About Churrascos - River Oaks

2055 Westheimer at Shepherd
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

"Bold and creative dishes of the Americas"
Inspired by Latin cuisine, Churrascos offers the bold flavors of the South American parilla with all its fire and passion. As the preferred caterer of the Houston Texans, Churrascos offers starters including ceviche, arepas armadas and empanadas to our signature dish: chimichurri chargrilled churrasco. Save room for a must try Tres Leches.

With a generous supply of wine pairings, Churrascos warmly transports you to an orchestra of flavor celebrating the grill, the grape, and your guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, South American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wed 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Sun 10:30 am - 9:00 pm

Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 3 pm
Lunch served until 4 pm Monday through Saturday
Social Hour 4 pm - 7 pm Monday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-8300

Website:
http://www.cordua.com/

Catering:
With six award-winning restaurants, Américas, Artista, Churrascos and Amazón Grill to choose from, The Cordúa Group has taken the best of their portfolio and added other unique flavors. The result: a contemporary flavor unique to MjC Events that can be enjoyed outside of their restaurants. Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or a gala of splendor, the finest events always start with MjC Events. Event Managers are ready to help you plan your next event! Please contact them at MjC Events 713.961.0911.

Executive Chef:
Michael Cordúa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Plantain Chips - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Tres Leches Cake - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Tuna Ceviche - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Pan Seared Tilapia - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
tres leches - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Sunday Brunch - Ceviche - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Sunday Brunch - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Asada - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Ceviche - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Pampas Salad - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
The 12 Oz Churrasco - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Coconut Ice Cream - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Opereta De Mariscos - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Special Of The Night, Seabass & Scallops - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Sweet Plantains, Rice And Yuca - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Pargo - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Chicken Bahia - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Bacon Wraped Shrimp Taquitos - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Parradillada - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Bread Pudding - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Ribeye - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Chocolate Mouss - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Smoked Crab Claws - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Lamb Chops - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Tres Leches, Pio X, Chocolate Cake, Glan - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX
Shrimp And Crab Polenta Spoons - Churrascos - River Oaks, Houston, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our award winning private dining rooms are the perfect choice for your special event. All offer sophisticated settings that will accommodate your group large or small. Choose from pre-set menus, plated dinners, chef action stations or multi-course wine dinners that are sure to be memorable.

Churrascos - River Oaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was exceptional ! My favorites ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was exceptional ! My favorites were the Beef empanadas, the Churrasco, the Brussel sprouts, Très lèches cake and coconut ice cream! All were scrumptious !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best, most unique, menus and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the best, most unique, menus and choices! I used to live in Houston but moved away 8 years ago. I was on a trip back with friends and I insisted we dine there on our last evening. All agreed it was the best meal they had had in years. I just got home from Houston yesterday and immediately, after hearing they had issued a cookbook, ordered four for all of us that had the pleasure of eating there. It was as wonderful as I had remembered!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All fine but the electricity felt at pre ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

All fine but the electricity felt at previous times was.missing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food! A little pricey for the ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fabulous food! A little pricey for the average dinner but well worth it. Our waiter, Daniel, was great! Again...EXCELLENT FOOD!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my daughters 23rd birthday celebr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was my daughters 23rd birthday celebration. Lots to choose from. Great value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

All in all our experience was just so-so ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

All in all our experience was just so-so. It was rather loud; in part due to the table of 15-20 or so that was seated immediately behind us. Bad luck I guess. But that all could have been remedied with good food and good service...it COULD have been. The service was slow and unresponsive. Literally took 20 minutes just to get water and complete drink orders. Not to mention that it took two trips to our table just to complete the drink order and another one altogether to take our food order. The food arrived but was not hot; just warm. The best thing...the mojitos. Delicious. I'd return again but Churrascos will not be on the top of my list.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was excellent. The food was s ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was excellent. The food was superb, as was the service. We sat outside on the patio and the weather was perfect. Surprisingly few people there for a Saturday night. Excellent choice for our anniversary!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food, environment and service. V ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome food, environment and service. Very good place to get with friends, since is a quiet place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second visit when in Houston. Excell ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our second visit when in Houston. Excellent food and service (waiter was Juan).

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've gone here twice and both times I ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I've gone here twice and both times I have greatly enjoyed my dining experience. Plantain chips with two dipping sauces are complementary at the beginning of the meal and the desserts are phenomenal.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ate, from the plantain chi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything we ate, from the plantain chips to the side orders tasted like it had been doused with salt. With the lone exception of the steak, everything else was barely edible. We will be avoiding Churrasco's as it has been slowly declining in quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great food

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine pairing were spectacular! and t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The wine pairing were spectacular! and the service was so professional! We look forward to going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent, as expec ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food and service was excellent, as expected. We had to push back our reservation and the staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met up with two friends for our annual b ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Met up with two friends for our annual birthday celebration. It was restaurant week, so we took advantage of wine specials. One of us ordered the restaurant week menu and the other 2 ordered our favorites off the menu. Food portions were generous and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have loved this restaurant since it fi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

I have loved this restaurant since it first opened in the '80's. Have continued to think it might return to its old glory.

Alas, I have lost hope. Took friends for the red snapper..fair. No crab fingers. Vegetables tasteless.

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We love this location - been the same hi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We love this location - been the same high quality place for years and the prices have hardly changed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed dining at Churasco's River Oaks ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Enjoyed dining at Churasco's River Oaks during Houston Restaurant Weeks, 2016. Food was delicious - we had the Churasco steak (bravo to whomever got my steak rare),

flan (great silky mouth-feel), the tres leches (I had to take the whole thing home because there was so much food!), complimentary grilled vegetables (I ate them all, and I don't even like vegetables), and incredibly reasonable (and good!) wine paired with the meal. I'm planning to take friends in a few weeks. Exceptional meal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistantly good food at a reasonable p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Consistantly good food at a reasonable price. Great place for a date or group get together. Make a reservation for prime times. Don't miss out on dessert. The tres leches and flan are outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service in a pleasant ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service in a pleasant,interesting setting...what more could anyone ask? The menu is varied,with choices to fit almost any taste.Keep up the good work !!we appreciate

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Hate the new decor and lighting. Everyon ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Hate the new decor and lighting. Everyone and everything looks yellow. Food just wasn't up to par. Ok but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great as always and the service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was great as always and the service was also great. Waiter did every thing right while we were there.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

waiter was hard to understand (broken En ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

waiter was hard to understand (broken English) was seated at wrong table as they could not understand my name for reservation claim...Food was just ok for the prices charged..portions on some items were smaller than expected. Dessert was best part of meal. Waiter kept trying to up-sell on stuff we did not want.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Have eaten here a few times and it never ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have eaten here a few times and it never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely my favorite place to eat in H ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely my favorite place to eat in Houston. I recommend it to all my family and friends. Best steak ever.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always enjoy this restaurant. Everyon ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I always enjoy this restaurant. Everyone is so kind and service is excellent. Food is amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the greatest time. This was a gir ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had the greatest time. This was a girls lunch & everything about Our lunch was perfect. We had the most helpful, attentive, gracious waiter. The food was excellent! We had 5 different entrees and all 5 were our favorite! We all said we would definitely return and it would be a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok selection of food. Found the rice fro ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ok selection of food. Found the rice from the skewered beef & shrimp to be overly seasoned (overpowering). Can't remember the name of the dish but the shrimp with lemon & butter was ok. Tres leches & coconut ice cream too sweet. Quality of food was great but entrees were bland. Cucumber sangria sounded good but tasted funny...like cheap body splash. Margarita was tasty. Excellent service. Good plantain chips.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants to visit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants to visit during Restaurant Week. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is seasoned perfectly. The desserts (Tres Leche) are to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for Houston Restaurant week a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went there for Houston Restaurant week and loved it. The empanadas were fantastic. don't miss the award winning Tres Leches Cake.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great wines, great company, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

great food, great wines, great company, great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!! I just love the ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was amazing!! I just love their special wine dinner menus. Our waiter, Michael, took the best care of us throughout the entire meal. Claudia, the general manager, even took time to come and ensure we were doing well several times during the wonderful meal. A fantastic experience that I shared with friends. We will definitely be coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to Churrascos for our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I went to Churrascos for our anniversary dinner. Food was great just like the first time went there in 1993. Service was very good and desert was perfect. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were amazing, but ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food and drinks were amazing, but hands down the staff made the night for us. They were super attentive without being annoying and made us feel like royalty. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch buffet!!!!!!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful brunch buffet!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Two couples regularly meet here to celeb ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Two couples regularly meet here to celebrate a birthday for one of the four. Every time is special, and the excellent food and service at Churrasco's do much to make it so. We will continue our regular attendance on birthdays and sometimes in-between.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good variety on the Brunch Buffet. Cotto ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good variety on the Brunch Buffet. Cotton candy is a treat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sat down and never was waited on. went t ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2016

sat down and never was waited on. went to get food came back and still not waited on until I requested help. Buffets cooks did not know how to cook over easy eggs. pork very dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was sub-par and over-priced. T ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was sub-par and over-priced. There are much better restaurants in Houston. Don't bother with this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.