About Cibreo Italian Kitchen

1438 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Voted Top 40 Best Happy Hours in Cleveland by the Plain Dealer!

Cibréo Italian Kitchen delivers a traditional Tuscan experience in the heart of the Playhouse Square theater district. Serving lunch and dinner, enjoy many pasta, seafood and Certified Angus Beef dishes.

The breathtaking space in both the regular dining room and in Cibreo Privato features a warm atmosphere with stone pillars, dim lighting, a fireplace and intimate setting.

Our attention to detail in both food and service will continue to be our main goal in our hospitality-driven restaurant brought to Cleveland by the Driftwood Restaurant Group.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Moday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 862-9212

Website:
http://thedriftwoodgroup.com/restaurants/cibreo-italian-kitchen/

Catering:
For those who appreciate the kind of hospitality that embraces even the simplest of details, Driftwood Catering offers our guests a wide variety of event scheduling for rehearsal dinners or weddings, parties, business retreats and other entertainment needs. We have the ability to cater any event whether at one of our dedicated private facilities or off site. Also available to our clients is our team of food trucks, Dim and Den Sum and Hodge Podge of the Food Network’s The Great Food Truck Race, which allows us to bring our kitchen to you.
catering@thedriftwoodgroup.com

Executive Chef:
Erik Martinez

Private Party Facilities:
Beautifully restored E.14th Street Theater with stage that seats 175 comfortably. A private bar is also available with a private entrance on E. 14th Street and separate dressing areas for your guests for specials events. Call to schedule a tour of this beautiful room or book your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Kris Boyd: 216-862-9212x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cibreo Italian Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (115)
romantic (91)
fit for foodies (83)
See All
neighborhood gem (69)
good for groups (69)
notable wine list (41)
hot spot (31)
great for lunch (23)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (11)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5

Solid Italian fare. Server was great and ...

Dined 3 days ago

Solid Italian fare. Server was great and attentive, he actually remembered my date from her last visit more than a year ago!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here before seeing a play. Every ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went here before seeing a play. Everything from the ambiance to the server to the food was wonderful! My mom was here from Pittsburgh and is a definite foodie and she thought it was delicious. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We've come to Cibreo several before goin ...

Dined 7 days ago

We've come to Cibreo several before going to the theater. Always an excellent choice. So convenient and the food and service are outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Small portions

Dined on May 18, 2016

I had what I had hoped would be a nice dinner. When it came I was surprised that there were so few items on the plate. And for $17.5 I doubt that I will return.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location at Playhouse Square with ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great location at Playhouse Square with a wonderful Tuscan flair. Usually packed on a theater night. All was fine except the food seemed remarkably bland, lacking spice. The mussels were "flat", as the broth/sauce was "meh"- to describe them as routine would be a compliment. The Shrimp Diavolo dish likewise had no "pop", but rather was flavored to a child's palate. We were surprised at the food's lack of taste, as in the past, this restaurant's food was very good. Service was attentive and dependable. The wine selections were fun.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding server. Extremely Friendly a ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding server. Extremely Friendly and very accommodating of special requests.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, friendly server !

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were seated upon arrival and our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable. Our food was served hot and we were checked on frequently to see if we were pleased. We enjoyed our food in a comfortable, scenic restaurant. !!!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

When visiting the theater district of Cl ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

When visiting the theater district of Cleveland for a play, Cibreo is our top choice for a wonderful dining experience before the show! The pasta is delicious but my absolute favorite is their salmon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service & value

Dined on May 11, 2016

Loved it. We've dined here seveeal times before the theater & always have a great meal. Excellent food, service, atmosphere & value.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pre-theater dining

Dined on May 10, 2016

This is one of three restaurants we frequently book for pre-theater dinner. Tasty Italian food in a beautiful restaurant. Service is always excellent and prompt.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We all loved it. The food was great and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We all loved it. The food was great and the place is beautiful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent , caring service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was very friendly and efficient. He was very considerate to keep us on time for our theater performance while attending to our every need. Food was delicious and hot! Thank you for adding to our dinner and theater evening. See you again soon!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

website failure

Dined on May 4, 2016

I wrote tried twice to submit my review and your website would not accept it Sorry, but I am out of time to continue this any longer.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Location is the main thing that this res ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Location is the main thing that this restaurant has going for it, plus valet parking for playhouse square. This is my third visit and I keep hoping for a better experience, but no luck. Go to Olive Garden, and park in the garage, and you will be much happier, and your stomach will not know the difference, but your wallet will.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food. Highly recommend the scallops, as well as the carbonara that my brother had. Good service as well. Overall, a bit pricey, but good value.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location

Dined on April 30, 2016

The best part of Cibreo is the location--across the street from the theater! We had an 8:00 show, so made a 6:00 reservation. Our drinks, salads, and entrees were completely finished by 6:40! (is there such thing as too efficient?) We hung around and had another drink, coffee and gelato. The signature pasta bolognaise was very tasty, the chicken parmagiana was overcooked, and both salads were bland and unexciting. I did like the gelato too--lots of flavor choices. Oh--the valet parking is nice --$8.00 with your dinner receipt, and they pick you up in front of the theater! Nice touch!

food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Sat at the bar, waitress Laura was terrible.

Dined on April 30, 2016

We decided to sit at the bar instead of the seating area. Our waitress was Laura, she was must have been having a bad night or she does not like her job. We almost felt like we were invisible to her. I had to ask for plates and silver when our appetizer came. When wanting our water refreshed we had to wait till a waitress Kim filled our glasses. My husband had a martini and asked for 4 stuffed olives and she gave him 3. When he had another martini and asked for 4 stuffed olives she was a bit confrontational with him about 4 olives. He did get them. A friend joined us and again she felt like she was invisible to Laura. As she waved Laura down, her comment was I see you..... Our food was great, but Laura only received a 15% tip from us and even with that I should not have left that much.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the service was excellent and friendly a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

the service was excellent and friendly as well as the manager stopping to ask and talk. Felt comfortable and a good value for the cost and the great food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The lasagna was dry, meat was dry, noodl ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The lasagna was dry, meat was dry, noodle rubbery. Asparagus was under cooked and tough. They did remove the meal from the bill.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on April 22, 2016

We ate before we went to the theater and the waiter was very conscious to serve us with plenty of time to make the show. He was very personable and attentive. We enjoyed the whole experience at Cibreo.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Extended Business Lunch Meeting

Dined on April 22, 2016

We chose Cibreo for a group business meeting. The venue was great and staff were very helpful and attentive through our extended business lunch meeting. They seated us at a large table in back which gave us the relative privacy to meet and still enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant. Everyone raved about their lunch selections!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful bronzini! Great seat by the wi ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Wonderful bronzini! Great seat by the window, just beautiful Tuscan looking restaurant!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good, Not Great

Dined on April 19, 2016

Our Tuscan Chop Salads were very good. Although not listed as an ingredient, there are onions in this salad. The Parmigiano was very good. It needed a little more sauce which was supplied when we requested it. The Braised Beef and the Scallops were good, not exceptional. Our server was very friendly and met our numerous requests for substitutions or additions. She wasn't always available even though she acknowledged our need to get to a 7:00 pm performance. As a result, we never had a chance to see a dessert menu before we had to leave,

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food and atmosphere! Very friendly staff.

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were there prior to seeing the show "Beautiful". Waitress asked if we were coming or going to a show. Served very promptly by a very friendly waitress. Food was very good I highly recommend the Tiramasu for desert. I had the lasagna, very good. I now know where to go for our anniversary dinner. I can't wait till I go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Theater option

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Many better choices for those attending Playhouse Square events. Boring menu. No specials. Oversalted. BUT.....$8 valet parking with theater ticket, GREAT location, lots of tables, and servers try very hard to get you out in time for show. Wine and drinks "pricey" for size and quality.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Pre Theatre Dinner Choice

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Cibreo is one of the few restaurants located in the theatre district. While this would not be the kind of place that we would choose to go to for a special dinner, it certainly is very adequate for a pre- theatre dinner

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 15, 2016

The restaurant had a nice ambiance with great food at a good price. What more can you really ask for?

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service4

We were on our way to playhouse square. ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

We were on our way to playhouse square. Should have picked the daily special but thought I'd be safe and quick with the lasagna. Bad mistake. Very dry over baked and cheese on top like rubber. I asked and received extra marinara but still like eating 2 day leftovers. This restaurant is too good to serve such poor food. Don't believe I'll go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on April 10, 2016

Courtney, our server provided excellent service. She was very helpful with her suggestions. Chris, the manager, also stopped by to ensure that the food and service were satisfactory. We will go back.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 29, 2016

I tried the lobster pasta for the first time, and it was simply incredible! Chris, the manager and wine expert, selected a delicious pinot grigio that paired well with this dish. Awesome experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very knowledgeable, frien ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fantastic!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Mike our server was very hospitable, prompt and knowledgable. The food was fantastic and if we didn't live 8 hours away we would definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

Had an excellent dinner with my wife. Our server, Mike, was great. Very helpful in explaining parts of the menu. Menu should have a glossary to explain meanings of some of the Italian words. Will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monday nights in March were Two for $40. ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Monday nights in March were Two for $40.00, i.e., one appetizer, two entrees and a bottle of wine for $40.00. I did this last year and this year. Enjoy Cibreo Italian Kitchen and highly recommend eating there--dinner only.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on March 18, 2016

The overall experience was wonderful. Great food, good service and enjoyable ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanna come back!

Dined on March 12, 2016

First time I got reservations, after many tries. Need another Cleveland activity so I can come back. My new #1 restaurant

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, price and service!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Moved to N/E Ohio about 2 years ago from the Philadelphia area. Cibreo is one of the better Italian restaurants we found. Not too many places that have rapini/broccoli rabe (one of my favorites) on the menu. Entrees were good, service great and the pricing was decent. Our server got us out in ample time for the theatre. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Dissappointed

Dined on March 9, 2016

Our waitress was very good but the meals needed some help. There were 5 of us in our party and 2 off the meals came out cold. My one friend had beef and half of it was grizzle and fat. To top it the meal was lukewarm. We mentioned it but their response it was the type of beef, like short ribs. It is to bad because the place has wonderful atmosphere and so convenient when going to a show.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Topnotch

Dined on March 9, 2016

Made reservations for dinner before a show, we were a little late due to traffic but they held it for us. We were seated right away, the decor is beautiful! Makes you feel like you are in Tuscany...This is not a traditional Italian restaurant. The menu has different items that we were not sure about. Our waitress was very helpful with our questions. She explained them perfectly and made suggestions. The wine list is very extensive but we went with the wine specials. They were delicious. Our table had the Salmon, cooked med well over red lentil, and perfect. The scallops with a tomato basil risotto that had a wonderful flavor and the filet with a substitute of fregola (on the waitress suggestion) which was light with a hint of garlic and butter. The prices are on the higher side, but not outrageous. Seating was full before the show, but quiet by 7:15. I would definitely go here again, even without seeing a show. The atmosphere, service and food is topnotch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful atmosphere, food was yummier last year

Dined on March 5, 2016

I went there for the first time in October 2015 and we all LOVED it (I had their lasagna which was fantastic). This time I was a little underwhelmed. I had the Chicken Parmigiana and thought it was a bit dry, so I asked for additional marinara sauce. I also thought the chef overdid it with the oregano. I just had water to drink, and the water did not seem to be filtered and had a unpleasant taste. We split a Tuscan chopped salad which is really -- CHOPPED! It tasted fine but everything was minced to 1/4 inch squares made it appear somehow less appealing. The ambiance is beautiful and it can be a decent value, so I'd definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.