About Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the Recipient of the prestigious “Best of State” award and the “People’s Choice” designation from opentable.com, with an “Excellent” rating from Zagat; Christopher’s Prime Steak House has been a fixture in the Salt Lake City dining scene since 1995. We’ve built our reputation on the belief that the finest ingredients yield the finest dishes; 21-day aged USDA Prime beef and the Freshest Seafood Flown in Daily from around the world and Organic Locally Sourced Produce, are the building blocks of our award winning menus. From our mouth watering hand-cut USDA Prime Filet Mignon to our Giant Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs, Christopher’s is sure to please any palate. We offer an extensive Wine list and full Liquor bar. For the budget conscious, check out our famous 3 course early evening specials starting at $15.99.

134 West Pierpont Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private parties, weddings and business meetings. Call for details



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
260 S. 150 W.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 519-8515

Website:
http://www.christophersutah.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of on and off-site catering options for all occasions. Please contact Melissa Hofhine at 801-519-8515 for further details.

Parking Details:
Public Pay lots and metered street parking is available . We also offer Valet services from 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday.

Public Transit:
UTA trax stops just a few blocks from the restaurant. Get off at Gallivan Station ( 250 S. Main St.).

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonomini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill has played host to over 3,000 events since 1995; weddings, corporate events, private dinners, business meetings and working breakfasts. We can accommodate up to 300 guests. Please Call Melissa Hofhine 801-519-8515

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the recipient of the prestigious "Best of State" award and the "Diners Choice" designation from OpenTable.com, with an "Excellent" rating from Zagat; Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Waterfront (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My expectations were too high. When we arrived I let the host know we had a reservation for 2 at 7:30. He acted like he didn't know we had a reservation and told us to have a seat in the waiting area. We waited for about 10 minutes past our reservation time, meanwhile a party of 4 and another party of 2 was seated before us that supposedly had reservations, I'm assuming for the same time. After the hostess was wandering around he finally took us to a table. We were waiting for quite sometime until our waiter came to the table in a rush fashion saying, "I guess I will be your waiter , the other guy is disposed". He took our order and the time it took between appetizers and main dishes was very drawn out and lengthy. We ended up having another person wait on us back and forth. After we received our steak, we were told that the sides we ordered (loaded baked potatoes) were out. They told us they would give us some samples of different sides but did not give us the option to choose. We were brought asparagus, brussel sprouts and corn pudding. The asparagus was good, we don't like brussel sprouts and would not order them in the first place. The corn pudding was not cooked all the way. We ended up asking if they had any other sides and they brought us garlic fries that were soggy and mushrooms. The mushrooms were good but our steaks were pretty much gone by the time we got the sides. All in all, for the price we paid for this food and experience I was very disappointed and would not go back or recommend it. Hopefully this was just an "off night" for them and we just happened to get in the middle of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall practically perfect. The only thing I would change is they use tap water that tastes chlorinated. Spring water would be wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent in every respect. My wife and I appreciated the great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was great! Food was tasty! The noise level was great...very relaxing music!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great International friends. They appreciated ambience, service and atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent food and service! Helped to make our holiday experience spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Best steaks ever but our sides didn't arrive for 10 and 15 min respectively after the steaks arrived. They said they would comp the sides but didn't remove them from the bill.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Staff was amazing and so nice. Steaks were great and while expensive a fun time for special occaisions

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Enjoyed our 25th wedding anniversary at Christopher's. The service is always excellent and the food is wonderful. Thank you for another great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

steak was tough but ambiance was lovely. server was fantastic!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on September 5, 2017

The steak was amazing, the sides were not good or freshly prepared. The blue cheese bacon mashed potatoes were very dry and tasted like they were made a while ago. Other that this disappointing side dish, the rest of the meal was very, very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

A good quality steak is hard to mess up in my opinion. The quality of meat here is incredible. We ordered the NY Strip and Filet, both were beyond what was expected. The service received was impeccable, attentive, and warm. The rest of our meal was not as good as we hoped, given the cost. I believe high quality should reflect appropriate costs, and in this case I don't feel the appetizer and salads were up to par. We ordered the stuffed mushrooms, house and Cesar salads, bread pudding and chocolate fudge cake. I rated the ambiance 3 stars because of the fact how staff converted a nearby table to accommodate a large group in a manner that disrupted our date. Though the experience wasn't as good as I hoped, I may still eat at Christopher's again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was amazing and so was the staff. Nothing better than eating beef from their local farms. I love it!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Awesome ambiance, outstanding service, dined there twice in three days

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Fantastic Steak and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The dinner started off very well. We were attended to and seated quickly. But, once we finally ordered it seemed to take a lot longer to get even our salads and appetizers. Once we finally received our entrees, nearly a hour after arriving, we we all but forgotten about. It took me asking our server three times and finally speaking with a manager to get our final check. I wouldn't say the place was busy for a Friday night (counted over 10 completely empty tables the whole night) but possibly understaffed. But, an adjacent waiter was served more quickly than us and received a lot more attention from their server. We had to ask multiple times for getting refills and sides, and in some cases never received them. This left us with a bad service experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service was awful, the food sucked, the waiter continually "forgot" to bring extra items to the table. I hope never to eat there again. It was my birthday and the wait staff did nothing special or at all to honor the special occasion. My husband "recommended" it and specified that it was birthday when making the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I like to go here for a change, but parking was limited this time (Thursday) no valet service. Meal was fine but very pricey. Seervice was OK except mine drink was served incorrectly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were pleasantly surprise at the value and service. Certainly recommend this place for a
nice special occasion. Food is plentiful and tasty

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our service was excellent, the food was good. Thanks to Groupon we found a new favorite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We were in Salt Lake City for a few days and this was one of the restaurants we dined at. What a fabulous dinner we had. The best steak I have ever had in any steak house. The restaurant is absolutely magnificent inside.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was great and the steak cooked perfectly. What was so odd was the lack of flavor. I refrained from asking for steak sauce but it sure could have used it. The biggest turn off was the condition of the women's restroom. I would expect what we saw at a gas station not a high end steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was a nice place and the service was wonderful but the food my husbands was great my salmon I was disappointed in very much so ! Not a lot of options and for the price it's way too expensive !! If I didn't have a groupon I would of never gone was nice but won't be returning!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

This is always a great place to get a nice dinner. Service and food are top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husbands steak was very rare when he asked for medium. My salmon was tiny and overseasoned. The sides were good. Service was very good but that did not make up for the meat/fish being below average.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We sat down and it took 10 minutes for a server to tell us he would be with us shortly. 5 minutes after that he told us he had to run a credit card for another table and then he would be ready to take our order. 5 minutes after that he came up to us and said, "ready to order?" We were since we had so much time to sit there. I had to ask for him to get me a cocktail, he didn't offer drinks. He came to the table like 3 times all night. The manager on duty was very nice and not only boxed our food but opened the wine we brought in. We did have our toddler with us, but we were celebrating our anniversary and the best part of the night was the company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

I love this place! The food is to die for! Best steak in Salt Lake City! I will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our steaks were tender but dry and had a strong citrus flavor? Manager said they cook them in an orange -lemon peel infused citrus butter. WHY? Totally ruined the flavor of the steaks. Appetizers & desserts were good, my husband's wedge salad was tasteless...service wasn't the greatest and although my husband ordered a NY strip, he rdjrst received a filet un error, which was returned for his NY strip, which arrived undercooked...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Wonderful steak cooked exactly as requested. The Asian green beans had an awesome flavor. Mashed potato was perfect. A lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Beautiful Restaurant. We wanted to pick somewhere special for our sons 21st Birthday. This was a perfect choice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing food. Lauren provided great service and recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent service, meal, and we were made to feel like special guests on our anniversary! We'll be back again soon!💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and I were dining for our anniversary. Making a reservation was a breeze. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and convenient valet service. Once inside the hostess greeted us and confirmed the reservation. We were taken immediately to a booth and were asked if the seating was to our satisfaction. Throughout the night the entire staff were friendly, courteous and attentive to both my wife and I.
We started with a baked brie that was out of this world delicious! We each had starters and a steak; I opted for the New York Strip and my wife the Ribeye. Both were prepared exactly to our liking and were juicy and tender. I can honestly say that it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. For dinner I had a wonderful Key Lime Pie and my wife the bread pudding. Overall we were both extremely satisfied with our whole experience at Christopher's.
My only regret is that I didn't know about this place before. I would absolutely recommend Christopher's to anyone who wants to have a wonderful night with fantastic food and a great atmosphere and staff .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was excellent ... hardly anybody in there ... but service was agonizingly slow..
un-responsive... Host asked how we were doing... "OK ... could I get some more Ice tea?"
never saw him again...
2 hours and 15 minutes ... good food ... not worth the grind...

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food and value! I would rate this restaurant better than Ruth Cris ,we would go back on our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server was either new or needs to find a new profession. He was painfully awkward to deal with. We ended up going to the manager regarding a bill discrepancy that went ignored by our server (seriously. The guy just dropped the tab on the table and walked off without a word), who was nice enough about it but ultimately not all that helpful. The big deal breaker was sending back the ribeye I ordered. It was cooked decently but it was the toughest, most flavorless steak I've ever had, and I've bought plenty of steaks from Smith's. If you're charging $55 for a slab of meat it better be amazing, and my wife had had better prime rib from a Wendover casino than the one she was served (granted, a lot more alcohol was involved there). It really may have just been a rough night on the staff's side. They seemed a bit unorganized and hurried. But I don't know of any excuse for that many catastrophes in one sitting. I'm simply not one to:
A) send back food
B) complain to a manager
C) leave scathing reviews

but I feel compelled to share my experience in hopes that they'll fix whatever the issue is. I had heard great things about this restaurant, but I won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fantastic steaks. My wife and I went on a special date and it was a romantic evening with very nice steaks. The sides were great too. It's a classy place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 9, 2017

Steak was awesome. Disappointed in the shrimp cocktail. We ordered the Prefixe dinner with the shrimp cocktail as appetizer. It was only 2 shrimp not too big and was served on plate not on ice as is the case in good restaurant. Salad was excellent and so was Creme Brûlée dessert. Service and atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 1, 2017

We really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, we did come at an early time, but I felt like it wouldn't be loud and too busy....
We enjoyed our food, the spare rib appetizer was tasty, and my steak was excellent. Cooked perfect. Our server was accommodating, and very informative. He kept great care of us.
We will be back to try more of the food. Overall a great experience. Definitely would recommend Christopher's as a fine dining restaurant, to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 30, 2017

Service was bad, they were out of some food, couldn't get bill right, and we were overcharged. It was for my mom's retirement dinner and they brought her a card with "Mr." on it. Ugh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.