About Circa 1922

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: (910) 762-1922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Tapas (28)
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Historic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice atmosphere with good cocktails. We had the scallops and salmon on prefixe menu paired with appetizer and salad. Portions are not large but perfect to be able to enjoy four courses. Scallops were perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and wonderful restaurant ambiance. Downstairs is more loud than upstairs.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and atmosphere. Loved the live piano music by Donna.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was outstanding and the food was prepared to perfection. The salad was delicious with the gorgonzola cheese and walnut. Serving sizes while not large satisfied the diners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

I was happy with the service, the flavor and the value. Only had Tapas and wine and dessert. I would come back and continue tasting. Great history and decor; nice downtown area location.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day dinner and it was a very nice evening. I rounded up on the ratings, if I could give 4 1/2 star marks that's what they would have received.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Circa 1922 is one of our favorite places to eat in Wilmington and our last meal there was the perfect example of why. From the first course to the dessert and the cocktails in between we enjoyed a truly excellent meal with fabulous service that made our Valentine's Day dinner just perfect! We especially enjoyed the pickled shrimp, the smoked trout salad and the Potato Gnocchi, thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day and were expecting a nice meal. We were told the day of our reservation that there was a limited "chef's menu". Our table was crammed into what I consider an aisle and right in front of the main entrance. The wait staff were constantly bumping into my wife while trying to service the table behind her.

Our lobster bisque was cool. My wife's filet was supposed to be medium well, came out bright red in the center. By the time it was prepared properly, my dinner was finished.

Our waiter was apologetic and the assistant manager came over after I asked for her, she apologized but didn't do much else.

Paid $189 including tip for a Valentine's dinner that my wife and I watched each other eat separately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They had a fixed menu for Valentines Day. Good selections to choose from. Well prepared and served.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great, unique food experience. Wait staff was wonderful and attentive, without being overly intrusive. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and service as always. Circa 1922 is a staple in our community.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Disappointed. Been here before and loved the place. This time we came back to celebrate our anniversary and my wife was extremely excited that Duck Confit was on the menu. Unfortunately it was some of the driest confit I have ever experienced. As a chef and restaurant owner, it was frustrating. However, we all have off nights. Hopefully this was just one of those for Circa 1922. Lighting could be turned up just a bit - We and another couple sitting near us were using our phone flashlights to read the menu. Both groups of us are a bit older than many that were there. But very difficult to enjoy if you can't read what is being offered. HOWEVER, our server was fantastic. Great personality and very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The decor and pianist are wonderful and a fantastic welcome into the restaurant. The kitchen seemed a little slow when we were there on a Saturday night at 8pm. If this is typical, plan to spend at least 2.5 hrs there. The tapas and entrees were tasty, but the colossal creme brûlée was a disappointment. (If you're going to have dessert, go for the bananas foster!)

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Authentic atmosphere with a live piano bar. Great spot for date night or Valentine's Day. Highly recommend the food, wine selection, and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Four of us shared eight tapas. (We probably could have eaten a little more, but were going to a dessert wine tasting after, so didn't want to eat too much.) They were all delicious, as were the drinks. Fried calamari with a wasabi/sweet sauce and escargot in Pernod cream were the highlights for me. Our server was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was very dark in the dining room. I watched several people use their phones to read the menu. Service was great, food was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ambiance is very nice, but the value for what you get isn't close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful food and drink choices ! Waitress was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first time dining at Circa. Drinks were well made and wine selection was decent. My husband and I both started with the wedge salad which was wonderful--one of the best I've ever had. I had the beef cheeks with barley and puffed barley; the contrast in textures was really interesting and the beef cheeks were delicious and succulent. Husband is not around to get his input, but he enjoyed his dinner and said he would go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Six of us enjoyed dinner together before an evening at the Wilmington Jazz Festival. Food, drinks and service were excellent. Wanting a light meal, I ordered the beet salad and the lobster and avocado (chilled) tapas plate. Fresh, light, perfectly seasoned- and gorgeous, they were. All 3 men in our party ordered the Eggplant, and finished every bite. We enjoy dinner at Circa 1922 each time we are in Historic Wilmington, and I think we will do so forever! Keep doing things as you are, Circa 1922- it makes your customers happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Price Fix Menu was a great deal, salad,entrees and perfect sized dessert. There were a variety of entrees to choose from for $24. Wednesday was half price bottles of wine made it an even better deal. Service was outstanding and timing on each course was perfect. It was a little conversationally challenged and rather dark. All of us at the table had to use our flashlights on our phones to read the menu. Food was tasty and well seasoned and perfect temp. when arriving at the table.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

So what really disappointed me was there was almost no 20's feel to it and the waiter was always gone for so long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Entrees did not all arrive together nor did the desserts. Resturant was not overly busy so this was unacceptable. Had to ask the waiter 3 times for a glass of red wine. It appeared he kept forgetting. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This was my first time at Circa 1922 and was pleased. Loved the menu! It had hot and cold tapas, meat and cheese plates, sushi etc in addition to large plate meals. Wine list had a number of affordable selections by the glass. Our server was able to properly describe dishes and their ingredients. Loved the beef carpaccio and that night's selection of fresh oysters. The braised wagyu beef cheek melted in my mouth!The esgargot was a tad overdone in Pernod sauce however and the paella had a bit too much paprika flavour for my taste but tasty none the less. Overall a great dining experience. Menu had something for everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Delicious meal in a charming atmosphere with live piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This my first visit to Circa with my fiancé. Walked in and the restaurant is stunning! Music was a little too loud , but a lovely ambiance vibe. Food was so spectacular! Our waiter was knowledgeable and kind. I definitely recommend this gorgeous restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great service, great drinks, great food. I am a huge raw oyster fan, and probably wouldn't order them again - didn't like the herbs or the sauce on them. But the escargot were great, as was the filet and the vegetables.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Circa 1922 has been our favorite "go-to" dining place when we're in Wilmington, usually the first place we head for. This time the experience disappointed us. It was a busy weekend evening, even at our 8:00pm reservation time. We were told we would have to wait a few minutes while our table was cleared and reset ... understandable. The wait turned into 30 minutes, during which time walk ins were seated and larger tables reset for just 2 diners. The front desk attitude to us was demeaning, even suggesting they give seating priority to certain clients! We did receive an apology for the "misunderstanding", and an attempt to make things right, but the damage had been done.

The food was up to its usual fine standard, this is a great place to try a whole spectrum of different tastes and culinary experiences. There were a couple of dishes we ordered which turned out to be sold out, fortunately there's a large menu to fall back on for alternatives.

We will be back - although maybe not at weekends (even in January) and Circa drops a few slots on our favorite list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very loud and the food was just ok. We wished we had gone to one of the restaurants down on the river walk. They do have a bar special on tapas from 5-7. If we went back, we would go for bar food, not a romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a good experience. The food and service were good and the restaurant had great charater.

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The the food and service were outstanding. My wife and I had high hopes for this restaurant and we did not leave disappointed. I highly recommend ordering a key lime pie or the minis for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My 15 year old son came downtown for a nice dinner. I chose Circa1922 because of their reputation of having a great menu with choices for both of us.

He loved the shrimp and grits- and for dessert the chocolate 7 layer cake!

The service was on point! Our server Gerald was awesome!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined on New Year's Eve and the service, food and atmosphere were all delightful. We hope to return again soon.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love Circa normally, but for New Years it was too crowded, the tables were pushed so close together that our server stepped on my foot several times. I would recommend booth seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went here on New Years Eve. Understandably, the service was a little slow. The food was good, but the portions were small. The lobster avocado salad was a bit bland. The duck was outstanding and flavorful. The scallops were tasty but only 3 medium sized scallops. The desert was their take on a s'more. It was very good, and the largest item on the 4 course meal. I would go here again, but on a less busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and the service were top notch. Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was great and the service was amazing!!! I would highly recommend Circa 1922!

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent and service was great! My husband and I cant't wait to get back to Wilmington so we can eat at Circa 1922 again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our meal very much! He got the Calamari and said it was one of the best dishes he's ever had. My salmon was cooked perfectly and though I couldn't tell you everything that came on the dish, it was all delicious. We got the bread pudding to share and it was out of this world! Our server was very friendly and attentive, without being overly so. The only complaint I have is that it was a little dark and a bit noisy but the food more than made up for it. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Historic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our eleventh dinner here in twelve years with family for the night before NYE. We love everything about this beautiful restaurant -- fabulous food, great service, beautiful decor. We tell everyone we know how good this restaurant is!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is where we go for our anniversary every year. It's worth the hour drive. The dinner menu can be a little pricey but it's very good. The wine menu is more than acceptable and the service has always been top notch. Upstairs is more fancy and suited for nice dinners while the downstairs has a bar and is more casual, which is nice because you can go there all dressed up or in jeans.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good service. Menu choices, preparation and taste were okay. Nice environment. Good wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good meal everytime I've been. Some restaurants in downtown Wilmington get good reviews on opentable that are way lower in food quality than Circa. Great for foodies, especially groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was good...not excellent, but good. Waiter wasn't very personable and talked was too fast but he knew his stuff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The mini desserts are a perfect way to try several dishes. This restaurant has a beautiful bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

In addition to a some great variations on common food themes the place a certain vibe to it. Though it is on the high end it is good value and offers things not found in most restaurants. Staff was uniformly professional, hard-working, and amiable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We took our daughters there after a Holiday concert and chose to dine on their small plate "tapas" menu. We tried 1/2 to 2/3 of their menu. Of note were the mushroom dishes, the escargot, the tuna sampler.

All were well prepared and presented. This is our second visit to the restaurant and they have not disappointed either time.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We enjoyed so much in this nice restaurant and ambience

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I stopped in to circa 1922 for a few appetizers and a glass of wine. The cheese and meat selections on the appetizer menu were wonderful as were the selections of Italian and Spanish chorizo and salami. Flavor was good The wines offered, Malbec and the Coates du Rhone were not of great quality for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Visited on a Sunday night before the holidays. Was a fair number of large groups but it was never noisy. Restaurant was decorated very well. Selected dinners (vs. tapas plates) and I loved the amount of food and price. Was a normal amount of food and the prices were very reasonable. Had a mussel appetizer which was very tasty. The shrimp & grits were a lighter version with a gravy which was a nice departure from the normal cheesy offerings. Definitely would return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.