Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.75mi

About Ciao Bella

At Ciao Bella, we serve simple, fresh Italian cuisine made from local ingredients. Our handcrafted meals are accompanied by a thoughtful, approachable wine selection. We believe dining is more than food: it is an experience, and ours is quality. Enjoy your handcrafted meal on our lively outdoor patio, or take in the local art collection in our dining room. Our philosophy is simple: quality food and wine presented with welcoming service. Every meal. Every day. Please join us.

A Minneapolis metro favorite, Ciao Bella was opened in 1997 by Minneapolis restaurateur Rick Webb, whose pursuits have set the standard in Twin Cities dining for over 40 years. Heading downtown? Visit Ciao Bella’s sister restaurant, Zelo, for another dining experience from Rick Webb featuring handcrafted food and dedicated service.

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 9 p.m.

Bar:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 1 a.m.
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 11 p.m.
Sunday: 4 p.m. – midnight
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Good for a Date (73)
Business Meals (57)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Romantic (52)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Worth the Drive (46)
Notable Wine List (45)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Great for Lunch (36)
Cozy (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Authentic (26)
Fun (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Casual (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Healthy (20)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fireplace (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Organic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Spicy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

I had not been to Ciao Bella for years. I was pleased that it had not changed. The food is exceptional. The service is outstanding. I love the old world feel of the restaurant. It was noisy when we arrived but became more quiet as time passed. You can not find a better place for this price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Thank you ! It was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great fresh made items. Awesome ambience. Excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Hot Spot, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

First time eating at Ciao Bella, and we were duly impressed....we are a 60's couple (both age and generational ...;)) and had a nice experience at this restaurant. Nice as in great friendly waiter, good backup support for bread and water, prompt delivery of drinks, salad and main courses. We shared a small side caesar salad that was split for us, and generous portions to boot... My wife had a linguini dish that tasted very good, and my mushroom chicken risotto had amazing flavors...would definitely return by ourselves or in a larger group. Portions were large, and we did not have room for desert. ( the glass of wine, and tasty bread beforehand didn't help) Thank you.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent experience. Professional and attentive wait staff. Delicious food (calamar, fettucine with natural chicken and cream sauce, salted caramel corn custard). Chef prepared the main dish custom to accommodate food allergies and it was OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great wine selection with multiple excellent choices. For dinner the short rib and roasted tomato ravioli was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This place is consistently great. I have never had a poor meal/dish. We had salads, vegetable chicken soup, and the Brussels sprouts. The soup was delicious, totally fresh and homemade. Kale salad was unique and good. Ciao Bello salad and the chopped salad were tastes. Brussels sprouts were good, but a bit more honey for my personal taste. The addition of almonds with the Brussels was a nice change. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Early Mother's Day celebration with my daughter. Sat outside which was lovely. Donny started out being a very nice and capable server until a table of ten and a table of eight were seated around us. It was close to impossible for him to take care of all of us and, therefore, the service really suffered. Ice tea not refilled, no ice, plates not cleared, food not hot. I ordered the special fish, halibut, and it was not good at all. So much rosemary it just wrecked the delicate fish. Potatoes swimming in grease. He barely asked how the food was. For an $85 lunch for two, I would expect so much more. I'm chalking this up to just being overwhelmed with too many people to take care of. Calamari was delicious, but noticed we got the large order which was not requested. I know you can do better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was great! Food was fresh and very tasty. Server was attentive and bright. We had a very nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The crabcakes, bread, wine and service were all phenomenal! Tried the brussel sprouts - disappointed that they were tough. Manager comped us. Was surprised about the sprouts when with every other dining experience the food has been flawless. Michelle was our serve and she was fun, attentive and would love to have her as our server on future occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Attractive restaurant with a beautiful outdoor patio. Menu is Italian oriented and food is pretty good. Tends towards the overly-flavored. Pasta is nothing great. Service very accommodating. Noise level is conversation-inhibiting. Seems to be extremely popular with the lunch crowd, although it's hard to see how they can hear each other.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was super busy over lunch when we ate, and they accomodated as best they could with the volume of people they had. I love this place and the food is never disappointing :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Nice ambiance; conducive to conservation. Servers very knowledgeable about menu items; appropriately attentive. Food was excellent with good variety for all, including vegetarians, vegans, and those not excited by Italian cuisine. Pricing is reasonable for the quality of food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excelant as always, have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I live in Wisconsin and I come here for at least one meal when I'm in town for business. Love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Our first meal here. We shared an order of calamari - all were happy. The house salad was refreshing and somewhat different ... nice! Bro had the salmon special - it was ok. Hubby had the short rib in ravioli - very tasty but too small a portion. I had the red pepper pasta with scallops - delish! Scallops were not overcooked and pasta was rich, creamy and savory. Gelato and sorbet were a nice light way to finish. Our server was patient and professional. We will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is far and away our favorite restaurant in Mpls/St. Paul area. Keep up the good work. Always perfection! ☺️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous meal! We had red pepper linguine w/scallops in citrus sauce and braised short ribs w/mashed potatoes and carrots. Limonetta Bella for dessert was the perfect choice - fresh and creamy - two can share or they have a small taste size. Great wine options and a variety of casual options. We can't wait to go back and try more menu items!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and wine. Will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent service, amazing food. A little noisy. I will definitely visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our meal was delicious - started with the bread and a ciao baby salad. We had spaghetti bolognese and spicy shrimp flatbread. They only use top notch ingredients- the Parmesan on the flatbread was noticeably higher grade. Ended the meal with a berry cobbler and vanilla gelato- again incredibly delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ciao Bella is a winner every time. The service and food are top notch!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Ciao Bella always delights guests! Their food is unique, fantastic, includes daily specials, and is very consistent. The waitstaff is experienced and the hosts/hostesses are gracious always. Love Ciao Bella for date nights, special occasions and even family dinners!

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is the best Italian restaurant in Minneapolis. The staff is over the top on service. We have never been disappointed with any of the dishes served and the wine selection is excellent. Their outside bar and patio is great for meeting friends for a casual dinner and refreshment too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food and atmosphere were great. Dinner reservations were at 7:15pm on a Monday night. Not every table was filled but at least at 85%.

They cramped us in a both wherein they saw 3 of the 4 of us were over 6' 4". They should of asked us if we wanted a table instead for room. They were too focused on filling up anywhere versus the diners ' experience.

Table service was slow and inconsistent as the waiter was more concerned with his tables buying expensive wine. We were not given the attention as we had expected. Sat waiting and waiting to order, get a second drink, etc. until the bill arrived. Then, he was all about us.

Maybe his section got slammed....maybe not, but restaurant management should have seen it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We were seated right away. Our server was excellent. Loved the ambience. The food was great. A great experience!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good evening with good food and great wait person...sat outside in the patio. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a fantastic waitperson, weather was perfect for patio seating (always love patio sitting - they have THE BEST patio of any place I've been). Food has always been good, but salads are, to me, a bit over priced, especially the larger size.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is a great spot and a favorite to visit. Always a good experience and they do what's right to accommodate you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food and service, but restaurant was VERY loud. It was extremely difficult to have a discussion with only 3 of us. We also had trouble hearing the server due to the noise level.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Enjoyed the food very much, and appreciated our server even more. She was a delightful server who came in and out at just the right time. Also, It's so nice when you ask for a box and the server takes your plate and prepares the box.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

While we really loved most of our meal, we felt the fish (walleye) was a bit dry and perhaps that is because we usually have broiled. We would make another choice the second time around. The Caesar salad was great as were the hot slices of bread. The mashed potatoes and tomatoes were delicious as well. We each had a dessert of caramel cake and chocolate cake which arrived in these cute little cups that were quite rich and filling. Just perfect!

Special shout out to SAM, our waitress. She was right on the spot, perhaps more than she needed to be. Sam is very efficient and informative concerning the menu. She took good care of us!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent service - waiter made good recommendations. Comfortable but a little noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ciao Bella never disappoints! Fantastic Italian food, with menu options ranging from pasta to seafood to burgers to steaks and chops....everything I've ever had here is amazing. Pair that with a great wine list and it's a wonderful place to take a date or a tourist, as well as to go for a meal with local friends and family. Service is top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Mpls./St.Paul. GREAT outdoor patio.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Pasta was great, food was a bit on speedy side for portion. Overall a good experience. Just a bit noisey

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Love the food here! The risotto is always my favorite:). The one thing I hate about this place is that it is so crazy loud!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing, the best experience I've had by far. Outstanding service, over the top friendliness! Ciao Bella is an experience I will never forget, wish I remembered our server's name, but she was absolutely amazing. A special day for me for my 21st birthday and Ciao Bella made it unforgettable. Will definitely be coming back to this wonderful place!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This was my first visit to Ciao Bella and both my dinner companion and I thought everything was wonderful. The food was excellent, as was the service. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Like Ciao Bella for business if you can get a table off the main dining room. Quieter there. But given the prices, not the best value -- particularly if you don't order the pasta, which they are known for. Salad entree was a bit soggy and they did not cook the fish per my request. Hate to give this review as the server was outstanding and did everything right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.