Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About Ciao! - Sylvania

Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

6064 Monroe Street
Sylvania, OH 43560
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 882-2334

Website:
http://www.ciaorestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao! - Sylvania Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (29)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (14)
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome as always! Ciao never disappoints. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was wonderful!! Service was very good. Only downside is noise level.
Hard to hear the person across the table . We really enjoyed the food, but
a quieter atmosphere would be appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was a good experience overall except for my low ratings for service due to a little incident when we arrived because we spent ten minutes without being asked if we wanted to drink something.

I waited patiently but after ten minutes of being ignored, I stood up and went looking for a waiter. Couple of minutes later, the manager came and she was super nice and she promised to take care of the appetizer.
After that everything went well only that she forgot to take care of the appetizer, but overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great restaurant, great food and awesome atmosphere if able ask for patio later in evening they have a really nice fireplace out there!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Perfect, friendly and efficient service topped our evening of great food in a cozy, sophisticated atmosphere. We had a lovely and perfectly paced meal. We had the seafood linguine, salmon with ravioli, smoked chicken tortellini, and fettucini alfredo, and all were outstanding. The budino is a perfect balance of sweet baked pudding and tart berries, and an unusual dessert offering worth saving room for. We are planning to return soon

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We love Ciao. One of our favorite restaurants. And we have been very disappointed with service the last two visits. Subpar at best. I ordered your pork chops. And they were, number one, luke warm , number two, chewy and underdone, and I managed to finish half of one. The server came over and asked if everything was wonderful and I said it was okay and had over half of my food left. He asked if I wanted a box and I said no. So, he took the plate and that was that. No apology, no manager, nothing. Ironically as we were walking to our vehicle we saw our server at your window in the back eating and enjoying himself. Maybe that's why we didn't see a whole lot of him. I never would write this blunt of a review, but this has happened twice, and I think it needs to be addressed. Or you will lose faithful customers of many years. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our meal was tasty, hot, perfect seasoning. The online reservations were a great idea and we were very glad we used the service, because the parking lot was completely packed by the time we returned to our car. Our waiter was a delight; he really believed in Ciao's mission of fresh food and knew the menu. I built a pasta dish with cheese ravioli and paid an extra $5 for grilled chicken, but there was only a tiny bit of chicken and did not add the grilled flavor I expected. The ravioli and pomodoro basilico sauce were delicious. My husband asked for the mussels to be cooked in a wine sauce, and they were very good but a bit rubbery. Their birthday special is super-excellent. The experience was a wonderful way to celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food again! We love the fresh, tasty pasta dishes the most. They are all so good it's hard to make a choice. We are never disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Birthday dinner discount is a nice plus. Good friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We were seated on time. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. The food was hot and delicious. These are the reasons Ciao is consistently a top-rated restaurant. You can't go wrong here!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, the food, and especially the service. Our server was friendly, efficient, and made the evening a complete success. We have been here many times and will continue to come as long as these standards are maintained.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our waitress was a outstanding server,always one step a head with water and bread,and the meal was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Ciao has been around for years! We usually have great meals and service when we dine there!their patio has a great ambience and added to our great Italian meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

My wife's birthday brought us out on this occasion. She chose Ciao for the celebration. The evening was completely satisfying on all fronts. Kate provided wonderful service and info about the food and drink and we were most pleased with all that placed before us. We are planning a birthday gathering in the fall and are planning to return here for the occasion. Thank You for the great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

The wife and I have always enjoyed dining at Ciao ever since being recommended by a friend. It is our most favorite place to go for great food, good wine and quite atmosphere. Love it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had been quite a few years since we had visited Ciao's. The food was still as good as I remembered. Won't wait so long to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

A little on the pricy side. We spent $100 without any drinks. Just water and ice tea.
Everything was really good and the people were great. The bill caught me off guard a little bit...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great ambiance, food was delicious,service was good. Had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Awesome place, we eat here often. Servers excellent and well trained and managed as well as coached. Cannot remember floor managers name (sorry getting older) but she is always exceptional. Great teacher, great supportive person, serves and clears tables, all that needs done when it is needed. She never lets her folks get in the "weeds."

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 1, 2017

You can always count on Ciao! to have a table ready when you arrive. The food is always excellent and the teramasue dessert is a must!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

My wife and I hadn't been to Ciao's in a long while as we had moved to another community
of the city. Found some old favorites on the menu - just as good as we had always remembered.
Will not let the time pass by so long before returning,

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Good food, very flexible in being able vary items on the menu, excellent staff

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing food! Best birthday dinner in years! The salmon with ravioli was my pick. Had my favorite wine Meoimi Pinot Noir.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Very nice meal! Yummy mussels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was not worth the money as it wouldn't have filled up a child. I get that it's a fancy restaurant but it should still have a decent portion not just a chicken wing and call it a fancy name. The waiter ran out of their iPad menus so we resorted to paper. Asked for a ceaser salad and had no croutons however my wife's salad did. The waiter brought our food to another table then when the table told them it wasn't their food they picked up the plates and brought them to our table. Very unprofessional. The wait staff never asked if we wanted refills or desert. Overall a horrible anniversary dinner. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Pace of service was just right and the food was outstanding. Jonathan was our wait staff and was very attentive to the specific needs of our table. I had a party of 8 that each ordered something different, no one complained about their meals.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We very much appreciated the Birthday discount; however, our favorite food was unavailable, entree prices were very high considering small portion size, food was average and lacking flavor, menu items limited, service on the patio not wonderful. Extra charge for a bland Caesar salad not worth it. The patio itself is SO NOISY. We come often for the very good happy hour, but dinner this time was disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The menu had many wonderful choices! The food was delicious. Also has a large selection of wine and cocktails. The service was excellent, also has outdoor seating that is very comfortable. Enjoyed celebrating my Husband's birthday here. Will definitely be returning for another wonderful meal Thanks!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We sat on the patio and had a great experience all the way around!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 23, 2017

40 year high school reunion friend dinner
Very good food and service though slow to come out on a busy night
I would go back again
Had great salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Visited on Fathers Day evening and to celebrate a birthday. Menu is well organized and server explained use of the electronic tablets. Appetizers and salad were delivered in a timely manner. However, entre's took an inordinate amount of time and we felt ignored wrt drink refills and clearing of dishes. When dinner was served it was properly delivered at correct temperature and server did check on our satisfaction. After competing dinner we were again dissatisfied with the attention level and were anxious to escape. Food and ambiance were great! Service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating my husband's birthday Saturday evening. We had both worked the entire day at a Historic Homes tour in Waterville, so we were ready for good food and drink, cool atmosphere. Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Excellent food, as usual. Brenda is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our meals were delicious. Our service was amazing. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the late afternoon sun warming us up. Thank you for great meals!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Another excellent dinner at Ciao's. The service is excellent the food is well crafted and tasty.
Highly reccomend

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was fabulous, and we will definitely be back since the food was so delicious.
Unfortunately, we sat for more than 30 min before placing our entree order and before getting our appetizers.
The manager said this was customary, but I've been dining out for many years and never experienced this. That being said, from that point forward, our service was flawless.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Gina our server was very consultative and we appreciated knowing the details about the food herb garden etc.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service and atmosphere!!!! Worth every penny!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a great place to eat. i was a bit disappointed. i ordered the pasta with mussels. clams. shrimp. squid. i got nothing but mussels and shrimp. the mussels were great. shrimp over cooked. rubbery. no clams. no squid. 😢

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 7, 2017

For a special occasion like a birthday or anniversary, there is no better place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.