About Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the Recipient of the prestigious “Best of State” award and the “People’s Choice” designation from opentable.com, with an “Excellent” rating from Zagat; Christopher’s Prime Steak House has been a fixture in the Salt Lake City dining scene since 1995. We’ve built our reputation on the belief that the finest ingredients yield the finest dishes; 21-day aged USDA Prime beef and the Freshest Seafood Flown in Daily from around the world and Organic Locally Sourced Produce, are the building blocks of our award winning menus. From our mouth watering hand-cut USDA Prime Filet Mignon to our Giant Steamed Alaskan King Crab Legs, Christopher’s is sure to please any palate. We offer an extensive Wine list and full Liquor bar. For the budget conscious, check out our famous 3 course early evening specials starting at $15.99.

134 West Pierpont Ave
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Available for private parties, weddings and business meetings. Call for details



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
260 S. 150 W.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 519-8515

Website:
http://www.christophersutah.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of on and off-site catering options for all occasions. Please contact Melissa Hofhine at 801-519-8515 for further details.

Parking Details:
Public Pay lots and metered street parking is available . We also offer Valet services from 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday.

Public Transit:
UTA trax stops just a few blocks from the restaurant. Get off at Gallivan Station ( 250 S. Main St.).

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonomini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill has played host to over 3,000 events since 1995; weddings, corporate events, private dinners, business meetings and working breakfasts. We can accommodate up to 300 guests. Please Call Melissa Hofhine 801-519-8515

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 4:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Locally owned and operated, Christopher's is the recipient of the prestigious "Best of State" award and the "Diners Choice" designation from OpenTable.com, with an "Excellent" rating from Zagat; Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill

Christopher's Prime Steak House & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (41)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Romantic (34)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (0)
Sort By:
S
1179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Service wasn't great. Slow to clean, fill water, etc. food was ok. Nothing great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

A great place though price is on the higher side but a great place if you have deep pockets and love steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great. I would expect to leave completely stuffed for $60/person but that wasn't the case.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went at 5 when no one was there yet, service started out ok until they saw that we had a Groupon, quickly turned into the Worst service EVER, after I showed my Groupon. Most tables received their food before us when we ordered and got there first. Our server nearly never came to check up on us, saw him 3 times total. We had empty drinks the entire meal, asked for refills and we never got any. Food FINALLY came, was on the cold side. Our server literally never came back. Anything we needed we had to get up and find somebody. We were there for over 2 hours and had to end up asking the hostess if she could find someone to bring us our check. The hostess felt bad and grabbed the manager on duty. My husband is so nice and never complains but he ended up telling the manager about our experience and all he said was sorry, he was also very uncaring about our service after finding out we used a Groupon. He didn't even look at us while apologizing, he just kept checking out the restaurant. He Didn't offer any discount, absolutely nothing. It was our first time there too. We told them it was my birthday, did NOTHING.! Horrible birthday experience. Still very expensive after Groupon, especially to be treated the way we were.
I might add, the reason why we chose that restaurant to try, is because we were looking for a nice and impressive place for my husband to bring potential hires while he interviewed them, somewhere impressive to bring the business men they fly in, since he just became the CTO of the company.
I still cannot Beleive they never even tried to fix our experience. Very disappointing.

Stacie llewelyn

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We really enjoyed this our first visit to Christopher's. The booths and tables were far enough apart that we felt nicely alone and the noise level was low. The food was all very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service and delicious food! Our waitress was super friendly and enthusiastic about everything on the menu. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome, as always!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We have eaten at Christophers on previous occasions where service and food were very good. This time it took literally two hours for the main course to be served and one steak was both cool and over salted when served. This may have been an aberrant occasion. The manager seemed concerned by removing the cost of one meal and offering a certificate for a future meal. Still, the evening was not pleasant and if such an experience ever occurred again we would never return and the follow-up review would be very harsh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Second time at this restaurant and the food and service was the best. We will be back and bring friends with us. Our server (Molisa) was wonderful from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The steaks were AWESOME. the service was also fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

anniversary dinner. amazing good, awesome service!! highly recommende, victor was the beat bartender EVER!! thank you sooo much!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is a favorite forspecial occasions! We love everything we have ordered here and the service is fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was unlike anything I had eaten before. I've never had a steak that was that clean and cooked to perfection. The waiter was so knowledgeable about the food and made the experience amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great food and great service, this local steakhouse has become a go to for my wife and I. The prices are a bit steep for just a casual meal but it's a good spot for any sort of special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very disappointed. Looked this restaurant up under seafood. They had shrimp cocktail! Not really what we had in mind. Steak was good, not what we were after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The only good food that we had was the filet mignon steak. It was great, cooked just right. Everything else was just mediocre - the mashed potatoes (parmesan) were very dry and the halibut was a bit on the dry side.

Service was rather poor, we had to keep asking them to fill our water glasses and they kept forgetting to bring us rolls. We were offered a freebie since the service was so poor, we chose the clam chowder soup which was pretty good.
With the service being so slow, it took us (two people) 2.5 hours to get our meal and leave!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We decided to have my birthday celebration there as it is always a sure value. Their fillet mignon Oscar style is excellent, and goes well with château Greysac.
Excellent service as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Christopher's did not disappoint . we have dined there many times, and had a variety of the Rib-Eye steaks. Very good chief, and it was also a very quiet pleasant dinning experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The Delmonaco rib eye was the melt-in-your-mouth kind of stuff-of-dreams steak. Seriously. The crisp exterior added an awesome contrast to the buttery inside. Truth be told, the bleu cheese I added didn't quite cut it for me; I like mettle from my mold (could have been stronger). The butternut squash ravioli was given a great depth with the acidic tomatoes. Overall, a great, even memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service. Elias, our server, was very knowledgeable in regards to the wine list and menu. The beef was flavorful and cooked correctly and to the doneness we requested. The family style sides were also good and served in generous portions. This was a great place to eat before attending the evening symphony down the street at Abravanel Hall. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love this restaurant. I have been twice and both times the food and service were amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My wife had just finished a very important test and I figured I would make reservations at a nice restaurant so that no matter how she did, the day wouldn't be a disaster if she failed.

When we go there we found parking to be a bit confusing and had to ask for help. One thing that we noticed right away is that there were many homeless people walking around so not a place I would recommend after the sun goes down especially because you have to pay for your parking in cash.

Right when we started ordering our food, right next to us was a party of about 30 people who were part of a religious group and it was a conference setting so one guy was talking really loud about religion and how they were going to conquer the people of Utah. I felt it very inappropriate.

We got in and sad down and ordered the special which includes about 4 different things. I got the following. Shrimp cocktail, New England Chowder, New York Strip, Baked Potato, and the berry cheese cake.

The shrimp was good but there were only two lonely shrimp for me to munch on.

The New England Chowder was my favorite but there was hardly any soup left! When they gave served it to me, the small cubes of potato were higher than the soup and that made me sad.

The New York Strip and the Potato were good but they weren't anything above and beyond.

The cheese cake was good as well but again it wasn't anything I would pay the price they have it set at.

In the end we spent a total of $135 and were disappointing in the end. Good food but not worth the extra money. I would have rather gone to Texas Road House for the food and the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We came here for my fiances birthday. She has a lot of dietary restrictions, but they were all taken care of by some fantastic service. She even said that she had the best steak that has ever tasted. It was a wonderful evening and I will definitely be visiting again. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We took our kids here for an evening out while on vacation, the restaurant and staff were very accommodating and interactive with them. They seated us at the top and told my son it was like a boat. The food was good, the service was better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Perfect night from beginning to end. Our server Ariel was amazing and the food was fantastic. Drinks, appetizers, entree, dessert. It was all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I am a steak fan. This place delivered in a major way. Everyone was personable and attentive. You really must give them a try.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent service and very delicious food. Pricey but so worth it. The have an early bird menu, great value, include salad, entree and dessert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Understaffed. I have never ordered an a la carte for $60 and had it served cold, yet overcooked. It takes a long time to get a condiment or a drink. My guest ordered the Crusted Halibut which was better than the steak. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everyone was friendly and attentive. Staff knows their jobs and do them well from the hostess to the bus boy. They create an "event" out of your dining experience. Not to mention the steak mediallions were the most tender I've ever tasted and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Prix Fix menu is a great value, the steak is always AMAZING!!! One tip, order your steak one level of done-ness above, if you like medium-rare, order medium. The appetizers are very good, along with the sides, salads and desserts. The seating is very comfortable, the wait staff are professionals and you NEVER feel rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Steak was amazing. Lobster was not, it was over cooked. Get the steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Loved our experience. And our service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was really good but seemed overpriced. The server was also very kind, however, the place was empty and it took forever for our food to come out and get our final bill. It's not that the food is not good here. It's the price and super slow service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Christopher's is our family's go to "old school" steak/prime rib restaurant for special occasions. The food is always amazing and its staff are always attentive and we can hear each other without having to raise our voices. We love Christopher's and have been going there since it opened in the 90s.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I had a good experience eating here. Pricy, but the food is tasty and the server was professional. Even though the restaurant was about to close, we were not rushed. That was good.

Now the negative. I was hoping to use a groupon, but I didn't meet the criteria, so I reserved a dinner here for another day. A day later, my reservation was canceled by the restaurant. I checked OpenTable again, the time slot I reserved was still available. The only explanation I can think of that they refuse to serve me, because they knew I'd be using a groupon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My husband took me there for our date night. The food was amazing and our waiter was great. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very good food. Menu variety excellent . Staff explained menu well. The only thing that could have been better is waiter noticing we were done and moving things on a little quicker.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I was here for a date with my boyfriend and everything within the restaurant met our ever expectation. The food was exceptional and the service was great. While this isn't a place we can go to frequently due to our budget, it will definitely be put onto the roster for our fancy nights out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Wonderful service, delectable entrees, sharable sides, delicious dessert. Ambiance was perfect for our romantic dinner but could easily work for any dining function.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Awesome service awesome steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.