About Cibo Wine Bar King St West

Cibo Wine Bar offers a truly authentic Italian experience in a contemporary yet soulful environment. This vibrant eatery is ideally situated in the heart of the city's entertainment and restaurant district. The original raw edge of this 8000 sq ft property has been creatively designed into a modern yet fully inviting space.

522 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday 11:30am - 12:00am
(Kitchen open until 11:00pm)
Thursday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00am
(Kitchen open until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
King St West at Brant Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-3939

Website:
http://www.cibowinebar.com/

Parking Details:

Valet parking on weekends.

Street parking during specified times.

Five public parking lots within 3 block radius.

Public Transit:
Spadina Streetcar at King St West. or King West Streetcar at Brant St.

Executive Chef:
Saverio Macri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Italian Bubbles Brunch - Sunday from 11.30am -4.00pm. $35 per person.

Lobster Tuesdays. Every Tuesday After 4pm enjoy fresh Whole Lobster in a selection of signature dishes for only $25.

Cibo Sociale. Every Thursday 4pm-7pm. Features and Specials on classic and signature cocktails, domestic beers, select wines by the glass or by the bottle.

Specials

Italian Bubbles + Brunch | Sundays

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM

Lobster Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cibo Sociale - Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Italian Bubbles + Brunch | Sundays

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM

Details

Every Sunday enjoy Brunch for $35 per person + champagne specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 9, 2017 - Nov 5, 2017 on Sundays from 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM.

Lobster Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy fresh whole 1.5lbs lobster in a variety of signature dishes in the heart of King St West every Tuesday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 11, 2017 - Nov 7, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Cibo Sociale - Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Drink Features and Specials on Rail Cocktails, Select Domestic Beers, Select Wines by the Glass or By the Bottle. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 6, 2017 - Nov 2, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Cibo Wine Bar King St West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (59)
Good for Birthdays (47)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Casual (33)
Fun (32)
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Hot Spot (30)
Business Meals (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Authentic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (21)
People Watching (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was absolutely fantastic and the servers wine recommendations were on point. The food came quickly and as always wished I had room for more

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice Atmosphere, Good Food, Good Service
We have been to the king street location 3 times now.
Each time we have had an enjoyable time. The food does not disappoint.
I especially like the Arancini, and the fresh made pasta is always good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food, great service. Wines were nice. Would go back again.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was ok, the service was excellent. Would go back if food was not a main consideration, as it wasn't as good as you can get elsewhere. It has a nice vibe and our servers were very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

We came to Cibo's to celebrate my daughters birthday prior to going to a Jays's game.
The waitress was very pleasant and helpful in getting our meals ready without feeling rushed.
Everything we ordered was delicious!! The waitress surprised us with a glass of champagne
each to toast the birthday girl! I would definitely return to this restaurant and recommend it
to my friends!!
Thanks for a great experience Cibo and staff!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Very good restaurant. Booked in advance, but due to TIFF, almost lost our table request. Server/hostess did manage to find us the perfect table within no time. Server was professional and knowledgeable of menu items. Good food, wine, atmosphere and great place for people watching. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were sat down at table that was very crammed for space, I could feel the person behind me's hair touch, and every time server walked by would be bumping into me. There were many other seats I saw available that we could have sat to enjoy our date, yet we were sat next to table with a bunch of little kids running around. The pizza we ordered was very impressive and the only saving grace of the experience. We ordered the gnocchi and orrechiette pasta, both for "home made pasta" were under cooked, chewy, and dense. When we were brought our food, no one offered parm or fresh black pepper, until I had to ask half way through our meal. When I was asked if I would like Chili oil, it wasn't brought to me until I had to remind our server again. This was not worth money we spent and would not recommend this location for a date. We had high expectations and unfortunately were let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food, service, ambiance, were all responsible for overcoming a poor first impression. If the greeters / hostesses aren't friendly and they lack manners, it makes for a poor start. Thankfully the wait staff and the food were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

As always Cibo doesn't disappoint! We brought our friends from the UK here for dinner and everything was delicious. I had the short rib and the meat just fell off the bone it was delicious. The service was great and we had a lovely lady that was a Somali and recommended a great bottle of wine. Overall everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Service and food were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great service and food. Very energetic atmosphere. The homemade pasta is delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great evening. Service was very good and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food and service amazing !the hostess could brush up on her customer service skills that was only negative about the dining experience .

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I really like this place. Everything from the service, food, the vibe - makes you feel comfortable. Ive been to Cibo, on dates, with friends and family. They have a wide selection of the drinks menu, The Gorgonzola Pizza is one of my favourites. The service staff is very nice and helpful.

Cibo is a benchmark when it comes to comfort, good energy and hospitality standards for the Toronto Food scene. Love this place!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was amazing. From the appetizer of grilled mushrooms to the main of grilled octopus with radicchio. Paired nicely by the sommelier with a white wine. The flavours were so scrumptious that we finished every morsel. Atmosphere was energetic and hip. Definitely will go again and again 💋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food but our service was terrible. Server barely checked in on us all night

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great modern ambiance/vibe to the restaurant. This was our first night in Toronto and this seemed to be "the place to be" in the area as it was the only restaurant the seemed to have a wait to get in. Service and food were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Have been coming to this location for years. It never fails to satisfy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great atmosphere with even better menu choices. I would recommend making a reservation in advance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Typically the food here is very good...however this time I ordered the fetucini with seafood in a wine and garlic sauce and I have to say it was very bland...lacked flavour so much hat I asked for hot pepper flakes, which I never add to anything...my sister had the canelloni and she said it was delicious..the cheese and salami board was also very good as was the bread and olives.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were visiting Toronto from the U.S. with our grandson. Found this place on Open Table. The food was very good. We each had a pasta dish and our grandson had a pizza. Everyone was very happy with the food. Our server, Josiah, was very friendly and very attentive. He came back frequently to see if we needed anything and to fill water glasses. If we ever go back to Toronto, we will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I am normally very pleased with everything I order at CIBO, but this time I was disappointed with the vegetarian Panini. There was a tiny piece of eggplant with a tomato and some cheese. The salad was also over dressed and much smaller than they used to be. Cibo was my go to business lunch for great food at a reasonable price, but now I am hesitant to go again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything about this place was average. Nothing worth speaking about. Food was bland, over priced, and server Riley seemed annoyed to be working. Too many other good spots in Toronto than to go here. Keep moving!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was my second time doing brunch at Cibo and it absolutely is amazing value. All you can eat, great selection of drinks. It certainly won't be my last time coming.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love the food and great service. Great for family get together for mnday brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great service. Highly recommend for brunch and mimosas. Many options to pick from and worth your money.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love this place - great service, great food, wines from around the world. Perfect!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent atmosphere. The food was satisfying. My lasagna was a huge portion.
Great for a date or casual dining in a hip restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I was so excited to try this place for the longest time but sadly was thoroughly disappointed with my experience from the moment we walked in. We walk in and the hostess wouldn't look up from the laptop (?) even after my friend said hello three times. Then in the most monotone voice ever which made me feel like we were bothering her she found our reservation and had another hostess seat us. Our server was nice enough, very plain and uninterested even when I asked for a wine suggestion. I had the lobster ravioli which unfortunately was extremely salty but the cherry on top I would have to say was dessert. Given that their entire concept is based on Italian cuisine I was excited to try the cannoli. I was shocked when the plate arrived with three of the smallest pieces of cannoli that just looked like they were thrown on the plate and dusted with sugar powder (terrible presentation) and even worse when we went to take a bite they taste like they were store bought from last week, stale and bland. When I informed the serve, again she seemed uninterested although she did apologize. Overall I was so disappoint Med with the service and below par meals. Unfortunately I don't think we'll be going back... and not so much because of the food but the service was just so terrible.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fantastic!! Would definitely recommend!
Good was fantastic and I especially love the wine bottle wall. Took a panoramic view of the wine wall. Amazing and this is now my yearly Friday dinner restaurant. I was in heaven with the wine wall and with the antipasto of procutto, spicy salami and various cheeses. The risotto with grilled shrimp was also delicious! My new favourite place!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Late-night Find, Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Puzzi pizza is amazing . Had an overall good night. My fave location is on Yonge st

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Amazing food, great service and atmosphere is always awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

I used to go to this restaurant often and I had a few specials in the menu that I liked a lot. I took my parents there to try the food, but this time the food and service was very different. After bringing the wrong pizzas and a long wait to get the right food, the mushroom pizza did not have the cream sauce at all and was so dry. After complaining to the waiter, they did not admit that the pizza didn't have the sauce. They offered to take it off the bill though, but we paid for it anyway because we already had it. The other pizza that we order was dry as well, which they offered to change it, but after the long wait, even the new one did not taste the same way as it always did. My father had the steak and he liked it, but our overall experience was not good at all. It was unfortunate because Cibo has been my favourite restaurant and I wanted to share the good experience with my parents, but it all turned out different.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The chicken parm was gross and tje spaducci was dry. Never going back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

lobster shell pieces in the ravioli did not add to the dinner. salad was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Consistently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a fabulous dining experience at Cibo's! Our server was helpful, friendly & attentive. The sommelier was very knowledgeable & helped us select a wonderful full bottle of Italian red. I enjoy d the Trout, which was grilled to perfection and my guest had the Short ribs, which were tender and flavorful. We really enjoyed our meal!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

hurts to see items under the 'fresh pasta' section be obviously pre blanched, portioned and blanched again to order. My pappardelle was all stuck together and congealed. Flavour were good but the eating experience wasnt as pleasurable as anticipated. I understand this may be done to pump out meals faster but on a quiet monday evening I would have expected things like this to be caught as it was being plated.

Aside from that the biggest issue was service. Probably attended to 15-20 minutes apart. My (clumpy) pasta came late as there was an entry error on the order. Took forever to be able to ask for the bills. All acceptable when food is great and the place is busy, but again, not acceptable on a Monday prior to 8pm

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

You can taste the freshness of the pasta and the service was spectacular.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2017

So to start everything was great, the wine was delicious, the apps were fast and the bread they brought to the table was warm and soft. It went downhill when we got our entrees. My veal chop tasted dry and flavourless, same with the chicken parm. The risotto had the right flavours but was severely undercooked and runny. My moms tuna tasted off to the point where she had to return it. When we told our waitress her responses was "perfect" and took the dish away. No apology or anything but they did take it off the bill. My mom left super hungry as no one offered her anything else to eat and there was so question about why the tuna tar tar was off to her. Overall it was a great evening but I wouldn't come back for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.