About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
2 More
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg

special occasion (246)
romantic (117)
neighborhood gem (71)
See All
kid-friendly (69)
fit for foodies (65)
good for groups (61)
scenic view (45)
great for lunch (22)
notable wine list (14)
hot spot (10)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I were celebrating her birth ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating her birthday. Over a span of 25+ years we have visited Colonial Williamsburg, we have eaten at all the taverns and have eaten at Christiana Campbell's at least 5 times. On this visit, the food was horrible. My wife and I had the rainbow trout stuffed with crabmeat and mixed vegetables. The trout was NOT tasty and the crabmeat was NOT fresh. It was quite obvious to us the cooked vegetables came from the grocer's freezer. We did enjoy our bottle of Riesling!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Food and service was excellent. The wait ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food and service was excellent. The wait time was reasonable, and the scenery was very nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Christiana Cambell's for my b ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went to Christiana Cambell's for my birthday dinner. The food was wonderful and the service superb. My husband isn't a fan of vegetables, which is often a problem at historic restaurants, but he got the cod and was very satisfied. I had the seafood fricasse, which was one of the best entrees I've ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our visit to Christiana ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We always enjoy our visit to Christiana Campbell's! The food is excellent; and the ambiance cannot be beat! It is our favorite of the taverns.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family was visiting Colonial William ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our family was visiting Colonial Williamsburg and wanted to have dinner with the historical interpreters contributing to the ambiance. Our daughter-in-law has not been in this country very long so she particularly found this experience interesting. Our waiter was amazing, and the shrimp fricassee was excellent! Everyone enjoyed the spoon bread.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were in Williamsburg for vacation. W ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were in Williamsburg for vacation. We wanted to experience what taverns might have been like and sample tavern fare. We went in with the understanding that the food might not be great but the atmosphere was. The building is very nice and the staff looked like they were 18th century people. Our server wasn't very charming. Not rude in any way, just not "into" a character. In fact, we wondered if the restaurant was understaffed that day and needed help waiting tables so they asked someone from the kitchen to lend a hand. Again, a pleasant person, just not in character. The food itself was good. It was expensive but we knew that going in. My wife ordered crab cakes. I was looking forward to eating crab cakes while on the east coast and sampled hers. Not what I expected at all. I did not enjoy the taste and didn't try another one the entire trip up the coast to Boston. My dish was the combination of shrimp, lobster, scallops with pasta. It was good. Overall, a good experience, but really not awesome. I'd try another tavern or restaurant before going back to Christiana Campbell's Tavern and I would not recommend it.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very touristy so if that is what you are ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very touristy so if that is what you are looking for, go for it.

We found it very noisy. There were lots of families so don't go for a romantic night. There was a cute little historic presentation. Food was good but not worthy of price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Always a treat to eat at Christina Campb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always a treat to eat at Christina Campbell's. Possibly the best at Colonial Williamsburg. The soup, muffins and Sally Lund bread are always great. This time I got the fried chicken instead of seafood which is usually excellent and wasn't disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food educational discussion an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food educational discussion and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful historic atmosphere with candl ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful historic atmosphere with candlelight and costumed servers. Very entertaining as well with music and the short welcome from Mrs Campbell herself. She highlighted facts about women business owners and women in general in the 18th century and had excellent interaction with the diners in the room. Brush up on your history to answer her questions! Seafood was very good and love the sweet potato muffins.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There is no place like Christiana Campbe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

There is no place like Christiana Campbell's Tavern. When in Colonial Williamsburg it is a must stop but make sure you have reservation. Food is delicious and atmosphere is conducive to the Williamsburg experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the shrimp fricassee and it was de ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had the shrimp fricassee and it was delicious. My husband had crab cakes and his were a little off on spice. The pumpkin muffins were out of this world and the butter was great too. The ambience and wait staff was also friendly and helpful. We loved the historic aspect of having the lady who portrays Christiana herself come around and tell us of the history of the location. The apple cider was also a great touch to my fantastic meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The place was great. They treated us lik ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The place was great. They treated us like family. Will definitely go there again

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit in six months, the firs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our second visit in six months, the first was better. Our first visit was October 30th at about the same time of day. The big difference between then and July 15th was the ambiance. October was sweater weather as opposed to July's sweat weather (it was 92 degrees). October provided a night sky, July a bright daylight, the romantic aspect, dining by candlelight, was not quite the same, but all else was. We will go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in the basement which was a quie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were in the basement which was a quiet and romantic setting

Wait staff was very attentive and knowledgeable

Food was good but a bit overpriced $7.95 is a lot for a cup of soup and $33 is a lot for a fried chicken dinner

I had Mahi Mahi for $38 about 30% more than it should be priced

Some pricing adjustments would probably lead to more drinks and desserts which ultimately may lead to more overall spending by party

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

In our opinion, the food at Christiana C ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

In our opinion, the food at Christiana Campbells is of average quality and poorly prepared. It does not begin to support the $35 price charged for the "special". The oyster salad lacked flavor and the oysters seemed to have been from packaged frozen stock, rather than fresh. The Mahi Mahi special with "lobster and crab" topping was presented with a few Lobster Claw sheds and no visible crab. The accompanying white sauce was so salty it was not edible. The fish seemed alright, but was so ruined by the preparation that it was hard to enjoy. The Rum Crème Pie had a good filling, though clearly 'store bought', and it's crust was the consistency, appearance and taste of white cardboard. The manager, who never came to the table, comped one meal and offered dessert for free. Our opinion: This is a tourist trap, with little attention to the food served. Making money is the objective here. Williamsburg has some wonderful restaurants. It appears that the "restored area" taverns may no longer be a good dining choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

5:00 reservation. about 7 tables in the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

5:00 reservation. about 7 tables in the same room seated at once for 2 servers, while an adjacent room with two unoccupied servers was empty for more than half an hour. My salmon was over cooked. The veggies appeared to have been frozen and then steamed to serve.

Nice waitress with good sense of humor. The next day I went to Fat Tuna, it was superb, fresh, properly cooked at half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

What a fabulous experience! We absolute ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

What a fabulous experience! We absolutely loved our visit from start to finish. The atmosphere was amazing, staff was delightful, and most importantly - the food delicious!! A must if you are visiting historic Williamsburg!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chrisitiana Campbell's is a great place ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Chrisitiana Campbell's is a great place to have a unique historical look at dining in the colonial days. The people are knowledgeable and willing to answer questions and the period actors are great. The food is as genuine as our modern food 'laws' allow and I have never had a bad meal there. I highly recommend the restaurant to anyone who wants a unique experience. It is a little pricey but well worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good Food was good and the atmosph ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very good

Food was good and the atmosphere was great

A little costly

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a wonderful Tavern Experience. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was a wonderful Tavern Experience. The waiter spoke in character, Christiana Campbell came to visit, and a strolling musician serenaded us as we are by candlelight. This was a great place for an anniversary dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Charming decor, great food excellent cha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Charming decor, great food excellent characters throughout.

We arrived very early and were seated quickly. enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have always eaten at Christiana Campb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We have always eaten at Christiana Campbell's restaurant when in Williamsburg, So,it was a certain decision we knew we wanted to make to celebrate our 42nd anniversary on our vacation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent "period" restaurant. Excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent "period" restaurant. Excellent server who provided a glimpse into the history of the restaurant...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and consistent wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was excellent and consistent with the theme of Colonial Williamsburg. Our server, who went by "Pooh" was very attentive, engaging and delightful to interact with. The service was not too slow or not too fast, just right.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent night!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Ambiance and service were great, quality ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ambiance and service were great, quality of food was good, but not in line with the price.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Kept with the atmosphere of Colonial W ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Kept with the atmosphere of Colonial Williamsburg and all servers were acted and were well versed in the 1700s including the woman playing C. Campbell. Also a fiddler played from time to time. All in all a great experience of colonial times.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I live tavern dining in Williamsburg and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I live tavern dining in Williamsburg and Christina Campbell's has the absolute best food. Great ambiance and staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have always loved this restaurant. We r ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Have always loved this restaurant. We received excellent service, food was delicious and

their sweet potato muffins and spoon bread are to die for!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ate here twice in the same week. Firs ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We ate here twice in the same week. First time, the food was quite good and the service fantastic. Second time, the food was still good but the service left a bit to be desired. This restaurant is more about experience than anything else and without that, it's over priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Randy gave us outstanding service. The m ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Randy gave us outstanding service. The menu was heavy on shrimp dishes. I had the Mahi mahi and it was very good. I love corn pudding and was able to get that instead of potatoes.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

If traveling to Colonial Williamsburg, C ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

If traveling to Colonial Williamsburg, Christiana Campbell's is a must. From the realistic setting to the traditional food and the authentic entertainment, the tavern does not disappoint. We had a lovely time. Don't miss the rum cream pie!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Christina Campbell's during a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We ate at Christina Campbell's during a family vacation to Colonial Williamsburg. A great experience, but keep in mind you are paying for the uniqueness of the experience and the entertainment during dinner in addition to the food. Food was very good and service very attentive. Very similar to King's Arms experience. Might opt to do one or the other instead of both another time.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The staff was friendly and courteous. G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The staff was friendly and courteous.

Good food and excellent ambiance.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was terrible - fish & shrimp dr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was terrible - fish & shrimp dry & overdone, vegetables cold and underdone, wilted spinach tough and sour. Ham rancid.

And so expensive for this garbage. No water or ice tea refills. Too bad because the place was nice in a vintage sort of way and the wait staff entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Great way to enhance your experience at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great way to enhance your experience at colonial Williamsburg. Food and service were excellent. Dining with a colonial ambience. Friendly, fun, and cozy.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab cakes were one-note & fishy smellin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Crab cakes were one-note & fishy smelling--no one really likes spoon-bread, do they? Certainly not worth the $100+ for three entrees. Service was great and in-house ale was nothing to write home about, but hit the spot on a hot July afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My food was barely warm. My husbands bee ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My food was barely warm. My husbands beer was flat. Our waitress wasn't very agreeable and ignored us. I've been visiting Williamsburg for 30 years and this was the worst dinner we have ever had at one of the taverns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Dining at the Christiana Campbell Taver ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Dining at the Christiana Campbell Tavern was a memorable treat on my Williamsburg vacation. Reservations are needed for this experience, which included food made with 18th century recipes, and candle light. The interpreters are outstanding at dressing and acting the parts of colonial waitress, musician, and tavern-owner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.