HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 16 times today

Christiana Campbell's Tavern

4.4
1918 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Not much has changed since George Washington frequented Christiana Campbell’s Tavern for its delicious seafood in the 18th century. Lively conversation and learned discussion still abound, and today’s menu items could easily have been ordered by our founding fathers. Dig in to locally sourced shrimp, scallops, and fish, and be sure to try Christiana’s famous crab cakes, and a group of balladeers will help you channel your inner seafarer with toe-tapping shanties.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(855) 546-7748
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Additional
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 1918 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

The staff and service were excellent once again.I have visited this Tavern multiple times and have always enjoyed my meal. It is pricey and I believe the Crabcakes are not as good as they were in the past.

Report
Helpful
shareview (Baltimore)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

People are standing out in the cold with long waits at all the taverns. Sadly there are empty tables all over. Seems to be lack of staff. The hosts and hostesses who greet people outside and make them wait out in the cold are very grumpy and unfriendly. The servers are somewhat friendly. Workers don’t seem happy. They put a damper on the eating experience. The staff need to go thru Disney training. When the temps are well below freezing, they need to find a way for people to wait inside. There’s plenty of room

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Great waitress
Excellent menu
Good
So tasty
Well prepared
Colonial costumes
And music

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

My dish, the Seafood Fricasee, was served lukewarm.

Otherwise the meal was great, and our server, a young African American man who said he'd worked first at Chownings and then at Campbell's for a combined total of 8 years, was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
Patc (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

We took our family for a trip from Hawaii, so it was very special. Children were impressed with the ambiance and service of the dinner experience. Adults enjoyed the tasty meals of their choice.

Report
Helpful
BZLondon (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Great experience when visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Food is Ok.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

If you go to Williamsburg, this restaurant should be on your 'must visit' list. The food, the atmosphere, the staff are all something special. The food was delicious. Our waiter was wonderful and I am so delighted that we had an opportunity to dine there. I don't thing young children would enjoy it, but it is the perfect place for a date night.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Christmas vacation with a special meal. Service was exceptional and ambiance authentic

Report
Helpful
vipOut2Lunch (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

One does not go to any of the Colonial Williamsburg taverns expecting an extraordinary culinary experience. One goes for the experience, history, and, occasional performance of the staff attendants. On this occasion, we had good food and excellent service. Timothy, our waiter, receives five stars ... he made the evening great. BTW, plan to dig deep into your wallet.

Report
Helpful
Bradyboy (Naples)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

We had a wonderful relaxing meal, unlike the disappointing meal the night before at Kings Arms. We sat in the pub and the gentleman who served us was wonderful. He did everything possible to ensure our experience. My fish dish and my husband's chicken were served hot and were enjoyed very much. The spoon bread is apersonal favorite.

Report
Helpful
vipDCpatron (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Ordered the seafood fricasee. Although the taste was good, food was not warm enough. Also, expected music in this historic venue, and the musicians left just after we were seated. In fact, music seems to be less prevalent in all the Williamsburg historic venues. A bit disappointing.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Baltimore)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Love the colonial atmosphere and great food. A lovely way to end the day in Williamsburg!

Report
Helpful
AngelM (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Amazing service and delicious food! Our server went out of his way to make sure we had an incredible experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Great food....service was excellent...our waitress Pooh was very nice! When I travel to Williamsburgh I always eat here!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
2.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Food was served too quickly and was almost cold. It’s a step above fast food.

Report
Helpful
luv2dinehereDee (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

We stop here every time we come down here on vacation (which is 3X's a year, we are from Pa.) We love all the restaurants in the town, but this is the best for Seafood.

Report
Helpful
thebosseswife (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

The highlight of our twice annual visits to Colonial Williamsburg is visiting the restaurants. This time, we were a little disappointed with Christiana Cambell's as the crab cakes were barely warm when received. Appreciated that the wine was a nice full glass for the price, though. Dislike the tying of a bib and wish servers would ask if we would like to wear it or not. Some guests were asked. We were not. Perhaps this was an oversight. Hubby's salmon was delicious and hot. Prices were as expected.

Report
Helpful
Rachael (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

I am vegan and the rest of my family is not. I was so impressed with the dish they served me- it was absolutely delicious. My family had fun with the waitress and the live music.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

There were many tables avaliable, but we were seated upstairs beside a table of 12 with loud adults and screaming school age children. I couldn't wait to get out of the restaurant.
The hostess should have been aware of this

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
2.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

We have been dining at Christina's on our visits to Williamsburg for over 25 years. It seems each time the food has progressively gone down hill. This last time the crabs cakes were so fishy we could not eat our meal and sent it back. Very disappointing since we love the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
Meanderer (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

Food was okay but not great, historic with slight nod to Colonial menus. It was the day after Christmas and staff was very busy and probably tired.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

Great place for a family gathering or romantic evening!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Eating at this restaurant is my family's holiday tradition a few days before Christmas. The service is wonderful, the food is outstanding and the ambiance is magical.

Report
Helpful
vipSarasota (Washington DC)
1.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Where do I begin? The Inn itself is lovely and representative with what you'd expect in a Colonial era town. We made our reservations almost three months ago but were seated in the back of the restaurant in what was probably an enclosed porch area. It was cold and drafty even on a mild night so not comfortable. Our waitress was charming but we could overhear the waiter at the next table and he was providing more information on the tavern and what was available. Drinks were fine as were the sweet potato muffins. Other rolls were hard and cold. I ordered the crab cakes ( highly recommended in the brochure from our hotel and which I try whenever possible--it's my go to choice) and could not have been more disappointed. Having just had a crab cake that was perfect at a small family owned restaurant on the Eastern shore of Virginia, I can say that what I was served was a disgrace in an area that is known for it's amazing seafood, particularly the blue crab. It was literally a mushy, slimy mix of some type of crab meat formed into patties and fried. To think that a poor innocent crab gave its life for this makes me weep. The vegetables were undercooked, tasteless and cold. The spoon bread was a nice touch and at least hot. My husband ordered the Waterman's supper and the clam chowder was good though not hot enough. He was given and assortment of seafood that was virtually tasteless as well as the afore mentioned crab cake which he wouldn't even eat. The piece de resistance was that from the moment we sat down to when we finished (or gave up) on our meal, all of 30 minutes had elapsed. We were there another 15 minutes only because pie came with my husband's meal and for some reason that took a bit of time to arrive. Whenever we reserve on OT we read the reviews and look at the stars. I am begging those who take the time to review to stop giving 3 and 4 stars to places and then burying negative comments in the body of the review. This doesn't help anyone.

Report
Helpful
UncleJimmie (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Server repeatedly mixed up orders. Did not like being seated in the basement, out of sight out of mind. Especially since I made the reservation so far in advance.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

We love Christiana Campbell's! The ambiance is a delight, the food is yummy, and the service was impeccable. It's like traveling back in time to the 18th century.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

We come to Christiana Campbell's every year and our experience is always exceptional.

Report
Helpful
LeeH (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Outstanding food and service set in Colonial setting. It has been said George Washington liked to dine at the original Chritiana Campbell’s (fire destroyed it). Very romantic good for a celebration.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

A great place to experience some colonial atmosphere while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Food was delicious, and the punch bowls excellent !

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 22, 2017

Outstanding food... colonial Williamsburg has really upped its quality.... seafood was exceptional especially the oysters Rockefeller. Our wait staf was charming.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
64