Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders. Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops.

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-8:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (152)
Authentic (146)
Good for a Date (92)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (89)
Fun (77)
Romantic (75)
Cozy (74)
Local Ingredients (72)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Worth the Drive (60)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Casual (55)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Comfort Food (48)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Kid-friendly (38)
Live Music (38)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Seasonal (22)
Scenic View (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
People Watching (14)
Great Beer (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Poouh our waitress Made this an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, a fabulous experience in Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere is wonderful. Servers and staff are in colonial clothing, food is excellent and our server took good care of us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great meal!
They honored our request to be seated in the basement. It was awesome!!
Our waiter Randy was fantastic!
Still my favorite tavern in Colonial Williamsburg!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

While visiting historic Colonial Williamsburg , we decided to include one tavern meal. Christiana Campbell's did not disappoint. Neither of us eats any shellfish or pork products, but our meal was delicious and satisfying nonetheless. After a wonderful salad (Christina's favorite), we enjoyed the salmon which came with perfectly prepared squash and roasted potatoes as the side dishes. Also the spoon bread was superb. Rounding out the meal were the delicious sweet potato muffins and hard rolls.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Entrees not up to the prices. However, our server, Sarah, more than overcame dissapppinting value, with superior service. She ensured we had the best possible dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We were visiting colonial Williamsburg for the first time. While on vacation, we like to try out a nice restaurant in the area. Christina Campbell's Tavern was very nice. The food was well prepared. The restaurant itself was authentic and not too loud. Since we didn't order cocktails or wine, the waitress took our order promptly. It was a good value relative to being a tourist site.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been dining at Mrs. Campbells for years. The service was great. I would prefer a more traditional menu and I miss the strolling minstrels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Try the Black walnut chocolate pie! Delicious! The main courses were delicious as well.
The hot skillet cornbread was exceptionally light and tasty!

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Christiana Campbell's to enjoy some of the history of Colonial Williamsburg. Christiana's was one of General Washington's favorite places for sea food, drink and conversation. Our server, Howard Handsome was a gentleman and professional. Williamsburg is one of our favorite places on earth and Christiana Campbell's contributes to our enjoyment when we are here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had the Mariner's Dinner. Everything was delicious. Loved the spoon bread and sweet potato muffins. Great experience seeing how people dined in the 1700s.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

The pasta dish, crab cakes and stuffed trout special dishes were all delicious. Our server Pooh was friendly, efficient and professional. Great place to celebrate my husband's 75th with my sister and brother-in-law.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Unbelievable spoonbread and sweet potato muffins with homemade butter YUM. Period atmosphere was charming . Servers were bright , funny and most gracious. The whole experience was first rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was absolutely excellent, the staff was a real joy - friendly, informative and fun. The atmosphere made us feel like we stepped back in time with our dinner served at 7:15 - lit by nothing but candlelight, it made a historic setting feel even more realistic. Highly recommend a visit if you are ever in Williamsburg around dinner time.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and our meals were excellent. Just make sure not to confuse the salt and sugar containers when seasoning your coffee!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We both had the Waterman's dinner which was a price fixe selection. It started with a clam stew which came out warm to cold. The rolls and muffins were standard fare. Not overly exciting either but good. The spoon bread that they serve is good but not great. The entree consisted of a crab cake, stuffed flounder and some shrimp along with potatoes and seasonal vegetables. This too arrived only warm and by the time we finished it was cold. It appeared it was plated much earlier that day. We had a 5:15 reservation so my guess this was plated about 4:30 or so as they only opened at 5:00. Our server was no where to be found 90% of the time. She did not give any real descriptions on anything like we had experienced in the past. This was a special Birthday dinner and when she gave us our check she finally said Happy Birthday. The Williamsburg management needs to step up their customer service and they need to retrain their staff to make it a special time for everyone or people will not return. It appeared attendance was way down that day and all summer. We most likely will not return as our bill was $115 for 2 dinners and a Coke. Not worth it at all!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

During this visit to Williamsburg, our dinner at Christiana Campbell's was average. They made some changes to the Waterman's supper which we were disappointed with. It's no longer a great dinner choice as it used to be. However, the way they prepared the vegetables and potatoes was an improvement. We heard other diners getting information about the spoon bread during serving. Our waitress did not offer any history or information about the restaurant or the food. We missed the roaming musicians and the story telling from Mrs. Campbell! This is one of the reasons we enjoy dining at the taverns! The music did not start until we were about ready to leave. Our meal time was at 5ish. The music is now only done in the lobby which on the noisy porch area we could not hear it. I hope you change back to the way it was! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

I loved everything about Christiana Campbell's Tavern! The service (Howard was our waiter) was superb and everyone was happy with their food. The music was just right - beautiful and not so loud that we couldn't keep talking.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Service was top notch. Seafood was delicious. Quiet with a nice ambience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There spoon bread is wonderful! We'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Never, ever have had a disappointing meal at Campbell's!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

WillIamsburg, Va is one of our favorite places to visit. Between my husband and I, we have visited over 50 times in 40 years! Although the Taverns throughout (Campbells, Kings Arms, etc) have had average food over the years, we have tried to support Colonial Williamsburg through our patronage. Friday night, Campbells tried to seat us in the back shed of the building. We were only two, but seriously! We asked, courteously, if we could move to a table inside. They were very nice and accomodating. Ultimately we had a nice dinner. Better food than average, and excellent service. Glad they let us switch.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Good tavern food. Server's were somewhat in character. Good value for cost.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was delightful, well prepared and presented. Also, service was immaculate as Claudine, our waitress, was nearly perfect (perfection for me is an almost impossible absolute). She was wonderful in all aspects!
Also, enjoyed the music in the foyer; enhances the beautiful atmosphere so much.
Can't wait to come back to Virginia to experience dining here again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Very expensive option for dining in Colonial Williamsburg. The ambiance is what you would expect for the location, however, the food was a bit disappointing. We had a baby with us and were not permitted to bring her stroller into the restaurant . In addition, our meals came with dessert and we asked to have them boxed to take home. When we arrived home 20 minutes later we found they had put ice cream on our cobbler and had an apple soupy mixture we had to throw away.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The meal was excellent. Very tasty dishes that were designed to be authentic from the colonial period. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Our waitress Pooh was excellent! Great service and personality. She made our dinner a fun event.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Been coming here for over 20 years for the seafood and the great historic atmosphere. This was the first time EVER that we did not have live entertainment in our dining room, although we could hear it in other rooms. A large tour bus dropped off a lot of people at the same time we arrived, and we assume that's where the entertainment resources went, but it's a big disappointment. Also, I was told a white wine sauce accompanied my meal, but it was actually a Salt Sauce. Really--no one needs this much salt in a lifetime!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Traditional tavern experience. Food overpriced. Bill $105 for 2 with tip (no alcohol).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 11, 2017

I have been to Christiana Campbell's several times when I have visited Colonial Williamsburg. I always enjoy the food and the experience. I have recommended it to numerous folks from home and anyone who asks when I'm staying at the hotel I use.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Trip to Colonial Williamsburg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the country! Located in colonial Williamsburg, the history and ambiance of this place truly make you feel like you've stepped back in time. I brought my son here on the last night of our Father-Son trip. Our Server, Pooh, was delightful and made me and my son feel right at home. He enjoyed the special of the evening, a stuffed rainbow trout and I had the seafood fricassee. Both were excellent! My only qualm was that they got rid of the She-Crab soup (rumored to be one of Ms. Campbell's original recipes). As such, there are no cream-based soups left on the menu, which was disappointing. Other than that, the meal was perfect!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 10, 2017

A must if you stay in Colonial Williamsburg! Dinner by true candlelight. Sherri's service was authentic and excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

This is a new favorite for us. Everything from ambiance, fun, great food, and entertainment was fantastic. A must for a to do list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Sherry, our server, was great. The dinner was very good. Always a nice place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was a pre-Revolutionary War period dining experience with my family. It exceeded expectations from the time we got there. Staff, food and service were all great. We will be back in January.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Had a reservation for 7:30 showed up 30 minutes early, had me seated within 15 minutes. Server was phenomenal, attentive with great recommendations. We both had seafood fricassee, excellent choice. Spoon bread?? Never heard of it, was tasty all the same. Homemade ice cream finished off the meal. Excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food, great service and I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Came to Williamsburg for a weekend getaway and chose Christina Campbell's for dinner. Couldnt be happier with our choice. Food was amazing and service was literally some of the best we've had. Howard Handsome is a rock star! Will definitely be back and will recommend to anyone who visits the area

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food and good portion size! staff was very friendly and atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing. Celebrated my birthday and received a nice card from management during dinner. Overall great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.