Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Cinghiale

Cinghiale offers two different atmospheres for you to enjoy our fine dining establishment.
The Osteria at Cinghiale has the feel of an elegant tavern with white table-cloths and mahogany and leather banquettes. It features a large farm table for a special family-style dining experience.
The Enoteca at Cinghiale celebrates the modern Italian table. It is designed to be a playful section of the restaurant, as well as a gathering place. The space has a lively urban bustle that features rich woods, wrought iron chandeliers and a handcrafted marble tile floor. Adjacent to the main bar is a Salumeria that features traditional meats, cheeses and antipasti.
The menu is complimented by an over 500 label wine list that features Northern and Central Italian wines. World of Fine Wine magazine recognized Cinghiale for having one of the best wine lists in the world for 2016. Outdoor seating is available, weather permitting.

822 Lancaster St
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Sunday: 11am-2pm, 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
S Exeter St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 547-8282

Website:
http://www.cgeno.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking; cars are parked in a private, gated lot or in a garage. Limited street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
James Lewandowski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Half-price Cellar Raid: 50% off full bottle purchases every Tuesday in the Enoteca. The nationally recognized Italian wine list was recognized by Food & Wine magazine as one of the best in the country. Classic Italian Supper: $29pp 3-course Italian Supper available 7 nights a week.

Private Dining

Chef James Lewandowski modern Italian cuisine paired with a nationally recognized, award-winning wine list, is set in richly appointed rooms perfect for family celebrations, business entertaining and other receptions of varying sizes.

Cinghiale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (63)
Good for a Date (63)
Special Occasion (58)
See All
Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (42)
Waterfront (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Authentic (31)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Business Meals (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Scenic View (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
People Watching (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Cozy (12)
Fun (12)
Casual (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, our meal at Cinghiale was excellent. The menu was creative as ever but still very traditional Northern Italian. A great wine list at very reasonable prices . Impeccable service. The staff from the Manager Ingrid to the bussers are very friendly and always ready to please. We come here often and its well worth our 45 minute trip.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Waterfront, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Organic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was perfect from beginning to end. They have complementary valet. They had read my note and wished us a happy anniversary as soon as we arrived. The bread they bring out is homemade and delicious. Service is very attentive and great fine dining experience. We got the crab risotto and it was to die for how perfectly creamy it was. We each got duck and veal tenderloin and both were cooked to perfection. The suggested Italian wine was great with our entrees. They had an extensive wine list that was authentic. The dessert was decadent but delicious. We absolutely loved the lemon tart! For our anniversary they gave us complementary dessert wines with our two desserts. It was raining when we went out to get our car and the valet gave us an umbrella. I would definitely love to go back and would recommend to all for their amazing food. I can't wait to come back and try the homemade pastas!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Exquisite experience . We went during restaurant week and we're not disappointed. The food was good . I ordered a fish dish. The cod was good but blend . I would have liked an aioli sauce or pesto to go with it, but it was well presented. The interieur is elegant, the staff was sophisticated and discreet while watchful . I loved the white linen on the tables. It reminded me of famous French restaurants like Le Grand Vefour or l'Arpège. The wine list was long and impressive with all Italian wines from different regions. I know we will be back! This restaurant has nothing to envy from Top European restaurants. It plays on the same league! Buon apetito!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Superb attention to every detail from the moment we walked in the door. Service was impeccable. Highly recommend the wine pairings. They were delightful and perfectly selected to complement each freshly prepared al a carte dish. Both the duck and cod were exquisite in freshness and not overpowered with sauces or added flavors, but simply enhanced by herbs, broth and fruits. The risotto was the best I've had this side of Vienna. You'll want to leave room for the tangy sorbets. I recommend the one accompanied by a tableside splash of espresso on top. Extra kudos for asking if I preferred decaf. Thanks for a memorable evening waterside in Harbor East Baltimore.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The four course menu here is the best deal in Baltimore. This restaurant has incredible value, great service, and the food is perfectly executed.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fabulous Dining experience. We all tried things we've never eaten before. The Foie Gras, Cinghalie Strip Loin and Duck Breast were favorites of the table. We were also very much in love with the Grilled Calamari. We will be back for many more meals with this outstanding team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was a wonderful spot to celebrate both of my in-laws' birthdays. We were all very impressed with our meals. We loved the suggested wine pairings that go along with each course. The service was great, too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As usual another great meal! The foie gras appetizer was wonderful. The soft shells terrific. The new york strip steak was also done to perfection. Great Tiramisu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Overall we enjoyed this restaurant. The majority of the food was very good, however the Cod was not good. My girlfriend has allergies for dairy and eggs which made it harder then normal to find options, however the server was very accommodating and helpful.

If you are vegan this is not the restaurant for you!

The outdoor seating is very nice. Right on the water with great views. The servers and everybody working there were extraordinarily helpful.

I would absolutely recommend this restaurant for a business meal or date.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great place to go for fantastic food, romantic setting or a nice chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Went here for restaurant week. They had a great selection on the restaurant week menu and the portions were normal size (some restaurants give you smaller portions from their restaurant week menu) Service was great. We actually did the restaurant week menu and added another appetizer. We have added Cinghiale to our list of go to restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The saltimboca was delicious but it was heavy on the salt, sea salt I think. The kale was beautiful to look at but it was overly salted or peppered. It was hard to tell is was kale. The polenta was beautiful. I don't think that such beautiful ingredients need that much exterior flavoring.

B. Matheson

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Kim was an amazing server. The deserts and mains were on point. Salad course was seasoned unevenly but still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Peach Bellinis, Bruschetta with beans, everything about their menu is unique and exquisite. I can't wait to go back and explore more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

I was slightly disappointed by the restaurant week menu choices. The food was good but I have eaten here before and there are much better choices on the menu that highlight what I liked when I visited before.

Service was excellent and the cocktails were excellent as well.

Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have been to Cinghiale several times and have really liked it. This time (Rest. Wk) it was OK, but not nearly what we were used to. Expecting a crowd, we booked at 6:00. Nobody, absolutely nobody was in the restaurant. Our server was very nice, but "forgot" our wine pairings even after we asked and the MIC had to bring them (and did comp them -- a good move). Our pre-dinner drinks were served about 5 min. apart, so mine sat with ice melting until my spouse's arrived. The main courses (chicken saltimboca and skate) were almost inedible for the salt. My husband does not like to send things back, so he ate a few bites and then existed on salad and dessert. Speaking of dessert, one of the two offerings (which we were going to order) was unavailable ("the chef did not make enough"), but redemption was at hand - the MIC told us to order anything off the regular menu. We had a scrumptious chocolate dessert . Staff was very gracious (if absent minded). When we left, there still was nobody else there. The valet said he didn't have any change for a tip (we asked since we only had a twenty) and told us to go look for an ATM!I am so sad as I really had enjoyed Cinghiale, but I doubt we will go back soon. (And we drove from Annapolis!) Sigh.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always a great experience. Our server did a nice job, but she presented the bill before we were really ready to leave, and when we asked for more to drink it took a while to get it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Exquisite food and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent cheese, although served out of order. I asked for the cheese first then the salad then the main dish. Cheese and salad came at same time. Pasta dish too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Celebrating the news that our first grandkids(twins) will be girls. Wonderful menu and exquisite food, the foie gras was heavenly, very unusual pastas. Attentive staff, great wine pairings and not too expensive.
Loved it.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great ambiance, selection of seafood , meat and vegetarian options, best Italian wine list outside of NYC

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great place for big boy Italian in Balti
Another Cindy Wolfe home run!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great Friday Date Night deal, but service seemed a little slow for how few people were there.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Overall, fine. Our waitress was not up to speed re gluten free pasta.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Cinghale is one of our all time favorite restaurants!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This was the kind of meal that you talk about how good it was 2 days later. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Elegant and excellent restaurant in the Harbor East area of Baltimore. Very quiet on the night we went with excellent service and very extensive Italian wine list at relatively reasonable prices. The prix fixe dinner was also reasonable (a bit on the high side, but worth it based on the food and service) and was just the right amount of food. The food was excellent as well. Highly recommended

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was OK, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Disappointed by one of our favorite restaurants. Stopped by on a Beautiful evening on the patio for a light meal that dragged on for over two hours. Crab frisée salad, when it finally arrived, seemed undressed -- flavorless. Our server, though nice, disappeared for long stretches. So unusual for this place. What happened?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything about the meal was a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent meal again. Come back every year. Thanks again for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Not nearly as good as the last time I was there. Food service was much slower and food, the pasta course specifically, was lower quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This business dinner was to welcome a couple that has decided on a Baltimore position from Seattle. It took one hour from our first course to our main. What? yep. They didn't even seem full. Pretty inexcusable. They comped a couple of glasses of wine to say sorry.
We liked these people we were meeting but we all did not want this long drawn out dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Outstanding service and food.

Attentive staff who were knowledgeable and helpful. Food was amazing, ordered several recommended dishes and the wine list was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We had a very good time with first time customers. Very friendly atmosphere; great location. The decor was unique and apropos to the setting and menu.


FYI: Thought this was a "10X" reservation?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We took my father to one of his favorite restaurants for a Brunch on Father's Day. It was a huge disappointment and I don't think he will return. The entire service team was dour, brusque, and unwelcoming and tried to rush us so we could leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This usually outstanding restaurant was a great disappoint at a recent Sunday brunch. both the service and the food were well below what we had come to expect from this restaurant. Sincerely hope this was just a particularly "bad day" and not the new norm for this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day brunch. Sat in main dining room (almost empty). Delicious Italian themed cocktails. $29 fixed price selection (primi & dolci) with unlimited antipasti. Great service. Will certainly return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great date night dinner. Everything was perfect from the wine pairings, portion size, excellent food and pace of the courses made it a relaxing night. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.