized, and of good quality with memorable taste. Unfortunately the hustle bustle of Wintergarden allows too much noise for the meal to be enjoyed in a quiet atmosphere. The air conditioning as well left this diner chilled.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We had exceptional service and the food was delicious. We dined
before the Beautiful show. My friend said the chairs were very
uncomfortable and the menu prices are too high. However I've
always enjoyed Citilites because of the convenience prior to a
show. I doubt if I'll be able to convince my girlfriend to return
based upon her sentiments. If the chairs are ever replaced - I'll
be back. Thanks for reading my review.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We were seated promptly and our server was good. However, the person who brought out the salads tried to balance all four and ended up spilling three of the containers of salad dressing all over two of us, on the floor, on herself, and on the edge of the table. When she went back to get something to clean it up, she never brought anything to clean us and never apologized. She left the floor slippery when we arose to go clean ourselves in the rest room. Only after going to the hostess, did anyone come back over to the table to finish cleaning up and replacing napkins. We were there to eat prior to seeing “Beautiful, the Carol King Musical.” We were surprised that no, even minimal, compensation was given when the bill was presented. Fortunately, the food was good. But, we will think twice before eating here again. This was not a good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

The menu is small but don't let that deter you. It is packed with quality. Everything we had was absolutely delicious from the blueberry fondue to the dessert crepes. This restaurant is certainly convenient for theater-goers but I would seek it out if not going to the theater.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

I love Citilights for so many reasons. I wish the prices weren't so far out of our budget because I'd love to eat there more often. As it stands right now, eating at Citilights will have to remain a treat for VERY special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Great dinner before seeing a great show (Beautiful).

Our waitress - Taylor - was great. Good attitude and nice sense of humor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

We had a nice dinner befor the show and we were not rushed. An enjoyable evening! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Always a nice meal with interesting flavors and excellent ingredients.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We are never disappointed with Citilites, great food and drink with outstanding service. We were there Thursday and Friday last week and are heading back on Tuesday

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The menu was limited. The service was excellent...when we had it. This is a great venue that could be so much better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Good food, good service, good wine. We eat here a lot before concerts!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My friend got the roast chicken. She loved the brussel sprouts & the carrots & was intriqued with the risotto. It was perfect.
I got the Wintergarden salad & loved the herb dressing. I also got the cappelini with shrimp. The shrimp was awesome, but the brie sauce was so mild I couldn't taste anything in it. Could be the old taste buds are shot???
Service was ordinary, dishes not removed as used. But overall, we will be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Fun and beautiful place to dine before a concert! Good food and good see vice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Convenient! Dine and then walk up the stairs to the adjoining Schuster Cdnter for the concert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

What a lovely experience. Our family had dinner here after a show at Victoria Theater. We chose filet, pork chops, and pasta among the group and all tried each other’s. It was all delicious! The crab cakes were wonderful and we tried a blueberry fondue that our teenage daughters loved! It was excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We went to CitiLites with another couple and a friend after an afternoon event at Memorial Hall. The friend was ushering at the Bernstein concert that evening.We had a great experience as the food was very good and our server James was exceptional - he was very accommodating and efficient. Wish this venue was open more often as we loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

A Very enjoyable evening with my Wife before the Dayton Philharmonic Orchestra. Eating here makes going to a concert or play very nice. You are already parked and can enjoy your meal at your leisure. We will return again and again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Lunch was very good....very accommodative service. Easy parking next door.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The appetizer fondue white cheddar with blueberries was wonderful. My steak (ribeye) was not available but they substituted with fillet. It arrived cold & too overcooked. It was returned & by the time they had brought a replacement, my husbands dinner was done. They also brought our appetizer at the same time as our dinner salads.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I was skeptical about an on-site restaurant at a theatre, but to my pleasant surprise it was great!!! The food was very good, service was great and the atmosphere is very nice. Excellent way to enjoy dinner prior to a show at the theatre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very much enjoyed dinner. Service, food all good. Atmosphere great. So nice to have something right there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We often eat here before theater events at the Schuster Center. We realize the service before a show can be hectic. Our experiences have usually been very good. This time was different. Everything started out fine, our server was friendly and prompt. The miscue occurred when our entrees were delivered before our soup and salad. Upon being alerted to this by our server, the runner brought them to the table to accompany our dinner entrees. This did not seem to happen to customers seated near us. We felt like the kitchen was over zealous about getting the food served to the customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Perfect place for a meal before a show at The Schuster! Good food, nice atmosphere, surprisingly reasonably priced for the quality and convince

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Had some amazing appetizers and dinner. Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Our waiter was a little slow and didn't check on our table timely however it was very busy. I would recommend for fun special occasions etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

A great choice for dinner before the show but also just for the food. Not a large menu but very creative. Also a great drink menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We enjoyed a delightful lunch at Citilites before the afternoon performance of Phantom of the Opera. Our table in the Wintergarden allowed us to enjoy the lovely palm trees while we dined. Our server was very pleasant, and service was good during a rather busy pre-performance seating time. The luncheon menu offered enough variety to satisfy the dietary preferences and requirements of all of us in our party, including vegetarian and gluten-free options—delicious soups, salads, sandwiches and fries—and still, room for desserts. I personally enjoyed and recommend the blueberry crepes. So convenient to have this lovely restaurant right at the Schuster Center, just a short walk to our seats!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food good, drinks better. Love the tomato bisque! Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Outstanding filet mignon. And I love the Wintergreen salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We had dinner here prior to attending Phantom of the Opera. It was good to get to the theatre early and avoid the traffic. We were 15 mins early for our reservation and were seated right away. We had the crabcake appetizer and the roasted pork chop. Both were excellent. The pork chop was accompanied by roasted brussel sprouts which were delicious. Service was outstanding and we just walked into the lobby when it was time to enter the theatre - very convenient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

When we arrived, there was a lot of turmoil centered around the kitchen area, and we waited quite a while for someone to wait on us (and we had theater tickets). However, once we placed our order it arrived very quickly. The food was incredible. The salad with an herb dressing was delicious - very fresh tasting. Initially I had ordered the lobster entree, but then found out they were out of it. So both of us ended up ordering the scallops which were served with a delicately flavored lemon curd risotto and a blueberry gastrique. I can guarantee if only one of us had ordered it, the other would have suffered from food envy. It was one of the best meals I've had (and not just in Dayton) - absolutely delectable! The scallops were expertly seared, and the risotto was almost like a dessert with its light lemony flavor and perfect texture. The slightly tart blueberry gastrique was also wonderfully flavorful and complemented the scallops perfectly. We will definitely return to eat there whether we are going to the theater or just out for a nice dinner. HIGHLY recommend!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15

Tweets by Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center