About Ciao Bella

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Opened in 1997 by local restaurateur Rick Webb, Ciao Bella offers contemporary Italian cuisine and unparalleled service. Our passion and commitment is to bring you handcrafted food, created with fresh, seasonal, organic and local ingredients. Every meal. Every day. The restaurant is dramatic, comfortable and surrounds you with the warmth of wood, original art and murals, hand wrought iron works and renowned hospitality. Whether it’s a business lunch or a relaxed evening with friends, the entire Ciao Bella Team looks forward to welcoming you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 9 p.m.

Bar:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 1 a.m.
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 11 p.m.
Sunday: 4 p.m. – midnight
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 10 p.m.


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • limonetta  - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Braziliana Salad - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Pazzo Burger - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Limonetta Bella - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • lasagna - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Parmesean Crusted Shrimp - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN

Report a photo problem

limonetta  - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Braziliana Salad - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Pazzo Burger - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Limonetta Bella - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
lasagna - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Parmesean Crusted Shrimp - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (45)
See All
Great for Lunch (40)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Business Meals (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Cozy (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Wood Oven (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Casual (18)
Fun (17)
Authentic (14)
Healthy (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (8)
Fireplace (8)
Organic (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Family Style (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
2683 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I eat out very often and Ciao is still m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

I eat out very often and Ciao is still my favorite place for lunch and dinner. Beautiful patio, wonderful atmosphere inside, awesome food and consistently good service. You will love this place!

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a go back and soon the foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This place is a go back and soon the food was great cant wait to try more there

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Only (ongoin ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Only (ongoing) issue is the noise level

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always enjoy going to this restaurant! ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I always enjoy going to this restaurant! It is noisy but a booth by the wall makes it more intimate.There is a good variety of choices.This time I chose the organic salmon piccata with fresh asparagus as my entree. It was the best salmon dish I have had for years and believe me I am very picky!! I started the meal with the Brasiliana salad which is my go to salad there.I really enjoy the heirloom grain salad but even the small size is very filling ......

My date had the soup of the day which I believe was butternut squash . For an entree he had the fettuccine with chicken. He enjoyed both of them but said they were very rich..lucky he ordered the smaller portions of both!

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

High quality Italian food, especially fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

High quality Italian food, especially for Minnesota. Reminds me of Italian restaurants in the NY/NJ area. Linguini di Mare and Tortiglioni are both fantastic. I have had the lasagna before too and that was also amazing.

Many of the wines are a fantastic value, especially the more expensive bottles. Only a 20-30% markup on some of the bottles which is very low compared to most restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there on a date with the SO. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time there on a date with the SO. Terrific service - waitstaff is very professional without being overbearing. Food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic ownership and staff. Great foo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic ownership and staff. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were both amazing! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food and service were both amazing! Feels like a get-away in your own backyard. I will be returning!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be the perfect place to cat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Continues to be the perfect place to catch up with old friends or hold a business lunch. The staff's professionalism is to be admired.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have dined here several times and had a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Have dined here several times and had a good experience. Most recent visit fell short of my expectations. Our group decided to dine late afternoon and it soon became apparent that they were minimuly staffed. Our waiter was slow to appear and this pattern continued. An hour after we arrived there was an obvious increase in the staffing and we got more prompt attention from our waiter. Our groups perception of Ciao Bella was clouded by this situation and left us feeling that we did not receive value for money.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice place for casual, yet elegant dinne ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Nice place for casual, yet elegant dinner. Will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place for group gatherings! Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place for group gatherings! The booths are spacious, food is amazing, ambiance is perfect for casual or formal dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service and ambien ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, great service and ambience. Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love going to Ciao Bella for special ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love going to Ciao Bella for special occasions and celebrations. This was our third year in a row dining for New Years eve. We are treated so well here and receive fantastic service every time. One very notable person that has kindly welcomed us and remembered us each time was Santiago Pliego. He provides wonderful service and makes us feel comfortable yet important. The food was divine. We had the evening's specials and the crab cakes. Always delicious. The wine list is always something I look forward to at Ciao Bella as well. Thank you for the great service, food and wine. We will be back soon!

-Linh

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 4th New Years Eve reservatio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is our 4th New Years Eve reservation in a row and you never disappoint!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the Minneapolis area. We try to stop here every time we are in town. We have yet to get a bad meal or poor service, which is why we keep coming back. We dined here on New Year's Eve this year with our son. Our waitress was friendly and attentive and the wine and food were outstanding. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I very very rarely say this, but my expe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I very very rarely say this, but my experience here was impeccable. The food and service all top notch, they made me feel welcome from the second I walked in.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, , Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date and I had a great experience at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My date and I had a great experience at Ciao Bella! The food, and service was on point. The only complaint we had was that the prosciutto starter app wasn't presented well. It was all laid out on a plate for us to put together. When you're paying good money, you don't really want to put your food together.

Tags: Quick Bite, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was poor, took a good 15 minutes ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was poor, took a good 15 minutes to get noticed at our table. Menu is so basic and out of date, such as, listing the main items as..........Natural Entrees(what does natural mean since the food is not listed as organic?) Shrimp app was a joke, tiny popcorn shrimp with a greasy breading and no flavor. Had to ask for bread. Wine list does not have the vintages listed, which is a big deal to serious wine drinkers. Asked for the server to check vintage on a $62 dollar Chardonnay and it was 2011( 3 to 4 vintages behind the marketplace). The food is basic supper club quality.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

news years eve dinner was terrific from ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

news years eve dinner was terrific from the food to the service it was amazing. I can't say enough good things about this place. If you want a great meal with lots of food choices in a romantic setting you need to make sure you include this on your list of great places to dine out.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Historic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Eve Dining. Awesome as Usu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve Dining.

Awesome as Usual!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful place to go! great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely wonderful place to go! great atmosphere

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never been disappointed with my mea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've never been disappointed with my meal at Ciao Bella, nor has anyone I've been dining with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good - as usual - best ita ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very good - as usual - best italian restaurant in twin cities

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service. The heirloo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful food and service. The heirloom grain salad was to die for and the seafood linguini was the best

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was not good but we noticed t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waiter was not good but we noticed the other waiter/waitresses were doing just fine

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

this was our first time here and it live ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

this was our first time here and it lived up to everything we had heard from others! Great food, exception service from Douglas and an overall wonderful evening!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service. Food was cooked as r ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good service. Food was cooked as requested (medium-well) We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten multiple times here. Not ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have eaten multiple times here. Not as good as pervious visits.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Been to CIA Bella 4 times, not impressed ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Been to CIA Bella 4 times, not impressed with food

Ceasar salad was not good, actually really not good

Ravioli was ok but not great, one could make just as good at home

Bread is very good

Sort of pricey for good bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Ciao Bella is my favorite restaurant. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Ciao Bella is my favorite restaurant. The food is always great, the atmosphere friendly, and the waitstaff superb. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. It can be a bit loud at crowded times, but the staff will always find you a quieter booth in the back on request.

The outdoor seating in warmer weather is wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Wood Oven, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came at 3:30pm after a show downtown ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We came at 3:30pm after a show downtown on our way home. Have not been in a long time and was a strange and suboptimal experience. We were seated after a short wait and had time to look at the drink and food menus. Waitress took our drink and appetizer order and went over the specials. When ordering it was unpleasant and our waitress was not helpful and almost combative. She corrected how we were ordering and not to clarify what we wanted. Appetizers came and were average (meatballs and crab cakes). The crab cakes were salty. One of us ordered the salmon and small salad before the main course. The other ordered a meal sized salad. We also had brussel sprouts. The small salad (Ciao Bella) was romaine lettuce with some goat cheese and pine nuts drenched in dressing. The lettuce was soggy. The salmon came out and was in a pool of olive oil and vegetables that were cooked in olive oil (or just covered in it). The salmon was not fresh but was cooked to the right temperature. The one of us ordering the kale salad (large/meal size) had the same experience with the kale freshness and preparation. Maybe there had not been a food delivery in a while or something going on in the kitchen. The brussel sprouts were soft and covered in some type of honey glaze. I usually expect brussel sprouts to be crisp on the outside and tender on the inside with some moderate flavoring (not coated and soggy). Maybe we just were unlucky as many reviews are positive and is why we decided to come back. The salmon was $30, crab cakes are $15 and meatballs $14 and side salad was $10 and I think the brussel sprouts were at least $10. With drinks and entire meals we spent over $150...We won't be back and could have had a better meal at a national chain restaurant for half the price and received better food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was a disaster. Presentation of the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was a disaster. Presentation of the dish was not appeal at all but then the taste was awful. Extremely salty .I tried the sirloin, with finger potatoes and mushroom. Asked for well done and it was burned. Manager was pleasant to bring new side dishes, much better. Waitress was in the hurry, rushing us all the time. It was our wedding anniversary. I am glad the experience did not affect our mood!

Tags: Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Melissa was our server!😊 Excellent serv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Melissa was our server!😊 Excellent service! Very friendly and professional! Food is great! But, little over priced! 🙃 will come back again! Highly recommended !

Thank you Melissa!😀😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quick to be seated and everything was ab ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Quick to be seated and everything was absolutely delicious, couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service and I can't wai ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Amazing food and service and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a really good restaurant, well r ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is a really good restaurant, well run with friendly staff and a very good menu with lots of different options. We both had pastas which were great and it's nice to be able to get a small or

large serving...specially since we always have to have the homemade chips. We had an excellent dessert, a custard with a salted caramel topping.

The bar is always packed but the staff is very attentive and make great drinks. The only issue is one they have had since they opened many years ago...it's so noisy and loud and they have never addressed that. You have to yell in the bar and the restaurant is not much better. Still, it's a fun and lively place so just don't go for a quiet dinner because you won't get it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for lunch and our server was amazin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Went for lunch and our server was amazing! She had such a fun personality and great recommendations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my associates for lunch. I've bee ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I took my associates for lunch. I've been there many times but it was the first time for the three of them and I wanted them to have a good meal without going to downtown Mpls. Two of us had sea bass but with different preparation. We agreed that the fish was great but neither of us was crazy about the supporting items - mashed potatoes and pasta. Our vegetarian had the ravioli which she said it was good but not special. One person had the salmon which she said was amazing. We also had the carmelized brussel sprouts which we all enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, all was great. The parmesan sh ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As usual, all was great. The parmesan shrimp is outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.