About Cite

505 North Lake Shore Drive (Navy Pier)
Lake Point Towers
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

For over 45 years, Cité has sat atop the prestigious Lake Point Tower, offering American Contemporary cuisine with a French flair. Since the debut, guests have been captivated by the picturesque 360* panoramic, unparalleled views of Chicago’s breathtaking skyline, lakefront and Navy Pier. Cité’s ultimate fine dining experience features dazzling décor, savory new menu selections and impeccable, first-class service. Cité offers private dining for events, meetings, and special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Traditional French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 6:00pm-9:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.
BRUNCH Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Grand Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-4050

Website:
http://www.citechicago.com/

Entertainment:
Every Wednesday & Saturday Navy Pier hosts fireworks during Summer and we have the birds eye view

Catering:
Private Dining is available for groups of 2-225. Call our Private Dining Manager at (312) 595-4845 or email events@citechicago.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at Lake Point Tower through a third party, based on availability. If you are able to park at Lake Point Tower our Hostess can stamp your valet ticket which validates it for up to 4 hours and is $20 paid to the valet. After 4 hours it goes up to full price which is $40++

Parking is not guaranteed and additional parking garages are located within the area. Please call for any additional parking details.

Public Transit:
Navy Pier Trolley, Grand Avenue Bus 65, State Street 29 Bus

Executive Chef:
Oscar Ornelas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cité offers a unique venue for all types of private events including weddings, social celebrations, and corporate events.

Weekly Summer fireworks on Wednesday and Saturday nights at Navy Pier.

Restaurant Photos

  • Cite, Chicago, IL
  • Cite, Chicago, IL
  • Fireworks - Cite, Chicago, IL
  • Cite, Chicago, IL
  • Cite, Chicago, IL
  • Cite, Chicago, IL
  • Cite, Chicago, IL

Report a photo problem

Fireworks - Cite, Chicago, IL

Specials

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $150.00

Tuesday Feb 14, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $150.00

Tuesday Feb 14, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $150.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Deposit of $100 per person is required upon making the reservation. Special valid on Tuesday Feb 14, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Due to the high demand, we require $100.00 per person deposit to secure the reservation. The security deposit will be deducted from your final bill and become non-refundable five (5) calendar days before the event.

Your card will be charged upon confirming the reservation.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 6:00PM - 8:45PM

Mon - Tue 6:00PM - 9:45PM

Wed 6:00PM - 7:15PM

Thu - Fri 6:00PM - 9:45PM

Sat 6:00PM - 7:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Cité can accommodate Corporate or Private affairs for parties of 12-175. From cocktail receptions to four course plated dinners, Cité provides an incredible dining experience with impeccable service and great attention to detail.

Cite Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (36)
Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Waterfront (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (16)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Historic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Music (2)
Authentic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We go there every year for a yearly anni ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We go there every year for a yearly anniversary. Always a great time and the food is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although, I saw mix reviews my experienc ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Although, I saw mix reviews my experience was outstanding. Great food, excellent service, and the prices were acceptable. The Chef definitely should receive an Michelin star for his outstanding cooking, and wonderful plating.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Cozy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had a very tough day at work. ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

My husband had a very tough day at work. I took him to Cite to relax. He's still talking about it a week later, and it did the trick that night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef undercooked my wife well done steak ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Chef undercooked my wife well done steak with no pink twice. The view was okay it was rainy and foggy , waiters service to detail was great, drinks was wonderful , hostess very friendly and serviceable. Parking crazy I though they comp my parking only to find I was still charged 20.00 for valet but I would go again

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location but very poor service (sl ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great location but very poor service (slow, poorly trained, not attentive and unfriendly)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

New Year's Eve. They put us in a room w ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve. They put us in a room where you looked out at the lake only to see black. Not even by a window.

The food was okay at best (especially for the price) dessert was terrible!! Pana cotta had too much gelatin! Don't order it.

Service was okay, not great.

I would only go back for drinks at the bar. Beautiful view.

Otherwise I would not recommend for dinning. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We reserved a table here for Cite's spec ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We reserved a table here for Cite's special NYE offerings. When we arrived there were about 10 other guests huddled off the elevator waiting to be sat. Our reservation was for 6:45pm, and they were still trying to seat their 6:15 and 6:30 reservations (despite having ample vacant tables). We were seated shortly after having arrived. The chairs had 4' tears in them and lacked any padding to the seat making them very uncomfortable. We put in our order off the pre-selected menu for the evening, however, never received our first course. We had to flag down our server multiple times just to request additional drinks as our server did not regularly check in to see how our meal was going. Upon getting our main course, the food was stone cold and seemed to have not even been seasoned prior to cooking. The steak was exceptionally bland in flavor and the lobster very dried out. Dessert was also served cold. Our entire meal took 2.5 hours because of the poor preparation of the kitchen and meals were coming out far behind schedule. We had planned our evening according to the anticipated schedule and in turn missed our after dinner reservations for the remainder of the evening. I can certainly empathize that NYE is a very busy time of year in the restaurant business, however, this meal and experience left much to be desired for the high cost of the meal. It was not worth $400 and having to lose out on the rest of our evening since the restaurant failed to plan accordingly for preparation and timeliness. I would be willing to try this place again, however, never on NYE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a horrible experience I will neve ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a horrible experience I will never do again, they ruined our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I booked Cité for New Year's Eve dinner. ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I booked Cité for New Year's Eve dinner. $125 set menu-

4 courses. OT advertised this NYE dinner as having live jazz w/a view of the city. I thought it would be a great choice to take my 80 yro aunt. WRONG.

When we arrived into the welcome area we were NOT greeted. There were 3 people standing at the desk and not 1 looked up to greet us. I looked left & there were 10 other people standing waiting to be seated. The 3 people behind the desk were clearly unorganized and didn't know who to seat where. This was bizarre considering it was NYE and everyone pre-booked.

We continued to stand their awkwardly for 5 minutes w/out being acknowledged and listened to the main girl very rudely direct her colleagues where to sit people. Finally this rude woman directed a man (I think the manager) to seat us. Mind you my aunt is 80...she was standing for 10 mins and without being acknowledged or offered a seat. He kindly welcomed us and proceeded to take us to our seats. We walk past the jazz band w/lots of open tables by windows & views of the city.

He walks us to a back room where you couldn't hear the music to a table without a city view. I ask him if we can be in the main room w/ the music and he says "those tables are reserved" (they were empty so this was confusing to me as we had a reservation as well). Nonetheless wanting my aunt to sit quickly, I just asked if we could be in the middle room so we could at least hear the music. He then takes us to the middle room & offers us a table not by a window. I ask and again he says, "booked". My aunt says whatever and so we sit. Note* - those window tables remained empty the entire time we ate. Our waiter was nice but not tentative. They forgot our 1st course. The food was very average. The main had no sides, just meat. And no bvrg was included in the $125. They also added a 20% tip. That didn't stop the waiter asking if I needed my $60 change. Don't waste your money or time here. Horrible experience & ruined NYE for my aunt & I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The views and service were amazing! The ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The views and service were amazing! The food was delicious but a little overpriced. You're definitely paying for the amazing view and great service at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome view. Great food. Good service.

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome view. Great food. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was not good and poor choices. ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was not good and poor choices. Too dark and couldn't see the m nu

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Our service was excellent. The food was ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our service was excellent. The food was good and that's about it. Ambiance was fantastic and everyone tried to make it an exceptional night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The scallops and lamb were perfection. T ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

The scallops and lamb were perfection. The view was breathtaking. We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers were good, but the entree ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

The appetizers were good, but the entrees were mixed - one of us has a pork chop and it was dry. The view was amazing. However, the service was bad. It was a cold winters day (even by Chicago standards), but no one offered to take our coats. We later found the coat check room - they were simply thrown over a chair in another part of the restaurant. The restaurant was only 20% full (it was a Wednesday), but it took a long time for our waiter to offer us a drink and menus and he was never really around during the meal. For a restaurant with a price tag of ~$150 per person, I would have expected much better service.

It was a shame - the view was great, the food pretty good, but I would never go back, nor recommend it - there are many better alternatives in Chicago

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I absolutely loves to Cite. Best Fois gr ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

I absolutely loves to Cite. Best Fois gras in the country and I am a fois gras fanatic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredibly disappointing an ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was incredibly disappointing and lacked flavor throughout all courses. And when you have price points similar to that of this restaurant you would expect amazing food to be presented...not the case. The drinks were very good and drinks came quickly after ordering. Overall experience was underwhelming to say the least. I would encourage you to save your money and avoid this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Worst dining experience I have ever had. ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Worst dining experience I have ever had. Service was terrible and the food was sub par. I will never return and will make sure everyone I know does not dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was horrible Ribeye tasted gamey, ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was horrible Ribeye tasted gamey, shrimp appetizer mushy. Nice atmosphere but food not up to par

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Great service, great food, great view. ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great service, great food, great view. We will definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Scenery, ambiance, food lived up to all ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Scenery, ambiance, food lived up to all expectations.

price point fair for this type of exclusive venue

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This place is definitely about the view. ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

This place is definitely about the view. Food is good--not outstanding. Would be a very cool spot for drinks at the bar for a date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and ambiance but the service ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food and ambiance but the service could have been better. The server had trouble remembering what we ordered and it took for ever to get our check.

Also, we had a pretty early reservation (5 pm) and although the restaurant was open, they weren't ready.

I would still recommend it because everything else was outstanding.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Overpriced but the view was magnificent.

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overpriced but the view was magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Came here on vacation and wanted a nice ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Came here on vacation and wanted a nice view for Thanksgiving. We opted for prix fixe menu which should have been easy for service, but the service was poor. They were slow to bus the tables or fill waters and there were many empty tables. View was great but food and service not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food is a bit pricy for what they of ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food is a bit pricy for what they offered. The view is fantastic but the decor of the restaurant can use some update. The service is really slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

When we first came in, the lady that too ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

When we first came in, the lady that took our coat was very pleasant and nice. Seeing her made us feel comfortable and wanted. We got the table at the place where it was too bright and not as romantic (we were celebrating a special occasion and don't go to the places like this often) so we wanted something with more dimmed lights and a city view. The manager took care of it and gave us a better table, which I thought was really nice of him.

Santos, the server, was extraordinary. He was professional and knowledgeable about anything we asked. He recommended the lobster for a main course, which was delicious. The atmosphere was pleasant, not too noisy, and very relaxed. We really enjoyed dining at Cite and would definitely come back later for another occasion :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were rushed out as we were the last t ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were rushed out as we were the last table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

WOW. I've enjoyed CITE several times an ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

WOW. I've enjoyed CITE several times and each visit reminds me why I should return. Service is attentive without being overbearing, and staff treat you as family. Food is top shelf, unique, fresh, vibrant and the chef always offer extra surprises to tease and teach one's palate. View is incredible. WOW

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the city from views, ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

Best restaurant in the city from views, food and service stand point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views, attentive staff, good food. ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great views, attentive staff, good food. But it is pricey as you are paying for a fantastic view of the skyline as part of your food experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a very romantic atmosphere. We l ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was a very romantic atmosphere. We loved the moon shaped tables over seeing Chicago!

Food was great and personnel was more than nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is perfect,awesome view!Cocktails ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food is perfect,awesome view!Cocktails better than wine but still good prices.

I love creme brûlée but it was not perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best view ever! Employees were ver ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

The best view ever! Employees were very friendly, nice, polite, all about making your experience the best!!! I love it and will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the money spent ($215) for two peopl ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

For the money spent ($215) for two people, this should of been the best food we have ever eaten. Came up very short, got the filet, fires and lobster mac n cheese. Anywho the view was amazing. My suggestion, go there for drinks and an app or 2 for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Cite was enjoyable due to the incredible ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cite was enjoyable due to the incredible view of the Chicago skyline. The site provides a full 360 degree view of the city from all perspectives.

The other reasons a restaurant is frequented, the food and service, were just average to good at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The food was great but small quantity. H ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was great but small quantity. However, the ambience and staff made the place a great first time experience. The Pinot Noir i had was extrememly sweet and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food had a bad flavor. For the pric ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food had a bad flavor. For the price many other better places.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

a stunning view. a wonderful bar. a grea ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

a stunning view. a wonderful bar. a great menu. slightly unfortunate the execution of the menu didnt live up to the expectation and price tag.

drinks were great at bar pre dinner--we showed up about 15 minutes before reservation time--i was able to get a 6pm reservation 2 days before, which was nice. caught the last bit of sunlight, it was great. the view is simply stunning. we were sat at a two top on the glass. and that was fine, but we tustve got to our appetizers before anyone else even came in. had the whole place to ourselves and i think we could've maybe been sat at the "love seat" tables with the better view. the food was good. my wife did not enjoy the oysters with pickled onion. and her filet was over cooked to almost well and she asked for medium rare--but we didnt send it back. should have for close to $50. my strip was fantastic. and the lobster mac and cheese was very good. the chocolate fondue was served over a candle and was melted but it was cold. very odd.

we would for sure go back, but only for a cocktail at the bar and maybe a small bite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went here with my girlfriend celebrating ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here with my girlfriend celebrating the most recent success' in our relationship, and in business. View was terrific. Valet parking was convenient (even though I lost my card twice, my fault). Didn't seem all that busy of a place. Ambient setting. Beautiful view 70 floors up. The price wasn't the issue. I'd say the quality of food to back it up was slightly disappointing. Been to cheaper restaurants with better quality food, all due respect. Chef did give us a small complimentary bite of salmon and cucumber, which was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Private Room, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.