Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Ciao Bella

At Ciao Bella, we serve simple, fresh Italian cuisine made from local ingredients. Our handcrafted meals are accompanied by a thoughtful, approachable wine selection. We believe dining is more than food: it is an experience, and ours is quality. Enjoy your handcrafted meal on our lively outdoor patio, or take in the local art collection in our dining room. Our philosophy is simple: quality food and wine presented with welcoming service. Every meal. Every day. Please join us.

A Minneapolis metro favorite, Ciao Bella was opened in 1997 by Minneapolis restaurateur Rick Webb, whose pursuits have set the standard in Twin Cities dining for over 40 years. Heading downtown? Visit Ciao Bella’s sister restaurant, Zelo, for another dining experience from Rick Webb featuring handcrafted food and dedicated service.

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 9 p.m.

Bar:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 1 a.m.
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 11 p.m.
Sunday: 4 p.m. – midnight
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (80)
Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (66)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Business Meals (53)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Cozy (39)
Great for Lunch (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Notable Wine List (32)
Bar Seating (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Fun (25)
Authentic (21)
Wood Oven (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Fireplace (14)
Healthy (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
People Watching (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Organic (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2763 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

GREAT WAIT PERSON - ZACH
WAY TOO NOISY
FRONT ENTRY WAS VERY GRITTY AND DUSTY.
NO SPECIAL TOUCHES, SUCH AS NICE FLORAL ARRANGEMENTS,
GIRLS AT FRONT WERE SUPER NICE.
LINENS WERE CLEAN AND FRESH.
WHOLE PLACE NEEDED A GOOD CLEANING AND FRESHENING UP. IT COULD BE SO MUCH CLASSIER WITH SOME HELP.
TOO PRICEY FOR THE ATMOSPHERE.
SALAD WAS BLAH, PASTA WAS OKAY.
NO IMPROVEMENT IN THE LAST SEVERAL YEARS.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fantastic - inventive, healthy and great flavors. Our server, Michelle, did a fantastic job - attentive without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Ahi Tuna salad was great and the wait staff is always super friendly!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent. Server (Melissa) was particularly helpful and knowledgeable helping me with my special dietary needs. The restaurant was MUCH TOO LOUD for our business dinner. Most of the time I couldn't hear the person across from me AT ALL.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and amazing food, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great spot for lunch with friends or colleagues. Delectable menu with an offering for every palate. Fresh seasonal ingredients and traditional favorites like the ahi burger and tomato basil soup. The short rib raviolis were perfectly executed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent waiter and overall good experience. The food was very good. The bread was crispy and piping hot. Both entrees were delicious. The cappuccino was lovely as was the biscotto that came with it.
A very good experience. I recommend going to dinner early since the restaurant can get quite noisy when crowded. We were on our way to a theater event so dined earl

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We wanted a quiet place where we could talk and enjoy wonderful food at a reasonable price. We met all our criteria with our visit.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic servers and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very quick service, in & out in 40 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food and service by Scott was fantastic. Will be back soon!

Tags: Fireplace, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We took my parents for dinner, it was a first time for all of us and definitely a place we'll be coming back to!! Our server provided excellent recommendations and options to make the most of our meal!! The service and the food were exceptional!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The maple pecan salmon with squash and spinach was unbelievable! High marks to the chef on that one! As always, the service was fantastic and food even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

RIck Webb knows how to create a phenomenal atmosphere. Fun and trendy.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food, great service and fun atmosphere! The 3 of us each had different pasta dishes and loved them all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Awesome Italian food and great bartendar! Had a wonderful time!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was outstanding! Great wine list and our waiter Brad was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was the best ravioli I have ever eaten. Restaurant was very fancy, it's elegant dinning. Wait staff was excellent, they explained the food and made suggestions to make the meal the best it could be.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Super good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We came for dinner on a Monday night, 6:30. We were given seating options, we liked the quieter booth away from the noisy bar. We ordered a special salmon offering and a customized pasta dinner (fettuccini al Fredo with spicy sausage) and both were excellent. Server gave excellent recommendations for glasses of wine to match our selections. Great contemporary Italian restaurant, worth the drive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Emily was outstanding. Made our night. Great. Recommendations

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome great place for dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food. Lots of variety. Excellent service. Love the ambience. You don't go here for value, you go here for quality and the overall experience. I would say it's worth every dime.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Wood Oven, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I brought my mother to Ciao Bella for lunch to celebrate her 90th birthday. Everyone from the hostess to our server wished her a Happy Birthday, and our server was FABULOUS. Very attentive, kind, and professional. And the Wild Mushroom Risotto is delicious!

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was excellent. We both had the miso glazed sea bass. Very nicely flavored. We also had the sides of cauliflower and Brussels sprouts. Both were highly seasoned and delicious. The cauliflower had a bit of spicy red pepper rings, and the Brussel sprouts had a touch of honey and nicely browned. It is loud when it is crowded so you did have to talk a little louder to hear each other. Overall, very enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fun family dinner! Delicious food, great service. A great time!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Usually get wonderful service, but our server was very slow this time-disappointing for the amount of money spent on a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always an enjoyable evening with good food looking forward to sitting on the patio.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Server was outstanding. Food was good as always but service is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had to change our reservations several time that particular evening because of a flight delay, so we didn't get there till after 9:00. Our server, Melissa, was very friendly and we never felt rushed one bit. Very delightful! A wonderful way to end a vacation and a very long day in the airport. Thank you to the friendly staff- especially Melissa- and the delicious food (as always).

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The wait staff was amazing. Each dish we had was delectable. Highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I have never been disappointed with the food, service or drinks at this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very helpful waiter and generous portions, make sure you are hungry when you arrive. Food was delicious. Chose the restaurant for a special occasion and was not disappointed. You can be casual or more formal, you can be comfortable in any attire.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service rushes you to turn tables. Food overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've been here twice now. Each time was exceptionally wonderful. Food is SO good! Everything so fresh and made from scratch. Service and ambiance is also top notch. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent service, great food, a bit noisy but lots of energy.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Terrific. Love all of the fish dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We are from out of town. Good recommendation from locals

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent lunch. Food was very good and service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.