About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Romantic (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Casual (13)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (9)
Authentic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have eaten here in the past and thought ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Have eaten here in the past and thought the food was good. However, this time I was quite disappointed. We came for a Sunday brunch. The food was not hot nor was it even tasty except for the "ricotta balls' which are always good. The "special" was an exceptionally small portion of food and was served with a crusty dry bread. I must say that the server was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

great meal. Restaurant has taken care o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

great meal. Restaurant has taken care of the noise issue so it's possible to communicate with larger groups of friends without shouting while still feeling a good deal of energy and liveliness.

Food was great, including dessert and there's enough variety to satisfy folks with a wide range of tastes and preferences. Wine list is more than adequate and service is friendly without being annoying or officious. Strongly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Cinquecento is one of my favorite restau ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Cinquecento is one of my favorite restaurants. I highly recommend the rigatoni norcia!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was lacking. Several repeat req ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was lacking. Several repeat requests to the staff went unmet. Very good food, but for the price, the service should not miss a beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The octopus was amazing....best I ever h ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The octopus was amazing....best I ever had. The pastas were also very good. Great ambiance and a pleasant and engaging attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, very Italian, but Brussels sp ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious, very Italian, but Brussels sprouts and artichokes too salty-ask for less--and cooked a bit past perfect. Lobster risotto was outstanding. Bread was fantastic. I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

nice surprise, high quality would go bac ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

nice surprise, high quality would go back again,plates on the smaller side so do not be afraid to order a bunch of things

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, a fabulous evening at Cinquec ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

As always, a fabulous evening at Cinquecento!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had asked for a relatively quiet tabl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had asked for a relatively quiet table and they went out of their way to give us a great spot. Also, the bartender and waitstaff were particularly friendly and nice. Generous sized glasses of wine and a menu varied enough for fish or pasta lovers. And the parking was free!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten here a few times, and this w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've eaten here a few times, and this was the best. The food is great: the octopus was perfect and the gnocchi were soft and amazing. The ambiance is romantic but lively. Wine list is a little pricey, but there are some great wines and the staff is willing to work within our price range. Great place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Cinquecento and have been many ti ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I love Cinquecento and have been many times, but this time was a little disappointing. My friend was a vegetarian, and I asked if any of the entrees could be alerted, to which the server said no. I kindly asked him to ask the chef and the chef said try this one pasta. While everything else was great, it felt that they were not willing to get even a little creative. Kind of a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent service with extensive wine li ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent service with extensive wine list and tasty food is sure to please most for any occasion. enjoyed the fried artichoke hearts, beef Carpaccio and arugula salad. Seafood (Mussels, Scallops, Lobster Risotto and Sea Bass) were done to perfection. Italian pasta dishes also were tasty and satisfying. Outstanding service definitely stood out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was virtually non-existent. We w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Waiter was virtually non-existent. We waited forever for our food and drinks. Food was flavorless and unappealing. This place has gone downhill fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Amazing time! Food was great and service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing time! Food was great and service was as well! Went with a party of 6 and everyone was ranting and raving about t!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant had been recommended by a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The restaurant had been recommended by a close friend who suggested that it was one of the best Italian restaurants in Boston with convenient (free) parking. The atmosphere was great. It was a little noisy but not so bad that we could not carry on a conversation. The food was good, not great, particularly for the prices. Perhaps we chose the wrong items on the menu, but we asked the waitress for her suggestions first.

We probably will not run back here.

But it is certainly something that you should try, as it was packed on the Saturday night that we went!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food. A real pity that noise leve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great food. A real pity that noise level so overwhelming that it makes conversation impossible! Even a small table for two meant shouting. I left with a sore throat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love coming. Love the vibe, even ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always love coming. Love the vibe, even if it's a bit too loud sometimes.

Having free parking in Boston is an extra bonus.

The veal chop special was amazing. So tender. Wish it was a staple there.

Can never say enough how warm and friendly the staff is.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It's a nice space with ok pasta. I had C ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It's a nice space with ok pasta. I had Carbonara which was ok but a far cry from a Roman Trattoria. I went there for brunch so maybe it's better on a normal day but realistically either you can or cannot make a good Carbonara.

This is an ok spot for American Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Made reservation for 5. Arrived - was g ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made reservation for 5.

Arrived - was greeted and promptly seated.

Place is very inviting- loft vibe.

Service was terrible. Server was very nice but obviously either overwhelmed or new. Took forever to come to table to take drink/juice coffee orders. Waited forever for him to return with weak coffee and a thimble of 1/2 and 1/2 that didn't even make it around the table. Never came back with juice or prosecco which we had to ask for again 35 minutes later.

Menu is appealing with lots of nice sounding brunch options. Order took a bit longer than you'd expect, but was accurate. Only beef was everything was lukewarm.

We also had to beg for coffee/water refills.

Manager or host bald guy with glasses was 10 feet away from us and never bothered to check on us - when it was obvious server needed help. He was crouched down behind podium for an unusually long period of time on his cell phone while restaurant seemed to sink around him.

Wanted to like it, but service was very poor. Ironically server asked us to complete survey??? Again he was super nice - just either new or NOT good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Food is always excellent. Sandra is an o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food is always excellent.

Sandra is an outstanding hostess.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

mediocre at best, way to noisy and the f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

mediocre at best, way to noisy and the food was interesting on the menu but not exceptional. In this town you better be on your game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my second visit since the resta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my second visit since the restaurant first opened a few years back and I enjoyed it even more. Cinquecento maintains an upbeat vibe that strikes a balance between casual and upscale dining. The service was very attentive and helpful and demonstrated enthusiasm for the menu items. The wine selection and prices were spot-on and we enjoyed the prosciutto and cheese 'salumi' prior to to our main meals which were the grilled sea bass special (for me) and Pollo al Mattone (for my husband). We'll certainly be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second brunch we have done there, and bo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Second brunch we have done there, and both were disappointing. Very odd selection, no substituting, food was not very good, and quantity was small. Bloody Mary's were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We go to Cinquecento frequently and whil ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We go to Cinquecento frequently and while we love the food and atmosphere, the service has been worse and worse lately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Food is incredible

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food is incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Cinquecento has become my 'go-to' restau ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Cinquecento has become my 'go-to' restaurant when I eat out with friends. And this night's meal exceeded my expectations. I ordered the grilled octopus--which I always order--and it was, as always, delicious, if short on the taggiasca olives. Then I had a half-order of the fettuccine with mushrooms and truffle butter. It was worth every calorie--creamy, rich, flavorful...Perfect. My dining companion had the mushroom soup and the salmon and declared both delicious. As if this wasn't enough, thanks to our server, we ordered the Brussels Sprouts cacio e pepe. Don't miss these! And to drink we had a bottle of Vermentino from the very good list of Italian wines. I can't wait to go again...in only a few weeks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was incredible and very good staff ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was incredible and very good staff - extermely attentive and knowledgable about the food and wine. Great design and ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. There server wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was delicious. There server was a delight. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had heard great things about Cinquece ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had heard great things about Cinquecento and were excited to try it out for dinner. We had only been here for brunch which was a better experience then we had for dinner. First impression was it has a great atmosphere which I think is better for groups because it's really loud. Just a heads up if you're looking for a more quiet dining experience. We were greeted quickly and our appetizer and entree arrived quickly and then the service went down hill. It was very hot in the restaurant and at this point we wanted to leave because it was unbearably hot so we decided to order our dessert to go. The check was brought and we paid and waited a long time after for our dessert which was forgotten about. I finally had to get up and go find our server to see where our dessert was. He was apologetic and brought an additional dessert as an apology which was very nice of him. But overall the whole experience was kind of disappointing. I'm bummed because it's great that there is parking and it has a great atmosphere but the service we received for our brunch and dinner here was slow. Maybe we just had 2 bad visits but it probably won't be on our list to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was fantastic as usual. However, we ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual. However, we had 8 people, and were put in a 4-6 people table in a very tight area, not only that it was not very comfortable for us, we literally were blocking the servers bringing foods to other patrons. Two of our friends were getting married, we particularly brought them among other friends to Cinquecento for a good time, but the seating situation ended up disappoint us a little. Nonetheless, everyone still really enjoyed the foods, only wished that they would have handled the seating situation a little better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I enjoyed the food and the ambience. Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I enjoyed the food and the ambience. The service was a bit spotty, our server seemed really distracted. For example he walked by 4 times before initially asking us if we wanted a drink. A food runner dropped off the food then it was 7 minutes before he came by to ask us if we wanted pepper or anything.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Willy was our server and he couldn't hav ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Willy was our server and he couldn't have been more attentive and accommodating during our recent visit. Willy has waited on us a few times & he is just outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner her ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner here. The service from our waitress Julia was attentive and very helpful. The entrees were impeccably prepared and presented. We had two separate veal dishes and both were outstanding.

We have this as a definite return location when we revisit Boston.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at 9:50 for a 10 pm dinner re ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We arrived at 9:50 for a 10 pm dinner reservation and sat at the bar to eat. We were told to hurry up because the kitchen closed in 5 minutes. Right after we ordered a woman sat down next to us and asked for a charcuterie plate and the bartender refused. She got up and left. I was amazed at how cold and off putting the staff were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

There was a lot of confusion when we sat ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

There was a lot of confusion when we sat down on who was waiting on us. Didn't have anyone stop at the table for about 15 minutes after we initially sat down. Once we placed our breakfast order (eggs), it took about 45+ minutes to receive when the restaurant was no where near full. Very weird experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Will never return. Pretty much the wors ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Will never return. Pretty much the worst lackluster service I've ever experienced. We had to ask for bread, rarely was a drink refilled, no one ever checked with us re the food,...I could keep going, but there's not enough space to note how bad this experience was. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Love the Italian 57 drink! Hope you will ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the Italian 57 drink! Hope you will have that all the time!!! As always great service, friendly, unpretentious; love the patio and outdoor bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Uninspiring food and service. Would not ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Uninspiring food and service. Would not rush back--if at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was outstanding! Servers were very ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was outstanding! Servers were very accommodating. We had a new server being trained but there was another server shadowing him making sure he got everything right. They offered to split our soup appetizer (Corn soup- amazingly delish and served nice and hot) and dessert (gelatto/sorbet Salted caramel was SO GOOD!) so we could both get a taste. I would absolutely go back. Two minor critiques: Music was a little too loud for easy conversing. The mango ginger sorbet was our least favorite dish only because we couldn't really taste the ginger. Still delicious for mango sorbet though. (I'm starting to sound like a judge on a food TV show :-/ ) Great place to meet friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trick was to eat alfresco, surrounded by ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Trick was to eat alfresco, surrounded by lush green trees and tables spread apart. None of the inside high decibel cacophony. Quite romantic and country-like. Of course, when cold weather returns, it's back to the deafening noise. As a bonus, the food was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.