Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Cinque Terre Italian Restaurant

4.3
148 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Where the Mediterranean Sea meets the shore, In Italy, lies Cinque Terre, or "Five Villages".

Gifted Italian-born Chef Aldo Marcon honed his skills in his grandma’s kitchen pretending he was the "Amaretto Cookie Chef". Wowing his way through many notable kitchens like the well-known Cafe Fiorello in Manhattan, he eventually moved to New Orleans, where he cooked alongside such famed chefs as Emeril Lagasse and Mario Batali.

The menu offers SIMPLE FOOD MADE WITH LOVE. Imported cheeses, cured meats, homemade pasta, superior cuts of fish and fresh seafood. The Wild Octopus is poached, pan seared and finished in a to die for garlic-herb sauce and Grandma’s Meatballs are simmered in an unforgettable Pomodoro Sauce. Homemade Fettuccine, Tagliolini, Squid Ink Tagliolini, and Pear & Pecorino Romano Cheese Ravioli comprise some of the succulent seafood specialties.

Chef Marcon is a student to his guests, but full of surprises that please them!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mediterranean, Lounge
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Tue–Sat 11:30 am–3:00 pm
Brunch
Sun 11:30 am–3:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 4:00 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 3:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(954) 368-3633
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Aldo Marcon
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Invite the guest we do the rest!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
University Drive, the Nova Plaza
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 148 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Don’t get the octopus appetizer! It’s really good and if others order it, the price will go up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Amazing food and the staff was very friendly. Only Italian restaurant I will eat at from now on. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Always a treat to dine at Cinque Terre. The food is fresh, they will make dishes to your taste, the pasta homemade, and the atmosphere welcoming. We brought out of town guests and were so pleased that they enjoyed dinner as much as we always do. DELICIOUS!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Place was empty on a Tuesday night.

Food and service were very good yet something about the place just fell short for me. This is my 3 rd or 4 th time there but since it is kind of out of the way for me this could be my last.

Bought a Groupon and basically got it cancelled out because they charged me full price on the 3 course meal because I had a Groupon. Now I see it was on the groupon fine print but it left a bad taste that night. They are always running specials to get people in —guess they got me. Hate that fine print that reels you in then takes it away.

Too many other fine choices in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Your restaurant is always to welcoming and wonderful. We love your creative fare and homemade dishes and you always have so many coupon options for a free meal, free sangria, or free bottle of wine, that we always feel like we get good value. your Limoncello sponge cake is through the roof. our favorite dessert of all time. We often call to see if you have it before we make our reservation, it's THAT good! See you soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

YUM! We found this place on a whim and I am so glad that we did. The service was great and the food even better. The chicken marsala was the best that we have had in forever. Our appetizer and salad were just as good. Service was quick, but not too quick. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Wonderful place. The food is fantastic and the service is wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Second Valentine’s Day there and just as amazing as the first

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Went for V Day. Food was good. Service good. They had a keyboard player there. Song choice was weird for V Day but neither of us cared. Can't remember the whole play list but it included Ex's and Oh's and Nothing Compares To You. Like I said, we didn't really pay attention so didn't matter. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Went for my. Birthday it was recommended to me by an awesome friend of mine and OMG THE FOOD WAS AMAZING SO FLAVORFUL THE SERVICE WAS AWESOME VERY ATTENTIVE. We had red snappper from the specials and I had the black crab ravioli with shrimp our daughter had the chicken fettuccine Alfredo and then the dessert was amazing as well the chocolate Cake was perfect and the marble cheesecake was delicious I can’t wait to return!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Loved the true authentic food! Very friendly staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Great, attentive staff. Present but not pestering. Really good food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Everything about this place was perfect. The food, wine, and family-run atmosphere was charming. The owner took our order and was very prompt but pleasant keeping our dinner pace on par. It was NYE so the place was very busy but the service never missed a beat. Get the pear and provolone pasta- probably the best homemade pasta I have ever had! I wish this place was closer to home, we would happily come again and again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2017

The food and service were very good. Desserts were especially nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Always great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 28, 2017

I really wanted to love this place. cute restaurant with a guitar player playinging softly in the background.
people friendly, service great, but 2 out of three dishes missed the mark. Chicken marsala was good, linquini with clams and shrimp missed the mark and the shrimp tasted old. Penne ala Vodka was just okay.
appetizer of eggplant parm was very good but the cesar salad was nothing special. Wines were a little overpriced.
A nice neighborhood place that I just need to find the dishes they make well. I think IO would give it one more try as the people were so nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Bestest (yes, I know it's a spelling error) grilled octopus ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Great family run local businesses!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 2, 2017

On this day, family run, seemed to include having a baby and young child child of the staff being cared for on site. We love children, but this evening presented too much family. Perhaps it was a special occasion for them, as well. As noted, food and service were very good and we plan to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent home made Italian food. Great variety and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2017

Major surprise we live in east Broward and would drive here any evening

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 22, 2017

We went back after not being in for over half a year. Remembered that the food was good and we needed someplace close. Sorry we went.
After making a reservation we arrived to be told to seat ourselves anywhere. Fine.
Was approached with menus and drink orders taken, bottle of wine and a coffee. Wine arrived and bottle set on the table. Server said she'd get a bucket so wine could be kept chilled. Never happened.
After 20 minutes I finally had to get up to see if someone- anyone would take our order. Particularly frustrating since two tables that seated after us were already being served bread and appetizers.
Orders placed and food finally arrived - now 45 minutes into evening. Food was ........adequate. Black pasta with shrimp was plebeian. Everyone has done it and this was not that special in flavor, presentation or quality. Salmon dish was over cooked and actually bland. Third guest had mussels and a salad. Mussels were tough and sauce was overpowering in spices. Dessert orders placed, again after a long wait for service. Finally had to get up to ask for desserts to go since the oldest member of the group could not tolerate sitting in hard chair any longer - now closing in on two hours. Desserts were a bread pudding and their cannoli. Both at $8. Bread pudding bland and gummy. Cannoli -3 mini bites- were a disgrace.

In all, I wouldn't go back again. I loved them when they opened. The food quality was good, there was an enthusiasm and pride about the menu and experience. No longer. It is essentially an overpriced diner atmosphere with average food, overinflated prices and subpar service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Adequate menu. Not many choices. Service was fair...unusual as its usually great. See you again soon!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 11, 2017

Went from previous experience, greatly disappointed. Had changed hands. Web menu was extremely different. Waiter said they couldn't get website changed....My veal Milanese was full of grissile, grossly large and heavily breaded. Being gluten intolerant, I asked waiter if the breading was light. He said yes. Lamb of friend was tasty but chewy. Vegetables were OK. I have had better at many other So called upscale Italian restaurants. Sorry, but true. Outside of restaurant was unkempt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food. They make their own pasta. Great service very nice ambiance

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 22, 2017

We are never disappointed at Cinque Terre. Their food remains consistently very good. During the week (Mon - Thur) they have a special menu of a complete meal ranging from $17 to $25. I had the meatball appetizer and it was great. I then had the short ribs over linguini. It is a very good dish that I think would be better by offering a choice of pasta. If you eat before 7 they have a happy hour with glasses of wine for $5. And they have good choices of wine at that price.
For dessert we had a choice of ice cream or pastry. All very good.

Although the service is usually top notch, our service this night was poor. Our waitress had a problem visiting us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2017

Good dinner before a concert. My wife had the wild salmon and I had the lobster ravioli. Both dishes were very good.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Have been to this restaurant several times before and stopped going due to poor service. Decided to try again and almost a year. They don't assign any person to a table, everyone is supposed to help, but they all keep walking past your table when you have empty glasses etc.
in addition to this frustration, where you always have to call someone over, my fettuccini bolognese had hardly any bolognese sauce, which I did not realize until I started eating. When I asked for a little more I was told there is a $2 up charge.
I said nothing and just paid by bill and left. I wish them well but I will NEVER return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2017

This is about the third time we have eaten here. We are returning to Florida and find it not like it was in 2002 when we left. We want to try and reestablish 'favorite' places. Cingue Terre has never disappointed us and is quickly becoming our favorite restaurant. I lived in Italy some years ago and this is as authentic as one can get here in America. Homey and just down right good food. Not pretentious. The service is great and the Host makes you feel at home. Our only suggestion is to alert the diner to foods that are creamy - some of us have lactose issues! But the dish was so good, I could not leave it. Really a very nice, homey, welcoming and authentic restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2017

The food is outstanding .
Pasta freshly made sauces were delicious.
Really enjoyed the meatballs. M

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant is set in a plaza; however, one should not be fooled by plaza setting. Inside is a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The food here is simply outstanding. The Alfredo Saffron and Shrimp Black Pasta is a 5 star dish. It's one of the best dishes my wife has had. The Chicken Piccata Spaghetti with a lemon butter sauce was delicious; however the only reason for not giving this dish 5 stars is that the lemon flavor came primarily from the capers (of which there weren't enough). We shared a Caesar Salad which was fresh and lightly dressed. Overall, an excellent meal. Next time we are in the Fort Lauderdale/Plantation area, we would definitely return to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 4, 2017

First time and last time visit . Service the waiter ranted and raved how we made a great choice coming here. Recommended chefs specials along with other dishes . Some tried the special 4 under cooked ravioli stuffed with crab meat 2 or 3 over cooked shrimp a few calamari's $ 28.00
Some tried other dishes 6 people all together out of the 6 one meal was red trout $ 26.00 I think about that price wasn't to bad . NOT once did someone come by our table Not only to asked if we needed anything like water our glasses were all empty . Not once did anyone come by and asked how our food was . When we finally got the waiter and told him you would think someone would come over and offer an apology or comp a desert . NOPE this place was nosier then some concerts I've been too. The bare concrete floors and the dangling lights due nothing for decorations . I give it a thumbs down . Don't waste your money maybe they'll get the hint something is not right .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

The food is outstanding .Pasta freshly made sauces were delicious.Really enjoyed the meatballs. M
Two of us had the ravioli and other two the seafood pasta and Lamb Special. We all enjoyed our meals. The Sangria is fruity and refreshing. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Shortly after we arrived a group of 45 showed up. The place quickly became very crowded and we worried that we would never get waited on or see our food. We were wrong. The service was great. The food came when it should.

Bottles of wine were half price when we were there (Friday). We looked at the list and did not recognize several bottles. We asked the waitress if anyone knew the wine, and soon someone who could have been the owner, came and explained the different wines. At half off, the wine was a good value. Were it not half off, the wine list is too expensive and does not have any inexpensive wines, nor not much variety among the whites.

The food was very good. We shared an appetizer of meatballs and they were great. I then have the short ribs on pasta and it was very good. My wife had chicken picatta, which she loved.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2017

Cannot believe we have never found this wonderful neighborhood gem so close to our home. So excited for Open Table to lead me to this excellent restaurant. The owner was fabulous, along with the delicious food. I love that we can bring in our own wine and enjoy their delicious creations. We will be back many times.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Muy Buena la comida, la pasta en general tiene muy buen sabor, realmente homemade. Los meseros aunque atienden bien, un poco serios e impersonales a mi parecer, nunca hubo una pregunta " Todo bien?" como normalmente se acostumbra.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Our first visit to cinque terra was on Valentine's Day and was a pleasant surprise. We were seated promptly and provided with water and bread sticks. The Ceasar salads were fresh and large. Our entrees were cooked to order and delicious. We will definitely return to this neighborhood jewel and sample more of their Italian food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2017

We were a group of four. All of us ordered from the price fixed menu (includes appetizer, main entree, and dessert). They were all delicious. The service and ambience were very good. Would definitely eat here again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for dinner for an early Valentine's Day celebration. We had never heard anything about the restaurant and decided to take a chance. We were seated quickly and given menus and a wine list. We decided to have a drink and our waiter came over and took our order. After we waited about 15 minutes, we had to ask another server for our drinks. We were told they were almost ready. Finally, 5 minutes later we had them. Our server came over and told us about the specials and asked if we were ready to order. We did and ordered appetizers as well. The appetizers came out quickly and were delicious. I recommend the meatballs. Other servers came over to help clear our table. When our food was ready, there were several servers who brought it to us. They were all very friendly and helpful. Our server, however, seemed to have disappeared. We saw him walking around the dining room, but never came over to ask if we needed anything or to see how we were doing. I recommend the food, but beware of the service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4