About Ciao! - Sylvania

6064 Monroe Street
Sylvania, OH 43560
View Larger Map

Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 882-2334

Website:
http://www.ciaorestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao! - Sylvania Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Toledo
Best Food
Toledo
Best Service
Toledo
9 More
Best Ambiance
Toledo
Special Occasion
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Overall
Toledo
Best Food
Toledo
Best Service
Toledo
Best Ambiance
Toledo
Special Occasion
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Restaurants in Sylvania ›

special occasion (49)
romantic (31)
neighborhood gem (23)
See All
fit for foodies (21)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (15)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good. Mussel appetizer was excelle ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Very good. Mussel appetizer was excellent Seafood risotto was perfect Cheese tortellini with smoked chicken breast was ok. I asked after the fact if they make their own pasta and was informed that they were do not make pasta in house and that they were brought in. Do yourself a favor and order coffee and crime brûlée for dessert. There coffee is the best!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Never dissapoints. Food is always aweso ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Never dissapoints. Food is always awesome and the wait staff is also great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always like to eat at Ciao!

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food is consistently good as is the service. They take reservations. My favorite is the Penne Polo. No one else makes it this good!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine here! Really!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent experience. My wife and I have eaten here half a dozen times and never had a bad experience. Our server, Patrick was awesome! Highly recommend. We have eaten inside and out and are both nice. The Veal Parmesan with bolognase sauce was fantastic. It was not a zesty red sauce as expected by to my surprise, far superior! Eat here. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Will not be retuning to Ciao!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Upon arrival we were unable to find a parking spot as were the friends we were meeting there. They eventually found a spot and we had to park on the grass. While the our waitress was very good, the portion sizes were very small from the drinks, to the appetizers to the entrees. They did not put chicken on the salad I ordered and upon bringing that to the attention of our waitress she went and got the manager. He removed the salad from our bill and brought me a very large container with the 10 or so pieces of chicken they were giving me to take home. If you can make a different choice other than Ciao! for dining with friends I would do it.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good outing

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and service were great, as always. We have been to Ciao's many times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice.

Dined on June 1, 2016

We were here for an anniversary. Just moved to Toledo. We drop about $90 for dinner for two with drinks at our favorite Chicago Italian restaurant. Somehow, we dropped $140 here. That being said, it was the best dinner out in Toledo. There is another Italian restaurant about two miles away that were told the best in Toledo. Ciao beat the competition completely. The food was great. We plan to put this restaurant into regular rotation.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We drove 90 miles as did my brother to c ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We drove 90 miles as did my brother to come for dinner. We thought we got a dessert due to birthday. Was closed on the actual date of birthday. Although there was an argument that I was trying to deceive as it was not my date of birthday------ they gave me the dessert and a discount. I was not aware there was a discount, so a bit of explanation would have been good. We all appreciated the discount, and dessert and will come again however a minute of explanation would not have me feeling bad for begging for the birthday special. I had no clue that it also included the discount. Thanks. Great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Date Rotation

Dined on May 21, 2016

We love going to Ciao ever now and then for our Date night. The food is good and the drinks are good as well. Price is fine but I would like a larger menu and not a huge fan of the digital menus; I like the idea just too much clicking and ipads would be better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A good place to eat

Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant serves good food. You should go there if you want to eat good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The server we had was fantastic. He did ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The server we had was fantastic. He did a wonderful job. The food was also excellent as always.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Tasty but slow and overpriced.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was tasty but the kitchen was slow especially given that the place was only half full. While Ciao is a nice place to dine, it is not an upscale venue like the pricing would seem to indicate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ciao! bella!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great place to enjoy eating...Love the pasta dishes especially. Bolognese is fantastic. Very open to special requests...I had them add sausage to my Bolognese pasta with the sausage nowhere on the menu. Wine has always been great...I usually drink Italian while there. Servers are all very knowledge-able about food. AND the cheese cake is to die for...especially the "Blood Orange" version!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

CJ did a great job waiting on us and the ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

CJ did a great job waiting on us and the food - as always - was delicious!

food4
ambience3
service4

We were there at opening on a Sunday aft ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there at opening on a Sunday afternoon. All the adult food was at least excellent, some superior. The kids liked what they ate so I guess that was good too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent menu choices! Delicious food.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent menu choices! Delicious food.

food4
ambience3
service4

I had the whitefish--delicious! My dinin ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the whitefish--delicious! My dining partner had bolognese which was tasty as well. Dessert was a standout--polenta bread pudding with berries. Might need to consider new carpeting--we sat close to the entrance and the smell of wet carpet was quite strong.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and staff far above par

Dined on April 20, 2016

Upon my arrival I was greeted by the manager, and informed that any wine not listed, could be ordered. The manager is well aware that I enjoy wine and I was very excited that their reserve list is now part of the menu. I thanked her and suggested a bottle that happened to be in stock. It really made my evening. I take good friends to Ciao several times each month and appreciate the wonderful food and service that I receive from Ryan, Dean, Charles, Brenda and Terry. I recommend Ciao for casual, business as well as date-night dining.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

Dined on April 12, 2016

Have never had a bad meal. Service is good and friendly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining

Dined on April 11, 2016

Staff recognized my reservation and quickly seated us. C J, our server, was extremely attentive and offered specials and recommendations. Food was great and well priced. Looking forward to future dining experiences at Ciao.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

birthday dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

Eaten here numerous times before and came for my birthday meal. Mushroom crostini was okay. Veal parm was mehhh. The Salmon with cheese ravioli was very good nice large piece of fish!!! I wished I had ordered something different than the Veal parm it was just lacking some flavor. Overall I was satisfied

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to celebrate!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place to celebrate!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice birthday dinner

Dined on April 1, 2016

Had a lovely family birthday dinner. Best calamari and creme brûlée in the 419. Terrific pasta dishes and interesting daily specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful place to celebrate a birthday

Dined on March 29, 2016

This is a fabulous place to celebrate your birthday. Be sure to ask about the birthday special which is generous but remember to tip your staff on what the total bill was before your birthday discount. It's very comfortable, nice selection of food and beverages. Our waitress Brittany was wonderful, attentive and offered recommendations for our dining pleasure. Our meal was timed perfectly with the right amount of time between courses. We ordered the Carciofi Ripieni as our antipasti, it was tender and portioned well. I would have like to have four artichoke hearts to make it easier to share nicely. For dinner I had the Gamberi alla Griglia con Orzo Mediterranea it was a nice sized portion the shrimp was cooked perfectly and the orzo was seasoned wonderfully. I did order mine without extra spice due to Brittany's recommendation which was spot on! My boyfriend ordered the nightly special which was also delicious. This was our first visit to Ciao! and we will definitely be back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wide selection of wines, fantastic food

Dined on March 15, 2016

Very friendly atmosphere. Staff strives to accommodate every request. Very professional servers.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still a great restaurant...

Dined on March 12, 2016

When we lived in Toledo, this was our go to special occasion restaurant. We've been gone 16 years and it still is a great place to eat. When we come through town, we try to make a point of eating here. Food is outstanding although a wee bit pricey. You can dress up or dress casual. Wait staff, as always, are very, very helpful. The tablet menus through us off a bit until we were told that you could click on an item and it opened up to show a picture and a description. We will come back here again, and again, and again...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at its finest

Dined on February 15, 2016

The staff was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. The food was excellent. Better quality. The ambiance is warm and cozy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Another nice visit to Ciao! Overall, a good experience. My wife had the salmon and it was very good. The prime rib special was a bit of a disappointment. It came to the table lukewarm and unless my steak knife was dull, it was a bit tough. The potatoes and vegetables were very good, though. Lesson learned - don't order steak at an Italian restaurant. Not a reason to not go back. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service and food were great!!!! I believe Britanny was our server. We love to have a reason to eat at Ciao.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Valentine's Day Dinner/Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We combined our Valentine's Day celebration with a family birthday celebration. Ciao accommodated our group well, seated us immediately, and provided us with excellent service. We enjoyed our drinks and our meals, and lingered over coffee and desserts. The noise level was perfect for talking and as an added bonus, we were seated by the fireplace. Love this place for both special occasions and casual dinners.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always delivers...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Ciao is a place my wife and I hit every time we get back to Toledo area. The food is always excellent and the atmosphere is excellent. Service was very slow this time, but that was the exception, its rarely the rule.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Salmone ever

Dined on February 14, 2016

I've only visited twice and the salmon is by far the best. Its already my favorite. The combination with the Ravioli is exquisite

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic culinary experience as always!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Love this restaurant! Have eaten here many times over the past several years and have never been disappointed. Ambiance is perfect with soft lighting, comfortable seating, and great decor. Cocktails are always spot on. Just a comfortable place to relax ,and enjoy drinks and good food with close friends and family. This time my wife and I went for a romantic Valentine dinner. Started with the always tasty house salad and a wonderful cream of mushroom soup. She had the salmon ravioli which is an old favorite and was great as usual. I had the prime rib special with roasted green beans and asagio mashed potatoes. Delicious! Paired with a good Cabernet wine. It was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing Birthday celebration

Dined on February 12, 2016

Dined here before with exceptional results, NOT THIS TIME. Service was slow, when we finally got our food, 3 out of 4 dishes were cold. They no longer have cannoli for desert either.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

First time dining at Ciao. th.

Dined on February 11, 2016

CIAO first time..webut had ato reservation and was seated right away, in front of the servers station. Food was good but way over priced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was more interested in restocking ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Server was more interested in restocking vacant tables than giving us our check. After about 15 minutes of waiting, we were able to catch the attention of a manager.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Pricey for the food

Dined on January 30, 2016

Very friendly place, hostess was very sociable but the waitstaff was very slow to come to our table. It was not that busy when we arrived but was very busy when we left.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on January 25, 2016

The service started off with a bang and went downhill from there. 1 bill was wrong, coffee took forever to be delivered. 5 of us asked for take-home boxes, 4 were delivered. We had to ask for it again. Eggplant Parmesan was delicious and it was a large helping, but $17.00? WAY too expensive for eggplant, dry spaghetti and a salad. Music from the bar was way too loud to carry on a conversation in the dining room. I remember why it's been 10 years since I've been there.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was fine, getting served was way too slow.

Dined on January 23, 2016

We arrived at 5:45 but didn't receive our entrees until almost 6:55 (although we had earlier been served salad or soup). This was after having mentioned, on being seated, that we had a concert to attend at 7:30. We really had too little time to enjoy our meals (which were fine) and let our waiter know we needed boxes to go. To his credit, the manager came over, apologized (noting there had been a large group just before we arrived) and said he'd write off the expense of our dinner. He even volunteered that the waiter would receive a tip since the problem was mostly out of his control. We will probably give Ciao another try at some point, but I do wonder if they have adequate kitchen and waiting staff for busy times like the Saturday evening we were there.

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.