About Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the Recipient of the prestigious “Best of State” award and the “People’s Choice” designation from opentable.com, with an “Excellent” rating from Zagat; Christopher’s Prime Steak House has been a fixture in the Salt Lake City dining scene since 1995. We’ve built our reputation on the belief that the finest ingredients yield the finest dishes; 21-day aged USDA Prime beef and the Freshest Seafood Flown in Daily from around the world and Organic Locally Sourced Produce, are the building blocks of our award winning menus. From our mouth watering hand-cut USDA Prime Filet Mignon to our Giant Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs, Christopher’s is sure to please any palate. We offer an extensive Wine list and full Liquor bar. For the budget conscious, check out our famous 3 course early evening specials starting at $15.99.

134 West Pierpont Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private parties, weddings and business meetings. Call for details



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
260 S. 150 W.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 519-8515

Website:
http://www.christophersutah.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of on and off-site catering options for all occasions. Please contact Melissa Hofhine at 801-519-8515 for further details.

Parking Details:
Public Pay lots and metered street parking is available . We also offer Valet services from 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday.

Public Transit:
UTA trax stops just a few blocks from the restaurant. Get off at Gallivan Station ( 250 S. Main St.).

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonomini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill has played host to over 3,000 events since 1995; weddings, corporate events, private dinners, business meetings and working breakfasts. We can accommodate up to 300 guests. Please Call Melissa Hofhine 801-519-8515

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the recipient of the prestigious "Best of State" award and the "Diners Choice" designation from OpenTable.com, with an "Excellent" rating from Zagat; Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Quiet Conversation (26)
Romantic (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (0)
Disabled Access (0)
Sort By:
S
1201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and value! I would rate this restaurant better than Ruth Cris ,we would go back on our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was either new or needs to find a new profession. He was painfully awkward to deal with. We ended up going to the manager regarding a bill discrepancy that went ignored by our server (seriously. The guy just dropped the tab on the table and walked off without a word), who was nice enough about it but ultimately not all that helpful. The big deal breaker was sending back the ribeye I ordered. It was cooked decently but it was the toughest, most flavorless steak I've ever had, and I've bought plenty of steaks from Smith's. If you're charging $55 for a slab of meat it better be amazing, and my wife had had better prime rib from a Wendover casino than the one she was served (granted, a lot more alcohol was involved there). It really may have just been a rough night on the staff's side. They seemed a bit unorganized and hurried. But I don't know of any excuse for that many catastrophes in one sitting. I'm simply not one to:
A) send back food
B) complain to a manager
C) leave scathing reviews

but I feel compelled to share my experience in hopes that they'll fix whatever the issue is. I had heard great things about this restaurant, but I won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic steaks. My wife and I went on a special date and it was a romantic evening with very nice steaks. The sides were great too. It's a classy place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Steak was awesome. Disappointed in the shrimp cocktail. We ordered the Prefixe dinner with the shrimp cocktail as appetizer. It was only 2 shrimp not too big and was served on plate not on ice as is the case in good restaurant. Salad was excellent and so was Creme Brûlée dessert. Service and atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, we did come at an early time, but I felt like it wouldn't be loud and too busy....
We enjoyed our food, the spare rib appetizer was tasty, and my steak was excellent. Cooked perfect. Our server was accommodating, and very informative. He kept great care of us.
We will be back to try more of the food. Overall a great experience. Definitely would recommend Christopher's as a fine dining restaurant, to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Service was bad, they were out of some food, couldn't get bill right, and we were overcharged. It was for my mom's retirement dinner and they brought her a card with "Mr." on it. Ugh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Mikelle was wonderful. She was attentive, a step away and sweet

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We went to celebrate my husbands birthdy, they went above and beyond to make it special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

1st visit. Service was excellent from beginning to end. Appetizer: shrimp cocktail ($17) was 2 shrimp and a homemade cocktail sauce without enough horseradish. Salad: Cranberry pecan salad was excellent. Entrees: Salmon and a New York strip steak. The salmon was almost tasteless. The mashed potatoes they sat on were very good. The New York steak was excellent and cooked just right (medium rare). However, it came with green beans which had been doused with a strong steak sauce and were almost inedible. Dessert: Key lime pie was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This was our 2nd x eating at Christopher's and food is exceptionally good! Will go back again on next trip!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

When I went online to make a reservation 30 hours earlier, there were only 2 options available and both were a bit late for us. I chose the earlier one, 6:45 pm, and so was rather surprised when we arrived and found that there were MANY empty tables--could we not have come earlier? Our food was delicious but I felt like the prices were too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were celebrating our 41st Anniversary with friends... Our server was AMAZING!!! Food, SUPERB!!! Atmosphere, PERFECTION!!! We all had the pre fixe meals, which were a great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service was great, starting from the valet to ending at the valet. We had a lovely dinner with drinks and desserts. The help was very helpful and was actually smiling which you hardly see anymore. Thank You so much for a wonderful dinning experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The Early Bird Dinner specials are the best value. The portions didn't seem like they were made smaller to match the smaller price. I felt that I received a great meal for the money spent. I would definitely go back if I was in the area again. Everything from beginning to end was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was okay. The selection was terrible. The value was ridiculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The prix fixe dinner was a good deal and service was on point. When it came down to the steak itself, it was just ok. They added some sliced potatoes on top that we didn't care for. I think Longhorn have better tasting steaks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I've been to Christopher's several times. This visit was noticeably disappointing. I got the feeling the restaurant may be suffering financially. The lobster used to be big and beautiful. This was your basic smaller, curled up portion. They say it's 12 oz. Mine was not. They offered us three types of water. Tap water and to others that were $4 plus. When tipping the valet $5 for my car parked right where I was standing I was told there was a $6 cover charge that "went to the company". So I dug up another dollar and the valet said thank you I'll give this to the company. I'd also like to say that the Host who greeted us the last few times we were there was particularly cold and unwelcoming. My recommendation is to save your money for Fleming's or The Steak Pit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The service was excellent from start to finish. The food was very good and the presentation was excellent. Food is on the pricy side but worth it. We were definitely allowed to linger and enjoy ourselves. The staff was willing to talk to us rather than simply feeling like paying customers.
Koodos to the bus boy for going above and beyond to help my disabled wife get in and out of the restaurant. The ambience was wonderful! I enjoyed the jazz music.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great place for a special night out with your main squeeze! The ambiance was great, the waiter was friendly and helpful, the courses were spaced out perfectly allowing us to sit, relax and talk while waiting for each course to come out and the food was delicious. I suggest the filet mignon, it was incredible! I will definitely be going back for that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The filet mignon was excellent...as was the creme brulee. Service was very good, atmosphere was high end, but seemed dated. Pricing was alright for early diners or price fixe options, but otherwise most diners would find the menu out of their range. While very good, I don't really believe a steak, side vegetable and dessert for a party of 2 should run north of $150.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The restaurant was open and airy and our waiter was very ready to serve us and kept all glasses full and the meal moving at not too fast a rate. we did not feel hurried, but someone I am assuming the manager did come and ask if we had an engagement that we were trying to make. I think this was because we sat for a few minutes between salad and entree, which was fine.
Food was well prepared and served warm and fresh. Our waiter even informed us if we were not super hungry that the side potatoes would fill us both up and suggested another side and one order of potatoes which was great.
We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Our evening at Christopher's was superb! Kayo took excellent care if us and was very personable and knew the menu well. His wine recommendation was spot on. We will definitely be dining here again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service wasn't great. Slow to clean, fill water, etc. food was ok. Nothing great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

A great place though price is on the higher side but a great place if you have deep pockets and love steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything was great. I would expect to leave completely stuffed for $60/person but that wasn't the case.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went at 5 when no one was there yet, service started out ok until they saw that we had a Groupon, quickly turned into the Worst service EVER, after I showed my Groupon. Most tables received their food before us when we ordered and got there first. Our server nearly never came to check up on us, saw him 3 times total. We had empty drinks the entire meal, asked for refills and we never got any. Food FINALLY came, was on the cold side. Our server literally never came back. Anything we needed we had to get up and find somebody. We were there for over 2 hours and had to end up asking the hostess if she could find someone to bring us our check. The hostess felt bad and grabbed the manager on duty. My husband is so nice and never complains but he ended up telling the manager about our experience and all he said was sorry, he was also very uncaring about our service after finding out we used a Groupon. He didn't even look at us while apologizing, he just kept checking out the restaurant. He Didn't offer any discount, absolutely nothing. It was our first time there too. We told them it was my birthday, did NOTHING.! Horrible birthday experience. Still very expensive after Groupon, especially to be treated the way we were.
I might add, the reason why we chose that restaurant to try, is because we were looking for a nice and impressive place for my husband to bring potential hires while he interviewed them, somewhere impressive to bring the business men they fly in, since he just became the CTO of the company.
I still cannot Beleive they never even tried to fix our experience. Very disappointing.

Stacie llewelyn

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We really enjoyed this our first visit to Christopher's. The booths and tables were far enough apart that we felt nicely alone and the noise level was low. The food was all very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service and delicious food! Our waitress was super friendly and enthusiastic about everything on the menu. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Awesome, as always!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We have eaten at Christophers on previous occasions where service and food were very good. This time it took literally two hours for the main course to be served and one steak was both cool and over salted when served. This may have been an aberrant occasion. The manager seemed concerned by removing the cost of one meal and offering a certificate for a future meal. Still, the evening was not pleasant and if such an experience ever occurred again we would never return and the follow-up review would be very harsh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Second time at this restaurant and the food and service was the best. We will be back and bring friends with us. Our server (Molisa) was wonderful from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The steaks were AWESOME. the service was also fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

anniversary dinner. amazing good, awesome service!! highly recommende, victor was the beat bartender EVER!! thank you sooo much!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is a favorite forspecial occasions! We love everything we have ordered here and the service is fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was unlike anything I had eaten before. I've never had a steak that was that clean and cooked to perfection. The waiter was so knowledgeable about the food and made the experience amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great food and great service, this local steakhouse has become a go to for my wife and I. The prices are a bit steep for just a casual meal but it's a good spot for any sort of special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very disappointed. Looked this restaurant up under seafood. They had shrimp cocktail! Not really what we had in mind. Steak was good, not what we were after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The only good food that we had was the filet mignon steak. It was great, cooked just right. Everything else was just mediocre - the mashed potatoes (parmesan) were very dry and the halibut was a bit on the dry side.

Service was rather poor, we had to keep asking them to fill our water glasses and they kept forgetting to bring us rolls. We were offered a freebie since the service was so poor, we chose the clam chowder soup which was pretty good.
With the service being so slow, it took us (two people) 2.5 hours to get our meal and leave!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We decided to have my birthday celebration there as it is always a sure value. Their fillet mignon Oscar style is excellent, and goes well with château Greysac.
Excellent service as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Christopher's did not disappoint . we have dined there many times, and had a variety of the Rib-Eye steaks. Very good chief, and it was also a very quiet pleasant dinning experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.