Cibo Waterfront Cafe

4.4
784 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Special Occasion
  • Scenic View
Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, French, Spanish
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(204) 594-0339
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sean Smith
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
James Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine
What 784 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

This was our first visit to this restaurant! We absolutely loved the atmosphere! The food and service was fantastic! We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

As always service was attentive and respectful in that with meeting friends from out of town our pace was unhurried. Food was delicious and we shall of course be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Good food with an excellent patio! Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Waiter forgot about us after he delivered our meals.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

The biggest challenge was to find parking! Other than that, great food, service and location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The only downside is downtown parking, but the positives of CIBO outweigh the negative.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

First time at restaurant. Loved it would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Decent food. Good service. No complaints. 😃

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Dinner was a very pleasant experience, food was great and waiter was excellent. Very clean and welcoming

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

It was quite loud but the atmosphere was nonetheless pleasant. It's too bad there are only three choices for main entrees. It's a bit limiting if you're not a pasta or pizza eater. It would have also been a nice touch to include a complementary piece of cake since it was my wife's birthday and that fact was made known at the time of the reservation. Probably will not come back for formal celebrations in the future but likely for late night bites to eat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Really good food! Service was attentive. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I am very impressed and would recommend everyone try this gem of a establishment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great place and food was great as well, nice view too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Services was very poor. Serving staff needs training urgently!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Love to take out of town guest here and perfect for date night or a girls night out.
We often walk down the waterfront after dinner, but it's location is close to the Forks, Theaters and the ball park.
Truly a gem!
Can't beat the view and love the historical architecture of this restaurant, such a beautiful building. Love the fact it's been kept true to it's pump house roots but modernized. Food is great and I've never had bad service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Food quality was below average. Ambience was great. If you're taking a date here, just make sure you're not trying to impress her with your taste in food. The steak was almost well done, though it was supposed to be medium rare. The pasta was so al dente it was almost crunchy. The food presentation was average. The wine selection was limited. The view and the environment were great and there's so much potential. But overall this place was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Always enjoy Cibo!... one of our Fav’s!!...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We took both my mother and mother-in-law for a belated Mother's Day lunch. One is hard to impress, but we all ordered different menu items, and everyone was extremely impressed. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 24, 2018

First time here... last time here!
There were very few people dining and yet service was terrible.
It was VERY hot and humid outside and yet all the doors were wide open so it was extremely uncomfortable and sweaty; if we wanted to sit outside we would have asked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

We just had a ladies’ lunch out at Cibo’s and sat on the patio. Our experience was wonderful, in every way! The service was friendly and attentive, the patio was great and the food was fabulous. We especially enjoyed the bruschetta and Greek salad, which was plenty to share amongst the three of us! A wonderful afternoon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Food was amazing! Service fantastic! Will absolutely return! We’ll done

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Yes, thank you for lunch. My friend enjoyed his salad (black olives, tomato + __) and a sandwich.
Perhaps I should have ordered the same. I had carrot soup - which I did not really enjoy. It seemed to taste a little "off". Perhaps vinegar had been added. The shape of the salad bowl ensured that the dressing fell to the bottom of the bowl with the upper leaves and croutons dry.

The server was very polite and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great restaurant with plenty of options. Really cool location and great drinks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always a great time coming here. Brunch is great late night dining is also fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very cosy and comfortable. Reasonably priced and the staff is very attentive and helpful. Been a few times and would recommend it to anyone

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Service was good, menu a bit limited, food was fine. Wouldn't rush back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Excellent dinning in a picturesque setting. A good varied menu, with good pizza’s, fantastic wine and local (Winnipeg Craft) beer selection.

Attentive staff and good food presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Beautiful ambiance, fantastic cocktail menu, consistently great food and amazing service. Never disappointed after a visit to Cibo and always look forward to my next.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The bruschetta was delicious and so were the drinks. The main course was inedible. Probably the worst carbonara I’ve ever had. Bland, greasy, and warm at best. Lots of sandwiches and pizzas on the menu, but nothing special. Maybe the pizzas and sanding are better...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Bright and open, with a lovely view of the river. Best salad I’ve ever had (Beef and Beets). Excellent winter and summer Sangrias. Comfy seats. Friendly staff and timely service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Honestly, I am so satisfied every time I come here. I absolutely LOVE the bruschetta! There are lots of great options on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Best food in Winnipeg. Decent quality ingrediants. Wonderful service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We were very well served. I also got my fave table! The round one in the mezzanine with the window to the river! Cool! And the music wasn’t too loud, so we could actually talk and have a great meeting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Awesome place with great ambience and great food. Our waiter, Jereme, had a great sense of humour and was attentive without being overbearing. I've been to Cibo's several times and it has never been a disappointment!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

3 STRIKES . . . YOU ARE OUT !!!

Have been here a few times with good experiences, but seems to have gone down hill.

Made on-line reservation requesting a table in the raised section by the windows for a Sunday afternoon. We were seated in the lower section with no apology and told an event going on, but the section only had a couple of people and leaving; from when we arrived till we left, mostly empty. Lower section has an echo so for a person with hearing challenges was a stressor. Would have gone elsewhere if had known.

I requested a pizza from on-line menu "Open Table" but not on the menu in the restaurant. The Barletta pizza, I had before, had artichoke hearts, sundried tomato, grilled eggplant and feta. The waiter said it has been off the menu for years so I asked if they could make it for me. The waiter checked with the kitchen saying they didn't have the ingredients. Very matter of fact and left the table. No customer service to ask if they could accommodate one of the other pizzas. Isn't it the restaurant's responsibility to update the menu to an on-line site that takes reservations for them?

While eating, a waitress dragged a line of chairs to face the wall so out of use. Then dragged tables to make one long line throughout the restaurant. We commented to her it was very noisy and couldn't hear our own conversation, but she carried on with what she was doing alone. I got up at one point and lifted a table end for her. Finally, another staff person came to help her.

Very disappointed there was no respect for the customer. It was clear our business was not valued.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Overall we had a really great time and appreciated having or own little table in the corner off the beaten track. Will be back I’m sure!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Menu items not available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

I have dined at Cibo numerous times and have enjoyed the food and service each time. The menu offers a great variety, however I was disappointed to see that the JennaRae sample platter was no longer available. Otherwise - awesome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

It was our first time there. We enjoyed the food, service was a tad slow considering it wasn’t very busy in there, but we weren’t in a rush. I would have preferred to sit next to a window, but we had a good experience, we will be returning.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20