About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (65)
good for groups (63)
neighborhood gem (62)
See All
special occasion (47)
romantic (42)
great for outdoor dining (38)
vibrant bar scene (33)
hot spot (32)
great for brunch (28)
notable wine list (22)
kid-friendly (10)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5

It is a lovely environment and perfect f ...

Dined a day ago

It is a lovely environment and perfect for a romantic dinner. The service was excellent. The appetizer was lackluster but the Bronzino was delicate and delicious.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The outdoor area as a bar and for dining ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The outdoor area as a bar and for dining are wonderful. The atmosphere is great as is the food. Both of the people I dined with agreed with me that the waiter we had, though good and efficient, had a condescending manner. We are three mature women, who had our drinks at the bar and were not sure why he had this aloof-ness. The food was great, as was the bartender and the manger (who assisted us with our leftover issue). We will go back but may ask for a different waiter. Unfortunately we did not get his name.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time to dine at Cinqu ...

Dined 5 days ago

This is the second time to dine at Cinquecento, but first time to enjoy the outdoor dining. I have been impressed with the food on both occasions. The indoor evening meal I enjoyed, was a bother, however to carry-on conversation with friends as it became very noisy as the early evening wore on. The outdoor accommodation is lovely in green surroundings. Also, one can choose to sit near the bar where there is background music and more energy or along the outer edges where it is much more conducive to talk and conversation. I will return to enjoy the outdoor accommodations and good food again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience5
service4

Main dishes much too salty. Will not ret ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Main dishes much too salty. Will not return

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Back again and as before everything was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Back again and as before everything was great. Perfect night for outdoor drinks, and parking in the South End to boot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been one time before, so good!! A ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I had been one time before, so good!! Awesome Kale salad, truffle butter pasta, Charcuterie and great desert. Yummy! Service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again I need to say how much I love ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Once again I need to say how much I love going to Cinquecento. We are recognized by the hostess every time we dine, which makes us feel special. The outdoor space is very small, but if you can grab it, it's fun to eat al fresco. The Bolognese is the best I've had and the other food is just plain excellent cooking. Not all of the dishes are super creative, but they are always well prepared. The polenta accompanying the special of the evening, the veal T-bone, was superb. We'll be back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A favorite GO TO neighborhood gem. Ser ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

A favorite GO TO neighborhood gem. Service always great. Saturday night we had Eric and Will. Eric is so knowledgeable and fun. Will was 3 days on the job and following in his footsteps. WOW! Love having option of booth. Gnocchi was light that my friends had. The pork chop entree was the best. Hope to be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

This was my first, but definitely not my ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was my first, but definitely not my last, visit here. The food and ambiance were excellent. Parking is free in the lot next door which is a great perk when going to a Boston restaurant. The only negative was the service. Our server was a very pleasant young man, but had only been a waiter for two weeks and it was very obvious that management had not trained him well. It is my understanding that the restaurant had a recent management change and, hopefully, this will be rectified soon. The restaurant is not inexpensive and you have the right to expect better service. All things considered, I would highly recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We have been going to Cinquecento for se ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been going to Cinquecento for several years. The fod is always well done but this last visit was marked by very poor and lackadaisical service.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

DELICIOSO!

Dined on June 9, 2016

I have eaten at Cinquecento several times before and the food is always good, which is why I go back. This time the food was great! Along with a glass of rosé, my friend and I each had the ravioli. They had a fava bean and, I think, ricotta stuffing and were served in a light buttery sauce. Surrounded with fresh, perfectly cooked favas and topped with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese, the ravioli were absolutely delicious.--a notch above some of the other pasta dishes I have had there. A notch below was the service--it was attentive, but lacked the warmth I used to in this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Outdoors is the way to go

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

The outdoor patio and bar is a lovely place to grab a drink before dinner. The heat lamps are a nice touch too for when the sun goes down. Octopus is very good- order it every time I go. The mussels are in a nice and spicy broth. Only downside is they seem to have trouble with staff- not sure if spread too thin or what. Ordered glass of wine and had to ask 3 times where it was. Ordered apps and entrees and it all came at once- not great timing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Our dining experiences at Cinquecento ar ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Our dining experiences at Cinquecento are always great. I would, however, recommend that the music volume be turned down a bit. It would allow diners to better hear themselves speak. Thanks! Mark

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Atmosphere and Eats

Dined on June 4, 2016

Title says it all. I highly recommend it for dates as the atmosphere is hip yet romantic. Food was incredible. I highly recommend the octopus appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

My review of the food is based solely on ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

My review of the food is based solely on the bolognese, it's the only meal I've tried here...but it's one of the best Italian dishes I've ever had!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Charming & Authentic

Dined on May 29, 2016

This place is in my Boston Top 20 right now... authentic Italian cuisine, great cocktails in a great room served heavy on the service and light on the pretense. And with free parking, in the South End. Can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Great spot for food and drinks both outs ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Great spot for food and drinks both outside and inside. Patio is perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

always great to be back, nice place for ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

always great to be back, nice place for brunch, only place which help us get a table for party of 10 the night before. Fennel sausage was great, eggs and ricotta, hazelnut crespelle, and truffled polenta were high lights of our brunch.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

First night outside last Friday- bartend ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

First night outside last Friday- bartender was awesome. Have the mussels and the octopus and the tagliatelle bolognese pasta

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall, service was great. There were a ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Overall, service was great. There were a couple of times however when someone would come by and try to clear plates without asking if we were finished with them yet, and in one case we weren't. Felt like we were being rushed a little. But our overall experience was awesome! We will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server Bobby Hurley was outstanding. ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The server Bobby Hurley was outstanding. The veal was excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Will absolutely be back!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was good - nothing completely new and different and not as good as some of the notable Italian eateries in Boston, but solidly good. The ambiance is what wins! It's really cool inside and the outdoor areas will be awesome in warmer weather.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good. I go there every week. Serv ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Always good. I go there every week. Service is great and the team is so friendly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The food here is excellent. Haven't had a bad meal yet. I have enjoyed both brunch and dinner. We took our granddaughter and the staff was very helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service. Delicious food.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful service. Delicious food.

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was OK for price. Wait staff was ni ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was OK for price. Wait staff was nice but overall absent minded, kept forgetting to refill water and coffee, had be reminded bring sugar and milk.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was amazing!! Especially artichoke ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Good was amazing!! Especially artichoke hearts and ricotta appetizer. I had the veal chop cooked to perfection. Melted in my mouth and seasonings were delicious. The bolognase was scrumptious. We eat there often and the food is consistently delicious. Great wine selection

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice apps

Dined on March 30, 2016

Group enjoyed apps. Artichokes and Brussel sprouts crispy and tasty. Excellent Cosmo as usual here. Overall very good bartenders. Only negative was lack of friendliness of host. Not a smile or warm greeting. Not a nice way to start an evening. But recovered and was an overall nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Local Find

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Veal Chop was excellent as well as the oysters

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time, but not last...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our first time at this gem, we will be back for sure. The food was great, the server was attentive, and the staff is pleasant. Hard to single out anything on the menu, but the fried baby artichoke hearts should not be missed. Noise level can be improved.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The salmon and tiramisu were delicious!

Dined on March 23, 2016

The salmon and tiramisu were delicious!

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, little pricey though

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food, little pricey though

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reunion spot

Dined on March 19, 2016

A group of college friends chose to meet here after reading good reviews and finding that they could accommodate our party at a peak time. Also, they have free parking which was key for those driving into Boston. Cinquecento exceeded our expectations with friendly, attentive service and delicious food. Each of us loved our appetizers, salads and entrees. I didn't try the lobster, but those who ordered it were very happy. The atmosphere was fun and friendly (again), which made for an overall 5 star experience.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on March 18, 2016

My friend and I went for Dine Out Boston dinner and the entrance confused us a little as it was our first time here. We had no idea we had to walk upstairs for a good five seconds. Afterwards, we were quickly greeted and seated. The lighting is too dim to really see the menu properly. The food was delicious and the service was very good. We would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here many times, has always be ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

I've been here many times, has always been great. Food is delicious but the reliably very courteous service is what puts it over the top for me.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food, lackluster service

Dined on March 13, 2016

I've been to this restaurant two times, both times for brunch. Our first visit was during the summer of 2015 and was fantastic, we sat outside, the food was wonderful and the service was attentive without being pushy. Recently we visited again for brunch, and while the food was still on point, we had to waive our waitress several times, to take our order, twice to refill our coffees, really the only time she was prompt was in handing us the check. It put quite a dampener on an otherwise wonderful brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Fun vibe.

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my high school and college aged sons here for a special occasion and we very much enjoyed ourselves. Two of us are serious "foodies" and found multiple dishes to be excellent. One of the boys found the portions too small... a caution if that's your situation... but I found the portion sizes fine for myself. Dishes of note included a wild boar/gnocchi dish, a sashimi style fish appetizer, and an impressively meaty veal tenderloin dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4

Great meals. Weak desserts. No Califor ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Great meals. Weak desserts. No California Wines.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have eaten here many times, very good fo ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Have eaten here many times, very good food &service. It is loud and the music makes it worse. You end up trying to talk over the din and the music and surrounding customers, so the noise level just rises to the point of, I think it's time to leave!!

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.