About Ciao! - Sylvania

6064 Monroe Street
Sylvania, OH 43560
View Larger Map

Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 882-2334

Website:
http://www.ciaorestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ciao! - Sylvania, Sylvania, OH
Ciao! - Sylvania, Sylvania, OH
Ciao! - Sylvania, Sylvania, OH
Ciao! - Sylvania, Sylvania, OH
Ciao! - Sylvania, Sylvania, OH

Ciao! - Sylvania Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fireplace (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Live Music (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for my wife's birthday, the birthda ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Went for my wife's birthday, the birthday deal of 50% off is awesome!! The food was excellent also, my wife had steak which she loved and I had lasagna, which was very good also. It's a very nice place, highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a delicious meal. The service was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a delicious meal. The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent. MSV really know ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Consistently excellent. MSV really know what they are doing.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, , Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been a couple of years since we l ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It had been a couple of years since we last visited Caio and found that the food and service remains great.

The prices have gone up considerably so chose wisely or dinner for two approachs $100. with a glass of wine.

I would recommend that Caio relocate the wait station for it's simply too close to diners that come to this eatery to relax and enjoy without wait staff constantly mulling about only a few feet away.

We'll be back.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Authentic Italian food. Great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent Authentic Italian food. Great service and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service on one of the busies ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding service on one of the busiest nights of the year. (New Years Eve) Service was very fast and server was very friendly. The cappuccino is also a great way to end dinner. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fireplace, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed at the seating. It was ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was disappointed at the seating. It was New Years Eve however and only two of us but we were put in a small booth along side the bar. With coats, very tight fit and quite noisy, but like I said, it was New Years Eve.

Food was outstanding. We each had something different and were very pleased with out choices. The chocolate mousse for dessert was to die for. Our waitress was attentive and prompt. Overall a very good experience. (this was not our first visit there and will not be our last)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Authentic, Fireplace, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Initially we were not happy to be seated ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Initially we were not happy to be seated in the bar, but when we expressed that, the manager figured out a way to move us to the main dining room. We were very grateful! The food and service were both excellent! Our server was enthusiastic and efficient. She dealt with the pressure of a New Year's Eve crowd with amazing aplomb! We will certainly go back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere + excellent service + d ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere + excellent service + delicious food = perfect evening of dining!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite of mine. Although I d ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always a favorite of mine. Although I do think the portions are a bit small for the price. Love the lasagne.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our family traditionally celebrates birt ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our family traditionally celebrates birthdays at Ciao and we are never disappointed. The female manager is very friendly and always remembers us!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Seasonal, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a celebration of my 89th birth ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was a celebration of my 89th birthday and the meal that I had was excellent. What made it even better than the half-price for the main course was the free serving of your excellent Creme Boulee (spelling ?). It was a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food and service. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Consistently excellent food and service. Live music set a perfect mood. Wine was a little pricey, but overall, loved it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is beautiful. We were seated a ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food is beautiful. We were seated at 5pm right near the servers' door to the kitchen, which was a bit off putting given how empty the place was for the first hour or so and that I had a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Christmas Eve and the staff were in ugly ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve and the staff were in ugly sweaters and in great spirits!! My salmon was cooked to perfection! I was very pleased with the overall experience. So glad to have such a nice evening on such a crazy day! 🌲

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a favorite spot for a special occ ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a favorite spot for a special occasion! We have been coming here regularly as long as it's been open!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite dining stops in the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of our favorite dining stops in the Toledo area. Love the appetizers here like the Crostini al Fungi. Great selection of wine and the menu is fantastic. I have been visiting there for over 23 years and it is always consistent and the best in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was great. Food was delicious. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Waiter was great. Food was delicious. Relaxing time. Good service but not rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We and my friends went to ciaos for ou ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We and my friends went to ciaos for our Christmas dinner we had eight people got seated right away and the waiter was top notch we put our order in and awaiting began long time to get our salads and even longer time to get our entrées then when we tasted the food it was Luke warm but the manager came over and gave us a small discount which I believe shows a great manager saw our dismay and she took care of the problem right there the food was delicious kind of expensive but I'll return

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

One of my favorite places to eat near th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat near the cozy fireplace. The best place to enjoy a fantastic meal in the warmth of the season! Everything from the martini, crostini appetizer, filet to the delicious creme brûlée was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic meal of salmon with cr ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Another fantastic meal of salmon with creative additions for flavor.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time here. Excellent food and ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Our second time here. Excellent food and menu.

Service attentive and quick.

We'll look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ciao is our go to birthday dinner spot b ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Ciao is our go to birthday dinner spot because the deal is hard to pass up. We are ALWAYS amazed at the wonderful food and ask ourselves why we don't dine there more often!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my birthday, so we'r ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday, so we're we're not in a hurry, or waitress was great and the food was too!

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I could eat there every week. A little ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 5, 2016

I could eat there every week. A little too pricy for that, but the best Italian food around here by far.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always! Great place to hand ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful as always! Great place to hand with your fam or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoy several visits to Ciaos each ye ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We enjoy several visits to Ciaos each year. It is a must go to when family and friends come to visit. The wait staff is excellent and my favorite dish Linguine Pescatore was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ciao is a must for celebrating Birthdays ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Ciao is a must for celebrating Birthdays. Another great experience at one of our favorite places.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Varied menu has something for everyone. ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Varied menu has something for everyone. A consistent part of the rotation when dining locally

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

5 Stars, a proper restaurant, service is ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 17, 2016

5 Stars, a proper restaurant, service is always the best & a level above and a good place to be with friends because no one is ever disappointed and the atmosphere is conducive to conversation, the owners & chef know what they are doing and it shows.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best spot for a birthday celebration! G ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Best spot for a birthday celebration! Great food, wine selection, service and atmosphere. I have been a fan for over 20 years:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service and food. All 4 of ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had great service and food. All 4 of us had a different meal and we all loved our selection! Great place to eat. We were not rushed. Quiet and comfortable !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great but the food stole ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was great but the food stole the show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good and the young man who ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was very good and the young man who was our waiter was very friendly, helpful and efficient. We will go again in the near future.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food... Salmon, trout, chicken ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent food... Salmon, trout, chicken parm. Nice quiet atmosphere. Chairs are uncomfortable however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My favorite special occasion restaurant. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My favorite special occasion restaurant. A place where you can have a gourmet meal and great conversation with your guest(s).

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Main Street Venture gem! We cel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Another Main Street Venture gem! We celebrated our anniversary there. Perfect ambiance. We had friendly, excellent service and the food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here several times, the food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I've eaten here several times, the food is usually good although not exceptional. Service is prompt and the overall atmosphere is nice for a casual dinner. My entree last visit was subpar- there was an over abundance of phyllo dough and little chicken. The chicken that was present was rather dry and bland. However it wasn't bad, just not very good. The other dishes that evening seemed fine though. Still a good place to go for a casual dinner with friends or family.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, a very nice evening. The only ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall, a very nice evening. The only hiccup was the very nice waitress wanted to take our orders alittle too quickly. Between getting our drinks and doing a bit of catching up, we ended up feeling just a little rushed at the beginning. Beyond that everything was just right!

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent food wonderful atmosphere atte ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 3, 2016

excellent food wonderful atmosphere attentive staff great birthday celebration

Tags: Quiet Conversation, , Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.