About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

scenic view (122)
neighborhood gem (68)
fit for foodies (64)
See All
special occasion (61)
good for groups (54)
great for lunch (52)
romantic (41)
great for outdoor dining (27)
late-night find (25)
hot spot (25)
great for brunch (24)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (6)
Sort By:
Newest
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere! I had the Risotto bal ...

Dined 7 days ago

Lovely atmosphere! I had the Risotto balls (Arancini) which was fantastic, and the Cibo Pizza, who would have thought a fried egg on pizza would be so delicious!! We split the CBC, a flourless cake with blueberry compote, an excellent way to end the meal...well that and a delightful latte. What a neat area too, great for walking after dinner. Very impressed, service was excellent too, very funny waiter :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Our server was one of the best I have ev ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our server was one of the best I have ever had. Very considerate (it was so cold & he brought me some tea right away), respectful (when us old folks were having trouble with the machine), apologized for the lack of parking, wasn't goofy friendly & very clean cut, yet hip. Very small selection of food choices for a bistro (burgers & pizza mainly).

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When I booked my table electronically, I ...

Dined 7 days ago

When I booked my table electronically, I specifically requested a table on the patio. When I arrived, I was told that you do not accept bookings for the patio. Fortunately, you were able to find a table outside for us. I would have been happier to have been told at the time of making the booking what your policy was. Thanks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish I knew our waiter's name, but he ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I wish I knew our waiter's name, but he went above and beyond. I don't eat red meat and he even had the kitchen add more cheese and olives on the antipasto platter instead of the meats. He as so pleasant and very helpful! I will go back for him alone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the space and the view. Liked the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Love the space and the view. Liked the menu selection too

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Our food was excellent! Really fresh fla ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our food was excellent! Really fresh flavours! Our server was a little less than great. She seemed a little like she didn't want to be there. But overall a very good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

First time at Cibo's, sat on the patio n ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

First time at Cibo's, sat on the patio nice and quiet to have conversations, the red sangria was the best I've had, the Caesar salad, delicious with home made garlicky dressing, pizza was very good! Would definitely come back.

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Stay clear of the pizza. I had the Grec ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Stay clear of the pizza. I had the Grecian. Crust was dry as a cracker and over all pizza was bland. Other guests enjoyed the Club sandwich and salad and were pleased.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent and served quickl ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent and served quickly - we were in and out in an hour. My biggest complaint would be that it's hard to find and there is no parking lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice location - interesting building.

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were looking for a breakfast location as we do not live in Winnipeg, love the area - the view is wonderful and the breakfast was great. Nice comfortable seating. We will be back to try a supper meal in the future!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This is a lovely restaurant with beautif ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant with beautiful views of the Red River. The staff is always very friendly and the service is very good. I wouldn't mind seeing more choice on the menu, but maybe that is yet to come. Parking is a problem, especially if you are a lone female. It would be great if something could be worked out with the Mere hotel as they charge $10.00 to use their lot, which seems a bit outrageous. I love the ambiance of this restaurant - makes me feel like I'm in another city somewhere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Riverfront Spot

Dined on June 4, 2016

If you're looking for something unique/quaint, well look no more. Situated on the riverbank this old pump house has been turned into a real charmer. Sits right next to the Mere Hotel, which you could recommend to out of town guests. Quick jaunt right into downtown or Old Market Square, also right along the bike path. We really enjoyed the whole experience, and will most definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Don't expect lunch until later

Dined on May 29, 2016

Disappointed that we had planned to go there for lunch at 11:30 and they said lunch isn't served until 1:00. We had to choose from a breakfast menu consisting of 5 items. Benedict was on a soggy bun and the sauce was sour. waitresses stopped serving us after we over stayed so left after no one paid us any attention.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Patio dining overlooking the Red River

Dined on May 25, 2016

Beautiful afternoon for a birthday lunch, I had the The Strip Steak Sandwich, with the fries, my friend had the Clubhouse with fries, plenty of good food, and great service. Our waitress also surprised me with an amazing Chocolate Brownie with Vanilla Ice Cream and a scrumptious mixed berry topping. Very enjoyable!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Try their patio if it's free

Dined on May 21, 2016

Try their patio if it's free

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

My companion had the cibo breakfast and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My companion had the cibo breakfast and I had the eggs benedict. We both noted that the food was not very hot and that the fried potatoes did not taste fresh. The italian meat served to both of us tasted sour so we did not eat it- we didnt know if that was normal for the meat as we had never eaten it before so we did not complain. I did send back my eggs Benedict as the poached eggs were overcooked-. They brought a fresh serving and actually took my meal off the bill without me asking. The outdoor patio was serene and lovely. I would try it again for lunch or dinner but not breakfast.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We booked for an early supper hoping to ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We booked for an early supper hoping to get a patio table which we were able to do. However, on checking out the inside we loved the ambiance and moved inside. Our food was very good and reasonably priced. Loved the location and will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Lunch with friends

Dined on May 20, 2016

Ambiance is great but restaurant was warm (air conditioning not working??). We ordered two individual size pizzas and one was ok the other oven dried. Service was very good though.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

great little spot will go again. definit ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

great little spot will go again. definitely recommended. the was a great guitar player/singer on the night we were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The menu was very limited & unmemorable.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really disappointed in the menu selection, taste of food and value for money. Restaurant in a fantastic, romantic, industrial setting, however food totally fell short. Will not go back.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic restaurant with a great view a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with a great view and a nice little tucked away "great-find" to Winnipeg evening dining. Would love to see just a few vegan options to the menu though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Evening

Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much. I would say our biggest complaint would have been----where to park. The food was very good and our server was excellent------very friendly, outgoing and knew the menu well. We didn't get her name but she did a great job.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cibo...slightly above average? I noticed ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Cibo...slightly above average? I noticed that the appetizer selection seems to be smaller so it was a little more difficult to do a tapas/sharing style meal. We wanted to try a bit of everything. The bruschetta was interesting with the different choices. The salad we ordered (chicken?) was delicious and was dressed perfectly. The seafood pizza was OK. I love seafood and eat it all of the time but the pizza seemed to be "fishy" smelling. I had heard that if seafood isn't fresh, it can have that fishy smell. In any case, the service, company & wine were excellent!

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Neat restaurant bar with reclaimed brick ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Neat restaurant bar with reclaimed brick decor. Staff friendly, great service, drinks and food!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Friendly atmosphere. Good service.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family. A great choice!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the third time we have been here ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

This is the third time we have been here and we have had good food and good service every time we have dined here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place

Dined on May 1, 2016

There is absolutely nothing wanting here- the food, service, and atmosphere are all fantastic. It's located in a gorgeous historic building, in the trendy Exchange District.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Hit and Miss - Best Views In Winnipeg

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I had a great dining experience. We started with the bruschetta and the risotto balls as appetizers. Our mains were the Cibo Pizza and a Carbonara. ... another couple we were with will never go back. They started with the poutine and some kind of pickerel appy. Both were horrendous. No other words to describe it. They had the same mains as us, so those were ok. Both of their app's should never be served anywhere ever again. This place has the best views in town, and a great atmosphere, but I fear if they dont get a stronger menu it'll be lights out. I am truly pulling for them.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Cibo is perfect if you want a vibrant restaurant with gorgeous drinks and excellent food. The service is great and the view of the river is beautiful. The old industrial look of the restaurant compliments the neighbourhood, and the overall dining experience is esquisite. Perfect for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was excellent. Ambience and scenic view is wonderful . We will be back

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

After making a reservation two weeks in advance, I was disappointed to be led to the table right behind the host station at the front door. I asked for a different table but they were not able because of big groups taking up the central part of the restaurant. You would think the table near the door would be left for walk ins. Our server was barely friendly and did not offer any insight into the menu, or suggestions. She didn't even try to make conversation or eye contact. Being that we were so close to the front, we could see she was friendly with the staff. Why not the paying customers? The food and drinks were good. I could get over the bad table, if the server could make up for it with some personality. It is disappointing when you are going out for a special night to get a terrible table and a disinterested server when the atmosphere and food are so good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice place

Dined on April 16, 2016

This place has a very nice ambiance and a beautiful view if you are seated by the window. We went in the past few times and service was hit and miss, however, I recently went two weekends in a row for different functions and both times service was very good. Our waiter was very attentive, funny, and personable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Girls Nite OUt

Dined on April 14, 2016

Had a great Girls Nite Out at Cibo's.....a little loud inside due to the extremely high ceilings. But food was fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

Love their pizza and salads

Dined on April 12, 2016

Love their pizza and salads

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelentttttt!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The building and its decoration! The beatiful views of the red river! Excellent service and food! Great choise for brunch! I imagine that in the night must be amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting, friendly staff and fl ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful setting, friendly staff and flavorful dishes.

food4
ambience4
service4

Pizza was terrific. Caesar salad was del ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Pizza was terrific. Caesar salad was delicious and not over-dressed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent brunch menu; nice place to cat ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

excellent brunch menu; nice place to catch up with friends

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3

I really want to like this restaurant- l ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I really want to like this restaurant- love the room and the location. The food is just bad and unfortunately this has been my consistent experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great at correcting mistakes

Dined on March 16, 2016

We were enjoying our time at Cibo's with our pre-dinner drink...waiting for the food to come. The waiter apologized that the "special" that had been made was the daily special pizza not the daily special pasta, as ordered. With apology, he gave her the pizza, and let her know the pasta was coming. It was delightful to get a sincere apology and a tasty pizza in the evening that we hadn't counted on!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.