Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 32 times today

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

4.6
929 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 338-9500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Justin Winters
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

View Private Dining Details
What 929 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.3
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 3 days ago

It’s yesterday s pasta

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Good evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Love the outdoor seating, amazing service
And parking!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Tasty brunch out on the patio in the shade overlooking SOWA market- great spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating multiple events and were seated outside on a spectacular night. The service was timely and appropriate, the food was delicious and we were able to enjoy dinner at our pace without pressure

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Loved everything about Cinquecento Roman Trattoria! The food, service, and atmosphere was amazing! Our server Roger was the best!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Long time customer and had a very nice meal as usual.

My only complaint is that the host was a bit rude.

I was with friends at bar having a pre-dinner cocktail when we were approached to sit - 15 minutes before reservation time. Normally that's not a bad thing, but we had specifically arrived early to have a pre-dinner cocktail and catch-up. When I told the host that we were still having our drinks and would be over in 15 mins (at the res time) to be seated - his reply was "tables go quickly if you don't sit now I can't guarantee we'll have a place for you" (not verbatim, but pretty close). We then rushed our drinks and sat. Needless to say no one else was rushing in to grab all the tables on a Tuesday night and many remained empty throughout our dinner.

This host was young and I assume new, but the REAL fault here is with the restaurant manager who did not training him properly.

In the end, just a small bump on an otherwise nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Great food, great service and great outdoor table for perfect summer evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Ate here on a Friday night, very late, arrived at 10:30, and while we were informed that the kitchen would be closing at 11, they happily sat us and served us a delicious meal. We sat outdoors in the wonderful patio space, and the ambiance was delightful. We weren't even bothered by the gaggle of noisy drunks at the outdoor bar!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Service was excellent as always and the food outstanding. We dined outside.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Outdoor seating on a perfect evening was great. Service was too much - and I mean that not in a positive way - we had a waiter who kept trying to force us to toast every time he came around, tried to bully me into more expensive wine selections, and,uninvited, hugged one of our guests. Overbearing to the point of diminishing our enjoyment. The food is very average ho him Italian. Big on carbs. Clans were MIA from the linguini allá vongole, lobster lost taste and texture in the fra diablo, etc. Mediocre and uninspired.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The service was terrible. Our waiter made us feel forgotten. Took 25 mins to get anyone to even give us a menu. My pasta vongole was more water then pasta. Will never ever eat at this place again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Awful service
Not a busy night
Apps came before wine
Waiter brought bill we paid but sat at the table after dinner and GM came over to say he forgot wine on bill and asked us to pay. Truly EMBARRASSING and the restaurant should have eaten the cost of the wine after the truly horrible service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Had brunch here with family. Food was delicious, well prepared with healthy choices. Service equally very good. Overall great brunch while visiting SOWA market. Free parking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Wonderful experience as always. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and engaging, and the food was spectacular. Cinquecento continues to be our absolute favorite Italian restaurant in the city.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

I live in the neighborhood and have dined at Cinquecento multiple times and it never disappoints. I would highly recommend any pasta dish! Bolognese is AMAZING. Definitely rivals any restaurant in the North End.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Delicious appetizers and salads, no-nonsense genuine Italian food, restaurant vibe and decor super fun. Have been several times, never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Food was excellent however, service seemed a bit awkward and food took slightly longer than expected. Maybe just a new server; he seemed very young and was overly formal. All in all, the wine list was phenomenal and the food was delicious. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

After long time to be seated had to wait 10 minutes for menu and to be greeted by waiter then our food came but no silverware or napkins. Not okay.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Service person started with “no”
We made several requests and the answer was no but when urged to check, the answer changed to yes! Better to start with “let me check!”
Salad had truffle oil but not mentioned on description. Couldn’t eat it.(arugula, park and lemon) no mention of truffle oil.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Absolutely loved my time at Cinquecento. It’s one of my favorite spots in Boston and I’ll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Never experienced such poor service in all of my trips to dine there. After we sat day it was 10 minutes before anyone came to even bring water or ask if we wanted coffee, the same after we were ready to order and then the waiter totally disappeared when we were ready for the check.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Hostess was rude and never smiled. Sat our party with a dinner menu for brunch. Had to ask for the brunch prix fixe menu from the waiter, who was outstanding. Food was excellent, as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Pasta was under-cooked ...not just al dente...it was tough. Everything else was fine enough but nothing stood out as especially good or outstanding. Service was competent. Bread was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Second visit back to this wonderful restaurant and there will DEFINITELY be return visits. The service is impeccable and most notable was the friendly greeting made by each member of the service staff—hostess upon entering the dining room, our server who appeared at our table at just the right intervals, and the bus staff who seem to know precisely when to come to our table and clear dishes. Even as we left, each staff member made it a point to offer a sincere “thank you for coming”! Then, there is the food—OUTSTANDING!! We chose marinated olives and the steamed mussels and both were just right in flavor and quantity. And the bread (that can often seem to be a second thought at some restaurants) was fresh and irresistible and served with flavorful olive oil for dipping. One of us ordered the salmon which was cooked to perfection and the other two in our party ordered the statler chicken with vinegar peppers. We are every bit! We would’ve had dessert but the second basket of bread had filled us. Next visit, we will leave room to sample one of the delicious-sounding desserts. We are big fans!!! We think you will be too!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We had a wonderful birthday dinner here and the staff went above and beyond to make our meal a special one. The food and wine were both excellent with many delicious pasta dishes and some great appetizers (mussels!) too. Both the Bolognese and the crab pastas were a big hit. I would say the only downside was that the table (not one of the many booths) was a tight fit for 6 and the chairs were not very comfortable. Besides that, both food and ambiance were wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The waiter was a little overbearing. It detracted from an otherwise lovely meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Waited 30 minutes for our 5pm reservation!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We took 15 family members for dinner on a Saturday night for my son’s graduation. We had a great meal with very good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Love the atmosphere and always love the food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We frequent often as besides wonderful food, parking is very easy.
I wish the table for two were larger.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Best Bolognese in Boston-sorry North End!
Excellent beef carpaccio also
Best use of Campari bottles as decoration probably anywhere
Interesting off-the street patio dining in the South End
Close to Broadway MBTA (even though it's in the South End) and Silver Line; free lot parking in evenings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Lovely all around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

One of our favorite venues. The food is always excellent and service is perfect. I also appreciate that reservations are efficiently managed, so that you are usually seated at the time you reserved.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Beautiful night dining outside. Dishes were excellent, but drink service was off - we struggled to have the server bring a second round of drinks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Probably our 5th or 6th visit and did not disappoint. Solid food choices and great service. Love having a drink at the outdoor bar . Nice selection of wine and cocktails

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very cool atmosphere inside and if you are lucky and the weather cooperates, the outdoor patio is lovely!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Amazing place. Serious about the entire experience. I thought I was in Italy. Wonderful food. Friendly, attentive and knowledgeable staff.
A beautiful facility with a comfortable patio. I can’t recommend it enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great spot! We have dined here several times before and they never disappoint. The food and service are impeccable!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24

Tweets by Cinquecento Roman Trattoria