About Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the Recipient of the prestigious “Best of State” award and the “People’s Choice” designation from opentable.com, with an “Excellent” rating from Zagat; Christopher’s Prime Steak House has been a fixture in the Salt Lake City dining scene since 1995. We’ve built our reputation on the belief that the finest ingredients yield the finest dishes; 21-day aged USDA Prime beef and the Freshest Seafood Flown in Daily from around the world and Organic Locally Sourced Produce, are the building blocks of our award winning menus. From our mouth watering hand-cut USDA Prime Filet Mignon to our Giant Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs, Christopher’s is sure to please any palate. We offer an extensive Wine list and full Liquor bar. For the budget conscious, check out our famous 3 course early evening specials starting at $15.99.

134 West Pierpont Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private parties, weddings and business meetings. Call for details



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
260 S. 150 W.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 519-8515

Website:
http://www.christophersutah.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of on and off-site catering options for all occasions. Please contact Melissa Hofhine at 801-519-8515 for further details.

Parking Details:
Public Pay lots and metered street parking is available . We also offer Valet services from 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday.

Public Transit:
UTA trax stops just a few blocks from the restaurant. Get off at Gallivan Station ( 250 S. Main St.).

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonomini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill has played host to over 3,000 events since 1995; weddings, corporate events, private dinners, business meetings and working breakfasts. We can accommodate up to 300 guests. Please Call Melissa Hofhine 801-519-8515

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the recipient of the prestigious "Best of State" award and the "Diners Choice" designation from OpenTable.com, with an "Excellent" rating from Zagat; Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (39)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Business Meals (19)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Fun (4)
Historic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food. Menu variety excellent . Staff explained menu well. The only thing that could have been better is waiter noticing we were done and moving things on a little quicker.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

I was here for a date with my boyfriend and everything within the restaurant met our ever expectation. The food was exceptional and the service was great. While this isn't a place we can go to frequently due to our budget, it will definitely be put onto the roster for our fancy nights out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful service, delectable entrees, sharable sides, delicious dessert. Ambiance was perfect for our romantic dinner but could easily work for any dining function.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome service awesome steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had a $70 Groupon we used, my wife got the 8oz filet mignon she said it was amazing, but I got the Cajun BBQ Shrimp which I do not recommend, it had the texture of bubble wrap, and was drenched in BBQ sauce, I'm not steak guy but I do like shrimp, but I have had better shrimp from the freezer section at Wal-Mart.. since we had such a discount on our meal I didn't complain.

So in short, if your going to eat here, probably best to stick to steak..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Tender flavorful meats, tasty appetizers, side dishes, and desserts. Our waitress Mikelle was helpful and attentive. It was a special evening for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great dinner for family including kids and grandparents. Even though they do not have a children's menu, the kitchen was very accommodating in preparing a burger for our 9 year old and pasta for our 12 year old. The four adults each ordered the 4 course pre fixe dinner. Portions are huge so we had plenty of leftovers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I go there often with Groupon, but for as beautiful as it is, I question the management of the restaurant. The food is good, but nothing outstanding. The atmosphere is beautiful. Better than the New Yorker or Market Street Grill. I had a good steak, but the knives were serrated and dull. Very dull! I had to saw through my meat until I asked for a better knife and the better one was also serrated and bulky. The perception of most people would be if they have to saw their meat, it is tough. It was not. So why don't they sharpen their knives? So pinching pennies on steak knives is not the way to impress a customer.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We ordered the halibut, which was supposed to be crusted, but instead came out with a layer of spinach on top of it. I thought it was good, but my wife was very disappointed and did not finish her meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I stopped in with my son for dinner. We shared the large Filet. It was cooked to perfection. A high quality steak.
We also tried the Asian green beens. I enjoyed them.
We also got an order of the cooked brussel sprouts. Even my son loked them. They was good.
Overall an enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My Wife and I celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary and went to Christopher's for the first time. The atmosphere was great, Parker our server was excellent, he was intuitive and met our needs. I would highly recommend going and celebrating a special occasion. Thank you for a great evening

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food at a great price the staff was very friendly and nice and the management was very active in making sure every thing was excellent I diefently coming back for more!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was excellent, as usual, with terrific service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food and ambiance was very nice, server was prompt, manager came over to say hi. However be ware of the parking situation...I pulled in and parked in front of the canopy to the front door it said nothing about paying for parking or signage...come to find out it cost $3.00 and there is a kiosk that you need to find . I got tagged for a $50 dollar violate by some independent parking company. This hurts...for 2 people I spent a little over $200.00 for dinner I would go back to entertain customers in a minutes but not due to what is cost in parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very good choices. I had the 8oz Filet Mignon which was cooked perfect and tasty. Good drink and the baked Brie appetizer was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a delightful evening with great food and service. This was not our first time at Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill but it was our first time at the downtown Salt Lake City location. It was easy to find with plenty of parking close by. It is a great place for a business dinner or special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The front end left a little to be desired; we arrived 20 early for our open table reservation and it was 7 or 8 min before anyone attended to us. Being early asked to wait in the bar and it took 20 min before anyone took our order and another 10 min before we received our wine. It is now 20 minutes past our reservation time and I went to the reservation podium and inquired as to the status of our table and it appeared obvious that they had forgotten about us. We were seated promptly and then everything fell into place - mostly........ They were out of baked potatoes (at a steak house at 8:30pm?) The table service was excellent and the meal was excellent so turned out to be an overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Pretends to be a fine steak house. The steaks themselves are ok but nothing to write home about. Avoid the side dishes to prevent even further disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always a good choice when you want good food and plenty of it. The steaks are amazing, the salads so fresh and good and the dessert is fabulous. Service is always superb and the ambiance is just right to sit back and enjoy a good meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Customer service was amazing! Our steaks were tender, perfectly cooked, and melted in our mouths. Upon learning of our special occasion we were served a complimentary slice of cheesecake which was, hands down, the best cheesecake I've ever eaten (better than that other cheesecake special restaurant!)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We drove an hour to get here for a late Valentine's Day date. The waitress never wrote anything down and forgot her order numerous times. She forgot bread she forgot drinks she forgot how to cook our food or who ordered what. The busboy fell down the stairs next to our table trying to open a window and no one else in the restaurant even bothered to check if he was okay. And then he was our busboy and dumped our drinks all over my husband and his coat. This caused a long wet ride home. They didn't have parts of their menu they also didn't have most of their desserts and we ordered meals that came with desserts. It's not very nice to pay a large amount of money for dinner and then you don't get your food because they don't have any of it but they're more than willing to charge you. The waitress also shorted are change we didn't notice until we got to the car and we still left her a full tip because we're nice to waitresses. But now I wish I would have rather shorted her since she made out with a 35% tip! I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone who is hungry and expect them to have food or expect to get what they pay for or any of their money back. You will be robbed and leave hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went there thinking it would be high end steak house. We had the worst service I've ever had. Waitress was apologetic, but just not good. We were sat at 8p and did not leave until 10:15p.

Food was good, but we had to ask for water and bread while waiting over an hour for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was excellent, cost is high, service was slow, took 3 hours for a party of 5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Incredible food and great service. Ernie was great keeping our water filled and Mikelle did a great job taking our order and delivering exceptional service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Waiter was knowledgeable and descriptive of the menu. Food was brought out without rush, allowing for good conversation and social evening. Food was amazing, exactly what we ordered, and made it a very memorable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent pace to take someone you care about and want to show them that only the best is good enough for them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The baked brie was SOOOO good. The meat was a $40 tough piece of filet. I prefer Sizzler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Everything was great except for my husbands steak. He ordered medium and it arrived well done. He sent it back and the new steak first appeared near medium but as he ate it was more medium rare. My steak was done perfectly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ordered the Filet Mignon medium rare. This steak was not good. I'm a regular at Ruth's Chris and will never go to Christopher's again. The steak was entirely cold about 60 seconds after they brought it out. Zero flavor. I asked for Bearnaise sauce to try to give it any flavor. BAD DECISION! They filled that with Fennel which then made the entire steak taste like black licorice. No idea how you could screw up such a nice cut of meat so badly. So disappointing.
Atmosphere was nice. Service wasn't anything special but was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Took my wife here for Valentines Day. Amazing food and great service. Seriously, the steaks were the best my wife and I have ever had. Delicious! I highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and the service was amazing!!! I definitely will be back. We came for Valentines Day and we really enjoyed it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great steaks and everything else was average. Texas Roadhouse with tablecloths and better cuts of meat.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent! They went above and beyond for us! We are definitely coming here again.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I went for Valentine's Day. The restaraunt was well primmed and had great ambience. The music was great! They played a couple great Eagles songs! Our waiter Eric was well dressed and professional and funny!
Good was good. Our next visit we will try a different cut!
We can't wait!! ❤️

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great staff, excellent food. The overall design of the restaurant was intriguing, and arranged very stylishly. Grade: A

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful quiet romantic, super food great for date night, We drove to SALT lake from Idaho to spend the weekend. We are never disappointed with Christophers for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a very nice time and the food was amazing. The staff were very helpful in serving us in a timely manner when we told them we had a basketball game we needed to go to. Would recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting good quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Valentine's dinner I've had this year! Great for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I took a couple of colleagues there for dinner. Everyone got steaks, now the stakes were cooked the way they were requested or cooked to order. Disappointing to say the least. Mentioned it to the waitress because no one at the table are people who complain but thought the kitchen should know they did a terrible job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were not happy with our experiences at all. First, the valet did not have any tickets, then the table we were sat at was HUGE, we had 4 people you could have fit 6-8 people. Our server was not paying much attention to our table. We ordered our food, it took over 30 min to get it. We were not able to have a conversation because the music was loud and the table was so big. When the food was brought the greenbeans were nasty, they has anot over powering sweet flavor, and our 8 oz filet mignon was rare and was supposed to be medium, our 20 oz steak was supposed to be medium rare and it was extra well done. It took another 20 min to redo the 20 oz stake to medium rare. We were not happy at all. We will not be returning nor recommending this places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.