About Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria

4650 C Arendell Street
Morehead City, NC 28557
View Larger Map

Clarke Merrell's (Circa 81 Executive Chef/Proprietor) goal is for Circa 81 to provide creative, quality, & delicious food in a beautiful setting. Offering small plates that are perfect for passing around the table in true tapas style, our dishes are meant to inspire and engage our diners. So, start a conversation, relax, and enjoy a fresh take on cuisine. Clarke developed Circa 81 in hopes that guests will try something new and different and truly have a dining experience. Circa 81 offers great wine and cocktails too, with more than 30 specialty drinks on our cocktaileria menu. Our menu also includes medium and large plate selections - delicious sandwiches, homemade soups, local seafood and fresh-made desserts.

Circa 81 also offers take-out and catering - just contact us for more details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Tuesday: CLOSED
Wed-Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 9:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2pm, full menu available all day Sunday until 9pm

Cross Street:
Across from EJW Outdoors

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 648-8300

Website:
http://www.circa-81.com/

Catering:
Circa 81 offers full service catering. Let us cater your next event. We will cook and clean, and you can take all of the credit. Think of us when you are planning your next, wedding, rehearsal dinner, bridal luncheon, office party, dinner party, baby shower etc. Also popular is our drop off menu. We will drop off your food so you can eat at your own leisure. This has been a big hit for the big family beach gatherings. Email Clarke@circa-81.com or call 252.648.8300 for your catering needs. Gather, Eat, Enjoy!

Parking Details:
Big private lot. Will accommodate large vehicles

Public Transit:
Taxi Cabs (sorry MHC does not offer public transportation)

We are located 2.5 miles west of the Atlantic Beach bridge.

Executive Chef:
Clarke Merrell

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your next special event with us. We offer both private and semi-private setups for rehearsal dinners, engagement parties, baby/bridal showers or just a special celebration. Email Clarke@circa-81.com or call 252.648.8300 for details.

Restaurant Photos

Mixed Grille
Strawberry Mojito
She Crab Soup
Pork Ossobucco
Hatteras Burger
Blueberry Yum Yum
crab cake
Seafood Mac And Cheese
Crispy Calamari
Soft Shell Crab Over Chedder Jalapeno Grits
Chicken Sandwich And Broccoli Salad
Key Lime Pie
Shrimp And Scallop Ceviche
Stuffed Baked Brie
Gnocchi
Medjool Dates  Bacon, almond, chevre, sunchoke
Jamones Ibericos
Crab Cake: Homemade with jumbo lump crab, served with wasabi aioli and grilled pineapple relish

Promotions

MOJITO MONDAY

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Sangria Sunday Funday!

Sundays from 12:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Cheers to Thursday! $5 Martinis

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

MOJITO MONDAY

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

All mojitos are just $5. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 15, 2016 - Dec 12, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Sangria Sunday Funday!

Sundays from 12:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

$10 pitchers of any sangria (traditional, white or cava) after 12 noon!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 14, 2016 - Dec 11, 2016 on Sundays from 12:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Cheers to Thursday! $5 Martinis

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

$5 Martinis all day!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 18, 2016 - Dec 15, 2016 on Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Beaufort / Morehead City
Best Restaurants in Beaufort / Morehead City ›

Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Haven't been to Circa in a while but wan ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 5 days ago

Haven't been to Circa in a while but wanted to celebrate a Birthday with some great food. Definitely met expectations. Menu had changed some since our last visit. Calamari was gone, but garlic shrimp was added. Good call; best garlic shrimp we've had since Spain, 20+ years ago! Desert (Blueberry yum-yum) was delicious. Only drawback was a limited salad selection; could have used a simple side salad, since the other selections were just too large for our tastes. Otherwise, great visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's difficult to find restaurants that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

It's difficult to find restaurants that have vegetarian options when visiting my family in NC. Thank goodness for Circa 81! I must be the lone vegetarian in North Carolina when I visit. So many options for me! Even my dad, a meat and potatoes kind of guy, enjoyed his meal. And he is very difficult to please.

At the table, collectively, we had: Caprese salad, She-Crab soup, Crab dip, Brussels sprouts, Truffle mac and cheese, potstickers and the kids pizza. Everyone enjoyed everything.

Service was very pleasant. Atmosphere, lovely. What a find! I felt like I was back in NYC.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and lovely staff. A very enjo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and lovely staff. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed that seafood mac & cheese i ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Disappointed that seafood mac & cheese is no longer on menu which is the main reason we went for my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great tapas and drinks. Well priced fabu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great tapas and drinks. Well priced fabulous staff. Excellent presentation and generous amounts on small plates.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a nice meal and different than ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was a nice meal and different than what we had at other local restaurants while on vacation on the coast of NC, a good change of pace.

I had the beef and my husband had tuna nachos, both were quite good. We also had the bread which was not as good as I hoped it would be. The cocktails were very good, no light pour at this restaurant!

I would recommend Circa 81 as a good change of pace to others visiting the area on vacation, to escape the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was slow. Dishes did not come ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service was slow. Dishes did not come out together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This was not our first time at Circa81; ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was not our first time at Circa81; we reserve dining there for special occasions because the food experience is so unique. We always order the "small plates" or tapas so we can taste the many skills of the chef. Last night the two shrimp dishes we ordered were particularly good: flavorful and seasoned beautifully. I don't know why we keep ordering the dates....perhaps because they sound so exotic--but we always say afterwards that they were too sweet, like caramel candy. The potatoes Brava were excellent, and the mac and cheese was unique and tasty. The chef's take on Shrimp 'n grits was really good.

It's an expensive evening if your can't control your desire to taste a lot of different dishes...the plus side: there's enough food to share among 4 people. We love eating there!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The best meal I've all year. Service wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The best meal I've all year. Service was wonderfuland we can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two meat dishes were on point. Duck and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Two meat dishes were on point. Duck and porky belly. Everything else was rather suspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was our second visit. My husband an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was our second visit. My husband and I love craft beer, good wine, and cheese boards and Circa 81 has a great selection of all of these things along with unique combinations of foods on their extensive small plates menu. We have yet to try something we didn't love! The chef is also the owner and takes great pride in his work. He came out at the end of our meal to make sure we enjoyed everything! We hope to try the brunch soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening at this fun restaurant. We ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great evening at this fun restaurant. We were a party of 8 and half the group had never been to the restaurant. Our waitress explained the different sized plates and assisted with our ordering process. While there may have been a long wait to get our cocktail order placed--perhaps due to a question about a particular liqueur on hand--once our food order was placed there was no trouble with timing on any other part of our meal. This is a great testament to the cook staff. We ordered specials, small and large plates--all came out together, hot, and delicious. This restaurant consistently pleases with innovative dishes and good service. Great ambiance. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had been wanting to try this place and h ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had been wanting to try this place and had a good opportunity with family in town! What a treat!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed; won't be back. There ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very disappointed; won't be back. There was minimal A/C and the place was packed, noise level very high and the lighting so dim I needed a flashlight to read the menu. Portions are VERY small and some of the food we ordered never made it to our table, but we were charged for it anyway (the charges were removed when we pointed it out). I can't believe they charged $1 a slice of bread ( which they cut in half). Despite a bill of $140 we went home feeling hungry and raided the fridge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Impeccable service and food as always! C ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Impeccable service and food as always! Can't wait to dine again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On vacation for the Fourth. Ate out four ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

On vacation for the Fourth. Ate out four nights and this was by far the best. We liked it so much that we went two of the four nights. We ordered several tapas and passed them around. Everyone expressed how much they liked the food. My friends also thought the cocktails were outstanding. I searched for "the best restaurants in the area" and Circa 81 took reservations, so I booked them for the first night. The last night of our stay, July 4th, we all wanted to go back instead of trying another disappointing choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, deserts were GREAT! Big ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food, deserts were GREAT! Big issue was lack of attention to clearing plates after we tried many different Tapas. My daughter cleared serving plates on more than once, so we had room on the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic food, great service!!! The ne ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic food, great service!!! The new chef has made Circa a standout in a sea of mediocre restraunts on the Crystal Coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my husband for Father's Day brunc ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my husband for Father's Day brunch and it was phenomenal! I had the fried grits with crab cakes and poached eggs... it did not dissapoint! My 9 year old daughter had the shrimp and grits and that was tasty too! All around great restaurant! It is a little on the small side, but as long as you are sure to have a reservation, especially on special occasions that should not matter! Service was great and the food came out in such a timely manner! I can't wait to go back! Thank you Circa 81!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner with husband

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

As always the food was delicious, especially enjoyed the small plate special of Shoshito roasted peppers with a ginger soy sauce. Seafood Mac n Cheese was very good and also the Shrimp & Grits, and the Black Bean Quesadilla. Good atmosphere and good service as always. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are consistently disappointed

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Because this restaurant gets such positive reviews, we keep trying it. Unfortunately we are now 0 for 3. Don't expect to try a fourth time.

Let's begin with the service. Asked for our drink orders before being seated, asked for our food order within 2 minutes of being seated, all food (soup salad, tapas, and entrees) came out of the kitchen at the same time. Service was faster than you get in a drive through, and not appreciated in this context.

Food was also disappointing. Soy ginger salad dressing was sweet, as was the stock used for the mussels. Steak was ordered rare and was served medium and salty, seared ahi tuna tasted old and was returned to the kitchen. Calamari was crisp but salty, she-crab soup was good. Felt like the menu was overly complicated and they missed on every dish.

We filled out the comment card with our contact information in hopes that management would contact us for feedback. Haven't heard from them. This restaurant gets a lot of good reviews and we just don't understand why. But we've tried it for the last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Very nice place! Worth the 20 minute or ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very nice place! Worth the 20 minute or so drive from Emerald Isle! So glad we found it. Ate 90% vegetarian and it was awesome. Good choices! Glad my wife enjoyed it who was vegetarian. I did sneak in some pot sticks for myself :) will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

perfect, perfect, perfect

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We celebrated the most special of special occasions at Circa -- a reunion of high-school sweethearts after a separation of 48 years and 2600 miles.

Circa gave us the best first date ever. From the moment Rachel let us to a custom-selected romantic table, through Paul's introduction to the evening's specials, through a champagne toast, wines, enchantingly presented small plates, all the way to Bailey's and coffee, the evening was a total joy--a gift of love for lovers.

Thank you so very much, Paul, Rachel, and kitchen staff. You provided delight beyond measure. We look forward to future visits--in far less than 48 years!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good. Great cheese ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food is always good. Great cheese boards. One of the best wine list around. Having moved recently from San Clemente, California (wine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner) we were worried that we would not be able to find a nice wine list---look no further.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great service, as always.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food, great service, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic array of tapas... Yummy and a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic array of tapas... Yummy and a great selection! Really has variety too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of Our Favorites

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Love Circa 81. We dine here frequently and are never disappointed. The menu has something for everyone. My wife is a vegetarian and the Tapas offer enough variety for vegetarians. The staff is welcoming, informative and provides an excellent level of service and food prep. We travel frequently to big cities and dine at gourmet restaurants. Circa 81 could compete in any big city and get high marks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food..less than great service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

There were four women dining together for a birthday. The hostess was pleasant, the seating was fine. Restaurant is very small, very little in ambience. No reason to sit outside - you are looking at the parking lot. The food was excellent. The service, unfortunately was poor. The waitress, once placing the tapas, would disappear until the next dish was ready. We wanted plates cleaned off, wanted another cocktail - we replaced our own plates from another table, we had to ask someone else for more wine.

Each dish was excellent and attractively presented. Nice wine and cocktail list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

GREAT FOOD

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food and service! Tapas were outstanding! Shrimp & Grits was incredible! The sauce was great. Wide variety of wines and cocktails. Service was great; friendly and responsive - staff doesn't try to rush you. Very comfortable dinner. Really nice atmosphere. We will definitely go back...have already recommended to friends and co-workers. Best restaurant in this area, but would rank it near the top anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very friendly staff.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was AMAZING!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I have NEVER had good this amazing before (no joke). Their menu is so unique and good for you because it natural (not "low fat" but natural lol). It was a tad to dark but easy fix lol.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Tapas

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Their tapas menu was awesome! We wanted to try just about all of them. The beef skewers, crab dip, tuna, dates, and sweet potato quesadilla! Everything was perfect. Nice night out for the 4 of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary celebration

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

A great place for any occasion but we went for our anniversary. We were so impressed with the meal and will definitely be coming back! Lee was wonderful!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dang, what a find!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

First time dining with them, and, wow, it's like Billy Joel's "Piano Man": "Man, what are you doing here?" We certainly have a number of fine options in Beaufort (Beaufort Grocery and Aqua come to mind) and Morehead (Floyd's 1921), but, tucked away sideways in a strip mall you've hardly ever noticed, right on Arendell, with a pretty non-descript name, is a great dining experience. Food was exceptional, service was outstanding, check with tip was...about what you'd expect (as in $$$ or something like that). We only had tapas (well, and creme brulee for dessert; this was also the only service minor misstep. and was immediately corrected), a tuna taco special, gnocchi, shrimp and grits and one of their ham (as in jamon) charcuterie plates. Every last bite was a pleasure. Atmosphere is very pleasant also, not roaring like Persimmon's and 247 Craven can get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

East Coast Dining Delight!!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Circa 81 is a tapas style eatery with a fabulous cocktail menu. It is the perfect dining experience for us locals as well as a great romantic place to enjoy in our vacation town. The portions are ample and delicious. Service is excellent!!! We picked 7 items from the tapas menu and each was perfectly cooked and seasoned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Poor Service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our food was very good but the wait staff was more what you would expect in the local diner than an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was excellent. Our sever disappeared for a little while but the place was pretty busy. Would definitely recommend. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent overall! Food was great! Service slow.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Took about 15 minutes for someone to come and take care of us. Once they got there, everything went great after that. The food was EXCELLENT! Loved the small plate options to share (3 of us) and still had the larger plate options. We also shared the large plate. Thought the price was fair. Would definitely go back and would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Black Bean Chorizo Soup

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Black Bean Soup, was pureed beyond recognition. There was one thin slice of Chorizo laying on top and a teaspoon (not exaggerating this amount) of Sour Cream. We returned both bowls, unfinished by far. The black liquid did not even appear appetizing and the taste confirmed that true. The rest of our food was fine.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Unexpected food with great prices.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Foodies will love the diverse menu and great atmosphere. Service was top notch and we enjoyed the bar menu with creative choices. Will surely be back to experience all it has to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.