Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Cinghiale

Cinghiale offers two different atmospheres for you to enjoy our fine dining establishment.
The Osteria at Cinghiale has the feel of an elegant tavern with white table-cloths and mahogany and leather banquettes. It features a large farm table for a special family-style dining experience.
The Enoteca at Cinghiale celebrates the modern Italian table. It is designed to be a playful section of the restaurant, as well as a gathering place. The space has a lively urban bustle that features rich woods, wrought iron chandeliers and a handcrafted marble tile floor. Adjacent to the main bar is a Salumeria that features traditional meats, cheeses and antipasti.
The menu is complimented by an over 500 label wine list that features Northern and Central Italian wines. World of Fine Wine magazine recognized Cinghiale for having one of the best wine lists in the world for 2016. Outdoor seating is available, weather permitting.

822 Lancaster St
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
S Exeter St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 547-8282

Website:
http://www.cgeno.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking; cars are parked in a private, gated lot or in a garage. Limited street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Half-price Cellar Raid: 50% off full bottle purchases every Tuesday in the Enoteca. The nationally recognized Italian wine list was recognized by Food & Wine magazine as one of the best in the country. Classic Italian Supper: $29pp 3-course Italian Supper available 7 nights a week.

Private Dining

Chef James Lewandowski modern Italian cuisine paired with a nationally recognized, award-winning wine list, is set in richly appointed rooms perfect for family celebrations, business entertaining and other receptions of varying sizes.

Cinghiale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (61)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (57)
See All
Notable Wine List (52)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Waterfront (40)
Romantic (39)
Authentic (35)
Worth the Drive (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Business Meals (27)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Scenic View (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Fun (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Casual (9)
People Watching (8)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tapas (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great, they have some of the best food combinations. The Wolf-Foreman group always exceeds expectations

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great dinner at the bar on Tuesday's half-priced wine night. The food seemed to improve in quality over the last few months, with the Gnocchi being some of the best I've had from Foreman Wolf. The braised Wagyu was outstanding, meaty, great sauce and filling. Can't be this environment, cuisine and half-priced wine from one of the best wine list in Baltimore - and, served at the right temperature to boot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I hadn't dined at Cinghiale for several years, and my recent experience suggests that the restaurant has made great strides in providing the fine cuisine and service expected by its patrons.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great service and food as always. Thanks. Great wine list

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Absolutely the best customer service I have every experienced in a restaurant. Food was very flavorful but not overwhelming and just the right size proportions. We will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Special Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very high prices for very small, fussy portions. Generally not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service - very friendly and really attentive wait staff. Delicious food with reasonably sized portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My wife and I were out for a nite at the theater and had such great things so we figured we would try it out. We were both floored by the menu and servers they were both outstanding. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Kind of disappointed this time. Pasta Della Nonna special is gone. Pastas were good but not better than that. In my opinion the restaurant used to be a better value and the food was better. Service was a little slow but professional and friendly none the less.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing dinner for our 6th Anniversary with wonderful and attentive staff who always seemed to show up at the perfect time yet otherwise left you alone to enjoy the experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

While the concept, location and atmosphere is nice...the food is sub par and extremely overpriced. The appetizers we had were the risotto and the Brussel sprouts. The risotto was 5 tater tots in a sauce, nothing more and nothing special. The Brussel sprouts salad was fresh, shaved sprouts but had little flavor for the palate to enjoy. We both had pastas...squid ink and gnocchi. Both were overcooked and decent, but not spectacular by any means. The Tiramisu was one of the worst we have had. It was super cold and lacked the punch of a good Tira. I do not recommend this place at all unless you just care about the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We stopped in Baltimore on our way to NY. Having stopped at Cinghiale for a glass of wine a few years ago, we made a reservation for dinner this trip. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. We had the best dinner experience in a few years. Everything from the food to the wine to the service was top notch. Our grilled calamari appetizer was perfectly cooked, as were our entrees. The evening was well paced by excellent server, Matthew. Just a terrific dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delish!!! Some of the best pasta I've ever had....calamari was suggested by our waiter and was tender & creative

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The wine selection was great, everything we ordered came out quickly and was delicious. The staff was attentive but not overwhelming and the decor was beautiful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Perfection and only one hour from DC! Cinghiale, Baltimore Inner Harbor, is all and more when it comes to a night out of drinking and dining with that special person. The restaurant is spotless, décor is perfect, wait staff friendly and helpful and the wine list and menu is unbelievable. My date and I had a drink at the bar before proceeding to the dining room. The bar is an exquisite, marble top-dark wood creation with comfortable (yes!) bar stools and every imaginable liquor. The dining room is top of the line with white tablecloths, exquisite table settings and a wine list to suit even the most critical wine snob. The food is incomparable. I started with an exquisitely prepared bean soup with and abundance of finely cut other vegetable is a very light base. My date chose a crisp and expertly dressed green salad. She had roasted veal that was tasty cooked to her standard and served at the correct temperature. I had pasta stuffed with veal in and excellent ragu. Yes we chose a bottle of their best Montepulciano red wine. The bread that accompanied the meal was warm, crusty (not hard crust) and complimented every course with virgin olive oil on the side for dipping. Having fined in many Italian restaurants in DC I can truly say there is none finer than Cinghiale.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was great but the food did not meet our expectations. We were very underwhelmed which was disappointing as this was my birthday celebration with my husband. My first course, the brussell sprout salad was plain and void of any kind of sauce. My second course, sausage suffed ravioli was delicious, this dish I really enjoyed. My third course was one of the fish options which was very bland, no flavor at all, lacking any kind of seasoning. My husband's mushroom soup was pretty good. His second course, tomato basil spaghetti was rediculous, barely any sauce at all and devoid of flavor. Third course of a T-bone steak, again, just so so. Not worth the money at all. I recommend you skip this place and go to the Charleston which is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 23, 2017

After a fabulous New Year's feast, celebrating bringing in 2017 with my girlfriend at Cinghiale, our date'n'dine return this night was equally as gastronomically great. The beauty of restaurants of this caliber is that food options change and evolve weekly, sometimes daily, offering diners a multitude of variety and tasting experience. Highlights of this last visit: Mushroom Soup (a dark warm silky smooth and velvety bowl of perfection), Foie Gras (tender, soft, sweet, plump, and seared up traditionally bringing out the customary meaty flavor), Tortellini stuffed with veal (made "al dente" and a unique creative combination with the savory taste of the veal meat), Wine (Cinghiale has an impressive abundance of Italian wines representing all regions throughout Italy). The service was kind and accommodating, paying attention to detail and making sure each portion was satisfying. For example, the T-bone entree temperature asked for was medium rare, but the portion presented was unevenly cooked making some parts of the meat medium well to medium, and the service attended, asked, and insisted to return the portion and remake the T-bone at the evenly cooked medium rare temperature, after the kitchen was "officially closed". This type of service is sought after and very much appreciated. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This place was great. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding as well. There was a great selection of Italian wine by region. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who would see value in spending money on quality food.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Overall, worth a trip. Service was excellent from wait staff and sommelier. Food very good, though the pasta was not served warm enough, probably bad timing in waiting readiness of my associate's fish. We were there on a Tuesday , avoiding the typical 100% mark up on wine. We ate in the wine bar which had nice ambience but was too drafty from ceiling vents.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I eat at cinghiale at least twice a year. I've never had a bad meal before. However on this visit everything I eat had too much salt I had the arugula salad, the calamari and the strip steak... as usual the wine was awesome and the service top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My fiancé and I had a lovely dinner here for his birthday. The ambiance is comfortable yet elegant and the service was terrific, very attentive and responsive. We sat at a cozy table next to a window with a view of the water and harbor. The menu offered a nice, varied selection and we enjoyed sharing a selection of plates, all of which we tried was delicious! I also enjoyed a refreshing Lambrusco (Italian sparkling red wine) with dinner, which was fun as it is not a common find on wine lists.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent ambiance, food and wine. great service and very friendly staff. A pleasure evening. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A near miss. The service was excellent, but the food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Visited on vacation in Baltimore. Everyone we met was friendly and courteous. Service was excellent and enjoyed the ambiance of the dining room - not casual, but also not too formal. All of the dishes were cooked well. We just had expectations the meals would be outstanding and none were memorable. Good for a nice dinner out, but won't be one of your best meals ever. As a sister restaurant to Charleston, we were just hoping for a little more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great handmade pastas. The menu keeps changing. Love the food here. Pretty good wine list too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Cinghiale is one of our favorite go to restaurants. On this occasion, my wife's entre did not include what was stated on the menu and the entre was served barely warm. This was corrected, but after a long wait, by which time my entre was cold. Our waitress tried hard, but she was rather loud and "screachy" (not sure that is a word). When she took order for table next to us, it went on for a long time and was extremely loud. Some training on poise and style would be advisable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

In town for a meeting; a local recommendation took us to Cinghiale and we were grateful for the referral. The menu has many options without being overwhelming, and everything our foursome had was very good and reasonably priced to boot. Options on half vs. full servings offered opportunity to do some sampling, which was a bonus. I know I'll be back next time I'm in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved the atmosphere, it was upscale without being uncomfortable. Our waitress was outstanding. She was able to recommend the perfect bottle of wine for the table by finding out everyones likes even though they were different. The salmon was the best I've ever had. Everyone else at the table was pleased with their meal. We all said that we would definitely return to try different courses.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Cinghale was disappointing . Our guest arrived from London in the afternoon and we took him to dinner there. He has dietary restrictions (no wheat) and some difficulty hearing. Our waiter greeted us, then shifted quickly into what could only be called a sales pitch - proposing excessive number of courses and amounts of food. She was not accommodating making us feel unwelcomed.

The duck main course dish has fine. Two of the three pastas were also solid. The fourth was dry and tasteless. The experience was far below what we would have expected given the price of $80 per person for a dinner with one bottle of the cheapest wine and one of 3 desserts.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First time there and look forward to going back. Service and food were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance, the food & the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service was terrible, I reflected that in the tip

Will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our server was really terrific. We hadn't all been together in a long time and she moved at just the right pace. She offered us a variety of desserts when 4/5 of us had the prix fixe menu, which we loved!

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Part of the Wolf-Forman mini chain. Absolutely one of the best Baltimore has to offer. Discovered a delightful Italian Red thanks to the servers recommendation. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

In my second visit to the restaurant, I immediately asked the wait person for the bread which I had remembered was scrumptious! That being said, maybe not quite as good as my 2 year old memory of it, but nonetheless still quite above most bread. Our party of three enjoyed the very good wine, which is a pretty good value, and our dinner which was nicely presented, seasoned and prepared...

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Emily, our waitress was outstanding! We had a great 25th anniversary celebration. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Cinghiale never disappoints. The food is always outstanding and the wine list is fantastic. The waiters and sommeliers are incredibly knowledgeable about the extensive Italian wine options and have always made great recommendations. A 5-star Wow.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The ambiance is unrivaled. The combination of seating , lighting and quality decor all compliment the "handsome and elegant guests" and the cosmopolitan and classy waitstaff!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good, but not quite up to previous visits.
They have done away with the three course dinner option and the sole fixed price option is more expensive for fewer courses and is restricted to the courses the chef has picked for the day, highlighting a specific region. I'm sure it's good, but if one of the items doesn't appeal to you, then you have to order a la carte, which gets pricey quickly.
The food and service were very good, but have been slightly better in the past. I ordered the lasagna, which I have had before, and while it was quite good it wasn't quite as flavorful and a bit drier than I remembered. The service was attentive, but again not quite as much as I remember from previous visits.
Overall we enjoyed the meal and will likely return, but the experience wasn't quite as flawless as we have enjoyed in the past.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.