About Cite

505 North Lake Shore Drive (Navy Pier)
Lake Point Towers
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Celebrate Mother's day with Cité!
Mother's Day Brunch Buffet is available May 8th 10:00AM-3:30 PM
$85/Adults $35/Children 10 & under

Mother's Day Brunch Buffet Menus available online.

**Early Bird/ Theatre Menu available daily from 5pm - 7pm through. Guests will have the option to enjoy a three course menu for $45 a person.

For over 45 years, Cité has sat atop the prestigious Lake Point Tower, offering American Contemporary cuisine with a French flair. Since the debut, guests have been captivated by the picturesque 360* panoramic, unparalleled views of Chicago’s breathtaking skyline, lakefront and Navy Pier. Cité’s ultimate fine dining experience features dazzling décor, savory new menu selections and impeccable, first-class service. Cité offers private dining for events, meetings, and special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm.
BRUNCH Saturday - Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Navy Pier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-4050

Website:
http://www.citechicago.com/

Catering:
Private Dining is available for groups of 2-225. Call our Private Dining Manager (312) 595-4845 or email catering@citechicago.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at Lake Point Tower through a third party, based on availability. If you are able to park at Lake Point Tower our Hostess can stamp your valet ticket which validates it for up to 4 hours and is $20 paid to the valet. After 4 hours it goes up to full price which is $40++

Parking is not guaranteed and additional parking garages are located within the area.

Public Transit:
Navy Pier Trolley, Grand Avenue Bus 65, State Street 29 Bus

Executive Chef:
Oscar Ornelas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Cite offers a unique venue for all types of private events including weddings, social celebrations, and corporate events.

Weekly Summer fireworks on Wednesday and Saturday nights at Navy Pier.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Enjoy unobstructed views of Chicago's skyline, Navy Pier and Lakefront from 70 floors up! Executive Chef Oscar Ornelas will be preparing flavorful dishes.

Private Dining

Cité can accommodate Corporate or Private affairs for parties of 12-175. From cocktail receptions to four course plated dinners, Cité provides an incredible dining experience with impeccable service and great attention to detail.

Cite Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago
Scenic View
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

scenic view (84)
romantic (78)
special occasion (68)
See All
notable wine list (18)
fit for foodies (17)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (4)
good for groups (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We experienced a wonderful wine tasting ...

Dined 7 days ago

We experienced a wonderful wine tasting with Amir as our host!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great time! Not sure why it has ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great time! Not sure why it has so many negative reviews.. Food tasted great and everyone was very friendly

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Great decor horrible food

Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and The view is AMAZING! The food is horrible. I had onion soup, Caesar salad and salmon. My mother ordered lamb chops and we shared asparagus and truffled potato gratin. She did not enjoy the lamb either.... perhaps we just ordered the wrong dishes... I will try them again because it's beautiful and I want to find something that I like. The server was awesome btw!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

No Air con. Are you kidding!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We booked this for both Mother's Day and an 80th Birthday. When we got there we were seated next to the food station. We also realized how hot the restaurant was. The wait staff did their best and moved us to a quieter part of the restaurant. But, the heat only got worse, it was then explained that the blind that could give us some relief, was broken. The only way my children could keep cool was by using the ice from the wine bucket to cool themselves down. Due to this being Mothers day and an 80th, we were stuck and didn't really have any other options. Due to the oppressive heat, we weren't overly hungry. This experience was terrible.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This is amazing place to have romantic d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is amazing place to have romantic dinner but the only thing which needs some change is the menu. Salmon with maple syrup, Duck with maple syrup....too many things sweeeet! :-) Amazing view but some tables are not great view at night toward lake side is just too dark.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening

Dined on May 3, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at Cite with a couple of minor annoyances. Overall the venue is gorgeous. The view is unbeatable in any restaurant I've ever been to (disclaimer: we don't typically go out to fancy restaurants). The 360 views of the Chicago skyline were worth the meal alone. That being said the experience and food was just as fantastic. We were greeted warmly, our food was delicious, and we were even offered complimentary champagne as we were celebrating our anniversary. The only annoying part of the evening was the fact that there were a couple of parties going on. One in particular had taken up the majority of the good viewing areas and the staff, while gracious, were careful to let us know we were not allowed in that area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 1, 2016

This visit was our 19th wedding anniversary diner and our first time at Cite. The waiter stated he would return to explain and go over the menu with us. When he returned, he asked if we had any questions and what we would like to start with. So he forgot, it was an 8:30PM reservation and it was not busy but just went with it. My wife ordered the filet and an additional lobster tail but was only able to finish half of both. $50 filet and $65 lobster tail. Bus boy took our food and never returned. Asked waiter about it and found out it had been thrown out! Tried to compensate us with two $9 desserts. REALLY!?!?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Holy Cite.

Dined on April 25, 2016

Took my wife here for her birthday and we were both immensely impressed. The staff was super helpful and the food was beyond expectation. If you're planning a special date and want an amazing view of the city, cite is the place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True gem!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Everything was amazing. Customer service was excellent, food delicious, breathtaking views. Very romantic atmosphere! Definitely coming back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointing

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I went for our date night. While the view is amazing, the food is not worth the expense. While we are no stranger to paying more for a meal "on occasion" than a normal weekly grocery budget, the dining experience has to justify the expense. We didn't feel that Cite' did so. The food wasn't bad, just not worth a several hundred dollar meal. I ordered the tasting menu to get a good sampling of much of the menu, my wife had lamb chops. Both meals began with an appetizer consisting of a slice of salmon over a cucumber. Good but not mind blowing. The next courses were similar in taste profile. Competent, if bland with no complexity. The lamb chops were cooked properly, but lacking flavor. The drinks were good overall. The French Oak was a bit watery, however the mango mojito was excellent. It was great to try for a date night, and the view is obviously excellent, but I can't recommend for the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cite Review

Dined on April 22, 2016

My friends and I came here for Chef's Week. We came on a Thursday night. Service was great! Food was also good, Large portions.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing views, great for special occasions

Dined on April 21, 2016

Luckily unbeknownst to us it was Chef Week and it was a great little menu. We had a wonderful appetizer, salad, entree and dessert for a great price. The food was great. We didn't see the server much because he had alot of tables and he tended to the bar also. But when he came by he was great. Ambiance is nice and views are amazing, a totally different view of the city. You must have some time to get to the restaurant because the parking is a little cumbersome, it's best to taxi or Uber to the restaurant but all in all the views are the best.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2

Cute place but didn't have great experie ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Cute place but didn't have great experience. Food was good we had to flag down someone to get drinks, to order, to get refills on drinks, to get our check. The waiter was never proactive. Only the water attendant was attendant. The blinds next to our table were broken and didn't raise so our view was muffled by sun blinds which was a shame since its so pretty.

food3
ambience2
service1

The service was very slow, they brought ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was very slow, they brought the wrong salads to the two of us dining and on top of it they brought three!! Then they brought us the wrong dinners!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Theservice was very slow andnotuptopar like the last time weweretheir. They didn't offer usecoffee with our dessert or after dinner drinksdrinks

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great

Dined on April 16, 2016

The place was beautiful. An amazing view. But I was expecting more from the food. The hazelnut cake was not very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Great wait service and terrific view of ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great wait service and terrific view of the city.

food4
ambience5
service4

We celebrated our 25 Anniversary and it ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

We celebrated our 25 Anniversary and it was special. The view was great and we saw the sunset! We had the chef choice everything tastes great!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cite !!

Dined on April 11, 2016

It goes without saying that the view is spectacular absolute best sunset and nighttime view in Chicago area The fillet and au gratin potatoes were amazing long with asparagus salad Martinis were very tasty I was very happy overall and would go back in a heartbeat The servers waiters etc. did a nice job although I will say I think they were a bit understaffed and a few more headcount would result in much greater levels of service The restaurant was not very full even though it was a weeknight I think said Citeis missing some opportunities to increase business.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing view, and food to match

Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a memorable weeknight evening at Cite, which commands 360-degree views of Lake Michigan and the Chicago skyline. One usually sacrifices food quality for view in venues like this, but we had meals to match the view, coupled with attentive service. The chef's tasting menu for the evening was especially appealing, moving from an amuse-bouche, through lobster risotto and diver scallops, ultimately yo lamb. Others in our party praised the beef, fin fish and shellfish dishes.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

customer service

Dined on April 3, 2016

amazing food and view. dated furniture. Bad service. We wanted to have dessert but decided to leave due to poor service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this place!! The views are awesome

Dined on April 2, 2016

These views are amazing and breathtaking. The service is awesome and the staff is friendly. I will be back very soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Don't go for Easter brunch, not worth it ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Don't go for Easter brunch, not worth it at all, much better brunches available for about 1/2 the price.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch Delight

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Enjoyable Easter Brunch, with an outstanding view of Chicago. Food, service, etc. all good Fun time had by all

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food and view

Dined on March 21, 2016

The ambiance, food, service, drinks and views were all spectacular! It was a great time for a great meal and of course we knew it would be pricy, so no sticker shock. Always nice to see the chef at the end of the meal as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Best views in the entire city. Service w ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Best views in the entire city. Service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic atmosphere, delicious food, exc ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Romantic atmosphere, delicious food, excellent service

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

The View and food portion(I had the delm ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The View and food portion(I had the delmonico ribeye) of my dining were okay boardering on good. Staff needed coaching/refining. Serving plates weren't removed before next entrée was served. Long gaps between services. When I visited Washroom facilities, I found an empty soap dispenser and towel holder. Price was a bit high for this level of service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible Views and Food

Dined on March 20, 2016

This was my first time at Cite. The views are spectacular. The food was also amazing. I did a special menu for a Taste of Iceland event. I plan to return to try the regular menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iceland dinner celebration

Dined on March 19, 2016

Went for special Icelandic dinner. Great service and hospitality chef stopped by to deliver dessert and share stories of iceland Excellent wine list and drink specials. Great views of city and lake. A real gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taste Of Iceland

Dined on March 19, 2016

The best meal I ever had at Cite! I ordered the Taste of Iceland four-course meal complete with two Iceland-inspired cocktails. Great food! Great ambience! My husband and I even met the Chef-in-Residence. I dined at Lava while in Iceland and the Chef did not disappoint when Stateside.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

From the atmosphere to the fine cuisine ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

From the atmosphere to the fine cuisine , Cite offers so much more than a place to have dinner, it's truly an experience and it has become one of my favorite places to dine in the city.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great view!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Excellent food - the Taste of Iceland was amazing! The char and dessert were our favorites. The lamb was absolutely amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem on Top of the World

Dined on March 16, 2016

Amazing view. They offered a prix fixe 3-course Theater Menu from 5-7:00 that was delicious. The service was very good. It is worth the trip to the 70th floor!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Won't go back.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Went here a couple weeks ago based on Yelp and OpenTable reviews. They were all WAY off!!! Restaurant has great views of the city and we requested a table with a view. Place had lots of open tables with views and we were not given one. Food was super bland and took forever to be served. Main waiter felt bothered by even simple requests like wanting salt and pepper. We almost felt like they were annoyed we came to the restaurant. Ignore any positive review you read on this restaurant because they are probably fake ones written by the staff. Worst food experience we've had in Chicago.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable night!

Dined on March 13, 2016

The night was a tremendous success. The entire experience was wonderful and no criticisms to be had. The restaurant was busy but we did not hear any other table. The wait staff was very helpful, provided great suggestions, and reqally made the experience worth it. Our guests very impressed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing view and delicious food. Outstan ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Amazing view and delicious food. Outstanding service

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Great view!!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great view!!

food2
ambience4
service3

This is purely an experience restaurant ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is purely an experience restaurant for the ambiance and the view. The food is very well prepared food, but bland and lacking in excitement or flavor. The service was nice, the waiter was much nicer than prior reviews led me to expect upon visiting. Overall an amazing place to go one time for a special occasion, but not a place for consistent patronage.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in Chicago !!!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Incredible view, high quality of food, so nice people there, everything is perfect for a cool diner with great people. It is a very intimate place, it is like you are in the dining room of the Lake Point Tower. I don't want to recommend that place because I want to go there and still have a quiet diner every time I go there. But I have no choice. I love that place. So, go there !!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.