About Cielo Restaurant and Bar

Offering breathtaking views of the Arch and downtown St. Louis, Cielo Restaurant is the city's authentic Italian option, with casual, family-style dining.

Created by Executive Chef Gian Nicola Colucci, a native of Italy, Cielo’s menu focuses on homemade Italian classics with local ingredients. Parlaying the ease of the Italian lifestyle, Cielo's sommelier, Jeff Hall, offers many affordable wines from Chef Colucci’s home region, Piedmont. Cielo Bar echoes St. Louis's vibrant cocktail scene with hand-crafted cocktails and locally brewed beers.

With a variety of event spaces - Gaja Wine Cellar, Sky Lobby, River North with views of Stan Musial Bridge, private cabana dinners on the Sky Terrace, interactive cooking classes in the heart of the kitchen and more, Cielo sets the stage for intimate affairs and festive celebrations. Complimentary valet parking available at the Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis.

999 N Second Street
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Monday - Friday: 6:30 am - 11:00 am

LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm

DINNER
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

BRUNCH
Saturday - Sunday: 6:30 am - 2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Carr

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 881-5759

Website:
http://www.cielostlouis.com/

Entertainment:
FOUR SEASONS FRIDAYS
Live Music with the 'Usual Suspects'
Fridays: 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Catering:
Cielo is downtown's destination for lively and sophisticated events. Contact us for your inquiry via email or by calling (314) 881-2110.
http://www.cielostlouis.com/reservations/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking through Four Seasons valet only.

Public Transit:
Arch-Laclede's Landing Metro-Link Station

Executive Chef:
Giannicola Colucci

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis invests further in unique guest experiences, adding private dining space, River North, which offers sweeping views of the Stan Musial Bridge. This new space comes as an addition to private dining spaces already offered by the Hotel, including its semi-private Sky Lobby and Gaja Wine Room, which features a 1,000 pound table made of reclaimed wood. Through its Chef’s Table experience, the Hotel offers its guests a five-course, off-the-menu meal along with unprecedented access to its world-class kitchen and staff.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Cielo is downtown's destination for lively and sophisticated events.

Cielo Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (21)
Scenic View (20)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Waterfront (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
1040 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cielo is one of those restaurants that a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Cielo is one of those restaurants that attempts to provide fine dining in an upscale setting. It succeeds in many respects, from a lovely setting, a view of the downtown skyline and fine and attentive service. Unfortunately, while the food was generally good, there were dishes that were uneven. For example, the ravioli was divine, al dente and nicely seasoned. However, the seafood dish, similar to a fish stew in broth, though spicy and the seafood fresh and perfectly cooked, was overly salty. This is just one example. The artichoke appetizer was tasty, but the bread accompanying the meal was not particularly good. For the price and aspiration of what the restaurant was trying to achieve, especially at a Four Season Hotel setting, it was not the greatest value. I did not expect a meal that would knock your socks off, as you might find in a larger city, for which you pay dearly, but I did expect better value. Nevertheless, I will return as the restaurant still provides a reasonably good dining experience in a wonderful setting, but without the proverbial bang for the buck.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service! Above & beyond even takin ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service! Above & beyond even taking us outside for our pic w the arch behind us. Great views of the city & bridges

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

purchased a groupon for a cooking class ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 16, 2017

purchased a groupon for a cooking class and was advertisted to be French-date night in the Cielo restaurant. Instead ended up on the 6th floor in an industrial kitchen. Pretty disappointing. Won't be doing groupon again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Fantastic find in St. Louis, in the Four ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fantastic find in St. Louis, in the Four Seasons Hotel. Menu has a variety of choices with an Italian base. The Taste of Italy which allows you to choose 3 or 4 items for your meal is an exception gastronomical delight. The Zuppitta de Mare was over the top with flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting and excellent service. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lovely setting and excellent service. Also appreciated the many half orders of pasta that were offered. However, I asked the hostess for a table which would allow the 4 of us to look outside at the night lights and instead she showed us to a booth in the back corner where 2 could sit and look out and the other 2 looked at the wall. The tables around us were jammed with large parties and it was very noisy. The excellent service saved the night though.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice brunch selection! Chicken and waffl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Nice brunch selection! Chicken and waffle to die for! Must dry the Nutella French Toast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner with a wonderful view ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent dinner with a wonderful view even in the cold winter time.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the time I felt that the food was wil ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

At the time I felt that the food was wildly mediocre, but in retrospect I am willing to say it was quite poor.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was wonderful, each item was prepar ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was wonderful, each item was prepared impeccably. Going on New Year's Day was a disaster. Since they were the only restaurant open in the downtown area, service was awful. Very few reservations caused the restaurant to send servers and staff home and then the restaurant was slammed. The restaurant was very expensive, since it is in the Four Seasons hotel with a wonderful chef, but well worth money. Would go there again, but probably not on a holiday.

Tags: Organic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Service was good. I was not aware t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Service was good. I was not aware that you could not order from the menu before 3pm. This was upsetting because there was a member in our party that does not like buffets.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our first time eating at Cielo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time eating at Cielo Restaurant & Bar and it was for New Year's Eve. My wife and I had reservations at 7:30 PM and we were seated immediately. The menu for the evening was a 7-course meal. The waiter took our drink order and our bottle of wine was served in a timely manner. The 1st course was also served in a timely manner. After the 1st course, this is when the whole dining experience fell apart. It took 1 hour to get the 2nd course. By 11:00 PM, we had only reached the 5th course. This is when we told the manager and waiter that we were leaving. Observations: Our waiter's attention was directed to the larger tables (i.e., 6 people or more). We had also observed that other twosome tables were being served very slow. The larger tables were getting their food more quickly. There was a table of 8 that had been seated next to us approximately 45 minutes after we had been seated. They had been served most of their courses before we received our 4th course. We have no complaints about the food...it was good. However, we're not sure that we would dine at this restaurant again, especially for a special occasion due to their inadequacy of being able to serve a timely meal. We can only assume that they either did not have enough wait staff or kitchen help...or the waiters were more interested in the larger tables for larger tips? We walked away frustrated and perturbed. The meal was to cost $105/person. They ended up charging us $38. Very disappointing Cielo Restaurant! We were so looking forward to having a wonderful dining experience on New Years Eve and to bring in 2017. We would also like to mention that we were guests for 4 nights at the Four Seasons Hotel. The hotel was fabulous.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Great breakfast! Nice service and fantas ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great breakfast! Nice service and fantastic food. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent! Loved every course ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was excellent! Loved every course of the 4-course dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We booked our reservation at Cielo at le ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We booked our reservation at Cielo at least 3 weeks prior to Christmas. We choose Cielo due to great reviews, the rooftop view of the skyline, the 5-course option that included a child's option, and it was open on Christmas. My husband, son, and I frequent fine dining establishments around the world; we looked forward to this event. Cielo called to confirm twice before Christmas. The day of we were running 10 minutes late so I had called to let them know to hold our table; not a problem, our table was ready the hostess said. Upon arrival the hostess said our table was ready. However, as my husband, guest, and son arrived, she asked if it was 4 adults or 3 adults and 1 child (our 7 year old is accustomed to fine dining); I confirmed. The hostess stated she needed to go make sure our table was ready. We waited. We were then seated next to the kitchen door, no skyline view, few other patrons, and next to another table with children. I didn't mind the family but it felt deliberate. The 5-course options for the Christmas dinner sounded great. I asked about the children's course option (which was advertised on the website): the waiter informed us there was no such thing only for the NYE setting. I had read the website multiple times as had my husband, there was a children's option. We shrugged this off. Then the food came; each course got progressively worse. By the 3rd course, we really just wanted to walk out...but we didn't want to embarrass our guest. Our 4th course steak was dry, cold and overdone, the fish was awful, the veggies were microwaved, my son's chicken soup looked like canned soup. The waiters and assistants took our empty cocktail glasses without offering a 2nd drink. We basically threw away $400 on a mediocre (at best) meal. My son walked out saying "the food was really bad...never wants to eat there ever" (also, his opinion of McDonalds). We were embarrassed and apologized profusely to our guest. We are terribly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The rolls, stale. The first course showe ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The rolls, stale. The first course showed incredible promise, but those that followed were disappointing. One pasta dish was inedible, a ravioli was okay, but not memorable, the fish was poorly prepared and I finally met a dessert I didn't want to eat. It was dry and the ice cream that was served with it lacked luster. The highlight was the mulled wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The price for the meal was not worth the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The price for the meal was not worth the experience. Other restaurants have more offerings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The experience at Cielo was enjoyable. W ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The experience at Cielo was enjoyable. We enjoyed the lobster ravioli and bottomless Mimosa options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a good time at the restaurant. Spect ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had a good time at the restaurant. Spectacular view to the city. Our server Nicole was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were fantastic. Tru ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. Truely an establishment that does it all. Steve our server was beyond exceptional in his recommendation and excellent attention to detail and quick, expert service. If you want a dinner date that is for the memory book make sure to include the both of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was fantastic. Staff was wounderfull ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was fantastic. Staff was wounderfull and Greenbay Packer fans.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our engagement night and we had a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was our engagement night and we had a wonderful experience at Cielo. The restaurant was top notch, the food was amazing, and the staff was incredible. It could not have been a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super noisy, bland food, tiny portions, ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Super noisy, bland food, tiny portions, will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Great Thanksgiving buffet selection! We ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Thanksgiving buffet selection! We loved the charcuterie table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious thanksgiving buffet, outstandi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious thanksgiving buffet, outstanding service, attention to detail overall.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I rarely use the word "awesome" on a rev ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I rarely use the word "awesome" on a review. But our Thanksgiving experience here was truly awesome. From the moment we got off of the elevator to the moment the valet brought the car around the entire lunch was first class. The service was superlative. The food was excellent. The ambience was second to none.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance makes this restaurant! It' ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The ambiance makes this restaurant! It's nicely decorated with the lights of the city beyond the hotel pool. the The food is overpriced for what you get & the staff although nice are not trained for their positions. If you are going to pay these prices, you expect all to be presented correctly or explained how they are taking creative license. A couple of examples...Tiramisu is an Italian dessert made with lady fingers,espresso,kahlua etc. although a nice dessert theirs was not tiramisu but that's what they call it. My husband ordered Sambuca which came without the 3 coffee beans...a place like this should know better. Their squid ink pasta didn't taste of squid or the sea. It's not up to the caliber of Four Seasons restaurants in other cities.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great service from nice guys, but that d ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great service from nice guys, but that didn't make up for food that was ridiculously over priced for what you got. This place does t even look like a restaurant, but rather the back half of a bar. We went with the taste of Italy with wine pairings for each course. Food portions were TINY, undercooked, over salted, and unimpressive. $300 wasted..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Ambiance only surpassed by the keno tabl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Ambiance only surpassed by the keno tables at the downstairs casino. Oh i also had breakfa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Great place for Sunday brunch. We had lu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great place for Sunday brunch. We had luck with the weather and were still able to sit on the terrace with a great view to the Arch! Nice service and delicious food. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service! Beautiful vi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very good food and service! Beautiful view over St. Louis. Perfect place for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have the perfect seat on the patio - ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have the perfect seat on the patio - with a grand view of the arch and the calming motion of the infinity pool. A really wonderful find - highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I knew going to this place that it would ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I knew going to this place that it would be good but I was not prepared for how delicious it actually was. I was blown away. The rack of lamb and squid ink pasta were out of this world. I can't believe it took me so long to visit this place. I will be back very soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view of the St. Louis arch. Fabu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Amazing view of the St. Louis arch. Fabulous food and friendly, polite staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do not know where to start, the food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I do not know where to start, the food was absolutely the best thing I had ever eaten , they knew me name they where attentive,made my wife feel like a Queen which in turn made me feel like a king, they spoke to me like a person not like a dollar, They cared enough to know it was my and gave us a great dessert ..it was the most expensive place I had even eaten at and I still feel like it was not enough,i would gladly paid more...I recommend this place from the general manager to the wait staff to the ambiance to the food, to the lighting ,to the music if ever their was perfection that was it Thank you so much.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our anniversary at Cielo and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary at Cielo and made the right choice! Best Italian restaurant in St. Louis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food, excellent service, relaxed am ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

good food, excellent service, relaxed ambience. A little hard to get to.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated a friend's 50th birthday w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We celebrated a friend's 50th birthday with lunch at Cielo. No one was overly impressed with their food except for the shared dessert (a bananas foster-like ice cream concoction.) Wine by the glass was $13-$15 per glass. Service was excellent - friendly, attentive and observant of the birthday by bringing out a birthday dessert. Best thing about Cielo seems to be the quiet, contemporary setting which is perfect for actual communication - most restaurants these days are insanely loud. This is a great choice if a member of your party needs a quiet setting in order to hear conversation. Otherwise, you can find better food at more reasonable prices at plenty of other restaurants in St Louis. Total bill for lunch for 4 with tip was $210.00 (3 entree salads, one 1/2 size pasta dish, 4 glasses of wine and one shared dessert).

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a great dinner with my family!! Fant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Had a great dinner with my family!! Fantastic view and super attentive service!!! Thank you Cielo Team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always wonderful for brunch! Can't go wr ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always wonderful for brunch! Can't go wrong with the

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is good! We love this place! ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Everything is good! We love this place!

We eat here at least once a month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.