About Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

134 West Pierpont Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the Recipient of the prestigious “Best of State” award and the “People’s Choice” designation from opentable.com, with an “Excellent” rating from Zagat; Christopher’s Prime Steak House has been a fixture in the Salt Lake City dining scene since 1995. We’ve built our reputation on the belief that the finest ingredients yield the finest dishes; 21-day aged USDA Prime beef and the Freshest Seafood Flown in Daily from around the world and Organic Locally Sourced Produce, are the building blocks of our award winning menus. From our mouth watering hand-cut USDA Prime Filet Mignon to our Giant Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs, Christopher’s is sure to please any palate. We offer an extensive Wine list and full Liquor bar. For the budget conscious, check out our famous 3 course early evening specials starting at $15.99.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private parties, weddings and business meetings. Call for details



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
260 S. 150 W.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 519-8515

Website:
http://www.christophersutah.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of on and off-site catering options for all occasions. Please contact Melissa Hofhine at 801-519-8515 for further details.

Parking Details:
Public Pay lots and metered street parking is available . We also offer Valet services from 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday.

Public Transit:
UTA trax stops just a few blocks from the restaurant. Get off at Gallivan Station ( 250 S. Main St.).

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonomini

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill has played host to over 3,000 events since 1995; weddings, corporate events, private dinners, business meetings and working breakfasts. We can accommodate up to 300 guests. Please Call Melissa Hofhine 801-519-8515

Restaurant Photos

  • Potato Crusted Halibut
  • Cajun Ribeye
  • Steak Medallions & Lobster Tail
  • Prime Rib
Potato Crusted Halibut
Cajun Ribeye
Steak Medallions & Lobster Tail
Prime Rib

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the recipient of the prestigious "Best of State" award and the "Diners Choice" designation from OpenTable.com, with an "Excellent" rating from Zagat; Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Utah
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (43)
romantic (28)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
good for groups (9)
notable wine list (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I READ ABOUT REVIEWS BEFORE GOING, BUT C ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I READ ABOUT REVIEWS BEFORE GOING, BUT CHOSE NOT TO LET THAT EFFECT THE EXPERIENCE. mANY HAD COMMENTED ON REVIEWS HOW THEY WAIT AND WAIT TO BE SEATED, THERE IS NO HOST WHEN YOU ENTER AND YOU WAIT A BIT. WELLL THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO US, SO I THOUGHT HUM...BE POSITIVE...FROM THERE ON EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL, WAITRESS ATTENTIVE, BUT NOT OVER DOING, FOOD...EVERY COURSE WAS DELICIOUS...THANK YOU

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Yulia was amazing!! If you have a chance ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Yulia was amazing!! If you have a chance to be seated with her please do so. The maître d' was very accommodating! We arrived after a long day of training without a reservation, that I then placed through the app, but were greeted and seated as if we had an advanced reservation. Very accommodating.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful aged steak; strong wine list; ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful aged steak; strong wine list; friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Our service wasn't the greatest but it c ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our service wasn't the greatest but it could have been a cultural gap. Our waitress was a bit abrasive. When you spend that kind of money, having an abrasive waitress stings. The food was wonderful. The candles were lit at every table but ours.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful. The staff had ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The staff had everything waiting for our anniversary dinner and added a few special touch's to make our visit a very special one. The food was great as was everything else. Would we return-ABSOLUTITLY

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful atmosphere polite and knowled ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Delightful atmosphere polite and knowledgeable server, manager, etc. All around great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the ambiance. It was ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I really enjoyed the ambiance. It was excellent service. The steak was perfectly cooked, but I think it needed some more seasoning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent choice and selection.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent choice and selection.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Execellent as Usual

Dined on May 9, 2016

Christopher's has become one of our favorite spots for any number of occasions. The food seems to be consistently excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother’s Day; restaurant was not busy du ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother’s Day; restaurant was not busy during our setting, décor is warm woods, cathedral ceiling lines, smokes glass. Service was friendly, perfect attentiveness, delivery of the various courses was spot on. Two different steaks were ordered from the Prix Fixe Dinner selection; New York Strip, and Delmonico Ribeye, each with their own degree of doneness; each was cook as expected, the flavor was wonderful. Chan’s Ribs were good, a hearty serving, the shrimp cocktail was a little lacking by my view. The Early Bird Special – Tenderloin Medallions w/BBQ shrimp, parmesan mashed potato & asparagus was said to be excellent. I like Bread puddings, the one here is not my favorite, but good. As is the case in Utah to date, the wine list by the glass is minimal at best. An investment in equipment to improve this would be valuable, the bottle menu looked considerably better, but I didn’t study it. Wife, daughter, and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

temperatures

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were disappointed with the lukewarm clam chowder soups served us, the appetizer ribs were good, shrimp ccocktails tasty then it goes downhill with the main courses, all lukewarm and cool, the halibut was nice but the sauce overpowered it, salmon was not up to par with what we had at the other Christopher's in the south east of Salt Lake. Meanwhile the prime rib orders were cool...not even lukewarm. Preferred it a lot warmer than what we received. Dessert was good...kinda hard to mess that up. All in all we won't be going back there again. We preferred the other location much better due to the food arriving at the right temperatures and we liked the other ambiance a little better too. A side note....the music was too loud and I like loud music but when trying to converse?

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent restaurant, very friendly staff, food is superb, but overpriced. Location is quite and music was rock, but in a romantic vein. The place wasn't full at all when we went on a saturday night so not sure a reservation is necessary. This meant the atmosphere was quiet which was perfect for my romantic night with my beautiful wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding as always. It's ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was outstanding as always. It's one of the few places I have found in SLC where medium rare was actually medium rare. Keep up the great work.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable

Dined on April 14, 2016

It was a good experience, as always, but the filet was not as tender as it has been in the past. A little disappointed, but still a nice evening out. We will certainly return in the future.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food, Good Service

Dined on April 12, 2016

Christopher's serves some tasty dishes, and serves them well. Our party of six were well taken care of. The food is a bit pricey, but the restaurant does provide some nice value meals for early diners (before 8:30). The selection is limited, but delicious. Even a that, with three of the six opting for the value meals and two others getting only dessert, the bill, with tip, topped $200. We'll likely be back (we've come twice before), but only for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Comfortable setting, steak house charm

Dined on April 10, 2016

Other members of our group said the steak was great! However, with the sides costing extra, it was very pricey even when we split meals. The 1 pound potato was outstanding as was the baked Brie!! The halibut but was very well presented but it did not taste fresh. My gin and tonic was weak, but the wines were good. In summary: some hits, some misses....

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Delmonico ribeye steak was my favori ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The Delmonico ribeye steak was my favorite steak, ever, and I've had some incredible steaks. The baked brea and blue cheese mashed potatoes were spectacular. Bravo.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Very overpriced for the quality of food.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was very flavorless and my chicken piccata was very under cooked.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice for special occasions

Dined on March 30, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday. Very nice, romantic and quiet restaurant. Food was good but not hot. They didn't rush the meal which could account for the food temp. We did the pre-fix meal, an excellent bargain

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best experience it was a wond ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had the best experience it was a wonderful anniversary dinner. Amazing food and service!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steak place!

Dined on March 22, 2016

The steaks were very good, the service was great and the prix-fix menu was a great deal. Fantastic restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just what you want in a great steakhouse

Dined on March 18, 2016

We had a NY Strip and the lemon caper chicken, both were fantastic. Prices are pretty average for a nicer steak. Our server (I think it was Seth) was phenomenal! He was so helpful and friendly. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

over priced food

Dined on March 13, 2016

service was extremely slow. Two other tables were seated after us and they got served before we did. Steak was huge and for the most part had a good flavor, but very overpriced for how much fat was in it. I would definitely not go back here again. They wouldn't even leave the basket of rolls. We only got 1 each.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at Christopher's

Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our Saturday early evening dinner at Christopher's. The ambience is soothing. The noise level was minimal, and we enjoyed the background music. The artwork blends in nicely with the decor. The staff are professional in appearance and execution. Our server, a female from Ukraine, attended to our needs while also remaining non-intrusive. I appreciate that she allowed us to enjoy our meal with minimal interference. We will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food & Service

Dined on March 4, 2016

Overall good experience. We went during the week and it was great!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service.

Dined on February 27, 2016

My lady friend and I enjoyed our dinner at Christopher's. The filet mignon we both ordered was the best we have experienced in a long time. Our waitress was excellent and very enjoyable. We had limited time for dinner as we were going on to the symphony afterward. I had mentioned this to our waitress and she made certain that there were no delays. We had only one complaint. They had a pianist playing and singing for background entertainment. Unfortunately the singer's volume was too loud to allow normal table conversation. This did detract from the experience. You can expect excellent food and wine service but you will pay for it. This is not an inexpensive restaurant. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Worst meal I've had for a very long time.

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I tried Christopher's for the first time last Saturday. We both had the salmon. The food was horrible! No flavor. The sauce they put on the fish did not compliment it. The Charred Brussel sprouts were less than desirable also. And very expensive! I do far better than this myself,at home. The only thing this place has going for it is the ambiance. Very disappointing experience for both of us!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 21, 2016

I got the Prix Fixe which was very good. Started out with shrimp, then clam chowder, and filet mignon w/ bleu cheese crusted potatoes. Got cheesecake for dessert. Great service also. The only critique I have is the music was a bit too loud for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service!!!!! Yummy food.

Dined on February 20, 2016

We're going back and asking for the same server (haven't done that in forever)! She was that amazing!! Gave great recommendations on food, she was funny and loved her accent!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect place for a special dinner and t ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Perfect place for a special dinner and the service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

Christopher's is a great spot with impeccable food, service and atmosphere. We have always had a great experience and never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Used to be better but still ok

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Christopher's many, many times over the years. Our last visit was for Valentine's Day dinner. While the food used to be awesome, this time it was just ok. Our service used to be excellent. This visit our server made a few mistakes. The dinner was still good and we will go back but it appears Christopher's has lost its personal touch during this visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

On the fence

Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentines 2016 - Our waiter was awesome - The appetizer ribs were suburb - The Ceasar Salad The best I've ever had - Loaded Baked Potato a little weird with topppings on the side, But very good - But then the Prime rib ( my favorite thing ) After everything else I thought oh boy this is going to be awesome - It wasn't - It was a nice big piece, nice color, But my "steak knife" had a hard time cutting it and i had to chew chew chew it, where before the good prime rib i've had almost melts in your mouth and no Aujou Whats up with that? - Considering that this is an expensive steak house the fact that the steak was the worst part of the whole evening means I probably wont come back :{

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 14, 2016

Will for sure go back. Food and service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have ate here twice and really enjoy it. On the second trip, my wife's prime rib was over cooked and a little tough but still very good. Good enough not to send back. The waiter was a lot of fun and talked me into trying some Italian desert drink that had coffee beans in it. That was an experience LOL but liked it a lot. My only real gripe is the parking. It is Valet only (I think, not positive) and they charge $5. Both times our car was a maximum of 20 feet away. Total ripoff in my opinion. Next time, I will allow more time and find my own parking options for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service!

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at Christopher's many times and my son had his wedding luncheon there. They never disappoint. Many people don't realize they host banquets. The food is delicious and the prices are very reasonable for the quality and quantity of food and the nice ambiance you get. This past visit was for our Valentine's dinner. Their early bird menu is a great value for such a nice restaurant. They serve hearty salads (we love their bleu cheese dressing!) and their rolls are yummy, a main dish, and dessert. The only thing I would say is that their new grilled halibut isn't as good as their former grilled halibut. There wasn't enough cream sauce on it and the fish was a little dry. That problem would have been easily solved by asking for some extra sauce (which was yummy BTW!) Other than that, the food was delicious and the service was impeccable. Ask for Seth. He's a very attentive server who works on the weekends! We will continue to go back over and over. It's one of our favorite places to eat in SLC and always lives up to our expectations.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not impressed nor satisfied...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Can't believe I paid so much for so little. The potion size was ridiculously small! Order the filet mignon baked lobster. The steak was ordered medium rare - rare; came out medium closer to well and dry. The cream based that was used to make the baked lobster was god awful. Had Parmesan potatoes, asparagus, and a garlic rice dish. The potatoes were good. Asparagus okay. The rice was hard, undercooked and very bland. The New England Clam Chower was probably the best thing about my meal. It's just unfortunate that the gentleman Handing out rolls only offer one small roll when we first sat down. Would have enjoyed maybe two rolls, one with my soup, one to snack on In between meals.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Don't go to this steak house for steak

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great ambiance and service, there are lots of things I like on the menu such as the wedge salad, stuffed mushrooms and about all of the sides. I wont got to Crhistopher's for steak, honestly the meat is barely better than a Ruby River or Lonestar...... If you want lighter meal fantastic service nothing wrong with getting some salad and lobster corndogs. Other than that look South and east there is Ruth's Chris.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Fine Dining Experience

Dined on February 5, 2016

This was our first time eating at Christopher's. The service and food was excellent. We would go here again for a special occasion - but found it a little pricy for a regular dining spot.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Waitress not experienced or trained. Sh ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Waitress not experienced or trained. She didn't know when silver ware is placed as finished to ask to clear the table. For a high end steakhouse food was tasteful but service was fair like a Denny's.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.