Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Cibo Bistro

4.7
498 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
“Cibo" (pronounced CHEE-bo) means food in Italian, and that’s what this Italian Bistro is all about. We like to keep the menu simple, tasty, and focused, using fresh local ingredients. Cure our own meats, make our own cheese and hand roll our pasta. We make almost everything in house with a menu that changes seasonally.

* Due to the popularity of our weekends, parties of 4 or less are requested to limit their stay to 2 hours in courtesy of reservations booked after them, thank you in advance *

Large parties of 6 or more will be charged an automatic gratuity of 18%

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 757-2426
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Rosario Caputo
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
104 Ave & 112 Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Cibo Bistro is located in Oliver Village which provides a full size Public parking lot with FREE parking with registration of licence plate. Cibo Bistro's front door faces the garden area, so park where ever you like and walk on over.

Starting August 2016 guests will be required to register their licence plate in a tablet located at the front door. Failure to do so will result in a $75 ticket.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
#2, (#112 - #111 weekdays)

One Block walk from Grant Macewan College Bus Hub
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Tucked away off 104th Ave in Oliver Village picture a garden side patio, and a Bistro adorned with candle lit tables, modern pieces and old world touches. The 50 seat modern Italian Bistro is perfect for a romantic night out, an intimate evening with friends or a large gathering of family and co-workers. Private bookings are also available for large corporate functions & private parties.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Special events and dinners are hosted at Cibo Bistro throughout the year. We've been known to bring in wine makers from Italy or host a fun event taking you on a mini trip to Italy for the night. Follow us on twitter @cibobistroedm or like us on Facebook to stay in the know of our upcoming events.

Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 498 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We arrived early but was able to be seated right away. The owner waited on us. She told us about the restaurant and is offerings. They cater to the date night needs of allowing you to share throughout the entire menu and will split the larger dishes. Drinks are very reasonably priced. They serve the courses much like an authentic Italian restaurant would with ample timing between to savour the flavours and converse with your date. We were treated to two truffles and dessert squares when the check came.
Very good service. Great tasty food leaving you full and satisfied.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

the appetizers were good but a little small for the price (ie pollenta fritta and salad ) total =$31 and literally was 1/2 the size of comparable appies in similar restaurants.
Pasta - she had Garganelli for $27...again very good but a little pricey I had Mint Bigoli - interesting flavors again good but not a large portion so we decided to split Guance di Maiale – braised pork cheeks, parsnip puree, rainbow carrot salad, rosemary demi - $37 - it was sooo good but again...smallish portion for the price. Overall food was very good but price to portion ratio is off a little...my advise to CIBO - either increase portions or lower prices a little on appies, pastas and mains.
Dessert - she had Chocolate Cake – $12 very rich and dense but tasty. I had chef special Tiramisu canoli - this was a miss...Cannoli shell was nice and crisp and fresh but filling was basically ricotta and cream plus it was only slightly bigger than a lipstick case

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Excellent food, creatively composed and presented, great wait staff, excellent wine list. Can't ask for much more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We came for an early meal during the week. The food and wine was delicious. A very nice selection. We shared a cheese board and two of the pasta dishes. The room was a bit chilly and we needed to keep our sweaters on. Our server was fantastic. She had a very good knowledge of the menu and features. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great food, service, and atmosphere. We'll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Cibo, is our favourite place in Edmonton, for amazing food. We are never disappointed in the quality and freshness of their tasty menu. Lisa and her team provide the best service to complete an amazing dinning experience. We can’t say enough good things about Cibo!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The service my wife and I received was excellent. The restaurant has a nice ambiance and the food as very good. Several dishes incorporated in season produce very nicely. The cocktails were also very well done.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Overall, everything was very good... but nothing was amazing in terms of taste, or stood out in terms of creativity or plating (although I know this can be challenging with pasta). The staff were so great I almost hate to say this, but for the price you pay, just go to Corso. Similar price, unforgettable food. They do have a lovely patio though, so I’d definitely return for lunch or drinks and desserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Another amazing dining experience at Cibo. Lisa and Rosario never disappoint - service and food are outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Fresh food, friendly service, great atmosphere! I would highly recommend for anyone who enjoys authentic Italian dishes...with creative flair.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Service was great - lovely wine reasonably priced. Excellent polenta!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Meal was excellent. Great mixing of flavours. Just the right amount of food. the Panna Cotta is superb

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Cibo is a lovely little spot with great ambience and a wonderful, creative, ever-changing menu. My only complaint is the same as the other two times I've been - someone in the kitchen over-salts the food consistently. Otherwise, the fresh pasta is fantastic and I believe the ricotta is house-made, and is totally addictive. The service is also warm and friendly and very professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

First time dining at CIBO. We would definately go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Cibo has become our "go - to" place in central Edmonton. We know we can count on tasty, beautifully-prepared food with excellent service. Quite simply, a great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great food and wonderful service. The ambiance was really nice and the location is very convenient and easy to find parking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Service was outstanding. The place itself is very nice. The food was just ok. The antipasti were very good, the Bogoli and Raviolini were also good if a little over salted. Unfortunately the Garganelli was a bad miss with the pasta way undercooked, almost crunchy, even after both were sent back for a second attempt. We were told they are egg based and that's just how they are. Well I guess that just means we won't be back. They did take both off the bill which was appreciated. Too high of expectations maybe?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I LOVED the chocolate cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D & zee pasta of course #ciao

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The bistecca was very salty. The waiter said that that was a product of cooking down the ragu. Doesn’t happen in my house, so should not happen there. The restaurant was highly rated in the annual Avenue Magazine restaurant review. Personally, I was disappointed. Wait service was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We stopped in after making a last minute reservation on the way to the hockey game on a Saturday night. We were pleasantly surprised to find parking with no hassle. Our server was gracious in pointing out which items to avoid in order to make it to the game on time. The evening was pleasant despite our rush, the pasta was tasty and we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Fantastic night. The staff was so accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. I can’t recommend this place enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great food! Wonderful Service! Great dining experience!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Overall good, pasta and roasted caulk were very good but lamb shank was disappointing bland. Great desserts, nice cocktails. Ambience is lacking, room really lacks a focus, feels a little cold and detached.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Excellent, well crafted appetizer and the perfect pasta, what else do you need? Service was very friendly and highly attentive, without being obtrusive.
Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Always a pleasure, always delicious. Love this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Perfect date restaurant. Amazing food, the service is wonderful (not around you all night but around when you need something) and the establishment itself is very nice. Would recommend to anyone celebrating a special occasion or just a date night. 10/10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

This place was great. Hubby and I went for a romantic date and being pregnant I was so thrilled to learn that all of their cheese is pasteurized. Our server was so knowledgeable and very sweet and the food was excellent and prompt. I also enjoyed how there was a large fresh bouquet of flowers in the ladies restroom- just a nice touch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The food, service, ambiance and wine were Amazing! Everything was hot, fresh and savoury. I wish I had more room to eat! Our server Dagni was knowledgeable and friendly. We were sharing plates to get the most out of the experience and they even split our food up for us. They even called our cab for us when we were leaving. It was worth every penny and I will definitely be going back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Not much to say that I have not said a few times before - this is one of the city's most reliable restaurants - delicious, delicious food, courteous, efficient service and a beautiful room. And ample free parking. Cannot beat it. Just love this place. TT

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The potato soup had an odd flavour and the beet salad was okay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Cibo is a great restaurant. The food is very creative, prepared with distinction. The service was very knowledgeable and the ambiance is very romantic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great place to go for 2 for a quiet setting were you can have aconversation

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Take it or Leave it. The server was awesome. The food was fine. Don't regret going but wouldn't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Exceptionally superior, well prepared and pleasingly displayed servings. Server, quietly professional, and well versed on menu items. Courses well spaced. Moderately expensive.
Perfect for special occasions. Free parking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Lovely environment. Wonderful food. We’ll definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

It was a quiet relaxed evening for my birthday! It was awesome! And the food was delish!

Overall a great experience, my friend said he Bolognese was slightly salty but otherwise it was perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

A great meal . The house-cured salumi, copa this evening, is always excellent, and the polpo (octopus) is my six year old daughter's favorite. The hand-made garganelli with braised oxtail and sunchokes was fantastic, and the braised pork cheek secondi was also delicious. We had a nice side of beets with pistacios and ricotta, and finished off with their zeppole (limoncello mascarpone doughnuts). Service was excellent.

This is my favorite restaurant in Edmonton. I've been to Italy a number of times, and for me Cibo is on par with many of the best restaurants I'd been to in great food cities like Bologna, Modena, Terviso, Alba, Rome, and others throughout Tuscany and Piemonte.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The service was fantastic and honestly the appetizers were incredible. However the mains left something to be desired. My date had a rigatoni dish which had excellent flavour, however the pasta noodles were, as our server put it, egg based and therefore remain very aldente. It really took away from the dish.
I had a the gnocchi and short rib special, that had excellent texture but no flavour.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for post event drinks and appetizers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Great service, great food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Late birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13

Tweets by Cibo Bistro