About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (63)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Fit for Foodies (47)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (33)
Romantic (27)
Hot Spot (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Notable Wine List (13)
Business Meals (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There was a lot of confusion when we sat ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

There was a lot of confusion when we sat down on who was waiting on us. Didn't have anyone stop at the table for about 15 minutes after we initially sat down. Once we placed our breakfast order (eggs), it took about 45+ minutes to receive when the restaurant was no where near full. Very weird experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Will never return. Pretty much the wors ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Will never return. Pretty much the worst lackluster service I've ever experienced. We had to ask for bread, rarely was a drink refilled, no one ever checked with us re the food,...I could keep going, but there's not enough space to note how bad this experience was. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Love the Italian 57 drink! Hope you will ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the Italian 57 drink! Hope you will have that all the time!!! As always great service, friendly, unpretentious; love the patio and outdoor bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Uninspiring food and service. Would not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Uninspiring food and service. Would not rush back--if at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was outstanding! Servers were very ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was outstanding! Servers were very accommodating. We had a new server being trained but there was another server shadowing him making sure he got everything right. They offered to split our soup appetizer (Corn soup- amazingly delish and served nice and hot) and dessert (gelatto/sorbet Salted caramel was SO GOOD!) so we could both get a taste. I would absolutely go back. Two minor critiques: Music was a little too loud for easy conversing. The mango ginger sorbet was our least favorite dish only because we couldn't really taste the ginger. Still delicious for mango sorbet though. (I'm starting to sound like a judge on a food TV show :-/ ) Great place to meet friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trick was to eat alfresco, surrounded by ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Trick was to eat alfresco, surrounded by lush green trees and tables spread apart. None of the inside high decibel cacophony. Quite romantic and country-like. Of course, when cold weather returns, it's back to the deafening noise. As a bonus, the food was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Tony was great!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Tony was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and every ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and everything was excellent. Food was amazing and service was great. Can't wait to come back and try more amazing things!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Just 2 small con ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and service. Just 2 small concerns - If you have Tripe on the menu - serve Tripe!

What was sold as Tripe as an Appetizer was NOT tripe. Either have it or take it off the menu.

The other menu items were outstanding including the Octopus Appetizer, the Whole fish special (best I've had over many Seafood restaurants) and the Pasta dishes. Wines by the glass were varied and good and reasonably priced.

When seated, asked for a corner seat so we both could have a nice view of restaurant activity. Hostess said they were very busy that night and both corner tables were "saved"

We came in at 7 and left at 8:45, NO ONE ever sat at the Saved tables!!!

Thanks for being a bit flexible for existing customers!

Otherwise a good dinner - the Saved patrons probably sat on the Patio since it was such a nice night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was horrendous. Wasn't a busy ni ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was horrendous. Wasn't a busy night, yet it seemed like everything took forever. The waiter didn't even come over once to ask how everything was. It took nearly 30 minutes just to get our drinks. Definitely will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We had reserved a table on Open Table. W ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had reserved a table on Open Table. When we arrived they wanted to seat us at the bar despite having several booths available. They said they said had several parties of 30 arriving and wanted to put us in a quieter area. We asked to be seated at a booth. The large parties never arrived and we were quite comfortable in the booth. Our waited was charming and knowledgeable and we enjoyed our meals very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We were celebrating our 30th anniversary. We arrived for our table of 4, and enjoyed an outstanding dinner. The food was outstanding, especially the oysters and the sea bass. This is truly a gem in the South End. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Came here to treat my dad birthday brunc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Came here to treat my dad birthday brunch with family. Waiter and waitress Service is pretty good but the reception was not friendly enough. Prefix brunch is good but portion is bit small. But wilL come again ! TY !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great ambiance with fantastic food! Noi ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great ambiance with fantastic food! Noise level was good. We were able to have a nice conversation without hearing the conversation at the tables next to us. Service was good. We did have to ask for a few small things more than once (hence the four star instead of five) but still had good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our experience started with the hostess ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our experience started with the hostess saying that she didn't have our reservation. The waiter smiled and was pleasant. However, he wasn't trained. He couldn't answer any questions about the wine or the food. He had to keep going into the kitchen to get answers. As a nice gesture, he said he would have the kitchen split our salad and put it on separate plates (we were sharing), when the salad came out he said 'I am sorry, the kitchen can't do that.' This back and forth continued throughout the meal with a lot of misinformation/ missteps. It ended with the waiter giving us the wrong check. The place was empty; the owners must be losing interest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I have been to cinquecento many times- b ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I have been to cinquecento many times- brunch and dinner. And although the location and ambiance is great, the food - no matter what I get - is way too salty. Please add lighter, healthier fare to your menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

It was my first experience at this resta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

It was my first experience at this restaurant, which came highly recommended. I am a pro chef, and many would assume that we would be hypercritical, given our skills and background. Actually, we tend to be forgiving, because we know how hard the business is, and at the end of the day, we'll tolerate a lot for the pleasure of having someone else do the work. with that said, Cinquecento has several things going for it - amazing space, indoors and outdoors, in a beautiful courtyard setting. Great servers; attentive without being cloying. The menu reads well, and has good variety. Negatives: the wine glass list was sub-par for a high end Italian eatery. I did not look at the bottle list. I ordered two items, the tartare and fettucine with mushrooms and herb-cream sauce, both of which were just poorly done. The tartare was scant portioned, inappropriately seasoned, and had what I think were dried onion bits mixed in which were unpleasant, and interfered with the taste of the beef. The pasta dish appeared to have been made an hour earlier, and perhaps had sat under a hot-hold lamp for some time. The exposed parts of the fettucine were starting to crust, and the sauce was all but non-existent, so the dish was dry. Seasoning was mediocre. Lastly, it was an expensive dinner - $240 for four before tip, only one of us had a meat entree, and only I had a second glass of wine - to wash down the dry pasta. No dessert. At those prices, one expects flawless cuisine. However, I am inclined to return and give it another try, largely because the atmosphere was so lovely, and also I know as a pro that even the best kitchens have off nights. Let's hope they redeem themselves when I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was great, service was not. Waited ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was great, service was not. Waited 15min for drinks, then our appetizer and main courses arrived 2 minutes later all at once. The server was very confused when I asked why our apps and mains came out together. I would definitely go back for another try though. Great place for outside warm-weather dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Food, average. Service neglectful. Mai ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food, average.

Service neglectful.

Maitre d made it right.

Kudos to Andrew!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

We used to love this place and it was ha ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We used to love this place and it was hard to get a reservation. Sadly, that's no longer true.

The waiter brought spoiled, curdled milk to the table for my coffee. When I sent it back, it took another 5 minutes to get a new coffee (which was tasty) and then did charge me for it.

The breakfast potatoes were hard as rock and clearly had been reheated from the previous day. My guy's eggs were only half-edible.

The patio is beautiful, and the host was kind in helping move umbrellas for sun coverage.

If you can't get the basics, like throwing out spoiled milk and comp'ing a bad dish, then the rest of the experience is kinda lost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

I can't say enough about the food here!! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I can't say enough about the food here!! The Brussels sprouts and the Panna cotta are to die for!! Id come back just to order those two dishes. Gret atmosphere and great outdoor seating!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fantastic. Our waiter was kno ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dinner was fantastic. Our waiter was knowledgeable, kind, and very patient. He was incredibly personable. The food was yummy and so were the drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

For someone watching their diet (in my c ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

For someone watching their diet (in my case, Weight Watchers), there's very few choices here. The only viable meal was the grilled chicken salad: green with some vinaigrette, and a chicken breast pounded flat and grilled. How boring.

Service was adequate, but there were only three parties in the restaurant. Unobtrusive service is nice, but this bordered on inattention.

HOWEVER, kudos to the bartender. I sampled my partner's Bloody Mary. Easily among the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We got an email saying the restaurant wo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We got an email saying the restaurant would donate $5 to the Italian Red Cross for every Bucatini Amatriciana purchased and were really excited since that's one of our favorite dishes at Cinquecento! However, it wasn't on the menu and nobody at the restaurant had any idea about the promotion. Disorganized and disappointing - emails should be accurate, discussed at restaurant, or if they are going to be sent out before a promotion actually starts they should prominently include a start date. We definitely would not have come without the email as we had just eaten at the restaurant earlier in the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I had been to Cinquecento for dinner man ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I had been to Cinquecento for dinner many times and really enjoy the food there. I decided to go for brunch with a group of friends since I always really enjoy the prix fixe brunch at Aquitaine and I saw that Cinquecento has one now too. When we first sat down we were not given the prix fixe menu and I went to ask someone for it and she didn't know what I was talking about. I finally asked our waiter for that menu and she brought over one for our party of 7. We then had to ask for her to bring that menu for all of us.

After we ordered, I expected to get coffee and juice right away as I usually get at Aquitaine. The juice finally came after 10 minutes and then the food came 15 minutes later but we still didn't have any coffee. We had to ask a few times and by the time we got our coffee we had been at the restaurant over 45 minutes. I would not recommend coming here for brunch and will stick to Gaslight and Aquitaine instead. The frittata and eggs we got from the menu were ok but pretty simple. The entrees on the main menu are probably better than what they served on the prix fixe.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

they got rid of the Saturday pris fixe m ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

they got rid of the Saturday pris fixe menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been to this restaurant four or fiv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Have been to this restaurant four or five times and it never disappoints. Especially love the outdoor patio, even more beautiful than in the past with more twinkle lights and comfortable seating around the bar. The pasta is the best we get anywhere, even better than the North End. Our go to restaurant in the South End. Can combine with First Fridays in SOWA or a short walk to Tremont Street, the free parking a huge bonus!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great, just the mu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food and service were great, just the music was way too loud. It was like sitting in a fancy bar but we all were there for Dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

All terrific (as always), food, service, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

All terrific (as always), food, service, bar, etc. except I am not a fan of outdoor music and the volume (for me) interfered with outdoor conversation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome and fun as always ! Food and win ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Awesome and fun as always ! Food and wine is great and atmosphere is lively. Great patio and outdoor bar area as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was in training and had a coupl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Waitress was in training and had a couple of mishaps during our dinning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

I've been here 3 times and so far every ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've been here 3 times and so far every experience has been wonderful.

The staff is courteous and attentive.

We were able to be seated at a private corner on a busy Friday night which we appreciated a lot.

The food came out timely and was presented quite beautifully.

We loved the crispy artichokes and mussels for appetizers especially!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was probably one of the least enjoyab ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was probably one of the least enjoyable experiences of eating out in Boston. They clearly are having challenges in running their current operations and it has severely impacted our dinning experience.

(1) when we arrive we were not greeted for an extended period of time (the hostess was seen poring water for tables).

(2) greeted by the server quickly which was good and then provided us with water

(3) way too much time before our drink orders arrived and when they did only half of tables drinks arrived

(4) ordering food was no problem other than we had to wait about 30 minutes before putting our order in

(5) no visible management in the front of house

(6) twice we were approached with the food for another table... I think it was the the first day for him in food service as he didn't follow tables

(7) finally our meal was delivered-- two dishes were fine, three had to be sent back and they didn't have the other two... Shameful. Missing sides as well as server didn't enter in the system correctly. I think the server was on her first week. Most of the dishes were below par for what we are familiar with at Cinq

(8) server apologized three time and share the challenges she was facing. I think she may quit soon.

Somebody step in and save this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I always enjoy dining at Cinquecento. Th ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I always enjoy dining at Cinquecento. The ambiance is very agreeable, and the menu selections (and cocktails) are creative and delicious. Our greeter (also our waitress) did not, however, record that we had arrived for an Open Table reservation, so I was dinged as a "no show" the following day. No matter, Open Table's staff cleared up the misunderstanding! Great place. Easy parking is a huge bonus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything was good! The dessert was ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was good! The dessert was very good! Service was good! Our waiter was a nice guy he was very attentive! The food was good but not great! There are other Italian restaurants that we have all been to in the north end that are much better! There was just no wow factor here. However, again, this place is still good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was originally told that I couldn't add ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was originally told that I couldn't add shrimp to a pasta dish. Luckily a manager came over and communicated that there would be a charge up (as expected) but I was turned off a bit and looking to reserve a table elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Consistently a good choice. Food is gre ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Consistently a good choice. Food is great and outdoor dining is especially nice.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Server was not very know ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great! Server was not very knowledgeable and unfortunately we were in a rush to get somewhere else so we didn't get to sit and relax and enjoy the ambience. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was good but the portions were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was good but the portions were on the smaller side. The service was was quite bad, our server wasn't particularly nice and didn't really seem to know what she was doing. My grandmother has a walker and they were very accommodating to her needs. Overall, good but nothing special, I'd say it's on the expensive side for what it is. The patio did look like a great time though!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Been here many times and it is still one ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Been here many times and it is still one of my favorites. We sat outside on a beautiful night. One of the best outdoor seating in the city! We got a great bottle of wine recommended by our server. Started with the octopus and the fried baby artichokes, which were both excellent! Our mains we got the chicken which was delicious: moist, flavorful with a touch of spice. We also tried the rabbit gnocchi which was surprisingly good as well. No room for dessert. Great service and staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.