Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Circa 1922

Circa 1922 is home to tapas-style dining and wine bar in historic downtown Wilmington. Regionally-themed sharing platters are a popular new addition to the menu allowing guests to sample several tapas offerings. A 12-bottle custom cruvinet keeps our wines by the glass consistently fresh and true to taste or choose from an eclectic international selection of wines by the bottle. After-work tapas specials, weekly sushi specials and a 3-course prix Fixe menu make Circa 1922 a popular downtown destination.

8 N. Front St.
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 762-1922

Website:
http://www.circa1922.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz piano standards Friday & Saturday evenings from 8:00pm - 11:00pm

Parking Details:
Market Street parking deck located directly behind Circa 1922. First hour is free, $1 for each additional hour. Special rates for weekday evenings. $5 after 9:00pm on weekends. On-street parking is free after 6:30pm and all day on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Kyle McKnight

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private upstairs dining room accommodates up to 65 guests. May be utilized for either hors d'oeuvres receptions or sit-down dinners. Private parties are offered a 4-course limited menu. Customized menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lightcap: (910) 762-1922

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Circa 1922 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Tapas (37)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Historic (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (6)
Live Music (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Waterfront (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server Jamie was fantastic! The food and wine were great but he really made the experience worth it. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best and most consistent restaurants in Wilmington. Food, service, and atmosphere are excellent. We always return to Circa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was delicious and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic menu with delicious cheese and wine selections. The escargot was really tasty, and the cheeses were scrumtrulescent! I recommend the duck entree as well.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I eat here every time I visit Wilmington. There are several good food options on or near Front street, this is one of the best.

Tags: , Cozy, , , , , , , Tapas,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second visit. Each time for our anniversary. Great place to be together.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was good, but not up to the quality of previous visits. Portions were smaller and prices higher. The room was so dark that it was difficult to read the menu. The waitress was not very attentive. My husband says that he has had better shrimp and grits for less money at a local restaurant, and we do not live near the ocean. My salmon was very good, but the sauce under it was tasteless and the vegetable underdone.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ordered about half the tapas with my group and each one was brilliant

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food selection was outstanding as was the service. The Charcuterie selections were great. Our entrees were nicely prepared and very flavorful. The food presentation was also very nicely done. The large platter creme brûlée was spectacular. Have not been able to find this large thin layered creme brûlée anywhere else in all our travels. This was the reason for driving to and staying in Wilmington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Visiting Uncw student

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was overpriced and service was mediocre. Would not recommend

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We've been disappointed in the quality of food and snarky aloofness of servers the last few times we have dined at Circa. A couple of folks in our party were frustrated that a restaurant of the purported caliber of Circa 1922 offers "milk" as opposed to cream or half-n-half for their coffee. One additional comment about serving coffee: perhaps it is considered "high brow" to pour coffee from a height of 18" or more, but it is disconcerting to many customers due to concern of splattering. Maybe we were overly cautious since the server had spilled water while filling our water glasses at the beginning of the evening. We wouldn't object to the prices if the food quality and service were improved. At the level of each of them at this point, we feel that the restaurant is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I can always count on Circa 1922 to be consistent and delicious everytime. The service is impeccable, the atmosphere is perfect and the food is always perfect. I highly recommend Circa 1922...especially for pre/post Theatre occasions.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Overall, a quite nice family dinner. We had several tapas and a cheese platter, all of which were well received by adults and teenagers alike. The ambiance in the two-story restaurant née bank is quite comfortable though the music was a bit loud for a short while. Very good location near Wilmington center and waterfront.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything was delicious and the service was terrific. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Best meal I have had in a long while. Everything prepared beautifully, interesting flavors. We had the prix fixe menu, absolutely delicious. Not good for anyone with mobility issues - bathrooms are up a long flight of stairs.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our waiter was excellent. Food was very good. We went during restaurant week, good deal for salad course, entree and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food and service were exceptional! I would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was great; drinks & wine were spot-on. Michael, our server, was fantastic. Very helpful and anticipated our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Took my daughter for a birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Attendance at your restaurant was due to a girl's get-away weekend and I must say your establishment was charming in its ambience with fabulous wine, Smith Madrone Cabernet, and delicious food. Our waiter Bill was the best as he was so helpful and accommodating with a marvelous sense of humor. He's a definite keeper! If there would be one suggestion I would make, it would be to have a Jazz pianist. The piano music being played on Saturday evening was too much of a snooze, and if you want to attract even more individuals , try jazz.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I love this restaurant! Every time I come to Wilmington it is a must stop for dining on my list! I had my rehearsal dinner at Circa back in 2014 and my friends and family keep wanting to come back!

My recent visit was with co-workers that had never been before. They enjoyed the cocktails, appetizers, entrees , and desserts that they ordered. They all told me that they understand why it's a must stop when I'm in Wilmington and now they will add it to their list too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We really enjoyed Circa 1922 when we first went there years ago. While visiting Wilmington this weekend, we decided to try it again and we were not disappointed. The food and service were superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always fun at Circa! You can count on a good meal every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I think I was in a more casual mood the day I ate here, and I was left feeling out of place. Circa 1922 is nicer than the surrounding eating establishments, which is fine, just keep in mind when considering it. Very nice decor and great menu options. I had a delicious cocktail along with the surf n turf sushi roll.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Really great atmosphere and food. Our waitress was really great. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loved the old building atmosphere and 1920's feel. We were seated in the raised area at the back where the ceiling is not as high and heavy drapes (pulled back) separate it from the main floor, and I think that lent a more intimate and definitely quieter ambience. The food was terrific, the wait staff excellent, live piano music - jazz standards - the Saturday night we were there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Date night with my hubby. Fabulous dinner and great service. Love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was a Saturday night, sat downstairs. Noise level was high, combination of people and piano music. Waiter was great. Two ordered the halibut special, one ordered the filet and the third in our party ordered Shrimp and Grits. When the food was delivered we all looked at each other and laughed, large plates with very small portions. It reminded us of the ad on the TV. Price was too high, will probably move on and try other downtown restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. The filet was cooked to perfection and the Key Lime Pie was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was a wonderful dining experience. Our server was friendly and delightful. I believe his name was Gerald.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Small plates were very good, allowed the group of 4 to sample different things.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We arrived for our reservation and were seated promptly. The place was busy and very noisy and there was a piano player which was unnecessary with it being so busy as it just added to the noise and made it harder to hear my wife. The waiter came over and filled water glasses. My wife asked about ginger ale. The waiter said they did have ginger ale but seemed offended that she wanted something other then alcohol. Considering that she's pregnant that wouldn't exactly be responsible. He brings the ginger ale and we ordered escargot to start. He went to put that in and said he'd bring bread. Some time passes and the escargot comes out. No bread. We ate the escargot, part of which was gritty, and again he said he would bring bread. Several more minutes pass and he returns with bread and stays long enough for our entree order. My wife ordered through lobster gnocchi and I ordered the filet. Quite some time passes with our waiter promising twice that it was coming right out. It finally comes and is lukewarm. The filet as tender but dry. The beans on my wife's dish were undercooked and the lobster was overcooked and rubbery. I ate a piece myself. Once that course was cleared we ordered the chocolate cake for dessert. The menu described it as colossal and it was a huge piece of cake. The taste was good but with no ice cream or sauce of any kind it started to choke you. Overall the service as rather slow and the food was average with the chewy lobster being the biggest let down. The portion sizes are small on everything except the cake. Escargot $12, lobster gnocchi $20, filet $24, cake $10. Ironically the cheapest item was the biggest portion. They were busy but over 2hrs for two people to get three courses, two of which were shared, is definitely slow. I'd rather go back to favorites like Roko and RX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was good, vibe was bustling, tables busy. I would visit again, perhaps at another time of the week. The restored bank was handsome, loved the exposed brick.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The waiters are very knowledgable, and will work with sensitivities and allergies. My wife is Gluten intolerant and the Chef/Waiter altered her dish to match her needs. Very kind.

The food is exceptionally well composed without being snooty. The portions are reasonable for the price and quality level. The building is a 100 year old bank, and the restaurant has kept much of the architectural detail of its predecessor. Including safe doors.

The mood is romantic and subtle. The dress attire is casual to upscale. No need for a jacket though. Not really a great place for kids, and to be honest loud and unruly kids will ruin the night for a lot of people. We dropped our 2 kids off at Giggles (15 minutes away) for 2 hours for $36. Well worth the added expense and courteous to those trying to enjoy their night out.

We have had the Mussels, Beef Pinchos, and California Roll for appetizers. The cornmeal grouper special was amazing, the duck melted on your tongue, the Paella was fresh and deliciously rich, and the shrimp and grits was as french southern (Andouille sausage instead of Tasso ham) as you can get. I have only had it once better, and that was in New Orleans. Even this rendition would be equal with the addition of a bit more heat (spice). The Creme Brulee is fantastic and the full size is easily the perfect end to the dining experience for 2, or 1 really hungry person (they have a mini size).

The drinks are original, but probably the only knock on the experience. They were weak of both flavor and alcohol (Rum Runner and Lavender Martini). That being said, my Knob Creek was served generously.

I easily give this establishment 5 stars. We have been there on 2 occasions, and never have I left without a smile on my face, a pleasantly full belly, and a happy pallet. We live 2 hours away and will make every effort to eat there as much as we can.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Circa 1922 is one of our favorite spots for dinner before a show @ Thalian Hall or Cape Fear Stage. The atmosphere is just right, and there's something on the menu for just about everyone. Only drawback this time was that both the duck confit and flounder special were quite salty. But we love the place and wiill surely return.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We shared a number of the tapas. All were wonderful. The mini desserts were a perfect finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Reservation was for 7:30 and we waited until 8:00 to finally get our table. Would have gone elsewhere but it was a Saturday night with at least an hour wait everywhere. Food was just okay, nothing special and definitely not worth what we paid for it. Will not be going back that is for sure.

Tags: Live Music, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a reservation for 7pm and didn't sit down at our table until 7:45pm.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Never have had a bad meal. Food is interesting without being pretentious. Attentive service. Great Manhattan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.