Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (44)
Scenic View (29)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Cozy (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Casual (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Healthy (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

‘‘Twas good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Great location. Good view. The staff are very accommodating. Foods are ok.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2018

Excellent service. Large portions. Great menu selection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Absolutely loved it! Went for poutine and the view. Would highly recommend Cibo. Great for a date or to just relax after a long day at work. The service was amazing. So friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 6, 2018

Perfect place for business lunch - not too loud, easy parking access.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Poor service. Didn’t get what we ordered. Extra food items added to our bill. Check your bill carefully before paying. This is not the first time that this has happened to us at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Gluten friendly. The chicken was fresh, hot and crispy. Everyone’s meal was brought out at the same time time. Servers were friendly helpful and knowledgeable. It looks like they work together as a team. Great experience, again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Really like the location. View. Will be nice in summer time
Would like to see a few more options on the food menu.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Smaller than expected, but offered a cozy, inviting space to eat, drink and visit with friends. Food was excellent and offered a nice variety with creative options. Staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. Pricing was a little high, but portions were nicely sized. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Have been here a few times before (breakfast & dinner) and the food and service were better on previous visits. The service was a little slow considering the restaurant wasn't very full. The food was OK, again, not as good as the last breakfast I had at the restaurant (eggs were over cooked even though I complained to the waitress, nothing was done). Would give it another try, for breakfast, but if that doesn't pan out, won't go back for breakfast again. The menu hasn't changed in years, might be nice to add a sweet hot breakfast item like pancakes, waffles or crepes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 26, 2018

I’ve been here numbers of times and I’m never disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Food and service were great. Our serving staff was very efficient and made sure we had an excellent dining experience. We enjoyed our appetizers as well as our main course. Wonderful flavours and reasonable prices. Our only complaint was the location of our table. It was near the front entrance and was, subsequently, uncomfortably cool every time the door opened. What was particularly irritating was that there were were several other vacant tables through the room. When we requested a different table on arrival, we were told they had been reserved. Ironically I too had made a reservation. To make matters worse, at least one of the tables was still empty when we left. We did not appreciate the attitude and the unwillingness of the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2018

The cocktail menu is great and they have brought back a favourite of mine the corpse revived. A wonderfully refreshing beverage made with absinthe! As well their fries are a favourite of mine, crispy matchstick fries. Wonderful with their burger is sandwiches

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2018

My sisters, mother and I enjoyed a fabulous lunch, before the theatre. The ambiance was great, the food was delicious, and the service was wonderful!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Our sandwiches had such a great flavour. The Jenna Rae's tasting platter dessert was better than we expected. Amazing food as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Great beer selection, including local brews on tap. Cocktail list was good... wine list a little lacking.

The service was a great balance of professional and attentive without being too "stuffy."

I just thought it was weird that the menu barely had entrees. Would recommend overall, but keep in mind that you'll likely order a sandwich and/or salad and won't really be able to do wine pairings.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 18, 2018

The service was great, location is great, view is great... but food is mediocre. I've eaten here a few times because it's so darn convenient, but the food has been bland each time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 17, 2018

We were very pleased with our experience here. This was our first time here and we were rushed to get to MTC in time. The waitress was very accommodating. The soup was delicious and I had a craving for a good cheese burger. It was very good. My husband had the pasta and he thought it was fine, a bit disappointed but not sure what he was expecting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 17, 2018

We ate there prior to going to the Theatre. It was a great atmosphere, friendly staff and great food!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Nice place with rustic decor..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We had a reservation for 8pm...20 after 8 we still had not been served not even for water. The place wasn’t even busy and three people were cleaning tables. Finally the waitress who kept looking are way asked one of the other girls to bring us water. We left and went someplace better, where I might add were happy to serve us!
I had a bad experience a few years ago with this place, thought I’d give it another try...never again or would I ever recommend this place. It’s a shame because it has a cool location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Service was wonderful and really enjoyed the food. I recommend the bruschetta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2018

A very enjoyable evening with good food :) The ambiance was great for a special birthday and everything we ordered was very good. Fast and efficient service too!

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Good experience - would like to try again in daytime hours to enjoy the view. Overall good but was surprised at how limited the menu offering was - expected to see another 30 percent in options to choose from in a place like this - also found the pizza option front and center a bit of an odd thing for the type of place it is..... Also a bit surprised to see the hostess and our waitress dressed in basic faded jeans - a bit too casual in my opinion - even Boston Pizza staff etc are dressed a bit better.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Good breakfast, good atmosphere, good service! I highly recommend Chibo for breakfast on a Sunday morning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Was an awesome night with an awesome veiw! We recommend the steak and the toasted s'more

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Everything was lovely! It may have been cold outside, but we were warmed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great desserts. Love the tasting selection. Just perfect for sharing with coffee.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 3, 2018

There's nothing else like it in the city! It's just so cool, hanging over the river with a view of the Human Rights museum. The building itself is an original warehouse/industrial type structure that is overflowing with character. The food wasn't awesome this time, which is too bad because it has been better in the past. But I'll try again because I want this place to thrive. It's classy and hip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2017

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Out of town visitors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner!!
Nice ambiance, great food!! We will be back...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Our co-op board met there for our annual Board Appreciation Lunch and found that the service was wonderful and well worth the money. It was great! Thank you again to everyone that was there. I'll definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Three of us went to CIBO before attending a Friday evening performance at the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, so we had 90 minutes tops. The service was prompt and super friendly, and the food was terrific. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to CIBO. Highly recommended.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Great food. Quick service. They just haven’t changed their menu since opening. But always reliable

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 6, 2017

We had a very good server. Our experience was good except that they were changing their menu the next day so they were out of things. I would suggest that the server tell customers that up front as it is always so difficult to make the decision and then you are told they do not have it. 2 out of 4 in our group had to decide all over again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was fresh, imaginative and delicious. The service was personal and excellent. The ambiance was unique and relaxing. Made for a wonderful dining experience and we will return to try other dishes on the menu.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Drop the shoe string fries from the menu. Too difficult to eat with folk and over crispy

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Was our 1st time there - food was great - will definitely be back

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Had dinner with my daughter and sister. We have visited Cibo a few time and this visit was great as usual. Service was great and food was delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.