About Ciao! - Sylvania

6064 Monroe Street
Sylvania, OH 43560
View Larger Map

Ciao is a fragrant, informal & full of character Italian Restaurant. Traditional entrees from every part of Italy are featured, from the spicy red sauces of the south to the aromatic grilled dishes of Tuscany. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.ciaorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 882-2334

Website:
http://www.ciaorestaurant.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ciao! - Sylvania Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Toledo
Best Food
Toledo
Best Service
Toledo
13 More
Best Ambiance
Toledo
Fit for Foodies
Toledo
Romantic
Toledo
Special Occasion
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Overall
Toledo
Best Food
Toledo
Best Service
Toledo
Best Ambiance
Toledo
Fit for Foodies
Toledo
Romantic
Toledo
Special Occasion
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Restaurants in Sylvania ›

special occasion (65)
romantic (48)
notable wine list (27)
See All
neighborhood gem (26)
fit for foodies (26)
good for groups (20)
great for outdoor dining (10)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always

Dined 7 days ago

Great as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Date Rotation

Dined on May 21, 2016

We love going to Ciao ever now and then for our Date night. The food is good and the drinks are good as well. Price is fine but I would like a larger menu and not a huge fan of the digital menus; I like the idea just too much clicking and ipads would be better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A good place to eat

Dined on May 11, 2016

This restaurant serves good food. You should go there if you want to eat good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The server we had was fantastic. He did ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The server we had was fantastic. He did a wonderful job. The food was also excellent as always.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Tasty but slow and overpriced.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was tasty but the kitchen was slow especially given that the place was only half full. While Ciao is a nice place to dine, it is not an upscale venue like the pricing would seem to indicate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ciao! bella!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great place to enjoy eating...Love the pasta dishes especially. Bolognese is fantastic. Very open to special requests...I had them add sausage to my Bolognese pasta with the sausage nowhere on the menu. Wine has always been great...I usually drink Italian while there. Servers are all very knowledge-able about food. AND the cheese cake is to die for...especially the "Blood Orange" version!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

CJ did a great job waiting on us and the ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

CJ did a great job waiting on us and the food - as always - was delicious!

food4
ambience3
service4

We were there at opening on a Sunday aft ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there at opening on a Sunday afternoon. All the adult food was at least excellent, some superior. The kids liked what they ate so I guess that was good too!

food4
ambience3
service4

I had the whitefish--delicious! My dinin ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the whitefish--delicious! My dining partner had bolognese which was tasty as well. Dessert was a standout--polenta bread pudding with berries. Might need to consider new carpeting--we sat close to the entrance and the smell of wet carpet was quite strong.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and staff far above par

Dined on April 20, 2016

Upon my arrival I was greeted by the manager, and informed that any wine not listed, could be ordered. The manager is well aware that I enjoy wine and I was very excited that their reserve list is now part of the menu. I thanked her and suggested a bottle that happened to be in stock. It really made my evening. I take good friends to Ciao several times each month and appreciate the wonderful food and service that I receive from Ryan, Dean, Charles, Brenda and Terry. I recommend Ciao for casual, business as well as date-night dining.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

Dined on April 12, 2016

Have never had a bad meal. Service is good and friendly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining

Dined on April 11, 2016

Staff recognized my reservation and quickly seated us. C J, our server, was extremely attentive and offered specials and recommendations. Food was great and well priced. Looking forward to future dining experiences at Ciao.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

birthday dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

Eaten here numerous times before and came for my birthday meal. Mushroom crostini was okay. Veal parm was mehhh. The Salmon with cheese ravioli was very good nice large piece of fish!!! I wished I had ordered something different than the Veal parm it was just lacking some flavor. Overall I was satisfied

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to celebrate!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place to celebrate!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice birthday dinner

Dined on April 1, 2016

Had a lovely family birthday dinner. Best calamari and creme brûlée in the 419. Terrific pasta dishes and interesting daily specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful place to celebrate a birthday

Dined on March 29, 2016

This is a fabulous place to celebrate your birthday. Be sure to ask about the birthday special which is generous but remember to tip your staff on what the total bill was before your birthday discount. It's very comfortable, nice selection of food and beverages. Our waitress Brittany was wonderful, attentive and offered recommendations for our dining pleasure. Our meal was timed perfectly with the right amount of time between courses. We ordered the Carciofi Ripieni as our antipasti, it was tender and portioned well. I would have like to have four artichoke hearts to make it easier to share nicely. For dinner I had the Gamberi alla Griglia con Orzo Mediterranea it was a nice sized portion the shrimp was cooked perfectly and the orzo was seasoned wonderfully. I did order mine without extra spice due to Brittany's recommendation which was spot on! My boyfriend ordered the nightly special which was also delicious. This was our first visit to Ciao! and we will definitely be back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wide selection of wines, fantastic food

Dined on March 15, 2016

Very friendly atmosphere. Staff strives to accommodate every request. Very professional servers.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still a great restaurant...

Dined on March 12, 2016

When we lived in Toledo, this was our go to special occasion restaurant. We've been gone 16 years and it still is a great place to eat. When we come through town, we try to make a point of eating here. Food is outstanding although a wee bit pricey. You can dress up or dress casual. Wait staff, as always, are very, very helpful. The tablet menus through us off a bit until we were told that you could click on an item and it opened up to show a picture and a description. We will come back here again, and again, and again...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at its finest

Dined on February 15, 2016

The staff was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. The food was excellent. Better quality. The ambiance is warm and cozy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Another nice visit to Ciao! Overall, a good experience. My wife had the salmon and it was very good. The prime rib special was a bit of a disappointment. It came to the table lukewarm and unless my steak knife was dull, it was a bit tough. The potatoes and vegetables were very good, though. Lesson learned - don't order steak at an Italian restaurant. Not a reason to not go back. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service and food were great!!!! I believe Britanny was our server. We love to have a reason to eat at Ciao.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Valentine's Day Dinner/Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We combined our Valentine's Day celebration with a family birthday celebration. Ciao accommodated our group well, seated us immediately, and provided us with excellent service. We enjoyed our drinks and our meals, and lingered over coffee and desserts. The noise level was perfect for talking and as an added bonus, we were seated by the fireplace. Love this place for both special occasions and casual dinners.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always delivers...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Ciao is a place my wife and I hit every time we get back to Toledo area. The food is always excellent and the atmosphere is excellent. Service was very slow this time, but that was the exception, its rarely the rule.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Salmone ever

Dined on February 14, 2016

I've only visited twice and the salmon is by far the best. Its already my favorite. The combination with the Ravioli is exquisite

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic culinary experience as always!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Love this restaurant! Have eaten here many times over the past several years and have never been disappointed. Ambiance is perfect with soft lighting, comfortable seating, and great decor. Cocktails are always spot on. Just a comfortable place to relax ,and enjoy drinks and good food with close friends and family. This time my wife and I went for a romantic Valentine dinner. Started with the always tasty house salad and a wonderful cream of mushroom soup. She had the salmon ravioli which is an old favorite and was great as usual. I had the prime rib special with roasted green beans and asagio mashed potatoes. Delicious! Paired with a good Cabernet wine. It was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing Birthday celebration

Dined on February 12, 2016

Dined here before with exceptional results, NOT THIS TIME. Service was slow, when we finally got our food, 3 out of 4 dishes were cold. They no longer have cannoli for desert either.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

First time dining at Ciao. th.

Dined on February 11, 2016

CIAO first time..webut had ato reservation and was seated right away, in front of the servers station. Food was good but way over priced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was more interested in restocking ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Server was more interested in restocking vacant tables than giving us our check. After about 15 minutes of waiting, we were able to catch the attention of a manager.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Pricey for the food

Dined on January 30, 2016

Very friendly place, hostess was very sociable but the waitstaff was very slow to come to our table. It was not that busy when we arrived but was very busy when we left.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on January 25, 2016

The service started off with a bang and went downhill from there. 1 bill was wrong, coffee took forever to be delivered. 5 of us asked for take-home boxes, 4 were delivered. We had to ask for it again. Eggplant Parmesan was delicious and it was a large helping, but $17.00? WAY too expensive for eggplant, dry spaghetti and a salad. Music from the bar was way too loud to carry on a conversation in the dining room. I remember why it's been 10 years since I've been there.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was fine, getting served was way too slow.

Dined on January 23, 2016

We arrived at 5:45 but didn't receive our entrees until almost 6:55 (although we had earlier been served salad or soup). This was after having mentioned, on being seated, that we had a concert to attend at 7:30. We really had too little time to enjoy our meals (which were fine) and let our waiter know we needed boxes to go. To his credit, the manager came over, apologized (noting there had been a large group just before we arrived) and said he'd write off the expense of our dinner. He even volunteered that the waiter would receive a tip since the problem was mostly out of his control. We will probably give Ciao another try at some point, but I do wonder if they have adequate kitchen and waiting staff for busy times like the Saturday evening we were there.

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Dinner for the Wife

Dined on January 21, 2016

Really enjoyed my night out with my wife at Ciao! It was our first time there and there is no doubt we will be going again soon. The fact that you can make online reservations day(s) ahead of time is great! We went in on a Wednesday night and there was still a great crowd there, everyone obviously knows that this place is a gem. They have a great birthday discount as long as it is the actual day of the celebrant's birthday. Our waiter was excellent, very timely and always making sure our drinks were not empty. By timely I mean that he was not overbearing, but was clearly ready to be at our service whenever we gave any indication of needing anything. The ambience and crowd at the restaurant was perfect for a romantic night out, but there were also groups of 6+ sitting down clearly having a great time! Our food was excellent, the restaurant has great pictures for how red or cooked the meat will come out based on your order so you know what you'll be getting ahead of time. My New York Strip was divine! Will definitely be going again, I rate the overall experience 5/5.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It turned into a great date night!

Dined on January 18, 2016

It turned into a great date night! We didn't know where to go and noticed on open table that Ciao had an opening and we had a great time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Busy Saturday night. Service was a littl ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Busy Saturday night. Service was a little slow. Waitress was good. Food was delicious. Overall good food and will go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Our favorite Toledo restaurant. Never disappoints! Had the pasta bolognese which they make with ground veal. Savory and slightly sweet. Meatballs melt in your mouth! Yum! My wife had the special: mushroom stuffed pasta with chicken and spinach in a light creamy sauce. She loved it. Our friends had similar pasta dishes that they really enjoyed. Wine was excellent and server was attentive. The restaurant was warm and cozy and convivial with perfect lighting. Couldn't have been better!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday meal at CIAO's

Dined on January 16, 2016

My meal wasvery good. My husbands meal was poor. He has already written a letter of complaint. We are both interested in your response to his letter.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ciao has fantastic food and unmatched service.

Dined on January 11, 2016

The unfortunate thing that Ciao could benefit from is being open for lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on January 10, 2016

Consistently excellent. One of the areas best restaurants, especially for fish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Not any more

Dined on January 2, 2016

Used to be our favorite. Last 2 times kitchen has been extremely slow (not even crowded). My wife's entree came out cold and missing an ingredient, menu said grilled chicken with the mushroom ravioli there was none. My entree also was on cool side. Service was also extremely slow, had to ask employees walking by for help waiter was no where to found most of the evening. Be hard pressed to go back even though we have loved this place for many years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable place to dine.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Wonderful New Year's Eve dinner. Stuffed crab trout and filo dough chicken specials were delicious. The service was comfortable and they gave us a chance to sit and enjoy ourselves. Will definitely go back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.