Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Cioppino Restaurant and Cigar Bar

Seasonal dinner menu featuring fresh seafood, hand-cut steaks and chops house fare. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free friendly.

Happy Hour, Monday-Friday, from 5pm – 7pm, within the Bar Lounge Area offering 1/2 Off Select Bar Food Items, $5 House Wines By The Glass, 1/2 Off Draft Beers and a $5 Feature Cocktail. Live Music - Thursday - Saturday, 7-11pm Daily. Our extensive wine list features over (250) domestic and international labels and was awarded the 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator magazine. Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar. Wind down after a long day by enjoying a selection from our collection of over (300) whiskeys. Onsite humidor houses our premium cigar collection. Personal selections welcome at no additional fee.

Complimentary Valet Parking is offered after 5pm daily.

Private Dining Available for Groups of Up to (30) Seated Guests As Well As Large Standing Cocktail Receptions.

2350 Railroad Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed
Bar Lounge And Cigar Bar Open At 4pm Daily, Monday - Saturday

Cross Street:
23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6593

Website:
http://www.cioppinogroup.com/

Entertainment:
Join Us For the best in Live Music offered within Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday - Saturday!

Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar featuring our premium cigar collection, as well as our collection of over (300) whiskeys. The rich mahogany surroundings and indulgent leather seating allows one to relax and unwind while enjoying their favorite cigar, after-dinner drink or specialty cocktail. Two large plasma televisions embrace the walls for the sports enthusiast. Full Seasonal Menu available daily.

Parking Details:
Cioppino offers FREE validated parking within the 24th Street parking garage situated above our location, as well as COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING after 5pm Daily at Our Entrance Located On The Corners of 23rd and Smallman Streets.

Executive Chef:
Robert Laskowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday -
Half Priced Wine Night
-Over (30) Bottled Favorites Priced At 1/2 Off
Manhattan Monday
-$2 Off All Manhattan Cocktails Within The Cigar Bar All Evening

Tuesday-
Dollar Oyster Night
-$1 Oysters/$4 Prosecco By The Glass Within The Bar Lounge And Cigar Bar All Evening

Wednesday-
UnCorked Wednesday
-Corkage Fee Waived When Dining In Our Dining Room

Live Music In Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday Through Saturday Evening From 7pm - 11pm Nightly! No Cover.

Private Dining

Private Dining Available For Presentations, Corporate Gatherings Or Personal Celebrations! Private Dining Room Accommodates (30) Seated Guests And Offers Complimentary Onsite A/V Capabilities. Private Dining Menus Are Diverse Offering Vegetarian, Vegan And Gluten-Free Options Upon Request.

Cioppino Restaurant and Cigar Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Business Meals (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Live Music (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Private Room (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and well prepared. The hostess' welcome was underwhelming. We were 15 minutes early for our reservation. She said go to the bar and come back in 15 minutes. Note, it was not crowded. In the bar the service was barely adequate. We each order a bottle of beer with a glass. The bartender did not pour the beer for either of us.
Returned to the hostess at our reservation time and were seated. They were slow taking our dinner order and had to ask two people to bring us bread. It arrived after our entrees.
We were there for our anniversary dinner with no recognition of this. I will not recommend this restaurant even though the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, subpar service. For an establishment charging premium prices, service must match the food, and these folks were not friendly or focused on the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was a perfect spot to have a long, leisurely dinner with a good friend to catch up. The cigar smoke from the bar bothered me a tiny bit (I am super sensitive to smoke) when I entered and stoood at the hostess desk for a few minutes, but it was barely noticeable during our dinner. Food was delicious, service impeccable. We were there for 3+ hours and no one rushed us. A very peaceful, relaxing, enjoyable night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Carrie did a wonderful job serving and offering recommendations. Everyone's entree' was
to their liking which made it yet another enjoyable evening at Cioppino's. Things are always
consistant at this restaurant which is not an easy feat these days.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I have been here dozens of times and love the food. We always order the same thing. I have had rave reviews in the past but our meal this time was so disappointing. Our waiter was great, the band was excellent, but the food was blah. I so wanted each bite to prove me wrong and it was just so very bland. We will be back, hopefully it was just a fluke!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Terrific food and service. Finally made it to this local restaurant and will be sure to return. Very impressed with the quality of the food and the new dessert menu as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Took my boyfriend to dinner for his birthday and had a wonderful time at Cioppino! The food is excellent, the wine list is extensive and the service is great! They really go out of their way to take care of you. We even got custom printed menus with Happy Birthday written on the top with his name on them, and a free ice cream cake dessert!
Also had a chance to check out the cigar bar after dinner. It was awesome. There is a huge selection of cigars and whiskeys. In addition, there are other spirits/wine/beer options for those not too into whiskey. Overall, amazing date night spot!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Had a great dinner with friends the other night. The food was fabulous, the atmosphere was pleasant, we were able to sit and visit without feeling rushed. Very extensive winelist, and our waiter Bobby was charming and very knowledgeable about the menu. Looking forward to returning 😃

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! The service was terrible however. My friend and I were the only guests in the restaurant beside a party of about 20 in the back room. We were left unattended for long periods, served incorrect wine, never offered refills on our beverages, never provided with basic condiments such as salt/pepper etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great as always! One of our favorite restaurants & now it has become a favorite of our friends. We always have great service & food is outstanding. We enjoyed the Cioppino, halibut, tuna, & Chilean sea bass for entrees and all were cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I always have a great experience here. Carrie is the best!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoy the Jazz Music on the first Saturday of the month!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Private Room, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic! Can't wait to go back. Our server, Jeremy was top notch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

BRAVO!!!
Jeremy & Robert, Thank YOU! We REALLY enjoyed our dinner experience. I'm still trying to figure out how Cioppino's flew under our radar.

Ask for Jeremy and you'll see why we highly recommend him!

Robert has an attention to detail that speaks to every dish!

See you soon!

Tags: Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Healthy, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great wines and service. We love the valet parking - it's so convenient !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic food. Too loud in my opinion I would have liked to be closer to the band

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were there for my wife's bday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Cioppino has always been one of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh. Our recent visit did not disappoint. The menu always offers a great variety and the food is always prepared to perfection. As usual, the service was impeccable. I have never had anything but exceptional experiences there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was terrific and cooked as ordered. The server was outstanding, knowledgeable about menu and recommendations. Very attentive and never forgot about us. Will go again!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Overall I was pleased. The table where we were sat was right next to the hallway where the kitchen is located. My chair was bumped about 10 times. Annoying but the food was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food at Cioppinos is exceptional, both in the main room and the cigar bar, which is a great place to hang out for a less formal experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Met good friend for dinner. Awesome food. Fantastic service. One of the best Zins I've had in quite a while. Had cigars in the cigar bar afterwards. Great smokes and 20 yr old Tawny port. All around great night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

First time. Very nice restaurant. Good for business conversation. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Authentic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A group of 6 friends chose Cioppino to celebrate all of our birthdays. Each one of us enjoyed a magnificent meal. The salads were delicious & many different types were offered to satisfy everyone's preference. Cioppino is at the top of my list for excellent food and service. My 5 friends were all In agreement. Carrie our server was informative, patient, and provided us with excellent service. Pastry chef Meghann created a special chocolate raspberry birthday cake for our table. Collectively we had a delicious birthday celebration thanks to Cioppino & Co.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Was very good and had a quaint atmosphere. Would not suggest small children, which makes it ideal for professionals or a date night! Food was amazing and plenty of options for gluten sensitives like myself!! The wine list was quite exceptional as well! Staff was friendly and service was fairly quick. Did not check out the cigar bar. Had no interest in that.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We went with friends that had never been before. They were interested in the Cigar Bar and how it looked. We had four excellent meals. Preparation was great and presentation was very well done. We were there on a "snow day" so there were only a few other people in the restaurant that evening. We had very attentive service. Only detractor was that they had only one bottle of the wine we ordered, so we had to make do with a second choice for the second bottle - not as good.
We had not been in over a year, but it was just as good as we remembered. We had a great evening.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service was excellent. The dessert menu was fantastic. My 2 criticisms would be that it was freezing cold sitting by an exterior window and the band at the bar was a little too loud. They were good but the noisr traveled too much into the dining room for my taste. Overall I'd definitely recommend though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Service was VERY slow. Waited over an hour for our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The ambiance was great but the service was very slow and the food was mediocre

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food. Had the Duck & seafood was very good... the only down fall was the bar area was booked and fully reserve and couldn't listen to any jazz. Otherwise had a great time in the cigar bar after dinner....

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First time for me and my husband. It was his birthday. A nice touch personalizing the menu with Happy Birthday. Staff very friendly and helpful . We shared octopus app. , it was yummy, he had a wedge salad, I had the bisque, abut too salty for my liking, he had the sea bass and I had shrimp cocktails, a very generous portion. We will definitely come back. Would like to sit in the lounge next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dinner with my children. Waiter(Josh I believe) was amazing, very patient and attentive with the children. My son had sliders from the bar menu. Daughter had seafood risotto and loved it. I had the scallops and crab bisque. We came in at 5 and had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our dinner was actually very good; the food was well prepared. However, our service was a little off and the place seemed somewhat empty. At one point, I asked a waiter to refill my water glass but he failed to refill anyone else. Kind of weird. Music was good.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is my fiancé and my favorite place for special occasions. They take such special care of us and really go above and beyond to make each visit special. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is one of my favs, the food and the service is amazing. Ask for Carrie!!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food and pleasant wait staff. It's always a nice atmosphere there. The hostesses were very pleasant and one actually bothered to use my name again when she inquired about the experience at the end of the evening. Live music in the bar. A good evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The veal and lobster special was excellent-what a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Although I enjoyed the cheese plate, I would recommend adding olives or more fruit. The cheeses were good. I had the Chilean Sea Bass Oscar. I enjoyed the Sea Bass (high quality), but was expecting more crab. The dish was also on the cold side. I never send food back, so I ate it anyway. My boyfriend had the strip steak and enjoyed it. There also was a band in the front bar area, which was pretty loud. I probably should have paid attention to that when I made the reservation, so next time I will be checking to make sure it won't be as loud. Overall, I was happy with the meal, but not completely impressed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love Cioppino. One of our favorites in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Could have been great but had horrible service. We were seated in the bar with bad 90s music and loud people at a table that was wobbly and rented for the weekend. They delivered our appetizer to the wrong table them tried to give it to us off of the other table. We asked for a new one. The waiter mentioned they were going to bring bread. Didn't get the bread until we were almost done with our meals. Would have been better if I got seated in the dining room. Wanted that ambiance. After dinner went to the cigar bar. My partner enjoyed the whiskey menu. Won't go back to the restaurant but probably will go to the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.