About Circa 1922

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: 9107621922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Scallops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Cheese Plate - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Duck Confit - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Sangria - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
The Inquisition - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Creme Brulee - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Beef Cheek - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Kraken Coffee - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Passionfruit Mule - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Lemon Thyme Negroni - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Pomegranate Bellini - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Lamb Ravioli - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Créme Brulé - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Apple Salad - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Grilled Ny Strip - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Oysters - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Up In Smoke - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
End Of August - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Seared Tuna - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
lobster roll - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Mai Tai - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Rioja - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Seared Maine Scallops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Circa Azalea - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Circa Hurricane - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Blueberry Watermelon Mojito - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Shrimp and Grits - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Pork - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Scolops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Shrimp And Scolop Ceviche - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Single Malt Bourbon - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Chocolate Coconut Sushi - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Crab Dip - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Paella - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Cheese Board - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Key Lime Pie - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Almond Joy Cake, Chocolate Hazelnut Macaroon and Strawberry Cream Cake - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Scollops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Croissant Bread Pudding - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Braised Short Ribs - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Filet Minogn  - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Seared Scalops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Crepes - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Lobster Gnocchi - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Maine Scallops, Celery Root Puree, Bacon, Black Olives, Apple, Fennel - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Salted Caramel Gelato - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Circa Sour - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Tapas Cheese Plate - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Banana's Foster - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Crab Cheesecake - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Old Fashioned - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Everything! - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Circa Roll - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Organic Greens With Temura Gorgonzola, Pear, & Candied Walnuts - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Pear And Fennel Salad - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
5 More
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Tapas (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Historic (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jamey was a great server with helpful re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Jamey was a great server with helpful recommendations from the varied menu. We had different tapas and wines to match. Nice way to taste different flavors with your group. Ash knows how to run a restaurant and make his customers feel like family. Try different items to share. Easy parking around the block.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great downtown spot. Beet & blue cheese ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great downtown spot. Beet & blue cheese salad was excellent. Shrimp & grits were ok, but not super flavorful. Eggplant ragout was terrific as was the slow roasted chicken. If you're heading downtown Circa should be on your short list for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First visit. Liked the quiett surroundin ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 28, 2016

First visit. Liked the quiett surroundings (however, we were there on Monday evening early so do not know if it is quiet all evenings). Interesting selections on menu. Server described selections well. We Felt the portions were inconsistent with the pricing. The ambiance was positive but so dark have to use a candle to illuminate the menu. We did not dislike Circa 1922 enough to never go back. We would just adjust our expectation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed every minute of it. The food was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Enjoyed every minute of it. The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in every way- delicious ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great restaurant in every way- delicious food, warm and friendly service, charming atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere, but our w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere, but our waitress made our night. Her service was superb, and her wit was quick. We thoroughly enjoyed her and she made our celebration extra enjoyable!! Have to say, the steak was to die for.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Circa 1922 for a date night a ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went to Circa 1922 for a date night and celebrating 31 weeks pregnant. The food and service was great! I highly recommend the mushroom bruschetta and pork belly off the tapas menu. Well worth it! I forgot our servers name but he was great and very attentive without being too invasive. My only complain is the restaurant was a little cold! Tough time of year when it's hot during the day and cool at night. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We're fans of this establishment. Have ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We're fans of this establishment. Have been here many times and never disappointed. Food is top rate. Have never had just an "OK" meal here. Always great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been in a while but the menu much ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Hadn't been in a while but the menu much improved, served hot, all tasty! We'll go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good experience! Perfect for a birt ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very good experience! Perfect for a birthday dinner!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and presentation were excellent ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and presentation were excellent, I would suggest going with the tapas and try several items. The mini desserts were amazing and just enough for a sweet fix. I saw some of the large versions come out and they look like they could serve 4. The decor is really nice and it can be noisy but not too much where you can't hold on a normal conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We just love it! Traveled an hour to eat ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We just love it! Traveled an hour to eat there. We would do it again!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had not been to Circa in a number of y ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I had not been to Circa in a number of years, so was looking forward to it. While the food was good, it took an hour and a half to get it and was WAY WAY WAY over priced. Dinner for 2 with 2 glasses wine each and it was $134.00. And they comped the dessert because it took so long. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent food, very good service. A lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food, very good service. A lot of extra "touches" with the food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was excellent and very reasonably p ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was excellent and very reasonably priced for a restaurant of this quality. Our server was efficient and attentive. Getting to and from the bathrooms located on the upper level is a little confusing for a first time diner who is not familiar with the restaurant layout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place with an amazing atmosphere, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place with an amazing atmosphere, and food. Service was great as well.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal with four tapas and a d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had a great meal with four tapas and a dessert. Best were the calamari and bread pudding.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was very enjoyable. Service was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Dinner was very enjoyable. Service was attentive but not rushed, even after letting our server know we had theater tickets and had to be out at a specific time. Small plates we shared were tasty as was the lamb ragu and paella. Wine choices were good, tho not inexpensive. We've been before and we'll certainly be back.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Circa several times and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We have been to Circa several times and like to bring our guests there. We live on Topsail Island and don't mind the hour drive to get there. The food is that good. On the last visit, we all shared apps that included mussels, spring rolls, beet salad and mushroom bruchsetta. All were outstanding (especially the mussels). Dinner portions are smaller than some places but that is reflected in the price. The portions are perfect for us. We never leave hungry. I would recommend Circa to anyone who like fresh, creative food dishes. It has never disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Circa is a wonderful place for a date n ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Circa is a wonderful place for a date night. Their food is great. They have a great wine selection. My husband and I love going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night in Wilmington and Circa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great date night in Wilmington and Circa 1922 made it even more special. Wish I remembered our servers name, she was great and her recommendations were all spot on based on out tastes that we discussed.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool looking building, lively place. Hos ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Cool looking building, lively place. Hostess didn't act as if they had our reservation, had to wait at bar. Bartender was very friendly, our waiter however barely spoke to us. Food was fine, not spectacular

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

This is my favorite restaurant to eat wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant to eat when visiting Wilmington. I love the comfortable dining, great service and amazing menus

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time, first time there, food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had a great time, first time there, food was very delicious! The atmosphere is really energetic and fun. Our waitress was great, entertaining and did a wonderful job! I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for a girls weekend. I ordered ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Came here for a girls weekend. I ordered a wedge salad, and the waitress told me I could not make an modifications to it, I wanted to exclude bacon. I said, you can't just not put bacon on it? She had to ask the chef. It was ridiculous. The sangria was watered down, with no fruit it in. The service was ok, nothing great. The lighting was so dark upstairs we had to use our cell phones as flash lights. It was not the cute girls dinner we had hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was our first time at Circa 1922 an ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was our first time at Circa 1922 and it was wonderful. Very professional server, Rob I believe. He knew the menu down to the finest details, he offered food and wine paring recommendations.

As we will be in Wilmington fairly often for the next several years we will definitely be going back. There are many more interesting dishes and appetizers we would like to try.

If you are looking for a fast meal this is not the place, while I am sure they could have expedited if we had asked, it is truly an upscale venue, food is prepared to order and will want to enjoy the surroundings!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had read reviews which persuaded us to b ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Had read reviews which persuaded us to book a reservation here. Arrived on time to be seated at a small table located up a very steep flight of stairs which my husband painfully climbed to accommodate their scarce availability of a deuce-top. Found out later there is an elevator available but hostess who seated us never offered this option. Her rush to seat us resulted in a first impression of unconscionable hospitality which set the tone for how she had primed us to then interpret every element of service which did or did not follow. The cuisine had so much to overcome unrelated to its preparation. Always a tough act to follow. Nonetheless, our thanks goes to the Chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was perfect. Fantastic experi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was perfect. Fantastic experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for a relaxed anniversary ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were there for a relaxed anniversary dinner. The service was good. The small plates we shared were all very good. The crab dip and paella were very good. The smoked oysters were just ok. The pitcher of sangria we shared was very well done. The only issue we had was we were seated next to a rather loud large group. They weren't obnoxious or rude, just a little loud. As young people are want to do. Overall it was a very good meal and we would return to eat again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, they accommodated a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was excellent, they accommodated a special diet.

Very small portions though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very cool looking place!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very cool looking place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington. Our out-of-town visitors love it. Service is outstanding. Robert makes recommendations that never miss.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was excellent! We enjoyed our time, the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Was excellent! We enjoyed our time, the service and the food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday evening @ 7:30 was really crowd ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Saturday evening @ 7:30 was really crowded so the noise level was pretty high, but other than that Circa 1922 is a wonderful spot! It's semi-casual with great food; tapas, salads, entrees; burgers as well and the wait staff is very attentive. The atmosphere is really nicely done, circa 1922 and lots of fun. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting/or living in the Wilmington area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner and enjoyed the a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a lovely dinner and enjoyed the ambiance ! I would recommend the restaurant for the food, service etc

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday for husband. Had been to Circa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Birthday for husband. Had been to Circa 1922 only once before and had a fabulous dining experience both times Was raining when we arrived so were offered seat at window in alcove. Another couple was seated there which made it a little noisy but not terrible. Gavin was our server who was excellent in describing dishes and level of attention. Food was creatively presented and delicious. My selection was Shrimp and Grits which I would recommend highly! Want to go back for more of their tapas!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reputation as the best food in Wilmingto ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Reputation as the best food in Wilmington is well deserved, based on our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner Saturday Aug 27. Greeted ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had dinner Saturday Aug 27. Greeted at door by friendly hostess. Waiter was attentive throughout meal. Menu had great selections and food was excellent. We will be back next time we are in Wilmington.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Amazing food! Highly reco ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service. Amazing food! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with a party of 10. Our server P ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went with a party of 10. Our server Paul was fantastic. Food came out promptly and looked great. We go here often and love that they can accommodate 2-10 with ease!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.