About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (61)
good for groups (58)
neighborhood gem (57)
See All
special occasion (48)
great for outdoor dining (46)
romantic (39)
vibrant bar scene (31)
hot spot (28)
great for brunch (26)
notable wine list (22)
kid-friendly (9)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Warm summer evening - great for outdoor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Warm summer evening - great for outdoor dining. Space between the tables so you can enjoy your own conversation as well. Our server was charming - attentive and friendly. The food is solid - not spectacular but very good. The wines and beers are plentiful in choice. I'd go again for a relaxed dinner especially outdoors. And the free parking is a plus!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice, love to meet at t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great choice, love to meet at the big open bar and even sit outside. The parking is pretty convenient also. Food is usually solid choice. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We've enjoyed our many visits to this re ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've enjoyed our many visits to this restaurant. Although the prices have gone up, the portion sizes have remained the same or have shrunk so it's not the same value for the money. Also, we reserved a patio table because the noise level is too intense indoors but it rained so we asked for a quiet table inside. The hostess did the best she could to seat us in the back where it's less people noise but the techno music still blasts at a high decibel level.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The service could not have been less att ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service could not have been less attentive - we were a party of 5 who moved from the back of the restaurant because of the most uncomfortable temperature.

Once we moved to a table in the front everything fell apart. We waited for an inordinate length of time for a waiter who had an attitude of complete indifference.

We waited at least 20 minutes for our drinks although we had ordered them at the first table and at no time during Dinner service were we ever asked if we would like another drink. We literally had to fight for any attention from our waiter.

It was simply abysmal. We were at SRV the following night and the service was friendly and attentive and we have eaten there with a. Cos silent experience 8-9 times.

We have also dined at your restaurant 4-5 times and at gaslight dozens of times- we will not be back nor will we ever recommend you -

We live in the Southend and eat out 3-4 times a week and as you know we have a multitude of dining choices and some very good ones, your food is good but service is not even close to acceptable.

Thanks for listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

THE best Chicken entree - it never disap ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

THE best Chicken entree - it never disappoints. Great meld of flavors and the presentation is very nice. Wait staff really knew the menu and offered good suggestions for wine pairing

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We always enjoy our meals here, and the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy our meals here, and the menu reminds us of trips to Italy. The staff are lovely, particularly our favorite hostess!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated promptly and ordered a bo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were seated promptly and ordered a bottle of water and drinks. After delivering the cocktails we ordered our entrees. As much as we appreciate prompt service it seemed like we didn't have sufficient time to enjoy our cocktails before the entrees arrived. We then ordered wine and my wife requested additional sauce for her veal dish. The wine arrived promptly but we needed to remind the waiter about the additional sauce. Overall we had a nice evening but for these few hiccups and I am sure we will return to Cinqecento at a later date.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

What was great about our brunch experien ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What was great about our brunch experience: where we were seated, atmosphere, waiter's attitude, coffee, ciccoli and eggs, pastries (the four that we tried were perfectly concocted), the whole experience.

What was not great: NOTHING!

Everything put together made this a place we will DEFINITELY return to in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to love this restaurant for brunc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I used to love this restaurant for brunch. We arranged to go for a special reunion of friends. Three of us picked the restaurant specifically for the blueberry French toast. We arrive and there were only two wait persons so the advice was miserable from the start. Perhaps because of the wedding shower on the first floor. First off. No blueberry French toast. This is at 1030 when they opened on Saturday so how is it even possible. Later we were told they had none of the sauce they normally use for the dish. Question: why?? If so why not walk down to whole foods and get something similar and serve this dish anyway? We got other orders instead. I ordered two eggs over easy. They came well done on a tiny oblong plate. I sent them back and asked for a real plate and over easy. Then had to wander around the restaurant looking for pepper. The croissant and latte that was the only thing another person ordered didn't come until well after the eggs and then only when I stood up and found a different waiter and asked her to go make the latte. Then rhe croissant xame with no butter or jam. Has to stand up and get that too-- but there was NO JAM. How is this possible? Finally after pressing for this they sent out some weird tasting flavored butter none of us liked. And then magically the young waitperson arrives with a little bit of the famous missing blueberry sauce. We used that. But everything was cold by now. Unbelievable. I have a reservation for Saturday I plan to cancel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

delightful dinner outside in gorgeous we ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

delightful dinner outside in gorgeous weather. This is one of my favorite places for outdoor dining. the food was great, there are a variety of good cocktails and a fine wine list, and the atmosphere is hard to beat, vibrant without preventing conversation. Service was also excellent, attentive but not obtrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This is the second time I have visited f ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is the second time I have visited for dinner. The service has gone downhill. The restaurant was at best half full inside. Our waiter was running to tables to take orders, check in with them, and give checks. It took forever for him to even greet us but it was a different woman who poured us water (I noticed her standing around the entire time). The timing between the waiter taking our order and the entree being served was painstakingly long. There were 2 women who stood around during the entire dinner but they took no initiative to refill our water. I tried to flag one down to get red chili flakes for my pasta but she wouldn't look in my direction. One woman just plopped my entree in front of me as if she was being bothered to have to work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Restaurant was overall great. Food was g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Restaurant was overall great. Food was good and place was nice.

One thing that really bothered me and was not corrected last time I reviewed the place is that they don't know or don't care about the difference between a Brioche and croissant. When I ordered a Brioche, I expect a brioche, not what they serve which is a chocolate croissant...

FYI - Brioche is a rich moist bread, it's not a flaky pastry...

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was poor - we waited so long for ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was poor - we waited so long for everything. Will not be going back. Too many other great places in that area. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Had a great meal starting with mussels, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a great meal starting with mussels, which were delicious. They even brought extra bread to use to soak up the broth - yum!! We had the striped bass special, prepared perfectly, and the squid ink pasta with no shortage of shrimp. Our waiter helped us choose a wine and he was very informative about the dishes. Kind of loud and too cold to eat in the nice outdoor patio ( our only disappointment). Next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb. Another wonderful meal

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Superb. Another wonderful meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable evening at one of our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Another enjoyable evening at one of our favorite restruants!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delivers. Artichokes were amazing ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always delivers. Artichokes were amazing. Pasta always a sure bet. Highly recommend. Better than anything in the north end.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We (party of 4) were in the back of the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We (party of 4) were in the back of the restaurant, next to the window. It was so hot I was actually sweating and asked the waiter to see if the AC could be turned up. It was, but only for a little while. The restaurant was exceedingly loud. My food was mediocre and overpriced. I had cavatelli with zucchini. I was hard pressed to find any zucchini in it. The other people I dined with enjoyed their meals more but all agreed it was too hot and noisy to be a pleasant experience. As we left we noticed that in the front of the restaurant it was much cooler. It would have been nice if management had found us a table in the cooler section since we were all complaining of the heat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It is a lovely environment and perfect f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It is a lovely environment and perfect for a romantic dinner. The service was excellent. The appetizer was lackluster but the Bronzino was delicate and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The outdoor area as a bar and for dining ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The outdoor area as a bar and for dining are wonderful. The atmosphere is great as is the food. Both of the people I dined with agreed with me that the waiter we had, though good and efficient, had a condescending manner. We are three mature women, who had our drinks at the bar and were not sure why he had this aloof-ness.

The food was great, as was the bartender and the manger (who assisted us with our leftover issue). We will go back but may ask for a different waiter. Unfortunately we did not get his name.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This is the second time to dine at Cinqu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is the second time to dine at Cinquecento, but first time to enjoy the outdoor dining. I have been impressed with the food on both occasions. The indoor evening meal I enjoyed, was a bother, however to carry-on conversation with friends as it became very noisy as the early evening wore on. The outdoor accommodation is lovely in green surroundings. Also, one can choose to sit near the bar where there is background music and more energy or along the outer edges where it is much more conducive to talk and conversation. I will return to enjoy the outdoor accommodations and good food again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Main dishes much too salty. Will not ret ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Main dishes much too salty. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Back again and as before everything was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Back again and as before everything was great. Perfect night for outdoor drinks, and parking in the South End to boot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had been one time before, so good!! A ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had been one time before, so good!! Awesome Kale salad, truffle butter pasta, Charcuterie and great desert. Yummy! Service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again I need to say how much I love ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Once again I need to say how much I love going to Cinquecento. We are recognized by the hostess every time we dine, which makes us feel special. The outdoor space is very small, but if you can grab it, it's fun to eat al fresco. The Bolognese is the best I've had and the other food is just plain excellent cooking. Not all of the dishes are super creative, but they are always well prepared. The polenta accompanying the special of the evening, the veal T-bone, was superb.

We'll be back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A favorite GO TO neighborhood gem. Ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A favorite GO TO neighborhood gem. Service always great. Saturday night we had Eric and Will. Eric is so knowledgeable and fun. Will was 3 days on the job and following in his footsteps. WOW! Love having option of booth. Gnocchi was light that my friends had. The pork chop entree was the best. Hope to be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first, but definitely not my ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was my first, but definitely not my last, visit here. The food and ambiance were excellent. Parking is free in the lot next door which is a great perk when going to a Boston restaurant. The only negative was the service. Our server was a very pleasant young man, but had only been a waiter for two weeks and it was very obvious that management had not trained him well. It is my understanding that the restaurant had a recent management change and, hopefully, this will be rectified soon. The restaurant is not inexpensive and you have the right to expect better service. All things considered, I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We have been going to Cinquecento for se ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been going to Cinquecento for several years. The fod is always well done but this last visit was marked by very poor and lackadaisical service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

DELICIOSO!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have eaten at Cinquecento several times before and the food is always good, which is why I go back. This time the food was great! Along with a glass of rosé, my friend and I each had the ravioli. They had a fava bean and, I think, ricotta stuffing and were served in a light buttery sauce. Surrounded with fresh, perfectly cooked favas and topped with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese, the ravioli were absolutely delicious.--a notch above some of the other pasta dishes I have had there. A notch below was the service--it was attentive, but lacked the warmth I used to in this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Outdoors is the way to go

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The outdoor patio and bar is a lovely place to grab a drink before dinner. The heat lamps are a nice touch too for when the sun goes down. Octopus is very good- order it every time I go. The mussels are in a nice and spicy broth. Only downside is they seem to have trouble with staff- not sure if spread too thin or what. Ordered glass of wine and had to ask 3 times where it was. Ordered apps and entrees and it all came at once- not great timing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our dining experiences at Cinquecento ar ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our dining experiences at Cinquecento are always great. I would, however, recommend that the music volume be turned down a bit. It would allow diners to better hear themselves speak.

Thanks!

Mark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Atmosphere and Eats

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Title says it all. I highly recommend it for dates as the atmosphere is hip yet romantic. Food was incredible. I highly recommend the octopus appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My review of the food is based solely on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My review of the food is based solely on the bolognese, it's the only meal I've tried here...but it's one of the best Italian dishes I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Charming & Authentic

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This place is in my Boston Top 20 right now... authentic Italian cuisine, great cocktails in a great room served heavy on the service and light on the pretense. And with free parking, in the South End. Can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great spot for food and drinks both outs ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great spot for food and drinks both outside and inside. Patio is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

always great to be back, nice place for ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

always great to be back, nice place for brunch, only place which help us get a table for party of 10 the night before.

Fennel sausage was great, eggs and ricotta, hazelnut crespelle, and truffled polenta were high lights of our brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First night outside last Friday- bartend ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

First night outside last Friday- bartender was awesome. Have the mussels and the octopus and the tagliatelle bolognese pasta

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall, service was great. There were a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Overall, service was great. There were a couple of times however when someone would come by and try to clear plates without asking if we were finished with them yet, and in one case we weren't. Felt like we were being rushed a little. But our overall experience was awesome! We will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The server Bobby Hurley was outstanding. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The server Bobby Hurley was outstanding. The veal was excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.