Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Cinara

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Romantic (15)
Cozy (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Seasonal (10)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Organic (5)
Family Style (5)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great place for a dinner with friends and or your significant other. Food is excellent, pasta and bread are handmade, I had the risotto which was cooked to perfection and very tasty. The dessert were to die for, especially the panna cotta with coffee and chocolate nibs. Service is friendly and not too much "on your face". Decor is European style, classy and trendy at the same time. Highly recommended!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Lovely restaurant and lovely early evening. The chef came to welcome us personally, which was a great touch. I added 2 people to our reservation and the restaurant graciously accepted this with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was a wonderful evening. The meal was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner so much, and we would suggest to go early because there are not many small table for 2ppl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Second time there and absolutely fantastic again. A favourite of ours.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner. Amazing service, lovely atmosphere and delicious food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Cinara was an amazing experience! The menu was carefully created with incredible attention to taste experience! The risotto was outstanding. I highly recommend this gem of a restaurant!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal and the vibe of the place. Good location if going to a concert at Rogers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service was great without being overbearing. Was recommended to come here by a friend in the industry and he nailed it. Everything we ate was flavourful, seasoned perfectly and beautifully executed. Will return without a doubt.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Euro casual sophistication. Focus on creative food & social atmosphere. no tv anywhere :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Cinara for his birthday on a Tuesday night. We were immediately greeted by a friendly staff member and taken to a nice intimate table in the back of the restaurant.

Overall, the experience was outstanding. We were suggested to try something off the official wine list that the owner had just got in and it was delicious, paired beautifully to the food.

The food itself was stunning. It was homely but well prepared, familiar but reimagined. Cinara is a total neighbourhood gem - and I am go glad we found it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Don't normally rate restaurants because it is subjective but this was a fantastic experience. Excellent food with outstanding service. The manta is to give diner what they want. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was very good and the service was great. It was a cold winter night so it was hard to leave the cozy restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I think Cinara was probably the best meal I've had in Vancouver - and we've pretty much eaten everywhere. The service was beyond amazing and we had a spectacular evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic food. Great service. Great wine list. Nice atmosphere. Knowledgeable and creative kitchen staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Incredible food and service. All dishes exude freshness, balance, and sophisticated composition. Would highly recommend every dish on the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Organic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Exceptional service!!!
Highly recommended for all occasions

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our food was remarkable! Room was beautiful; our server Megan was super friendly and attentative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lucas and Dustin are the absolute most wonderful hosts! Thank you guys!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall, a great restaurant. The food was excellent. The only issue is that the portions are too small. Our appetites were not totally satisfied. They need to increase the portions by at least 20%. Otherwise, a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of my favourite restaurants dine in a city full of great places to experience. The food, wine and service are always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything I had exceeded my expectations. Very friendly ambiente

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Authentic, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I love this restaurant. While 80% of the menu stays somewhat constant, the chef is constantly changing & adding new menu items every few days depending on what is fresh and tasty. Yesterday I had a delicious garganelli pasta... the sauce was so good I was tempted to pick up the plate & lick it clean! The kale salad and beets were also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

absolutely superb restaurant...they have definitely blossomed into a real star on the Vancouver dining scene. Best meal I have had in a awhile and I eat our a lot. Keep up the great work Chef and crew !!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

very good italian with a canadian touch, fresh food...the bread alone is to die for and the chef bakes it himself.... small but good wine list --
great cornerlot and great atmsophere

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

the best Italian restaurant in town !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Such a great experience. The food was fantastic, and the staff were an absolute pleasure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We've always had excellent food and service at this restaurant, but for some reason on Saturday we had to wait a long time for our dinner. The food was delicious when we finally tucked into it. We managed to grab a coffee before we left for the opera, but probably would have ordered dessert if the main course had not been late. We had arrived early while it was still quiet, but by the time we left the noise level was high and we were straining to hear each other.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Cinara is a wonderful find. Nondescript exterior, interior nothing fancy, but cozy and inviting once you step inside. Warm welcome. Staff very casual but professional.

Lucais Syme knows how to cook. Very inventive and meticulous but unpretentious, locally sourced ingredients, straightforward presentation. Simply delicious. If we lived in Vancouver, we would be regulars.

I am parsimonious with 5 stars. This is a great place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Whole experience was great from the service to the menu to the drinks. Would highly recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service and the food was good but extremely pricey! Wow! $730.00 for 4 people. Tables a little crowded but funky place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and Service were excellent. Reasonable price for the level of food and service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food and great staff. We had the 6 course tasting menu which came with interesting and unique dishes. Our servers were enthusiastic about the food, and always available. The chef came by several times to talk about the food, and make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had 2 fabulous meals here recently. Went with the 5 course chef's menu each time.
Very flavourful and creative dishes. All very delicious. Food is better than many more "famous" restaurants in Vancouver, like market or blue water. The dishes feel like they are all hand crafted just for you.
The chef apparently uses local
ingredients when he can.
Service was super friendly. Wine list is reasonable, and the staff were very helpful in recommending good wine pairings.
Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is amazing. I had the oxtail tortellini and my only complaint was that I wish the serving had been larger as I was craving for more. The salads and desserts were equally wonderful.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love the location and the atmosphere in the restaurant! Food was delicious! Service was great.. definitely would go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on December 29, 2016

In a pretty simplistic atmosphere of the restaurant with an open kitchen we truly enjoyed the creative signature cuisine of the Chef. Our dinner wasn't cheap, but well worth the money spent. We would gladly return to Cinara for a new culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If you love food, really love food, then you will love Cinara. Food created with care, authenticity, great local ingredients and love. Food served with casual attentiveness, knowledge, generosity and love. A gem in the heart of VAncouver. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Another stellar visit to Cinara. The food and service have yet to disappoint. On this occasion the wine intelligence was particularly useful, matching our food with a very tasty Nebbiolo. Well done!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent, thoughtful, well prepared food. Wonderful room and beautiful decor. Kinda hipster, and very cool.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.