About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

scenic view (116)
fit for foodies (66)
neighborhood gem (64)
See All
great for lunch (61)
good for groups (60)
special occasion (58)
romantic (37)
late-night find (33)
great for brunch (29)
hot spot (29)
great for outdoor dining (19)
vibrant bar scene (6)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

My companion had the cibo breakfast and ...

Dined 3 days ago

My companion had the cibo breakfast and I had the eggs benedict. We both noted that the food was not very hot and that the fried potatoes did not taste fresh. The italian meat served to both of us tasted sour so we did not eat it- we didnt know if that was normal for the meat as we had never eaten it before so we did not complain. I did send back my eggs Benedict as the poached eggs were overcooked-. They brought a fresh serving and actually took my meal off the bill without me asking. The outdoor patio was serene and lovely. I would try it again for lunch or dinner but not breakfast.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Lunch with friends

Dined 4 days ago

Ambiance is great but restaurant was warm (air conditioning not working??). We ordered two individual size pizzas and one was ok the other oven dried. Service was very good though.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

great little spot will go again. definit ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

great little spot will go again. definitely recommended. the was a great guitar player/singer on the night we were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The menu was very limited & unmemorable.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really disappointed in the menu selection, taste of food and value for money. Restaurant in a fantastic, romantic, industrial setting, however food totally fell short. Will not go back.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic restaurant with a great view a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with a great view and a nice little tucked away "great-find" to Winnipeg evening dining. Would love to see just a few vegan options to the menu though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Evening

Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much. I would say our biggest complaint would have been----where to park. The food was very good and our server was excellent------very friendly, outgoing and knew the menu well. We didn't get her name but she did a great job.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cibo...slightly above average? I noticed ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Cibo...slightly above average? I noticed that the appetizer selection seems to be smaller so it was a little more difficult to do a tapas/sharing style meal. We wanted to try a bit of everything. The bruschetta was interesting with the different choices. The salad we ordered (chicken?) was delicious and was dressed perfectly. The seafood pizza was OK. I love seafood and eat it all of the time but the pizza seemed to be "fishy" smelling. I had heard that if seafood isn't fresh, it can have that fishy smell. In any case, the service, company & wine were excellent!

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Neat restaurant bar with reclaimed brick ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Neat restaurant bar with reclaimed brick decor. Staff friendly, great service, drinks and food!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Friendly atmosphere. Good service.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family. A great choice!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the third time we have been here ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

This is the third time we have been here and we have had good food and good service every time we have dined here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place

Dined on May 1, 2016

There is absolutely nothing wanting here- the food, service, and atmosphere are all fantastic. It's located in a gorgeous historic building, in the trendy Exchange District.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Hit and Miss - Best Views In Winnipeg

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I had a great dining experience. We started with the bruschetta and the risotto balls as appetizers. Our mains were the Cibo Pizza and a Carbonara. ... another couple we were with will never go back. They started with the poutine and some kind of pickerel appy. Both were horrendous. No other words to describe it. They had the same mains as us, so those were ok. Both of their app's should never be served anywhere ever again. This place has the best views in town, and a great atmosphere, but I fear if they dont get a stronger menu it'll be lights out. I am truly pulling for them.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Cibo is perfect if you want a vibrant restaurant with gorgeous drinks and excellent food. The service is great and the view of the river is beautiful. The old industrial look of the restaurant compliments the neighbourhood, and the overall dining experience is esquisite. Perfect for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was excellent. Ambience and scenic view is wonderful . We will be back

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

After making a reservation two weeks in advance, I was disappointed to be led to the table right behind the host station at the front door. I asked for a different table but they were not able because of big groups taking up the central part of the restaurant. You would think the table near the door would be left for walk ins. Our server was barely friendly and did not offer any insight into the menu, or suggestions. She didn't even try to make conversation or eye contact. Being that we were so close to the front, we could see she was friendly with the staff. Why not the paying customers? The food and drinks were good. I could get over the bad table, if the server could make up for it with some personality. It is disappointing when you are going out for a special night to get a terrible table and a disinterested server when the atmosphere and food are so good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice place

Dined on April 16, 2016

This place has a very nice ambiance and a beautiful view if you are seated by the window. We went in the past few times and service was hit and miss, however, I recently went two weekends in a row for different functions and both times service was very good. Our waiter was very attentive, funny, and personable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Girls Nite OUt

Dined on April 14, 2016

Had a great Girls Nite Out at Cibo's.....a little loud inside due to the extremely high ceilings. But food was fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

Love their pizza and salads

Dined on April 12, 2016

Love their pizza and salads

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelentttttt!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The building and its decoration! The beatiful views of the red river! Excellent service and food! Great choise for brunch! I imagine that in the night must be amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting, friendly staff and fl ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful setting, friendly staff and flavorful dishes.

food4
ambience4
service4

Pizza was terrific. Caesar salad was del ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Pizza was terrific. Caesar salad was delicious and not over-dressed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent brunch menu; nice place to cat ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

excellent brunch menu; nice place to catch up with friends

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3

I really want to like this restaurant- l ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I really want to like this restaurant- love the room and the location. The food is just bad and unfortunately this has been my consistent experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great at correcting mistakes

Dined on March 16, 2016

We were enjoying our time at Cibo's with our pre-dinner drink...waiting for the food to come. The waiter apologized that the "special" that had been made was the daily special pizza not the daily special pasta, as ordered. With apology, he gave her the pizza, and let her know the pasta was coming. It was delightful to get a sincere apology and a tasty pizza in the evening that we hadn't counted on!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and service was outstanding.

Dined on March 15, 2016

I love that this historic building has been renovated into a restaurant. I have lived and worked in this area for years. I always thought this building had great potential. I am happy someone has come forward with a great atmosphere for dining. This was my second visit. I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & unique atmosphere

Dined on March 12, 2016

Love the arrancini and pizzas. Great service and close to theatre and concert hall district.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd time

Dined on March 11, 2016

2nd time back A reservation was made a month ago. I asked for a table at the back. By a window. Away from the kitchen. 2 tables away from were we were last time. If we go again I will include a map. I was disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good food, great service, good view

Dined on March 9, 2016

we celebrated my daughter's birthday at Cibo's and all of us had tasty meals and the waiter took all the extra time we required to make it a special meal. The setting is wonderful and we will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cibo virgin

Dined on March 7, 2016

Was looking for a place to take a friend for lunch before she left the peg and was steered this way by a friend. Great choice. Good food. Great service. Good atmosphere for a quiet lunch. I'll be back

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I was enjoying my time at Cibo until I ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I was enjoying my time at Cibo until I was told that someone else was waiting for my table..I felt rushed and it certainly put a damper on my experience...

food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the food and the service was gre ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

I loved the food and the service was great! We will be coming back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Business Lunch

Dined on March 4, 2016

Went to Cibo for a lunch meeting last week and was very impressed. Our reservations had no issues and we were seated quickly. Service was great & very friendly. Tried the sausage & fennel pizza and the panino sandwich; both were terrific. Good beer selection too. Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast

Dined on March 4, 2016

Went for Breakfast. They had a fantastic selection. Had the eggs Benedict - unique twist on a contemporary favorite. 10/10 - would go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful atmosphere for a avant-theatre dinner

Dined on March 1, 2016

The atmosphere and the view are really beautiful, the service was very prompt and friendly, and the food was delicious. It was perfect for a pre-show dinner with friends, near to all the theatres in the exchange district. I would definitely go again, maybe with a date as it is would be a romantic place to talk and enjoy the scenery!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

early Sunday evening dinner!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Went for dinner around 5:30 and wasn't busy at all! Our server was great and since it wasn't so busy the food came out quickly! The white wine sangria was sweet and fruity, carbonara wasn't like the tradition version but still tastes great with a bit of spice!! started getting busy around 6-615, the music was fun and not to loud. will defiantly be going back to try their pizza!!! great date night!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

ARNY K

Dined on February 28, 2016

THE FOOD ,SERVICE,MENU CHOICES AND ATMOSPHERE ARE JUST WHAT WE WANTED TO CELEBRATE OUR FRIENDS' 80TH BIRTHDAY. MSOT RESTAURANTS WOULD HAVE OFFERED A FREE DESER TO SHARE BUT NONE WAS ON THIS OCCASION, EVEN THOUGH THE SERVER WAS AWARE.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was very attentive and personable.

Dined on February 26, 2016

A very nice surprise... hidden discretely behind a hotel. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent lunch. Atmosphere and food awesome

Dined on February 26, 2016

I found the server not friendly. No smiles, did not connect with us

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Terrible Hostess

Dined on February 24, 2016

The hostess was terrible . She acted like she didn't want to be there . She was very rude like we were bothering her. We have always had great service so this was so unexpected.... it really turned us off .

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Great atmosphere

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

As the title says, great few, great atmosphere. Restaurant is bright with a great view of the river and downtown area. Would love to see the city approve a back patio over the water. It was my third time here and have yet to be disappointed in any way. Great service as well worth the walk since it's a few blocks off downtown. Looking forward to trying a dinner meal there sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.