About Ciao By Villaggio

40 S. Main Street
Zionsville, IN 46077
View Larger Map

Welcome to Ciao By Villaggio where Elevated, Innovative, Italian lives. Established in 2003, we have an enduring reputation for providing comfortable elegant dining. Though we provide a finer dining atmosphere, we pride ourselves on accommodating any style of dress and personality.


Ciao By Villaggio is a comfortable and casual Italian dining spot. Guests can feel right at home in shorts and a t-shirt and still be able to have a fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Zionsville, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from Brownsburg and only 7 minutes from Carmel, we are sure dining with Ciao By Villaggio will be a weekly occurrence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 733-3600

Website:
http://www.ciaobyvillaggio.com/

Catering:
Our flexible ability to provide you with the finest event, your imagination can run wild as we offer every service possible . You can work with our concept design team to plan the event concept of your dreams. We can supply linens, flatware, silverware, stemware, centerpieces, flowers, and motif ideas, decorations, clean-up just to name a few. We can accommodate off site events for your corporate affair of up to 350 people. Weddings, rehearsal dinners in the restaurant of up to 200 people. Or a small intimate gathering at your home of 10 people.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Risoli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ciao By Villaggio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Indiana
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in NW Indy / Zionsville ›

special occasion (24)
neighborhood gem (16)
fit for foodies (14)
See All
romantic (13)
good for groups (8)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Eaten Italian all over USA..this is amon ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Eaten Italian all over USA..this is among the best...ambiance and service super...great veal parm....will definitely return.....great place for a date nite..first class...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was excellent. I ordered the gn ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our food was excellent. I ordered the gnocchi with the four cheese sauce and it was one of the best dishes I have eaten. My server told us they were out but the chef made some more and I was so impressed and thankful. What an amazing meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were once again served up a superb di ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were once again served up a superb dining experience at this fine restaurant. The rooftop dining area provides a terrific resort like experience, and the dinner selections and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is very good & more authentic Itali ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

food is very good & more authentic Italian than most, dined early & was very quiet, this place can be quite loud when busy

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rooftop Terrace Overlooking the Park

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This was our first visit and we sat on the rooftop terrace overlooking a lovely park in downtown Zionsville, with quintessential small town ambiance. Our server was excellent and friendly. Having moved from a foodie city, Chicago, the food was better than we had expected for Italian in Indiana. The waiter even brought us complimentary tiramasu for dessert since it was our anniversary dinner. We would definitely go back--and take friends-- for the ambiance, the food, and the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will definitely return

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

There were so many items on the menu that looked appealing, it was difficult for each member of our party to make only one selection. It was a wonderful experience and look forward to returning for a date night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The salmon with a shrimp cream-sauce was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day brunch. Ok but desserts we ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch. Ok but desserts were literally an after thought. Really store bought cookies?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there in Mothers Day for brunch. Very disappointed in the selection and even more the cost. We expect to spend money for a brunch like this but not for the minimal selection of food. Desserts were awful. Looked like store bough ten cookies and pies in tin pans. Will never go back for a brunch. Have been there for dinner and it's been very good. They should rethink brunch specials. When leaving we all said the same thing and that it was so empty for such a special day. No need for reservations for their Mothers Day Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Great place with excellent food and serv ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place with excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful service average food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My son and his husband ordered pasta dishes and thought they were fantastic. I had veal and thought it was good but too salty. I wish restaurants would realize that you can add salt but can't take it away. My wife ordered a fillet and it was overcooked. too their credit, they brought another and it was perfect. The service was wonderful. Our waiter was very personable and efficient and was as good as I've had anywhere. Its location in quaint old town Zionsville and tasteful decor added to an enjoyable evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK Food

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Nice restaurant for a group get-together. Food is OK, not the best but good.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Merideth is a great server. Food was sp ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Merideth is a great server. Food was spectacular as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great lasagna. Good sauce

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great lasagna. Good sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had some of the best service of any dining experience at Ciao. The food was good, wine list acceptable and the prices are very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This is not our first time there. Each time has been good, but this time it was truly excellent. We had cheerful, prompt service, and our meal was wonderful. We started with cocktails, and they brought fresh bread with well seasoned olive oil. The salads were fresh and tasty, then the entrees were fabulous. One was a filet covered with crab meat, and the other was a pasta special that was full of shrimp, scallops, dried tomatoes and artichokes. The desserts were equally great- a chocolate mousse cake and a white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake. The wine list was varied and allowed a good selection to be purchased by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Great dining experi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was fantastic. Great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Italian fare

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Food and ambiance are worth the trip. And they make great martini.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fair food, dissapointing experience...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Greeted by a rude hostess. It was Valentine's Day, so menu was limited. Restaurant was loud. My husband and I ordered a glass of wine and we noticed it was less than half full; so I mentioned to my waiter who was very friendly. He explained that my glass was bigger than others so that was why it appeared less full. Yet I saw two glasses the same size as mine at the bar waiting to be delivered to the customers and they had more wine than ours. My husband, who is not concerned about these things was in fact who noticed it! Yet the waiter took my glass to he bartender who had an absolute fit about it! He was yelling and then aggressively got a bottle of wine and filled my glass up a bit more. Our table was close enough to the bar for us to hear the spectacle. I was shocked and looked at him and from the bar he cynically said to me, " Happy Valentine's Day!" with a thumbs up. Then I noticed he was vaping in between making drinks. Not at all what I was expecting from a restaurant this caliber. Not sure I would consider going back. The food was decent, but nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was poor and portion size very s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was poor and portion size very small. There was so little lettuce in my salad I could actually see the bottom of the bowl. The entree consisted of small piece of fish. 3 red potato halves and 3 asparagus spears. No offer to bring additional bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

good food, limited menu

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was very good. I was scolded by the management for bringing a coupon. I was told they don't take them on holidays. It was the day BEFORE Valentines Day. She even argued that she spoke to me on the phone about it. I never called. I didn't see anything about that on their website and I even wrote it in my emailed reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing food and fantastic service in a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing food and fantastic service in a cozy, yet upscale atmosphere. The menu isn't large, but there is always a diverse set of choices for everyone. I've never had anything that was less than fantastic here. Great place for special occasions - quiet and intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed dinner. Will Be back

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Really enjoyed dinner. Will

Be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Manicotti is delicious, but not for ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

The Manicotti is delicious, but not for the faint of stomach! Lots of food, quiet atmosphere, and great staff. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Authentic Italian

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Your choices above should include "

good dinner destination". The menu selections were varied and delicious. It is one of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian Restaurant Around

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Ciao is without a doubt the BEST Italian restaurant around Indy....bar none! Great wait staff, very attentive and really fun. We ate there twice in 1 week. If you can catch the Osso Bucco special (not on the regular menu) ...grab it! Absolutely awesome. Emilio and Pina are wonderful owners.

5 Stars across the board!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening. The food pre ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. The food preparation was was excellent, both in taste and visually. The bruschetta was wonderful and the salmon was absolutely delicious. Our server was helpful in recommendations and descriptions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It just keeps getting better. Tim took ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

It just keeps getting better. Tim took excellent care of us - friendly, helpful, attentive. The carpaccio is presented in rolls with a garlic filling and olive oil drizzle. The lasagna is possibly the best in the Indy area. I usually skip dessert, but never at Ciao. This trip, I had the Tartufo, which is a simple ball of chocolate gelato with a zabaglione center. - outstanding. This authentic homemade Italian restaurant in the heart of Zionsville is a true gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

What a lovely evening.

We were the only 2 people left in the restaurant and the staff just sat down and waited for us to finish. Very nice.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Local Restaurant

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Nice white table cloth restaurant. Tables are spread out so you don't feel like you're on top of others. They had basic Italian fare. They're specials were a little pricey, bot the rest of the menu was on the $20 range for most entrees and pastas. Their chicken cacciatore was not breaded and was served with vegetables making it a nice choice for a lighter meal. Every one liked their meals but there wasn't anything spectacular about it. The service was friendly and good. Wine list is geared towards Italian wines with a few others available.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Osso Bucco not so hot

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Excellent service, my wife enjoyed her food, I did not. Was tough to cut veal off the bone and a little chewy. Ciao has set a very high bar on food quality and this was a miss. I was disappointed after I mentioned this they made no effort to compensate in any way.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The food and atmosphere are both delicious and comfortable! Their Lemondrop martinis are so much better than most because they make their own homemade lemoncello. A must try!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't go for New Year's

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We've been there before and had a fantastic meal off of their regular menu. However, for New Year's they had a pre-fixed menu which I wasn't aware of. The food was completely underwhelming and was not worth the cost. Needless to say, we were disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Great spot for New Years Eve dinner.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I had a lovely dinner on New Years Eve. I was relieved that Ciao did not use a "special" menu for the holiday. The place was packed, and therefore unusually noisy. But the service was nonetheless excellent, courses were timed appropriately, and the food was quite good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent New Years Eve

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Ciao had a special menu for New Years Eve. The Osso Bucco and the Portobella stuffed chicken were really outstanding! As always, a great experience on the Village Brick Street.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD WAS VERY GOOD

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

THE FOOD WAS A LITTLE PRICY THEN THE REVIEW STATED BY THEY HAD A SPECIAL MENU FOR NEW YEARS.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious!!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

This is the second time we've eaten at Ciao. Both times the food was absolutely delicious - gnocchi is exceptional! Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful, as Always!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Great Christmas Eve dinner with family. Food and service were great as expected. Highly recommend...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food/okay service and price

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Good food, generous proportions. Waitress was distracted (Christmas Eve); service was a little spotty; no water refills; no offer of second glass of wine; no offer of dessert until she brought boxed leftovers and we were ready to leave. A little pricey for a predictable Italian menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.