Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Circa 1922

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: (910) 762-1922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Romantic (29)
Tapas (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Historic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Live Music (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We really enjoyed Circa 1922 when we first went there years ago. While visiting Wilmington this weekend, we decided to try it again and we were not disappointed. The food and service were superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always fun at Circa! You can count on a good meal every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I think I was in a more casual mood the day I ate here, and I was left feeling out of place. Circa 1922 is nicer than the surrounding eating establishments, which is fine, just keep in mind when considering it. Very nice decor and great menu options. I had a delicious cocktail along with the surf n turf sushi roll.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Really great atmosphere and food. Our waitress was really great. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loved the old building atmosphere and 1920's feel. We were seated in the raised area at the back where the ceiling is not as high and heavy drapes (pulled back) separate it from the main floor, and I think that lent a more intimate and definitely quieter ambience. The food was terrific, the wait staff excellent, live piano music - jazz standards - the Saturday night we were there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Date night with my hubby. Fabulous dinner and great service. Love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was a Saturday night, sat downstairs. Noise level was high, combination of people and piano music. Waiter was great. Two ordered the halibut special, one ordered the filet and the third in our party ordered Shrimp and Grits. When the food was delivered we all looked at each other and laughed, large plates with very small portions. It reminded us of the ad on the TV. Price was too high, will probably move on and try other downtown restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. The filet was cooked to perfection and the Key Lime Pie was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was a wonderful dining experience. Our server was friendly and delightful. I believe his name was Gerald.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Small plates were very good, allowed the group of 4 to sample different things.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We arrived for our reservation and were seated promptly. The place was busy and very noisy and there was a piano player which was unnecessary with it being so busy as it just added to the noise and made it harder to hear my wife. The waiter came over and filled water glasses. My wife asked about ginger ale. The waiter said they did have ginger ale but seemed offended that she wanted something other then alcohol. Considering that she's pregnant that wouldn't exactly be responsible. He brings the ginger ale and we ordered escargot to start. He went to put that in and said he'd bring bread. Some time passes and the escargot comes out. No bread. We ate the escargot, part of which was gritty, and again he said he would bring bread. Several more minutes pass and he returns with bread and stays long enough for our entree order. My wife ordered through lobster gnocchi and I ordered the filet. Quite some time passes with our waiter promising twice that it was coming right out. It finally comes and is lukewarm. The filet as tender but dry. The beans on my wife's dish were undercooked and the lobster was overcooked and rubbery. I ate a piece myself. Once that course was cleared we ordered the chocolate cake for dessert. The menu described it as colossal and it was a huge piece of cake. The taste was good but with no ice cream or sauce of any kind it started to choke you. Overall the service as rather slow and the food was average with the chewy lobster being the biggest let down. The portion sizes are small on everything except the cake. Escargot $12, lobster gnocchi $20, filet $24, cake $10. Ironically the cheapest item was the biggest portion. They were busy but over 2hrs for two people to get three courses, two of which were shared, is definitely slow. I'd rather go back to favorites like Roko and RX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was good, vibe was bustling, tables busy. I would visit again, perhaps at another time of the week. The restored bank was handsome, loved the exposed brick.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The waiters are very knowledgable, and will work with sensitivities and allergies. My wife is Gluten intolerant and the Chef/Waiter altered her dish to match her needs. Very kind.

The food is exceptionally well composed without being snooty. The portions are reasonable for the price and quality level. The building is a 100 year old bank, and the restaurant has kept much of the architectural detail of its predecessor. Including safe doors.

The mood is romantic and subtle. The dress attire is casual to upscale. No need for a jacket though. Not really a great place for kids, and to be honest loud and unruly kids will ruin the night for a lot of people. We dropped our 2 kids off at Giggles (15 minutes away) for 2 hours for $36. Well worth the added expense and courteous to those trying to enjoy their night out.

We have had the Mussels, Beef Pinchos, and California Roll for appetizers. The cornmeal grouper special was amazing, the duck melted on your tongue, the Paella was fresh and deliciously rich, and the shrimp and grits was as french southern (Andouille sausage instead of Tasso ham) as you can get. I have only had it once better, and that was in New Orleans. Even this rendition would be equal with the addition of a bit more heat (spice). The Creme Brulee is fantastic and the full size is easily the perfect end to the dining experience for 2, or 1 really hungry person (they have a mini size).

The drinks are original, but probably the only knock on the experience. They were weak of both flavor and alcohol (Rum Runner and Lavender Martini). That being said, my Knob Creek was served generously.

I easily give this establishment 5 stars. We have been there on 2 occasions, and never have I left without a smile on my face, a pleasantly full belly, and a happy pallet. We live 2 hours away and will make every effort to eat there as much as we can.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Circa 1922 is one of our favorite spots for dinner before a show @ Thalian Hall or Cape Fear Stage. The atmosphere is just right, and there's something on the menu for just about everyone. Only drawback this time was that both the duck confit and flounder special were quite salty. But we love the place and wiill surely return.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We shared a number of the tapas. All were wonderful. The mini desserts were a perfect finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Reservation was for 7:30 and we waited until 8:00 to finally get our table. Would have gone elsewhere but it was a Saturday night with at least an hour wait everywhere. Food was just okay, nothing special and definitely not worth what we paid for it. Will not be going back that is for sure.

Tags: Live Music, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a reservation for 7pm and didn't sit down at our table until 7:45pm.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Never have had a bad meal. Food is interesting without being pretentious. Attentive service. Great Manhattan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Nice atmosphere with good cocktails. We had the scallops and salmon on prefixe menu paired with appetizer and salad. Portions are not large but perfect to be able to enjoy four courses. Scallops were perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and wonderful restaurant ambiance. Downstairs is more loud than upstairs.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Loved the live piano music by Donna.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was prepared to perfection. The salad was delicious with the gorgonzola cheese and walnut. Serving sizes while not large satisfied the diners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Circa is one of my go-to places in Wilmington. The atmosphere is perfect and I'm always very happy with the food and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I was happy with the service, the flavor and the value. Only had Tapas and wine and dessert. I would come back and continue tasting. Great history and decor; nice downtown area location.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day dinner and it was a very nice evening. I rounded up on the ratings, if I could give 4 1/2 star marks that's what they would have received.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Circa 1922 is one of our favorite places to eat in Wilmington and our last meal there was the perfect example of why. From the first course to the dessert and the cocktails in between we enjoyed a truly excellent meal with fabulous service that made our Valentine's Day dinner just perfect! We especially enjoyed the pickled shrimp, the smoked trout salad and the Potato Gnocchi, thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day and were expecting a nice meal. We were told the day of our reservation that there was a limited "chef's menu". Our table was crammed into what I consider an aisle and right in front of the main entrance. The wait staff were constantly bumping into my wife while trying to service the table behind her.
Our lobster bisque was cool. My wife's filet was supposed to be medium well, came out bright red in the center. By the time it was prepared properly, my dinner was finished.
Our waiter was apologetic and the assistant manager came over after I asked for her, she apologized but didn't do much else.
Paid $189 including tip for a Valentine's dinner that my wife and I watched each other eat separately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They had a fixed menu for Valentines Day. Good selections to choose from. Well prepared and served.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great, unique food experience. Wait staff was wonderful and attentive, without being overly intrusive. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and service as always. Circa 1922 is a staple in our community.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Disappointed. Been here before and loved the place. This time we came back to celebrate our anniversary and my wife was extremely excited that Duck Confit was on the menu. Unfortunately it was some of the driest confit I have ever experienced. As a chef and restaurant owner, it was frustrating. However, we all have off nights. Hopefully this was just one of those for Circa 1922. Lighting could be turned up just a bit - We and another couple sitting near us were using our phone flashlights to read the menu. Both groups of us are a bit older than many that were there. But very difficult to enjoy if you can't read what is being offered. HOWEVER, our server was fantastic. Great personality and very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The decor and pianist are wonderful and a fantastic welcome into the restaurant. The kitchen seemed a little slow when we were there on a Saturday night at 8pm. If this is typical, plan to spend at least 2.5 hrs there. The tapas and entrees were tasty, but the colossal creme brûlée was a disappointment. (If you're going to have dessert, go for the bananas foster!)

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Authentic atmosphere with a live piano bar. Great spot for date night or Valentine's Day. Highly recommend the food, wine selection, and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Four of us shared eight tapas. (We probably could have eaten a little more, but were going to a dessert wine tasting after, so didn't want to eat too much.) They were all delicious, as were the drinks. Fried calamari with a wasabi/sweet sauce and escargot in Pernod cream were the highlights for me. Our server was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was very dark in the dining room. I watched several people use their phones to read the menu. Service was great, food was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ambiance is very nice, but the value for what you get isn't close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful food and drink choices ! Waitress was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first time dining at Circa. Drinks were well made and wine selection was decent. My husband and I both started with the wedge salad which was wonderful--one of the best I've ever had. I had the beef cheeks with barley and puffed barley; the contrast in textures was really interesting and the beef cheeks were delicious and succulent. Husband is not around to get his input, but he enjoyed his dinner and said he would go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Six of us enjoyed dinner together before an evening at the Wilmington Jazz Festival. Food, drinks and service were excellent. Wanting a light meal, I ordered the beet salad and the lobster and avocado (chilled) tapas plate. Fresh, light, perfectly seasoned- and gorgeous, they were. All 3 men in our party ordered the Eggplant, and finished every bite. We enjoy dinner at Circa 1922 each time we are in Historic Wilmington, and I think we will do so forever! Keep doing things as you are, Circa 1922- it makes your customers happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Price Fix Menu was a great deal, salad,entrees and perfect sized dessert. There were a variety of entrees to choose from for $24. Wednesday was half price bottles of wine made it an even better deal. Service was outstanding and timing on each course was perfect. It was a little conversationally challenged and rather dark. All of us at the table had to use our flashlights on our phones to read the menu. Food was tasty and well seasoned and perfect temp. when arriving at the table.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.