About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
1 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Scenic View (53)
Waterfront (45)
Casual (35)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Great for Lunch (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Special Occasion (31)
Historic (24)
Romantic (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Modern Decor (17)
Fun (16)
Business Meals (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Family Style (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great Beer (5)
Healthy (5)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
519 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time at Cibo's. On a Monday night, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

First time at Cibo's. On a Monday night, the restaurant was 3/4 full but not noisy. You could have a conversation using a normal voice. We both had the NY sirloin, which was cooked properly, very tender and tasty. The menu is limited, which in my opinion is good. You can expect consistently cooked food. Service was great. From a value standpoint, our entrees were good value. However, I can't recommend the almond cookie for dessert. At $2 a cookie, they tasted very good, but are only bite size. You are better going to Starbuck's for their cookies. We will definitely go back again for dinner before going to MTC.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was great and we would defi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambiance was great and we would definitely try it again during the day for lunch. While the food was OK, it definitely was not on par with other fine dining restaurants. A beautifully restored and re-purposed building gets our vote of approval but the food and service were lacking to have us back for dinner. Since we only had dinner after dark, we would love to come back and try the lunch menu during the daytime and take in the view of the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, really nice atmosphere. Serv ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, really nice atmosphere. Service was not as good. Had to ask the girl busing our table for coffee. This was our first visit to Cibo, and we will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great! Good serving portions, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was great! Good serving portions, good value for the money.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went early for drinks and appetizers. V ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went early for drinks and appetizers. Very friendly, attentive and accommodating serving staff. nice ambience and fresh flavourful food. Enjoyed trying different wines, various bruschetta choices and pickerel pieces dish. I loved the old brick environment and lovely repurposing of this historical building.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Friendly, smiling waiter. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service. Friendly, smiling waiter. A relaxing cocktail - a blueberry tea martini, hit the spot as a starter. The mushroom and pancetta pizza had great flavor and a crispy crust, and the Pinot noir complemented it nicely. The restaurant was full, making the Friday night ambience fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable food and room. Varied men ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very enjoyable food and room. Varied menu with option to suit any dietary need.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thanks for the great food and service! W ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Thanks for the great food and service! Was delicious and the staff were warm and friendly, not too 'in your face'. I sent a picture of the food to some of my friends and they were asking where it was, i happily recommended that they must drop in there some day! Very much enjoyed the time.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is average, love the look of the in ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food is average, love the look of the inside and outside really industrial looking and really nice and comforting inside. Pretty cool history of the building and staff very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My girlfriend loves to go out for a meal ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My girlfriend loves to go out for a meal every once in a while, and since she had talked about Cibo a number of times in the past I decided now was a good time to surprise her. She loved it! We stuffed ourselves on good food and enjoyed a walk before and after our lunch date. The staff is friendly, the lighting mostly natural from the large windows, and the look over the river, while not the best when the trees were bare and the ground muddy, was quite nice. We'd go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love coming here because w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I love coming here because we always feel like we are in another city. The location is very unique and doesn't feel like Winnipeg. Depending on when you go it's either quiet or energetic, but always has a romantic feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good seafood pizza and Best Cream o ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very good seafood pizza and Best Cream of Mushroom soup ever!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and good service. Just a ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and good service. Just a warning, though - breakfast service stops at 11:00am sharp, even on Saturdays. We had an 11:00am reservation on Saturday, hoping for brunch... And even though every table around us was still eating eggs and toast, we were only able to order from the lunch menu. Luckily, our disappointment was tempered by very good lunch food, including a delicious (if bordering on over-salted) pizza.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere and view are relaxing. T ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The atmosphere and view are relaxing. The service was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their meal. What more can you ask for? Maybe the fries could be a little thicker, if I'm going to be picky!

Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Table was lovely. There was a large part ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Table was lovely. There was a large party by the river which was a bit overwhelming. My salmon was overdone but still good. I love going to this restaurant. Waitress was charming, happy, and efficient.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the restaurant so much. Great for ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Loved the restaurant so much. Great for a girls night out. Already told a friend about it. My daughter chose it for our family get together for her birthday. Nice place!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except for the Frie ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was great except for the Fries...the thinnest fries you will ever find. Many were overcooked. Even if you like shoestring fries these were to the extreme. All other items I have had at CIBOs is very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Knowledgable waiting staff, noise level ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Knowledgable waiting staff, noise level such that we could talk. Lighting and ambiance relaxing. Food good but menu needs more variety.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, fabulous service, lovely at ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, fabulous service, lovely atmosphere! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is so good at this ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food and service is so good at this restaurant. The pizzas and salads are outstanding!

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server could have been friendlier. Kind ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Server could have been friendlier. Kind of just going through the motions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The brunch was great! Tasty food. Great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The brunch was great! Tasty food. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and accommodating. Food ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great experience and accommodating. Food was absolutely amazing, and awesome portion sizes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and our server was fantastic. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and our server was fantastic. Love how fresh the food tastes and portion sizes just right. This was my second visit and I brought two people who this was their first visit we all enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely location, unimaginative menu, car ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Lovely location, unimaginative menu, cardboard pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Nice place for a casual bite to eat but ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Nice place for a casual bite to eat but difficult to find parking.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall experience was ok. Noise volume ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Overall experience was ok. Noise volume was very loud and hard to talk to friends. Service was good. Food was ok except for having to pay extra on top of the hefty prices for additional grated cheese on top of Caesar salad and pizzas. We found it ridiculous to pay a dollar for shredded cheese. The servers response was that they use expensive cheese followed by were not the first patrons to comment on this. Perhaps then something should be changed! Overall not running back!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fun & relaxed atmosphere. Delicious food ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Fun & relaxed atmosphere. Delicious food & drinks. Beautiful building. Super convenient as I was staying at the Mere Hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our time spent at ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our time spent at CIBO...We were having drinks and appetizers after an MTC event. The charcuterie board was the perfect size for sharing. Took a bit of a stroll down waterfront before heading home...love this location.

Tags: Tapas, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The staff were rude and uninterested in ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The staff were rude and uninterested in offering decent service. I used to enjoy going there. Doubt I'll return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

It was great. I would absolutely go back ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It was great. I would absolutely go back. The food was very tasty and I like that when it was served it hot. My only complaint is that panino bun did not seem to be fresh. I would like to have it warmed up a bit. That is such a minor flaw. It was great.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Staff, Waitress, Food and Atmosphere wer ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Staff, Waitress, Food and Atmosphere were all excellent! Would definitely recommend and will come again.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal with great service! And a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Wonderful meal with great service! And affordable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there with 3 other friends and we ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I was there with 3 other friends and we all really enjoyed our meals and the service was good. We had a nice table and the view was lovely. My only complaint is that it is too loud, you really need to turn the music down a notch or two. I have seen this as a complaint before, but obviously you haven't made any changes in that regard. I could not take my elderly parents there, as conversation would be very difficult. I will recommend Cibos to others, but I will also give them a head's up that it is noisy, which I wouldn't describe as "energetic" just too noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I absolutely love the ambiance at Cibo C ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I absolutely love the ambiance at Cibo Café. It was absolutely beautiful.

My fiancé and I were also very happy to have went on a Monday when there was live music to accompany dinner :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Cibo and I w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was my second visit to Cibo and I won't be rushing back. We started with the Arancini which was very good and then had a couple of pizzas, a Caesar salad and the veggie sandwich for mains. Everything was just rather bland. The Caesar salad dressing was lacking garlic and the croutons were just toasted pieces of bread with a little bit of olive oil on them and also no seasoning. The crispy pancetta on the salad was very good though. The pizza sauce tasted like just plain tomato sauce and the sandwich was just pretty mushy. Honestly, I would just expect a place like this to have more memorable flavors.

Service was great and the decor and location are lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great setting combined with good food. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great setting combined with good food. What's not to love?

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was excellent, had the mushroom pan ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was excellent, had the mushroom pancetta pizza. The service was good. The noise level too high. There was a guitarist in the restaurant and we could not talk it was so loud. Usually music is background music in a restaurant. The restaurant itself is cozy and has a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot, top notch atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great spot, top notch atmosphere and the food is very tasty - especially the bruschetta and pizza.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.