About Cibo Wine Bar King St West

522 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1K4
View Larger Map

Cibo Wine Bar offers a truly authentic Italian experience in a contemporary yet soulful environment. This vibrant eatery is ideally situated in the heart of the city's entertainment and restaurant district. The original raw edge of this 8000 sq ft property has been creatively designed into a modern yet fully inviting space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday 11:30am - 12:00am
(Kitchen open until 11:00pm)
Thursday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00am
(Kitchen open until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
King St West at Brant Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-3939

Website:
http://www.cibowinebar.com/

Parking Details:

Valet parking on weekends.

Street parking during specified times.

Five public parking lots within 3 block radius.

Public Transit:
Spadina Streetcar at King St West. or King West Streetcar at Brant St.

Executive Chef:
Saverio Macri

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Italian Bubbles Brunch - Sunday from 11.30am -4.00pm. $35 per person.

Lobster Tuesdays. Every Tuesday After 4pm enjoy fresh Whole Lobster in a selection of signature dishes for only $25.

Cibo Sociale. Every Thursday 4pm-7pm. Features and Specials on classic and signature cocktails, domestic beers, select wines by the glass or by the bottle.

Restaurant Photos

Fresh Pasta
Antipasto Platter
italian meat
nutella pizza
Pizza making
Lobster Cannelloni
Lobster Ravioli
Fresh In House Made Pasta
Brunch Buffet
polenta fries

Promotions

Italian Bubbles + Brunch | Sundays

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM

Lobster Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cibo Sociale - Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Italian Bubbles + Brunch | Sundays

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM

Details
Lobster Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Cibo Sociale - Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

Cibo Wine Bar features four private rooms with distinct design approaches from a “rustic cellar” with arched brick walls to sleek industrial glass + raw metal finishes. Accommodating groups from 10 to 24, rooms have access to natural daylight and are fully equipped with essential audio/video.

Cibo Wine Bar King St West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (135)
notable wine list (119)
special occasion (111)
See All
fit for foodies (103)
hot spot (83)
romantic (72)
neighborhood gem (71)
great for lunch (60)
vibrant bar scene (55)
great for brunch (40)
late-night find (34)
great for outdoor dining (29)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been here on numerous occasions, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have been here on numerous occasions, but it was the first time at this restaurant for my 3 friends. As always, the food was very good. Usually the service has also been very good, but unfortunately, tonight our waitress took a bit away from our experience. My friends noted that she was grumpy and she didn't seem very attentive to our table, as we had to ask several times for water. For me, I definitely didn't feel the service was up to par. I usually feel like the waiters/waitresses make you feel very welcomed, but tonight our waitress seemed like she was just going through the actions. I know people can have an off night, it was just too bad my friends had to have that as their first experience here.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We visited in celebration of my friends ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

We visited in celebration of my friends bachlorette. It took 20 minutes to get a waiter which we needed to ask for as they did not know who had pur table. It took foever for our drinks and appetizers to arrive and we had to ask for complementary bread. FOUR tables that arrived after we had our appetizers and had their meals before we asked about our dinners when we had been there for 2 hours (very hungry after a day at the spa). the manger offered to give us free dessert, but we didnt plan on ordering it as we had DESSERT PLANS.

We had dinner served and the pasta dishes were ok, i wouldn't ever get them again. too plain tasting. Not good value for the price. We regreted not going to a smaller place.

Dessert randomly showed up. So we didnt get a chance to say no. frozen style. it was free.

I had to leave the table to move my car. We were not treated seriously. For a tuesday night, i had expected much better service.

Don't waste yopur time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Service was slow. Error in appetizer or ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was slow. Error in appetizer order. She was apologetic however.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service at this location is nowhere near ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service at this location is nowhere near as good as the one near Yonge and Eglinton. I am not sure why - it was pretty empty for a Sunday night.

Good food as usual! Except the starter bread did not seem fresh at all (again not sure if it is just this location because the other location is awesome)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I've been here prior to this occasion. I ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I've been here prior to this occasion. It's a lively restaurant. Very chic. Awesome food. It's a great environment for everyone if all ages. My grandparents (who are in their 60's) came down to the city from the suburbs and even they really enjoyed this restaurant. It's a place for anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, ambiance and dec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was excellent, ambiance and decor were both on point as well. The only downside was the service was very spotty, different servers taking care of us made it very impersonal. Plus we were rushed out after we finished our meal, even though we were planning on ordering another bottle of wine. Service needs work.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The server was very courteous and pleasa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The server was very courteous and pleasant. Food was served promptly .I liked the fact that the tables are well spread out and therefore noise level is low. Special thanks to our server Catherine for making our anniversary a memorable one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service. Our favou ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always great food and service. Our favourite local italian

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, great selection of wine ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food, great selection of wine and outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grilled octopus was so good mmmm very ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Grilled octopus was so good mmmm

very good meal!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had the best calamari that I have eve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had the best calamari that I have ever experienced at a restaurant. The server was very good and the overall quality of the food was good. There was no shade on the patio so unfortunately we could not eat outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for dinner and meeting up wi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great place for dinner and meeting up with friends!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was my first time going to this resta ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was my first time going to this restaurant. I went with three other female friends, our waitress was amazing, we all enjoyed our meal and it's a nice looking place. Two of us had a virgin mojito--it was so damn good! I'll definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The spinach salad was the best we've had ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The spinach salad was the best we've had and the pasta was delicious. We'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a voucher from Groupon for Brunch ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a voucher from Groupon for Brunch buffet which included a glass of Italian bubbles (such as Proseco) per person, but the servant refused to provide the Italian bubbles portion on the voucher although we paid for it in advance when we bought the voucher.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Really nice décor... however the food wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really nice décor... however the food was substandard. Stick to simple items on the menu like pasta or pizza. Suitable for groups but not appropriate for dinner for two. Disappointed

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Cannot say enough great things about Cib ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Cannot say enough great things about Cibo. I've been going here for years, when it used to be called Ciao Wine Bar. This is the first time I've been to the King location, I usually go to the Yorkville one. This location was gorgeous. Beautiful, ambient and warm lighting, charming romantic and fantastic server we had. Whenever I visit from the states I'm sure to enjoy a dinner at Cibo. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Cibo with 3 of my girlfriends ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I went to Cibo with 3 of my girlfriends for my birthday. We all had wine, tasty apps and Delicious main courses! I would recommend their gnocchi or any of their pastas really as they are very fresh! My friend is gluten free and found there were many options for her including gluten free pasta! One friend had the tuna and it was very good as well! Service was amazing, our waters were always full, and the waitress was very friendly and attentive. We will be again for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait time to get our food was ridicu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The wait time to get our food was ridiculous and they couldn't even get our order right! We waited 1.5 hours for our main (45 for apps) and another 45 for the main. We missed the movie we had planned to go to because of the long wait. The server mentioned she was sorry for the long wait but kinda brushed it off seeing that we were really not impressed!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The ambience is amazing , the place is ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The ambience is amazing , the place is sooo trendy , the food tastes so delecious ! Me and my husband had mushroom risotto, canniloni stuffed with spinach& ricotta, seafood fettuccine , and their baked bread.

As a dessert we had lemon& ricotta cheesecake , and ferrero roche cake

Love everythinnnnnng about this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our server was very good. she was pleasa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

our server was very good. she was pleasant and quick...although we weren't looking fir fast suggestion: ask your clients if they are in a rush this way you can adjust your service level I made reservations online and stated it was our 25th anniversary. someone called me to confirm my reservations and I mentioned it was my 25th anniversary and, we told the waitress the same...we got rushed out I wouldnt call us regulars at your restaurant but we've been at Cibo a few times We were not looking for anything free or anyone singing but allow me to enlighten you : being the redtaurant of choice fir a couple celebraring 25 years of marriage should say to you : lets give thi

couple a nicer table (one that doesnt wobble by the way), in a nicer location would have been nice to be acknowledged since you asked on the reservation And I told you 2 other times. good food, good ambience, good service...but I dont think we'll be back ...its a principle thing. if you want to call me : we were there thursday june 30 at 8.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cibo is a great place to go - location i ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Cibo is a great place to go - location is terrific, and the food is delicious. Ordered the lunch special (salad and entree) and the size was perfect not to mention the taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great dining experience at CIBO ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Another great dining experience at CIBO King. This is my forth time here and can highly recommend the restaurant for client or social entertainment. Staff is friendly and the manager Claudio checked on our table several times to ensure we were happy and attended to. Good for all ages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great pizza! Great pasta! Great friendl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great pizza! Great pasta! Great friendly attentive service....we were in Toronto on business and went two nights in a row...just to try other pizzas and entrees! This was a grea place ...casual and enjoyable....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Italian. The lasagne was amaz ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very good Italian. The lasagne was amazing. The cheese board was huge and delicious. Our server was very sweet and we enjoyed everything.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food wasn't very tasty. And it was expen ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food wasn't very tasty. And it was expensive for the food quality they serve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Good service ,food was excellent , short ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good service ,food was excellent , short rib was amazing ,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Cibo with my mom and mother in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I went to Cibo with my mom and mother in law for a delayed christmas gift. They were very good at accomodating our allergy requests. Our server was friendly and the food was quite good. I liked how they make all their pasta's in house and was bummed I couldn't have them because of my food allergies. It's nice inside with a fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I attended Cibo for a weekday lunch to c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I attended Cibo for a weekday lunch to celebrate my daughter's Call to the Bar and loved our meal. Both the food and the service were excellent. We tried many dishes between us and each was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really one of my Favourite spots, amazin ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really one of my Favourite spots, amazing atmosphere, good vibes, great location.

Disappointed that the rice balls have pork in them😞

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My family and I come here quite often. T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My family and I come here quite often. This time we were seated on the bar/lounge side of the restaurant. We usually sit in the dining room area. We were celebrating my graduation night. This time service wasn't up to par as it usually is. My mother simply asked the server for simple things such as a takeout container for the remainder of her food - and the server would roll her eyes at my mother. It was understandable that she was busy and couldn't get everything right away which was fine, but that type of behaviour was uncalled for. 4/5 people at the table work in the service industry, and noticed her attitude. Thought it should be addressed. Otherwise, food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Pasta dish cooked unevenly. Only warm on ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Pasta dish cooked unevenly. Only warm on one side and cool on the other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have been to CIBO on King West many ti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to CIBO on King West many times. I have taken, dates, business associates and family there and always enjoyed the food, the wine and the atmosphere.

I had not been on a Sunday prior to this visit. I found the place to be very quiet, which I appreciated since I was with my family (kids are all in their 20's) and we could carry on a conversation without background noise.

However, I found the service to be very disappointing. We waited about 15 minutes before flagging down a server to bring us drinks. The time between her visits was incredible long. Not to mention she brought me the wrong drink and after me mentioning it she still didn't bring me the right one. Also, when we arrived there was no one to greet us. I wasn't sure if we were to find our own table or not.

I had thought that perhaps they had limited staff and she was covering a large area, however, I was wrong. It seemed she spend most of the night chatting with other staff members. She was fairly young and I expect got the poorer shifts as a result. But when I am spending the kind of money I did (three bottles of wine at $130 per) I expect good service. Light staffing is not good for long term repeat business.

I was happy with the food and wine, but very disappointed with the staffing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Went here for the Sunday Brunch The sele ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went here for the Sunday Brunch

The selection was amazing. They had everything for everyone. I loved the made to order pizza and the bread brought to the table was a nice touch.

Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the most amazing of all 3 units! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is the most amazing of all 3 units! Huge, gorgeous and all tables in one level. No need to go up and down carrying your food. Food is delicious like other units; fresh and several options to choose from. I absolutely LOVE Cibo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i didn't enjoy what I had ordered so I h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

i didn't enjoy what I had ordered so I had it sent back, of course this was not the waitresses fault, however I feel like I offended her as she started being very cold towards our table, not filling up water, passing out table to fill up water at other tables, didn't really smile when she did come to our table. I would not send back my food if I liked it, but it was extremely bland. The atmosphere was nice and we enjoyed the wine very much. I feel like if I didn't send back my food, the dinner would have been different.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

There was a strong washroom smell and we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

There was a strong washroom smell and we weren't seated at a very good table but the food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Repeat ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I visited Cibo on Yonge (near Lawrence) a few weeks ago.

Had a good experience there, and was looking for a place closer to the dome this time. We had a part of 4 this time, and opted for Cibo (King St. W.). We had appetizers, dinner and some drinks. Service was great. Server was friendly, courteous and tentative.

The food was delicious. And drink?...well, they're often great as well.

My out-of-town guests enjoyed themselves as well, and expressed their delight about the venue and experience. I wouldn't say that it's great value, but neither is it unreasonable. It's on par for similar dining experiences. I would not hesitate to recommend Cibo to those who are looking for an evening out, for a good meal, good service and good ambiance. Suitable for dates, and larger parties.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food, loud noise

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Like so may restaurants the food was very good but the level of the music being played was just too much. And though we were early and there were many places to sit they placed a family with a young child right next to us. We were there for a special occasion. I would recommend this for anyone who likes Italian food and who is not bothered by noise. If you like a place where you can easily converse wit your table partner, I would not go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.