Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Casual (23)
Fun (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Authentic (19)
Romantic (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Business Meals (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was decent but the service was horrible. We waited over 45 minutes for our table and that was with a reservation! The waiter never asked us for our drink order and we had to request water repeatedly. He did not stop by our table to check on our meals until we were almost finished. Also, I noted on my reservation that it was a special occasion, someone's birthday… And it was never acknowledged. Why bother informing them if they're not going to do anything about it?
The atmosphere was cool and it was nice to have free parking, but after this experience, I would not return nor will I recommend it to anyone else.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is really average. No taste. The pasta didn’t have enough meats and the appetizer was very average. Only the beef carpaccio was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been to Cinquecento several times and have been very pleased with the quality of the food and service. I went today to celebrate my birthday and my partner and I waited over 40 minutes for our food. My partner ordered the Brodetto and was so disappointed to see the small amount of fish that was on his plate. Our server was very busy with several larger tables and, rightfully so, seemed very stressed. To be fair she did not charge us for the fish but my partner left dinner hungry. Definitely felt like we were overlooked because we were a smaller party. This was not a good night for Cinquecento and us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was extremely slow and although they apologized no other acknowledgement was made

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I love every single thing about this restaurant. In the summer you can dine alfresco and the rest of the year there is a wonderful dining room.

The staff is helpful and friendly. The parking is free and easy and most of all the food is creative, delicious and different!

This is my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Generally a great place for a good meal. This time some of the items fell short of expectations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Terrific as always. My friends hadn't been and they are fans now.

We dined outdoors, which was a treat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great experience overall. Grilled octopus and burrata were delicious. Main entrees were also very tasty. Good portion sizes. This would be a great spot for a date night, with tge very nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great all around restaurant. Fried artichokes are amazing! Fish is excellent as is all the pasta dishes. We love eating outside this time of year (and there are heaters), and in the winter we go here about once a month because this is consistently excellent food. Drinks/cocktails lots of fun and if it isn't on the menu they will make it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was a family brunch and included a new puppy. We were all welcomed and the puppy even got a bowl of water. We were on the patio and the food and waitstaff were perfect!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Sandra the hostess is awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had a fabulous evening at Cinquecento and would definitely recommend this dining spot to anyone we know! The food was delicious, the waiter was charming, the outdoor patio is lovely, the restaurant offers complimentary parking - a rarity in Boston! Thank you for a wonderful time - we'll be back soon!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, People Watching, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Dinner was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

excellent food. every dish we ordered was superb! from the simple salads to the wonderful steaks. All 7 dinner guests left sated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I went with a friend for my birthday brunch and everything was delicious. The service was also awesome. They made me feel so special on my birthday and made every effort to make sure we enjoyed our meal and the overall time there. I would go back again and again and look forward to going again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had an amazing dinner! Unbelievable food, great service and a really fun spot! I would highly recommend it. Do not leave without trying the Tiramisu, better than we had in Italy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food was good and the restaurant was nice. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing food, perfect service, cool location, great ambiance for hanging out with friends at the bar or on the patio, nice date night vibe, perfect for special occasions too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This was our second visit to the restaurant and once again we were not disappointed. Friendly and knowledgable staff on hand. From start to finish, excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We were looking for an outdoor space for a summer dinner and were not disappointed. It was a great evening. From the management staff to David the server the service was very good. Drinks were delicious, food was fresh and well prepared. Serving size was good but don't expect to bring much home. Definitely on our must return list, even in the winter. The parking lot next door was a plus as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at the restaurant. We sat outside and enjoyed the pleasant summer evening. The outdoor hostess made us feel very welcome and comfortable as we waited for our table. We had originally planned to eat inside but decided it was such a pleasant evening that we would wait for an outside table to open up. The indoor hostess suggested we wait at the bar - a very uncomfortable experience. We asked the bar tender for glasses of water while we perused the wine selection. We sat at the bar for over 15 minutes and after serving us the glasses of water the bar tender basically ignored us even though we were ready to order a bottle of wine...... it was most uncomfortable....... he served people next to us but literally turned away when we indicated that we were ready to order drinks. We left the bar and went to sit outside and wait for our table where the hostess made us feel most welcome. We ordered a bottle of wine with our dinner and enjoyed our meal.....most creative appetizers.
I would not recommend to any friends to sit at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Never fails to please. Food excellent, service excellent and atmosphere vibrant yet not too loud. Saturday special veal chop was outstanding. Appetizers delicious. Wine selection solid. The craft cocktails were strong and inventive. Free parking doesn't hurt. One of our favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Pleasantly surprised at the nice dinner we had at the upstairs bar. I had salmon which was excellent and my sister had sea bass which was also excellent. The barmaid was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a carafe of wine and our meal was accompanied by delicious bread. All in all a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Group out for dinner. Very fun place. Food and service were excellent. Would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Looking for a great place to eat on a Friday evening after gallery hopping in SoWa, we very happily took a chance on Cinquecento, knowing very little about it. We could not have been happier. We got a reservation easily for the time we wanted, and the restaurant was comfortable, not too crowded, with a noise level that made conversation easy.
The food was fantastic. A friend's branzino with escarole and wild mushrooms was amazing. I shared the fried baby artichokes appetizer, which was the peak of my meal. My sweet corn and ricotta ravioli with brown butter and parmesan was very good, although overpriced at $24.50! Also excellent was the fettuccine al funghi e tartuffi. Waitstaff were attentive and prompt. A misdelivered meal was immediately corrected.
All in all, a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2017

in General, we had a good evening. The octopus appetizer was amazing, as usual, but 2 of us ordered the crab spaghetti and it was dry, and the spaghetti was stuck together like glue so you had to cut it to try to eat it. I had a couple of bites and just didn't bother to complain at the time. It was disappointing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2017

I had a great dinner the other night with my brothers. The food was delicious and the service was excellent! We ate outside in the beautiful courtyard! I felt like I was at a fine restaurant in Italy!

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great cocktails and great food. Well worth the adventure!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I was really impressed that they did notice the note about it being a birthday celebration, and they offered us ice cream with a birthday candle.
Quick service, quite extensive wine list (by region).
We would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Atmosphere was great. Food was terrific. Friendly waiter and the timing of he food was perfect. Would go back if in Boston again.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

What a wonderful respite in SoWa. The location was superb and the menu was excellent. We had great food options, great service at a great spot. We'll be back!! Highly recommend to all.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Santiago made the night. This was our 2nd visit and everything was great. Not sure why we could not sit in the window seats but when they dimmed the lights and it became darker outside it did not matter. Attention to detail and my wife's allergy was certainly appreciated.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

One of my favorite spots to dine in Boston- and AMAZING service every time, no matter the occasion or meal. I recommend this place to anyone visiting or looking for a great experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Excellent. Santiago our server was fabulous. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Good if you are looking for authentic Italian cuisine. Very spacious with booth and table seating indoors and outdoor seating, when the weather gets nice. Our waitress, Emily, was very knowledgeable and helpful when we were trying to make decisions. Would suggest doing half portions of the pasta so you don't over-stuff yourself if you want to get other apps or can't decide what to get. A bit noisy so not great if you are looking for a quiet restaurant but great for large parties, as they have the space to accommodate, both indoors and out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The staff are always friendly, knowledgeable and very patient. The food was just excellent!! One of my favorite spots in Boston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our outing to this restaurant. We went especially for the TAGLIATELLE ALLA BOLOGNESE, a signature dish here. It did not disappoint. We shared a CARPACCIO CARBONIZZATO appetizer and split a dessert, the BOMBOLINI. We had well-balanced Negroni cocktails. The only down note was a Nebbiolo, which was rather thin and tart. Our food was outstanding and the atmosphere lively. We look forward to taking guests there in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great and fast loved the food and place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent birthday with my wife and newborn. Elizabeth was great and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Enjoyed the outdoor dining. Would have been better if more tables were shielded from sun. Both server and hostess were very accommodating but had to wait despite reservation for a table in the shade. Omelette was tasty and accommodated my friends request to change menu selection into something different.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.