About Ciao! - Sylvania

6064 Monroe Street
Sylvania, OH 43560
View Larger Map

Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 882-2334

Website:
http://www.ciaorestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao! - Sylvania Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Restaurants in Sylvania ›

Special Occasion (38)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Romantic (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The gazpacho was excellent !! We sat out ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined 4 days ago

The gazpacho was excellent !! We sat outside and enjoyed a nice dinner with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I can always count on having a wonderful ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined 4 days ago

I can always count on having a wonderful meal at Ciao's! I am glad the menu has gluten free options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, service, atmosphere and ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, service, atmosphere and wine list!! I would highly recommend Ciao's to all my family and friends.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious ! Excellent Service! ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious ! Excellent Service!

The setup ideal for the special occassion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great service from an experienced ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always great service from an experienced and friendly staff. Our once-a-week hangout.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always! Our server, Patrick ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful as always! Our server, Patrick, was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat. Wide variety of dish ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great place to eat. Wide variety of dishes. This is not just a pasta place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A good experience. Mussels were pedestri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A good experience. Mussels were pedestrian and dry. Risotto could have been hotter.

Ciao is a dependable consistent place. It is not value priced however. It a pricey place for

pasta and Italian staples. The Sylvania Restaurant week choices were just ok and expensive.

The menu is classic and is a go to kind of place for Italian in Sylvania. Be aware the bill can get over the top if you go for three or four courses plus wine or drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We visit Ciao several times a year. We ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We visit Ciao several times a year. We have never had a bad experience. The food is very good. While we generally stick to our favorite meals, I did try something new this time and was not disappointed. The specials are always interesting, the drinks, wine etc... compliment the food well.

The mushroom ravioli is amazing, the veal is great, and my wife really enjoys the salmon.

Enjoy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good night at ciao's. Very bus ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a good night at ciao's. Very busy after we got there. A friend joined us for drinks un-expectantly. This delayed our dinners because it got so busy. This was our situation, but, Charles, our waiter, handled this very well. Again, a very good dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. Happy birthday place for dinner. We have been there, with and without, birthday special deals. Always, a good and innovative place to eat. When you can get to Ann Arbor, do any of the MSE. Always good!

Thanks,

PF

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been going to ciao for many many years t ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Been going to ciao for many many years this time was one of the best. Food was fabulous and are server Samantha was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great we are making another reservation

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great we are making another reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have gone to Ciao's often for special oc ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Have gone to Ciao's often for special occasions. My mother's birthday, my husbands birthday, as well as my own.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Ciao for many years. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We have eaten at Ciao for many years. The food this time was not as good as in the past.

The Calamari was excellent. My entrée was Veal Scallopine and it was not up to the usual

quality. The "new" risotto was just fair.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This is a Sylvania go-to destination! H ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is a Sylvania go-to destination! Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding. Our server wa ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was outstanding. Our server was prompt, courteous, and professional. We especially enjoyed the added feature on Monday and Tuesday nights with live entertainment. The singer was excellent. Since we were meeting with friends it was very nice to take our time with management's approval. A very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our quiet meal in the back dining room w ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our quiet meal in the back dining room was perfect for celebrating our 39th anniversary. We arrived at 6:20 and were seated right away. Our meal was delicious! I had Artic Char and my husband had Alfredo with meatballs. We were considering dessert when the soccer team and families were shown into the quiet back area. Table of 15 and table of 6 or 7 early teens still dressed in uniforms. Well, we couldn't carry on a conversation after they arrived so didn't do dessert. I realize you can't turn away a group like this, but Ciao wasn't quite the place they should have chosen. Not your fault!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and kitchen very slow! Waitsta ...

vip
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service and kitchen very slow! Waitstaff did not advise regarding long delays in kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was very good, the waitress was ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was very good, the waitress was very attentive and capable and went the extra mile. Our birthday celebration was very enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good. Mussel appetizer was excelle ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very good.

Mussel appetizer was excellent

Seafood risotto was perfect

Cheese tortellini with smoked chicken breast was ok. I asked after the fact if they make their own pasta and was informed that they were do not make pasta in house and that they were brought in.

Do yourself a favor and order coffee and crime brûlée for dessert. There coffee is the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Never dissapoints. Food is always aweso ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Never dissapoints. Food is always awesome and the wait staff is also great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We always like to eat at Ciao!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food is consistently good as is the service. They take reservations. My favorite is the Penne Polo. No one else makes it this good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dine here! Really!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent experience. My wife and I have eaten here half a dozen times and never had a bad experience. Our server, Patrick was awesome! Highly recommend. We have eaten inside and out and are both nice. The Veal Parmesan with bolognase sauce was fantastic. It was not a zesty red sauce as expected by to my surprise, far superior! Eat here. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will not be retuning to Ciao!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Upon arrival we were unable to find a parking spot as were the friends we were meeting there. They eventually found a spot and we had to park on the grass. While the our waitress was very good, the portion sizes were very small from the drinks, to the appetizers to the entrees. They did not put chicken on the salad I ordered and upon bringing that to the attention of our waitress she went and got the manager. He removed the salad from our bill and brought me a very large container with the 10 or so pieces of chicken they were giving me to take home. If you can make a different choice other than Ciao! for dining with friends I would do it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Good outing

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and service were great, as always. We have been to Ciao's many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice.

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were here for an anniversary. Just moved to Toledo. We drop about $90 for dinner for two with drinks at our favorite Chicago Italian restaurant. Somehow, we dropped $140 here. That being said, it was the best dinner out in Toledo. There is another Italian restaurant about two miles away that were told the best in Toledo. Ciao beat the competition completely. The food was great.

We plan to put this restaurant into regular rotation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We drove 90 miles as did my brother to c ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We drove 90 miles as did my brother to come for dinner. We thought we got a dessert due to birthday. Was closed on the actual date of birthday. Although there was an argument that I was trying to deceive as it was not my date of birthday------ they gave me the dessert and a discount. I was not aware there was a discount, so a bit of explanation would have been good. We all appreciated the discount, and dessert and will come again however a minute of explanation would not have me feeling bad for begging for the birthday special. I had no clue that it also included the discount. Thanks. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great as always

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On the Date Rotation

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We love going to Ciao ever now and then for our Date night. The food is good and the drinks are good as well. Price is fine but I would like a larger menu and not a huge fan of the digital menus; I like the idea just too much clicking and ipads would be better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good place to eat

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant serves good food. You should go there if you want to eat good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The server we had was fantastic. He did ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The server we had was fantastic. He did a wonderful job. The food was also excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty but slow and overpriced.

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was tasty but the kitchen was slow especially given that the place was only half full. While Ciao is a nice place to dine, it is not an upscale venue like the pricing would seem to indicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Ciao! bella!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great place to enjoy eating...Love the pasta dishes especially. Bolognese is fantastic. Very open to special requests...I had them add sausage to my Bolognese pasta with the sausage nowhere on the menu. Wine has always been great...I usually drink Italian while there. Servers are all very knowledge-able about food. AND the cheese cake is to die for...especially the "Blood Orange" version!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CJ did a great job waiting on us and the ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

CJ did a great job waiting on us and the food - as always - was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there at opening on a Sunday aft ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there at opening on a Sunday afternoon. All the adult food was at least excellent, some superior. The kids liked what they ate so I guess that was good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent menu choices! Delicious food.

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent menu choices! Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the whitefish--delicious! My dinin ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the whitefish--delicious! My dining partner had bolognese which was tasty as well. Dessert was a standout--polenta bread pudding with berries.

Might need to consider new carpeting--we sat close to the entrance and the smell of wet carpet was quite strong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Service and staff far above par

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Upon my arrival I was greeted by the manager, and informed that any wine not listed, could be ordered. The manager is well aware that I enjoy wine and I was very excited that their reserve list is now part of the menu. I thanked her and suggested a bottle that happened to be in stock. It really made my evening. I take good friends to Ciao several times each month and appreciate the wonderful food and service that I receive from Ryan, Dean, Charles, Brenda and Terry. I recommend Ciao for casual, business as well as date-night dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Have never had a bad meal. Service is good and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Staff recognized my reservation and quickly seated us. C J, our server, was extremely attentive and offered specials and recommendations. Food was great and well priced. Looking forward to future dining experiences at Ciao.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.