About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (122)
Authentic (81)
Special Occasion (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for a Date (48)
Romantic (48)
Cozy (46)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Fun (38)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Casual (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Seasonal (22)
Comfort Food (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Live Music (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Fireplace (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Family Style (7)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been here several times to celebrate our anniversary, and will undoubtably return for another.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Christiana interpreter was entertaining, but would have liked more info on tavern life and her life

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent place to go too. A must to try would eat there again like we have in the past

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The historic ambience was authentic, the service superb, and the food scrumptious!

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went for the spectacle, not the food. But the food was just too mediocre for the prices (entrees $30 and up) and the spectacle was disappointing. We had one strolling, period guitarist stop by the table for a couple of minutes. Not worth it, sorry to say, but if it's your first time in Williamsburg, fine to try one of the historic restaurants. Just lower your expectations and understand there will be price gouging.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Family vacation looking for authentic experience.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was awesome from the greeting at the door to the farewell when we left. Our server Sharonda was great! The food was cold and not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Server was awesome. Food good, sweet potato muffins - awesome!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service and food were fantastic. I ordered the water and plate. Best fried chicken that I've eaten in a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Nice historic atmosphere with actors and live music. Their specialty is seafood, and since I have an allergy, I had the steak which was mediocre. However, I did enjoy the local beer and colonial spoon bread. Overall, a fun treat for evening dining while visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is our favorite Christmas Eve restaurant. We have been there at least 8 years and love it every year....very special

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve. The cod was ok as was the fried chicken. Crab cakes were better. For the price, we expected better food. The music and Christiana's dramatic presentation was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

As always WONDERFUL, DELICIOUS,TERRIFIC! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Live Music, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful, and was highlighted by our server, Harold (?) who has been there for 30 years, he told us-just great. Just wish it was a bit less expensive!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. We loved it. Came here on the 23 of December and it was the perfect combination of festive and romantic. Because of the closeness to christmas it was very busy and the original table they sat us was next to a large noisy party of 10. I asked if they could possibly move us to somewhere quieter and they accommodated us immediately. I can't say enough about the service and staff and the food was beyond our expectations. Thank you for a wonderful memory!

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food, great service, and a wonderful, educational experience. The colonial Williamsburg taverns are not to be missed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything AWESOME !!!!!!! No need to waste time with words...

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

You go for the history and the actors portraying colonial characters. Do not go for the food. To be fair, the restaurant is slammed with diners. Mostly tourists. Try the spicy chowder.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

We ordered the rock fish special which had probably been prepared ahead of time and was somewhat dry, not up to their usual standards. On a scale of 1 to 10 their food is usually a 12, this time I would rate it an 8. Good, but I wish we had chosen something from the menu.

The occasion was my wife's Christmas present. We live almost 2 hrs away so coming here is always a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

very nice did not rush you staff was attentive food was great fresh good size pa-portions nice relaxing atmosphere

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing and magical evening!! Food and ambiance were exceptional.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

We are in Williamsburg for Christmas and always enjoy eating at the taverns, and like to go to Christiana Campbell's. I like the fried chicken which I ordered the other night and it was delicious. My husband and our friend both had seafood and enjoyed it too. One thing I always forget is that this tavern is very noisy for some reason - to the point of having a hard time with dinner conversation. Oh well, we still had fun anyway!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

We love the atmosphere of this colonial tavern, just around the corner form the Williamsburg Colonial Capitol. Food is excellent, service is personal and friendly, comes with Colonial entertainment and is a must do every time we are in Williamsburg.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went here with large family group. Ambience was lovely. You felt like you went back in time. Staff very courteous, friendly, helpful. Server was excellent. Wish I could say the same for the food. While the portion size (plates) were large, the food was just okay. Had heard the crab cakes were outstanding; I've had better. The cod was gamey and the veggies were luke warm.

Best tasting thing was the warm nut muffins.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good food and a great experience. The staff was attentive. The period entertainment was well done. They played music and spoke to us giving us an historical perspective on the music.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent service, historically authentic, great food.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

This has been our "special occasion restaurant" for years. This year it was a huge disappointment. We talked all day about the great meals that we've had there, and this year is was just okay. My husband had the seafood fricassee and I had the crab cakes. Both were just bland. Still love the ambiance, but not worth the price now.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was outstanding, food was great, the ambiance was special, and it was worth the journey from Green Bay to Williamsburg to have the opportunity to dine at Christiana Campbell's Taveran.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our server,Pooh, was very attentive and friendly. Our meal was delicious .

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Exceptional dinner, service. Enjoy every year we come here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our 30th Wedding Anniversary (engaged in Williamsburg!) - a special evening, made even more special at Christiana Campbell's Tavern. A romantic table for two with the love of my life. A personalized 30th anniversary card from Christiana herself. We had a magical day and simply love Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food, service, ambience and overall wonderful experience.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

A very special family tradition of visiting CW during the holidays that had been thwarted for a number of years finally was over as we had a most enjoyable visit on Dec 20th. We chose to dine at Christiana Campbell's Tavern due to our love of seafood.

Not only was our meal delicious our server had a delightful humor and much to our surprise we had a visit from Christiana Campbell herself. We had never had the pleasure of a first person interpreter while dining at a tavern. Obviously many changes have taken place at CW.

We were especially pleased that in Christiana's conversation with us all, were many references to the day that is celebrated as the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ. Finding it very refreshing in today's gagging atmosphere of political correctness. After all Christianity is the correct history of Colonial Williamsburg.

Words cannot express our gratitude for your allowing this interpreter to speak freely of the Christmas celebration.

Sincerely,

Sarah Virginia S

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Family Style, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

The fish was old and smelly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was our second time dining at this tavern. I love their seafood fricassee, mini muffins, fresh bread and spoon bread. This time I ordered crab cakes and they were good, too. Steamed vegetables were a little crude but perhaps, this is how this dish was served in the 18th century. My husband, however, was less than impressed with the Water-man dinner of chicken with no seafood in it. We loved the live music and the ambiance. Will come again.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Neither my husband nor I were thrilled with our food. I ordered fish and fish is not suppose to be very fishy tasting I have been told if it is fresh and my food was terribly fishy tasting. I would not order that again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a special place for me to go, whether it be an anniversary or Christmastime dinner with a friend. Williamsburg is such a beautiful place, especially during the holidays. After strolling Duke of Gloucester street and admiring the gorgeous natural door decorations, we always highlight the evening with a wonderful meal at Campbell's Tavern. We love the historic Christmas spirit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were seated in the basement - which turned out to be a gem. We had one of six private booths. The cellar area had character. Our server made it a very pleasant evening. The soup was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had a very nice meal and evening at Christina Campbell's this past week. The only complaint is that we arrived about 20 minutes early and it was very windy and cold outside. They had not waiting area inside the restaurant. Thus we had to go back to our parked car, which was not close to the restaurant to keep warm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was delicious, "Christiana" was delightful, and our waiter, Howard, was very personable.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Seafood place but has some of the best fried chicken I have ever had. My husband had the rockfish which was the feature and it came with shrimp and lobster on top and he said it was the best dinner he had at this location. It was a little loud in the room due to acoustics and a baby crying. Other than that it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

This historic restaurant serves outstanding food in a romantic candlelit setting. Servers are in period clothing and a roving musician played the recorder and guitar. Lovely, relaxed atmosphere to be savored for a special night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food is always of excellent quality, along with the Colonial period atmosphere. This time we were treated to a 15 minute visit from "the owner" Christiana Campbell (the person dressed up to play her character), which was a special treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Our server was outstanding. The food was delicious. I ever visit Colonial Williamsburg without eating at this tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Whenever we visit Williamsburg Christiana Campbell's is a must on our to do list.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

The server Howard, to away some the Historic value, No napkin drape, whichg was the main reason I bought special friends to see, food was great as always.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

great food, great service, entertainment was fun and educational

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Awesome experience as always. Candlelight dining in historic tavern. Mrs. Campbell even showed up and gave the diners her story and a few others as well.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

The service was great. Christiana Campbell talked to the diners about her tavern ( very nice ). Food was not hot and other people asked to have their dinner reheated as it was cold.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Christiana Campbell's is my favorite restaurant in Colonial Williamsburg. It is an 18th century tavern that specializes in seafood. You dine by candlelight, and the servers are in costume. It is a little pricey but it is worth it. The crab cakes are delicious and so is the spoon bread!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.