About Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill

1133 Hamilton Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 5P6
View Larger Map

Italian/Mediterranean cuisine, in a relaxed , professional environment

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
HELMECKEN/DAVIE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-7466

Website:
http://www.cioppinosyaletown.com/

Catering:
High end off-site catering that reflects our menu and as well wine pairing

Parking Details:
We do have Valet Parking available through Black Diamond Valet, parking also available in the busy streets of Yaletown.

Public Transit:
Sky trains Canada Line

Executive Chef:
Pino Posteraro

Private Party Facilities:
We do have 6 private dining rooms. Dom Perignon Room suitable for 6 people and available only when ordering a bottle of Dom Perignon. All other private rooms available only with group menus Cioppino's wine room suitable for 26 people with a minimum guarantee of 22 people. Mamma Paola wine room suitable for 12 people , minimum guarantee of 8. Enoteca wine room 22 people , minimum 18, Batasiolo wine room 18 people, minimum 14, Antinori wine room 14, minimum 10. The Enoteca wine room and the Batasiolo wine room can open into one room suitable for 40 people, minimum guarantee of 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Pino Posteraro: 6046887466

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti And Black Truffles
Lemon Tart With Berries
Beef Tenderlion
Wild Boar Belly
Lobster Bisque
Chocolate Mousse
Wild Boar Shin
Bread
Eggplant
Sustainable North Atlantic Canadian Scallops
Wild Boar From Alberta Two Ways
Warm "Soft Heart" Chocolate Cake

Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Italian
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver
1 More
Italian
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Yaletown ›

Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best words to describe Cioppino are ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The best words to describe Cioppino are "old fashioned". The food was delicious but these days we are more used to less heavy, lighter tasting food. The stuffed zucchini flowers were tasty but a bit greasy, the fish in the Cioppino was beautifully cooked, the broth was full of flavour but again a bit oily. The plating is somewhat modern but somehow my dining partner and I bought thought the food was a bit stuck in the past. The service was attentive but the waiter addressed my fellow diner (male) the whole time. We didn't feel hurried but we had three courses and were out of the door in eighty minutes. When you're paying just over $200 (with only one glass of wine each) it would be nice to be able to sit and chat a bit. We also had at least six servers over the course of the evening. Would I go back? Yes, but there are other restaurants I would try before returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A birthday dinner for 6 was a wonderful ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A birthday dinner for 6 was a wonderful evening. From a greeting at the door by the owner, to excellent service and outstanding food, to a lovely ambience (we could actually make conversation across the table, something not possible in many places these days) Cioppino's delivered as always. It is not cheap but the quality is delivered to match the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service from our waiter and de ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful service from our waiter and delicious dishes from start to finish. The wine list and selection extraordinary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from our server Richar ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent service from our server Richard. Food was very good and brought to the table in a timely and organized manner. Overall, a very good experience. Only complaint was the stern-faced lady who greeted us at the desk. A smile and a warmer greeting would be nice for a restaurant of this stature and price.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere, but definitely does no ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great atmosphere, but definitely does not cater to families with children/young teens. Wonderful food, but pretty small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

First time dining here, will not be the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time dining here, will not be the last. Every item ordered was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing. Ordered appetizer and mai ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Disappointing. Ordered appetizer and main course. Both had been delivered with 30 minutes of our sitting down. Very rushed. Lobster Heaven was very good. Lamb rack just so so, with oddly flavored sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Amazing experience, everything was excel ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing experience, everything was excelent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very impressed with the level of service ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very impressed with the level of service and attention. Great food was delivered in a timely manner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super experience, had Black truffle riso ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Super experience, had Black truffle risotto and was outstanding, excelent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food with flavours that are authentic an ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food with flavours that are authentic and extraordinary all at once. Just when you think Pino can't do any better, he throws something new on the menu that is so so good.

The service is also top notch. Runs like a well oiled machine with every detail considered. I spilled a bit of red wine in my top and there was soda water and a napkin on our table within seconds. Love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for our anniversary..first time and ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went for our anniversary..first time and definitely will not be the last. Service was personable and not over done. Food was beyond delicious and fresh. The chef even made us a very beautiful dessert (on the house) for our special celebration. Would recommend Cioppinos to anyone looking for a authentic and fabulous Italian dinner. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent fresh Italian/ Mediterranean f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent fresh Italian/ Mediterranean fare. The only downers were the overdone octopus (tough) and the terrible espresso (technical problem in my opinion, not the machine or the ban). The second try (cup) was better/ good but not great. Overall an 7 out of 10 experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I was quite disappointed with the qualit ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I was quite disappointed with the quality of the food. My first time here and given the price, I expected much better food. Very plain, nowhere near the standards of Vancouver's current top choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Recently visited Vancouver for 15 days a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Recently visited Vancouver for 15 days and ate out every evening. Cioppino's was one of the Top three restaurants I visited.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner, great staff, always a tr ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing dinner, great staff, always a treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding wine list

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food, chef is wonderful how he ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic food, chef is wonderful how he talks with guests

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Can't say enough good things. Great service, food & wine. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite Disappointed!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had been here some years ago for a similar birthday celebration and it had been good. However, this time we didn't like it much. Even though it was during prime time on a Thursday night (and we had annoyingly been reminded far to many times of our 8:00 p.m. reservation, first by you, then by the restaurant again, so that we felt like schoolchildren having to be constantly prompted!) the place was - see bracketed comments - nearly empty by 9:00 p.m. The waiter was rakish (pushing us to order, telling us that some dishes take up to 40 minutes to prepare, and when we ordered, the food was within a few minutes, much earlier than we had wanted it - we didn't appreciate that!) and the food was okay but not special. The appetizer was surprisingly tiny. P.S. The wine steward was very friendly, he was the highlight of the evening. All in all, considering the high price (over $500), we were disappointed and will not come back to this restaurant. Because all other venues in Yaletown were superbusy, we very much got the feeling of the place being 'has been' and out-of-favour and regretted our choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Amazing!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Always an amazing choice of you want the best pasta in town and a great bottle of wine! Service, food, and ambience were on point!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have a small business and treated our employees to a night out. I picked Ciopinno's just from the reviews and it didn't disappoint . The service was great and very efficient with out being noticeable which makes the whole evening run smoothly. The food was excellent and the wine list outstanding. The menu has a good variety and everyone enjoyed their meals. The flourless chocolate cake for dessert was amazing. We will absolutely be returning for another notable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Outstanding restaurant in all aspects. The ambiance is lovely, the waiter very professional, knowledgeable and very friendly, every individual meal was outstanding, the wine list long, concise, and has very good and affordable bottles next to the best in the world and very expensive ones.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Pino makes t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Pino makes the customers feel welcome and important.

The Cioppino and the Ossa Buco are both amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience in Vancouver!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We've been here about 4 times now and this place is consistently amazing! From the food, to the service, to the atmosphere- never fails! Their wine list is exhaustive and regardless of what you order (on menu or chef cooking for you) this place never disappoints. I recommend this place to everyone! Its a must try, after one visit you will be addicted!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

No wonder it's the #1. I ordered lamb rack, it's the best one I have had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food every time

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Ingredients here always very fresh and staff very knowledgeable about the dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pasta undercooked, pork dry, and poor se ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

pasta undercooked, pork dry, and poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Definate a spendy wine list

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

I sense that this isn't a place for everyone's budget. I couldn't find much selection of wine under $100.00 a bottle. I was on my own and had planned to have a couple of glasses of wine and would have preferred to purchase a bottle and take the left over home. I didn't in the end as the affordable wines were not of my preference, though its a great list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Truly wonderful! So lovely with our you ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Truly wonderful! So lovely with our young kids and all diners (age range 4-47) agree Cioppino's is our favorite. Thanks so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our waiter was very attentive and did a ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

our waiter was very attentive and did a great job attending to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yaletown Gem

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

How fortunate to accidentally happen upon one of the next restaurants in Vancouver on a recent visit. The atmosphere, food and service was amazing. Dinner here is an experience not to miss! Our waiter was the best! I cannot wait to go back on my next visit to Van.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food and a great place to brin ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Very good food and a great place to bring customers. Our server forgot 2 items, which was not good. Was not impressed with the menu insert of "Chefs Suggestions", that did not have prices- not cool.

If you are treating someone, it is a very uncomfortable situation, especially when the steak on that menu was $125.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Beyond expectations

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Most of the restaurants I've been to in Vancouver have been good, but the quality of Cioppino's food and service are definitely a class above the rest. The entire service staff work as a team, from the manager (owner?) to the bus-boy. They were attentive without being overbearing, friendly without being annoying. The wine list was extensive and constantly changing. Unlike some places I've been to, they ensure the wines they offer are in stock, and I wasn't made to feel cheap for ordering a wine in the $50-60 range rather than the $2,000-2,300 range. The food was very well presented and delicious, with enough variety that I actively had to choose between dishes. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was one of the best meals I've had ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

This was one of the best meals I've had in Vancouver. The service was dedicated and warm. They really brought out the beauty in the food and made the experience very enjoyable. I would absolutely recommend going here as often as possible. I can't wait to go back and try other great things on their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect evening

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Good food and good wine, in a very energetic setting.

What else?

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic anniversary dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

We had our 9-year anniversary dinner at Cioppino. And we had a great dining experience that night. Everything from appetizer to dessert tastes really good. The only miss is the sides for lamb rack is too sour to our liking.

Our server was very helpful and attentive all night. We even received a complementary dessert for our anniversary.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delectable

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Expectations well exceeded in this Italian fine dining experience. The ambiance is old world traditions respected, but the menu is creative, adventurous and inspired! Squash Blossoms are a must, lobster risotto was superb, calamari melts in your mouth, and the duck two ways...divino!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great and intimate setting for a fabulou ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Great and intimate setting for a fabulous meal at the heart of Yaletown. Chef Pino stopped and greated us at our table. The service was superb and each dish was presented very professionally. Superb northern Italy food. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible food quality & taste

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

Cannot believe how below average the quality & taste of food here at this so call great Italian restaurant. Italian food is our favorite & we have been to many fine Italian restaurants & sorry have to rate this one is the worst so far! Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.