About Circa 1922

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: 9107621922

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly
Duck Confit
Sangria
The Inquisition
Pomegranate Bellini
Lamb Ravioli
Grilled Ny Strip
Scallops
Apple Salad
End Of August
Seared Tuna
Oysters
Up In Smoke
lobster roll
Créme Brulé
Mai Tai
Rioja
Cheese Plate
Seared Maine Scallops
Circa Azalea
Circa Hurricane
Blueberry Watermelon Mojito
Shrimp and Grits
Pork
Single Malt Bourbon
Scolops
Shrimp And Scolop Ceviche
Chocolate Coconut Sushi
Paella
Cheese Board
Crepes
Scollops
Braised Short Ribs
Croissant Bread Pudding
Key Lime Pie
Salted Caramel Gelato
Circa Sour
Crab Dip
Almond Joy Cake, Chocolate Hazelnut Macaroon and Strawberry Cream Cake
Seared Scalops
Filet Minogn
Lobster Gnocchi
Maine Scallops, Celery Root Puree, Bacon, Black Olives, Apple, Fennel
Tapas Cheese Plate
Banana's Foster
Crab Cheesecake
Old Fashioned
Everything!
Circa Roll
Organic Greens With Temura Gorgonzola, Pear, & Candied Walnuts
Pear And Fennel Salad

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (74)
fit for foodies (59)
romantic (56)
See All
neighborhood gem (47)
good for groups (46)
notable wine list (32)
hot spot (24)
vibrant bar scene (17)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our fave places!! Our server was ...

Dined 4 days ago

One of our fave places!! Our server was Courtney & she took great care of us. We'd def recommend the restaurant (and the server) for a great dining experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service always consistent, Love ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food and service always consistent, Love having drinks at the bar with Jish and then sitting for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was excellent. Unfortunately we had ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Unfortunately we had a waiter who was less than attentive. Seemed to forget we existed. Didn't ask if we wanted desert and seemed surprised when he instead brought the check and we asked to see the desert menu. Hopefully this was an isolated case as the restaurant is usually top natch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had family from out of ...

Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I had family from out of state visiting for a couple of days. One of the couples had been to Circa 1922 before, but was a new experience for the other couple. The ambiance is always great. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and was able to recommend a wonderful wine to complement what we all were going to eat. He also had a fun sense of humor. My sister in law commented that even though the restaurant was basically filled, we could each hear our conversations and did not need to shout ! We always recommend Circa 1922 to friends and is always a top choice to dine with friends and family. Thanks for a great evening !!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our eclectic dinner at Ci ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoyed our eclectic dinner at Circa 1922. Varied menu and the staff was supportive of our "tour." Not often, I think, that dinners start with oysters (local and great), move to salad (with tempura battered Gorgonzola, who would have thought?), Calamari in honey wasabi, Figs with Gooseberries and then Duck Confit. It might not sound like a harmonious meal, but the 4 of us were very happy with the variety. Great wine list with well priced wines at every level. Saw but did not order Cakebread Chardonnay at $84 - reasonable restaurant price for that wine. Wait staff is excellent - attentive, knowledgable, funny and very professional. We were slightly late for our reservation (parking in Wilmington is not easy) and the hostess seated us immediately, very friendly. Would definitely (and have!) recommend.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved Circa 1922. The decor is upscale ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved Circa 1922. The decor is upscale and trendy. Nice menu selection. The main course items are larger than many tapas restaurants. Everyone at our table would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to dine in downtown Wilmingt ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great place to dine in downtown Wilmington. Right on front street in the middle of the action. Very cool atmosphere and the staff was great. We got the hot crab dip, the lobster gnocchi, the fish special of the day, and mini desserts. Everything was delicious (all the seafood is locally caught) and we were very satisfied after our meal. I love that they offer mini desserts for only $3 so you can have just a few bites to finish your meal. I wouldn't hesitate going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Light crowd on Monday night. Attentive w ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Light crowd on Monday night. Attentive waitstaff, food experience was excellent and prepared exquisitely. Always a favorite place to eat when I'm in Wilmington.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Circa a few times now and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We've been to Circa a few times now and we love it! The filet is AMAZING! Melts in your mouth! Calamari is my husband's favorite. 7 layer cake is huge and sooo rich! Never tasted anything we didn't love. Enjoy a great meal at Circa 1922, you won't regret it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Liked the atmosphere and decor. The sta ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Liked the atmosphere and decor. The standout dish of the night was the spice crusted sea bass. The sangria and tuna tartar were very bland - would not order those items again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always! Spinach salad & tri ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic as always! Spinach salad & trio of tuna are my favorites!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place was great! We had a reservati ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This place was great! We had a reservation but were early so we sat at the bar and had a drink. All of the staff very friendly. I had the lamb ragu and my husband had the duck confit then the almond joy cake for dessert. Everything was outstanding! The meal was extremely reasonably priced. Even with the bar tab, it was under $100. For the quality of food, we thought it was a steal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A simply outstanding meal in all respect ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

A simply outstanding meal in all respects and equally matched by the service and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When visiting Wilmington....

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great find! Craft cocktails in a prohibition style venue. Accommodating service. Excellent food. Fun spot to wind down the week.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sevice

Dined on June 10, 2016

Classy ambience & decor. Our server Bill made excellent suggestions based on our tastes -- balanced & enhanced our small plate choices. Loved my special bourbon cocktail too. Even my very discriminating husband was impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Salter

Dined on June 9, 2016

All was really good......food,service etc. but would not reccomend for larger groups. We had 8 stuffed in a back enclosure that was so loud we could not communicate with people next to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambience, great service, delic ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful ambience, great service, delicious meal and prices that were affordable.

food5
ambience5
service4

Nice small plate option in Wilmington. C ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice small plate option in Wilmington. Centrally located and nicely decorated.

food5
ambience5
service5

It had been a while since I had been to ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

It had been a while since I had been to Circa and I had forgot how good everything was! The menu has downsized a bit, less tapas, but the portions were just right. Our party loved the lobster salad, cold and citrus flavored so that it was perfect for summer. I thought the scallop and cauliflower was delicious! There was not a bite left on our dishes! Our server knew we had a concert to get to and was very attentive to timing. I'll be back there soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Couple's Dinner Experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

My first visit here was on a weekend getaway with my boyfriend. We made our reservation online and our table was ready when we arrived. Welcoming hostesses and our waiter, Bill, was amazing! He knew all about the bar menu, recommended a great drink for each of us (wine and sangria). I had the sirloin and my boyfriend had the Duck. Nothing was left on our plates. The Key Lime Pie was an amazing dessert to finish the meal. Ambiance was great! Old style decor and art. Lots of great conversations: groups, families (incl children), and couples. I would go back again for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Chicken

Dined on May 29, 2016

Seriously the best chicken I've ever eaten. Skip the deserts though. All way too sweet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We were in town for the weekend and were looking for a great place to eat, well, we found it! Chris was a great server! Food was delicious!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Circa is outstanding! Our favorite downt ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Circa is outstanding! Our favorite downtown! Spinach salad, trio of tuna and small filet were our choices this visit!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Steve and Kathy's Wilmington visit

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I were traveling on vacation to Wilmington, NC. We had spent much of the week dining casually at restaurants near the beaches. When visiting Wilmington for the day, we wanted something a little more upscale and found Circa 1922 through Yelp. We were very happy with the choice. the ambiance was cool and kind of chic, but not so upscale that we felt out of place dressed a bit casually. It was a busy holiday weekend and the restaurant was packed. Overall the experience was great- an interesting menu of choices, decent drink list, and professional service. We enjoyed our appetizer and salad quite a bit. While we enjoyed the entrees overall, my wife's meal was just lukewarm...tasty, but not as hot as mine was certainly. However, with the restaurant as busy as it was, we understood that things like that happen. We would absolutely visit again if we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Not everyone drinks

Dined on May 28, 2016

food preparation original and high quality, especially appetizers. Quality of coffee was not up to standards of rest of the meal. Brew a better cup! Not everyone drinks alcohol

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great the food was even ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was great the food was even better. We had the calamari appetizer and it was very good. Nice portion size and the wasabi sauce really took it to the next level. I had the flank steak and my wife had the scallops. Both entrees were executed perfectly. The flavor was very rich and satisfying on both dishes and the highlight for each were the accompanied veggies that came with them. There were multiple levels of flavor that really set off the main dish. I definitely give them 5 stars for flavor. The service was professional and timely, although I felt we were not given the same level of care due to our age or perceived age..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

weekend get away

Dined on May 27, 2016

Visited Wilmington for a long weekend. Went to Circa 122 on a recommendation. Food was delicious and service was great as well. Had a prefix menu option that evening and ordered from that.salad,entree and dessert. Salmon was cooked perfect! Not one to miss if you visit Wilmington. (had been a tapas restaurant in the past. Menu chanced??!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated immediately, given an out ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were seated immediately, given an outside table as requested. The service was prompt and attentive. The tuna tartar included a generous portion and was delicious, as was everything else we tried. Would definitely go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First-Time Visit

Dined on May 15, 2016

Reservation was booked day prior for 5 PM. Day of reservation I was able to change my reservation time on the OpenTable app to 6:15 PM. As I was still waiting for the entire party on my reservation to be present, I asked the hostess if it was possible to shift my reservation an hour later. My request was professionally accommodated with ease. When I was ready to be seated, my party was promptly seated within two minutes of notifying the hostess. Once at the table, we were promptly greeted by our server who took our drink order and allowed us sufficient time to review the menu and make our selections. He provided his opinion, when asked, allowing me to make a more defined decision. He was knowledgeable about the menu selections and provided great descriptions that were easy to understand. I ordered the spring roll and crab dip for starters. Drink orders were brought out minutes after our starter order was placed. Cocktails were adequately made to requested preferences. Entrees were brought out within five minutes of our starter plates being removed from the table. Food was served at the adequate temperature and appealing presentation. The first entrée ordered were the scallops. Second entrée was the chicken. Scallop order came with two scallops, which for the price and quality was perceived as not of value, but tasted fine regardless. The chicken was a great option and delightfully flavored. We were never rushed during our time in the restaurant and was provided the check upon request in a timely manner. Great ambiance. I would visit again for special occasions. Only free parking options during dinner are the street-side parking (read the terms of permissible parking times on the curbside signs). Paid parking garage is available directly behind the restaurant. Great experience in Wilmington. Thanks again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will come back!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great dining experience. The roasted eggplant appetizer was outstanding. We both enjoyed splitting the stripped bass and scallops entres. The mini cup desserts is an awesome idea. Got to try three desserts without have to order three full dessert orders. Genius!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

When I made reservations I was not told ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

When I made reservations I was not told I would be upstairs. Stairs are difficult for me. The sun coming in from the window was awful shining into our faces. A large group of young women were loud and made it difficult to hear our own conversation It was a very disappointing dinner the pork chop was dry and tough to eat. It is doubtful I will return

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy dining at Circa.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and reasonable prices.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, intimate, delicious birthday cel ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Lovely, intimate, delicious birthday celebration with my girlfriends. Thank you, Circa!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect service. Mussels were fantast ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect service. Mussels were fantastic. We sat there mopping up the juices with bread and almost forgot about the main dishes. Perfect file mignon. Perfect salmon. Totally unexpected since the place seems a bit "thematically" oriented.

food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Four of had dinner last Saturday. Everything was great except two of the dinners were cold on arrival. That was the second time we have had that experience. There are lots of options in Wilmington and we will be trying those in the future.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Family affair. We loved it

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great waiter very accommodating to late arriving quest. Loved the food enjoyed the evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Almost a good experience!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great spot in downtown Wilmington. Very loud and half price wine was a nice surprise. The calamari was very good but the lamb meatballs were a bit dry and the eggplant rolatini was mushy and not very flavorful. Service was slow but overall had a fair experience and might try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and lovely presentation!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Went to Circa 1922 before a show at Cape Fear and the food, atmosphere, and service was great! I do think there should have been more food for the cost. I ordered the scallops, which were $19 and only received two :o( They were so good though ;o)

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PRE-SHOW PERFECTION

Dined on May 3, 2016

Circa 1922 is one of our favorite restaurants by itself, but is a perfect stop before going to see a show at Thalian Hall or the Wilson Center. The staff is tuned into getting you served and out in plenty of time to get to the theater. The food selections are diverse and all good, the bar service is a great start, and the wait staff is pleasant and professional. Loved it!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem

Dined on April 30, 2016

Circa does not disappoint. A truly sophisticated restaurant rather than a "scene" or a "hot spot." The atmosphere is amazing (beautiful decor, art, and music), the food delicious, and the service impeccable. I enjoyed an absolutely perfect evening with my 14 year old daughter and will absolutely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.