About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Fun (13)
Casual (12)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great vibe. Very enjoyable.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 8 hours ago

Great vibe. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is great as always but service was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is great as always but service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent service and amazing food! We a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service and amazing food! We all

Loved it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, superb service. We total ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, superb service. We totally enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Italian food at a reasonable (for t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Good Italian food at a reasonable (for the South End) price. It can be noisy--deafening on the weekends--so be prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

excellent service, setting and quality o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

excellent service, setting and quality of food. Each of the pastas are wonderful and the chicken dish is the best in the city (imho). Also try the mussels if you like them. They do a really nice job. Our waiter Willy was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Boston ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Boston and usually my husband and I rave about it. On this specific occasion we were put off by the service. Our server was moderately friendly at best and forced us to put in our full order (apps salad dinner etc) at one time claiming that the chef was making them. For a couple who enjoys a night away from our kids only a few times a year, this was very off putting. Aside from this, food and atmosphere were great per usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food and service were excellent. The tab ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food and service were excellent. The tables for 2 were crammed together. You could hear everyone else's conversations. We were elbow to elbow. The drinks and food made up for the cramped atmosphere. Scallops are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

This was our first time coming for brunc ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time coming for brunch and it was terrific! We were well taken care of and loved the food. The pastry basket was a highlight!! Great, professional server and very welcoming host and hostess. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food both at dinner and brun ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Really good food both at dinner and brunch. we would recommend either. Staff is accommodating and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love the lively yet comfortable feel o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the lively yet comfortable feel of Cinquecento. I will definitely return to try more dishes. The octopus was delicious as an appetizer and the pasta is always amazing. Service was excellent and friendly, great cocktail and wine list.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambiance great, waiter really good, good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ambiance great, waiter really good, good table- just one chicken dish which 3 of us ordered was too spicy and not what we expected.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The veal was over cooked and tough. Othe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The veal was over cooked and tough. Other meals looked ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The lighting was a bit too dim to read t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The lighting was a bit too dim to read the menu, and I have really good eyes.

Also, I've eaten here about 5 times over the past few years, and the only reason I don't frequent it more often is always because of the service. It's just consistently poor. The entrees came out before the appetizers, and the wine came out after everything. It just always seems like a restaurant of novice serving staff, not what you'd expect from a place that looks so high end, both in its decor and it's menu.

Front of the house just needs to improve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, options for everyone! Service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food, options for everyone! Service was a bit slow when it came to getting bread, drinks, grated cheese/pepper flakes. Still overall recommend - really great atmosphere and pasta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love the ambience. That's the best p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I love the ambience. That's the best part. The food is great. Everyone got something different and everyone was happy. The side dishes are the best. Good choice of cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our dinner and atmosphere. We ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and atmosphere. We are somewhat limited in menu choices because of husbands lactose intolerance (not the restaurant's problem). But what we had (the veal chop) was delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the place was excellent ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything about the place was excellent but it was Christmas Eve and the restaurant was far too hot. Many of the diners were uncomfortable that night including me. They need to pay closer attention to that as it may things much less enjoyable than they should have been.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was amazing. The food was ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was amazing. The food was outstanding - my brother-in-law said it was the best venison he's ever had. We came here for Christmas Eve and I would definitely do it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The octopus was delicious as well as the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The octopus was delicious as well as the bolognese. Everything was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for a birthday celebration ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We came here for a birthday celebration and loved the ricotta toast appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Horrible restaurant. This is the type of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Horrible restaurant. This is the type of restaurant that rushes to take the food, rushes to give the bill, and slow to take payment once you are ready to leave. In short, you get it all wrong. And the food is horrible. I actually don't believe you make the pasta daily. Horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

A very mixed review. When making 8:00 P ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A very mixed review. When making 8:00 PM reservations a couple of weeks in advance, I had requested one of their quieter tables. I notified the restaurant that my wife and I were celebrating a special occasion, with guests from out of town. When we arrived at 7:45 PM we were informed by the hostess that our table was being prepared and they were able to honor my request for a special table. We proceeded to the bar and ordered four drinks. What we received was three of the four drinks, one of which was not as ordered. We waited until 8:15 PM when we inquired about our table and again at 8:30 PM. On both occasions we were told the table was almost ready. It was not until almost 9:00 PM that we were seated, at a less then desirable table. Our requested special table was right up against a servers station. We complained and we were eventually seated in a better location. The rest of the evening was fine despite certain shortcomings. Five slices of bread for four people is not sufficient. Food was delicious; I had the sea bass and my brother in law the venison, however portion size was fair. I found the octopus appetizer to be excellent. In fairness to our waiter; Will, the poor service rating is a reflection, of the wait time to be seated and our problems at the bar. Will was excellent and did his best to make amends for the shortcomings of others.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We requested and were moved to a table w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We requested and were moved to a table where conversation was possible, very important to us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Extremely reliable with quality, tasty d ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Extremely reliable with quality, tasty dishes. I'm never disappointed at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sat us 30 minutes late on a reservation ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Sat us 30 minutes late on a reservation for 10 people, reservation was made weeks in advance. Otherwise, great food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at Cinquecento. The ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Another great meal at Cinquecento. The fried baby artichokes are my favorite, but weren't as great today. The octopus appetizer is amazing. We love the chicken, the rigatoni. We also tried the fish special, but we're a little surprised at the $44 price when the bill came. I appreciate when waiters mention prices when describing specials. The gelato was also great. Will be back for sure! (or waiter tony was great and the woman at coat check, Sandra, was incredibly nice!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here in the past and thought ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Have eaten here in the past and thought the food was good. However, this time I was quite disappointed. We came for a Sunday brunch. The food was not hot nor was it even tasty except for the "ricotta balls' which are always good. The "special" was an exceptionally small portion of food and was served with a crusty dry bread. I must say that the server was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

great meal. Restaurant has taken care o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

great meal. Restaurant has taken care of the noise issue so it's possible to communicate with larger groups of friends without shouting while still feeling a good deal of energy and liveliness.

Food was great, including dessert and there's enough variety to satisfy folks with a wide range of tastes and preferences. Wine list is more than adequate and service is friendly without being annoying or officious. Strongly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Cinquecento is one of my favorite restau ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Cinquecento is one of my favorite restaurants. I highly recommend the rigatoni norcia!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was lacking. Several repeat req ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was lacking. Several repeat requests to the staff went unmet. Very good food, but for the price, the service should not miss a beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The octopus was amazing....best I ever h ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The octopus was amazing....best I ever had. The pastas were also very good. Great ambiance and a pleasant and engaging attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, very Italian, but Brussels sp ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious, very Italian, but Brussels sprouts and artichokes too salty-ask for less--and cooked a bit past perfect. Lobster risotto was outstanding. Bread was fantastic. I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

nice surprise, high quality would go bac ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

nice surprise, high quality would go back again,plates on the smaller side so do not be afraid to order a bunch of things

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, a fabulous evening at Cinquec ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

As always, a fabulous evening at Cinquecento!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had asked for a relatively quiet tabl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had asked for a relatively quiet table and they went out of their way to give us a great spot. Also, the bartender and waitstaff were particularly friendly and nice. Generous sized glasses of wine and a menu varied enough for fish or pasta lovers. And the parking was free!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten here a few times, and this w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've eaten here a few times, and this was the best. The food is great: the octopus was perfect and the gnocchi were soft and amazing. The ambiance is romantic but lively. Wine list is a little pricey, but there are some great wines and the staff is willing to work within our price range. Great place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Cinquecento and have been many ti ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I love Cinquecento and have been many times, but this time was a little disappointing. My friend was a vegetarian, and I asked if any of the entrees could be alerted, to which the server said no. I kindly asked him to ask the chef and the chef said try this one pasta. While everything else was great, it felt that they were not willing to get even a little creative. Kind of a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent service with extensive wine li ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent service with extensive wine list and tasty food is sure to please most for any occasion. enjoyed the fried artichoke hearts, beef Carpaccio and arugula salad. Seafood (Mussels, Scallops, Lobster Risotto and Sea Bass) were done to perfection. Italian pasta dishes also were tasty and satisfying. Outstanding service definitely stood out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was virtually non-existent. We w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Waiter was virtually non-existent. We waited forever for our food and drinks. Food was flavorless and unappealing. This place has gone downhill fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.