About Cibo Wine Bar King St West

522 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1K4
View Larger Map

Cibo Wine Bar offers a truly authentic Italian experience in a contemporary yet soulful environment. This vibrant eatery is ideally situated in the heart of the city's entertainment and restaurant district. The original raw edge of this 8000 sq ft property has been creatively designed into a modern yet fully inviting space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday 11:30am - 12:00am
(Kitchen open until 11:00pm)
Thursday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00am
(Kitchen open until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
King St West at Brant Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-3939

Website:
http://www.cibowinebar.com/

Parking Details:

Valet parking on weekends.

Street parking during specified times.

Five public parking lots within 3 block radius.

Public Transit:
Spadina Streetcar at King St West. or King West Streetcar at Brant St.

Executive Chef:
Saverio Macri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Italian Bubbles Brunch - Sunday from 11.30am -4.00pm. $35 per person.

Lobster Tuesdays. Every Tuesday After 4pm enjoy fresh Whole Lobster in a selection of signature dishes for only $25.

Cibo Sociale. Every Thursday 4pm-7pm. Features and Specials on classic and signature cocktails, domestic beers, select wines by the glass or by the bottle.

Restaurant Photos

Fresh Pasta - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
italian meat - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
Pizza making - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
nutella pizza - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
Antipasto Platter - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
Lobster Ravioli - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
Fresh In House Made Pasta - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
polenta fries - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
Lobster Cannelloni - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON
Brunch Buffet - Cibo Wine Bar King St West, Toronto, ON

Private Dining

Cibo Wine Bar features four private rooms with distinct design approaches from a “rustic cellar” with arched brick walls to sleek industrial glass + raw metal finishes. Accommodating groups from 10 to 24, rooms have access to natural daylight and are fully equipped with essential audio/video.

Cibo Wine Bar King St West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked
Toronto
Best Restaurants in King West ›

Good for a Date (70)
Good for Groups (57)
Special Occasion (56)
See All
Good for Birthdays (55)
Casual (44)
Business Meals (43)
Notable Wine List (43)
Romantic (43)
Modern Decor (39)
Hot Spot (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Cozy (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fun (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Comfort Food (22)
People Watching (22)
Private Room (21)
Authentic (21)
Family Style (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Open Kitchen (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1057 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for drinks only, been previously a ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for drinks only, been previously a few times for dinner - delish! Love the in-house pasta from scratch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I don't usually write ill of a restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I don't usually write ill of a restaurant, but the caprese salad was virtually tasteless. The tomatoes had no flavour, and the mozzarella cheese was bland. On the other hand, the salad with seared tuna was fine if unremarkable. The wine list was ample, with a good selection by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I went with clients for a pre theater di ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

I went with clients for a pre theater dinner. The food was great and so was the service.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved it. So beautiful!

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

I loved it. So beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Second time here and the food consistent ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Second time here and the food consistently good. Probably the best pasta fagioli in the city.

Pasta cooked al dente and loved the complimentary herbed hot bread with the mandatory Olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Excellent variety of mostly Italian wines and the Va D'avola form Sicilly complemented the food nicely

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Reliable venue for business lunches and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Reliable venue for business lunches and friends get togethers. Music a little loud and the floor uneven for seating in some areas, but overall no complaints.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall experience was great. Love the d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Overall experience was great. Love the decor and warm interior. My food was excellent! Both of my friends has the risotto and it had a touch too much truffle oil but still overall very good. Server was excellent! Hostess could have been a tab more friendly, but that stuff doesn't bother me very much.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time to Cibo. The fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was my second time to Cibo. The food was amazing and the people that work there are very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back. The brunch had a wide variety of delicious food!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner! Our server Juan was AMAZ ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing dinner! Our server Juan was AMAZING!! Only down side was there was no seats at the bar for drinks as they have guests dining there too.. perhaps weekends should be drink only at the bar! Otherwise, will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've visited thi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is the second time I've visited this location and I love it. The food was excellent, from start to finish. The kitchen was quick at producing our food, and it was of the highest quality. Kudos to the kitchen staff. The server wa attentive to us and the staff was very quick to relocate us after our original table became very uneven and wobbly. Our server was very friendly and checked in with us frequently to see if we needed anything and to see how our food was. She was very helpful and courteous, overall she's a valuable asset to your team.

The only thing I would suggest is that the hostess/hostesses say goodbye or acknowledge the customers who exit the restaurant. (ie. Thank you, Have a good night)

All in all, everything was great and I'll definitely be coming back soon and referring Cibo to everyone I know.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Seafood risotto was excellent. Good port ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Seafood risotto was excellent. Good portion size and variety of seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Coming here is a hit or miss when it com ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Coming here is a hit or miss when it comes to service. Food is always good but you never know if you will get decent service. Our table was close to the entrance so it got cold as it was a cold evening. Now that I think of it, seating in the main area has better service than being seated in the corner near the windows. Like that's the training section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

The service was top notch, Vivian help u ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was top notch, Vivian help us with wine selection and was very attentive!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but the pizza was ver ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food was good, but the pizza was very, very salty--from the toppings to the crust. When I commented on this to our server, she immediately offered to have something else prepared, but it was too late.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Perhaps due to the amount of business (n ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Perhaps due to the amount of business (not very busy), but the brunch was somewhat sparse. Nice place, service good, not the greatest value, though I understand being downtown it comes with the territory. Nothing really negative to say, but I probably would not come back.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The place was awesome, great ambiance. F ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The place was awesome, great ambiance. Food was not AMAZING - but Ok nonetheless. Extensive wine list. Koderate prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Busy location, great food and ambiance, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Busy location, great food and ambiance, book in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great environment! Freshly made & delici ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great environment! Freshly made & delicious food :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent restaurant, nothing stood out in ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Decent restaurant, nothing stood out in the menu. Nothing i cant get elsewhere but better. A little noisy, wouldnt have a date here. Waiter spilled water on table and then spilked water on two people next to us. Yikes. I didnt hate it but i wouldnt have a reason to come back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I absolutely love the food and atmospher ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I absolutely love the food and atmosphere at CIBO. It used to be right in my neighbourhood. I live outside the city now but when i get a chance to have dinner downtown, i always recommend CIBO. Never had a meal i didn't love!!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We've been there a number of times with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We've been there a number of times with the same group of friends.

We like the ambiance , the food and the value.

Special kudos to our waitress on Tuesday night - she was fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was not that good, we had to ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was not that good, we had to search for our server to get oil, another glass of wine....not good

I had pizza and the crust was mushy, not crispy and the pizza was not all that warm. They did not offer "add one or two more items" to your liking even for an additional price like you see

so often at other pizzerias. Decor is great but I would classify food as OK would not recommend to someone "gourmet or picky about food"

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I thoroughly enjoyed the food at Cibo Wi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the food at Cibo Wine Bar on King. I had the Lobster Ravioli which was super filling and enjoyed taking it home to eat when I was hungry again. However when the food arrived, my company still had not recieved their drink, and we had not been given utensils or a napkin yet. When the server noticed when they brought our food, they brought the utensils but no napkins. Had to go over to another table and take it myself. Was a little annoying considering eating the delicious in house bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar .

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

On Saturday November 12th me and my boyf ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

On Saturday November 12th me and my boyfriend were going for dinner at Cibo wine bar. He surprised me by asking me to marry him there that night and now we are happily engaged. The waitress was amazing and she took pictures during the proposal and we got champagne and dessert on the house. The manager even came and congratulated us. It was a night I will never forget and the staff at Cibo wine bar made it even more memorable so thank you! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third time there and it just ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is my third time there and it just keeps getting better. They could do with a bit more lighting in the darker areas of the restaurant - some tables are well lit and others are in the dark. Hard to read the menu. A few more vegetarian options would be nice but they are very accommodating with changing ingredients so this is not really an issue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Porcini risotto was great. The arug ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Porcini risotto was great.

The arugula salad was tasteless, it looked like a bunch of leaves thrown on the plate Terrible!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent atmosphere, restaurant and ser ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, restaurant and service! Food and wine was great and the happy hour discount on drinks was an added bonus.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliable, good menu in a nice setting. G ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Reliable, good menu in a nice setting. Good size for groups of any number.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Server forgot to bring our wine. However ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Server forgot to bring our wine. However, we lingered & he did not bother us as it was quite sometime after the lunch hour rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was good but entre not as hot as co ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was good but entre not as hot as could be...asked 3 times for a small desert with candle for a bday.Server not very attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My Favourite Italian REstaurant in Toron ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My Favourite Italian REstaurant in Toronto. Food here is fantastic.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant-a bit noisy and whe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very nice restaurant-a bit noisy and where we were seated was a bit dark as it was a beautiful day outside. Waitress was good but should have come back to ask if we wanted coffee or something else. Food -brunch very good. Lots of choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been twice. I've had a great time o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I've been twice. I've had a great time on both occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is just a really cool spot. You alm ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is just a really cool spot. You almost feel like you're in a wine cellar, as the walls are lined with them. The service was great. they had 2 person teams taking care of the sections. Water glasses were always full and there was always someone nearby if you needed something.

I'm not a wine person, so I can't judge their wine menu. The beer selection was very small and nothing craft, but it IS a wine bar, so can't fault them for that.

I had the Ravioli and my friend had the Gnocchi. HUGE portions! Very tasty!

Excellent food and gelato! I will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a business lunch or an e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great place for a business lunch or an early sit-down dinner. Great food at affordable prices, and extensive wine selection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

It's a great atmosphere - the tables all ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

It's a great atmosphere - the tables allow for large groups, good service and a great selection of cocktails and wines. Love the brick and natural wood. We had appetizers only - the carpaccio is delicious, as is the prosciutto and formaggio platter and rice balls. For cocktails I recommend the one that ends in Bicceclette (can't remember the full name - sorry!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and great wine selection! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Amazing food and great wine selection! Staff was very fun and friendly!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The service was okay. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food was good. The service was okay. We would definitely come back for the food and Ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great cocktails and hors d'oeurves but m ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great cocktails and hors d'oeurves but main dishes were disappointing. The lasagna was mush covered in sauce. I sent it back and they brought a colder version of same. Lasagna should be layered and delicious, not something that looks and tastes like stew.

My friends ordered a chop which came large breaded and no taste. Something you expect to pick up at St Lawrence market, but not at fine dining for the price we paid.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Out for a girls night. Wonderful atmosph ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Out for a girls night. Wonderful atmosphere, great food, good crowd. Overall great selection. Only thing I would have preferred was to have been seated in a booth. It would have allowed us to have a conversation without needing to raise our voices to the point of yelling. Having said that, it did not ruin our enjoyment of the restaurant. Would go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.