About Ciao Bella

3501 Minnesota Drive
Bloomington, MN 55435
View Larger Map

At Ciao Bella, we serve simple, fresh Italian cuisine made from local ingredients. Our handcrafted meals are accompanied by a thoughtful, approachable wine selection. We believe dining is more than food: it is an experience, and ours is quality. Enjoy your handcrafted meal on our lively outdoor patio, or take in the local art collection in our dining room. Our philosophy is simple: quality food and wine presented with welcoming service. Every meal. Every day. Please join us.

A Minneapolis metro favorite, Ciao Bella was opened in 1997 by Minneapolis restaurateur Rick Webb, whose pursuits have set the standard in Twin Cities dining for over 40 years. Heading downtown? Visit Ciao Bella’s sister restaurant, Zelo, for another dining experience from Rick Webb featuring handcrafted food and dedicated service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 9 p.m.

Bar:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 1 a.m.
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 11 p.m.
Sunday: 4 p.m. – midnight
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 10 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 841-1000

Website:
http://www.ciaobellamn.com/

Executive Chef:
Steve Tippett

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao Bella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (57)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Business Meals (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Great for Lunch (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Cozy (35)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Casual (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Healthy (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Fireplace (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (5)
Organic (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Server was outstanding. Food was good as always but service is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We had to change our reservations several time that particular evening because of a flight delay, so we didn't get there till after 9:00. Our server, Melissa, was very friendly and we never felt rushed one bit. Very delightful! A wonderful way to end a vacation and a very long day in the airport. Thank you to the friendly staff- especially Melissa- and the delicious food (as always).

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

The wait staff was amazing. Each dish we had was delectable. Highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I have never been disappointed with the food, service or drinks at this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very helpful waiter and generous portions, make sure you are hungry when you arrive. Food was delicious. Chose the restaurant for a special occasion and was not disappointed. You can be casual or more formal, you can be comfortable in any attire.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service rushes you to turn tables. Food overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've been here twice now. Each time was exceptionally wonderful. Food is SO good! Everything so fresh and made from scratch. Service and ambiance is also top notch. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent service, great food, a bit noisy but lots of energy.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Terrific. Love all of the fish dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We are from out of town. Good recommendation from locals

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent lunch. Food was very good and service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

After hearing about how great Ciao Bella is from my girlfriend, I was disappointed. The service was great, but the food was less than good. Our appetizer and complimentary bread were the best parts of the meal. The entrees were not great. One of which was sent back to the kitchen. For the price, I would have rathered make an awesome dinner at home or gone to Forgo de Chao.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a lovely dinner there. Service was superb. Food was excellent. Wine list is interesting and varied.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Food with Fantastic Service. First time here for a Valentines Day date dinner. Had a Wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've yet to have a bad experience at Ciao Bella. Food is always delicious and servers friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Valentines Day dinner was good, but nothing wowed us. The menu offered a wide variety, but the overall feeling was stuffy, and the value proposition wasn't as good as other restaurants we've been to. Our waiter was very nice and offered suggestions on menu items. Our reservation was ready right away, but we'll likely not go back in order to try other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful dinner and service on a very busy afternoon/evening Valentine's Day. Made reservations two weeks prior and requested a booth way to the back. They were wonderful about accommodating our requests.

The ceilings are very high thus the noise factor is something you have to deal with. All in all a beautiful evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food, attentive, friendly service, nice atmosphere- couldn't really ask for more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have always had great food and good service! This is always on my top ten list, thank you.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This has been a favorite spot of our for many years! Reliably delicious and fresh food. Excellent service. They actually keep some of the best items on the menu rather than changing the entire menu all the time. This is great! Fresh, delicious food. The restaurant was very loud the night we were there as it was very busy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Usually Ciao Bella is great, but last night was the exception. Service was so poor we left without ordering entree's. The manager did comp the App we ordered but we were to annoyed to eat. Sad because we have been to Ciao Bella on many occasions and have always enjoyed excellent food and excellent top notch service. NOTE: food and value rating above are based on past experiences not our most recent one. I still recommend CB but maybe go when it's less busy?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

food was exceptional --every meal was fantastic. the salmon with almond crust and the sea bass with pesto were outstanding.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We haven't eaten here in a few years and it was great to experience it anew! Fabulous food (beef spareribs were unbelievable!), atmosphere and superb service.

Tags: Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food tasted fresh and delicious! Our waitress was exactly as attentive as I like a waitress to be. The atmosphere of the main portion of Ciao Bella was pretty lound and energetic - good for family and groups of friends. The hostest did a good job placing my date and I in a more secluded area that was fairly well buffered from the excitement and noise of the main area. As for value, the meals we had were well worth it! I like to have a little wine to complement dinner, but not when it doubles the check. Overall, I would highly recommend Ciao Bella! I really do not need the wine to enjoy fantastic Italian cuisine. will be visiting again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very impressed with the staff. Every person we interacted with was cheerful and seemed genuinely glad to have us as guests. Jerome was an amazing server. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and provided wonderful recommendations. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a great time at Ciao Bella, Terrific service and good food,

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This place is a no-brainer. Food is consistently wonderful and service is outstanding; the wines are off the charts, if you ask Jamie (wine gal) what to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great and consistent! Ciao bella salad is great and fish was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful evening out with friends. Our waiter was excellent--funny, outgoing and very helpful. Food was fantastic including the Ahi tuna tartare. Sea bass was awesome as was the ravioli we shared, as a group.

We shared several desserts, all of which were delicious.

Overall, a great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved the friendly and super fast service. The Walleye has been my favorite for years and never disappoints. Great restaurant and good value.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always impeccable service followed up with incredible food. They do everything incredibly well and I've never had anything but an exceptional meal there. Great wine list as well,

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We've never been disappointed at Ciao Bella. Good food and service plus ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This is my favorite go to place consistent service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Way too expensive - we were charged double for wine and a salad that we split. $113 for two for tasty but not extraordinary food in a big pretty, but noisy room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our server Cathy was great! Very curtious knowledgeable and took the time to make sure our experience was worth being there. She went out of her way to make sure we ordered and received exactly what we wanted. Food was great. Received food in a timely manner. The price was appropriate for the delicious food.

Only draw back, it was hard to have a romantic conversation as it was too much of a bar/nightclub atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The house salad (ciao baby) was average at best -- actually very disappointing for the price. Our entrees were VERY salty and over priced. The atmosphere was nice, but the food was just so, so......would have to think twice before returning and/or recommending to others. Our server was VERY good and she made the very average meal seem a little better! In general, over priced for the quality of the food, but the atmosphere was pretty KEWL!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Once again Ciao Bella lived up to everything I knew it to be! Always - fantastic service and fantastic food! We were there for my wife's birthday and every staff person we encountered wished her a Happy Birthday. That kind of customer service is unheard of in this day and age...Menu had been changed up since our last visit and the food - yes, the food...Second to none in the metro!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

On this visit, I brought a business manager from England. He was very impressed with the meal - he had the Ahi Tuna dinner and the plate was clean after he was done. He also liked the variety of local beers available (decided on Surly). This was a great way to impress our guest - thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Everything overall was great. It was just really loud.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Had the handmade ravioli today and it's delicious. My friend had the salmon salad and really enjoyed it. I've never been disappointed with their food or service.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband had the lasagna and said, "It's not fair someone can make lasagna that good!"

We loved the food and the waiter's attention to detail. It was a bit noisy and warm, but the food was so fabulous we will be back again soon!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Everything was great from Apps through Dinner. Seth, as always was awesome. Plus, the rest of the staff was awesome too. From the Hosts, Server Assistants ( I don't like the Busboy acronim) to Mgmt!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I eat out very often and Ciao is still my favorite place for lunch and dinner. Beautiful patio, wonderful atmosphere inside, awesome food and consistently good service. You will love this place!

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This place is a go back and soon the food was great cant wait to try more there

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Only (ongoing) issue is the noise level

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I always enjoy going to this restaurant! It is noisy but a booth by the wall makes it more intimate.There is a good variety of choices.This time I chose the organic salmon piccata with fresh asparagus as my entree. It was the best salmon dish I have had for years and believe me I am very picky!! I started the meal with the Brasiliana salad which is my go to salad there.I really enjoy the heirloom grain salad but even the small size is very filling ......

My date had the soup of the day which I believe was butternut squash . For an entree he had the fettuccine with chicken. He enjoyed both of them but said they were very rich..lucky he ordered the smaller portions of both!

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

High quality Italian food, especially for Minnesota. Reminds me of Italian restaurants in the NY/NJ area. Linguini di Mare and Tortiglioni are both fantastic. I have had the lasagna before too and that was also amazing.

Many of the wines are a fantastic value, especially the more expensive bottles. Only a 20-30% markup on some of the bottles which is very low compared to most restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time there on a date with the SO. Terrific service - waitstaff is very professional without being overbearing. Food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic ownership and staff. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food and service were both amazing! Feels like a get-away in your own backyard. I will be returning!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.