About Cibo Bistro

11244 104 Ave
Edmonton, AB T5K2X4
View Larger Map

“Cibo" (pronounced CHEE-bo) means food in Italian, and that’s what this Italian Bistro is all about. We like to keep the menu simple, tasty, and focused, using fresh local ingredients. Cure our own meats, make our own cheese and hand roll our pasta. We try to make almost everything in house with a menu that changes seasonally.

* Due to the popularity of our weekends, parties of 4 or less are requested to limit their stay to 2 hours in courtesy of reservations booked after them, thank you in advance *

Large parties of 8 or more will be charged an automatic gratuity of 18%

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
104 Ave & 112 Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2426

Website:
http://www.cibobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Tucked away off 104th Ave in Oliver Village picture a garden side patio, and a Bistro adorned with candle lit tables, modern pieces and finished off with old world touches. The 50 seat modern Italian Bistro is perfect for a romantic night out, an intimate evening with friends or a large gathering of family and co-workers. 5 course tasting menus paired with wine are available with reservation. Private bookings are also available for large corporate functions & private parties.

Parking Details:
Cibo Bistro is located in Oliver Village which provides a full size FREE public parking lot. Cibo Bistro's front door faces the garden area, so park where ever you like and walk on over.

Starting August 2016 guests will be required to register their licence plate in a tablet located at the front door. Failure to do so will result in a $75 ticket.

Public Transit:
#2, (#112 - #111 weekdays)

One Block walk from Grant Macewan College Bus Hub

Executive Chef:
Rosario Caputo

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special events and dinners are hosted at Cibo Bistro throughout the year. We've been known to bring in wine makers from Italy or host a fun event taking you on a mini trip to Italy for the night. Follow us on twitter @cibobistroedm or like us on Facebook to stay in the know of our upcoming events.

Cibo Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (26)
Cozy (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (19)
Authentic (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Tapas (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, wonderful knowledgeable server, lots of wine choices and of course great food. A nice evening out in a relaxed atmosphere. You have to order sides to accompany your meal so a little more expensive then you might find elsewhere. The quality of food and service was excellent.

Overall a great night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Some of the best Italian food I have ever put in my mouth. Service was excellent. Wine pairing was spot on. Highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very friendly staff that was so helpful with everything. The food was excellent I will come again soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent restaurant, best service in Edmonton and the food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food beautifully presented by servers who know the food. I rarely eat out as I usually feel ripped off by poor quality food served by servers who are not invested in their work.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Each part of our 4 course meal was delicious. The service was good and the ambiance was cozy and romantic - fit for our valentines day dinner. I didn't know about Cibo Bistro until i found it on OpenTable. Definitely recommend for a dinner for 2.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and service I would go back again for sure! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Italian restaurant. Service , Food and Atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was fantastic! Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Felt satisfied after lunch not stuffed. The wine and beer prices were quite high.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Cibo is amazing. From the decor to the food to the staff. Always leave with my belly full and happy and I go to see the amazing Lisa Caputo and Ashley Selig who is the most amazing server ever that makes you feel like you are at home with family.

If you have not been here, I highly recommend it.

Chef Rosario Caputo is a force to be reckoned with. His feature sandwiches and bruschetta trios blow my mind every time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had the chef's menu, it was great. More than enough food, great service! Lots of unique and tasty cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Another fantastic meal, I love the surprise and joy that comes from the tasting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome Osso Bucco! Portion sizes were excellent for a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

From the moment we walked in the door, we were made to feel very welcome. Our waitress was simply outstanding in every way - she obviously really likes what she does and is a real professional. The food was great, and the pace of service was just right. Overall, an excellent evening with good friends, which we will repeat soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and lovely service. The server was great at describing the menu and suggesting things when we couldn't quite decide. The drinks were amazing and I highly recommend the arancini balls.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I love this restaurant. Food is consistently delicious; service is outstanding, and the ambiance is great. I have eaten here for dinner with a friend and a large group from the office or a family birthday. Always exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing food!! Wish I could try everything on the menu, so I will definitely be back

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was amazing and the food outstanding! They at just as good if not better than Corso32!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fireplace, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything great except the lamb! The ribs were not very warm and the terrine was tepid. Was it supposed to be that way? Ravioli, cheese tray, salumi, black cod, salad, osso bucco was great though!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Cibo puts out fantastic food, period. This restaurant is one of the best dining experiences in Edmonton. Located in the easy to access Oliver Square, Cibo has a menu that is creative and crafted with care. The food is delicious and exciting. The atmosphere is quite pleasant, with soft music that does not interfere with conversation. The menu is more on the expensive side, but the overall experience from the waiters and the chefs is worth every penny. I would recommend asking the servers what they recommend, your taste buds will not be disappointed. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion for any group size.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wow! That was my favourite meal I've had at this restaurant and I've been here many times. The sable fish was the highlight and unfortunately it didn't last. It was perfectly cooked with no dry spots or under-cooked areas. The Barolo went well with everything. The Tagliatelle was Al dente. The hazelnut chocolate dessert was not too sweet and rounded it off well. It was a good way to celebrate before going back to school.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Cibo never disappoints. The food is exceptional and decidedly modern but clearly crafted by those with knowledge of authentic italian cuisine. The service and aesthetic are casual and inviting. Will absolutely make a point of coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Service was great.

Pasta dishes were incredibly salty all around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went to Cibo for a date night, and it was perfect. We came early, shortly after they opened, and the place was very quiet and welcoming. Our server was incredibly friendly and helpful -- she wasn't afraid to laugh at herself either. The food was wonderful (forgive my lack of memory for names though): we started with the Ricotta Cakes which my wife loved, though I enjoyed them a little less. I had the lamb and she had pasta with a duck ragu -- both absolutely excellent. We finished our meal with the "donuts". Overall, excellent service and great food. Would recommend, but ensure you're willing to pay their prices (ours was ~$130 including a couple glasses of wine).

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Brought Clients in for Lunch. It was a GREAT atmosphere, GREAT Service, GREAT Food! I will definitely recommend this place and will go again to try the dinner menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Knowledgable staff. Awesome food. Subtle and rich flavours. Did the chefs menu. Will definitely recommend and visit again. Don't expect franchise dining, this is proper traditional Italian with a little twist here and there. Pleasant atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, in all aspects !! Every time we visit Cibo Bistro we are treated to fantastic food and service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

On my third visit to Cibo, I think it's getting even better...This was quite simply one of the best meals I have had in Edmonton. Arancini were sublime, octopus popped with flavour, tortellini in brodo was remarkable, and the lamb was succulent. Such gorgeous blending of flavours and textures in a beautiful space, with effortless service. As much as I love Corso 32, I am thinking that Cibo just may have eclipsed it in quality.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We are 4 ladies who dine together monthly. We have returned to Cibo many times. This is, in our opinion, one of the best restaurants in Edmonton. The food is always delicious from the appetizers right through to dessert. We love the arancini, we all enjoyed the feature soup (changes regularly) and the accompanying bread. We couldn't resist the bread pudding for dessert. The coffee and wine completed a wonderful dining experience. Our server, Ashley, was just perfect. Thank you to all at Cibo.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The flavors of the pasta were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The more I go, the more I love this restaurant. Never disappointed and constantly delighted by the food and the hospitality. Chef Rosario Caputo also signed my copy of the Edmonton Cooks cookbook I picked up there last week. Thanks Chef!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Friendly staff, good food.

Food choices were excellant.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Had high hopes that were quickly dashed. The food was good but lacked the "wow" factor - very pedestrian and VERY overpriced...for instance we were charged ala carte pricing for French bread that wasn't French bread - looked like Safeway loaves. Our server took forever, effusive when he finally bothered to come back. Very unimpressed, don't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Lovely ambiance. Very good food...

How about a. Pre theatre. Special priced menu. From 5-7pm?

On week days at least

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 30, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant in every way. Pricey but absolutely delicious. The polenta appetizer is, I think, the best starter I have ever had. A fish special was tasty as was my husband's beef and pasta. Service was just right. Will definitely go back for special occasions or just for a glass of wine and that polenta!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We met old friends and had a lovely relaxed meal with attentive service. The pasta special was divine and the sicilian olives and bruschetta always please!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had high hopes for this place. We each ordered the pasta dish and it was lack luster. The pasta was underdone, the portions were small and the sauce was just okay. We also tried the chocolate cake; which was dry. Would not come back since we drove out of our way to come here from downtown core. Even though it was a 9 min ride, I would have rather walked across the street from my office for food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went out to celebrate birthday with friends. Service was great. Food can be a bit pricey but it was a memorable dining experience. Food was simply amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Delicious as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Amazing arancini, delicious homemade pastas, good portions sizes. Dessert is a bit expensive, but big enough to share

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food did not meet out expectations. When you say a dish has truffle in the recipe it should be evident in the flavour. Every dish including the dessert was missing the flavour of the key ingredient. Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was absolutely amazing as usual. One of my favourite places in Edmonton. I like how if we had questions they would take the time to explain what was in the dish etc. Great recommendations for wine/food pairings as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went for our daughter's 21st birthday. We had a later reservation on a Tuesday evening so the restaurant was not busy. The food as always was delicious, but we found that this particular night the food took an inordinate length of time to come out after ordering. This has not been our experience on past visits, and since the restaurant was only about one-quarter full it was not expected. Since we had ordered multiple courses it made for a very long weeknight meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very disappointed with the food. We had their tasting menu and we're underwhelmed. We will not return and will not recommend to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Will be back as food was very tasteful and our server was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Superb creative gourmet variations on Italian cuisine. A little pricey and not quite as quiet as I crave, but the service is excellent, the food truly wonderful and prepared with care, craft and imagination.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very good and nice temperature. My only complaints are that the lights were so dim for the size of writing I could not read the menu and there was a very large group right beside our small intimate table so we couldn't hear each other (and we have perfect hearing and vision). Server was excellent and the Old Fashioned that my husband had was one of the best he has ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We came early and were seated next to kitchen it was very noisy and they didn't have to seat us There

Food and service were excellent

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our first experience with Cibo Bistro was absolutely fantastic. The flavours were bold and inspiring. We will most definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.