Ciao Bella

4.7
3287 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Business Meals
At Ciao Bella, we serve simple, fresh Italian cuisine made from local ingredients. Our handcrafted meals are accompanied by a thoughtful, approachable wine selection. We believe dining is more than food: it is an experience, and ours is quality. Enjoy your handcrafted meal on our lively outdoor patio, or take in the local art collection in our dining room. Our philosophy is simple: quality food and wine presented with welcoming service. Every meal. Every day. Please join us.

A Minneapolis metro favorite, Ciao Bella was opened in 1997 by Minneapolis restaurateur Rick Webb, whose pursuits have set the standard in Twin Cities dining for over 40 years. Heading downtown? Visit Ciao Bella’s sister restaurant, Zelo, for another dining experience from Rick Webb featuring handcrafted food and dedicated service.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dining Room:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 9 p.m.*

*Ciao Bella will open at 11:00 am on Sunday, January 28th and Sunday, February 4th

Bar:
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 1 a.m.
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 11 p.m.
Sunday: 4 p.m. – midnight
*Limited Menu including pizza, flatbread, and dessert served until 10 p.m.
**Hours may change during the week of January 29th through February 4th
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(952) 841-1000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Steve Tippett
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 3287 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The front desk appeared very overwhelmed that night. I came early and asked if we could be seated early. Answer was no but have a seat at the bar- checked in with them at the reservation time then waited until 10 minutes after my reservation and my guest and I walked to the front desk and was seated immediately. Not sure if they ever were going to come and get me and my guest, surprising given there was three people working the front desk.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

The special occasion that I had specified in the reservation was NOT even acknowledged, but my friend and I had a nice lunch!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Met an out of town client who was staying close to the airport. Great spot for us to meet. Free parking. Not the crazy of the Mall of America. And would have been a great night to sit outside, but they set our OpenTable reservation for inside at a spacious booth. Our server was phenomenal, ensuring we were never thirsty, happy with our meals, and wanting for nothing. Her teammates supported her well, and my guests enjoyed the halibut special, while I enjoyed the pork chops. Prepared really well, but the dessert - the budino - stole the show. Great evening out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Caught up with friends before their flight out of MSP. They were delighted by menu and service. We were left alone to chat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The food and service was outstanding. My husband had the halibut special and it was so fresh and light. I had the flatbread and I asked for a topping from the pizza section for the flatbread and they were eager to please. Gorgeous patio on a lovely evening. Service was fast and professional. The drinks topped off the evening. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

We have been here many times before. The salmon, which I’ve had before was mediocre. Very noisy. Didn’t feel as special as it used to.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Very nice place, pricey though. Pasta was outstanding, meatballs are great as an app. Overall very satisfied

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Ciao Bella has excellent food and the summer offerings are wonderful - gazpacho, bruschetta. Fresh and beautiful. We sat in the air conditioned porch as outside was over 90, and it was sunny and inviting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Nothing beats Ciao Bella's patio and salads for lunch. Always consistent service and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

I eat here 2X a month when I travel to Minneapolis. Great regional Italian food and ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

As usual, the food was excellent. I had the sea bass and my dining companion had the walleye. In fact he loves the walleye much that he orders it every time we come. This time we ended up sitting in the bar area but the service was prompt and timely just like we experienced when seated in the main dining area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Loved the food, but the fun was spoiled by the loudness. People were literally shouting at their tables to hold a conversation. We left with headaches.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Anniversary dinner. Very good food. Server was very friendly, knowledgeable, helpful.
Definitely will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 12, 2018

I brought a friend for a special birthday 2 months ago and we had a female waitress and we had a ball. My friend was given a free drink and and a tiny desert to help celebrate her birthday. This time I brought another one of my good friends for her 60th birthday and all she got was a candle. Was very disappointed. Came 6/14/18 @ 530pm

Pam Erickson

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Love this restaurant, save it for special occasions because it is more spendy, but so worth it! The Parmesan crusted shrimp is my favorite!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I forgot how extremely loud this restaurant is. Very hard to have any conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

One of our fave places to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Spendy but quality food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Food and service was great. However for a Thursday night it was almost too noisy to be able to have a conversation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We went here for our anniversary dinner because we had a gift certificate to use. I had not been here for probably 10 years or more. Our meal was good, service by Scotty our server was good overall - acknowledging our anniversary several times and was attentive. I was surprised at how busy the dinner hour was for a Thursday evening. The atmosphere was a little noisy due to large parties of people sitting near us but overall it was an enjoyable experience. Patio seemed like it would have been much quieter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Always have a great experience. Never disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

This outdoor patio is wonderful! I almost hate to leave a great review as it is hard enough to get a seat now. And the food is really exceptional - creative but also traditional options

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Delicious food and great service. The noisy level is a bit high, so I advise going at off hours.
Also, the prices are a bit high. I will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I was there with my girlfriend for our anniversary and we were sitting by the bathrooms which is fine, but there was a incident in the bathroom which was appalling. I am not sure what the incident was, but the way it was handled was unproffessional. The managers and other staff were standing next to our table talking about how disgusting the bathroom was, then they had to take a utensil into the bathroom followed by caring a plastic bag through the dining area. Our food arrived at the table and that is when our waitress realized she forgot our drinks (which was 2 glasses of wine) and she order mine the wrong size. With this being a finer restaurant I expected a better experience and was disappointed with what we got

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Service was great we got seated right away menu has a lot of options entrees (steaks) a bit over priced

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It’s always too loud inside when it’s nice we like to be on the patio if there was an hour and a half wait at 8 PM. We were only in the dining room for an hour and Monday came out the patio was almost empty. I wish we would’ve waited. But the food was good as always our server Stevie was awesome. Just a reason to go back again to be able to enjoy their patio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Best tomato basil soup ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Excellent customer service from the receptionist to the managers!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Our waitress was outstanding! She was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. She made us feel special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The staff at Ciao Bella, especially Jaime, are exceptional! No place better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Service was excellent. Food cooked perfectly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Loved the salmon special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Always a great service and wonderful food, we have never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Love the patio. All positive except...ordered the salmon special for dinner since our fantastic waitress made it sound so good! It was nothing special and was not hot, very disappointing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We had a wonderful time at Ciao Bella! It was college friends getting together to connect. The friendliness and service at the bar was great. Our server was fantastic-sharing her humor and personality but providing high quality service! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Very noisy for a restaurant which otherwise has such lovely ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Crabcakes are out of this world! All lump crab, no filler and the truffle aioli is decadent. Our waiter was very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We went to this restaurant for our anniversary. Our waiter was excellent and we had really good service. The food was awesome. It is kind of loud in the restaurant, next time we plan to eat outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Beautiful restaurant with great service. Helpful and professional staff. Fabulous food in a timely manner. Had a great evening with my wife for our anniversary. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
83