Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Casual (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Authentic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort by
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is excellent, the ambience really great, and two pro tips - FREE parking! And you can order half portions of the pasta. The service, however, was lackluster and the waiter took forever.. plus, when he gave us change, he gave it in large bills and never came back, forcing us to tip much more than we had planned - but we need to leave eventually. That felt kind of shady.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

It was my wife’s birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great server, great food, great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Came with a group and everything was great. The service was excellent, the ragù special was delicious and the drinks were great. Would 100% Come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2017

My family had a wonderful evening here for my birthday. The food was incredible and our server was even better. I wish I could remember her name, but she truly did make our experience very enjoyable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great good and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Fantastic experience. The for was outstanding and there is a reasonably priced and very high end wine list. The waiter was knowledgable and efficient. The food was superb with an extensive menu of familiar Italian items along with nuanced specials and appetizers. The room was packed and rather noisy which is a major issue and would strongly recommend reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Always a fantastic spot. Friendly staff, amazing food, excellent wine. I even liked the scallop appetizer and I don't like scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was delicious. Especially enjoyed the saltimbocca and bolognese. Drinks were unique and well crafted. Good place for date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Dinner here is always great. The best pasta in Boston. A great place to invite friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The service was VERY slow, and the food was "OK" - certainly not great. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Second time here... They got us to a great table with short notice so that was much appreciated! The food was good, just a touch salty for my taste, but still pretty good. The tiramisu was EXCELLENT though, maybe the best I've ever had?! The service was outstanding though, our waiter was so friendly and hit the sweet spot of being attentive but not overbearing. We definitely will be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2017

The food is great. But beware... the service can be VERY slow on busy evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2017

The food was fabulous, wonderful servers, great ambiance and the free parking next door kicks it over the top! Cinquecento has become one of my top favorite restaurants in the City of Boston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Loved this place! It had the cutest ambience, great food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2017

My wife and I were in town to celebrate our 45th anniversary. When I booked my reservation, I made note of the occasion. When we arrived, I mentioned to our server Phil of the occasion to which he replied, "I know". We started with complementary glasses of Proseco. After our starter, Phil brought us a special bite made by the chef for the occasion. We had two visits by the manager Jamie, who was so pleasant and welcoming. Our food was delicious, my wife had the chicken and I had the squid pasta with clams. As we left, we received another special gift from Jamie and Phil. The restaurant has been open for many years but there was no lessening in the quality of the service and food. Everything was great! Some reviews complained about the noise level, but we found the level to be consistent with any busy city restaurant, what you would call a "buzz". Thank you Jamie and Phil for making our special event very special.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2017

My son lives nearby so we tried Cinquecento for the first time about a year ago and have been back several times since. The food is terrific, the menu changes seasonally and there are always delicious options. FREE parking right next to the restaurant is a wonderful bonus! This time we had Santiago as a server and he was fantastic: just the right amount of attention, very knowledgeable about the menu and a very nice guy. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We were a group of 8 having dinner after an event on nearby Harrison Avenue. Cinquecento Roman Trattoria was packed with people having a good time, including a a group of ladies in the bar boisterously celebrating a birthday. The noise level was very high. The restaurant was very busy, and though we arrived promptly for our reservation we had to wait almost 20 minutes for our table. Luckily our table was in a back corner upstairs, where we could hear each other once we were seated. The waiter was very attentive, and handled our drink and meal orders with efficiency and attention. I ordered the Rigatoni with Italian Sausage with Fennel. It was absolutely delicious, the rigatoni al dente, the sauce very flavorful. I ate every piece, and I would order it again. Our table of 8 was served all at the same time, from big trays, which I really admired - old style service. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and small carafe of Montepulciano . The food is worth the visit, the service is top notch. Don't go if you don't like loud restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The service was outstanding! Both the host station staff and our server were helpful, professional and friendly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Food was not as good as was previously. Our waiter was extremely harried. I don't know if they were understaffed or what. Was disappointed, won't be heading back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous dinner tonight that was immensely enhanced by our server/sommelier Elizabeth.

Her knowledge of Italian wines is all-encompassing and her gracious professionalism was what made our evening.

If you’ve not dined here yet, you need to ASAP!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The hostess, Sandra, is the BEST!! always pleasant and accommodating.
The food is always fabulous.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Fantastic meal with fantastic ambience. Staff was over the top gracious as well.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Emily is such an awesome waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I have been to restaurants in the Aquitaine group many of times and this was the poorest experience that I have had at any restaurant in Boston in the past 4 years:

- Food: Do not get the Bolognese, not only is it $27 a plate but it was all pasta and no meat substance.
- Service: When we politely provided feedback that the Bolognese was not up to standards our server advised that he would remove it from the bill. Two minutes later a manager slyly came over and asked us how our service was to which we said it was fine since we already reported our issue to our server. When the bill came, the charges were still on it and at that point a third person at the restaurant came over and began interviewing us for the reasons why we didn't like the bolognese. After she removed it from the bill and we gave our credit card, our server was so upset that it was removed that he deliberately threw our credit card outside and a manager happened to find it outside by the door and only returned it to us when we went to the bar to look for it.
- Overall I will never attend this restaurant location and do not recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fun family meal. My family of 8 was at this dinner and instead of having a relaxing and fun dinner to remember, we will always associate this restaurant with this horrible experience. My advice to this restaurant is that "the customer always comes first" and that they should be training all staff in accordance to this to ensure these types of situations are avoided in the future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Wonderful, fun ambiance. Very friendly staff. Our dinners were awesome, and Willie was the best waiter ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Love the branzino and the bolognaise!! Service is always excellent! I'll be back on Saturday night!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food is very authentic and very good; but the portions are small...not what you expect from Italian. The atmosphere is OK...the place is not sure what it wants to be...a warehouse/loft? a Romanesque theme? a family-style Italian setting?

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We sat outside on the patio. It is a beautiful atmosphere. The food was delicious and the service was excellent!!! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great time. Friendly service, though a bit slow. We weren't in any rush, so was ok.

Negroni was disappointing, especially considering the place is decorated in Campari bottles.

Food was solid, though my fra diavolo had no heat.

I'd go back given the entire package of food, atmosphere, etc..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had such a good experience that we returned the next week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We were there for a family dinner. The food was great! Cocktails could have been a little better! You need bleu cheese stuffed olives for dirty martinis. The only thing we didn't like was the very loud music. It would be great for late night partying, but for dinner, it shouldn't be so loud, it was distracting.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I ordered the mushroom soup. It was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Birthday for the girlfriend ! Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The fried artichokes to start were a tasty and unusual treat. A few were high in the roughage area and required some significant chewing to get down, but they were so tasty and different they were gone in a few minutes with people picking up every one of the loose leaves.

The Tri-Color house salad and the kale with honey lemon dressing were both fresh and flavorful.

For dinner, my Sunday special, the house version of braciole was delightful. Fork tender beef in a full-bodied tomato-based sauce with plenty of ziti. It's like my mother would make if she were a gifted Italian chef. At the other side of the table, the Gnocchi came in a zesty sauce accented by lemon and olives. The only let down was the spaghetti with crab which turned out to be okay, but not as tasty as it seemed it should be. Compared to the oohs and aahs coming from the other plates the third in our party felt a little left out. We tasted, sympathized and shared our dishes (but not too much).

The other let down was the service. It was not bumbling, horrible, but for a restaurant of this caliber it was very rough around the edges. Even though it was not overly busy we found ourselves on several occasions futilely trying to catch the eye of a server. When things did arrive, they appeared out of nowhere with no explanation or table presentation. This was particularly surprising when both our salads and entrees arrived on the same tray. The kitchen runner who brought them to the table was clearly not trained to present them and saw no reason to explain why we went from sitting and waiting to getting both simultaneously. Which do you eat first, the hot stuff while it's still hot or the delicious salad that you were expecting up front?

It was all the more notable because we had just eaten a week earlier at the sibling restaurant up the street where we had remarked at what a wonderful job they did romancing the food. Not so much here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I really like Cinquecento!
It's a nice restaurant, the food is good and also a good wine list.
They also have outside seating in the summer - looks great!
I would recommend Cinquecento to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was decent but the service was horrible. We waited over 45 minutes for our table and that was with a reservation! The waiter never asked us for our drink order and we had to request water repeatedly. He did not stop by our table to check on our meals until we were almost finished. Also, I noted on my reservation that it was a special occasion, someone's birthday… And it was never acknowledged. Why bother informing them if they're not going to do anything about it?
The atmosphere was cool and it was nice to have free parking, but after this experience, I would not return nor will I recommend it to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food is really average. No taste. The pasta didn’t have enough meats and the appetizer was very average. Only the beef carpaccio was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Have been to Cinquecento several times and have been very pleased with the quality of the food and service. I went today to celebrate my birthday and my partner and I waited over 40 minutes for our food. My partner ordered the Brodetto and was so disappointed to see the small amount of fish that was on his plate. Our server was very busy with several larger tables and, rightfully so, seemed very stressed. To be fair she did not charge us for the fish but my partner left dinner hungry. Definitely felt like we were overlooked because we were a smaller party. This was not a good night for Cinquecento and us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was extremely slow and although they apologized no other acknowledgement was made

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.