Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (32)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Romantic (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Authentic (19)
Fun (17)
Casual (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (9)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Waterfront (2)
Live Music (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

One of my favorite spots to dine in Boston- and AMAZING service every time, no matter the occasion or meal. I recommend this place to anyone visiting or looking for a great experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent. Santiago our server was fabulous. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff are always friendly, knowledgeable and very patient. The food was just excellent!! One of my favorite spots in Boston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our outing to this restaurant. We went especially for the TAGLIATELLE ALLA BOLOGNESE, a signature dish here. It did not disappoint. We shared a CARPACCIO CARBONIZZATO appetizer and split a dessert, the BOMBOLINI. We had well-balanced Negroni cocktails. The only down note was a Nebbiolo, which was rather thin and tart. Our food was outstanding and the atmosphere lively. We look forward to taking guests there in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great and fast loved the food and place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent birthday with my wife and newborn. Elizabeth was great and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Enjoyed the outdoor dining. Would have been better if more tables were shielded from sun. Both server and hostess were very accommodating but had to wait despite reservation for a table in the shade. Omelette was tasty and accommodated my friends request to change menu selection into something different.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always love it. Was disappointed that the rain ruined what would have been dining al fresco, but it was not too noisy where we were placed inside. Love the hostess who always hugs us hello. The food was outstanding. Veal chop special was divine. Bolognese is the best I've had anywhere. Always is. This restaurant is consistent and that's what I love.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

tasty food, great service, a little pricey
overall very good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great meal and service will come back! I had the burrata with fig, red wine and ravioli with peas. Yum! Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were a party of nine-four adults and five children. Brunch options were good. There were a couple of options for vegetarians. Our server was excellent. Fun location too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had a great brunch that satisfied both adventurous and more conservative eaters. Our server was attentive and polite, even when we sat a little longer than we should have. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very good meal overall. All the apps were excellent. Oysters could have been scrubbed a bit more diligently but nothing to detract from the good contents/meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was well prepared and flavorful. Friendly and attentive service. Decent house wine list.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great outdoor area, friendly service, attentive waiter and excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It was a shame that the service was so bad because the food was outstanding. Very cool place as well but don't recommend for large group. I went with 9 and it took 20 minutes to see the waitress for the first time. Didn't get any appetizers until an hour and half after being there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

It was very pleasant dining outside. The food, as always, was delicious, and the service just right. But if you don't have a back problem when you come in, you will after spending a couple of hours in the rigid metal chairs on the patio. Please - at least put some cushions on them!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This place is super fun. I love that yoy can order wine by the carafe instead of just by the glass or by the bottle. Pasta dishes were incredible! The gnocchi was especially excellent. Sides left something to be desired. Brussel sprouts are my favorite, but these were dry and crispy ... probably would have been better with in-season sprouts. Service was excellent as well. I wish they did more specials though.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Service was slow. 45 min for first drinks. Food wasn't impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Cinquecento never disappoints and Wednesday night was no different. My wife and I got engaged at Cinque, and have spent a couple anniversaries there too, and each meal gets better and better. Staff was great from the host to our server, and the homemade pasta was perfect! Mussels are probably the best in Boston. I recommend Cinquecento to any and everyone looking for just a nice dinner or special occasion. Thanks so much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food is decent
However waiting over an hour for the entrees is not acceptable.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Went for brunch, the food was delicious and the selection was unique. The waiter seemed stretched a little thin but was very good and the rest of the staff was helpful so we didn't have to wait to long for anything. Will definitely go back and definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great as usual, but wasn't thrilled with the special black bass in tomato broth. That shouldn't return. My girlfriends Branzino was amazing. Definitely order that next time. The grilled octopus really really amazing. Great table in the corner out of the way. Good waiter. Yummy negroni.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great! We came for a birthday- the food and the service were both fantastic. The ambiance of the restaurant is also wonderful. Thank you for the special birthday experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Fantastic food, artistic presentation, attentive service, stylish ambience..thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was very good as always and the service excellent. However I am noticing the portions are getting smaller and smaller and the price going up. So the value is not there anymore. Also the wine list is way overpriced excluding the "house" wine that is ok.
We use to go a lot there and the changes are substantial lately.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food excellent service very good. Kitchen a bit slow. Free parking which is unusual and a treat in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were in the neighborhood and lucky for us they were open for brunch! Prix-Fix was a tremendous value and the food was outstanding. We tried each of the three options and everyone was very very satisfied. We'll seek out again on our next visit to the area to try again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We enjoyed a festive dinner at Cinquecento for my daughter's 25th birthday, and the entire staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. It was a bit chilly outside, so we sat by the tall windows inside and enjoyed the atmosphere very much. The food was very good, and the sea bass was especially delicious. In the heart of SOWA, we walked over to the restaurant after enjoying the art studios at SOWA First Friday...makes for a great evening in Boston!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Our 1st Time was amazing! I don't believe the servers pool tips however, there was a server in the section next to us who helped us out and made sure we would go back to try out her recommendations. We will be back the Roast Chicken was heavenly accompanied by a Braised kale that captured an amazing flavor. My gf & I are big on Open Table & since this restaurant was one we wanted to try we bought a gift card & headed over. Overall great attitudes from staff/crew. Cheers to a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I love everything about Cinquecento! The Customer Service is superb! Sandra and Freddie make you feel special and at home. The wait staff are so friendly and fun! And the food!!!! There are no words. I am addicted to the crispy artichokes!!! It is my favorite place in the City right now. Please don't ever change!!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had an excellent time -- we went on the Sunday night of Memorial Day Weekend, so it was not noisy at all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The patio was very nice. Delicious food and the service was splendid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Brunch outside great 3 course menu for $11.95. Super ambiance, service. Small downsides tea is bagged standard water not hot & omelette on the salty side. Fig French toast lovely, side of polenta yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great for groups! Cannot say enough about the phenomenal brunch. Great food and great ambience for a great price. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

This is a fine place. Interesting outside dining area and well designed dining room. The menu had a good range of dishes, and everything we had - pastas, vegetables, appetizers was smartly prepared and well presented. Service was consistently good, above average, but still friendly and informal. Too noisy and the music was both too loud and even when softer, irritating at best, an annoyance in an otherwise lovely evening - good conversation and very delicious well served. A bit expensive, but because of consistent high quality of food/service/ ambience, I am not complaining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Loved this place for brunch! Decor was lovely, food was great and waiters were helpful and kind!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We checked in for our 7pm reservation on May 19th. I asked how long it would be to sit outside. I was told it would be 30-35 minutes, and we decided to wait for a patio table. I checked in after 30 minutes to get an updated quote. I was told it was going to be an additional hour. We decided we would sit inside immediately instead. Once inside we were not greeted by the server for 15 minutes. After we ordered we were able to flag the server down one more time for more water. He did not stop by our table again for an hour. Our entrees took an hour and a half to arrive. The manager was apologetic and brought out a salami plate to make it up to us. The salami plate didn't even arrive until after we had finally gotten and eaten our entrees. Salami is not particularly appetizing as a dessert. Overall it was an extraordinarily poor experience. I have been here twice before and had excellent experiences. I came back this time to celebrate completing a masters degree. Rather disappointing this time. The food was the only good part.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Consistently delicious. Excellent service. Accommodation to the time.. Great host/hostess! Parking

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was great until we were served raw donuts for dessert.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.