About Cinghiale

822 Lancaster St
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Cinghiale offers two different atmospheres for you to enjoy our fine dining establishment.
The Osteria at Cinghiale has the feel of an elegant tavern with white table-cloths and mahogany and leather banquettes. It features a large farm table for a special family-style dining experience.
The Enoteca at Cinghiale celebrates the modern Italian table. It is designed to be a playful section of the restaurant, as well as a gathering place. The space has a lively urban bustle that features rich woods, wrought iron chandeliers and a handcrafted marble tile floor. Adjacent to the main bar is a Salumeria that features traditional meats, cheeses and antipasti.
The menu is complimented by an over 500 label wine list that features Northern and Central Italian wines. World of Fine Wine magazine recognized Cinghiale for having one of the best wine lists in the world for 2016. Outdoor seating is available, weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
S Exeter St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 547-8282

Website:
http://www.cgeno.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking; cars are parked in a private, gated lot or in a garage. Limited street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Julian Marucci

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Half-price Cellar Raid: 50% off full bottle purchases every Tuesday in the Enoteca. The nationally recognized Italian wine list was recognized by Food & Wine magazine as one of the best in the country. Classic Italian Supper: $29pp 3-course Italian Supper available 7 nights a week.

Restaurant Photos

Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Cinghiale
Brown Butter Fig Tart, Anise Sorbet
Tilefish
Acquerello Risotto
Yellow Peaches And Ice Cream
Grilled Foie Gras
Fried Cal
Duck Breast With Crispy Duck Skin And Crab Meat With Pico De Gallo
Ricotta And Roasted Beets
Tagliatelle Al Ragú
Chocolate Budino With Pomegranate Sorbetto
Halibut
Pistachio Torta (Gluten-Free)
Duck Confit
Wagyu Sirloin
Proscuitto Stuffed Tortellini
tortellini
Bread Basket
Bruschetta
Golden Beet Salad
Soft Shell Crab
Vanilla Panna Cotta
Panna Cotta
Squid Ink Farfalle
charcuterie
Coffee Y Amaretto
Casunsei - Sausage Filled Pasta Parmigiano, Butter, Sage
Scallops
Sorbetto Trio
Baby Arugula Salad
Grilled Magret Of Duck
Tiramisu
Arugula Salad With Candied Lemon
lasagna
Bruschetta With Pork Tenderloin
Veal Tortellini With Proscuitto And Green Peas
Pre Fixe Appetizers
Chocolate torte
Squid Ink Pasta served in a lemon butter sauce.
Pork Shoulder
Ricotta & Summer Fruit Tartlette
Tagiatelle Amatreciana
Gelato
Capuccino
Hand Made Spaghetti With Lobster
Risotto Style Macaroni With Wild Mushrooms
Spiced Brown Sugar Bonet
Lamb Entree

Promotions

Tuesday Night Cellar Raid in the Enoteca*

Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Tuesday Night Cellar Raid in the Enoteca*

Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Every Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM. *Discount applies only to 750mL bottles in the Enoteca only, it does not apply in the Osteria- Main Dining Room. Excludes Tax and Tip. *Discount applies only to 750mL bottles in the Enoteca only. Special valid Jul 15, 2016 - Nov 15, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Chef Julian Marucci's modern Italian cuisine paired with a nationally recognized, award-winning wine list, is set in richly appointed rooms perfect for family celebrations, business entertaining and other receptions of varying sizes.

Cinghiale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

Fit for Foodies (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Notable Wine List (38)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Romantic (23)
Scenic View (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1066 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very creative Italian dishes served exce ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Very creative Italian dishes served excellently in a charming atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good. Food tasted good but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service was good. Food tasted good but portions were too small. Descriptions in menu of items were not the same as how waiter described them. One interesting (and delicious) corn-based meal came out more like a stew or soup rather than a solid meal as suggested in the menu. Disappointing and left me hungry. Also, I thought for what we got, the prices were too high. The specialty drinks were very good. Nice presentation, good taste and seasonally appropriate. I will probably not go back soon however. I would try other restaurants in the area first. Place was clean however and had a high-class feel to it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I have been eating here for personal and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have been eating here for personal and business for years. Always delivers. Great rooms for business group dinners and presentations. Very accommodating for medical industry events that are subject to PHARMA and ADVAMED price limitiations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service in between courses was slow, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service in between courses was slow, but the food made up for it- it was wonderful and wine selections were perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent. Innovative and excellent ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Magnificent. Innovative and excellent cuisine. Incredible service. Amazing wines. This was one of the finest restaurants I have ever eaten in, maybe THE finest, and that is saying a lot: I grew up in New York, lived in Chicago, and have been to almost every major city in the USA. I have eaten in many wonderful establishments. But Cinghiale is dining par excellence. Kudos to management, chefs, staff, etal. You all gave my husband and I a most memorable anniversary. When considering cost vis-a-vis quality, Cinghiale is actually a bargain.

We will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cinghiale is an excellent restaurant. We ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Cinghiale is an excellent restaurant. We always eat in the Enoteca (bar area) as it is a little less formal than the dining room. The service is immaculate with staff attention only when you need it. The pace is renowned for its Italian wine list so it's fun to do a multiple course prix fixed supper with wine pairings selected by the restaurant.

I could go there and tell them to bring me some food and I'm positive I would love it - whatever they brought.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. Mommy Daughter time. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Awesome experience. Mommy Daughter time.....movie date after. Took advantage of restaurant week. It was a perfect menu and we chose wisely-everything seasoned well and great balance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely wonderful; it ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was absolutely wonderful; it was more than a pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The third visit did not disappoint! Our ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The third visit did not disappoint! Our friends were blown away by the dinner. Service is excellent. The fish was delicious and wine paired well. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our whole experience was truly great. Ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our whole experience was truly great. Can't waittogoback!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOUD LOUD LOUD detracted from beautiful ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

LOUD LOUD LOUD detracted from beautiful surroundings, excellent service and delicious and elegantly-plated food.

WOMEN'S BATHROOM - beware of dangerously loose toilet seats! This is not just a nuisance, it is truly dangerous. The first one I chose was so loose that practically threw me into a wall. Unacceptable anywhere anytime. To their credit, the stall was closed and appropriate sign placed when I pointed it out to the manager. Sadly, the next time I went to the bathroom before leaving, ANOTHER loose seat was available.

No one wants to get hurt. No one wants to soil their clothing. And no one should have to put up with that! It is INCONCEIVABLE that management was unaware and even worse, did not stay on top of the situation. A real hazard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful place for dinner. Outstandings ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Wonderful place for dinner. Outstandingservice and delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and attentive service as alwa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food and attentive service as always. Extensive and fabulous wine list which is perfect for the 50% wine special they have every Tuesday. Everything on the menu hits the spot from the appetizers to the tasty espresso. Can't miss this spot when in Baltimore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, we have been many times. Alw ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Wonderful, we have been many times. Always a unique and special Baltimore experience

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The fish is perfect ! Chef really knows ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The fish is perfect ! Chef really knows what she is doing . I have been looking for good execution. This is the one ! Waiter is super friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience! I have some food al ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Awesome experience! I have some food allergies and waiter helped me make my selections. I brought my friends from out of town and they raved about their experience too. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent from the hoste ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The service was excellent from the hostess you the bar and then the table! Never felt rushed which was great... and the food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite Baltimore Restaurant once ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our favorite Baltimore Restaurant once again did not disappoint. We have been coming here since it first opened, at least 3 times a year, & this was one of the best meals ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hadn't been to Baltimore in a while but ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Hadn't been to Baltimore in a while but we always liked Cinghiale and wanted to try it again. Plus this turned out to be Restaurant Week so we all ate from this menu. Fabulous salads, I loved the fish, the pasta was slightly less exciting, and great desserts. It hasn't lost its charm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great but the food was a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was great but the food was a little too salty for us. They made the pastas again and they were better but still salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The meal was wonderful, the service was ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The meal was wonderful, the service was superb, and the evening was delightful. It is always a pleasure to dine here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences ever. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever. The waiter and host were so attentive. Wonderful staff, amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to Cinghiale in over a y ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had not been to Cinghiale in over a year, and decided to splurge for my husband's birthday. While sipping our wine, a panhandler visited the table next to ours. The outdoor manager/sommelier/servers said nothing. My husband ordered a salad with no cheese. Our server then brought a bowl of tortellini as a treat after our salads. Thanks, we said, but he doesn't eat cheese. This was wrapped to go for me. Along with our dessert, my husband ordered a cappuccino that took 8-10 minutes to arrive and THEN the server apologized for the cheese issues by pouring us limoncello right at about when we wanted to settle the check. We stayed and did leave a full tip out of guilt, not pleasure. We won't be back any time soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Another great meal at Cinghiale! Fantas ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Another great meal at Cinghiale! Fantastic and very knowledgeable service from our waitress, Valencia, who not only illuminated the menu choices, but offered advice based on the weather (hot! and we were at an outside table at our request) and the local soon-to-be-out-of-season offerings. She was as fabulous as the chef's selections!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whether you do the full tasting menu, th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Whether you do the full tasting menu, the more limited menu, or go à la carte, there are a wealth of delicious choices at Cinghiale. The wait staff is very attentive, the courses come to the table at an appropriate pace, and the views of the harbor are delightful. If you're a fan of other Foreman-Wolf restaurants (Petit Louis, Pazo, etc.), Cinghiale will not disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outside Bistro was awesome with an excel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outside Bistro was awesome with an excellent wine list. Highly recommend, the knowledge of all the servers was quite impressive also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff were capable, easy to tal ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The wait staff were capable, easy to talk with and ....great. One of my best meals in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cinghiale is rivaling Aggio at the very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Cinghiale is rivaling Aggio at the very top of modern Italian dining in Baltimore. We started with the Chef's choice of cheeses and meats. They were so wonderful that we discussed just ordering more instead of having dinner. We ended up ordering the veal ravioli, salmon with roe, and the lamb. What an enjoyable meal. By the way, Cinghiale has an amazing wine program.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This remains our favorite restaurant in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This remains our favorite restaurant in Baltimore. Just entering makes you relax. The wine list easily translate by the staff, the food is original, and the ambiance is singular. Take time to enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Service was impeccable, wine list was ex ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was impeccable, wine list was extensive and well put together, and the food was great. We went for our first wedding anniversary and they made the night as special as can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was great, service was super pleasa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was great, service was super pleasant but had a few hiccups from bread service, to missing courses and forgetting drinks. Service wasn't smooth but the food over preformed.

Slow night it happens. Everyone was kind and gracious, just wasn't as polished as it needed to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

It could not have been better.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I have gone to Cinghiale a number of times, some for business, others for pleasure. Each time I have experienced excellent (northern Italian) food, attentive (but not intrusive) service, vibrant (but relaxing) ambiance, and a superb (most Italian) wine list.

But this time, for my wife's and my 1st wedding anniversary, Cinghiale outdid themselves. We had a sidewalk table (which they had to switch out because of wobbly legs, but they did so with a minimum of bother to us). We had two servers, who somehow coordinated their efforts seamlessly; both were knowledgeable about the food, but without the kind of pretense that you often see in restaurants like this. The dishes were well-paced, and the food itself was delicious.

I was meaning to send the restaurant a note, thanking them for such a special evening. However, I am glad to have this opportunity to share my thoughts with others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great service, a wonderf ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic food, great service, a wonderful place to celebrate!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

CInghiale is hands down one of my top re ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

CInghiale is hands down one of my top restaurants to visit when I'm in Baltimore. When I lived here for 13 years, it was also one of my favorites where I'd go to celebrate or for special occasions. This trip back was no different. The food was exquisite. The chef is top notch in regards to his creativity and cooking. Service was solid. I'll definitely be back again the next time I'm in town.

-Salumeria was excellent.

-Risotto is done the way it should be... perfectly al dente.

-Plating was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really like this place. The wine bar ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I really like this place.

The wine bar is aloud louder and a more energetic crowd. That's fine for us because we know what to expect when we go there. The food is really good.

It jus seems the service for a Harbor East fine dining venue could be better. A little more professionalism and attentiveness. The past two times it just seems that some of the wait staff would fit in better at a neighborhood spot or a more casual setting.

Just my two cents!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Incredible Mother's Day brunch! We were ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Incredible Mother's Day brunch! We were able to sit outside and the setting was lovely. The food & drinks were amazing! Highlights were the salmon tartare and squid ink bucatini. Service was perfect! Love this restaurant so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful Mother's Day brunch!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a delightful Mother's Day brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Cinghiale

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great food. Had only been to the bar before. Loved that they offered smaller portions of some entrees. Would definitely go back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.