About Circa 1886

149 Wentworth St.
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Smith

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 853-7828

Website:
http://www.circa1886.com/

Parking Details:
Off-street parking next to restaurant

Executive Chef:
Marc Collins

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The private dining room (Tack Room)with mirroring fireplaces and six windows overlooking our garden can accommodate up to 38 people. Our Garden Room also offers a private dining experience perfect for a party of up to 12. Several different banquet menus are offered for private parties.

Circa 1886 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Romantic
South Carolina
9 More
Southern
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Southern
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (173)
romantic (160)
fit for foodies (138)
See All
notable wine list (86)
neighborhood gem (55)
scenic view (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very knowledgeable in reg ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was very knowledgeable in regards to the menu and the Charleston events and things to do. The Chicken Fried Lobster was unlike anything I have ever had before and as a frequent diner to fine dining restaurants the atmosphere definitely unique. The walk through the Wentworth Mansion sets the tone for a special occasion or celebration and really does take you back to 1886. I would definitely come back the next time I am in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5

Neither my husband or I enjoyed our meal ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Neither my husband or I enjoyed our meals. The food was grossly under seasoned. Is the chef deciding to cook his food in what he considers a "healthy" way, and not using salt? And there was no salt or pepper on the table. If you can't cook salmon, should you call yourself a chef?

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Group of seven. Service and setting wer ...

Dined 4 days ago

Group of seven. Service and setting were outstanding. Presentation was elegant. Perhaps a bit short of superb food (opinions were not unanimous), but we collectively enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True fine dining

Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation here after hearing great things... Food was amazing , our server Charles was excellent and attentive and truly made our visit there a great experience. Unique food flavors and the most amazing blueberry soufflé !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best dining experiences we've had.

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great. We were seated in a booth and felt that we had all the privacy one could want. The service was pleasant and professional and the food was beautifully presented and delicious. We felt unhurried and fully attended. We will definitely return on our next Charleston trip. Plus be sure to stop next door and look at the Inn which is equally spectacular - especially if you go to the cupola on the top of the building and look out over the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal

Dined 6 days ago

This was our first dinner in Charleston and it did not disappoint. I had the Broken Arrow Antelope (wonderful flavor) and finished off with Pecan pie bread pudding. You must go if you are not n Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of four were treated to a fabu ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our party of four were treated to a fabulous evening of excellent service and exceptional food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is renowned to be one of the best r ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is renowned to be one of the best restaurants in Charleston, and in the US. It's in the carriage house of a large "mansion". The chef is well-known, and the plates are unique, well-prepared, and served by knowledgeable staff. The wine list is very large. On our special night, one omnivore and one vegetarian ate different 3-course meals and both were very pleased with the art of the food and presentation, and the ambiance. This fine-dining experience is not really our style, and we wouldn't do this a lot, but we found the Circa 1886 experience to be memorable, and were nicely surprised to find the price of our dinner to be much more moderate than we expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the Best

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

An evening with the love of my life, Wife couldn't have been better. The service, the food, the presentations and the wine were just the best. This place is in the top list of restaurants in Charleston. We will definitely come again when we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is the best. I have neve ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

This restaurant is the best. I have never eaten better food at any other place in my life. We had the best bottle of wine ever, recommended by the waiter. Service was amazing. I wish I could eat here every day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful in every way

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful in every way

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Circa 1886 was good but not great. The ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Circa 1886 was good but not great. The service was good and the atmosphere was unique and pleasant but the food came in small portions and was just ok, making the value for what is charged not good. I had the Spring lamb and it was cooked perfectly, next to Dutchess potatoes, which were 2 very small squiggles of potatoes on the plate that had been overcooked so long the texture was like cardboard & inedible. My husband had a seafood stew (I can't remember the exact name) which he said was fine, nothing special but for the cost, it should have been. We had key lime pie for dessert which was tasty but the presentation was strange, more like a wet broken sandcastle instead of a pretty pie (which ironically in 1886 would actually have looked like today's pie). I appreciate the effort of the presentation-keep trying.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant dining experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

The selection, quality and the presentations we ordered (starters, entries, deserts and wine) at Circa 1886 were all excellent in a city that has 50 fabulous restaurants to choose from. The atmosphere and service were as good as there is in Charleston and we've been to 20+ of the top restaurants in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service and the food was deliv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service and the food was delivered the way I liked it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5

The deconstructed bread pudding was outs ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The deconstructed bread pudding was outstanding however the lamb entrees left much to be desired--tasted like they had been prepared hours before. Overall, the dinner was not up to our expectations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service and ambience! ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Outstanding food, service and ambience! Truly a gourmet restaurant with outstanding food and service

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great separate room for eight. Ser ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a great separate room for eight. Service was attentive and food great. They were just changing menus so meal preparation was abut longer than usual. Good assistance picking the right wine. Sharing deserts was a great choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most Memorable Dinner in Charleston

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server, Austin, congratulated us on our 20th wedding anniversary when he greeted us. After we ordered, he arrived with 2 glasses of champagne and told us he was going to put a hold on our order because he had a special surprise for us. The rooftop cupola of the Wentworth Mansion has the most beautiful view of Charleston. Austin sent us up with our champagne to go celebrate with a toast on top of that beautiful mansion. The sun was setting and it was a moment my wife and I will always cherish. The food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The level of service and quality of food ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The level of service and quality of food lived up to the reviews and did not disappoint. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 9, 2016

We did the chefs wine pairing tasting menu for our anniversary. The staff was amazing from start to finish and the food was the best I have ever had. A terrific dinner spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic for a special occassion

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I dined at Circa 1886 to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. The ambiance is intimate and the service is impeccable. We decided to do the chef's 5 course tasting menu with wine pairings, and were not disappointed. Each wine was well matched with the excellent food, and our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable in both food and wine. It was pricey, but very much worth it for such a special occasion. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such an exceptional restaurant!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We love this restaurant! The food is amazing, the ambience friendly yet exceptionally private and the service is top-notch. I do not miss the chance to dine here whenever I am in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Had higher expectations

Dined on May 5, 2016

This is my second visit. The first was spectacular in all ways ( a few years ago), and I think I gave the restaurant all "5 Stars." However, this time we left wanting more. I had the "Broken Arrow antelope Paillard, and to be honest, it was way over cooked, as was my wife's fish (chicken fried Salmon). The appetizer and the desert were good, but not great. This was a bit of a let down. I will likely return only because the meal we had on our first visit was so memorable, and the restaurant is beautiful. But this was disappointing, considering the prices of the restaurant. There are a lot of great restaurants in Charleston, and it is sad that, at least on this night, this one had slipped.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful restaurant and a memorable e ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

A beautiful restaurant and a memorable experience. The food was outstanding. The BEST duck I have ever eaten. Would highly recommend. Not over the top expensive either.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chefs tasting menu

Dined on May 3, 2016

One of top 5 best meals ever, chefs tasting menu!!! Wonderful food and fantastic service. Bone of the top 5 best meals ever. Had chef's tasting menu on our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding, with a very ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The service was outstanding, with a very attentive and knowledgeable wait staff working as a team. The ambiance was romantic with the setting as a restored carriage house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made dining in Charleston really special.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Everything from the service to the meal was impeccable. It's located in a charming neighborhood, away from the main drag packed with restaurants, and definitely worth a stop.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful restaurant!

Dined on April 30, 2016

While vacationing, my wife and I love dining in the better restaurants, and this one was wonderful. We enjoyed the chef's set menu with wine pairing and were so glad we did! Delicious foods artistically presented. With excellent wines ( my only disappointment Wes the relatively skimpy pours of good -- but not necessarily expensive --) wines. Other wine pairing meals, of which we've enjoyed our share, have been a bit more generous with their pours. ...chicken- fried salmon??!! We typically avoid fried food, but this dish was among the absolutely best fresh fish either of us have ever eaten!! No idea it was fried! Light, tender, fabulous!! Next time in Charlston, we'll dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal, from start to finish, I have ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Best meal, from start to finish, I have ever had! Every ingredient is carefully considered and adds amazing depth to each dish. Outstanding service as well!

food3
ambience4
service4

I thought that the food was just OK, the ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I thought that the food was just OK, the portions were small and that there was no significant flavorful experiences happening in any of the dishes. It appeared that everything was trying to hard to be special and the overall flavor was lost

food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Chef's Tasting Menu with the ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had the Chef's Tasting Menu with the wine pairing. Everything was perfect. The restaurant is very elegant and tasteful, the service was spot on, and the food was lighter but very carefully planned and prepared with each dish being a different but wonderful take on each course. (Chicken fried Salmon? Spectacular!) We were celebrating our engagement and our server, Brian, made a point of congratulating us and brought us a little something special from the chef. Everything was perfect to celebrate a special occasion. Thank you Circa 1886!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a special dinner!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Found out about this restaurant through Trip Advisor and boy what a great find! From the moment we walked in the door-from tasting delicious wines followed by a romantic dinner in a magnificent setting. The food was delicious, every detail was enjoyable and special. Our waiter was exceptional. Wow! Highly recommend this special restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food, service and ambiance

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

I went with my Sister and we truly enjoyed the place, decor, the food was awesome. The dessert was a piece of art and super delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant,Creative and Delicious

Dined on April 27, 2016

Our surroundings were beautiful and elegant. Impeccable service with many excellent Chef inspired dishes. Wonderful restaurant in romantic setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was terrific and special but it ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food was terrific and special but it took forever to arrive. Two hours to dine on an entree is unreasonable. We doubt that it was the server, but more likely the kitchen. Either way we had too much time to wait and drink and talk. And, since the wine pours were infinitesimal we had to buy too many glasses.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was exceptional particularly the ba ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food was exceptional particularly the barley risotto appetizer and the blueberry soufflé. We were seated in a room with limited tables well spaced. Very enjoyable experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best restaurant in Charlesto ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Charleston. There are many fine restaurants in the city but this is the one not to miss. The chicken fried salmon is fabulous. The slightly grilled iceberg salad is ridiculously good...I don't even like salad.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and service as always

Dined on April 23, 2016

Awesome food and service as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Circa 1886- MUST VISIT!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Absolutely loved our visit to Circa 1886. The server was attentive and knowledgeable, and the food was outstanding. We had several courses throughout the evening and everything was delicious- and the presentation of the food was just gorgeous. The restaurant itself is nice and quiet- perfect for a chill evening with friends. I can't rave enough about Circa 1886- definitely worth the trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 22, 2016

Visited Charleston recently. Enjoyed our visit to Circa 1886. The food was exceptional. The service impeccable. The ambiance refined and inviting. You'll enjoy it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.