Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Cinara

Cinara is an intimate space with a dynamic & seasonal food and wine menu. We work with local farmers and suppliers who inspire us to create a menu based on availability of tasty seasonal excellence. Cinara is an elegant and comfortable restaurant focussing on European style cuisine.

350 West Pender St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary European, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Homer St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 428-9694

Website:
http://www.cinara.ca/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
We are willing to do off site catering for guests that may require this.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages within a block of our restaurant, one located on the corner of Pender and Richards and one located on the corner of Pender and Cambie.

Public Transit:
Bus stop one block away

Executive Chef:
Lucais Syme and Gill Book

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available for private buy out functions and special events. Please call us to enquire.

Cinara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (65)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Local Ingredients (58)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for a Date (56)
Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Authentic (35)
Cozy (32)
Tasting Menu (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Open Kitchen (30)
Casual (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Seasonal (22)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Fun (12)
Family Style (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Disabled Access (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Organic (8)
Tapas (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Historic (4)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Good pasta , el dents. Very attentive waitress too. Parking is not that bad
Here is the areas for improvement: The menus is really restrictive. Beer , an ale, was in a small can with a short baby glass. Dessert menu was not creative too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been enjoying dining at the restaurant since it opened. The food is always outstanding and the staff are enthusiastic about the offerings, and they obviously enjoy working there.
It shows !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Tasty food, excellent service and I love the ambience - laid back and friendly!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great Little spot. It's got a subtle NYC intimate vibe. Great service and one cannot go wrong with the carte blanche menu- a surprise little taste of many things for a great price. Only thing to note, the old building gets smoking hot in the heat of the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was amazing and the service was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

A fabulous meal! Kind, attentive, personalized and happy service. Delicious food. A PERFECT evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

great restaurant...dishes always changing and beautiful home made pasta !!!.....Desserts to die for !!! Great service. Keep up the great work Cinara !!! We will be back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Simply the best! Fresh, delicious menu seamlessly bridges the best of the old and new worlds. Space is beautifully decorated, right down to the table settings. (Check out the plates!) Last, but certainly not least, the servers are really on-point and adapt to your table's vibe impeccably. My third time going and definitely not my last!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Organic, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food and ambience, with a flavour of a European bistro. Waiters and staff very helpful, not pushy and gracious about complements. The apps, salads, wine selection and main dishes all superb.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Good food, great service and atmosphere. Strongly recommend the tasting menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We went back there because we had a great experience the first time. Unfortunately this time was only OK. 2 of our 4 mains were nowhere near as tasty and appealing visually as our last visit. We like the laid back atmosphere. Our server should have been more informed about the wine list and gave us a taster of a red wine that had been open 4 days.....and tasted awful.
We spent $350 for 4, not worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 23, 2017

what a great neighborhood place to eat! good food, good drinks, wine, ambiance, and our waiter was great! sit at the bar for a casual fun night out!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Professional staff and a kitchen that cares about what it produces. Choose the tasting menu at Cinara for a solid gourmet experience where the food is the centre of attention, not the interior design or bold face name patrons.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

outstanding in all respects. Very welcoming and knowledgeable staff and phenomenal food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

So good we ate here two nights in a row. The waiter, manager and chef were all very welcoming and the food fantastic. Very well executed Italian food, fresh and inventive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Was at Cinara for a friend's birthday, and we were thoroughly impressed. The food was good, tastey and made with in season fresh ingredients. The service was just as excellent with friendly and down to earth staff. I recommend their tasting menu. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Such a great experience. Everything was over & above the rest!
Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

a truly extraordinary experience involving service and cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Stellar service, fresh local ingredient based changing menu, each dish was thoughtfully prepared and delicious, recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The best I had while in Vancouver! Will be back.
Cheers

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Service was one of the best. The tasting menu was unique and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Cozy venue with interesting menu choices!
Knowledgeable servers gave great informed recommendations. When selecting our wine the server volunteered a superior selection at the lower price point we were targeting - much appreciated!!
We stayed for several hours eating various small plates in stages and chatting. We were encouraged to take our time and relax, and no one made us feel like we needed to rush our meal. A very enjoyable evening out!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Restaurant was empty and still service was POOR

Got under the impression that we as customers were disturbing their internally conversations

Food was just OK

Last time couple of years ago service and food was very good

I will not go back there again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food tastes salty . Had called ahead for a high chair . Got there the server said they usually don't have kids eat here so they don't have highchair . I said if I knew then we would have brought our highchair and Now we need to walk back to the car to get it . It was not big deal to walk back to get it . It was her attitude and she turned herself away from me when I told her it would be nice to know ahead of time . She was not apologetic . She didn't give much customer service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

All of our meals were tasty and well presented. The food was excellent and our server was fantastic. He was informative and fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff. The food was very tasty and well presented. Great for sharing. The chef came out to tables which is a plus for us to ask questions. They accommodated husband's nut allergy with no problem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Our dinner at Cinara was amazing. The food was utmost quality and had unique flavor combinations that made the tasting experience even more elevated. Chef even came over to offer us one course and you could hear the passion in his voice as he described the dish. I also saw him mingling with other patrons and it was impressive to see the owner making those connections.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

An excellent menue and dinner. The service was very good and the dishes came quickly. We both had creative and very tasty starters and appetizers.
The one setback was the cheese plate. 2 small pieces of cheese with some toast for $16.
But I am looking forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food, amazing ambiance, relaxed, stylish and European ambiance. We could use more restaurants like this.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Simply phenomenal. Perfect halibut. Delicious bison pasta. Rhubarb dessert out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nous sommes venues sous les conseils de plusieurs sites internet. Nous avons été très déçues des plats: manque d'assaisonnement, de recherche, des associations culinaires peu cohérentes et convaincantes. Nous vous recommandons de manger dans un autre restaurant de Vancouver.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Portions are not always the concern but in this case we all ended up eating again later !
With one exception the person that ordered pasta .Just wasn't enough food on the plate overly priced small menu very expensive drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fantastic from A to Z.....a few rowdy business dudes when we arrived but you can't fault the restaurant for one annoying loud table. Food was top notch, service was fantastic perhaps a bit over attentive at times and oh boy....that amaro nardini!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This is a cute bistro located on a corner. You could even see the mountains from out table. Maybe the locals take the mountains for granted by this point but for a visitor it is neat. Our mains were halibut stuffed ravioli with whole shrimp on the side and everything in a light broth. Just wonderful fresh flavours. The pasta is made in-house. Our waitress provided an excellent wine pairing that matched the food perfectly. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place for a dinner with friends and or your significant other. Food is excellent, pasta and bread are handmade, I had the risotto which was cooked to perfection and very tasty. The dessert were to die for, especially the panna cotta with coffee and chocolate nibs. Service is friendly and not too much "on your face". Decor is European style, classy and trendy at the same time. Highly recommended!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lovely restaurant and lovely early evening. The chef came to welcome us personally, which was a great touch. I added 2 people to our reservation and the restaurant graciously accepted this with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was a wonderful evening. The meal was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner so much, and we would suggest to go early because there are not many small table for 2ppl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Second time there and absolutely fantastic again. A favourite of ours.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner. Amazing service, lovely atmosphere and delicious food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.