Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Cinghiale

Cinghiale offers two different atmospheres for you to enjoy our fine dining establishment.
The Osteria at Cinghiale has the feel of an elegant tavern with white table-cloths and mahogany and leather banquettes. It features a large farm table for a special family-style dining experience.
The Enoteca at Cinghiale celebrates the modern Italian table. It is designed to be a playful section of the restaurant, as well as a gathering place. The space has a lively urban bustle that features rich woods, wrought iron chandeliers and a handcrafted marble tile floor. Adjacent to the main bar is a Salumeria that features traditional meats, cheeses and antipasti.
The menu is complimented by an over 500 label wine list that features Northern and Central Italian wines. World of Fine Wine magazine recognized Cinghiale for having one of the best wine lists in the world for 2016. Outdoor seating is available, weather permitting.

822 Lancaster St
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Sunday: 11am-2pm, 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
S Exeter St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 547-8282

Website:
http://www.cgeno.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking; cars are parked in a private, gated lot or in a garage. Limited street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Half-price Cellar Raid: 50% off full bottle purchases every Tuesday in the Enoteca. The nationally recognized Italian wine list was recognized by Food & Wine magazine as one of the best in the country. Classic Italian Supper: $29pp 3-course Italian Supper available 7 nights a week.

Private Dining

Chef James Lewandowski modern Italian cuisine paired with a nationally recognized, award-winning wine list, is set in richly appointed rooms perfect for family celebrations, business entertaining and other receptions of varying sizes.

Cinghiale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (46)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Romantic (35)
Waterfront (35)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Authentic (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Scenic View (12)
People Watching (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Cozy (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed our meal! Our waitress, Valencia, was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service was impeccable! They took good care of us and made sure my husband had a perfect birthday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Fantastic food and atmosphere! Great food options for the owner of our company who happens to be a vegetarian as well as seafood and steak options for the non veggies! Will definitely come back next time we are in town!

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We just had dinner there for our Anniversary. We have been to Charleston a few times and loved it so we wanted to try the other Cindy Wolf/Tony Foreman restaurant. The food was great, the service exceptional, and the wine list was one of the best we have ever seen. We will most definitely go back as soon as possible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My absolute favorite in Baltimore
First class. Knowledgable wait staff
Sommelier present and fabulous
Ask for wine pairing with courses, they pick amazing ones you might not know exist . Broaden your pallet.
Charcuterie, fois gras, duck and lamb all freaking delicious and the service never wanting
Ty for a fab evening

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a great time. It was our first meal there and a fantastic experience. We celebrated our 30th anniversary and they made it very special. Highly recommended this restaurant for any occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent meal with very creative presentation. Outstanding pasta and desserts. The service is attentive and world-class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I went to Cinghaile for my birthday and it was such a great experience. The staff was incredibly kind and welcoming. I opted for the 4 course menu with wine pairings and my fantastic waitress helped me choose from the many amazing-sounding options on the menu. I loved everything about my experience and hope to make this a new birthday tradition!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2017

This was not our visit and prior meals have been expensive and worth the tab. While the service was impeccable, the food was mediocre at best. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always provides a fantastic meal and a great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I was there to surprise my boyfriend with a one year anniversary dinner date. Every course was wonderful, even when it was something I would not normally order or try. I love Italian food and this place was perfect. And server was very knowledgeable of drink and food menu! Very helpful! We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything about this dining experience was perfect. The food was fabulous and the service was outstanding and unparalleled. The small plate offering is much appreciated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We dined to celebrate my birthday and the meal was outstanding. The charcuterie was superior, the calamari is such a unique preparation that I must have each time we are there, and the pastas, chitarra with shrimp and gnocchi with ragu, were just plain out of this world. I was honored with a candle in our dessert and made to feel welcome. It was a splendid evening all around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We had a beautiful dinner, wonderful service, attentive staff. Could not ask for a nicer evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazing date night on the patio. We went with our dogs, and they must love fine dining because they were perfectly behaved.
The date night menu was perfect for us, and we enjoyed two $25 wine selections. Our server was kind and knowledgeable.
Overall a true win.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Cinghiale has excellent food with a wide variety of choices. Very comprehensive list of Italian wines. Very appealing decor with a warm welcoming feeling. Loved especially the fungi bruschetta and tagliatelle again with fungi with a bottle of Arneis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

These days I am a fan of almost any fine restaurant that's designed to allow conversation without a raised voice. Cinghiale fills that bill with high ceilings and upscale accoutrements. Our waiter was very professional and really looked the part without being stiff or condescending. The bread, usually the first clue to the quality of the meal to follow, was warm and of several varieties to please varying palates. The frito misto appetizer competed successfully with the version I enjoyed some years ago in Ventimiglia. The saltimbocca was beautifully plated, moist and tender, the chicken not overwhelmed with too much prosciutto. I thought the place was reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

We were treated to a perfect evening in every way It was magical. They were gracious, warm and knowledgeable.. really over the top. The attention in every way was more than anyone could ever expect. Thank you cinghalie for our special nite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Chicken saltimbucca was delicious. Aganotti was like eating gravel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went to Cinghiale for the 1st time for my wife's birthday on a Saturday night. She is a foodie and Cinghiale has been on her list of restaurants to try. The night was wonderful. Everything was great. The service, the food, the wine.....it was a great night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The tall "host" was incredibly rude. The food was sub par, and certainly not acclaimed. I did like that valet was complimentary.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Anytime I plan to be in Baltimore, I reserve at Cinghiale before booking hotel or flights. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Tapas, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Terrific location and appreciated the free valet service. Outstanding service and atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Cinghiale is my favorite restaurant in Baltimore, and my favorite of Cindy Wolf/Tony Foreman's holdings. The view of the water and the location in Harbor East are gorgeous, the decor is upscale yet casual luxury and the service is outstanding. We were on our way to see Wynton Marsalis at the Meyerhoff and the staff accommodated our short 1 1/2 hour dining time frame. I have been to Cinghiale with small groups, for professional dinners, and for couples' dining and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

delicious!!!! beautiful presentation. all staff was hands-on and attentive. chef james is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Among the most authentic Italian restaurants outside of Italy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We enjoyed the Friday, Date Night menu and bottle of wine. The service was cheerful and knowledgeable, portions were generous, and the ambiance was charming. It was a great anniversary celebration, we'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

15 year anniversary. Not sure the point of putting down special occasions or anniversaries if nothing is really done. Me my wife and son all ordered dessert. Even if you didn't want to comp anything you should at least paint a plate in chocolate or something saying Happy Anniversary to at least acknowledge it otherwise there really isn't any point in asking your guest why they are dining with you beyond, food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had a great time at Cinghiale! The dishes were amazing, as was the services.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Gorgeous restaurant, the food is original, rustic and delicious. Fabulous charcuterie options. Wine list is excellent and perfect service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This is my favorite place in Baltimore. Superb meals every time I come. Love the soft shell crabs. Wonderful ambiance and relaxing setting. A gem of a place in Baltimore! Great for special dinners or celebrations or dates or dinner meetings. Guests will be impressed.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was perfect. The service was excellent and we all enjoyed everything from our first course to dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We are regulars at Chinghiale and have always loved the food. Our latest meal was very delicious and prepared so well. Seasonal vegetables were so good! Our fish dishes were perfectly seasoned and the taste was terrific.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Awesome Italian restaurant! Superior Wine list. Service and ambiance was out of this world! A definite must!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

We went here for my fiancée birthday. The food, wine and experience were all top-notch. We both had the four-course dinner with wine pairings, which all ended up being great choices. Our waiter took the time to write down all of the wines we had that evening and showed us the liquor store that they use for the restaurant so that we could buy them ourselves in the future. They even brought us a special dessert wine on the house in honor of my fiance's birthday at the end of the evening. Highly recommended for special occasions like anniversaries, birthdays, romantic dinners, etc.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We have been here several times! I love Italian and think Cindy wolf is a great chef but the pasta is always over salted! We got the date night meal which is a steal at 50 usd per couple which includes antipasti, 2 pasta plates, and cookies for dessert. However, when the pastas are so salty you can't eat it, it makes it hard to return to the restaurant. I had to beg my husband to come here and give it another chance and then I had to beg him to not return the pasta (I feel bad for wasting food and costing them money). I want these restaurants to succeed because I live nearby but I'm not sure if I'll be back again. After our third experience with it being so salty, I'm sad that we probably won't return unless I'm not with my husband.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is my fourth times to the restaurant. I never disappointed with the food. Especially the waiter Alessandra. He always recommends the right food that makes me want to order more.
Every time I visit Baltimore I always make sure I dine at this restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Although it was the best prosciutto I've ever had in my entire foodie life, the overall experience was disappointing. The service was slow some of our food arrived cold and most was under seasoned. The service team apologized several times for delays.
We were underwhelmed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Friday night date night is one of the best deals around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Enjoyed another wonderful dining experience at Cinghaile. Since we moved our sailboat downtown it's a new favorite destination. Great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.