About Cigar City Brewpub

15491 North Dale Mabry Highway
Tampa, FL 33618
View Larger Map

Cigar City Brewpub opened April 1st 2013 with the simple goal of giving Tampa great food to go with great beer. Our menu is a little Cuban, a little Southern, a little Italian and all Tampa. We aim to provide a welcome and casual environment for our guests to enjoy a good time with their friends and family.
We firmly believe that any one item is nothing more than a sum total of its details, from the obvious to the subtle. With that in mind it is our attempt to consider every detail as we craft your food and beverages alike. From house-made pickles to the house-made soda, we strive to consider every detail. Our beer is made with food in mind and our food is made for beer. Our passion and dedication to our craft drives us in everything we do.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Gastro Pub, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-10PM Bar Open Late
Friday-Saturday 11AM-11PM Bar Open Late

Cross Street:
Northdale Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 962-1274

Website:
http://www.cigarcitybrewpub.com/

Additional:
Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout

Cigar City Brewpub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great small plates and brewed in site dr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great small plates and brewed in site draft beer. Easy to share dishes with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our second visit and just like ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our second visit and just like the first, it was fun! Great hamburgers and they have a terrific craft beer selection. We love the ambiance, the barrels and the various wall hangings help manage the volume. We'll be back again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great burgers and sandwiches, and of cou ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great burgers and sandwiches, and of course, a nice selection of Cigar City beer. Only criticism is that the yucca fries were not crisp at all -- quite soggy, in fact. Loved my Cuban salad with guava vinaigrette -- a sort of tasty Cuban sandwich over lettuce. They do offer some entree-type options that sounded interesting, although everyone at our table went for the more casual fare. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had the server Andie and she was terribl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had the server Andie and she was terrible. Other than that everything was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Excellent beer, food, service. I'd highl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent beer, food, service. I'd highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pork chop was overdone even though ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The pork chop was overdone even though I specifically told her I did not want it overdone and the carrots were cute but they were basically uncooked. The plantains were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for the beer. Some of the best d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great for the beer. Some of the best draft beer in Tampa. Will let youtry a sample.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food is awful and overpriced. Save y ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is awful and overpriced. Save yourself a trip. Don't go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Amazing Grouper Sandwich!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Amazing Grouper Sandwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Great beer! Great food!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The bean dip was awesome along with the calamari, burgers & the beers! Service was outstanding from the moment we walked in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp and Grits was excellent and I am ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Shrimp and Grits was excellent and I am from the South!

Amazing Chicharrones for appetizer

Wife had the Pan Con Bistec ..very Good!

Followed with Sun over Yardarm on Tap 7.4% delicious

Outstanding Service from Laura J. Thanks for taking great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Had no idea they brewed that many beers on location. Good was amazing as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food & great beer! Try the Maduro!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food & great beer! Try the Maduro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great menu and great beer!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We loved the Cuban-themed menu with new options (for this family from NE). They had something for every taste, including the kids. Because we had kids (I assume), they put us in the back, dark corner of the restaurant and no one was around but it was fine. The waitress was attentive and helpful and the food came out quickly, hot, and delicious. There was definitely a nice after-work crowd enjoying the bar. Prices were very reasonable for food quality and atmosphere. We would definitely return if in the area again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really enjoyed it.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was quite good and their beers are great. Fresh Jai Alai IPA is outstanding. The black bean cakes and yuca fries appetizers were highlights.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty Good, Kinda Expensive, Kinda Slow

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

A lot of what we ordered was really really tasty. The service was kind of slow, refills were slow, but I would go back. The Caprese Salad is really good, Chicharrones are awesome! I would pass on the Cuban Empanada, sounded amazing but was not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Fabulous wings and brews. Happy hour i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Fabulous wings and brews.

Happy hour is very happy. Great to hit before a plane ride home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Tampa's Finest Craft Beer Selection!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Best craft to be found! Good was fabulous and Adam, our server, was the best. He knows his beer and food selection and was very attentive. Go there! You be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone deserves a mulligan. Everything ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Everyone deserves a mulligan. Everything was off on this occasion. Beer took 25 minutes to come to the table and it came out warm. Food took over an hour to come to the table and it came it cold and cooked wrong (ordered a medium burger that came out well done and cold?!) Server was friendly, but absent. Manager never made it over to our table. I am a CCB fan but this night was horrible; not indicative of what I've come to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Ship off for Sailor

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Beer selection and staff was outstanding. The smoked fish dip solid, and if you are a Tampa native the Ropa Vieha was one of the best I've had in Tampa. We all went home with a belly full of food and growler's full of beer!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way to loud inside & outside at 5pm on weekday

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Only good if you really like craft beer and want to eat. Not worth the drive if you only want to taste beer. Go to their main location in West Tampa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Service, beer, and atmosphere are great.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Service, beer, and atmosphere are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Both meals were excellent.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The shrimp and grits had huge, sweet shrimp and my husband raved about his ropa vieja.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited for Valentine's Day, the special was awesome and cooked right, the beer was great as always, our server was spot on and friendly, a good experience, I will return for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted to like it

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

So, i was in from out of town and i really wanted to drink some Cigar City beer and visit their brewpub. The beer was great but everything else was a let down. Food was just so-so...my wife and kids left most of theirs. Service was very unpolished and a little scattered, and the restaurant told me on the phone that they couldnt take a reservation because of some big parties. After we made a reservation on open table, we showed up to find plenty of tables. I really wanted to like it but would not return. Sorry Cigar City...i think you should stick to beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good micro brew beers and food

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Large selection of locally brewed beers. Nice variety of food also

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was okay

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I was there once before and better service. Don't know if it was the time of day or what. I went for lunch with my sisters and it was great. Went for dinner with my 2 sons to celebrate my oldest birthday and the food was not so great. The yuca fritas were great, the chicharones were

over salted, my sons potato was suppose to be mash instead it came with potato wedges which were not good according to him. My other son had broccolini and it was hard, barely cooked. Then they proceeded to change my sons wedges with what he wanted was plantains. They came out cold. Although at the end they brought him fresh ones he had already finished with his steak. Steak was dry no sauce was offered. Soda was flat, later to find out something was wrong with the machine. This was on a Friday evening, was busy but not packed there were empty tables. So I am not sure why all the errors. Not sure I will be returning anytime soon. Was disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

greag spot

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Great restaurant with excellent seafood and solid burgers. Kids menu was also solid.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good experience

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

nice selection of local brews, lots to try. Good food. Burgers were great. Nice to find a good bar with good food and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brews but the food is lacking. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Excellent brews but the food is lacking. Could be much better -calamari was undercooked. Burgers were just OK. They need a new chef and menu before I would go back. Except for a beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great beer of course, nice place too.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We didn't eat, but this stupid rating page doesn't have an N/A for food and made me rate the food even though I didn't have any.

I hosted an informal apres-lunch business meeting, we sat outside. The service was good, the beer was great, I look forward to trying the food - the menu is very interesting, maybe even eclectic.

I will return, and look forward to it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was B+, service was strong, microbr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Food was B+, service was strong, microbrew beers were outstanding as were the local taps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food and Service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Was our first time back to the restaurant in over a year, menu has changed a little, but the food was still good as was the service. My only complaint would be that they had run out of a couple of the beers they had on the menu, including a sour ale that I had wanted to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I met my family here for brunch, the foo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I met my family here for brunch, the food was delicious! Everyone had a great meal. They don't have a lot of options for food allergies (my mom is gluten free) but the price was right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hosted a business lunch and the place wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Hosted a business lunch and the place was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Local brews were very tasty.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

Local brews were very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A fun bar-type atmosphere, although it w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

A fun bar-type atmosphere, although it was not too loud to have a conversation.

The food was solid, and the beer was great. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice place

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Enjoyable place that was easy to find and the beer and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, awesome beer and great servic ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 16, 2015

Good food, awesome beer and great service.

Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

CCB Lover

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Had a great evening meal with another couple. My Hamburger was done to perfection and it was moist and tasty. Our friend's wife had the pork chops which I tried and it was moist and tender. All the beer I tried, on the flight was very tasty especially the Good Gourd Pumpkin. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.