About Cibo Waterfront Cafe

339 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B 3P1
View Larger Map

Cibo Waterfront Café, a fresh food, Mediterranean inspired café located right on the banks of the Red River. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, French, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
James Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 594-0339

Website:
http://cibowaterfrontcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in both north parking lots adjacent to hotel. There is ample street parking available on Waterfront Drive and James Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Pawulski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wine

Cibo Waterfront Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

scenic view (110)
neighborhood gem (62)
special occasion (55)
See All
great for lunch (54)
good for groups (48)
fit for foodies (48)
romantic (37)
great for outdoor dining (28)
late-night find (23)
great for brunch (22)
hot spot (22)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (6)
Sort By:
Newest
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jereme was a hoot, amazing sangria, love ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 3 days ago

Jereme was a hoot, amazing sangria, loved the fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

very enjoyable experience. service was v ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 6 days ago

very enjoyable experience. service was very good and food delicious as ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food, drinks, and service was very good. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food, drinks, and service was very good. This was my first visit. I had heard that the views of the river and city were great. Having made our reservation about a month earlier, I was disappointed that we were seated at probably the second worst table location. I had an excellent view of the Host/Hostess station and the comings and goings from the kitchen. Other tables were "reserved". I would suggest that you clearly specify when making the reservation, that you want a table with one of the views that's promoted. Unless everyone else made their reservation before I did, I'm disappointed with how my reservation was priorized.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing but the service was ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was amazing but the service was very slow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good however 1 guest had t ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was good however 1 guest had to leave because the salad took 40 minutes to get out.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Was amazing. Had the Arincini was so del ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Was amazing. Had the Arincini was so delcsious. Went to celebrate a move and spend some girl time with my family. We loved it. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two old friends joined us to celebrate a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Two old friends joined us to celebrate a birthday.

We enjoyed seeing the river out of the many windows.

Our food: burger, salmon salads, Magherita pizza was all good.

Our server was very efficient.

It was all very relaxing but we did notice the noise right away.

I could hear the woman I was talking to right beside me but it was an effort to hear what the other two were talking about.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly service, tasty food. Great loca ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Friendly service, tasty food. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for a late snack. The cheese pl ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went for a late snack. The cheese plate appetizer was wonderful. Nice view of the river, too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, friendly service, exc ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly service, excellent food! A must try! I'll will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An easy and comfortable atmosphere with ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

An easy and comfortable atmosphere with a energetic vibe. Views are spectacular and tables well organized and spaced. The menu is diverse while remaining compact and imaginative. Cibo is a gem and is highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My colleague and I went for dinner durin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My colleague and I went for dinner during our recent trip to Winnipeg. She is definitely a foodie and I can appreciate a great meal, well presented. From the cocktail menu through to our appetizers and the delicious pizzas we each had, we were VERY happy we had made a reservation. Our server was friendly and helpful and the food genuinely delighted us. We are looking forward to our next trip to Winnipeg.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and food was fabulous! ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great atmosphere and food was fabulous! Went for a girls night out and really appreciated the waitress not rushing us and her friendly personality. Allowed us to chat as long as we wanted and we didn't feel pressured to pay the bill and leave. Would definitely return and highly recommend this restaurant for a casual night out with great river views.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trevor & Ainsley helped make my girlfrie ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Trevor & Ainsley helped make my girlfriend's birthday lunch just that much better. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of four would all go back to C ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our party of four would all go back to Cibo again. It was an overall great evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Staff were terrific as always! Great amb ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Staff were terrific as always! Great ambiance and noise level is not too loud so you can have a conversation at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere! I had the Risotto bal ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! I had the Risotto balls (Arancini) which was fantastic, and the Cibo Pizza, who would have thought a fried egg on pizza would be so delicious!! We split the CBC, a flourless cake with blueberry compote, an excellent way to end the meal...well that and a delightful latte. What a neat area too, great for walking after dinner. Very impressed, service was excellent too, very funny waiter :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was one of the best I have ev ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server was one of the best I have ever had. Very considerate (it was so cold & he brought me some tea right away), respectful (when us old folks were having trouble with the machine), apologized for the lack of parking, wasn't goofy friendly & very clean cut, yet hip.

Very small selection of food choices for a bistro (burgers & pizza mainly).

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

When I booked my table electronically, I ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

When I booked my table electronically, I specifically requested a table on the patio. When I arrived, I was told that you do not accept bookings for the patio. Fortunately, you were able to find a table outside for us. I would have been happier to have been told at the time of making the booking what your policy was. Thanks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I wish I knew our waiter's name, but he ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I wish I knew our waiter's name, but he went above and beyond. I don't eat red meat and he even had the kitchen add more cheese and olives on the antipasto platter instead of the meats. He as so pleasant and very helpful! I will go back for him alone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the space and the view. Liked the ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Love the space and the view.

Liked the menu selection too

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our food was excellent! Really fresh fla ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our food was excellent! Really fresh flavours! Our server was a little less than great. She seemed a little like she didn't want to be there. But overall a very good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

First time at Cibo's, sat on the patio n ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

First time at Cibo's, sat on the patio nice and quiet to have conversations, the red sangria was the best I've had, the Caesar salad, delicious with home made garlicky dressing, pizza was very good! Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Stay clear of the pizza. I had the Grec ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Stay clear of the pizza. I had the Grecian. Crust was dry as a cracker and over all pizza was bland.

Other guests enjoyed the Club sandwich and salad and were pleased.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was excellent and served quickl ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent and served quickly - we were in and out in an hour. My biggest complaint would be that it's hard to find and there is no parking lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice location - interesting building.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were looking for a breakfast location as we do not live in Winnipeg, love the area - the view is wonderful and the breakfast was great. Nice comfortable seating. We will be back to try a supper meal in the future!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a lovely restaurant with beautif ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant with beautiful views of the Red River. The staff is always very friendly and the service is very good.

I wouldn't mind seeing more choice on the menu, but maybe that is yet to come.

Parking is a problem, especially if you are a lone female. It would be great if something could be worked out with the Mere hotel as they charge $10.00 to use their lot, which seems a bit outrageous.

I love the ambiance of this restaurant - makes me feel like I'm in another city somewhere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Riverfront Spot

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

If you're looking for something unique/quaint, well look no more. Situated on the riverbank this old pump house has been turned into a real charmer. Sits right next to the Mere Hotel, which you could recommend to out of town guests. Quick jaunt right into downtown or Old Market Square, also right along the bike path. We really enjoyed the whole experience, and will most definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't expect lunch until later

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Disappointed that we had planned to go there for lunch at 11:30 and they said lunch isn't served until 1:00. We had to choose from a breakfast menu consisting of 5 items. Benedict was on a soggy bun and the sauce was sour. waitresses stopped serving us after we over stayed so left after no one paid us any attention.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Patio dining overlooking the Red River

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Beautiful afternoon for a birthday lunch, I had the The Strip Steak Sandwich, with the fries, my friend had the Clubhouse with fries, plenty of good food, and great service. Our waitress also surprised me with an amazing Chocolate Brownie with Vanilla Ice Cream and a scrumptious mixed berry topping. Very enjoyable!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Try their patio if it's free

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Try their patio if it's free

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My companion had the cibo breakfast and ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My companion had the cibo breakfast and I had the eggs benedict. We both noted that the food was not very hot and that the fried potatoes did not taste fresh. The italian meat served to both of us tasted sour so we did not eat it- we didnt know if that was normal for the meat as we had never eaten it before so we did not complain. I did send back my eggs Benedict as the poached eggs were overcooked-. They brought a fresh serving and actually took my meal off the bill without me asking. The outdoor patio was serene and lovely. I would try it again for lunch or dinner but not breakfast.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

We booked for an early supper hoping to ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We booked for an early supper hoping to get a patio table which we were able to do. However, on checking out the inside we loved the ambiance and moved inside. Our food was very good and reasonably priced. Loved the location and will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch with friends

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Ambiance is great but restaurant was warm (air conditioning not working??). We ordered two individual size pizzas and one was ok the other oven dried. Service was very good though.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

great little spot will go again. definit ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

great little spot will go again. definitely recommended. the was a great guitar player/singer on the night we were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The menu was very limited & unmemorable.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Really disappointed in the menu selection, taste of food and value for money.

Restaurant in a fantastic, romantic, industrial setting, however food totally fell short. Will not go back.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Fantastic restaurant with a great view a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with a great view and a nice little tucked away "great-find" to Winnipeg evening dining.

Would love to see just a few vegan options to the menu though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Evening

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much. I would say our biggest complaint would have been----where to park. The food was very good and our server was excellent------very friendly, outgoing and knew the menu well. We didn't get her name but she did a great job.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cibo...slightly above average? I noticed ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Cibo...slightly above average?

I noticed that the appetizer selection seems to be smaller so it was a little more difficult to do a tapas/sharing style meal. We wanted to try a bit of everything. The bruschetta was interesting with the different choices. The salad we ordered (chicken?) was delicious and was dressed perfectly. The seafood pizza was OK. I love seafood and eat it all of the time but the pizza seemed to be "fishy" smelling. I had heard that if seafood isn't fresh, it can have that fishy smell. In any case, the service, company & wine were excellent!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.