About Cibo Bistro

11244 104 Ave
Edmonton, AB T5K2X4
View Larger Map

“Cibo" (pronounced CHEE-bo) means food in Italian, and that’s what this Italian Bistro is all about. We like to keep the menu simple, tasty, and focused, using fresh local ingredients. Cure our own meats, make our own cheese and hand roll our pasta. We try to make almost everything in house with a menu that changes seasonally.

* Due to the popularity of our weekends, parties of 4 or less are requested to limit their stay to 2 hours in courtesy of reservations booked after them, thank you in advance *


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
104 Ave & 112 Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2426

Website:
http://www.cibobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Tucked away off 104th Ave in Oliver Village picture a garden side patio, and a Bistro adorned with candle lit tables, modern pieces and finished off with old world touches. The 50 seat modern Italian Bistro is perfect for a romantic night out, an intimate evening with friends or a large gathering of family and co-workers. 5 course tasting menus paired with wine are available with reservation. Private bookings are also available for large corporate functions & private parties.

Parking Details:
Cibo Bistro is located in Oliver Village which provides a full size FREE public parking lot. Cibo Bistro's front door faces the garden area, so park where ever you like and walk on over.

Public Transit:
#2, (#112 - #111 weekdays)

One Block walk from Grant Macewan College Bus Hub

Executive Chef:
Rosario Caputo

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special events and dinners are hosted at Cibo Bistro throughout the year. We've been known to bring in wine makers from Italy or host a fun event taking you on a mini trip to Italy for the night. Follow us on twitter @cibobistroedm or like us on Facebook to stay in the know of our upcoming events.

Cibo Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Italian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
4 More
Best Service
Edmonton
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Italian
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Fit for Foodies (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Casual (5)
Tapas (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything about Cibo Bistro was good... ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything about Cibo Bistro was good....the service, the food, the wine and the ambiance. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything is delicious, but the fish is ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything is delicious, but the fish is absolutely outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal started out great with recommen ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

The meal started out great with recommendations on wine and a great cheese platter and olives. We were very excited for the pasta special - squash-stuff ravioli in sage butter sauce. I must say we were extremely disappointed. The dish lacked balance and I couldn't decide whether the ravioli was supposed to be dinner or dessert. The pumpkin spices were overwhelming and the squash tasted overcooked/burnt. The saje butter sauce got lost in the overpowering ravioli stuffing. With so many great cheese platters in Edmonton, this one will not bring me back to Cibo.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

My husband and I took our daughter to Ci ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I took our daughter to Cibo Bistro to celebrate her work promotion. We've all been there before & thoroughly enjoyed it and this time was no different. The food, service, and ambiance were all excellent. We were there for a late lunch (1:00 p.m.) and had the whole place to ourselves. I hope that's because it was after the usual lunch time. Cibo is a bit pricey, but worth it for the quality of the food. Our daughter has spent quite a bit of time in Italy and she said that the pizza tasted exactly like those she had over there. The service, especially, deserves mention; the young woman who served us was friendly, knowledgeable, and most helpful. I would (and have) recommend Cibo Bistro to anyone looking for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent service and fabulous me ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was excellent service and fabulous meal. Overpriced for the portion sizes

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Cibo Bistro for the first tim ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Cibo Bistro for the first time this past weekend and were quite disappointed. The food was subpar. My husband ordered a medium steak, which came out well down with no pink whatsoever, and I had arctic Char, which had very little flavour. We were so disappointed that we actually went elsewhere for dessert. Our waitress did apologize for the error with the streak and gave us a discount on our bill, but we will still not come back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The steak was fantastic! Love, love, lo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The steak was fantastic! Love, love, love your polenta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I think we expected more out of CIBO Bis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I think we expected more out of CIBO Bistro when we went for our anniversary dinner, as all the reviews I read online were mostly lunch reviews and I now understand why. The portion size for dinner were very small for how much it cost. The service was great except I wish we could of got a better table, when we arrived another two top table by the window was "Reserved", so we ended up sitting right by the bar. Overall good service and food but not great value.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The Food was excellent and the portion s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Food was excellent and the portion size promoted the ability to share dishes. Nice relaxing atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My favourite restaurant - never a bad pl ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My favourite restaurant - never a bad plate - outstanding service. My go to for sure. Lisa and Rosario have created a gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Cibo and ou ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our first visit to Cibo and our experience was most enjoyable, from the friendly ,knowledgeable service to the delicious meal. All in all a very pleasant evening. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was so so for the price. Waiter ex ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was so so for the price. Waiter excellent. Too much bass in music. Could only hear the boom boom. Will try other top ten Italian restraints and perhaps get back to you. Thank you.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Loved the food. Absolutely hated the cut ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Loved the food. Absolutely hated the cutlery. Hurt my hands and wrists to use. If ever I return will actually bring my own knives and forks.

I have dined all over the world and never had to complain about cutlery before

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Excellent food and the service was fanta ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and the service was fantastic. My 16 and 18 year old also really enjoyed the food and the service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

You are made welcome and they stage your ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

You are made welcome and they stage your dining to make it enjoyable and not rushed. Excellent food and service and the portion sizes are great. We made a meal of the antipasti selections and the daily specials were a hit. Ricotta and spinach stuffed squash blossoms in tempura batter with tomato ragu and a perfectly executed angliotti. Bruschetta was refreshing in that not a tomato or raw onion in sight...loved the crispy pork belly with apple and the two cheese offerings with garden vegetables. Finished off with a tasty arugula salad with Regianno. Definitely go back when in Edmonton again. Have already suggested friends check it out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Edmonton! Great food ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best restaurant in Edmonton! Great food and service. Always something new or interesting to try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu had something for all members o ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The menu had something for all members of the party. The wine list was excellent and complemented the menu entrees. The service was excellent, attentive (but not too attentive) and their knowledge of ingredients was good.

Will be going back and will recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have not been to Cibo since last summe ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I have not been to Cibo since last summer, and was not disappointed with my expectations. The server was spot on with recommendations as to food and dishes appropriate for sharing. The wine list was extensive enough to cover every pallet and price range. We started out with the grilled octopus: crunchy, grilled to perfection. Next came our mains: arctic char and the rib-eye. Both were amazing, and you could cut the beef with a fork. You can tell the staff take a great deal of pride in their establishment, wanting to treat their diners as personal guests. We finished with the lemon "doughnuts", which were light and airy. Definitely good for sharing. This was a dining experience I will not soon forget.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. I w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food and service were excellent. I will definitely be retuning and recommending Cibo to my family and friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with impeccable service. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food with impeccable service. The drink and wine menu is hand selected. And the wait staff are highly educated in each menu item and it's wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went for the expensive option. It was ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I went for the expensive option. It was the 5 course chef's choice. The choices were excellent and paired with my smooth and grassy Super Tuscan really well. The highlight was the perfectly cooked duck. The zucchini was another good choice. The unexpected highlight was eavesdropping on the chef's stories of a recent trip to Italy where I now have confirmation that Famoso's pizza has a too soft crust making it floppy which is not the case in Italy. I dined outdoors and it was nice and quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Appetizer was excellent, although main c ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Appetizer was excellent, although main course was only satisfactory. Wine list is impressive. The cutlery was nouveau, but hard to manage. Service was brilliant!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

always a great time. We love the food at ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

always a great time. We love the food at this gem and the new waiter Mark was fun and knowledgeable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super Delicious food in a traditional It ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Super Delicious food in a traditional Italian format

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about Cibo was on point. Drin ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything about Cibo was on point. Drinks were great. Food was delicious! Service was excellent. We were never rushed, and the meal was paced perfectly. We'll certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service, pasta special delicio ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Attentive service, pasta special delicious and cheese board an adventure for taste buds

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This is my favorite Italian restaurant i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This is my favorite Italian restaurant in Edmonton. Have dined here numerous times and am never disappointed. Dinner menu is amazing, lunch menu covers the basics and the food is always delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance; food was good but not ou ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great ambiance; food was good but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Always a great experience! Food is firs ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a great experience! Food is first class - innovative, fresh, locally inspired!!! Delicious!

Nina, Chef Rosario , (Lisa - night off!!) fantastic service - superb cuisine... Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional Service and Very Accomodating

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were so pleased with this restaurant. We arrive a little late for our reservation but they had no issue. We were sat immediately. I am Gluten intolerant. The server was very familiar and gave me my options immediately.

All food was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was great. Definitely will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent meal served family style. This ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

excellent meal served family style. This is by far the best way to appreciate this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An Enjoyable Dichotomy

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The service, atmosphere and overall dining experience was exemplary. I thoroughly enjoyed our side dishes and complimentary truffle treat at the end. The mains, however were not memorable and on the overly pricey side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food, A bit pricey

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner here although I did have a few negative points. For one, we had made a reservation at off hours and they plunked us in the middle of the restaurant in front of the till. I'm not sure why since all the other tables were empty... also I felt the food was EXTREMELY pricey. We ordered the salumi as an appetizer and I was seriously not expecting the minuscule amount we got for the price. However, our service was outstanding and the food was, of course, amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We would definitely come back - the food ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We would definitely come back - the food was excellent as was the service. The menu was perfect size - not too much but what we did have was superb. Each course surprised and delighted us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I recently had a thoroughly ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I recently had a thoroughly enjoyable evening at CIBO Bistro. The food, service, and ambience were outstanding. We will definitely be back and would definitely recommend CIBO Bistro to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst "high end" restaurant dining exper ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Worst "high end" restaurant dining experience.

Pappardelle came out all clumped in one piece.

Ribeye was very tough and chewy with a lot of gristle.

Wine tasted like the bottle was open for a week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The food is excellent. The culinary team ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is excellent. The culinary team have hit a high note with quality and creativity. It's a must-repeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

lunch

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

the options for gluten free items were limited at lunch,however the dinner menu looks very promising. the great thing is that 2 out of 3 desserts were gluten free---which was a real treat! the pana cotta was excellent. our server was great checking out the ingredients to make sure items were gluten free.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lunch menu at Cibo is limited - prob ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The lunch menu at Cibo is limited - probably twelve items tops - and yet, with the options available, we still have trouble making up our minds. That's what happens when every single item is delicious - so introspection is required. Do I feel like one of their hand-crafted pasta choices? Or a thin crust pizza? The baby arugula salad has virtue on its side, and so it goes... I am always dubious about kitchens that have too many options. How can what you're making in that kitchen be fresh when there are literally 50 dishes on the menu? I love Cibo for lunch because it is fresh, it is delicious, it is served promptly and it is great, great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.