About Circa 1886

149 Wentworth St.
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Smith

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 853-7828

Website:
http://www.circa1886.com/

Parking Details:
Off-street parking next to restaurant

Executive Chef:
Marc Collins

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Blackened Tenderloin - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Praline Panna Cotta - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Cinnamon Rubbed Antelope Loin - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Antelope - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Apple Barbeque Braised Pork Ton Toro - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Black Garlic & Lentil Soup Amuse Bouche - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Green Pea Bavarois - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Gas House Egg - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Pear Crisp Souffle - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Roll With Whipped Oil - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Chicken Fried Foie Gras - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Spicy Grilled Shrimp With Fried Green Tomato - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Niman Ranch Pork Chop With Lemon Curd Potatoes - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Bass - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Miso Poached Wreckbass With Udon Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Pork Belly, And Quail Egg - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Trio of Sorbets - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC
Niman Ranch Pork Chop With Peach Nectar Bbq Sauce - Circa 1886, Charleston, SC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

The only menu Circa 1886 Restaurant offers on Valentines is a 6 course pre fixe dinner for $125 per person. Price does not include tax or gratuity. There is a 3 day cancellation policy.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The private dining room (Tack Room)with mirroring fireplaces and six windows overlooking our garden can accommodate up to 38 people. Our Garden Room also offers a private dining experience perfect for a party of up to 12. Several different banquet menus are offered for private parties.

Circa 1886 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (80)
Good for a Date (75)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Historic (63)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Notable Wine List (40)
Cozy (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Tasting Menu (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Authentic (16)
Seasonal (13)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Fun (7)
Private Room (7)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best, if not the best dining ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best, if not the best dining experience of my life. Kekoa was an amazing server. We plan a yearly trip to Charleston and Circa 1886 will always be a must

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for dinner to ce ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I went here for dinner to celebrate her birthday. We usually share appetizers, entrees, and desserts as we are not big eaters. It was restaurant week and we were not allowed to do that. That is not a very customer focused approach and set a negative tone for the dinner. The food was good but there are a lot more restaurants in Charleston that are much better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Charleston has a number of great restaur ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Charleston has a number of great restaurants, but Circa 1886 is one of the few where you can enjoy a quiet restaurant where you can actually carry on a conversation at your table. In addition, I had the souffle' for desert ,which was the best I've ever had anywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back in florida now but will savory the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Back in florida now but will savory the memory and wish I could return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious. Wonderful service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely delicious. Wonderful service. Did not have a course that did not meet expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant week options were superb ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant week options were superb

The quality of the food was excellent

Service was very attentive without being overbearing

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect spot for our anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect spot for our anniversary dinner. A night to remember! We will be back next time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible dinner as part of Charleston' ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Incredible dinner as part of Charleston's restaurant week. Fine dining at it's greatest. All servers were warm and caring, and added just a bit of fun time. I would recommend Circa 1886 to any couple looking to have a nice romantic evening.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening. Service and food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful evening. Service and food was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Very quiet atmosphere but ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing food! Very quiet atmosphere but good to catch up with friends! The chef knows how to pair foods and make the plate look spectacular

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Antelope was fantastic. First time tryin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Antelope was fantastic. First time trying it and I'm convinced it could not have been better. The snapper was overcooked, which was disappointing for a Charleston resteraunt. Based on the price I will most likely not done there again based on the service and quality provided.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I recently went to Circa 1886 with my hu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I recently went to Circa 1886 with my husband. This was the our third trip to this wonderful restaurant. Each time, we were happy with everything we ate from the tiny spoonful of a soufflé ( I believe it was a soufflé) of Sweet Pottatoes that was so smooth and perfectly seasoned; to the absolutely delightful Apple Crisp Soufflé that came with a luscious ginger ice cream. The entire meal was expertly prepared, presented, and served by a crew who obviously cared.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Historic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have lived in Charleston for 12 years ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We have lived in Charleston for 12 years and have been to most of the top restaurants in the city Circ 1886 is number ONE! Ask for Sean Sullivan he is a super waiter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous experience at Circa 18 ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a fabulous experience at Circa 1886! The food was amazing and our waiter, Austin was so attentive and professional! We have been in Charleston for over 3 yrs and just recently heard about circa so with restaurant week we decided to give it a try and pleasantly surprised! Also loved the 2 small "prelude appetizers" of mashed sweet potatoes and also the cream potato leek soup...both not on the menu but used as teasers..I guess. Loved Circa!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply fabulous. Was there to relax befo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Simply fabulous. Was there to relax before a cancer visit to MUSC and it was perfect. Made a difficult visit lovely!

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our experience at Circa 1886! Grea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Loved our experience at Circa 1886! Great food, great wine, and impeccable service. It was a very memorable experience, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely a first class restaurant on e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Absolutely a first class restaurant on every level.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went during restaurant week. Every cours ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went during restaurant week. Every course was amazing. Service was outstanding.

Thank you chef and Charles.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a delicious meal and wonderfu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious meal and wonderful service! Thank you for such a great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and the restaurant is ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was fantastic and the restaurant is beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal every time!!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Phenomenal every time!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service, as usual. R ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

excellent food and service, as usual. Romantic atmosphere

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

visited during restaurant week and the f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

visited during restaurant week and the food offerings were very nice and tasty

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in the Charleston area! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Best restaurant in the Charleston area! It's our favorite for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a resident it's great to have places ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As a resident it's great to have places like Circa that treat all of their clientele like they will be returning, something lacking at many establishments in a town that caters to visitors.

The food, atmosphere, and service were first rate with creative combinations of foods and a strong wine list. The menu is varied offering different selections for those looking for seafood or interesting non-seafood items, for example antelope on the evening we dined. The whole experience was enhanced by our server, Brian, who was attentive without being overbearing.

I would recommend this as a first stop for anyone looking for a truley upscale dining experience in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but a bit strange- got the ant ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good food but a bit strange- got the antelope and it was Mexican themed with tortilla pico and avocado. Feel like this place doesn't really have an identity. Also didn't like how I was charged $6.50 for water- should be mentioned when they ask if you want sparking or bottles 'natural'. Spending so much money for dinner you would think the water is free, even if bottled. Maybe it was just because it's restaurant week but we had to ask for dinner rolls and share water at some points. Wasn't the best service but good food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Our experience at Circa was great! The m ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our experience at Circa was great! The meals were fabulous and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 6. The tastings from ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We were a party of 6. The tastings from the chef were a nice surprise and very good. I had the pork chop which was very moist and delicious with wonderful accompaniments. 2 at our table had the antelope. One of the pieces was delicious and tender. The other person got a piece which was very tough and very disappointing. That person said he would never return. Our server (Keko) took care of business but was not as attentive as the prior time we had visited the restaurant. At that time we had a server named Charles who was very attentive and welcoming. He recognized us from our prior visit and came to our table several times just for friendly comments. I would return as my food was delicious but I know I will never get my friend back who had the tough antelope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We treated some family members to dinner ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We treated some family members to dinner there since we have been before and just loved it. They thought it was absolutely divine and want to go back. It's a beautiful restaurant with wonderful food wonderful service wonderful ambience you can't go wrong here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Circa doesn't disappoint-dining the firs ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Circa doesn't disappoint-dining the first night of restaurant week and most items were from regular menu including wine pairing -what a pleasant surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for the first time and it was a gre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for the first time and it was a great experience for the NYE Dinner! Would recommend this place for anyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sarah-Fantastic server and very comforta ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Sarah-Fantastic server and very comfortable energy about her. We were the first table in dining room, there forever it was drafty and you felt anytime the door was opened, therefore it diminished your comfort level. I would have liked some type of support in the lower back from the chairs that were otherwise comfortable and aesthetically congruent with the rest of the carriage house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter Austin was outstanding. We we ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waiter Austin was outstanding. We were impressed with how he made every dish come alive through his detailed description. This is an experience well worth the price!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a wonderful experience ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at Circa 1886. The restaurant was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the wait staff was great. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dining experience. The tasting ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fabulous dining experience. The tasting menu was the best we have ever had. Wish we could dine there every night! Wine pairings were impeccable!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening was very nice and our server Sea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Evening was very nice and our server Sean was extremely hospitable and friendly. The value was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Desserts were our favorite part, especia ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Desserts were our favorite part, especially the apple pie soufflé, but all was outstanding. Pricey but worth it for special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had such an enjoyable meal here. Our ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had such an enjoyable meal here. Our waiter Kekoa was super nice and knowledgeable about the menu. A couple of amuse-bouche: salmon sausage with goat cheese and basil oil; Vidalia onion soup with truffle oil. Yum! We both had the salad to start - greens and veggies were all super fresh with a nice light dressing. The melted manchego cheese was great. My friend ordered the salmon with dill grits and brussels and bacon. I had the antelope. Both dishes were great. It the salmon really was exceptional. We split the apple strudel soufflé with caramel and ginger ice cream. So light and delicious. The meal here was really wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner and extremely accommoda ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent dinner and extremely accommodating for anyone with Celiac (gluten free options). The chef even made fresh gluten free bread for our party!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable and the food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food and wine selection was even better. Unique entree of antelope was delicious as it exceeded my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.