About Cinara

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver
Italian
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (27)
Local Ingredients (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Authentic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Cozy (10)
Family Style (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tapas (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently great food and service. Com ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Consistently great food and service. Comfortable upscale every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent all round - knowledgeable and ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

excellent all round - knowledgeable and engaged staff, interesting menu, excellent food, interesting choice of wines

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful evening, great me ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening, great menu, attentive staff, good wine list

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a spectacular dinner! Service was f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Such a spectacular dinner! Service was friendly and efficient and the food was AMAZING. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! We had a wonderful time and l ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious! We had a wonderful time and let our server Neil choose dishes for the 6 of us (with wines to match). His picks were great! We will return. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum! Great food, great service, I recomm ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Yum! Great food, great service, I recommend highly.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from knowledgeable servers ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service from knowledgeable servers who made the experience memorable and enjoyable. Food is always consistently excellent. This is one of my go to places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group of 3 that arrived at 6. It was ve ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Group of 3 that arrived at 6. It was very quiet and that was perfect as we needed to catch up. However, by the time we finished our appetizers, more people had arrived and the noise level was really loud. The portions are very small but the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food and wine selection. Neil' ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Delicious food and wine selection. Neil's recommendations were absolutely on point and didn't disappoint. Great birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint and non pretentious. Food was awe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Quaint and non pretentious. Food was awesome. Portions a little small.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. My friends and I wer ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was delicious. My friends and I were impressed with the way the food was prepared. The portions however, were ridiculously small. Especially given the prices they charge. I've eaten in many fancy high end restaurants. I'm accustomed to food being elegantly plated, small and dainty. This was ridiculous though. On top of that, the server actually suggested that we (a table of 3 ladies) were ordering too much when we wanted to order 3 pieces of the Anchovy toast appetizer. He made it sound likes we'd only be able to finish it if we had "monstrously" big appetites. We thought he was being honest and helpful (after all, they make more money if we order more food) so we took his suggestion and only ordered one. Actually, if we'd ordered 3 as originally intended we'd have been much better off, and we would have still had plenty of room for dessert. As it was, we were still hungry after dinner and decided that we needed carbohydrates for dessert, so we went out and had waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was so good. My friend and I s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was so good. My friend and I shared everything we ordered, including different glasses of wine. Ben was so accommodating and knowledgeable without being intrusive. Have recommended this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious And lovely ambiance ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was delicious And lovely ambiance. Super friendly people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was innovative and well presented. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was innovative and well presented. Service was efficient and the server was knowledgeable. My preference is for a friendlier and heartier experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Great attention to detail. Charming host ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great attention to detail. Charming host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cinara offers good food done well. The c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Cinara offers good food done well. The casual fine dining feeling is enhanced by the decor, lighting, and layout, as well as the non-pressured and non-judgemental service. The dishes we experienced were all wonderful, and on point with presentation and flavour. I would order them again. A touch over-priced, but that was overlooked as the dishes made up for them in flavour. That being said, the volume in the restaurant reached extremely loud proportions in relation to the size and the intended atmosphere, even in a jovial family-sharing-style restaurant. It was unfortunate as we found it hard to maintain a good catch-up conversation with friends we hadn't seen in a while. The noise level would be acceptable at a brewery/pub, but somehow threw an otherwise nice meal off. Service was unhurried and respectful of space and conversation, which was nice for a change in the Vancouver food scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Cinara has become one of our favourite r ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Cinara has become one of our favourite restaurants both for the food and the outstanding service. The menu changes often, and the features are always amazing. Two of us typically share a couple of small plates and a main, and I think the only thing we've had more than once is the house-made bread and the cheese plate for dessert. I usually insist on the pasta main and I have never been disappointed. Frankly, I'll order anything that involves the house guanciale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I recently enjoyed our pre-t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My wife and I recently enjoyed our pre-theater dinner at Cinara very much. We shared three small plates and a pasta special: baccala with very thin crostini, anchovy toast, cardoons & roatsed cherry tomatoes on top of celery root puree with botarga and parmesan (an umami bomb!) and a spek (ham) tortellini with (thick) chicken jus. Everything was delicious and unusual. Service was great. Also enjoyed a well priced bottle of Rose.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and menu very unique. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was fantastic and menu very unique. Waiter was very good at explaining the different dishes. Loved the cozy atmosphere, overall a great place , we'll be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in for a quick drink before a th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Stopped in for a quick drink before a theatre performance. Staff were attentive and friendly.

We didn't get a chance to try any food, but I'm looking forward to returning to try a few items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was very tasty and interesting as w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was very tasty and interesting as well. The service was excellent and the open kitchen added to the old world style atmosphere. Loved it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cinara , was a go to spot for us ... coo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Cinara , was a go to spot for us ...

cool room , great ambience team who remembered us all great stuff until Tuesday night .

normally the food is spot on so I am not sure what happened but the main courses were not good at all. the tortellini stuffed with duck confit was dry and one dish served with little or no sauce , the heritage pork appeared to be done in a plastic bag ...not very flavorful and anemic in color ...... we took friends for the first time and not sure we will be going back soon a real disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

An absolute find! The food was incredibl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

An absolute find! The food was incredible - beautifully plated and creatively prepared. They change their menus daily based on the seasonality and availability of the ingredients so just go and be prepared to be amazed and delighted. And save room for dessert - they were wonderful!

A special thanks to our very knowledgeable server Ben for make the experience of dining at Cinara so terrific.

If I lived in Vancouver I would be here at least twice a week. As it is, I am in Boston and already planning a return so I can bring my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good service and interesting dishes with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Good service and interesting dishes with unique Italian flare.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious - from the beet ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Everything was delicious - from the beet appetizer with pistachio vinigrette, to the rabbit pasta and deliciously creamy risotto. Both the food and service are reliably very good. And great cocktails too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a find for our first trip Vanco ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was a find for our first trip Vancouver. Wonderful, inventive food off a very thoughtful menu. Knowledgeable and helpful wait staff and an ambience like our old neighborhood in Brooklyn NY. An interesting cocktail selection also added to a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff, food, service and care to att ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The staff, food, service and care to attention were all fantastic. Our server was attentive to uswithout intruding .

The temperature of the restaurant was perfect. It was also nice because we were there with friends that we had not seen for a long time, and we were able to chat and hear each other without any problem. I would recommend this place for a special occasion , a date night , and for someone who understands the use of spices , sauces and details to the food prep and presentation. We give it 5 stars!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I find the food and service flawless. I ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I find the food and service flawless. I have always dined relatively early in the evening there and enjoyed their playlist choice as well as quiet conversation as the tables are well spaced. Last time was Saturday night - there from 7-8:45 and left as it was too noisy to talk. One either had to shout or draw chairs very close together. Could the restaurant think of some sound absorbing textiles on the hard surfaces?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always enjoy going to Cinara, food, br ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I always enjoy going to Cinara, food, bread and service is the best!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have asked for a better anniver ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Couldn't have asked for a better anniversary dinner.

Food was spectacular, and the multiple courses were paced perfectly to enjoy our drinks, conversation, and food. It was the best meal I have had in a long time, and we eat out often.

Big thank you to the chef, kitchen staff and serving staff for making a special meal as good as it can possibly be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and meal. The truffle ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service and meal. The truffle risotto needed to be a bit more truffly for my liking. However, it may have been the perfect amount for someone else.

Tags: Family Style, Disabled Access, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We liked the casual decor and open kitch ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We liked the casual decor and open kitchen. The tuna appetizer and the house bread were ok. The pasta with mussels and clams was one of the best seafood pastas I have ever had - especially the plump, sweet mussels and rich tomato sauce, and it was not over-sauced like some. The truffle and artichoke risotto was deliciously rich and cheesy. Our server was quite casual, also knowledgeable and helpful. We would go again, but only for special occasions because it's a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Another great evening at Cinara. Who wou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Another great evening at Cinara. Who would have ever thought of chopped liver served with a schmaltz vinaigrette! Wonderful

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Cinara continue to be one of the most co ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Cinara continue to be one of the most consistently impressive teams in Vancouver. We have never been disappointed and this meal, with guest chef Jesse Grasso in the kitchen, was no exception. The wine list focuses on interesting, exciting finds that complement the food, not showoff labels. Given the high level of food and service, great value too. Thanks again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Cinara recently and learned t ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We visited Cinara recently and learned that a visiting chef from T.O. was running the kitchen. We found some of the dishes to be excellent (chopped liver, beef tartare), and others to be so-so. Overall, we were not impressed enough to plan a return visit, given that we have enjoyed a number of the city's other new restaurants more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

What an amazing dining experience! The s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

What an amazing dining experience! The service was exceptional and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the enthusias ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent and the enthusiastic staff even better. Had a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful airy space reminiscent of a go ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful airy space reminiscent of a good neighborhood bistro in New York or Paris. Food combinations were good and a very interesting wine list. But despite us being the only ones served entrees at that moment, good was tepid warm. Only place in the world where none of the waiters let any of the tables taste the wine first, either from the bottle or from the glass. Wine markup on many wines was way too high. No cheese or pepper offered on pasta and no bread of any kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

I really enjoyed everything about this ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I really enjoyed everything about this restaurant, the porcelain and silver wear were so great, food and the bread, couldn't have enough of it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant numerous ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been to this restaurant numerous times and each occasion has been memorable. The menu is truly inspired and the food is beautiful and innovative. The owners locally source the great majority of their ingredients and the freshness of same is apparent. We will continue to frequent Cinara and recommend it to all.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.