Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Cinara

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Local Ingredients (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (9)
Casual (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Business Meals (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

An excellent menue and dinner. The service was very good and the dishes came quickly. We both had creative and very tasty starters and appetizers.
The one setback was the cheese plate. 2 small pieces of cheese with some toast for $16.
But I am looking forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, amazing ambiance, relaxed, stylish and European ambiance. We could use more restaurants like this.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Simply phenomenal. Perfect halibut. Delicious bison pasta. Rhubarb dessert out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Nous sommes venues sous les conseils de plusieurs sites internet. Nous avons été très déçues des plats: manque d'assaisonnement, de recherche, des associations culinaires peu cohérentes et convaincantes. Nous vous recommandons de manger dans un autre restaurant de Vancouver.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Portions are not always the concern but in this case we all ended up eating again later !
With one exception the person that ordered pasta .Just wasn't enough food on the plate overly priced small menu very expensive drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fantastic from A to Z.....a few rowdy business dudes when we arrived but you can't fault the restaurant for one annoying loud table. Food was top notch, service was fantastic perhaps a bit over attentive at times and oh boy....that amaro nardini!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is a cute bistro located on a corner. You could even see the mountains from out table. Maybe the locals take the mountains for granted by this point but for a visitor it is neat. Our mains were halibut stuffed ravioli with whole shrimp on the side and everything in a light broth. Just wonderful fresh flavours. The pasta is made in-house. Our waitress provided an excellent wine pairing that matched the food perfectly. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great place for a dinner with friends and or your significant other. Food is excellent, pasta and bread are handmade, I had the risotto which was cooked to perfection and very tasty. The dessert were to die for, especially the panna cotta with coffee and chocolate nibs. Service is friendly and not too much "on your face". Decor is European style, classy and trendy at the same time. Highly recommended!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Lovely restaurant and lovely early evening. The chef came to welcome us personally, which was a great touch. I added 2 people to our reservation and the restaurant graciously accepted this with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was a wonderful evening. The meal was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner so much, and we would suggest to go early because there are not many small table for 2ppl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Second time there and absolutely fantastic again. A favourite of ours.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner. Amazing service, lovely atmosphere and delicious food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Cinara was an amazing experience! The menu was carefully created with incredible attention to taste experience! The risotto was outstanding. I highly recommend this gem of a restaurant!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great spot. Great food. Loved it. We went for the Chefs menu and it was a good decision. It allowed sampling of a larger portion of the Manu. The food was high quality and prepared really well. The atmosphere was awesome. Very vibrant. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal and the vibe of the place. Good location if going to a concert at Rogers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service was great without being overbearing. Was recommended to come here by a friend in the industry and he nailed it. Everything we ate was flavourful, seasoned perfectly and beautifully executed. Will return without a doubt.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Euro casual sophistication. Focus on creative food & social atmosphere. no tv anywhere :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Cinara for his birthday on a Tuesday night. We were immediately greeted by a friendly staff member and taken to a nice intimate table in the back of the restaurant.

Overall, the experience was outstanding. We were suggested to try something off the official wine list that the owner had just got in and it was delicious, paired beautifully to the food.

The food itself was stunning. It was homely but well prepared, familiar but reimagined. Cinara is a total neighbourhood gem - and I am so glad we found it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , Seasonal, , , , , , , Authentic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Don't normally rate restaurants because it is subjective but this was a fantastic experience. Excellent food with outstanding service. The manta is to give diner what they want. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was very good and the service was great. It was a cold winter night so it was hard to leave the cozy restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I think Cinara was probably the best meal I've had in Vancouver - and we've pretty much eaten everywhere. The service was beyond amazing and we had a spectacular evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic food. Great service. Great wine list. Nice atmosphere. Knowledgeable and creative kitchen staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Incredible food and service. All dishes exude freshness, balance, and sophisticated composition. Would highly recommend every dish on the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Organic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Exceptional service!!!
Highly recommended for all occasions

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our food was remarkable! Room was beautiful; our server Megan was super friendly and attentative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lucas and Dustin are the absolute most wonderful hosts! Thank you guys!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall, a great restaurant. The food was excellent. The only issue is that the portions are too small. Our appetites were not totally satisfied. They need to increase the portions by at least 20%. Otherwise, a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of my favourite restaurants dine in a city full of great places to experience. The food, wine and service are always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything I had exceeded my expectations. Very friendly ambiente

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Authentic, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I love this restaurant. While 80% of the menu stays somewhat constant, the chef is constantly changing & adding new menu items every few days depending on what is fresh and tasty. Yesterday I had a delicious garganelli pasta... the sauce was so good I was tempted to pick up the plate & lick it clean! The kale salad and beets were also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

absolutely superb restaurant...they have definitely blossomed into a real star on the Vancouver dining scene. Best meal I have had in a awhile and I eat our a lot. Keep up the great work Chef and crew !!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

very good italian with a canadian touch, fresh food...the bread alone is to die for and the chef bakes it himself.... small but good wine list --
great cornerlot and great atmsophere

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

the best Italian restaurant in town !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Such a great experience. The food was fantastic, and the staff were an absolute pleasure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We've always had excellent food and service at this restaurant, but for some reason on Saturday we had to wait a long time for our dinner. The food was delicious when we finally tucked into it. We managed to grab a coffee before we left for the opera, but probably would have ordered dessert if the main course had not been late. We had arrived early while it was still quiet, but by the time we left the noise level was high and we were straining to hear each other.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Cinara is a wonderful find. Nondescript exterior, interior nothing fancy, but cozy and inviting once you step inside. Warm welcome. Staff very casual but professional.

Lucais Syme knows how to cook. Very inventive and meticulous but unpretentious, locally sourced ingredients, straightforward presentation. Simply delicious. If we lived in Vancouver, we would be regulars.

I am parsimonious with 5 stars. This is a great place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Whole experience was great from the service to the menu to the drinks. Would highly recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service and the food was good but extremely pricey! Wow! $730.00 for 4 people. Tables a little crowded but funky place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and Service were excellent. Reasonable price for the level of food and service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.