About Circa 1886

149 Wentworth St.
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Smith

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 853-7828

Website:
http://www.circa1886.com/

Parking Details:
Off-street parking next to restaurant

Executive Chef:
Marc Collins

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blackened Tenderloin
Buttermilk Praline Panna Cotta
Cinnamon Rubbed Antelope Loin
Antelope
Apple Barbeque Braised Pork Ton Toro
Black Garlic & Lentil Soup Amuse Bouche
Green Pea Bavarois
Gas House Egg
Pear Crisp Souffle
Roll With Whipped Oil
Chicken Fried Foie Gras
Spicy Grilled Shrimp With Fried Green Tomato
Niman Ranch Pork Chop With Lemon Curd Potatoes
Bass
Miso Poached Wreckbass With Udon Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Pork Belly, And Quail Egg
Trio of Sorbets
Niman Ranch Pork Chop With Peach Nectar Bbq Sauce

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The private dining room (Tack Room)with mirroring fireplaces and six windows overlooking our garden can accommodate up to 38 people. Our Garden Room also offers a private dining experience perfect for a party of up to 12. Several different banquet menus are offered for private parties.

Circa 1886 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
10 More
Romantic
South Carolina
Special Occasion
South Carolina
Southern
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Southern
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (162)
Romantic (156)
Fit for Foodies (125)
See All
Notable Wine List (98)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Historic (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Scenic View (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2021 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Must do when visiting Charleston. We had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Must do when visiting Charleston. We had an incredible dining experience for restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal and service. Arrived at ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic meal and service. Arrived at 9:15pm but the place was still lively.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding! Food selection was unique ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding! Food selection was unique (I had antelope) and the presentation was pristine. Our waiter, Ian, was gracious and knowledgeable. This was restaurant week, yet we were told this was their regular menu. This restaurant hit high notes on all scales. Would highly recommend for a romantic evening or casual friends who want to be able to talk to each other.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was visiting Charleston with my wife, an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Was visiting Charleston with my wife, and we wanted to go to someplace special for dinner. We were very pleased with our meal, drinks, and service. Excellence is how I would describe the character of this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, drinks, and ambiance were amaz ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food, drinks, and ambiance were amazing however our server Randy made the night unforgettable. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for restaurant week in Charlesto ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went for restaurant week in Charleston. I want to give this pale another try when it isn't restaurant week and see if the food is better. I feel like it has the potential to be fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Circa 1886 never disappoints. Visit duri ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Circa 1886 never disappoints. Visit during Restaurant Week provided outstanding choices. Antelope preparation always my first choice. Best fine dining experience you can have in Charleston in a romantic setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time at Circa 1886. Th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was my first time at Circa 1886. The lobster bisque was superb! Presentation and food quality was among the best in Charleston. Food quantity (and quality) presented excellent value for price paid. Service could not have been better. I shall return!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent place. Waiter was outstanding.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent place. Waiter was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food, slightly overp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great service, good food, slightly overpriced for restaurant week. Lamb osso bucco doesn't really work.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was tasty I had an anniversar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Everything was tasty I had an anniversary dinner during restaurant week. The food is unique. Everything was different than I've eaten before. The staff was warm. I will return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brian was our waiter and he was very kno ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Brian was our waiter and he was very knowledgeable on drinks and food. This is an awesome restaurant to dine at for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always love"1886" Fabulous service! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We always love"1886"

Fabulous service!

This time we had a group of 6. Four of us where delight with our meals, with the exception of the beef being a little salty.

My husband convince one our guests to try the antelope. He has had it in the past and raved about it. It turned out to be very tough and therefore, not enjoyable.

Not sure why this was different. Aside from that, we will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal at this restaurant. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent meal at this restaurant. The desserts were our favorite. Chocolate souffle and bread pudding were decadent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CIRCA 1886 ALWAYS is at the TOP of its G ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

CIRCA 1886 ALWAYS is at the TOP of its GAME!! it never disappoints. Marc Collins ALWAYS has a creative, delicious, well "constructed" menu! And he always surprises us with some fantastic Amusee Bouche that is more than fun! WE LOVE that we can have a pleasant conversation and not have to shout over "the buzz" as some people like in restaurants. not us...this is so pleasant and so comfortable and so intimate. Our wait staff is always near by but NOT intrusive. Our lead person, Randy, was so pleasant, so well informed and made the whole evening leisurely and most enjoyable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for our one year anniversar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We came here for our one year anniversary and requested two tasting menus (one vegetarian) with wine parings--this was the first time we had ever ordered tasting menus and eaten in such a high end place, and we both decided we would love to do this more frequently. Our waiter was excellent and very knowledgeable about wine, the food was incredible and since we both had different options it led to much conversation about the meal, and the overall experience was exactly what we were looking for on a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. Pecan Pi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Pecan Pie Bread Pudding was best dessert my wife and I have ever had and we aren't big bread pudding fans.

Highly recommend it, great place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Our server, Ryan, was out of ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful! Our server, Ryan, was out of this world. The only thing better than the service was the food. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and would love to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, Circa 1886 never fails to impress. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wow, Circa 1886 never fails to impress. Three of us went as part of Restaurant Week, although all of us had been there before. The food was inspired, creative, and delicious. I had the antelope and it was great. Brian, our server, was outstanding. He was there exactly when we needed him and left us alone at other times. He is truly a professional. The bartender, Mark (?), was understated, but affable when appropriate, and mixes a great drink! Free parking is available behind the Inn next to the restaurant in a neighborhood where parking is tough. If you can get a reservation, you'll be happy with the overall experience. In a city where fine dining is an art, Circa 1886 has it down with the best of them! Well done. Thank you for another great experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible restaurant and ser ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Absolutely incredible restaurant and service from Ryan. Deserves a Michelin Star - better than so many Michelin starred places we have been. Such a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best meal both my girlfriend ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Simply the best meal both my girlfriend & I ever had, and we've been to 46 states (including foodie cities of New York, San Francisco & New Orleans).

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing. Food is a little "ou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Absolutely amazing. Food is a little "out there" culinary wise but everything was delicious. Smaller portion sizes allowed for appetizer, entrée, and dessert to be enjoyed. We enjoyed the Deviled Eggs, Chicken Fried Lobster and the Antelope, and the Chocolate Truffle Soufflé. Wouldn't change a thing about the meal. Our waiter, Ian, was a great educator about the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious high quality food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Absolutely delicious high quality food. Very special place. Came here two years ago and had to come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great place everything excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Really great place everything excellent recommend pricey but worth it

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Highly recommend especially th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing! Highly recommend especially the chicken fried lobster...already recommended to many friends that were also staying in Charleston. Service was impeccable and genuine. Bar is quaint and quiet perfect for a low key romantic dinner and drinks.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. I would go back everyday if I ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fantastic. I would go back everyday if I lived there. Every single thing I ate was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a large group for my birthday and ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had a large group for my birthday and we couldn't have had a better experience!!! Everything was phenomenal!!! I would highly recommend the tasting menu too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, but there was some confus ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food was good, but there was some confusion about our order and we had to have one weal sent back and we were charged for a dessert we didn't order.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very pleasant experience with good wine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very pleasant experience with good wine and great dishes.

Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved this place! It had a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I absolutely loved this place! It had a very comfortable, homey type feel upon entering. The waiting staff was very attentive and met all of our requests very quickly. I couldn't have been more pleased with both the appearance and flavor of my selected entrée (Antelope). I will be going back in the near future and highly recommend it to foodies or casual diners. Oh, and parking is free and right across the street which is a huge added bonus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Comfort Food, Private Room, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

highly impressed with Circa 1886! One of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

highly impressed with Circa 1886! One of the best fine dining experiences I've had (and I come from NY). Service was great and food just as great. Bonus, the chef sends out complimentary items to the table :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good, but nothing exceptional. Clearly, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good, but nothing exceptional. Clearly, not one of Charleston's top five restaurants, at least as far as the food is concerned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Marvelous food, in a beautiful Charlesto ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Marvelous food, in a beautiful Charleston setting. The service was perfect! A fine special-occasion choice we would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in all areas. The service was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent in all areas. The service was superb. The food was fantastic. Great wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing and the service supe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food is amazing and the service superb! While Charleston has many fine restaurants it would be difficult to find one that would surpass Circa 1886.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our overall experience at Circa 1886 was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our overall experience at Circa 1886 was incredible. Our server, Ian was fantastic. Always checked in at a good time, but not too often. He was very attentive to our table. The food was incredible. The chef's specials for the day were exquisite and a fun treat! For our main course, I had the salmon for my dish and it was perfectly cooked! The antelope was also very delectable. I wish I had discovered this sooner being that we are leaving Charleston soon :(

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent! My wife and I to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was excellent! My wife and I took our 2 sons and our 1 daughter in law to Circa. Food was amazing! We do not drink alcohol so no comment on this. This was our second time dining there and plan to make it at least twice a year for special occasions. It was a wonderful evening with our family! Very quiet and easy to talk to each other instead of yelling across the table as some of the more high end Charleston restaurants require due to the noise level. I would highly recommend Circa 1886 for any occasion or special date night with your spouse!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Circa 1886 is an excellent restaurant wi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Circa 1886 is an excellent restaurant with a creative menu, delicious food, a beautiful dining room, and fantastic service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent service, lovely atmosphere, an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

excellent service, lovely atmosphere, and wonderful meals

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent service was great.

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was excellent service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.