Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Cinghiale

Cinghiale offers two different atmospheres for you to enjoy our fine dining establishment.
The Osteria at Cinghiale has the feel of an elegant tavern with white table-cloths and mahogany and leather banquettes. It features a large farm table for a special family-style dining experience.
The Enoteca at Cinghiale celebrates the modern Italian table. It is designed to be a playful section of the restaurant, as well as a gathering place. The space has a lively urban bustle that features rich woods, wrought iron chandeliers and a handcrafted marble tile floor. Adjacent to the main bar is a Salumeria that features traditional meats, cheeses and antipasti.
The menu is complimented by an over 500 label wine list that features Northern and Central Italian wines. World of Fine Wine magazine recognized Cinghiale for having one of the best wine lists in the world for 2016. Outdoor seating is available, weather permitting.

822 Lancaster St
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
S Exeter St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 547-8282

Website:
http://www.cgeno.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking; cars are parked in a private, gated lot or in a garage. Limited street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Half-price Cellar Raid: 50% off full bottle purchases every Tuesday in the Enoteca. The nationally recognized Italian wine list was recognized by Food & Wine magazine as one of the best in the country. Classic Italian Supper: $29pp 3-course Italian Supper available 7 nights a week.

Private Dining

Chef James Lewandowski modern Italian cuisine paired with a nationally recognized, award-winning wine list, is set in richly appointed rooms perfect for family celebrations, business entertaining and other receptions of varying sizes.

Cinghiale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (66)
Special Occasion (66)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Notable Wine List (53)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Romantic (46)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Waterfront (41)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Authentic (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Business Meals (29)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Scenic View (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Fun (14)
Cozy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Casual (9)
Happy Hour (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (7)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined a day ago

After a fabulous New Year's feast, celebrating bringing in 2017 with my girlfriend at Cinghiale, our date'n'dine return this night was equally as gastronomically great. The beauty of restaurants of this caliber is that food options change and evolve weekly, sometimes daily, offering diners a multitude of variety and tasting experience. Highlights of this last visit: Mushroom Soup (a dark warm silky smooth and velvety bowl of perfection), Foie Gras (tender, soft, sweet, plump, and seared up traditionally bringing out the customary meaty flavor), Tortellini stuffed with veal (made "al dente" and a unique creative combination with the savory taste of the veal meat), Wine (Cinghiale has an impressive abundance of Italian wines representing all regions throughout Italy). The service was kind and accommodating, paying attention to detail and making sure each portion was satisfying. For example, the T-bone entree temperature asked for was medium rare, but the portion presented was unevenly cooked making some parts of the meat medium well to medium, and the service attended, asked, and insisted to return the portion and remake the T-bone at the evenly cooked medium rare temperature, after the kitchen was "officially closed". This type of service is sought after and very much appreciated. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I eat at cinghiale at least twice a year. I've never had a bad meal before. However on this visit everything I eat had too much salt I had the arugula salad, the calamari and the strip steak... as usual the wine was awesome and the service top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My fiancé and I had a lovely dinner here for his birthday. The ambiance is comfortable yet elegant and the service was terrific, very attentive and responsive. We sat at a cozy table next to a window with a view of the water and harbor. The menu offered a nice, varied selection and we enjoyed sharing a selection of plates, all of which we tried was delicious! I also enjoyed a refreshing Lambrusco (Italian sparkling red wine) with dinner, which was fun as it is not a common find on wine lists.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent ambiance, food and wine. great service and very friendly staff. A pleasure evening. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A near miss. The service was excellent, but the food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Visited on vacation in Baltimore. Everyone we met was friendly and courteous. Service was excellent and enjoyed the ambiance of the dining room - not casual, but also not too formal. All of the dishes were cooked well. We just had expectations the meals would be outstanding and none were memorable. Good for a nice dinner out, but won't be one of your best meals ever. As a sister restaurant to Charleston, we were just hoping for a little more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great handmade pastas. The menu keeps changing. Love the food here. Pretty good wine list too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Cinghiale is one of our favorite go to restaurants. On this occasion, my wife's entre did not include what was stated on the menu and the entre was served barely warm. This was corrected, but after a long wait, by which time my entre was cold. Our waitress tried hard, but she was rather loud and "screachy" (not sure that is a word). When she took order for table next to us, it went on for a long time and was extremely loud. Some training on poise and style would be advisable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

In town for a meeting; a local recommendation took us to Cinghiale and we were grateful for the referral. The menu has many options without being overwhelming, and everything our foursome had was very good and reasonably priced to boot. Options on half vs. full servings offered opportunity to do some sampling, which was a bonus. I know I'll be back next time I'm in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved the atmosphere, it was upscale without being uncomfortable. Our waitress was outstanding. She was able to recommend the perfect bottle of wine for the table by finding out everyones likes even though they were different. The salmon was the best I've ever had. Everyone else at the table was pleased with their meal. We all said that we would definitely return to try different courses.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Cinghale was disappointing . Our guest arrived from London in the afternoon and we took him to dinner there. He has dietary restrictions (no wheat) and some difficulty hearing. Our waiter greeted us, then shifted quickly into what could only be called a sales pitch - proposing excessive number of courses and amounts of food. She was not accommodating making us feel unwelcomed.

The duck main course dish has fine. Two of the three pastas were also solid. The fourth was dry and tasteless. The experience was far below what we would have expected given the price of $80 per person for a dinner with one bottle of the cheapest wine and one of 3 desserts.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First time there and look forward to going back. Service and food were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance, the food & the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service was terrible, I reflected that in the tip

Will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our server was really terrific. We hadn't all been together in a long time and she moved at just the right pace. She offered us a variety of desserts when 4/5 of us had the prix fixe menu, which we loved!

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Part of the Wolf-Forman mini chain. Absolutely one of the best Baltimore has to offer. Discovered a delightful Italian Red thanks to the servers recommendation. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

In my second visit to the restaurant, I immediately asked the wait person for the bread which I had remembered was scrumptious! That being said, maybe not quite as good as my 2 year old memory of it, but nonetheless still quite above most bread. Our party of three enjoyed the very good wine, which is a pretty good value, and our dinner which was nicely presented, seasoned and prepared...

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Emily, our waitress was outstanding! We had a great 25th anniversary celebration. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Cinghiale never disappoints. The food is always outstanding and the wine list is fantastic. The waiters and sommeliers are incredibly knowledgeable about the extensive Italian wine options and have always made great recommendations. A 5-star Wow.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The ambiance is unrivaled. The combination of seating , lighting and quality decor all compliment the "handsome and elegant guests" and the cosmopolitan and classy waitstaff!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good, but not quite up to previous visits.
They have done away with the three course dinner option and the sole fixed price option is more expensive for fewer courses and is restricted to the courses the chef has picked for the day, highlighting a specific region. I'm sure it's good, but if one of the items doesn't appeal to you, then you have to order a la carte, which gets pricey quickly.
The food and service were very good, but have been slightly better in the past. I ordered the lasagna, which I have had before, and while it was quite good it wasn't quite as flavorful and a bit drier than I remembered. The service was attentive, but again not quite as much as I remember from previous visits.
Overall we enjoyed the meal and will likely return, but the experience wasn't quite as flawless as we have enjoyed in the past.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great in every way - they accommodated us at 10:00p. Gnocchis and squab are off the charts good. Barolo by the glass! One of the best italian restaurants (if not THE best) in Baltimore!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Another fantastic dinner at Cinghiale. While we missed the octopus appetizer we usually order, the calamari was very good and the fritto misto was excellent. Service was attentive without being intrusive and they made our anniversary feel special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been several times at Cinghiale and always left super happy with the food. A large Italian wine list. This time we brought our 11 year-old daughter which was extremely happy with the food. However, there is no kids menu.
Will return again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sommelier acted as our waitress and she was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service and ambiance were great. I understand it is an Italian restaurant but I shouldn't have to speak Italian to understand the menus (both food and wine menus). Generally the food was pretty good except for the steak. $33 for a sirloin that was worse than a $10 steak from applebees. I will not be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Exceptional service, date didn't like food, sent back every course. Waiter was patient and professional regardless. My food was delicious, we'll worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

went in for valentines day. 4-course dinner was $99 a person and i wouldnt have paid more than $40 a person for the food. my date and i didnt eat even half of the first, third, and fourth course. im very displeased and angered about my experience here although the service was great. food just ruined it all for us though. spent $250 on food my date and i didnt like, and was still feeling a little hungry afterwards since portions didnt fill us up. never coming back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day prefix menu was just ok!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines day dinner she'll never forget. Great meal, spectacular service, but its a little pricey...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was Great...Service was Great ...The evening was Great!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went on Valentine's day to celebrate a friend's birthday - we were a little concerned we'd be out of place but we had a great time. We could have done without the pre-fixe (because we didn't want to eat 4 courses). Overall, Cinghiale is still one of my favorite Baltimore restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was very good and this is the best Italian wine list in Baltimore. Pasta excellent as always. Presentation of the Italian meats was horrible. We had a selection of 3 and they were all piled in the center of a way too small plate. Also had 3 cheese selection and all 3 were soft cheese. All the meat and cheese were good but what a missed opportunity with the presentation.

Wine steward/sommelier seemed really uninterested, $150 bottle of wine should at least include a follow up to ask if it was OK.

Waitress was helpful and attentive. Overall service was sub standard.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I took my fiancé for her birthday and they treated her like a queen. Thanks Cinghiale!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We frequent there often. I did not like my meal at all, it was the Dover Sole and Salmon, it tasted very fishy and it was also very bland.My husband had pork and did not care for it at all.
I will take a break from this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was average Service was not even average Price vs portion size was embarassing ... NEVER AGAIN !!!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the Best meal and service. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Romantic, Dancing, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Private Room, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the place! Food was awesome and the service was great! Great atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent authentic Italian experience. I never felt rushed. Wonderful wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We ate at Cinghiale on one other occasion and had a very memorable evening. Last Saturday, however, the experience was less than that. For some mysterious reason it took extra long for our bottle of wine to be delivered to our table. In fact, we we well into our salads by the time it came. Our server was without an explanation.
We have very fond memories of the knowledgeable server who cared for us on our first visit. Our server on Saturday evening seemed a bit overwhelmed--perhaps she was responsible for too many tables. Also she had almost no affect. She was all business, just doing her job. We were envious of a nearby set of tables who were being served by someone who became personally engaged with those to whom he was attending.
We'll go back because the food is good, the place is attractive, and the volume is moderate. Hopefully we'll be fortunate enough to be served by someone who brings some personality as well as the meal to the table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.