Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About Ciao! - Sylvania

Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

6064 Monroe Street
Sylvania, OH 43560
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 882-2334

Website:
http://www.ciaorestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao! - Sylvania Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Birthdays (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Romantic (30)
Cozy (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Authentic (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Casual (23)
Fireplace (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Business Meals (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Live Music (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Fun (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Spicy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our meals were delicious. Our service was amazing. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the late afternoon sun warming us up. Thank you for great meals!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Another excellent dinner at Ciao's. The service is excellent the food is well crafted and tasty.
Highly reccomend

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was fabulous, and we will definitely be back since the food was so delicious.
Unfortunately, we sat for more than 30 min before placing our entree order and before getting our appetizers.
The manager said this was customary, but I've been dining out for many years and never experienced this. That being said, from that point forward, our service was flawless.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Gina our server was very consultative and we appreciated knowing the details about the food herb garden etc.

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service and atmosphere!!!! Worth every penny!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a great place to eat. i was a bit disappointed. i ordered the pasta with mussels. clams. shrimp. squid. i got nothing but mussels and shrimp. the mussels were great. shrimp over cooked. rubbery. no clams. no squid. 😢

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 7, 2017

For a special occasion like a birthday or anniversary, there is no better place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved our server! She was fun, funny, helpful, knowledgeable and made it fun for the kids! Awesome Chocolate Mousse and Bread Pudding! Thanks for a special birthday meal!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a wonderful meal with awesome service. Food is always great with creative taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Four of us gathered for dinner, two using walkers, and were seated near the door. Convienent for us, yet not drafty. GREAT food. 3of us had an amazing fish enter; one had a meat dish. All were wonderful. Staff were thoughtful and responsive to our needs and wants.
Great place for dinner and so convenient to the highway.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The restaurant has a birthday discount, which is we why went. My family likes Ciao, but I find the food mediocre, the service slow, and menu overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We were there to celebrate my birthday and it was unusually busy for a week night. There was a big group whose order went in before ours, but our waiter, Brent, did a fabulous job of keeping everything together and we never felt neglected. He made me feel really special on my birthday with his outstanding service, and we appreciated that. The food was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and she wanted a very special meal from Ciao! The daily special knocked it out of the park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have loved the ambience of Ciao for over 20 years! It's great for any special occasion and the weekly specials are always worth a try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Average Italian restaurant. Cozy fireplace. Great Caesar salad. Ordered the Lobster Ravioli. It was so-so. It had a nice texture, actual lobster in the middle, al dente and a tasty sauce. Downside - cut corners on other ingredients- chopped asparagus on top with all stems/no tips (the best part) and covered in cold, mushy, chopped hothouse tomatoes. Would have been better with roasted or sun-dried tomatoes. Seemed understaffed. Our server had a huge party plus our little table of 3. Hard to get refills on drinks. My husband's filet looked good but the portion was small. We did the free Birthday meal so can't complain about the price.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is passable and wholly adequate. Better than an Olive Garden, but not a great Italian restaurant. Salt and hers appear to be lacking. Garlic is clearly not pay off their flavor profile. Even the pesto was a light pale green at best begging for more nail. They appear to want to be an upscale Italian restaurant, but even walking into the bathroom you realize they cheaped out. The bathrooms are not ADA compliant and they have cheap paper towel dispensers on the wall. Of Olive Garden had an older brother, Ciao is it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I tried the new chicken dish which was delicious. I would order it again and recommend to family and friends who visit Ciaos. The New York strip my husband ordered was done to perfection and he enjoyed every bite. Every dining experience we have had at Ciaos has been a very wonderful one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food was good. The server was pleasant and provided good service. The impact to this visit... being that it was my first time... is at the end of our meal an extremely large spider crawled down the wall at our table and when we asked one of the waiters to help (because i am terrified of spiders), he smacked it, it got away, and he didn't seem to feel that it would have an impact on our experience. I would expect that from a casual dining experience.

Now, I will say that it is not the restaurants fault, but the handling of that, I think could have been a bit different.

Would I go again... yes, but I will not sit by any walls. I would actually like to try the bar area. I thought that area seemed very pleasant from a distance. The music was really good. The singer that was there on Monday, she was very good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Came into dinner with friends, we were seated promptly which was fantastic, even though it was a Sunday, you never know how busy restaurants would be. Brittani was our server and she was absolutely fantastic. She took phenomenal care of us all night, from the moment we sat down she was friendly and could tell she truly knew what she was talking about. She has got to be one of the best servers we have ever had while dining at Ciao. Even when she got busy with her other tables, I believe she had a couple inside and also a couple on the patio area as well, she still gave great attention to us, was on top of bringing refills and making sure we had everything we could possibly need. We would come back not only for the delicious food but also the great service that Brittani provided.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was wonderful!!!! Food was unbelievably delicious for a buffet. We had a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was our first time at Ciao. We went to the Easter Buffet. Since it was an Italian restaurant, I was looking for some more Italian items on the Buffet. There was one simple pasta dish, but they could have gotton more creative on the Italian end. Overall service was very efficient, but the food was a little disappointing, the salmon was awesome but the main feature--prime rib was very tough and very hard to cut. Since the prime was the main item on their buffet, it should have been way better, seems like they cut corners on getting GREAT prime rib. Overall a nice visit, they just need to get more creative on the food choices on the buffet. For $21.95 there should have been more of a variety and better quality on the main feature-prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Love it! Best birthday deal in the Toledo area. Maybe even all of Ohio. I've loved everything I've eaten here too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and service. Always a great meal. The whole family has a favorite enter and we can't pass up the awesome chocolate moose for dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The dinner special was awesome, and waitress incredible plus had atmosphere

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food good service, the drinks were a little pricey.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food at Ciao is good not great. Not much flavor punch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food. Great service. Loved the fact we could make a reservation. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Excellent food. Creative menu. Excellent service. reservations suggested.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Another really good meal ... consistency ... really nice!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants in Sylvania. The quality of food was subpar for the price. There were 5 of us and my food was the only entree that was above average. I had the Scallops Special. All the other pasta dishes were overcooked and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food is always very good at Ciao, however wait can be quite long. On the bright side, the staff is always very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This experience was just okay, food quality not as good as in the past. Lamb chops were overdone, tough and bland. Desserts taste like they came from a grocery store. The appetizers were quite good. I would not be inclined to return for a special occasion, but for everyday its fine. Probably time for a renovation also.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Promptly sat. Great menu and specials. Wonderful service. Definitely a place to come back to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 15, 2017

On my birthday, we dined at Ciao's and as usual, the food was great, as well as the service. However, the drinks we consumed were WAY over priced! My husband ordered a Dewar's scotch, and the price was an astounding $11.50. He had 2 of them, which was more than the price of our meal. My drink was also a whopping $24.10 for 2 drinks. 2/3 of our bill was the drinks, which in comparable restaurants would be about half that price. We may return for the food, but will never drink anything there again. Shame on you for the price gouging.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 14, 2017

As always our experience at Ciao was pleasurable. The food, service and surroundings made for a pleasant and enjoyable occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Ciao obliged us to dash in and out with a quick dinner. Service was very attentive. Also, I was able to order a common Italian dish not shown on the menu, but one the kitchen would easily have ingredients to serve. And they did. Cheers to the chef!

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was exceptional as usual. The ambiance is just right. Our favorite spot in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food and the service was excellent. The chef was very accommodating for menu changes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Ciao's never disappoints. The food is always very good. The service is outstanding. They have a really nice outdoor patio/bar area that is covered with vines and has an outdoor fireplace that is one of the best in the area. The indoor area is nice and cozy for a special night out or just a dinner with family, friends, colleagues or a romantic dinner with your significant other. In the winter the Zuppa di Pmodoro is outstanding only to be equalled in the summer with their Gazpacho ... actually everything we have ever ordered has been really good and worth coming back for over and over again. Did I mention the service? Yeah it's very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.