Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (48)
Scenic View (36)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Casual (31)
Special Occasion (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Cozy (20)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Business Meals (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Authentic (12)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Great Beer (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Tapas (6)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Good food, nice location and reasonable prices. Would recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Went there for a birthday and most of us weren’t pleased. We ordered the Chicken plate and the chicken was completely burned and tasted incredibly bitter. The fries were super thin too, almost like hickory sticks. The sandwich was bland too.

The restaurant is nice however, and the service was great. It’s just the food that didn’t please us...

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience! Our waitress was awesome, gave excellent suggestions for food, would recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrible Caesar salad, good sandwhich and poutine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been here before! LOVED IT then and still love it now. The food is great. I was craving a sampler late all day and immediately ordered the Antipasto board. Cheese, olives, meat, bread and an applesauce :) All was amazing. Dinner, I had the Panino sandwich which is a roasted chicken sandwich with brie and a butter and it tastes so clean and fresh. For dessert me and my man had the tasting board, as always Jenna rae cakes always delivers, and if you like them, then their dessert selection catered from JRC is great!!!

ONLY thing i didnt like; we walked in, no reservation and asked for a table for two, in kind of a rude way we were told "Come back in an hour, we're full" and they didnt take our names, offer us a seat in the bar or nothing. It was raining so we sprinted back to the car. I oppenned OPEN TABLE the app for the first time and made a reso for fifteen minutes later and then we walked right in. (USE THE APP!!!!)

all in all, you go for the food. Which was amazing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

For $31, the steak was poor. There was too much fat, most places have normal amounts of fat that can all be eaten but there was far too much for my enjoyment. Veggies on the side as well as the salad we ordered were great. Service was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The Panino sandwich and a large shared poutine "appetizer" was delicious! The atmosphere was casual and the tables were relatively private with large windows framing lovely views of the river, though it was busy and fairly noisy. Also went for breakfast—the prices were great and the food plentiful and good.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was amazing as was Sean our server. We will definitely be returning to Cibo in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was good but I was expecting more variety. The service was excellent however, we went on a Monday night and there was an acoustic duo playing and it was quite loud. The music was great but the volume of the speakers made it hard to communicate with the server as well as speak with my husband. We are planning to go back on a night without the band to try something else on the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Good food with a great view and atmosphere. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I had the salmon and it was delicious!! the service was also great!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Le Burger week burger was fantastic! Always a beautiful view and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Thanks for finding our keys .!!!!
Your outdoor hostess found out dropped car keys. We stopped in and she had found them..This saved us alot of heart ache getting home.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was my second time coming to this place. Such a great atmosphere, the server was awesome, felt like a fine dinning restaurant experience but without the crazy fine dinning prices. Food was flavourful and impressed my party of girls that have not been to this restaurant before. We would all come back! Thank you for an awesome dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I didn't like the bruschetta and was not asked if we did. Paying $15 for it was not satisfactory.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great service amazing food. Hamburger for burger week was great!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were sat facing a wall so didn't get the real feel for the river view. The restaurant has a patio on the Main Street nothing on the river view side so that was disappointing. Not much to choose from on the main dish menu. I believe there was only 3-4 items, fish, chicken and steak. The pizzas looked good and there was burgers and sandwiches.

We went out for evening dining which this restaurant was unable to accommodate. If your looking for a lunch menu then I would recommend it or drinks after work. But as a place for evening dining, I wouldn't recommend it

The venue is small and I would make sure you ask to be sat by a window.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food and service. I will return next time I am in Winnipeg.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Initially we were seated at a table beside a brick wall, no window. We had some difficulty getting moved to a table by a window with a view. We were told the other table had reservations lined up behind. We had to ask twice about other empty tables then we were moved. Otherwise everything was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Service was excellent. Enjoyed the patio. Food was average and so felt it was a little overpriced.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Love cibo every time! Great spot, delicious cocktails, friendly staff. Worth going for the bruschetta alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

First visit and it was very enjoyable. Service was great and food was very good. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 29, 2017

First time at Cibo and won't be our last. Loved the decor, food , river view and service. I would definitely recommend Cibo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch prior to the theatre. The food and service were great. We had a nice table for two on the upper level and enjoyed a great view. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We felt rushed, the server tried to remove our appetizer dishes before we had finished. Also rushed us to place our main order. Antipasto was very good. I am not motivated to go back for dinner, but would for lunch

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 24, 2017

If you can get a table with a view, it's lovely. It is a bit loud, so if you want a place to have a good conversation this may not be the location for you. It's our 4th time and it's the perfect place to grab dinner before a show at any of the concert/theatres venues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and yes allowed time for us to enjoy dinner. The bruschetta were delicious. The French fries for the poutine appetizer have changed and are no longer the thin cut dream that they used to be, now they are partially cut and not always cooked through. The adoption of Jenna Rae cakes is disappointing, the slice of cake looked nice but had a strange texture and I would prefer the cake that the restaurant used to make itself.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Bigger portions than expected. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My friend and I chose Cibo because it is a great central location, and the revived Waterfront district is A great place to be! Our service was excellent, my meal was just ok. I had the Chicken Salad, and was informed there was a shortage of chicken breast but they could substitute pulled chicken instead. I agreed since I didn't have a second choice at that time. My salad came loaded with pulled chicken, smothered in the caramelized red onion oil & vinaigrette dressing, almonds ( not toasted), tomatoes, and no fresh mozzarella was noticed. To sum it up, I love the location, the restaurant itself, but found the food lacking. I will go again and give it another try, try a different menu item....maybe it was just an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 16, 2017

My wife an I chose Cibo as a place to dine for our 30th wedding anniversary the location is in a renovated pumping station and although the decor is industrial it was very comfortable with a good view of the river through the large windows. The menu is not overly intimidating and we chose the antipasto for an appetiser. It came with cured meats, cheese, olives, pickled beans and bread, more than enough for two. The meal options are definitely more café style with use choosing seafood pizza for her and a French dip for myself. I swapped out the fries for an excellent cup of homemade cream of mushroom soup. If al their soups are this good I'd highly recommend that you try them. The service was excellent and the waiter was attentive but not always on your shoulder. All in all I'd recommend Cibo for a dinner, we also happened to be there on a night that the baseball stadium set off fireworks which through the large windows added to a great evening. Thank you Cibo's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Location and service were excellent. Bruschetta appetizer was terrific with 3 different flavours, all good. Calamari on the calamari salad was underdone, not crisp and the salad had way too much dressing. The same for the Margarhita pizza,it had too much oil or butter on it which made it too greasy and soggy. We did not complain as we were there with an out of town guest and he enjoyed his pasta carbonara, I think. The red velvet cake was great as well, a huge piece, make sure you share it!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I had the bruschetta and it was really good. My favourite was the fig. Service was excellent and you could see the river. Very nice view.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Awesome ! Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great food. Loved the bruschetta. Any different awesome flavours and you get to chose three! So good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

I absolutely love Cibo. I have been for brunch and dinner. I love the local ingredients used and the fun twists on comfort food. Every bite was perfect. The service is always excellent. Would recommend to anyone for any type of meal/occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals, Waterfront, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with my daughter. Unique menu items. Delish. Wonderful service. We will return often.

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Been here three times and it never disappoints. Food and service is always amazing! Went specifically for The Drunkard for LeBurger Week this time and it was so so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had earlier attended a retirement party and thought we'd give it a try for dinner. Food was great and service even better. Four friends and just the right location.
Big shout out to the staff

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Unfortunately your air conditioner was broken. Otherwise a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The OpenTable system (unrelated to the restaurant itself) failed to acknowledge our reservation, only alerting us a good 20 minutes or so later, making meeting our reservation more difficult than it should have been.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.