Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Circa 1922

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: (910) 762-1922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Tapas (44)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (33)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Cozy (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Historic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Healthy (10)
Casual (10)
Fun (9)
Live Music (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
 (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We ordered from the prix fixe menu and all three courses were delicious. Our server was attentive and informed and the meal was served in a timely manner. It was a wonderful meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I had recently decided to go vegan and was concern that I would not be able to follow my diet eating out. It was our anniversary and my husband had made these special reservations. I reluctantly asked the waiter and he was great as well as the chief. It was probably the most amazing plate of food I have ever had. The presentation was beautiful itself, yet the dish of fresh local vegetables was fantastic. I felt like the chief had fun with it. It also felt very spontaneous and very creative.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A very nice date night experience. Walked from a bar around the corner where we had drinks before. Our table was ready and we were sat right away.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always enjoy going to Circa 1922

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was a return visit because the evening before was so good. We were impressed with the service, ambiance and the food. Very good wine selection and cocktails at reasonable prices. We found the entire staff to be very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were celebrating a spontaneous mini reunion. We came from five different places and multiple states. We had a lovely table and we were just so happy to be together. The food was good and the restaurant was dark and cozy. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Out of the gate, Bill provided great service! We enjoyed drinks, followed by multiple rounds of tapas, Bill's recommendations honestly given and followed, our meal was excellent. Finishing with desert wine, key lime pie and "colossal" creme brûlée (its colossal), we left sated and satisfied. Absolutely will be returning! Thank you Circa 1922!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We took our son and his two friends after his relocation. Perfect end to a long day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Certainly a bit noisy (this was saturday night). Best part of the meal was the appetizer, but our two entrees were very good. I thought the dessert was good; my partner thought it was excellant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My husband and I came for tapas. The wine our server recommended was great and the charcuterie plate was worth the trip alone. Will definitely be returning !

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were in Wilmington for July 4th and got a last minute reservation. We've never been to the restaurant before and we're so glad we chose it! We loved our table for 2 by the window - people watching and connected to the outdoors but still inside with air conditioning! I had the organic salad and pan fried flounder - both were delicious and hit the spot. Many items on the menu sounded very appealing and there was a wide array of choices and styles. Our waitress was friendly and wonderful, and the prices were very reasonable for the quality of food. I would absolutely eat here again the next time I vacation at the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. I enjoyed the decor and the close proximity to downtown area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I enjoyed my meal . My hanger steak was delicious. My favorite place to eat downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 2, 2017

For the most part, the food was excellent! The duck confit is always a big hit with us. However, one of our appetizers and one of our entrees came out cold, which was disappointing. We ate the appetizer cold (mushroom ravioli) but the entree (shrimp and grits) needed to be sent back to get heated and it took about 10 minutes to get it back.
We had reservations but the table was not ready and we had to wait approximately 20 minutes.
Our server was excellent and very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We loved our first dining experience at Circa 1922 for our 12th wedding anniversary. The food was incredible! The mushroom bruschetta is a must to order! Our waiter was very knowledgeable of all the dishes available. Be sure to request a booth if you are dining for two because the standard tables are quite close together. We were there on a Friday evening. Wish we could have experienced the live piano music they offer on Saturdays! We will visit again and order more of the tapas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was outstanding with very nice presentation. Heirloom tomato appetizer was a bit pricey, but very good. Specialty drinks were very good and unusual.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was amazing. From the first drink, to the 7 layer cake, everything was amazing! We will definitely come back sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a group of 13. The service was top notch, the food and drinks were delicious, and we had the best time. Thank you so much to the staff of Circa 1922!!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My friend and I recently had a superb dinner at Circa 1922. We started with the beef carpaccio, which was delicious. My entree was seared sea scallops over a bed of ratatouille, which was very flavorful. My friend had the seared flounder over leeks and other veggies, and she loved it. The portions were perfect--we were pleasantly full but not overstuffed. Great service and atmosphere. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing! The food is great and the service is professional and friendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I had the flounder and licked my plate! Everyone loved what they ordered.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Can't recommend circa 1922 highly enough. Food and service were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The tapas were lovely and we thought that almost all of them were fair in price. We particularly enjoyed the pork belly. The lobster gnocchi had good, bite-sized chunks of lobster but the gnocchi could have been lighter. The ambiance is candle-lit, and the server was attentive and unobtrusive. My dining partner thought that the grouper was cooked excelently. Plating was good for all of our food. The cocktail I had, the Coast of Carolina, was particularly good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very romantic, but we found it challenging to see while dining. The lighting was a little too dim; however, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening out!!! The food was delicious, and you all served my husband's favorite dessert; Key Lime Pie!! Yay for him!!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very cozy, classy atmosphere. Service was excellent, as was the menu. The entrees looked kind of small for the price, so we opted for tapas. Dinner starts with a bread basket with soft white bread with butter. I opted for shushi: the spicy tuna was literally spicy -and very good. The broccoli, as well as the beet salad tapas were also very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent! Went here for our 30th anniversary and it was really, really good. From the sushi to the tapas to the service, everything was excellent. It was a bit dark inside, so older eyes had a bit of trouble reading the menu, but otherwise there were no complaints. Their live pianist was also excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Live Music, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our meal was amazing and so was our wine. The staff took very good care of us and made great recommendations. One of favorite Wilmington dining spots!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great meal! My wife had salmon with celery root, perfect amount, great flavor. I had flounder with fennel, capers, olive tapenade; fish cooked great and dish had wonderful flavors. We both thought this was one of our best seafood meals ever. We had a Rhone wine that was great at a very reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always a favorite spot! Never had a bad meal! Fun to eat at bar or dining areas!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Perfect place, I've been coming here for years and it always delivers.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Delicious small plates very well prepared with quality ingredients. Lovely change from the more traditional offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent food and great, friendly service. Will definitely be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was my second time at Circa 1922! Both times were amazing! They have a great wine list and very tasty Tapas. They have a variety of different tapas,ones that are everyday menu items and ones that you would not see very often on a menu. Great location and great customer service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Christina provided great service. Food and wine were extraordinary!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

A group of us went pre theater and we all had tapas which were very good. The service was excellent and I would definitely go back for either pre theater dining or just a good dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Loved everything about it. Sangria is amazing and so was the eggplant parm and mushroom ravioli!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellence in service, preparation, and quality. Perfect all around, zero complaints. That's rare for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.