About Circa 1922

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: 9107621922

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly
Duck Confit
Sangria
The Inquisition
Pomegranate Bellini
Lamb Ravioli
Grilled Ny Strip
Scallops
Apple Salad
End Of August
Seared Tuna
Oysters
Up In Smoke
lobster roll
Créme Brulé
Mai Tai
Rioja
Cheese Plate
Seared Maine Scallops
Circa Azalea
Circa Hurricane
Blueberry Watermelon Mojito
Shrimp and Grits
Pork
Single Malt Bourbon
Scolops
Shrimp And Scolop Ceviche
Chocolate Coconut Sushi
Crab Dip
Paella
Key Lime Pie
Cheese Board
Crepes
Almond Joy Cake, Chocolate Hazelnut Macaroon and Strawberry Cream Cake
Croissant Bread Pudding
Seared Scalops
Braised Short Ribs
Scollops
Filet Minogn
Lobster Gnocchi
Maine Scallops, Celery Root Puree, Bacon, Black Olives, Apple, Fennel
Salted Caramel Gelato
Tapas Cheese Plate
Circa Sour
Banana's Foster
Crab Cheesecake
Old Fashioned
Everything!
Circa Roll
Organic Greens With Temura Gorgonzola, Pear, & Candied Walnuts
Pear And Fennel Salad

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (81)
fit for foodies (66)
romantic (61)
See All
neighborhood gem (53)
good for groups (44)
notable wine list (35)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (18)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1030 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've eaten several times at Circa and a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 7 days ago

We've eaten several times at Circa and always left satisfied. The food is very good, service attentive. We ate upstairs which us a little less hectic but it's still a little loud.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Only complaint ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service. Only complaint was appetizer came with 3 pieces of bruschetta when there were 2 people and it was expensive for what was served. Dessert, the Key lime pie, was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great server, as they all are at lovely ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great server, as they all are at lovely Circa. The food was good, but the Caeser Salad that I ordered was (once again) limp and not at all cool. But, I still love this place- I just wish they'd improve those salads!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great menu with a lot of variety includi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great menu with a lot of variety including a wide array of small plates. Very good food that is reasonably priced. The building was an old bank and has lots of charm. This is one of our 'go-to' restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent. Just wish they h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was excellent. Just wish they had more choices for the Tappas menu, which is why we initially went there for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Low value, pedestrian food trying too ha ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Low value, pedestrian food trying too hard to impress. Regardless of the protein chosen from the menu, expect to receive 5 -6 ounces of what you choose. $20 chicken dish - 6 ounces; flank steak - 6 ounces; beef ribeye - 6 ounces. I had a duck entree - it came with a single drumstick without the thigh. Don't waste your time or money - take a 60 second walk toward the Cape Fear river, and go to Caprice Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Very good food and a very relaxed atmosp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very good food and a very relaxed atmosphere. You really don't have to dress up though it would certainly be appropriate.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was out third time at this wonderfu ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was out third time at this wonderful restaurant. The food and service were excellent and we look forward to returning soon.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection of different and delicio ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great selection of different and delicious food and wine.Very comfortable and appealing surroundings. The waiter was attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Eaten several times at Circa. Food alway ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Eaten several times at Circa. Food always good. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dim lighting and a superb wine list make ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Dim lighting and a superb wine list make this gem of a restaurant a perfect spot for an evening out. Warm ambiance but sadly a terribly cold waiter named Bill. The food and wine were perfect, but Bill seemed to treat our presence as a nuisance and that created an awkward environment for my business meeting with a respected client. If I were as rude as Bill, I would not have tipped him. Luckily, I treated Bill with the amount of respect any human being deserves.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great meal with excellent service!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great meal with excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

By far one of the best places we've eate ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

By far one of the best places we've eaten at in Wilmington. We used open table for reservations and were quickly seated as we walked in. Definitely a bonus during the dinner rush.

Wine selection was excellent, accompanied with delicious fresh oysters and pairing cheese and meats. The combination of duck pastrami, wild boar salami and chorizo rioja was amazing. For our main entrées we were not disappointed with the selection of braised beef cheek and crisp duck confit. The beef cheek melted in your mouth and the duck was full of flavor. We ended the night with the seven layer chocolate cake.

The only reason we gave this place a 4 out of 5 was due to the ambience and noise level. However, it is tourist season so we almost expect it. Would like to go back during the off season for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was knowledgeable and up sold ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our server was knowledgeable and up sold me on a bottle of wine which is hard to do being that I work at the capital grille!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good decor but the quality of food ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very good decor but the quality of food was not up to par with the prices charged. They make use of the fact they are conveniently located and cater towards tourists who will not be coming back.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

excellent, all the way around. favorite ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

excellent, all the way around. favorite restaurant in wilmington

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We throughly enjoyed our time at the res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We throughly enjoyed our time at the restaurant. The food was wonderful and the service was very good. We had the smoked oysters as an appetizer and they were great. We then had the paella and the shrimp and grits - also very tasty. My husband (a beer snob) like the beer list. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I like this restaurant for s ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My wife and I like this restaurant for special occasions and this last time did not disappoint. My wife had the lamb and I had the salmon. Both were very good, though the salmon was slightly overdone. Not so much that it wasn't good, but just a couple of minute less cooking would have made it perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommended. Real value, great l ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Highly recommended. Real value, great location, wonderful atmosphere and excellent food, all at a very reasonable price. We will certainly visit again on our return to downtown Wilmington... and you should too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our fave places!! Our server was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of our fave places!! Our server was Courtney & she took great care of us. We'd def recommend the restaurant (and the server) for a great dining experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service always consistent, Love ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food and service always consistent,

Love having drinks at the bar with Jish and then sitting for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Unfortunately we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was excellent. Unfortunately we had a waiter who was less than attentive. Seemed to forget we existed. Didn't ask if we wanted desert and seemed surprised when he instead brought the check and we asked to see the desert menu. Hopefully this was an isolated case as the restaurant is usually top natch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My husband and I had family from out of ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband and I had family from out of state visiting for a couple of days. One of the couples had been to Circa 1922 before, but was a new experience for the other couple. The ambiance is always great. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and was able to recommend a wonderful wine to complement what we all were going to eat. He also had a fun sense of humor. My sister in law commented that even though the restaurant was basically filled, we could each hear our conversations and did not need to shout ! We always recommend Circa 1922 to friends and is always a top choice to dine with friends and family. Thanks for a great evening !!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our eclectic dinner at Ci ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoyed our eclectic dinner at Circa 1922. Varied menu and the staff was supportive of our "tour." Not often, I think, that dinners start with oysters (local and great), move to salad (with tempura battered Gorgonzola, who would have thought?), Calamari in honey wasabi, Figs with Gooseberries and then Duck Confit. It might not sound like a harmonious meal, but the 4 of us were very happy with the variety. Great wine list with well priced wines at every level. Saw but did not order Cakebread Chardonnay at $84 - reasonable restaurant price for that wine.

Wait staff is excellent - attentive, knowledgable, funny and very professional. We were slightly late for our reservation (parking in Wilmington is not easy) and the hostess seated us immediately, very friendly. Would definitely (and have!) recommend.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved Circa 1922. The decor is upscale ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved Circa 1922. The decor is upscale and trendy. Nice menu selection. The main course items are larger than many tapas restaurants. Everyone at our table would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to dine in downtown Wilmingt ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great place to dine in downtown Wilmington. Right on front street in the middle of the action. Very cool atmosphere and the staff was great. We got the hot crab dip, the lobster gnocchi, the fish special of the day, and mini desserts. Everything was delicious (all the seafood is locally caught) and we were very satisfied after our meal. I love that they offer mini desserts for only $3 so you can have just a few bites to finish your meal. I wouldn't hesitate going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Light crowd on Monday night. Attentive w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Light crowd on Monday night. Attentive waitstaff, food experience was excellent and prepared exquisitely. Always a favorite place to eat when I'm in Wilmington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We've been to Circa a few times now and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We've been to Circa a few times now and we love it! The filet is AMAZING! Melts in your mouth! Calamari is my husband's favorite. 7 layer cake is huge and sooo rich! Never tasted anything we didn't love. Enjoy a great meal at Circa 1922, you won't regret it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liked the atmosphere and decor. The sta ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Liked the atmosphere and decor. The standout dish of the night was the spice crusted sea bass. The sangria and tuna tartar were very bland - would not order those items again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Fantastic as always! Spinach salad & tri ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic as always! Spinach salad & trio of tuna are my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was great! We had a reservati ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This place was great! We had a reservation but were early so we sat at the bar and had a drink. All of the staff very friendly. I had the lamb ragu and my husband had the duck confit then the almond joy cake for dessert. Everything was outstanding! The meal was extremely reasonably priced. Even with the bar tab, it was under $100. For the quality of food, we thought it was a steal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A simply outstanding meal in all respect ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A simply outstanding meal in all respects and equally matched by the service and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When visiting Wilmington....

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great find! Craft cocktails in a prohibition style venue. Accommodating service. Excellent food. Fun spot to wind down the week.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sevice

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Classy ambience & decor. Our server Bill made excellent suggestions based on our tastes -- balanced & enhanced our small plate choices. Loved my special bourbon cocktail too. Even my very discriminating husband was impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salter

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

All was really good......food,service etc. but would not reccomend for larger groups. We had 8 stuffed in a back enclosure that was so loud we could not communicate with people next to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful ambience, great service, delic ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful ambience, great service, delicious meal and prices that were affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice small plate option in Wilmington. C ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice small plate option in Wilmington. Centrally located and nicely decorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It had been a while since I had been to ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

It had been a while since I had been to Circa and I had forgot how good everything was! The menu has downsized a bit, less tapas, but the portions were just right. Our party loved the lobster salad, cold and citrus flavored so that it was perfect for summer. I thought the scallop and cauliflower was delicious! There was not a bite left on our dishes! Our server knew we had a concert to get to and was very attentive to timing. I'll be back there soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Couple's Dinner Experience

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My first visit here was on a weekend getaway with my boyfriend. We made our reservation online and our table was ready when we arrived. Welcoming hostesses and our waiter, Bill, was amazing! He knew all about the bar menu, recommended a great drink for each of us (wine and sangria). I had the sirloin and my boyfriend had the Duck. Nothing was left on our plates. The Key Lime Pie was an amazing dessert to finish the meal. Ambiance was great! Old style decor and art. Lots of great conversations: groups, families (incl children), and couples. I would go back again for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Chicken

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Seriously the best chicken I've ever eaten. Skip the deserts though. All way too sweet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.