About Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill

1133 Hamilton Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 5P6
View Larger Map

Italian/Mediterranean cuisine, in a relaxed , professional environment

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
HELMECKEN/DAVIE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-7466

Website:
http://www.cioppinosyaletown.com/

Catering:
High end off-site catering that reflects our menu and as well wine pairing

Parking Details:
We do have Valet Parking available through Black Diamond Valet, parking also available in the busy streets of Yaletown.

Public Transit:
Sky trains Canada Line

Executive Chef:
Pino Posteraro

Private Party Facilities:
We do have 6 private dining rooms. Dom Perignon Room suitable for 6 people and available only when ordering a bottle of Dom Perignon. All other private rooms available only with group menus Cioppino's wine room suitable for 26 people with a minimum guarantee of 22 people. Mamma Paola wine room suitable for 12 people , minimum guarantee of 8. Enoteca wine room 22 people , minimum 18, Batasiolo wine room 18 people, minimum 14, Antinori wine room 14, minimum 10. The Enoteca wine room and the Batasiolo wine room can open into one room suitable for 40 people, minimum guarantee of 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Pino Posteraro: 6046887466

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Tart With Berries
Lobster Bisque
Wild Boar Shin
Wild Boar Belly
Eggplant
Spaghetti And Black Truffles
Chocolate Mousse
Beef Tenderlion
Bread
Wild Boar From Alberta Two Ways
Warm "Soft Heart" Chocolate Cake
Sustainable North Atlantic Canadian Scallops

Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
11 More
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Italian
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver
Notable Wine List
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Italian
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Yaletown ›

notable wine list (22)
special occasion (20)
fit for foodies (18)
See All
romantic (11)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently visited Vancouver for 15 days a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Recently visited Vancouver for 15 days and ate out every evening. Cioppino's was one of the Top three restaurants I visited.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner, great staff, always a tr ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Amazing dinner, great staff, always a treat

food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding wine list

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding wine list

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, chef is wonderful how he ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic food, chef is wonderful how he talks with guests

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on June 4, 2016

Can't say enough good things. Great service, food & wine. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Quite Disappointed!

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had been here some years ago for a similar birthday celebration and it had been good. However, this time we didn't like it much. Even though it was during prime time on a Thursday night (and we had annoyingly been reminded far to many times of our 8:00 p.m. reservation, first by you, then by the restaurant again, so that we felt like schoolchildren having to be constantly prompted!) the place was - see bracketed comments - nearly empty by 9:00 p.m. The waiter was rakish (pushing us to order, telling us that some dishes take up to 40 minutes to prepare, and when we ordered, the food was within a few minutes, much earlier than we had wanted it - we didn't appreciate that!) and the food was okay but not special. The appetizer was surprisingly tiny. P.S. The wine steward was very friendly, he was the highlight of the evening. All in all, considering the high price (over $500), we were disappointed and will not come back to this restaurant. Because all other venues in Yaletown were superbusy, we very much got the feeling of the place being 'has been' and out-of-favour and regretted our choice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Always an amazing choice of you want the best pasta in town and a great bottle of wine! Service, food, and ambience were on point!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night out

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have a small business and treated our employees to a night out. I picked Ciopinno's just from the reviews and it didn't disappoint . The service was great and very efficient with out being noticeable which makes the whole evening run smoothly. The food was excellent and the wine list outstanding. The menu has a good variety and everyone enjoyed their meals. The flourless chocolate cake for dessert was amazing. We will absolutely be returning for another notable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 28, 2016

Outstanding restaurant in all aspects. The ambiance is lovely, the waiter very professional, knowledgeable and very friendly, every individual meal was outstanding, the wine list long, concise, and has very good and affordable bottles next to the best in the world and very expensive ones.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Pino makes t ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Pino makes the customers feel welcome and important. The Cioppino and the Ossa Buco are both amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dining experience in Vancouver!

Dined on February 27, 2016

We've been here about 4 times now and this place is consistently amazing! From the food, to the service, to the atmosphere- never fails! Their wine list is exhaustive and regardless of what you order (on menu or chef cooking for you) this place never disappoints. I recommend this place to everyone! Its a must try, after one visit you will be addicted!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on February 11, 2016

No wonder it's the #1. I ordered lamb rack, it's the best one I have had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food every time

Dined on February 7, 2016

Ingredients here always very fresh and staff very knowledgeable about the dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

pasta undercooked, pork dry, and poor se ...

vip
Dined on December 9, 2015

pasta undercooked, pork dry, and poor service

food3
ambience4
service4

Definate a spendy wine list

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

I sense that this isn't a place for everyone's budget. I couldn't find much selection of wine under $100.00 a bottle. I was on my own and had planned to have a couple of glasses of wine and would have preferred to purchase a bottle and take the left over home. I didn't in the end as the affordable wines were not of my preference, though its a great list.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly wonderful! So lovely with our you ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Truly wonderful! So lovely with our young kids and all diners (age range 4-47) agree Cioppino's is our favorite. Thanks so much.

food5
ambience5
service5

our waiter was very attentive and did a ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

our waiter was very attentive and did a great job attending to our needs.

food5
ambience4
service5

Yaletown Gem

Dined on October 29, 2015

How fortunate to accidentally happen upon one of the next restaurants in Vancouver on a recent visit. The atmosphere, food and service was amazing. Dinner here is an experience not to miss! Our waiter was the best! I cannot wait to go back on my next visit to Van.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Very good food and a great place to brin ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

Very good food and a great place to bring customers. Our server forgot 2 items, which was not good. Was not impressed with the menu insert of "Chefs Suggestions", that did not have prices- not cool. If you are treating someone, it is a very uncomfortable situation, especially when the steak on that menu was $125.

food5
ambience4
service5

Beyond expectations

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Most of the restaurants I've been to in Vancouver have been good, but the quality of Cioppino's food and service are definitely a class above the rest. The entire service staff work as a team, from the manager (owner?) to the bus-boy. They were attentive without being overbearing, friendly without being annoying. The wine list was extensive and constantly changing. Unlike some places I've been to, they ensure the wines they offer are in stock, and I wasn't made to feel cheap for ordering a wine in the $50-60 range rather than the $2,000-2,300 range. The food was very well presented and delicious, with enough variety that I actively had to choose between dishes. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best meals I've had ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

This was one of the best meals I've had in Vancouver. The service was dedicated and warm. They really brought out the beauty in the food and made the experience very enjoyable. I would absolutely recommend going here as often as possible. I can't wait to go back and try other great things on their menu.

food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect evening

Dined on October 3, 2015

Good food and good wine, in a very energetic setting. What else?

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic anniversary dinner

Dined on September 4, 2015

We had our 9-year anniversary dinner at Cioppino. And we had a great dining experience that night. Everything from appetizer to dessert tastes really good. The only miss is the sides for lamb rack is too sour to our liking. Our server was very helpful and attentive all night. We even received a complementary dessert for our anniversary. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delectable

Dined on August 30, 2015

Expectations well exceeded in this Italian fine dining experience. The ambiance is old world traditions respected, but the menu is creative, adventurous and inspired! Squash Blossoms are a must, lobster risotto was superb, calamari melts in your mouth, and the duck two ways...divino!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great and intimate setting for a fabulou ...

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

Great and intimate setting for a fabulous meal at the heart of Yaletown. Chef Pino stopped and greated us at our table. The service was superb and each dish was presented very professionally. Superb northern Italy food. Highly recommended.

food1
ambience2
service2

Terrible food quality & taste

vip
Dined on May 31, 2015

Cannot believe how below average the quality & taste of food here at this so call great Italian restaurant. Italian food is our favorite & we have been to many fine Italian restaurants & sorry have to rate this one is the worst so far! Very disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service3

Romantic and Special

vip
Dined on May 27, 2015

This place is well set for a romantic evening meal. The food was very good and the wine list is extensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food as always!

Dined on April 23, 2015

The four of us dined last Thursday and the service, ambiance and food was amazing as always. The wine list is very extensive and pricey however they always help us find a notable wine in our price range. We chose a Pinot Noir which was lovely. The pasta is the best in the city here and whenever we dine, we order a side to share of their house spaghetti with garlic and olive oil. It sounds simple however it is simply amazing. My friend is Italian and he swears this is the best pasta he has had at a restaurant so it keeps us coming back for more. Our table had three different kinds of fish and I had the veal (my favorite) and everyone's meal was done perfectly. We never have to worry about the quality at Cioppino's. It was fairly busy for a Wednesday evening however our server was attentive and also gave us space when we were in midst conversation so he was definitely in tune with our table. The dessert was tasty as ever and nice to share. Thanks for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, great ambiance, pricey

Dined on April 10, 2015

Great food, really enjoyed everything. You cannot go wrong with anything on their menu.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Old school service meets new money.

Dined on February 22, 2015

Old school service meets new money.

food4
ambience4
service5

Had the feature mushroom and truffle ris ...

vip
Dined on February 11, 2015

Had the feature mushroom and truffle risotto. I've been to a lot of top restaurants around the world including many Michelin starred establishments, but this risotto was hands down the best I've tasted. I've been here in the past, and the food was nothing special, but this one dish will have me coming back again and again. Bravo!

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointing

Dined on January 23, 2015

We try something different every time we go - there is no risk - they are all amazing! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot for Special Occasions

Dined on January 20, 2015

Cioppino's is this little piggy's go to special occasion restaurant. The food is delicious, the decor luxurious and the service is exceptional. Only one complaint, it is very expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and food. Only compla ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2014

Excellent service and food. Only complaint was the initial table we were sat at looked directly into the kitchen. We asked to move and this was accommodated

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

great food but music too loud

Dined on October 23, 2014

Fantastic food. Best wine menu in the city. Service was amazing, but so koud I found it difficult to hear across the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

always delicious!

Dined on October 23, 2014

We usually try and eat at Cioppino's whenever we visit Vancouver, and have never been disappointed. This visit we had the usual dilemma of deciding what to eat, we ended up creating our own tasting menu, starting with salad, then shared the lobster pasta, the halibut and the veal porterhouse. The kitchen and waitstaff accommodated our unusual eating style, serving course after course and splitting them for us. Each mouthful was delicious! The open kitchen concept also makes it interesting as there is lots going on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible dinning experience

Dined on October 12, 2014

My husband took me for a date on Saturday evening and we had an amazing dinner. Our waiter (Patrick) was fabulous. I have celiac disease and also cannot eat corn…needless to say dining out can be challenging. Patrick was an amazing server, so knowledgeable and fun. Would highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent !!

Dined on October 4, 2014

We brought friends who had never eaten at his restaurant and hey LOVED it .... we all would definatey come back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent

Dined on September 27, 2014

Just an amazing experience. Magnificent wine list and a great meal. Would recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointing experience

Dined on September 6, 2014

Our dinner here was rather disappointing. The seafood canneloni "Nettune" was dry and the flavor and sauce unexceptional. Restaurant tried to seat us next to the open kitchen which was noisy and warm. Overall, an ordinary experience which was not commensurate with prices or reviews.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.