Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (53)
Good for a Date (34)
Scenic View (32)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Casual (27)
Cozy (25)
Romantic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Business Meals (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Fun (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great Beer (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Tapas (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

our starring system is ambiguous
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Went with friends for dinner. Drinks and dinner were both very good, our server was extremely attentive and kind. They have desserts from Jenna Rae Cakes which are amazing (we shared the s'mores bar and the salted caramel apple cheesecake). A little pricey but a good place to go out on a date or dinner for special occasions.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great family dinner for my husband 50th Birthday supper

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, drinks & service. Definitely worth the trip

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Fabulous evening! We really enjoyed the ambiance and the food. Great experience!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Waiter was great, as was the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

The Restaurant has a nice view of the river and very cozy modern decor and design.
Didnt care for the one option for soup “carrot soup”. The pastas were tasty enough,steak dish was disappointing with small tough portion of meat and tiny salad.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Monthly friends get together, great setting, food and service. Cibos is now our go to restaurant for our group.
We never feel rushed and lots of time allowed to eat, visit and catch up. It was a belated birthday for one of our group, candles put in dessert and great response to requests.
Thanks again

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Cibo is probably one of our favourite restaurants in the city. The ambiance is great, the food is delicious, and they even have a very popular local bakery make some special items for their dessert menu. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2017

My first time dining here, met up with a friend I haven't seen in a while. We both really enjoyed our time at Cibo!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Gluten free. Knowledgeable staff that are very helpful and available. My chicken was rubbery, when it is usually very good. Rest of dinner, salad and wine was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Enjoyable experience with friends. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Food was delicious & flavorful. Prices are very reasonable. Service was excellent. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

The view, chairs and surroundings were so great, I would go again, even though the chicken sandwich was bland. Hamburgers are good. Salt and pepper are their only spices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Ordered Pizza and Bruschetta. Bruschetta with mushrooms was served cold, thought it should have been warm. Pizza lacked substance, could of have more of the toppings (too much fennel)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Over all our experience was very good, but the steak sandwich was a disappointment, very small portion and under cooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

We have wanted to try Cibo for a while know and it seems to slip our minds that we have not experienced it yet. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening, the atmosphere along the river, the small venue size gives the restaurant a cozy feel and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

This was an excellent experience. The customer service was above and beyond.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was tasty. A larger variety of entrée menu items would be very welcomed. Dessert was AMAZING! There were some fruit flies buzzing around which put a mild damper on things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent service, outstanding shareable food, warm atmosphere, great location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

I was expecting outrageous prices but the prices were quite reasonable. The food was good and served quickly. We were going to the Chris DeBurgh concert and staying at the Mere Hotel so it was a convenient place to go for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our server was knowledgeable quick and friendly, she spoke clearly, knew the menu and made appropriate suggestions. The food came out at the right temperature it was delicious. The menu has a nice variety of food and drink. It was such a refreshing experience! We will definitely be back and try other items thank you! We had antipasto prawns steak and what my hubby called the cake burger (macaroon)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The building and scenery is beautiful. Friendly staff.the food needs a redo unfortunately. Other than the burger the other dishes we had were not very tasty. It was just ok but for the price they need to overhaul the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

We've always had great food and fun times every time we've eaten here!!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Appetizers very good but both pasta mains were poorly executed. Surprising as really nothing complicated. All good needed salt and none on the table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Nice location and view along the red river. Open concept makes it a little loud but not bad, you can still have a conversation at your table and hear the person across from you. Appetizer menu is great and has some good options. I like the Mediterranean/Italian choices. However, our appetizer (Arancini) was not as hot as it should have been on the inside so the cheese wasn't melted. The flavor was overpowered by onion and not much for cheese except the hard un-melted blob in the back of the rice ball. The lunch/dinner menu is not very exciting and leaves more to be desired. Food was ok but nothing to write home about or talk/share with friends. Service was friendly and quick however drinks were refilled only once for the people at my table and the waitress never came back so I never got a refill. A good option for a business lunch or dinner but overall it was just okay.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

great ambience with great service! food looks good and taste good!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Good food, nice location and reasonable prices. Would recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Went there for a birthday and most of us weren’t pleased. We ordered the Chicken plate and the chicken was completely burned and tasted incredibly bitter. The fries were super thin too, almost like hickory sticks. The sandwich was bland too.

The restaurant is nice however, and the service was great. It’s just the food that didn’t please us...

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great experience! Our waitress was awesome, gave excellent suggestions for food, would recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Terrible Caesar salad, good sandwhich and poutine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

I've been here before! LOVED IT then and still love it now. The food is great. I was craving a sampler late all day and immediately ordered the Antipasto board. Cheese, olives, meat, bread and an applesauce :) All was amazing. Dinner, I had the Panino sandwich which is a roasted chicken sandwich with brie and a butter and it tastes so clean and fresh. For dessert me and my man had the tasting board, as always Jenna rae cakes always delivers, and if you like them, then their dessert selection catered from JRC is great!!!

ONLY thing i didnt like; we walked in, no reservation and asked for a table for two, in kind of a rude way we were told "Come back in an hour, we're full" and they didnt take our names, offer us a seat in the bar or nothing. It was raining so we sprinted back to the car. I oppenned OPEN TABLE the app for the first time and made a reso for fifteen minutes later and then we walked right in. (USE THE APP!!!!)

all in all, you go for the food. Which was amazing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

For $31, the steak was poor. There was too much fat, most places have normal amounts of fat that can all be eaten but there was far too much for my enjoyment. Veggies on the side as well as the salad we ordered were great. Service was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The Panino sandwich and a large shared poutine "appetizer" was delicious! The atmosphere was casual and the tables were relatively private with large windows framing lovely views of the river, though it was busy and fairly noisy. Also went for breakfast—the prices were great and the food plentiful and good.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was amazing as was Sean our server. We will definitely be returning to Cibo in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was good but I was expecting more variety. The service was excellent however, we went on a Monday night and there was an acoustic duo playing and it was quite loud. The music was great but the volume of the speakers made it hard to communicate with the server as well as speak with my husband. We are planning to go back on a night without the band to try something else on the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Good food with a great view and atmosphere. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I had the salmon and it was delicious!! the service was also great!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Le Burger week burger was fantastic! Always a beautiful view and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Thanks for finding our keys .!!!!
Your outdoor hostess found out dropped car keys. We stopped in and she had found them..This saved us alot of heart ache getting home.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.