About Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center

1 West Second Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

Citilites Restaurant & Bar is a casual dining restaurant located in the Kettering Wintergarden of the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center in Dayton, serving lunch Monday through Friday and lunch or dinner prior to performances in the Mead Theatre and some performances at the Victoria Theatre.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: 2.5 hours before most Schuster performances

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 222-0623

Website:
http://victoriatheatre.com/venues/citilites/

Citilites at Schuster Performing Arts Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (51)
Special Occasion (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Casual (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best part of the meal was the food, whic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Best part of the meal was the food, which is good. It has a unique atmosphere, and is good when going to The Schuster Center.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This location is very convenient when yo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

This location is very convenient when you are attending a show at the Schuster as well as the fact that the food is good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I dine here often before the Matinee sho ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

I dine here often before the Matinee show. It's so convenient and the service has always been great! On our last visit this past Sunday, my guest had to send back her tomato soup as it wasn't hot & she also commented that her grilled cheese wasn't warm either. My pumpkin coconut soup was bland but warm. I love the salad selection and I usually choose that as my luncheon option. I have also tried some of the sandwich items in the past and they have also been very good. I like the variety and the fact that some of them are unlike I would find anywhere else. Just love that it's in the Schuster!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good meal and food but HORRIBLE bar serv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Good meal and food but HORRIBLE bar service. We went the night of a Broadway Show at the Schuster and they were full. As we were told, management made a decision to go from 2 bartenders to 1, but add a bar back (helper). Then they made the decision to give the bar back 6 tables in the bar area to serve, so guess what, he was swamped!! Of no use to the bartender. A bottle of wine and 2 glasses took 30 minutes to serve.

This restaurant goes from zero mph to 200 mph in about 30 minutes on show nights. There is a 2 1/2-3 hour window where they need to be "staffed to the nines", then close up and go home. C'mon CitiLites, think!!!!....let's not screw up this limited staffing timeframe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Waitress was pleasant and well-meaning, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Waitress was pleasant and well-meaning, but service was poor...especially drinks from the bar. Our first round took over 30 minutes from ordering to delivery to the table. The waitress kept checking the bar on progress, but the bar was painfully slow. One steak was ordered 'medium, no pink', but was served 'very rare'. The waitress insisted on bringing a fresh plate, and that was served 'well done'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Took out of towns friends to lunch befor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Took out of towns friends to lunch before 42nd Street show. Sat in the atrium area, which is very lovely. Had a light lunch of salad and sandwich and meal was delish. Bloody Mary was nicely down as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We love the Brussel Sprouts! All else ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We love the Brussel Sprouts! All else is pretty good, very easy when going to the theatre. Server forgot to bring bread to the table, my husband didn't mind however that is a big no no in my book. It's the little things that make a difference. When asking the server when paying the bill - she said she forgot. Shouldn't be forgotten when they only have one seating a night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was good but the waitress needed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was good but the waitress needed wine lessons. Couldn't open the bottle and didn't serve it properly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the filet mignon with mashed white ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I had the filet mignon with mashed white sweet potatoes and asparagus. My wife had the barramundi. We both enjoyed our meals. Our server was attentive even though the restaurant was quite busy. We enjoy eating at Citilites before attending productions at the Schuster Center.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There is nothing bad to say about Citili ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

There is nothing bad to say about Citilies. I just love spending time with my daughter and we really enjoy the time at Citilites, the food is great, the service is great, and we love the music. We were there to see 42nd. Street. The show was amazing. Just a wonderful time all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dining for before a musical perf ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Perfect dining for before a musical performing at the Schuster!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is convenient when attending the thea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It is convenient when attending the theater. Steak was over-cooked. Prices a little high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Every time I visit Citilites there are n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Every time I visit Citilites there are new dishes to order and every single time what I order has been tasty and inventive. The chef makes the vegetables sing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to eat here before Schuster perfo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We try to eat here before Schuster performances. It's lively, bustling, friendly and upscale with good service and good food.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice dinner before the music pe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a nice dinner before the music performance. My husband's dinner was slightly better with the risotto as my pork dinner was cooked too much. We have dined there before and I am beginning to think the appetizers might be the way to go but we had a nice time anyway. The staff is very nice and the restaurant is quite pleasing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amy's service was excellent. Food tempe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amy's service was excellent. Food temperture for both entrees was only luke warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was charming and accommodated ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our server was charming and accommodated all our wishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining Experience!! A friend and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Elegant Dining Experience!! A friend and our young-ish daughters dined before The Nutcracker. Fun and yummy! We shared appetizers all around. The girls loved their Chicken Nachos with homemade tortillas and we raved over the Brussels sprouts. Crab cakes had a sauce we weren't too keen on. Over all I highly recommend enjoying this place. Atmosphere is good, wish our table had a private heater.. a bit hard to make it warm in the rotunda so ask for a seat inside the restaurant proper.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance is the worst. No music playing ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ambiance is the worst. No music playing? The place is filthy. (Sit at your bar top and look up.) Bar tender was potentially fantastic but they were so understaffed she never stood a chance. Sandwiches from the lunch menu were well prepared and a decent price value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

I brought my 7 year old granddaughters t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I brought my 7 year old granddaughters to eat before the Nutcracker. Service was extremely slow. When the girls Grilled cheese & fries finally came out, my meal didn't come out for 10 more minutes. We were not asked if we wanted desert. We probably wouldn't have had time anyways. I had the lobster risotto. It was chewy & the claw meat was shredded. I will probably not be back. I wanted a special treat for the girls & it was disappointing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing experience at Citilies. Ve ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Disappointing experience at Citilies. Very cold air coming in through Schuster center doors made is freezing. My $30+ entree of lobster "risotto" was just a plain piece of lobster on some regular white rice with little flavor, and it was not hot. Brussels sprouts appetizer was the highlight. Server was nice enough but ill-informed about how to serve a bottle of wine. Great location and so convenient before Nutcracker but will find another option next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Creative menu. Well prepared. On this n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Creative menu. Well prepared. On this night it was a little cold in the Winter Garden.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We sat in the lobby and it was very cold ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We sat in the lobby and it was very cold and drafty. Meals and appetizers were good. Great service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Good place for lunch with friends or bus ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Good place for lunch with friends or business associates. Meal was excellent but somewhat pricey. Waitress not particularly friendly but efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I was to dine with a friend pre-theater, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I was to dine with a friend pre-theater, however friend was stuck in traffic behind shut-down highway for an accident. Waitress Sara was very attentive, kind, and understanding of the situation. After a very good cocktail paired with a very boring cheese board, I inquired about several entrée options that were of interest. She was kind to inform me that the chicken and pork were reporting as too dry, so I opted for lobster risotto. The lobster was tender, but cold. The risotto was hot and creamy. I left her a very generous tip for kindly waiting on one at a table reserved for two. This was my second experience at this restaurant, and am not impressed with the expensive price for so-so food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

delightful service, delicious food, very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

delightful service, delicious food, very convenient for heading into the theatre for a production!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very convenient for a bite before a show ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very convenient for a bite before a show. It is a bit pricey for quality. Out waiter was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a pre-theatre meal for us. I w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This was a pre-theatre meal for us. I was glad to see a dinner salad on the menu as I didn't want a really big entrée prior to sitting for two hours! Excellent service.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall good experience. The Brussels Sp ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Overall good experience.

The Brussels Sprouts had a good flavor but was way under cooked. We didn't complain but noticed two other tables that left the sprouts on the table barley touched. Guess I should have made a comment earlier! Although, we were asked many times if the food tasted good. So we had the opportunity to complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Have dined 3 times before a show at Citi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Have dined 3 times before a show at Citilites good food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy the fact that I always find some ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I enjoy the fact that I always find something new and creative on the menu that often is a modern twist on an old favorite. It also has dishes that are new to me and always, always a delight to consume. And the bartenders are aces! Such interesting cocktails to sample.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Citilites is very inviting for a meal pr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Citilites is very inviting for a meal prior to a Schuster Center event. We like it inside across from the bar where there is lots of activity and energy and not so formal as in the Wintergarden. Wait staff know us and it's nice to be treated well and have good service.

Tags: , Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Imagine my surprise when I showed up at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Imagine my surprise when I showed up at my reservation time and was told that there was no reservation under my name. The fact that I received this followup email asking for a review, suggests that there is a problem with the open table reservation system. I will make sure a call my reservations in from now on to avoid further embarrassment and inconvenience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First we were shown a table in the bar a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

First we were shown a table in the bar area which was very warm and confined and noisy from the kitchen so we asked to be seated out front. Mistake--it was freezing cold. My main meal was cold and had to be re-heated (re-plated in a much smaller portion.) Our server, Mary, was excellent and really made it fun. Otherwise, the appetizer of samples was dried out and over-cooked (fried). and the main was rather garish with a lump of pork and one small brussel sprout sliced. Really!? Salad had too much spikey- weed type leaves. And it all got so cold so quickly because of the fans or air coming from above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Delicious food, attentive server! I wil ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food, attentive server! I will enjoy future dinners at Citilites with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a great place to eat prior ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is such a great place to eat prior to a concert or play or production of any kind at the Schuster Center. Service can vary a bit depending on the size of the crowd before an event since timing is of the essence. We like our vegetables a bit crunchy, as opposed to mushy, but I will admit that on this occasion our appetizer of very tasty roasted brussel sprouts, and the broccolini that came with my risotto, were a bit too crunchy even for me. And the broccolini had no flavor; clearly had not been touched with any seasoning or sauce or marinade of any kind. But this will not stop us from returning.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed the meal and our wonderful serve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and our wonderful server Mary. This is a regular stop for my wife and I, and we are rarely disappointed. My wife enjoyed the Ratpack Manhattan and Juicy Burger. I am a big fan of the kale salad, this time with salmon. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a perfect location when attending ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It is a perfect location when attending a show at the Schuster, Victoria, or the Loft. The food is very good and served in an artistic manner. The menu has something to please everyone. We always enjoy our meal at Citilites.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I’m a season holder to the DPAA and enjo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I’m a season holder to the DPAA and enjoy eating at Citilites for its atmosphere and convenience of being at Schuster Center. However the food quality and temperature varies from time to time. Dinner price averages to be about $30-40 per person and if it’s a special event there a chance your food may be disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

First our reservation was lost, second m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First our reservation was lost, second my food (Pork tenderloin) was cold, second serving was lukewarm, wife's food was also lukewarm. Service was better than previous visits. Like the idea of dining there before the DPO Performance, but just not worth the problems. We try the place once or twice a year and always problems!! If we are there only for small plates usually no issue.

I asked for a refill on my coffee, got it , but my wife's cup was ignored. Attention to detail is not a hallmark of this place, get you in, out and close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.