Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Casual (13)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food. Kitchen was a bit slow but overall good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The seating area on the far end of the bar is much too crowded too enjoy the type of dining experience for which one makes a reservation. It may be perfectly suited to diners that walk in and choose to dine rather than wait. However, the rowdy bar patrons made conversation with my wife challenging and the space limitations left the server unable to navigate the tables readily. While I thoroughly enjoyed the food I almost don't want to visit again out of fear that we'll get squeezed into a corner again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent experience! Lively atmosphere with a very friendly staff. Food was superb as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The ambiance was good, the service was bad, and the food was good but not great. The manager did comp us a dessert because of the extremely slow service. Overall the combination of all three were not worth the $120 meal for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was great overall. Bolognese was a touch overcooked but salumi board was spot on! Server was unprofessional and too comfortable and lacked personality via the menu (read all specials via a notebook) should have specials memorized for your level of service. Ambiance was very quiet but we were one of only a few tables in house and I found it odd that with an empty restaurant they sat us in a corner and then put a table right next to us very close. Not sure why they can't utilize the entire space but it disrupted the potential for a better atmosphere. Most likely utilizing less servers and didn't think to split up their sections. Water service was meek at best. Bathrooms were filthy dirty which again is odd because it was a slow night. Think we just caught the typical slow night in a store with lack of focus the food will make me return but not rushing back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great drinks and great food. We tried a few appetizers and all were amazing, especially the fried artichokes and mussels, which had just the right amount of spice. All the pastas were cooked perfectly. Also love the fact that they have free validated parking at the lot next door, so it's a great place for friends to meet up from all over town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I have enjoyed Cinquecento multiple times in the past and therefore planned an outing with my work group there. Unfortunately due to traffic and unforeseen circumstances, different parts of our group came in at different times AFTER the reservation. However, the staff were great and had pre-set an area of the bar for us so we didn't waste a table waiting (my request). They were completely courteous about our discourtesy of not getting there on time. The service was prompt, the cocktails were amazing and we all had a great night. I would recommend for brunch or dinner and for special events or just a casual night out! Thank you for a great night! Bryan

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Good spot. Food was good. Portions almost, but not quite too small. A touch pricey, but not obnoxiously so. Nice vibe. Off street parking a major plus.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went for brunch with friends and the food was outstanding. Staff was very friendly especially Sandra the hostess.
Love the restaurant.
Sincerely,
Jerry & Jane

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food & service was excellent. I can't wait to go back !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good place overall

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We waited for about 1.5 hours before getting our food, but were given free dessert to compensate! Delicious fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was delicious. The restaurant has a great vibe and beautiful decor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome experience from start to finish.

Host was very friendly and accommodating allowing us to be seated a little early.

Make a reservation the place is hopping!

Our server was awesome full menu knowledge had great wine pairing suggestions.

Very different cocktail menu a must check out.

Dinner - hands down get the braised boar pasta dish!

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Despite having a reservation booked over a month in advance, we were asked if we didn't mind sitting at the bar instead of a table. When we said we preferred a table, the host was visibly displeased and reluctantly sat us. Other than this uncomfortable start to the evening, the experience was fabulous. The food and drinks were to die for and our waitress was kind and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I booked the table a month in advance. While many people were seated at spacious tables we were crammed into a cafeteria style table. There was a space heater behind my boyfriend which made it very hot. Our waitress seemed annoyed we were there. We waited 15 minutes for our first round of drinks, and needed to ask her if we could have bread--even though I have been here several times and this is standard. It seemed like there were more people working there than dining there--yet everyone seemed angry and it felt impossible to get anyone's attention. The food, however, was excellent. Both the appetizer and the main course were perfect 10s, and the dessert was great. Also, the runner brining is out meal and bussing our table was quick and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was amazing, very nice selection and the wait staff was excellent from entry to exit. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was awesome. Service was timely and friendly. Overall great place to eat

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always an excellent experience at Cinquecento! The pumpkin ravioli are amazing. My favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It is incredible how consistent this place is. The food is always good, the service is great, and they are always willing to take care of a special need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved everything about this restaurant! My boyfriend and I went for Valentine's Day, looking for a romantic restaurant and we found it here! The food was fantastic as well! Definitely going back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Seating was not too comfortable positioned next to other two person tables in noisy room. Neighbors were clearly listening in to our ordering and conversation given their proximity and even laughed and reacted to things we said. Waiter and staff seemed new (2 said it was their first night) and did not know the menu well. No gluten free menu. Oysters were very large and could only order set of 5, not individually. No oyster accouterments were available like cocktail sauce. Fun atmosphere, just needs some work on the soft skills of the staff and the menu could use some enhancements.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Boston period.

Everything was delicious across the board and we will back soon for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Friday night outing! We made a reservation, but since they had no table ready the Host suggested (shouting, since it was so loud there, and not with any noticeable music but with voices) that we get water or coffee at the bar. What?? Did he mistake us for Mormons? We went out instead to visit a gallery, this is a great neighborhood for that. When we returned we got a very dark corner table for two and a smiling waiter with a good shouting voice. We shouted our questions and order. It was hard to focus in this environment. Our appetizer was pear on ricotta on bruschetta, which sounded ok but to me was inedible. Mushy, vinaigary. The bread served to all diners Was exquisite, but the accompanying olive oil was bland so we salted it. My dinner was sea bass, which came with a few leaves of greens and a few lovely mushrooms. The fish was deliciously tender, but its sauce was overwhelmingly salty. My husband had pasta with venison, which he said he continued eating only because he was hungry; the pasta was not al dente but undercooked. I thought a quick trip to the rest room would give me a minute of peace, but the loud, pumped in music was some form of psychotic panpipes disco, which further scrambled my senses. I don't think this is my kind of place, though from the crowd it looked very happening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Girlfriend said it was the best gnocchi she'd ever had. Brussel sprouts were awesome too. Great ambience, cool vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Charged me $4 for a small glass of grapefruit juice when they said it was included with my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have had dinners and brunch and really like this restaurant. On the last occasion, our service was less than expected. Twice the wrong item was brought to the table and on each instance, the server took the incorrect item back and it took some time for the correct item to be delivered. He might have left the mistaken item as I don't think it could be used, or made some adjustment to the bill. Neither happened. just seems like good practice. That being said, we would still recommend this restaurant as the food is outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Another excellent experience at our favorite Italian restaurant in Boston! I continue to be impressed by the consistency in Cinco's service, food, wine and ambiance. I love that we can park in the back and avoid circling the block for hours in the busy south end as well.

Most importantly, they offer half dishes, which are great if you are not completely hungry and is secretly a great way you and friends can try a bunch of different entrees. Since the last time we were there, they changed their Vongole to a squid ink linguine, which the waitress was very flexible to change to a regular linguine for me.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Awesome as usual, I love the food, the service, and the atmosphere. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Cinquecento's menu is always a delight, so many things I want to try, but not overwhelming. Every dish I've tried is better than expected and their salumi, in particular, merits special praise. The service is excellent--better on weeknights, when they're not so packed, but solid even at busy times--and their staff are friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We came here for brunch before and the pastries were excellent and the food was well-crafted. We decided to try the blueberry french toast and it was one of the best I ever had. The ricotta added a nice touch and it wasn't overly sweet. The bread was soft on the inside and a little crunchy on the edges, perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great vibe. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is great as always but service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service and amazing food! We all
Loved it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really enjoyed my experience. Waiter was fantastic, food was excellent, the general manager stopped by and we had a lovely conversation. Didn't love our table, which was jammed next to a walkway, but otherwise a stellar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent food, superb service. We totally enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good Italian food at a reasonable (for the South End) price. It can be noisy--deafening on the weekends--so be prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

excellent service, setting and quality of food. Each of the pastas are wonderful and the chicken dish is the best in the city (imho). Also try the mussels if you like them. They do a really nice job. Our waiter Willy was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Boston and usually my husband and I rave about it. On this specific occasion we were put off by the service. Our server was moderately friendly at best and forced us to put in our full order (apps salad dinner etc) at one time claiming that the chef was making them. For a couple who enjoys a night away from our kids only a few times a year, this was very off putting. Aside from this, food and atmosphere were great per usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.