About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
2 More
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg

Special Occasion (247)
Romantic (126)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
See All
Kid-friendly (76)
Good for Groups (67)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Scenic View (41)
Great for Lunch (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our experience was wonderful! Great f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our experience was wonderful! Great food, excellent service, quiet, cool room. The live music was just beautiful! The role played by "Ms. Campbell" was great! Fun night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Chritiana Campbell's many ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've been to Chritiana Campbell's many times over thirty years, and it is consistently good. Love the atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christiana Campbell's is one of the tave ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Christiana Campbell's is one of the taverns within the restored historic area of Williamsburg, VA. It specializes in seafood, but has a beef option as well on its fairly limited menu. The ambiance is wonderful, with strolling colonial period musicians serenading the tables, and interpreters in period attire addressing the diners about the history of the tavern, etc. The food (I had Shrimp Randolph and my wife had crab cakes) was delicious and artfully prepared and presented, and the whole dinner was the perfect place to dine during our 45th wedding anniversary weekend (for which we were even singled out by Mrs. Campbell herself!). I highly recommend it for that special occasion, or for a pleasant ending to a day exploring Colonial Williamsburg!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not only was the food spectacular, but o ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not only was the food spectacular, but our waitress, "Pooh" was engaging and fun. Our out of town guest loved the entire experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Would be five star if food wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent. Would be five star if food was better! Good was ok - the experience was terrific.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD AND SERVICE WERE MEDIOCRE AND PRICE ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

FOOD AND SERVICE WERE MEDIOCRE AND PRICES EXTREMELY HIGH!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was great except the air cond ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything was great except the air conditioning could have been better on a sweltering hot day

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

In all, a very nice experience in CW. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

In all, a very nice experience in CW. The rolls and spoon bread especially good. Tavern Oyster "Salet" not very good, but shrimp and clam stew was excellent. Seafood Fricassee was recommended by server and was enjoyable. In general, though, too much food! Our service was fine; however, another couple in our room experienced slow service, especially getting a cocktail order filled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waitress "Pooh" was absolutely fanta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our waitress "Pooh" was absolutely fantastic!!! And the character interpreter Molly Campbell was a wonderful diversion along with some period music. My husband enjoyed crab cakes and I had the complete dinner with fried chicken. Ice cream is fantastic at all the Taverns. Try the chocolate!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great service.Great food.we had an aweso ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service.Great food.we had an awesome time celebrating the wife's birthday. The waiter was friendly,knowledgeable,and a positive addition to our step back in time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second time at Chistianas an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is our second time at Chistianas and we love it, their food is good and the service is great, very authentic southern hospitality from the time of the colonies.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was amazing. Our s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service and food was amazing. Our server was Pooh and she was great. I would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Christiana Campbell's ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have dined at Christiana Campbell's Tavern often over the past 18 years. We have always enjoyed the experience. The menu has changed quite often over the past 5-6 years. The menu now has a limited choices. Also, the quality is not as good as it was in years past. Items that were included with dinner are no longer included. We realize that chefs leave and turnover is normal, but with the name Colonial Williamsburg and the high cost of the meal, selection of a new chef should always be of utmost importance. We enjoyed our 53rd Anniversary at Christiana Campbells ( as we have enjoyed many of our past Anniversaries ) due to the ambiance not due to the food. We are not sure if we want to drive from Amelia Court House, VA to Williamsburg and endure all the traffic on Rt. 64 to have a meal that is not up to the high standards that we expect. Management should always keep in mind that people from all over the country and foreign countries come the "taverns" of Colonial Williamsburg and take that impression with them. Word of mouth is the best advertising.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great colonial tavern. Fabulous dining e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great colonial tavern. Fabulous dining experience. We were on the back enclosed porch and the noise level was uncomfortable. Hard to here the strolling musicians and conversation at your table. Loved the staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our food was good, but the prices were h ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our food was good, but the prices were high. We were also tucked in a corner and felt away from everything. Part of the reason why we went here was for the colonial feel, and that is why we spent more money on dinner. However, b/c we were tucked away we really didn't get the overall experience that we paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Love, love, love Christiana Campbell's T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Love, love, love Christiana Campbell's Tavern and the woman herself! We have been here many times and it never disappoints! The sweet potato muffins, the spoon bread, the crab cakes are all outstanding! We particularly like when Mrs C comes in and talks to the room. Will definitely be returning on our next trip to Williamsburg!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A must when in WIlliamsburg! Food was gr ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

A must when in WIlliamsburg! Food was great, and the colonial drink menu holds a few amazing beverages. Clara, our server, was phenomenal :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate dinner here as a family of four as p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Ate dinner here as a family of four as part of our vacation to the Williamsburg area. The look and ambiance of the restaurant are spot on for colonial Williamsburg but the food and service are lacking. We had to ask for kids' menus for our 5 and 8-year olds after being seated with four adult menus. Thought it should be pretty obvious our kids wouldn't be ordering from a menu where entrees average $30. I got the seafood fricasee and my wife got the salmon special. The fricasee was decent but definitely not worth the $38 price. My wife could not even finish her salmon it was so overcooked. I had to add it to my fricasee to give it some much needed sauce. My daughter asked why her kid's steak was 'gray'. It was because it was a poorly prepared and tasteless cut that had been overcooked in an oven. On the plus side, the ice cream was decent. While it's cool that George Washington may have eaten here, we wish we had chosen to go to another restaurant for our colonial Williamsburg experience. Suggest checking out one of the several other spots on Duke of Gloucester street.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

As one of the four taverns serving meals ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

As one of the four taverns serving meals at Colonial Williamsburg, Christiana Campbell's Tavern proved to be one of the best. The food was good, the service was excellent, and the colonial atmosphere was superb. While they are known for their seafood, I had the fried chicken dinner, and was glad I did - it was the best chicken I've had in many years. And their spoon bread dish was also unique and tasty. I was surprised that the menu section labelled "Ales and Ciders" actually had no ciders available, so I tried their featured rum drink instead and found it an acceptable alternative. Three different character actors provided entertainment during the meal - the "owner", Mrs. Campbell, provided a short lecture on the roles available to women in the 1700's, a musician regaled us on harp and guitar, and a young guy came around, mostly entertaining the children with a variety of tales. I was having a birthday that day, and was presented with a card from Mrs. Campbell, and a rendition of 'For He's a Jolly Good Fellow' by the musician. For a special occasion, I think Christiana Campbell's Tavern is well worth the price they charge. It was certainly the most memorable meal I had during my recent vacation in Virginia.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

e atmosphee and the food was very good.t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

e atmosphee and the food was very good.the evening in theme with the Williamsburg area.The waiters and entertainment made for a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really wanted to LOVE this tavern. We ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We really wanted to LOVE this tavern. We have been to another tavern in town also that we lived. We ended up being disappointed in the quality of the food. Wait staff seemed tired but polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent and superb service. Also very ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent and superb service. Also very informative with the musician and character of Christiana Campbell

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxed atmosphere with "Mrs Campbell " ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Relaxed atmosphere with "Mrs Campbell " explaining 18th century traditions. Excellent choise and very taste Seafood Fricaze which was full of seafood and Mushroom sauce and a small amount of penne pasta. Local tavern entertainment hepled us enjoy true 18th century tavern atmosphere. We had so much fun we both want to go back. Excellent wine.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 2nd time we ate here, and pr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is the 2nd time we ate here, and probably the last. The food was average and quite pricey. The experience with the grandkids was not as special as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Underwhelmed by the food and they broug ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Underwhelmed by the food and they brought our meal within three minutes of ordering. Best part was the free sweet potato rolls. We were in and out in35 minutes, so not nice or relaxing experience.....won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were celebrating our birthdays and th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were celebrating our birthdays and thought that a trip t o Williamsburg would be fun. We had visited about 20 years ago and wanted to take a walk through history again. Christiana Campbell's at the edge of Colonial Williamsburg is a quaint restaurant setting where the service persons are dressed in period costumes and can answer questions about the days of George Washington and the beginnings of a new nation. The food was excellent: crabcakes, steak, spoon bread, freshly steamed vegetables and an apple cobbler ala mode did it for us. We will come back again and OpenTable had us sitting and ordering within 8 minues of our reservation time! Thankyou Open Table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a family of 14 at Williamsburg. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a family of 14 at Williamsburg. Eleven of us ate at Christiana's Tavern. The food and service was very good, plus the entertainment from 18th century costumed actors and musicians. The only caution I have is the tavern is not accessible for people in a wheel chair or persons who can not climb 11 stairs to the first floor. My husband is wheelchair bound, so he and two others in our group did not attend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted by Christiana herself! ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were greeted by Christiana herself! Our server was Tim, and he was fantastic - friendly, knowledgeable about the menu, wonderful sense of humor, professional! It was one of the best meals we've enjoyed at a Williamsburg Tavern. We will definitely go there again - and soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was delightful; Food shrimp and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Waitress was delightful; Food shrimp and scalloped fricassee felt like a frozen dinner micro-waved. Role player was annoying. Soup was good, but was a thimble full. Ok a large thimble, but not that large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent food, great waiter, dripping e ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent food, great waiter, dripping eith ambiance. A must if you in Williamsburg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christiana Campbell's Tavern in Williams ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Christiana Campbell's Tavern in Williamsburg is very good. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is perfect. I have never had a bad meal. Always an enjoyable time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp Randolph was wonderful ! Spoon b ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Shrimp Randolph was wonderful ! Spoon bread served at the table is an amazing addition to the meals. Entertainment geared to Colonial eating experience is a plus.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed it so much back in the spring th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Enjoyed it so much back in the spring that we decided to go back to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience for something uniqu ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent experience for something unique that you basically will find nowhere else. The food was delicious, but the main draw is the ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Christiana's NEVER let's us down! We ha ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Christiana's NEVER let's us down! We have dined here several times and couldn't wait to go back. The waiter was AWESOME! My husband and I mentioned the coleslaw, which was no longer on the menu, but he asked the chef and they made it for us! We received a visit from "Christiana" which was great! Various musicians throughout the restaurant. I would highly recommend Christiana's! Definitely make a reservation!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall dining experience and food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The overall dining experience and food were great. The staff was fabulous and our children loved the roving musician.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was super! Menu selection covere ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service was super! Menu selection covered a decent range of food types, and dishes served were hot and presented well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Completely overpriced!! Food was lousy a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Completely overpriced!! Food was lousy and tasteless. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The Atmosphere was great. The food, howe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The Atmosphere was great. The food, however left a bit to bedesired. The first entree was not our order, the second was not warm, much less hot. We observed other diners being served steaming hot food. Our server was friendly, but seemed over whelmed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Historical dishes that are nicely prepar ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Historical dishes that are nicely prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.