About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (38)
Good for a Date (31)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
See All
Scenic View (23)
Casual (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Historic (16)
Cozy (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Tapas (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food - big portions and ordered too much. Pickerel was fabulous! A bit noisy but fun environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service, experienced and friendly servers.

The food was very flavourful, well prepared

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food wasn't that great. Payed way more then what the food was worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service, mundane food. Mentioned it was a friends birthday diner on reservation not acknowledged or even mentioned. Host off hand server excellent. Food pretty mediocre. With many restaurants in winnipeg will not be in a hurry to return to this one.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our server seemed rushed, the food wasn't up to its usual standard. Very disappointing considering the good experiences we've had in the past (including a group booking for a wedding).

I'm not sure if there has been a change in chef or something but when the burger you order is charred on the outside and pink on the inside with a very dry bun something ain't right. The shoestring fries were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cosy and warm ambience and wonderful food offerings. Perfect for a Valentine's dinner!

Even the short walk to the restaurant in the waterfront historic neighborhood was a nice preamble to dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The first few times we really enjoyed the food. Then it kept going downhill but we gave it a few more tries. The fries arrived cold. The burger buns were stale, too big and took away from the meat itself. We have decided that it will be our last visit.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very comfortable seating, warm atmosphere. Very friendly professional staff and food was great, timed perfectly.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was ok, but won't be going back. For the price I expect better food. I could have made a more creative cheese board at home.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Need better parking. We had to cut our visit short and not have dessert or coffee becuase no time on the meter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a very nice setting, especially when the sun comes out. Service was good, nothing out of the ordinary. The food was delicious and presented nicely, the marble rye looked beautiful on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love the ambiance at Cibo! The history and location of the building is unique as well.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Loved it:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

food was good. my steak and potatoes were both a bit underdone but flavours were good. bruschetta combos were great and the pickeral fritto was excellent. menus a bit limited - bit over casual - could use a few additional options. space is very trendy - nice reno of an old warehouse building. service was very good. as a big woman tho, the chairs were very uncomfortable. big people like to eat, will fill your restaurants..think about them when thinking about your chair and space selection. I swear I got a pressure sore from a chair smaller than an airline seat which I tried to shove myself in for 2 hours over a business meal. so..wouldnt recommend this place for bigger men and women as I dont think it would be comfortable for them - but otherwise - it was very good and a nice addition to the wpg food scene.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Second time for us at Cibo. Located in an historic pump house building on the Red River waterfront, it has a varied menu and comfortable atmosphere. Servers are always polite and prices are reasonable. The only quibble I have is the lack of a parking lot, meaning you have to hunt for a spot on Winnipeg streets where you can only get 2 hr parking, so you have to remain vigilant to the meter, or else you'll be contributing to Winnipeg parking fine coffers.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner; the only comment is the parking -or lack thereof. I had to look around to find one on the street.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was great and Server i think "Ashley" was very good, friendly. Loved the bruchetta, delicious and so hearty. Only had one complaint, vodka martini came with no olives or any other veggie type insert and vodka and coke was not made well, tons of ice first time, sent back, second time no ice tons of coke, didn't want to keep returning over and over, we were there for a relaxing supper and drinks before an MTC show, only have so much time to enjoy. As i said above though, the bruchetta was the best and the soup delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My husband and I went to Cibo for the first time to celebrate our anniversary; we were treated so well; everyone there was welcoming and congratulated us sincerely. Food was delicious and our waiter, Jereme, was so professional, attentive, and friendly. Superb service!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Cibo has a nice atmosphere. I recommend the skinny fries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our third visit and it did not disappoint. The food and wine were very good and reasonably priced. Service was good and they didn't rush us- even tho' it was a Saturday night. The choice of bruschetta, the arinicini and the pickerel appetizer were amazing - definitely worth trying. We'll be back. Paul & Barb, Calgary

Tags: Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Cibo has become a favorite business lunch spot. Food is always delicious and the menu is creative. Service is warm and friendly.

I highly recommend Cibo's

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our server was outstanding, I don't recall his name, but a tall gentlman with glasses. Not to pushy, very polite and warm, gave great reccomendations. The Arancini is to die for, pastas were fabulous as well. They make a mean Whiskey Sour!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to the restaurant before nad love the location, building and the general ambience of the place. The food quality was certainly lower than my last visit. Specifically, the potatoes at breakfast were overdone, While I had asked for soft poached eggs, they were served firm throughout. The service was also not what I have come to expect from Cibo's. Twice I had to ask for more coffee and when it arrived I also had to ask for more cream, which is served in what amounts to a thimble. Keeping coffee fresh and topped up is a must when the food preparation is slower than normal. We will give it a while before we return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I like the location and the ambience of CIBO. I do not consider myself to be a foodie but in my view the quality of the food is excellent. The wine selection is good and the prices are very reasonable. The atmosphere is relaxing and quiet enough that you can easily have a conversation with those at your table without shouting to one another. I consider this to be very important because if you wish to have a relaxing dinner with friends and family, being able to have a quiet conversation is very important.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic food and the friend chicken special was delicious. Great seats by the window that you could see the river from. Will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The Antipasto was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Good food, a little over-priced for what we got. Very nice place to go and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The server was very knowledgeable of the menu, which was very helpful. The food items we had were very good and the value was great. Nice ambiance as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and service were terrific! The setting along the Red River was fantastic and the renovation of an old Exchange District building was magnificent!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My favourite thing about CIBO is the building. It had an interesting history and a great look. The shareable small plates are delicious and lend opportunity to try several flavours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great spot to eat with a great view. Nice staff as well as a good selection on the menu. Bartenders know what they are doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Have been to Cibo numerous times and have never had any complaints. Definitely one of our go to places. P.S. best bruschetta ever! 😋

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great menu covers everything from light fare to dinners. I chose the salmon and it was cooked to perfection and delicious. The ambience is nice, good lighting ,the only negative is the background music was a little loud not to my taste. I prefer a quieter room but our server was attentive and personable, food was amazing and great value for the quality.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The service and food were very good - appropriate for a business meal. Great location too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Everything about our experience was very good! The food was beyond great and the service was excellent. We thought the restaurant was open to midnight so we were staying and taking our time. They were actually closed and didn't fuss a bit. They let us be and kindly asked if we needed anything else before they closed up. Very professional and kind. Thanks for a great night 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 5, 2016

First time at Cibo's. On a Monday night, the restaurant was 3/4 full but not noisy. You could have a conversation using a normal voice. We both had the NY sirloin, which was cooked properly, very tender and tasty. The menu is limited, which in my opinion is good. You can expect consistently cooked food. Service was great. From a value standpoint, our entrees were good value. However, I can't recommend the almond cookie for dessert. At $2 a cookie, they tasted very good, but are only bite size. You are better going to Starbuck's for their cookies. We will definitely go back again for dinner before going to MTC.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambiance was great and we would definitely try it again during the day for lunch. While the food was OK, it definitely was not on par with other fine dining restaurants. A beautifully restored and re-purposed building gets our vote of approval but the food and service were lacking to have us back for dinner. Since we only had dinner after dark, we would love to come back and try the lunch menu during the daytime and take in the view of the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, really nice atmosphere. Service was not as good. Had to ask the girl busing our table for coffee. This was our first visit to Cibo, and we will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was great! Good serving portions, good value for the money.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went early for drinks and appetizers. Very friendly, attentive and accommodating serving staff. nice ambience and fresh flavourful food. Enjoyed trying different wines, various bruschetta choices and pickerel pieces dish. I loved the old brick environment and lovely repurposing of this historical building.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service. Friendly, smiling waiter. A relaxing cocktail - a blueberry tea martini, hit the spot as a starter. The mushroom and pancetta pizza had great flavor and a crispy crust, and the Pinot noir complemented it nicely. The restaurant was full, making the Friday night ambience fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very enjoyable food and room. Varied menu with option to suit any dietary need.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Thanks for the great food and service! Was delicious and the staff were warm and friendly, not too 'in your face'. I sent a picture of the food to some of my friends and they were asking where it was, i happily recommended that they must drop in there some day! Very much enjoyed the time.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food is average, love the look of the inside and outside really industrial looking and really nice and comforting inside. Pretty cool history of the building and staff very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My girlfriend loves to go out for a meal every once in a while, and since she had talked about Cibo a number of times in the past I decided now was a good time to surprise her. She loved it! We stuffed ourselves on good food and enjoyed a walk before and after our lunch date. The staff is friendly, the lighting mostly natural from the large windows, and the look over the river, while not the best when the trees were bare and the ground muddy, was quite nice. We'd go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I love coming here because we always feel like we are in another city. The location is very unique and doesn't feel like Winnipeg. Depending on when you go it's either quiet or energetic, but always has a romantic feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very good seafood pizza and Best Cream of Mushroom soup ever!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and good service. Just a warning, though - breakfast service stops at 11:00am sharp, even on Saturdays. We had an 11:00am reservation on Saturday, hoping for brunch... And even though every table around us was still eating eggs and toast, we were only able to order from the lunch menu. Luckily, our disappointment was tempered by very good lunch food, including a delicious (if bordering on over-salted) pizza.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The atmosphere and view are relaxing. The service was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their meal. What more can you ask for? Maybe the fries could be a little thicker, if I'm going to be picky!

Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.