Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 52 times today

Christiana Campbell's Tavern

4.4
1987 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Not much has changed since George Washington frequented Campbell’s Tavern for its delicious seafood in the 18th century. Dig in to locally sourced shrimp, scallops, and fish, and be sure to try Christiana’s famous Crab Cakes, Fried Chicken, Sweet Potato Muffins and Spoon Bread.
Music is provided nightly in the tavern from 5:15pm- 7:15pm.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(855) 546-7748
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Additional
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 1987 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The wine was quite poor. The food was not very good for the price and reputation. The service was somewhat slow and inattentive. I think the restaurant is living off of a previous reputation rather than a present reality. Overall I would rate the restaurant a C+

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Loved eating at revolutionary era tavern during Williamsburg visit.
Everyone on staff in period dress and very friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It was interesting to dine in a colonial atmosphere in Williamsburg with just a touch of history interpretation (servers gave you insight and a bit of a feel for dining Colonial style without making you feel silly) and the food was very good. A bit pricy, but the portions were huge and the experience was worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

A wonderful addition to our trip to Williamsburg. We loved our waitress. The food was wonderful and the live music added the perfect Colonial charm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Good food in ample quantity - Favorite Salat (salad) - ate every morsel, Salmon with vegetables, and the pecan pie and Meringue with strawberries for desert, while listening to two playing /singing performers as they made the rounds through the tavern. Parking was easy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Delightful! Open Table reservation was waiting for us. Parking is ample. Server was a hoot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I am biased. We love the Colonial Williamsburg Taverns. Our waiter had been there since 1977, and he liked the place as one could tell in our discussions. It is an experience - a historical atmosphere. No shiny new furniture. Even if not really that old - this place just is 1770 instead of 21st century.

Our food choices turned out to be excellent. The onion soup was great! and we had the Tavern punch which really had a punch. Seafood is the specialty and ours were tasty and plentiful. We wanted dessert, but were too full by the end.

It's not for everyone, but we like it there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Dinner at this historic tavern was very nice but the food plentiful and tasty but it was barely warm and should have been hot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

40th Anniversary. Loved it!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Our server, Tim, was beyond excellent! He is a gem: anticipated our needs, was friendly but unobtrusive. Really knows his job & could be training servers in the finest restaurants. The clam chowder was very good, but unfortunately the “Waterman’s Supper” left a lot to be desired. Did not even look appetizing when brought to the table. The shrimp were undercooked, the fish was mushy while the crab cake had been overlooked. In all the food seemed to be premade & then assembled & warmed up. Having diner at this tavern before, it was also disappointing to not see Mrs. Campbell, one of the best character actors at Colonial Williamsburg. Also, not having musicians strolling about was a missed feature. The violinist in the lobby was excellent, though! We know there have been major budget issues facing the Foundation, and our experiences this visit make that fact very evident.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

This was a fun meal with wait staff dressed in period costumes. Our server was very friendly and did a great job. It was very dark, with only candles lighting the tables - but it was a lot of fun for my teen/tween daughters. Food was pricey, but tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Outstanding food and service. Made to feel you are important and recognized we were there celebrating my wife’s birthday. Our server was cheerful and gracious. I wish I could remember her name. (Started with a “m” and she had been there six years and was expecting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Difficult to get reservations so we opted for 5 pm. Turns out all with 5 pm reservations were placed in one upstairs room. Service good, food good but overpriced. Upon leaving we noticed about half the restaurant was empty leaving us to wonder why we couldn’t get a later reservation... we probably would not return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Beautiful setting but a very expensive meal for a family of 5. Not sure the amount of food or quality was worth the price.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Fun and cozy historical themed tavern. Good food and as expected, a bit pricy as it is on the grounds of Colonial Williamsburg.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This was a nice experience in a historic building. Our cocktails were interesting and enjoyable. The food was nice but nothing to rave about. Our waiter was extremely, personable and knowledgeable and was the highlight of our dining experience. He went out of his way to provide us with a quality experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Here as a tourist. Came to this tavern for its history (George Washinton had eaten there) and a one time experience there are several taverns in area the seafood for us was a factor for us to choose this one. Staff was excellent and friendly food a bit over priced. I had stuffed rockfish it was the special that night a little bland. My aunt had the salmon that waas very good. The sweet potatoe muffins were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Our servers Misha and Pooh were outstanding !!!! They made the evening extra special !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The colonial atmosphere, excellent waitress, Tasha, and wonderful seafood and sweet potato muffins, super chocolate cake.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Loved the 18th Century atmosphere of an old tavern! Enjoyed a couple of cocktails that were well done. The food came quickly, the corn chowder was tasty and hot. Sadly our entrees came and were barely warm. I wanted to send it back, but server did not check back for a while and I was hungry. The flavor of the stuffed fish dish was good but not great for the price. We tried the rum pie for dessert and did not really like the flavor. Maybe the fried chicken would have been a better choice of entree. I noticed several families and some kid-friendly entrees, so that is a plus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We always enjoy our visits to Christina's. We've taken many quests and anyone going to be in the area, we highly recommend having at least one meal here. The food is a great treat, the service is amazing and the atmosphere is awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We went with our 10 y.o. kids while on a vacation trip to Colonial Williamsburg. We loved the history of the place and the food was delicious. We had the fried chicken which was excellent and really enjoyed this gooey-corn bread that goes with the history of the restaurant. We throughly enjoyed the meal as well as the experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Pricy for portion size. Split a big meal with optional appetizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food and service. Atmosphere was wonderful. Would most definitely dine here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Our first stop when at Williamsburg. Great food..great ambiance..great service
...nice menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Special night out during our visit to Williamsburg. So glad we chose this tavern. Had our own private room for four people. Food and service was top notch. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Fabulous dinner. We both had the Waterman's Supper. Cup of chowder was included, which was fantastic. The meal was a piece of stuff flounder, several grilled shrimp, a large crabcake, dill sauce, veggies, and roasted potatoes. The sweet potato muffins and complimentary spoon bread was fantastic. Chocolate cake and pecan pie were included in the meal. You could choose any dessert.
Service was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Outstanding does not do Campbell's justice!!! Our waiter Howard Handsome was friendly, informative, and very attentive. Strolling mandolin musician/singer was great, all the staff from the front porch greeters, all the way through the restaurant were dressed in period costumes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

The food and service was excellent, however we were disappointed not to be seated in the main dining room. We have seen such lovely pictures of the main dining area and that was what we expected as seating. However I guess that was not to be and it was a disappointment and made the experience less than it could have been.

We would come back again only if we could be assured of being seating in the main dining area.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2018

In Colonial Williamsburg, this authentic tavern had a very friendly waiter, Howard, good wine, Pinot Grigio, and a very colonial vibe. Fun and family friendly but the food fell short of the high prices, and was ordinary in a very contemporary way.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I was totally disappointed. I was not expecting a buffet. The food selection was not worth the amount we payed per person. We went for an early Easter dinner to a place full of history and it’s experience ruined my day. Not being able to order the signature dishes was a huge letdown. This service ruined our 2018 Easter and it took me all day to shake the disappointment. My husband and I were so outraged after planning a nice dinner experience with my children, an after leaving only 20 minutes later, it was clearly not worth the time to make the reservation. My family and I missed out on the opportunity to enjoy one of the most famous restaurants in American history. The cost of the meal was off the charts expensive and was not worth 50.00 per person. As well as to add a 20% tip to the bill for serving ourselves is totally unacceptable. My family and I don’t plan on coming again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I wish I had known ahead of time it was s buffet.. aside from the salads the food was cold and unappetizing as it had been out for too long. I was expecting a price fix menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Excellent Easter "all you can eat" brunch. Food, drinks, and desserts were delicious. Only item missed was the spoonbread.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great ambiance, but food was just okay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Fantastic service and food. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Fun supper at an historical tavern. Awesome staff provided a special experience. Food was above average, but the atmosphere and staff made it special! Go to one of the historical taverns while in Williamsburg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food was incredible. The crab cakes and stuffed flounder were better than I had ever had before. The sweet potato muffins they bring before the meal are delicious as well as the cornmeal spoonbread during the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Dinner on our first night of vacation. It's been 30 years since I've eaten here, and it is just as good as I remember. Great service by Morgan. Try the french onion soup!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The staff was friendly and happy to please. Food great and surroundings pleasing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Our first CC tavern experience. Our server was helpful and thoughtful. We were celebrating our daughters birthday and she requested the musician to stop by and sing to her. Food was excellent and especially loved the chowder.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
50

Tweets by Christiana Campbell's Tavern