Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Cinara

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Authentic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Casual (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

The food was divine! We ordered the Bistecca Fiorentina and it was amazing! The meat was cooked to perfection and the sides were very tasty. They also served us a delicious risotto while we waited for our bistecca (takes about 45 minutes to prepare). We also ordered the white anchovy toast and it was so tasty! Very recommended. If you are going to order the Bistecca Fiorentina, call ahead and try to reserve a steak based on your group size. We were a party of 2 and ordered the 40 oz. We had leftovers the next day! :)

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Another great meal at Cinara. The server was extraordinarily professional, and the food amazing! The Tina appetizer is a must!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great small dish homemade pasta. Would have liked a little more colour variety on the plate as it came off very bland when I first saw it but the flavour was there. Got the chocolate cake for dessert and while it tasted great the cake itself was very dense which I didn’t expect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great room. The food is amazing. Service is professional. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Top notch service with amazing, creative dishes. I highly recommend the Carte Blanche where the chef prepares dishes based on the best available ingredients for the season. Italian tastes with Canadian New World creativity and perhaps a bit of French elegance and atmosphere as well. Great cocktails and a well thought out wine list. Bravo! We’ll be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Delicious creative meal. Loved the pork neck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Genuine food, great energy, and knowledge staff. Memorable for all the right reasons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2017

It was our first time there and loved it. We'll definitely go back. Excellent service and vibe. The food was excellent. Special cocktails were great. The server's wine and meal recommendations was spot on.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Cinara with the tasting menu. Both the food and the service were exceptional. After a complimentary prosecco to kick off our evening, we enjoyed 6 delicious courses. The tuna crudo was a stand out, as was the pork collar, the ling cod and the buckwheat crepes with saffron cream. Truly a great experience beginning to end.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2017

This is an Italian restaurant with a fairly meat- oriented menu. And no salads. When I told the waitress I was vegetarian- she said no worries they can make a nice salad and pasta for you. Which they did. The meal was superb. The waitress was lovely.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Superb food and friendly and knowledgeable service. The restaurant is located in an older building that, with the lighting design, lends a warm ambience to the dining experience: we forgot about the rain and darkness for a few hours! Spacing between tables is perfect so that even though the restaurant was very full and filled with conversation we still felt we were in our own private world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Definitely would go back, food and service were great. Not a lot of elbow room, so prepare to introduce yourself to your neighbours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Enjoyed the dining experience, the food was very good and the service friendly and helpful.
Would definitely return. Only complaint is the noise level is a little high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great food and service. Ventilation was poor, super hot in there and the ambience was not great (smoky, loud, hot). But the food was fantastic.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Great service and ambiance.
The quality of the food was uneven. Not as good as my visit a couple of years ago. New chef?

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food was handcrafted and delicious. The chef and owner Lucais was so warm and hospitable, he made us feel welcome and special.
A wonderful experience, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was amazing. Good job.

Kitchen exhaust needs improvement. The smoke and smell spilled right into the dining room, which gave me a mild headache. I was meeting an engineering client who also confirmed my observation about the inadequacy of the exhaust. The service and happy waiter saved the day. I will give it a second chance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Had an incredible meal. Wine pairing was on par. Thanks Scott and Chris for a timely and social evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Enjoyed the carte blanche tasting menu. Relaxed pace, excellent presentation, superb quality. Accommodations for gluten free friendly needs seamlessly met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 4, 2017

How we've never heard of Cinara before, I don't know; our server told us they opened 4 years ago!
Wonderful food. The agnolotti was maybe the best pasta dish i've ever had. How potato stuffed pasta managed to be delicate I'll never know!
Cocktail list is small but yummy. Wine list is huge! We know nothing about wine so one of the servers brought us a couple of glasses to try. Was perfect!
Also learned that the menu not only changes seasonally, but often weekly -- whatever they find at the local markets!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Highlight of the evening was the delectable burrata and the agnolotti... yum! Good casual dining - nice ambiance - really nice staff - good people - for some reason though I keep forgetting the name of this restaurant - I call it canari - cinara ... the name doesn’t resonate with me - but a great spot !

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Food was good but way too much time between first and second course, well over 20 minutes. When the second finally arrived the Lamb was unfortunately not very warm. Desert was tasty not too sweet salted caramel tart - though the crust part was cardboard like. Good flavour of food overall but did not wow me. Better places in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The restuarnt provides awesome service, the food is very very good. One comment would be that it was a bit too noisy, but definitely worth the visit.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The third occasion of late to enjoy the chef's frequently changing tasting menu.

Outstanding, creative cuisine using local ingredients beautifully presented. Attentive, friendly and most professional wait-staff.

Charming atmosphere and good value.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Consistently excellent food and service. Great location. 4th time back and will go again.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

One of the best in the city for sure! Perfect meal!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food is consistently good. And the service is awesome. Love the round tables.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a great experience. Lovely table and great service. The meal was amazing. I became inspired to make my own chicken liver parfait.
Definitely on our “to go again list”
Bravo👏🏻👏🏻

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Absolutely one of my favourite restaurants! Great food and service in a lovely, cozy environment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went to dinner with 2 friends who have been to the restaurant before. We shared plates across all 3 parts of the meal. The food had flavour and each bit made me want to have more. The place was a little loud for my liking... maybe due to Friday night. However, I'd come here again for a special night out or a date night with a new guy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Delicious food, great value, cozy ambiance and the charismatic chef Lucais add the fun to your experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Exceptional food and brilliant service in a cozy downtown setting. The only negative is the too loud "background" music which causes customers and staff to have to yell, making the dining experience an unnecessarily noisy one.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Marie-lize and the rest of team were amazing. The food was top notch and the open kitchen atmosphere really allows you to smell how amazing the food is. Special thanks from Whistler for an awesome experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant!! it was my 3rd time visiting and it never disappoints. A must visit if you're in the Vancouver area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A bit pricey for small portions but the quality is evident and my husband and i enjoyed our meal. Salted caramel tart was to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good pasta , el dents. Very attentive waitress too. Parking is not that bad
Here is the areas for improvement: The menus is really restrictive. Beer , an ale, was in a small can with a short baby glass. Dessert menu was not creative too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We have been enjoying dining at the restaurant since it opened. The food is always outstanding and the staff are enthusiastic about the offerings, and they obviously enjoy working there.
It shows !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Tasty food, excellent service and I love the ambience - laid back and friendly!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great Little spot. It's got a subtle NYC intimate vibe. Great service and one cannot go wrong with the carte blanche menu- a surprise little taste of many things for a great price. Only thing to note, the old building gets smoking hot in the heat of the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was amazing and the service was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.