About Ciao Bella

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Opened in 1997 by local restaurateur Rick Webb, Ciao Bella offers contemporary Italian cuisine and unparalleled service. Our passion and commitment is to bring you handcrafted food, created with fresh, seasonal, organic and local ingredients. Every meal. Every day. The restaurant is dramatic, comfortable and surrounds you with the warmth of wood, original art and murals, hand wrought iron works and renowned hospitality. Whether it’s a business lunch or a relaxed evening with friends, the entire Ciao Bella Team looks forward to welcoming you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • limonetta
  • Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto
  • Braziliana Salad
  • Pazzo Burger
  • Limonetta Bella
  • lasagna
  • Parmesean Crusted Shrimp
limonetta
Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto
Braziliana Salad
Pazzo Burger
Limonetta Bella
lasagna
Parmesean Crusted Shrimp

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Italian
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Bloomington ›

special occasion (147)
great for outdoor dining (114)
fit for foodies (109)
See All
great for lunch (95)
romantic (87)
good for groups (81)
neighborhood gem (69)
notable wine list (60)
hot spot (22)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (20)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, we had a great experience. The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 2 days ago

Overall, we had a great experience. The food was very fresh and fantastic. Great place for a business dinner or date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very good food, the wait staff are great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food, the wait staff are great. Little noises but the extensive wine list made up for that.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fun, casual Italian but a little pricey ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fun, casual Italian but a little pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ciao Bella is my 'go-to' restaurant for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ciao Bella is my 'go-to' restaurant for business lunch and dinner appointments in this part of town...there are tons of restaurants in and around the France/494 area but few are as consistently great when it comes to the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and food. Generous por ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and food. Generous portions and lots of Italian variety on menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were warmly greeted with a wish for a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were warmly greeted with a wish for a Happy Anniversary backed up with a quiet corner table saved for us. While the place was very busy, the service was attentive and well paced. The food was excellent- I had the summer pasta which was perfectly cooked and very yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Salad overdressed and sides over salted. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Salad overdressed and sides over salted. Waiter didn't stop long enough to listen to concerns - very rushed. Acoustics create a very noisy dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

My husband and I were in Minnesota for o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My husband and I were in Minnesota for our anniversary and went here due to a recommendation. The food was pretty good, but our waiter completely forgot about us. My husband had to chase down the manager after about 20 minutes of waiting. Our appetizers were comped, which was appreciated, but we'll try somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Best outside patio/restaurant in Minneso ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best outside patio/restaurant in Minnesota. All fresh food ingredients.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service and excellent food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have eaten here several times over th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have eaten here several times over the past few years and always have a nice meal. We loved the small tomato salad, with fresh mozzarella and burratta cheese. I had grilled salmon, which was cooked to perfection, and my partner had the halibut special. We finished our meal with chocolate lava cake. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A home away from home. Always love comi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A home away from home. Always love coming here. My wife cannot get enough of the table bread. The Marquitas are great, known for fresh fish. The filet is also a great surprise. Ciao Baby salad and tortaligni rosa are my go to each time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

inordinate wait for service after being ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

inordinate wait for service after being seated. (in fact two different tables seated behind us were served before us even though they both were seated after us!) food was nothing spectacular. haven't been to this restaurant in years but was traveling from the east coast to minneapolis and wanted to re-visit it, the quality has decreased and I got the feeling they are relying on their historical popularity to fill the restaurant, a rather disappointing experience. although they were very fast in clearing our table when my wife was done and I was almost finished!

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely nothing but awesome on the wh ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely nothing but awesome on the whole menu. Go with the fish special every time and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very loud atmosphere, difficult to talk ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very loud atmosphere, difficult to talk across a table without yelling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food and we had an excellent custo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food and we had an excellent customer service experience. I requested a recipe for a salad and the hostess returned with a list of all the ingredients - wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A really nice experience. The menu choi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A really nice experience. The menu choices were great and the wait staff knowledgeable. I thought the prices were on the high side, but I'm from a rural area, so that may be the crux of the issue!

The noise level was pretty high, although not annoying.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was amazing. She had patience ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was amazing. She had patience with us, as we took sometime to order and answered all our questions. Food is amazing. Portion sizes good. We had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy my dining experience at C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I always enjoy my dining experience at Ciao! The service is superb and the food is excellent. One of my favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner reservations on a Thursday ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had dinner reservations on a Thursday evening at 6PM. We did not need to wait for our table and were seated promptly. Our server was great! She was very friendly and helpful. The food was very good but not great. We both felt the dinner while good was not a very good dollar value.

The worst part was that it was so noisy we had to just about yell at each other and that included our server. So if you are looking for a quiet dinner you would be better served elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We were celebrating my daughter-in-law's ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter-in-law's 50th birthday. The food was great - could have split the meal - and the setting was wonderful. I use to live in the area so have been there several times before. However, it was a good reminder to keep it in my scope.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I met two friends for lunch, it was beau ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I met two friends for lunch, it was beautiful day, we sat out on the patio. Their patio is amazing,beautiful flowers and landscaping. We could have sat their all day. Food was very good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had decided in advance that if there ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had decided in advance that if there was no room on the patio, we would leave because the inside is too noisy for us. But there was only a 10 minute wait, so we got some wine at the outdoor bar. The patio is very nice, shaded and lots of flowers and plants to hide the parking lot. We had the pesto sea bass (wonderful) and small filet mignon (very good). The only disappointment was the carmelized brussell sprouts, which were sticky and chewy. We had them before when they were done without the honey and almonds, and loved those. The tiny dessert, huckleberry cheesecake was just right with good coffee.

We would come back for the patio. The server was exceptional. Attentive without hovering.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Diner at Ciao Bella was excellent. The r ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Diner at Ciao Bella was excellent. The restaurant is attractive and parking easily accessible. The menu is lengthly with many choices for light to hardy appetites. Highly recommended for an excellent meal at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ciao Bella is a fabulous find in Bloomin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Ciao Bella is a fabulous find in Bloomington, MN. Just outside the Twin Cities and worth the few extra minutes it takes to get there. Amazing food expertly prepared, a stunning wine list and fabulous service! We would definitely recommend Ciao Bella.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Tables by the kitchen ar ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was great. Tables by the kitchen are very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The pesto crusted seabass had way too ma ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The pesto crusted seabass had way too many different flavors going on. I had to remove the pesto crust so I could taste the fish. The fish itself was good quality, however, and a simpler presentation would have been more delicious.

Our waiter, Seth was outstanding. Very attentive, efficient, personable, and helped us choose a special bottle of wine for our anniversary by bringing us 2 samples and taking some time for description despite the fact that the restaurant appeared to be very busy.

We were seated immediately when we arrived for our reservation and our water and wine glasses were kept full. We will return.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

One complaint: having a reservation at C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One complaint: having a reservation at Ciao Bella does not help with an outdoor table. You wait, along with everyone else.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would go to Ciao Bella more often if i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I would go to Ciao Bella more often if it weren't so noisy. It is great for business lunches except for that.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had dinner on the patio. The food, t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We had dinner on the patio. The food, the service and the setting were all outstanding. The short ribs were to die for. The patio is one of the nicest in the Twin Cities, but inside the restaurant is too noisy if you want to talk with other people in your party. That is a real shame, because otherwise it is a great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I came to Ciao Bella for a special dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I came to Ciao Bella for a special dinner with besties and was not disappointed. The food was terrific, the service was on point and never intrusive, they were very patient as we were there for a long time. We ordered the baked chicken under a brick, summer linguine, seafood special, tomato and mozzarella salad, and warm chocolate cake. No bites were returned to the kitchen. If it had been polite to lick the plates, that might have happened.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal. We both ordered the copp ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent meal. We both ordered the copper river salmon and it was delicious, one of our favorites. Our server, Kayla was amazing, very helpful and attentive. Ciao Bella is always on their game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there on June 19 for my mother's ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there on June 19 for my mother's birthday. As usual the food was wonderful. My mother had the chicken parmesan which is always good and I had mushroom crusted halibut which was amazing. We had cobbler for desert and that was very good as well. The service was very good as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great and service (Zach) was ex ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great and service (Zach) was excellent. Both fish specials were delicious as were the brussel sprouts (our favorite)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a superb waiter in Jeff. ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and a superb waiter in Jeff. Still too loud at times.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ONLY thing I don't like about this p ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The ONLY thing I don't like about this place is the prices, everything else is wonderful

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We ate on the patio on a beautiful after ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We ate on the patio on a beautiful afternoon. Unfortunately there was a smoking area at one end of the patio and the smoke from two people smoking cigars wafted through the patio during our entire lunch. We might have had more wine or dessert but the smell was very disgusting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Everything was amazing! Great Food and g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Everything was amazing! Great Food and great wine list. The seabass was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed Ciao Bella for years esp ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We have enjoyed Ciao Bella for years especially patio as indoors acoustics are very loud.

The food is always great but the bartenders drinks are hit or miss.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Noise level was borderline too loud. I c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Noise level was borderline too loud. I could not select energetic as loud is not energetic t is abrasive and interruptive to others. Energetic is cohesive with the ambiance of the entire venue like at a sports event as everyone is focused on the same event. Very nice mid-range restaurant; not like Crave which is a higher end TGI Friday's venue.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.