About Cibo Wine Bar King St West

522 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1K4
View Larger Map

Cibo Wine Bar offers a truly authentic Italian experience in a contemporary yet soulful environment. This vibrant eatery is ideally situated in the heart of the city's entertainment and restaurant district. The original raw edge of this 8000 sq ft property has been creatively designed into a modern yet fully inviting space.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday 11:30am - 12:00am
(Kitchen open until 11:00pm)
Thursday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00am
(Kitchen open until 1:00am)

Cross Street:
King St West at Brant Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-3939

Website:
http://www.cibowinebar.com/

Parking Details:

Valet parking on weekends.

Street parking during specified times.

Five public parking lots within 3 block radius.

Public Transit:
Spadina Streetcar at King St West. or King West Streetcar at Brant St.

Executive Chef:
Saverio Macri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Italian Bubbles Brunch - Sunday from 11.30am -4.00pm. $35 per person.

Lobster Tuesdays. Every Tuesday After 4pm enjoy fresh Whole Lobster in a selection of signature dishes for only $25.

Cibo Sociale. Every Thursday 4pm-7pm. Features and Specials on classic and signature cocktails, domestic beers, select wines by the glass or by the bottle.

Private Dining

Cibo Wine Bar features four private rooms with distinct design approaches from a “rustic cellar” with arched brick walls to sleek industrial glass + raw metal finishes. Accommodating groups from 10 to 24, rooms have access to natural daylight and are fully equipped with essential audio/video.

Cibo Wine Bar King St West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Special Occasion (59)
See All
Good for Groups (59)
Romantic (55)
Notable Wine List (51)
Business Meals (42)
Casual (41)
Modern Decor (40)
Cozy (39)
Hot Spot (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Fun (33)
Authentic (30)
Comfort Food (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Open Kitchen (25)
Private Room (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Wood Oven (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
People Watching (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Family Style (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Spicy (5)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We found the staff welcoming and the tab ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

We found the staff welcoming and the tables to be well-positioned for comfort and conversation. Our server was the correct combnation of attentive and responsive. The lobster ravioli was delicious and the lasagna was tasty and pasta for both was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

By the time we arrived for our reservati ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

By the time we arrived for our reservation the kitchen had already closed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Dinner at Cibo was a very nice evening. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner at Cibo was a very nice evening. Both of us enjoyed our meals and our server did a terrific job with wine recommendations. Fun atmosphere with good food and great service made for an excellent night out.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great lunch specials, reasonably priced. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Great lunch specials, reasonably priced. The restaurant is large, has great interior design with just the right lighting and great ambiance ...a very comfortable place to relax after work or to get together with friends. I loved their pasta special with squid ink and shrimps last week. I always go there for the spinach and brie salad and their fantastic bread. One thing I do like to mention is that they should pay more attention to the comments in the online booking. I wrote that I didn't want the booth and the hostess gave us a booth table. It was early lunch on a Thursday with only a few tables occupied. Overall I like Cibo on King St. West a lot. I work around the area so I eat there quite often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal - the salmon with asparagus w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal - the salmon with asparagus was delicious. Finished meal off with a delicious Americano coffee. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I recently dined at Cibo for the first t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

I recently dined at Cibo for the first time, on a friends recommendation. It was a special dinner with my oldest friend who is moving away for her newest adventure. Our server was fantastic! Sweet and friendly, took care of our every need and made perfect recommendations. We did not have to lift a finger all evening, she was very attentive. The ambiance was nice, not too noisy, but just noisy enough! Great food, great wine. I recommend the gnocchi!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The minimum tip offered by credit card s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

The minimum tip offered by credit card system starts at 18%. Looks like a cash grab to me.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We always have a great dining experience ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always have a great dining experience at Cibo. Expect to be here for awhile because it is always busy but still worth it as the food is really good considering it is a buffet style brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Coming in we were told it was 1 hour and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Coming in we were told it was 1 hour and 30 min wait. We then gave our phone number and were told we would be contacted when our table is ready. 2 hours later and no text had arrived so I checked for possible reservation tables online. We were able to get a reservation table in 5 mins time. I never ended up getting a text that night for an open table. Very disappointed we had to wait all of that time for no text. If I had not gone out of my way we would have been waiting all night for nothing. Waitress wasn't very accommodating forgetting items and seemed stressed. Not a good experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The lasagna is to die for!!! Although it ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The lasagna is to die for!!! Although it was $21, it was very filling and I definitely needed to share with my husband.

The service was fast and we were seated immediately with my reservation (I find sometimes restaurants make you wait a bit before seating you). I would definitely return again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food. Waitress was kno ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service and food. Waitress was knowledgable, friendly and accommodating. Room ambience was perfect. Excellent wine selection. Will return soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience. Perfect for a double ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing experience. Perfect for a double mother-daughter date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time with my boyfriend. It was a d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great time with my boyfriend. It was a delicious meal. Second time there and its a great location!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have celiac disease and have a hard ti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I have celiac disease and have a hard time finding restaurants that are extra cautious with cross-contamination and that offer good gluten free choices. I loved my meal as did my husband(non celiac). We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very consistent great food. My only sug ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very consistent great food. My only suggestion would be that they offer Parmesan cheese and fresh pepper when main is served. We will be coming back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Love the decor and at ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was amazing. Love the decor and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was average at best. Service was n ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was average at best. Service was not terribly attentive but ok. Wine markups are too high. Don't like credit card machines that have tip options starting at 18%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Cibo is amazing! I went for my boyfriend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Cibo is amazing! I went for my boyfriend's birthday and the staff treated us so well. They brought us complementary sparkling wine when we sat down, and recommended us many things on the menu to choose from. Having lived in Italy, I am very picky about my Italian food but Cibo really had some authentic food. The arancini was great, and the proscuitto and fromaggio platter was fantastic. We had the lobster ravioli for our main course... my boyfriend loved it while I thought it was good but a little on the fishy side. They also gave us a beautiful complementary dessert that was delicious as well. It was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service, Food, and Beverages were great. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service, Food, and Beverages were great. Ended up being seated in a bit of a louder section than would have preferred for a date, althoigh it's par for the course on a Friday night in the city. All in all would recommend to check it out.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, service was all great, Would defin ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food, service was all great, Would definitely return

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I needed an early meal before a flight b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I needed an early meal before a flight back to Chicago, and needed to catch up on the missed communications of the day. The lounge area of Cibo was perfect. The food and wine were both very good, and the atmosphere relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I have know about Cibo, but never had th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I have know about Cibo, but never had the opportunity to visit the restaurant. I had some visitors in from Germany and there hotel was only blocks away from the King Street location, so I decided to book it for our group. I was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent, the atmosphere warm, the décor compelling and the prices reasonable. My colleagues complimented me on my choice and I will definitely be going back very soon this time with my family.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Lovely mean and great services. The m ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Lovely mean and great services. The menu selection offered a wide variety of choices and great wine choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful! Love the food, the place and ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful! Love the food, the place and the price. Will definitely go baxk

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

amazing food and amazing service can't w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

amazing food and amazing service

can't wait to go back

Tags: , Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance - dimly lit, lots of bric ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great ambiance - dimly lit, lots of brick and wood. Food was great, as per usual. It is a little loud inside, but most restaurants are like that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time with friends that was c ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a great time with friends that was complimented with great food and good service. Had the spicy sausage appetizer , chicken pesto pasta. Would recommend both

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food wasn't good. Server got my order wr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food wasn't good. Server got my order wrong twice and didn't even apologize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My friend and I were so impressed by the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My friend and I were so impressed by the wait staff on how helpful and accommodating they were since we are both new moms with strollers. The food was phenomenal and the service was great!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrible. The service was f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was terrible. The service was fine but the food was tasteless and extremely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I loved the atmosphere at Cibo Wine Bar ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I loved the atmosphere at Cibo Wine Bar but was underwhelmed by the quality of the food. The menu sounds delicious but when the dishes arrived at the table they lacked flavor. My friend had the Lobster Ravioli which she chose because the pasta was made fresh in house. She was disappointed that the ravioli was tough and lacked that fresh made quality. I think that we would try it again based on location and atmosphere and hope that this was just an off night in the kitchen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was stellar! Plenty of options, st ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was stellar! Plenty of options, stations were aways replenished, food was fresh and delicious. My only comment is that everytime we finished our plates and went in for another round, we came back to out dirty plates still on the table. Not a huge deal, we had no problem eating around them, it just limited our table space. Otherwise, great meal and would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We reserved a birthday bruch at Cibo. Wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We reserved a birthday bruch at Cibo.

Waitress was unatentive and I we saw her maybe twice during our meal. We had to flag down another server

to request water, coffee and mimosa refills.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food at Cibo is always excellent. To ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food at Cibo is always excellent. Today though, the service wasn't very good. I had a reservation for a group of 9, so e meals came out timely and others took a very long time. We had all fished eating when the last person was served and they ordered the simplest dish and ordered first. A request for a plate of roast vegetables was forgotten and to top it all off there was someone with a ladder changing light bulbs next to our table.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Vino Wine Bar was absolutely amazing. I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Vino Wine Bar was absolutely amazing. I enjoyed everything from the delightful food, service and amazing wine selection. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone. I will be back soon as I enjoyed it so much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I'm given 50 characters but my experienc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I'm given 50 characters but my experience with Cibo can be summed up with one simple word ... AWESOME!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Cozy, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Attentive service. The restaurant is big ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Attentive service. The restaurant is big and was moderately busy. It was quite noisy but we were able to converse without a problem. We ordered the polenta fries and grilled veggies for appetizers. The fries were very good. The veggies were ordinary. Needed more sauce. We both had pasta. The fettuccini Alfredo was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very friendly and made fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our server was very friendly and made for our dining experience very pleasurable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great food, was a little ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great service, great food, was a little confused that the birthday dessert they brought I was charged for. Being charged I would have preferred to have chooses my own dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall our experience was OK. Three out ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall our experience was OK. Three out of four dishes were excellent (they do make the best polenta fries ever!). One was mediocre at best. We've been here a number of times and the service is just not that good. The people are friendly, but they aren't quick to greet you once you sit down. It took us over 10 minutes to place our drink orders and one took another 10 to be delivered. Our server was very pleasant, it just seems like a training ground for servers and with such good food and service restaurants in the area we won't be back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.