Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Cibo Wine Bar King St West

Cibo Wine Bar offers a truly authentic Italian experience in a contemporary yet soulful environment. This vibrant eatery is ideally situated in the heart of the city's entertainment and restaurant district. The original raw edge of this 8000 sq ft property has been creatively designed into a modern yet fully inviting space.

522 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday 11:30am - 12:00am
(Kitchen open until 11:00pm)
Thursday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00am
(Kitchen open until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
King St West at Brant Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-3939

Website:
http://www.cibowinebar.com/

Parking Details:

Valet parking on weekends.

Street parking during specified times.

Five public parking lots within 3 block radius.

Public Transit:
Spadina Streetcar at King St West. or King West Streetcar at Brant St.

Executive Chef:
Saverio Macri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Italian Bubbles Brunch - Sunday from 11.30am -4.00pm. $35 per person.

Lobster Tuesdays. Every Tuesday After 4pm enjoy fresh Whole Lobster in a selection of signature dishes for only $25.

Cibo Sociale. Every Thursday 4pm-7pm. Features and Specials on classic and signature cocktails, domestic beers, select wines by the glass or by the bottle.

Private Dining

Cibo Wine Bar features four private rooms with distinct design approaches from a “rustic cellar” with arched brick walls to sleek industrial glass + raw metal finishes. Accommodating groups from 10 to 24, rooms have access to natural daylight and are fully equipped with essential audio/video.

Cibo Wine Bar King St West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (72)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Special Occasion (56)
See All
Good for Groups (54)
Romantic (48)
Notable Wine List (46)
Modern Decor (37)
Casual (36)
Hot Spot (34)
Cozy (33)
Business Meals (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Fun (31)
Authentic (28)
Wood Oven (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Open Kitchen (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Private Room (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
People Watching (14)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Family Style (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Tapas (4)
Historic (4)
Spicy (4)
Vegan (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and the service was lovely as well (He gave great recommendations; took a little long to bring drinks but understandable as I assume the bartender was busy). Nonetheless, a great time and will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Business lunch at noon. It was the perfect environment to be able to discuss amongst 3 people without having to shout. The well-paced meal, good wine and a great server make it a great spot to eat/meet. Salads are fresh and delicious and although I didn't eat the Rigatoni, I heard it was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tapas, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Organic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Sunday brunch was mediocre, not many food options. Most items were over salted and not warm. Service could have been better, most of our plates piled up on the table and were not be taken away fast enough, even though it wasn't that busy. Both hostess and waitress did not acknowledge the special occasion noted in our reservation.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pizzas were great! Make sure you make reservations well in advance. There was one unfortunate incident...a hair in the olives that came with the bread. :(

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fun, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Good food, good ambiance. Would go back any time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fun was just ok. Slightly over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was good. Had a grilled calamari salad and one of the pizzas. Pizza was made well, typical thin crust pizza, not soggy or burnt. Grilled calamari was decent but rather small in size. Salad met expectations but did not go over expectations. Lots of variety of wines to choose from. Ambiance was lovely, we heard each other without having to scream and decor is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Waited 45 minutes for our reservation we had. Poor planning on the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food good service will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My parents were visiting from out of town and a friend recommended Cibo to us but I was highly disappointed. The waitress just seemed like she didn't want to be there and anytime we asked for anything she seemed annoyed. The food was mediocre, my dads lobster ravioli was so lemony he took one bite and couldn't finish but didn't want to make a fuss so we didn't send it back. My ghnocci was tasty but really nothing special, I could have make it with more flavour myself at home. Just very dissatisfied overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great! We really enjoyed ourselves and the decor is phenomenal!!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I came here for dinner with a friend. We both got pasta and both found that it was hard and not as soft as it should be. We spent about 40 minutes eating, and about an hour waiting for our bill. We didn't even know who our waitress was. The one that gave us our food and took our orders left half way and another one took over and did a TERRIBLE job. We finally received our bill after about 30 minutes. Then we waited and saw TWO tables next to us both receive their bill and pay for it way before us. Leaving us to about another 30 minute wait just to pay. When the waitress finally came, she was completely unapologetic and didn't event try to make any conversation. Will NOT be coming back here, it was not worth it at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I strongly recommend there, if you guys gather together for a date or a small party. The chicken pasta was good, service was pretty thoughtful, overall is good .
I will come again with my girlfriend next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Vibrant, energetic atmosphere and decent food. Good for groups and also for couples

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Was a good experience, however it seems like our server was very busy so we got served predominantly by the busser, who wasn't very confident or knew much of his steps of service

Drinks took a long time to come and food was okay.
Overall experience was good/average. Not as great as I anticipated though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic brunch with really great selection and variety. Great deals on bubbly drinks which made it the perfect spot for a girls brunch get together for a large group of us. Really beautiful décor and booth seating for our group. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The reservation was pointless as we were kept waiting (and standing) for 50 minutes after our reservation time. The manager was clueless and extremely unhelpful telling us that they have no idea when tables become free. If that is true why accept reservations in the first place? However our waitress Alexa was very good and food arrived on time when we eventually got our table. Maybe they should change to first come first serve and remove the reservation system as it seems to operate that way anyway.
Food was terrific. We had the shrimp , steak and the tuna for appetizer as well as the eggplant. The shrimp was spicy without being hot and very flavourful which the tuna and steak were delicious without being over cooked. For main course I had the tagliatelle which was average (as good as any other Italian restaurant and nothing spectacular). However another person had the full fish baked which was delicious and very flavourful. The coffee machine was apparently broken so no cappuccino as I wanted. Given that I had mentioned at the time of reservation that we were celebrating 2 birthdays there was no acknowledgment of that fact during any time during the service. Overall pretty disappointing as I would have expected a better management and organization from a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. The service was friendly and professional. Food was excellent except for the Caesar salad which left us unimpressed. Main entrees were delicious and plenty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Reliable option for business lunches and get togethers. Food is good, pricing OK, nicely presented.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was incredibly slow, but food was good as well as the atmosphere. We had a group of 8 and the restaurant was full but had empty tables so there was no excuse for how long it took us to have drinks delivered. Our water glasses and wine glasses were all empty for the last 30 minutes of our dining experience. Plus, it was 30 mins before we received our drink orders (wine and beer, nothing complicated). Lost revenue for the restaurant. It could have been our server was new, as I have been before and not experienced this problem.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Booked a table for 9 people at the last minute. Very suprised when offered private room which was perfect for my family. Food was great and the service was first rate. Our servers were very attentive and made our evening very relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We found the staff welcoming and the tables to be well-positioned for comfort and conversation. Our server was the correct combnation of attentive and responsive. The lobster ravioli was delicious and the lasagna was tasty and pasta for both was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved my experience at Cibo. I arrived with party of friends, the hostess initially sat us at an awkward table in the front of the restaurant. We quickly asked if we could be moved somewhere else. Despite the fact that it was super busy and Friday night, they were accommodating and were able to move us to an amazing table at the back of the restaurant, near the private cellar rooms. I was there for my 27th birthday, we had tons of delicious wine, the best pasta I've ever eaten and the ambiance was beautiful. There is a healthy mix of people who are dressed up and others who are a little more dressed down (but not casual). It was overall a very comfortable experience :) would go back for a date or for a girls dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

By the time we arrived for our reservation the kitchen had already closed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Dinner at Cibo was a very nice evening. Both of us enjoyed our meals and our server did a terrific job with wine recommendations. Fun atmosphere with good food and great service made for an excellent night out.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great lunch specials, reasonably priced. The restaurant is large, has great interior design with just the right lighting and great ambiance ...a very comfortable place to relax after work or to get together with friends. I loved their pasta special with squid ink and shrimps last week. I always go there for the spinach and brie salad and their fantastic bread. One thing I do like to mention is that they should pay more attention to the comments in the online booking. I wrote that I didn't want the booth and the hostess gave us a booth table. It was early lunch on a Thursday with only a few tables occupied. Overall I like Cibo on King St. West a lot. I work around the area so I eat there quite often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great meal - the salmon with asparagus was delicious. Finished meal off with a delicious Americano coffee. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I recently dined at Cibo for the first time, on a friends recommendation. It was a special dinner with my oldest friend who is moving away for her newest adventure. Our server was fantastic! Sweet and friendly, took care of our every need and made perfect recommendations. We did not have to lift a finger all evening, she was very attentive. The ambiance was nice, not too noisy, but just noisy enough! Great food, great wine. I recommend the gnocchi!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The minimum tip offered by credit card system starts at 18%. Looks like a cash grab to me.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always have a great dining experience at Cibo. Expect to be here for awhile because it is always busy but still worth it as the food is really good considering it is a buffet style brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Coming in we were told it was 1 hour and 30 min wait. We then gave our phone number and were told we would be contacted when our table is ready. 2 hours later and no text had arrived so I checked for possible reservation tables online. We were able to get a reservation table in 5 mins time. I never ended up getting a text that night for an open table. Very disappointed we had to wait all of that time for no text. If I had not gone out of my way we would have been waiting all night for nothing. Waitress wasn't very accommodating forgetting items and seemed stressed. Not a good experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The lasagna is to die for!!! Although it was $21, it was very filling and I definitely needed to share with my husband.
The service was fast and we were seated immediately with my reservation (I find sometimes restaurants make you wait a bit before seating you). I would definitely return again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service and food. Waitress was knowledgable, friendly and accommodating. Room ambience was perfect. Excellent wine selection. Will return soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing experience. Perfect for a double mother-daughter date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great time with my boyfriend. It was a delicious meal. Second time there and its a great location!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I have celiac disease and have a hard time finding restaurants that are extra cautious with cross-contamination and that offer good gluten free choices. I loved my meal as did my husband(non celiac). We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very consistent great food. My only suggestion would be that they offer Parmesan cheese and fresh pepper when main is served. We will be coming back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was amazing. Love the decor and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was average at best. Service was not terribly attentive but ok. Wine markups are too high. Don't like credit card machines that have tip options starting at 18%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Cibo is amazing! I went for my boyfriend's birthday and the staff treated us so well. They brought us complementary sparkling wine when we sat down, and recommended us many things on the menu to choose from. Having lived in Italy, I am very picky about my Italian food but Cibo really had some authentic food. The arancini was great, and the proscuitto and fromaggio platter was fantastic. We had the lobster ravioli for our main course... my boyfriend loved it while I thought it was good but a little on the fishy side. They also gave us a beautiful complementary dessert that was delicious as well. It was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.