Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (90)
Special Occasion (58)
Authentic (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Worth the Drive (37)
Romantic (34)
Cozy (33)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (31)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Kid-friendly (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Live Music (22)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Family Style (11)
Fireplace (11)
Seasonal (10)
Scenic View (10)
People Watching (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined a day ago

Delicious food, great characters, learned a little history, everyone was super nice. Loved the authentic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

On time. Great menu. Wonderful entertainment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We graduated from college in this town and knew the restaurant is one of Colonial Williamsburg's historic ones.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was great. Good selection of GF food. Our waiter was outstanding!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Very mediocre food- quite disappointed. Appreciated the ambiance but just not a special occasion especially for the cost.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Our dinner experience was such fun. The food was delicious, the service was perfect, and the atmosphere was beyond compare. This was a wonderful way to spend time with a good, dear friend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner with friends at Christiana Campbell's Tavern in Williamsburg, Virginia. The waiter was great and had a fun personality. The troubador came over to sing "For He's a Jolly Good Fellow" for us which enhanced the evening. We had different entrees and all wer4e good, but we all agreed the best item on the menu was the black walnut pie. It is unbelievably delicious!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was disappointed in the crab cakes - they didn't seem to have much crab in them. The vegetables seemed to be the same for all dishes - squashes and carrots. The musical serenades were lovely, and our server was very nice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of the taverns in the historic area that has good seafood and is decorated to the period. Really like the spoon bread and the music. The staff is dressed in historic outfits and it gives you a taste of the period.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner with grade school grandchildren. Will return if in area and will recommend. Spoon bread and sweet potatoes muffins were excellent . Grilled shrimp and fried chicken very good. Grandchildren enjoyed their chicken tenders . Musician and tavern "owner" added to the atmosphere and entertainment .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience and worth repeating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great meal in an historic building with fantastic food and service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We try to get to Christiana's anytime we go to Colonial Williamsburg. It is our favorite historical restaurant. Try the crab cakes!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, People Watching, Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Pleasant evening. Took us on time. Servant very knowledgeable about the menu. Historic entertainment delightful (Mrs. Campbell and then wandering minstrel--each dressed in period clothing). Food ample and delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The ambience and history of this restaurant are very appealing and we enjoyed the theatrical interpretations of music and character of Mrs. Campbell and staff. A real candlelight dining experience really set the mood and helped to recreate how life would have been back in the 1800's. The menu selection was small but adequate unless you have food allergies or special dietary needs or requests. The waiter brought the Chef out to speak to our friend who Has such needs, he explained her options and they agreed on her dinner choice. When the meal was served our friends meal was entirely different than discussed. The Waiter asked the Chef to come and explain which didn't help since the rest of us already had our meals and she would have to either eat what she was served or wait and eat alone. The Chef should have come back out and given her options instead of deciding for her. She picked at her meal and was very dissatisfied and was still charged $35 for a meal that she didn't want or choose. Could have been handled much better by the Chef.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Enjoyable. The server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had Sherry for our server, for the second year in a row! She was very friendly and eager to please all of her customers. Our food was delicious, as usual, and the entertainment (fiddle) was great. We'll be back on our next visit! We've been coming to the tavern since the seventies - bring back the brunch. Love those pecan waffles.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Exceptional experience with excellent service, strolling musician and period actor portraying proprietor. The food was outstanding and it was a marvelous evening to celebrate our special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

While visiting Colonial Williamsburg my husband and our one daughter wanted to go here for the seafood. So we went on our twin daughters 8th birthday! The food was great, the service excellent, entertainment enjoyable. Would recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Christiana Campbell's is a tavern in Colonial Williamsburg. Dinner is an extension of the experience of being in a colonial period tavern. The food was quite good, service was excellent and the atmosphere was enjoyable.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food was delicious and it was like going back into colonial times. The entertainment was enjoyable. Great for family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Charming, historic site with good food and service. Entertaining listening to Christiana, and music of those days. Very good food and generous servings. Good crab cakes and trout and homemade muffins. Quiet nice dining with our 12 year granddaughter.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I really don't want to relive this terrible experience, but I do want to save others the same experience. Easter Sunday, a very special time on a beautiful Spring day all spoiled by a buffet that was simply lousy. There's no other word for it. All the entrees were served at room temperature and most were fish items. Cold fish. How nice. The vegetables were also cold and pretty tasteless, too. Only the chowder was hot, all the other "hot" items did not appear to have a heat source under them. The desserts were the high point. The total for two with no alcoholic drinks was $130 with tax and tip. The tip, I might add, was a hefty 20%, very high considering the diners were doing the fetching and carrying. At least they didn't assess it on the tax, too. The waitress was helpful and pleasant. If CC is doing a buffet routinely in the future, I would strongly suggest instead making a run down to any of the places on the Richmond Road where an excellent buffet is available and can be had for a reasonable price. Incidentally, we are locals and we had taken out of town guests to CC's within the past three weeks. It wasn't bad then. Times change.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took my son to this tavern for Easter brunch and it was amazing. There was a great variety of foods (and desserts!) and everything tasted really good. I especially loved their lemon curd in a pastry shell! Delicious. The brunch wasn't cheap but for the unique historic setting and wonderful spread, it was well worth it for such a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A fun place for dinner. Pleasantly surprised with the atmosphere, with the food pretty good. The Waterman's supper provided a variety of seafood choices, and the chocolate walnut pie included was tasty. I would recommend to friends who want to continue the colonial experience there.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great ambiance. Service was very good even though it was a busy Saturday night. Food was delicious,,and arrived in a timely fashion. Highly recommend if visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall, a great dining experience. Our waiter, Sherry, was very friendly and personable, and helped us with the menu items. Her service was prompt and courteous. The food was well prepared and served hot/cold, as appropriate. Will definitely dine here again when we return to Colonial Williamsburg!

Tags: Casual, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent service! Would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We really loved the fiddle music and the fact that an actor playing Ms. Campbell came to explain her history and her feelings about being a woman in the 18th century running a business. She was fabulous. Food was great too.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was a lovely evening - the fish was delicious - the staff was amazing and our server was the best. We really enjoyed our dinner and the server even gave us a history lesson on the Inn! Would definitely return to this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our family has a great time. The food was delicious, the service (Howard) outstanding and the reenactors were very good. One of the highlights of our vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was great! The atmosphere of the place is what knocks it out of the park! A real colonial style tavern environment with live music to boot! We will be going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service was excellent with a lot of history to the location

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our server was great! She was very sweet and attentive

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent ambiance. Great Colonial feel and authentic Colonial food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This place is wonderful for a period dining experience. Ask for Pooh for your waitress, she is the Best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

What a great experience! The food was delicious. Our waiter was fabulous!! The music was amazing! What a GREAT evening - my 6 year old grand-daughter ended up dancing on the porch!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We wanted to add to our Colonial Williamsburg experience.... and we did, but was not at all what we expected, except for our wonderful hostess and the athmosphere. As far as the food, average and unfortunately extremely pricey. It was a "been there, done that" type of experience.... will not return unless the food selection/quality improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had an excellent dinner at Christiana Campbell's tavern. The service and ambiance were wonderful as there was a skit type event where the tavern keeper came and explained the history behind the tavern (back to 18th century). Additionally there was music by the staff. The meal was above average but the overall ambience made this a great dinner. Would recommend visiting after dark as the tavern is candlelit in an effort at replicating the original feel of the tavern.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Live Music, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great colonial atmosphere! Our waiter was kind and patient and had a great sense of humor. Loved the wandering entertainment! Food was very good ! They are organized with seating and food came in a very timely manner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Fireplace, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.