Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Ciao Bella

At Ciao Bella, we serve simple, fresh Italian cuisine made from local ingredients. Our handcrafted meals are accompanied by a thoughtful, approachable wine selection. We believe dining is more than food: it is an experience, and ours is quality. Enjoy your handcrafted meal on our lively outdoor patio, or take in the local art collection in our dining room. Our philosophy is simple: quality food and wine presented with welcoming service. Every meal. Every day. Please join us.

A Minneapolis metro favorite, Ciao Bella was opened in 1997 by Minneapolis restaurateur Rick Webb, whose pursuits have set the standard in Twin Cities dining for over 40 years. Heading downtown? Visit Ciao Bella’s sister restaurant, Zelo, for another dining experience from Rick Webb featuring handcrafted food and dedicated service.

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 9 p.m.

Bar:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 1 a.m.
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 11 p.m.
Sunday: 4 p.m. – midnight
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (81)
Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (65)
See All
Business Meals (56)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Worth the Drive (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Cozy (38)
Notable Wine List (38)
Great for Lunch (35)
Good for Groups (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Fun (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Authentic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Wood Oven (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Casual (19)
Healthy (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fireplace (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Modern Decor (13)
People Watching (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Organic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

This is a great spot and a favorite to visit. Always a good experience and they do what's right to accommodate you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the food very much, and appreciated our server even more. She was a delightful server who came in and out at just the right time. Also, It's so nice when you ask for a box and the server takes your plate and prepares the box.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

While we really loved most of our meal, we felt the fish (walleye) was a bit dry and perhaps that is because we usually have broiled. We would make another choice the second time around. The Caesar salad was great as were the hot slices of bread. The mashed potatoes and tomatoes were delicious as well. We each had a dessert of caramel cake and chocolate cake which arrived in these cute little cups that were quite rich and filling. Just perfect!

Special shout out to SAM, our waitress. She was right on the spot, perhaps more than she needed to be. Sam is very efficient and informative concerning the menu. She took good care of us!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent service - waiter made good recommendations. Comfortable but a little noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ciao Bella never disappoints! Fantastic Italian food, with menu options ranging from pasta to seafood to burgers to steaks and chops....everything I've ever had here is amazing. Pair that with a great wine list and it's a wonderful place to take a date or a tourist, as well as to go for a meal with local friends and family. Service is top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Mpls./St.Paul. GREAT outdoor patio.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Pasta was great, food was a bit on speedy side for portion. Overall a good experience. Just a bit noisey

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Love the food here! The risotto is always my favorite:). The one thing I hate about this place is that it is so crazy loud!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing, the best experience I've had by far. Outstanding service, over the top friendliness! Ciao Bella is an experience I will never forget, wish I remembered our server's name, but she was absolutely amazing. A special day for me for my 21st birthday and Ciao Bella made it unforgettable. Will definitely be coming back to this wonderful place!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This was my first visit to Ciao Bella and both my dinner companion and I thought everything was wonderful. The food was excellent, as was the service. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Like Ciao Bella for business if you can get a table off the main dining room. Quieter there. But given the prices, not the best value -- particularly if you don't order the pasta, which they are known for. Salad entree was a bit soggy and they did not cook the fish per my request. Hate to give this review as the server was outstanding and did everything right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food and service, just a little to expensive for my taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a wonderful time.
Only complaint. It was very noisy. Hard to talk.
Our waiter was exceptional. Good food. We will come back.
Thank you

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Family Style, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was so loud during lunch, we had to yell at hear each other. The food was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing sea bass!!! Had an outstanding business meal

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wonderful, as always! And Jerome is the best server in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Best salmon in Twin Cities- Been coming here for years- it is consistently great for business and personal occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Service was attentive. Food was delicious. We ordered flatbread, the Heirloom Grain Salad and a Turkey Burger. The French Fries were superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We celebrated a friend's birthday there for lunch. We loved the atmosphere; great wine menu; and delicious food (although a bit pricey). We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed, yummy experience and will definitely be back again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our server Donny was great; funny and accommodating. We were able to visit with our friends without feeling rushed. The food was fantastic!.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Loved it! Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Have not been to Ciao Bella for a while and it was great to meet a friend for dinner. The wine list is excellent and we both had a Salmon special that was fabulous. Our server was very attentive and the evening was great. I will put Ciao Bella on my list to go more often.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

GREAT WAIT PERSON - ZACH
WAY TOO NOISY
FRONT ENTRY WAS VERY GRITTY AND DUSTY.
NO SPECIAL TOUCHES, SUCH AS NICE FLORAL ARRANGEMENTS,
GIRLS AT FRONT WERE SUPER NICE.
LINENS WERE CLEAN AND FRESH.
WHOLE PLACE NEEDED A GOOD CLEANING AND FRESHENING UP. IT COULD BE SO MUCH CLASSIER WITH SOME HELP.
TOO PRICEY FOR THE ATMOSPHERE.
SALAD WAS BLAH, PASTA WAS OKAY.
NO IMPROVEMENT IN THE LAST SEVERAL YEARS.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Food was fantastic - inventive, healthy and great flavors. Our server, Michelle, did a fantastic job - attentive without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Ahi Tuna salad was great and the wait staff is always super friendly!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food was excellent. Server (Melissa) was particularly helpful and knowledgeable helping me with my special dietary needs. The restaurant was MUCH TOO LOUD for our business dinner. Most of the time I couldn't hear the person across from me AT ALL.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great service and amazing food, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great spot for lunch with friends or colleagues. Delectable menu with an offering for every palate. Fresh seasonal ingredients and traditional favorites like the ahi burger and tomato basil soup. The short rib raviolis were perfectly executed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent waiter and overall good experience. The food was very good. The bread was crispy and piping hot. Both entrees were delicious. The cappuccino was lovely as was the biscotto that came with it.
A very good experience. I recommend going to dinner early since the restaurant can get quite noisy when crowded. We were on our way to a theater event so dined earl

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We wanted a quiet place where we could talk and enjoy wonderful food at a reasonable price. We met all our criteria with our visit.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic servers and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very quick service, in & out in 40 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food and service by Scott was fantastic. Will be back soon!

Tags: Fireplace, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We took my parents for dinner, it was a first time for all of us and definitely a place we'll be coming back to!! Our server provided excellent recommendations and options to make the most of our meal!! The service and the food were exceptional!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The maple pecan salmon with squash and spinach was unbelievable! High marks to the chef on that one! As always, the service was fantastic and food even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

RIck Webb knows how to create a phenomenal atmosphere. Fun and trendy.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food, great service and fun atmosphere! The 3 of us each had different pasta dishes and loved them all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Awesome Italian food and great bartendar! Had a wonderful time!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was outstanding! Great wine list and our waiter Brad was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.