About Cioppino

2350 Railroad Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Cioppino Restaurant & Cigar Bar features a seasonal menu with a focus on fresh seafood & chophouse fare, local produce and livestock. Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten Free selections are available upon request. Happy Hour is available within the Bar Lounge Area Monday through Friday, 5pm to 7pm, offering 1/2 off select bar food items, $5.00 select house wines by the glass, ½ off all draft beers and a $5 daily featured cocktail. Full Dinner Menu and Bar Food Menu available within the Bar Lounge and Cigar Bar Areas in addition to our contemporary dining room. Live Music every Thursday - Saturday. Certified Sommelier onsite to assist with your wine selections. Private Dining Available for Groups of Up to (30) Seated Guests As Well As Large Standing Cocktail Receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6593

Website:
http://www.cioppinogroup.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring the Best in Live Music in Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday - Saturday! Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar featuring (20) of the top (100) cigars sold worldwide. The rich mahogany surroundings and indulgent leather seating allows one to relax and unwind while enjoying their favorite cigar, after-dinner drink or specialty cocktail. Two large plasma televisions embrace the walls for the sports enthusiast. Full Seasonal Menu available daily.

Parking Details:
Cioppino offers FREE validated parking in the building parking garage as well as COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING after 5pm Daily at Our Entrance Located On the Corners of 23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street in the Historic Strip DIstrict of Pittsburgh.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Live Music In Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday Through Saturday Evening From 7pm - 11pm Nightly! No Cover.

Private Dining

Private Dining Available For Presentations, Corporate Gatherings Or Personal Celebrations! Private Dining Room Accommodates (30) Seated Guests And Offers Complimentary Onsite A/V Capabilities. Private Dining Menus Are Diverse Offering Vegetarian, Vegan And Gluten-Free Options Upon Request.

Cioppino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Music (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've frequent Cioppino often. It's a gr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've frequent Cioppino often. It's a great place. They always have very good specials. Saturday nights can get loud because of the live band but I won't complain. Staff is always helpful and fun. I highly suggest trying this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite dishes ever is Cioppi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite dishes ever is Cioppino so while on a trip to Pittsburgh, we went to Cioppino where I assumed there would be outstanding seafood and ciappino. The green salad was mediocre- dressed with cheap red wine vinegar- unappetizing. The lobster risotto was mediocre- tough pieces of lobster in a small bowl of watery risotto. The halibut special was excellent. Unfortunately, the cioppino was incredibly salty and any flavors from the fish and shellfish was obscured. I am sure that it would be much better if the chef would cut way back on the salt. The setting is quite unattractive- dark, poorly furnished- no charm whatsoever. Looks like an old steakhouse not like a modern higher-end restaurant. No millenials in site. Do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

My wife and I went to Ciopinno for our a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I went to Ciopinno for our anniversary. The food was great but the service was outstanding. Our server was named Carrie Campbell, hands down, she was the best server we have had at any restaurant. We could not put it in words how remarkable her personality and service was. We will definitely be back and will be requesting Carrie as our server

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I always enjoy our meals at ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy our meals at Cioppino. Ron, our usual and requested server is always excellent and bring a wealth of knowledge to his robust and delicious descriptions of the food and drink. The live music was also excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The seafood was expertly prepared and th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The seafood was expertly prepared and the service was excellent

Can't wait to return

I would recommend this to anyone who wants the freshest fish dishes

Imagineable

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time. Went for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great time. Went for our anniversary. Very quiet as expected for a Monday evening. Had the full attention of the server, who was excellent. Food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely restaurant but pricey! The che ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A lovely restaurant but pricey! The cheese plate appetizer left much to be desired!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely fantastic dinner to celebrate ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dinner to celebrate our anniversary. Our server was outstanding and mentioned he was in training as the new sommelier. I gave him a price point and our likely entrees and he returned with a perfect wine that paired very well with our tastes and meals. The food was, in a word, exceptional. The restaurant even took the time to surprise us with personalized menus to take home to remember the night and a sumptuous ice cream cake for dessert. Cap it all off with a cigar in the amazing attached lounge and it was a perfect evening. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but the trademark Cio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was good, but the trademark Ciopinno was not quite the portion I remembered.

It would be nice if the happy hour special were honored in the dining area. The crowd was so light, I don't see why it would be an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First time in the cigar bar. Loved the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time in the cigar bar. Loved the restaurant and finally trying the cigars. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and the whiskey with the cigar. The flame throwers....i mean lighters are impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, excellent service in a great ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food, excellent service in a great location. Cioppino did not disappointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place!! I try to go as regular ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Love this place!! I try to go as regularly as I can, never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

had to wait over a half hour to be seate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

had to wait over a half hour to be seated even though we had a reservation. great live music in the bar area and delicious meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Unfortunately the food was bland and the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately the food was bland and the Cioppino was we would have thought was the signature dish was small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

great cocktails, amazing food, and atten ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

great cocktails, amazing food, and attention to details makes for a truly enjoyable dining experience...and the service cannot be beat, especially if Ron is taking care of you!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ribeye was overdone, the bass was un ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The ribeye was overdone, the bass was under done and the fried zucchini was bar food. Very disappointed. Did hear the chef was recently fired and they are going through transition. Hopefully they figure it out soon as Ben, the somm, is fantastic, and Dana in the cigar bar does a great job with recommendations. The cigar bar and wine list are reason alone to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Wonderful food beautiful presentation & ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful food beautiful presentation & great wait staff-

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & Service were excellent. Great ja ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food & Service were excellent. Great jazz in the lounge was a nice bonus after. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pretty much everything about Cioppino wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Pretty much everything about Cioppino was excellent. Our server was extremely attentive and informed, yet not annoying in the least. The food was good, but not great. Some dishes were very tasty and others fell a little short. The only complaint is that the bathrooms and portions of the restaurant area smelled very strongly of the cigar smoke from the adjacent cigar bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Was in town for the US Open golf and tri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was in town for the US Open golf and tried this based on Open Table reviews. We were looking for an above average place for a nice family meal. Perhaps it was an off night, but the service was pretty poor and the wait staff seemed undermanned. Food quality was average at best, and for the menu pricing not worth it. Oysters were just ok, and halibut main entree was served lukewarm. Wine prices were very expensive as well. A good, standard NZ Sauvignon Blanc was $45 and that was the cheapest on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

WE were visiting Pittsburgh and chose Ci ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

WE were visiting Pittsburgh and chose Cioppino for its single malt scotch selection. The place was lovely and the service was outstanding right from the start with its complimentary valet parking. Our waiter was great. The only complaint I have is that once a table of 5 sat next to us we could barely hear. Then in the next room a live jazz band started to play. At that point I could barely hear my husband. The music was fantastic though - it was all just too loud in combination. When we left the restaurant the valet attendant actually ran to get our car. Wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were late for our reservations and th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We were late for our reservations and the staff couldn't be more polite about it and we were able to be seated when we arrived. The food was great and the wait staff was pleasant and very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always love dining at Cioppino. The men ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always love dining at Cioppino. The menu changes frequently yet the quality of the food and service is consistently excellent. The pastry chef Meghann is a creative genius. I usually make my appetizer and entree selections after I read the dessert menu. Definitely save room for dessert!! Cioppino is the total package in a wonderful dining experience. It is a must try for local Pittsburghers and visitors alike. Free valet parking is a bonus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We'd had several good experiences at Cio ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We'd had several good experiences at Cioppino before but hadn't been there for while. We found the menu quite altered and not as appealing. The waiter was friendly, but only 3 of the 4 of us actually received their entrees; this, despite the fact that only a few tables were occupied. Suffice it to say, we would not recommend Cioppino to anyone and will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was quite good. Ses bass was the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Service was quite good.

Ses bass was the best dish other dishes were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

i have only gone 2-4 times per year. The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

i have only gone 2-4 times per year.

The former chef etc was excellent food was not worth it now

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu changes since our last visit were d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Menu changes since our last visit were disappointing. Food not as good as we have had in past experiences.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Business dinner...nice start at the atta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Business dinner...nice start at the attached Cigar Bar

Tuesday night was pretty quiet

Nice restaurant a little out of the way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our experience at the Cigar Bar was awe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our experience at the Cigar Bar was awesome in general. Seemed a little smoky though.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Surprised this place is still open

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

There are too many great restaurants in Pittsburgh to spend your money on bland food. Our table had 13 different items. Only 3 had any flavor. The fish and seafood were particularly disappointing . Expensive ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Ok folks, I'm ready to gush!! It was o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Ok folks, I'm ready to gush!!

It was our first time at your restaurant and we WILL be back! The service was outstanding and our server was polite and she exhibited the perfect timing in her effort which makes a great establishment even greater! The food was superb and the menu was perfect because it's not too large and easy to make a selection . The mushroom & kale soup was possibly the best I've ever had. The price range, though some would say is rather high is easy to overlook when backed up by superb service and delicious preparation.

See you soon,

Bob & Debbie Watt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very nice place

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I thought it was a very nice place but pricey. The service was just okay and it wasn't that busy. Very different selections. Also had a nice cigar bar. I would go again but not anytime soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great streaks and cigars

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Service was top notch and the cigar bar is comfortable, classy and welcoming.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delightful dining experience wi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience with great food, service, and drinks. The menu changes frequently... offering many fresh vegetables of the season. Saving room for dessert is a must each time I visit cioppino. We shared several of them. Love cioppino .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live band, great service, seabass was a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Live band, great service, seabass was amazing.. halibut had too much horseradish but still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dinner Club

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We went with the other 4 couples in our dinner club. The Oysters were a super appetizer. Our waitress was attentive and the main courses were good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went very early, so it was hard to get ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I went very early, so it was hard to get a feel for the typical atmosphere. Our service was very good and the food was well done. I liked it very much, but will need to go again at a peak time in order to give a more accurate review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First Visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I very much enjoyed Cioppino, including their namesake dish with delicious red sauce. Our server, Jeremy, was attentive, friendly and ready to inform. They even were able to seat us early for our reservation, which was fine by us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Absolute Best!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Best steak I ever ate!! Dont waste your time thinking about going somewere else this is were you need to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cioppino

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Nothing really to complain about just wasn't anything wonderful . We sat by the window and it was cold not that they can control that. The waiter was fine had nice personality The Sommelier was Great, Boy does he know his stuff. but for almost 200.00 dollars for two and that was before tip wished for more. The valet guy was really a nice guy also Just didn't leave feeling that wow factor

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.