Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill

Italian/Mediterranean cuisine, in a relaxed , professional environment

1133 Hamilton Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 5P6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
HELMECKEN/DAVIE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-7466

Website:
http://www.cioppinosyaletown.com/

Catering:
High end off-site catering that reflects our menu and as well wine pairing

Parking Details:
We do have Valet Parking available through Black Diamond Valet, parking also available in the busy streets of Yaletown.

Public Transit:
Sky trains Canada Line

Executive Chef:
Pino Posteraro

Private Party Facilities:
We do have 6 private dining rooms. Dom Perignon Room suitable for 6 people and available only when ordering a bottle of Dom Perignon. All other private rooms available only with group menus Cioppino's wine room suitable for 26 people with a minimum guarantee of 22 people. Mamma Paola wine room suitable for 12 people , minimum guarantee of 8. Enoteca wine room 22 people , minimum 18, Batasiolo wine room 18 people, minimum 14, Antinori wine room 14, minimum 10. The Enoteca wine room and the Batasiolo wine room can open into one room suitable for 40 people, minimum guarantee of 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Pino Posteraro: (604) 688-7466

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was excellent . Our waiter called over a expert to help us with the extensive and elaborate wine list . Every item of food served to us was fabulous . My wife and I give Cioppino's a " 10 Star " rating .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Pino and his staff always impress with the quality of ingredients and presentation of his dishes. I remember why Cioppino's is one of my favorite restaurants in the country. Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

By far my favourite place to eat. The food is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Perfectly executed from start to finish. Classic Italian with creative twists. Excellent sauces and desserts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service is out of this world. The food is perfection. This is what Italian food should be about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is by far the best restaurant in Canada.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best Italian in Canada, and is very authentic for food outside of Italy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our first time & will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was amazing, but we were rushed. The noise level was high as we were put at a table for two between two large tables with business men. The head waiter was hovering and we felt we needed to eat fast. We would still go back as the food was incredible, but would ask for a quiet table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ambiance was very cozy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is the second time we have eaten at Cioppino's in aprox. 6 months. I would not come back. First time we both had the signature dish Ciopinno and wasn't impressed and just recently the Halibut, again not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Amazing locally inspired Italian cuisine. It is quite loud and a bit of a tight space. Service is good, however if you're a visible minorty, your waiter my talk down to as if you dont know anything about food- even if you're a foodie. Overall a great dining experience though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was fantastic at Cioppino's, and the service professional and knowledgeable. However, there was a certain "energy" and "fun" missing from this restaurant. Perhaps this lack of "excitement" was exacerbated by having drinks at the hopping Blue Water Cafe before coming to dinner at Cioppino's, but the place seemed void of happiness.

We were the only folks at the bar, but decided to eat there anyway. Our appetizers of Carpaccio and Veal Tonello were classic and utterly delicious. This was followed by an amazing spaghetti with black truffles, done al dente and perfectly. Molto Bene! Cioppino, in honor of the restaurant's nomenclature, was done right, and my Veal Limone, prepared specially for me, was wonderful. Everything was fantastic and Cioppino's would be the best Italian restaurant in most North American cities, outside of New York, Toronto, St. Louis, San Francisco, and maybe Philadelphia. This isn't modern cooking. It's classic Italian done right.

So, back to the four stars. Cioppino's just wasn't fun. However, if I just want great food and can entertain myself, it is a perfect restaurant. I guess I'm too co-dependent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Hovering and somewhat intrusive service combined with a very formal atmosphere made this, for us, a difficult place to relax in. I have used the private room on several occasions and it has a much more socially conducive atmosphere. The food was generally good but in all honesty not exceptional. The wine list however is amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Gd services , gd food , we must come back there for dinner in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It had been a while since I had been to Cioppino's. I had high expectations and anxiety as I was taking new friend (whom I was hoping to become something more) who happens to be one of the top ten food bloggers in Vancouver! I knew that she had been here before as well so I figured the "wow" factor was gone but I was so wrong. We were both surprised and enjoyed the simultaneously familiar yet with subtle flavor elements that made every dish wonderful.

She started with the day's special Burgundy escargots that were tender and full of flavor. Frequently, if you are going to get big flavors from escargots, they wind up toughening from overcooking but not here. These were remarkable! I had the scallop starter off the regular menu and again, the perfect treatment. Neither of the two most predictable outcomes presented themselves theses were again tender, subtly treated so the full flavor of the shellfish came through. Neither rubbery and dry nor undercooked and milky, these were a perfect start to the meal.

Our mains were equally wonderful. She had the Paccheri di Gragnano the lamb sausage and pasta dish had powerful flavors without being pushed into that slightly gamey taste that lamb can occasionally render. I had the Boar, Two Ways which consisted of a piece of belly that was truly melt in your mouth with a nice meaty center to finish each mouthful. The other way was a long-braised piece of shin. Shin should be (and is) one hell of a tough piece of meat given the amount of work it performs in a pig's life. Prepping wrongly can leave you envying your dog as he chews on your old slipper. Cooked too long and all of the collagen disappears and you have stringy, separated muscle fibers with all of the interest of chewing on a shoelace. However, done right (which this was) it can be transcendently flavorsome and wonderfully tender leaving a good meaty mouth feel.

A 2011 Amalia Barolo was the perfect addition to the meal as were the desserts but more on that later.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This dinner was an exquisite experience, the service was friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The food, each bite was so delicious, every course a complete experience with the wine complementing it each and every time. It was a snowy night with very few patrons yet it was very nice for us to take our time, to appreciate the environment, the staff, the experience as a whole and we plan to return very soon it felt like we were in Italy. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Cioppino's has an excellent kitchen. Every dish was superbly prepared and presented. The service is exceptional. The wine list is amazingly good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Pino never disappoints. He's engaged in his restaurant and works beside his staff to make sure the evening goes well for everyone - customers and staff included.
The food as always was perfect!
Thank you for another wonderful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Fine authentic Italian food. Having grown up with excellent Italian food I was grateful to find such a restaurant in Vancouver. The food was divine and the wine list impressive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Exceptional service! Staff was extremely attentive to our wishes. Meat dishes left something to be desired but the pastas, as expected , were very good. Loved the wine list and wonderful dessert menu. I would pass on the caprese salad if I were to return. Good food overall but not memorable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always, great dinner, great restaurant. Staff are friendly, valet parking available.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent in all respects as noted in the stars ratings.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our server was Alberto, who only recently started working at Cioppino's. He was delightful, very informative and responsive to any and all questions. He was very warm and attentive, but not intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the overall experience. Chef Pino came to the table for a brief visit - a nice touch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A great wine list with a lot of Old World classic wines

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I took my wife and one of my customers and her partner for dinner last weekend and had a wonderful evening. Our server was Felix and he was very professional, had a good sense of humour, and was very attentive to our needs without being intrusive. Not once did I have to reach for our wine bottle to fill our glasses like I've had to do rather disappointingly at other so called fine dining establishments. The bottle of Alsatian Pinot Gris Grand Cru I selected from their unbelievably comprehensive wine cellar matched incredibly well with the delicious food that we had. We had a pretty impressive meal at Yew Seafood restaurant just two days prior, but the meal at Cioppino's trumped that meal in every aspect. We all left the restaurant with a mutual feeling of complete satisfaction. An absolutely stellar meal and experience that will bring my wife and I back soon.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Delicious food and amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food is excellent and service is definitely the BEST in town!!! Not one of the best, simply the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had an amazing meal, flew in from Ottawa and we were treated fantastically by owner chef and his team. You need to eat here!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This is a consistently first rate restaurant with excellent food, service and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2016

After searching for Yaletown area restaurants we choose to dine at Cioppino's. It was the highlight of the food section of our travels to Vancouver. Outstanding entree selections made our choices fun to explore. The food quality, taste and presentation was outstanding; best veal chops I've had in years! The service was exceptional, wait staff were very professional as they scurried around to be sure every need was met; there seemed to be more than one supervisor on site ensuring to every detail; the chef walked through a few times to also check and his brother, the manager was delightful to meet. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The best words to describe Cioppino are "old fashioned". The food was delicious but these days we are more used to less heavy, lighter tasting food. The stuffed zucchini flowers were tasty but a bit greasy, the fish in the Cioppino was beautifully cooked, the broth was full of flavour but again a bit oily. The plating is somewhat modern but somehow my dining partner and I bought thought the food was a bit stuck in the past. The service was attentive but the waiter addressed my fellow diner (male) the whole time. We didn't feel hurried but we had three courses and were out of the door in eighty minutes. When you're paying just over $200 (with only one glass of wine each) it would be nice to be able to sit and chat a bit. We also had at least six servers over the course of the evening. Would I go back? Yes, but there are other restaurants I would try before returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 13, 2016

A birthday dinner for 6 was a wonderful evening. From a greeting at the door by the owner, to excellent service and outstanding food, to a lovely ambience (we could actually make conversation across the table, something not possible in many places these days) Cioppino's delivered as always. It is not cheap but the quality is delivered to match the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful service from our waiter and delicious dishes from start to finish. The wine list and selection extraordinary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent service from our server Richard. Food was very good and brought to the table in a timely and organized manner. Overall, a very good experience. Only complaint was the stern-faced lady who greeted us at the desk. A smile and a warmer greeting would be nice for a restaurant of this stature and price.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great atmosphere, but definitely does not cater to families with children/young teens. Wonderful food, but pretty small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time dining here, will not be the last. Every item ordered was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Disappointing. Ordered appetizer and main course. Both had been delivered with 30 minutes of our sitting down. Very rushed. Lobster Heaven was very good. Lamb rack just so so, with oddly flavored sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing experience, everything was excelent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.