Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About Ciao! - Sylvania

Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

6064 Monroe Street
Sylvania, OH 43560
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 882-2334

Website:
http://www.ciaorestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao! - Sylvania Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (33)
Cozy (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fireplace (29)
Authentic (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Casual (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Live Music (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

This experience was just okay, food quality not as good as in the past. Lamb chops were overdone, tough and bland. Desserts taste like they came from a grocery store. The appetizers were quite good. I would not be inclined to return for a special occasion, but for everyday its fine. Probably time for a renovation also.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Promptly sat. Great menu and specials. Wonderful service. Definitely a place to come back to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 15, 2017

On my birthday, we dined at Ciao's and as usual, the food was great, as well as the service. However, the drinks we consumed were WAY over priced! My husband ordered a Dewar's scotch, and the price was an astounding $11.50. He had 2 of them, which was more than the price of our meal. My drink was also a whopping $24.10 for 2 drinks. 2/3 of our bill was the drinks, which in comparable restaurants would be about half that price. We may return for the food, but will never drink anything there again. Shame on you for the price gouging.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 14, 2017

As always our experience at Ciao was pleasurable. The food, service and surroundings made for a pleasant and enjoyable occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Ciao obliged us to dash in and out with a quick dinner. Service was very attentive. Also, I was able to order a common Italian dish not shown on the menu, but one the kitchen would easily have ingredients to serve. And they did. Cheers to the chef!

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was exceptional as usual. The ambiance is just right. Our favorite spot in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food and the service was excellent. The chef was very accommodating for menu changes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Ciao's never disappoints. The food is always very good. The service is outstanding. They have a really nice outdoor patio/bar area that is covered with vines and has an outdoor fireplace that is one of the best in the area. The indoor area is nice and cozy for a special night out or just a dinner with family, friends, colleagues or a romantic dinner with your significant other. In the winter the Zuppa di Pmodoro is outstanding only to be equalled in the summer with their Gazpacho ... actually everything we have ever ordered has been really good and worth coming back for over and over again. Did I mention the service? Yeah it's very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We've eaten at Ciao a few times now and always enjoy the food and the service. Highly recommend it for family dinners as well as date night.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was outstanding as usual. Food is always great but I tried something different and was not disappointed. The perfect way to end dinner is with a cup of Cappuccino. We will be back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Delicious meals and desserts. We loved everything! Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The food was excellent, and going to Ciao's is always nice. Food took a little longer than normal to get to us, but no problem. A suggestion would be that this restaurant buy regular food containers for carry outs. My leftovers of a long chicken breast, plus spinach, was smashed and curled into a chinese-like container. It looked a mess when I got home. It would be worth their investment to buy plate size containers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We received a warm, friendly welcome from the hostess who worked diligently all around the restaurant our entire time there. Trainee provided excellent and far better service than the server who has worked there for two years. Our round table was odd in that the edge "cascaded" downward all the way around. Salad and soup didn't arrive at our table for 30 minutes. Server didn't seem to have much interest in helping us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was great! However, when making a reservation daysin advance, I would have hoped for the seating to be a little better of a choice. Those smaller tables are not at all large enough for 4 adults and all the tableware alone. Other than that, service was good, food was good, and we had good company.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a great time. The food was delicious; the wait staff was attentive but not obtrusive; and we definitely will come here again to entertain out-of-town guest or for special family occasions. Did I say the food was delicious? The only downside, if you are in a hurry to decide what to order, slow down. The iPad menus are all in Italian. So you have to click on each item to pull up a photo of the food and a description, in English, of what the item is. I found this kind of fun, like a scavenger hunt, but another member of my party was irked by it. She just wanted to know, in English, what the menu offerings were. She did not want to click on them one at a time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great as usual! Lasagna was delicious... not your ordinary lasagna.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service and menu selections along with a special of the day which is always something to consider!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Regular favorite of me and my crowd.
Can be for quick casual dining at the bar or all out celebratory feast.
Always great specials as well as reliable traditional Italian dishes.

Out door seating is popular in the right season and fun for a friendly get together.
Very good wine selection

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lovely Valentine's Day dinner❣ Favorite restaurant for many years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was incredible as was the service. Cappuccino and tiramisu made the day! We will be back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Never disappointed here!! Went there for valentines day. The food was awesome as usual. The service was also great and not too crowded. Made reservations for 5:30 and were seated in a booth as requested. It is pricey but well worth it. We always split a meal to keep the cost down. Our favorite restaurant by far!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went there for my birthday. Great special for birthdays. Food was fresh, creative and so delicious. Service was great fot it being a busy night. Thank you for a fun and delicious evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful meal- crostini a la funghi, perfect salad, best bolognese sauce ever ( and I have tried many) and the cannoli was to die for. As good a restaurant meal as I have ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful & tasty food with creative extra ingredients. Great choice of foods.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Spicy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always great food and service. Really enjoy Happy Hour, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was really good and the food was also very good…except maybe a big heavy on the dressings/sauces.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 24, 2017

While the food was excellent and the kitchen was able to handle our daughter's food allergies, the service was less than what we expect at Ciao. Our waiter was slow to bring salads and the entrees, and we waited at least 15 minutes for a birthday dessert to arrive because the waiter was discussing vineyards with the table behind us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Filet was excellent and the service was very attentative. The only negative ... the booth had a very bright light ..need to turn down the wattage!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 21, 2017

All four of us really enjoyed our evening. We were celebrating an up and coming retirement. All our meals were delicious (everyone tried something different from salmon, seafood and chicken), wine was fabulous, first time trying Meioni (not sure of spelling) as well as our waiter Joe was knowledgeable, courteous and at times entertaining. Thank you...

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Went for my wife's birthday, the birthday deal of 50% off is awesome!! The food was excellent also, my wife had steak which she loved and I had lasagna, which was very good also. It's a very nice place, highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a delicious meal. The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Consistently excellent. MSV really know what they are doing.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It had been a couple of years since we last visited Caio and found that the food and service remains great.
The prices have gone up considerably so chose wisely or dinner for two approachs $100. with a glass of wine.
I would recommend that Caio relocate the wait station for it's simply too close to diners that come to this eatery to relax and enjoy without wait staff constantly mulling about only a few feet away.
We'll be back.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent Authentic Italian food. Great service and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding service on one of the busiest nights of the year. (New Years Eve) Service was very fast and server was very friendly. The cappuccino is also a great way to end dinner. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fireplace, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was disappointed at the seating. It was New Years Eve however and only two of us but we were put in a small booth along side the bar. With coats, very tight fit and quite noisy, but like I said, it was New Years Eve.

Food was outstanding. We each had something different and were very pleased with out choices. The chocolate mousse for dessert was to die for. Our waitress was attentive and prompt. Overall a very good experience. (this was not our first visit there and will not be our last)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Authentic, Fireplace, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Initially we were not happy to be seated in the bar, but when we expressed that, the manager figured out a way to move us to the main dining room. We were very grateful! The food and service were both excellent! Our server was enthusiastic and efficient. She dealt with the pressure of a New Year's Eve crowd with amazing aplomb! We will certainly go back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere + excellent service + delicious food = perfect evening of dining!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always a favorite of mine. Although I do think the portions are a bit small for the price. Love the lasagne.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our family traditionally celebrates birthdays at Ciao and we are never disappointed. The female manager is very friendly and always remembers us!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Seasonal, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.