Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Cioppino Restaurant and Cigar Bar

Seasonal dinner menu featuring fresh seafood, hand-cut steaks and chops house fare. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free friendly.

Happy Hour, Monday-Friday, from 5pm – 7pm, within the Bar Lounge Area offering 1/2 Off Select Bar Food Items, $5 House Wines By The Glass, 1/2 Off Draft Beers and a $5 Feature Cocktail. Live Music - Thursday - Saturday, 7-11pm Daily. Our extensive wine list features over (250) domestic and international labels and was awarded the 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator magazine. Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar. Wind down after a long day by enjoying a selection from our collection of over (300) whiskeys. Onsite humidor houses our premium cigar collection. Personal selections welcome at no additional fee.

Complimentary Valet Parking is offered after 5pm daily.

Private Dining Available for Groups of Up to (30) Seated Guests As Well As Large Standing Cocktail Receptions.

2350 Railroad Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed
Bar Lounge And Cigar Bar Open At 4pm Daily, Monday - Saturday

Cross Street:
23rd Street and Railroad Street Off Smallman Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6593

Website:
http://www.cioppinogroup.com/

Entertainment:
Join Us For the best in Live Music offered within Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday - Saturday!

Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar featuring our premium cigar collection, as well as our collection of over (300) whiskeys. The rich mahogany surroundings and indulgent leather seating allows one to relax and unwind while enjoying their favorite cigar, after-dinner drink or specialty cocktail. Two large plasma televisions embrace the walls for the sports enthusiast. Full Seasonal Menu available daily.

Parking Details:
Cioppino offers FREE validated parking within the 24th Street parking garage situated above our location, as well as COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING after 5pm Daily at Our Entrance Located On The Corners of 23rd and Smallman Streets.

Executive Chef:
Robert Laskowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monday -
Half Priced Wine Night
-Over (30) Bottled Favorites Priced At 1/2 Off
Manhattan Monday
-$2 Off All Manhattan Cocktails Within The Cigar Bar All Evening

Tuesday-
Dollar Oyster Night
-$1 Oysters/$4 Prosecco By The Glass Within The Bar Lounge And Cigar Bar All Evening

Wednesday-
UnCorked Wednesday
-Corkage Fee Waived When Dining In Our Dining Room

Live Music In Our Bar Lounge Area Every Thursday Through Saturday Evening From 7pm - 11pm Nightly! No Cover.

Private Dining

Private Dining Available For Presentations, Corporate Gatherings Or Personal Celebrations! Private Dining Room Accommodates (30) Seated Guests And Offers Complimentary Onsite A/V Capabilities. Private Dining Menus Are Diverse Offering Vegetarian, Vegan And Gluten-Free Options Upon Request.

Cioppino Restaurant and Cigar Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (12)
Live Music (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was terrific and cooked as ordered. The server was outstanding, knowledgeable about menu and recommendations. Very attentive and never forgot about us. Will go again!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Overall I was pleased. The table where we were sat was right next to the hallway where the kitchen is located. My chair was bumped about 10 times. Annoying but the food was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food at Cioppinos is exceptional, both in the main room and the cigar bar, which is a great place to hang out for a less formal experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Met good friend for dinner. Awesome food. Fantastic service. One of the best Zins I've had in quite a while. Had cigars in the cigar bar afterwards. Great smokes and 20 yr old Tawny port. All around great night.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

First time. Very nice restaurant. Good for business conversation. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Authentic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A group of 6 friends chose Cioppino to celebrate all of our birthdays. Each one of us enjoyed a magnificent meal. The salads were delicious & many different types were offered to satisfy everyone's preference. Cioppino is at the top of my list for excellent food and service. My 5 friends were all In agreement. Carrie our server was informative, patient, and provided us with excellent service. Pastry chef Meghann created a special chocolate raspberry birthday cake for our table. Collectively we had a delicious birthday celebration thanks to Cioppino & Co.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Was very good and had a quaint atmosphere. Would not suggest small children, which makes it ideal for professionals or a date night! Food was amazing and plenty of options for gluten sensitives like myself!! The wine list was quite exceptional as well! Staff was friendly and service was fairly quick. Did not check out the cigar bar. Had no interest in that.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We went with friends that had never been before. They were interested in the Cigar Bar and how it looked. We had four excellent meals. Preparation was great and presentation was very well done. We were there on a "snow day" so there were only a few other people in the restaurant that evening. We had very attentive service. Only detractor was that they had only one bottle of the wine we ordered, so we had to make do with a second choice for the second bottle - not as good.
We had not been in over a year, but it was just as good as we remembered. We had a great evening.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service was excellent. The dessert menu was fantastic. My 2 criticisms would be that it was freezing cold sitting by an exterior window and the band at the bar was a little too loud. They were good but the noisr traveled too much into the dining room for my taste. Overall I'd definitely recommend though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Service was VERY slow. Waited over an hour for our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The ambiance was great but the service was very slow and the food was mediocre

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food. Had the Duck & seafood was very good... the only down fall was the bar area was booked and fully reserve and couldn't listen to any jazz. Otherwise had a great time in the cigar bar after dinner....

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First time for me and my husband. It was his birthday. A nice touch personalizing the menu with Happy Birthday. Staff very friendly and helpful . We shared octopus app. , it was yummy, he had a wedge salad, I had the bisque, abut too salty for my liking, he had the sea bass and I had shrimp cocktails, a very generous portion. We will definitely come back. Would like to sit in the lounge next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dinner with my children. Waiter(Josh I believe) was amazing, very patient and attentive with the children. My son had sliders from the bar menu. Daughter had seafood risotto and loved it. I had the scallops and crab bisque. We came in at 5 and had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our dinner was actually very good; the food was well prepared. However, our service was a little off and the place seemed somewhat empty. At one point, I asked a waiter to refill my water glass but he failed to refill anyone else. Kind of weird. Music was good.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is my fiancé and my favorite place for special occasions. They take such special care of us and really go above and beyond to make each visit special. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is one of my favs, the food and the service is amazing. Ask for Carrie!!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food and pleasant wait staff. It's always a nice atmosphere there. The hostesses were very pleasant and one actually bothered to use my name again when she inquired about the experience at the end of the evening. Live music in the bar. A good evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The veal and lobster special was excellent-what a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Although I enjoyed the cheese plate, I would recommend adding olives or more fruit. The cheeses were good. I had the Chilean Sea Bass Oscar. I enjoyed the Sea Bass (high quality), but was expecting more crab. The dish was also on the cold side. I never send food back, so I ate it anyway. My boyfriend had the strip steak and enjoyed it. There also was a band in the front bar area, which was pretty loud. I probably should have paid attention to that when I made the reservation, so next time I will be checking to make sure it won't be as loud. Overall, I was happy with the meal, but not completely impressed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love Cioppino. One of our favorites in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Could have been great but had horrible service. We were seated in the bar with bad 90s music and loud people at a table that was wobbly and rented for the weekend. They delivered our appetizer to the wrong table them tried to give it to us off of the other table. We asked for a new one. The waiter mentioned they were going to bring bread. Didn't get the bread until we were almost done with our meals. Would have been better if I got seated in the dining room. Wanted that ambiance. After dinner went to the cigar bar. My partner enjoyed the whiskey menu. Won't go back to the restaurant but probably will go to the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Made reservations to celebrate my husbands & best friends birthday as this is one of our favorite restaurants. Had a great dinner & the restaurant made it special by making a "happy" birthday message on the menu as well as a birthday treat after our meal. Great service & great food. Service is top-notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I had our first date night in months and chose Cioppino. We could not have been happier with our choice! Our server Carrie was amazing. She helped us make our dinner choices; I had the filet and added a crab cake because I couldn't choose and my husband had the sea scallops. The filet melted like butter in your mouth and the crab cake was ALL jumbo lump crab! Our drinks were perfection and our service was excellent. We will def be back for our next date night!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a great dining experience. Food, service, cocktails are the best in Pittsburgh. Carrie our server made suggestions that were spot on. Since we were celebrating a few birthdays, complimentary desserts were provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We normally eat in the lounge because we live the jazz music. Perhaps, not fair to rate the service because it is more lounge than restaurant. We order from the main menu normally, the food is very good. The wine selection is more than adequate. The best is the music and the cigar bar. We are there most Friday nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nothing special for what you pay. Had a drink in the lounge beforehand. Could be a cool place but the concrete floors and worn out furniture, along with the 80s music playing before the jazz band started was disappointing. The sea bass was great but the signature cioppino was a huge disappointment. Let me just say, it left me looking for scraps from others plates as there wasn't much there. A couple clams, a couple mussels, a crab claw with little meat, one shrimp and one scallop. Lots of competition out there so I don't see this place making it at this rate. Server was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Service was excellent! Food👌🏼! Will be back when I'm in the are.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Andy the bartender is great. Very knowledgeable and fun to have behind the bar.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Brought my fiancé here for his birthday. The experience was great!! The food and drinks were amazing. First time going there and we will be back! Cigar bar was very nice, too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Six of us (2 with gluten free needs) met for a wedding anniversary gathering. Six different meals, and all raved about the food quality, as well as our server Ron's great service. They even had menus personalized for the occasion for all of the participants. I have eaten at dozens of Pittsburgh restaurants, and would recommend to all to drive the extra 12 blocks from town to enjoy this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cigar room service was considerably better than dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great night out, excellent food and service. Outstanding atmosphere all around. Cigar bar had an excellent selection of cigars and spirits. A must go for any true fine dining enthusiast.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Octopus appetizer was not up to their standard. Although it was very tender, it was a bit fishy (needed to be marinated in lemon?). The main courses were outstanding! Wine was just ok.

Would do it again, but order a. It differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We always enjoy dinner at cioppino, great service , great selection of wines and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Girlfriend had a great birthday. Food was amazing. We're highly satisfied customers. Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food. Dining for two easily 80.00 dollars plus. Cigar bar very nice, just be sure to ask for pricing. Ordered a thirty dollar cigar without knowing. Extensive wie, whiskey, brandy/cognac list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Very good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Pork chop is amazing! And I love the cigar bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My girlfriend ordered the lamb and it was virtually uncooked. She had me take a bite and I struggled to keep it down. At one point I joked about feeling like a wolf eating a fresh kill because of the absolute raw nature of the food. I ordered the cioppino which I thought would be a standard bouillabaisse which ended up having a very dull flavor. On top of the lack of flavor the clams and mussels did not seem fresh. The meal was sub par for the price that they were charging and maybe that's the reason there were only two other tables filled. The service and drinks were great and so was our waitress other than that, well below average. They did provide a free cake at the end because it was a special occasion. Good gesture bad taste and consistency. I have never written a review for a restaurant before and the only reason I did was because I recieved 5 emails telling me to do so. Be careful what you ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.