About Cibreo Italian Kitchen

1438 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Voted Top 40 Best Happy Hours in Cleveland by the Plain Dealer!

Cibréo Italian Kitchen delivers a traditional Tuscan experience in the heart of the Playhouse Square theater district. Serving lunch and dinner, enjoy many pasta, seafood and Certified Angus Beef dishes.

The breathtaking space in both the regular dining room and in Cibreo Privato features a warm atmosphere with stone pillars, dim lighting, a fireplace and intimate setting.

Our attention to detail in both food and service will continue to be our main goal in our hospitality-driven restaurant brought to Cleveland by the Driftwood Restaurant Group.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Moday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 862-9212

Website:
http://thedriftwoodgroup.com/restaurants/cibreo-italian-kitchen/

Catering:
For those who appreciate the kind of hospitality that embraces even the simplest of details, Driftwood Catering offers our guests a wide variety of event scheduling for rehearsal dinners or weddings, parties, business retreats and other entertainment needs. We have the ability to cater any event whether at one of our dedicated private facilities or off site. Also available to our clients is our team of food trucks, Dim and Den Sum and Hodge Podge of the Food Network’s The Great Food Truck Race, which allows us to bring our kitchen to you.
catering@thedriftwoodgroup.com

Executive Chef:
Erik Martinez

Private Party Facilities:
Beautifully restored E.14th Street Theater with stage that seats 175 comfortably. A private bar is also available with a private entrance on E. 14th Street and separate dressing areas for your guests for specials events. Call to schedule a tour of this beautiful room or book your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Kris Boyd: 216-862-9212x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cibreo Italian Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (104)
romantic (70)
neighborhood gem (65)
See All
fit for foodies (64)
good for groups (48)
notable wine list (37)
hot spot (28)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for lunch (15)
scenic view (13)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Small portions (didn't get full and had ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 2 days ago

Small portions (didn't get full and had to go to another restaurant after a two course meal at cibreo to get full, service by Sean was great however!!

All in all a great experience - will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great place to have dinner before a show ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place to have dinner before a show at Playhouse Square. The service is very efficient and they ask you what time your show begins. The noise level is a bit high, but the food is good.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

service was twrrible. waited an hour for ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

service was twrrible. waited an hour for a pasta dish and small roasted beef. restaurant was very empty. manager blamed it on the server for not entering the order until we complained. would not go bavck again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Their free pesto and butter dip with oli ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Their free pesto and butter dip with olive oil drizzle and foccacia bread is my favorite thing about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a few minutes late of our reserv ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were a few minutes late of our reservation (accidentally) but were assured it wasn't an issue and seated right away. As we had an early dinner reservation to see a show, we both ordered a drink and split an appetizer, an entree, and a dessert. Everything we ordered (the meatballs, the lobster pasta, and the chocolate panna cotta with mint and crystallized orange) was fantastic. The decor and ambiance alone were reason to return, and we were asked when seated if we had a curtain call to be sure that we were able to be out in time to make our 6:30 curtain call.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have now dined at Cibreo twice...once ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have now dined at Cibreo twice...once with a large group of friends before a concert and most recently an early dinner with my daughter and granddaughter after seeing "Phantom of the Opera." Both events took place at the State Theater, Playhouse Square, which is conveniently right across the street from the restaurant. On both occasions, I and the others with whom I dined found Cibreo to be a pleasant experience...food, service and ambiance. Cibreo Italian Kitchen is not only a convenient place at which to dine before or after an event at Playhouse Square, it is truly a restaurant for which it is worth making a special trip into the City. And, for anyone who is a resident of downtown Cleveland, you're fortunate to have such a great establishment close by.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I were seeing phantom o ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My boyfriend and I were seeing phantom of the opera and needed a restaurant nearby that would be romantic and fit our formal entire. We chose cibreo and it was an amazing experience! The atmosphere was beautiful. It was perfect for the fancy night we were planning but it's suitable for other occasions too. We drank Chianti and loved it! The pesto oil for the bread was tasty- so much that I tried replicating it once I got home. Most of all my pasta was perfect. Two thumbs up!!! We will definitely be making our way back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and I was not d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my second visit and I was not disappointed! I brought a first-time visitor as well and she was blown away by her meal. From the drinks to the caprese salad (delicious and fresh!) to the meal (pasta bolognese) and desserts - not a bit of disappointment in anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not good. Two of the three dish ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was not good. Two of the three dishes were so salty we couldn't eat them. Way overpriced. However, ambiance and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We were the only four in the restaurant. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were the only four in the restaurant. It took awhile for the server to take our food order. We waited at least 45 minutes for our meals. The server never came over to apologize. Also waited 15 minutes for her to take our credit card to pay. Very disappointed in this restaurant and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

place was awesome- food was great- and s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

place was awesome- food was great- and service was terriffic

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Friendly wait staff Menu ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great service. Friendly wait staff

Menu had variety of choices.

Ample portions. Good wine list

Nice way to start the evening when going to the theatre

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was perfect down to the last ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The evening was perfect down to the last detail. I surprised my girlfriend with tickets to Phantom of the Opera across the street, and the staff made sure we were taken care of and out on time. Great food and atmosphere. Ideal for a special occasion romantic date meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Cibreo and w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first visit to Cibreo and we were quite pleased. We were celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary. The food was wonderful. The service was excellent. We expected the noise level to be high given the amount of people in the restaurant but the opposite was true. My wife and I were able to carry on a conversation at a normal level without having to raise our voices. It gave us a sense of intimacy and privacy. Food was a little pricy but I would consider this a special occasion/night out on the town type of place. I would highly recommend Cibreo Italian Kitchen.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was good but I didn't feel the f ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was good but I didn't feel the food was average for the above average cost.

I will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Entre was quite exceptional and the serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Entre was quite exceptional and the service was fantastic. Only complaint was dry tiramisu. Overall an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we were met at the door with smiles even ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

we were met at the door with smiles even though we were 30 minutes late. seated with smiles our server was ready to give us his spiel but smiled that we knew what wine and dinner we wanted and did not mind that we split apps and dinner (going to the show, didn't want to eat that much). The roaming manager was all smiles and shook hands when we complimented the service and food. just an overall outstanding experience. thanx Cibreo crew.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Here's the issue - they frequently seem ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Here's the issue - they frequently seem to be poorly (under) staffed for the Playhouse Square shows. We arrived at 6PM and left at 7:45 - dinner was served at 7:15 - made us nervous. The food , however, was very good - the chicken parmegiani was plentiful and tasteful. The pasta dishes were small for dinner, but very good. Will return and hope the service is better.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

The chop salad and calamari were delicio ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The chop salad and calamari were delicious and made a great dinner, I couldn't finish it all.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and wine! Went there before ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Amazing food and wine! Went there before a show. Service was a little slow though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Server was new and obviously had not rec ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Server was new and obviously had not received enough training before being allowed to serve customers. Nice person, not her fault. Food was mediocre and luke warm. Nothing awful, just underwhelming to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We ordered 2 appetizers and a salad and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We ordered 2 appetizers and a salad and never got the salad. Tito's, but got Kettle 1. Only got the bread when we asked.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Love going here before the theater. Foo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Love going here before the theater. Food is always great. Service is also very attentive. The servers are experienced dealing with the crowds that go there before a show and know how to make sure you don't run late.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food we did have was excellent. We a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food we did have was excellent. We arrived on time for our 5 pm reservation and were seated right away. However the hostess said "please apologize to Jenny for me" indicating the server was busy. We waited about 15 mins to see the waiter and another 10 to get drinks. Clearly they were busy. We ordered and got our bread and salads around the same time, about 540. We finally left the restaurant at 615 (to make our playhouse square 630 show) without getting our entrees. I was disappointed in the management. They removed the entrees from the bill and we paid for the salads and drinks...despite the fact that we were there for 1.25 hours and never got our entree. I suspect our food went to one of the three couples who arrived after us and left before us. I was very disappointed. However, we will probably give it another try before crossing it off our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We have visited Cibreo several times and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have visited Cibreo several times and each visit has been worse than the previous visit. In this instance, the server was extremely inattentive, the parmagiano was overloaded with sauce, and the pasta was served cold. All in all, quite unimpressive!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We attended the Tri-C Jazzfest and found ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We attended the Tri-C Jazzfest and found Cibreo to be not only convenient, but a wonderful experience. Our waiter was spot on. We will return when attending Playhouse Square--especially.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've probably been to Cibreo five or s ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We've probably been to Cibreo five or six times -- we love the close proximity to Playhouse Square (and the value of the valet parking!). I wish I could say it was great...or good, but this time it was just disappointing. Two of us had the ricotta gnocchi with lamb....meh. The gnocchi was dry and chewy vs melt in your mouth yummy -- old? The lamb pieces were some times flavorful, sometimes not...when they were dry and waaay overcooked. The dish simply felt as though it was a way to use up lamb scraps? Two others had the chicken parmigiana. It was ok. The chicken was very crispy -- a generous piece, but the accompanying pasta seemed like a second thought...red sauce on some noodles. No parm, parsley, basil, just a plop of pasta wet with some sauce. The chopped salad and the appetizer cheesy bread were the highlights. We SO want this restaurant to do well, but probably won't be back again. We're sad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The service was on par with the best; no ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was on par with the best; no attention to detail was missed. The food was perfectly portioned and we all enjoyed our respective meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the restaurant and love Michael our ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Love the restaurant and love Michael our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were going to see "Phantom of the Ope ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were going to see "Phantom of the Opera" and the restaurant was the perfect choice. We will go back even if we aren't seeing a play!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The eatery was booked and I had a reserv ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The eatery was booked and I had a reservation for 2 that needed to be upgraded to 4. The manager went out of his way to give us an unreserved outdoor table. The experience between manager, staff and waiter couldn't have been more pleasant. The food was served hot and timely. The Bronzino was excellent as were 2 variations of pork chops. The lasagna was fair. The cap read salads very good and sorbets excellent. Wine list was nice . We would return in a heat beat. Kudos to manager and waiter for making out experience so pleasant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good. Food was good. So ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was very good. Food was good. Solid experience. Would go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter highly recommended the bronzi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waiter highly recommended the bronzini so I ordered it only to be told that they were out of it. It was 6:00pm on a Monday and NOONE else was in the restaurant! So they never had it in the kitchen. So I substituted chicken Parmesan and I couldn't believe what they served me. It was so over deep fried I couldn't cut it. it was even black on the bottom side! It was topped with a layer of cheese that was also hard. This was on top of what looked like Chef Boyardi canned spaghetti. Our waiter did offer to bring something else but l chose to just have him take it off our bill. My husbands lobster pasta was better but not great for $25. We would not go back or recommend this restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Took Mom, the General, very picky and go ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took Mom, the General, very picky and good food and Michael won her over. Pork Chop and Chicken Parm was really good.We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cibreo is a great place for a special di ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cibreo is a great place for a special dinner. It's a lovely setting with a nice wine list and delicious food. Its location, across from Playhouse Square, is perfect for a before or after theater meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined before attending The Phantom of th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Dined before attending The Phantom of the Opera. Staff knew we needed to be served and out within the hour and they were on top of it. Very pleased, the food was great and our server was genuinely pleasant and accommodating. As we were leaving, all staff in the vicinity wished us an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was packed but they offered u ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Restaurant was packed but they offered us a choice of tables. Very nice. Roomy. Service was great. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place to dine before theater. Sugg ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best place to dine before theater. Suggest making reservations well ahead of time on busy show nights.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always highly enjoyed the place. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have always highly enjoyed the place. Food always delivers and service is terrific! Love it before theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner before a show at playhouse ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great dinner before a show at playhouse square. Staff was easy to work with and made sure we didn't feel rushed but got us out with plenty of time. Pretty atmosphere. Everyone liked their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.