About Ciao Bella

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Opened in 1997 by local restaurateur Rick Webb, Ciao Bella offers contemporary Italian cuisine and unparalleled service. Our passion and commitment is to bring you handcrafted food, created with fresh, seasonal, organic and local ingredients. Every meal. Every day. The restaurant is dramatic, comfortable and surrounds you with the warmth of wood, original art and murals, hand wrought iron works and renowned hospitality. Whether it’s a business lunch or a relaxed evening with friends, the entire Ciao Bella Team looks forward to welcoming you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • limonetta
  • Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto
  • Braziliana Salad
  • Pazzo Burger
  • Limonetta Bella
  • lasagna
  • Parmesean Crusted Shrimp
limonetta
Chicken Wild Mushroom Risotto
Braziliana Salad
Pazzo Burger
Limonetta Bella
lasagna
Parmesean Crusted Shrimp

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Italian
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Bloomington ›

Special Occasion (137)
Great for Outdoor Dining (124)
Fit for Foodies (96)
See All
Great for Lunch (96)
Good for Groups (83)
Romantic (82)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Notable Wine List (54)
Hot Spot (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Late-night Find (18)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (6)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I met a friend for a business lunch, and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

I met a friend for a business lunch, and as always, the food and service were great.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely fell in love with Ciao Bell ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

I absolutely fell in love with Ciao Bella! I would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful outdoor patio. Very good food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful outdoor patio. Very good food. Server was knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

wonderful experience and everyone extrem ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

wonderful experience and everyone extremely friendly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ciao Bella was wonderful except for one ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ciao Bella was wonderful except for one thing. My sister found a piece of hair in her salad. We decided not to say anything until I found one too! Because they split the salad we were confident it wasn't our hair . We politely told our server who in turn told a manager. The manager came over and apologize and said we are going to take this off your bill. She later came back and said that the person who prepared the salad was bald and had a hat on so not sure where the hair came from. It felt accusatory and as if she thought we planted the hair. The salad was only $11 and by far the cheapest thing we ordered that evening.

I've always had a wonderful experience at this restaurant so I was shocked that she made a point to tell us. Even if that was the case--no need to point it out to the customer. It felt like a kiss with a slap We will take care of it, but she made it feel like it was our fault.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

My wife and I recently celebrated our an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Ciao. The evening was perfect . The food was outstanding. Peyton our server was super. Sue the manager went out of her way to make sure our evening was special. We could not have asked for more. Make sure to try the sea bass when you are there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ciao Bella is an excellent restaurant! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ciao Bella is an excellent restaurant! The food is always exceptional. The service is also great, although the person clearing our table was a tad over-anxious. He started clearing as we were still finishing up. We also appreciate the small and larger plate servings/prices on entrees. The only real complaint is the noise level. We could hear ourselves talk but, with high ceilings, it can get very loud in the restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love the food at Ciao Bella, but the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

We love the food at Ciao Bella, but the extreme noise level is getting to be a problem since it is difficult to carry on and hear a normal conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We make a point of visiting every time w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We make a point of visiting every time we are in the twn cities. Without fail.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure to book a reservation for even ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Make sure to book a reservation for evening as the restaurant fills up fast with people getting off work nearby.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Though it looks like a food-hall joint f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Though it looks like a food-hall joint from Vegas, Ciao Bella offered us some really delicious food while we visited Minneapolis. Don't be put off by the giant size, the crowds of kids, etc....The kitchen is operating on all cylinders. We enjoyed a terrific deconstructed caprese salad, then a fine grilled Ahi tuna and delicious 'Summer Linguini'. No rush to turn the table and in fact, the staff seems stretched to the limit with the size of the sections they must cover, but they couldn't be nicer. Our waiter made us an adffogato for desert, despite the fact that it wasn't on the menu, (why not?). Wine list is decent, somewhat pricey. We had a good time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The bread, the walleye,the drinks. You c ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The bread, the walleye,the drinks. You can't find any better. Love not having to drive downtown for an excellent meal and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is a lot busier in the ev ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The restaurant is a lot busier in the evening than at lunch. Reservations are highly recommended at night.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great services. Good food and quick. A g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great services. Good food and quick. A good place for a business lunch or a glass of wine on the patio.

Tags: Lunch, Group Bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When your waiter has to sit down at your ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

When your waiter has to sit down at your table and shout directly at you so that he can be heard, it's too noisy. It's impossible to have an intimate dinner or a casual conversation. Other than that, a great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just way too noisy. You need to do some ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Just way too noisy. You need to do something with the floors and ceiling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I have been to Ciao Bella several times ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I have been to Ciao Bella several times and have enjoyed my meal every time. A friend and I met for a quick bite before a presentation we were attending. The service was excellent, food wonderful and we had an all around great albeit short experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The owner is out of touch. The inside ba ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The owner is out of touch. The inside bar area is terrible. To watch TV you have to crik your neck. A simple placement of tvs in front of bar would really help but the owner doesn't seem to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Food is always good and service very goo ...

vip
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food is always good and service very good and professional. Very nice restaurant--large with different seating options: bar, restaurant, outdoor patio, and indoor sunroom/porch. A group of 3 went for lunch to chit-chat and catch up. It was okay to do that but very loud and that made it a bit difficult. Not as loud as other places but still...

I don't like to call it 'energetic' because to me that denotes a positive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is always excellent here, and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food is always excellent here, and the service is cheerful and helpful. The dining room was a bit warm this day, and we advised one of the wait staff- they immediately responded. I often choose Ciao Bella because it is close to our office, and leaves a good impression on clients. I never have to worry about having a poor experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Miserable, inattentive service -- and no ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Miserable, inattentive service -- and not because they were busy. 4 people standing at the front desk when I left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We were visiting Minneapolis for the wee ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were visiting Minneapolis for the weekend. Everything was perfect. We will be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service we have had ever at this re ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best service we have had ever at this restaurant. Thanks Douglas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a lovely dinner on the patio. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a lovely dinner on the patio. The food was great and our server, Rheanna was outstanding. She called us by name and was very attentive and helpful. I would definitely ask for her the next time I stop by.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a special lunch. My father does ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was a special lunch. My father does not live in MN and this was a late fathers day celebration. Everything was perfect and we had a lovely afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding patio lunch for a summer day ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

outstanding patio lunch for a summer day!

food is a little spendy... but we always enjoy a lunch here once in a while.

good salads.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food, extensive wine list. Gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food, extensive wine list. Great for that weekend getaway date

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating a birthday and it wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and it was a great place to do that. Thanks

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very nice. I'm a vege ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. I'm a vegetarian and there was enough choices for me. I guess the only big negative was the noise level. Very hard to carry on a conversation and we (2 of us) went on a Tuesday at 6:00. Can't imagine it on a weekend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We selected Ciao Bella for a business di ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We selected Ciao Bella for a business dinner with three people attending. This was a meet and greet to plan for future projects. The restaurant was filled with what looked like other business groups and nearly all tables filled. The service was impeccable--very attentive and knowledgeable. The beverages were refreshing and the food flavorful and well-prepared. We were seated in the main dining area near the fireplace. Unfortunately, the noise level was quite high--especially at the beginning of the evening around 6:30 pm on a Monday--when we were making introductions and doing the most talking. As the evening continued, the restaurant emptied and the noise level became much better. Ciao Bella is a great spot for a business dinner, but my suggestion is to come later or request a more private table, if you wish to have a discussion that everyone at the table can hear.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent experienceYour staff were very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent experienceYour staff were very friendly and helpful

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My daughter turned 9 and asked to go to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My daughter turned 9 and asked to go to your restaurant to celebrate her bday

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our son's Birthday. Seth was grea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was our son's Birthday. Seth was great as usual. The Hostesses were awesome as usual. The food was great as usual. Parm Shrimp and Calimari were great. You can beat the Short Ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently excellent! The selection o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Consistently excellent! The selection of fresh fish is fantastic. I had Alaskan halibut and I am still thinking about it 3 days later.....incredibly fresh!

The outdoor patio is absolutely beautiful and quiet.

Always excellent and friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and well displayed! The wait ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and well displayed! The wait staff and the specials - they do a great job of describing what the specials are. Never disappointed in the food!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ciao Bella is our go-to restaurant when ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Ciao Bella is our go-to restaurant when we visit the Twin Cities. The atmosphere is lively, the service is excellent, and the food consistently delicious. The pesto crusted sea bass with the wasabi mashed potatoes is a favorite. I've already booked for our next stay! Thank you, Ciao Bella, for another memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in for a casual lunch with my famil ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Went in for a casual lunch with my family. I have a gluten allergy and the server was very attentive to it, while making an off menu recommendation. Fish was cooked to perfection. Everything was very good down to the Arnie Palmer.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lasagne was delicious. Excellent pa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The lasagne was delicious. Excellent patio atmosphere! My wife and I enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good experience. Only negative was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Very good experience. Only negative was that it was difficult to visit because of the noise level.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we had a great experience. The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Overall, we had a great experience. The food was very fresh and fantastic. Great place for a business dinner or date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.