About Ciao Bella

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Opened in 1997 by local restaurateur Rick Webb, Ciao Bella offers contemporary Italian cuisine and unparalleled service. Our passion and commitment is to bring you handcrafted food, created with fresh, seasonal, organic and local ingredients. Every meal. Every day. The restaurant is dramatic, comfortable and surrounds you with the warmth of wood, original art and murals, hand wrought iron works and renowned hospitality. Whether it’s a business lunch or a relaxed evening with friends, the entire Ciao Bella Team looks forward to welcoming you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • limonetta
  • Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto
  • Braziliana Salad
  • Pazzo Burger
  • Limonetta Bella
  • lasagna
  • Parmesean Crusted Shrimp
limonetta
Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto
Braziliana Salad
Pazzo Burger
Limonetta Bella
lasagna
Parmesean Crusted Shrimp

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
2 More
Italian
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Bloomington ›

Special Occasion (122)
Great for Outdoor Dining (115)
Fit for Foodies (95)
See All
Great for Lunch (88)
Romantic (73)
Good for Groups (69)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Notable Wine List (43)
Hot Spot (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (11)
Authentic (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (9)
Fun (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fireplace (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I always have high expectati ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I always have high expectations of Ciao Bella , and for good reason - it's consistently satisfying every time for our date nights. Ambience, food and service all really good. Great patio when the weather is right. Believe it or not from an "Italian" restaurant, but best walleye anywhere. We'd love if they would experiment with new salad offerings...seasonal/local or whatever.

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great seafood ; we all had a different s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great seafood ; we all had a different seafood entre and were very satisfied. Lots of flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food but a bit loud for having ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very good food but a bit loud for having conversations

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The ordinary menu is nothing special, a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The ordinary menu is nothing special, a bit over-rated and pricey. I have dined here many times and for the first time I ordered the special of the night, a salmon over, for a lack of a better term, sweet and spicy soba noodles. Excellent. I shall stick to the specials in the future,. skipping the bland pastas

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Wood Oven, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Really loud. My sister and I had to yell ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Really loud. My sister and I had to yell thru the whole meal. Even the server was yelling. Service was a little too slow. I appreciate that she didn't rush through courses, but we often sat with empty glasses or finished plates before the next course arrived (or was even ordered). Entree was worth the wait though. Spare ribs were fork-tender and delicious. Spicy crab pasta was great too. Mint was an interesting touch to the dish that added a nice depth of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The quality of the food and service has ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The quality of the food and service has always been high, and the amazing thing is that they have kept it up over the years.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing, service was exquisite ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food was amazing, service was exquisite and attentive, wait staff wished us a happy anniversary and took our picture for us. Great for special occasions or just for well made and presented food. The ambiance and staff make it that much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We so enjoyed having our professional gr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We so enjoyed having our professional group meeting there, we came back the next night to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good for the most part and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good for the most part and they were quick to accommodate any concerns we had. A water glass was cracked and they messed up on the wine order but they quickly had it taken care of. The pastas were good although the halibut was slightly lacking in flavor. I didn't expect to have to add salt and pepper to a meal, however that was the case with the fish so I'd stick with ordering pasta in the future since they got that right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal! We ate out on the patio and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great meal! We ate out on the patio and had a very nice evening. Our waiter Jerome was very good. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tried to talk my fellow diners into ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I tried to talk my fellow diners into having the Sea Bass with me. They had never tried it and were reluctant. I let them taste mine and all agreed it was delicious. 5 Star all the way! I had read the reviews and was curious if my experience would be as good. Ciao Bella exceeded my expectations. It is now my go-to restaurant when I want to impress.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We're from out of town and first tried C ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We're from out of town and first tried Ciao Bella in 2004--happened to be staying next door, so it was convenient. However, it's now a place to make sure we dine at, and this was only my second time! The other family member with me has been at least twice in between these years. The food continues to be excellent, and the service was top notch. We're coming back next time we're in town for sure!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpectedly great meal during a busines ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Unexpectedly great meal during a business trip. Food, wine & service (Seth) were all outstanding. Will definitely put this place on my list for MSP business trips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was at ciao bella three times in the l ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I was at ciao bella three times in the last two weeks and it is a restaurant we often frequent. We also like the other restaurants: zelo, bacio, and vivo. I obviously love many things about this place, the food, the service (almost always), the patio, and the dining room. Two out of he three times we had excellent service and the third time, we mentioned the less than stellar service and the manager (fabulous) discounted out bill. The fish is great, the salads fresh and interesting. You can get a more standard salad for people like my 80 year old mom, and a 'foodie' salad for me. I had the porcini crusted halibut special with carmelized Brussel sprouts and it was over the top. I'll be back again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to Ciao Bella many times an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We have been to Ciao Bella many times and have NEVER been disappointed. Food is always great!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner at Ciao Bella was fantastic. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our dinner at Ciao Bella was fantastic. From the food to the ambiance, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta was good, spicy and serving si ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The pasta was good, spicy and serving size was not excessive. We would try it again but only if we were already in the area.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Staff always friendly and helpful. Food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Staff always friendly and helpful. Food generally great. Did not like the Panko Salmom or potatoes with it, but usually everything else I have ordered has been very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is a very nice restaurant. Excelle ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant. Excellent menu with a good selection for most people. Wine list is good - pretty broad spectrum of offerings. Restaurant is finely appointed and comfortable. Our server was excellent. Professional in her duties, but willing to laugh with us as we asked questions or simply joked with her. Just an overall excellent evening with friends. If we didn't live almost five hours away, we'd come here more often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was pleasant, the check-i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our experience was pleasant, the check-in attendant was welcoming and accommodating.

Our wait-person was cordial, she did tell us about the day favorite but didn't explain that meals were ala carte, found it out later.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

superb outdoor venue...great halibut, ou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

superb outdoor venue...great halibut, our waitress was friendly and attentive, food and drinkes always excellent . The inside bar is always too nosy (bad acousitics) but the ouside bar is great.

One of our favorite places in Minneaplois.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a business lunch. The food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Went for a business lunch. The food was great, the service was excellent. Conversation was a bit strained, but we were sitting in the middle of the room so next time I would request an outer table or booth. I would definitely go again.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating to honor someone fro ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were celebrating to honor someone from our office. She was totally taken off guard when we brought her here. She loved the atmosphere and of course all of us thought the food was spectacular. Can't wait until I have another special occasion to celebrate.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very good restaurant for all o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a very good restaurant for all occasions except business meeting as the noise level is usually quite high

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waitress did a great job.,Reana Ver ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The waitress did a great job.,Reana Very positive person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff and service. Excellent food

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great staff and service. Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had reservations inside on a Friday n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had reservations inside on a Friday night. The noise level was such that we couldn't stay and instead dined outside. We were seated reasonably promptly although initially we were told there was a 30 minute wait. Would come back only if able to eat outside. The din was unbearable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First I would like to say the service wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

First I would like to say the service was top notch. Seth was our waiter and he was great. Very friendly. When I asked to make my dish with a different sauce he was very accommodating. He explained the menu and took time to answer all our questions. The food was excellent. I had homemade pasta with vegetables and it was outstanding. My husband had the Salmon with goat cheese mash potatoes and spinach. Very good. Wine was a good value.

A very nice meal all around.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not good at all for the price. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was not good at all for the price. I ordered the fettuccine and it tasted like lemon pound cake because they doused it in so much lemon. You could go to an Olive Garden and get better Italian. The waiter was very awkward, he made us feel weird asking for things like drinks or bread. Extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

I met a friend for a business lunch, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I met a friend for a business lunch, and as always, the food and service were great.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely fell in love with Ciao Bell ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I absolutely fell in love with Ciao Bella! I would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the location, the seating arr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We enjoyed the location, the seating arrangements, the good food, and of course, the company of friends who had never been to this restaurant before.

They will become frequent visitors.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful outdoor patio. Very good food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Beautiful outdoor patio. Very good food. Server was knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

wonderful experience and everyone extrem ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

wonderful experience and everyone extremely friendly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ciao Bella was wonderful except for one ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Ciao Bella was wonderful except for one thing. My sister found a piece of hair in her salad. We decided not to say anything until I found one too! Because they split the salad we were confident it wasn't our hair . We politely told our server who in turn told a manager. The manager came over and apologize and said we are going to take this off your bill. She later came back and said that the person who prepared the salad was bald and had a hat on so not sure where the hair came from. It felt accusatory and as if she thought we planted the hair. The salad was only $11 and by far the cheapest thing we ordered that evening.

I've always had a wonderful experience at this restaurant so I was shocked that she made a point to tell us. Even if that was the case--no need to point it out to the customer. It felt like a kiss with a slap We will take care of it, but she made it feel like it was our fault.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

My wife and I recently celebrated our an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Ciao. The evening was perfect . The food was outstanding. Peyton our server was super. Sue the manager went out of her way to make sure our evening was special. We could not have asked for more. Make sure to try the sea bass when you are there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ciao Bella is an excellent restaurant! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Ciao Bella is an excellent restaurant! The food is always exceptional. The service is also great, although the person clearing our table was a tad over-anxious. He started clearing as we were still finishing up. We also appreciate the small and larger plate servings/prices on entrees. The only real complaint is the noise level. We could hear ourselves talk but, with high ceilings, it can get very loud in the restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love the food at Ciao Bella, but the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love the food at Ciao Bella, but the extreme noise level is getting to be a problem since it is difficult to carry on and hear a normal conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We make a point of visiting every time w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We make a point of visiting every time we are in the twn cities. Without fail.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure to book a reservation for even ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Make sure to book a reservation for evening as the restaurant fills up fast with people getting off work nearby.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.