Christiana Campbell's Tavern

4.5
2106 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Authentic
  • Good for Anniversaries
Not much has changed since George Washington frequented Campbell’s Tavern for its delicious seafood in the 18th century. Dig in to locally sourced shrimp, scallops, and fish, and be sure to try Christiana’s famous Crab Cakes, Fried Chicken, Sweet Potato Muffins and Spoon Bread.
Music is provided nightly in the tavern from 5:15pm- 7:15pm.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(855) 546-7748
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Additional
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 2106 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Overall a fantastic experience! Food, ambiance, and service are all top notch. Definitely worth a visit when in Colonial Williansburg.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Group of six. Everyone had an excellent experience. The Food was excellent the service (from Howard) was superb. A bit pricy, but all Colonial Williamsburg dinning venues are pricy. But one gets what one pays for.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Tourist trap but it's an experience from centuries back. Food was mediocre. Fried chicken was good though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Very friendly staff, authentic food and feel.
Dinner comes with the most delicious spoon bread!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Every time I have visited Williamsburg, this tavern has been a part of our visit. I love the decor/colonial times. The food is excellent and the wait staff are well trained in their job. Thanks again for meeting our expectations for a lovely dinner with you!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We have been residents of Williamsburg for three years now. This was our first time dinning at Christina Tavern. We were very impressed. Our waitress Clair, was very nice and added to our evening. I had the grilled shrimp, my wife the stuffed flounder and we shared a crab cake. All were delicious! It was a bit pricy but worth it. Our only negative was in waiting to be seated. We arrived ahead of our reservation time in thoughts of having a drink but they have no lounge. We waited on the porch and the Sun setting made it very hot for our 20 minute wait. I'd suggest a screen addition to the porch for afternoon Sun would make a great improvement. We will be back and highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

We have dined here often. Always enjoyable and plenty of seafood choices. First time dining in the back porch and it was very comfortable. Waitress Tasha (?) was very accommodating and friendly. Recommend the clam chowder soup, seafood platter and stuffed flounder meals. We will return-one of our favorite taverns and we appreciate the parking in the rear.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Old world charm. Expensive but great service and unique, tasty food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Always a blast!!! Great food, FANTASTIC service, love the "colonial period" theme and that employees stay in "colonial period character". Live music with songs from the colonial period.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2018

I was a bit disappointed in this place. I enjoyed the location but we didn't meet the "owner" as we were hoping... also, no music? It was very odd. Another thing is we waited a while at the table for the drinks and food...though the waiters were very nice the delivery was slow. Maybe this is what they are going for? Different pace of life?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Everything was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The food and service were amazing. Five stars is not enough to give as a rating. One of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Our server was delightful. Our meal was very good. We enjoyed the musician who entertained us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

This was a fun place to eat and had a wonderful menu. I highly recommend and plan to return when I go back to Williamsburg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

So much fun and great food at this historic Williamsburg tavern

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

This was my grand childrens first time at Christiana Campbells Tavern. They really enjoyed there meal. They would love to go there again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We were very disappointed with our meal at Christiana Campbell's. I had eaten there on previous trips to Williamsburg but things have definitely changed. I got the feeling that the restaurant management had been taken over by a chain that was more interested in squeezing out every dollar of profit rather than providing a good experience to the customer. It felt like your typical tourist restaurant with prices that do not equate to the quality of food. The fried oysters appetizer was so heavily breaded that it was difficult to find the shellfish. The chef's special for the night was a tune steak and recommended to be cooked medium rare. Although I would normally want it rare, I took the chef's suggestion and ordered it medium rare. It came out dry as a bone and reminded me why I am hesitant to order tuna in a restaurant. My daughter's salmon entrée was equally dry and difficult to eat.The recommended desert was a rum accented cream pie that was absolutely tasteless with no hint of any flavor. If anything, I would recommend that people stay away from this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Christiana's is located directly behind the capitol building of historic Colonial Williamsburg. There is nearby parking, but if you are visiting the historic center just take the free shuttle bus from the Visitors' Center. The menu is not as seafood heavy as we were expecting - a shrimp dish, stuffed flounder, and a fricassee of shrimp, scallops, and lobster. We shared the Waterman's Supper with an extra crab cake. It seemed like plenty of food for two (which it was) and included a choice of dessert. The crab cakes were nothing spectacular. The flounder was bland. The chocolate cake was average. The spoon bread and the sweet potato walnut muffins were very delicious. We wish we had opted for the fried chicken or grilled ribeye. The ambience of the historic venue is nice. There is a large beverage menu including several non-alcoholic punches served family style. The servers wear period costumes and are very attentive. We waited over half an hour to be seated even though we arrived in advance of our reservation time. There are fun touches such as the huge napkins that the servers tie around your necks to protect your clothing. We were only there one day, so we don't know how this compares to other restaurants/taverns in the historical area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Everything from start to finish was outstanding!! Wmsburg has it right with this one! Food was great, service was fantastic! So much fun for us, our 14 year old, & even our 6 year old little boy Make the effort to immerse yourself in the experience & listen to your server. We miss the kings Arms but this one has the best GF options we found!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The service was slow. The entree was not complete. It was missing a main ingredient. When a request was made it took forever to receive it. Apparently there are certain jobs assigned to different people and one can't do another's assigned job so one tells another and we all wait. We have been here many times. I think it's time to go elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Our server was phenomenal and the atmosphere was amazing. The tavern really transports you back in time. The food was delicious as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great meal and outstanding personable service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Very enjoyable especially with four children. Menu was very accommodating

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Food,service and atmosphere was excellent. A very relaxing interesting dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Wanted to experience dining here after a full day in Colonial Williamsburg

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The food is excellent. There are primarily seafood entrees but other options are available. The wait staff is superb. They are attentive and knowledgeable. Moreover, they are a lot of fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The food was fabulous. We had the waterman's platter which had several different types of seafood and they were all very good. The spoon bread is fabulous as usual. The chowder was also very good. I love shrub! The waiter was excellent and very personable. The last time we ate there we were entertained by Mrs. Campbell, would have liked to see her again. My husband and I always like to eat in the taverns when we visit CW and this was a fabulous night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The food was delicious. The service was impeccable. The dining experience was made very special by our waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The seafood is excellent. However, the fried chicken is a hidden gem. The spoon bread I've remembered from my many visits over the years and is amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The salmon was perfect and the breads were delicious. The French onion soup was too rich for my taste. The waiter was friendly and bantered well with the patrons. I loved everything except the soup.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Our server Harold was exceptionally proficient and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Old tavern in Williamsburg Historic district. Great food and authentic atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Disappointed --Took my granddaughters,for a special night out to a place that my mother and I use to go to, was one of our favorites in Colonial Williamsburg, - wanting them to see a lovely historical tavern,
but instead of having a relaxed meal and conversation about the past, we weren't even done with our cups of soup and the meal came out, they had to keep it warm in the back..nothing like being rushed... did they have a quota to meet?? get you in and out in no time..
Probably not returning ....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food and environment were wonderful. I enjoyed the French onion soup, ribeye, and rum cream pie; my wife said her waterman's supper (clam chowder, stuffed flounder, crab cake, and grilled shrimp) with chocolate cake were delicious. Our waitress provided us some of the history of the tavern and the table cloth sized napkins which she assisted us in how to properly wear (this was helpful because the other waitress did not demonstrate so her tables were awkwardly using the napkins). My wife and I appreciated the anniversary surprise of a card and serenade. We are also thankful for the waitress for telling the child to turn the baseball game off of his smartphone when he was playing it at max volume.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

We ate there for our rehearsal dinner 44 years ago and went back for our anniversary celebration. The food was great, we were in a quiet room off to the side, our waiter was super and most of all we were serenaded by a minstrel! Wonderful memory of a perfect evening! Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

From the minute we arrived on the porch till the moment we left it was an unforgettable experience. Tosha is an excellent server, very warm and friendly. The food was even better than I expected. I will tell all my friends about it and can’t wait to come back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

This our second visit to Christiana Campbell's Tavern and it was fantastic. Everything was great! Of course we had the seafood. Our server, whose nickname is Poo (like Winnie the Poo) was wonderful. We simply loved everything about this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Great overall experience in a historic establishment!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Our server Mary D was excellent. She served our food hot and promptly. She was very patient when we were confused with the bill process while engaged in visiting.
We were privileged to have a violinist and hostess and character costume to entertain us at our table.
We were extremely disappointed that Oysters Rockefeller was not on the Starters menu, though it was advertised on your online menu.
Two of us had wonderful sea food meals, but the other was disappointed with the Watermans Meal which both the menu and your online site said offered black walnut pie for dessert, but when we were ready for it were told that it was NOT available. A custard was ordered instead, which was not very tasty. The stuffed flounder was bland and neither did the crab cake equal what is served at The Trellis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Awesome food and awesome atomosphere! Great seating and our waitress was very informative and all around awesome!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
53

Tweets by Christiana Campbell's Tavern