Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (37)
Scenic View (30)
Casual (26)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great Beer (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Music (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, food was wonderful, view of the river with boats going by made for a relaxing evening with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice location, ambiance, good service and quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We sat on the patio and comfortable on the couchs. Waitress was lovely and that's where it ended. No excuse about being busy as the restaurant was empty. Ordered a beverage sangria and a Caesar. Have to say the smallest glass one could find and the worst clam juice. Motts is by far the best. Scrimping by using some other brand was disgusting. I have had many caersars and by far on a scale of 1 -10 it never made it. Plastic glasses for water tacky. Sangria was fine. Replaced mine with a gin and tonic cant go wrong there one would think. No napkin as we had to ask for one. The margherita pizza must have been made last week cold etc. We got chicken put on it and hard pressed to find many pieces. Had to ask for pepper. Got our bill and were blown away at the cost. Needless to say totally a terrible lunch. I have been there a few times and reccomended it to my friend . Until I hear of a positive report we both will never go back. Thank goodness the company was a positive. Friends dropped by as the were passing by. They decided to go somewhere else after hearing our experience. Maybe that's why the restaurant was empty. I am never a complainer but I'm sorry to this experience it deserved the bad rating. Hopefully you can reevaluate your menu, bartendering and service

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It was my first time at Cibo and I loved the atmosphere! The food was good and I'm looking forward to coming back and trying more of the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food is good but the drinks are too expensive for the size and taste

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was unexpected, enjoyed every moment, food was superb, salmon, lounge music playing outside, right volume, friendly staff

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food, great service will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Everything was great. Food surpassed our expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I don't get a chance to make it to this restaurant often but when I do I have always had excellent service and food.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Best bruschetta EVER ! Romaine in caeser wilty and bitter and hard to eat out of a small bowl. Portion sizes on entrees PERFECT size for us. Creative drinks for sure; so hard to choose. Service rushed. Not enough time between courses with my entree arriving as I barely started my salad. HATE feeling rushed that way. Overall a nice meal and will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Tapas, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Pleasant ambience. Waterfront view from the restaurant but not from the Patio.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Attentive server. Lovely view .
Prefect place to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time here! Met a friend here before heading to a show. Interesting hand crafted summer drink list; wasn't a fan of either of the drinks I had, but my friend loved hers. I should have stuck to more simple drinks; but I was being adventurous. The drinks weren't bad or badly made, they just weren't my favourite flavour combos: so bad choices for me, and that's my fault! Should have stuck with my tried and true fav sangria. Pizza was good, not fantastic. Would love to try many other things on the menu. I think it's the perfect venue to rent out and have a private event. Very interesting environment and loved the decor and building. I adore places that use existing buildings for things. Will definitely be back with my boyfriend and my parents. Service was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 11, 2017

my only real complaint is no bottled or filtered flat water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Absolutely fabulous place! The food was amazing. I went for my birthday with a friend, can't wait to go back as soon as possible. I've already been recommending to friends. Thank you for the great time!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great meal as usual! Love the river view. Just missed the salmon salad which is no longer on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Cozy, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The menu has been down scaled since my last visit. While no longer a 'fine dine' restaurant, the charcuterie tray and pizza was good. The view lovely and the proximity to our favorite hotel means we will likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was great. Live music added a nice ambiance to the dinner. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is very good, I have been twice before. The only issue I have is the horrific amounts of crumbs down any and all the seats. It was actually upsetting to see how dirty the chairs were.

Plus the area with the view is a carpeted area, which I found weird.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The appetizers are extremely large, but so delicious, just forced a take out box for the main course for a leftover lunch the next day. Our server was excellent!! Service was very efficient and friendly. The wine selection is fantastic. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Will definitely try again in the very near future.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and the food is incredibly tasty. I took my family out for mothers day and after living in Winnipeg for about 16 years they were still shocked that we had such nice views here. The restaurant ambience is great for a variety of different occasions, from a nice date to a family dinner- a good balance between formal and casual. Thank you for another great experience!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for a combined birthday and Mother's Day brunch. We were seated at an undesirable table by the fire exit so we asked for a table in the back on account of the special occasion. The seating staff appeared annoyed that we had asked. Despite the majority of tables being available, they were unwilling to seat us there, stating there were reservations that were made before our reservation so we could not be seated there. The back section did not get filled until we were nearly done our meal more than an hour later.
Otherwise, it is a small menu but the food was decent and reasonably priced so I would say it's good value. Our waiter was nice and appropriately attentive as well.
Unfortunately, however, the special occasion was not the best experience from the start. In addition, there was nothing special for Mother's Day and they do not provide any special touches for birthdays either. I would not return to or recommend Cibo for special occasions. It was alright otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We enjoyed the service and food. Downside was the excessive noise. Waitresses need to learn to lift the chairs when rearranging the tables. No need to drag them. Very annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was our first time at Cibo's. It was great! We shared two appetizers - pickerel and the bruschetta dishes. They were both fabulous. Wine list was good. Service great. Made us feel like we were in distillery district in Toronto!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 8, 2017

An amazing meal! and the service was second to none

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is always excellent. There is a great atmosphere and great service. My wife and I are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My girlfriend and I came here for our anniversary, at my sister's recommendation, and we were not disappointed. A small venue with a small menu to match, it felt both down-to-earth and high-class. We liked that, unlike some other nice restaurants, the huge windows allowed enough light that we could see what was on our plates!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 26, 2017

What a gem! I absolutely loved this restaurants menu and it's vibe. Beautiful service and equally beautiful lunch with a girlfriend at this trendy spot overlooking the river. Will go back... many times💗

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I cannot believe that someone who orders a pizza gets charged $1 for Parmesan cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great time - food was tasty but could have been hotter

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Underwhelming
I was unsure why we were not offered the lunch menu
Only breakfast menu offered to us. Perhaps the server thought we needed eggs with our liquor order.

The choices were few and the served selections were under seasoned and overcooked

I am more confused by how popular this place seems to be. Perhaps diners like bland overdone options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Have been to Cibo's a few times and the food has always been exceptional. This time however, my friend had a lovely meal but my lunch was lacklustre.
Based on that experience, I won't give up on them, but will definitely give them another chance. Worth the drive.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Waterfront, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went to Cibo with friends before going to the Concert Hall for a show. Staff were awesome and attentive. Food was fantastic. We ordered four appetizers and shared them (there were 4 of us). Plenty of food for all. Drinks were good as well. The flatbread/pizza was very tasty. They asked us if we were going to the theatre we said yes and they made sure they timed each appetizer so we are out 1/2 hour prior to going to the show. Will definitely go back to sit on the outdoor patio overlooking the River. Awesome place - won't disappoint! Can't go wrong with anything on the menu by the looks of it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good sevice, enjoyed the meal, food was out of the kitchen in a decent time. Atmosphere is very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First time here and loved the good, servers and ambiance!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We loved the ambiance of the restaurant. Very relaxed dinner we were not rushed and enjoyed our food and drinks all evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food - big portions and ordered too much. Pickerel was fabulous! A bit noisy but fun environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service, experienced and friendly servers.
The food was very flavourful, well prepared

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food wasn't that great. Payed way more then what the food was worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service, mundane food. Mentioned it was a friends birthday diner on reservation not acknowledged or even mentioned. Host off hand server excellent. Food pretty mediocre. With many restaurants in winnipeg will not be in a hurry to return to this one.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.