About Circa 1922

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: 9107621922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly
Duck Confit
Scallops
Cheese Plate
Sangria
The Inquisition
Creme Brulee
Beef Cheek
Kraken Coffee
Passionfruit Mule
Lemon Thyme Negroni
Pomegranate Bellini
Mai Tai
Lamb Ravioli
Créme Brulé
Apple Salad
Grilled Ny Strip
Oysters
Up In Smoke
End Of August
Seared Tuna
lobster roll
Rioja
Seared Maine Scallops
Circa Azalea
Circa Hurricane
Blueberry Watermelon Mojito
Shrimp and Grits
Pork
Shrimp And Scolop Ceviche
Single Malt Bourbon
Scolops
Chocolate Coconut Sushi
Crab Dip
Paella
Cheese Board
Key Lime Pie
Almond Joy Cake, Chocolate Hazelnut Macaroon and Strawberry Cream Cake
Scollops
Croissant Bread Pudding
Braised Short Ribs
Filet Minogn
Seared Scalops
Crepes
Lobster Gnocchi
Maine Scallops, Celery Root Puree, Bacon, Black Olives, Apple, Fennel
Salted Caramel Gelato
Circa Sour
Tapas Cheese Plate
Banana's Foster
Crab Cheesecake
Old Fashioned
Everything!
Circa Roll
Organic Greens With Temura Gorgonzola, Pear, & Candied Walnuts
Pear And Fennel Salad

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Wilmington
6 More
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (75)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Romantic (55)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for Groups (40)
Notable Wine List (27)
Hot Spot (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The outstanding value rating is based on ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The outstanding value rating is based on the Prix Fixe menu. This included a nice salad with pear and walnuts, a choice from 4 or 5 entrees, and a chef's choice dessert (this happened to be an excellent carrot cake) all for $24.95; everything was delicious. The regular price menu is, of course, more expensive with many more selections, and still worth the prices. There is also a tapas menu. Excellent service by the server. In addition, my wife ordered a martini with olives and onions. They didn't have the onions, so they sent the busboy to to corner store to some. Never had that happen before anywhere else.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was wonderful and the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 7 days ago

As always the food was wonderful and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We nave been to Circa many times and as ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 7 days ago

We nave been to Circa many times and as usual Circa did not disappoint. We came this year to celebrate our anniversary. The food was great, the bottle of wine we got with dinner was extraordinary. Bill was our waiter and the service was absolutely fabulous. Overall we absolutely loved our evening.

Would definitely recommend to a friend and am looking forward to going back.

Thanks Circa!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Circa is our favorite anniversary locati ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Circa is our favorite anniversary location. The setting is wonderful, the food outstanding, and Paul, our server, was terrific! We always love going, especially to celebrate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server seemed distracted and snooty.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Server seemed distracted and snooty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Nice place for Wilmington It is not los ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice place for Wilmington

It is not los Angels,New York,Paris,San Francisco - good enough for this area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Circa 1922 many times. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have eaten at Circa 1922 many times. Always a pleasant experience. We had never been upstairs. It was a new surprise. More quiet and intimate. Great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited selection of bar items. Very goo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Limited selection of bar items. Very good tapes. All entrees were very fairly priced and delicious. Would highly recommend it to any friends of ours.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu was limited for those that want tra ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Menu was limited for those that want traditional fare. Prices were very fair and not too expensive. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Scallops were great. Service was abo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Scallops were great. Service was above par. Sides need some attention. Decent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Somthing i dont normally see om menus La ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Somthing i dont normally see om menus Lamb Rago. It was excellent. Service was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went here with four girlfriends and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I went here with four girlfriends and we all had an amazing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit to Circa 1922 ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was our second visit to Circa 1922 and it was as great as the first. Great selection of food and wines and service was outstanding . We have recommended them and will continue to do so. We will be back again next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten several times at Circa and a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've eaten several times at Circa and always left satisfied. The food is very good, service attentive. We ate upstairs which us a little less hectic but it's still a little loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Only complaint ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food and service. Only complaint was appetizer came with 3 pieces of bruschetta when there were 2 people and it was expensive for what was served. Dessert, the Key lime pie, was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great server, as they all are at lovely ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great server, as they all are at lovely Circa. The food was good, but the Caeser Salad that I ordered was (once again) limp and not at all cool. But, I still love this place- I just wish they'd improve those salads!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great menu with a lot of variety includi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great menu with a lot of variety including a wide array of small plates. Very good food that is reasonably priced. The building was an old bank and has lots of charm. This is one of our 'go-to' restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent. Just wish they h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was excellent. Just wish they had more choices for the Tappas menu, which is why we initially went there for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Low value, pedestrian food trying too ha ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Low value, pedestrian food trying too hard to impress. Regardless of the protein chosen from the menu, expect to receive 5 -6 ounces of what you choose. $20 chicken dish - 6 ounces; flank steak - 6 ounces; beef ribeye - 6 ounces. I had a duck entree - it came with a single drumstick without the thigh. Don't waste your time or money - take a 60 second walk toward the Cape Fear river, and go to Caprice Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Very good food and a very relaxed atmosp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very good food and a very relaxed atmosphere. You really don't have to dress up though it would certainly be appropriate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was out third time at this wonderfu ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was out third time at this wonderful restaurant. The food and service were excellent and we look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection of different and delicio ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great selection of different and delicious food and wine.Very comfortable and appealing surroundings. The waiter was attentive and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Eaten several times at Circa. Food alway ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Eaten several times at Circa. Food always good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dim lighting and a superb wine list make ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Dim lighting and a superb wine list make this gem of a restaurant a perfect spot for an evening out. Warm ambiance but sadly a terribly cold waiter named Bill. The food and wine were perfect, but Bill seemed to treat our presence as a nuisance and that created an awkward environment for my business meeting with a respected client. If I were as rude as Bill, I would not have tipped him. Luckily, I treated Bill with the amount of respect any human being deserves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great meal with excellent service!

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great meal with excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

By far one of the best places we've eate ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

By far one of the best places we've eaten at in Wilmington. We used open table for reservations and were quickly seated as we walked in. Definitely a bonus during the dinner rush.

Wine selection was excellent, accompanied with delicious fresh oysters and pairing cheese and meats. The combination of duck pastrami, wild boar salami and chorizo rioja was amazing. For our main entrées we were not disappointed with the selection of braised beef cheek and crisp duck confit. The beef cheek melted in your mouth and the duck was full of flavor. We ended the night with the seven layer chocolate cake.

The only reason we gave this place a 4 out of 5 was due to the ambience and noise level. However, it is tourist season so we almost expect it. Would like to go back during the off season for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was knowledgeable and up sold ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our server was knowledgeable and up sold me on a bottle of wine which is hard to do being that I work at the capital grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good decor but the quality of food ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very good decor but the quality of food was not up to par with the prices charged. They make use of the fact they are conveniently located and cater towards tourists who will not be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

excellent, all the way around. favorite ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

excellent, all the way around. favorite restaurant in wilmington

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We throughly enjoyed our time at the res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We throughly enjoyed our time at the restaurant. The food was wonderful and the service was very good. We had the smoked oysters as an appetizer and they were great. We then had the paella and the shrimp and grits - also very tasty. My husband (a beer snob) like the beer list. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I like this restaurant for s ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My wife and I like this restaurant for special occasions and this last time did not disappoint. My wife had the lamb and I had the salmon. Both were very good, though the salmon was slightly overdone. Not so much that it wasn't good, but just a couple of minute less cooking would have made it perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommended. Real value, great l ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Highly recommended. Real value, great location, wonderful atmosphere and excellent food, all at a very reasonable price. We will certainly visit again on our return to downtown Wilmington... and you should too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our fave places!! Our server was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of our fave places!! Our server was Courtney & she took great care of us. We'd def recommend the restaurant (and the server) for a great dining experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service always consistent, Love ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food and service always consistent,

Love having drinks at the bar with Jish and then sitting for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Unfortunately we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was excellent. Unfortunately we had a waiter who was less than attentive. Seemed to forget we existed. Didn't ask if we wanted desert and seemed surprised when he instead brought the check and we asked to see the desert menu. Hopefully this was an isolated case as the restaurant is usually top natch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My husband and I had family from out of ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I had family from out of state visiting for a couple of days. One of the couples had been to Circa 1922 before, but was a new experience for the other couple. The ambiance is always great. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and was able to recommend a wonderful wine to complement what we all were going to eat. He also had a fun sense of humor. My sister in law commented that even though the restaurant was basically filled, we could each hear our conversations and did not need to shout ! We always recommend Circa 1922 to friends and is always a top choice to dine with friends and family. Thanks for a great evening !!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our eclectic dinner at Ci ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoyed our eclectic dinner at Circa 1922. Varied menu and the staff was supportive of our "tour." Not often, I think, that dinners start with oysters (local and great), move to salad (with tempura battered Gorgonzola, who would have thought?), Calamari in honey wasabi, Figs with Gooseberries and then Duck Confit. It might not sound like a harmonious meal, but the 4 of us were very happy with the variety. Great wine list with well priced wines at every level. Saw but did not order Cakebread Chardonnay at $84 - reasonable restaurant price for that wine.

Wait staff is excellent - attentive, knowledgable, funny and very professional. We were slightly late for our reservation (parking in Wilmington is not easy) and the hostess seated us immediately, very friendly. Would definitely (and have!) recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved Circa 1922. The decor is upscale ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved Circa 1922. The decor is upscale and trendy. Nice menu selection. The main course items are larger than many tapas restaurants. Everyone at our table would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to dine in downtown Wilmingt ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great place to dine in downtown Wilmington. Right on front street in the middle of the action. Very cool atmosphere and the staff was great. We got the hot crab dip, the lobster gnocchi, the fish special of the day, and mini desserts. Everything was delicious (all the seafood is locally caught) and we were very satisfied after our meal. I love that they offer mini desserts for only $3 so you can have just a few bites to finish your meal. I wouldn't hesitate going back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Light crowd on Monday night. Attentive w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Light crowd on Monday night. Attentive waitstaff, food experience was excellent and prepared exquisitely. Always a favorite place to eat when I'm in Wilmington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.