About Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

134 West Pierpont Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the Recipient of the prestigious “Best of State” award and the “People’s Choice” designation from opentable.com, with an “Excellent” rating from Zagat; Christopher’s Prime Steak House has been a fixture in the Salt Lake City dining scene since 1995. We’ve built our reputation on the belief that the finest ingredients yield the finest dishes; 21-day aged USDA Prime beef and the Freshest Seafood Flown in Daily from around the world and Organic Locally Sourced Produce, are the building blocks of our award winning menus. From our mouth watering hand-cut USDA Prime Filet Mignon to our Giant Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs, Christopher’s is sure to please any palate. We offer an extensive Wine list and full Liquor bar. For the budget conscious, check out our famous 3 course early evening specials starting at $15.99.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private parties, weddings and business meetings. Call for details



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
260 S. 150 W.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 519-8515

Website:
http://www.christophersutah.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of on and off-site catering options for all occasions. Please contact Melissa Hofhine at 801-519-8515 for further details.

Parking Details:
Public Pay lots and metered street parking is available . We also offer Valet services from 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday.

Public Transit:
UTA trax stops just a few blocks from the restaurant. Get off at Gallivan Station ( 250 S. Main St.).

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonomini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill has played host to over 3,000 events since 1995; weddings, corporate events, private dinners, business meetings and working breakfasts. We can accommodate up to 300 guests. Please Call Melissa Hofhine 801-519-8515

Restaurant Photos

  • Potato Crusted Halibut - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Cajun Ribeye - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Steak Medallions & Lobster Tail - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Prime Rib - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
Potato Crusted Halibut - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
Cajun Ribeye - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak Medallions & Lobster Tail - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
Prime Rib - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT

Private Dining

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the recipient of the prestigious "Best of State" award and the "Diners Choice" designation from OpenTable.com, with an "Excellent" rating from Zagat; Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1026 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrible service. Long wait time. Overpr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Terrible service. Long wait time. Overpriced food. Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Very quiet mid week, personal service..h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very quiet mid week, personal service..high quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was delicious, well-timed, and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was delicious, well-timed, and precisely as ordered. No corkage fee for the first two bottles of wine is also very generous. The prix fixe menu is also an exceptional value for a steakhouse with sizable portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Wonderful food. Awesome w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service. Wonderful food. Awesome wine collection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Second straight anniversary dinner here. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Second straight anniversary dinner here. Fast service, great food, great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service. It was probably the worst I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service. It was probably the worst I have ever experienced. Luckily a few members of our party (of 10) dined there previously and knew a few apps to order because it wasn't until it was time to order entrees that the server realized we had no menus. While taking our order, a manager in a dress coat pulled our server away to drop food at the table next to us (party of 3) instead of doing so himself. Multiple drink orders were wrong and or spilled at delivery. To top it off, they were out of Ribeye! How does a steakhouse run out of Ribeye? It was just laughably bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great food and great service.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would not recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant.

When you walk into the restaurant, you are greeted with the smell of stale, dirt carpet. I would recommend to the owners that they get rid of the carpet and replace it with a solid floor surface that can be mopped.

The steak was a good size, but not cooked well. Both my wife and I asked for our steaks to be cooked medium, but both steaks were cooked to a depth of about an 1/8", but were cold and raw from that point in. I would recommend to the owner to teach your chefs how to cook a steak to the correct temperature.

The price we paid only included the steaks, so sides had to be purchased separately. They are quite pricey, but include enough for more than one person. Of course, the wait staff does not tell you that when you order, so you end up with way more sides than you need. I would recommend to the owner to instruct their wait staff to inform diners that the size of the sides provide enough for multiple people, so they do not end up with enough potatoes on the table to serve a small army.

I ordered a Sprite with my meal. When the waitress brought it out, I found that it was just carbonated water with no syrup for flavoring. When I told her what was wrong, she brought me another that had the same issue. One would think they would have taken the time to check the second beverage to ensure there was not going to be a problem again. I would recommend the managers to train their employees to ensure a problem is fixed before serving a customer a product that could still have the same problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Rachel was our server, very information ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Rachel was our server, very information and attentive. The entrees were amazing, dessert menu

wonderful -great bread pudding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a nice meal and lovely setting. T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always a nice meal and lovely setting. The service is always top notch. This is an old school style steak and seafood restaurant. Frank Sinatra plays in the background, you are surrounded by lovely wooden moldings and the food is reminiscence of times bygone. Not an everyday place for us, this is a special occasion restaurant. We mostly order the prix fixe menu which is 4 courses for a good price. I also use their private room upstairs for special events and their offsite catering and have always had good results. It's not trendy nor overly "foodie" but it's always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the ingredients tasted low quality. ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

All the ingredients tasted low quality. Like someone wanted to compete with other contemporary steakhouses at similar prices, but was unwilling to spend the extra money on quality ingredients. Steak was severely undercooked as well. Espresso machine broken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

My cousin and I do Dine O round every ye ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My cousin and I do Dine O round every year to try out new restaurants and their food. Tried this place out for Dine o round. We had to ask for the Dine o round menu from server and she still didn't give it to us. Just told us what the menu is making it like Steak was the only choice that I didn't want but I wanted the onions rings and salad so I just ordered that steak choice as medium well done. My cousin got the same cook style as well. While waiting for our food, we thought there had to be other choices for protein on the menu that was not mentioned to us so we double checked the Dine o round menu on the site and there were other choices! Such as Salmon or chicken besides the beef. I was not happy the waiter did not mention that us when I clearly said I didn't want steak but dealt with it. There was one thing that made me upset because we weren't given those other options.

Our food came out and it looked good and the meat looked cooked on the outside.

I think this restaurant would've been a good experience during our traditional Salt Lake Dine o round if our server didn't give us such a bad one and our steak being cooked the way we wanted as medium well done.

Mines was sent back because I cannot eat raw meat. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. You don't get what you pay for, it was just an awful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We'll be back, for certain. Excellent ev ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We'll be back, for certain. Excellent everything: food, wine, service, ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was excellent.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Service was great, food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Server seemed distracted. Disappeared f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Server seemed distracted. Disappeared for long periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was excellent except I chose ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Everything was excellent except I chose christopher because I got thier name of the dine o round list for salt lake city but when we got there our waitress said they were not taking part in the dine o round. so I ended up paying more for the meal than i had hoped for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We are from Ohio and my daughter goes th ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We are from Ohio and my daughter goes the University of Utah. We dined at Christopher's in March and had an outstanding experience. Last night had some rough spots though.

Our servers were very nice, but not as attentive as needed. First mistake: please don't ever ask us to keep our knives after the first course. Maybe at Denny's, but not here. My steak was way off temperature and our waiter did not return to check on us. The manager checked with us near the end of our meal and it was too late. The cheese cake was just okay. It tasted previously frozen.

I am going to chalk it up to a bad night on their part. I'll give them another shot in hopes of catching the magic from March.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and very nice dining area. R ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and very nice dining area. Relaxed and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but not great. The wai ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was good but not great. The waiter boasted about the steaks. We had quite a bit of grissle on ours and it wasn't very flavorful .I never paying over $30.00 for a steak and that is all you get. They are charging $9.00 for a baked potato and $11.00 for asparagus. Too much. We also had to pay for parking. Not cool.. We probably won't be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

They were having AC issues and had porta ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

They were having AC issues and had portable AC units in the dining area, really loud and hard to have a conversation, obviously not normal I would hope. I will have to try again at some point but with so many similar options may not be for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Nice variety of food available for a ste ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Nice variety of food available for a steak house, with good atmosphere for discussions (we went early). Service was prompt and friendly. Would definitely go bad next time in SLC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was horrible. Server told us that s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was horrible. Server told us that shrimp was out and Prime rib was out, it was only 8pm on friday night. Had halibut and filet mignon & they were over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This is one of the best of SLC, hands do ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is one of the best of SLC, hands down! If you have not been here yet, you are missing out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was exquisite, the food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was exquisite, the food was most excellent, and the ambience was divine. We will be back again!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and casual service.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and casual service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

I READ ABOUT REVIEWS BEFORE GOING, BUT C ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I READ ABOUT REVIEWS BEFORE GOING, BUT CHOSE NOT TO LET THAT EFFECT THE EXPERIENCE.

mANY HAD COMMENTED ON REVIEWS HOW THEY WAIT AND WAIT TO BE SEATED, THERE IS NO HOST WHEN YOU ENTER AND YOU WAIT A BIT. WELLL THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO US, SO I THOUGHT HUM...BE POSITIVE...FROM THERE ON EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL, WAITRESS ATTENTIVE, BUT NOT OVER DOING, FOOD...EVERY COURSE WAS DELICIOUS...THANK YOU

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yulia was amazing!! If you have a chance ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Yulia was amazing!! If you have a chance to be seated with her please do so. The maître d' was very accommodating! We arrived after a long day of training without a reservation, that I then placed through the app, but were greeted and seated as if we had an advanced reservation. Very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Wonderful aged steak; strong wine list; ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful aged steak; strong wine list; friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service wasn't the greatest but it c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our service wasn't the greatest but it could have been a cultural gap. Our waitress was a bit abrasive. When you spend that kind of money, having an abrasive waitress stings. The food was wonderful. The candles were lit at every table but ours.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Everything was wonderful. The staff had ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The staff had everything waiting for our anniversary dinner and added a few special touch's to make our visit a very special one. The food was great as was everything else. Would we return-ABSOLUTITLY

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful atmosphere polite and knowled ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Delightful atmosphere polite and knowledgeable server, manager, etc. All around great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the ambiance. It was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I really enjoyed the ambiance. It was excellent service. The steak was perfectly cooked, but I think it needed some more seasoning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent choice and selection.

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent choice and selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Execellent as Usual

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Christopher's has become one of our favorite spots for any number of occasions. The food seems to be consistently excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother’s Day; restaurant was not busy du ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother’s Day; restaurant was not busy during our setting, décor is warm woods, cathedral ceiling lines, smokes glass. Service was friendly, perfect attentiveness, delivery of the various courses was spot on. Two different steaks were ordered from the Prix Fixe Dinner selection; New York Strip, and Delmonico Ribeye, each with their own degree of doneness; each was cook as expected, the flavor was wonderful. Chan’s Ribs were good, a hearty serving, the shrimp cocktail was a little lacking by my view. The Early Bird Special – Tenderloin Medallions w/BBQ shrimp, parmesan mashed potato & asparagus was said to be excellent. I like Bread puddings, the one here is not my favorite, but good.

As is the case in Utah to date, the wine list by the glass is minimal at best. An investment in equipment to improve this would be valuable, the bottle menu looked considerably better, but I didn’t study it.

Wife, daughter, and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

temperatures

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were disappointed with the lukewarm clam chowder soups served us, the appetizer ribs were good, shrimp ccocktails tasty then it goes downhill with the main courses, all lukewarm and cool, the halibut was nice but the sauce overpowered it, salmon was not up to par with what we had at the other Christopher's in the south east of Salt Lake. Meanwhile the prime rib orders were cool...not even lukewarm. Preferred it a lot warmer than what we received. Dessert was good...kinda hard to mess that up. All in all we won't be going back there again. We preferred the other location much better due to the food arriving at the right temperatures and we liked the other ambiance a little better too. A side note....the music was too loud and I like loud music but when trying to converse?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent restaurant

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent restaurant, very friendly staff, food is superb, but overpriced. Location is quite and music was rock, but in a romantic vein. The place wasn't full at all when we went on a saturday night so not sure a reservation is necessary. This meant the atmosphere was quiet which was perfect for my romantic night with my beautiful wife.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding as always. It's ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was outstanding as always. It's one of the few places I have found in SLC where medium rare was actually medium rare. Keep up the great work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2016

It was a good experience, as always, but the filet was not as tender as it has been in the past. A little disappointed, but still a nice evening out. We will certainly return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food, Good Service

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Christopher's serves some tasty dishes, and serves them well. Our party of six were well taken care of. The food is a bit pricey, but the restaurant does provide some nice value meals for early diners (before 8:30). The selection is limited, but delicious. Even a that, with three of the six opting for the value meals and two others getting only dessert, the bill, with tip, topped $200. We'll likely be back (we've come twice before), but only for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.