About Churrascos - River Oaks

2055 Westheimer at Shepherd
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

"Bold and creative dishes of the Americas"
Inspired by Latin cuisine, Churrascos offers the bold flavors of the South American parilla with all its fire and passion. As the preferred caterer of the Houston Texans, Churrascos offers starters including ceviche, arepas armadas and empanadas to our signature dish: chimichurri chargrilled churrasco. Save room for a must try Tres Leches.

With a generous supply of wine pairings, Churrascos warmly transports you to an orchestra of flavor celebrating the grill, the grape, and your guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, South American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wed 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Sun 10:30 am - 9:00 pm

Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 3 pm
Lunch served until 4 pm Monday through Saturday
Social Hour 4 pm - 7 pm Monday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-8300

Website:
http://www.cordua.com/

Catering:
With six award-winning restaurants, Américas, Artista, Churrascos and Amazón Grill to choose from, The Cordúa Group has taken the best of their portfolio and added other unique flavors. The result: a contemporary flavor unique to MjC Events that can be enjoyed outside of their restaurants. Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or a gala of splendor, the finest events always start with MjC Events. Event Managers are ready to help you plan your next event! Please contact them at MjC Events 713.961.0911.

Executive Chef:
Michael Cordúa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Plantain Chips - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Tres Leches Cake - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Tuna Ceviche - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Pan Seared Tilapia - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
tres leches - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Sunday Brunch - Ceviche - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Sunday Brunch - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Asada - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Ceviche - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Pampas Salad - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
The 12 Oz Churrasco - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Coconut Ice Cream - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Opereta De Mariscos - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Special Of The Night, Seabass & Scallops - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Sweet Plantains, Rice And Yuca - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Pargo - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Chicken Bahia - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Bacon Wraped Shrimp Taquitos - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Parradillada - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Bread Pudding - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Ribeye - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Chocolate Mouss - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Smoked Crab Claws - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Lamb Chops - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Tres Leches, Pio X, Chocolate Cake, Glan - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Shrimp And Crab Polenta Spoons - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our award winning private dining rooms are the perfect choice for your special event. All offer sophisticated settings that will accommodate your group large or small. Choose from pre-set menus, plated dinners, chef action stations or multi-course wine dinners that are sure to be memorable.

Churrascos - River Oaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best brunch ever. Inventive and imagina ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Best brunch ever. Inventive and imaginative, delicious and plentiful food. A bit loud - lots of families. Not the best for dates, in the daytime due to all the infants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just totally fantastic. Great place to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just totally fantastic. Great place to impress the out of town family and guest.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food, mixed drinks and th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the food, mixed drinks and the service was exceptional. We will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Julio was great as always and the food w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Julio was great as always and the food was superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very tasty and good to the ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was very tasty and good to the last bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great plantain chips with salsa and chim ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great plantain chips with salsa and chimichurri. I has the delicious pampas salad for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and staff - wish restaurants ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food and staff - wish restaurants would forbid cell phone use for watching shows, videos, playing games with sound on

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was thrilled that we were seated promptl ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Was thrilled that we were seated promptly with our reservation. The food was wonderful and the entire staff was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here on many occasions sin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have dined here on many occasions since it opened, usually we ordered different specials, meats & seafood. This time we stuck to the churrasscos steak, side Caesar salad and tres Leche cake. All was up to the standard

$ 180.00 with two glasses of Malbec for the two of us , In past years the same cost $85 .

Valla con Dios

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

As always the food was exceptional! How ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

As always the food was exceptional!

However on this occasion, The server was absolutely brilliant ! Her name was Krystal

She was amazing and will ask for her next time

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server never gave us water but she w ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The server never gave us water but she was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

While we had a pleasurable experience, t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

While we had a pleasurable experience, the food and atmosphere was average. It's located in a regular random strip mall. Nothing special but it was fine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had expected a trip to Churrascos - R ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had expected a trip to Churrascos - River Oaks to be pretty special for entertaining an out of town guest, but unfortunately it was quite a let down. The staff were welcoming and friendly, but the service, like the venue itself, was tired and needs a spruce up if it intends to be regarded as something special again. We all ordered The Churrasco Steak, which was good, but didn't seem worth the high end price tag it goes for. Hopefully the management take note and get things smartened up quick...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

The food was exceptional ! My favorites ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was exceptional ! My favorites were the Beef empanadas, the Churrasco, the Brussel sprouts, Très lèches cake and coconut ice cream! All were scrumptious !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best, most unique, menus and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the best, most unique, menus and choices! I used to live in Houston but moved away 8 years ago. I was on a trip back with friends and I insisted we dine there on our last evening. All agreed it was the best meal they had had in years. I just got home from Houston yesterday and immediately, after hearing they had issued a cookbook, ordered four for all of us that had the pleasure of eating there. It was as wonderful as I had remembered!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All fine but the electricity felt at pre ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

All fine but the electricity felt at previous times was.missing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food! A little pricey for the ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fabulous food! A little pricey for the average dinner but well worth it. Our waiter, Daniel, was great! Again...EXCELLENT FOOD!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my daughters 23rd birthday celebr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was my daughters 23rd birthday celebration. Lots to choose from. Great value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

All in all our experience was just so-so ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

All in all our experience was just so-so. It was rather loud; in part due to the table of 15-20 or so that was seated immediately behind us. Bad luck I guess. But that all could have been remedied with good food and good service...it COULD have been. The service was slow and unresponsive. Literally took 20 minutes just to get water and complete drink orders. Not to mention that it took two trips to our table just to complete the drink order and another one altogether to take our food order. The food arrived but was not hot; just warm. The best thing...the mojitos. Delicious. I'd return again but Churrascos will not be on the top of my list.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was excellent. The food was s ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was excellent. The food was superb, as was the service. We sat outside on the patio and the weather was perfect. Surprisingly few people there for a Saturday night. Excellent choice for our anniversary!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food, environment and service. V ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome food, environment and service. Very good place to get with friends, since is a quiet place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second visit when in Houston. Excell ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our second visit when in Houston. Excellent food and service (waiter was Juan).

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've gone here twice and both times I ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I've gone here twice and both times I have greatly enjoyed my dining experience. Plantain chips with two dipping sauces are complementary at the beginning of the meal and the desserts are phenomenal.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ate, from the plantain chi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything we ate, from the plantain chips to the side orders tasted like it had been doused with salt. With the lone exception of the steak, everything else was barely edible. We will be avoiding Churrasco's as it has been slowly declining in quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great food

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine pairing were spectacular! and t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The wine pairing were spectacular! and the service was so professional! We look forward to going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent, as expec ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food and service was excellent, as expected. We had to push back our reservation and the staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food good time

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Met up with two friends for our annual b ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Met up with two friends for our annual birthday celebration. It was restaurant week, so we took advantage of wine specials. One of us ordered the restaurant week menu and the other 2 ordered our favorites off the menu. Food portions were generous and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have loved this restaurant since it fi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

I have loved this restaurant since it first opened in the '80's. Have continued to think it might return to its old glory.

Alas, I have lost hope. Took friends for the red snapper..fair. No crab fingers. Vegetables tasteless.

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We love this location - been the same hi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We love this location - been the same high quality place for years and the prices have hardly changed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed dining at Churasco's River Oaks ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Enjoyed dining at Churasco's River Oaks during Houston Restaurant Weeks, 2016. Food was delicious - we had the Churasco steak (bravo to whomever got my steak rare),

flan (great silky mouth-feel), the tres leches (I had to take the whole thing home because there was so much food!), complimentary grilled vegetables (I ate them all, and I don't even like vegetables), and incredibly reasonable (and good!) wine paired with the meal. I'm planning to take friends in a few weeks. Exceptional meal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistantly good food at a reasonable p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Consistantly good food at a reasonable price. Great place for a date or group get together. Make a reservation for prime times. Don't miss out on dessert. The tres leches and flan are outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service in a pleasant ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service in a pleasant,interesting setting...what more could anyone ask? The menu is varied,with choices to fit almost any taste.Keep up the good work !!we appreciate

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Hate the new decor and lighting. Everyon ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Hate the new decor and lighting. Everyone and everything looks yellow. Food just wasn't up to par. Ok but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great as always and the service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was great as always and the service was also great. Waiter did every thing right while we were there.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

waiter was hard to understand (broken En ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

waiter was hard to understand (broken English) was seated at wrong table as they could not understand my name for reservation claim...Food was just ok for the prices charged..portions on some items were smaller than expected. Dessert was best part of meal. Waiter kept trying to up-sell on stuff we did not want.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Have eaten here a few times and it never ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have eaten here a few times and it never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely my favorite place to eat in H ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely my favorite place to eat in Houston. I recommend it to all my family and friends. Best steak ever.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.