About Churrascos - River Oaks

2055 Westheimer at Shepherd
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

"Bold and creative dishes of the Americas"
Inspired by Latin cuisine, Churrascos offers the bold flavors of the South American parilla with all its fire and passion. As the preferred caterer of the Houston Texans, Churrascos offers starters including ceviche, arepas armadas and empanadas to our signature dish: chimichurri chargrilled churrasco. Save room for a must try Tres Leches.

With a generous supply of wine pairings, Churrascos warmly transports you to an orchestra of flavor celebrating the grill, the grape, and your guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, South American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wed 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Sun 10:30 am - 9:00 pm

Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 3 pm
Lunch served until 4 pm Monday through Saturday
Social Hour 4 pm - 7 pm Monday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-8300

Website:
http://www.cordua.com/

Catering:
With six award-winning restaurants, Américas, Artista, Churrascos and Amazón Grill to choose from, The Cordúa Group has taken the best of their portfolio and added other unique flavors. The result: a contemporary flavor unique to MjC Events that can be enjoyed outside of their restaurants. Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or a gala of splendor, the finest events always start with MjC Events. Event Managers are ready to help you plan your next event! Please contact them at MjC Events 713.961.0911.

Executive Chef:
Michael Cordúa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pan Seared Tilapia
tres leches
Sunday Brunch - Ceviche
Sunday Brunch
Ceviche
Asada
Pampas Salad
The 12 Oz Churrasco
Plantain Chips
Coconut Ice Cream
Opereta De Mariscos
Special Of The Night, Seabass & Scallops
Pargo
Sweet Plantains, Rice And Yuca
Chicken Bahia
Bacon Wraped Shrimp Taquitos
Parradillada
Bread Pudding
Chocolate Mouss
Ribeye
Smoked Crab Claws
Lamb Chops
Tres Leches, Pio X, Chocolate Cake, Glan
Shrimp And Crab Polenta Spoons

Promotions

Steak Night every Wednesday night. Only $15.95!!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$3 Lunch Cocktails everyday!

Mondays - Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Promotions

Steak Night every Wednesday night. Only $15.95!!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
$3 Lunch Cocktails everyday!

Mondays - Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Details

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our award winning private dining rooms are the perfect choice for your special event. All offer sophisticated settings that will accommodate your group large or small. Choose from pre-set menus, plated dinners, chef action stations or multi-course wine dinners that are sure to be memorable.

Churrascos - River Oaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (23)
fit for foodies (18)
romantic (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (14)
good for groups (14)
great for lunch (12)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I went to Churrascos for our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I went to Churrascos for our anniversary dinner. Food was great just like the first time went there in 1993. Service was very good and desert was perfect. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were amazing, but ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food and drinks were amazing, but hands down the staff made the night for us. They were super attentive without being annoying and made us feel like royalty. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch buffet!!!!!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful brunch buffet!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Two couples regularly meet here to celeb ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Two couples regularly meet here to celebrate a birthday for one of the four. Every time is special, and the excellent food and service at Churrasco's do much to make it so. We will continue our regular attendance on birthdays and sometimes in-between.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good variety on the Brunch Buffet. Cotto ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good variety on the Brunch Buffet. Cotton candy is a treat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sat down and never was waited on. went t ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

sat down and never was waited on. went to get food came back and still not waited on until I requested help. Buffets cooks did not know how to cook over easy eggs. pork very dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was sub-par and over-priced. T ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was sub-par and over-priced. There are much better restaurants in Houston. Don't bother with this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We like Churrasco's for special occasion ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We like Churrasco's for special occasions. The steaks are excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We came to celebrate our 34th wedding an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We came to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary and the hostess congratulated us as she seated us. This was the last acknowledgment of the event. We used to visit this location quite often, but our last visit was for our last anniversary. It was most enjoyable and this is why we returned. Things have changed and not for the better. The ambiance is similar to a Red Robin. While there used to be lines waiting outside to get in on a Saturday night, not even Father's Day could bring patrons in. The menu changes have eliminated some basic items expected with the meals and increased prices substantially. My Churrasco steak lacked that mouth watering flavor that has brought us back so many times. Out of town guests have stated visits were the highlight of their food experience in the city. The vege tray normally served with the steak no longer exists. We purchased the $15 vege plate to get the some of our favorites, but found portions limited and at such a price. The steak was not served as before with the little mix on top, but instead it was served with a poor tasting bernaise sauce. Who would ruin their Churrasco steak with such a sauce before, now it may have been offered to make up for the lack of proper flavor. My wife had the Parralliada Mixta and could not find any of the items very enjoyable. No veges served on this $39 plate. Also no fried plantains, although we were told upon receipt of the bill, that this can be ordered separately. Apologies for not mentioning this were offered. When asked if we saved room for dessert, we were expecting the typical complementary dessert, so we ordered cappuccinos. We were then offered the check. When we asked the server if she was aware this was our anniversary she stated that she was not. We never saw the manager, but when we left a gentleman opened the door for us. I asked if he was the manager and he stated that he was. When I told him about our experience he said he was sorry. We will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

So disappointed. We were introduced t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

So disappointed. We were introduced to this restaurant by a Houston friend, and anytime we are in Houston, we try to eat there. My favorite dish, Chicken Bahia, was so changed that I didn't recognized it. Other dishes we had were mediocre. What saved the luncheon was

our delightful waiter and our tres leches dessert.

Sadly, we will not try this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Their happy hour prices are a fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Their happy hour prices are a fantastic deal! Our meal was and drinks were so good and reasonably priced, we ended up staying for four hours. Fun summer time afternoon!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

place was great! I really enjoyed it, th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

place was great! I really enjoyed it, the manager was very attentive and congratulated us for our anniversary, will definitely be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely weekday lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I had a weekday lunch with a friend at this location. The food was excellent and the ambience was lovely, as the restaurant was not crowded that day. It was relatively quiet, so that we could visit and catch up over a lovely meal. P.S. The soup of the day, a corn chowder, was fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great place, great service, & great food. Watch out though if they bring you cake without asking they will still charge for it but it was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I made a reservation and still had to wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I made a reservation and still had to wait over 20 minutes for a seat for Sunday brunch. Once we were seated, it was all smiles!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Anniversary

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Got married there 12 years ago and have gone back each year for our anniversary even though we have moved far away.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my husband's birthday with f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Celebrating my husband's birthday with friends. Consistent on food quality although service can be spotty. For instance, we were not offered any water yet when one guest asked for some, the waiter did not offer to any other guests. Recently updated inside although design still causes some issues with noise from other parties.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Too godddamned noisy too talk. Need to f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Too godddamned noisy too talk. Need to fix acoustics or will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Going downhill

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my mother to Churrasco's Mother's Day evening. The service was significantly worse than usual. For example, when we asked our server for plates for use with the appetizers, a staff person brought out a stack of plates and set the stack on the table, rather than giving each person their own plate. When the main course was delivered, the plates were set in front of the wrong people. We had to wait a long time for everything. Even the food was not up to par, with the churrasco steaks being largely flavorless. We've been coming to this restaurant for many years, and the quality of food and service seems on a steady downhill slide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They accepted more people that they could handle. Too many empty food trays and the took a lot of time before refilling. Roasted pork was finished and they took hours before bringing the new one. We had already finished when they brought the new roasted pork.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I would recommend to anyone

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I would recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Quiet bar scene is perfect for catching up with friends. Wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Drink and appetizer specials in the bar for happy hour make it quite reasonable. Entrees were quick to arrive and delicious. I would definitely return for happy hour and/or dinner. A lovely experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waiter, Julio, could not have been better. His suggestions were on target, and we would not have ordered more, had he not have been so persuasive. I come from a restaurant family and know good food and excellent service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

My husband & I met our daughter in town for a "spur of the moment" dinner... Getting a reservation was easy & the evening couldn't have been better. The staff is friendly, courteous & very knowledgeable about the menu! The food was delicious (as we are accustomed to finding here). Run - don't walk - to this fine restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Houston Favorite

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

One of the few places in town that can make a Mojito correctly. The Churrasco steak is one of the best pieces of meat you'll ever eat. For me, I can stop there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

And a nice celebration it was!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our visit was to enjoy a special evening to celebrate a 70th anniversary. Isabella, our server, was most instrumental in achieving that goal. The food was excellent, and as expected for this establishment, but it was the attentive nature of the manager and waitstaff that made everything special. We thank you for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Sunday brunch! The buffet had so ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing Sunday brunch! The buffet had so many delicious offerings. Our server was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still as good as I remember

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Churrasco's was my favorite among many great restaurants in Houston, when I lived there in the early 1990s. It was nice to find it still in its original location when I visited recently, and to find that the food is still incredible. The carnitas were excellent, and the chicken empanadas were like a religious experience. I ate alone at the bar, since I was traveling alone for business, and the bartender and host kept me well entertained. Great place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was good, but somewhat slow in replenishing some of the items. Their brunch always offers a wonderful assortment of items and it a very good value for the price and quality of the food.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great place for brunch.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very attentive staff and manager

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Good overall experience. Parking is free and easy, food was tasty. Happy hour to start then transition to dinner.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nothing special.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The food has gradually deteriorated over the years and become rather expensive. The side vegetables, which used to be quite good, are now very ordinary, tasting as though they were cooked a very long time ahead. The 6 ounce Churrascos steak is gone; the smallest is now 8 ounces at $40. The wines by the glass are now priced at $xx.99, as though they are trying to deceive you into spending a little more. The new booths on the side are very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Thank You Churrascos, It was amazing!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This afternoon my love and i decided to enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of Churrascos like past occasions. However, this time was different,we decided to celebrate our anniversary for which it was amazing. The service and food was wonderful, our server took care of us constantly to make sure we were OK. The food was serve with care and right away when it was brought to our table, it was delicious. Churrascos has always been a perfect place to dine in for those special occasions or just to enjoy a wonderful night. the food its amazing from presentation to taste. they have the best steak and great deals to choose from. they made our night special with a finishing touch of the famous flame Tres Leches to congratulate us. Thank you Churrascos !!! for being there for us!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

From the moment waiter Ricardo addressed our table to the time we paid-out, our experience was excellent. There was: perfect service, quality food, excellent wine, special detail to dietary needs, and complimentary champagne to celebrate my parents anniversary. It's a long standing establishment that has not lost its mission statement. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was amazing.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Steak was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We hadn't been back for a while, and the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

We hadn't been back for a while, and they treated us like royalty!

Different food from usual, too, so that made it more interesting...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I brought two friends from Costa Rica to Churrascos and the staff went out of their way to accommodate and make them feel welcome! The food was excellent and this restaurant has been remodeling since the last I have was at this location. It's nicely done. I had the shrimp brochette and rice and it was fabulous. They now offer half portions of their deserts which is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing dessert

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We have been recurrent customers at Churrasco's for the past 24 years, even though we live in Dallas. We usually make a point of dining there while visiting Houston. Food quality remains excellent, and service was great too. However, we were quite disappointed with the dessert servings. We noted that now they offer the 1/2 portion (mini) and the full portion. The half portion is literally two bites!! And you charge nearly 5 dollars for 2 bites? Nearly ten dollars for the full portion, which let me tell you, is much smaller than the portions you served just a few years ago, and now nearly twice the price. Your restaurant is high end, but come on! I would gladly pay a bit more for a decent sized portion of dessert, but you need to rethink your concept of mini and full sized portions. Extremely disappointed. We will think twice about dessert next time. Hey, maybe that is good thing for our health.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great attentive service and delicious fo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great attentive service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

They had a limited menu for Valentine's Day for a flat fee. I was a little back by the limited choices and that we couldn't split a meal. We ended up buying two, taking 1 to go. The food itself was really good, however I probably wouldn't have gone had I known they had a limited menu and had to buy 2 full meals.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.