About Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill

1133 Hamilton Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 5P6
View Larger Map

Italian/Mediterranean cuisine, in a relaxed , professional environment

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
HELMECKEN/DAVIE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 688-7466

Website:
http://www.cioppinosyaletown.com/

Catering:
High end off-site catering that reflects our menu and as well wine pairing

Parking Details:
We do have Valet Parking available through Black Diamond Valet, parking also available in the busy streets of Yaletown.

Public Transit:
Sky trains Canada Line

Executive Chef:
Pino Posteraro

Private Party Facilities:
We do have 6 private dining rooms. Dom Perignon Room suitable for 6 people and available only when ordering a bottle of Dom Perignon. All other private rooms available only with group menus Cioppino's wine room suitable for 26 people with a minimum guarantee of 22 people. Mamma Paola wine room suitable for 12 people , minimum guarantee of 8. Enoteca wine room 22 people , minimum 18, Batasiolo wine room 18 people, minimum 14, Antinori wine room 14, minimum 10. The Enoteca wine room and the Batasiolo wine room can open into one room suitable for 40 people, minimum guarantee of 32 people.

Private Party Contact:
Pino Posteraro: 6046887466

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Italian
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver
Notable Wine List
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Italian
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Yaletown ›

notable wine list (26)
special occasion (25)
fit for foodies (24)
See All
romantic (17)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night out

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have a small business and treated our employees to a night out. I picked Ciopinno's just from the reviews and it didn't disappoint . The service was great and very efficient with out being noticeable which makes the whole evening run smoothly. The food was excellent and the wine list outstanding. The menu has a good variety and everyone enjoyed their meals. The flourless chocolate cake for dessert was amazing. We will absolutely be returning for another notable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 28, 2016

Outstanding restaurant in all aspects. The ambiance is lovely, the waiter very professional, knowledgeable and very friendly, every individual meal was outstanding, the wine list long, concise, and has very good and affordable bottles next to the best in the world and very expensive ones.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Pino makes t ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Pino makes the customers feel welcome and important. The Cioppino and the Ossa Buco are both amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dining experience in Vancouver!

Dined on February 27, 2016

We've been here about 4 times now and this place is consistently amazing! From the food, to the service, to the atmosphere- never fails! Their wine list is exhaustive and regardless of what you order (on menu or chef cooking for you) this place never disappoints. I recommend this place to everyone! Its a must try, after one visit you will be addicted!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on February 11, 2016

No wonder it's the #1. I ordered lamb rack, it's the best one I have had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food every time

Dined on February 7, 2016

Ingredients here always very fresh and staff very knowledgeable about the dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

pasta undercooked, pork dry, and poor se ...

vip
Dined on December 9, 2015

pasta undercooked, pork dry, and poor service

food3
ambience4
service4

Definate a spendy wine list

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

I sense that this isn't a place for everyone's budget. I couldn't find much selection of wine under $100.00 a bottle. I was on my own and had planned to have a couple of glasses of wine and would have preferred to purchase a bottle and take the left over home. I didn't in the end as the affordable wines were not of my preference, though its a great list.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly wonderful! So lovely with our you ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Truly wonderful! So lovely with our young kids and all diners (age range 4-47) agree Cioppino's is our favorite. Thanks so much.

food5
ambience5
service5

our waiter was very attentive and did a ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

our waiter was very attentive and did a great job attending to our needs.

food5
ambience4
service5

Yaletown Gem

Dined on October 29, 2015

How fortunate to accidentally happen upon one of the next restaurants in Vancouver on a recent visit. The atmosphere, food and service was amazing. Dinner here is an experience not to miss! Our waiter was the best! I cannot wait to go back on my next visit to Van.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Very good food and a great place to brin ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

Very good food and a great place to bring customers. Our server forgot 2 items, which was not good. Was not impressed with the menu insert of "Chefs Suggestions", that did not have prices- not cool. If you are treating someone, it is a very uncomfortable situation, especially when the steak on that menu was $125.

food5
ambience4
service5

Beyond expectations

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Most of the restaurants I've been to in Vancouver have been good, but the quality of Cioppino's food and service are definitely a class above the rest. The entire service staff work as a team, from the manager (owner?) to the bus-boy. They were attentive without being overbearing, friendly without being annoying. The wine list was extensive and constantly changing. Unlike some places I've been to, they ensure the wines they offer are in stock, and I wasn't made to feel cheap for ordering a wine in the $50-60 range rather than the $2,000-2,300 range. The food was very well presented and delicious, with enough variety that I actively had to choose between dishes. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best meals I've had ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

This was one of the best meals I've had in Vancouver. The service was dedicated and warm. They really brought out the beauty in the food and made the experience very enjoyable. I would absolutely recommend going here as often as possible. I can't wait to go back and try other great things on their menu.

food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect evening

Dined on October 3, 2015

Good food and good wine, in a very energetic setting. What else?

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic anniversary dinner

Dined on September 4, 2015

We had our 9-year anniversary dinner at Cioppino. And we had a great dining experience that night. Everything from appetizer to dessert tastes really good. The only miss is the sides for lamb rack is too sour to our liking. Our server was very helpful and attentive all night. We even received a complementary dessert for our anniversary. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delectable

Dined on August 30, 2015

Expectations well exceeded in this Italian fine dining experience. The ambiance is old world traditions respected, but the menu is creative, adventurous and inspired! Squash Blossoms are a must, lobster risotto was superb, calamari melts in your mouth, and the duck two ways...divino!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great and intimate setting for a fabulou ...

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

Great and intimate setting for a fabulous meal at the heart of Yaletown. Chef Pino stopped and greated us at our table. The service was superb and each dish was presented very professionally. Superb northern Italy food. Highly recommended.

food1
ambience2
service2

Terrible food quality & taste

vip
Dined on May 31, 2015

Cannot believe how below average the quality & taste of food here at this so call great Italian restaurant. Italian food is our favorite & we have been to many fine Italian restaurants & sorry have to rate this one is the worst so far! Very disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service3

Romantic and Special

vip
Dined on May 27, 2015

This place is well set for a romantic evening meal. The food was very good and the wine list is extensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food as always!

Dined on April 23, 2015

The four of us dined last Thursday and the service, ambiance and food was amazing as always. The wine list is very extensive and pricey however they always help us find a notable wine in our price range. We chose a Pinot Noir which was lovely. The pasta is the best in the city here and whenever we dine, we order a side to share of their house spaghetti with garlic and olive oil. It sounds simple however it is simply amazing. My friend is Italian and he swears this is the best pasta he has had at a restaurant so it keeps us coming back for more. Our table had three different kinds of fish and I had the veal (my favorite) and everyone's meal was done perfectly. We never have to worry about the quality at Cioppino's. It was fairly busy for a Wednesday evening however our server was attentive and also gave us space when we were in midst conversation so he was definitely in tune with our table. The dessert was tasty as ever and nice to share. Thanks for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, great ambiance, pricey

Dined on April 10, 2015

Great food, really enjoyed everything. You cannot go wrong with anything on their menu.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Old school service meets new money.

Dined on February 22, 2015

Old school service meets new money.

food4
ambience4
service5

Had the feature mushroom and truffle ris ...

vip
Dined on February 11, 2015

Had the feature mushroom and truffle risotto. I've been to a lot of top restaurants around the world including many Michelin starred establishments, but this risotto was hands down the best I've tasted. I've been here in the past, and the food was nothing special, but this one dish will have me coming back again and again. Bravo!

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointing

Dined on January 23, 2015

We try something different every time we go - there is no risk - they are all amazing! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot for Special Occasions

Dined on January 20, 2015

Cioppino's is this little piggy's go to special occasion restaurant. The food is delicious, the decor luxurious and the service is exceptional. Only one complaint, it is very expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and food. Only compla ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2014

Excellent service and food. Only complaint was the initial table we were sat at looked directly into the kitchen. We asked to move and this was accommodated

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

great food but music too loud

Dined on October 23, 2014

Fantastic food. Best wine menu in the city. Service was amazing, but so koud I found it difficult to hear across the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

always delicious!

Dined on October 23, 2014

We usually try and eat at Cioppino's whenever we visit Vancouver, and have never been disappointed. This visit we had the usual dilemma of deciding what to eat, we ended up creating our own tasting menu, starting with salad, then shared the lobster pasta, the halibut and the veal porterhouse. The kitchen and waitstaff accommodated our unusual eating style, serving course after course and splitting them for us. Each mouthful was delicious! The open kitchen concept also makes it interesting as there is lots going on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible dinning experience

Dined on October 12, 2014

My husband took me for a date on Saturday evening and we had an amazing dinner. Our waiter (Patrick) was fabulous. I have celiac disease and also cannot eat corn…needless to say dining out can be challenging. Patrick was an amazing server, so knowledgeable and fun. Would highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent !!

Dined on October 4, 2014

We brought friends who had never eaten at his restaurant and hey LOVED it .... we all would definatey come back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent

Dined on September 27, 2014

Just an amazing experience. Magnificent wine list and a great meal. Would recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointing experience

Dined on September 6, 2014

Our dinner here was rather disappointing. The seafood canneloni "Nettune" was dry and the flavor and sauce unexceptional. Restaurant tried to seat us next to the open kitchen which was noisy and warm. Overall, an ordinary experience which was not commensurate with prices or reviews.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great find

Dined on August 27, 2014

We had a great meal - every course was terrific and the service couldn't be better. It was our best restaurant find so far on our trip to western Canada. It was really close to outstanding, but we are tough critics. We surely will return on another trip to Vancouver. We doubt that you will be disappointed if you dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Our Best Meal in Vancouver

vip
Dined on August 19, 2014

On our recent trip to Vancouver we dined at West (very good but not overly creative), Rodney's in Gastown (a lot of fun and great seafood including oysters), Nicli Antica in Gastown (limited menu with fabulous pizza, super salads, and wonderful wine and cocktails) and Cioppino's on our last night. If you appreciate fresh ingredients, superb preparation, and a beautiful presentation you will love this restaurant. The menu has something for everyone, and each course will show the perfection in the kitchen. From the foie gras to the dessert, made with figs from the owner's property, every bite of our meal was out of this world. Be sure to try at least one of their pastas. Next time we are in town for we will dine twice at Coppino's. Fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

You have to love Pino...sort of...

vip
Dined on August 16, 2014

You have to love Pino - his food, ambiance, and service are among the top in Vancouver. My wife and I are regulars at Cioppino's, so visited in August for our Anniversary dinner. Everything was wonderful as usual, and at the end of the meal, unordered, came a little dessert, with "Happy Anniversary" on it. Honestly, I didn't really want dessert [we had planned to go to Blue Water for one more drink and a sweet] but it was a nice gesture [we thought] for regular customers, to so as not to offend, we ate most of it, paid the check, and headed home. It was only when I checked my itemized bill, that I noticed that we were charged $12. for a mediocre dessert, that we never ordered! Like I said, you gotta love Pino...

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect from start to finish!

Dined on August 12, 2014

Everything about dinner here was lovely. The food was delicious and I would definitely return. I am not sure why it took us so long to try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic

Dined on July 25, 2014

Our dining experience was absolutely fantastic. My dining partner has a severe allergy to strawberries and our server made sure that this was communicated to the kitchen. Our server answered all our questions about the menu patiently and provided excellent attentive service. The food was delicious and overall we had a wonderful night. Would return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Good but not great

Dined on July 20, 2014

Took my husband here for his bday…our dishes were hit and miss (like the last times we've been here). I think you should really stick to just pasta when you come here, they do an amazing job with their pastas. My veal was weirdly fatty and had a lot of tissue/tendons that made it hard to cut and taste fatty. I have had the veal at Bacchus lounge and CinCin and they were VERY different and not fatty and weird at all. The veggies that come with their fish/meat is all the same…peas and soggy mushrooms and peppers (I think). I love veggies and usually ask for extra but i barely touched them because they were very gross and soggy and oily. I would skip the dessert too, had lava cake - microscopic ice cream was annoying and cake not very tasty

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

Terrible service

Dined on July 18, 2014

I had dinner with a girlfriend the waiter was so rude! he was pushing us to get alcohol! when I mention I want water...he was very upset.... Not going back ever again

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.