Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Circa 1922

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: (910) 762-1922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (43)
Tapas (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Romantic (37)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Cozy (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Authentic (17)
Casual (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Live Music (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was prepared very well, but the portion size was small for $20.00-24.00 and left us hungry. Starch and and greens are very inexpensive and a bit more was all that needed to make the meal much better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Really fun place. Appetizers were good but nothing spectacular. The entrees, however, were amazing. I got the filet mignon and my wife got the lamb ragu. The filet was cooked perfectly and the purée that accompanied it was fantastic. Portion sizes were perfect. Some might say too small. Love the mini dessert options.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Perfect night. Food was very good and so was service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Reservations were suggested but not required, at least on a Wednesday "after dinner" hour in September. The ambiance was "restful" with low lights and quiet corners. When I mentioned that it was hard to read the menu in the "candlelight" the staff provided us with a flashlight to provide enough illumination to make our selections. The wait staff and cook were responsive to the dietary restrictions of my 92 year old mother and were patient in explaining what grits were to an "out of stater." The food was delicious, echoing the words of our waitress when she stopped by regularly to check on our needs. I would recommend the shrimp and grits as well as the fried chicken. The food was well worth the price and I will, definitely, be visiting Circa 1922 in the future.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Está bien ambientado, es un lugar cálido, la comida buena, no puedo decir excelente porque para nuestro gusto el crab dip, estaba muy picante. El lamb si, excelente! y merece destacarse el servicio, ya que la persona que nos atendió muy buen conocedor de los platos y los vinos, fue muy profesional en su atención. La carta de vinos podría ser mas variada y tener alguno no tan costoso.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Bachelorette party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time ther and we will return next time in Wilmington. Only ate tapas and if the mains are of similar quality, they would be great.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary dinner. Excellent appy's and dessert. Main course was steaming hot, properly seasoned and right sized. Wait staff was well trained, timely with attention and details. This is the finest meal we've experienced in the two years we've been in Wilmington, bar none.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food overall tasted good but there was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was an unexpected, but delightful dinner. I ordered sauvignon blanc and a triggerfish with creamed corn and sweet potatoes for my meal. I'd highly recommend this restaurant. Everything was well prepared and the service was quite good.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We love the desserts. Wait staff was very professional and attentive. We asked for a great seat and got one. Wish the restrooms were on the first floor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service and great food but appetizers were small-not really shareable but still delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Unique bistro type menu with tapas twist. Ask for Bill - and let him order for you. Busy spot on a Saturday night when the local college is in session.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

New menu...enjoyed the chicken and the oyster assortment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Good place for a celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My daughter is a vegetarian as we always hunt for places that work for her but still have the delicious non-vegetarian food I love. Circa 1922 was a find on trip advisor and turned out to be great. We are looking forward to eating here again. The mac and cheese - crazy good. Mushroom ravioli was so earthy. House made mozzarella was delicious with balsamic thick as paste and wonderfully flavorful. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Healthy, Seasonal, Organic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great dining experience, always. Knowledgeable, attentive and friendly wait staff. Excellent menu and wine pairings
Warm and inviting atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The waiter was fantastic, knowledgeable, always ahead of any anticipated need. The noise of people's conversation was much too loud. Loved the hot crab dip..ordered filet mignon, but was disappointed that the steak was such a small portion, with only a few strands of spinach. Know that you'll have to order an appetizer, or you may feel like you didn't have much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food. Great place if you like small plates to share. Can also order entrees. Great food at a great price. One of our favorite spots in Wilmington!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Had not been there for about ten years but intend on going more often.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Server was on top of everything and unobtrusive. Our server was with us for the entire meal.We like that. Tapas...cheeses and asparagus...top notch. Our entrees of paella was a quality dish. I think it is difficult to make a mixed seafood dish with high quality and presented well.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Very good tapas restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had a great meal- loved the choices of appetizers or tapas as starters. Sizes are perfect, not overwhelming, but just enough. I started with the spicy tuna tartar tapa. Was good with the crispy banquette, but wasn't really spicy. Not flavorful, I would have skipped that. My parents had the calamari with was tossed with a garlic, fruity, buttery glaze. It was amazing! My husband had the meat chicorones or something?? They were delish! We had the price fixe menu which included a salad with tempura coated and fried blue cheese, pecans, organic greens. Yummy! Dinner was hanger steak cooked perfectly. Hubby's fish was great. Drinks were great. Waitress, though great and friendly, was a bit slow. Mom asked for glass of ice with her cosmo (and had to ask twice more to get it long after we finished our first round. Other than that, great food- highly recommended!

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

This restaurant was a gem. It was really one of the best overall places where I have ever eaten. Great location and ambience, terrific service, wonderful high-end dishes, and incredibly reasonable prices. I was incredibly impressed! PS-Our server, Christina, was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It a very enjoyable time
Food was great!! Noice level was low so conversation was easy

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great dinner while visiting Wilmington. Great atmosphere and excellent food

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Never disappointed when we eat here . Food is always delicious ! Fresh ingredients are always used . Menu has a lot of choices . Mini desserts are a great idea .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had not been there in a while. Will return sooner this time! Waitstaff most helpful with a dietary issue and helped us select an outstanding meal. Food was fresh and delicious from cheese platter all the way through coffee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent overall, as it has been for us several times before. Smaller portions than many other places, but appropriately priced, and the uniqueness and quality shine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was our first visit to Circa in 3-4 years.. not sure why we waited so long to come back! We had a marvelous meal.. Chef's special lobster bouillabaisse and an excellent hanger steak. It's an energetic restaurant located in downtown Wilmington in an older loft type building. Parking garage close by.. once dinner is over it's only a 1 block walk to the waterfront and a number of other "watering holes" and the live music scene. If I have a complaint it would be the noise level.. if in a large group be prepared to speak up if you plan to be heard.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was a little too dark in the back corner. Had to use my phone light to read the menu. Everything was excellent otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We waited a while for our food. There is usually not such

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This has always been one of my wife and my favorite restaurants in Wilmington. We were leaving the area to move to another place. We could think of no better place to have our last date as residents of the area. The food and atmosphere was perfect. When we visit we will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 7, 2017

As always, Circa delivers! Great food, great service and great atmosphere! This place never lets me down!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was very loud. There happened to be a large party, 20+, next to us. When they arrived, they mingled around their table for 15-20 minutes and were on top of us. No consideration for other customers. No fault of the restaurant, just rude and loud customers. Otherwise, everything was good. Service was good, but a little pushy on the drinks. Our table was a party of non-drinkers.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were greeted and seated immediately, noticing the restaurant was quite busy (Friday, 7:30pm) which is a good thing in my opinion. Our server was efficient and attentive, but didn't hover. When something was asked for, he either brought it immediately OR came to tell us it was on its way (drinks, for example). We started with the tuna sashimi and it was absolutely fantastic. I ordered the scallops and my husband got the hangar steak. I loved my scallops - the Ratatouille was different for scallops, but I loved it. My husband's meal came out cold, but our server responded quickly and fixed it (I chalk it up to a swamped kitchen) with no other problems; in fact, one of the hostesses assisted in getting his meal out quickly and a few other items to us which I appreciated as a former hostess myself! We finished with prosecco and mini desserts as we were celebrating our 5 year anniversary and it was the perfect amount - the pot de creme and cheese cake were both delish! I'd very much like to come back for drinks at the bar as I truly appreciated the relaxing, almost mysterious decor and feel of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Service was outstanding. Food was.4.5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were just on our honeymoon in Wilmington and we were looking for a unique restaurant. Circa 1922 was excellent! Our meals were unique and delicious.

We both highly recommend the crab dip appetizer. Next time we visit we will definitely stop in again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This was our fourth time eating at Circa and probably the best experience we've ever had. The food was good as always, but the service was excellent! Gerald was an awesome waiter, friendly and fun, as well as spot-on service. He definitely made our birthday celebration a great one. We're already planning our next meal at Circa, it's one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington.

(P.S. If you've never been here before, you must try the 7-layer chocolate cake... you can thank me later.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Ash and his team deliver excellent food with friendly and professional service. The menu is wide ranging and my assorted oysters were very fresh. He runs a tight ship and it shows. Go and buy different plates to savor the flavors. Nice wines by the glass as well. Thanks, Hank

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.