Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Cinquecento Roman Trattoria

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria is a comfortable, energetic and inviting restaurant reminiscent of the neighborhood trattorias found in Rome. A spot that is perfect for a spontaneous night out, a special occasion or as your go-to spot for dinner and brunch. A perfect meeting place for all, as we offer complimentary parking in our adjacent lot. Located in the South End of Boston, Cinquecento offers a menu steeped in the Roman tradition of simplicity custom and comfort. We offer an extensive all Italian wine list, award winning cocktails, a secluded out door patio and a private dinning room. Enjoy Roman and Italian inspired cuisine described as "true to the Roman Style, simple dishes perfectly done" all served in a dining room like no other in Boston.

500 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Waltham and East Berkley Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 338-9500

Website:
http://www.cinquecentoboston.com/

Parking Details:
Cinquecento provides free parking for all restaurant guests at the parking lot adjacent to our restaurant. Please look for the 500 Harisson Ave sign as you pass our awnings heading east on Harisson avenue.

Public Transit:
Take The Silver Line on Washington Street to the East Berkley Street stop. Walk one block south then take a right on Harisson Avenue. We are on the right at 500 Harisson Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Justin Winters

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Private Dining Room at Cinquecento is a warm and welcoming space that looks out onto one of the most pleasant outdoor dining spaces in the city. Versatile and inviting, the room comes complete with a dedicated staff, a full private bar and is audio-visually compatible for program events.

Cinquecento Roman Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Modern Decor (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (14)
Authentic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Casual (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 12 hours ago

Not the best choice for brunch, no jams or preserves or even butter for toast. Smoked salmon scrambled eggs were a bit over done. The other dish with fried eggs spinach and rosemary ham was very good, and interesting.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Joe was our outstanding server and we tried all of the chef's special recipes like duck prosciutto! Everything was outstanding as usual! It's my fav restaurant in Boston!

Tags: Wood Oven, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The ambiance here is lovely and the service is always great, but I've had two disappointing meals in a row, and I'm not super demanding or picky of restaurants. Yesterday, we paid $18 for some polenta (which I think was actually grits) with two plain fried eggs and then a skewer with 5 little shrimp that weren't well seasoned or even really throughly grilled. It was so underwhelming and almost not enough food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My two friends and I came for one of our birthdays last night. The decor and style is a little industrial but modern as well, and nice and spacious. The host and waitresses were very friendly and attentive. We started with cocktails, carpaccio and ricotta Fresca, all were amazing. Do yourself a favor and get the bolognese!!! Perfect portion! If we weren't going out in Boston after I would have gotten one to take home for later it was that good. We followed that with the chocolate budino, and I can't even describe how delicious that was. I literally cannot wait to return here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The ambience and decor is great. Service is also good. We were there for brunch and food was generally good, but not great. Eggs were a bit over cooked and potatoes were soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We loved our evening here. The staff was friendly and the food was great, although we did have to wait a bit for our entrees. We will certainly go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Waited too long for a table despite reservations. Tables were so close to each other people were bumping into us when getting up from the table

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved this from the moment we walked in! It was a Saturday night and a bit crowded as we walked up the stairs but 2 incredibly helpful hosts greeted us. They showed us to 2 bar seats where the bartender said hello and took an order within seconds. That is how the entire night went. Service was perfect, attentive but not all over you. Atmosphere was hip and comfortable, the food was fantastic, and the noise level energetic but we could carry on a full conversation. There were just 2 of us, so we ended up eating at the bar (recommended by the host) as I think the tables for 2 aren't all that private. Tables for 4 or more look much more inviting. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Some dishes missed the mark but very good overall and great service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This restaurant has an excellent vibe - and could be felt from the moment we walked in. Our table was ready and worked well for our group. Our waiter was knowledgable and very helpful. Our drinks and food arrived promptly and was delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great environment, great food, great time! Had a really nice evening and never felt rushed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great find! Was vert pleased with food and ambiance. Wasn't crazy busy because of bad weather, but that made conversation easier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wish they would add more vegetarian options. Salads are overdressed. Love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Definitely has good food, ambiance, service, and wine selection, but you pay for it. I would rather go to Giulia in Cambridge for better food at a similar price. This restaurant is also good for larger parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Elegant but fun atmosphere. Warm ricotta appetizer and oysters were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great atmosphere and vibe. Some of the very best service in Boston.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Once again a great meal. Our server Litsa was just the best. Pastas were fantastic and the Friday special lobster pasta is not to be missed. The doughnut dessert with fig sauce would be better with a berry sauce but was delicious in its own right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We started off with the smaller charcuterie plate and the burrata appetizers. For main course we had the lamb risotto special and the veal tenderloin entrees. Everything was excellent. Service was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I have eaten brunch and dinner there numerous times and yesterday all 8 of us were extremely disappointed with the server who seemed out of it and rushing us. He didn't come back to refill our drinks and coffee. We all had brunch - some of us complained that the salad was way to salty, some ordered an omelette with cheese and there was no cheese! One other person got their dish and it was lukewarm. My husband got an egg dish with the home fries option and there was only 3 slices of home fries where everyone else got on average 6-7 slices of home fries. I realize we should have mentioned something yesterday, but Im letting you know now. It appears as if the restaurant is going down hill which is sad because it used to be one of my favs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Nice and very friendly wait staff. Restaurant looked fantastic aesthetically, and the wait staff were very attentive and delivered our appetizers and entrees with great time spacing despite having a full house. Food was a bit pricey, portions are just a tad small, but was delicious. All in all, very good food, just pricey. Great spot for an anniversary or birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful food - we had a salumi platter that was generous, the octopus was incredible and hard to beat. Also enjoyed the gnocchi con coniglio and the lamb. The noise level was more than I expected, but okay. Would definitely return for the quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food. Kitchen was a bit slow but overall good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The seating area on the far end of the bar is much too crowded too enjoy the type of dining experience for which one makes a reservation. It may be perfectly suited to diners that walk in and choose to dine rather than wait. However, the rowdy bar patrons made conversation with my wife challenging and the space limitations left the server unable to navigate the tables readily. While I thoroughly enjoyed the food I almost don't want to visit again out of fear that we'll get squeezed into a corner again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent experience! Lively atmosphere with a very friendly staff. Food was superb as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The ambiance was good, the service was bad, and the food was good but not great. The manager did comp us a dessert because of the extremely slow service. Overall the combination of all three were not worth the $120 meal for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was great overall. Bolognese was a touch overcooked but salumi board was spot on! Server was unprofessional and too comfortable and lacked personality via the menu (read all specials via a notebook) should have specials memorized for your level of service. Ambiance was very quiet but we were one of only a few tables in house and I found it odd that with an empty restaurant they sat us in a corner and then put a table right next to us very close. Not sure why they can't utilize the entire space but it disrupted the potential for a better atmosphere. Most likely utilizing less servers and didn't think to split up their sections. Water service was meek at best. Bathrooms were filthy dirty which again is odd because it was a slow night. Think we just caught the typical slow night in a store with lack of focus the food will make me return but not rushing back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great drinks and great food. We tried a few appetizers and all were amazing, especially the fried artichokes and mussels, which had just the right amount of spice. All the pastas were cooked perfectly. Also love the fact that they have free validated parking at the lot next door, so it's a great place for friends to meet up from all over town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I have enjoyed Cinquecento multiple times in the past and therefore planned an outing with my work group there. Unfortunately due to traffic and unforeseen circumstances, different parts of our group came in at different times AFTER the reservation. However, the staff were great and had pre-set an area of the bar for us so we didn't waste a table waiting (my request). They were completely courteous about our discourtesy of not getting there on time. The service was prompt, the cocktails were amazing and we all had a great night. I would recommend for brunch or dinner and for special events or just a casual night out! Thank you for a great night! Bryan

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Good spot. Food was good. Portions almost, but not quite too small. A touch pricey, but not obnoxiously so. Nice vibe. Off street parking a major plus.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went for brunch with friends and the food was outstanding. Staff was very friendly especially Sandra the hostess.
Love the restaurant.
Sincerely,
Jerry & Jane

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food & service was excellent. I can't wait to go back !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good place overall

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We waited for about 1.5 hours before getting our food, but were given free dessert to compensate! Delicious fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was delicious. The restaurant has a great vibe and beautiful decor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome experience from start to finish.

Host was very friendly and accommodating allowing us to be seated a little early.

Make a reservation the place is hopping!

Our server was awesome full menu knowledge had great wine pairing suggestions.

Very different cocktail menu a must check out.

Dinner - hands down get the braised boar pasta dish!

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Despite having a reservation booked over a month in advance, we were asked if we didn't mind sitting at the bar instead of a table. When we said we preferred a table, the host was visibly displeased and reluctantly sat us. Other than this uncomfortable start to the evening, the experience was fabulous. The food and drinks were to die for and our waitress was kind and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I booked the table a month in advance. While many people were seated at spacious tables we were crammed into a cafeteria style table. There was a space heater behind my boyfriend which made it very hot. Our waitress seemed annoyed we were there. We waited 15 minutes for our first round of drinks, and needed to ask her if we could have bread--even though I have been here several times and this is standard. It seemed like there were more people working there than dining there--yet everyone seemed angry and it felt impossible to get anyone's attention. The food, however, was excellent. Both the appetizer and the main course were perfect 10s, and the dessert was great. Also, the runner brining is out meal and bussing our table was quick and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was amazing, very nice selection and the wait staff was excellent from entry to exit. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was awesome. Service was timely and friendly. Overall great place to eat

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always an excellent experience at Cinquecento! The pumpkin ravioli are amazing. My favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.