Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Ciao! - Sylvania

4.6
910 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(419) 882-2334
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
US 23
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 910 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Cal always count on a great meal!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoyable. The food is consistently prepared and presented. We probably eat here four times per year, and have never had a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Great place for dinner!! Always consistent and service always done with a smile!! Will be back soon

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Mainstreet Ventures restaurants are always a "go to" place for us in Toledo. Zia's, The Chop House, Real Seafood, as well as Ciao's. Every year we get our family together to celebrate my birthday at one of these establishments. We made reservations and were seated promptly on arrival. Nice Table! Service was impeccable and the dishes were prepared as ordered and served warm and on time. One of our sons is Vegan and they made special accommodations for him. He though it was great as well.

Although it won't make a huge difference on our decision to go there in the future, none of us liked the bread. Used to be hard crust and soft inside, now it's just chewy. The crust is so hard all of us left it on the table. If anyone from Main Street is reading this - please go back to the old (better) bread.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Spaghetti Carbonara was excellent and loved that it was prepared table side. Presentation was wonderful and the service was top notch. It reminded me of dinner at my Grandmother's.
Thank you for making our Anniversary something tasty and special.
We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Good food. Good service. A better place to dine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great food, great ambience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We almost always go to Ciao when we're celebrating something special!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 1, 2018

So many people think this restaurant is good, we usually go back once a year forgetting the complete lack of any seasoning or character that makes the food Italian. The middle in tomato sauce would have had the same flavor as if they served them in lukewarm water. No garlic, no anchovy, no salt, no peppers or spice of any kind. Even the tomatoes lacked flavor. Yes, no tomato flavor at all.

Next, came the salad. They make their own croutons, but apparently no one knows how to properly dry the croutons and prepare them in this kitchen. They should not be crispy outside and mushy bread inside.

The salmon was dry and without flavor... No other comment needed there. And I don't know why, but I always order the penne pollo. This year they served it pollo-less. The broccoli in the penne still had a bite which was the most redeeming quality of this pasta dish. Other than the broccoli, it was a bowl of overcooked underaged pasta.

My partner did enjoy the Rosemary martini.

As for service, A+ to the reception. They were wonderful. The waiter could not have cared less about our table. It was clear that being at work was a disconvenience to his life.

Done making this annual mistake. Olive Garden does a better job, as does Bravo. I know they have been there a long time, maybe it's time to go. Quality is so lacking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Excellent local restaurant that is a reflection of strong management. Food is excellent on a consistent basis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We had reservations on Friday at 6:00 with a request for patio seating & we were seated promptly on arrival. My wife & I shared an appetizer & a pizza and as usual the food along with the service is consistently top notch. I will be back soon after the grind of the week to relax on the patio on Friday nite with my wife, a few cocktails & good food, can't wait.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Always pleased with the whole experience at Ciao’s. Brenda, the Manager, always greets us or makes sure to visit our table to see how we are doing-She’s the Best. This night Mariah served us. As is almost always the case with the waitstaff at all the Mainstreet Ventures’ locations, she was totally knowledgeable with the menu and answered any of our questions thoroughly and honestly. Food was wonderful all the way thru dessert. One of our favorite places to dine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

This was my 60th birthday and I had my closest friends and husband at Ciao's to celebrate it with me. The food was fabulous but Dean our wait staff was less then friendly. He apparently was tapped to have a new hire shadow him and he wasn't happy about it. He didn't bother much with giving her any training tips nor try to hide his dislike in being put in this position. My girlfriend had called ahead and was given the okay to bring a cake, which apparently was beautifully decorated...but I didn't know since Dean never showed it to me and he never gave us the opportunity to sing happy birthday or allow me to blow out a candle. He just cut the cake and served it. He was definitely a of a killjoy on my birthday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

First of all, Natalie was fantastic. Great service and excellent recommendations. This was our first time at Coia and we had a great time. The food was very very good. My mother had the short ribs with ravioli. I had the sea bass and my dad had the pescatore. All were very good. The foccacia that came with the meal was excellent as was the infused oil served with it. My dad had the bread pudding for dessert and he is still raving about it. We had a nice bottle of Brunello.

My only complaint is that the coffee was dreadful. I'd skip it. But the rest was very very good. We will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always reliable. Always great food. Always great service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went out for dinner the night before Mother's Day. Everyone's food was good as always, though I was ever so slightly disappointed with my salmon (it's usually a 9/10, and that night it was 7.5-8/10, was missing just a little something.)

The Service was excellent, again as usual. We've never had a bad experience here, been going for nearly 15 years. We moved a few years ago and it's nearly an hour drive now, so we don't go as often as we used to, but we're still always glad we went.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very disappointed in the service. We had made reservations on line for 7p. Arrived and was told it would be a few minutes to get our table. Waited and no acknowledgement by the greeter. Although she did seat a large party ahead of us. After waiting 10 minutes had to go back and ask about our table. When we were seated there were several empty tables available. Server , Ryan, was not friendly at all. The food,however, was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I prefer the bread you served previously. I didn't care for the softer bread, it was like Bravo's restaurant. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Reservation was on time, and we were seated quickly. The service left much to be desired though. Our server was impatient with us, not very attentive, and rather than speaking with us about specials or menu choices, he tried to rush us through ordering. Things we asked for were ignored, we went several minutes without drink refills, and when he did arrive to refill our waters, he left again for 20 minutes before returning with a coke refill for a guest of ours. Overall the food was excellent, and we will come again as this was not our first time, nor will it be our last. We just hope by next time his attitude will have improved, or we receive a different server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great service and food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Although it's unfortunate that dessert is no longer provided in the birthday promotion, it's still a great place for birthday celebrations, or just dinner in general.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent service. Will definitely go back! Happy hour is fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

My wife wanted Ciaos for her special birthday dinner and she was incredibly pleased with the whole evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We had a very tasty meal! Appetizers were great and the wine was too. For a Monday night, there was quite a crowd of people which speaks well for the service, food and overall diner experience! Thank you for providing us great food, atmosphere and time with our out of town friend! We all agreed we would meet there again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food was delicious and served in a reasonable time. Waiter was friendly, helpful and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We always have a great meal at Ciao!. The food. Is fantastic and the staff is always friendly. I am gluten free and appreciate that they note their opinions on the menu, just wish there were a few more. As someone who cannot eat beef or pork, I'm pretty much limited to the Salmon with spinach and do not get to enjoy dessert.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Overall, very pleasant evening. Food was great, company was great, kitchen just a bit backed up. Hostess did come and apologize to let us know things were running slow.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We made a reservation (for 2) early in the day. When we got to the restaurant we were seated almost in the back of the restaurant next to one large party with several kids screaming and running around. Then another large party shows up that was seated next to us that was very LOUD. This restaurant is very loud, it was very difficult to talk to my spouse in a normal voice without yelling. This restaurant is not the place to go for a quite dinner.

Our server was either over worked or very s l o w. Dinner took for every and even longer to get the bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Always delicious and inspiring. The atmosphere, food, and service bring back memories of Italy. It's a little on the pricey side but worth every penny for flavor and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Love Ciao! The birthday discount is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Incredible food tonight! We both tried something new for a change and were not disappointed! Great meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

It was our anniversary and we were pleasantly satisfied with the food and the service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We went to dinner to celebrate a birthday excited about the meal. Unfortunately the meal fell short of our expectations. Food was bland for the first time. Chicken Alfredo had little taste. Service was good. Appreciated the birthday discount.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Food was great as expected. The prime rib however was not up to ciao’s standards. It was tough and way undercooked even for rare. Had it been edible a creamy horseradish would have been nice.
G

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went for the Easter Buffet. Since it is an Italian Restaurant, I would like to have seen more Italian type food on the buffet. For the price it was average. This is our second year attending the Easter Buffet. Again our entire party agreed the salmon was really good, while the prime rib was average. All the staff seemed too busy to make polite conversation with their tables. Our waiter was efficient, but lacked that--I am glad you came, stop back again projection. Upgrade your prime rib and add some more choices for next year!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Every aspect of Ciao is well conceived and executed. Good value for special occasions, especially birthday's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

An excellent, locally owned restaurant. One of our favorites. Food, ambience, and service are top notch. Our home away from home!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 22, 2018

There was a really bad odor like bad cheese or fermenting socks. The group in front of us were covering there noses when we walked in. You kind of got used to it after a little time. We normally love this restaurant but something was wrong this day.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Food was very good - seafood special and chicken parmesan, plus desserts! Wine selection excellent. Large crowd for a week night and restaurant gets very noisy. Maybe a family area and a couples area would help the noise level. Waitress was very sweet and helpful . Overall it was a good place to eat Italian food! We will go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Had a wonderful birthday dinner! The bread was excellent-served warm. Nice drink selections. The sea bass and swordfish special very tasty. The beet and caprese salads were excellent. We also could hear nice live music from the bar area. They had a very attractive discount on meal portion of bill for birthday. My only suggestion would be to replace the plastic table clothes with linen!! Picky yes, but if this is to be considered fine dining, linen would be a better option.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23

Tweets by Ciao! - Sylvania