About Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria

4650 C Arendell Street
Morehead City, NC 28557
View Larger Map

Clarke Merrell's (Circa 81 Executive Chef/Proprietor) goal is for Circa 81 to provide creative, quality, & delicious food in a beautiful setting. Offering small plates that are perfect for passing around the table in true tapas style, our dishes are meant to inspire and engage our diners. So, start a conversation, relax, and enjoy a fresh take on cuisine. Clarke developed Circa 81 in hopes that guests will try something new and different and truly have a dining experience. Circa 81 offers great wine and cocktails too, with more than 30 specialty drinks on our cocktaileria menu. Our menu also includes medium and large plate selections - delicious sandwiches, homemade soups, local seafood and fresh-made desserts.

Circa 81 also offers take-out and catering - just contact us for more details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Tuesday: CLOSED
Wed-Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 9:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2pm, full menu available all day Sunday until 9pm

Cross Street:
Across from EJW Outdoors

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 648-8300

Website:
http://www.circa-81.com/

Catering:
Circa 81 offers full service catering. Let us cater your next event. We will cook and clean, and you can take all of the credit. Think of us when you are planning your next, wedding, rehearsal dinner, bridal luncheon, office party, dinner party, baby shower etc. Also popular is our drop off menu. We will drop off your food so you can eat at your own leisure. This has been a big hit for the big family beach gatherings. Email Clarke@circa-81.com or call 252.648.8300 for your catering needs. Gather, Eat, Enjoy!

Parking Details:
Big private lot. Will accommodate large vehicles

Public Transit:
Taxi Cabs (sorry MHC does not offer public transportation)

We are located 2.5 miles west of the Atlantic Beach bridge.

Executive Chef:
Clarke Merrell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your next special event with us. We offer both private and semi-private setups for rehearsal dinners, engagement parties, baby/bridal showers or just a special celebration. Email Clarke@circa-81.com or call 252.648.8300 for details.

Restaurant Photos

Mixed Grille - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Strawberry Mojito - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
She Crab Soup  - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Pork Ossobucco - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Hatteras Burger - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Blueberry Yum Yum - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
crab cake - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Seafood Mac And Cheese - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Crispy Calamari - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Soft Shell Crab Over Chedder Jalapeno Grits - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Chicken Sandwich And Broccoli Salad - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Key Lime Pie - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Shrimp And Scallop Ceviche - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Stuffed Baked Brie - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Gnocchi - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Medjool Dates  Bacon, almond, chevre, sunchoke - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Jamones Ibericos - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC
Crab Cake: Homemade with jumbo lump crab, served with wasabi aioli and grilled pineapple relish - Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria, Morehead City, NC

Specials

MOJITO MONDAY

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Sangria Sunday Funday!

Sundays from 12:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Cheers to Thursday! $5 Martinis

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

MOJITO MONDAY

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

All mojitos are just $5. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 15, 2016 - Dec 12, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Sangria Sunday Funday!

Sundays from 12:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

$10 pitchers of any sangria (traditional, white or cava) after 12 noon!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 14, 2016 - Dec 11, 2016 on Sundays from 12:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Cheers to Thursday! $5 Martinis

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

$5 Martinis all day!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 18, 2016 - Dec 15, 2016 on Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Circa 81 Tapas & Cocktaileria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Beaufort / Morehead City
Best Restaurants in Beaufort / Morehead City ›

Fit for Foodies (14)
Tapas (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food, quick service, attentive ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful food, quick service, attentive waitress and omg the best brunch I've had in months!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to celebrate any occasion ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate any occasion or just casual dinner!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent this restaurant and have alw ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We frequent this restaurant and have always had amazing service and the food is top notch. During this visit our service was more than lacking. Our drinks weren't refilled regularly and our server was generally inattentive. The food was great as usual! Love this restaurant and I hope the poor service we had this time doesn't become a pattern.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Tapas, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

One of my MOST favorite spots on earth! ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

One of my MOST favorite spots on earth! They accommodate us every time we come to eat - My husband has severe allergies and they are amazing about it... It is our safe spot!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Organic, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique selections.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Unique selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious small plates, easy to share. L ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Delicious small plates, easy to share. Laid back atmosphere. TVs at bar w sports on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is a favorite of ours. We are seaso ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This is a favorite of ours. We are seasonal visitors to Morehead but have family in the area. On our previous visit, a year ago, we brought 25 people for a celebration and Circa 81 handled it beautifully.

Last week we returned. I had she crab soup-excellent, octopus-ok I guess, duck breast-best I've had outside Paris, charred pork belly-delicious! Chocolate cheesecake-very good. All hot dishes were served HOT, which I like. Service was careful and courteous. The house Pinot Grigio and Cabernet Sauvignon were fine and the pour was generous.

It's a good place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The tapas are American size - delicious ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The tapas are American size - delicious and large!

We started with deconstructed shrimp & grits, hot crab dip & pita and bacon wrapped dates stuffed with goat cheese. Each and every one a flavorful mouth explosion!

Adding a salad would have made a perfect meal but no, we ordered the evening special of an encrusted pork chop served with sweet potato purée, purple cauliflower & broccolini. Sensory overload ensued - not to mention the loosening of a belt notch!

Can. Not. Wait. To. Go. Back!

So many more things to try!

Our server made the evening a gastronomic fun evening.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was another great dining experience ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2016

this was another great dining experience at Circa 81. We choose this restaurant for our 12th anniversary dinner. We requested a booth that we really like and we were accommodated. The waitress provided good service along with other waitstaff. The food was very good with a great presentation.

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was slow and food was served ran ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was slow and food was served randomly in no particular order. Caprese salad was good and cold. She Crab soup lacked crab and was too creamy. If there were any chopped walnuts in the savory baked Brie, they were hiding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Food was great. Took a but longer than e ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was great. Took a but longer than expected to get the second round of tapas since we ordered them all together but the food more than made up for the wait. Watermelon mojito was very good and the sangria was good as well. We'll be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Four of us had dinner had dinner there o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Four of us had dinner had dinner there on a recent Saturday Night. It was wonderful, the specials, Tapas, the complete menu. Two of us were retired from the Hospitality Industry, one a CIA Trained Chef, and me, Hotelier. Clarke, the owner, shows creativity, style and substance in his craft. We enjoy Circa-81

Tags: Tapas, Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food as usual was excellent. Our ser ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our food as usual was excellent. Our server seemed to be having problems. One of our dishes was delivered by a different server as we were finishing our meal. Also, a second glass of wine came 10-15 minutes after ordering and was delivered by yet another server. Someone else refilled water glasses. Original server brought the bills and 2 of them were wrong. As good as the food was, it was a shame that service was so poor. Have been before and had perfect service so hopefully this was a one time occurrence.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Overall, we really like Circa 81.....one ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall, we really like Circa 81.....one of our top three favorite restaurants in the area. However, our last visit, we felt really rushed.....wait staff may want to slow down a bit. We are aware of the importance of table turnover, but when my husband was not quite finished with one of his dishes, someone came by and whisked the plate away (in a hurry, without asking)....he had turned to talk to our friend, with his fork in the air, and looked down and the plate was gone. Staff was accommodating about replacing it. Just remember to please ask if someone is finished with their plate before taking it away. We realize it was a holiday weekend, and the place was packed, but......

We love this place.....this was a rare experience for us, but not a big deal....just annoying. We will continue to enjoy Circa 81. Servers continue to be excellent, as is the food. And, we love the ambiance.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. The food was inventive and really tasty. The menu has something for everyone and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Circa 81, and even went 2 night ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love Circa 81, and even went 2 nights in a row on our recent beach trip! The food is great, the cocktails are excellent and the staff is very friendly :-)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I took a break from our sons ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I took a break from our sons and grandchildren while vacationing at the Beach. We searched online for a restaurant that served local seafood as well as other entrees. Circa 81 also served tapas items which we both enjoy. I had the shrimp and grits and a crab cake from the tapas menu along with a house salad. The shrimp were local and fresh, served with a couple of grit cakes and a light creamy sauce. Most importantly the shrimp were not over cooked. The crab cake seemed more like a deviled crab filling than a flakey Maryland style crab cake that I prefer. Not bad but not my favorite. We shared an excellent vacant wrapped cheese filled date appetizer. My wife ordered the special of the evening (lamb chops and scallops) and it was great. Well prepared and beautifully presented on a rectangular piece of slate. The service was excellent with just the correct amount of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Haven't been to Circa in a while but wan ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Haven't been to Circa in a while but wanted to celebrate a Birthday with some great food. Definitely met expectations. Menu had changed some since our last visit. Calamari was gone, but garlic shrimp was added. Good call; best garlic shrimp we've had since Spain, 20+ years ago! Desert (Blueberry yum-yum) was delicious. Only drawback was a limited salad selection; could have used a simple side salad, since the other selections were just too large for our tastes. Otherwise, great visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's difficult to find restaurants that ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

It's difficult to find restaurants that have vegetarian options when visiting my family in NC. Thank goodness for Circa 81! I must be the lone vegetarian in North Carolina when I visit. So many options for me! Even my dad, a meat and potatoes kind of guy, enjoyed his meal. And he is very difficult to please.

At the table, collectively, we had: Caprese salad, She-Crab soup, Crab dip, Brussels sprouts, Truffle mac and cheese, potstickers and the kids pizza. Everyone enjoyed everything.

Service was very pleasant. Atmosphere, lovely. What a find! I felt like I was back in NYC.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and lovely staff. A very enjo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and lovely staff. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed that seafood mac & cheese i ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Disappointed that seafood mac & cheese is no longer on menu which is the main reason we went for my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great tapas and drinks. Well priced fabu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great tapas and drinks. Well priced fabulous staff. Excellent presentation and generous amounts on small plates.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a nice meal and different than ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was a nice meal and different than what we had at other local restaurants while on vacation on the coast of NC, a good change of pace.

I had the beef and my husband had tuna nachos, both were quite good. We also had the bread which was not as good as I hoped it would be. The cocktails were very good, no light pour at this restaurant!

I would recommend Circa 81 as a good change of pace to others visiting the area on vacation, to escape the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was slow. Dishes did not come ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service was slow. Dishes did not come out together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This was not our first time at Circa81; ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was not our first time at Circa81; we reserve dining there for special occasions because the food experience is so unique. We always order the "small plates" or tapas so we can taste the many skills of the chef. Last night the two shrimp dishes we ordered were particularly good: flavorful and seasoned beautifully. I don't know why we keep ordering the dates....perhaps because they sound so exotic--but we always say afterwards that they were too sweet, like caramel candy. The potatoes Brava were excellent, and the mac and cheese was unique and tasty. The chef's take on Shrimp 'n grits was really good.

It's an expensive evening if your can't control your desire to taste a lot of different dishes...the plus side: there's enough food to share among 4 people. We love eating there!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The best meal I've all year. Service wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The best meal I've all year. Service was wonderfuland we can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two meat dishes were on point. Duck and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Two meat dishes were on point. Duck and porky belly. Everything else was rather suspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was our second visit. My husband an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was our second visit. My husband and I love craft beer, good wine, and cheese boards and Circa 81 has a great selection of all of these things along with unique combinations of foods on their extensive small plates menu. We have yet to try something we didn't love! The chef is also the owner and takes great pride in his work. He came out at the end of our meal to make sure we enjoyed everything! We hope to try the brunch soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening at this fun restaurant. We ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great evening at this fun restaurant. We were a party of 8 and half the group had never been to the restaurant. Our waitress explained the different sized plates and assisted with our ordering process. While there may have been a long wait to get our cocktail order placed--perhaps due to a question about a particular liqueur on hand--once our food order was placed there was no trouble with timing on any other part of our meal. This is a great testament to the cook staff. We ordered specials, small and large plates--all came out together, hot, and delicious. This restaurant consistently pleases with innovative dishes and good service. Great ambiance. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had been wanting to try this place and h ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had been wanting to try this place and had a good opportunity with family in town! What a treat!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed; won't be back. There ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very disappointed; won't be back. There was minimal A/C and the place was packed, noise level very high and the lighting so dim I needed a flashlight to read the menu. Portions are VERY small and some of the food we ordered never made it to our table, but we were charged for it anyway (the charges were removed when we pointed it out). I can't believe they charged $1 a slice of bread ( which they cut in half). Despite a bill of $140 we went home feeling hungry and raided the fridge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Impeccable service and food as always! C ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Impeccable service and food as always! Can't wait to dine again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal and service! The food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful meal and service! The food was so delicious and the drinks we had were perfectly made. I highly recommend the Gambas al Ajillo!!!

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On vacation for the Fourth. Ate out four ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2016

On vacation for the Fourth. Ate out four nights and this was by far the best. We liked it so much that we went two of the four nights. We ordered several tapas and passed them around. Everyone expressed how much they liked the food. My friends also thought the cocktails were outstanding. I searched for "the best restaurants in the area" and Circa 81 took reservations, so I booked them for the first night. The last night of our stay, July 4th, we all wanted to go back instead of trying another disappointing choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, deserts were GREAT! Big ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food, deserts were GREAT! Big issue was lack of attention to clearing plates after we tried many different Tapas. My daughter cleared serving plates on more than once, so we had room on the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic food, great service!!! The ne ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic food, great service!!! The new chef has made Circa a standout in a sea of mediocre restraunts on the Crystal Coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my husband for Father's Day brunc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my husband for Father's Day brunch and it was phenomenal! I had the fried grits with crab cakes and poached eggs... it did not dissapoint! My 9 year old daughter had the shrimp and grits and that was tasty too! All around great restaurant! It is a little on the small side, but as long as you are sure to have a reservation, especially on special occasions that should not matter! Service was great and the food came out in such a timely manner! I can't wait to go back! Thank you Circa 81!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner with husband

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2016

As always the food was delicious, especially enjoyed the small plate special of Shoshito roasted peppers with a ginger soy sauce. Seafood Mac n Cheese was very good and also the Shrimp & Grits, and the Black Bean Quesadilla. Good atmosphere and good service as always. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are consistently disappointed

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Because this restaurant gets such positive reviews, we keep trying it. Unfortunately we are now 0 for 3. Don't expect to try a fourth time.

Let's begin with the service. Asked for our drink orders before being seated, asked for our food order within 2 minutes of being seated, all food (soup salad, tapas, and entrees) came out of the kitchen at the same time. Service was faster than you get in a drive through, and not appreciated in this context.

Food was also disappointing. Soy ginger salad dressing was sweet, as was the stock used for the mussels. Steak was ordered rare and was served medium and salty, seared ahi tuna tasted old and was returned to the kitchen. Calamari was crisp but salty, she-crab soup was good. Felt like the menu was overly complicated and they missed on every dish.

We filled out the comment card with our contact information in hopes that management would contact us for feedback. Haven't heard from them. This restaurant gets a lot of good reviews and we just don't understand why. But we've tried it for the last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Very nice place! Worth the 20 minute or ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very nice place! Worth the 20 minute or so drive from Emerald Isle! So glad we found it. Ate 90% vegetarian and it was awesome. Good choices! Glad my wife enjoyed it who was vegetarian. I did sneak in some pot sticks for myself :) will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.