Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Authentic (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Casual (15)
Cozy (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Great for groups! Cannot say enough about the phenomenal brunch. Great food and great ambience for a great price. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Loved this place for brunch! Decor was lovely, food was great and waiters were helpful and kind!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We checked in for our 7pm reservation on May 19th. I asked how long it would be to sit outside. I was told it would be 30-35 minutes, and we decided to wait for a patio table. I checked in after 30 minutes to get an updated quote. I was told it was going to be an additional hour. We decided we would sit inside immediately instead. Once inside we were not greeted by the server for 15 minutes. After we ordered we were able to flag the server down one more time for more water. He did not stop by our table again for an hour. Our entrees took an hour and a half to arrive. The manager was apologetic and brought out a salami plate to make it up to us. The salami plate didn't even arrive until after we had finally gotten and eaten our entrees. Salami is not particularly appetizing as a dessert. Overall it was an extraordinarily poor experience. I have been here twice before and had excellent experiences. I came back this time to celebrate completing a masters degree. Rather disappointing this time. The food was the only good part.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Consistently delicious. Excellent service. Accommodation to the time.. Great host/hostess! Parking

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was great until we were served raw donuts for dessert.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It took about an hour for or food to come out. Waiter and manager apologized but it was I long wait. We were with another couple who had a two year old (not ideal) but it was too much for him. Oyster special was NOT fresh. Last time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Cinquecento has very good if a bit upmarket Italian fare, neither arch-traditional nor shockingly nouvelle, but a fine compromise between the two. We tend to use the restaurant to meet particular friends who live in the South End; the range of antipasti suits extended conversation, and the range of primi and secondi piatti varies gently with the season while preserving a recognizable continuity. Pasta with funghi was delicious; a risotto was a bit more acid than we would ideally have preferred, but one understands the chef's intent. We have had the sea bass (bronzino) in the past and found it generally excellent. Very good, creamy panna cotta to finish was cleverly marketed to benefit a medical charity, easing the conscience and delighting the palate at the expense of the waistline. We shall most certainly return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food. Terrific service. Conviently located and parking included as a bonus! Would recommend as a go to for business dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I always have an amazing meal here! The menu was a little hard to understand but the server was very knowledgeable and answered all questions in great detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Very quiet Monday night. Chris is a wonderful bar guy, the kale salad, squid ink pasta with clams and exquisite little pieces of pig's jowl, and the roasted octopus are crazy delicious. Great space, nice vibe. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The room is lovely, and Cinquecento has a good menu, with well executed Italian favorites and updates. The wait staff was excellent, despite a surprisingly slow kitchen, especially on a Sunday night. The very slow service is the reason for fewer than 5 stars throughout. We'll definitely return to explore more items on the menu and know that we should not be in a hurry.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and service was OK. Patio was awesome right next to SOWA market and live music. Great Bloody Mary

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fantastic dinning experience. Highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Despite the fact that the food is good and I had a wonderful previous experience dining here, this last time the service was horrible. Since we arrived the waitress who seemed to have no clue in what was she doing, took 20 minutes to finally take the order just for the drinks, then other 20 minutes to get the food order and then it seemed like she forgot to sent our food order because we waited more than 25 minutes between appetizers and entree. After the meal showed she never came back to check if we were ok. Her rude attitude was a disappointing experience and ruined the whole meal.
The meal was very bland, tasteless but, I guess this was the waitress' fault who forgot to send the order and they had to rush the cooking.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Came to celebrate our son's graduation. He co'oped in Italy. Food and service were wonderful. Try the barbaresco wine by the glass. Was so good we ordered a bottle. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Worst service. Plenty of people but totally disorganized. Struggled to find someone to take a drink order. Table for 8 and waiter messed up order. Food and Bloody Mary's always good, just total chaos from a staff perspective

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always good service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Ended up in the back corner of the restaurant which was great for the noise level (made it a little quieter which was nice) BUT because we were a bit hidden, the service was MUCH slower - it was almost like they forgot about us. Luckily, we weren't in a rush!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great outdoor dining spot. Very nice drinks. Nice music. Great service.

On the downside, they try a bit too hard on the food. Some of the appetizers were "confused" with far too much going on. No need to go crazy on a plate of Bresaola... Italian food is amazing in its own right.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was good. But the waiter was aloof.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Sandra and the gentleman working with her at the host stand were absolutely amazing, welcoming, and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very attentive and friendly staff, and an interesting menu, especially the small plates and appetizers. I'll go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a wonderful brunch yesterday, food was delish, service was great and we were seated at an awesome table. Big thank you to the host for that! We had a fabulous time catching up with our friends, thank you!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Not the best choice for brunch, no jams or preserves or even butter for toast. Smoked salmon scrambled eggs were a bit over done. The other dish with fried eggs spinach and rosemary ham was very good, and interesting.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our second time there in 1 month. Love the atmosphere, the service, and the food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

In general everything was fine. However, two people in our party had the Veal Milanese. Unfortunately, the presentation was very unappealing. It was a large dark brown piece of veal with some sort of white looking sauce that frankly looked overcooked and when eaten was somewhat dry tasting. Turned out not to be a good choice of entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was good. We went early because the noise level can be daunting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing food!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Joe was our outstanding server and we tried all of the chef's special recipes like duck prosciutto! Everything was outstanding as usual! It's my fav restaurant in Boston!

Tags: Wood Oven, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The ambiance here is lovely and the service is always great, but I've had two disappointing meals in a row, and I'm not super demanding or picky of restaurants. Yesterday, we paid $18 for some polenta (which I think was actually grits) with two plain fried eggs and then a skewer with 5 little shrimp that weren't well seasoned or even really throughly grilled. It was so underwhelming and almost not enough food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My two friends and I came for one of our birthdays last night. The decor and style is a little industrial but modern as well, and nice and spacious. The host and waitresses were very friendly and attentive. We started with cocktails, carpaccio and ricotta Fresca, all were amazing. Do yourself a favor and get the bolognese!!! Perfect portion! If we weren't going out in Boston after I would have gotten one to take home for later it was that good. We followed that with the chocolate budino, and I can't even describe how delicious that was. I literally cannot wait to return here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The ambience and decor is great. Service is also good. We were there for brunch and food was generally good, but not great. Eggs were a bit over cooked and potatoes were soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We loved our evening here. The staff was friendly and the food was great, although we did have to wait a bit for our entrees. We will certainly go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Waited too long for a table despite reservations. Tables were so close to each other people were bumping into us when getting up from the table

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved this from the moment we walked in! It was a Saturday night and a bit crowded as we walked up the stairs but 2 incredibly helpful hosts greeted us. They showed us to 2 bar seats where the bartender said hello and took an order within seconds. That is how the entire night went. Service was perfect, attentive but not all over you. Atmosphere was hip and comfortable, the food was fantastic, and the noise level energetic but we could carry on a full conversation. There were just 2 of us, so we ended up eating at the bar (recommended by the host) as I think the tables for 2 aren't all that private. Tables for 4 or more look much more inviting. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Some dishes missed the mark but very good overall and great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This restaurant has an excellent vibe - and could be felt from the moment we walked in. Our table was ready and worked well for our group. Our waiter was knowledgable and very helpful. Our drinks and food arrived promptly and was delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great environment, great food, great time! Had a really nice evening and never felt rushed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great find! Was vert pleased with food and ambiance. Wasn't crazy busy because of bad weather, but that made conversation easier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wish they would add more vegetarian options. Salads are overdressed. Love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.