Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Cinara

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (12)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined a day ago

Food was good but way too much time between first and second course, well over 20 minutes. When the second finally arrived the Lamb was unfortunately not very warm. Desert was tasty not too sweet salted caramel tart - though the crust part was cardboard like. Good flavour of food overall but did not wow me. Better places in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

The third occasion of late to enjoy the chef's frequently changing tasting menu.

Outstanding, creative cuisine using local ingredients beautifully presented. Attentive, friendly and most professional wait-staff.

Charming atmosphere and good value.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently excellent food and service. Great location. 4th time back and will go again.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

One of the best in the city for sure! Perfect meal!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food is consistently good. And the service is awesome. Love the round tables.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a great experience. Lovely table and great service. The meal was amazing. I became inspired to make my own chicken liver parfait.
Definitely on our “to go again list”
Bravo👏🏻👏🏻

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Absolutely one of my favourite restaurants! Great food and service in a lovely, cozy environment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went to dinner with 2 friends who have been to the restaurant before. We shared plates across all 3 parts of the meal. The food had flavour and each bit made me want to have more. The place was a little loud for my liking... maybe due to Friday night. However, I'd come here again for a special night out or a date night with a new guy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Exceptional food and brilliant service in a cozy downtown setting. The only negative is the too loud "background" music which causes customers and staff to have to yell, making the dining experience an unnecessarily noisy one.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Marie-lize and the rest of team were amazing. The food was top notch and the open kitchen atmosphere really allows you to smell how amazing the food is. Special thanks from Whistler for an awesome experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant!! it was my 3rd time visiting and it never disappoints. A must visit if you're in the Vancouver area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A bit pricey for small portions but the quality is evident and my husband and i enjoyed our meal. Salted caramel tart was to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good pasta , el dents. Very attentive waitress too. Parking is not that bad
Here is the areas for improvement: The menus is really restrictive. Beer , an ale, was in a small can with a short baby glass. Dessert menu was not creative too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We have been enjoying dining at the restaurant since it opened. The food is always outstanding and the staff are enthusiastic about the offerings, and they obviously enjoy working there.
It shows !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Tasty food, excellent service and I love the ambience - laid back and friendly!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great Little spot. It's got a subtle NYC intimate vibe. Great service and one cannot go wrong with the carte blanche menu- a surprise little taste of many things for a great price. Only thing to note, the old building gets smoking hot in the heat of the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was amazing and the service was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

A fabulous meal! Kind, attentive, personalized and happy service. Delicious food. A PERFECT evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

great restaurant...dishes always changing and beautiful home made pasta !!!.....Desserts to die for !!! Great service. Keep up the great work Cinara !!! We will be back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Simply the best! Fresh, delicious menu seamlessly bridges the best of the old and new worlds. Space is beautifully decorated, right down to the table settings. (Check out the plates!) Last, but certainly not least, the servers are really on-point and adapt to your table's vibe impeccably. My third time going and definitely not my last!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food and ambience, with a flavour of a European bistro. Waiters and staff very helpful, not pushy and gracious about complements. The apps, salads, wine selection and main dishes all superb.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Good food, great service and atmosphere. Strongly recommend the tasting menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We went back there because we had a great experience the first time. Unfortunately this time was only OK. 2 of our 4 mains were nowhere near as tasty and appealing visually as our last visit. We like the laid back atmosphere. Our server should have been more informed about the wine list and gave us a taster of a red wine that had been open 4 days.....and tasted awful.
We spent $350 for 4, not worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 23, 2017

what a great neighborhood place to eat! good food, good drinks, wine, ambiance, and our waiter was great! sit at the bar for a casual fun night out!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Professional staff and a kitchen that cares about what it produces. Choose the tasting menu at Cinara for a solid gourmet experience where the food is the centre of attention, not the interior design or bold face name patrons.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

outstanding in all respects. Very welcoming and knowledgeable staff and phenomenal food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

So good we ate here two nights in a row. The waiter, manager and chef were all very welcoming and the food fantastic. Very well executed Italian food, fresh and inventive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Was at Cinara for a friend's birthday, and we were thoroughly impressed. The food was good, tastey and made with in season fresh ingredients. The service was just as excellent with friendly and down to earth staff. I recommend their tasting menu. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Such a great experience. Everything was over & above the rest!
Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

a truly extraordinary experience involving service and cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Stellar service, fresh local ingredient based changing menu, each dish was thoughtfully prepared and delicious, recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The best I had while in Vancouver! Will be back.
Cheers

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Service was one of the best. The tasting menu was unique and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Cozy venue with interesting menu choices!
Knowledgeable servers gave great informed recommendations. When selecting our wine the server volunteered a superior selection at the lower price point we were targeting - much appreciated!!
We stayed for several hours eating various small plates in stages and chatting. We were encouraged to take our time and relax, and no one made us feel like we needed to rush our meal. A very enjoyable evening out!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Restaurant was empty and still service was POOR

Got under the impression that we as customers were disturbing their internally conversations

Food was just OK

Last time couple of years ago service and food was very good

I will not go back there again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food tastes salty . Had called ahead for a high chair . Got there the server said they usually don't have kids eat here so they don't have highchair . I said if I knew then we would have brought our highchair and Now we need to walk back to the car to get it . It was not big deal to walk back to get it . It was her attitude and she turned herself away from me when I told her it would be nice to know ahead of time . She was not apologetic . She didn't give much customer service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

All of our meals were tasty and well presented. The food was excellent and our server was fantastic. He was informative and fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff. The food was very tasty and well presented. Great for sharing. The chef came out to tables which is a plus for us to ask questions. They accommodated husband's nut allergy with no problem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Our dinner at Cinara was amazing. The food was utmost quality and had unique flavor combinations that made the tasting experience even more elevated. Chef even came over to offer us one course and you could hear the passion in his voice as he described the dish. I also saw him mingling with other patrons and it was impressive to see the owner making those connections.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

An excellent menue and dinner. The service was very good and the dishes came quickly. We both had creative and very tasty starters and appetizers.
The one setback was the cheese plate. 2 small pieces of cheese with some toast for $16.
But I am looking forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.