Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (34)
Good for a Date (19)
Scenic View (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fun (14)
Casual (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Historic (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. Live music added a nice ambiance to the dinner. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is very good, I have been twice before. The only issue I have is the horrific amounts of crumbs down any and all the seats. It was actually upsetting to see how dirty the chairs were.

Plus the area with the view is a carpeted area, which I found weird.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The appetizers are extremely large, but so delicious, just forced a take out box for the main course for a leftover lunch the next day. Our server was excellent!! Service was very efficient and friendly. The wine selection is fantastic. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Will definitely try again in the very near future.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service and the food is incredibly tasty. I took my family out for mothers day and after living in Winnipeg for about 16 years they were still shocked that we had such nice views here. The restaurant ambience is great for a variety of different occasions, from a nice date to a family dinner- a good balance between formal and casual. Thank you for another great experience!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for a combined birthday and Mother's Day brunch. We were seated at an undesirable table by the fire exit so we asked for a table in the back on account of the special occasion. The seating staff appeared annoyed that we had asked. Despite the majority of tables being available, they were unwilling to seat us there, stating there were reservations that were made before our reservation so we could not be seated there. The back section did not get filled until we were nearly done our meal more than an hour later.
Otherwise, it is a small menu but the food was decent and reasonably priced so I would say it's good value. Our waiter was nice and appropriately attentive as well.
Unfortunately, however, the special occasion was not the best experience from the start. In addition, there was nothing special for Mother's Day and they do not provide any special touches for birthdays either. I would not return to or recommend Cibo for special occasions. It was alright otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We enjoyed the service and food. Downside was the excessive noise. Waitresses need to learn to lift the chairs when rearranging the tables. No need to drag them. Very annoying.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was our first time at Cibo's. It was great! We shared two appetizers - pickerel and the bruschetta dishes. They were both fabulous. Wine list was good. Service great. Made us feel like we were in distillery district in Toronto!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 8, 2017

An amazing meal! and the service was second to none

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food is always excellent. There is a great atmosphere and great service. My wife and I are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My girlfriend and I came here for our anniversary, at my sister's recommendation, and we were not disappointed. A small venue with a small menu to match, it felt both down-to-earth and high-class. We liked that, unlike some other nice restaurants, the huge windows allowed enough light that we could see what was on our plates!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 26, 2017

What a gem! I absolutely loved this restaurants menu and it's vibe. Beautiful service and equally beautiful lunch with a girlfriend at this trendy spot overlooking the river. Will go back... many times💗

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I cannot believe that someone who orders a pizza gets charged $1 for Parmesan cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great time - food was tasty but could have been hotter

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Underwhelming
I was unsure why we were not offered the lunch menu
Only breakfast menu offered to us. Perhaps the server thought we needed eggs with our liquor order.

The choices were few and the served selections were under seasoned and overcooked

I am more confused by how popular this place seems to be. Perhaps diners like bland overdone options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Have been to Cibo's a few times and the food has always been exceptional. This time however, my friend had a lovely meal but my lunch was lacklustre.
Based on that experience, I won't give up on them, but will definitely give them another chance. Worth the drive.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Waterfront, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went to Cibo with friends before going to the Concert Hall for a show. Staff were awesome and attentive. Food was fantastic. We ordered four appetizers and shared them (there were 4 of us). Plenty of food for all. Drinks were good as well. The flatbread/pizza was very tasty. They asked us if we were going to the theatre we said yes and they made sure they timed each appetizer so we are out 1/2 hour prior to going to the show. Will definitely go back to sit on the outdoor patio overlooking the River. Awesome place - won't disappoint! Can't go wrong with anything on the menu by the looks of it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good sevice, enjoyed the meal, food was out of the kitchen in a decent time. Atmosphere is very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First time here and loved the good, servers and ambiance!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Historic, Outstanding Value, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved the ambiance of the restaurant. Very relaxed dinner we were not rushed and enjoyed our food and drinks all evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food - big portions and ordered too much. Pickerel was fabulous! A bit noisy but fun environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service, experienced and friendly servers.
The food was very flavourful, well prepared

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food wasn't that great. Payed way more then what the food was worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service, mundane food. Mentioned it was a friends birthday diner on reservation not acknowledged or even mentioned. Host off hand server excellent. Food pretty mediocre. With many restaurants in winnipeg will not be in a hurry to return to this one.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our server seemed rushed, the food wasn't up to its usual standard. Very disappointing considering the good experiences we've had in the past (including a group booking for a wedding).

I'm not sure if there has been a change in chef or something but when the burger you order is charred on the outside and pink on the inside with a very dry bun something ain't right. The shoestring fries were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cosy and warm ambience and wonderful food offerings. Perfect for a Valentine's dinner!
Even the short walk to the restaurant in the waterfront historic neighborhood was a nice preamble to dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The first few times we really enjoyed the food. Then it kept going downhill but we gave it a few more tries. The fries arrived cold. The burger buns were stale, too big and took away from the meat itself. We have decided that it will be our last visit.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very comfortable seating, warm atmosphere. Very friendly professional staff and food was great, timed perfectly.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was ok, but won't be going back. For the price I expect better food. I could have made a more creative cheese board at home.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Need better parking. We had to cut our visit short and not have dessert or coffee becuase no time on the meter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a very nice setting, especially when the sun comes out. Service was good, nothing out of the ordinary. The food was delicious and presented nicely, the marble rye looked beautiful on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love the ambiance at Cibo! The history and location of the building is unique as well.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Loved it:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

food was good. my steak and potatoes were both a bit underdone but flavours were good. bruschetta combos were great and the pickeral fritto was excellent. menus a bit limited - bit over casual - could use a few additional options. space is very trendy - nice reno of an old warehouse building. service was very good. as a big woman tho, the chairs were very uncomfortable. big people like to eat, will fill your restaurants..think about them when thinking about your chair and space selection. I swear I got a pressure sore from a chair smaller than an airline seat which I tried to shove myself in for 2 hours over a business meal. so..wouldnt recommend this place for bigger men and women as I dont think it would be comfortable for them - but otherwise - it was very good and a nice addition to the wpg food scene.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Second time for us at Cibo. Located in an historic pump house building on the Red River waterfront, it has a varied menu and comfortable atmosphere. Servers are always polite and prices are reasonable. The only quibble I have is the lack of a parking lot, meaning you have to hunt for a spot on Winnipeg streets where you can only get 2 hr parking, so you have to remain vigilant to the meter, or else you'll be contributing to Winnipeg parking fine coffers.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner; the only comment is the parking -or lack thereof. I had to look around to find one on the street.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was great and Server i think "Ashley" was very good, friendly. Loved the bruchetta, delicious and so hearty. Only had one complaint, vodka martini came with no olives or any other veggie type insert and vodka and coke was not made well, tons of ice first time, sent back, second time no ice tons of coke, didn't want to keep returning over and over, we were there for a relaxing supper and drinks before an MTC show, only have so much time to enjoy. As i said above though, the bruchetta was the best and the soup delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My husband and I went to Cibo for the first time to celebrate our anniversary; we were treated so well; everyone there was welcoming and congratulated us sincerely. Food was delicious and our waiter, Jereme, was so professional, attentive, and friendly. Superb service!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Cibo has a nice atmosphere. I recommend the skinny fries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our third visit and it did not disappoint. The food and wine were very good and reasonably priced. Service was good and they didn't rush us- even tho' it was a Saturday night. The choice of bruschetta, the arinicini and the pickerel appetizer were amazing - definitely worth trying. We'll be back. Paul & Barb, Calgary

Tags: Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Cibo has become a favorite business lunch spot. Food is always delicious and the menu is creative. Service is warm and friendly.

I highly recommend Cibo's

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.