About Cibo Wine Bar King St West

Cibo Wine Bar offers a truly authentic Italian experience in a contemporary yet soulful environment. This vibrant eatery is ideally situated in the heart of the city's entertainment and restaurant district. The original raw edge of this 8000 sq ft property has been creatively designed into a modern yet fully inviting space.

522 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday 11:30am - 12:00am
(Kitchen open until 11:00pm)
Thursday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00am
(Kitchen open until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
King St West at Brant Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-3939

Website:
http://www.cibowinebar.com/

Parking Details:

Valet parking on weekends.

Street parking during specified times.

Five public parking lots within 3 block radius.

Public Transit:
Spadina Streetcar at King St West. or King West Streetcar at Brant St.

Executive Chef:
Saverio Macri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Italian Bubbles Brunch - Sunday from 11.30am -4.00pm. $35 per person.

Lobster Tuesdays. Every Tuesday After 4pm enjoy fresh Whole Lobster in a selection of signature dishes for only $25.

Cibo Sociale. Every Thursday 4pm-7pm. Features and Specials on classic and signature cocktails, domestic beers, select wines by the glass or by the bottle.

Private Dining

Cibo Wine Bar features four private rooms with distinct design approaches from a “rustic cellar” with arched brick walls to sleek industrial glass + raw metal finishes. Accommodating groups from 10 to 24, rooms have access to natural daylight and are fully equipped with essential audio/video.

Cibo Wine Bar King St West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Good for Groups (51)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Notable Wine List (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Romantic (32)
Fun (31)
Casual (30)
Modern Decor (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Cozy (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Authentic (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Wood Oven (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Private Room (13)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Quick Bite (8)
Family Style (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tapas (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Historic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Spicy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

That was our last night in Toronto and a friendly local lady met in a pub on Friday night told us about this restaurant. At first we found it young and trendy (wich we are not) but our waitress Heidi made us feel at the right place for a good time.Great food and wine at the right temperature.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, great service. Will defiantly keep coming back. My husband and I enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Was expecting something more. The food was okay but not overly flavourful. The starters and pizza were good but a friend's pasta was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This is my go to spot and a place I recommend to all my friends and colleagues.

Fantastic food and depending on the day, staff can be so amazing!

I've had neutral experiences with servers: some who have been delightful and informed and others who have been arrogant and unfriendly. Overall the atmosphere and food is lovely!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 16, 2017

It was a 5 for me!!!!!

Food was awesome and well seasoned and balanced of flavour and textures.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The experience was good, service was very slow (over an hour) but was made up for by the manager. Food was very good, overall good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food. Our server greeted us and took quite awhile to get our drinks and then we never saw her again until she brought the bill

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing food! Went for the Sunday brunch on Mothers day and it was great for the whole family. Many options to choose from, too many! We all left full and happy. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place for Mothers' Day brunch. Lots to choose from, service was good, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

we were placed under a vent so my guest were cold. also the table was too small and we had to constantly move things around to make space for plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a reservation for 8pm on a Saturday, and our waiter (Riley) was very friendly and helpful and good about keeping us topped up with water, since the bar was incredibly behind and it took quite awhile for our drinks to arrive, even later into the evening when we ordered more rounds as well. The tables are REALLY close together, and servers were even struggling to get in between the chairs of people. Delicious food though, and a nice vibe in there aside from being 3 inches away from straight-up dining with the people at the table next to you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We liked the mushroom appetizer and the polenta fries but the main courses were a little bland, especially the veal Milanese, which two of us ordered. The restaurant is big and clattery, and the wait times for food were on the long side. Great selection of wines though!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing place! Great staffing, the bathroom was clean and the environment for a Saturday lunch time was great! will definitely come back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Server was top notch, great ambiance. Good variety of people in attendance. Decent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cibo was an awesome experience. It started with Kim our server, she was wonderful at describing the dishes and recommending some of her favourites! The food was amazing from the apps to the mains. Great wine options and a wonderful atmosphere, will definitely be back!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The tables were very squished. But the half priced bottles of wine was an amazing deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lovely meal with friends from the west! Excellent food, lots of choice and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was great, service was horrible. We had a wobbly table that we asked them to fix at the beginning and no one came to fix it until we were ready to pay the bill. The servers basically ignored us from the moment we sat down. They only came by to take our order (after about 20 minutes of waiting). No one asked how our meal was or if they could get us anything else - we asked for olive oil for our bread, but no one came by to bring it. We ended up taking it for ourselves off of the next table. The food was good, but not good enough to be treated that poorly by service staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had a lovely meal at the bar. Combined an app and a salad to satisfy my vegan gluten free diet and everything was delicious. Highly recommend the roasted vegetable app. For meat eaters, there is a salumeria on site!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I had the greatest experience to date with the hostess working on the evening of Thursday 4th May. She was the most genuinely attentive hostess you could ask for. The food, service and ambience was all fantastic. Can't complain. Great for a date, however a little noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The service could be better. The hostess at the front desk refused to give us the table we wanted, even though we made reservation and half of the restaurant was empty on a Wednesday night. We asked her 3 times to be sat at a table with sofa, she refused and kept giving excuses and insisted on sitting us near the kitchen. Our server at the table was pretty nice at least; otherwise we wouldn't be going back after being mistreated by the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Made a reservation for Saturday night on a whim - about an hour before dining. The place is beautiful - the people are beautiful. Excellent location as well. The food was REALLY GOOD. I ordered a drink with my meal, but didn't touch it until I finished my food. Why? Because the food was THAT GOOD !! Excellent place, already recommended to a few friends. Great place for date night, girls night out, etc. Loved the ambiance.

Only bad thing was that we never got our bread :(

Tags: ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went to CBO to celebrate 6 months of our marriage and I can say that was a good night. We ordered tradicional Italian pasta and the taste has nothing absolutely amazing but is great, for sure. In our opinion the better things were the wine menu with lots of options and the service, that was wonderful and quickly. The place is so pretty too. I recommend, yes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went there to celebrate a birthday. Service was awesome, wine was great. Had the fungi pizza and that was delicious. Nice ambiance and good crowd.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Nice Italian Food, very good atmosphere and vibe. Pizza is good but you can feel that it's not cooked in a Woden Fire.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 25, 2017

One server for an entire room does not make for good service. No butter for bread when requested with 'the kitchen does not have suitable butter' as explanation. Overcooked chicken in bland pasta dish. We shan't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food, amazing atmosphere, love there Sunday's brunch

Tags: Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food could have been seasoned a little bit more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was a great recommendation that my daughter passed on. We were looking for a place that provided good food, nice wines and good ambience and Cibo Wine Bar fit the bill... and more! Servers were friendly and very professional. We will definitely come back and have already recommended Cibo to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The hostess was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The pastas that my boyfriend and I both had were extremely disappointing. Way better at other cibo's.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The service was great and the Manager was fantastic! She delivered our food and started chatting with us. So great with clientele I usually go to Yorkville Location but it's King Street from now on! Planning a big dinner next month and will be there.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I absolutely love Cibo, myself and my boyfriend, and friends frequent here and are never disappointed. I love the atmosphere, the art downstairs on the way to the Lou, the hardwood floors, and of course the food. I can't say enough good things. I recommend everyone to dine here! So great! :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very good. Ambience was great and good was very tasteful. Will go again once I'm back in Toronto.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They need to separate the tables more, the couple next to us were loud and annoying, they should create more space between tables as a solution. The food is over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our server, Eugene, was exceptional. His recommendations were spot on & I can honestly say that tonight I experienced one of my best dining-out evenings ever. From appetizer to main course, our food was delicious! A huge thank you to Eugene for making our night one to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Highly recommend. Great atmosphere, wine and food

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was top notch. Excellent quality, good value. However, they brought 3 of 5 'mains' while 2 of us were having an appetizer first. Never did bring the famous home made bread and olives - until we asked - came after all the food arrived. We had intended to share the meat, cheese, bread and olives, then order the balance of our meal so we could eat together.

Is it just me or do these King St. restaurants want to turn the tables too quickly? We had drinks, wine and food and could have been out in 40 minutes... that is not enjoyable.... that is 'fast food....at 5 times the price.'

We will give it another try although as the food is really good! Better luck next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 4, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been to atmosphere service and food impeccable and amazing I would definitely recommend this to anyone for any purpose or any special location !!! Looking forward to going back with friends and/or family!!!! cheers

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Authentic, Comfort Food, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Family Style, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.