About Cinghiale - Enoteca (Wine Bar)

822 Lancaster St
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

The Enoteca at Cinghiale celebrates the modern Italian table. It is designed to be a playful section of the restaurant, as well as a gathering place; the center of downtown where everyone goes to meet over business and social occasions. The space has a lively urban bustle that features rich woods, wrought iron chandeliers and a handcrafted marble tile floor. The centerpiece is a 40-ft mustard-yellow marble bar flanked by two bronze wild boar sculptures that appear to be lunging into the space from the wild. Adjacent to the main bar is a Salumeria that features traditional meats, cheeses and antipasti; each prepared in open view. The Enoteca staff is highly trained on Italian wines and looks forward to serving you from the over 400 label selection. There are approximately 40 wines by the glass. Food & Wine magazine recognized Cinghiale for having one of the best new wine lists in the country for 2008.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Sunday: 5:30pm-8pm

Cross Street:
S Exeter St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 547-8282

Website:
http://www.cgeno.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking; cars are parked in a private, gated lot or in a garage. Limited street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Julian Marucci

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Half-priced Rare Wine Night: 50% off full bottle purchases every Tuesday in the Enoteca. The nationally recognized Italian wine list was recognized by Food & Wine magazine as one of the best in the country. Classic Italian Supper: $29pp 3-course Italian Supper available 7 nights a week.

Restaurant Photos

Brown Butter Fig Tart, Anise Sorbet
Tilefish
Grilled Foie Gras
Yellow Peaches And Ice Cream
Fried Cal
Acquerello Risotto
Duck Breast With Crispy Duck Skin And Crab Meat With Pico De Gallo
Ricotta And Roasted Beets
Tagliatelle Al Ragú
Chocolate Budino With Pomegranate Sorbetto
Halibut
Pistachio Torta (Gluten-Free)
Proscuitto Stuffed Tortellini
Wagyu Sirloin
Duck Confit
tortellini
Bread Basket
Soft Shell Crab
Golden Beet Salad
Bruschetta
Vanilla Panna Cotta
Panna Cotta
Squid Ink Farfalle
charcuterie
Coffee Y Amaretto
Casunsei - Sausage Filled Pasta Parmigiano, Butter, Sage
Scallops
Baby Arugula Salad
Sorbetto Trio
Grilled Magret Of Duck
Veal Tortellini With Proscuitto And Green Peas
Pre Fixe Appetizers
lasagna
Arugula Salad With Candied Lemon
Tiramisu
Chocolate torte
Bruschetta With Pork Tenderloin
Ricotta & Summer Fruit Tartlette
Pork Shoulder
Squid Ink Pasta served in a lemon butter sauce.
Tagiatelle Amatreciana
Gelato
Capuccino
Hand Made Spaghetti With Lobster
Risotto Style Macaroni With Wild Mushrooms
Spiced Brown Sugar Bonet
Lamb Entree

Private Dining

Chef Julian Marucci's modern Italian cuisine paired with a nationally recognized, award-winning wine list, is set in richly appointed rooms perfect for family celebrations, business entertaining and other receptions of varying sizes.

Cinghiale - Enoteca (Wine Bar) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

fit for foodies (37)
special occasion (33)
notable wine list (32)
See All
romantic (18)
good for groups (18)
scenic view (13)
neighborhood gem (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff were capable, easy to tal ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The wait staff were capable, easy to talk with and ....great. One of my best meals in Baltimore.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cinghiale is rivaling Aggio at the very ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Cinghiale is rivaling Aggio at the very top of modern Italian dining in Baltimore. We started with the Chef's choice of cheeses and meats. They were so wonderful that we discussed just ordering more instead of having dinner. We ended up ordering the veal ravioli, salmon with roe, and the lamb. What an enjoyable meal. By the way, Cinghiale has an amazing wine program.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

This remains our favorite restaurant in ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This remains our favorite restaurant in Baltimore. Just entering makes you relax. The wine list easily translate by the staff, the food is original, and the ambiance is singular. Take time to enjoy!

food4
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable, wine list was ex ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was impeccable, wine list was extensive and well put together, and the food was great. We went for our first wedding anniversary and they made the night as special as can be.

food5
ambience3
service3

Food was great, service was super pleasa ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was great, service was super pleasant but had a few hiccups from bread service, to missing courses and forgetting drinks. Service wasn't smooth but the food over preformed. Slow night it happens. Everyone was kind and gracious, just wasn't as polished as it needed to be.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It could not have been better.

Dined on June 7, 2016

I have gone to Cinghiale a number of times, some for business, others for pleasure. Each time I have experienced excellent (northern Italian) food, attentive (but not intrusive) service, vibrant (but relaxing) ambiance, and a superb (most Italian) wine list. But this time, for my wife's and my 1st wedding anniversary, Cinghiale outdid themselves. We had a sidewalk table (which they had to switch out because of wobbly legs, but they did so with a minimum of bother to us). We had two servers, who somehow coordinated their efforts seamlessly; both were knowledgeable about the food, but without the kind of pretense that you often see in restaurants like this. The dishes were well-paced, and the food itself was delicious. I was meaning to send the restaurant a note, thanking them for such a special evening. However, I am glad to have this opportunity to share my thoughts with others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food, great service, a wonderf ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic food, great service, a wonderful place to celebrate!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CInghiale is hands down one of my top re ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

CInghiale is hands down one of my top restaurants to visit when I'm in Baltimore. When I lived here for 13 years, it was also one of my favorites where I'd go to celebrate or for special occasions. This trip back was no different. The food was exquisite. The chef is top notch in regards to his creativity and cooking. Service was solid. I'll definitely be back again the next time I'm in town. -Salumeria was excellent. -Risotto is done the way it should be... perfectly al dente. -Plating was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

I really like this place. The wine bar ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

I really like this place. The wine bar is aloud louder and a more energetic crowd. That's fine for us because we know what to expect when we go there. The food is really good. It jus seems the service for a Harbor East fine dining venue could be better. A little more professionalism and attentiveness. The past two times it just seems that some of the wait staff would fit in better at a neighborhood spot or a more casual setting. Just my two cents!

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Mother's Day brunch! We were ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Incredible Mother's Day brunch! We were able to sit outside and the setting was lovely. The food & drinks were amazing! Highlights were the salmon tartare and squid ink bucatini. Service was perfect! Love this restaurant so much!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful Mother's Day brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a delightful Mother's Day brunch!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner at Cinghiale

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Great food. Had only been to the bar before. Loved that they offered smaller portions of some entrees. Would definitely go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Always a great meal

food4
ambience3
service1

This was not our first visit to Cinghial ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This was not our first visit to Cinghiale. If it was, it would have been our last. The food was very good, as always....but the service was just unacceptable. It was so uncomfortably warm in the restaurant that I sweat through my clothes. We usually love this restaurant. My husband and I chose it for our special occasion meals several times....but I will now be very cautious about going back. I'm very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, amazing wine!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This restaurant should be on every "must" list for Baltimore. The service was friendly, attentive, engaging, but not obtrusive. The staff is clearly a team, and everyone takes an interest to ensure that your dining experience is excellent from the manager and sommelier to the support staff. The menu is flexible, so you can do a la carte or a 4-course tasting menu with a wine pairing option. The menu includes new spins on classic ingredients as well as more traditional Italian dishes. Flavors are clean and balanced. The squid ink pasta with octopus, chili, and pesto was amazing! So was the duck, which was cooked perfectly. There is also a great charcuterie and cheese list. The wine list is extensive and would thrill any oenophile. So many fantastic choices for Italian wine fans, and many are very reasonably priced. But they have lovely options if you want to drop some bucks. I can't imagine going to Baltimore without dining at Cinghiale!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

A bit "stuffy" for my taste. Expensive w ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

A bit "stuffy" for my taste. Expensive with too many servers who took themselves very seriously. I felt smothered!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The New King

Dined on April 3, 2016

While Charleston represents some one of the best restaurants year in and years out, Cinghiale also from the Foreman/Wolf group may be nipping at the Charleston's heels. Vibrant, metropolitan in style, non-red sauced Italian at it roots, Cinghiale rocks with the perfect combo of style, flavor, menu curation all complemented by a wine and cocktail experience with top shelf tale tending by some of the best in the industry.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the atmosphere, food and service.

Dined on March 6, 2016

We went for a special Birthday celebration and was not disappointed. We enjoyed the ambiance, service and the food was delicious. The service was excellent! Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dishes, fantastic ambience, impecc ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great dishes, fantastic ambience, impeccable service, Serina was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Northern Italian Food

Dined on March 2, 2016

While Baltimore has Little Italy with all of the standard meatballs and spaghetti, this place is a real treat. The service combined with a tasteful menu and appropriate portion sizes is a winner. I don't think I have been to a place with so many different types of mushrooms used in a variety of dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Waitress very knowle ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was excellent. Waitress very knowledgeable about the menu and gave us just the right amount of attention. Good energy in the bistro. Would highly recommend it.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Interesting menu but poor preperation

Dined on February 27, 2016

I took my wife here for our 19th anniversary and was very disappointed. This place seems to be more about the wine than the food. The menu was interesting but the portions were VERY small and the preparation was poor at best. We both ordered the soup, which was the only part that was ok. I ordered a steak plate but the steak was so tough I could hardly cut it, and for the $39 price the 3 small pieces and two little potatoes provided was disappointing. My wife order the tuna with crispy potatoes and the fish came as two pieces the size of ice cubes with two hush puppy sized crispy potatoes, which were basically bad tater tots. We also ordered desert, as we were still hungry, and it was ok, but also ridiculously small. On top of all that the waiter was either rush, unimpressed with the fact we didn't like his wine selections, and just rude. bottom line, poor service, value, and execution. Won't be back or recommend! Had a great PB&J when I got home! :)

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When you want to impress out of town guests

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a friend visiting from out of town and wanted to show her how good the restaurant scene is in Baltimore. Cinghale met all the necessary criteria from well mixed cocktails to yummy dessert. Service was attentive but not hovering. A great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Pleases

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything is always good. We usually go for the prix fixe menu and add the wine pairings. That makes it a bit expensive, but what's the price of perfection? There is no better pasta in Baltimore. Everyone is an expert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic prix fixe menu for Valentine's ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Fantastic prix fixe menu for Valentine's weekend. My wife and I tried different courses and shared. Loved the beef cheek with risotto, the agnolotti, stratciatelli with lobster, and the beef short ribs. All paired with a delicious yet reasonably priced valpolicella ripasso. Love Cinghiale. 3rd time dining there and it won't be the last even though it's a 50min drive from Annapolis for us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience: great food, great serv ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Great experience: great food, great service, great wine (and company, though I'll take credit for that),

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Fabulous!

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Went here last year on our stay in town and absolutely loved it! Second time like bed it just as much , service was impeccable, food was amazing, drinks delicious! Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on February 5, 2016

Went for restaurant week and had amazing food. One of my party did not order off restaurant week menu. Our service was outstanding and had a very enjoyable meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

unusually disappointing for Cinghiales.

Dined on February 3, 2016

Not a great experience, which is unusual for this restaurant. There was barely enough broth in the soup to cover the beans, and the kale was almost nonexistent. The tuna which was promoted as sushi grade was only okay. The waitress mixed two different wines in our guest's glass, then walked off with the damaged wine with barely an apology. She was also hard to find that evening. Our bill total was higher on the amount run through the credit card machine versus the itemized total. Again no waitress around to ask why...

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

ANOTHER Great Experience

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

This was our 5th meal at Cinghiale, and another home run. My wife & I started with cocktails at the bar. The bartender was prompt and friendly. Once at our table we shared a charcuterie plate. The proscuitto was thinly sliced and and well aged. Fantastic. The venison I had was well prepared, as was my wife's tuna. The waiter could have been a bit more prompt, but, overall, we had a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on January 29, 2016

Had dinner before the theatre with a group of friends. Waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the wine selections and menu. Enjoyed the selection of cheese and meats from the salumeri. Each of us ordered different items from the menu and everyone was pleased with their choices. The chef sent an additional plate of fresh pasta to be enjoyed by the group which was awesome and a nice gesture. Desert was fantastic and, once again, the chef sent a complimentary desert to be shared by the group. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and superb service!!

Dined on January 27, 2016

Excellent food and superb service!! Seven good friends out to dinner and we could not have picked a better place! FUN NIGHT!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We're regulars on Tuesdays!

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

Half-Price wine night on Tuesdays in the Enoteca is great! With the ability to get a half size portion of an entrée and pair it with a more expensive wine is a real plus. The staff is very attentive and remembers prior bottles of wine we have tried and our favorite tables. The charcuterie is delicious. When duck is on the menu it is superb. Our favorites are the "comfort" foods like homemade pasta and shrimp or the chicken fricassee. We have also had a private event that we were very impressed with the food and service. Would definitely recommend having an affair at Cinghiale.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A great place of diner and wine

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

The food is good; it has a large and notable wine list, specially of Italy, and the staff is friendly and well informed.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner with a few notes

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was excellent and the menu was fantastic, even with a few items that the chef had prepared that day that aren't listed in the online menu. The wait staff was very polite and accommodating even though the sommelier did make one snarky comment, he was polite the rest of the time. The wine pairings were pretty fantastic so a little snarkiness is forgivable. Be prepared to spend about 2.5 hours there. I read a lot about the benches and chairs being uncomfortable but neither myself nor my date had an issue with either. The atmosphere, in terms of noise level, was all over the place like any normal restaurant with lulls and swells in conversations. We'd definitely go again. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently awesome

Dined on January 16, 2016

Cinghiale constantly exceeds expectation. The menu choices are always solid choices however the specials excel. The food combined with outstanding service always makes this a first choice for dinner out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mind blowing food

vip
Dined on January 4, 2016

Our meal was spectacular! The seared foie gras and brussels sprouts were mind blowing. Our bartender was also super friendly and Sam, the manager, selected an equally mind blowing (perfectly paired) bottle of wine to accompany the meal. A+ experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on January 3, 2016

I had a first-time date with someone I wanted to impress and decided Cinghiale was the perfect spot. And it was! We had a wonderful dinner, great conversation and am now dating a wonderful woman. I owe a lot of it to Cinghiale!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1

Service was horrendous tonight. Food qui ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Service was horrendous tonight. Food quite good but didn't make up for the spotty service. No coordination of drinks,servers. Meal did not flow and experience was terrible. Asked to be seated on the bar side and reservation was not accommodated. Overall huge disappointment.

food4
ambience5
service5

Always a go to for a quick drink/bite at the bar

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

We always enjoy going to the bar for a great selection of Italian meats and cheese along with a some good wine and a relaxed atmosphere. My wife and I have been coming here for 5 years since we first started dating. It's our go to for when we're visiting downtown Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.