Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Ciao Bella

At Ciao Bella, we serve simple, fresh Italian cuisine made from local ingredients. Our handcrafted meals are accompanied by a thoughtful, approachable wine selection. We believe dining is more than food: it is an experience, and ours is quality. Enjoy your handcrafted meal on our lively outdoor patio, or take in the local art collection in our dining room. Our philosophy is simple: quality food and wine presented with welcoming service. Every meal. Every day. Please join us.

A Minneapolis metro favorite, Ciao Bella was opened in 1997 by Minneapolis restaurateur Rick Webb, whose pursuits have set the standard in Twin Cities dining for over 40 years. Heading downtown? Visit Ciao Bella’s sister restaurant, Zelo, for another dining experience from Rick Webb featuring handcrafted food and dedicated service.

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 9 p.m.

Bar:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 1 a.m.
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 11 p.m.
Sunday: 4 p.m. – midnight
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
Business Meals (56)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Romantic (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Worth the Drive (41)
Great for Lunch (40)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Casual (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Fun (25)
Cozy (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Authentic (21)
Healthy (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Seasonal (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
People Watching (9)
Organic (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Fireplace (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Great location for lunch or dinner. The staff is excellent, food is great, and the outdoor patio is a great option in the summer. Highly recommend Ciao Bella!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Just about perfect.....a bit .less noise would be nice,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding! Don't miss the Parmesan crusted shrimp!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

That place rocks! Jerome is awesome ,food great! Ambiance super

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoy going to Ciao Bella for dinner on a rare occasion. We thought the portions were a bit skimpy for the price/value. Out waiter was fabulous!! 5 Stars.
The bread was out of this world!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Brought an out of town guest here for a delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Entrees were delicious. Bread was good. I ordered the chips for an app expecting dip. Just basic thin potato chips. That was a little disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great service. Our server was very friendly and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Always happy here, but buying less as prices increase.

Tags: Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Verbatim from the message I sent through Ciao Bella's website:
Hello,

Earlier this week (Tuesday, I believe) I came in for the first time, with my boyfriend and my mother. My mother had come to visit me from Italy and we decided to try out Ciao Bella. The server gave us impeccable service. I don't recall her name, but she has been there for 17 years. She was incredibly personable, but genuine, and gave us a wonderful experience and most importantly--happy memories.

As an aside, the food was divine and we are sure to be back. It was lovely inside and all of the staff were friendly. I've been telling anyone who will listen, that they will NOT be disappointed if they should decide to dine at your establishment for any occasion.

Thanks again for an exceptionally delicious and memorable afternoon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Casual, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My Mediterranean Crab salad was very good, but very little crab.
Service was fantastic, Melissa was awesome.
Can get a little loud over lunch if you're having a business lunch with elderly clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The calamari was an excellent start. The warm bread was excellent. Our small plates were just what we wanted and the Tiramisu added a great finishing touch. We loved it, oh, and the company was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was good as usual. Outdoor patio fabulous on a summer afternoon however server was awful, was in a rush to get off her shift and did not had us off to a new server. Was catching up with a friend and we were there another couple hours after lunch without a server, ONCE someone refilled our water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As usual everything was perfect. The only comment is that we wish black napkins were available when needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The outdoor dining area is lovely.
Service and food were both
exellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

They are busy in the summer for the patio, so there is usually an hour or so wait, but worth the wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We visited on a Friday evening. The patio was full, but we were taken to a quiet corner (as I requested). Our server, Brad, was most attentive and accommodating - special orders didn't upset him. The 4 of us were extremely pleased with out meals. We shared two salads. Main courses were walleye Milanese, chicken mushroom risotto (hold the mushrooms), the halibut special (hold the spinach) and some great short ribs. For dessert, we split two of the small desserts -- a berry cobbler and the specialty lemon dessert. It was a lovely evening. We were rushed and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Awesome patio, food, service, cocktails and ambience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Second day in a row for a business lunch. Always a favorite with solid service and food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We ate on the patio and it was lovely. You would never know you were just off a suburban parking lot. The food was great. You can spend a lot, but there are several less expensive options. We had, and loved, the Parmesan Crusted Shrimp small plate, short rib ravioli and cacio de pepe. We loved it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This is an excellent restaurant. Good service and food/wine.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Ciao Bella is an amazing restaurant I have been going there for years it is very consistent. I've never had a bad meal there or even an OK meal it's always been absolutely outstanding! amazing food amazing service in a beautiful setting love it there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Friends took me for my birthday. We had a short wait & were seated inside until a table on the patio opened up. Inside Michelle, our server, could not have been more personable & gracious. She was a real pro & so much fun! She set the tone for the evening & everything was perfect. We had a ball.
Carol Jean

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very loud! We were seated by the bar even though we had reservations. Service was good, food good. But the noise level was too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Outstanding food as always! As well as a great atmosphere and caring waiters and waitresses! Definitely a great place to eat if your looking for amazing pastas or steaks! Only thing for me is I feel as if it is a little rushed which makes sense because they're is a lot of people to attend too! So overall I'd say it's amazing and they do a job well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I have eaten at the restaurant every time I am in town. It is always a more than pleasant experience. Great service, wonderful food, great selections, and from the time I walk into the restaurant, beginning with the hostesses to the servers, bar tenders and bus people, I have always been treated like my party and I are the only person there.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This is a great place to go for that special dinner out. The food is excellent and the service impeccable . The sound level is not at all conducive to an intimate meal or for conversation. It is best to just enjoy the company and the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent soup and salad!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great service! Food very tasty. This is one of favorite places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Pomegranate Seed/Kale/Asparagus Seasonal Salad w/ Sauteed Scallops was available, and even more delicious than I'd hoped. Mild and beautiful weather on the patio, service excellent and prompt as usual. Lunch with Mom was lovely. Thanks Ciao! We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Made last minute reservations on open table based on reviews. Perfect place. Great bread, pasta, pork chops, and halibut. Service flawless. What more can I say.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything was great. A good experience.waiter was good. Food came quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great meal and great ambiance. Service was very good. Never felt rushed. Steak was done perfectly and tasted great. House salad was tasty. Fish dish was also quite good. And all desserts were delicious

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our food was fine, but nothing special. It was our server that made the experience. He was also a sommelier, so his wine suggestions were excellent. Plus, before we left, he wrote down some wines that he thought I might like based on our conversation. Very attentive and kind.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

excellent food and service impeccable would head back in a minute

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have several favorite dishes here and they never disappoint. The service was excellent, with an attentive and personable waiter (Joey) who did a very nice job.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything was very good again. Parm Shrimp is a must for an App. Short Rib again was very good. A person in our Party had the Walleye and it was excellent. Seth as always was top notch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very expensive for the amount of food you get. Side salads and substitute items also cost a ridiculous amount. Nice restaurant, pretty good food but over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food quality and service were outstanding! Noise levels extremely high making it difficult for conversation among our table of friends. Also had to wait well over 30 minutes for food to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Marvelous sea bass and the fennel soup is worth going back for.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.