About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
3 More
Romantic
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg

Special Occasion (207)
Romantic (110)
Kid-friendly (75)
See All
Historic (70)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Good for Groups (57)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Authentic (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Scenic View (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Cozy (23)
Fun (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Live Music (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Casual (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Family Style (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Seasonal (8)
Fireplace (7)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food at the historic taverns of Will ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food at the historic taverns of Williamsburg have really gone down the tubes. They have outsourced all the cooking to Cysco and you can tell. The prove point is way to high for this service and quality of mediocre food. I will not dine in the taverns again any time soon,

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Delicious colonial time period food. Gre ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious colonial time period food. Great service. Wonderful ambience. Strolling musicians created the perfect atmosphere. "Christiana Campbell enactor" had interesting and humorous stories to spin. Would definitrly return. Prices on the high side, but worthwhile.

Tags: Family Style, Live Music, Fun, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, an older woman, was rude in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server, an older woman, was rude in explaining the menu specials. When questioned, she snapped to my husband that the menu was printed incorrectly and it would cost too much to reprint several hundred copies. We were seated on the back porch on a beautiful Friday evening. The menu options were excellent and the 3 children had good choices. Our only complaint about the food was that the vegetables were so crunchy, hardly cooked at all. The live musicians were outstanding. It is pricey but historically significant and we would definitely eat there on our next trip. Christiana gave us a short history of the business and welcomed us in a fine manner.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love to dine at Christiana Campbell's. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Love to dine at Christiana Campbell's. Food is great! Service was great. The atmosphere is perfect for a colonial dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent. Enjoyed the food. Great ser ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent. Enjoyed the food. Great server. Great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were with 2 other couples visiting Co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We were with 2 other couples visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Dinner at Chrisiana Campbell's Tavern was a wonderful experience. The food was delicious, and the music and visit by authentic colonial people was very entertaining!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very friendly staff....good food....grea ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very friendly staff....good food....great atmosphere. A good time was had by all.

Thank You

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went five years ago and loved it. Not ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I went five years ago and loved it. Not sure if my tastes have changed, if this was an off night, or what - but things were very disappointing. Particularly for the cost. The entertainment barely came by our area, much less our table (period actors, musicians). The food was very mediocre. Service was OK, nothing special. Really disappointed in the overall experience, and embarrassed that I recommended the place to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We really enjoyed our meal. There was ve ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal. There was very little wait time. Our server was very helpful and knowledgable about the menu. We would recommend to our friends and family.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After eating here for decades, I have to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

After eating here for decades, I have to say that the food quality and creativity has declined considerably from the past! This is disappointing! Improvement in choices and return to historical themes would be a good idea! I will return but not with the same fond memories of past meals recurring!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Authentic Colonial menu including dishes ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Authentic Colonial menu including dishes George Washington enjoyed when he ate there. Dinner and live music is nice. The rum pie is AMAZING!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful food, service and ambiance. T ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambiance. The Tavern is often closed when we are in the area so we were pleased to be able to dine there this trip.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were 4 of us having a girls weeken ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

There were 4 of us having a girls weekend in Williamsburg and went upon the recommendation of a friend and it did not disappoint! They allowed to split plates and were very accommodating. The Sweet Potato Muffins were AMAZING! Must try this historic restaurant to enjoy history, live music and wonderful food!

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server,Tim, was wonderful. He was pe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our server,Tim, was wonderful. He was personable, made great recommendations, and told interesting stories about the tavern, the people, and the town. The live music was nice touch. I just wish there would have been more of it. The food was very good. We had both the Rockfish special and (Tim's favorite) the shrimp served over ham and croutons. It was a lovely dinner.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First, some guidance. As far as I could ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

First, some guidance. As far as I could see on OpenTable, reservations during the 6 o'clock hour are not offered, so plan on seating either before or after. I assume that this restaurant, as well as the others taking dinner reservations in Colonial Williamsburg offer only two seatings.

The ambiance of the restaurant, with the strolling musicians and period dressed servers helps to reinforce the colonial atmosphere of our visit. Unfortunately, the food and drinks only helped to deflate the experience.

For a before dinner drink, the house beer was not available. One of my companions ordered a whiskey cup, the fourth of our trip but extremely untypically, he sent it back because, for him, it was literally undrinkable. As best he could describe, it had too much of canned pineapple in it and the drink tasted quite a bit like the can.

For dinner we ordered three seafood dishes, shrimp and salmon, shrimp and rock fish and crab cakes.

The fish and shrimp were both quite overcooked and accompanied by unseasoned oversteamed vegetables, oversalted boiled new potatoes with no apparent sauce. The crab cakes were much more cake than crab.

For dessert my companions opted for the rum cream pie, vanilla ice cream and apple cobbler. They quite enjoyed the pie (almost like cheesecake) and the cobbler (not too sweet) and the ice cream (which I did taste and found quite good.

Would I go back? Absolutely not, except perhaps for dessert and coffee. Would I recommend it? Yes, but make a late reservation, eat before, order a side of spoon bread and end your evening at Christian Campbell's enjoying a nice coffee and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The only reason we gave the food 3 star ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The only reason we gave the food 3 stars is because one of our dinners was good and one was not. The salmon was way over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Always a great dinner at Christiana Camp ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always a great dinner at Christiana Campbell's! The food is amazing and the service is excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First off you should make mention in adv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

First off you should make mention in advertisements that you are NOT ADA compatible. Noise level is off the charts, celebrating our 59 wedding CC was NOT a good choice, could hardly talk to each other. Service and food no problems, just not a good selection for our occasion - - will NOT return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Great meal, great bread, very historical ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great meal, great bread, very historical and our waiter Howard was the BEST!!

Loved everything from beginning to end!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Historic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very attentive and friend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. We were seated in the "basement" room which only had 6 booths so all the guests interacted which was fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in Williamsburg, Va for our anni ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were in Williamsburg, Va for our anniversary and had dinner at Christiana Campbell's tavern. The food was wonderful and the staff was excellent . It was like dining back in time. We would eat there again!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our main course meals were not to our sa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our main course meals were not to our satisfaction.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Although I was disappointed in this rest ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Although I was disappointed in this restaurant, it was not a terrible experience. I had chosen this place because my friends are seafood lovers and had never been to Williamsburg and I wanted them to get the historic experience. I've been to King's Arm where our server told us the history of everything on the table. Our server did not explain anything. Two of us ordered the rockfish special and had to send it back and neither one of us ever do that. We did get the crabcakes instead that were pretty good. When we left none of us were saying we would hurry back again but we also weren't saying we hated it. Overall the historic feel of the place was nice. The food was okay but not what I expected for around $35 a plate.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The historic character and dining option ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The historic character and dining options were excellent as well as being given the history of the tavern by the innkeeper. overall a marvelous experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, great service and grea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, great service and great food. Makes you feel that you are back in the 18th century. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was pricey and the flavor was j ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was pricey and the flavor was just mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Best food in the historic area. Their ru ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Best food in the historic area. Their rum cream pie is the best!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Pooh, was especially friendl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our server, Pooh, was especially friendly and accommodating. Also, Christiana Campbell went the extra mile to help us celebrate our anniversary, gave us an anniversary card and posed for a picture with us. She was great, as was the fiddle player who also played a special song for us. A great experience!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food and atmosphere! Loved the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Fabulous food and atmosphere! Loved the music and visit by Christiana Campbell!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not expect the interaction with "C ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I did not expect the interaction with "Christina" but did appreciate her little talk as if we were back in 1780

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner at Christiana Campbell's t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had dinner at Christiana Campbell's to celebrate our 43rd anniversary. My wife had the cod and I had a rib eye steak. Both the cod and steak were excellent. Christiana Campbell's also gives you fresh vegetables with your dinner vs. just a salad like so many other restaurants do now. Getting to Christiana Campbell's is easy by either the Colonial Williamsburg shuttle bus or if you elect to drive, there is parking behind the building. I highly recommend Christiana Campbell's.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

after reading the reviews on Opentable, ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

after reading the reviews on Opentable, my expectations had already been downgraded but we still wanted the Colonial experience. If what we got was an authentic experience, I am real glad we live in the 21st century. We had read complaints from customers about being seated in a room so small it might be a closet. Of course, we got that room and the joy of being seated with a family who had a very young child who was very unhappy. The food was expensive for the very poor quality. Christiana's favorite salad was good, greens were fresh. Everything else was sort of tasteless, crab cakes, potatoes, broccoli and spoonbread. In retrospect, I don't understand why we ever ordered a desert. Tasted like apples out of a can with some ice cream.

Overall we had some great meals in the Williamsburg area, but in the future, I will avoid this "authentic" experience. Bad value is bad value whether it's 1776 or 2016.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

There as not one lump of crab in my 30.0 ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

There as not one lump of crab in my 30.00 crab cakes, I do not know why they break up the lumps into a doughy puck, After half of a cake I was hoping for some lung or shell which would prove some crab may be in the dish. I wonder if they made a large batch and I got the remaining filler. The food tainted the whole evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent service and ambiance. Unique e ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service and ambiance. Unique experience dining in a colonial way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is wonderful for its history B ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The place is wonderful for its history

But in the end it's a restaurant. This is where it fails. This is not a seafood place as stated. Portions are very small and overpriced.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

You pay for the experience, not the food ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

You pay for the experience, not the food. The food was tasteless and overpriced. The service and shows were good. I paid for a show, not a meal. Overall, I did enjoy my time here.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was adequate, not as good as it ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was adequate, not as good as it once was. The atmosphere made up for it though. Enjoyed the music and visiting colonial gentleman who made a toast. Worth the trip but don't expect superb food

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Christiana Campbell's Tavern is in t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The Christiana Campbell's Tavern is in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg . It offers quiet, fun, and special dining experience for people who want to share in the lifestyles of Thomas Jefferson and George Washington. Depending upon where you sit, entertainment is around via colonial songs, stories, and live music. The food and drinks are very good with recipes of yesteryear. It's good for both business meeting and pleasure.

Yes folks, this is where it all began for America. I recommend a visit to this and other restaurants in the area. There is so much to visit and experience. Go Colonial!

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience and the food were outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The ambience and the food were outstandingly delectable! The owner was amazing with her tale of how the tavern came to be. There was a live duo of musicians during dinner, fitting for the era. Every moment was scrumptious! I highly recommend it to history lovers, foodies, couples and for families, they had a young persons menu. Prep kids that it's not a TGIF kind of place, it's a special historical experience kind of restaurant with high quality food. No bar scene, and it was not missed. Priced right for the quality, and be sure to make a reservation. Walk ins were disappointed not to get a table. Popular place. Enjoy!

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great seafood and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always great seafood and the atmosphere is superb! The spoon bread is absolutely to die for, best anywhere I've ever had it. We recommend Christina's to all our friends and other B&B guests as the one place to be sure to go for dinner at Colonial Williamsburg if they only have one evening to dine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.