About Cinara

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Authentic (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Seasonal (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Family Style (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food was remarkable! Room was beauti ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was remarkable! Room was beautiful; our server Megan was super friendly and attentative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucas and Dustin are the absolute most w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lucas and Dustin are the absolute most wonderful hosts! Thank you guys!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a great restaurant. The food wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall, a great restaurant. The food was excellent. The only issue is that the portions are too small. Our appetites were not totally satisfied. They need to increase the portions by at least 20%. Otherwise, a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

One of my favourite restaurants dine in ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of my favourite restaurants dine in a city full of great places to experience. The food, wine and service are always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything I had exceeded my expectation ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything I had exceeded my expectations. Very friendly ambiente

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Authentic, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. While 80% of the ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I love this restaurant. While 80% of the menu stays somewhat constant, the chef is constantly changing & adding new menu items every few days depending on what is fresh and tasty. Yesterday I had a delicious garganelli pasta... the sauce was so good I was tempted to pick up the plate & lick it clean! The kale salad and beets were also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely superb restaurant...they have ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

absolutely superb restaurant...they have definitely blossomed into a real star on the Vancouver dining scene. Best meal I have had in a awhile and I eat our a lot. Keep up the great work Chef and crew !!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good italian with a canadian touch, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

very good italian with a canadian touch, fresh food...the bread alone is to die for and the chef bakes it himself.... small but good wine list --

great cornerlot and great atmsophere

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the best Italian restaurant in town !!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

the best Italian restaurant in town !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great experience. The food was fa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Such a great experience. The food was fantastic, and the staff were an absolute pleasure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've always had excellent food and serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We've always had excellent food and service at this restaurant, but for some reason on Saturday we had to wait a long time for our dinner. The food was delicious when we finally tucked into it. We managed to grab a coffee before we left for the opera, but probably would have ordered dessert if the main course had not been late. We had arrived early while it was still quiet, but by the time we left the noise level was high and we were straining to hear each other.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Cinara is a wonderful find. Nondescript ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Cinara is a wonderful find. Nondescript exterior, interior nothing fancy, but cozy and inviting once you step inside. Warm welcome. Staff very casual but professional.

Lucais Syme knows how to cook. Very inventive and meticulous but unpretentious, locally sourced ingredients, straightforward presentation. Simply delicious. If we lived in Vancouver, we would be regulars.

I am parsimonious with 5 stars. This is a great place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Whole experience was great from the serv ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Whole experience was great from the service to the menu to the drinks. Would highly recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and the food was good but ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service and the food was good but extremely pricey! Wow! $730.00 for 4 people. Tables a little crowded but funky place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Food and Service were excellent. Reason ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and Service were excellent. Reasonable price for the level of food and service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and great staff. We had the 6 ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food and great staff. We had the 6 course tasting menu which came with interesting and unique dishes. Our servers were enthusiastic about the food, and always available. The chef came by several times to talk about the food, and make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had 2 fabulous meals here recently. Went ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had 2 fabulous meals here recently. Went with the 5 course chef's menu each time.

Very flavourful and creative dishes. All very delicious. Food is better than many more "famous" restaurants in Vancouver, like market or blue water. The dishes feel like they are all hand crafted just for you.

The chef apparently uses local

ingredients when he can.

Service was super friendly. Wine list is reasonable, and the staff were very helpful in recommending good wine pairings.

Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing. I had the oxtail to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is amazing. I had the oxtail tortellini and my only complaint was that I wish the serving had been larger as I was craving for more. The salads and desserts were equally wonderful.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the location and the atmosphere in ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love the location and the atmosphere in the restaurant! Food was delicious! Service was great.. definitely would go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

In a pretty simplistic atmosphere of the ...

vip
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on December 29, 2016

In a pretty simplistic atmosphere of the restaurant with an open kitchen we truly enjoyed the creative signature cuisine of the Chef. Our dinner wasn't cheap, but well worth the money spent. We would gladly return to Cinara for a new culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you love food, really love food, then ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If you love food, really love food, then you will love Cinara. Food created with care, authenticity, great local ingredients and love. Food served with casual attentiveness, knowledge, generosity and love. A gem in the heart of VAncouver. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another stellar visit to Cinara. The foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Another stellar visit to Cinara. The food and service have yet to disappoint. On this occasion the wine intelligence was particularly useful, matching our food with a very tasty Nebbiolo. Well done!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, thoughtful, well prepared foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent, thoughtful, well prepared food. Wonderful room and beautiful decor. Kinda hipster, and very cool.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time visiting this re ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our first time visiting this restaurant & we didn't really know what to expect - the open table reviews were all good... So we were sure it was a safe bet... We came in after a attending a Canuck game... I had the short rib dish & it was fabulous. I asked our waitress to recommend a big/bold wine which lead to the owner getting involved in helping us make our selection. The wine combined with the short ribs was superb. We look forward to a return visit in the new year!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey for what it is, but good ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A little pricey for what it is, but good nevertheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Six of us met for a birthday dinner on a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Six of us met for a birthday dinner on a Saturday evening, and all agreed it was a great dining experience. Food was terrific, service was attentive, friendly and efficient even though it was a busy night. The wine list is quite unique, specializing in Italian labels that you likely won't find anywhere else - some great values!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding. Get's better every time. E ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Outstanding. Get's better every time. Every course is imaginative and delicious, particularity their homemade pastas ( I actually think it's the best pasta in the city). Tell them how hungry you are an leave it in their hands; you can't go wrong.

If you haven't tried it, book a table as soon as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly authentic Italian fare and restaur ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Truly authentic Italian fare and restaurant. Definitely felt like we were back in Italy. Our server was hugely knowledgeable and helpful and just the right amount of attentive. The only slight down side was that the ventilation was pretty bad in there so came out reeking of food plus it was a relief to get out because it was so hot. Apart from that I would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Really interesting menu and fantastic, t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Really interesting menu and fantastic, thoughtful wine cellar. Service really great. Obviously the staff are very much about food and an enjoyable dining experience!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food and service. Com ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Consistently great food and service. Comfortable upscale every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent all round - knowledgeable and ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

excellent all round - knowledgeable and engaged staff, interesting menu, excellent food, interesting choice of wines

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful evening, great me ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening, great menu, attentive staff, good wine list

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a spectacular dinner! Service was f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Such a spectacular dinner! Service was friendly and efficient and the food was AMAZING. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! We had a wonderful time and l ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious! We had a wonderful time and let our server Neil choose dishes for the 6 of us (with wines to match). His picks were great! We will return. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum! Great food, great service, I recomm ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Yum! Great food, great service, I recommend highly.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from knowledgeable servers ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service from knowledgeable servers who made the experience memorable and enjoyable. Food is always consistently excellent. This is one of my go to places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group of 3 that arrived at 6. It was ve ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Group of 3 that arrived at 6. It was very quiet and that was perfect as we needed to catch up. However, by the time we finished our appetizers, more people had arrived and the noise level was really loud. The portions are very small but the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food and wine selection. Neil' ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Delicious food and wine selection. Neil's recommendations were absolutely on point and didn't disappoint. Great birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint and non pretentious. Food was awe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Quaint and non pretentious. Food was awesome. Portions a little small.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. My friends and I wer ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was delicious. My friends and I were impressed with the way the food was prepared. The portions however, were ridiculously small. Especially given the prices they charge. I've eaten in many fancy high end restaurants. I'm accustomed to food being elegantly plated, small and dainty. This was ridiculous though. On top of that, the server actually suggested that we (a table of 3 ladies) were ordering too much when we wanted to order 3 pieces of the Anchovy toast appetizer. He made it sound likes we'd only be able to finish it if we had "monstrously" big appetites. We thought he was being honest and helpful (after all, they make more money if we order more food) so we took his suggestion and only ordered one. Actually, if we'd ordered 3 as originally intended we'd have been much better off, and we would have still had plenty of room for dessert. As it was, we were still hungry after dinner and decided that we needed carbohydrates for dessert, so we went out and had waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.