About Chutneys

1801 East Baseline Road
Tempe, AZ 85283
View Larger Map

We take pride and great care in providing our guests with a memorable experience. Our extensive menu features regional North and South Indian cuisines, bountiful vegetarian and non-vegetarian options, as well as recipes unique to Chutneys. An exciting array of freshly prepared dishes, coupled with an elegant ambiance and exceptional service, our guests experience the tastes that we have been savoring since our childhood in every meal.

Whether you are looking for a quick meal during lunch, planning a romantic evening out or looking to celebrate an important occasion, Chutneys is equipped to make your day unforgettable. We enjoy entertaining our guests, and are delighted to explain the way a dish is cooked, help with pairing wine, or customize your meal to your liking. Our purpose is to enhance and broaden your experience with the finest that Indian cuisine has to offer. So, pay us a visit, and mesmerize your adventurous palate with our enticing flavor

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Indian, Asian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday, Wednesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday 11:30am - 3:00pm .
Dinner: Monday, Wed - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm. Friday-Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm


We are closed on Tuesday

Cross Street:
S McClintock Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 730-2555

Website:
http://www.azchutneys.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chutneys, Tempe, AZ
Chutneys, Tempe, AZ

Chutneys Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.0

ambience

3.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall very delicious Indian food. We ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Overall very delicious Indian food. We have been to this restaurant several times. We like that our waiter has suggested different dishes when we want to try the same things.. Thy are careful to listen to what we like and offered to change out if we were not satisfied. This restaurant is always very quiet and we wonder if it will stay around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Quality of food

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Quality of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our search for good Indian food in the E ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our search for good Indian food in the East Valley seems to have finally come with the good menu and food that we have tried both visits. We are happy with the different dishes and appetizers we have tried. Favorite is the cauliflower appetizer. Spicy and well-prepared. Limited on the craft beers, but a few good ones. Overall, a nice treat if you are looking for good Indian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was good. Service horrible. The wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was good. Service horrible. The waiter basically ignored everyone whole time and it wasn't busy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The chicken tiki masala was very good an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The chicken tiki masala was very good and the salad of ribboned cucumber and carrots was a perfect side. The raiti was a nice condiment to the chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great dishes. The garlic shrimp was amaz ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great dishes. The garlic shrimp was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious North and South Indian Fare

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We have been looking for a new Indian restaurant and happened upon this one hoping it would meet our expectations. It started off slow with the kitchen having a huge catering order and did not get our food out for quite a long time. We waited patiently hoping it would be worthwhile. The restaurant was good about letting us know it was slow. The appetizer of cauliflower was spicy and very delicious. We also enjoyed lamb, shrimp and chicken dishes that were wonderfully spiced and true Indian favors. We will most certainly go back and hope for quicker service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We reached chutneys only to be told that ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We reached chutneys only to be told that the place was booked out for a party .this was a new years eve dinner with extended family . Our plans were all screwed up . Awful experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

So much to love

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2015

The lunch buffet was filled with so many choices it was mandatory to go back a second or third time! We had a very picky 8 year old in our party who ate 2 plates and dessert, which speaks volumes for the quality of the food. We also had a scholar and missionaries in our party who have lived and/or visited India and it's regions. They remarked that Chutney's is the best Indian food they've had in the States.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Indian Cuisine

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 2, 2014

I exceeded the limit by 872 characters...how do you expect me to write a review if you limit my comments?

Get it together OpenTable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It was amazing......

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2014

I have been to Chutneys many times but never on a weekend it seems like they have live music on weekends and I was pleasantly surprised by that.

Food has always been great here but the entertainment is something I have not seen in other Indian restaurants around here.

I enjoyed my evening a lot and I would definitely be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good. We enjoyed

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 16, 2014

Food was good. We enjoyed our meals a lot. The Naan are awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

poor service

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 1, 2014

had to wait 20mints order , 35 mints for the food to arrive and waiter did not even ask if we wanted desert, just cleared the table and brought us the check ! never had our water refilled. I was very surprised by all this..

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

worst valentines day ever

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2014

It was valentines day but it wasn't packed. You can tell they pre planned the menu, to make meals fast. Do with no dance floor. We never got our drinks we had to request water, after our food had arrived. We never got our alcohol. And the service was super poor. Not even half of the restaurant was full! I actually went or side and told a bunch of people don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The best Indian restaurant

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2014

I have tried this a few times and have been always met with exceptional service the food was fantastic and the cocktails were perfect .

I have been to many Indian restaurants and this is by far the best we have in the valley!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pathetic

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2014

The service was Pathetic and so was the food. You should not accommodate an event at the expense of other customers. Very bad service, food was not properly prepared, no attention to the cutovers, huge delay in orders. There was an event on 12/31/2013 and you did not have enough staff to take care of the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Amazing food

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2013

I usually visit Phoenix on a monthly basis and have always been in search of good Indian restaurants.

I decided to try Chutneys and was amazed that such a great Indian restaurant exists near my hotel and I never knew about it. I tried the lamb chops and it had great taste and texture.

The service was friendly and the place was very nicely decorated.

I also tried the recommended red wine which went perfect with the lamb.

I would be definately returning on my business trips here to Tempe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic service

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2013

Food was fantastic service poor entertainment not suited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Tasty Indian Food

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2013

We loved our food here and the service was excellent. We just did not enjoy the live music very much. However we definitely plan to go back next time we're craving Indian food! In particular, they had some interesting dishes, including goat, and some of the best naan I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Best Indian in the East Valley

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 16, 2013

This restaurant has food on the menu from many different regions of India. We went as a group and ordered from each region. All dishes were wonderful! For anyone that loves or even likes a little Indian Food - this is a GEM!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.