About Cioppino

2350 Railroad Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Cioppino Restaurant & Cigar Bar features a seasonal menu with a focus on fresh seafood & chophouse fare, local produce and livestock. Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten Free selections are available upon request. Happy Hour is available within the Bar Lounge Area Monday through Friday, 5pm to 7pm, offering 1/2 off select bar food items, $5.00 select house wines by the glass, ½ off all draft beers and a $5 daily featured cocktail. Full Dinner Menu and Bar Food Menu available within the Bar Lounge and Cigar Bar Areas in addition to our contemporary dining room. Live Music every Thursday - Saturday. Certified Sommelier onsite to assist with your wine selections. Private Dining Available for Groups of Up to (30) Seated Guests As Well As Large Standing Cocktail Receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6593

Website:
http://www.cioppinogroup.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring the Best in Live Music in Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday - Saturday! Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar featuring (20) of the top (100) cigars sold worldwide. The rich mahogany surroundings and indulgent leather seating allows one to relax and unwind while enjoying their favorite cigar, after-dinner drink or specialty cocktail. Two large plasma televisions embrace the walls for the sports enthusiast. Full Seasonal Menu available daily.

Parking Details:
Cioppino offers FREE validated parking in the building parking garage as well as COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING after 5pm Daily at Our Entrance Located On the Corners of 23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street in the Historic Strip DIstrict of Pittsburgh.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Live Music In Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday Through Saturday Evening From 7pm - 11pm Nightly! No Cover.

Private Dining

Private Dining Available For Presentations, Corporate Gatherings Or Personal Celebrations! Private Dining Room Accommodates (30) Seated Guests And Offers Complimentary Onsite A/V Capabilities. Private Dining Menus Are Diverse Offering Vegetarian, Vegan And Gluten-Free Options Upon Request.

Cioppino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (12)
fit for foodies (12)
notable wine list (12)
See All
special occasion (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
romantic (6)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
903 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ribeye was overdone, the bass was un ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The ribeye was overdone, the bass was under done and the fried zucchini was bar food. Very disappointed. Did hear the chef was recently fired and they are going through transition. Hopefully they figure it out soon as Ben, the somm, is fantastic, and Dana in the cigar bar does a great job with recommendations. The cigar bar and wine list are reason alone to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Wonderful food beautiful presentation & ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful food beautiful presentation & great wait staff-

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & Service were excellent. Great ja ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food & Service were excellent. Great jazz in the lounge was a nice bonus after. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pretty much everything about Cioppino wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Pretty much everything about Cioppino was excellent. Our server was extremely attentive and informed, yet not annoying in the least. The food was good, but not great. Some dishes were very tasty and others fell a little short. The only complaint is that the bathrooms and portions of the restaurant area smelled very strongly of the cigar smoke from the adjacent cigar bar.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Was in town for the US Open golf and tri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was in town for the US Open golf and tried this based on Open Table reviews. We were looking for an above average place for a nice family meal. Perhaps it was an off night, but the service was pretty poor and the wait staff seemed undermanned. Food quality was average at best, and for the menu pricing not worth it. Oysters were just ok, and halibut main entree was served lukewarm. Wine prices were very expensive as well. A good, standard NZ Sauvignon Blanc was $45 and that was the cheapest on the menu.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

WE were visiting Pittsburgh and chose Ci ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

WE were visiting Pittsburgh and chose Cioppino for its single malt scotch selection. The place was lovely and the service was outstanding right from the start with its complimentary valet parking. Our waiter was great. The only complaint I have is that once a table of 5 sat next to us we could barely hear. Then in the next room a live jazz band started to play. At that point I could barely hear my husband. The music was fantastic though - it was all just too loud in combination. When we left the restaurant the valet attendant actually ran to get our car. Wonderful service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were late for our reservations and th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We were late for our reservations and the staff couldn't be more polite about it and we were able to be seated when we arrived. The food was great and the wait staff was pleasant and very good!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always love dining at Cioppino. The men ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always love dining at Cioppino. The menu changes frequently yet the quality of the food and service is consistently excellent. The pastry chef Meghann is a creative genius. I usually make my appetizer and entree selections after I read the dessert menu. Definitely save room for dessert!! Cioppino is the total package in a wonderful dining experience. It is a must try for local Pittsburghers and visitors alike. Free valet parking is a bonus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We'd had several good experiences at Cio ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We'd had several good experiences at Cioppino before but hadn't been there for while. We found the menu quite altered and not as appealing. The waiter was friendly, but only 3 of the 4 of us actually received their entrees; this, despite the fact that only a few tables were occupied. Suffice it to say, we would not recommend Cioppino to anyone and will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was quite good. Ses bass was the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Service was quite good.

Ses bass was the best dish other dishes were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

i have only gone 2-4 times per year. The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

i have only gone 2-4 times per year.

The former chef etc was excellent food was not worth it now

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu changes since our last visit were d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Menu changes since our last visit were disappointing. Food not as good as we have had in past experiences.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Business dinner...nice start at the atta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Business dinner...nice start at the attached Cigar Bar

Tuesday night was pretty quiet

Nice restaurant a little out of the way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our experience at the Cigar Bar was awe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our experience at the Cigar Bar was awesome in general. Seemed a little smoky though.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Surprised this place is still open

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

There are too many great restaurants in Pittsburgh to spend your money on bland food. Our table had 13 different items. Only 3 had any flavor. The fish and seafood were particularly disappointing . Expensive ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Ok folks, I'm ready to gush!! It was o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Ok folks, I'm ready to gush!!

It was our first time at your restaurant and we WILL be back! The service was outstanding and our server was polite and she exhibited the perfect timing in her effort which makes a great establishment even greater! The food was superb and the menu was perfect because it's not too large and easy to make a selection . The mushroom & kale soup was possibly the best I've ever had. The price range, though some would say is rather high is easy to overlook when backed up by superb service and delicious preparation.

See you soon,

Bob & Debbie Watt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very nice place

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I thought it was a very nice place but pricey. The service was just okay and it wasn't that busy. Very different selections. Also had a nice cigar bar. I would go again but not anytime soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great streaks and cigars

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Service was top notch and the cigar bar is comfortable, classy and welcoming.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delightful dining experience wi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience with great food, service, and drinks. The menu changes frequently... offering many fresh vegetables of the season. Saving room for dessert is a must each time I visit cioppino. We shared several of them. Love cioppino .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live band, great service, seabass was a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Live band, great service, seabass was amazing.. halibut had too much horseradish but still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dinner Club

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We went with the other 4 couples in our dinner club. The Oysters were a super appetizer. Our waitress was attentive and the main courses were good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went very early, so it was hard to get ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I went very early, so it was hard to get a feel for the typical atmosphere. Our service was very good and the food was well done. I liked it very much, but will need to go again at a peak time in order to give a more accurate review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First Visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I very much enjoyed Cioppino, including their namesake dish with delicious red sauce. Our server, Jeremy, was attentive, friendly and ready to inform. They even were able to seat us early for our reservation, which was fine by us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Absolute Best!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Best steak I ever ate!! Dont waste your time thinking about going somewere else this is were you need to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cioppino

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Nothing really to complain about just wasn't anything wonderful . We sat by the window and it was cold not that they can control that. The waiter was fine had nice personality The Sommelier was Great, Boy does he know his stuff. but for almost 200.00 dollars for two and that was before tip wished for more. The valet guy was really a nice guy also Just didn't leave feeling that wow factor

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Cioppino and Live Jazz!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food is very good but what I like the most about Cioppino's is the live music on the weekends. I have only heard the jazz musicians on Saturday night and all I can say is "Wow". I enjoy dining in the Lounge and listening to top notch artists. I recommend the cioppino and dipping bread in the flavorful sauce. IMHO, this could become an addiction!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Spot

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Very pleased with the options on the menu, service by the staff and surroundings. Meal was excellent and to top it off they have a cigar bar......................what's not to like

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience so so food

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Have been to this restaurant several times before and really enjoyed the food.

This time ,I had the crab cakes, but they were very bland.Came with sautéed Brussels sprouts that were also lacking flavor.

Ceasar salad was fabulous!

Will probably go back but was disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall it was a great experience. Didn' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall it was a great experience. Didn't seem to have enough bartenders, and had to wait an extra 25 minutes even though we had a reservation. Service and food once we were seated made up for it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Been here several times. This was our fi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Been here several times. This was our first since the exit of Chef Greg. Will not be back for dinner. No clear direction in the menu. No appetizers. Small plates should be referred to as bar menu. Honey lets have some sliders before our $50 steaks, no. My veal chop came out Luke warm. Cooked properly but not off the grill. Clearly sat for awhile. Visited most recently on 2/13/16. They added multiple tables to the bar area and private dining room to maximize holiday profits. I'm all for making money but consider your guests may not return with that type of treatment. Made a reservation for a nice valentines day dinner with my wife, our first as a married couple, ate at a folding table with tablecloth.... PS your glass of pinot noir is listed at $10 please do not charge me $12. I'll gladly pay $12 but take the time to update your menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Another Valentine's Day Success!!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Well, this was the third year that we decided to go here for our Valentine's dinner, after deciding last year that we would make this our traditional Valentine's Day activity. Once again, they did not disappoint. It was busier than I've seen it ever before, but considering how busy it was, our service was still right on point. The food was amazing, and the whole experience was very enjoyable. We will continue to hold on to our tradition next year, and I'm already looking forward to it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very pleasurable dining experi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is a very pleasurable dining experience especially for a special occasion. On a very cold evening it was nice to park above in the deck and then zip right inside where the staff greeted us, took our coats and seated us immediately. Although full, there was no sense of being crowded as the tables were nicely spaced. One's conversation stayed at the table. Lighting was creative and elegant. Service was exemplary. Dinner was perfect. Another nice touch I'm getting used to using this app: they confirm by phone a day in advance. Plus, on this Valentine's eve they discreetly mentioned that dinner service would be 1.5 hrs. In other words, we would not be rushed! How nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, as were the cocktail ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was great, as were the cocktails! Service was a bit slow but we weren't in a rush so it was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and a wonderful atmosphere!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food and a wonderful atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth it.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The changed menu is a huge disappointment and some of the prices are ridiculously high for what you get. The noise from the bar intrudes into the dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Ciopinno

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Excellent, well prepared food in a great atmosphere. Bar scene terrific with live bands and good mixed drinks. Great way to spend an evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visiting this place and I was pleased.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The waiter was excellent, knew the menu well, and made good recommendations. They were smart to ask about evening plans to keep us on track for leaving in time for a show. The dining was neither too slow nor rushed...just a good pace. The food was good but could use a little more seasoning or some great sauces to make it outstanding. I noticed that salt and pepper are absent from the tables, so I expected that everything would come well seasoned. Appetizers are generous and great for sharing. Portions are also nicely sized which doesn't leave much room for dessert...unfortunately.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

1st experience was great, 2nd was disappointing

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My first experience at Cioppino last fall was fantastic, leading to a return trip. This one just didn't match the first. The changes and reduction to the menu left me wanting in the appetizer section (prior salad options helped with a great 2-3 course meal, now 2 very standard salad options). Our meals were very well cooked and tasted great, the downside was in the timing of the meal. We had a long delay between our drinks and being served bread. Before we could butter the bread, our meal arrived. One of the plates had an issue (a portion was asked to be left off and was not) but this was quickly fixed (great work in that regard). Compared to my first visit though, the staff attentiveness and appropriate timing of food coming out was lacking on this visit. Still a very good meal.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent Meal

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Two couples dined and everyone enjoyed their meals. Ladies both had crab cakes and both loved them. Ribeye for my buddy was excellent and I gad the pork shank(Saturday special) which was great & large. Service was friendly and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yum!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Very good food, pricey but if you expect to spend some $$$ it's all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.