Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Circa 1922

4.4
1370 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(910) 762-1922
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kyle McKnight
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Greg Lightcap: (910) 762-1922
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Market Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1370 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was very attentive. Went for my son's graduation from UNCW with his Master's Degree. Having reservations helped to make sure we would celebrate with style!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

This was our third visit to Circa 1922 and had an excellent dining experience as usual. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. The duck was prepared to perfection.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 17, 2017

It has been a really long time since I’ve been to circa, and it used to be my favorite place to go downtown. We were seated upstairs to celebrate two adult birthdays and there was only one other family up there with a baby. It was a Friday night but clearly the staff was ready for us to leave by 9pm as they were cleaning and blowing out candles. We also got shooed off the sidewalk in front of the restaurant as we were waiting on our Uber- kind of rude. I️ miss the old menu of tapas as well, wish they would bring that back as it seems the food was not as good as I recalled. That said the mushroom truffle bruschetta was my favorite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2017

We have always loved Circa, especially for special occasions. I was not as thrilled with the new menu. I guess it's been a while since we were in last. I miss the sushi roll.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 12, 2017

The food was good, but nothing to write home about. We walked in with high hopes based on all the good reviews, but ultimately left feeling it was nothing special. The highlight was the beet and arugula salad, it was delicious. The restaurant is beautiful, but overall the experience was underwhelming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2017

Circa is always a great meal and offers a wide range of tasty food and drink. Ash and his team make sure you have a wonderful dinner. Go and try different things with your friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

First time in Wilmington, and we wanted to go to a nice restaurant to celebrate a birthday, and Circa 1922 was exactly what we were looking for! We were in a back booth, so it was cozy and romantic, and the piano playing was wonderful, but not overly loud. Our service was outstanding, and our server was attentive but not overbearing, knowledgeable, and friendly. We decided on a bottle of champagne, and our server did a great job with this! Food was exceptional--we had the shrimp and pork spring rolls appetizer--delicious! I had the shrimp ceviche cold tapas, I really liked it and loved the marinade. My boyfriend had the filet and said it was one of the best he's ever had. We will definitely be back when we are town again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Lovely restaurant. Wonderful service. Waiter was especially helpful. Very good value

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Some of the best food I've had in years - and - priced reasonably. Next time I am in Wilmington I will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

One of the best meals we've had EVER - and we've travelled all over the world. Everything was delicious, great service, creative plating & nice ambience. Only complaint is the ceiling fans were on and it was quite chilly/drafty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

We loved the food and wine! The service was excellent would go back for sure!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

This is my second time at this restaurant. Everything was very nice, but there always seemed to be one thing lacking throughout the night. From the moment the hostess sat us down at a table with four seats. We sat closes to the server, but the hostess took those settings from the table. We decided to wait to see if our waitress would move the other setting to over in front of us. She did not. Not a big deal, but it's just lacking that level of service I have come to expect at this level of restaurants. A few other things struck me in the same way throughout the night, but no need to list them. All of the food was timed very well. Temperature, presentation, and flavors were on point. Wine suggestions were all spot on. Dessert selection was the single shot glass style we have seen at many restaurants. We tried six (special night) and none were as good as the restaurant's own vanilla ice cream. We look forward to returning any time we come to Wilmington.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

An excellent array of tapas and some bodacious desserts. Our server, Yana, was great fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

A beautiful space. We ate upstairs. Amazing service,and a delicious array of tapas. Great for special occasions. Loud and lively on a Saturday night. A great experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

It was a special occasion for only 2, which was on our reservation in hopes of getting decent more private seating. The notes on the reservation were clearly not taken into account at all. Instead we were crammed at a 2-seater table at the end of a row in the back,right on the edge of a step, and surrounded by a very loud and large group (bachaelorette party.)
Neither meals, lamb ragu and paella were served barely warm. The best thing about the evening was our server, Robert, who deserves an award for keeping it all together as busy as he was. And no, I did not complain as he was already so busy.
I was really looking forward to Circa 1922 as I had only heard amazing things about this place as a “special occasion” venue and as a perfect ending to a full day of celebrating a special day. Doubtful I will return. What a let down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Absolutely loved our dinner. Great choices on the menu especially if you just feel like having a light bite. Plenty of tapas plates to choice from. Entrees were extremely thought out. And I loved that they have large plate desserts, big enough for our table of 4 to share. This was the first time we've ever sat upstairs and it was very romantic....The staff is definitely professional and our waitress made sure to ask if we had tickets for a play that evening and would make sure we got our food quickly. Circa is one of those restaurants that is a neighborhood gem with constantly great food and service and flexible in being a place for an intimate dinner, quick bite or a great place for a group.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 26, 2017

Disappointed the carpaccio wasn't available, but an excellent meal nevertheless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and wine. Our server, however, was not very pleasant and that kind of put a damper on the mood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Food and service was excellent and I strongly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

This was for a pre-theater. It took a little while to be seated as they were seating a large party upstairs so it made us not have all the time we wanted for having our meal.
My husband had oysters and a salad with hanger steak, candied pecans and bleu cheese and I had spring rolls and the same salad with shrimp. They were accommodating in that we wanted a salad with protein and there were none on the menu and they obliged us. We both thought our food was very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 13, 2017

One sald meal was not served correctly and had to be returned.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 8, 2017

All four of us in our party thought the food was very good. Two had seafood and both enjoyed their dishes. Two of us had Tapas and also enjoyed them very much. The reason for the 3 or 4 stars was that a salad was dressed with too much vinegar and couldn’t be finished. The seared scallops came out cold and when sent back the kitchen only heated them to Luke warm. Both tapas that I ordered were room temp instead of hot. I thought they were exceptionally tasty and did not want to wait further for them to be reheated. The restaurant was quite empty when we were there so we didn’t understand why we had those issues. The service by our waiter was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Nice atmosphere, great food. Will definitely go back! Had a very nice time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 7, 2017

The crap dip appetizer was spot on, however our main course entrees were very dissapointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was just wonderful- the food and drinks outstanding, as well as the service. Would recommend ordering as many of the small plates as you can and sharing with your table. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Good experience at Circa 1922. Service was excellent and restaurant very comfortable for modest size groups. Only 1 complaint. 4 in our party of 7 ordered the Paella. All felt it was a bit dry and not as seasoned as they were used to ... but, it disappeared from all bowls so it must have been OK.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Everything was delicious.
Restaurant was too dark, need more light.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 4, 2017

We went here for a birthday celebration and it delivered. The meal was delicious, atmosphere cozy, and service was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

This was our second visit to Circa 1922 and we enjoyed it even more! Ali did a fantastic job answering our questions and presenting a book on the diverse history of this wonderful old building. The ambiance was very special. We had the beets, bleu cheese and pecan appetizer -which was artful and delicious. The paella provided a great assortment of chorizo and fresh seafood. The bread pudding was to die for! The wine list provided a nice assortment. We would definitely return on our next visit to Wilmington!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 2, 2017

This was our first visit to circa 1922, and was delightful from start to finish. Highly recommend the tappas style dishes and our server, Ali, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Helped to make our 35th wedding anniversary evening memorable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food. Well prepared. Very romantic atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome good food excellent service . good value.good every thing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Great for a Mom's Nite Out. Starting from the Hostess to the waitress, the service was great. Husband also surprised us with a beautiful bottle of champagne waiting for us on ice.... The perfect evening...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

We almost always dine at Circa 1922 when we come to Wilmington, which is about an hour's drive for us. The wait staff is very professional, and the food is creative and superb. The atmosphere is also quite nice, as is the artwork. It's especially nice as a pre-theater venue.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was prepared very well, but the portion size was small for $20.00-24.00 and left us hungry. Starch and and greens are very inexpensive and a bit more was all that needed to make the meal much better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 20, 2017

Really fun place. Appetizers were good but nothing spectacular. The entrees, however, were amazing. I got the filet mignon and my wife got the lamb ragu. The filet was cooked perfectly and the purée that accompanied it was fantastic. Portion sizes were perfect. Some might say too small. Love the mini dessert options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 14, 2017

Perfect night. Food was very good and so was service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 13, 2017

Reservations were suggested but not required, at least on a Wednesday "after dinner" hour in September. The ambiance was "restful" with low lights and quiet corners. When I mentioned that it was hard to read the menu in the "candlelight" the staff provided us with a flashlight to provide enough illumination to make our selections. The wait staff and cook were responsive to the dietary restrictions of my 92 year old mother and were patient in explaining what grits were to an "out of stater." The food was delicious, echoing the words of our waitress when she stopped by regularly to check on our needs. I would recommend the shrimp and grits as well as the fried chicken. The food was well worth the price and I will, definitely, be visiting Circa 1922 in the future.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35