About Cinara

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
Italian
Vancouver / British Columbia
6 More
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver
Notable Wine List
Vancouver
Italian
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Couldn't have asked for a better anniver ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Couldn't have asked for a better anniversary dinner.

Food was spectacular, and the multiple courses were paced perfectly to enjoy our drinks, conversation, and food. It was the best meal I have had in a long time, and we eat out often.

Big thank you to the chef, kitchen staff and serving staff for making a special meal as good as it can possibly be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and meal. The truffle ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service and meal. The truffle risotto needed to be a bit more truffly for my liking. However, it may have been the perfect amount for someone else.

Tags: Family Style, Disabled Access, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We liked the casual decor and open kitch ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We liked the casual decor and open kitchen. The tuna appetizer and the house bread were ok. The pasta with mussels and clams was one of the best seafood pastas I have ever had - especially the plump, sweet mussels and rich tomato sauce, and it was not over-sauced like some. The truffle and artichoke risotto was deliciously rich and cheesy. Our server was quite casual, also knowledgeable and helpful. We would go again, but only for special occasions because it's a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Another great evening at Cinara. Who wou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Another great evening at Cinara. Who would have ever thought of chopped liver served with a schmaltz vinaigrette! Wonderful

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Cinara continue to be one of the most co ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Cinara continue to be one of the most consistently impressive teams in Vancouver. We have never been disappointed and this meal, with guest chef Jesse Grasso in the kitchen, was no exception. The wine list focuses on interesting, exciting finds that complement the food, not showoff labels. Given the high level of food and service, great value too. Thanks again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Cinara recently and learned t ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We visited Cinara recently and learned that a visiting chef from T.O. was running the kitchen. We found some of the dishes to be excellent (chopped liver, beef tartare), and others to be so-so. Overall, we were not impressed enough to plan a return visit, given that we have enjoyed a number of the city's other new restaurants more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

What an amazing dining experience! The s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What an amazing dining experience! The service was exceptional and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the enthusias ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent and the enthusiastic staff even better. Had a lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful airy space reminiscent of a go ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful airy space reminiscent of a good neighborhood bistro in New York or Paris. Food combinations were good and a very interesting wine list. But despite us being the only ones served entrees at that moment, good was tepid warm. Only place in the world where none of the waiters let any of the tables taste the wine first, either from the bottle or from the glass. Wine markup on many wines was way too high. No cheese or pepper offered on pasta and no bread of any kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

I really enjoyed everything about this ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I really enjoyed everything about this restaurant, the porcelain and silver wear were so great, food and the bread, couldn't have enough of it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant numerous ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been to this restaurant numerous times and each occasion has been memorable. The menu is truly inspired and the food is beautiful and innovative. The owners locally source the great majority of their ingredients and the freshness of same is apparent. We will continue to frequent Cinara and recommend it to all.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time, meeting friends ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was our first time, meeting friends who are regulars. Absolutely fabulous spot. Feels like casual dining but food and wine was very high end. It felt like someone made our dinner just for us. I would highly recommend this spot and will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently awesome food, with great ne ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Consistently awesome food, with great new menu items all the time. The service is attentive but never pushy. You can tell that everyone here cares a lot about each item that is served. I always ask for recommendations and have never been disappointed with any item on the menu. The bread and butter are seriously good and not to be overlooked!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This kitchen reliably turns out top-notc ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This kitchen reliably turns out top-notch dishes and this time was no exception. The baccala, chicken liver, maiale tonnato and dark chocolate gelato were all outstanding. Service was efficient, friendly and good. The acoustics in the room make it relatively noisy but this was not a big distraction.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was good but not exceptional. It wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was good but not exceptional. It was exceptionally pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Cinara was a delight as food, wine and s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cinara was a delight as food, wine and service were all excellent. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Out of province friends of ours were vis ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Out of province friends of ours were visiting prior to taking a cruise, and so we booked a table for the 4 of us at Cinara. We chose to do the "carte blanche", a chef's surprise 6-course tasting. Each course was unique, and contained tastes, textures and presentation that were exceptional. We all remarked that this was one of the best meals we had had in a very long time - the food was brilliant. The service was professional, informative and very well paced. All in all, our guests (frequent Vancouver visitors) indicated that it was the best meal that they had ever had in Vancouver. Thanks Cinara!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have ourselves over to our server who ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have ourselves over to our server who brought excellent plate after excellent plate. My faves were the beef and the risotto with ling cod.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely one of the best restaurants d ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Definitely one of the best restaurants downtown. We have been a few times now and the dishes are always inventive and delicious. The staff's enthusiasm in the ingredients and the menu itself is infectious. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu changes daily. Dishes are creative ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Menu changes daily. Dishes are creative, but accessible. Local ingredients. It was a treat to dine at Cinara and I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having never heard of the restaurant bef ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Having never heard of the restaurant before we booked our table, we were very pleased with our meals. Each of our party totally enjoyed the flavours that we were presented with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A special place for special evenings.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

A special place for special evenings.

This was our third time there and each time the food was spectacular. Pick their own very crusty rustic sour doughy bread. The liver pate apply is divine. Two of us had the Brome Lake Duck, super fine. Others had the featured fish which they reported to be delicious. Deserts were well worth the calories especially the flowerless chocolate offering. Service was attentive, smart and wine recommendation was perfecto. Will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anchovy was to die for. A must try stapl ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Anchovy was to die for. A must try staple at the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Exceptional!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Cinara is one of the best dining experiences in Vancouver by far! I've yet to travel to Italy, but when I am at Cinara, I feel like this is exactly what it must be like! The energy and ambiance combined with the fantastic food and drink and most attentive and knowledgable staff, nothing else compares at present. I've never had anything on the menu that wasn't beyond in taste and plating. You can honestly feel the care and love that goes into every dish and detail at this restaurant. Places such as this are so rare in our ever growing city and strongly encourage everyone to visit and let experts like Neil recommend and pare the delicacies for you. Be open and try as much as you can on the menu. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a perfect gem

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I love the food, attentive but not overbearing service and very comfortable atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Hideaway

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Cinara is a little off the beaten path of Gastown but well worth the extra couple of blocks walk to taste their delicious offerings. They have a special menu with many different items you won't get at every place in town and a very nice wine list. I had the Halibut with vegetables poached in parchment paper. It was done to perfection and the presentation was gorgeous. My husband had the quail and really enjoyed it too. The service is friendly and efficient as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cinara: fabulous in every way!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Cinara was recommended to us by friends, so I immediately booked for my husband's 65th birthday. Absolutely worth the drive up from Bellingham! The atmosphere is lovely, relaxed, and unpretentious, and the focus is on excellent food. My "spring risotto" was the best risotto I've ever had in my life. We are telling everybody about Cinara now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Not huge portions, but absol ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. Not huge portions, but absolutely delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Food and Service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first time at Cinara, and our group could not have been more impressed. The recommendations for wine were spot on, the food was great, and the specials had something for every taste. The only questions that remained at the end of the night, was why it had taken so long to discover this gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

becoming our favourite spot

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I work/live nearby and have been so happy to watch the evolution and success of Cinara unfold over the past few years. Whether I sit at the bar solo or bring friends in for dinner, I always leave feeling happy and satisfied with all aspects of the experience. Latest visit...friends saying they would all be back...we love everything however the service this visit was especially good. Thanks Cinara folks. xo

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cinara means excellence in food and service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Cinara delivers at the highest level in quality of food and quality of service. You know from the moment you arrive that you are in a place where excellence is the only standard in all the things that matter: how you are treated and what you are fed. The people serving and preparing the food prove at every turn that they truly know how to make this work. Everything about the menu, including the wine list, tells you that experience, intelligence, and daring have been applied. Treat yourself, Cinara is the real thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We will be back!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Cinara has the perfect balance of comfort and sophistication. The tasting menu was phenomenal and I highly recommend. Our server was the icing on the cake with her witty personality and product knowledge. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice space, great food and great service.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Went on a date with my husband and got the best table in the room in front of an open doorway with some nice plants outside. The space is nicely decorated with white walls and wood window and door frames. The servers were knowledgable and made the experience great. Dishes were all nicely done, don't miss the nettle risotto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gertie

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Nice friendly service, vegetarian menu items limited, portions a bit small, daily special - ravioli - was excellent and an interesting wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a delightful treat

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The experience at Cinara is second to none. Their passion for incredible food, unique wines and creative pairings is incredible. We will always come back for the anchovies on toast and whichever wine or cocktail Neil or Ben recommends. Lucas and his team put together a beautiful rotating menu, based on what's in season and what inspires them. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed dinner at Cinara. Love ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We really enjoyed dinner at Cinara. Lovely, low-key ambiance with excellent food made with fresh local ingredients. Friendly and helpful service. Really a find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Review of Cinara Restaurant in Vancouver

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The greeting by the server man with the tatoos on his arm was a bit strict and talked a bit too fast. Not very relaxed and friendly. The food was excellent but came very slowly. we arrived 5:30 first ones there and ordered pretty much right away. Our food came at 6:30 ish. The room is very stuffy and hot and the chairs are uncomfortable, pretty much the same all around the room. I had to request that they turn down the music as it was hard to have a conversation with our table. They did right away. If the food was not so tasty I would not go back because I prefer a restaurant that is customer friendly and comfortable to relax in cushy chairs. Even if they gave or put cushions on the chairs it would help.The cc machine broke down and we were in a rush to go to a concert so it was lucky we had cash or else not sure what was going to happen??

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was great. Overall quality/taste ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was great. Overall quality/taste of the food was good. A little stingy on the entree volume of food. Specifically the risotto. It's rice. Don't be cheap.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was fantastic! Went there on ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything was fantastic! Went there on my birthday and couldn't ask for a better night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Something has changed....

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

....since our last meal here. The food is still good, but not inexpensive. The room and the tables and the chairs are the same, but the atmosphere was different. The night we were there, both servers were male, one had a big beard (from a Portland ad), pretty casual in the look and manners. The place was definitely a LOT louder, in both the music and guests . We liked coming here and being able to carry on a conversation before. Maybe it was one evening off, but I think it may be the new Cinara....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.