About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Scenic View (114)
Great for Lunch (67)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
See All
Special Occasion (59)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Good for Groups (53)
Romantic (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Hot Spot (30)
Late-night Find (28)
Great for Brunch (24)
Casual (16)
Waterfront (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Historic (10)
Business Meals (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Staff, Waitress, Food and Atmosphere wer ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined 3 days ago

Staff, Waitress, Food and Atmosphere were all excellent! Would definitely recommend and will come again.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal with great service! And a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful meal with great service! And affordable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there with 3 other friends and we ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was there with 3 other friends and we all really enjoyed our meals and the service was good. We had a nice table and the view was lovely. My only complaint is that it is too loud, you really need to turn the music down a notch or two. I have seen this as a complaint before, but obviously you haven't made any changes in that regard. I could not take my elderly parents there, as conversation would be very difficult. I will recommend Cibos to others, but I will also give them a head's up that it is noisy, which I wouldn't describe as "energetic" just too noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I absolutely love the ambiance at Cibo C ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I absolutely love the ambiance at Cibo Café. It was absolutely beautiful.

My fiancé and I were also very happy to have went on a Monday when there was live music to accompany dinner :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Cibo and I w ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was my second visit to Cibo and I won't be rushing back. We started with the Arancini which was very good and then had a couple of pizzas, a Caesar salad and the veggie sandwich for mains. Everything was just rather bland. The Caesar salad dressing was lacking garlic and the croutons were just toasted pieces of bread with a little bit of olive oil on them and also no seasoning. The crispy pancetta on the salad was very good though. The pizza sauce tasted like just plain tomato sauce and the sandwich was just pretty mushy. Honestly, I would just expect a place like this to have more memorable flavors.

Service was great and the decor and location are lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great setting combined with good food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great setting combined with good food. What's not to love?

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was excellent, had the mushroom pan ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was excellent, had the mushroom pancetta pizza. The service was good. The noise level too high. There was a guitarist in the restaurant and we could not talk it was so loud. Usually music is background music in a restaurant. The restaurant itself is cozy and has a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot, top notch atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great spot, top notch atmosphere and the food is very tasty - especially the bruschetta and pizza.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was friendly/food took too long ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Waitress was friendly/food took too long/prices were high/fennel was chunky and tuff rather than sliced then for a salad/and we could not hear each other talk due to the excessive noise. The restaurant is very inviting and situated in a nice spot so after visiting 4 times, I am not sure I would come back or recommend it.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

It took 40 minutes to get our lunch so w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

It took 40 minutes to get our lunch so we he to have the server pack lunch to go and eat at our desks at work.

Server didn't apologize and seemed quite indifferent to the fact that it took so long to get out orders.

When you have one hour for lunch and it takes 40 minutes to get your food it makes it impossible to support that restaurant.

This has happened 3 times now.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Need to anticipate number of customers b ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Need to anticipate number of customers better . Was there twice & they we're very short staffed so service was a little slow . Would also be nice if plaque in ladies washroom explaining history of building wwas in a more prominent place in restaurant or included on menu .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Le Burger week was the occasion. I was d ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Le Burger week was the occasion. I was denied a burger because they were still serving breakfast. I wasn't told this before ordering drinks. When denied I paid for drinks and left unhappy. Next time warn people before they even sit down.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

food was great. service pretty good. ran ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

food was great. service pretty good. ran out of tea pots and was told by server that I will get one in a few minutes but she forgot. not a big deal. beautiful atmosphere on the water. prices are resonable. homemade delicious food. it was hot inside as don't think AC was woorking very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Came for le burger week. Burger was very ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Came for le burger week. Burger was very good but the potato fries were way too thin which caused them to be too crispy. Definitely would not order fries again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Red pepper soup was much too salty. Expe ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Red pepper soup was much too salty. Expensive lunch option. Fries were spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice scenery, quiet enough to have an ef ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Nice scenery, quiet enough to have an effective business dinner. Food was great and the servers were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable breakfast. Comfortable. Music ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Enjoyable breakfast. Comfortable. Music a bit loud for time of day

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

We hated the food it was bland and the n ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We hated the food it was bland and the noise level was unacceptable. Pricey for the blandness of the food. The fries were great but Clubhouse

Decor and service were great though. But we very likely won't be going back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Other than being in a historical buildin ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Other than being in a historical building, this restaurant is over-rated. The staff are not welcoming.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

We are definitely going back. The ambien ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We are definitely going back. The ambience was wonderful as were the appetizer fries, pizza and drinks. The peach mojito is my new favourite drink! And there was a choice of wines for under $40. Bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten at Cibo several times and hav ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've eaten at Cibo several times and have always enjoyed the food and the ambiance. I have eaten here at different times during the day and the service has always been great. I also like that the location's historical significance is celebrated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoyed the service, food and the ...

vip
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Really enjoyed the service, food and the spectacular view of the Human Rights Museum, Red River with the Water Taxis. Great place to meet friends.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is excellent, this was our thir ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food is excellent, this was our third time at this restaurant. We like the area, food, etc. The only negative comment as oppose to our two past visits is that there was a group of two musician/singer, they were good but made it too noisy. Without a band was better!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food! This r ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great service and delicious food! This restaurant has a cool vibe and great location. Parking can be tricky to find on a busy night. If you're making a reservation, perhaps specify where you'd like to sit. We were seated right near the hostess station and entrance even though there were better tables available. Most restaurants appreciate when you make a reservation and provide you with a decent table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was a special birthday dinner for m ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was a special birthday dinner for me with a friend. A lot of places are very noisy and conversation is next to impossible. Here it was very nice for us. Dinner with a friend...the waitress was great. Didn't rush us. Food great also. Fries are awesome!!! I have already recommended it to one of my customers in a totally different field. Good place to go!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has it all food, atmosph ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This restaurant has it all food, atmosphere, view and great vibe. This was my 4th time and the food never disappoints. We took friends from out of town and they were suitably impressed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Greek Pizza had no feta and the sala ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our Greek Pizza had no feta and the salad with olives was terrible. Hardly any dressing and so blah. We are vegetarian and wished that the other salads (eg: steak and beet and Salmon, which both looked excellent) had a vegetarian option like grilled mushrooms, goat cheese or a marinated tofu. We did not complain to the server (who was excellent) because we were out for a special occasion with another couple and did not want to ruin our evening by complaining, but truly, our food was super blah.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Always a great experience and awesome Co ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a great experience and awesome Cosmos. Hosted someone from out of town and they truly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The building and ambience are wonderful! ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The building and ambience are wonderful! Unfortunately the food was incredibly disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Cibo is a great place for casual dining, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Cibo is a great place for casual dining, pizza. pasta and a great burger.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent dinning experience 4th visit t ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent dinning experience 4th visit to the CIBO, the menu could be a little bigger maybe white board specials. The service was fast friendly and efficient, the starters the Bruschetta is to die for and opens up the food discussion along with the Cheese plate is also a talking conversation point. We love the atmosphere and the décor the music was just excellent a blend of new and old alternative. The Patio was a welcome addition as we started our night off with drinks before heading in side for dinner. Plan on going back many more times, I would also recommend Brunch that menu too needs a little expansion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The place has very high ceilings and not ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The place has very high ceilings and not much to mute the music. So, if you dislike the track they have chosen, good luck. The menu was not inspiring. Food was prepared to a reasonably good standard. I would only return for the location, although, having said that, with challenging parking, might choose something else.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food and ambiance was great and I can se ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and ambiance was great and I can see myself going back over and over.

I am computer savvy yet still had difficulty booking on open table and might try calling for a reso next time.

Waitress wasnt too friendly and seemed a bit stretched.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

good food but white bread for sandwiches ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

good food but white bread for sandwiches is not a fan fav.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I have been to your restaurant now 4 tim ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I have been to your restaurant now 4 times, one was a luncheon for my daughter's university graduation, there were 12 of us. Love your restaurant, the food is always good and as well the service is excellent and we love the atmosphere, I have recommended your restaurant to numerous people I work with.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My third visit to Cibo and they have nev ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My third visit to Cibo and they have never let me down. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jereme was a hoot, amazing sangria, love ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Jereme was a hoot, amazing sangria, loved the fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

very enjoyable experience. service was v ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

very enjoyable experience. service was very good and food delicious as ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food, drinks, and service was very good. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food, drinks, and service was very good. This was my first visit. I had heard that the views of the river and city were great. Having made our reservation about a month earlier, I was disappointed that we were seated at probably the second worst table location. I had an excellent view of the Host/Hostess station and the comings and goings from the kitchen. Other tables were "reserved". I would suggest that you clearly specify when making the reservation, that you want a table with one of the views that's promoted. Unless everyone else made their reservation before I did, I'm disappointed with how my reservation was priorized.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing but the service was ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was amazing but the service was very slow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.