About Ciao Bella

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Opened in 1997 by local restaurateur Rick Webb, Ciao Bella offers contemporary Italian cuisine and unparalleled service. Our passion and commitment is to bring you handcrafted food, created with fresh, seasonal, organic and local ingredients. Every meal. Every day. The restaurant is dramatic, comfortable and surrounds you with the warmth of wood, original art and murals, hand wrought iron works and renowned hospitality. Whether it’s a business lunch or a relaxed evening with friends, the entire Ciao Bella Team looks forward to welcoming you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Italian
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Bloomington ›

special occasion (135)
fit for foodies (106)
romantic (96)
See All
great for lunch (81)
good for groups (75)
great for outdoor dining (67)
notable wine list (64)
neighborhood gem (53)
vibrant bar scene (25)
hot spot (24)
late-night find (22)
great for brunch (11)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and always wonderful service. ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Great food and always wonderful service. I have never had a disappointing experience at Ciao Bella..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here was awesomely wonderful!! ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food here was awesomely wonderful!! Worth every cent we spent! The waitress was great, friendly and attentive. We did have reservations and did not have to wait. This is not cookie-cutter restaurant food. We especially liked that the dinner's come in small/ large plate portions also. We will definitely go back and would love to do an early dinner at the outside patio which is super cozy!! The Caramelized Brussels Sprouts were a real treat!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great patio seating

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very loud. I wanted to suggest great for date/friends' get-together, howver, it is just too loud for conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good food, service, wine list/prices

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

For a larger restaurant with a fair amount of volume, the food was quite good. One colleague thought the lasagne was excellent and everyone was quite happy with the quality of food. My salmon was cooked exactly the way requested (meaning: quite rare). Service was also very good...our waitress was fun, professional and helpful when it came time to make choices. Special note on the wine list: My two colleagues are both exceptionally well-equated oenophiles, and they were impressed by both the selection of wines, as well as the (extremely) reasonable prices that were charged. Overall, definitely worth a visit if you're in town and looking for reliable Italian.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ciao Bella is long on vibrance and greta ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Ciao Bella is long on vibrance and greta place to meet people, the food is reasonable, but that's not the reason to frequent the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Horrible Server

Dined on May 18, 2016

Kathleen the server was awful. Was more interested in getting us out of there and anything. Did complain to the manager and she was willing to do anything to make us happy customers. so the management gets A+ along with the food, however, the server gets an F.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyable lunch

Dined on May 18, 2016

Enjoyed my lunch with a high school friend at Ciao Bella. I had the Halibut Miso and it was excellent. My guest had a salad with shrimp and loved it. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food immensely. I had made a last minute reservation so we had a booth right by the kitchen which was not the best but hey the food was great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome server! Attentive and brought a ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Awesome server! Attentive and brought a very positive energy

food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The food was great but the environment i ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was great but the environment is extremely noisy. We left because we could not easily converse.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Consistently ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Consistently good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food always. We had steaks and th ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food always. We had steaks and they are better then any steak house. The bread is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always amazing

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food is always amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

We came at an off hour, about 3pm and th ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We came at an off hour, about 3pm and the service and food was exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to celebrate a birthday!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Our waiter was amazing!...attentive but not intrusive, very happy, knowledgable, very nice. The noise level was high which made it difficult to talk and hear, but the food was excellent. Nice evening cut short by the noise, unfortunately. Energetic, yes, but way too loud.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special night

Dined on April 30, 2016

Ciao Bella makes you feel like a VIP. You are immediately greeted and shown to your table. The server is genuinely excited to serve you and brings you everything quickly and graciously. The food is amazing! There can not be one thing on the list that wouldn't be. The fresh bread is perfection and the dining atmosphere is very romantic and beautiful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good standard

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is tasty enough here, but it isn't someplace I'd like to go for a romantic meal. It was a business lunch and the lunch hour was bustling. There is better Italian in the cities, but this is a solid standby, especially for client outings.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Awesome food and servers, but loud.

Dined on April 27, 2016

We went for our anniversary. Loved the food and had a great server. However, I forgot how noisy it is inside. We have been there a few time before. The last time was a warm fall evening that allowed us to eat outside. That caused me to forget about the noise inside. Order the short ribs.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food here was great. We loved everything from the chicken parm to the scallops with spicy pepper sauce with goat cheese. Service was excellent. I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food tasted amazing and the portions ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food tasted amazing and the portions were a good size. The pasta was perfectly cooked and the flavors were excellent together. If we lived in the area we would definitely come back on a regular basis. The service was all around friendly and the atmosphere made it feel lIke a special occassion. Worth the price. Our server (Zach Y.) was an excellent help as well. We had a great time and we'll be back if we're in the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Ciao Bella is a regular visit for my family. The consistency and quality of the food and service ensure we'll return. Never a disappointing visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to Ciao Bella many times and have never been disappointed. The patio is the best in town! This time was our anniversary and we had a great booth and exceptional waiter! He made great suggestions and never rushed us but was always available. The food was fantastic. The tuna presentation & flavor was as good as it gets!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappointing

Dined on April 21, 2016

I've dined at Ciao Bella several times for work lunches, happy hours and dinner. The food and service are always excellent, although I gave it 4 stars for an overall rating as it gets extremely loud in there at dinner time which makes it hard to visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner & outstanding service - ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Delicious dinner & outstanding service - however - VERY VERY LOUD & NOISEY ... Very hard to talk during dinner ~ left with a headache !!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Noisy

Dined on April 20, 2016

The food is always good. Our server was very attentive & pleasant. Only complaint we had is the noise level. There is nothing to absorb the noise produced by all the dining patrons, so it was often difficult to converse with people at our table.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, just right portion si ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Excellent service, just right portion sizes. Did I mention the service? Was a little loud, difficult place to share work.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was an issue

Dined on April 19, 2016

We have dined here numerous times, and this was the first visit where the service was lacking. Our entrees took nearly an hour to get to our table though we were dining at 8:30 PM and it wasn't very crowded. My sea bass was undercooked, but everything else was served properly cooked. Then it took forever for the waiter to come back to check to see if we wanted dessert. He stood over and talked to other guests leaving two tables unattended. We decided not to order dessert as it was after 10 PM and we just wanted to leave at that point. We have had great food and service here in the past and hope this is not the new "normal".

food4
ambience5
service5

The budino dessert was perfect. Moist ca ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The budino dessert was perfect. Moist cake, gooey chocolate center and delicious vanilla gelato.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Had a great evening. Thanks Michelle Excellent service Excellent food Will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic!

Dined on April 16, 2016

This is always the most consistently excellent restaurant in food, service and ambience!! We travel from California to MInneapolis to visit family and always make sure we dine at Ciao Bella!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

The Parm Shrimp was excellent. The Calam ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The Parm Shrimp was excellent. The Calamari was ok. Short Rib was excellent and the Lobster Risotto was great too. Seth our Server was excellent as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

wonderfully entertaining server.

Dined on April 16, 2016

probably the best flat bread crust i've ever had :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid, Delightful, Delicious

Dined on April 15, 2016

Delicious as usual. However, Jerome, our server, added a unique dimension of humor and knowledge that set a new gold standard for the pleasure of dining.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3

Patio seating is always good. Don't care ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Patio seating is always good. Don't care for the metal chairs or tables.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Time at Ciao Bella

Dined on April 13, 2016

Awesome experience. Had a wonderful dinner sitting at the bar. Thea and Trevor were awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

good lunch spot - busy but in a good way ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

good lunch spot - busy but in a good way. needs outdoor seating.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food

Dined on April 11, 2016

We had a terrific time. The food was awesome and the service was great 😊

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding!

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

I look forward to visiting Cial Bella during lunch hours so I can get seated with Michelle. Far and away the best waitress in the Twin Cities!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 8, 2016

Have dined here many times and really enjoyed it, but this last time was not up to par. Halibut was very undercooked and Ciao linguine came out as spaghetti noodles with "fresh artichoke hearts" that tasted like they came out of a can and "wild mushrooms" that were baby portabellas. With the cost of dining out, we like to enjoy a little wow factor and this did not fit the bill. We will not be dining here in the near future.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Satisfied Ciao Bella Customer

Dined on April 8, 2016

I was very satisfied with our lunch at Ciao Bella. The food was excellent and the service was superb - extremely helpful, but not overbearing. I would definitely recommend Ciao Bella for lunch or dinner to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place~!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our party of six was nicely accommodated in our choice of seating. The food was excellent across the board~! Lovely server too~!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.