About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (71)
good for groups (62)
neighborhood gem (55)
See All
special occasion (46)
romantic (45)
vibrant bar scene (37)
hot spot (32)
great for brunch (31)
notable wine list (26)
great for outdoor dining (20)
kid-friendly (10)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (6)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3

Great spot for food and drinks both outs ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Great spot for food and drinks both outside and inside. Patio is perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

always great to be back, nice place for ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

always great to be back, nice place for brunch, only place which help us get a table for party of 10 the night before. Fennel sausage was great, eggs and ricotta, hazelnut crespelle, and truffled polenta were high lights of our brunch.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

First night outside last Friday- bartend ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

First night outside last Friday- bartender was awesome. Have the mussels and the octopus and the tagliatelle bolognese pasta

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall, service was great. There were a ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Overall, service was great. There were a couple of times however when someone would come by and try to clear plates without asking if we were finished with them yet, and in one case we weren't. Felt like we were being rushed a little. But our overall experience was awesome! We will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server Bobby Hurley was outstanding. ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The server Bobby Hurley was outstanding. The veal was excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Will absolutely be back!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was good - nothing completely new and different and not as good as some of the notable Italian eateries in Boston, but solidly good. The ambiance is what wins! It's really cool inside and the outdoor areas will be awesome in warmer weather.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good. I go there every week. Serv ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Always good. I go there every week. Service is great and the team is so friendly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The food here is excellent. Haven't had a bad meal yet. I have enjoyed both brunch and dinner. We took our granddaughter and the staff was very helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service. Delicious food.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful service. Delicious food.

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was OK for price. Wait staff was ni ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was OK for price. Wait staff was nice but overall absent minded, kept forgetting to refill water and coffee, had be reminded bring sugar and milk.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was amazing!! Especially artichoke ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Good was amazing!! Especially artichoke hearts and ricotta appetizer. I had the veal chop cooked to perfection. Melted in my mouth and seasonings were delicious. The bolognase was scrumptious. We eat there often and the food is consistently delicious. Great wine selection

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice apps

Dined on March 30, 2016

Group enjoyed apps. Artichokes and Brussel sprouts crispy and tasty. Excellent Cosmo as usual here. Overall very good bartenders. Only negative was lack of friendliness of host. Not a smile or warm greeting. Not a nice way to start an evening. But recovered and was an overall nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Local Find

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Veal Chop was excellent as well as the oysters

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time, but not last...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our first time at this gem, we will be back for sure. The food was great, the server was attentive, and the staff is pleasant. Hard to single out anything on the menu, but the fried baby artichoke hearts should not be missed. Noise level can be improved.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The salmon and tiramisu were delicious!

Dined on March 23, 2016

The salmon and tiramisu were delicious!

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, little pricey though

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food, little pricey though

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reunion spot

Dined on March 19, 2016

A group of college friends chose to meet here after reading good reviews and finding that they could accommodate our party at a peak time. Also, they have free parking which was key for those driving into Boston. Cinquecento exceeded our expectations with friendly, attentive service and delicious food. Each of us loved our appetizers, salads and entrees. I didn't try the lobster, but those who ordered it were very happy. The atmosphere was fun and friendly (again), which made for an overall 5 star experience.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on March 18, 2016

My friend and I went for Dine Out Boston dinner and the entrance confused us a little as it was our first time here. We had no idea we had to walk upstairs for a good five seconds. Afterwards, we were quickly greeted and seated. The lighting is too dim to really see the menu properly. The food was delicious and the service was very good. We would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here many times, has always be ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

I've been here many times, has always been great. Food is delicious but the reliably very courteous service is what puts it over the top for me.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food, lackluster service

Dined on March 13, 2016

I've been to this restaurant two times, both times for brunch. Our first visit was during the summer of 2015 and was fantastic, we sat outside, the food was wonderful and the service was attentive without being pushy. Recently we visited again for brunch, and while the food was still on point, we had to waive our waitress several times, to take our order, twice to refill our coffees, really the only time she was prompt was in handing us the check. It put quite a dampener on an otherwise wonderful brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Fun vibe.

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my high school and college aged sons here for a special occasion and we very much enjoyed ourselves. Two of us are serious "foodies" and found multiple dishes to be excellent. One of the boys found the portions too small... a caution if that's your situation... but I found the portion sizes fine for myself. Dishes of note included a wild boar/gnocchi dish, a sashimi style fish appetizer, and an impressively meaty veal tenderloin dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4

Great meals. Weak desserts. No Califor ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Great meals. Weak desserts. No California Wines.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have eaten here many times, very good fo ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Have eaten here many times, very good food &service. It is loud and the music makes it worse. You end up trying to talk over the din and the music and surrounding customers, so the noise level just rises to the point of, I think it's time to leave!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on March 5, 2016

My great experience with this restaurant started much earlier in the day. I had made reservations for a party of 6 but additional friends showed up for the weekend. I made multiple calls to Adam who was polite and accommodating. He was able to to arrange an oval jury rigged arrangement (that I liked better than sitting at a long narrow table.) Everyone from coat check to table staff was attentive to our crowd. The food was good and we were able to have a great friends reunion...!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Food great..service below average

Dined on March 5, 2016

Had dinner for my husband's birthday. Food was good, but our waiter was very unattentive. Watched as other tables, with different servers, get exceptional service, but I think we saw our server once between start and finish. If I go back, I would hope we don't get same waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Saturday or Sunday brunch restaurant

Dined on March 5, 2016

This place is a hidden jem in the south end!!!!! It is a fantastic place!!! They also validate parking!!! We went on a Saturday and the food and service was fantasic !!! We made a reservation, but the restaurant still would have been able to accomodate us!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience........

Dined on February 28, 2016

Wonderful Sunday brunch. Food and Service were fantastic. Special thanks to our server PHIL for going such an awesome job. Going above and beyond! Thank you - we'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I've now had the Ciccioli twice in a row ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I've now had the Ciccioli twice in a row. My one guest also ordered it and we both thought that the dish was outstanding! The flavors were delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster pasta special was amazing.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

The lobster pasta special was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad we live close by!

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Great vibe inside and fantastic italian food! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service Great Food!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went here for Valentines Day dinner. The ambiance of the restaurant was great, they had an awesome play list and the staff was very friendly. We had a little mishap with one of our appetizers and the manager came over, got us a new appetizer and two rounds of drinks on the house. Overall the food was amazing, we got Shrimp Risotto and Chicken which were both delicious. The warm ricotta is an amazing appetizer and great wine list. Getting handed a rose on my way out was a nice touch too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

There heat was out on a cold day, but th ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

There heat was out on a cold day, but the food was enjoyable.

food4
ambience2
service3

We will definitely be back, the food was ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We will definitely be back, the food was good and the server was attentive. Unfortunately, the restaurant's heating system was unable to keep up with the below zero temperatures outside and we - like many other diners - ended up eating with coats and hats on. I don't fault the staff for this, the weather is tough, but perhaps it would have been best to call and let people know? The servers were freezing too, somehow that just didn't seem fair. Looking forward to a great, comfortable experience next time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for "Legend" as ur server...Erik is ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Ask for "Legend" as ur server...Erik is great

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Keeps getting better

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Had a fantastic dinner with excellent food and a friendly staff. Rigatoni is my new favorite dish but love so many options. Great selection of wines to taste in different sizes. A little too crowded for a romantic, intimate meal, but lots of fun nonetheless for date-night or a group of friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Entrees came out in about 5-7 minutes af ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Entrees came out in about 5-7 minutes after ordering. That leads me to believe food is precooked and just warmed as people order it. Food was very overpriced for the quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time here. Excellent service, cool ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

First time here. Excellent service, cool decor and vibe. Drinks were great, food was delicious! This is definitely a new favorite place!

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food -ridiculous noise level

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Too bad that really a really excellent, including appetizer, entree and wine, is marred by a noise level that forces one to shout. We left the restaurant with hoarse throats.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything about the restaurant was very ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

Everything about the restaurant was very good expect a bit pricy for the type food. Very convenient spot with free & ample parking in the evening. This is a plus for a South End spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.