About Ciao Bella

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Opened in 1997 by local restaurateur Rick Webb, Ciao Bella offers contemporary Italian cuisine and unparalleled service. Our passion and commitment is to bring you handcrafted food, created with fresh, seasonal, organic and local ingredients. Every meal. Every day. The restaurant is dramatic, comfortable and surrounds you with the warmth of wood, original art and murals, hand wrought iron works and renowned hospitality. Whether it’s a business lunch or a relaxed evening with friends, the entire Ciao Bella Team looks forward to welcoming you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • limonetta  - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Braziliana Salad - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Pazzo Burger - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Limonetta Bella - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • lasagna - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
  • Parmesean Crusted Shrimp - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
limonetta  - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Braziliana Salad - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Pazzo Burger - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Limonetta Bella - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
lasagna - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN
Parmesean Crusted Shrimp - Ciao Bella, Bloomington, MN

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Bloomington ›

Special Occasion (72)
Good for a Date (56)
Great for Lunch (51)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Business Meals (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Casual (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Cozy (18)
Fun (18)
Authentic (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Healthy (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Fireplace (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Organic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful Ambiance, great service, good ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful Ambiance, great service, good food. I always enjoy the times I've dined at Ciao Bella. I shall return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Ciao Bella offers a variety of different ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Ciao Bella offers a variety of different menu items with great food and service. The waitress did an outstanding job of reviewing the specials and giving us time to order while we conducted business. Highly recommend Ciao Bella for lunch and dinner. Thank you

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been here twice and each time the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I have been here twice and each time the food and service was outstanding. It is such a great restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent. Have eate ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food is always excellent. Have eaten here many times but this visit the noise in the restaurant made it nearly impossible to hear our waitress and hard to have a conversation until many tables finished their meals and left. Holiday season probably made for more large groups and the noise level being high.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Making reservations was easy. Loved the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Making reservations was easy. Loved the reminder Good food and patient server!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed except for the salad. Chick ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Disappointed except for the salad. Chicken Parmiagana could have come from Costco. The seafood linguini had a good taste but was a bit dry and the seafood was overcooked. Could have done better at half the price at nearby restaurants. Overpriced. Suppose it might be okay if you are staying at a hotel in the area and don't want to eat at their restaurant. Only good thing is now I know which friend not to listen to about dining recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great everything, except a little bit to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great everything, except a little bit too loud for me in terms of hearing conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Despite a problem with a Gift Card, we w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Despite a problem with a Gift Card, we were dealt with, by management and our server, with dignity and kindness! I cannot thank the staff enough for this delightful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I had the special, sea bass with potato ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I had the special, sea bass with potato and I also had Brussel sprouts. It was delicious! So was my flourless chocolate molten desert. The server made good gluten free suggestions and I was happy with my choice. It's pricey, so we only go on special occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Comfy booth, very attentive waitress, fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Comfy booth, very attentive waitress, food was OUTSTANDING!!! I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great! food, service, Especially ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always great! food, service, Especially Thea at the bar

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was outstanding! Sea Bass was a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was outstanding! Sea Bass was average - overcooked and salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not a place to take a first meet date un ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Not a place to take a first meet date unless risking $50- $60 for two 3oz glasses of wine & appitiszers is worth rolling the dice for a second date.

Way to noisey for conversation unless asking your date to repeat her question or answers twice or resorting to lip reading.

Good food, great service.

Good place to meet people who are picking up the tab or a corporate function with open menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Excellent for lunch or dinner and drinks ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent for lunch or dinner and drinks. Romantic location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I work near Ciao Bella and dine there ev ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I work near Ciao Bella and dine there every 2-3 weeks for business lunch or solo (in the bar). The food and service are always terrific. I wish they did not have Fox News on in the bar, but what can you do? some of my favorites on menu are lasagne, summer linguine, ciao baby salad, spicy crab spaghetti, sea bass -- but everything is good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our wedding ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Ciao Bella recently. We waited only a minute or two to be seated as we arrived a little early for our reservation time. We were seated in a room off to the side of the main dining room so it was a little bit quieter. We were greeted by our server almost immediately and ordered a nice craft beer from their craft beer menu and a nice red wine from California (delicious). A basket of delicious, warm bread was delivered to our table while we made our meal selection. I had one of the specials for the evening, a butternut squash ravioli dish and my husband ordered a nice steak. It didn't take long at all for our meal to arrive. The butternut squash dish was divine! One of the best I've ever had. My husband reported that his steak was really good as well but he probably would order a different side next time. All-in-all a wonderful anniversary dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Have the Budino for dessert.

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Have the Budino for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ciao Bella is one of our most favorite p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ciao Bella is one of our most favorite places! For special occasions. Or our date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, good gluten free menu. A ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great service, good gluten free menu. A little loud at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Besides wonderful pastas, the seafood is ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Besides wonderful pastas, the seafood is prepared perfectly every time. We always check the "specials" list near the entrance and it usually includes one or two fabulous seafood choices e.g. halibut, salmon, sea bass, etc.. Their first course crab cakes are our favorite starter for dinner. The brick-oven baked bread and pizzas are superb. Service is prompt and professional. We go to Ciao Bella frequently and are never disappointed.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I treated my girlfriend to a birthday lu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I treated my girlfriend to a birthday lunch knowing she would love it. She hadn't been there before and was very impressed. The service was wonderful and friendly, and the food was excellent!!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the best Italian resta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Absolutely one of the best Italian restaurants I have been to in years...

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They never disappoint consistent level o ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 7, 2016

They never disappoint consistent level of service, consistent food quality, for affordable prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable but loud

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyable but loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Brought my girlfriend to Ciao Bella for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Brought my girlfriend to Ciao Bella for her birthday, it was both of our first times here. Needless to say everything was fantastic! The food was great, as was the service (very fast too!). I would highly recommend going and will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have come many times, always pleased wit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Have come many times, always pleased with the food, drinks, ambiance and service and will be back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even at 8pm on a Weds night, the noise l ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Even at 8pm on a Weds night, the noise level was pretty spirited (we didn't mind, but don't expect a quiet, romantic atmosphere at any hour). That said, the food always satisfies. Also appreciate they offer half-portions of their pasta dishes, which is just enough after splitting an appetizer.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's very encouraging to see a restauran ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It's very encouraging to see a restaurant as busy as they were, on a Wednesday night! The food was exceptional, we had many 'clean plates' in our group. Our group included five people, but the table they gave us was for 6+ people. The noise level is high and spirited, so a table this size didn't allow for a group conversation....disappointing. We will return, but would ask for a better location in the dining area (not the middle of the room) and a more intimate table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ciao Bella never disappoints! Over many ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Ciao Bella never disappoints! Over many years I have dined there very often and I've always walked away extremely pleased. The food is unfailingly excellent, the staff is 1st class and the ambience is lively, yet despite that there is an unusual sense of privacy. I go there for business meetings and dinners, dinners with old friends and my wife and I regularly dine there simply because the food and experience is so good - every time! Congrats to the entire Ciao Bella team.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon special Saturday night was de ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The salmon special Saturday night was delicious. It is rated as one of the best dishes I've ever had. YUMMY!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food..great service Ciao Bella ne ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food..great service

Ciao Bella never fails to deliver the perfect mesl!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food always - I have never had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food always - I have never had a bad meal here. Waitresss was super friendly and very knowledgable about the menu- she is a keeper.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate an anniversar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We were there to celebrate an anniversary- we had made reservations on Open table requesting a quiet table - we had a lovely booth in the corner. Our waitstaff was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive, without hovering. Overall a delightful evening!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in the Tw ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the Twin Cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great variety, great servi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great food, great variety, great service, only complaint was the volume in the restaurant. It was a bit too loud for a business lunch.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Organic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience was amazing! The food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Our experience was amazing! The food was incredible and the service was amazing! We have a busy 17 month old and our waiter, Scotty, made us feel welcome and really took the time with my daughter! I would say extremely family friendly! Will be going back and will recommend!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant seemed to be understaffe ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The restaurant seemed to be understaffed. The server didn't offer specials until I asked. Timing was off, we sat for awhile before ordering, then food came out very quickly. I was still a good experience, but not the standard I expect at Ciao Bella.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We would never visit Minneapolis without ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We would never visit Minneapolis without visiting Ciao Bella!!! The food is always delicious. This restaurant sources local and organic options that are in season. Pasta is made in house, seafood options are delicious. I have never ordered anything here that didn't taste wonderful from the appetizers to the desserts! Speaking of desserts, the limonetta bella is a must!! ( and I'm generally a chocoholic!) They have great house made gelato and sorbets, also. Did I mention the wood fired hot bread that arrives at the table????!!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable time, good food and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had an enjoyable time, good food and good service. Attentive but not overwhelming.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have written a lot of positive reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I have written a lot of positive reviews about this restaurant over the tears, and I still feel the same way. I've ordered many items from the menu, and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.