About Cibo Bistro

11244 104 Ave
Edmonton, AB T5K2X4
View Larger Map

“Cibo" (pronounced CHEE-bo) means food in Italian, and that’s what this Italian Bistro is all about. We like to keep the menu simple, tasty, and focused, using fresh local ingredients. Cure our own meats, make our own cheese and hand roll our pasta. We try to make almost everything in house with a menu that changes seasonally.

* Due to the popularity of our weekends, parties of 4 or less are requested to limit their stay to 2 hours in courtesy of reservations booked after them, thank you in advance *


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
104 Ave & 112 Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2426

Website:
http://www.cibobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Tucked away off 104th Ave in Oliver Village picture a garden side patio, and a Bistro adorned with candle lit tables, modern pieces and finished off with old world touches. The 50 seat modern Italian Bistro is perfect for a romantic night out, an intimate evening with friends or a large gathering of family and co-workers. 5 course tasting menus paired with wine are available with reservation. Private bookings are also available for large corporate functions & private parties.

Parking Details:
Cibo Bistro is located in Oliver Village which provides a full size FREE public parking lot. Cibo Bistro's front door faces the garden area, so park where ever you like and walk on over.

Public Transit:
#2, (#112 - #111 weekdays)

One Block walk from Grant Macewan College Bus Hub

Executive Chef:
Rosario Caputo

Additional:
Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special events and dinners are hosted at Cibo Bistro throughout the year. We've been known to bring in wine makers from Italy or host a fun event taking you on a mini trip to Italy for the night. Follow us on twitter @cibobistroedm or like us on Facebook to stay in the know of our upcoming events.

Cibo Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

fit for foodies (54)
special occasion (45)
neighborhood gem (36)
See All
romantic (35)
notable wine list (27)
great for lunch (20)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Attentive service, pasta special delicio ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Attentive service, pasta special delicious and cheese board an adventure for taste buds

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This is my favorite Italian restaurant i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This is my favorite Italian restaurant in Edmonton. Have dined here numerous times and am never disappointed. Dinner menu is amazing, lunch menu covers the basics and the food is always delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance; food was good but not ou ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great ambiance; food was good but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Always a great experience! Food is firs ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a great experience! Food is first class - innovative, fresh, locally inspired!!! Delicious!

Nina, Chef Rosario , (Lisa - night off!!) fantastic service - superb cuisine... Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional Service and Very Accomodating

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were so pleased with this restaurant. We arrive a little late for our reservation but they had no issue. We were sat immediately. I am Gluten intolerant. The server was very familiar and gave me my options immediately.

All food was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was great. Definitely will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent meal served family style. This ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

excellent meal served family style. This is by far the best way to appreciate this restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An Enjoyable Dichotomy

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The service, atmosphere and overall dining experience was exemplary. I thoroughly enjoyed our side dishes and complimentary truffle treat at the end. The mains, however were not memorable and on the overly pricey side.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food, A bit pricey

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner here although I did have a few negative points. For one, we had made a reservation at off hours and they plunked us in the middle of the restaurant in front of the till. I'm not sure why since all the other tables were empty... also I felt the food was EXTREMELY pricey. We ordered the salumi as an appetizer and I was seriously not expecting the minuscule amount we got for the price. However, our service was outstanding and the food was, of course, amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We would definitely come back - the food ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We would definitely come back - the food was excellent as was the service. The menu was perfect size - not too much but what we did have was superb. Each course surprised and delighted us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I recently had a thoroughly ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I recently had a thoroughly enjoyable evening at CIBO Bistro. The food, service, and ambience were outstanding. We will definitely be back and would definitely recommend CIBO Bistro to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst "high end" restaurant dining exper ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Worst "high end" restaurant dining experience.

Pappardelle came out all clumped in one piece.

Ribeye was very tough and chewy with a lot of gristle.

Wine tasted like the bottle was open for a week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The food is excellent. The culinary team ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is excellent. The culinary team have hit a high note with quality and creativity. It's a must-repeat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

lunch

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

the options for gluten free items were limited at lunch,however the dinner menu looks very promising. the great thing is that 2 out of 3 desserts were gluten free---which was a real treat! the pana cotta was excellent. our server was great checking out the ingredients to make sure items were gluten free.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lunch menu at Cibo is limited - prob ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The lunch menu at Cibo is limited - probably twelve items tops - and yet, with the options available, we still have trouble making up our minds. That's what happens when every single item is delicious - so introspection is required. Do I feel like one of their hand-crafted pasta choices? Or a thin crust pizza? The baby arugula salad has virtue on its side, and so it goes... I am always dubious about kitchens that have too many options. How can what you're making in that kitchen be fresh when there are literally 50 dishes on the menu? I love Cibo for lunch because it is fresh, it is delicious, it is served promptly and it is great, great value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointing, lunch menu very limi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Very disappointing, lunch menu very limited. Arrived a few minutes before 11:30 told to come back as staff was just setting up. This raised flags but because my friend from Mexico was to meet me there, I did not have time to contact her to make other arrangements so we persevered and shared the soup and a horrible thin crust pizza which was barely edible. Will not return to this place for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

to start our meal, chef Caputo sent over ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

to start our meal, chef Caputo sent over a glass of prosecco, thats a great way to start a meal, our riccotta appetizer was fantastic, we also shared the halibut and the steak entree, both equally amazing. our server checked in on us just enough, and the doughnuts to finish were delightfully fluffy. my entire experience was amazing, i will be back next time i am in town for sure!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends` Anniversary

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Pretty pricey by my standards but the food and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always delicious, never had anyt ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food is always delicious, never had anything on the menu, we didn't like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not what I was expecting

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

I have been to Italy and I see that they are trying to create a true Italian environment. Sorry, maybe I don't appreciate fine dining anymore, but I found the prices significantly above average and the portions relatively small. Good variety of higher end items, but overall it is not a place I would recommend to someone else.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

My wife and I recently had a wonderful e ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I recently had a wonderful evening at CIBO Bistro. The food was outstanding as was the service. We would both heartily recommend CIBO Bistro to all of our friends and we intend to return soon. It was a superb experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and Food

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was really tasty and just the right amount. The chocolate and the shortbread at the end was so good too. We would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First timer - Taste doesn't match its Price

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My friend and I chose this restaurant because we wanted to try good Italian food and apparently the Cibo Restaurant ranked amongst the top in the city. We ordered "Salumi", "Fedelini alle Vongole", "Agnolotti", Chocolate Cake, 2 glasses of red (2009 Shardana Valli Di Porto Pino IGT) , and a special gelato of that evening. None of the dishes are outstanding to us. The clams in the Fedelini alle Vongole were tiny and the sphagetti was dry. The waitress was very friendly and polite. But for the price and the taste of the food, my friend and I decided that we will not go back for the second time. If you like delicious food and don't mind paying a little more, I would totally recommend "Rdg Road" over this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Celebrated my wife's birthday here and a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday here and all I can say is the food is incredible as well as the service! We will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Surprise

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Our server was fantastic and was outstanding with her wine pairing recommendations. The food was also very good and all four in our group left very happy with the dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pastas as cooked perfectly al dente, foo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Pastas as cooked perfectly al dente, food is an experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding !

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Cibo still remains as one of Edmonton's best restaurants for food quality and innovation along with excellent service! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, Cibo Bistro was disappointing. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Overall, Cibo Bistro was disappointing. The service was good at first but quickly dropped off until it was time for the bill. The pasta was unpalatable due to being too heavy on the salt and pepper. I couldn't tell if it was the salt or pepper that was burning my lips and throat. My friends enjoyed their steaks and bruschetta though. We will not be back due to our negative experience; however, do recommend trying non pasta dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

ITALIAN FARE JUST SO-SO

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The arancini balls and Sicilian olives were delicious, however the buckwheat papardelle noodles in mushroom ragu left a lot to be desired.

The ragu was non-existent and the noodles just had no taste. Why not cook with regular parpadelle noodles and quit skimping on the sauce.

Pretty expensive dish to boot!

Dessert was much tastier. Those limoncello donuts were light and fluffy with a nice dusting of icing sugar.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Be adventurous with the Italian wine sel ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Be adventurous with the Italian wine selection, the servers are very informed and helpful. The Arrancini are amazing....and the Octopus a delicacy if you dare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as always and excellent servi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Great food as always and excellent service. Still one of our favourite places to take friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Lunch with the ladies

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

I went for lunch with my mom and my sister. We were all surprised (pleasantly!) buy the food. The polenta appetizer and the lemoncello donuts in particular were hits. This is a great place for a casual lunch, but I'd love to try them for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very authentic Italian

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The polenta fries with aioli served in a brown paper cornet were delicious! I'd go back just for those - but share or you'll spoil your dinner. The beef steak with rapini and heritage tomatoes was excellent and a very generous serving. Cooked perfectly! Had a side of potatoes roasted in duck fat which seemed pricy at $11 but was well worth ignoring your diet.

Very attentive service and good advice on wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Must try

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Superb food, great staff and a little pricey. 1 entree, 2 appetizers, 1 dessert, 1 cappuccino and 1 glass of wine will run you about $115 with tip. Best cappuccino in Edmonton!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We'll be back for sure...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was out third time dining at Cibo. It has never disappointed us. Ambiance, service and food are all top notch. At not no time did we feel rushed, our server was very attentive and the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Great appetizers. Rabbit ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Very good food. Great appetizers. Rabbit leg was slightly over cooked/dry. Only real issue was the service. The waitress seemed to be in a big rush in interactions even though it was a slow night. Also they seated a couple right beside us so close you felt you were together even though the restaurant was close to empty. Seemed odd.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious and original food.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Delicious and original food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey and pretentious

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I have been to Cibo 4 times - each time I walk away with a sense that the food is great but the portions are too small and the value is not there. Everytime I go I expect it will be a better experience than it is. I won't try again - there are other places where the food is as good and the value is significantly higher

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Fabulous pasta and starters

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We recently enjoyed delectable starters -- octopus, arancini and veal meatballs were outstanding. Would have been sufficient as they were filling, but the special wild boar ravioli and sable fish entries were outstanding. Great service too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved our first meal at Cibo Bistro, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We loved our first meal at Cibo Bistro, and will definitely return to try more of the menu. Our meal was outstanding, and the service was excellent . We didn't love our table, which was right in front of a decorative glass wall immediately inside the entry. I suspect that table was added in and not part of the original design. Next time, we will ask for different seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.