About Ciao By Villaggio

40 S. Main Street
Zionsville, IN 46077
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ciao By Villaggio where Elevated, Innovative, Italian lives. Established in 2003, we have an enduring reputation for providing comfortable elegant dining. Though we provide a finer dining atmosphere, we pride ourselves on accommodating any style of dress and personality.


Ciao By Villaggio is a comfortable and casual Italian dining spot. Guests can feel right at home in shorts and a t-shirt and still be able to have a fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Zionsville, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from Brownsburg and only 7 minutes from Carmel, we are sure dining with Ciao By Villaggio will be a weekly occurrence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 733-3600

Website:
http://www.ciaobyvillaggio.com/

Catering:
Our flexible ability to provide you with the finest event, your imagination can run wild as we offer every service possible . You can work with our concept design team to plan the event concept of your dreams. We can supply linens, flatware, silverware, stemware, centerpieces, flowers, and motif ideas, decorations, clean-up just to name a few. We can accommodate off site events for your corporate affair of up to 350 people. Weddings, rehearsal dinners in the restaurant of up to 200 people. Or a small intimate gathering at your home of 10 people.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Risoli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ciao By Villaggio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Indiana
Italian
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
3 More
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in NW Indy / Zionsville ›

Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Romantic (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were both excellent ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were both excellent. Would recommend this restaurant to friends and family!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!!!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Service was great. Food was delicious b ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was great. Food was delicious but a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great find! We had awesome ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is a great find! We had awesome service and food. The manicotti was superb. There were 11 people in our party and everyone was very happy with their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We had the f ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. We had the fried ravioli and the caprese salad as appetizers. Delicious. The bread and dipping oil are very tasty. Lasagna is wonderful. The fettuccine and seafood special was outstanding. The only criticism I have is the size of the cannolies. They were so tiny and very over priced, but they were tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ciao's was wonderful, as always. Our se ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Ciao's was wonderful, as always. Our server alerted us to the dwindling supply of their Osso Bucco special, and it did not disappoint. The seafood pasta special was also delicious! We've visited many times and have never had a bad meal at Ciao's. Thanks also to Susan for her great service!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Italy last October and the f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were in Italy last October and the food at Ciao is every bit as good. Tim our waiter was very friendly, in a great mood and accommodating to our non-rushed dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is very good, but the entire ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service is very good, but the entire place has a very tired atmosphere and the food never changes. This could be such a great place, and we keep trying it every few months, but the food and atmosphere are just subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

The scallops with white wine have not be ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The scallops with white wine have not been anywhere near their earlier quality. I'm not in the habit of returning meals, but nearly did so my last visit. Other parts of the experience were better, especially the Spumoni 'bomb' for dessert.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Italian food and ambiance. Wh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent Italian food and ambiance. White table cloths make is seem more special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everything was top notch. St ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As always, everything was top notch. Staff is totally knowledgeable of the standard entree's as well as the nightly specials. If you are lucky enough to hit a night when they offer the Ossa Bucco, it is to die for.....best I have ever eaten.

Amelio always nails it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this Italian restuarant in downtown ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love this Italian restuarant in downtown Zionsville. We have been there several times and enjoyed it each time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, great atmosphere. Too p ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food, great atmosphere. Too pricey for the every day meal, but a great special occasion spot, and a great location right downtown Zionsville.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love to sit on their roof. It is qui ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love to sit on their roof. It is quiet and the view is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I took my sister (who was visiting me fr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I took my sister (who was visiting me from L.A.) to Ciao and our dinners were excellent. Also the ambience was relaxed and friendly and the service people were great. One of the things we appreciated was there was none of that "music-so-loud-it-can-get-picked up by a Russian satellite." It was so nice to carry on a conversation without having to yell across the table to be heard!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Ciao. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Ciao. Great food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a pleasant evening. The food was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a pleasant evening. The food was excellent and the service was great. It was nice to be able to communicate without talking loudly over music etc. I had the BeBe. The taste was wonderful, but I thought the sauce was a little heavy. My husband loved his special of the night. It was a shrimp dish with artichokes. We had to park 3 blocks away, but we would do it again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Decor was modern and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was delicious. Decor was modern and attractive. Kirby was a great waitress. Friendly staff. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live locally. This is one of our very ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We live locally. This is one of our very favorites!! Excellent food and service and ambiance!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eaten Italian all over USA..this is amon ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Eaten Italian all over USA..this is among the best...ambiance and service super...great veal parm....will definitely return.....great place for a date nite..first class...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was excellent. I ordered the gn ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our food was excellent. I ordered the gnocchi with the four cheese sauce and it was one of the best dishes I have eaten. My server told us they were out but the chef made some more and I was so impressed and thankful. What an amazing meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were once again served up a superb di ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were once again served up a superb dining experience at this fine restaurant. The rooftop dining area provides a terrific resort like experience, and the dinner selections and service were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is very good & more authentic Itali ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

food is very good & more authentic Italian than most, dined early & was very quiet, this place can be quite loud when busy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rooftop Terrace Overlooking the Park

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This was our first visit and we sat on the rooftop terrace overlooking a lovely park in downtown Zionsville, with quintessential small town ambiance. Our server was excellent and friendly. Having moved from a foodie city, Chicago, the food was better than we had expected for Italian in Indiana. The waiter even brought us complimentary tiramasu for dessert since it was our anniversary dinner. We would definitely go back--and take friends-- for the ambiance, the food, and the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will definitely return

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

There were so many items on the menu that looked appealing, it was difficult for each member of our party to make only one selection. It was a wonderful experience and look forward to returning for a date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The salmon with a shrimp cream-sauce was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day brunch. Ok but desserts we ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch. Ok but desserts were literally an after thought. Really store bought cookies?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there in Mothers Day for brunch. Very disappointed in the selection and even more the cost. We expect to spend money for a brunch like this but not for the minimal selection of food. Desserts were awful. Looked like store bough ten cookies and pies in tin pans. Will never go back for a brunch. Have been there for dinner and it's been very good. They should rethink brunch specials. When leaving we all said the same thing and that it was so empty for such a special day. No need for reservations for their Mothers Day Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Great place with excellent food and serv ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place with excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful service average food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My son and his husband ordered pasta dishes and thought they were fantastic. I had veal and thought it was good but too salty. I wish restaurants would realize that you can add salt but can't take it away. My wife ordered a fillet and it was overcooked. too their credit, they brought another and it was perfect. The service was wonderful. Our waiter was very personable and efficient and was as good as I've had anywhere. Its location in quaint old town Zionsville and tasteful decor added to an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK Food

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Nice restaurant for a group get-together. Food is OK, not the best but good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Merideth is a great server. Food was sp ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Merideth is a great server. Food was spectacular as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great lasagna. Good sauce

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great lasagna. Good sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had some of the best service of any dining experience at Ciao. The food was good, wine list acceptable and the prices are very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This is not our first time there. Each time has been good, but this time it was truly excellent. We had cheerful, prompt service, and our meal was wonderful. We started with cocktails, and they brought fresh bread with well seasoned olive oil. The salads were fresh and tasty, then the entrees were fabulous. One was a filet covered with crab meat, and the other was a pasta special that was full of shrimp, scallops, dried tomatoes and artichokes. The desserts were equally great- a chocolate mousse cake and a white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake. The wine list was varied and allowed a good selection to be purchased by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Great dining experi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was fantastic. Great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Italian fare

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Food and ambiance are worth the trip. And they make great martini.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fair food, dissapointing experience...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Greeted by a rude hostess. It was Valentine's Day, so menu was limited. Restaurant was loud. My husband and I ordered a glass of wine and we noticed it was less than half full; so I mentioned to my waiter who was very friendly. He explained that my glass was bigger than others so that was why it appeared less full. Yet I saw two glasses the same size as mine at the bar waiting to be delivered to the customers and they had more wine than ours. My husband, who is not concerned about these things was in fact who noticed it! Yet the waiter took my glass to he bartender who had an absolute fit about it! He was yelling and then aggressively got a bottle of wine and filled my glass up a bit more. Our table was close enough to the bar for us to hear the spectacle. I was shocked and looked at him and from the bar he cynically said to me, " Happy Valentine's Day!" with a thumbs up. Then I noticed he was vaping in between making drinks. Not at all what I was expecting from a restaurant this caliber. Not sure I would consider going back. The food was decent, but nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.