About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (42)
Scenic View (35)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Casual (24)
Historic (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Cozy (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Romantic (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Business Meals (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Authentic (7)
Tapas (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Family Style (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cibo has become a favorite business lunc ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

Cibo has become a favorite business lunch spot. Food is always delicious and the menu is creative. Service is warm and friendly.

I highly recommend Cibo's

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was outstanding, I don't reca ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was outstanding, I don't recall his name, but a tall gentlman with glasses. Not to pushy, very polite and warm, gave great reccomendations. The Arancini is to die for, pastas were fabulous as well. They make a mean Whiskey Sour!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to the restaurant before nad ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to the restaurant before nad love the location, building and the general ambience of the place. The food quality was certainly lower than my last visit. Specifically, the potatoes at breakfast were overdone, While I had asked for soft poached eggs, they were served firm throughout. The service was also not what I have come to expect from Cibo's. Twice I had to ask for more coffee and when it arrived I also had to ask for more cream, which is served in what amounts to a thimble. Keeping coffee fresh and topped up is a must when the food preparation is slower than normal. We will give it a while before we return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I like the location and the ambience of ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I like the location and the ambience of CIBO. I do not consider myself to be a foodie but in my view the quality of the food is excellent. The wine selection is good and the prices are very reasonable. The atmosphere is relaxing and quiet enough that you can easily have a conversation with those at your table without shouting to one another. I consider this to be very important because if you wish to have a relaxing dinner with friends and family, being able to have a quiet conversation is very important.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food and the friend chicken sp ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic food and the friend chicken special was delicious. Great seats by the window that you could see the river from. Will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Antipasto was delicious.

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The Antipasto was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, a little over-priced for what ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Good food, a little over-priced for what we got. Very nice place to go and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The server was very knowledgeable of the ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The server was very knowledgeable of the menu, which was very helpful. The food items we had were very good and the value was great. Nice ambiance as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were terrific! The set ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and service were terrific! The setting along the Red River was fantastic and the renovation of an old Exchange District building was magnificent!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favourite thing about CIBO is the bui ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My favourite thing about CIBO is the building. It had an interesting history and a great look. The shareable small plates are delicious and lend opportunity to try several flavours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great spot to eat with a great view. Nic ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great spot to eat with a great view. Nice staff as well as a good selection on the menu. Bartenders know what they are doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to Cibo numerous times and hav ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Have been to Cibo numerous times and have never had any complaints. Definitely one of our go to places. P.S. best bruschetta ever! 😋

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu covers everything from light ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great menu covers everything from light fare to dinners. I chose the salmon and it was cooked to perfection and delicious. The ambience is nice, good lighting ,the only negative is the background music was a little loud not to my taste. I prefer a quieter room but our server was attentive and personable, food was amazing and great value for the quality.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service and food were very good - ap ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The service and food were very good - appropriate for a business meal. Great location too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything about our experience was very ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Everything about our experience was very good! The food was beyond great and the service was excellent. We thought the restaurant was open to midnight so we were staying and taking our time. They were actually closed and didn't fuss a bit. They let us be and kindly asked if we needed anything else before they closed up. Very professional and kind. Thanks for a great night 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time at Cibo's. On a Monday night, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 5, 2016

First time at Cibo's. On a Monday night, the restaurant was 3/4 full but not noisy. You could have a conversation using a normal voice. We both had the NY sirloin, which was cooked properly, very tender and tasty. The menu is limited, which in my opinion is good. You can expect consistently cooked food. Service was great. From a value standpoint, our entrees were good value. However, I can't recommend the almond cookie for dessert. At $2 a cookie, they tasted very good, but are only bite size. You are better going to Starbuck's for their cookies. We will definitely go back again for dinner before going to MTC.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was great and we would defi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambiance was great and we would definitely try it again during the day for lunch. While the food was OK, it definitely was not on par with other fine dining restaurants. A beautifully restored and re-purposed building gets our vote of approval but the food and service were lacking to have us back for dinner. Since we only had dinner after dark, we would love to come back and try the lunch menu during the daytime and take in the view of the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, really nice atmosphere. Serv ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, really nice atmosphere. Service was not as good. Had to ask the girl busing our table for coffee. This was our first visit to Cibo, and we will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great! Good serving portions, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was great! Good serving portions, good value for the money.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went early for drinks and appetizers. V ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went early for drinks and appetizers. Very friendly, attentive and accommodating serving staff. nice ambience and fresh flavourful food. Enjoyed trying different wines, various bruschetta choices and pickerel pieces dish. I loved the old brick environment and lovely repurposing of this historical building.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Friendly, smiling waiter. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service. Friendly, smiling waiter. A relaxing cocktail - a blueberry tea martini, hit the spot as a starter. The mushroom and pancetta pizza had great flavor and a crispy crust, and the Pinot noir complemented it nicely. The restaurant was full, making the Friday night ambience fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable food and room. Varied men ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very enjoyable food and room. Varied menu with option to suit any dietary need.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thanks for the great food and service! W ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Thanks for the great food and service! Was delicious and the staff were warm and friendly, not too 'in your face'. I sent a picture of the food to some of my friends and they were asking where it was, i happily recommended that they must drop in there some day! Very much enjoyed the time.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is average, love the look of the in ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food is average, love the look of the inside and outside really industrial looking and really nice and comforting inside. Pretty cool history of the building and staff very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My girlfriend loves to go out for a meal ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My girlfriend loves to go out for a meal every once in a while, and since she had talked about Cibo a number of times in the past I decided now was a good time to surprise her. She loved it! We stuffed ourselves on good food and enjoyed a walk before and after our lunch date. The staff is friendly, the lighting mostly natural from the large windows, and the look over the river, while not the best when the trees were bare and the ground muddy, was quite nice. We'd go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love coming here because w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I love coming here because we always feel like we are in another city. The location is very unique and doesn't feel like Winnipeg. Depending on when you go it's either quiet or energetic, but always has a romantic feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good seafood pizza and Best Cream o ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very good seafood pizza and Best Cream of Mushroom soup ever!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and good service. Just a ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and good service. Just a warning, though - breakfast service stops at 11:00am sharp, even on Saturdays. We had an 11:00am reservation on Saturday, hoping for brunch... And even though every table around us was still eating eggs and toast, we were only able to order from the lunch menu. Luckily, our disappointment was tempered by very good lunch food, including a delicious (if bordering on over-salted) pizza.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere and view are relaxing. T ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The atmosphere and view are relaxing. The service was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their meal. What more can you ask for? Maybe the fries could be a little thicker, if I'm going to be picky!

Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Table was lovely. There was a large part ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Table was lovely. There was a large party by the river which was a bit overwhelming. My salmon was overdone but still good. I love going to this restaurant. Waitress was charming, happy, and efficient.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the restaurant so much. Great for ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Loved the restaurant so much. Great for a girls night out. Already told a friend about it. My daughter chose it for our family get together for her birthday. Nice place!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except for the Frie ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was great except for the Fries...the thinnest fries you will ever find. Many were overcooked. Even if you like shoestring fries these were to the extreme. All other items I have had at CIBOs is very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Knowledgable waiting staff, noise level ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Knowledgable waiting staff, noise level such that we could talk. Lighting and ambiance relaxing. Food good but menu needs more variety.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, fabulous service, lovely at ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, fabulous service, lovely atmosphere! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is so good at this ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food and service is so good at this restaurant. The pizzas and salads are outstanding!

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server could have been friendlier. Kind ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Server could have been friendlier. Kind of just going through the motions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The brunch was great! Tasty food. Great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The brunch was great! Tasty food. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and accommodating. Food ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great experience and accommodating. Food was absolutely amazing, and awesome portion sizes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely location, unimaginative menu, car ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Lovely location, unimaginative menu, cardboard pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.