About Churrascos - River Oaks

2055 Westheimer at Shepherd
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

"Bold and creative dishes of the Americas"
Inspired by Latin cuisine, Churrascos offers the bold flavors of the South American parilla with all its fire and passion. As the preferred caterer of the Houston Texans, Churrascos offers starters including ceviche, arepas armadas and empanadas to our signature dish: chimichurri chargrilled churrasco. Save room for a must try Tres Leches.

With a generous supply of wine pairings, Churrascos warmly transports you to an orchestra of flavor celebrating the grill, the grape, and your guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, South American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Mon 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wed 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Sat 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Sun 10:30 am - 9:00 pm

Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 3 pm
Lunch served until 4 pm Monday through Saturday
Social Hour 4 pm - 7 pm Monday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-8300

Website:
http://www.cordua.com/

Catering:
With six award-winning restaurants, Américas, Artista, Churrascos and Amazón Grill to choose from, The Cordúa Group has taken the best of their portfolio and added other unique flavors. The result: a contemporary flavor unique to MjC Events that can be enjoyed outside of their restaurants. Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or a gala of splendor, the finest events always start with MjC Events. Event Managers are ready to help you plan your next event! Please contact them at MjC Events 713.961.0911.

Executive Chef:
Michael Cordúa

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
We will be serving our famous brunch from 9am until 4pm. Dinner will be served from 4pm until 9pm. Every Dad will receive a $20 dining certificate from us.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our award winning private dining rooms are the perfect choice for your special event. All offer sophisticated settings that will accommodate your group large or small. Choose from pre-set menus, plated dinners, chef action stations or multi-course wine dinners that are sure to be memorable.

Churrascos - River Oaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (40)
fit for foodies (25)
good for groups (24)
See All
neighborhood gem (20)
romantic (20)
great for lunch (16)
great for brunch (16)
notable wine list (12)
great for outdoor dining (9)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined 3 days ago

Got married there 12 years ago and have gone back each year for our anniversary even though we have moved far away.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Celebrating my husband's birthday with f ...

Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating my husband's birthday with friends. Consistent on food quality although service can be spotty. For instance, we were not offered any water yet when one guest asked for some, the waiter did not offer to any other guests. Recently updated inside although design still causes some issues with noise from other parties.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Too godddamned noisy too talk. Need to f ...

Dined 6 days ago

Too godddamned noisy too talk. Need to fix acoustics or will never return

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Going downhill

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my mother to Churrasco's Mother's Day evening. The service was significantly worse than usual. For example, when we asked our server for plates for use with the appetizers, a staff person brought out a stack of plates and set the stack on the table, rather than giving each person their own plate. When the main course was delivered, the plates were set in front of the wrong people. We had to wait a long time for everything. Even the food was not up to par, with the churrasco steaks being largely flavorless. We've been coming to this restaurant for many years, and the quality of food and service seems on a steady downhill slide.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed.

Dined on May 8, 2016

They accepted more people that they could handle. Too many empty food trays and the took a lot of time before refilling. Roasted pork was finished and they took hours before bringing the new one. We had already finished when they brought the new roasted pork.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5

I would recommend to anyone

Dined on May 8, 2016

I would recommend to anyone

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on May 2, 2016

Quiet bar scene is perfect for catching up with friends. Wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Drink and appetizer specials in the bar for happy hour make it quite reasonable. Entrees were quick to arrive and delicious. I would definitely return for happy hour and/or dinner. A lovely experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waiter, Julio, could not have been better. His suggestions were on target, and we would not have ordered more, had he not have been so persuasive. I come from a restaurant family and know good food and excellent service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner

Dined on April 27, 2016

My husband & I met our daughter in town for a "spur of the moment" dinner... Getting a reservation was easy & the evening couldn't have been better. The staff is friendly, courteous & very knowledgeable about the menu! The food was delicious (as we are accustomed to finding here). Run - don't walk - to this fine restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Houston Favorite

Dined on April 24, 2016

One of the few places in town that can make a Mojito correctly. The Churrasco steak is one of the best pieces of meat you'll ever eat. For me, I can stop there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

And a nice celebration it was!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our visit was to enjoy a special evening to celebrate a 70th anniversary. Isabella, our server, was most instrumental in achieving that goal. The food was excellent, and as expected for this establishment, but it was the attentive nature of the manager and waitstaff that made everything special. We thank you for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Sunday brunch! The buffet had so ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing Sunday brunch! The buffet had so many delicious offerings. Our server was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still as good as I remember

Dined on April 8, 2016

Churrasco's was my favorite among many great restaurants in Houston, when I lived there in the early 1990s. It was nice to find it still in its original location when I visited recently, and to find that the food is still incredible. The carnitas were excellent, and the chicken empanadas were like a religious experience. I ate alone at the bar, since I was traveling alone for business, and the bartender and host kept me well entertained. Great place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was good, but somewhat slow in replenishing some of the items. Their brunch always offers a wonderful assortment of items and it a very good value for the price and quality of the food.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for brunch.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place for brunch.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very attentive staff and manager

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Good overall experience. Parking is free and easy, food was tasty. Happy hour to start then transition to dinner.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Nothing special.

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

The food has gradually deteriorated over the years and become rather expensive. The side vegetables, which used to be quite good, are now very ordinary, tasting as though they were cooked a very long time ahead. The 6 ounce Churrascos steak is gone; the smallest is now 8 ounces at $40. The wines by the glass are now priced at $xx.99, as though they are trying to deceive you into spending a little more. The new booths on the side are very uncomfortable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank You Churrascos, It was amazing!!

Dined on March 11, 2016

This afternoon my love and i decided to enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of Churrascos like past occasions. However, this time was different,we decided to celebrate our anniversary for which it was amazing. The service and food was wonderful, our server took care of us constantly to make sure we were OK. The food was serve with care and right away when it was brought to our table, it was delicious. Churrascos has always been a perfect place to dine in for those special occasions or just to enjoy a wonderful night. the food its amazing from presentation to taste. they have the best steak and great deals to choose from. they made our night special with a finishing touch of the famous flame Tres Leches to congratulate us. Thank you Churrascos !!! for being there for us!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience!

Dined on February 28, 2016

From the moment waiter Ricardo addressed our table to the time we paid-out, our experience was excellent. There was: perfect service, quality food, excellent wine, special detail to dietary needs, and complimentary champagne to celebrate my parents anniversary. It's a long standing establishment that has not lost its mission statement. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Steak was amazing.

Dined on February 25, 2016

Steak was amazing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been back for a while, and the ...

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

We hadn't been back for a while, and they treated us like royalty! Different food from usual, too, so that made it more interesting...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 21, 2016

I brought two friends from Costa Rica to Churrascos and the staff went out of their way to accommodate and make them feel welcome! The food was excellent and this restaurant has been remodeling since the last I have was at this location. It's nicely done. I had the shrimp brochette and rice and it was fabulous. They now offer half portions of their deserts which is great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointing dessert

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We have been recurrent customers at Churrasco's for the past 24 years, even though we live in Dallas. We usually make a point of dining there while visiting Houston. Food quality remains excellent, and service was great too. However, we were quite disappointed with the dessert servings. We noted that now they offer the 1/2 portion (mini) and the full portion. The half portion is literally two bites!! And you charge nearly 5 dollars for 2 bites? Nearly ten dollars for the full portion, which let me tell you, is much smaller than the portions you served just a few years ago, and now nearly twice the price. Your restaurant is high end, but come on! I would gladly pay a bit more for a decent sized portion of dessert, but you need to rethink your concept of mini and full sized portions. Extremely disappointed. We will think twice about dessert next time. Hey, maybe that is good thing for our health.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great attentive service and delicious fo ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Great attentive service and delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

They had a limited menu for Valentine's Day for a flat fee. I was a little back by the limited choices and that we couldn't split a meal. We ended up buying two, taking 1 to go. The food itself was really good, however I probably wouldn't have gone had I known they had a limited menu and had to buy 2 full meals.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Good restaurant.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall, Churrasco's is a good restaurant. I am extremely disappointed they have posted 30.07 signs which prohibits a handgun holder from openly carrying in their restaurant.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Not near what they used to be

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was quite bland. The ceviche was mushy and not firm. The waiter argued with us for using a gift card claiming it was not valid only for him to find out he was wrong. Had a reservation, but was still placed at a noisy table in the bar with people constantly moving past our table. Waiter did not listen and was only interested in pushing the most expensive wines and entrees. We will not be back, $200 will buy a nice meal at better places

food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Food was sub par lots of frenetic foot ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was sub par lots of frenetic foot traffic waiters, bussers, hosts, mgrs, kitchen staff all running at breakneck speed by our booth as well as thruout the restaurant. Not a pleasant dining experience poor service food was lukewarm and just not very good. I had eaten here several years ago and the food was excellent. They've remodeled the restaurant closing in the windows that faced the street and parking giving the place a claustrophobic feel.. Won't go back...

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

BEST STEAK IN A STEAK TOWN! that is all ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

BEST STEAK IN A STEAK TOWN! that is all I can say .. it says it all

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great Atmosphere & Cuisine, Falls Short on Service

Dined on February 7, 2016

Churrascos- River Oaks is a great choice when you are celebrating for a special occasion or for anyone who is wanting an up scaled dining experience. The cuisine is excellent with many Latin dishes to fulfill anyone's palate. My family's experience was good, but not excellent. The shortcomings came from the restaurant not wanting to seat us when 50% of our party was present and the rest were 5-10 minutes away from showing up. I guess you could argue that many restaurants work this way to maximize the seating available, but when you make a reservation and your mom is handicapped, we really could have used the seating as soon as it was available. I also made (perhaps to some) an unusual request for some crab meat to go for a family member who was not there. We usually get as a side dish every time we dine there and for some reason, the restaurant did not want to sell me the the side order of crab meat. I'm still perplexed as to why? The only other little thing I can think of was I also got the impression/vibe that they didn't want to give me banana chips to go, lol. I mean they are just chips and considering it was 8 of us that got seated and served, we definitely gave them some business. Other than that, the food was good and the atmosphere was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner at Churrasco's

Dined on February 7, 2016

It had been a few years since I had been to Churrasco's. I took my two teenage sons to dinner there last night, and it was as good as I remembered. We went to the Shepherd/Westheimer location, and they have relocated the entrance and remodeled the interior since my last visit. The ambience is very nice, if a bit loud. We started with the corn-smoked crab fingers, which were wonderful. For the main course, two of us got the filet and one ordered the snapper, and we were all very pleased. We were so full that we had to split one piece of the Tres Leches, which was every bit as delightfully decadent as I remembered. It was a bit pricier than I remembered, but overall I would say it was a good value. Great experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this Place!

Dined on January 29, 2016

We love the food here and Sergio is one of our favorite waiters in Houston. The filete with setas sauce is my favorite. We don't like the new dinner salads with all the weird pickeled stuff on it so we always order the old school plain salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Wait was ridiculous. 8pm didnt get seate ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Wait was ridiculous. 8pm didnt get seated till 8:30 despite visible open tables. (Management trying to pack the restaurant without the necessary # of servers?) Then our food took 45 minutes to come out. And only came out after I asked the manager about our order. When the food arrived.....the soup was tepid, barely I had to send it back, the steak was warm as was the lobster, by that time my 4 yr old son was so hungry we had no choice but stay to eat the food. I have had dinner parties for 15-20 people there before, but I will never go there again. This used to be a hotspot, now I know why it is not, the service has gone down hill, and has not kept up with the other better options in the neighborhood. Maybe the waiter forgot to put in our food order, I don't know, but that was a weekend evening dinner I look forward to with my family wasted because I chose the wrong restaurant. # never again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on January 16, 2016

My family and I have been dining at Churascos since my first daughter of four graduated from Rice University in 2011. We have held three graduation dinners at Churascos. We are planning on the fourth this May. We have frequented the restaurant occasionally when we are visiting Houston. We love the place.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch spot.

Dined on January 13, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed another wonderful lunch at Churrasco's River Oaks. The food and service were both first rate and the $3 mojitos made everything just a little better!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food as always

Dined on January 10, 2016

I hadn't been back in a few years and it was still very good. However, not near as good as I remember it. Also, it seems the atmospher has gotten more casual than I would think appropriate for the cost. I will still recommend it, especially for group gatherings, but not as much for a nice date night.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

The set 3 course menu for New Year's Eve ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The set 3 course menu for New Year's Eve was decent and the price was reasonable at $65 per person, but for some reason the dessert course did not provide a chocolate option - only flan or tres leches, which was fine with me but there were people in our party that wanted chocolate. Portion size was small. Presentation of the ceviche appetizer course was beautiful, although there was very little ceviche. Nothing special with the salad option. The steak was good and one of our party was served an amazing vegetarian option. Our server was very gracious and helpful - she found a chocolate dessert for one of our party.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Prefer more menu options

Dined on January 1, 2016

There were limited options on the New Year's menu, wanted more of a selection from their original menu.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Christmas Eve Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

We've been coming here for special (and non-special) occasions for 18 years. NEVER been disappointed. Made the reservation for NYE, on Christmas Eve through OpenTable. Extremely quick and easy. Food and service was great. Ceviche was wonderful. Had a nice NYE with my wife!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, not so great service

Dined on December 31, 2015

We went on 12/30 to celebrate a visit with a friend. The food was very good as always, but the server wasn't. They didn't have the champagne we ordered, and she offered a replacement bottle of another sparkling wine not on their menu. After opening it, she just left it on the table to get warm, instead of icing it, and the wine went flat immediately. She didn't mention any specials until pressed, and generally did not do a very good job of keeping track of us.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.