About Circa 1922

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: (910) 762-1922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Scallops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Cheese Plate - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Pork Belly - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Duck Confit - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Sangria - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
The Inquisition - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Creme Brulee - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Beef Cheek - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Kraken Coffee - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Passionfruit Mule - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Lemon Thyme Negroni - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Pomegranate Bellini - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Lamb Ravioli - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Créme Brulé - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Apple Salad - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Grilled Ny Strip - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Oysters - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Up In Smoke - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
End Of August - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Seared Tuna - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
lobster roll - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Mai Tai - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Rioja - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Seared Maine Scallops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Circa Azalea - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Circa Hurricane - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Blueberry Watermelon Mojito - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Crab Dip - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Paella - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Cheese Board - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Key Lime Pie - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Almond Joy Cake, Chocolate Hazelnut Macaroon and Strawberry Cream Cake - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Scollops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Croissant Bread Pudding - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Braised Short Ribs - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Filet Minogn  - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Seared Scalops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Crepes - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Lobster Gnocchi - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Maine Scallops, Celery Root Puree, Bacon, Black Olives, Apple, Fennel - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Pork - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Salted Caramel Gelato - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Shrimp and Grits - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Circa Sour - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Tapas Cheese Plate - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Banana's Foster - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Crab Cheesecake - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Scolops - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Shrimp And Scolop Ceviche - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Single Malt Bourbon - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Old Fashioned - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Chocolate Coconut Sushi - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Everything! - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Circa Roll - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Organic Greens With Temura Gorgonzola, Pear, & Candied Walnuts - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC
Pear And Fennel Salad - Circa 1922, Wilmington, NC

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Tapas (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Romantic (17)
Historic (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very loud and the food was just ok. We ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very loud and the food was just ok. We wished we had gone to one of the restaurants down on the river walk. They do have a bar special on tapas from 5-7. If we went back, we would go for bar food, not a romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

It was a good experience. The food and ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a good experience. The food and service were good and the restaurant had great charater.

Tags: Late-night Find,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The the food and service were outstandin ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The the food and service were outstanding. My wife and I had high hopes for this restaurant and we did not leave disappointed. I highly recommend ordering a key lime pie or the minis for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 15 year old son came downtown for a n ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

My 15 year old son came downtown for a nice dinner. I chose Circa1922 because of their reputation of having a great menu with choices for both of us.

He loved the shrimp and grits- and for dessert the chocolate 7 layer cake!

The service was on point! Our server Gerald was awesome!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on New Year's Eve and the servi ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined on New Year's Eve and the service, food and atmosphere were all delightful. We hope to return again soon.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Circa normally, but for New Year ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love Circa normally, but for New Years it was too crowded, the tables were pushed so close together that our server stepped on my foot several times. I would recommend booth seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went here on New Years Eve. Understandab ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went here on New Years Eve. Understandably, the service was a little slow. The food was good, but the portions were small. The lobster avocado salad was a bit bland. The duck was outstanding and flavorful. The scallops were tasty but only 3 medium sized scallops. The desert was their take on a s'more. It was very good, and the largest item on the 4 course meal. I would go here again, but on a less busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The food and the service were top notch. ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and the service were top notch. Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was great and the service was amazing!!! I would highly recommend Circa 1922!

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and service was g ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent and service was great! My husband and I cant't wait to get back to Wilmington so we can eat at Circa 1922 again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed our meal very m ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our meal very much! He got the Calamari and said it was one of the best dishes he's ever had. My salmon was cooked perfectly and though I couldn't tell you everything that came on the dish, it was all delicious. We got the bread pudding to share and it was out of this world! Our server was very friendly and attentive, without being overly so. The only complaint I have is that it was a little dark and a bit noisy but the food more than made up for it. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Historic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our eleventh dinner here in twelve years ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our eleventh dinner here in twelve years with family for the night before NYE. We love everything about this beautiful restaurant -- fabulous food, great service, beautiful decor. We tell everyone we know how good this restaurant is!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is where we go for our anniversary ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is where we go for our anniversary every year. It's worth the hour drive. The dinner menu can be a little pricey but it's very good. The wine menu is more than acceptable and the service has always been top notch. Upstairs is more fancy and suited for nice dinners while the downstairs has a bar and is more casual, which is nice because you can go there all dressed up or in jeans.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good service. Menu choices, prepara ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good service. Menu choices, preparation and taste were okay. Nice environment. Good wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Good meal everytime I've been. Some rest ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good meal everytime I've been. Some restaurants in downtown Wilmington get good reviews on opentable that are way lower in food quality than Circa. Great for foodies, especially groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good...not excellent, but good. ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was good...not excellent, but good. Waiter wasn't very personable and talked was too fast but he knew his stuff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The mini desserts are a perfect way to t ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

The mini desserts are a perfect way to try several dishes. This restaurant has a beautiful bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

In addition to a some great variations o ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

In addition to a some great variations on common food themes the place a certain vibe to it. Though it is on the high end it is good value and offers things not found in most restaurants. Staff was uniformly professional, hard-working, and amiable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We took our daughters there after a Holi ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

We took our daughters there after a Holiday concert and chose to dine on their small plate "tapas" menu. We tried 1/2 to 2/3 of their menu. Of note were the mushroom dishes, the escargot, the tuna sampler.

All were well prepared and presented. This is our second visit to the restaurant and they have not disappointed either time.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed so much in this nice restaura ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

We enjoyed so much in this nice restaurant and ambience

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I stopped in to circa 1922 for a few app ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

I stopped in to circa 1922 for a few appetizers and a glass of wine. The cheese and meat selections on the appetizer menu were wonderful as were the selections of Italian and Spanish chorizo and salami. Flavor was good The wines offered, Malbec and the Coates du Rhone were not of great quality for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited on a Sunday night before the hol ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Visited on a Sunday night before the holidays. Was a fair number of large groups but it was never noisy. Restaurant was decorated very well. Selected dinners (vs. tapas plates) and I loved the amount of food and price. Was a normal amount of food and the prices were very reasonable. Had a mussel appetizer which was very tasty. The shrimp & grits were a lighter version with a gravy which was a nice departure from the normal cheesy offerings. Definitely would return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and atmosphere at this restaura ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and atmosphere at this restaurant is superb!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food. Tapas allow for a lot o ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent Food. Tapas allow for a lot of flexibility in the first course. We shared the sashimi, the spring rolls, and the broccolini - all were very good. Solid wine list and cocktails are first rate. I had the paella and my wife had the lamb ragu - both were rich in their flavors. They offer mini-desserts, which were a perfect end of meal treat without overindulging. Full desserts around us were intimidating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had again an amazing experience at Ci ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had again an amazing experience at Circa 1922. Unbelievable delicious food, desserts and espresso . We will be back

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, , Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Organic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular service and amazing food at ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Spectacular service and amazing food at reasonable prices - a must when going to Wilmington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jamey was a great server with helpful re ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Jamey was a great server with helpful recommendations from the varied menu. We had different tapas and wines to match. Nice way to taste different flavors with your group. Ash knows how to run a restaurant and make his customers feel like family. Try different items to share. Easy parking around the block.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great downtown spot. Beet & blue cheese ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great downtown spot. Beet & blue cheese salad was excellent. Shrimp & grits were ok, but not super flavorful. Eggplant ragout was terrific as was the slow roasted chicken. If you're heading downtown Circa should be on your short list for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First visit. Liked the quiett surroundin ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

First visit. Liked the quiett surroundings (however, we were there on Monday evening early so do not know if it is quiet all evenings). Interesting selections on menu. Server described selections well. We Felt the portions were inconsistent with the pricing. The ambiance was positive but so dark have to use a candle to illuminate the menu. We did not dislike Circa 1922 enough to never go back. We would just adjust our expectation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed every minute of it. The food was ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Enjoyed every minute of it. The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in every way- delicious ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great restaurant in every way- delicious food, warm and friendly service, charming atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere, but our w ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere, but our waitress made our night. Her service was superb, and her wit was quick. We thoroughly enjoyed her and she made our celebration extra enjoyable!! Have to say, the steak was to die for.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Circa 1922 for a date night a ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went to Circa 1922 for a date night and celebrating 31 weeks pregnant. The food and service was great! I highly recommend the mushroom bruschetta and pork belly off the tapas menu. Well worth it! I forgot our servers name but he was great and very attentive without being too invasive. My only complain is the restaurant was a little cold! Tough time of year when it's hot during the day and cool at night. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We're fans of this establishment. Have ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We're fans of this establishment. Have been here many times and never disappointed. Food is top rate. Have never had just an "OK" meal here. Always great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been in a while but the menu much ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Hadn't been in a while but the menu much improved, served hot, all tasty! We'll go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good experience! Perfect for a birt ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very good experience! Perfect for a birthday dinner!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and presentation were excellent ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and presentation were excellent, I would suggest going with the tapas and try several items. The mini desserts were amazing and just enough for a sweet fix. I saw some of the large versions come out and they look like they could serve 4. The decor is really nice and it can be noisy but not too much where you can't hold on a normal conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We just love it! Traveled an hour to eat ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

We just love it! Traveled an hour to eat there. We would do it again!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had not been to Circa in a number of y ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

I had not been to Circa in a number of years, so was looking forward to it. While the food was good, it took an hour and a half to get it and was WAY WAY WAY over priced. Dinner for 2 with 2 glasses wine each and it was $134.00. And they comped the dessert because it took so long. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent food, very good service. A lo ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food, very good service. A lot of extra "touches" with the food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.