Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

Not much has changed since George Washington frequented Christiana Campbell’s Tavern for its delicious seafood in the 18th century. Lively conversation and learned discussion still abound, and today’s menu items could easily have been ordered by our founding fathers. Dig in to locally sourced shrimp, scallops, and fish, and be sure to try Christiana’s famous crab cakes, and a group of balladeers will help you channel your inner seafarer with toe-tapping shanties.

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-8:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburghotels.com/dining/christiana-campbells-tavern/

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (168)
Special Occasion (162)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
See All
Romantic (102)
Good for a Date (95)
Cozy (88)
Worth the Drive (75)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Local Ingredients (72)
Fun (70)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Comfort Food (58)
Casual (58)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Seasonal (42)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Live Music (37)
Good for Groups (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Scenic View (21)
Kid-friendly (19)
Great Beer (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Business Meals (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Healthy (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
People Watching (9)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1855 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Sherry was the best. Our dinner was tasty and we took home dessert.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner and service was amazing. We always enjoy eating in the Colonial Williamsburg Taverns when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had a wonderful time - food was delicious, our server was very accomodating and the authentic candlelit dining room was charming. Oh, and the live period music added to the colonial period atmosphere,
I would love to eat there again the next time we are able to get away to Williamsburg.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious,and service was excellent.I. would highly recommend this restaurant for a romantic and cozy dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

I’ve been coming here since I was a child and at 41 my husband still shares the tradition with me. We absolutely love the atmosphere and it brings the most special Christmas time memories with my family back to me. However, I just wish the food matched what it used to be. My husband suggested next year we start going for just a drink and appetizer to honor my tradition yet not pay so much money for less than amazing food. The rest of my family wont return bc of the quality of the food but the atmosphere and memories alone are priceless to me.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I was actually surprised at the wonderful presentation, quality, and flavor of the food. The ambiance was as I had hoped it would be. Claudine, our waitress, was always available for service, suggestions, and brief humorous moments. Christiana Campbells is an amazing restaurant offering a fantastic experience and delicious food. It should be on the list of anyone visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Best of the tavern dining experience in Colonial Williamsburg, the food, service, and atmosphere are superb. A family and friends favorite stop during special events such as the Illumination of the Taverns during the Christmas holidays.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great Colonial tavern experiance. Food is good , but pricey. Don’t like going down into a cold basement to use the restroom.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I am a native of Williamsburg, and my husband and I come back "home" every year during December. We always treat ourselves to one of the restaurants in Colonial Williamsburg, and Christiana Campbell's has become our favorite. We look forward to the great food each time we visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting Williamsburg for the first time and our dinner at Christina Campbell’s was an excellent choice. The decor, staff and food was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Nice atmosphere. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice evening. Excellent service and food. The music added to the ambiance of the holiday season.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Great sea food. We always eat CC's when we are in Williamsburg

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Williamburg is a 1700 time period, great place and so was the restaurant. Food was made to the that time period. It was very good. price no.. We bought the special that including dessert. You eat by candle light. You hear the music from that time period. I wish it was decorated in the Christmas deco of that time.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This is the third time we have eaten here since August 2017. We have had Howard as our waiter each time. We were seated at the appropriate time and Howard came to our table directly. As always, he was pleasant and had good conversation. The food is always very good. My wife especially enjoys the crab cakes. The only negatives would be that the live music did not begin until we were close to ready to leave and that all of the menu items are priced in the $30.00-$40.00 range before appetizers, drinks, or dessert. For us, this is a special treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good and the service was beyond all expectations

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Last day in Colonial Williamsburg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

FABULOUS! Crab cakes are Devine, more crab than filler, the way a TRUE crab cake should be! You much try the Rum pie for dessert! We came here for dinner to celebrate my husband's son's investiture as an attorney! We Love Christina Campbell's; we try to come every trip to Williamsburg! Always seems to be the best place to eat not only in the Colonial district, but in all of Williamsburg!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Party of 6 and we were again seated on the back porch. This seating location is dark and gloomy with a high noise level. This in comparison with the main dining rooms that are festive and warm. The fiddle player stayed in the main area and did not provide any entertainment in our seating area. When we stopped by for dinner last year he did a few tunes on the back porch as well. I tried to indicate a seating preference through Open Table but kept receiving "can't connect" messages.

The food is overpriced as could be expected, but was delivered only lukewarm.

Our server was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

Truly excellent service by Mary. Loved the old room in the basement where we were seated.
The dinner was a birthday treat for my wife and the management gave her a Birthday card.
Food was delicious. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

Our server, Pooh, made our evening a special event. Excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner at Christiana Campbell's Tavern. The service was wonderful and the food great. I'd say the food was better here than at Kings Arm. One huge disappointment was Williamsburg no long have the Balladeers going around in each tavern, in each room. Colonial Williamsburg stopped this a few months ago. The Balladeers used to go to each room and play a couple of Colonial tunes and talk about the songs or the instruments they'd play. Even though it was short it added so much to the dining experience and when the Balladeers were not in your specific dining area you could hear them in the background in the other rooms of the taverns.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 6, 2017

This restaurant specializes in seafood. I had a halibut special and my companions had salmon, while my husband had stuffed flounder (a regular menu item). All were prepared appropriately. The server spooned a corn pudding onto our bread plates, and we also had a basket of assorted muffins and rolls with the meal. The best parts of the meal were the environment. the restaurant is divided into smaller rooms that contain 4-6 tables, but we were seated in a small room in which we were the only table. It was a good environment for friends who had not seen one another for many years. By the way, this restaurant serves the Rummer drink (mainly alcohol), a tasty cocktail. Randy, our server, was terrific, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 5, 2017

We were a group of 4; the other 3 really enjoyed their meals, I was somewhat disappointed with mine. I had Stuffed Flounder. I thought it was rather bland and mediocre. Nothing special.

The service was excellent. Prices are pretty high in my opinion. That also applies to Kong’s Arm Tavern. But I get it. They’ve got you as a captive customer inside Colonial Williamsburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Our server was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 5, 2017

The food and service (Clara) were outstanding. Thank you! We will visit this tavern the next time we are visiting Colonial Williamsburg. We do feel the prices are very high.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Excellent food, friendly staff. It was a great Colonial experience

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Our dinner at Christiana Campbell's was lovely. We have been there before, but dining there during Grand Illumination weekend was very special! A delightful evening! Our server, Sue was wonderful, although she had been there only 2 weeks. "Molly Campbell" even stopped by our table to say hello to add to the atmosphere! Our entrees were delicious ! We especially loved the spoon bread, muffins & walnut pie! The atmosphere is so nice & makes you feel you have stepped back in time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

We love going to the historical restaurants of Williamsburg and as always, the food was abundant and delicious, the our waiter was excellent (one of my best experiences!) and you can't beat that Colonial ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience at Christianna Campbell’s. The service was gracious, timely and engaging in a warm colonial ambiance. The stuffed flounder and crab cakes captured the delicate flavors of the seafood with just a hint of piquant seasoning to spice up the dish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

We were seated by our reservation time. Our waiter was attentive, efficient, and very pleasant and good-natured. Our food was delicious, and came shortly after ordering. A good dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Everything was just perfect. The server, the food and the beautiful Christiana Campbell's Tavern. It is truly are number one spot to enjoy good service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Always very, very happy with our experience eating at Christiana Campbells. It has become our favorite of all the Williamsburg taverns. No matter what I order, I always get a crab cake for an appetizer...excellent!!! Always pleased with the entree selections as well. Great overall dining experience each and every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2017

A must when in Williamsburg, the experience is authentic, the food is excellent. Our waiter was extraordinary, perfect dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Salmon was decent but not exceptional.

Waterman’s Supper: clam chowder was tasty and most of the clams were soft, but a few were unchewable; flounder portion was very small and relatively tasteless; 3 shrimp were tasty; crab cake was large, but very mushy and tasteless; potatoes were fine; black walnut pie was fairly tasty.

Vegetable medley was very good.

Spoon bread was excellent, probably the best part of the meal

Rolls and sweet potato muffins were dry and chewy even with butter.

Service and our server were excellent.

We did miss the room to room strolling music very much.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Great historical restaurant. Severs in period costumes , candlelight tables plus great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Had a 5 PM reservation when the restaurant opened. Although the place was empty, people were seated close together. This would have been acceptable if patrons maintained a normal level of conversation. Unfortunately a couple with a one year child was seated close-by and the child spent the evening wailing. The rooms were so dark that one could only read the menu with a flashlight. The food itself and service was acceptable for a fine restaurant as was the price. We ate as fast as possible to get away from the noise. There was no entertainment as there is at other Williamsburg taverns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Had a great time. Took my out of town friend to dinner with me. Ambiance was great and done in the colonial style. Food delicious. A must try is their spoon bread. Cocktails and wine refreshing and delightful. Service was superior. Plan to bring all my out visitors to dine here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

The crab cakes were inedible and the snapper just OK. Should have much better considering the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

We were on a mini vacation in Williamsburg VA and sought out Christiana Campbell as we had been there before and found the place very appealing. It is part of the restoration, and as such, maintains the 18th century ambiance. the staff is in period clothing, and carries on the manners and traditions of the times. The food and service are excellent, and while the pricing may not be 18th century, you do get what you pay for in meal quality and ambiance. Generally, you can count on some form of entertainment that is in keeping with the period. We love dining there, and recommend the place highly. Our server for this meal was particularly friendly and courteous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.