About Cite

505 North Lake Shore Drive (Navy Pier)
Lake Point Towers
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Watch Chicago's Air & Water Show on Sunday, August 21st and enjoy a brunch buffet. $68 Adults / $38 Children Under 12. Seating is from at 10:00am - 3:00pm.

20% Service Charge Added to Check. Tax and Beverages Additional. Credit Card is required to hold the reservation. Cancellations with less than 24 hours notice with be charged a $25 cancellation fee per person.

For over 45 years, Cité has sat atop the prestigious Lake Point Tower, offering American Contemporary cuisine with a French flair. Since the debut, guests have been captivated by the picturesque 360* panoramic, unparalleled views of Chicago’s breathtaking skyline, lakefront and Navy Pier. Cité’s ultimate fine dining experience features dazzling décor, savory new menu selections and impeccable, first-class service. Cité offers private dining for events, meetings, and special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Traditional French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 6:00pm-9:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm.
BRUNCH Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Grand Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-4050

Website:
http://www.citechicago.com/

Entertainment:
Every Wednesday & Saturday Navy Pier hosts fireworks and we have the birds eye view

Catering:
Private Dining is available for groups of 2-225. Call our Private Dining Manager, Jessica Mayhew at (312) 595-4845 or email catering@citechicago.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at Lake Point Tower through a third party, based on availability. If you are able to park at Lake Point Tower our Hostess can stamp your valet ticket which validates it for up to 4 hours and is $20 paid to the valet. After 4 hours it goes up to full price which is $40++

Parking is not guaranteed and additional parking garages are located within the area. Please call for any additional parking details.

Public Transit:
Navy Pier Trolley, Grand Avenue Bus 65, State Street 29 Bus

Executive Chef:
Oscar Ornelas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Tables with a View, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Cité offers a unique venue for all types of private events including weddings, social celebrations, and corporate events.

Weekly Summer fireworks on Wednesday and Saturday nights at Navy Pier.

Restaurant Photos

  • Cite
  • Cite
Cite
Cite

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 6:00PM - 8:45PM

Mon - Tue 6:00PM - 9:45PM

Wed 6:00PM - 7:15PM

Thu - Fri 6:00PM - 9:45PM

Sat 6:00PM - 7:45PM

Private Dining

Cité can accommodate Corporate or Private affairs for parties of 12-175. From cocktail receptions to four course plated dinners, Cité provides an incredible dining experience with impeccable service and great attention to detail.

Cite Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Chicago / Illinois
Scenic View
Chicago / Illinois
Romantic
Chicago
1 More
Scenic View
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Gold Coast / Streeterville ›

scenic view (86)
romantic (74)
special occasion (70)
See All
notable wine list (15)
great for brunch (14)
fit for foodies (13)
late-night find (12)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (5)
good for groups (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food took forever to come out. (Over 1 h ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food took forever to come out. (Over 1 hr)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Good(not great) food at expensive prices ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good(not great) food at expensive prices. I think you don't mind paying because the view is outstanding. It has Chicago steakhouse prices but the steaks are better quality I believe at your Chicago steakhouses. I surely am not sorry I went but it (for me anyway) is once you have been there would not go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Had a great meal with an amazing view. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had a great meal with an amazing view. The waiter/service could have been a little better, but the food was great. Would definitely recommend Cite for a special occasion or date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was good service wasn't didn't pay ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was good service wasn't didn't pay much attention to our table . Almost forgot we were there .

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Good for special occasions or date night ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good for special occasions or date night to impress your significant other. If you're going for dinner, I would recommend matching your time to see the fireworks over Navy Pier.

Food portions are typical french-style so order a lot if you're hungry. Taste was delicious but to be critical, it was as expected for the price and nothing more. Service was friendly and we never had to wait long but again, to be critical, plate and utensil positioning was a little sloppy when our desserts came. Speaking of desserts, I did very much enjoy the vanilla panna cotta.

Note to the ladies, If you're always cold, bring something to cover your shoulders. It does get a little chilly up there.

Make sure to have your parking tickets validated before leaving if you valet downstairs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed a good meal with a beautiful ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We enjoyed a good meal with a beautiful view of Lake Michigan and the city. The wait staff was attentive without being overbearing. I would recommend Cite for a very special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was terrible. Ordered starter, s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was terrible. Ordered starter, salad, and entree and only was served my entree over an hour later.. They forgot to give us anything else we ordered. They originally had it on the bill but later took it off after we complained. Beautiful scenery over-looking the Pier, but that's about all its got going.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

This was a nice dining experience. The p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was a nice dining experience. The pricing was a bit high, lobster a bit over cooked, but the table, ambiance, and staff was terrific.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were in town for the Fourth of July v ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were in town for the Fourth of July visiting our daughter in Chicago. After having a nice dinner at one of her favorite restaurants, we were looking for a place we could grab a drink/dessert to watch the Navy Pier fireworks. I found Cite online and luckily they had a table available about 1/2 hour before the fireworks were scheduled to start. What a lovely place! First, the view of the city is spectacular. The other side faces the water and pier and was perfect for dining and watching the fireworks. The service was impeccable and we enjoyed our desserts and cocktails. Would definitely go back again for the regular menu and view of the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was not what was expected. Very misle ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was not what was expected. Very misleading. We arrived to find the Fourth of July menu they boasted about had been revoked for Saturday. We were ignored for a good 20 minutes after being seated. The fireworks were described as being visible from your dining table, which was not the case at all. We had to get up to move and stand to see them. Overall disappointed with it because the intention was a Fourth of July celebration, but if it were just a regular date night as it became it was ok.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I have no idea why more people do not go ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have no idea why more people do not go to Cite for weekend brunch It is a remarkable view with excellent food

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view, obviously. Had the tasting m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great view, obviously. Had the tasting menu. The food was good, above average but not exceptional compared to price. Service was perfect, polite and timely.

Apparently they did have some issues in past with AC, because they had temporary AC set up a couple of places. Those worked fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a nasty night out, with the weath ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

It was a nasty night out, with the weather . Table was rocking and wrong order was brought out. I asked to substitute the green beans for Mac and cheese, but both were brought out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent view great food service was re ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent view great food service was really good nice for romantic dinner

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every table has a view that is simple br ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Every table has a view that is simple breathe taking! The service, food, and ambience was simply amazing. The portions and taste make the drinks and food very reasonable. Highly recommended to have an elite experience in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truthfully I we were extremely disappoin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Truthfully I we were extremely disappointed. The table was not ready even thought the restaurant was almost empty. They tried to sit the 3 of us on a long table on one side of the table in a row looking out (from the interior of the restaurant - supposedly so we could see out over other tables). When I said it was weird to sit and not be able to look at each other as we talked they sat us on a table (of two) that was empty by the glass (it had been empty since we first arrived there). The service was poor to say the least (specially for the type of restaurant). The food was good and with comparable prices to same type of restaurant. Dessert tasted old. Would never recommend to any one - specially with the many good and nice restaurants in the Chicago area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great view. Food was decent but not o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great view. Food was decent but not on par with similarly priced restaurants in the area. Service was ok at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I really enjoy the service. Staff is ext ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I really enjoy the service. Staff is extremely friendly, helpful. The view was amazing as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Fancy department store cafeteria food wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fancy department store cafeteria food with a great view. Food took 1 hour to arrive and the orders were not complete. Staff were nice but couldn't make up for wait time.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

ordered the rack of lamb and the duck bu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

ordered the rack of lamb and the duck but don't think you get enough for the price. was very disappointed with the proportions of the food

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

It was amazing!!!! it was perfect for my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was amazing!!!! it was perfect for my boyfriend birthday dinner. They specialized the menu with a Happy Birthday, rose petals were on the table and to top it off with the fireworks show at the end of the night. AMAZING !!!!!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fireworks

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Even though the food is only moderately good and they don't have all the wines on their wine list (RE: Cakebread) and the waiter didn't get our order correct, we still managed to enjoy the experience . Although when the fireworks started at Navy Pier we were besieged by patrons from other areas gathering by our table and partially blocking the view we still managed to enjoy them. As we were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary - very little could have spoiled it .

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We celebrated our 2 year anniversary tod ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We celebrated our 2 year anniversary today

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our Experience at Cite

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went for a double special occasion, my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, while my son was celebrating his high school graduation.

He loved it. He got the NY Strip Steak, which he said was the best steak he had ever eaten! I got the filet, which was delicious! My wife got the chicken, which was fine, nothing very special about it. My daughter got the lobster macaroni and cheese and a Cesar Salad. The Lobster Mac was the big winner. I couldn't eat it, as I have a wheat intolerance, but everyone else could not stop talking about it.

The only complaint I had was that a shade was broken so that the sun was in my eyes for the entire meal. My wife was a bit miffed that everything was a la carte. She said that for those prices she would have expected the sides to be included.

Over all, we would definitely recommend Cite to anyone. The view is magnificent and the food is delicious. I would recommend going during sunset.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

enjoyed Chef's menu. Great view of the C ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

enjoyed Chef's menu. Great view of the City. Romantic venue.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We experienced a wonderful wine tasting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We experienced a wonderful wine tasting with Amir as our host!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! Not sure why it has ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great time! Not sure why it has so many negative reviews.. Food tasted great and everyone was very friendly

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect overview ! perfect food !

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Perfect overview ! perfect food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great decor horrible food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and The view is AMAZING! The food is horrible. I had onion soup, Caesar salad and salmon. My mother ordered lamb chops and we shared asparagus and truffled potato gratin. She did not enjoy the lamb either.... perhaps we just ordered the wrong dishes... I will try them again because it's beautiful and I want to find something that I like.

The server was awesome btw!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

No Air con. Are you kidding!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We booked this for both Mother's Day and an 80th Birthday. When we got there we were seated next to the food station. We also realized how hot the restaurant was. The wait staff did their best and moved us to a quieter part of the restaurant. But, the heat only got worse, it was then explained that the blind that could give us some relief, was broken. The only way my children could keep cool was by using the ice from the wine bucket to cool themselves down.

Due to this being Mothers day and an 80th, we were stuck and didn't really have any other options.

Due to the oppressive heat, we weren't overly hungry. This experience was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

This is amazing place to have romantic d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is amazing place to have romantic dinner but the only thing which needs some change is the menu. Salmon with maple syrup, Duck with maple syrup....too many things sweeeet! :-)

Amazing view but some tables are not great view at night toward lake side is just too dark.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at Cite with a couple of minor annoyances.

Overall the venue is gorgeous. The view is unbeatable in any restaurant I've ever been to (disclaimer: we don't typically go out to fancy restaurants). The 360 views of the Chicago skyline were worth the meal alone.

That being said the experience and food was just as fantastic. We were greeted warmly, our food was delicious, and we were even offered complimentary champagne as we were celebrating our anniversary.

The only annoying part of the evening was the fact that there were a couple of parties going on. One in particular had taken up the majority of the good viewing areas and the staff, while gracious, were careful to let us know we were not allowed in that area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This visit was our 19th wedding anniversary diner and our first time at Cite. The waiter stated he would return to explain and go over the menu with us. When he returned, he asked if we had any questions and what we would like to start with. So he forgot, it was an 8:30PM reservation and it was not busy but just went with it. My wife ordered the filet and an additional lobster tail but was only able to finish half of both. $50 filet and $65 lobster tail. Bus boy took our food and never returned. Asked waiter about it and found out it had been thrown out! Tried to compensate us with two $9 desserts. REALLY!?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Holy Cite.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Took my wife here for her birthday and we were both immensely impressed. The staff was super helpful and the food was beyond expectation. If you're planning a special date and want an amazing view of the city, cite is the place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True gem!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Everything was amazing. Customer service was excellent, food delicious, breathtaking views. Very romantic atmosphere! Definitely coming back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I went for our date night. While the view is amazing, the food is not worth the expense. While we are no stranger to paying more for a meal "on occasion" than a normal weekly grocery budget, the dining experience has to justify the expense. We didn't feel that Cite' did so. The food wasn't bad, just not worth a several hundred dollar meal.

I ordered the tasting menu to get a good sampling of much of the menu, my wife had lamb chops. Both meals began with an appetizer consisting of a slice of salmon over a cucumber. Good but not mind blowing. The next courses were similar in taste profile. Competent, if bland with no complexity. The lamb chops were cooked properly, but lacking flavor.

The drinks were good overall. The French Oak was a bit watery, however the mango mojito was excellent.

It was great to try for a date night, and the view is obviously excellent, but I can't recommend for the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The ambiance here couldn't be any better ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The ambiance here couldn't be any better. The view is just spectacular, but that's what you're really paying for. The food is just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Cite Review

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My friends and I came here for Chef's Week. We came on a Thursday night. Service was great! Food was also good, Large portions.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing views, great for special occasions

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Luckily unbeknownst to us it was Chef Week and it was a great little menu. We had a wonderful appetizer, salad, entree and dessert for a great price. The food was great. We didn't see the server much because he had alot of tables and he tended to the bar also. But when he came by he was great. Ambiance is nice and views are amazing, a totally different view of the city. You must have some time to get to the restaurant because the parking is a little cumbersome, it's best to taxi or Uber to the restaurant but all in all the views are the best.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Cute place but didn't have great experie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Cute place but didn't have great experience. Food was good we had to flag down someone to get drinks, to order, to get refills on drinks, to get our check. The waiter was never proactive. Only the water attendant was attendant. The blinds next to our table were broken and didn't raise so our view was muffled by sun blinds which was a shame since its so pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.