About Cinghiale - Enoteca (Wine Bar)

822 Lancaster St
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

The Enoteca at Cinghiale celebrates the modern Italian table. It is designed to be a playful section of the restaurant, as well as a gathering place; the center of downtown where everyone goes to meet over business and social occasions. The space has a lively urban bustle that features rich woods, wrought iron chandeliers and a handcrafted marble tile floor. The centerpiece is a 40-ft mustard-yellow marble bar flanked by two bronze wild boar sculptures that appear to be lunging into the space from the wild. Adjacent to the main bar is a Salumeria that features traditional meats, cheeses and antipasti; each prepared in open view. The Enoteca staff is highly trained on Italian wines and looks forward to serving you from the over 400 label selection. There are approximately 40 wines by the glass. Food & Wine magazine recognized Cinghiale for having one of the best new wine lists in the country for 2008.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sunday: 5:30pm-8pm

Cross Street:
S Exeter St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 547-8282

Website:
http://www.cgeno.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking; cars are parked in a private, gated lot or in a garage. Limited street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Julian Marucci

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Half-priced Rare Wine Night: 50% off full bottle purchases every Tuesday in the Enoteca. The nationally recognized Italian wine list was recognized by Food & Wine magazine as one of the best in the country. Classic Italian Supper: $29pp 3-course Italian Supper available 7 nights a week.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Chef Julian Marucci's modern Italian cuisine paired with a nationally recognized, award-winning wine list, is set in richly appointed rooms perfect for family celebrations, business entertaining and other receptions of varying sizes.

Cinghiale - Enoteca (Wine Bar) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

notable wine list (46)
fit for foodies (44)
special occasion (44)
See All
good for groups (28)
romantic (26)
neighborhood gem (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (12)
scenic view (11)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Mother's Day brunch! We were ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Incredible Mother's Day brunch! We were able to sit outside and the setting was lovely. The food & drinks were amazing! Highlights were the salmon tartare and squid ink bucatini. Service was perfect! Love this restaurant so much!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful Mother's Day brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a delightful Mother's Day brunch!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner at Cinghiale

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Great food. Had only been to the bar before. Loved that they offered smaller portions of some entrees. Would definitely go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Always a great meal

food4
ambience3
service1

This was not our first visit to Cinghial ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This was not our first visit to Cinghiale. If it was, it would have been our last. The food was very good, as always....but the service was just unacceptable. It was so uncomfortably warm in the restaurant that I sweat through my clothes. We usually love this restaurant. My husband and I chose it for our special occasion meals several times....but I will now be very cautious about going back. I'm very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, amazing wine!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This restaurant should be on every "must" list for Baltimore. The service was friendly, attentive, engaging, but not obtrusive. The staff is clearly a team, and everyone takes an interest to ensure that your dining experience is excellent from the manager and sommelier to the support staff. The menu is flexible, so you can do a la carte or a 4-course tasting menu with a wine pairing option. The menu includes new spins on classic ingredients as well as more traditional Italian dishes. Flavors are clean and balanced. The squid ink pasta with octopus, chili, and pesto was amazing! So was the duck, which was cooked perfectly. There is also a great charcuterie and cheese list. The wine list is extensive and would thrill any oenophile. So many fantastic choices for Italian wine fans, and many are very reasonably priced. But they have lovely options if you want to drop some bucks. I can't imagine going to Baltimore without dining at Cinghiale!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

A bit "stuffy" for my taste. Expensive w ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

A bit "stuffy" for my taste. Expensive with too many servers who took themselves very seriously. I felt smothered!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The New King

Dined on April 3, 2016

While Charleston represents some one of the best restaurants year in and years out, Cinghiale also from the Foreman/Wolf group may be nipping at the Charleston's heels. Vibrant, metropolitan in style, non-red sauced Italian at it roots, Cinghiale rocks with the perfect combo of style, flavor, menu curation all complemented by a wine and cocktail experience with top shelf tale tending by some of the best in the industry.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the atmosphere, food and service.

Dined on March 6, 2016

We went for a special Birthday celebration and was not disappointed. We enjoyed the ambiance, service and the food was delicious. The service was excellent! Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dishes, fantastic ambience, impecc ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great dishes, fantastic ambience, impeccable service, Serina was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Northern Italian Food

Dined on March 2, 2016

While Baltimore has Little Italy with all of the standard meatballs and spaghetti, this place is a real treat. The service combined with a tasteful menu and appropriate portion sizes is a winner. I don't think I have been to a place with so many different types of mushrooms used in a variety of dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Waitress very knowle ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was excellent. Waitress very knowledgeable about the menu and gave us just the right amount of attention. Good energy in the bistro. Would highly recommend it.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Interesting menu but poor preperation

Dined on February 27, 2016

I took my wife here for our 19th anniversary and was very disappointed. This place seems to be more about the wine than the food. The menu was interesting but the portions were VERY small and the preparation was poor at best. We both ordered the soup, which was the only part that was ok. I ordered a steak plate but the steak was so tough I could hardly cut it, and for the $39 price the 3 small pieces and two little potatoes provided was disappointing. My wife order the tuna with crispy potatoes and the fish came as two pieces the size of ice cubes with two hush puppy sized crispy potatoes, which were basically bad tater tots. We also ordered desert, as we were still hungry, and it was ok, but also ridiculously small. On top of all that the waiter was either rush, unimpressed with the fact we didn't like his wine selections, and just rude. bottom line, poor service, value, and execution. Won't be back or recommend! Had a great PB&J when I got home! :)

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When you want to impress out of town guests

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a friend visiting from out of town and wanted to show her how good the restaurant scene is in Baltimore. Cinghale met all the necessary criteria from well mixed cocktails to yummy dessert. Service was attentive but not hovering. A great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Pleases

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything is always good. We usually go for the prix fixe menu and add the wine pairings. That makes it a bit expensive, but what's the price of perfection? There is no better pasta in Baltimore. Everyone is an expert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic prix fixe menu for Valentine's ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Fantastic prix fixe menu for Valentine's weekend. My wife and I tried different courses and shared. Loved the beef cheek with risotto, the agnolotti, stratciatelli with lobster, and the beef short ribs. All paired with a delicious yet reasonably priced valpolicella ripasso. Love Cinghiale. 3rd time dining there and it won't be the last even though it's a 50min drive from Annapolis for us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience: great food, great serv ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Great experience: great food, great service, great wine (and company, though I'll take credit for that),

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Fabulous!

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Went here last year on our stay in town and absolutely loved it! Second time like bed it just as much , service was impeccable, food was amazing, drinks delicious! Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on February 5, 2016

Went for restaurant week and had amazing food. One of my party did not order off restaurant week menu. Our service was outstanding and had a very enjoyable meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

unusually disappointing for Cinghiales.

Dined on February 3, 2016

Not a great experience, which is unusual for this restaurant. There was barely enough broth in the soup to cover the beans, and the kale was almost nonexistent. The tuna which was promoted as sushi grade was only okay. The waitress mixed two different wines in our guest's glass, then walked off with the damaged wine with barely an apology. She was also hard to find that evening. Our bill total was higher on the amount run through the credit card machine versus the itemized total. Again no waitress around to ask why...

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

ANOTHER Great Experience

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

This was our 5th meal at Cinghiale, and another home run. My wife & I started with cocktails at the bar. The bartender was prompt and friendly. Once at our table we shared a charcuterie plate. The proscuitto was thinly sliced and and well aged. Fantastic. The venison I had was well prepared, as was my wife's tuna. The waiter could have been a bit more prompt, but, overall, we had a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on January 29, 2016

Had dinner before the theatre with a group of friends. Waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the wine selections and menu. Enjoyed the selection of cheese and meats from the salumeri. Each of us ordered different items from the menu and everyone was pleased with their choices. The chef sent an additional plate of fresh pasta to be enjoyed by the group which was awesome and a nice gesture. Desert was fantastic and, once again, the chef sent a complimentary desert to be shared by the group. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and superb service!!

Dined on January 27, 2016

Excellent food and superb service!! Seven good friends out to dinner and we could not have picked a better place! FUN NIGHT!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We're regulars on Tuesdays!

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

Half-Price wine night on Tuesdays in the Enoteca is great! With the ability to get a half size portion of an entrée and pair it with a more expensive wine is a real plus. The staff is very attentive and remembers prior bottles of wine we have tried and our favorite tables. The charcuterie is delicious. When duck is on the menu it is superb. Our favorites are the "comfort" foods like homemade pasta and shrimp or the chicken fricassee. We have also had a private event that we were very impressed with the food and service. Would definitely recommend having an affair at Cinghiale.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A great place of diner and wine

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

The food is good; it has a large and notable wine list, specially of Italy, and the staff is friendly and well informed.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner with a few notes

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was excellent and the menu was fantastic, even with a few items that the chef had prepared that day that aren't listed in the online menu. The wait staff was very polite and accommodating even though the sommelier did make one snarky comment, he was polite the rest of the time. The wine pairings were pretty fantastic so a little snarkiness is forgivable. Be prepared to spend about 2.5 hours there. I read a lot about the benches and chairs being uncomfortable but neither myself nor my date had an issue with either. The atmosphere, in terms of noise level, was all over the place like any normal restaurant with lulls and swells in conversations. We'd definitely go again. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently awesome

Dined on January 16, 2016

Cinghiale constantly exceeds expectation. The menu choices are always solid choices however the specials excel. The food combined with outstanding service always makes this a first choice for dinner out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mind blowing food

vip
Dined on January 4, 2016

Our meal was spectacular! The seared foie gras and brussels sprouts were mind blowing. Our bartender was also super friendly and Sam, the manager, selected an equally mind blowing (perfectly paired) bottle of wine to accompany the meal. A+ experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on January 3, 2016

I had a first-time date with someone I wanted to impress and decided Cinghiale was the perfect spot. And it was! We had a wonderful dinner, great conversation and am now dating a wonderful woman. I owe a lot of it to Cinghiale!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1

Service was horrendous tonight. Food qui ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Service was horrendous tonight. Food quite good but didn't make up for the spotty service. No coordination of drinks,servers. Meal did not flow and experience was terrible. Asked to be seated on the bar side and reservation was not accommodated. Overall huge disappointment.

food4
ambience5
service5

Always a go to for a quick drink/bite at the bar

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

We always enjoy going to the bar for a great selection of Italian meats and cheese along with a some good wine and a relaxed atmosphere. My wife and I have been coming here for 5 years since we first started dating. It's our go to for when we're visiting downtown Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit pricey, but you get what you pay f ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Excellent dishes with spectacular presentation. Although it's smaller tapas style dishes, our meal was very filling and satisfying.

food5
ambience4
service5

Worth a Visit

Dined on December 6, 2015

Friendly staff, excellent food, great service and convenient valet parking. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful food!

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Wow! Really, Really enjoyed the veal entrée! Very talented chef! Always enjoy the friendly ambiance and wonderful cuisine. We return frequently!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Half price wine and the only true Italia ...

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Half price wine and the only true Italian experience in Baltimore. A+

food4
ambience4
service4

Quiet on a Sunday Night

vip
Dined on November 23, 2015

We've been here before - always on a special occasion, because it's a special place. It's usually bustling, but on this Sunday night it was quiet and lovely. The food was delish...as always.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Italian Wine Fear - Help is on the Way @ Cinghiale

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

Needed to get to the BSO so not much time but 5 great small courses shared - tough decision between what was better the veal versus blue fin tuna tartare's but the staff's assistance with 3 oz Italian wine pairings with each course made our night as our knowledge of Italian wines isn't quite up to snuff. Having also eaten in the main dining room have to say we enjoyed the Enoteca for its casual atmosphere but also think it has more of an neighborly Italian feel.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Lovely but lagging attentive service

Dined on November 11, 2015

Lovely food for our entire dinner party. Entertaining friends from Norway. They were pleased to see a upscale dining experience in Baltimore. It was 1/2/ bottle wine night which I did not know upon making plans to visit. It was very over whelming for the wait staff & chefs to managed. The server was pleasant and knowledgeable but we order wine and food at 7:15pm then finally received our wine at 8:10pm then our first course at 8:30pm and second at 9pm. We did not finish dinner til 10:15pm. MIA wait staff-- No one where to be found. Lovely but our friends became exhausted just waiting for food and some type of service. Need to hire more staff and move your food faster.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Great dinner

Dined on November 8, 2015

Three of us went to Cinghiale based on others reviews online and were VERY happy with dinner! Two of us had a butternut squash soup that was excellent and then we all had variations on pasta: squid ink pasta with seafood, spaghetti with shrimp, and spaetzle with venison--all really good. There were meat, fish, and chicken mains that we didn't try. We also had a very nice Verdicchio from a pretty extensive Italian wine list. All in all, one of the best Italian meals I've had in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Cinghiale - Enoteca

Dined on November 7, 2015

Overall a very good experience, would definitely go back again. The food was very good in an attractive setting. My only complaint, although minor, would be the service felt at times rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.