About Cibreo Italian Kitchen

1438 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Voted Top 40 Best Happy Hours in Cleveland by the Plain Dealer!

Cibréo Italian Kitchen delivers a traditional Tuscan experience in the heart of the Playhouse Square theater district. Serving lunch and dinner, enjoy many pasta, seafood and Certified Angus Beef dishes.

The breathtaking space in both the regular dining room and in Cibreo Privato features a warm atmosphere with stone pillars, dim lighting, a fireplace and intimate setting.

Our attention to detail in both food and service will continue to be our main goal in our hospitality-driven restaurant brought to Cleveland by the Driftwood Restaurant Group.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Moday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 862-9212

Website:
http://thedriftwoodgroup.com/restaurants/cibreo-italian-kitchen/

Catering:
For those who appreciate the kind of hospitality that embraces even the simplest of details, Driftwood Catering offers our guests a wide variety of event scheduling for rehearsal dinners or weddings, parties, business retreats and other entertainment needs. We have the ability to cater any event whether at one of our dedicated private facilities or off site. Also available to our clients is our team of food trucks, Dim and Den Sum and Hodge Podge of the Food Network’s The Great Food Truck Race, which allows us to bring our kitchen to you.
catering@thedriftwoodgroup.com

Executive Chef:
Erik Martinez

Private Party Facilities:
Beautifully restored E.14th Street Theater with stage that seats 175 comfortably. A private bar is also available with a private entrance on E. 14th Street and separate dressing areas for your guests for specials events. Call to schedule a tour of this beautiful room or book your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Kris Boyd: 216-862-9212x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cibreo Italian Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (93)
romantic (68)
fit for foodies (63)
See All
neighborhood gem (57)
good for groups (46)
notable wine list (33)
hot spot (25)
great for lunch (16)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (7)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Our waiter highly recommended the bronzi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter highly recommended the bronzini so I ordered it only to be told that they were out of it. It was 6:00pm on a Monday and NOONE else was in the restaurant! So they never had it in the kitchen. So I substituted chicken Parmesan and I couldn't believe what they served me. It was so over deep fried I couldn't cut it. it was even black on the bottom side! It was topped with a layer of cheese that was also hard. This was on top of what looked like Chef Boyardi canned spaghetti. Our waiter did offer to bring something else but l chose to just have him take it off our bill. My husbands lobster pasta was better but not great for $25. We would not go back or recommend this restaurant .

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took Mom, the General, very picky and go ...

Dined 6 days ago

Took Mom, the General, very picky and good food and Michael won her over. Pork Chop and Chicken Parm was really good.We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cibreo is a great place for a special di ...

Dined 6 days ago

Cibreo is a great place for a special dinner. It's a lovely setting with a nice wine list and delicious food. Its location, across from Playhouse Square, is perfect for a before or after theater meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined before attending The Phantom of th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Dined before attending The Phantom of the Opera. Staff knew we needed to be served and out within the hour and they were on top of it. Very pleased, the food was great and our server was genuinely pleasant and accommodating. As we were leaving, all staff in the vicinity wished us an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was packed but they offered u ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Restaurant was packed but they offered us a choice of tables. Very nice. Roomy. Service was great. Food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place to dine before theater. Sugg ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Best place to dine before theater. Suggest making reservations well ahead of time on busy show nights.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always highly enjoyed the place. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We have always highly enjoyed the place. Food always delivers and service is terrific! Love it before theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner before a show at playhouse ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great dinner before a show at playhouse square. Staff was easy to work with and made sure we didn't feel rushed but got us out with plenty of time. Pretty atmosphere. Everyone liked their meals.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very convenient when going to Playhouse ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Very convenient when going to Playhouse Square. A very enjoyable evening at Cibreo.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice place to have dinner prior to a Pla ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Nice place to have dinner prior to a Playhouse Square event. The menu selection provided a broad range of Italian food options with some novel twists. Food was nicely presented and in somewhat variable portions; we split a salad between two of us and it was sufficient as a starter. The chicken parm was overloaded with spaghetti, representing a huge portion; the smallish bronzino portions came with three fingerling potatoes and a sprig of green. Service was perhaps a bit too attentive and rushed; on being seated, we explained that while we had show tickets, we had planned a comfortable 1.75 hours at the restaurant. Still, we felt pushed to make decisions for each course, despite politely asking for more time. We were told that this was a new server, so hopefully the issue will be addressed. In all, good food in a good location across from the Playhouse.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was fabulous--waiter was jus ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The service was fabulous--waiter was just attentive enough to take care of us--without being overbearing. The food was enjoyed by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife to dinner and a show for ou ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Took my wife to dinner and a show for our 13th wedding anniversary. The wait staff and food were excellent. They knew ahead of time it was our anniversary and commented both when we arrived and when we were greeted at the table. They also provide a special treat after our meal to recognize the special occasion. Great food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Below Average

Dined on June 10, 2016

We have season tickets to Playhouse Square and have been trying out new restaurants in downtown Cleveland. I had been there for lunch and thought it was "ok", but wanted to give it another shot. We didn't even finish the appetizer (arancini) and my meal, a sausage pasta, was dry and lacking flavor. My husband's meal was good, but nothing to rave about. We both left feeling rather disappointed with our meal and how much it cost.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I'll never go back. There was not much o ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

I'll never go back. There was not much on the menu I would eat so I ordered the salmon over I don't what. Taste was terrible. An Italian restaurant should at least offer a good flat bread pizza so that there is something the "average Joe " can enjoy. The Italian restaurant that was there previously was much better& we went there often before the theatre.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Playhouse Square pre-meal

Dined on May 25, 2016

Service was slow but food was good. Our 6pm reservation for 4 through OpenTable got us to the Hanna Theatre with 15 minutes to spare so give yourself at least 90 mins before showtine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Solid Italian fare. Server was great and ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Solid Italian fare. Server was great and attentive, he actually remembered my date from her last visit more than a year ago!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cipreo was a disapointment

Dined on May 24, 2016

We went to Cipreo for dinner before the theatre. The food was just adequate, as was the service. They served my husband the wrong meal which he was only able to verify after a review of the menu. The menu was confusing with a / between choices so you didn't know if the item was one thing or two. There are better restaurants at PHS, and no reason to return to Cipreo.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great for Happy hour menu

Dined on May 24, 2016

Would have been disappointed if ordering from regular menu but happy hour was half price and a great value

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here before seeing a play. Every ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went here before seeing a play. Everything from the ambiance to the server to the food was wonderful! My mom was here from Pittsburgh and is a definite foodie and she thought it was delicious. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We've come to Cibreo several before goin ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We've come to Cibreo several before going to the theater. Always an excellent choice. So convenient and the food and service are outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Small portions

Dined on May 18, 2016

I had what I had hoped would be a nice dinner. When it came I was surprised that there were so few items on the plate. And for $17.5 I doubt that I will return.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location at Playhouse Square with ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great location at Playhouse Square with a wonderful Tuscan flair. Usually packed on a theater night. All was fine except the food seemed remarkably bland, lacking spice. The mussels were "flat", as the broth/sauce was "meh"- to describe them as routine would be a compliment. The Shrimp Diavolo dish likewise had no "pop", but rather was flavored to a child's palate. We were surprised at the food's lack of taste, as in the past, this restaurant's food was very good. Service was attentive and dependable. The wine selections were fun.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding server. Extremely Friendly a ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding server. Extremely Friendly and very accommodating of special requests.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, friendly server !

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were seated upon arrival and our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable. Our food was served hot and we were checked on frequently to see if we were pleased. We enjoyed our food in a comfortable, scenic restaurant. !!!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

When visiting the theater district of Cl ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

When visiting the theater district of Cleveland for a play, Cibreo is our top choice for a wonderful dining experience before the show! The pasta is delicious but my absolute favorite is their salmon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service & value

Dined on May 11, 2016

Loved it. We've dined here seveeal times before the theater & always have a great meal. Excellent food, service, atmosphere & value.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pre-theater dining

Dined on May 10, 2016

This is one of three restaurants we frequently book for pre-theater dinner. Tasty Italian food in a beautiful restaurant. Service is always excellent and prompt.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We all loved it. The food was great and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We all loved it. The food was great and the place is beautiful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent , caring service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was very friendly and efficient. He was very considerate to keep us on time for our theater performance while attending to our every need. Food was delicious and hot! Thank you for adding to our dinner and theater evening. See you again soon!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

website failure

Dined on May 4, 2016

I wrote tried twice to submit my review and your website would not accept it Sorry, but I am out of time to continue this any longer.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Location is the main thing that this res ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Location is the main thing that this restaurant has going for it, plus valet parking for playhouse square. This is my third visit and I keep hoping for a better experience, but no luck. Go to Olive Garden, and park in the garage, and you will be much happier, and your stomach will not know the difference, but your wallet will.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food. Highly recommend the scallops, as well as the carbonara that my brother had. Good service as well. Overall, a bit pricey, but good value.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location

Dined on April 30, 2016

The best part of Cibreo is the location--across the street from the theater! We had an 8:00 show, so made a 6:00 reservation. Our drinks, salads, and entrees were completely finished by 6:40! (is there such thing as too efficient?) We hung around and had another drink, coffee and gelato. The signature pasta bolognaise was very tasty, the chicken parmagiana was overcooked, and both salads were bland and unexciting. I did like the gelato too--lots of flavor choices. Oh--the valet parking is nice --$8.00 with your dinner receipt, and they pick you up in front of the theater! Nice touch!

food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Sat at the bar, waitress Laura was terrible.

Dined on April 30, 2016

We decided to sit at the bar instead of the seating area. Our waitress was Laura, she was must have been having a bad night or she does not like her job. We almost felt like we were invisible to her. I had to ask for plates and silver when our appetizer came. When wanting our water refreshed we had to wait till a waitress Kim filled our glasses. My husband had a martini and asked for 4 stuffed olives and she gave him 3. When he had another martini and asked for 4 stuffed olives she was a bit confrontational with him about 4 olives. He did get them. A friend joined us and again she felt like she was invisible to Laura. As she waved Laura down, her comment was I see you..... Our food was great, but Laura only received a 15% tip from us and even with that I should not have left that much.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the service was excellent and friendly a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

the service was excellent and friendly as well as the manager stopping to ask and talk. Felt comfortable and a good value for the cost and the great food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The lasagna was dry, meat was dry, noodl ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The lasagna was dry, meat was dry, noodle rubbery. Asparagus was under cooked and tough. They did remove the meal from the bill.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on April 22, 2016

We ate before we went to the theater and the waiter was very conscious to serve us with plenty of time to make the show. He was very personable and attentive. We enjoyed the whole experience at Cibreo.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Extended Business Lunch Meeting

Dined on April 22, 2016

We chose Cibreo for a group business meeting. The venue was great and staff were very helpful and attentive through our extended business lunch meeting. They seated us at a large table in back which gave us the relative privacy to meet and still enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant. Everyone raved about their lunch selections!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful bronzini! Great seat by the wi ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Wonderful bronzini! Great seat by the window, just beautiful Tuscan looking restaurant!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good, Not Great

Dined on April 19, 2016

Our Tuscan Chop Salads were very good. Although not listed as an ingredient, there are onions in this salad. The Parmigiano was very good. It needed a little more sauce which was supplied when we requested it. The Braised Beef and the Scallops were good, not exceptional. Our server was very friendly and met our numerous requests for substitutions or additions. She wasn't always available even though she acknowledged our need to get to a 7:00 pm performance. As a result, we never had a chance to see a dessert menu before we had to leave,

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.