About Cioppino

2350 Railroad Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Cioppino Restaurant & Cigar Bar features a seasonal menu with a focus on fresh seafood & chophouse fare, local produce and livestock. Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten Free selections are available. Happy Hour is available within the Bar Lounge Area Monday through Friday, 5pm to 7pm, offering 1/2 off select bar food items, $5.00 select house wines by the glass, ½ off all draft beers and a $5 daily featured cocktail. Full Dinner Menu and Bar Food Menu available within the Bar Lounge and Cigar Bar Areas in addition to our contemporary dining room. Live Music every Thursday - Saturday. Certified Sommelier onsite to assist with your wine selections. Private Dining Available for Groups of Up to (30) Seated Guests As Well As Large Standing Cocktail Receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6593

Website:
http://www.cioppinogroup.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring the Best in Live Music in Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday - Saturday! Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar featuring (20) of the top (100) cigars sold worldwide. The rich mahogany surroundings and indulgent leather seating allows one to relax and unwind while enjoying their favorite cigar, after-dinner drink or specialty cocktail. Two large plasma televisions embrace the walls for the sports enthusiast. Full Seasonal Menu available daily.

Parking Details:
Cioppino offers FREE validated parking in the building parking garage as well as COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING after 5pm Daily at Our Entrance Located On the Corners of 23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street in the Historic Strip DIstrict of Pittsburgh.

Executive Chef:
Robert Laskowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Live Music In Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday Through Saturday Evening From 7pm - 11pm Nightly! No Cover.

Private Dining

Private Dining Available For Presentations, Corporate Gatherings Or Personal Celebrations! Private Dining Room Accommodates (30) Seated Guests And Offers Complimentary Onsite A/V Capabilities. Private Dining Menus Are Diverse Offering Vegetarian, Vegan And Gluten-Free Options Upon Request.

Cioppino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
See All
Romantic (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pork chop is amazing! And I love the cig ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Pork chop is amazing! And I love the cigar bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

My girlfriend ordered the lamb and it wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My girlfriend ordered the lamb and it was virtually uncooked. She had me take a bite and I struggled to keep it down. At one point I joked about feeling like a wolf eating a fresh kill because of the absolute raw nature of the food. I ordered the cioppino which I thought would be a standard bouillabaisse which ended up having a very dull flavor. On top of the lack of flavor the clams and mussels did not seem fresh. The meal was sub par for the price that they were charging and maybe that's the reason there were only two other tables filled. The service and drinks were great and so was our waitress other than that, well below average. They did provide a free cake at the end because it was a special occasion. Good gesture bad taste and consistency. I have never written a review for a restaurant before and the only reason I did was because I recieved 5 emails telling me to do so. Be careful what you ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food. Only disappointment was the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great food. Only disappointment was the corn fritters. They had no flavor. Waiter could have circled back a few more times with the bread basket. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing service from the darling hostess ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Amazing service from the darling hostess to the server, great food, and very accommodating to my Mom who has Celiac's Disease!! Our waiter was very friendly and recommended a great bottle of wine for the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite service by friendly knowledgea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Exquisite service by friendly knowledgeable waitress. Excellent wine and cocktail list, good daily/ seasonal offerings. Food was terrific. Dessert was off the charts excellent for all 3 of us having different ones. A great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had high expectations but walked away di ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had high expectations but walked away disappointed.

Problems started when we walked into a not crowded bar and stood for several minutes while the bartenders washed glasses and talked to each other. Feeling ignored we hunted down the hostess station and were able to get our table a little earlier than our reservation time.

Things seemed fine as our waitress came straight over, our wine came promptly, and we ordered in a very timely fashion. From that point on things went south. The Caesar salads were pre-made with soggy croutons. The bread came only after the salads were cleared. Entrees were well past due when the waitress finally came to explain that the delay was due to them running out of asparagus and haricot vert would be substituted. This was acceptable and a second round of wine was ordered. By the time said second round was gone we had not only not received our sea bass, our waitress hadn't come anywhere near our table.

Last straw being broken we went to the hostess station to pay for our wine and leave. Our apologetic waitress was produced and informed us that our orders were being plated as we spoke. But when I informed that we preferred to leave she immediately let us know that everything was taken care of and we were sent on our way free of charge.

Cioppino was highly recommended, and in the end they did the right thing by us. Hopefully they just had a bad night. Even so I'm not sure that we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Just a great value. Cocktail was excelle ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Just a great value. Cocktail was excellent, as was the pairing with the entree. Kale salad (which I unintentionally ordered) was great. Duck was excellent, though the accompanying grains had a bit much butter. The apple crunch was good, but least inspiring. Maybe add some apricot to liven up the dish.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

It was my very first time but a friend r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

It was my very first time but a friend referred Cioppino for my boyfriends 40th as he is a cigar bar buff. The food was excellent as well as the service and the cigar bar was the perfect atmosphere for both women and men.

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeremy provided excellent service, very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Jeremy provided excellent service, very attentive! . His wine selection was spot on! A litle too much noise(concrete floors and a wall with large glass and metal windows not very accoustic) however the delicious food overrides the noise. We will be back!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing evening...Food was wonderful and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Amazing evening...Food was wonderful and the cigar bar is heaven!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was accommodating with ch ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The restaurant was accommodating with changing our reservation to a little later then what available on the app. The staff was welcoming and pleasant! We ordered grilled octopus which was well prepared and tasted great! Wine list was reasonable. I had a NY Strip for dinner and didn't leave a bite. It was fantastic! My father had the Chilean Seabass and he was very pleased as well!

We went next door for a cigar and after dinner drink with some dessert. Very cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I recently dined at Cioppino and it was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I recently dined at Cioppino and it was great. It wasn't that busy yet but it was earlier in the evening. The service is outstanding. Everyone is very attentive (without being annoying) and apps as well as food were great. I had the scallops with lobster risotto and everything was seasoned very well and tasted great. My sister had the Chilean sea bass and she said her dinner was great too. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant, we were celebra ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a great restaurant, we were celebrating birthdays and they personalized the menus with our names. How fun! Waitress was great with a sense of humor. Thanks for a fabulous night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having been her many times we noticed th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Having been her many times we noticed the food was different and realized the chef we liked is no longer here . We have followed Chef Greg Alauzen throughout his career . Still a nice meal , but his touch is missed and portions are smaller . Nice atmosphere and good , but slow service was our experience .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We dine at high end restaurants frequent ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We dine at high end restaurants frequently, so we were disappointed with Cioppino. Food mediocre. House special, Pork Chop was undercooked and served with only mashed potatoes. Any other side dish was extra. The one bright spot was the impeccable service received from Dominic. He didn't rush us but seemed to always appear when we needed him.

My husband was looking forward to enjoying an after dinner cigar, but the room was smelled like stale cigars (yes, I know it's a cigar room). Definatly need to upgrade their ventilation system.

Overpriced for the caliber of food. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

This is a fabulous restaurant that alway ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant that always has delicious food and friendly service. The bar has live music which may seem loud, but it never interferes with restaurant dining. Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

2nd visit this year. Chilean Sea Bass o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

2nd visit this year. Chilean Sea Bass outstanding, Crab Cakes and Pasta dish so so. For the expense, expect all dishes to be top notch

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food and amazing service even ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very good food and amazing service even down to the personalized menu to make a birthday special

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there! Took the wife here for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

First time there! Took the wife here for her birthday! Everything was great from food to the service! We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've frequent Cioppino often. It's a gr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We've frequent Cioppino often. It's a great place. They always have very good specials. Saturday nights can get loud because of the live band but I won't complain. Staff is always helpful and fun. I highly suggest trying this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite dishes ever is Cioppi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of my favorite dishes ever is Cioppino so while on a trip to Pittsburgh, we went to Cioppino where I assumed there would be outstanding seafood and ciappino. The green salad was mediocre- dressed with cheap red wine vinegar- unappetizing. The lobster risotto was mediocre- tough pieces of lobster in a small bowl of watery risotto. The halibut special was excellent. Unfortunately, the cioppino was incredibly salty and any flavors from the fish and shellfish was obscured. I am sure that it would be much better if the chef would cut way back on the salt. The setting is quite unattractive- dark, poorly furnished- no charm whatsoever. Looks like an old steakhouse not like a modern higher-end restaurant. No millenials in site. Do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

My wife and I went to Ciopinno for our a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I went to Ciopinno for our anniversary. The food was great but the service was outstanding. Our server was named Carrie Campbell, hands down, she was the best server we have had at any restaurant. We could not put it in words how remarkable her personality and service was. We will definitely be back and will be requesting Carrie as our server

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I always enjoy our meals at ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy our meals at Cioppino. Ron, our usual and requested server is always excellent and bring a wealth of knowledge to his robust and delicious descriptions of the food and drink. The live music was also excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The seafood was expertly prepared and th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The seafood was expertly prepared and the service was excellent

Can't wait to return

I would recommend this to anyone who wants the freshest fish dishes

Imagineable

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time. Went for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great time. Went for our anniversary. Very quiet as expected for a Monday evening. Had the full attention of the server, who was excellent. Food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely restaurant but pricey! The che ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2016

A lovely restaurant but pricey! The cheese plate appetizer left much to be desired!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely fantastic dinner to celebrate ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dinner to celebrate our anniversary. Our server was outstanding and mentioned he was in training as the new sommelier. I gave him a price point and our likely entrees and he returned with a perfect wine that paired very well with our tastes and meals. The food was, in a word, exceptional. The restaurant even took the time to surprise us with personalized menus to take home to remember the night and a sumptuous ice cream cake for dessert. Cap it all off with a cigar in the amazing attached lounge and it was a perfect evening. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but the trademark Cio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was good, but the trademark Ciopinno was not quite the portion I remembered.

It would be nice if the happy hour special were honored in the dining area. The crowd was so light, I don't see why it would be an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First time in the cigar bar. Loved the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time in the cigar bar. Loved the restaurant and finally trying the cigars. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and the whiskey with the cigar. The flame throwers....i mean lighters are impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, excellent service in a great ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food, excellent service in a great location. Cioppino did not disappointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place!! I try to go as regular ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Love this place!! I try to go as regularly as I can, never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

had to wait over a half hour to be seate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 31, 2016

had to wait over a half hour to be seated even though we had a reservation. great live music in the bar area and delicious meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Unfortunately the food was bland and the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately the food was bland and the Cioppino was we would have thought was the signature dish was small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

great cocktails, amazing food, and atten ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

great cocktails, amazing food, and attention to details makes for a truly enjoyable dining experience...and the service cannot be beat, especially if Ron is taking care of you!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ribeye was overdone, the bass was un ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The ribeye was overdone, the bass was under done and the fried zucchini was bar food. Very disappointed. Did hear the chef was recently fired and they are going through transition. Hopefully they figure it out soon as Ben, the somm, is fantastic, and Dana in the cigar bar does a great job with recommendations. The cigar bar and wine list are reason alone to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Wonderful food beautiful presentation & ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful food beautiful presentation & great wait staff-

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & Service were excellent. Great ja ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food & Service were excellent. Great jazz in the lounge was a nice bonus after. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pretty much everything about Cioppino wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Pretty much everything about Cioppino was excellent. Our server was extremely attentive and informed, yet not annoying in the least. The food was good, but not great. Some dishes were very tasty and others fell a little short. The only complaint is that the bathrooms and portions of the restaurant area smelled very strongly of the cigar smoke from the adjacent cigar bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Was in town for the US Open golf and tri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was in town for the US Open golf and tried this based on Open Table reviews. We were looking for an above average place for a nice family meal. Perhaps it was an off night, but the service was pretty poor and the wait staff seemed undermanned. Food quality was average at best, and for the menu pricing not worth it. Oysters were just ok, and halibut main entree was served lukewarm. Wine prices were very expensive as well. A good, standard NZ Sauvignon Blanc was $45 and that was the cheapest on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

WE were visiting Pittsburgh and chose Ci ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2016

WE were visiting Pittsburgh and chose Cioppino for its single malt scotch selection. The place was lovely and the service was outstanding right from the start with its complimentary valet parking. Our waiter was great. The only complaint I have is that once a table of 5 sat next to us we could barely hear. Then in the next room a live jazz band started to play. At that point I could barely hear my husband. The music was fantastic though - it was all just too loud in combination. When we left the restaurant the valet attendant actually ran to get our car. Wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.