About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (16)
Fun (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. The restaurant h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

The food was delicious. The restaurant has a great vibe and beautiful decor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I booked the table a month in advance. W ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I booked the table a month in advance. While many people were seated at spacious tables we were crammed into a cafeteria style table. There was a space heater behind my boyfriend which made it very hot. Our waitress seemed annoyed we were there. We waited 15 minutes for our first round of drinks, and needed to ask her if we could have bread--even though I have been here several times and this is standard. It seemed like there were more people working there than dining there--yet everyone seemed angry and it felt impossible to get anyone's attention. The food, however, was excellent. Both the appetizer and the main course were perfect 10s, and the dessert was great. Also, the runner brining is out meal and bussing our table was quick and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was amazing, very nice selection an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing, very nice selection and the wait staff was excellent from entry to exit. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome. Service was timely and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was awesome. Service was timely and friendly. Overall great place to eat

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always an excellent experience at Cinque ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Always an excellent experience at Cinquecento! The pumpkin ravioli are amazing. My favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is incredible how consistent this pla ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

It is incredible how consistent this place is. The food is always good, the service is great, and they are always willing to take care of a special need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about this restaurant! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved everything about this restaurant! My boyfriend and I went for Valentine's Day, looking for a romantic restaurant and we found it here! The food was fantastic as well! Definitely going back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seating was not too comfortable position ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Seating was not too comfortable positioned next to other two person tables in noisy room. Neighbors were clearly listening in to our ordering and conversation given their proximity and even laughed and reacted to things we said. Waiter and staff seemed new (2 said it was their first night) and did not know the menu well. No gluten free menu. Oysters were very large and could only order set of 5, not individually. No oyster accouterments were available like cocktail sauce. Fun atmosphere, just needs some work on the soft skills of the staff and the menu could use some enhancements.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

One of the best restaurants in Boston pe ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Boston period.

Everything was delicious across the board and we will back soon for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday night outing! We made a reservati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Friday night outing! We made a reservation, but since they had no table ready the Host suggested (shouting, since it was so loud there, and not with any noticeable music but with voices) that we get water or coffee at the bar. What?? Did he mistake us for Mormons? We went out instead to visit a gallery, this is a great neighborhood for that. When we returned we got a very dark corner table for two and a smiling waiter with a good shouting voice. We shouted our questions and order. It was hard to focus in this environment. Our appetizer was pear on ricotta on bruschetta, which sounded ok but to me was inedible. Mushy, vinaigary. The bread served to all diners Was exquisite, but the accompanying olive oil was bland so we salted it. My dinner was sea bass, which came with a few leaves of greens and a few lovely mushrooms. The fish was deliciously tender, but its sauce was overwhelmingly salty. My husband had pasta with venison, which he said he continued eating only because he was hungry; the pasta was not al dente but undercooked. I thought a quick trip to the rest room would give me a minute of peace, but the loud, pumped in music was some form of psychotic panpipes disco, which further scrambled my senses. I don't think this is my kind of place, though from the crowd it looked very happening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Girlfriend said it was the best gnocchi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Girlfriend said it was the best gnocchi she'd ever had. Brussel sprouts were awesome too. Great ambience, cool vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charged me $4 for a small glass of grape ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Charged me $4 for a small glass of grapefruit juice when they said it was included with my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have had dinners and brunch and reall ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have had dinners and brunch and really like this restaurant. On the last occasion, our service was less than expected. Twice the wrong item was brought to the table and on each instance, the server took the incorrect item back and it took some time for the correct item to be delivered. He might have left the mistaken item as I don't think it could be used, or made some adjustment to the bill. Neither happened. just seems like good practice. That being said, we would still recommend this restaurant as the food is outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Another excellent experience at our favo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Another excellent experience at our favorite Italian restaurant in Boston! I continue to be impressed by the consistency in Cinco's service, food, wine and ambiance. I love that we can park in the back and avoid circling the block for hours in the busy south end as well.

Most importantly, they offer half dishes, which are great if you are not completely hungry and is secretly a great way you and friends can try a bunch of different entrees. Since the last time we were there, they changed their Vongole to a squid ink linguine, which the waitress was very flexible to change to a regular linguine for me.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as usual, I love the food, the s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Awesome as usual, I love the food, the service, and the atmosphere. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Cinquecento's menu is always a delight, ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Cinquecento's menu is always a delight, so many things I want to try, but not overwhelming. Every dish I've tried is better than expected and their salumi, in particular, merits special praise. The service is excellent--better on weeknights, when they're not so packed, but solid even at busy times--and their staff are friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here for brunch before and the p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We came here for brunch before and the pastries were excellent and the food was well-crafted. We decided to try the blueberry french toast and it was one of the best I ever had. The ricotta added a nice touch and it wasn't overly sweet. The bread was soft on the inside and a little crunchy on the edges, perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great vibe. Very enjoyable.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great vibe. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is great as always but service was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is great as always but service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent service and amazing food! We a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service and amazing food! We all

Loved it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed my experience. Waiter was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really enjoyed my experience. Waiter was fantastic, food was excellent, the general manager stopped by and we had a lovely conversation. Didn't love our table, which was jammed next to a walkway, but otherwise a stellar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, superb service. We total ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent food, superb service. We totally enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Italian food at a reasonable (for t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good Italian food at a reasonable (for the South End) price. It can be noisy--deafening on the weekends--so be prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

excellent service, setting and quality o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

excellent service, setting and quality of food. Each of the pastas are wonderful and the chicken dish is the best in the city (imho). Also try the mussels if you like them. They do a really nice job. Our waiter Willy was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Boston ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Boston and usually my husband and I rave about it. On this specific occasion we were put off by the service. Our server was moderately friendly at best and forced us to put in our full order (apps salad dinner etc) at one time claiming that the chef was making them. For a couple who enjoys a night away from our kids only a few times a year, this was very off putting. Aside from this, food and atmosphere were great per usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

This has become one of our favorite rest ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This has become one of our favorite restaurants! Food is always great, service excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food and service were excellent. The tab ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food and service were excellent. The tables for 2 were crammed together. You could hear everyone else's conversations. We were elbow to elbow. The drinks and food made up for the cramped atmosphere. Scallops are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

This was our first time coming for brunc ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time coming for brunch and it was terrific! We were well taken care of and loved the food. The pastry basket was a highlight!! Great, professional server and very welcoming host and hostess. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food both at dinner and brun ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Really good food both at dinner and brunch. we would recommend either. Staff is accommodating and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love the lively yet comfortable feel o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the lively yet comfortable feel of Cinquecento. I will definitely return to try more dishes. The octopus was delicious as an appetizer and the pasta is always amazing. Service was excellent and friendly, great cocktail and wine list.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambiance great, waiter really good, good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ambiance great, waiter really good, good table- just one chicken dish which 3 of us ordered was too spicy and not what we expected.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The veal was over cooked and tough. Othe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The veal was over cooked and tough. Other meals looked ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The lighting was a bit too dim to read t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The lighting was a bit too dim to read the menu, and I have really good eyes.

Also, I've eaten here about 5 times over the past few years, and the only reason I don't frequent it more often is always because of the service. It's just consistently poor. The entrees came out before the appetizers, and the wine came out after everything. It just always seems like a restaurant of novice serving staff, not what you'd expect from a place that looks so high end, both in its decor and it's menu.

Front of the house just needs to improve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, options for everyone! Service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food, options for everyone! Service was a bit slow when it came to getting bread, drinks, grated cheese/pepper flakes. Still overall recommend - really great atmosphere and pasta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love the ambience. That's the best p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I love the ambience. That's the best part. The food is great. Everyone got something different and everyone was happy. The side dishes are the best. Good choice of cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our dinner and atmosphere. We ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and atmosphere. We are somewhat limited in menu choices because of husbands lactose intolerance (not the restaurant's problem). But what we had (the veal chop) was delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the place was excellent ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything about the place was excellent but it was Christmas Eve and the restaurant was far too hot. Many of the diners were uncomfortable that night including me. They need to pay closer attention to that as it may things much less enjoyable than they should have been.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was amazing. The food was ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was amazing. The food was outstanding - my brother-in-law said it was the best venison he's ever had. We came here for Christmas Eve and I would definitely do it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The octopus was delicious as well as the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The octopus was delicious as well as the bolognese. Everything was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.