About Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

134 West Pierpont Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the Recipient of the prestigious “Best of State” award and the “People’s Choice” designation from opentable.com, with an “Excellent” rating from Zagat; Christopher’s Prime Steak House has been a fixture in the Salt Lake City dining scene since 1995. We’ve built our reputation on the belief that the finest ingredients yield the finest dishes; 21-day aged USDA Prime beef and the Freshest Seafood Flown in Daily from around the world and Organic Locally Sourced Produce, are the building blocks of our award winning menus. From our mouth watering hand-cut USDA Prime Filet Mignon to our Giant Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs, Christopher’s is sure to please any palate. We offer an extensive Wine list and full Liquor bar. For the budget conscious, check out our famous 3 course early evening specials starting at $15.99.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private parties, weddings and business meetings. Call for details



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
260 S. 150 W.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 519-8515

Website:
http://www.christophersutah.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of on and off-site catering options for all occasions. Please contact Melissa Hofhine at 801-519-8515 for further details.

Parking Details:
Public Pay lots and metered street parking is available . We also offer Valet services from 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday.

Public Transit:
UTA trax stops just a few blocks from the restaurant. Get off at Gallivan Station ( 250 S. Main St.).

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonomini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill has played host to over 3,000 events since 1995; weddings, corporate events, private dinners, business meetings and working breakfasts. We can accommodate up to 300 guests. Please Call Melissa Hofhine 801-519-8515

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the recipient of the prestigious "Best of State" award and the "Diners Choice" designation from OpenTable.com, with an "Excellent" rating from Zagat; Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Romantic (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there thinking it would be high end ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Went there thinking it would be high end steak house. We had the worst service I've ever had. Waitress was apologetic, but just not good. We were sat at 8p and did not leave until 10:15p.

Food was good, but we had to ask for water and bread while waiting over an hour for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Incredible food and great service. Ernie ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible food and great service. Ernie was great keeping our water filled and Mikelle did a great job taking our order and delivering exceptional service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent pace to take someone you care ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent pace to take someone you care about and want to show them that only the best is good enough for them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The baked brie was SOOOO good. The meat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

The baked brie was SOOOO good. The meat was a $40 tough piece of filet. I prefer Sizzler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything was great except for my husba ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great except for my husbands steak. He ordered medium and it arrived well done. He sent it back and the new steak first appeared near medium but as he ate it was more medium rare. My steak was done perfectly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and the service was amazing!!! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and the service was amazing!!! I definitely will be back. We came for Valentines Day and we really enjoyed it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steaks and everything else was ave ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great steaks and everything else was average. Texas Roadhouse with tablecloths and better cuts of meat.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent! They went above and beyond f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent! They went above and beyond for us! We are definitely coming here again.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for Valentine's Da ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went for Valentine's Day. The restaraunt was well primmed and had great ambience. The music was great! They played a couple great Eagles songs! Our waiter Eric was well dressed and professional and funny!

Good was good. Our next visit we will try a different cut!

We can't wait!! ❤️

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, , Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, excellent food. The overall ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great staff, excellent food. The overall design of the restaurant was intriguing, and arranged very stylishly. Grade: A

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful quiet romantic, super food gre ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful quiet romantic, super food great for date night, We drove to SALT lake from Idaho to spend the weekend. We are never disappointed with Christophers for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice time and the food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a very nice time and the food was amazing. The staff were very helpful in serving us in a timely manner when we told them we had a basketball game we needed to go to. Would recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting good quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Valentine's dinner I've had this ye ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Valentine's dinner I've had this year! Great for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I took a couple of colleagues there for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I took a couple of colleagues there for dinner. Everyone got steaks, now the stakes were cooked the way they were requested or cooked to order. Disappointing to say the least. Mentioned it to the waitress because no one at the table are people who complain but thought the kitchen should know they did a terrible job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were not happy with our experiences a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were not happy with our experiences at all. First, the valet did not have any tickets, then the table we were sat at was HUGE, we had 4 people you could have fit 6-8 people. Our server was not paying much attention to our table. We ordered our food, it took over 30 min to get it. We were not able to have a conversation because the music was loud and the table was so big. When the food was brought the greenbeans were nasty, they has anot over powering sweet flavor, and our 8 oz filet mignon was rare and was supposed to be medium, our 20 oz steak was supposed to be medium rare and it was extra well done. It took another 20 min to redo the 20 oz stake to medium rare. We were not happy at all. We will not be returning nor recommending this places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent wait staff and friendly. The f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent wait staff and friendly. The food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best steak in town!!! Great service, rel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Best steak in town!!! Great service, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, worth the $$$.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambiance was really nice and the sta ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The ambiance was really nice and the staff very friendly. The waitress was far too pushy on trying to get us to spend more and more. She would put in orders for things that she thought we wanted instead of what we ordered. They were out of the wine we wanted, so replaced it with something that was just alright, but about twice the price and then she just opened another bottle and poured and charged without asking and even while ignoring comments from our guests. The food was really only OK and the value with all steaks being Al a-carte was was really not good. I probably will not ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The décor was very nice and it was recom ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The décor was very nice and it was recommended by our hotel. Unfortunately the night we were there (a Saturday), service was very slow and the serving staff tending to us appeared to be inexperienced. Also, my tenderloin medallions were quite rare (ordered medium), so they had to go back for more cooking. On the plus side, the manager came over after to ensure it was to my satisfaction, which it was and I appreciated that he knew what had happened. After we finished, we waited quite a long time for our server to come back so that we could get our check. For the $$, we'll go elsewhere for a nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Loved our experience at Christopher's St ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Loved our experience at Christopher's Steakhouse. The food was amazing. Love to make memories with family and this was a GREAT one! Our server Elias was friendly, personable and a great server. We will definitely come back.

Best steak ever! Absolutely loved the cream brûlée too!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING FINE DINNING, EXCELLENT SERVICE. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

AMAZING FINE DINNING, EXCELLENT SERVICE. HIGH QUALITY FOOD PRICED ACCORDINGLY BUT VERY WELL WORTH THE PRICE. YOU GET TREATED TO THE LEVEL OF MONEY YOUR SPENDING. NOT JUST ABOUT THE FOOD BUT OVERALL EXPERIENCE. GET THE RIB APPETIZER!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was okay. no one seemed to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

the service was okay. no one seemed to know who our waiter was at first, but after that was settled it was better. food was decent but not on the same level as the price tag. my husband and i both had clam chowder with our meal for an additional $9 each. it was good, however the bowl was so shallow that my oyester crackers couldnt even be submerged in soup. total bill was 275 for 2 people. the only spectacular dish was the rib appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

After reading a few bad reviews, I was p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

After reading a few bad reviews, I was plesantly surprised how wonderful everything was. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and dessert was heavenly. The staff was very accomodating and extremely helpful. I will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was the worst at a steakhouse that ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was the worst at a steakhouse that I have been to ever. Longhorn and Outback are heads and tails above the food. The staff was very nice and went out of their way. Wine list is terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Brought there by Groupon, and the whole ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Brought there by Groupon, and the whole thing felt very average for what we thought would be fine dining. We had a reservation, and had to wait ten minutes to be seated with a nearly empty restaurant, which was thought was odd for 7:00 on a weekend. The host seemed very rushed and distracted, and would not make eye contact when asking how everything was going. Made it seem obligatory, or that he was concerned with a different table. Felt very impersonal.

Rather disappointed with the food. My sirloin had just about every level of done throughout, from rare to well done. And my wife's filet was much closer to well done rather than medium, which was odd to us because we were at a steakhouse and our steaks were only "pretty good", not unbelievable, which is kind of what we were expecting. I would say our expectations were too high, but we've had steak at these prices and have been blown out of the water. I felt like I was eating a 12 dollar steak and paying for a 43 dollar steak. The saving grace was the fact that we saved a chunk on this meal with our Groupon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The prime rib was over cooked & somewhat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The prime rib was over cooked & somewhat tough. Other than that the filed mignon was perfectly cooked & the brussels sprouts a dream. Our martini's were spot on and quickly replenished.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We always love going to Christopher's. t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always love going to Christopher's. this was the first time they miscooked my steak - medium/rare when I ordered medium/well.

I never send back my food so I just had to deal.

Everything else was wonderful - I will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there for New Year's Eve and the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for New Year's Eve and the atmosphere could have been more festive .

Food was good, we had the pre- fixed dinner and the value for that is unbeatable. Service was slow but not the fault of our server Eric, who was terrific. The only sour taste was that my husband left his credit card there and they didn't seem to find it next day. I still recommend the place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great atmosphere aand ambiance. We have ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great atmosphere aand ambiance. We have spent several anniversaries there and have enjoyed it every time. The food and service is always tremendous. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were received enthusiastically and pr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were received enthusiastically and promptly by the staff. The waiter was knowledgeable and efficient. The courses were even spaced allowing time for each course and plenty of excellent conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, , Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I went to Christopher's to propose to my ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I went to Christopher's to propose to my girlfriend. I phoned ahead to make the request, and was met with kindness and a willingness to help make the best night of my life a success. Everyone, from the manager to our server worked to make the night work out. Thanks to all involved!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Christopher's is our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Christopher's is our favorite restaurant for family occasions. This time, we celebrated my wife's birthday, with our children and one grandchild, a total of nine in our group. The appetizers were great. The prime rib, steaks, and even one shrimp dinner were all excellent. The service is always just right - attentive but not overbearing or annoying. The sides were good, and everyone enjoyed dessert.

Everyone is always very happy when we go to Christopher's!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was great my wife's lobster wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The steak was great my wife's lobster was overdone and rubbery the waiter seem like he was nervous didn't have very much confidence other than that We did like the atmosphere and like I said my steak was great

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

If you are looking for an upscale restau ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

If you are looking for an upscale restaurant to have a "Dressed-Up" special evening and willing to pay the extra price that comes with it, then this would be the place. Not a place to bring the kids. Service was prompt and the staff was very friendly, they kept our water glasses filled and were readily available to meet any request. The Wine List offered a very good variety, and the steaks and sides were top notch. We saved room for desert and were glad we did. They offer valet parking so that you don't have the added stress of finding a parking place and can focus on enjoying the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yulia was great. We love going there fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Yulia was great. We love going there for our anniversary every year. I do find it amazing that other patrons seem to have been complaining about their ticket, coupons, certificates, etc. The complaining patrons were a little disruptive to the atmosphere. It's Christopher's! Expect to pay the price for an amazing meal and atmosphere. Strangely, neither one of us ordered steak this time, we got the Salmon and Cajun Shrimp. Both amazing! Bread Pudding - Amazing and you have to have the Lobster Corn Dogs. The Merlot (by the glass) was super buttery smooth. Again - Delicious

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

W really enjoyed the environment in this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

W really enjoyed the environment in this restaurant. Our booth was very private, the restaurant was quiet and really inviting. The service was pristine. The only thing that didn't meet our expectations was the food. The food was delicious, but not as amazing as we were hoping it would be based on the price. In spite of that, we would highly recommend this restaurant, especially for a nice date or special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been going to Christopher's for ma ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We've been going to Christopher's for many years for special occasions, such as our wedding anniversary, because of the great food and service. The steak, according to my wife, was the best-tasting one that she can ever remember eating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was poorly cooked and served, t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was poorly cooked and served, there was no flavor to the beef and I would never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a wedding luncheon there a few ye ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a wedding luncheon there a few years back and found it very good food. thought we would try again. Very expensive for the amount of food you recieved. Service was good, ambience was nice but not a value for the meal. I don't know that i would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not the best, especially for fine dining ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Not the best, especially for fine dining. I was disappointed with the service and that was the best part of the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.