About Cielo Restaurant and Bar

999 N Second Street
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Offering breathtaking views of the Arch and downtown St. Louis,
Cielo Restaurant is the city's authentic Italian option, with casual,
family-style dining.
Created by Executive Chef Gian Nicola Colucci, a native of Italy,
Cielo’s menu focuses on homemade Italian classics with local
ingredients. Parlaying the ease of the Italian lifestyle, Cielo's
sommelier Jeff Hall offers many affordable wines from Chef
Colucci’s home region Piedmont, and Cielo Bar echoes St. Louis's
vibrant cocktail scene with hand-crafted cocktails and locally
brewed beers.
With a variety of event spaces - Gaja Wine Cellar, Sky Lobby,
River North with views of Stan Musial Bridge, private cabana
dinners on the Sky Terrace, interactive cooking classes in the
heart of the kitchen and more. Cielo sets the stage for intimate
affairs and festive celebrations. <<

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST Monday - Friday: 6:30 am - 11:00 am
LUNCH Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
DINNER Daily: 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
BRUNCH Saturday - Sunday: 6:30 am - 2:30 pm

CIELO BAR
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00 am - 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Carr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 881-5759

Website:
http://www.cielostlouis.com/

Parking Details:
COMPLIMENTARY parking through Four Seasons valet only.

Public Transit:
Arch-Laclede's Landing Metro-Link Station

Executive Chef:
Gian Nicola Colucci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cielo Restaurant and Bar
Cielo Restaurant and Bar
Tiramisu
Birthday Dessert
Lemon Cake
spaghetti al pomodoro
Manilla Clams
Tagliolini With Shrimp
Pappardelle Carbonara
Cobia
Marinated Shrimp
Arancini With Wild Mushrooms
Pan Seared Veal
Bread And Olive Oil
Ravioli
Kiwi Sorbet
Grilled Octopus
Braised Short Rib And Urban Chestnut Magpie
Lamb Chop
Chef's Rooftop Garden at Cielo
Salmon & Tuna Crudo
Water with a rooftop view of the St. Louis Arch
Wine Flight
Chef's Rooftop Basil Garden
Red Sangria
Ribeye
House Cured Pork Belly
Pork Belly
Octopus
Olives
Lamb
Merlot
Duck Breast
Grilled Sirloin Steak With Grilled Asparagus & Fries
Black Tea
Salad
Asparagus Soup
Sous Vide Negroni
Nudi
Crudo

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Chef's Table: A 5 course, off the menu experience with wine pairings. Fire Place Dinner: Guests are offered an outstanding dining experience, secluded next to the fireplace on the 8th floor, with the best panoramic view in house. Gaja Wine Room: 2 to 14 guests looking for an off the menu experience.

Cielo Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

scenic view (48)
great for outdoor dining (43)
special occasion (43)
See All
romantic (35)
fit for foodies (24)
good for groups (14)
notable wine list (13)
great for brunch (11)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointing, been here many times and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointing, been here many times and this was not like visit of the past. No bloody mary bar, no half price wines on sunday. Menu changed less focus on breakfast. Had this as a destination for brunch but now will go elsewhere.

Service was fair and not up to four seasons standards. Understand now why reservations were easy and the place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Cannot say enough about how much our tim ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Cannot say enough about how much our time at this restaurant added to our vacation in St. Louis.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my 10 year old son here for a spe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I took my 10 year old son here for a special one on one dinner with him. We sat outside where the restaurant offers fantastic views of the Arch. The view and the service our waiter Tom provided was really what made this an exceptional experience. Tom did a great job of making my son feel very special. He took his time with us and helped us choose our menu, took a photo of in the area he thought offered the best view of the arch, pointed out the chefs garden to us and encouraged us to explore the rest of the rooftop. The best part was the private tour he gave us of the kitchen and the surprise dessert he had waiting for us at the end of the tour. The food was solid but wouldn't be the reason I would return. The view and the service is what sets Cielo apart in my opion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I went to Cielo to celebra ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My family and I went to Cielo to celebrate my birthday and as a final farewell to St. Louis. We couldn't have picked a better spot! The food, wine, and views were all equally amazing, and the waitstaff was attentive, knowledgeable, but never too formal or stifling. I would definitely recommend the octopus starter, veal, and whatever they're serving as the fish special—we had an incredible salmon. The desserts were to die for, all rounded off with a perfect champagne and wine pairing by the sommelier.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers were kind and well-intentioned i ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Servers were kind and well-intentioned in trying to right our experience. Food was odd. The pasta was inedible and the risotto not seasonal (roasted apples and fennel in July). Also, we were there for the view and they have large shrubs that block the skyline from some of the tables. Overall, the service was awkward with too many staff members running around and having seemingly intense conversations with each other. They did bring us complementary chocolate strawberries, which was nice. But for a 10th wedding anniversary, we were hoping for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Top notch hospitality! Everyone was so f ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Top notch hospitality! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Cielo's never disappoints! The service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Cielo's never disappoints! The service and food is exceptional. I have visited Cielo's numerous times and continue to bring friends, as well as business colleagues. Everyone is always very complimentary and believe it is an exceptional place to dine. The view of the Arch and downtown St.Louis are amazing. On this particular occasion I placed a special request for a friend's birthday and as always Cielo's did a wonderful job at making my friend feel special. An added benefit is the valet parking. Thank you again for a memorable time. I would highly recommend Cielo's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails are great. Appetizers are good ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Cocktails are great. Appetizers are good. The main entree was lacking and it was the Chef's feature. The waitstaff assistants were fantastic. The actual waiter was subpar and I wished his assistants would have been our waiter instead. View is amazing and is suggest going for the view and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

I'm not saying that fine dining restaura ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I'm not saying that fine dining restaurants should cater to vegans, but I wish there were healthier items on the menu. Last time I was here, a vegan menu was available but no longer. I ordered a couple of vegetables but they were loaded with cheese and butter. There was a beet risotto but again that has so much cheese and butter in it. I should have ordered a salad. Again, it is my choice to eat healthy and I don't expect to be catered to. But if you are a vegan, this is not the restaurant for you. I've been told that if you let the chef at nicer restaurants know ahead of time what your eating needs are, they can sometimes create something good. But this was a last minute decision. Next time we will probably just go there for a drink and enjoy the view. That is well worth a visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food, great service and great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious food, great service and great view of downtown STL. Highly recommend their brunch!! This will be my new go-to when I am in town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend has talked about this plac ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My girlfriend has talked about this place since I relocated to St. Louis. I surprised her with brunch. The ambiance was amazing, the food was GREAT! I had the crabcake and an english muffin. We did not have any cocktails but we will be back to taste a drink or 2.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for breakfast and sat outs ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We dined here for breakfast and sat outside. While it was a cool morning, it was refreshing to sip coffee and look out into the St.Louis skyline and Arch. We had the quiche and lemon ricotta pancakes. Both of which were delicious. No need for syrup as the pancakes are sweet enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

People were incredibly attentive. Food w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

People were incredibly attentive. Food was well prepared and delicious. Only one dish did not meet our expectations as when ordered we expected something else. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were told this place was "dressy". Af ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were told this place was "dressy". After we were sat, the table behind us came in and sat down in jeans. Not a big deal. I would certainly eat here again. I highly recommend the tuna.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything about eating here was exempla ...

 
 (Nottingham)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything about eating here was exemplary. Quality of food amazing and service very good

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, special occasions, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The rooftop Cielo Restaurant and Bar was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The rooftop Cielo Restaurant and Bar was a great choice for Father's Day Brunch. They had a special BBQ buffet and the al a carte menu. The burrata salad and the lobster ravioli were suggested by the dining staff and were excellent and fresh. The view of the river and the Arch are fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My fav place for the ultimate dining exp ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My fav place for the ultimate dining experience. The ambience of the rooftop dining is off the charts!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unfortunately, the food is just average ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Unfortunately, the food is just average so I would suggest just going for drinks to take in the spectacular views.

I've had a casual lunch outside while at the pool in the past and it was pretty good, I expected dinner to be excellent.

There were a couple of situations that were disappointing, one being we were never informed of the specials prior to ordering (but overheard our waiter & others telling guests about the specials after we had already ordered). In addition, our waiter was not familiar with the beer selection and when they did not have what I ordered (on the menu), he just brought me a different beer in its place without asking me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Staff, mgr, waiter Gabriel, and Sommolie ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Staff, mgr, waiter Gabriel, and Sommolier Jeffrey all over the top!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat outside on a beautiful day. It fe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful day. It felt like we were at a beach resort! The Sicilian ricotta lemon pancake was to die for! The chick pea tart was too salty, so we sent it back and they gave us a new dish on the house! The manager came by to check to see if we were happy. A very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great view!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Husband and I loved our anniversary dinner at Cielo. Food was delish and we loved sitting outside and admiring the Arch views. Service was great and everyone went above and beyond to make our anniversary dinner special! Would definitely come back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excelent along with the vie ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food was excelent along with the view, however, the service was extreamly slow.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

All the notable people

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

All the notable people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing attention to detail and anticipa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing attention to detail and anticipating our needs before we even knew we needed anything. Absolutely loved it! The food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience here was great. The view ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The experience here was great. The view really makes this worth it. But, the food and service were not great. The service was horrible. We arrived 15 minutes early for our reservations and they made us wait even though the tables were nearly empty. Then, in that 15 minutes it took us 10 to order a drink at the bar. After we were sat down it took a HALF AN HOUR before someone other than our waiter took our order. The food was ok for the price. But, that view... Almost worth it. Almost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

It was ok

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The rooftop tables and view were the best part of the experience.

The food was good, with a decent variety. However 2 of the in our partywere vegetarians andeven all the pasta dishes had meat. The plates were expensive and very small portions.

There was a lot of confusion when the meals were brought. We were told that they had recently changed the names of the dishes on the menu and the runners who werebringing the food, called them by names other than what we ordered.

I'dgo back to the bar, but not necessarily dinner

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Anniversary dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our 5th year anniversary dinner. We got engaged here in 2010 and have returned for our anniversary dinner every year for a sentimental, romantic evening. The previous years have been great! Our first year we were even given a tour of the kitchen and received a special dessert in the pastry kitchen in addition to the complimentary chocolate covered strawberries and sweet dessert wine. This year, however, will probably be our last. Although we made reservations and let the hostess know this was our anniversary, we were sat in a booth in the bar area with a less than great view. The server was just ok as she is probably meant to stay in the bar serving drinks. Having to ask for a steak knife to cut a filet and asking for drink refills is definitely not something you should have do at a place like this. We have had exceptional service in the past. Some of the best ever. Always very attentive and personable. Not the case this time. The food was acceptable. The squid ink lobster pasta was great. The filets were ok. The dessert was unfulfilling. However, the Caesar salad is what shined. It's kind of a shame to start off with the best element of your dinner. So between our view being of the bar clientele and the noise from them, the service and the food that we came to love in the past being mediocre, this was not a great way to spend our money and anniversary. We actually couldn't wait for our dinner to be over so we could leave. We usually enjoy ourselves and the ambiance after we finish. Any another year we would and have given great reviews and recommendations to anyone that asked. I think that has now changed..

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Scallops appetizer and ravioli was amazi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Scallops appetizer and ravioli was amazing. Osso bucco was a favorite as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Expensive but very verygood

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We had the chef's special menu which gave you a choice of 2 appetizers, 2 salads, 2 entrees and 2 desserts. Sine there were two of use we got to try everything on the chef's special and everything was really great. We had some wines by the glass. Some of them are pretty expensive but they are truly great wines so that was a way to try some of them without buying a whole bottle. They were all good but my palate is not good enough to tell them from a more standard and less expensive wine by the glass. Glad I tried though. Would gladly go again. The service and view were both great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Celebration!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to go out for my birthday and we absolutely loved Cielo. It was so romantic watching the sun go down over the beautiful St. Louis Arch. The food was fantastic. Our appetizer was a little pricey for the amount of food that was given, but the entree was perfect and we were very full after we were finished eating. The bar was extremely upscale and the drinks were mixed well. I would definitely come back again for a nice occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

the noise level was louder than most sports bars.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Good Food, very expensive wine list, great view but the noisest restaurant I have been in for a long time. It was truly impossible to have a conversation. Truly, I have been in sports bars that were quieter.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Easter Brunch

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter brunch was good, but very overpriced for what they offered. The carved prime rib was fabulous. I would have expected carved ham on Easter Sunday, but they just had some overcooked ham slices sitting in a serving tray - a disappointment for sure. Pasta station didn't seem to be operational, at least there was nobody manning it the times we went by. Very disappointed that they ran out of tiramisu, I had really been looking forward to it. The gelato was very good, but the rest of the desserts were pretty but tasteless. Overall, it was nice but certainly not worth $79 per person.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Frequent Guess

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

As always, Cielo never disappoints. The food was excellent and the Cielo family handled the influx of customers like pros. They had smiles, treated the families like family. Excellent time had by everyone. I would recommend Cielo for any type of meal from drinks and small plates to an wonderful bottle of wine and complete tour of Italy. The thing that amazed me was the chef right in the middle of the action.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Cieolo's Easter Brunch

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter brunch is a challenge, but Cielo's was perfect. Great view, wonderful ambiance. For being "children friendly" the young ones were great. Easter bunny working the crowd, etc.

Although there were a lot of people, one never got a sense of being crowded. Food was perfect. Several different kinds of salads, each served in a small container. One was served in a small mason jar. Entrees were awesome. Fresh oyster, ahi tuni, raw salmon, shrimp, etc. My vegetarian companion found plenty of food, and I had the prime rib.

Deserts were outstanding.

We will visit this again for a non-brunch experience. This must the best brunch in St. Louis.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceeded all expectations

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

This was a really fantastic experience and I can't wait to come back. The bison filet was perfect and it was awesome that I was able to get Opus One by the glass to pair with it......couldn't have been better. My wife's fish was amazing too along with dessert, salads, soup, you name it and we were blown away. The old fashioned tequila cocktail was really enjoyable and I liked how they did just one large spherical ice cube in the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here for the first ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I dined here for the first time, while staying at the Four Seasons to celebrate our 30th anniversary. The food and service was outstanding, especially the octopus dish. We requested the most romantic seating, which didn't happen. Also, the noise level was almost imbareble due to loud, obnoxious patrons. We won't be back. For the amount we spent, we want to enjoy our time without listening to the squawk and cackling of others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

One of the best dining experiences I hav ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I have ever had. In the top 3 experiences in my St Louis experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Cielo was Ok, service was fine but wasn't worth the money that they were asking. There are nicer places to go to that cost less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food quality was completely disappointin ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food quality was completely disappointing today

And since we have been to this place so many times it has been noted that the quality is defiantly started going down in last year or so. Disappointing, will not done or have Sunday breakfast for a while.... Hopefully it will get better and will become aga none of our favorite places in St Louis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Hip, metropolitan ambiance. Outstanding ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Hip, metropolitan ambiance. Outstanding service. Great food. Nice touches throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.