About Ciao! - Sylvania

6064 Monroe Street
Sylvania, OH 43560
View Larger Map

Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 882-2334

Website:
http://www.ciaorestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao! - Sylvania Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Restaurants in Sylvania ›

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (15)
Casual (14)
Authentic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fireplace (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ciao is a must for celebrating Birthdays ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Ciao is a must for celebrating Birthdays. Another great experience at one of our favorite places.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Varied menu has something for everyone. ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Varied menu has something for everyone. A consistent part of the rotation when dining locally

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

5 Stars, a proper restaurant, service is ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 17, 2016

5 Stars, a proper restaurant, service is always the best & a level above and a good place to be with friends because no one is ever disappointed and the atmosphere is conducive to conversation, the owners & chef know what they are doing and it shows.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best spot for a birthday celebration! G ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Best spot for a birthday celebration! Great food, wine selection, service and atmosphere. I have been a fan for over 20 years:)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great but the food stole ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was great but the food stole the show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had great service and food. All 4 of ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had great service and food. All 4 of us had a different meal and we all loved our selection! Great place to eat. We were not rushed. Quiet and comfortable !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good and the young man who ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was very good and the young man who was our waiter was very friendly, helpful and efficient. We will go again in the near future.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food... Salmon, trout, chicken ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent food... Salmon, trout, chicken parm. Nice quiet atmosphere. Chairs are uncomfortable however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My favorite special occasion restaurant. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My favorite special occasion restaurant. A place where you can have a gourmet meal and great conversation with your guest(s).

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Main Street Venture gem! We cel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Another Main Street Venture gem! We celebrated our anniversary there. Perfect ambiance. We had friendly, excellent service and the food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here several times, the food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I've eaten here several times, the food is usually good although not exceptional. Service is prompt and the overall atmosphere is nice for a casual dinner. My entree last visit was subpar- there was an over abundance of phyllo dough and little chicken. The chicken that was present was rather dry and bland. However it wasn't bad, just not very good. The other dishes that evening seemed fine though. Still a good place to go for a casual dinner with friends or family.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, a very nice evening. The only ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall, a very nice evening. The only hiccup was the very nice waitress wanted to take our orders alittle too quickly. Between getting our drinks and doing a bit of catching up, we ended up feeling just a little rushed at the beginning. Beyond that everything was just right!

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent food wonderful atmosphere atte ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 3, 2016

excellent food wonderful atmosphere attentive staff great birthday celebration

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was nice and the service very p ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The meal was nice and the service very pleasant. I would say when you bring water to people make sure it is cold and has ice. Also don't offer to take the diner's plate if it is still full of food. I have had that happen several times at other restaurants and Monday nite. It's very disconcerting to be pausing from taking a bite and have someone try to take your plate.

My dish, the chicken special, was barely lukewarm. My husband said his food also was just lukewarm. He did enjoy it though as did I. In fact I brought half of mine home and heated it to hot the next day and enjoyed it even more. As the restaurant wasn't busy it seemed the dishes might have been warmer. But overall we did enjoy our meal. As it was a birthday celebration, thank you very much! We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal, the service was ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a wonderful meal, the service was great, and I look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious food and quiet ambience for a ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Delicious food and quiet ambience for a great birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went to Ciao for his bi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My husband and I went to Ciao for his birthday. We had excellent filet, creme brulee for dessert and great wine. The service was great and attentive. We will return for another delicious meal. Would recommend making a reservation. Especially if it's your birthday as they have a generous birthday discount on your actual birthday.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time and cannot wait ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our first time and cannot wait till we go again. The food was amazing!! Our waitress was also amazing! The worst part was trying to pick just one thing to eat lol. We already know what our next two visits choices will be.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recommend Ciao for unique Italian dini ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I recommend Ciao for unique Italian dining. The atmosphere is rustic but classy, and the food is delicious. The wait staff are professional and courteous. We also have a good time when we go there.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip here after movin ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our first trip here after moving to the area 12 years ago. I'm so sorry I waited so long. The wine list was extensive, the menu covered all the traditional favorites, and the service was superb. The cappuccino was the perfect ending to a great meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The manager is always very kind! Food wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The manager is always very kind! Food was excellent! Tried the creme brulee this time and it was the best I've ever had. I only wish they had been serving the beef and barley soup they had last time we dined there. Best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken Marsala tated like it was out of ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Chicken Marsala tated like it was out of a box, go to Carraba's the food is much better and no where near as pricey. With a meal and mixed drink for $45-50, I expect much more. We wont be vack

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Everything was wonderful!

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was just a great evening. The food wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It was just a great evening. The food was wonderful and the service was spot on!

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only suggestion would be to serve the pi ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Only suggestion would be to serve the pitcher of Sangria in a GLASS pitcher, not the plastic red one ours came in :(

Everything else was fabulous. Great service from server and manager. Food -- wonderful as always :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I were looking forward to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My husband and I were looking forward to a nice dinner out and hadn't been to Ciao! for a few years. Our server was wonderful, but a few things were disappointing. There was a long wait for our entrees and for a Friday night the restaurant was not overly busy. The manager stopped over and offered us a dessert due to the wait. When our food did arrive my sole was overcooked and dry. Very heavily breaded as well - certainly not worth $27. Not sure we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to enjoy a meal and actually ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great place to enjoy a meal and actually be able to enjoy conversation along with your great meal. Very thankful for the low noise level that allowed us to talk without nearly shouting. Excellent wine list to complement your meal selection too. Must not forget the Best Creme Brûlée we have had in a long time! Worth the trip!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed with this restaurant. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Never disappointed with this restaurant. The food is amazing! It is pricey but worth it. Great birthday discount. If it's just you and your spouse it's 50 percent off of the food bill plus a free dessert. It does have to be on the day of your birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The prices were extremely high for the m ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The prices were extremely high for the meal that was served. I would not recommend it to a friend, matter of fact I would tell them how pricey they were. I prefer Zia's out of the MSV group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Absolutely amazing experience. Service ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. Service was great and the food was phenomenal. Being my wife's birthday, they have a fantastic program for birthday's that makes the evening that much better. Thank you for an amazing night.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite local restaurant. We know t ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our favorite local restaurant. We know the food will always be great. Love the house salad and their fresh bread with olive oil. We've rarely been disappointed in the chef's special for the day. Also, the service is great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server, Bill, provided very attentiv ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our Server, Bill, provided very attentive care. The food was delicious, as always.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice when we got there as we could chat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice when we got there as we could chat then became very loud. Food was just okay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Looking for a dinner place before a conc ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Looking for a dinner place before a concert and one that was open on Sunday. Thought this looked good when searching the Internet and I have to say it was the first time everything was spot on. Cozy, quiet, with a wonderful server and absolutely delicious food. If it wasn't a 2.5-3 hour drive I'd certainly visit Ciao more often.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to Ciao's for years an ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have been going to Ciao's for years and it never fails to please. Excellent food and service are standard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The gazpacho was excellent !! We sat out ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The gazpacho was excellent !! We sat outside and enjoyed a nice dinner with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I can always count on having a wonderful ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I can always count on having a wonderful meal at Ciao's! I am glad the menu has gluten free options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, service, atmosphere and ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food, service, atmosphere and wine list!! I would highly recommend Ciao's to all my family and friends.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious ! Excellent Service! ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious ! Excellent Service!

The setup ideal for the special occassion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great service from an experienced ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always great service from an experienced and friendly staff. Our once-a-week hangout.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.