About Cibo Bistro

11244 104 Ave
Edmonton, AB T5K2X4
View Larger Map

“Cibo" (pronounced CHEE-bo) means food in Italian, and that’s what this Italian Bistro is all about. We like to keep the menu simple, tasty, and focused, using fresh local ingredients. Cure our own meats, make our own cheese and hand roll our pasta. We try to make almost everything in house with a menu that changes seasonally.

* Due to the popularity of our weekends, parties of 4 or less are requested to limit their stay to 2 hours in courtesy of reservations booked after them, thank you in advance *


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
104 Ave & 112 Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2426

Website:
http://www.cibobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Tucked away off 104th Ave in Oliver Village picture a garden side patio, and a Bistro adorned with candle lit tables, modern pieces and finished off with old world touches. The 50 seat modern Italian Bistro is perfect for a romantic night out, an intimate evening with friends or a large gathering of family and co-workers. 5 course tasting menus paired with wine are available with reservation. Private bookings are also available for large corporate functions & private parties.

Parking Details:
Cibo Bistro is located in Oliver Village which provides a full size FREE public parking lot. Cibo Bistro's front door faces the garden area, so park where ever you like and walk on over.

Public Transit:
#2, (#112 - #111 weekdays)

One Block walk from Grant Macewan College Bus Hub

Executive Chef:
Rosario Caputo

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special events and dinners are hosted at Cibo Bistro throughout the year. We've been known to bring in wine makers from Italy or host a fun event taking you on a mini trip to Italy for the night. Follow us on twitter @cibobistroedm or like us on Facebook to stay in the know of our upcoming events.

Cibo Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Authentic (15)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Business Meals (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Tapas (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely ambiance. Very good food... How a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely ambiance. Very good food...

How about a. Pre theatre. Special priced menu. From 5-7pm?

On week days at least

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a lovely restaurant in every way ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a lovely restaurant in every way. Pricey but absolutely delicious. The polenta appetizer is, I think, the best starter I have ever had. A fish special was tasty as was my husband's beef and pasta. Service was just right. Will definitely go back for special occasions or just for a glass of wine and that polenta!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We met old friends and had a lovely rela ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We met old friends and had a lovely relaxed meal with attentive service. The pasta special was divine and the sicilian olives and bruschetta always please!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high hopes for this place. We each ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had high hopes for this place. We each ordered the pasta dish and it was lack luster. The pasta was underdone, the portions were small and the sauce was just okay. We also tried the chocolate cake; which was dry. Would not come back since we drove out of our way to come here from downtown core. Even though it was a 9 min ride, I would have rather walked across the street from my office for food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Went out to celebrate birthday with frie ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went out to celebrate birthday with friends. Service was great. Food can be a bit pricey but it was a memorable dining experience. Food was simply amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious as usual!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Delicious as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing arancini, delicious homemade pas ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Amazing arancini, delicious homemade pastas, good portions sizes. Dessert is a bit expensive, but big enough to share

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food did not meet out expectations. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food did not meet out expectations. When you say a dish has truffle in the recipe it should be evident in the flavour. Every dish including the dessert was missing the flavour of the key ingredient. Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It was absolutely amazing as usual. One ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was absolutely amazing as usual. One of my favourite places in Edmonton. I like how if we had questions they would take the time to explain what was in the dish etc. Great recommendations for wine/food pairings as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for our daughter's 21st birthday. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went for our daughter's 21st birthday. We had a later reservation on a Tuesday evening so the restaurant was not busy. The food as always was delicious, but we found that this particular night the food took an inordinate length of time to come out after ordering. This has not been our experience on past visits, and since the restaurant was only about one-quarter full it was not expected. Since we had ordered multiple courses it made for a very long weeknight meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very disappointed with the food. We had ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very disappointed with the food. We had their tasting menu and we're underwhelmed. We will not return and will not recommend to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Will be back as food was very tasteful a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Will be back as food was very tasteful and our server was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb creative gourmet variations on It ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Superb creative gourmet variations on Italian cuisine. A little pricey and not quite as quiet as I crave, but the service is excellent, the food truly wonderful and prepared with care, craft and imagination.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

The food was very good and nice temperat ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very good and nice temperature. My only complaints are that the lights were so dim for the size of writing I could not read the menu and there was a very large group right beside our small intimate table so we couldn't hear each other (and we have perfect hearing and vision). Server was excellent and the Old Fashioned that my husband had was one of the best he has ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We came early and were seated next to ki ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We came early and were seated next to kitchen it was very noisy and they didn't have to seat us There

Food and service were excellent

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Our first experience with Cibo Bistro wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our first experience with Cibo Bistro was absolutely fantastic. The flavours were bold and inspiring. We will most definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for foodies. Wonderful, original ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great for foodies. Wonderful, original dishes. Hidden gem

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had read all the reviews so we knew i ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had read all the reviews so we knew it would be amazing and a bit expensive. It was both. The food and service were outstanding. We had a great waiter who was patient and knowledgeable. We had a main each and shared an anti pasti and a side. We also had a couple glasses of very good wine. All in all a very relaxing 2 hours and left very satisfied. Not main stream prices but also not main stream food. A touch above for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my father for a birthday dinner, we ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Took my father for a birthday dinner, we ordered the tasting menu and a bottle of wine, both of which did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible! The service, a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was incredible! The service, ambiance at this place was fantastic...the attention that our server gave us was great, made us feel special. Highly recommend this restaurant, I am going again :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service! Would recomm ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Very good food and service! Would recommend it! Free parking makes it even easier!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome dinner, as always. Made a last m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Awesome dinner, as always. Made a last minute reservation and wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant and service - food was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great restaurant and service - food was a tad cold but loved everything else . Will definitely be back 👍😃

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a family night out at Cibo Bistro ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We had a family night out at Cibo Bistro in Edmonton and the food was delicious and memorable. The space is pleasant, the service was attentive, and we will definitely be back. All courses were tasty, but the pasta fundata and wild boar tagliatelli were outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything about Cibo Bistro was good... ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything about Cibo Bistro was good....the service, the food, the wine and the ambiance. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything is delicious, but the fish is ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything is delicious, but the fish is absolutely outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal started out great with recommen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The meal started out great with recommendations on wine and a great cheese platter and olives. We were very excited for the pasta special - squash-stuff ravioli in sage butter sauce. I must say we were extremely disappointed. The dish lacked balance and I couldn't decide whether the ravioli was supposed to be dinner or dessert. The pumpkin spices were overwhelming and the squash tasted overcooked/burnt. The saje butter sauce got lost in the overpowering ravioli stuffing. With so many great cheese platters in Edmonton, this one will not bring me back to Cibo.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

My husband and I took our daughter to Ci ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 22, 2016

My husband and I took our daughter to Cibo Bistro to celebrate her work promotion. We've all been there before & thoroughly enjoyed it and this time was no different. The food, service, and ambiance were all excellent. We were there for a late lunch (1:00 p.m.) and had the whole place to ourselves. I hope that's because it was after the usual lunch time. Cibo is a bit pricey, but worth it for the quality of the food. Our daughter has spent quite a bit of time in Italy and she said that the pizza tasted exactly like those she had over there. The service, especially, deserves mention; the young woman who served us was friendly, knowledgeable, and most helpful. I would (and have) recommend Cibo Bistro to anyone looking for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent service and fabulous me ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was excellent service and fabulous meal. Overpriced for the portion sizes

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Cibo Bistro for the first tim ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Cibo Bistro for the first time this past weekend and were quite disappointed. The food was subpar. My husband ordered a medium steak, which came out well down with no pink whatsoever, and I had arctic Char, which had very little flavour. We were so disappointed that we actually went elsewhere for dessert. Our waitress did apologize for the error with the streak and gave us a discount on our bill, but we will still not come back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The steak was fantastic! Love, love, lo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The steak was fantastic! Love, love, love your polenta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply fantastic!!! Great ambiance and e ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Simply fantastic!!!

Great ambiance and excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think we expected more out of CIBO Bis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I think we expected more out of CIBO Bistro when we went for our anniversary dinner, as all the reviews I read online were mostly lunch reviews and I now understand why. The portion size for dinner were very small for how much it cost. The service was great except I wish we could of got a better table, when we arrived another two top table by the window was "Reserved", so we ended up sitting right by the bar. Overall good service and food but not great value.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The Food was excellent and the portion s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Food was excellent and the portion size promoted the ability to share dishes. Nice relaxing atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My favourite restaurant - never a bad pl ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 7, 2016

My favourite restaurant - never a bad plate - outstanding service. My go to for sure. Lisa and Rosario have created a gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Cibo and ou ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our first visit to Cibo and our experience was most enjoyable, from the friendly ,knowledgeable service to the delicious meal. All in all a very pleasant evening. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was so so for the price. Waiter ex ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was so so for the price. Waiter excellent. Too much bass in music. Could only hear the boom boom. Will try other top ten Italian restraints and perhaps get back to you. Thank you.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Loved the food. Absolutely hated the cut ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Loved the food. Absolutely hated the cutlery. Hurt my hands and wrists to use. If ever I return will actually bring my own knives and forks.

I have dined all over the world and never had to complain about cutlery before

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Excellent food and the service was fanta ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and the service was fantastic. My 16 and 18 year old also really enjoyed the food and the service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

You are made welcome and they stage your ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 13, 2016

You are made welcome and they stage your dining to make it enjoyable and not rushed. Excellent food and service and the portion sizes are great. We made a meal of the antipasti selections and the daily specials were a hit. Ricotta and spinach stuffed squash blossoms in tempura batter with tomato ragu and a perfectly executed angliotti. Bruschetta was refreshing in that not a tomato or raw onion in sight...loved the crispy pork belly with apple and the two cheese offerings with garden vegetables. Finished off with a tasty arugula salad with Regianno. Definitely go back when in Edmonton again. Have already suggested friends check it out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.