About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
7 More
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Scenic View (125)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Great for Lunch (63)
See All
Special Occasion (63)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Good for Groups (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Romantic (40)
Late-night Find (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Great for Brunch (23)
Notable Wine List (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyable breakfast. Comfortable. Music ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyable breakfast. Comfortable. Music a bit loud for time of day

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

We hated the food it was bland and the n ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

We hated the food it was bland and the noise level was unacceptable. Pricey for the blandness of the food. The fries were great but Clubhouse

Decor and service were great though. But we very likely won't be going back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Other than being in a historical buildin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 3 days ago

Other than being in a historical building, this restaurant is over-rated. The staff are not welcoming.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

We are definitely going back. The ambien ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We are definitely going back. The ambience was wonderful as were the appetizer fries, pizza and drinks. The peach mojito is my new favourite drink! And there was a choice of wines for under $40. Bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten at Cibo several times and hav ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've eaten at Cibo several times and have always enjoyed the food and the ambiance. I have eaten here at different times during the day and the service has always been great. I also like that the location's historical significance is celebrated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoyed the service, food and the ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Really enjoyed the service, food and the spectacular view of the Human Rights Museum, Red River with the Water Taxis. Great place to meet friends.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is excellent, this was our thir ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food is excellent, this was our third time at this restaurant. We like the area, food, etc. The only negative comment as oppose to our two past visits is that there was a group of two musician/singer, they were good but made it too noisy. Without a band was better!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food! This r ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great service and delicious food! This restaurant has a cool vibe and great location. Parking can be tricky to find on a busy night. If you're making a reservation, perhaps specify where you'd like to sit. We were seated right near the hostess station and entrance even though there were better tables available. Most restaurants appreciate when you make a reservation and provide you with a decent table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was a special birthday dinner for m ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was a special birthday dinner for me with a friend. A lot of places are very noisy and conversation is next to impossible. Here it was very nice for us. Dinner with a friend...the waitress was great. Didn't rush us. Food great also. Fries are awesome!!! I have already recommended it to one of my customers in a totally different field. Good place to go!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has it all food, atmosph ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This restaurant has it all food, atmosphere, view and great vibe. This was my 4th time and the food never disappoints. We took friends from out of town and they were suitably impressed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Greek Pizza had no feta and the sala ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our Greek Pizza had no feta and the salad with olives was terrible. Hardly any dressing and so blah. We are vegetarian and wished that the other salads (eg: steak and beet and Salmon, which both looked excellent) had a vegetarian option like grilled mushrooms, goat cheese or a marinated tofu. We did not complain to the server (who was excellent) because we were out for a special occasion with another couple and did not want to ruin our evening by complaining, but truly, our food was super blah.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Always a great experience and awesome Co ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a great experience and awesome Cosmos. Hosted someone from out of town and they truly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The building and ambience are wonderful! ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The building and ambience are wonderful! Unfortunately the food was incredibly disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Cibo is a great place for casual dining, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Cibo is a great place for casual dining, pizza. pasta and a great burger.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent dinning experience 4th visit t ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent dinning experience 4th visit to the CIBO, the menu could be a little bigger maybe white board specials. The service was fast friendly and efficient, the starters the Bruschetta is to die for and opens up the food discussion along with the Cheese plate is also a talking conversation point. We love the atmosphere and the décor the music was just excellent a blend of new and old alternative. The Patio was a welcome addition as we started our night off with drinks before heading in side for dinner. Plan on going back many more times, I would also recommend Brunch that menu too needs a little expansion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The place has very high ceilings and not ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The place has very high ceilings and not much to mute the music. So, if you dislike the track they have chosen, good luck. The menu was not inspiring. Food was prepared to a reasonably good standard. I would only return for the location, although, having said that, with challenging parking, might choose something else.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food and ambiance was great and I can se ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and ambiance was great and I can see myself going back over and over.

I am computer savvy yet still had difficulty booking on open table and might try calling for a reso next time.

Waitress wasnt too friendly and seemed a bit stretched.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

good food but white bread for sandwiches ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

good food but white bread for sandwiches is not a fan fav.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I have been to your restaurant now 4 tim ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I have been to your restaurant now 4 times, one was a luncheon for my daughter's university graduation, there were 12 of us. Love your restaurant, the food is always good and as well the service is excellent and we love the atmosphere, I have recommended your restaurant to numerous people I work with.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My third visit to Cibo and they have nev ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My third visit to Cibo and they have never let me down. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jereme was a hoot, amazing sangria, love ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Jereme was a hoot, amazing sangria, loved the fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

very enjoyable experience. service was v ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

very enjoyable experience. service was very good and food delicious as ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food, drinks, and service was very good. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food, drinks, and service was very good. This was my first visit. I had heard that the views of the river and city were great. Having made our reservation about a month earlier, I was disappointed that we were seated at probably the second worst table location. I had an excellent view of the Host/Hostess station and the comings and goings from the kitchen. Other tables were "reserved". I would suggest that you clearly specify when making the reservation, that you want a table with one of the views that's promoted. Unless everyone else made their reservation before I did, I'm disappointed with how my reservation was priorized.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing but the service was ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was amazing but the service was very slow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good however 1 guest had t ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was good however 1 guest had to leave because the salad took 40 minutes to get out.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Was amazing. Had the Arincini was so del ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Was amazing. Had the Arincini was so delcsious. Went to celebrate a move and spend some girl time with my family. We loved it. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two old friends joined us to celebrate a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Two old friends joined us to celebrate a birthday.

We enjoyed seeing the river out of the many windows.

Our food: burger, salmon salads, Magherita pizza was all good.

Our server was very efficient.

It was all very relaxing but we did notice the noise right away.

I could hear the woman I was talking to right beside me but it was an effort to hear what the other two were talking about.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly service, tasty food. Great loca ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Friendly service, tasty food. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for a late snack. The cheese pl ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went for a late snack. The cheese plate appetizer was wonderful. Nice view of the river, too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, friendly service, exc ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly service, excellent food! A must try! I'll will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An easy and comfortable atmosphere with ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

An easy and comfortable atmosphere with a energetic vibe. Views are spectacular and tables well organized and spaced. The menu is diverse while remaining compact and imaginative. Cibo is a gem and is highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My colleague and I went for dinner durin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My colleague and I went for dinner during our recent trip to Winnipeg. She is definitely a foodie and I can appreciate a great meal, well presented. From the cocktail menu through to our appetizers and the delicious pizzas we each had, we were VERY happy we had made a reservation. Our server was friendly and helpful and the food genuinely delighted us. We are looking forward to our next trip to Winnipeg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and food was fabulous! ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great atmosphere and food was fabulous! Went for a girls night out and really appreciated the waitress not rushing us and her friendly personality. Allowed us to chat as long as we wanted and we didn't feel pressured to pay the bill and leave. Would definitely return and highly recommend this restaurant for a casual night out with great river views.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trevor & Ainsley helped make my girlfrie ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Trevor & Ainsley helped make my girlfriend's birthday lunch just that much better. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of four would all go back to C ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our party of four would all go back to Cibo again. It was an overall great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Staff were terrific as always! Great amb ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Staff were terrific as always! Great ambiance and noise level is not too loud so you can have a conversation at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere! I had the Risotto bal ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! I had the Risotto balls (Arancini) which was fantastic, and the Cibo Pizza, who would have thought a fried egg on pizza would be so delicious!! We split the CBC, a flourless cake with blueberry compote, an excellent way to end the meal...well that and a delightful latte. What a neat area too, great for walking after dinner. Very impressed, service was excellent too, very funny waiter :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was one of the best I have ev ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server was one of the best I have ever had. Very considerate (it was so cold & he brought me some tea right away), respectful (when us old folks were having trouble with the machine), apologized for the lack of parking, wasn't goofy friendly & very clean cut, yet hip.

Very small selection of food choices for a bistro (burgers & pizza mainly).

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

When I booked my table electronically, I ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

When I booked my table electronically, I specifically requested a table on the patio. When I arrived, I was told that you do not accept bookings for the patio. Fortunately, you were able to find a table outside for us. I would have been happier to have been told at the time of making the booking what your policy was. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.