Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (168)
Authentic (162)
Good for Anniversaries (99)
See All
Fun (92)
Good for a Date (91)
Local Ingredients (79)
Cozy (77)
Worth the Drive (74)
Romantic (70)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Casual (58)
Live Music (55)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Comfort Food (51)
Historic (50)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Groups (34)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
People Watching (19)
Seasonal (17)
Scenic View (15)
Great Beer (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Business Meals (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Family Style (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious, and we couldn't have asked for more from our server. She provided some wonderful recommendations, and was extremely attentive throughout our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Pleasant surroundings, tasty food, excellent service. Despite reading some reviews about the lack of flavor, especially in seafood dishes, we found the quality, quantity, and flavor of our meals (shrimp, scallops, flounder stuffed with spinach) very good. We were disappointed that there was no appearance by a singer or musician dressed in period clothing, as had been a feature in previous visits. Seems that entertainers had been at Campbell's earlier, then gone to the King's Arms. Odd that Williamsburg's managers did not have the entertainers return -- we ate at 7:30 which one would think of as "prime time." Since there are other good restaurants in town, ambience is important as a draw.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Sherry was so friendly and paced our meal perfectly. We were not rushed. She explained tying on the napkin and other colonial aspects of the meal. The special was rockfish topped with crabmeat. All four of us ordered it and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Fish House punch was delicious and sharing the punch in a bowl and pouring into syllabub glasses was fun. Our meal came with ice cream which was a perfect ending.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious. We enjoyed the fresh ingredients and atmosphere. The service was friendly and excellent. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Onion soup not good at all; broth tasted like gravy. Oysters excellent. Seafood very good. Spoon bread outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner at Christiana's - our 4th and final historic tavern in Williamsburg. Good food - the black walnut pie is a must! And the old Virginia spoon bread was a treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

A common complaint you may read about the various tavern food is it is lacking in quality. You will find no different at Christiana's; the food is really quite average. We started with the oysters rockefeller, which were probably the worst oysters rockefeller I have ever had. We also had the french onion soup, which also really was one of the worst french onion soups I have ever had - very bland. Our entrees were OK - we both had various seafood dishes, and they were fine, nothing special, but also not terrible. Dessert was tasty, it was simply a walnut pie with vanilla ice cream, and the coffee was tasty. Our server was very pleasant. As far as atmosphere goes - it was lacking, and that was primarily due to no live music. Live music used to be a common occurrence at all of the taverns. There was no music the night we attended, and as we understand it, CW has actually decreased the number of musicians it hires to play in the taverns - very disappointing news.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Delightful traditional tavern dining at Colonial Willaimsburg

Tags: Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Wonderful service with an above average meal for a tourist style location. The Tavern is about the theme and ambiance more than then food but the food delivered as well. The staff was friendly and entertaining for our children as well. Would recommend to any vacationing family who wants more than just another basic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

My wife and I had the Waterman's Special and greatly enjoyed the meal and ambiance. It was quite expensive and our server was overworked with too many tables but, otherwise, it was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Really fun. The food and drink were excellent, and we loved dining entirely by candlelight in a private nook on the second floor. It was a great way to cap the day at Colonial Williamsburg. Do yourself a favor and try the black walnut pie.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We love Campbell's, but are disappointed in two things. 1. No more live music....what a loss, the music and lessons we learned about music were invaluable. Maybe pipe in colonial period music would help the ambience?????
2. Everyone misses Mrs. Campbell, she was such an addition. The loss of her knowledge and her making our dining experience extraordinary cannot be replaced. We are extremely disappointed in the loss of these things, please at least consider bringing Mrs. Campbell back. We will be writing CWF to lodge our complaint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great seafood and vibe of the old world feel , great place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This restaurant is rather unique in that it's in the Historic Area of Colonial Williamsburg. As a reconstructed tavern that was actually there in the 18th century, they offer a number of menu items that are generally not available elsewhere, and that are authentic 18th century Virginia dishes. It's rather expensive, as compared with a lot of restaurants, but with it's bill of fare and the outstanding service and attention to detail (including homemade butter-!), it's worth the price, especially for a special occasion. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We chose Christina's tavern because it was a favorite of President Washington and now we know why. The food and service was outstanding. We all ordered seafood and loved it all. I would order the seafood Fricessie again with out reservation. The crab cakes were especially delicious. Portion size was more than we could eat. We will be back.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good food, great service, wonderful experience for our family of four.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We love the taverns at Williamsburg but the colonial "vibe" is waning. The food and service was very good but they have cut out the entertainment. Colonial Williamsburg is cutting costs all around but I think management (or more likely a consultant) has grossly underestimated the positive impact of period music and character interpretation on the overall dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

First day of vacation, I was determined to eat at the one Tavern I have yet to eat at...
The Salmon was DELICIOUS. The spoonbread, AMAZING. It is more than the other taverns,but the food was fantastic and a fine kickoff to my vacation here. Pooh was AMAZING ❤️👍🏻. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

A bit pricy for quality of food plus 11% tax. Really enjoyed Colonial character and service.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We came for our parents 50th anniversary and it was perfect! Great food, authentic colonial feel, good for adults and kids! Great staff and fun people too! Loved it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We've dined at Christiana Campbell's many times over the years, and have always found it to be a memorable experience. Recently we took our son and his family, and the service was great - very attentive to the children and we didn't have a long wait for our food. Always a pleasure to eat in one of the taverns in the restored area, and Campbell's is one of our favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We go to Christiana Campbell's for special occasions - because it is a little pricey. We have not been there for a few years, but we were pleased to see it hasn't changed. We were seated promptly, and our server was friendly. She checked on us periodically as we ate, which was nice. We love the food here - my husband had the stuffed flounder, and I love Mrs. Campbell's fried chicken. The spoon bread is SO good, too. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had not been for 10 years during a previous vacation, but it was everything we remembered.

Our server was awesome and did a great job of giving some flexibility in the menu and making it a great meal!

All of the CW taverns are a great experience but Christiana Campbells remains our favorite

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had heard how good everything was here. When we went, it was even better! The food was absolutely amazing. I had the fried chicken and it was the best I have had in years. And the spoon bread was fantastic! Our server, named Pooh, was great! We were lucky to have gotten her. She explained everything and was so pleasant and nice and made our dining experience a positive one for sure! When we are back in Williamsburg, we will definitely stop again!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent. My wife had the crab cakes and said they were some of the best ones she has ever had. I had the trout and enjoyed that very much. One reason we chose this tavern was the spoon bread and it was very good. The service was excellent. Our waiter was attentive, there when we needed him. He was informative and knew the menu in and out and made suggestions where appropriate. We enjoyed our visit very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We visited Christiana Campbell's Tavern for our first anniversary and returned for our 49th. The price may have changed but the service and quality were as we remembered … outstanding. A most memorable and enjoyable evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We have eaten At Campbell"s many times over the years and been very satisfied. On this boccasion the food was not up to Christina Campbell's standards. Service was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great anniversary dinner with exceptional service. Enjoyed the colonial period
atmosphere and the food surpassed our best expectations. Randy, our server, could not have been more attentive and pleasant. We appreciated the special anniversary wishes from the owner. I would highly recommend this gem of a restaurant in colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The waiter was great and the food is great. It was pricey but worth it. The whole family (2 kids and 2 adults) came out full and pleased.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very nice waitress and historical setting. Try the sweet potato muffins and spoon bread.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Seafood fricassee and fried chicken both awesome. Waiter had a great sense of humor and made the experience more enjoyable. Be sure to try a rummer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Mary was a great server, the food was delicious and service was speedy and courteous. Great seafood selection. Great mixed drinks. Awesome dessert and coffee. You won't be disappointed here, even though the entrees are somewhat costly it is worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Our family of six enjoyed our dinner here at the end of our Williamsburg vacation together. Our server was friendly and efficient. The food was excellent and appropriate for the tavern's time period. We liked the story of the tavern! Highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had a very enjoyable experience. Howard, our server, was charming, personable and provided great service. Food was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

the food and our server was excellent, the atmosphere made you feel you were in 1700 hundreds

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We used to live in Williamsburg, and dining in the taverns (Christiana Campbell's and the King's Arms) was reserved for special events. The food was always excellent, the service sublime, and the atmosphere really took you back in time. Yes, the prices were higher than you'd spend for a comparable meal at a "modern" restaurant, but it was worth it. Unfortunately, now the only thing that reminded us of the way it used to be were the high prices. The food was not great - my husband's crab cakes, which is their signature dish, were overcooked and bland; the accompanying spoon bread had a slight soapy taste, and the roasted vegetables were greasy and too tough to fork cut. Our server was pleasant and attentive, but she wore bright red lipstick and heavy eye liner which were distractions from her colonial garb and the overall atmosphere. There was no evening entertainment; I guess this has been cut to save money. We were struck by the general run-down appearance of the place, inside and out. We left feeling so sad for the changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our server was top notch. I can't remember her name, but I think it was Cheryl. She has worked at the Tavern for 29 years. She is in the top three best servers I have ever had the pleasure of being served by. This was just a great place to eat w/friends. By the time we let we felt like our server was a friend. Food is delicious and more than enough to eat. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

We really enjoyed this tavern! If it wasn't a five hour drive then we would go here for all of our special occasions! Tasha was our server and she was lovely! She took very good care of us and gave us some interesting information on the tavern and it's history. It's a unique dining experience and yes, it's pricey, but it's worth it. The spoon bread and sweet muffins were absolutely amazing! The fried chicken was the best I've ever had. Our daughter had noodles with butter and cheese and a side of applesauce off of the kids menu and she enjoyed it very much. We all can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food and service where very good. Quantity is a little more than I normally eat, but the plate was clean when I left. Seafood was properly prepared. The best recommendation is we will return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We visit Williamsburg often. Christiana Campbell's is my favorite of the taverns. The food is delicious and plentiful - I love the crab cakes and the spoon bread. The waiter/waitresses teach about customs and history of dining in Colonial Williamsburg and happily tie your napkin around your neck for you.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.