Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Ciao Bella

At Ciao Bella, we serve simple, fresh Italian cuisine made from local ingredients. Our handcrafted meals are accompanied by a thoughtful, approachable wine selection. We believe dining is more than food: it is an experience, and ours is quality. Enjoy your handcrafted meal on our lively outdoor patio, or take in the local art collection in our dining room. Our philosophy is simple: quality food and wine presented with welcoming service. Every meal. Every day. Please join us.

A Minneapolis metro favorite, Ciao Bella was opened in 1997 by Minneapolis restaurateur Rick Webb, whose pursuits have set the standard in Twin Cities dining for over 40 years. Heading downtown? Visit Ciao Bella’s sister restaurant, Zelo, for another dining experience from Rick Webb featuring handcrafted food and dedicated service.

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 9 p.m.

Bar:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 1 a.m.
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 11 p.m.
Sunday: 4 p.m. – midnight
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (91)
Business Meals (77)
Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Romantic (52)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Great for Lunch (49)
Worth the Drive (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for Groups (40)
Notable Wine List (37)
Casual (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fun (31)
Authentic (29)
Cozy (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Happy Hour (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
People Watching (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Seasonal (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Organic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Sports (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice! We ate outside as it was in the 80's. Wonderful patio. Great food and wine! Inside was loud, glad we were on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous food & Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service was phenomenal. We have a three year old and the staff went out of their way to assist in entertaining him so that we could enjoy our meal. Great food and Great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our third time at Ciao Bella... sat on the patio for a 5:30 pm reservation... appeared the tables and chairs hadn't been wiped off at all that day, lots of tree litter and dust on them. Service was adequate, cordial but uninspired and extremely casual... four of us shared a "large" caprese salad ($19). It amounted to about 4-5 bites for each person, seemed skimpy... entrees were tasty and average sized. Our previous experience in the main dining room was better, a much higher level of cordial, professional service... overall, a disappointing birthday dinner for my spouse!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, good service. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. The food was top notch & the service was excellent. We will definitely be back to try more of the dishes!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Everything was great again. Short Rib was awesome. Caprese Salad was also great. Seth was at his typical best!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

prices are a bit on the high side for what you get and crowd noise gets a bit loud there. food is good but getting to the point where I'll look at other places next time we go out with friends. 8.50 for a crown/coke. $16 for 2 crab cakes. Can find just as good food/drinks cheaper somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our meal was absolutely amazing, one of the best I have ever had. Our waitress was extremely friendly and helpful if we ever had any questions regarding the menu. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The halibut and walleye dinners were delicious . The staff called me when my mom left her sweater at the table which was very considerate. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was very good. Nice setting and outdoor space.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We have visited Ciao Bella three times in the last three weeks. The first time was the best by far. On this occasion the service was slow, it was noisy for a Sunday evening and the food was alright, but not as good as the first time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The only bad thing I can say about Ciao Bella is that is incredibly loud in there. If you are trying to have a conversation- you might catch up before you get there as you won't be able to hear any of the details. The service is great and the food is always delicious! If you are lucky enough to score a table on the patio or in one of the side rooms, you will not be as troubled by the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything was lovely but the waiter interrupted us way too often to ask how things were.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The service and food at this wonderful establishment was outstanding! We were overwhelmed by the hideaway location and the trip to "Italy"! The variety of the menu would fit everyone's needs. Can't wait to come to this restaurant again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food was tasty, but small portions and over priced. Nothing cheaper to serve than pasta. Place was too noisy to carry on a normal conversation. Waiter, Douglas, was pushy to up the overall bill, suggesting an expensive wine . It was an 80th birthday celebration and Doug almost demanded that we order a small desert so he could present it with a candle. Nice , but rather than a complimentary desert ( a shot glass size item for about $3.50) the only thing complimentary was the candle. Not very classy.

Nothing to encourage us to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food and atmosphere was fantastic as always! Love being out on the patio!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had our lunch outside where it is much quieter and it was excellent. We had Raspberry Halibut and Parmesan Crusted Shrimp and an excellent wine. Excellent service. We have been here multiple times and have always enjoyed the food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Jerome is the best waiter in the Minnesota, period! I eat out for work and pleasure about 15 meals a week and keep coming back to Ciao Bella......And the rest of the staff is also top notch and make you feel at home. I've probably had 500 meals there and never a bad one and clients usually request we go to Ciao.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, People Watching, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We just love Ciao Bella- Great atmosphere, great food!! Nice variety of food. Their warm bread is wonderful! Cocktails are very good as well. This is our 2nd time in a week that we have eaten there. We will be back very soon for more great food and service!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We sat outside and enjoyed the people watching as well as the yummy good. Lots of fun as well as delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was seated at a very isolated table by the kitchen. No one should sit there. Asked to be moved and then had a great night in the dining room. The restaurant was not fully booked and we had a reservation. Very disappointed with the first assigned table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The service was excellent, and the staff referred to me by my first name and that made me feel very at home and welcome. The serving staff treated us like 1st class, and were so polite. Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Healthy, Cozy, Live Music, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

I would highly recommend this restaurant, the food was wonderful, I enjoyed the braised spareribs, Douglas our server was excellent. It was a delightful experience overall

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food and service was pretty good. However, we noted on the reservation that it was my wife's 45th b'day. After the check was dropped, I noted on the check that they had forgotten to acknowledge the birthday. They then informed me that they don't do anything special for that type of occasion. Would have been nice to know that in advance or when we were seated. They then offered me a dessert but my wife and daughter had already left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Ciao Bella was a wonderful experience. The ambiance is wonderful. The food is fantastic!!
Love the menu choices very fresh food. We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great service, very attentive. Such good food
Got seated early, date night with husband

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our waiter Douglas was amazing !!! Food spectacular ,great bartender , great value
One of the best in twin cities......and free parking in a safe area!!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Tapas, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Met friends for dinner at Ciao. It was wonderful! Sat in the bar area before dinner and enjoyed a drink. Fun atmosphere and excellent bartenders! Then, sat in the dining room for dinner. Service was spot on and the food...amazing! Our friends had never been there before and said they would definitely be going back. Ciao is a winner!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I have always enjoyed the restaurant. On 9/11 is my wedding anniversary and I would say 50% of the time we go to Ciao Bella. In fact on that horrible day when the towers went down we were at Ciao Bella for happy hour which wad pretty somber that day but we still came. The only thing this past week when I ordered the flatbread pizza the server should have said its a whole one not a half which is what I was expecting . Our server was just ok..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was good. Noise level too high at lunch. Server very attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Good service and great food. Had the halibut special and it was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Patio is terrific and much quieter than inside. Service was excellent and the dishes well prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

One of my favorites. Always wonderful cuisine and consistent food and attentive wait staff. Highly recommend. It's billed as Italian but has items on the menu for every taste.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 22, 2017

My second visit to Ciao Bella, and this will be a go-to spot for us. Wonderful food, great service, graciously accomodating to my current Whole30 meal plan this month, suggesting items to pair together from their different categories that made a fantastic "off the menu" meal to keep me on track. First visit was earlier in the summer for patio seating, and their patio - in my opinion - is the most beautiful in the city. #outdoorspacegoals.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The options offered in terms of quantity ( pasta in two sizes and salads and wine by the glass in two sizes and desserts) were excellent. I wish more restaurants would do this. The salad was delicious but possible a bit on the high end likely justified by the quality of the ingredients. My spouse really enjoyed the small portion of pasta also saving room for the small desserts. On the other hand I choose the pork option with the delicious sides of sweet potatoes and greens with bit of bacon. Yum! The only adjustment would be that the pork chops were a tad dry. Alas I had no room for dessert. The service was SUPERIOR as the wait staff even studded the dessert with a birthday candle. Please, please try to diminish the noise level. It was a strain to converse. Possible the bar could be separated more as well as the side room for those who wish a more quiet atmosphere. Yes, it is more on the high end cost-wise but worth it. If we lived in the area, we would put this restaurant on our favored list. The decor was most suitable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very nice restaurant
Amazing food
The service was outstanding

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Outdated decor, high priced cuisine and poor service made this restaurant a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

A consulate dining experience on the summer patio with great food, attentive service and greenery all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was out second visit after we had been with a group following graduation celebration. We were not disappointed. Our waiter was Brad and he had excellent recommendations and the service was wonderful! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.