About Cinara

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Local Ingredients (25)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Open Kitchen (17)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tapas (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Whole experience was great from the serv ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Whole experience was great from the service to the menu to the drinks. Would highly recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great staff. We had the 6 ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great staff. We had the 6 course tasting menu which came with interesting and unique dishes. Our servers were enthusiastic about the food, and always available. The chef came by several times to talk about the food, and make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had 2 fabulous meals here recently. Went ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Had 2 fabulous meals here recently. Went with the 5 course chef's menu each time.

Very flavourful and creative dishes. All very delicious. Food is better than many more "famous" restaurants in Vancouver, like market or blue water. The dishes feel like they are all hand crafted just for you.

The chef apparently uses local

ingredients when he can.

Service was super friendly. Wine list is reasonable, and the staff were very helpful in recommending good wine pairings.

Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing. I had the oxtail to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is amazing. I had the oxtail tortellini and my only complaint was that I wish the serving had been larger as I was craving for more. The salads and desserts were equally wonderful.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the location and the atmosphere in ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love the location and the atmosphere in the restaurant! Food was delicious! Service was great.. definitely would go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

In a pretty simplistic atmosphere of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

In a pretty simplistic atmosphere of the restaurant with an open kitchen we truly enjoyed the creative signature cuisine of the Chef. Our dinner wasn't cheap, but well worth the money spent. We would gladly return to Cinara for a new culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you love food, really love food, then ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If you love food, really love food, then you will love Cinara. Food created with care, authenticity, great local ingredients and love. Food served with casual attentiveness, knowledge, generosity and love. A gem in the heart of VAncouver. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another stellar visit to Cinara. The foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Another stellar visit to Cinara. The food and service have yet to disappoint. On this occasion the wine intelligence was particularly useful, matching our food with a very tasty Nebbiolo. Well done!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, thoughtful, well prepared foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent, thoughtful, well prepared food. Wonderful room and beautiful decor. Kinda hipster, and very cool.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time visiting this re ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our first time visiting this restaurant & we didn't really know what to expect - the open table reviews were all good... So we were sure it was a safe bet... We came in after a attending a Canuck game... I had the short rib dish & it was fabulous. I asked our waitress to recommend a big/bold wine which lead to the owner getting involved in helping us make our selection. The wine combined with the short ribs was superb. We look forward to a return visit in the new year!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey for what it is, but good ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A little pricey for what it is, but good nevertheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Six of us met for a birthday dinner on a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Six of us met for a birthday dinner on a Saturday evening, and all agreed it was a great dining experience. Food was terrific, service was attentive, friendly and efficient even though it was a busy night. The wine list is quite unique, specializing in Italian labels that you likely won't find anywhere else - some great values!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding. Get's better every time. E ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Outstanding. Get's better every time. Every course is imaginative and delicious, particularity their homemade pastas ( I actually think it's the best pasta in the city). Tell them how hungry you are an leave it in their hands; you can't go wrong.

If you haven't tried it, book a table as soon as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly authentic Italian fare and restaur ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Truly authentic Italian fare and restaurant. Definitely felt like we were back in Italy. Our server was hugely knowledgeable and helpful and just the right amount of attentive. The only slight down side was that the ventilation was pretty bad in there so came out reeking of food plus it was a relief to get out because it was so hot. Apart from that I would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Really interesting menu and fantastic, t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Really interesting menu and fantastic, thoughtful wine cellar. Service really great. Obviously the staff are very much about food and an enjoyable dining experience!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food and service. Com ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Consistently great food and service. Comfortable upscale every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent all round - knowledgeable and ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

excellent all round - knowledgeable and engaged staff, interesting menu, excellent food, interesting choice of wines

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful evening, great me ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening, great menu, attentive staff, good wine list

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a spectacular dinner! Service was f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Such a spectacular dinner! Service was friendly and efficient and the food was AMAZING. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! We had a wonderful time and l ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious! We had a wonderful time and let our server Neil choose dishes for the 6 of us (with wines to match). His picks were great! We will return. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum! Great food, great service, I recomm ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Yum! Great food, great service, I recommend highly.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from knowledgeable servers ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service from knowledgeable servers who made the experience memorable and enjoyable. Food is always consistently excellent. This is one of my go to places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group of 3 that arrived at 6. It was ve ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Group of 3 that arrived at 6. It was very quiet and that was perfect as we needed to catch up. However, by the time we finished our appetizers, more people had arrived and the noise level was really loud. The portions are very small but the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food and wine selection. Neil' ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Delicious food and wine selection. Neil's recommendations were absolutely on point and didn't disappoint. Great birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint and non pretentious. Food was awe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Quaint and non pretentious. Food was awesome. Portions a little small.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. My friends and I wer ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was delicious. My friends and I were impressed with the way the food was prepared. The portions however, were ridiculously small. Especially given the prices they charge. I've eaten in many fancy high end restaurants. I'm accustomed to food being elegantly plated, small and dainty. This was ridiculous though. On top of that, the server actually suggested that we (a table of 3 ladies) were ordering too much when we wanted to order 3 pieces of the Anchovy toast appetizer. He made it sound likes we'd only be able to finish it if we had "monstrously" big appetites. We thought he was being honest and helpful (after all, they make more money if we order more food) so we took his suggestion and only ordered one. Actually, if we'd ordered 3 as originally intended we'd have been much better off, and we would have still had plenty of room for dessert. As it was, we were still hungry after dinner and decided that we needed carbohydrates for dessert, so we went out and had waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was so good. My friend and I s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was so good. My friend and I shared everything we ordered, including different glasses of wine. Ben was so accommodating and knowledgeable without being intrusive. Have recommended this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious And lovely ambiance ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was delicious And lovely ambiance. Super friendly people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was innovative and well presented. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was innovative and well presented. Service was efficient and the server was knowledgeable. My preference is for a friendlier and heartier experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Great attention to detail. Charming host ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great attention to detail. Charming host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cinara offers good food done well. The c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Cinara offers good food done well. The casual fine dining feeling is enhanced by the decor, lighting, and layout, as well as the non-pressured and non-judgemental service. The dishes we experienced were all wonderful, and on point with presentation and flavour. I would order them again. A touch over-priced, but that was overlooked as the dishes made up for them in flavour. That being said, the volume in the restaurant reached extremely loud proportions in relation to the size and the intended atmosphere, even in a jovial family-sharing-style restaurant. It was unfortunate as we found it hard to maintain a good catch-up conversation with friends we hadn't seen in a while. The noise level would be acceptable at a brewery/pub, but somehow threw an otherwise nice meal off. Service was unhurried and respectful of space and conversation, which was nice for a change in the Vancouver food scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Cinara has become one of our favourite r ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Cinara has become one of our favourite restaurants both for the food and the outstanding service. The menu changes often, and the features are always amazing. Two of us typically share a couple of small plates and a main, and I think the only thing we've had more than once is the house-made bread and the cheese plate for dessert. I usually insist on the pasta main and I have never been disappointed. Frankly, I'll order anything that involves the house guanciale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I recently enjoyed our pre-t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My wife and I recently enjoyed our pre-theater dinner at Cinara very much. We shared three small plates and a pasta special: baccala with very thin crostini, anchovy toast, cardoons & roatsed cherry tomatoes on top of celery root puree with botarga and parmesan (an umami bomb!) and a spek (ham) tortellini with (thick) chicken jus. Everything was delicious and unusual. Service was great. Also enjoyed a well priced bottle of Rose.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and menu very unique. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was fantastic and menu very unique. Waiter was very good at explaining the different dishes. Loved the cozy atmosphere, overall a great place , we'll be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in for a quick drink before a th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Stopped in for a quick drink before a theatre performance. Staff were attentive and friendly.

We didn't get a chance to try any food, but I'm looking forward to returning to try a few items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was very tasty and interesting as w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was very tasty and interesting as well. The service was excellent and the open kitchen added to the old world style atmosphere. Loved it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cinara , was a go to spot for us ... coo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Cinara , was a go to spot for us ...

cool room , great ambience team who remembered us all great stuff until Tuesday night .

normally the food is spot on so I am not sure what happened but the main courses were not good at all. the tortellini stuffed with duck confit was dry and one dish served with little or no sauce , the heritage pork appeared to be done in a plastic bag ...not very flavorful and anemic in color ...... we took friends for the first time and not sure we will be going back soon a real disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

An absolute find! The food was incredibl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

An absolute find! The food was incredible - beautifully plated and creatively prepared. They change their menus daily based on the seasonality and availability of the ingredients so just go and be prepared to be amazed and delighted. And save room for dessert - they were wonderful!

A special thanks to our very knowledgeable server Ben for make the experience of dining at Cinara so terrific.

If I lived in Vancouver I would be here at least twice a week. As it is, I am in Boston and already planning a return so I can bring my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good service and interesting dishes with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Good service and interesting dishes with unique Italian flare.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious - from the beet ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Everything was delicious - from the beet appetizer with pistachio vinigrette, to the rabbit pasta and deliciously creamy risotto. Both the food and service are reliably very good. And great cocktails too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.