About Cibo Wine Bar King St West

Cibo Wine Bar offers a truly authentic Italian experience in a contemporary yet soulful environment. This vibrant eatery is ideally situated in the heart of the city's entertainment and restaurant district. The original raw edge of this 8000 sq ft property has been creatively designed into a modern yet fully inviting space.

522 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday 11:30am - 12:00am
(Kitchen open until 11:00pm)
Thursday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00am
(Kitchen open until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
King St West at Brant Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-3939

Website:
http://www.cibowinebar.com/

Parking Details:

Valet parking on weekends.

Street parking during specified times.

Five public parking lots within 3 block radius.

Public Transit:
Spadina Streetcar at King St West. or King West Streetcar at Brant St.

Executive Chef:
Saverio Macri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Italian Bubbles Brunch - Sunday from 11.30am -4.00pm. $35 per person.

Lobster Tuesdays. Every Tuesday After 4pm enjoy fresh Whole Lobster in a selection of signature dishes for only $25.

Cibo Sociale. Every Thursday 4pm-7pm. Features and Specials on classic and signature cocktails, domestic beers, select wines by the glass or by the bottle.

Private Dining

Cibo Wine Bar features four private rooms with distinct design approaches from a “rustic cellar” with arched brick walls to sleek industrial glass + raw metal finishes. Accommodating groups from 10 to 24, rooms have access to natural daylight and are fully equipped with essential audio/video.

Cibo Wine Bar King St West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Good for Groups (48)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Good for Birthdays (43)
Notable Wine List (40)
Romantic (36)
Fun (34)
Modern Decor (33)
Casual (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Cozy (23)
Wood Oven (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Private Room (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
People Watching (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Family Style (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food, amazing atmosphere, love there Sunday's brunch

Tags: Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a great recommendation that my daughter passed on. We were looking for a place that provided good food, nice wines and good ambience and Cibo Wine Bar fit the bill... and more! Servers were friendly and very professional. We will definitely come back and have already recommended Cibo to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

The hostess was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

The pastas that my boyfriend and I both had were extremely disappointing. Way better at other cibo's.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The service was great and the Manager was fantastic! She delivered our food and started chatting with us. So great with clientele I usually go to Yorkville Location but it's King Street from now on! Planning a big dinner next month and will be there.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I absolutely love Cibo, myself and my boyfriend, and friends frequent here and are never disappointed. I love the atmosphere, the art downstairs on the way to the Lou, the hardwood floors, and of course the food. I can't say enough good things. I recommend everyone to dine here! So great! :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very good. Ambience was great and good was very tasteful. Will go again once I'm back in Toronto.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They need to separate the tables more, the couple next to us were loud and annoying, they should create more space between tables as a solution. The food is over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our server, Eugene, was exceptional. His recommendations were spot on & I can honestly say that tonight I experienced one of my best dining-out evenings ever. From appetizer to main course, our food was delicious! A huge thank you to Eugene for making our night one to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Highly recommend. Great atmosphere, wine and food

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was top notch. Excellent quality, good value. However, they brought 3 of 5 'mains' while 2 of us were having an appetizer first. Never did bring the famous home made bread and olives - until we asked - came after all the food arrived. We had intended to share the meat, cheese, bread and olives, then order the balance of our meal so we could eat together.

Is it just me or do these King St. restaurants want to turn the tables too quickly? We had drinks, wine and food and could have been out in 40 minutes... that is not enjoyable.... that is 'fast food....at 5 times the price.'

We will give it another try although as the food is really good! Better luck next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 4, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been to atmosphere service and food impeccable and amazing I would definitely recommend this to anyone for any purpose or any special location !!! Looking forward to going back with friends and/or family!!!! cheers

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Authentic, Comfort Food, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Family Style, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2017

it was for a business meeting, it he experience was fantastic, the food is excellent, the service is number one.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I've been there at least 10 times and have to say that food and ambiance are still great. But the reception was terrible!

Had a terrible experience with the receptionist who was making our experience so difficult... on the phone it was unhelpful in accommodating us in a table with a bench to fit a toddler... as we get in the restaurant she was certain that my friends were not there because they have not checked in even though they texted saying that they were inside. She didn't want us to check inside... it was like we were the annoying neighbours; not the clients paying to be there! Thank god the manager came in and immediately let us check inside for our friends... what a difference! I immediately realized that Savitra (I hope I got her name right!) was the manager because of her excellent attitude and professionalism in trying to help us and accommodate us with the kid. She also realized the attitude of her staff and hopefully will sorted out! Thanks manager for making Cibo still the best brunch in town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Sehr gute Küche, einfallsreiche Gerichte. Hoher Geräuschpegel...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was not great when more tables started to be seated. My Cousin and I would have gotten at least another glass of wine but the server never appeared from when the food was dropped off until she asked if went wanted the check. We sat with empty wine glasses for most of the meal. However the food was great and the restaurant itself was very nice!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great service. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Waited at every stage of dining including someone even saying hi . Quite the confusion at the end and lack of communication between managers made me feel I was in the wrong which wasn't the case .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loved the decor and great ambience. Cibo had several private rooms for larger groups and parties that looked great. Food was delicious. Service was good. (Was hard to get our waitress a couple times through the meal but as the restaurant was very busy this was understandable.) I would definitely go back for another dinner or for a party.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food and the service was lovely as well (He gave great recommendations; took a little long to bring drinks but understandable as I assume the bartender was busy). Nonetheless, a great time and will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Business lunch at noon. It was the perfect environment to be able to discuss amongst 3 people without having to shout. The well-paced meal, good wine and a great server make it a great spot to eat/meet. Salads are fresh and delicious and although I didn't eat the Rigatoni, I heard it was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tapas, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Organic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday brunch was mediocre, not many food options. Most items were over salted and not warm. Service could have been better, most of our plates piled up on the table and were not be taken away fast enough, even though it wasn't that busy. Both hostess and waitress did not acknowledge the special occasion noted in our reservation.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pizzas were great! Make sure you make reservations well in advance. There was one unfortunate incident...a hair in the olives that came with the bread. :(

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fun, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Good food, good ambiance. Would go back any time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fun was just ok. Slightly over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was good. Had a grilled calamari salad and one of the pizzas. Pizza was made well, typical thin crust pizza, not soggy or burnt. Grilled calamari was decent but rather small in size. Salad met expectations but did not go over expectations. Lots of variety of wines to choose from. Ambiance was lovely, we heard each other without having to scream and decor is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Waited 45 minutes for our reservation we had. Poor planning on the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food good service will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My parents were visiting from out of town and a friend recommended Cibo to us but I was highly disappointed. The waitress just seemed like she didn't want to be there and anytime we asked for anything she seemed annoyed. The food was mediocre, my dads lobster ravioli was so lemony he took one bite and couldn't finish but didn't want to make a fuss so we didn't send it back. My ghnocci was tasty but really nothing special, I could have make it with more flavour myself at home. Just very dissatisfied overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great! We really enjoyed ourselves and the decor is phenomenal!!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I came here for dinner with a friend. We both got pasta and both found that it was hard and not as soft as it should be. We spent about 40 minutes eating, and about an hour waiting for our bill. We didn't even know who our waitress was. The one that gave us our food and took our orders left half way and another one took over and did a TERRIBLE job. We finally received our bill after about 30 minutes. Then we waited and saw TWO tables next to us both receive their bill and pay for it way before us. Leaving us to about another 30 minute wait just to pay. When the waitress finally came, she was completely unapologetic and didn't event try to make any conversation. Will NOT be coming back here, it was not worth it at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I strongly recommend there, if you guys gather together for a date or a small party. The chicken pasta was good, service was pretty thoughtful, overall is good .
I will come again with my girlfriend next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Vibrant, energetic atmosphere and decent food. Good for groups and also for couples

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Was a good experience, however it seems like our server was very busy so we got served predominantly by the busser, who wasn't very confident or knew much of his steps of service

Drinks took a long time to come and food was okay.
Overall experience was good/average. Not as great as I anticipated though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic brunch with really great selection and variety. Great deals on bubbly drinks which made it the perfect spot for a girls brunch get together for a large group of us. Really beautiful décor and booth seating for our group. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The reservation was pointless as we were kept waiting (and standing) for 50 minutes after our reservation time. The manager was clueless and extremely unhelpful telling us that they have no idea when tables become free. If that is true why accept reservations in the first place? However our waitress Alexa was very good and food arrived on time when we eventually got our table. Maybe they should change to first come first serve and remove the reservation system as it seems to operate that way anyway.
Food was terrific. We had the shrimp , steak and the tuna for appetizer as well as the eggplant. The shrimp was spicy without being hot and very flavourful which the tuna and steak were delicious without being over cooked. For main course I had the tagliatelle which was average (as good as any other Italian restaurant and nothing spectacular). However another person had the full fish baked which was delicious and very flavourful. The coffee machine was apparently broken so no cappuccino as I wanted. Given that I had mentioned at the time of reservation that we were celebrating 2 birthdays there was no acknowledgment of that fact during any time during the service. Overall pretty disappointing as I would have expected a better management and organization from a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. The service was friendly and professional. Food was excellent except for the Caesar salad which left us unimpressed. Main entrees were delicious and plenty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Reliable option for business lunches and get togethers. Food is good, pricing OK, nicely presented.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was incredibly slow, but food was good as well as the atmosphere. We had a group of 8 and the restaurant was full but had empty tables so there was no excuse for how long it took us to have drinks delivered. Our water glasses and wine glasses were all empty for the last 30 minutes of our dining experience. Plus, it was 30 mins before we received our drink orders (wine and beer, nothing complicated). Lost revenue for the restaurant. It could have been our server was new, as I have been before and not experienced this problem.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.