About Ciao Bella

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Opened in 1997 by local restaurateur Rick Webb, Ciao Bella offers contemporary Italian cuisine and unparalleled service. Our passion and commitment is to bring you handcrafted food, created with fresh, seasonal, organic and local ingredients. Every meal. Every day. The restaurant is dramatic, comfortable and surrounds you with the warmth of wood, original art and murals, hand wrought iron works and renowned hospitality. Whether it’s a business lunch or a relaxed evening with friends, the entire Ciao Bella Team looks forward to welcoming you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • limonetta
  • Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto
  • Braziliana Salad
  • Pazzo Burger
  • Limonetta Bella
  • lasagna
  • Parmesean Crusted Shrimp
limonetta
Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto
Braziliana Salad
Pazzo Burger
Limonetta Bella
lasagna
Parmesean Crusted Shrimp

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Italian
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Bloomington ›

special occasion (127)
fit for foodies (102)
great for outdoor dining (95)
See All
great for lunch (88)
romantic (81)
good for groups (80)
neighborhood gem (62)
notable wine list (54)
hot spot (25)
vibrant bar scene (24)
late-night find (20)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The pesto crusted seabass had way too ma ...

Dined 3 days ago

The pesto crusted seabass had way too many different flavors going on. I had to remove the pesto crust so I could taste the fish. The fish itself was good quality, however, and a simpler presentation would have been more delicious. Our waiter, Seth was outstanding. Very attentive, efficient, personable, and helped us choose a special bottle of wine for our anniversary by bringing us 2 samples and taking some time for description despite the fact that the restaurant appeared to be very busy. We were seated immediately when we arrived for our reservation and our water and wine glasses were kept full. We will return.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One complaint: having a reservation at C ...

Dined 5 days ago

One complaint: having a reservation at Ciao Bella does not help with an outdoor table. You wait, along with everyone else.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I would go to Ciao Bella more often if i ...

Dined 5 days ago

I would go to Ciao Bella more often if it weren't so noisy. It is great for business lunches except for that.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner on the patio. The food, t ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

We had dinner on the patio. The food, the service and the setting were all outstanding. The short ribs were to die for. The patio is one of the nicest in the Twin Cities, but inside the restaurant is too noisy if you want to talk with other people in your party. That is a real shame, because otherwise it is a great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I came to Ciao Bella for a special dinne ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I came to Ciao Bella for a special dinner with besties and was not disappointed. The food was terrific, the service was on point and never intrusive, they were very patient as we were there for a long time. We ordered the baked chicken under a brick, summer linguine, seafood special, tomato and mozzarella salad, and warm chocolate cake. No bites were returned to the kitchen. If it had been polite to lick the plates, that might have happened.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. We both ordered the copp ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent meal. We both ordered the copper river salmon and it was delicious, one of our favorites. Our server, Kayla was amazing, very helpful and attentive. Ciao Bella is always on their game!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were there on June 19 for my mother's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there on June 19 for my mother's birthday. As usual the food was wonderful. My mother had the chicken parmesan which is always good and I had mushroom crusted halibut which was amazing. We had cobbler for desert and that was very good as well. The service was very good as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and service (Zach) was ex ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great and service (Zach) was excellent. Both fish specials were delicious as were the brussel sprouts (our favorite)!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and a superb waiter in Jeff. ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and a superb waiter in Jeff. Still too loud at times.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The ONLY thing I don't like about this p ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

The ONLY thing I don't like about this place is the prices, everything else is wonderful

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service4

We ate on the patio on a beautiful after ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We ate on the patio on a beautiful afternoon. Unfortunately there was a smoking area at one end of the patio and the smoke from two people smoking cigars wafted through the patio during our entire lunch. We might have had more wine or dessert but the smell was very disgusting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! Great Food and g ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Everything was amazing! Great Food and great wine list. The seabass was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We have enjoyed Ciao Bella for years esp ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We have enjoyed Ciao Bella for years especially patio as indoors acoustics are very loud. The food is always great but the bartenders drinks are hit or miss.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Noise level was borderline too loud. I c ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Noise level was borderline too loud. I could not select energetic as loud is not energetic t is abrasive and interruptive to others. Energetic is cohesive with the ambiance of the entire venue like at a sports event as everyone is focused on the same event. Very nice mid-range restaurant; not like Crave which is a higher end TGI Friday's venue.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I would have rated higher but a large gr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I would have rated higher but a large group was seated next to us after we had been there for some time, and it became very noisy. My crab cake sandwich was tasty but too much butter on the bun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awonderful

Dined on June 10, 2016

My friend and I had wonderful salads. It was a very hot day but beautiful on the patio in the shade. Our wait person was very helpful and knowledgeable. We enjoyed our time outside. The inside, to me, it too dark so was pleased to be on patio.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Team did a great job for a business dinn ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Team did a great job for a business dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular dining experiance "Multi Bene"

Dined on June 9, 2016

We were in MN for our niece's college graduation & Ciao Bella was near our hotel & had some very good ratings; so my wife & I decided to give it a try. It was a beautiful, warm evening & we were fortunate to get a table on the patio. A very nice setting with the tables well spaced. We shared a mozzarella appetizer that was similar to but better than an app that we had at Lake Como. Being from New England I tried the fresh water Walleye Milanese. Absolutely, melt in your mouth delicious. My wife had the Spicy Crab Spaghetti which was also just fantastic. From the bread to the dessert we were very impressed with the food, service, & ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food & good service

Dined on June 9, 2016

Four friends met for lunch and everybody thought their food was good and the service very good. There is a good selection of lunch items to fit all tastes. Only negative was that the restaurant was full and therefore noisy so it was a bit hard to hear.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Pricy for what you get

Dined on June 5, 2016

great food but the prices are way too HIGH! I was just in Italy and pasta is great and inexpensive. The salad prices are also ridiculously high!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved it!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Second time at Ciao Bella this past weekend. Everything was really wonderful. Our server was Kari, and she showed great patience with our two friends who are mildly hard of hearing. Having said that, this busy restaurant is perhaps the noisiest place I've been to in a while. I have no hearing issues, and found it very difficult to carry on a normal conversation even with the server because of the noise. It won't stop us from coming back again and again though!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently good food and good service.

Dined on June 3, 2016

The bar is too loud making the entrance and immediate seating area undesirable.

food5
ambience5
service5

The walleye was superb (and I have had 1 ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The walleye was superb (and I have had 100# in my lifetime). Next time, I will ask that the fried fish not be put ON the potatoes. The moisture ruins the crispy breading on the down side. And that takes away from the experience. I like the crispness otherwise I would have it grilled.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always good! Good food, ambience and service.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Ciao Bella has a wonderful outdoor patio. The food is wonderful, fresh and current. Their warm bread is always a temptation for me. It's a wonderful environment to sit and enjoy a summer's night with friends or lunch too! Love to sit outside with the garden bordering the seating area. I tried the beef bruschetta and loved it. It was a satisfying light meal. Otherwise, I love the walleye dinner. It's a special place. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, run by a great family

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is terrific, the staff outstanding and the ambience great. We love the wonderful Italian food and the family that runs this restaurant. We recommend it all the time to anyone who will listen.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best in town. Our favorite.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Consistently great food and service for decades now. A true dining pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience2
service4

The restaurant is loud. I would compare ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant is loud. I would compare the volume to that of a sports bar during the playoffs for a sport. I will not return unless the weather will allow us to eat on the patio. And to make things worse, Midway through our meal a group of 6 came and they added to the already uncomfortably loud venue. A manager spoke to the group, one of whom was most boarish, once. We could not hear what he said, but I hope he asked them to quiet down. Regardless, they did not improve. And I can only assume the manager did not check back because as the nearby guests drank, they only got worse. We left early as it was too much of a struggle to converse. Please note, neither of us have hearing loss.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wehadagreatmealandthewaitstaffwasverygoo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Wehadagreatmealandthewaitstaffwasverygood. Likedthesettingandtheatmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good energy and staff worked with my ass ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Good energy and staff worked with my assistant to create a special anniversary dinner for my wife. It was great. We just moved back to Minnesota so had not been here in about 8 years. It was just a we remembered which was great service and great value wine list.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very accommodating and friendl ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Menu was outstanding and food was even better. This was our first trip to Minnesota and was not sure where to go for a good meal. We were very happy we chose this restaurant and would recommend to anyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Overall Service

Dined on May 25, 2016

Service is consistently spotty. One time I can go in and the waiter/waitress can be very attentive. Other times, as in last week, the waiter simply disappeared as if we were not sitting at the table. We had to flag him down for attention. This is a common theme when I go here. Also, while I enjoy the vibrant atmosphere, if I have a serious business dinner to attend, I will schedule it elsewhere as it is simply too noisy in this restaurant at peak times.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and always wonderful service. ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food and always wonderful service. I have never had a disappointing experience at Ciao Bella..

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best meals we've had and cert ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

One of the best meals we've had and certainly the best we've had in Minneapolis. Fresh - never frozen - fish, bread made daily and wonderful, flavorful accents create a mouth watering dish. Everything was served with experience and a warm smile. Michelle, our waitress, was exceptional. She said after 15 years of working there, that she has trouble going to any other restaurant and we get why. What ever you order, leave room for some chocolate lava cake for dessert. One of the best any where!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here was awesomely wonderful!! ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food here was awesomely wonderful!! Worth every cent we spent! The waitress was great, friendly and attentive. We did have reservations and did not have to wait. This is not cookie-cutter restaurant food. We especially liked that the dinner's come in small/ large plate portions also. We will definitely go back and would love to do an early dinner at the outside patio which is super cozy!! The Caramelized Brussels Sprouts were a real treat!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great patio seating

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very loud. I wanted to suggest great for date/friends' get-together, howver, it is just too loud for conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good food, service, wine list/prices

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

For a larger restaurant with a fair amount of volume, the food was quite good. One colleague thought the lasagne was excellent and everyone was quite happy with the quality of food. My salmon was cooked exactly the way requested (meaning: quite rare). Service was also very good...our waitress was fun, professional and helpful when it came time to make choices. Special note on the wine list: My two colleagues are both exceptionally well-equated oenophiles, and they were impressed by both the selection of wines, as well as the (extremely) reasonable prices that were charged. Overall, definitely worth a visit if you're in town and looking for reliable Italian.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ciao Bella is long on vibrance and greta ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Ciao Bella is long on vibrance and greta place to meet people, the food is reasonable, but that's not the reason to frequent the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Horrible Server

Dined on May 18, 2016

Kathleen the server was awful. Was more interested in getting us out of there and anything. Did complain to the manager and she was willing to do anything to make us happy customers. so the management gets A+ along with the food, however, the server gets an F.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyable lunch

Dined on May 18, 2016

Enjoyed my lunch with a high school friend at Ciao Bella. I had the Halibut Miso and it was excellent. My guest had a salad with shrimp and loved it. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food immensely. I had made a last minute reservation so we had a booth right by the kitchen which was not the best but hey the food was great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome server! Attentive and brought a ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Awesome server! Attentive and brought a very positive energy

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.