Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Cioppino Restaurant and Cigar Bar

Seasonal dinner menu featuring fresh seafood, hand-cut steaks and chops house fare. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free friendly.

Happy Hour, Monday-Friday, from 5pm – 7pm, within the Bar Lounge Area offering 1/2 Off Select Bar Food Items, $5 House Wines By The Glass, 1/2 Off Draft Beers and a $5 Feature Cocktail. Live Music - Thursday - Saturday, 7-11pm Daily. Our extensive wine list features over (250) domestic and international labels and was awarded the 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator magazine. Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar. Wind down after a long day by enjoying a selection from our collection of over (300) whiskeys. Onsite humidor houses our premium cigar collection. Personal selections welcome at no additional fee.

Complimentary Valet Parking is offered after 5pm daily.

Private Dining Available for Groups of Up to (30) Seated Guests As Well As Large Standing Cocktail Receptions.

2350 Railroad Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed
Bar Lounge And Cigar Bar Open At 4pm Daily, Monday - Saturday

Cross Street:
23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6593

Website:
http://www.cioppinogroup.com/

Entertainment:
Join Us For the best in Live Music offered within Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday - Saturday!

Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar featuring our premium cigar collection, as well as our collection of over (300) whiskeys. The rich mahogany surroundings and indulgent leather seating allows one to relax and unwind while enjoying their favorite cigar, after-dinner drink or specialty cocktail. Two large plasma televisions embrace the walls for the sports enthusiast. Full Seasonal Menu available daily.

Parking Details:
Cioppino offers FREE validated parking within the 24th Street parking garage situated above our location, as well as COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING after 5pm Daily at Our Entrance Located On The Corners of 23rd and Smallman Streets.

Executive Chef:
Robert Laskowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday -
Half Priced Wine Night
-Over (30) Bottled Favorites Priced At 1/2 Off
Manhattan Monday
-$2 Off All Manhattan Cocktails Within The Cigar Bar All Evening

Tuesday-
Dollar Oyster Night
-$1 Oysters/$4 Prosecco By The Glass Within The Bar Lounge And Cigar Bar All Evening

Wednesday-
UnCorked Wednesday
-Corkage Fee Waived When Dining In Our Dining Room

Live Music In Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday Through Saturday Evening From 7pm - 11pm Nightly! No Cover.

Private Dining

Private Dining Available For Presentations, Corporate Gatherings Or Personal Celebrations! Private Dining Room Accommodates (30) Seated Guests And Offers Complimentary Onsite A/V Capabilities. Private Dining Menus Are Diverse Offering Vegetarian, Vegan And Gluten-Free Options Upon Request.

Cioppino Restaurant and Cigar Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (14)
Business Meals (12)
See All
Live Music (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We went for our anniversary & had never been there before. The food was excellent . The service was awesome. We drove an hour to get there & will definitely go again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, portions were a little small but not bad. Service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

I had the NY Strip and it melted in my mouth, it is definitely worth the $40. My girlfriend came here for our 2 year anniversary and it was such a good dining experience and environment. We also got the cheese platter which was a perfect combinations of flavors.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The menu has a wide array of (delicious) foods that would be pleasing for almost anyone. The atmosphere is nice if a bit loud, and service was exceptional all-around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I recently relocated back from Florida and couldn't wait to get back to Cioppino. I have treated both friends and clients to dinner and everytime it's been a great experience. Easy free valet parking and outstanding service. All at a great price. You will not be dissapointed. Try them today!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 3, 2017

It had been several years since I had dinner at Cioppino’s, but the food was even better than I had remembered. Excellent presentation, fine flavors, and locally sourced ingredients. Our server, Robert, was congenial and well-informed. The service was nicely timed, so that all of our entrées arrived simultaneously. The only odd element of our evening was the lack of other patrons in the dining room. On a Tuesday evening, our party of six had the place to ourselves, which made for easy conversation — no shouting over the music or other patrons in order to be heard.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food and great service, will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Had fun but you booked us at 9pm and the dining room was empty....cal the restaurant directly for accurate reservations

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Staff was top notch. Food however, was sub par.

We started off with the calimari for an appetizer, which unfortunately was extremely over salted. I had the Cioppino and my wife had the halibut for our entrees.

The mussels in my Cioppino were not well cleaned. The first one I ate had a decent amount of sand that left an unpleasant feeling in my mouth. Had to drink an entire glass of water and swish around to get the sand out. My wife's Halibut came with a very rich cream sauce that overpowered and fish flavor.

What was odd, was that the people sitting next to us had the exact same entrees, and raved about each of them.

For the sake of the restaurant, I hope we were the only people that had a less than favorable food experience.

I must say again, the staff was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was very slow and haphazard! The drinks came out after the appetizers were served. The bread and butter way after the appetizers were eaten. However the waitress was very apologetic and sweet. The food was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food, service and cigars. Great bourbon selection. Some of the best food in the city!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Arrived 15 minutes early for an 8pm reservation and were promptly seated. Waited several minutes for a server and another several minutes for her to bring a cocktail list and wine menu but after that the service was excellent. Our server was Imani and she was genuinely interested in our experience at Cioppiono. VERY knowledgeable, great personality and very friendly. Food was very well prepared and quick to arrive at the table...2 salads (feature salad and Caesar), Filet and New York Strip. Steaks were cooked to perfection and incredibly tender. We finished off the night in the cigar lounge with a bourbon. The service in the lounge, while prompt, was not nearly as engaging as the service we received in the dining room. However, we will definitely return the next time we are in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Server was very attentive. Timing of our courses was perfect. Steak and duck were both very good. We stopped into the bar for a drink after dinner and we enjoyed the jazz trio. The bar area happy hour specials look good, so we may be back for that.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The scallops with lobster risotto was excellent. The scallops were perfectly prepared, as well as the lobster treatment in the risotto. We also had Alaskan halibut ,which was presented with a delicious potato - kind of a hash brown with an extremely crispy finish.
Our server was helpful and very efficient . It's pricey, but worth it .
We ate before a theater date, but would have stayed for the jazz, which was just beginning as we left, had we not already purchased tickets. Great musicians!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Everything about it was AMAZING! Food was amazing! Our waitress Imani was wonderful as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Our second time dining there, and it was just as good as the first.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The Peking Duck was not crispy, but the flavor was smooth, not strong. The rice Melange that it was served with was very tasty. The Gumbo was rich and filling, but not too spicy, just a little tang. Dessert was the perfect ending to a great meal. My husband had the ceviche, which was a real winner, the duck, and dessert. We were both pleased with the food and more than happy with the service provided by Carrie.
When Cioppino first opened, we were there often, but sort of "fell out of the habit." This experience reminded us of how great the place is. We will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was very, very fresh and delicious. Had a very nice, knowledgeable waitress though did not get her name. Was great atmosphere and we never felt our courses were "rushed", we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was very good. Meals were good. Chop salads were very good. Filet Mignon was over-cooked beyond medium, although still tasty. Disappointed the filet was over-cooked. Scallops with lobster risotto was good but there seemed to be very little lobster. The cioppino was good but I found the broth to be a bit lacking...a little too bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We ate in the bar and took advantage of their Happy Hour menus. Both food and drinks were wonderful...added bonus was a great band!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

food was great, service not so much. we will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent service and the quality of the food was top notch. Brought out of town guests, and they were pleased with the selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Went here really to have a cigar after dinner but was disappointed when we were told after dinner that cigar lounge was closing due to no hot water. Dinner was okay, nothing truly distinguishable...scallops were nicely done. Service was fine, decor was minimal. Located in a somewhat industrial area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great steaks and seafood stew. Presentation in both plates was stunning.

Great bar and service.

Be prepared to wait a bit between courses, but with food this good and good conversation and great drinks make this wait seem like nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Another great experience as always!!! Food was great, drinks were awesome and service was impeccable.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was fantastic but the service was completely awful. They forgot our appetizers. No one came by to refil our drinks or wine. We ordered multiple things only to find out over ten minutes later that they were out. Our server was unresponsive and had no knowledge of the menu. Good thing the entrees were all delicious because the service was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Dinner, drinks, cigar bar, and live jazz band! We were beyond pleased!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Probably the best one that I have been to in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our experience at this restaurant was probably one of the finest ones we have ever had. The customer service, dinner and desserts were outstanding. Both couples were celebrating their wedding anniversaries and from the personalized menu to the personalized plate of dessert they really made us feel special .

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Our server, Bob, was great. Tuna tartare was very tasty. Caesar salad good but salad with Goat Cheese dressing was extremely overdressed. It ruined the greens and was salty to boot. Need a defter hand with dressing. Halibut entree delicious and crab cakes were good. But the absolute best were the fantastic desserts! The blueberry custard was outstanding as was the chocolate hazelnut offering. Very talented pastry chef. I would go there just for the desserts!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was wonderful. We always ask for Kerry to be our server. She is the best

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I loved the ambiance and the openness of the space. The food was very good but the
cioppino serving seemed a little small to me. I loved the desert sampler...
Our server was excellent.
All and all a very good dining experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

When we arrived there were only two other parties in the entire dining room. We were seated away from the other two along the window. Very nice until the hostess (Beth) decided to seat someone right next to us. Which I would understand if the place was crowded. What was she thinking? The other two parties that were there prior to our arrival shortly left and we were stuck sitting in this huge dining room right next to the only other people dining. Two guys whining about their love lives or lack of, which my date found offensive. Still cannot understand why she would do such a thing with so many tables open. Food was good. Music was good. Our server was excellent. I made the reservation later hoping to have a quiet
semi-private dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was great. The cheese plate was tasty and my cioppino was outstanding. I have gotten it both times that I have been there. My husband enjoyed his beef ribs. Our dessert and drinks were great as well. Our server was nice and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was delicious and well prepared. The hostess' welcome was underwhelming. We were 15 minutes early for our reservation. She said go to the bar and come back in 15 minutes. Note, it was not crowded. In the bar the service was barely adequate. We each order a bottle of beer with a glass. The bartender did not pour the beer for either of us.
Returned to the hostess at our reservation time and were seated. They were slow taking our dinner order and had to ask two people to bring us bread. It arrived after our entrees.
We were there for our anniversary dinner with no recognition of this. I will not recommend this restaurant even though the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food, subpar service. For an establishment charging premium prices, service must match the food, and these folks were not friendly or focused on the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was a perfect spot to have a long, leisurely dinner with a good friend to catch up. The cigar smoke from the bar bothered me a tiny bit (I am super sensitive to smoke) when I entered and stoood at the hostess desk for a few minutes, but it was barely noticeable during our dinner. Food was delicious, service impeccable. We were there for 3+ hours and no one rushed us. A very peaceful, relaxing, enjoyable night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Carrie did a wonderful job serving and offering recommendations. Everyone's entree' was
to their liking which made it yet another enjoyable evening at Cioppino's. Things are always
consistant at this restaurant which is not an easy feat these days.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My husband and I have been here dozens of times and love the food. We always order the same thing. I have had rave reviews in the past but our meal this time was so disappointing. Our waiter was great, the band was excellent, but the food was blah. I so wanted each bite to prove me wrong and it was just so very bland. We will be back, hopefully it was just a fluke!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.