About Ciao Italia Ristorante - I - Drive

6149 Westwood blvd
Orlando, FL 32821
View Larger Map

Ciao Italia Ristorante was founded in 1991, in Orlando, Fl, by Antonio and Josie Navarra. Both natives of Italy, Antonio from Salerno and Josie from Palermo. Today, the Navarra family business not only consists of Antonio and Josie, but their three children as well, Carmen, Vincenzo and Vanessa. Each member is a key factor at Ciao, and what has made this restaurant one of the oldest restaurants on International Drive today, and which is why Ciao Italia is 3 year in a row Zagat award winner, with a high ranking of 28 in food. In addition, to Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. The Navarra Family, looks forward to serving you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Organic, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner nightly: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
International Drive and the Beach Line

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 354-0770

Website:
http://www.ciaoitaliaonline.com/

Catering:
We offer catering to go. Please contact us for details. info@ciaoitaliaonline.com

Parking Details:
Handicap Access available

Public Transit:
I-trolley stop 29.

Executive Chef:
Vincenzo Navarra

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve, New Years Eve, Valentines Day, September dining month.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Ciao, a traditional Italian ambiance is on hand to greet you, whose friendly staff will cater for your every need. Head back to Italy not only with the amazing food, but with the true Italian feel you receive on arrival.

Ciao Italia Ristorante - I - Drive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (36)
good for groups (21)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
special occasion (18)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (13)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I hosted a business dinner for 10 people ...

Dined 6 days ago

I hosted a business dinner for 10 people here, seeking a restaurant near the convention center that was not a chain. The restaurant treated us better than family. One of my guests showed up an hour early because of a scheduling mishap; the host seated him at our table immediately and made sure he had a glass of wine. Our waiter Dominic was patient with us when other guests arrived late but always available when we needed him. Nothing that we ordered was anything short of excellent, but the house special veal chop was a true standout. Magnifico! I cannot recommend Ciao highly enough.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food at normal prices.

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

I do not want people to find out about this hidden gem. Its directly across from the Doubletree Seaworld and we ate there two nights in a row. Both nights, we had the Caprese and the stuffed eggplant appetizers. I also had the Chicken Parmigiana and House-Made Lobster Ravioli which were both good. Service is quick and pleasant. We have been there before and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful meal at Ciao

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a group of 15 people and Ciao could not have been more accommodating. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. Their calamari were gobbled up even by our less adventurous eaters! This was a great choice for our special office party

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Who needs a chain restaurant?

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This restaurant is nestled between the Orange County Convention and Sea World in an unassuming strip mall. The food is fresh and the service is very good. I tend to start with the basics at an Italian restaurant, so I had Rigatoni al Ragu and had them add some sausage. I'm not sure I'll be able to order anything else when I return, because it was just so good. Also, your meal comes with bread, but you must order the garlic bread. It's easy to find a chain restaurant on International Drive, but it's worth trying this place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Best yet

Dined on April 23, 2016

We frequently dine here. Very good Italian food with some homemade choices and interesting specials.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice restaurant for biz convenient for I-Drive

Dined on April 21, 2016

Ciao Italia has a lovely ambiance, excellent service and very good food. the portions are small, thus the rating for value overall. thus the value rating. Our waiter was attentive and accommodating and took great care of us. I will certainly book again for business.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Listen to the negative views -- Food was just ok

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was just ok. I agree with the other reviewers, it was just a step up from Chef Boyardee. Even the ceasar salad looked like it was from a bag. The biggest plus was the service was super fast. The people next to us ordered the ravioli and it was frozen in the middle, so they sent us back. That tells me the food is not freshly prepared. We left before they finished the meal, but at no point did I see anyone apologize for it. They just took the plate without a word and returned it about 10 minutes later -- still without a word. I will not go back.

food1
ambience3
service3

I had the Veal Chop,which was recommende ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

I had the Veal Chop,which was recommended. It was over cooked, badly seasoned. For 60 bucks I expected A LOT better. Perhaps I should have stuck to pasta

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Homestyle Italian with a touch of class

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

This is a good restaurant, food was authentic, great taste and plentiful, wine was nicely paired with the meal and staff awesome. The unfortunate part was serving the tap water, it took away from the whole experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

The meal was superb. I recommend the par ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The meal was superb. I recommend the parpadelle with wild boar .

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

the food was good, buy be careful of the specials

Dined on April 4, 2016

This is another restaurant that suggests specials prior to ordering. This grouper special exceeded their average price range by quite a lot. I would recommend they indicate the price of any special rather than make their customers demean themselves by asking. I felt a bit as though I was had.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian in an Orlando stripmall

Dined on April 2, 2016

The restaurant is nicely decorated, well organized. The staff was very helpful and kind to the kids in our party. The food was fantastic. We ordered the house specialty chicken dish and the lobster ravioli. Both were great. The kids got spaghetti and meatballs which my son says was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Special signature dish

Dined on March 30, 2016

Try the veal , it's the best in the city. Be aware it's three times as expensive as rest of menu

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great rack of lamb. Nice friendly place ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great rack of lamb. Nice friendly place with a varied menu that we found alot of choices

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, great place!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food, great service, great place!

food5
ambience5
service5

We are vegetarians. They were very acco ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We are vegetarians. They were very accommodating and gave us options for type of pasta, sauce, and vegetables to add. The food was delicious, service was prompt and courteous. Overall a very good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food...even better service

Dined on March 26, 2016

Very good food...even better service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Travelers

Dined on March 25, 2016

This was our second time at this restaurant within a one week period as the food is top rate, service is great and ambiance is relaxing and inviting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1

Food was disgusting and cold

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Food was disgusting and cold

food5
ambience5
service5

Don't let the strip mall entrance fool y ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Don't let the strip mall entrance fool you. This is real Italian. You walk in and you feel like you're right back in an osteria in Florence. The parparadelle and wild boar was fantastic. Reasonable wine selection

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is in a strip mall so we were surpris ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

It is in a strip mall so we were surprised how nice it was inside. The service is excellent. The food is very good Italian cooking. If you stick to the menu the prices are moderate. My husband had a stuff veal chop special and we were shocked when the bill came because his was $60 .(and it was not stuffed but it was delicious.) We will go back but will choose from the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was terrible!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Definitely not a home cooked Italian place we were looking for.The rigatoni with meat sauce tasted like it came out of a can! The pasta was soft and pasty and the sauce tasted like gravy. My husband 's lasagna came out with tomato sauce poured over it . It looked like a Mexican tamale! The only good thing was the warm bread. Not ever going back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Restaurant

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great greeting upon arrival, great service, romantic music and atmosphere, fabulous food, and reasonable prices. Would highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MARS

Dined on February 26, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, the service was top notch and the food was great. We had a large group that was seated and served quickly. Highly recommend and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always superb.

Dined on February 25, 2016

We always go to Ciao Italia whenever we are in Orlando as the food and servcie are always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Place Near Sea World

Dined on February 23, 2016

Small, open restaurant near Sea World and Convention Center. Reasonably priced and portions are large. Our waiter was one of 2 for the entire dining room; he did a good job but had to be asked for things as he was too busy to notice when we ran out of water, wine, etc. One of our party thought he had an attitude, but I think it was more English was not his primary language. One entree (Eggplant Parmesan) had to be sent back as it was very salty. The second was slightly better, but still heavy on the salt. My veal had a couple tough sections, but overall was good. My husband tried the calamari, it was tender and prepared with lemon butter. It was not really to our liking, but that is a personal preference, not due to the quality of the dish. His seafood special was generous and he said delicious. We were not rushed and lingered to talk as we were meeting out of town friends and had a lot of catching up to do. Might be difficult to find this placed tucked away in a corner, but worth the find.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

So many amazing choices to choose from o ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

So many amazing choices to choose from on the menu and then 3 great specials. Definitely going back to try more.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great trade show spot

Dined on February 19, 2016

I have dined at Ciao Italia several times over the past five years . Great location 10 minutes from the convention center. The food has always been great. This visit I experienced below expected service. The waiter was working several large tables and really never accessible or prompt. I was the host for a customer and it was uncomfortable. The poor service was reflected in my tip, although I tend to over tip so it dawned on me he may not have been aware I was unhappy. I will give CI another chance

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The kids loved it

Dined on February 17, 2016

We were looking for a break from all the Orlando fast food chains. This hit the spot. The kids want to come back the next time we come to Orlando.

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service3

Overall the restaurant was a good experi ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Overall the restaurant was a good experience. The first person who greeted us was very brash and uninterested, but I guess a look on my face spurred a change because our next server was awesome. Food tasted extremely fresh, and the atmosphere was cozy and home-like. Definitely a nice date night choice.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and our waiter wa ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was delicious and our waiter was great.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Going out to dinner on Valentine's Day t ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Going out to dinner on Valentine's Day there are high expectations. The service was far from what I expected. Slow and forgetful server to say the least.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, the service outs ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was delicious, the service outstanding, we will definitely recommend this restaurant.

food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Waiters fighting

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated quickly and politely. I asked for a gluten free menu and it was delivered. That was the best thing to happen that night. It took a very long time for the waiter to arrive. As he did arrive he was fighting with another waiter. He left and returned a few minutes later. I asked about the gluten free menu I was given by the hostess He said were did get that plus we don't have those items. My wife's chicken parm was fried to crisp and her pasta cold. We rarely saw the waiter. Maybe that was good since he wasn't very customer friendly. Avoid this restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5

foos was great. real italian restaurant

Dined on February 13, 2016

foos was great. real italian restaurant

food5
ambience5
service4

amazing food just to the point where you ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

amazing food just to the point where you want to lick the bowl.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Special Occassion

Dined on February 10, 2016

Close to the hotels and hidden which makes it a great spot. Service was really good. Food was OK for Italian and thought it was very over priced. $65 for a veal chop is not worth the cost, even though they say it's their speciality.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excessive Corkage Fee

Dined on February 10, 2016

Ciao Italia is a restaurant that we look forward to visiting every winter when we visit Florida. The food and service is usually better than average. This year, however, we were disappointed by a surprise $25.00/bottle corkage fee that we considered excessive. Having dined there for the past several years we didn't recall being charged previously, but, the maître de was quite adamant that that has been the policy for his 25 years there. That put a real damper on the rest of the evening. I still consider Ciao Italia a good choice but my wife will not return, not because of the food, but because of the attitude.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Worth looking for.

Dined on February 2, 2016

Food was very good. Wine seemed expensive. Hard to find as the strip shopping center is being refurbished and there is no sign outside.

food3
ambience3
service4

Good, not great, food. Nothing that made ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Good, not great, food. Nothing that made it stand out.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.