About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
See All
Good for Groups (48)
Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Great for Brunch (23)
Notable Wine List (18)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome and fun as always ! Food and win ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome and fun as always ! Food and wine is great and atmosphere is lively. Great patio and outdoor bar area as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was in training and had a coupl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Waitress was in training and had a couple of mishaps during our dinning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

I've been here 3 times and so far every ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've been here 3 times and so far every experience has been wonderful.

The staff is courteous and attentive.

We were able to be seated at a private corner on a busy Friday night which we appreciated a lot.

The food came out timely and was presented quite beautifully.

We loved the crispy artichokes and mussels for appetizers especially!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was probably one of the least enjoyab ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was probably one of the least enjoyable experiences of eating out in Boston. They clearly are having challenges in running their current operations and it has severely impacted our dinning experience.

(1) when we arrive we were not greeted for an extended period of time (the hostess was seen poring water for tables).

(2) greeted by the server quickly which was good and then provided us with water

(3) way too much time before our drink orders arrived and when they did only half of tables drinks arrived

(4) ordering food was no problem other than we had to wait about 30 minutes before putting our order in

(5) no visible management in the front of house

(6) twice we were approached with the food for another table... I think it was the the first day for him in food service as he didn't follow tables

(7) finally our meal was delivered-- two dishes were fine, three had to be sent back and they didn't have the other two... Shameful. Missing sides as well as server didn't enter in the system correctly. I think the server was on her first week. Most of the dishes were below par for what we are familiar with at Cinq

(8) server apologized three time and share the challenges she was facing. I think she may quit soon.

Somebody step in and save this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I always enjoy dining at Cinquecento. Th ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I always enjoy dining at Cinquecento. The ambiance is very agreeable, and the menu selections (and cocktails) are creative and delicious. Our greeter (also our waitress) did not, however, record that we had arrived for an Open Table reservation, so I was dinged as a "no show" the following day. No matter, Open Table's staff cleared up the misunderstanding! Great place. Easy parking is a huge bonus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything was good! The dessert was ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was good! The dessert was very good! Service was good! Our waiter was a nice guy he was very attentive! The food was good but not great! There are other Italian restaurants that we have all been to in the north end that are much better! There was just no wow factor here. However, again, this place is still good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was originally told that I couldn't add ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was originally told that I couldn't add shrimp to a pasta dish. Luckily a manager came over and communicated that there would be a charge up (as expected) but I was turned off a bit and looking to reserve a table elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Consistently a good choice. Food is gre ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Consistently a good choice. Food is great and outdoor dining is especially nice.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Server was not very know ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great! Server was not very knowledgeable and unfortunately we were in a rush to get somewhere else so we didn't get to sit and relax and enjoy the ambience. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was good but the portions were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was good but the portions were on the smaller side. The service was was quite bad, our server wasn't particularly nice and didn't really seem to know what she was doing. My grandmother has a walker and they were very accommodating to her needs. Overall, good but nothing special, I'd say it's on the expensive side for what it is. The patio did look like a great time though!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Been here many times and it is still one ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Been here many times and it is still one of my favorites. We sat outside on a beautiful night. One of the best outdoor seating in the city! We got a great bottle of wine recommended by our server. Started with the octopus and the fried baby artichokes, which were both excellent! Our mains we got the chicken which was delicious: moist, flavorful with a touch of spice. We also tried the rabbit gnocchi which was surprisingly good as well. No room for dessert. Great service and staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had wanted to try Cinquecento after havi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had wanted to try Cinquecento after having loved the sister restaurant Gaslight. We really liked the spacious outside seating, with lovely lighting. The food was very tasty, and there were lots of options, and the prices are very fair. I had the Ricotta cavatappi with zucchini, which was good, but different than what I expected. It was very light on the zucchini (probably like 10 very thin/small jullianed pieces that were completely cooked (read--slimy) and VERY heavy on the pepper. That being said, I ate it all, but I don't think I'd ever order it again. The service was friendly, but the server was very new (only her 3rd shift) so she definitely struggled and had not found her rhythm. I do definitely want to come back, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Many of us were disappointed because we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Many of us were disappointed because we had better experience with Cinquecento for Saturday brunch. This time we had to wait long for our drinks and meals because the place was understaffed. When our french toast came out, it was already soaked in syrup and cold. Our waiter was very friendly and doing his best even as he was running around to serve several tables, but the rest of the staff were not as helpful when we asked about the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food but disappointed in wait time ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food but disappointed in wait time 55 minutes with a reservation and slow service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Enjoyable food, great service, beautiful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Enjoyable food, great service, beautiful patio. Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outdoor area was beautiful. However the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outdoor area was beautiful. However the prices were high and at the end of the night we were not provided an itemized list of our bill, leading me to give a less than positive review.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Warm summer evening - great for outdoor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Warm summer evening - great for outdoor dining. Space between the tables so you can enjoy your own conversation as well. Our server was charming - attentive and friendly. The food is solid - not spectacular but very good. The wines and beers are plentiful in choice. I'd go again for a relaxed dinner especially outdoors. And the free parking is a plus!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice, love to meet at t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a great choice, love to meet at the big open bar and even sit outside. The parking is pretty convenient also. Food is usually solid choice. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We've enjoyed our many visits to this re ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've enjoyed our many visits to this restaurant. Although the prices have gone up, the portion sizes have remained the same or have shrunk so it's not the same value for the money. Also, we reserved a patio table because the noise level is too intense indoors but it rained so we asked for a quiet table inside. The hostess did the best she could to seat us in the back where it's less people noise but the techno music still blasts at a high decibel level.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The service could not have been less att ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service could not have been less attentive - we were a party of 5 who moved from the back of the restaurant because of the most uncomfortable temperature.

Once we moved to a table in the front everything fell apart. We waited for an inordinate length of time for a waiter who had an attitude of complete indifference.

We waited at least 20 minutes for our drinks although we had ordered them at the first table and at no time during Dinner service were we ever asked if we would like another drink. We literally had to fight for any attention from our waiter.

It was simply abysmal. We were at SRV the following night and the service was friendly and attentive and we have eaten there with a. Cos silent experience 8-9 times.

We have also dined at your restaurant 4-5 times and at gaslight dozens of times- we will not be back nor will we ever recommend you -

We live in the Southend and eat out 3-4 times a week and as you know we have a multitude of dining choices and some very good ones, your food is good but service is not even close to acceptable.

Thanks for listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

THE best Chicken entree - it never disap ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

THE best Chicken entree - it never disappoints. Great meld of flavors and the presentation is very nice. Wait staff really knew the menu and offered good suggestions for wine pairing

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We always enjoy our meals here, and the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We always enjoy our meals here, and the menu reminds us of trips to Italy. The staff are lovely, particularly our favorite hostess!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated promptly and ordered a bo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were seated promptly and ordered a bottle of water and drinks. After delivering the cocktails we ordered our entrees. As much as we appreciate prompt service it seemed like we didn't have sufficient time to enjoy our cocktails before the entrees arrived. We then ordered wine and my wife requested additional sauce for her veal dish. The wine arrived promptly but we needed to remind the waiter about the additional sauce. Overall we had a nice evening but for these few hiccups and I am sure we will return to Cinqecento at a later date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was awesome. HVAC and POS system we ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was awesome. HVAC and POS system were hip cupping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What was great about our brunch experien ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What was great about our brunch experience: where we were seated, atmosphere, waiter's attitude, coffee, ciccoli and eggs, pastries (the four that we tried were perfectly concocted), the whole experience.

What was not great: NOTHING!

Everything put together made this a place we will DEFINITELY return to in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to love this restaurant for brunc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I used to love this restaurant for brunch. We arranged to go for a special reunion of friends. Three of us picked the restaurant specifically for the blueberry French toast. We arrive and there were only two wait persons so the advice was miserable from the start. Perhaps because of the wedding shower on the first floor. First off. No blueberry French toast. This is at 1030 when they opened on Saturday so how is it even possible. Later we were told they had none of the sauce they normally use for the dish. Question: why?? If so why not walk down to whole foods and get something similar and serve this dish anyway? We got other orders instead. I ordered two eggs over easy. They came well done on a tiny oblong plate. I sent them back and asked for a real plate and over easy. Then had to wander around the restaurant looking for pepper. The croissant and latte that was the only thing another person ordered didn't come until well after the eggs and then only when I stood up and found a different waiter and asked her to go make the latte. Then rhe croissant xame with no butter or jam. Has to stand up and get that too-- but there was NO JAM. How is this possible? Finally after pressing for this they sent out some weird tasting flavored butter none of us liked. And then magically the young waitperson arrives with a little bit of the famous missing blueberry sauce. We used that. But everything was cold by now. Unbelievable. I have a reservation for Saturday I plan to cancel

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

delightful dinner outside in gorgeous we ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

delightful dinner outside in gorgeous weather. This is one of my favorite places for outdoor dining. the food was great, there are a variety of good cocktails and a fine wine list, and the atmosphere is hard to beat, vibrant without preventing conversation. Service was also excellent, attentive but not obtrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This is the second time I have visited f ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is the second time I have visited for dinner. The service has gone downhill. The restaurant was at best half full inside. Our waiter was running to tables to take orders, check in with them, and give checks. It took forever for him to even greet us but it was a different woman who poured us water (I noticed her standing around the entire time). The timing between the waiter taking our order and the entree being served was painstakingly long. There were 2 women who stood around during the entire dinner but they took no initiative to refill our water. I tried to flag one down to get red chili flakes for my pasta but she wouldn't look in my direction. One woman just plopped my entree in front of me as if she was being bothered to have to work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Restaurant was overall great. Food was g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Restaurant was overall great. Food was good and place was nice.

One thing that really bothered me and was not corrected last time I reviewed the place is that they don't know or don't care about the difference between a Brioche and croissant. When I ordered a Brioche, I expect a brioche, not what they serve which is a chocolate croissant...

FYI - Brioche is a rich moist bread, it's not a flaky pastry...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was poor - we waited so long for ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was poor - we waited so long for everything. Will not be going back. Too many other great places in that area. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Had a great meal starting with mussels, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a great meal starting with mussels, which were delicious. They even brought extra bread to use to soak up the broth - yum!! We had the striped bass special, prepared perfectly, and the squid ink pasta with no shortage of shrimp. Our waiter helped us choose a wine and he was very informative about the dishes. Kind of loud and too cold to eat in the nice outdoor patio ( our only disappointment). Next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb. Another wonderful meal

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Superb. Another wonderful meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable evening at one of our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Another enjoyable evening at one of our favorite restruants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delivers. Artichokes were amazing ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always delivers. Artichokes were amazing. Pasta always a sure bet. Highly recommend. Better than anything in the north end.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We (party of 4) were in the back of the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We (party of 4) were in the back of the restaurant, next to the window. It was so hot I was actually sweating and asked the waiter to see if the AC could be turned up. It was, but only for a little while. The restaurant was exceedingly loud. My food was mediocre and overpriced. I had cavatelli with zucchini. I was hard pressed to find any zucchini in it. The other people I dined with enjoyed their meals more but all agreed it was too hot and noisy to be a pleasant experience. As we left we noticed that in the front of the restaurant it was much cooler. It would have been nice if management had found us a table in the cooler section since we were all complaining of the heat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It is a lovely environment and perfect f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It is a lovely environment and perfect for a romantic dinner. The service was excellent. The appetizer was lackluster but the Bronzino was delicate and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The outdoor area as a bar and for dining ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The outdoor area as a bar and for dining are wonderful. The atmosphere is great as is the food. Both of the people I dined with agreed with me that the waiter we had, though good and efficient, had a condescending manner. We are three mature women, who had our drinks at the bar and were not sure why he had this aloof-ness.

The food was great, as was the bartender and the manger (who assisted us with our leftover issue). We will go back but may ask for a different waiter. Unfortunately we did not get his name.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This is the second time to dine at Cinqu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is the second time to dine at Cinquecento, but first time to enjoy the outdoor dining. I have been impressed with the food on both occasions. The indoor evening meal I enjoyed, was a bother, however to carry-on conversation with friends as it became very noisy as the early evening wore on. The outdoor accommodation is lovely in green surroundings. Also, one can choose to sit near the bar where there is background music and more energy or along the outer edges where it is much more conducive to talk and conversation. I will return to enjoy the outdoor accommodations and good food again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Main dishes much too salty. Will not ret ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Main dishes much too salty. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Back again and as before everything was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Back again and as before everything was great. Perfect night for outdoor drinks, and parking in the South End to boot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.