Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About Cibo Bistro

“Cibo" (pronounced CHEE-bo) means food in Italian, and that’s what this Italian Bistro is all about. We like to keep the menu simple, tasty, and focused, using fresh local ingredients. Cure our own meats, make our own cheese and hand roll our pasta. We try to make almost everything in house with a menu that changes seasonally.

* Due to the popularity of our weekends, parties of 4 or less are requested to limit their stay to 2 hours in courtesy of reservations booked after them, thank you in advance *

Large parties of 8 or more will be charged an automatic gratuity of 18%

11244 104 Ave
Edmonton, AB T5K2X4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
104 Ave & 112 Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-2426

Website:
http://www.cibobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Tucked away off 104th Ave in Oliver Village picture a garden side patio, and a Bistro adorned with candle lit tables, modern pieces and finished off with old world touches. The 50 seat modern Italian Bistro is perfect for a romantic night out, an intimate evening with friends or a large gathering of family and co-workers. 5 course tasting menus paired with wine are available with reservation. Private bookings are also available for large corporate functions & private parties.

Parking Details:
Cibo Bistro is located in Oliver Village which provides a full size Public parking lot with FREE parking with registration of licence plate. Cibo Bistro's front door faces the garden area, so park where ever you like and walk on over.

Starting August 2016 guests will be required to register their licence plate in a tablet located at the front door. Failure to do so will result in a $75 ticket.

Public Transit:
#2, (#112 - #111 weekdays)

One Block walk from Grant Macewan College Bus Hub

Executive Chef:
Rosario Caputo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special events and dinners are hosted at Cibo Bistro throughout the year. We've been known to bring in wine makers from Italy or host a fun event taking you on a mini trip to Italy for the night. Follow us on twitter @cibobistroedm or like us on Facebook to stay in the know of our upcoming events.

Cibo Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (8)
Casual (7)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had the 5 course dinner, great service, delicious food with fabulous wine pairings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Overall wonderful. Local favorite
My go to place before a game. or concert w Rogers

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First trip to Cibo but came highly recommended by friends. Food portions for the mains were a bit small, but paired with the appetizers, you come away feeling full. Had the veal and pork meatballs; great flavor, seasoned just right and easily split between two people. Mains; one special (halibut) and one prawn dish (Fedelini Nero). Not your traditional dishes at an Italian restaurant, but flavors, textures and seasonings were spot on. Dessert, you have to try the Zeppole; great finish to the meal.
After reading other comments on here, the pasta did have a firmer bite. This is appropriate to an al dente pasta, and may not be what people are used to.
Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service was great, portions were appropriate, very limited Vegan choices, could be improved upon. I would go back again, worth the dollars spent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Highly recommended for the food and service!
We all had such a memorable dining experience. They accommodated us when we needed to move inside halfway through our tasting meal due to the swarming mosquitos.
Every dish was thoughtfully presented and the flavours were full. We all went home 4 hours later with very full but happy bellies.
We will return for the tasting menu again.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Three of us decided to try the restaurant for a special birthday, after reading good reviews. Nice loft style restaurant in an area with good parking. We all went for the tasting menu - 5 courses (but effectively 7 with amuse-bouche and palate cleanser), with two of us also going for the wine pairings. Fantastic meal, with all the courses turning out great, full of great taste, but also little subtle combinations of flavours. Lots of variety in what was served, and the portions were just right so that by the end we were all nicely full, but not stuffed. Wine pairings were great, went nicely with the food, and had some less common wines that were very nice to try. Great selection of Italian after dinner drinks and digestivos too.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As always, excellent food, prepared & served with perfect timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had their pasta once before and went to specifically have a plain pasta dish but this was not available. Food is very creative but they do not allow for any staple dishes for an italian restaurant

Sat at a table where the sun glared all throughout dinner with no option to stop the glare.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Nice atmosphere and view of courtyard, great service and food was excellent. Will definitely dine again. Tables are too close together at the back near the private dining room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I remain a huge fan of this place. Great food and service in a convenient location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had the tasting menu with wine pairing. The antipasti were truly out of this world. The potato salad with the raw egg yolk was not to our liking at all. The potatoes were chunky not well cooked and the egg yolk was quite disgusting. The two pasta dishes were good, but nothing I could not make at home. The steak was awesome. The dessert , hazelnut ice cream with hazelnut crumbly topping was to die for. The wine pairings were very good and the service was excellent. The noise level was a bit much. The decor is modern and to our liking. Overall a very good dining experience but way overpriced for the quality of the food. I would not rate this as one of the best restaurants in Edmonton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was very good, service was good but slow to start.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great ambiance, service was excellent and the food was delicious. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was amazing along with the wine options. Service was not. Server was very interactive at the beginning, then never really came back after second appetizer. We ended up not ordering dinner and going somewhere else.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had the spring pea ravioli with asparagus and mint. It was fabulous. Started with the polpo. Overall very delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I go to cibo knowing I will always see friendly faces and eat amazing good food.
I have never been disappointed and anytime someone asks me where we should go for food, my immediate response is "cibo bistro".
By far my #1 restaurant in Edmonton.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A friend and I went to Cibo for dinner. We opted for the 5 course tasting menu. It was absolutely incredible! Far exceeded my expectations. Very cute little restaurant with fantastic food. Only bummer is that they don't have Caesars (the cocktail).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was amazing as always. Love trying the new dishes that they make! Will always come back, highly recommend

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

While back in Calgary I have dinner at Cibo and it was very, very good. This time I was looking into a smaller place with great food and I run into Cibo and decided to book dinner for 4. Cibo in Edmonton is much smaller at atmosphere was nice and quiet. We were seated right away and a waitress came shortly after and offered us drinks. We did not order any wine and were drinking sparkling water. Cappuccinos were very weak for their size and have found out that they using Nespresso machine. Nothing bad with that but I have feeling that they have used one espresso to make two drinks. I have Nespresso and it should have never been that week. We had 2 appetizers. A charred octopus and bruschetta. The Bruschetta was excellent and Octopus was tasty but beans that were side dish were very undercooked to the point that we could not eat them. We mentioned this to the server and she only made comments that she will talk to the chef. for the main dishes we had steak, (so so - we were told that is up to 17 oz and could be shared, but I am sure that it was not even 10oz); duck breast - very good and two gnocchi - again so so. It took an hour and a half to get our entries and the whole dinner was about 2 hours. No desert no wines and bill were $260.00 or so. Very pricey for that quality and the amount of food. While the whole setting is nice and the atmosphere is good, food is what makes or breaks the evening. I do not mind paying at ll for good meal but this was definitely not worth it. Couple that was sitting next us were very unhappy with their vegetarian dishes as well and were asking us for our experience. I do not think that I have any reason to ever go back.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This is one of my favorite places to eat in Edmonton! The menu changes often and every dish is always well thought out, balanced and delicious! They use fresh, local ingredients and never disappoint! The hazelnut semifreddo from the tasting menu was the best dessert I may of ever had!! If you like hazelnut this will blow you away!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We frequent Cibo Bistro as it's very handy and great value for lunch.

This past Tuesday May 30th I met a client here for lunch. I found the waitress was very abrupt and rude. Typically we are served by a different lady (whom I believe is a owner or manager) and she is lovely. However, the server on Tuesday was very impolite and left a bad taste in my mouth. I had the soup and salad combo, Salad was delicious, as always. However the soup was a vegetable soup and was SO SALTY I didn't eat it. Waitress never asked how the food was or made mention to the fact I didn't eat my soup, rather disappointing.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

appetizers were great but pasta was very chewy and undercooked. when we asked about it we were told it was supposed to be that way...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My friend and I came for the first time for dinner. Our server was amazing and she was very good at her job. The food was fantastic. Although I didn't drink tonight, their cocktail list sounded fantastic. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Food was great, lots of options and portions are huge. I would recommend sharing most dishes. Will be back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

CIBO was a great disappointment. The menu is small and across the bottom it says they "kindly" decline any modifications. This means if you have special diet issues or are a vegetarian, DON'T go to Cibo (vegatarians note: there is duck fat on the potato side dish and meat on the green beans meaning the only side you can have is the panzanella salad if you are ok with dairy).

Another issue is that the descriptions of the dishes on the menu is incomplete. For example, the pea and ricotta ravioli contains mint but that is not noted on the menu. When this was raised with our server I was first told there was no mint. Why she would discount my comment that way was a mystery and was very annoying. To her credit, she did come back later to say she had had a text msg exchange with the chef who said there was mint in it (and why the chef wasn't there and had to be reached by text seemed odd). She did offer to replace the meal and ultimately didn't charge for it which was nice. But simply listing something as dominant a flavour as mint on the menu would be a much better approach.

Those in our group who had the special of the day (a halibut dish) enjoyed it and the arancini starter was very good. The doughnut dessert however is worth missing as it has very little flavour and really is just bland deep fried hollow balls of dough. What is needed is a mascarpone-limoncello cream filling piped into the fried doughnuts (which is what we expected from the description otherwise, just where did the promised mascarpone go? Into the dough??)

Overall: we won't be back and don't recommend Cibo to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The restaurant is very nice and has a good ambient atmosphere. The service is excellent with the waitress able to explain everything about the various menu items. The drinks are good and the meal came in a timely manner. The food was excellent with the pricing at bit on the higher end of the scale. Very good place to celebrate special occassions or to have an intimate meal with your friend or family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The appetizers and desserts were very good but there were 6 of us at the table having different dishes and unfortunately, nobody enjoyed their entrees. The server was also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We have been going to Cibo since it opened, more than five years ago, and it has always exceeded our expectations. The food is always amazing and the menu changes enough so that going there is always a new culinary adventure. the atmosphere is cozy and welcoming and the service attentive but not pushy or hovering. It continues to be our favourite restaurant in Edmonton.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Cibo is one of my favorite restaurants in the city that never ever disappoints. The food is delicious, authentic, prepared to perfection and the staff are so friendly. I highly recommend this local jem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As always it was tasty and the service was excellence !

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Had the sicilian olives and the bruchetta which were great, as was the pasta feature. Overall delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Consistently delicious offerings on the menu gave us a variety of choices, and nothing disappointed. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Delicious... as usual!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I have been to Cibo several times and once in awhile the food seems to slightly miss the mark to keep it at the top of our list. This visit happened to be one of those times. The Insalata was excellent while one of our favourites, the Arancini was a little dry. We also had he Fedelini Nero which was a little too "fishy" for us but may appeal to other people. The special of the day was a spicy Garganelli which I couldn't make my mind up about as there were so many flavours it was almost overwhelming. I will always go back as it is still in my top ten for Edmonton dining.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was amazing. Staff was friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic as usual. Highly recommend. Share plates are recommended.. menu has solid go to options or nightly specials also intrigue.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The evening on a whole was amazing. Bruschetta was my favorite as well as the doughnuts for dessert. Would recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 12, 2017

From start to finish the bistro was amazing. We had the chefs tasting menu and we were both delighted with the quality and perfect quantity of food. After our 5 courses, not counting the delicious amuse bouche and the refreshing blood orange sorbet pallet cleanser, we left full without being uncomfortable.

The pasta was impeccably made and perfectly al-dente, my favorite was the ravioli filled with creamy blue cheese and drizzled with 35 year old balsamic. So simple but the flavor was so complex. My husband favored the kick of the hand rolled pasta with a tomato sauce with chili and (forgive me if it's the wrong meat for by this time I was on sensory overload and was only concentrating on the tastes rather then sounds) pulled pork.

We also choose to go with a wine pairing, each and every wine was a delight, my only regret was that I didn't get the name of each of the wines. My favorite was the last wine, a dessert, sparkling rose. It was fresh and sweet but light and crisp. It felt like a holiday.

Suffice to say we were in heaven and very very satisfied.
We will absolutely go no back and have already recommended the restaurant to many of our friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 7, 2017

First time at Cibo and had a most delicious meal. The charred octopus starter was amazing - incredibly tender and flavourful. The entree portions were on the small and expensive side, but both were beautifully rendered and presented. One came accompanied with succulent cactus pear slices, prompting us to search for these at the grocery store the next day. Also, had a delightful server who was very knowledgeable about the menu and the restaurant in general. Will definitely come back. Want very much to try other selections on the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Fabulous food and great service. Have been there before and will go again but our last dinner went poorly. Even with a reservation we were seated next to a group of very loud and crude men. They did nothing about it, even after we pointed it out to the server. Ambiance was worst than a cheap sports bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.