About Circa 1922

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: 9107621922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly
Scallops
Cheese Plate
Duck Confit
Sangria
The Inquisition
Creme Brulee
Beef Cheek
Kraken Coffee
Passionfruit Mule
Lemon Thyme Negroni
Pomegranate Bellini
Mai Tai
Lamb Ravioli
Créme Brulé
Apple Salad
Grilled Ny Strip
Oysters
Up In Smoke
End Of August
Seared Tuna
lobster roll
Rioja
Seared Maine Scallops
Circa Azalea
Circa Hurricane
Blueberry Watermelon Mojito
Shrimp and Grits
Pork
Scolops
Shrimp And Scolop Ceviche
Single Malt Bourbon
Chocolate Coconut Sushi
Crab Dip
Paella
Cheese Board
Key Lime Pie
Almond Joy Cake, Chocolate Hazelnut Macaroon and Strawberry Cream Cake
Scollops
Croissant Bread Pudding
Braised Short Ribs
Filet Minogn
Seared Scalops
Crepes
Lobster Gnocchi
Maine Scallops, Celery Root Puree, Bacon, Black Olives, Apple, Fennel
Salted Caramel Gelato
Circa Sour
Tapas Cheese Plate
Banana's Foster
Crab Cheesecake
Old Fashioned
Everything!
Circa Roll
Organic Greens With Temura Gorgonzola, Pear, & Candied Walnuts
Pear And Fennel Salad

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
8 More
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Fit for Foodies (52)
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (43)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Groups (27)
Notable Wine List (17)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tapas (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1063 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is my favorite restaurant to eat wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is my favorite restaurant to eat when visiting Wilmington. I love the comfortable dining, great service and amazing menus

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time, first time there, food ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time, first time there, food was very delicious! The atmosphere is really energetic and fun. Our waitress was great, entertaining and did a wonderful job! I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for a girls weekend. I ordered ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Came here for a girls weekend. I ordered a wedge salad, and the waitress told me I could not make an modifications to it, I wanted to exclude bacon. I said, you can't just not put bacon on it? She had to ask the chef. It was ridiculous. The sangria was watered down, with no fruit it in. The service was ok, nothing great. The lighting was so dark upstairs we had to use our cell phones as flash lights. It was not the cute girls dinner we had hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was our first time at Circa 1922 an ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time at Circa 1922 and it was wonderful. Very professional server, Rob I believe. He knew the menu down to the finest details, he offered food and wine paring recommendations.

As we will be in Wilmington fairly often for the next several years we will definitely be going back. There are many more interesting dishes and appetizers we would like to try.

If you are looking for a fast meal this is not the place, while I am sure they could have expedited if we had asked, it is truly an upscale venue, food is prepared to order and will want to enjoy the surroundings!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had read reviews which persuaded us to b ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had read reviews which persuaded us to book a reservation here. Arrived on time to be seated at a small table located up a very steep flight of stairs which my husband painfully climbed to accommodate their scarce availability of a deuce-top. Found out later there is an elevator available but hostess who seated us never offered this option. Her rush to seat us resulted in a first impression of unconscionable hospitality which set the tone for how she had primed us to then interpret every element of service which did or did not follow. The cuisine had so much to overcome unrelated to its preparation. Always a tough act to follow. Nonetheless, our thanks goes to the Chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was perfect. Fantastic experi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was perfect. Fantastic experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for a relaxed anniversary ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were there for a relaxed anniversary dinner. The service was good. The small plates we shared were all very good. The crab dip and paella were very good. The smoked oysters were just ok. The pitcher of sangria we shared was very well done. The only issue we had was we were seated next to a rather loud large group. They weren't obnoxious or rude, just a little loud. As young people are want to do. Overall it was a very good meal and we would return to eat again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, they accommodated a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was excellent, they accommodated a special diet.

Very small portions though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very cool looking place!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very cool looking place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington. Our out-of-town visitors love it. Service is outstanding. Robert makes recommendations that never miss.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was excellent! We enjoyed our time, the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Was excellent! We enjoyed our time, the service and the food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday evening @ 7:30 was really crowd ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Saturday evening @ 7:30 was really crowded so the noise level was pretty high, but other than that Circa 1922 is a wonderful spot! It's semi-casual with great food; tapas, salads, entrees; burgers as well and the wait staff is very attentive. The atmosphere is really nicely done, circa 1922 and lots of fun. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting/or living in the Wilmington area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner and enjoyed the a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a lovely dinner and enjoyed the ambiance ! I would recommend the restaurant for the food, service etc

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday for husband. Had been to Circa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Birthday for husband. Had been to Circa 1922 only once before and had a fabulous dining experience both times Was raining when we arrived so were offered seat at window in alcove. Another couple was seated there which made it a little noisy but not terrible. Gavin was our server who was excellent in describing dishes and level of attention. Food was creatively presented and delicious. My selection was Shrimp and Grits which I would recommend highly! Want to go back for more of their tapas!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reputation as the best food in Wilmingto ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Reputation as the best food in Wilmington is well deserved, based on our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner Saturday Aug 27. Greeted ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had dinner Saturday Aug 27. Greeted at door by friendly hostess. Waiter was attentive throughout meal. Menu had great selections and food was excellent. We will be back next time we are in Wilmington.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Amazing food! Highly reco ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service. Amazing food! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with a party of 10. Our server P ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went with a party of 10. Our server Paul was fantastic. Food came out promptly and looked great. We go here often and love that they can accommodate 2-10 with ease!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The outstanding value rating is based on ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The outstanding value rating is based on the Prix Fixe menu. This included a nice salad with pear and walnuts, a choice from 4 or 5 entrees, and a chef's choice dessert (this happened to be an excellent carrot cake) all for $24.95; everything was delicious. The regular price menu is, of course, more expensive with many more selections, and still worth the prices. There is also a tapas menu. Excellent service by the server. In addition, my wife ordered a martini with olives and onions. They didn't have the onions, so they sent the busboy to to corner store to some. Never had that happen before anywhere else.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My guy and I went here for dinner while ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My guy and I went here for dinner while visiting Charleston. The waiter was short, rude and had tattoos everywhere. He was cocky and wanted to finish his night. We ordered 4 appetizers, and drinks- he said that's all your ordering. The apps were about $12-$25 each. This place is fancy! I mean fancy but the restaurant is really cool looking. The food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

As always the food was wonderful and the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always the food was wonderful and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We nave been to Circa many times and as ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We nave been to Circa many times and as usual Circa did not disappoint. We came this year to celebrate our anniversary. The food was great, the bottle of wine we got with dinner was extraordinary. Bill was our waiter and the service was absolutely fabulous. Overall we absolutely loved our evening.

Would definitely recommend to a friend and am looking forward to going back.

Thanks Circa!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Circa is our favorite anniversary locati ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Circa is our favorite anniversary location. The setting is wonderful, the food outstanding, and Paul, our server, was terrific! We always love going, especially to celebrate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server seemed distracted and snooty.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Server seemed distracted and snooty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Nice place for Wilmington It is not los ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice place for Wilmington

It is not los Angels,New York,Paris,San Francisco - good enough for this area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Circa 1922 many times. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have eaten at Circa 1922 many times. Always a pleasant experience. We had never been upstairs. It was a new surprise. More quiet and intimate. Great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited selection of bar items. Very goo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Limited selection of bar items. Very good tapes. All entrees were very fairly priced and delicious. Would highly recommend it to any friends of ours.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu was limited for those that want tra ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Menu was limited for those that want traditional fare. Prices were very fair and not too expensive. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Scallops were great. Service was abo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Scallops were great. Service was above par. Sides need some attention. Decent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best Paella in Charlotte, al dente and c ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Best Paella in Charlotte, al dente and crispy in the bottom. Pulpo is my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somthing i dont normally see om menus La ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Somthing i dont normally see om menus Lamb Rago. It was excellent. Service was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went here with four girlfriends and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I went here with four girlfriends and we all had an amazing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit to Circa 1922 ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was our second visit to Circa 1922 and it was as great as the first. Great selection of food and wines and service was outstanding . We have recommended them and will continue to do so. We will be back again next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten several times at Circa and a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've eaten several times at Circa and always left satisfied. The food is very good, service attentive. We ate upstairs which us a little less hectic but it's still a little loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Only complaint ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food and service. Only complaint was appetizer came with 3 pieces of bruschetta when there were 2 people and it was expensive for what was served. Dessert, the Key lime pie, was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great server, as they all are at lovely ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great server, as they all are at lovely Circa. The food was good, but the Caeser Salad that I ordered was (once again) limp and not at all cool. But, I still love this place- I just wish they'd improve those salads!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great menu with a lot of variety includi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great menu with a lot of variety including a wide array of small plates. Very good food that is reasonably priced. The building was an old bank and has lots of charm. This is one of our 'go-to' restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent. Just wish they h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was excellent. Just wish they had more choices for the Tappas menu, which is why we initially went there for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Low value, pedestrian food trying too ha ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Low value, pedestrian food trying too hard to impress. Regardless of the protein chosen from the menu, expect to receive 5 -6 ounces of what you choose. $20 chicken dish - 6 ounces; flank steak - 6 ounces; beef ribeye - 6 ounces. I had a duck entree - it came with a single drumstick without the thigh. Don't waste your time or money - take a 60 second walk toward the Cape Fear river, and go to Caprice Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Very good food and a very relaxed atmosp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very good food and a very relaxed atmosphere. You really don't have to dress up though it would certainly be appropriate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.