About Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the Recipient of the prestigious “Best of State” award and the “People’s Choice” designation from opentable.com, with an “Excellent” rating from Zagat; Christopher’s Prime Steak House has been a fixture in the Salt Lake City dining scene since 1995. We’ve built our reputation on the belief that the finest ingredients yield the finest dishes; 21-day aged USDA Prime beef and the Freshest Seafood Flown in Daily from around the world and Organic Locally Sourced Produce, are the building blocks of our award winning menus. From our mouth watering hand-cut USDA Prime Filet Mignon to our Giant Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs, Christopher’s is sure to please any palate. We offer an extensive Wine list and full Liquor bar. For the budget conscious, check out our famous 3 course early evening specials starting at $15.99.

134 West Pierpont Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private parties, weddings and business meetings. Call for details



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
260 S. 150 W.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 519-8515

Website:
http://www.christophersutah.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of on and off-site catering options for all occasions. Please contact Melissa Hofhine at 801-519-8515 for further details.

Parking Details:
Public Pay lots and metered street parking is available . We also offer Valet services from 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday.

Public Transit:
UTA trax stops just a few blocks from the restaurant. Get off at Gallivan Station ( 250 S. Main St.).

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonomini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill has played host to over 3,000 events since 1995; weddings, corporate events, private dinners, business meetings and working breakfasts. We can accommodate up to 300 guests. Please Call Melissa Hofhine 801-519-8515

Restaurant Photos

  • Potato Crusted Halibut - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Cajun Ribeye - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Steak Medallions & Lobster Tail - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Prime Rib - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT

Report a photo problem

Potato Crusted Halibut - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
Cajun Ribeye - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
Steak Medallions & Lobster Tail - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT
Prime Rib - Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill, Salt Lake City, UT

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the recipient of the prestigious "Best of State" award and the "Diners Choice" designation from OpenTable.com, with an "Excellent" rating from Zagat; Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1088 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brought there by Groupon, and the whole ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Brought there by Groupon, and the whole thing felt very average for what we thought would be fine dining. We had a reservation, and had to wait ten minutes to be seated with a nearly empty restaurant, which was thought was odd for 7:00 on a weekend. The host seemed very rushed and distracted, and would not make eye contact when asking how everything was going. Made it seem obligatory, or that he was concerned with a different table. Felt very impersonal.

Rather disappointed with the food. My sirloin had just about every level of done throughout, from rare to well done. And my wife's filet was much closer to well done rather than medium, which was odd to us because we were at a steakhouse and our steaks were only "pretty good", not unbelievable, which is kind of what we were expecting. I would say our expectations were too high, but we've had steak at these prices and have been blown out of the water. I felt like I was eating a 12 dollar steak and paying for a 43 dollar steak. The saving grace was the fact that we saved a chunk on this meal with our Groupon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The prime rib was over cooked & somewhat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The prime rib was over cooked & somewhat tough. Other than that the filed mignon was perfectly cooked & the brussels sprouts a dream. Our martini's were spot on and quickly replenished.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We always love going to Christopher's. t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always love going to Christopher's. this was the first time they miscooked my steak - medium/rare when I ordered medium/well.

I never send back my food so I just had to deal.

Everything else was wonderful - I will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there for New Year's Eve and the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for New Year's Eve and the atmosphere could have been more festive .

Food was good, we had the pre- fixed dinner and the value for that is unbeatable. Service was slow but not the fault of our server Eric, who was terrific. The only sour taste was that my husband left his credit card there and they didn't seem to find it next day. I still recommend the place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great atmosphere aand ambiance. We have ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great atmosphere aand ambiance. We have spent several anniversaries there and have enjoyed it every time. The food and service is always tremendous. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were received enthusiastically and pr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were received enthusiastically and promptly by the staff. The waiter was knowledgeable and efficient. The courses were even spaced allowing time for each course and plenty of excellent conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, , Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I went to Christopher's to propose to my ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I went to Christopher's to propose to my girlfriend. I phoned ahead to make the request, and was met with kindness and a willingness to help make the best night of my life a success. Everyone, from the manager to our server worked to make the night work out. Thanks to all involved!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Christopher's is our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Christopher's is our favorite restaurant for family occasions. This time, we celebrated my wife's birthday, with our children and one grandchild, a total of nine in our group. The appetizers were great. The prime rib, steaks, and even one shrimp dinner were all excellent. The service is always just right - attentive but not overbearing or annoying. The sides were good, and everyone enjoyed dessert.

Everyone is always very happy when we go to Christopher's!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was great my wife's lobster wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The steak was great my wife's lobster was overdone and rubbery the waiter seem like he was nervous didn't have very much confidence other than that We did like the atmosphere and like I said my steak was great

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

If you are looking for an upscale restau ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

If you are looking for an upscale restaurant to have a "Dressed-Up" special evening and willing to pay the extra price that comes with it, then this would be the place. Not a place to bring the kids. Service was prompt and the staff was very friendly, they kept our water glasses filled and were readily available to meet any request. The Wine List offered a very good variety, and the steaks and sides were top notch. We saved room for desert and were glad we did. They offer valet parking so that you don't have the added stress of finding a parking place and can focus on enjoying the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yulia was great. We love going there fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Yulia was great. We love going there for our anniversary every year. I do find it amazing that other patrons seem to have been complaining about their ticket, coupons, certificates, etc. The complaining patrons were a little disruptive to the atmosphere. It's Christopher's! Expect to pay the price for an amazing meal and atmosphere. Strangely, neither one of us ordered steak this time, we got the Salmon and Cajun Shrimp. Both amazing! Bread Pudding - Amazing and you have to have the Lobster Corn Dogs. The Merlot (by the glass) was super buttery smooth. Again - Delicious

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

W really enjoyed the environment in this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

W really enjoyed the environment in this restaurant. Our booth was very private, the restaurant was quiet and really inviting. The service was pristine. The only thing that didn't meet our expectations was the food. The food was delicious, but not as amazing as we were hoping it would be based on the price. In spite of that, we would highly recommend this restaurant, especially for a nice date or special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been going to Christopher's for ma ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We've been going to Christopher's for many years for special occasions, such as our wedding anniversary, because of the great food and service. The steak, according to my wife, was the best-tasting one that she can ever remember eating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was poorly cooked and served, t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was poorly cooked and served, there was no flavor to the beef and I would never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a wedding luncheon there a few ye ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a wedding luncheon there a few years back and found it very good food. thought we would try again. Very expensive for the amount of food you recieved. Service was good, ambience was nice but not a value for the meal. I don't know that i would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not the best, especially for fine dining ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Not the best, especially for fine dining. I was disappointed with the service and that was the best part of the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

It was a wonderful place to eat. Service ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was a wonderful place to eat. Service was great the staff were very nice and courteous. They even asked if we were on a time restriction. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Very nice. Wonderful service. The food w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very nice. Wonderful service. The food was not as great as I was thought it would be.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was only fair at best. W ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our experience was only fair at best. When we ordered my Wife's meal she had a Soup or Salad included with here entrée, but the waiter neglected to ask her what she wanted. About 10 minutes later she asked him about the soup or salad that came with her meal and he went to check to make sure it was included. It was. She ordered the Clam Chowder and it came out cool, not even close to warm to the touch. The rest of her meal was just OK. Her Beef Medallions were a Medium Rare. The Waiter never asked how she wanted them cooked. She prefers Medium Well, so medium rare was not good for her. My Entrée was pretty good. (Kansas City Sirloin) I'm not a fan of Ala Carte meals. I usually like the Potato and Veggie included, not separate. I can't say our experience was as good as we had hoped, especially when it was a special Birthday dinner for my wife. I think they can improve.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Terrible service. Long wait time. Overpr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Terrible service. Long wait time. Overpriced food. Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Very quiet mid week, personal service..h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very quiet mid week, personal service..high quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was delicious, well-timed, and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was delicious, well-timed, and precisely as ordered. No corkage fee for the first two bottles of wine is also very generous. The prix fixe menu is also an exceptional value for a steakhouse with sizable portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Wonderful food. Awesome w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service. Wonderful food. Awesome wine collection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Second straight anniversary dinner here. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Second straight anniversary dinner here. Fast service, great food, great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service. It was probably the worst I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service. It was probably the worst I have ever experienced. Luckily a few members of our party (of 10) dined there previously and knew a few apps to order because it wasn't until it was time to order entrees that the server realized we had no menus. While taking our order, a manager in a dress coat pulled our server away to drop food at the table next to us (party of 3) instead of doing so himself. Multiple drink orders were wrong and or spilled at delivery. To top it off, they were out of Ribeye! How does a steakhouse run out of Ribeye? It was just laughably bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great food and great service.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would not recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant.

When you walk into the restaurant, you are greeted with the smell of stale, dirt carpet. I would recommend to the owners that they get rid of the carpet and replace it with a solid floor surface that can be mopped.

The steak was a good size, but not cooked well. Both my wife and I asked for our steaks to be cooked medium, but both steaks were cooked to a depth of about an 1/8", but were cold and raw from that point in. I would recommend to the owner to teach your chefs how to cook a steak to the correct temperature.

The price we paid only included the steaks, so sides had to be purchased separately. They are quite pricey, but include enough for more than one person. Of course, the wait staff does not tell you that when you order, so you end up with way more sides than you need. I would recommend to the owner to instruct their wait staff to inform diners that the size of the sides provide enough for multiple people, so they do not end up with enough potatoes on the table to serve a small army.

I ordered a Sprite with my meal. When the waitress brought it out, I found that it was just carbonated water with no syrup for flavoring. When I told her what was wrong, she brought me another that had the same issue. One would think they would have taken the time to check the second beverage to ensure there was not going to be a problem again. I would recommend the managers to train their employees to ensure a problem is fixed before serving a customer a product that could still have the same problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Rachel was our server, very information ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Rachel was our server, very information and attentive. The entrees were amazing, dessert menu

wonderful -great bread pudding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a nice meal and lovely setting. T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always a nice meal and lovely setting. The service is always top notch. This is an old school style steak and seafood restaurant. Frank Sinatra plays in the background, you are surrounded by lovely wooden moldings and the food is reminiscence of times bygone. Not an everyday place for us, this is a special occasion restaurant. We mostly order the prix fixe menu which is 4 courses for a good price. I also use their private room upstairs for special events and their offsite catering and have always had good results. It's not trendy nor overly "foodie" but it's always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the ingredients tasted low quality. ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

All the ingredients tasted low quality. Like someone wanted to compete with other contemporary steakhouses at similar prices, but was unwilling to spend the extra money on quality ingredients. Steak was severely undercooked as well. Espresso machine broken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

My cousin and I do Dine O round every ye ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My cousin and I do Dine O round every year to try out new restaurants and their food. Tried this place out for Dine o round. We had to ask for the Dine o round menu from server and she still didn't give it to us. Just told us what the menu is making it like Steak was the only choice that I didn't want but I wanted the onions rings and salad so I just ordered that steak choice as medium well done. My cousin got the same cook style as well. While waiting for our food, we thought there had to be other choices for protein on the menu that was not mentioned to us so we double checked the Dine o round menu on the site and there were other choices! Such as Salmon or chicken besides the beef. I was not happy the waiter did not mention that us when I clearly said I didn't want steak but dealt with it. There was one thing that made me upset because we weren't given those other options.

Our food came out and it looked good and the meat looked cooked on the outside.

I think this restaurant would've been a good experience during our traditional Salt Lake Dine o round if our server didn't give us such a bad one and our steak being cooked the way we wanted as medium well done.

Mines was sent back because I cannot eat raw meat. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. You don't get what you pay for, it was just an awful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We'll be back, for certain. Excellent ev ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We'll be back, for certain. Excellent everything: food, wine, service, ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was excellent.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Service was great, food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Server seemed distracted. Disappeared f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Server seemed distracted. Disappeared for long periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was excellent except I chose ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Everything was excellent except I chose christopher because I got thier name of the dine o round list for salt lake city but when we got there our waitress said they were not taking part in the dine o round. so I ended up paying more for the meal than i had hoped for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We are from Ohio and my daughter goes th ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We are from Ohio and my daughter goes the University of Utah. We dined at Christopher's in March and had an outstanding experience. Last night had some rough spots though.

Our servers were very nice, but not as attentive as needed. First mistake: please don't ever ask us to keep our knives after the first course. Maybe at Denny's, but not here. My steak was way off temperature and our waiter did not return to check on us. The manager checked with us near the end of our meal and it was too late. The cheese cake was just okay. It tasted previously frozen.

I am going to chalk it up to a bad night on their part. I'll give them another shot in hopes of catching the magic from March.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and very nice dining area. R ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and very nice dining area. Relaxed and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but not great. The wai ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was good but not great. The waiter boasted about the steaks. We had quite a bit of grissle on ours and it wasn't very flavorful .I never paying over $30.00 for a steak and that is all you get. They are charging $9.00 for a baked potato and $11.00 for asparagus. Too much. We also had to pay for parking. Not cool.. We probably won't be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

They were having AC issues and had porta ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

They were having AC issues and had portable AC units in the dining area, really loud and hard to have a conversation, obviously not normal I would hope. I will have to try again at some point but with so many similar options may not be for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Nice variety of food available for a ste ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Nice variety of food available for a steak house, with good atmosphere for discussions (we went early). Service was prompt and friendly. Would definitely go bad next time in SLC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.