About Churrascos - River Oaks

2055 Westheimer at Shepherd
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

"Bold and creative dishes of the Americas"
Inspired by Latin cuisine, Churrascos offers the bold flavors of the South American parilla with all its fire and passion. As the preferred caterer of the Houston Texans, Churrascos offers starters including ceviche, arepas armadas and empanadas to our signature dish: chimichurri chargrilled churrasco. Save room for a must try Tres Leches.

With a generous supply of wine pairings, Churrascos warmly transports you to an orchestra of flavor celebrating the grill, the grape, and your guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, South American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wed 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Sun 10:30 am - 9:00 pm

Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 3 pm
Lunch served until 4 pm Monday through Saturday
Social Hour 4 pm - 7 pm Monday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-8300

Website:
http://www.cordua.com/

Catering:
With six award-winning restaurants, Américas, Artista, Churrascos and Amazón Grill to choose from, The Cordúa Group has taken the best of their portfolio and added other unique flavors. The result: a contemporary flavor unique to MjC Events that can be enjoyed outside of their restaurants. Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or a gala of splendor, the finest events always start with MjC Events. Event Managers are ready to help you plan your next event! Please contact them at MjC Events 713.961.0911.

Executive Chef:
Michael Cordúa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pan Seared Tilapia
tres leches
Sunday Brunch - Ceviche
Sunday Brunch
Asada
Ceviche
Pampas Salad
The 12 Oz Churrasco
Plantain Chips
Coconut Ice Cream
Opereta De Mariscos
Special Of The Night, Seabass & Scallops
Sweet Plantains, Rice And Yuca
Pargo
Chicken Bahia
Bacon Wraped Shrimp Taquitos
Parradillada
Bread Pudding
Ribeye
Chocolate Mouss
Smoked Crab Claws
Lamb Chops
Tres Leches, Pio X, Chocolate Cake, Glan
Shrimp And Crab Polenta Spoons

Promotions

Steak Night every Wednesday night. Only $15.95!!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$3 Lunch Cocktails everyday!

Mondays - Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Promotions

Steak Night every Wednesday night. Only $15.95!!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 16, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

$3 Lunch Cocktails everyday!

Mondays - Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Details

Come and try our mojitos, sangrias, margaritas, pisco sours, caipirihnas, etc. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 18, 2016 - Nov 18, 2016 on Mondays - Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our award winning private dining rooms are the perfect choice for your special event. All offer sophisticated settings that will accommodate your group large or small. Choose from pre-set menus, plated dinners, chef action stations or multi-course wine dinners that are sure to be memorable.

Churrascos - River Oaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed dining at Churasco's River Oaks ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed dining at Churasco's River Oaks during Houston Restaurant Weeks, 2016. Food was delicious - we had the Churasco steak (bravo to whomever got my steak rare),

flan (great silky mouth-feel), the tres leches (I had to take the whole thing home because there was so much food!), complimentary grilled vegetables (I ate them all, and I don't even like vegetables), and incredibly reasonable (and good!) wine paired with the meal. I'm planning to take friends in a few weeks. Exceptional meal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistantly good food at a reasonable p ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Consistantly good food at a reasonable price. Great place for a date or group get together. Make a reservation for prime times. Don't miss out on dessert. The tres leches and flan are outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service in a pleasant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service in a pleasant,interesting setting...what more could anyone ask? The menu is varied,with choices to fit almost any taste.Keep up the good work !!we appreciate

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Hate the new decor and lighting. Everyon ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Hate the new decor and lighting. Everyone and everything looks yellow. Food just wasn't up to par. Ok but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great as always and the service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was great as always and the service was also great. Waiter did every thing right while we were there.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

waiter was hard to understand (broken En ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

waiter was hard to understand (broken English) was seated at wrong table as they could not understand my name for reservation claim...Food was just ok for the prices charged..portions on some items were smaller than expected. Dessert was best part of meal. Waiter kept trying to up-sell on stuff we did not want.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Have eaten here a few times and it never ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have eaten here a few times and it never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely my favorite place to eat in H ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely my favorite place to eat in Houston. I recommend it to all my family and friends. Best steak ever.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always enjoy this restaurant. Everyon ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I always enjoy this restaurant. Everyone is so kind and service is excellent. Food is amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the greatest time. This was a gir ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had the greatest time. This was a girls lunch & everything about Our lunch was perfect. We had the most helpful, attentive, gracious waiter. The food was excellent! We had 5 different entrees and all 5 were our favorite! We all said we would definitely return and it would be a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Group Bookings, Special Occasions, Neighbourhood Gem, Romance, Brunch, Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok selection of food. Found the rice fro ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ok selection of food. Found the rice from the skewered beef & shrimp to be overly seasoned (overpowering). Can't remember the name of the dish but the shrimp with lemon & butter was ok. Tres leches & coconut ice cream too sweet. Quality of food was great but entrees were bland. Cucumber sangria sounded good but tasted funny...like cheap body splash. Margarita was tasty. Excellent service. Good plantain chips.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants to visit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants to visit during Restaurant Week. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is seasoned perfectly. The desserts (Tres Leche) are to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for Houston Restaurant week a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went there for Houston Restaurant week and loved it. The empanadas were fantastic. don't miss the award winning Tres Leches Cake.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great wines, great company, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

great food, great wines, great company, great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!! I just love the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was amazing!! I just love their special wine dinner menus. Our waiter, Michael, took the best care of us throughout the entire meal. Claudia, the general manager, even took time to come and ensure we were doing well several times during the wonderful meal. A fantastic experience that I shared with friends. We will definitely be coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to Churrascos for our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I went to Churrascos for our anniversary dinner. Food was great just like the first time went there in 1993. Service was very good and desert was perfect. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were amazing, but ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food and drinks were amazing, but hands down the staff made the night for us. They were super attentive without being annoying and made us feel like royalty. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch buffet!!!!!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful brunch buffet!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Two couples regularly meet here to celeb ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Two couples regularly meet here to celebrate a birthday for one of the four. Every time is special, and the excellent food and service at Churrasco's do much to make it so. We will continue our regular attendance on birthdays and sometimes in-between.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good variety on the Brunch Buffet. Cotto ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good variety on the Brunch Buffet. Cotton candy is a treat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sat down and never was waited on. went t ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

sat down and never was waited on. went to get food came back and still not waited on until I requested help. Buffets cooks did not know how to cook over easy eggs. pork very dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was sub-par and over-priced. T ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was sub-par and over-priced. There are much better restaurants in Houston. Don't bother with this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We like Churrasco's for special occasion ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We like Churrasco's for special occasions. The steaks are excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We came to celebrate our 34th wedding an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We came to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary and the hostess congratulated us as she seated us. This was the last acknowledgment of the event. We used to visit this location quite often, but our last visit was for our last anniversary. It was most enjoyable and this is why we returned. Things have changed and not for the better. The ambiance is similar to a Red Robin. While there used to be lines waiting outside to get in on a Saturday night, not even Father's Day could bring patrons in. The menu changes have eliminated some basic items expected with the meals and increased prices substantially. My Churrasco steak lacked that mouth watering flavor that has brought us back so many times. Out of town guests have stated visits were the highlight of their food experience in the city. The vege tray normally served with the steak no longer exists. We purchased the $15 vege plate to get the some of our favorites, but found portions limited and at such a price. The steak was not served as before with the little mix on top, but instead it was served with a poor tasting bernaise sauce. Who would ruin their Churrasco steak with such a sauce before, now it may have been offered to make up for the lack of proper flavor. My wife had the Parralliada Mixta and could not find any of the items very enjoyable. No veges served on this $39 plate. Also no fried plantains, although we were told upon receipt of the bill, that this can be ordered separately. Apologies for not mentioning this were offered. When asked if we saved room for dessert, we were expecting the typical complementary dessert, so we ordered cappuccinos. We were then offered the check. When we asked the server if she was aware this was our anniversary she stated that she was not. We never saw the manager, but when we left a gentleman opened the door for us. I asked if he was the manager and he stated that he was. When I told him about our experience he said he was sorry. We will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

So disappointed. We were introduced t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

So disappointed. We were introduced to this restaurant by a Houston friend, and anytime we are in Houston, we try to eat there. My favorite dish, Chicken Bahia, was so changed that I didn't recognized it. Other dishes we had were mediocre. What saved the luncheon was

our delightful waiter and our tres leches dessert.

Sadly, we will not try this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Their happy hour prices are a fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Their happy hour prices are a fantastic deal! Our meal was and drinks were so good and reasonably priced, we ended up staying for four hours. Fun summer time afternoon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

place was great! I really enjoyed it, th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

place was great! I really enjoyed it, the manager was very attentive and congratulated us for our anniversary, will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely weekday lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I had a weekday lunch with a friend at this location. The food was excellent and the ambience was lovely, as the restaurant was not crowded that day. It was relatively quiet, so that we could visit and catch up over a lovely meal. P.S. The soup of the day, a corn chowder, was fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great place, great service, & great food. Watch out though if they bring you cake without asking they will still charge for it but it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I made a reservation and still had to wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I made a reservation and still had to wait over 20 minutes for a seat for Sunday brunch. Once we were seated, it was all smiles!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Anniversary

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Got married there 12 years ago and have gone back each year for our anniversary even though we have moved far away.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my husband's birthday with f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Celebrating my husband's birthday with friends. Consistent on food quality although service can be spotty. For instance, we were not offered any water yet when one guest asked for some, the waiter did not offer to any other guests. Recently updated inside although design still causes some issues with noise from other parties.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Too godddamned noisy too talk. Need to f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Too godddamned noisy too talk. Need to fix acoustics or will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Going downhill

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my mother to Churrasco's Mother's Day evening. The service was significantly worse than usual. For example, when we asked our server for plates for use with the appetizers, a staff person brought out a stack of plates and set the stack on the table, rather than giving each person their own plate. When the main course was delivered, the plates were set in front of the wrong people. We had to wait a long time for everything. Even the food was not up to par, with the churrasco steaks being largely flavorless. We've been coming to this restaurant for many years, and the quality of food and service seems on a steady downhill slide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They accepted more people that they could handle. Too many empty food trays and the took a lot of time before refilling. Roasted pork was finished and they took hours before bringing the new one. We had already finished when they brought the new roasted pork.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I would recommend to anyone

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I would recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Quiet bar scene is perfect for catching up with friends. Wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Drink and appetizer specials in the bar for happy hour make it quite reasonable. Entrees were quick to arrive and delicious. I would definitely return for happy hour and/or dinner. A lovely experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waiter, Julio, could not have been better. His suggestions were on target, and we would not have ordered more, had he not have been so persuasive. I come from a restaurant family and know good food and excellent service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

My husband & I met our daughter in town for a "spur of the moment" dinner... Getting a reservation was easy & the evening couldn't have been better. The staff is friendly, courteous & very knowledgeable about the menu! The food was delicious (as we are accustomed to finding here). Run - don't walk - to this fine restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.