Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (141)
Historic (135)
Authentic (130)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (102)
Worth the Drive (81)
Fun (79)
Good for a Date (79)
Cozy (73)
Romantic (71)
Local Ingredients (70)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Live Music (56)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Casual (52)
Kid-friendly (45)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Comfort Food (43)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Scenic View (17)
Seasonal (17)
People Watching (17)
Family Style (16)
Fireplace (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Healthy (13)
Great Beer (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating two birthdays. The menu was outstanding, but our waitress was exemplary. The entrees were tasty, flavorful, exciting to look at and savored by every part of our mouths. I did not think it was pricey because it exemplified a five star restaurant. If you have a special occasion, this is a terrific place to bring guests.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful dinner. It was our 27th wedding anniversary and we could not of asked for a better experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and great ambiance! Have eaten at Campbell's many times and will visit again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

The sweet potato muffins were amazing!! Our service was fantastic and our food was delicious. Did I mention the sweet potato muffins?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to experience the Colonial period. Delicious food. Wandering entertainers created a great ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Historic Restaurant in Williamsburg, VA. Great atmosphere, realistic 18th century setting. Specialties are seafood. Spoonbread was outstanding! Crab cake tasted prepackaged.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our family has been coming to this Tavern for years. We are never disappointed. The food, atmosphere and service were wonderful!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

This authentic colonial tavern has more to boast than being favored by a founding father. The cozy and historic atmosphere give way to an intriguing selection of traditional Southern seafood selections. Known for their unique and delightful colonial take on crab cakes, Christiana Campbell's Tavern expertly mixes seasonal vegetables with their seafood creations, as best experienced in the waterman's supper. It would be an insult to call this comfort food, but you will regret having to leave your chair.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

The Tavern atmosphere was very good. The entertainment, a balladeer and a lady aka Christiana Campbell were both excellent, especially Christiana. The menu seemed somewhat limited, though it may have reflected that of colonial times. Overall, I'd only give the food a 3+ rating, but the spoon bread was almost a 5! I'd recommend the Tavern as an experience, but without any hype.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Howard was our server. He was very good Christiana came in and spoke with us enjoyed our time there.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant has always been my favorite of the taverns. The combination of great food and ambience and, now, a lot of entertainment are unmatched.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I were there for our 20th Anniversary. Food and service were excellent. A couple of families had very loud kids. I don't fault the restaurant but I might make a reservation later at night or request an area more quiet and romantic. We ordered a plate with flounder, shrimp, crab cake, and clam chowder. The crab cakes were the best I ever had! Muffins and spoon bread were delicious! Walnut Pie was excellent. For entertainment a gentleman in period clothing played guitar. Topping off the experience was an interpreter playing Christiana Campbell. She told a humerus tale of Patrick Henry and a touching one of General Washington. Great food and great atmosphere. Please include this tavern on your trip to Colonial Williamsburg! 😋

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was fantastic & very informative (learned some interesting history!). The food was very tasty. We also enjoyed the live historical entertainment.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our server, Pooh, was fabulous! The presenters in costume were delightful too. I think the rib eye steak was too thin and disappointing. But the spoon bread is why we come there as well as the ambience. They don't have the best food and it is overpriced for what is served...but, I have eaten all over the world but I do love Williamsburg and it is where we get the most authentic feeling of 1776!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Have been to Christiana Campbell's several times over the years and always had a good experience. Not this time on 20 Jun 2017. Food was very bland, cold, and not terribly appitizing. Had to send one dish back it was so cold. Not sure that I would make the effort to come here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great experience, great service, and great food. Keith did a great job serving us. "Christiana " did a wonderful job of personalizing our visit with recognition and a card for our anniversary. Highly recommend this restaurant at Colonial Williamsburg.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food. Excellent service and ambiance. Fun place.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Dining in an inn in Williamsburg is part of the overall experience. Loved the person who portrayed Christina Cambell and entertained us with her lively repartee. Great fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First time at this tavern even though we have gone to the area for years. Will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was slow, cold and they got one order incorrect. The water tried very hard and was very nice and helpful but seemed to be bothered by the kitchen. When the food came it was cold and flounder player was flavorless.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great location and superb staff. Food was wonderful. The only drawback was the price seemed to go up substantially since we were here last December. $100 for a dinner for 2 without drinks, dinner or appetizer is extreme. I will have to think twice before coming back!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Was great to give the kids the experience, age 11+12, It was pricey!!! ($200 for family of 4) but we knew that going in and knew it would be a dinner that was special. Pooh was our waitress. She was wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food was good with generous portions. The seating is crowded but that is ok because of the size of the dining rooms. Our server Pooh was outstanding and made the experience fun.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The promise of the brand is an authentic Colonial dinner in an authentic Colonial era tavern. The food and service were great and met our expectations. The fatal flaw is the acoustics of the place is awful. Then imagine being seated in a small room with two families with five young (2-3 years old) children screaming, yelling, clapping, and singing. I love kids but not when you are trying to have a nice quiet dinner. It wasn't necessary that they put us in that room when there were other empty rooms nearby. We were told those rooms were "closed." It was NOT the fun evening I had planned.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Quite an experience for a dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is a good authentic tavern for seafood. There is usually strolling musicians singing or playing tunes from the 1700's. There are options other than seafood and the receipes are similar to what would've been served in 1700's. The waiters/waitresses are dressed in period costumes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was mediocre - not much flavor. Waitress forgot to bring soup as an appetizer so that was served AFTER the meal. The waitress did, however, check on special requests for our group. We were very disappointed that the balladeers didn't come in but one time in more than an hour. We particularly chose this tavern in order to have a "colonial" experience. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Even though I've been to Williamsburg countless times, this was my first tavern dining experience and it was worth the wait. The food, staff, and atmosphere were excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is an attempt at a Revolutionary period recreation of a restaurant. This one is OK, but not great. The food is adaquate, but not up to the price. The punch was the highlight. The wait staff was outstanding and engaged. He was a young college student. Doubt we're going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our waitress was excellent, Pooh!!! Hope to get her again on next visit!!! Noise level was high!!! When the Lady came into sing you could not even hear her, for people were talking the entire time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

WAS our favorite Williamsburg restaurant. Haven't been there for several years. What a total disappointment from our service and waitress right down to the food...and we had been so excited to go back. So sad!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Dinner with friends from Michigan , first time at CW. Dinner was fantastic ! Best crab cakes we ever had. Loved the ambience . Only suggestion from my friends was they did't like the take home package to be styrophome....Broke the mood! As an employee I often take guests to CC. This was another experience in excellence!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We Williamsburg locals consider the Williamsburg taverns to be overpriced for just average food, but we often invite out of towners to go there for the colonial ambience and music. On this occasion, the four of us were seated in a tiny room that barely accommodated our table for four. No views, no ambience, and only one small bit of music near the end of our stay, but, of course, we couldn't see the musician. My guests seemed to enjoy their meals, but my shrimp on spinach, ham, and a "crouton" (toast point) was tasty enough except that it was impossible to cut the toast points. Some zucchini slivers were also so hard that they were difficult to cut. They did serve tasty sweet potato rolls and spoon bread, but there were no relishes that used to come with meals. We went in at 5:30, and the place was crowded. I will try to resist taking any other guests there. Simply not worth it and not a pleasant experience. I will add that the server was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our waiter, Randy, was outstanding, but the fried chicken was not. The salmon was particularly good. Christiana Campbell was out sick which was a disappointment to my kids. I would go again because of the service and the music, but I will never order the fried chicken.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It was an amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

A delightful colonial seafood fare dining experience! Very authentic and helpful staff! I particularly enjoyed the tales of origins of terms like "toast" and "tie one on". The musician was spectacular as well and played a multitude of instruments. I could have listened to her forever! Well done! Definitely the cherry on top for any Colonial Williamsburg vacay!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Early dinner, got seated quickly. Oysters Rockefeller was the worst I ever had. Not as described on menu, topping bland & overcooked. Oysters were raw. Shells were not even warm. Grilled salmon was excellent, veggies were not warm either. Ordered salad with dressing on the side, come loaded with dressing. Salad. was supposed to be butter lettuce with roasted cherry tomatoes and sunflower(seeds). Lettuce was(very fresh) romaine, tomatoes were 3 small pieces of sliced reg tomatoes that had been heated someway, but certainly not roasted. Staff and atmosphere were entertaining. All in all, a great piece of salmon for $93 including wine. WE also felt very rushed. They seemed to want to turn tables over quickly despite there being open tables all around us. I don't mind paying a little extra to help support Colonial Williamsburg, but I should get what I paid for, not cheaper substitutions. Wont be back in spite of the salmon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

If you're looking for a place that serves Cuisine of the area, crab cake, pasta Fried Chicken this is definitely the place for you. All of the meals are very modern , served in a very clean atmosphere with service from colonial times.

I will not lie to you and tell you that they serve the most healthiest meals because of course the pasta, the fried chicken, the fried crab cake or however that's made , as well as some of the other main entrees may be a bit high in carbs however if you're looking to have a good meal and that's not a major concern this is definitely the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was definitely my favorite of the 4 historic taverns in Colonial Williamsburg. By far, this restaurant has the most food and drink options on the menu. The prices have a better range and they offer hearty portions as well as deliciously fresh rolls and cornbread pudding. The service here was great and the live music is fantastic and authentic as always.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our granddaughters always enjoy dining with us at Christiana Campbell's! It is such a fun experience for the family.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.