About Circa 1922

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: 9107621922

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
5 More
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (86)
fit for foodies (66)
romantic (66)
See All
good for groups (48)
neighborhood gem (47)
notable wine list (35)
hot spot (31)
vibrant bar scene (20)
late-night find (20)
scenic view (10)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First-Time Visit

Dined on May 15, 2016

Reservation was booked day prior for 5 PM. Day of reservation I was able to change my reservation time on the OpenTable app to 6:15 PM. As I was still waiting for the entire party on my reservation to be present, I asked the hostess if it was possible to shift my reservation an hour later. My request was professionally accommodated with ease. When I was ready to be seated, my party was promptly seated within two minutes of notifying the hostess. Once at the table, we were promptly greeted by our server who took our drink order and allowed us sufficient time to review the menu and make our selections. He provided his opinion, when asked, allowing me to make a more defined decision. He was knowledgeable about the menu selections and provided great descriptions that were easy to understand. I ordered the spring roll and crab dip for starters. Drink orders were brought out minutes after our starter order was placed. Cocktails were adequately made to requested preferences. Entrees were brought out within five minutes of our starter plates being removed from the table. Food was served at the adequate temperature and appealing presentation. The first entrée ordered were the scallops. Second entrée was the chicken. Scallop order came with two scallops, which for the price and quality was perceived as not of value, but tasted fine regardless. The chicken was a great option and delightfully flavored. We were never rushed during our time in the restaurant and was provided the check upon request in a timely manner. Great ambiance. I would visit again for special occasions. Only free parking options during dinner are the street-side parking (read the terms of permissible parking times on the curbside signs). Paid parking garage is available directly behind the restaurant. Great experience in Wilmington. Thanks again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will come back!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great dining experience. The roasted eggplant appetizer was outstanding. We both enjoyed splitting the stripped bass and scallops entres. The mini cup desserts is an awesome idea. Got to try three desserts without have to order three full dessert orders. Genius!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

When I made reservations I was not told ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

When I made reservations I was not told I would be upstairs. Stairs are difficult for me. The sun coming in from the window was awful shining into our faces. A large group of young women were loud and made it difficult to hear our own conversation It was a very disappointing dinner the pork chop was dry and tough to eat. It is doubtful I will return

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy dining at Circa.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and reasonable prices.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, intimate, delicious birthday cel ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Lovely, intimate, delicious birthday celebration with my girlfriends. Thank you, Circa!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect service. Mussels were fantast ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect service. Mussels were fantastic. We sat there mopping up the juices with bread and almost forgot about the main dishes. Perfect file mignon. Perfect salmon. Totally unexpected since the place seems a bit "thematically" oriented.

food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Four of had dinner last Saturday. Everything was great except two of the dinners were cold on arrival. That was the second time we have had that experience. There are lots of options in Wilmington and we will be trying those in the future.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Family affair. We loved it

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great waiter very accommodating to late arriving quest. Loved the food enjoyed the evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Almost a good experience!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great spot in downtown Wilmington. Very loud and half price wine was a nice surprise. The calamari was very good but the lamb meatballs were a bit dry and the eggplant rolatini was mushy and not very flavorful. Service was slow but overall had a fair experience and might try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and lovely presentation!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Went to Circa 1922 before a show at Cape Fear and the food, atmosphere, and service was great! I do think there should have been more food for the cost. I ordered the scallops, which were $19 and only received two :o( They were so good though ;o)

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PRE-SHOW PERFECTION

Dined on May 3, 2016

Circa 1922 is one of our favorite restaurants by itself, but is a perfect stop before going to see a show at Thalian Hall or the Wilson Center. The staff is tuned into getting you served and out in plenty of time to get to the theater. The food selections are diverse and all good, the bar service is a great start, and the wait staff is pleasant and professional. Loved it!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem

Dined on April 30, 2016

Circa does not disappoint. A truly sophisticated restaurant rather than a "scene" or a "hot spot." The atmosphere is amazing (beautiful decor, art, and music), the food delicious, and the service impeccable. I enjoyed an absolutely perfect evening with my 14 year old daughter and will absolutely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Generally good but entree was too salty

Dined on April 30, 2016

Salmon and side of grilled asparagus was way too salty. No vegetables were included with main course.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner Date at Circa 1922

Dined on April 29, 2016

I enjoyed an evening at Circa 1922 with a fine looking lady as my date. We enjoyed the atmosphere at the restaurant and the bar tender made an excellent Circa Dark & Smokey, I believe that was the name of the drink... I had the spicy tuna roll and my date had the eggplant. The spicy tuna roll was decent, but I felt as though it could be a little better. The presentation was nice but the taste was a bit bland. My date enjoyed her eggplant dish with no complaints. We finished the dinner with a seven layer cake and called it a night. Overall, I am very pleased with my night out at Circa 1922.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Food

Dined on April 23, 2016

We thought the food and service were both very good. The food was priced very well for the quality and taste. Only thing I did not enjoy was the tables were very close together, difficult to have a conversation without the table on either side getting an earful.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Very Dissappointed/ We were so looking forward

Dined on April 23, 2016

WE made reservation for 7 pm and were the couple who got sat across from the loud group of women in the back. It was a horrible experience. The managers did move us at the very END of dinner and were apologetic. WE don't go out very often and don't have a lot of money to spend on restaurants so it was a very dissappointing experience. Our reservation name was under Chris Kimbro and it was a 7 pm on saturday april 23rd.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful

Dined on April 23, 2016

Part of my party was extremely late but Circa 1922 accommodated us. The service was wonderful as we waited for the rest of our party. Our waitress was very kind and helpful with the menu as well as being timely. Overall this experience was amazing and I would go again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere, music, service and most ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

The atmosphere, music, service and most importantly, the food were all excellent for an area that has a college party town feel. Had the tapas pequino stuffed peppers, several cheeses and the duck, boar salami and bresaola meat plates with several glasses of wine. Wine was half off Wednesday and tapas plates were about $2 cheaper from 5 to 7pm. They didn't cut back on amount of food like some restaurants at happy hour. We will return to try some large plate meals like the salmon or scallop dinners.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Variety

Dined on April 16, 2016

This place has a good atmosphere and a wide variety of selections available. Unfortunately, they were unwilling to accommodate menu change requests due to food sensitivity. The waiter would not even ask the chef. He said the chef would make what the chef wants to make, whether its what I wanted...or could eat!...or not. Too bad so sad, for me. The others at the table seemed to enjoy their meals, though. Lucky them! Me, not so much. Would I go back? No.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town shopping and looked for ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We were in town shopping and looked for a "good" place to eat. This place was a very lucky find! Definately will go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Circa is da bomb

Dined on April 15, 2016

Circa is one of those rare places to eat that just gets it right. I mean everything right. From the location in downtown Wilmington in a cool old bank building. To the eclectic menu with everything from sushi to paella to shrimp and grits. The service never disappoints. It's my favorite spot in Wilmington.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 15, 2016

New to the area and this was a wonderful find. Plan to keep it at the top of our list for special evenings as well as entertaining guests. The server was excellent and the food was unique and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner With My Love On Her Birthday

Dined on April 15, 2016

We came early and were seated promptly and courteously even with a requested table change. The waitress was very pleasant, prompt and knew the menu well. Wine selection was OK but not elaborate. What we selected was very good but a bit limited in our choices of Reds by the glass. The Blue Point Oysters were fabulous and the calamari is the best in the area. Our entrees were elegantly prepared and served right on time. Pricing was proportional to the quality. I recommend this restaurant to anyone that wishes to enjoy one of the best in the area. Never have I seen a restaurant hold its standards better over the many years we've enjoyed our evenings there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Over all...Very Good.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Both main courses were salty for our taste. Apps were outstanding.. Servicer was spot on...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Local favorite

Dined on April 8, 2016

Always a good meal and good service. Josh the bartender is awesome!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a Favorite!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Before this weekend, my last visit to Circa 1922 was about 5 years ago. I loved it then and still love it now! Our party of 4 sat upstairs, which is lovely and much quieter than the main floor. Our server was Scott; he was very knowledgeable about the menu and features and the service was fantastic! The beet appetizer was fabulous, as was the hanger steak! We ordered a side of asparagus - beautifully cooked and served with a perfectly poached egg. Could not have asked for a better meal, better atmosphere or better service! On my last trip 5 years ago I visited Circa on a Friday night and had reservations at a different restaurant for Saturday night. I was so impressed with Circa that I cancelled my Saturday night plans and went right back to Circa. If this last trip had allowed a second night in Wilmington I would probably have done the same thing! Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Circa Makes a Culinary Coup

Dined on April 2, 2016

We chose the Circa to try during Encore Week and we were very pleasantly surprised. All four of us had different selections and they were all excellent! duck, lamb, snapper , steak with their vegetable pairings and we tried various desserts. I enjoyed the Seasonal Sangria which was light and not too sweet. The guys liked the Mother Earth beer selections. I will reserve my comments on the server we had for the private note below and HOPE that no one else has the same experience we had. We didn't let him spoil our appetites.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice out-of-the-box entrees (loved the s ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Nice out-of-the-box entrees (loved the scallops and cauliflower), and the Gorgonzola tempura on the Circa salad is so yummy!

food4
ambience4
service5

Our food was all amazing except for my h ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our food was all amazing except for my husbands dessert which he thought was just average. Service was attentive. Only thing that detracted from the evening was screaming child at next table, and parents who were oblivious. Obv not the restaurants fault. Would definitely go back. (Scallops and cauliflower entree was fabulous!)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot, perfect ambience.

Dined on March 12, 2016

A most enjoyable night with a good friend. Food was incredible, service was a perfect balance of attention and privacy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful selection of quality food

Dined on March 12, 2016

The service at Circa was wonderful. The waiter was attentive and well versed in the menu. His suggestions were well received, and perfectly paired with the main courses and beverages. The food was inspired and delicious. I recommend the Escargot as a wonderful appetizer. The Filet Mignon was perfectly prepared, and melted like butter in my mouth. My wife was equally pleased. We visit this restaurant every time we make it to Wilmington. Our only complaint is that the dining room can get quite loud during busy hours. It is not a place for a quiet dinner during these hours, if that is what you are looking for. Nevertheless, the ambiance is enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never disappointed when I dine at Circa 1922

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food is always excellent and the atmosphere is very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great first experience in Wilmington

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food is just great. We had the mushroom pasta and the spicy encrusted mahi-mahi, just delicious. We'll go back again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed it!

Dined on March 5, 2016

The atmosphere, food and service are terrific! The menu is diverse with dinners and small plates. The service was very good. We will certainly be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is a place my husband and I always frequent when we visit Wilmington. The food and service are always excellent, as it was again on our last visit. Unfortunately, we were placed next to a large group of people and the noise level got so high, that we couldn't converse. Our server mentioned this to the manager and he promptly rectified the situation by moving us to a quiet area.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rare Gem in Downtown Wilmington

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. It's eclectic menu and small plate options are the best way to sample a little of everything. The sashimi is incredible. The cheese and meat plate is one of the best I've found. Great wine selections. There is a pianist on Saturday night making for a romantic setting. It's literally the perfect date venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Mushroom Bruschetta Is Wonderful

Dined on February 26, 2016

Overall, I was pleased with our dining experience at Circa 1922. I ordered mushroom bruschetta, at the recommendation of the waiter, and it was delicious: a variety of delicious hot, sauteed mushrooms atop boursin cheese on baquette slices. The prime rib was cooked exactly as I ordered. Although the waiter was helpful, he was brusque and rather insistent on our following his recommendations. We loved the ambiance of the restaurant but were seated near the door, and every time patrons entered or departed, we were bombarded with a cold breeze.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening getaway

Dined on February 21, 2016

This restaurant was definitely worth the wait. I tried a couple of dishes I don't normally eat and would highly recommend the mushroom ravioli and the lobster gnocchi. The key lime pie was to die for and a great 2 person size portion. Would definitely recommend this place and return myself for another meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Both meals were perfect! Would recommend ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Both meals were perfect! Would recommend and will be coming back soon!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.