About Cite

505 North Lake Shore Drive (Navy Pier)
Lake Point Towers
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Watch Chicago's Air & Water Show on Sunday, August 21st and enjoy a brunch buffet. $68 Adults / $38 Children Under 12. Seating is from at 10:00am - 3:00pm.

20% Service Charge Added to Check. Tax and Beverages Additional. Credit Card is required to hold the reservation. Cancellations with less than 24 hours notice with be charged a $25 cancellation fee per person.

For over 45 years, Cité has sat atop the prestigious Lake Point Tower, offering American Contemporary cuisine with a French flair. Since the debut, guests have been captivated by the picturesque 360* panoramic, unparalleled views of Chicago’s breathtaking skyline, lakefront and Navy Pier. Cité’s ultimate fine dining experience features dazzling décor, savory new menu selections and impeccable, first-class service. Cité offers private dining for events, meetings, and special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Traditional French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 6:00pm-9:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.
BRUNCH Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Grand Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-4050

Website:
http://www.citechicago.com/

Entertainment:
Every Wednesday & Saturday Navy Pier hosts fireworks and we have the birds eye view

Catering:
Private Dining is available for groups of 2-225. Call our Private Dining Manager, Jessica Mayhew at (312) 595-4845 or email catering@citechicago.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at Lake Point Tower through a third party, based on availability. If you are able to park at Lake Point Tower our Hostess can stamp your valet ticket which validates it for up to 4 hours and is $20 paid to the valet. After 4 hours it goes up to full price which is $40++

Parking is not guaranteed and additional parking garages are located within the area. Please call for any additional parking details.

Public Transit:
Navy Pier Trolley, Grand Avenue Bus 65, State Street 29 Bus

Executive Chef:
Oscar Ornelas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cité offers a unique venue for all types of private events including weddings, social celebrations, and corporate events.

Weekly Summer fireworks on Wednesday and Saturday nights at Navy Pier.

Restaurant Photos

  • Cite
  • Cite
  • Cite
  • Cite
  • Cite
  • Cite
  • Cite
Cite
Cite
Cite
Cite
Cite
Cite
Cite

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 6:00PM - 8:45PM

Mon - Tue 6:00PM - 9:45PM

Wed 6:00PM - 7:15PM

Thu - Fri 6:00PM - 9:45PM

Sat 6:00PM - 7:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Cité can accommodate Corporate or Private affairs for parties of 12-175. From cocktail receptions to four course plated dinners, Cité provides an incredible dining experience with impeccable service and great attention to detail.

Cite Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago
1 More
Scenic View
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

Scenic View (87)
Romantic (69)
Special Occasion (68)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It service was great food was good small ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

It service was great food was good small portions big price. The view was Awesome.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This place needs a remodel in a big way. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

This place needs a remodel in a big way. Good (not great food) but it was lessened by the shabbiness of the decor, server attire, etc. Seriously, if you have big windows facing the sun, get some decent shades.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Amazing views

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We came to Cite for the Air Show Brunch ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We came to Cite for the Air Show Brunch and it was a wonderful experience! A truly unique outing, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was incredible. Amazing v ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The experience was incredible. Amazing view of the city and lake michigan. Food was delicious and well prepared. Would definitely recomend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall. Good drinks. G ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience overall. Good drinks. Good food. Great view. Wasn't too crowded at the time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome view. Great wait staff. The se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome view. Great wait staff. The service was just slow and the food was not real quality

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Unfortunately not worth the money. Poor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Unfortunately not worth the money.

Poor service. Servers mostly very kind but unfortunately no training what it means to work in a "fine dining" place.

Even general basics missing like how to prepare a cocktail or where to place silver ware.

Food okay but not worth the money.

To summarize:

Service poor

Food okay

location nice

If you are willing to pay for the view and the location I highly recommend going there.

Should you await outstanding food and a service justifying the price I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This sad gem of the past has been overlo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This sad gem of the past has been overlooked and is in disrepair. Lights are not working, portable air cooler placed through out the restaurant, and columns wrapped in cloth. The food is good although under seasoned with a beautiful presentation. Over priced wine list is a disappointment and cocktail prices even higher while skimping on the alcohol. The waiter refused on three occasions to raise the blinds to see the water or move us to the next table that had the blinds open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Horrible service and the food was not go ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Horrible service and the food was not good not worth the price

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We celebrated our 40 anniversary at Cite ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We celebrated our 40 anniversary at Cite. We had not been there in 19 years.

It has been redecorated with floor to ceiling mirrors which made the view fantastic from

anywhere in the room. Our waiter Lamar was very accommodating and guided us through the extensive menu. His service was impeccable. The Corvina fish and Venison were excellent. My wife who has food allergies had no problem with the entire meal. We rated the whole evening a 5

and will be back with friends or family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a pity that a restaurant with such ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It is a pity that a restaurant with such a special view would have such pedestrian food.

Nothing is special. Nothing is wonderful .

It is pricey but doesn't deliver on the plate where it really matters.

So sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Reviews for Cite are very mixed, and for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Reviews for Cite are very mixed, and for good reason: It's both very good and also lackluster in different ways. The ambiance & view are easily the best part of the restaurant. I recommend reserving a table that coincides with the Navy Pier fireworks, which was very cool. The wine list is very respectable, and service was pretty good. My problem with Cite is the quality of the food and the price. I got a NY Strip and my date got a Filet Mignon. Pretty normal portion sizes, but the quality just wasn't very good. You could probably get similar quality at a grocery store. The sides and sauces served with the food were also mediocre, which doesn't help the blandness of the steak. The presentation was alright.

Overall I recommend Cite for the view alone, especially for it's proximity to Navy Pier's fireworks. The food wasn't bad but there are many steak restaurant's in Chicago that do it better. really don't understand why they buy mediocre ingredients at such a nice restaurant, but I don't regret going. Don't think I'd go again though due to food quality and price point.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The cheese on the bread was deplorable. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The cheese on the bread was deplorable. The food was mediocre. The lobster mac and cheese was tasteless. The bread was chewy. The restaurant was semi empty and I was denied the opportunity to sit at the window. I was disappointed with this dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The view is amazing and a must see at ni ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The view is amazing and a must see at night and during the day!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food took forever to come out. (Over 1 h ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food took forever to come out. (Over 1 hr)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Good(not great) food at expensive prices ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Good(not great) food at expensive prices. I think you don't mind paying because the view is outstanding. It has Chicago steakhouse prices but the steaks are better quality I believe at your Chicago steakhouses. I surely am not sorry I went but it (for me anyway) is once you have been there would not go back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

What an amazing dinner, stunning 360 deg ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What an amazing dinner, stunning 360 degree views of the Chicago skyline, the waterfront and Navy Pier and an outstanding staff!! We enjoyed every single dish we had.

My husband had the Chef's tasting menu and loved every thing and would highly recommend that if you want to try multiple items. I had the Ahi tuna tartare and the filet mignon au poivre and loved every last bite.

I want to give a big shout out to Lamar, our server and Pablo, the server assistant....they made our evening so enjoyable and special! We will definitely be back again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal with an amazing view. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had a great meal with an amazing view. The waiter/service could have been a little better, but the food was great. Would definitely recommend Cite for a special occasion or date.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was good service wasn't didn't pay ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was good service wasn't didn't pay much attention to our table . Almost forgot we were there .

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Good for special occasions or date night ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good for special occasions or date night to impress your significant other. If you're going for dinner, I would recommend matching your time to see the fireworks over Navy Pier.

Food portions are typical french-style so order a lot if you're hungry. Taste was delicious but to be critical, it was as expected for the price and nothing more. Service was friendly and we never had to wait long but again, to be critical, plate and utensil positioning was a little sloppy when our desserts came. Speaking of desserts, I did very much enjoy the vanilla panna cotta.

Note to the ladies, If you're always cold, bring something to cover your shoulders. It does get a little chilly up there.

Make sure to have your parking tickets validated before leaving if you valet downstairs.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed a good meal with a beautiful ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We enjoyed a good meal with a beautiful view of Lake Michigan and the city. The wait staff was attentive without being overbearing. I would recommend Cite for a very special event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was terrible. Ordered starter, s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was terrible. Ordered starter, salad, and entree and only was served my entree over an hour later.. They forgot to give us anything else we ordered. They originally had it on the bill but later took it off after we complained. Beautiful scenery over-looking the Pier, but that's about all its got going.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

This was a nice dining experience. The p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was a nice dining experience. The pricing was a bit high, lobster a bit over cooked, but the table, ambiance, and staff was terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were in town for the Fourth of July v ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were in town for the Fourth of July visiting our daughter in Chicago. After having a nice dinner at one of her favorite restaurants, we were looking for a place we could grab a drink/dessert to watch the Navy Pier fireworks. I found Cite online and luckily they had a table available about 1/2 hour before the fireworks were scheduled to start. What a lovely place! First, the view of the city is spectacular. The other side faces the water and pier and was perfect for dining and watching the fireworks. The service was impeccable and we enjoyed our desserts and cocktails. Would definitely go back again for the regular menu and view of the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was not what was expected. Very misle ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was not what was expected. Very misleading. We arrived to find the Fourth of July menu they boasted about had been revoked for Saturday. We were ignored for a good 20 minutes after being seated. The fireworks were described as being visible from your dining table, which was not the case at all. We had to get up to move and stand to see them. Overall disappointed with it because the intention was a Fourth of July celebration, but if it were just a regular date night as it became it was ok.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I have no idea why more people do not go ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have no idea why more people do not go to Cite for weekend brunch It is a remarkable view with excellent food

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view, obviously. Had the tasting m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great view, obviously. Had the tasting menu. The food was good, above average but not exceptional compared to price. Service was perfect, polite and timely.

Apparently they did have some issues in past with AC, because they had temporary AC set up a couple of places. Those worked fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a nasty night out, with the weath ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

It was a nasty night out, with the weather . Table was rocking and wrong order was brought out. I asked to substitute the green beans for Mac and cheese, but both were brought out.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent view great food service was re ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent view great food service was really good nice for romantic dinner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every table has a view that is simple br ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Every table has a view that is simple breathe taking! The service, food, and ambience was simply amazing. The portions and taste make the drinks and food very reasonable. Highly recommended to have an elite experience in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truthfully I we were extremely disappoin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Truthfully I we were extremely disappointed. The table was not ready even thought the restaurant was almost empty. They tried to sit the 3 of us on a long table on one side of the table in a row looking out (from the interior of the restaurant - supposedly so we could see out over other tables). When I said it was weird to sit and not be able to look at each other as we talked they sat us on a table (of two) that was empty by the glass (it had been empty since we first arrived there). The service was poor to say the least (specially for the type of restaurant). The food was good and with comparable prices to same type of restaurant. Dessert tasted old. Would never recommend to any one - specially with the many good and nice restaurants in the Chicago area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great view. Food was decent but not o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great view. Food was decent but not on par with similarly priced restaurants in the area. Service was ok at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I really enjoy the service. Staff is ext ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I really enjoy the service. Staff is extremely friendly, helpful. The view was amazing as well.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Fancy department store cafeteria food wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fancy department store cafeteria food with a great view. Food took 1 hour to arrive and the orders were not complete. Staff were nice but couldn't make up for wait time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

ordered the rack of lamb and the duck bu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

ordered the rack of lamb and the duck but don't think you get enough for the price. was very disappointed with the proportions of the food

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

It was amazing!!!! it was perfect for my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was amazing!!!! it was perfect for my boyfriend birthday dinner. They specialized the menu with a Happy Birthday, rose petals were on the table and to top it off with the fireworks show at the end of the night. AMAZING !!!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fireworks

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Even though the food is only moderately good and they don't have all the wines on their wine list (RE: Cakebread) and the waiter didn't get our order correct, we still managed to enjoy the experience . Although when the fireworks started at Navy Pier we were besieged by patrons from other areas gathering by our table and partially blocking the view we still managed to enjoy them. As we were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary - very little could have spoiled it .

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We celebrated our 2 year anniversary tod ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We celebrated our 2 year anniversary today

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our Experience at Cite

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went for a double special occasion, my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, while my son was celebrating his high school graduation.

He loved it. He got the NY Strip Steak, which he said was the best steak he had ever eaten! I got the filet, which was delicious! My wife got the chicken, which was fine, nothing very special about it. My daughter got the lobster macaroni and cheese and a Cesar Salad. The Lobster Mac was the big winner. I couldn't eat it, as I have a wheat intolerance, but everyone else could not stop talking about it.

The only complaint I had was that a shade was broken so that the sun was in my eyes for the entire meal. My wife was a bit miffed that everything was a la carte. She said that for those prices she would have expected the sides to be included.

Over all, we would definitely recommend Cite to anyone. The view is magnificent and the food is delicious. I would recommend going during sunset.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.