Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Circa 1922

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: (910) 762-1922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Tapas (39)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Romantic (33)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Historic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Casual (8)
Healthy (8)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Live Music (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved everything about it. Sangria is amazing and so was the eggplant parm and mushroom ravioli!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellence in service, preparation, and quality. Perfect all around, zero complaints. That's rare for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner at Circa 1922! We had high hopes after reading reviews, and the establishment didn't disappoint. Absolutely delicious food, excellent and attentive service, with great ambiance provided by Tom's live piano. A must visit! We'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Late-night Find, Live Music, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We love Circa. It is our favorite restaurant in Wilmington, never disappoints. Generally we try a number of the Tapas selections working toward great desserts: crepe grande marnier #1.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Past menu was more satisfying. Food good but not as spectacular as previous menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Expensive for food quality. Nothing memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were so disappointed bout cream brûlée, when we got sated had few tapas n main close had been told to server we will have cream brûlée, after meal waitress came by someone order 20 of them so all gone!?! We were so disappointed waitress could save one for us n she was not care how we felt tell us get something else.... you will need train waitress stay on top of better costumer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Even though the PGA was in town and it was also prom night, it was busy but we had a great time.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food service and atmosphere Nice location with cool bar. Loved the tapas and desserts. Fun time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very good quality food, small portion sizes, a little pricey

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Previous visit was 4 years ago. We had forgotten how great the atmosphere, the food and the service was. Very pleased that we returned.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great dinner with friends and superb service! Can't go wrong with the Beet and Blue salad!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Nos asignaron una mesa para dos, de las que comparten un lado con varias otras mesas, con un largo banco. Por el aire acondicionado y el ventilador pedimos un cambio de mesa, y si bien cuando llegamos estaban todas ocupadas, en ese momento se liberaba un box.
Nos respondieron que era difícil por la alta demanda de sábado a la noche, pero que si el cambio no era posible iban a bajar el ventilador. Ni una cosa ni la otra, y se fueron desocupando mesas, y en el momento de irnos ya eran tres en otro sector.
La comida estuvo muy bien, excepto que el pan lo trajeron despues de la entrada, porque lo estaban haciendo. Riquísimo pero tarde!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, convenient location, smaller portions.

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was exceptional from the time we walked in until dinner was over. Ambiance was exceptional and music delightful. Meal was beautifully presented and taste was delicious. Would highly recommend Circa

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 29, 2017

If you have the opportunity, the spinach salad will not disappoint. You may end up ordering a second as your meal, just because.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a great time with family that were visiting from out of town. It was a great Dinner/service.

Tags: Romantic, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server Jamie was fantastic! The food and wine were great but he really made the experience worth it. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of the best and most consistent restaurants in Wilmington. Food, service, and atmosphere are excellent. We always return to Circa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Everything was delicious and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Fantastic menu with delicious cheese and wine selections. The escargot was really tasty, and the cheeses were scrumtrulescent! I recommend the duck entree as well.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I eat here every time I visit Wilmington. There are several good food options on or near Front street, this is one of the best.

Tags: , Cozy, , , , , , , Tapas,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second visit. Each time for our anniversary. Great place to be together.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was good, but not up to the quality of previous visits. Portions were smaller and prices higher. The room was so dark that it was difficult to read the menu. The waitress was not very attentive. My husband says that he has had better shrimp and grits for less money at a local restaurant, and we do not live near the ocean. My salmon was very good, but the sauce under it was tasteless and the vegetable underdone.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 14, 2017

If you are really hungry.....eat somewhere else. After dinner.....our kids went next door and bought pizza. My husband ordered the "Large Plate", salmon. When it arrived it was no more than 4 oz. he picked up his plate and looked underneath.
I had to find our server to ask for another glass of wine....I would've expected, "Would you like another glass of wine"?
Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ordered about half the tapas with my group and each one was brilliant

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food selection was outstanding as was the service. The Charcuterie selections were great. Our entrees were nicely prepared and very flavorful. The food presentation was also very nicely done. The large platter creme brûlée was spectacular. Have not been able to find this large thin layered creme brûlée anywhere else in all our travels. This was the reason for driving to and staying in Wilmington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Visiting Uncw student

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was overpriced and service was mediocre. Would not recommend

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We've been disappointed in the quality of food and snarky aloofness of servers the last few times we have dined at Circa. A couple of folks in our party were frustrated that a restaurant of the purported caliber of Circa 1922 offers "milk" as opposed to cream or half-n-half for their coffee. One additional comment about serving coffee: perhaps it is considered "high brow" to pour coffee from a height of 18" or more, but it is disconcerting to many customers due to concern of splattering. Maybe we were overly cautious since the server had spilled water while filling our water glasses at the beginning of the evening. We wouldn't object to the prices if the food quality and service were improved. At the level of each of them at this point, we feel that the restaurant is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I can always count on Circa 1922 to be consistent and delicious everytime. The service is impeccable, the atmosphere is perfect and the food is always perfect. I highly recommend Circa 1922...especially for pre/post Theatre occasions.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Overall, a quite nice family dinner. We had several tapas and a cheese platter, all of which were well received by adults and teenagers alike. The ambiance in the two-story restaurant née bank is quite comfortable though the music was a bit loud for a short while. Very good location near Wilmington center and waterfront.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything was delicious and the service was terrific. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Best meal I have had in a long while. Everything prepared beautifully, interesting flavors. We had the prix fixe menu, absolutely delicious. Not good for anyone with mobility issues - bathrooms are up a long flight of stairs.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our waiter was excellent. Food was very good. We went during restaurant week, good deal for salad course, entree and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food and service were exceptional! I would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was great; drinks & wine were spot-on. Michael, our server, was fantastic. Very helpful and anticipated our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Took my daughter for a birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Attendance at your restaurant was due to a girl's get-away weekend and I must say your establishment was charming in its ambience with fabulous wine, Smith Madrone Cabernet, and delicious food. Our waiter Bill was the best as he was so helpful and accommodating with a marvelous sense of humor. He's a definite keeper! If there would be one suggestion I would make, it would be to have a Jazz pianist. The piano music being played on Saturday evening was too much of a snooze, and if you want to attract even more individuals , try jazz.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.