Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (93)
Authentic (60)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Cozy (41)
Romantic (36)
Good for a Date (36)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fun (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Casual (23)
Seasonal (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Fireplace (12)
Live Music (11)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyable evening. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was fitting to the historic setting. I would definately recommend it for a special night out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

90 percent of dinning room had finished their dinner when we were seated, therefore we were served our dinner while staff cleaned other tables. Not a good atmosphere. Our reservation was for 5:45 and were were on time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Authentic cuisine in a great historic site. We will definitely go back when we return to Williamsburg. Great service!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

We absolutely love dining at Christiana Campbell's while visiting Williamsburg. Every trip, we book a reservation. The food delights, the entertainment is enjoyable and we leave looking forward to our next visit. Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

My family had a really nice experience at Christiana Campbell's Tavern. It was a little pricey, as are all the colonial taverns that are part of colonial Williamsburg, but you are paying for the ambiance and experience. It met our expectations, and my two little boys have mentioned that it was their favorite part of our two day trip there; For some reason they loved the bathrooms down in the cellar lol! Our server was really great, too, and a guitarist walked around to each table. Fun time!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, a nice colonial athmosphere and tasty dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wow. An amazing experience! We were a group of 7 (including children) and had a fantastic meal Circa 1780 and learned quite a bit of history.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 15, 2017

It was our first time there and it was absolutely delicious. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely go again!

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Delicious food, wait staff stay in character of the Revolutionary period, violinist provided entertainment. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is our nth time to Christiana Campbell's and we have to say-- out of all the authentic colonial restaurants in Williamsburg, this and Shield's takes the cake by far. We had a wonderful server named "Pooh" who was such a delight. I dropped three family heirloom rings at the table and she was able to find one of them (I got the other two)!! Wonderful. The Crab Cakes are the specialty at this place and they won't disappoint. While the food is not as good as it has been in the past, it was still pretty darn good (especially compared to the slop at King's Arms lol!). Mrs. Campbell made the rounds at the tables and entertained us to no end. Funny woman and a great actress! This all being said, CC is a great place to go for a nice seafood dinner. Washington dined her more than ninety-times too!

Tags: Live Music, Historic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We have been to Christiana Campbell's several times - always tasty and entertaining, if expensive. This time was different, perhaps because it was the first night open after the winter hiatus. The waitress was excellent, but ....The Manhattan clam chowder turned out to be New England clam chowder. The onion soup was good. The signature spoon bread was barely warm and was undercooked inside. Butter just sat on top and did not melt. They might need to return to the prior method of cooking the spoon bread in cast iron skillets. I saw another waitress holding the spoonbread casserole without any potholder or cloth, surely a hint that the dish was not sufficiently hot. Both entrees were barely warm; not desirable at all for crab cakes and other seafood. All were sent back to be warmed up but came out tepid a second time. Re: atmosphere, the violinist stood at the entry to the room and made no attempt to engage the guests. Christiana Campbell did not come to our dining room at all. Most unusual; usually there is some connection with the costumed staff. Overall, really a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been here several times to celebrate our anniversary, and will undoubtably return for another.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Christiana interpreter was entertaining, but would have liked more info on tavern life and her life

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent place to go too. A must to try would eat there again like we have in the past

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The historic ambience was authentic, the service superb, and the food scrumptious!

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went for the spectacle, not the food. But the food was just too mediocre for the prices (entrees $30 and up) and the spectacle was disappointing. We had one strolling, period guitarist stop by the table for a couple of minutes. Not worth it, sorry to say, but if it's your first time in Williamsburg, fine to try one of the historic restaurants. Just lower your expectations and understand there will be price gouging.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Family vacation looking for authentic experience.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was awesome from the greeting at the door to the farewell when we left. Our server Sharonda was great! The food was cold and not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Server was awesome. Food good, sweet potato muffins - awesome!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service and food were fantastic. I ordered the water and plate. Best fried chicken that I've eaten in a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Nice historic atmosphere with actors and live music. Their specialty is seafood, and since I have an allergy, I had the steak which was mediocre. However, I did enjoy the local beer and colonial spoon bread. Overall, a fun treat for evening dining while visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is our favorite Christmas Eve restaurant. We have been there at least 8 years and love it every year....very special

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve. The cod was ok as was the fried chicken. Crab cakes were better. For the price, we expected better food. The music and Christiana's dramatic presentation was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As always WONDERFUL, DELICIOUS,TERRIFIC! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Live Music, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful, and was highlighted by our server, Harold (?) who has been there for 30 years, he told us-just great. Just wish it was a bit less expensive!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. We loved it. Came here on the 23 of December and it was the perfect combination of festive and romantic. Because of the closeness to christmas it was very busy and the original table they sat us was next to a large noisy party of 10. I asked if they could possibly move us to somewhere quieter and they accommodated us immediately. I can't say enough about the service and staff and the food was beyond our expectations. Thank you for a wonderful memory!

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food, great service, and a wonderful, educational experience. The colonial Williamsburg taverns are not to be missed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything AWESOME !!!!!!! No need to waste time with words...

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

You go for the history and the actors portraying colonial characters. Do not go for the food. To be fair, the restaurant is slammed with diners. Mostly tourists. Try the spicy chowder.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We ordered the rock fish special which had probably been prepared ahead of time and was somewhat dry, not up to their usual standards. On a scale of 1 to 10 their food is usually a 12, this time I would rate it an 8. Good, but I wish we had chosen something from the menu.
The occasion was my wife's Christmas present. We live almost 2 hrs away so coming here is always a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

very nice did not rush you staff was attentive food was great fresh good size pa-portions nice relaxing atmosphere

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing and magical evening!! Food and ambiance were exceptional.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We are in Williamsburg for Christmas and always enjoy eating at the taverns, and like to go to Christiana Campbell's. I like the fried chicken which I ordered the other night and it was delicious. My husband and our friend both had seafood and enjoyed it too. One thing I always forget is that this tavern is very noisy for some reason - to the point of having a hard time with dinner conversation. Oh well, we still had fun anyway!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We love the atmosphere of this colonial tavern, just around the corner form the Williamsburg Colonial Capitol. Food is excellent, service is personal and friendly, comes with Colonial entertainment and is a must do every time we are in Williamsburg.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went here with large family group. Ambience was lovely. You felt like you went back in time. Staff very courteous, friendly, helpful. Server was excellent. Wish I could say the same for the food. While the portion size (plates) were large, the food was just okay. Had heard the crab cakes were outstanding; I've had better. The cod was gamey and the veggies were luke warm.
Best tasting thing was the warm nut muffins.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good food and a great experience. The staff was attentive. The period entertainment was well done. They played music and spoke to us giving us an historical perspective on the music.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent service, historically authentic, great food.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This has been our "special occasion restaurant" for years. This year it was a huge disappointment. We talked all day about the great meals that we've had there, and this year is was just okay. My husband had the seafood fricassee and I had the crab cakes. Both were just bland. Still love the ambiance, but not worth the price now.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was outstanding, food was great, the ambiance was special, and it was worth the journey from Green Bay to Williamsburg to have the opportunity to dine at Christiana Campbell's Taveran.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our server,Pooh, was very attentive and friendly. Our meal was delicious .

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.