About Christiana Campbell's Tavern

101 S Waller St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Noted as George Washington’s favorite for seafood, Christiana Campbell’s Tavern is as alive today with conversation and political discussion as it was in the times of the founders.
Menu items feature crab, shrimp, fish, and scallops

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:45pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/christiana-campbells/

Entertainment:
Colonial Balladeers

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

Christiana Campbell's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
3 More
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg

Historic (201)
Special Occasion (143)
Authentic (134)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Romantic (88)
Good for a Date (85)
Cozy (74)
Fun (64)
Creative Cuisine (62)
Worth the Drive (57)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Live Music (48)
Local Ingredients (48)
Comfort Food (42)
Casual (40)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Kid-friendly (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Seasonal (28)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Family Style (20)
Fireplace (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Tasting Menu (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Scenic View (11)
People Watching (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Healthy (10)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great Beer (5)
Private Room (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was awesome from start to finish. Foo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

It was awesome from start to finish. Food was superb! We had the Chefs Special and and regret not. Service was great and food was brought rather quickly. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took the family to Williamsburg for t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We took the family to Williamsburg for the Grand Illumination. The folks at Christiana Campbell's were great with the preschool grandchildren. Of course, the food was great, as was the ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been enjoying Christiana Campbell ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been enjoying Christiana Campbell's Tavern for 50+ years and have never been disappointed. They are the only tavern serving spoon bread which is a favorite of mine. The menu is diverse, having seafood, fried chicken, vegetarian, and beef entrees. The food is fresh and delicious. Entertainment is provided by roving musicians and possibly Christiana herself telling stories many may not have heard before. Well worth taking the time to reserve a table, just be sure to do it a month before the trip.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere but t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, service and atmosphere but the price was simply out of line. A family of four for $250 after tip is just too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My meal was great. The woman who portr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My meal was great. The woman who portrays Mrs. Campbell's is outstanding. A great asset. Love the Fried Chicken and service was excellent. This is my favorite Tavern in Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal and all was great. The problem ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The meal and all was great. The problem was at check in. We arrived 15 minutes early and gave our name. There were folks who arrived after us with the same Amount in there party who where being seated before us. Then another party who had reservations 15 minutes after ours was seated before us. At that time I approached the podium and addressed why we were not called yet. We were missed. Then at that my moment we were seated promptly.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite tavern if all. The a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my favorite tavern if all. The ambience and the experience are priceless. The food is amazing of course but the spoon bread and the muffins are completely over the top!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service our favorite p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service our favorite place when we are in CW

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Tim was delightful and his re ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server Tim was delightful and his recommendation for dinner was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Christiana Campbell's is an iconic colon ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Christiana Campbell's is an iconic colonial experience in Williamsburg, Virginia. Service is excellent and historical details very well performed. The food is authentic and enjoyable and unique selections are available to try.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, the menu has not changed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Unfortunately, the menu has not changed in many years. It is a joy to meet Mrs. Campbell as she is most entertaining. It is charming...the food is fair....the service is fine...but change is needed. If you do not want to spend quite a bit of money go somewhere else. This is a wonderful building in CW....it is meant to serve a purpose. It is costly...maybe not for families with several children. I like it and have been going there for about 40 years.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good, not excellent; not sure w ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good, not excellent; not sure worth the prices.

Service was attentive and helpful.

Enjoyed Miss Campbell's visit with our section and the other entertainment; this made the

dinner most enjoyable.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was exceptional as was the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional as was the wonderful Bard who played an Irish ballad at our table. The ambiance was lovely but sadly, the main course was overcooked, dry and disappointing. The spoon bread was delicious!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Live Music, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Staff was not "welcoming" as in past vis ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Staff was not "welcoming" as in past visits by our Famly. Colonial Characters did not show much enthusiasm for their roles. we had rented dresses for 2 of our granddaughters and toured restored area. This was our 3rd trip to bring various granddaughters. On previous 2 trips staff

had invited them up, played music of period and generally "recognized" them like special guests. They still talk about it. It was markedly different. There is a "morale problem".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The flavor and historic atmosphere was t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The flavor and historic atmosphere was the reason we went.

Food was secondary since we had come to enjoy the type of food and

flavor the colonial people enjoyed then. Plus George Washington enjoy

this restaurant the most...so we had to try it.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant is located in Colonial W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

This restaurant is located in Colonial Williamsburg so décor and servers are appropriately donned. It is a personal favorite because of the history and tavern style.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab cakes and salmon and shrimp wer ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The crab cakes and salmon and shrimp were excellent. We especially enjoyed the spoon bread and sweet potato muffins. We shared the apple crumb pie for dessert - also excellent. We were entertained by a guitarist who played several selections. A meal at Campbell's wouldn't be complete without a visit from Christiana herself. She is very entertaining.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, we had a pleasant experience ea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall, we had a pleasant experience eating dinner and celebrating our anniversary. The only problem was that my fish was not very hot and for the price was not worth it. I did enjoy the corn pudding and the sweet potato muffins though. I just wish that my entree was warmer. Our server was very attentive and we got some personal attention from Mrs. Campbell herself which was fun. All in all I will probably return sometime in the future.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

A step back in time with amazing food, s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A step back in time with amazing food, service and music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming (primarily seafood) restaurant ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Charming (primarily seafood) restaurant in Colonial Williamsburg. The food was good and the service was outstanding. The crab cakes, in particular, are amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a great time dining here. The at ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always a great time dining here. The atmosphere just takes you back in time and lets you escape the reality of today. Never get tired of dining here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG. We ate here the day before Thanksg ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

OMG. We ate here the day before Thanksgiving and my husband's birthday. The food was amazing and the ambience was perfect. Williamsburg is my favorite place for Thanksgiving and I love the taverns. You can not go wrong eating here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful experience. Great food and service. Very enjoyable. Love the sweet potato muffins. Just like I remember having there when I was a kid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter, Randy, was very friendly and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The waiter, Randy, was very friendly and helped us with gluten free options. The food was excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly disappointing. The atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fairly disappointing. The atmosphere was nice. The food rather bleak and overpriced. We used to enjoy going here once a year but no more. Captain George's would be far better than this and less money. One gets the sense that CW is economizing on their food. Not a good buy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Wonderful experience. The fish was fabul ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful experience. The fish was fabulous! The period entertainment was spot on - enjoyable and educational! An evening well spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding seafood....great atmosphere ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding seafood....great atmosphere including period singing....drinks and food phenomenal

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard great things about the food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had heard great things about the food and were looking forward to this as the highlight meal of our vacation. We were surprisingly underwhelmed by the food.

Service and ambiance were superb, but the food was diner quality or less at a higher class restaurant price. I had the rock fish special. The shrimp and sauce were fine, but the fish was dry .

My husband had the crab cakes and was very disappointed. We had a great lunch at one of the other Williamsburg taverns, but this is our first and last meal at Christiana Campbell's.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We were disappointed in that one of our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were disappointed in that one of our guests needs a gluten-free option and the e-published menu had four entrees listed as GF, but two had been whited out on the actual menu. Service was very slow - it took 50 minutes to get our appetizers - and the food was mediocre. The Shrimp Randolph had been treated in such a way that the toast it was served on could not be cut with a knife. The brief musical presentation was nice but the person acting as Mrs. Vobe, the 18th century tavern keeper, was intrusive, repetitious, and not as funny as intended. This used to be a favorite Williamsburg restaurant but it has been declining for some time and we will favor some of the many establishments outside the restored area where, for similar prices, one can enjoy a really good seafood meal.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service and wonderful people who knew there history. The tavern exceeded my expectations in all areas. We loved the spoon bread, the sweet potato muffins and the hot cider in addition to our entrees. Romantic candlelight atmosphere. Delightful service with a historical singer and story teller and because I indicated on my reservation request that we were celebrating a special occasion, the staff made it extra special. A very memorable evening. We are look ing forward to our next evening there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife loved the entire evening, our wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My wife loved the entire evening, our waiter was delightful. I on the other hand thought it was awesome but overpriced for the amount of food that was served. The stories were well done. The place is a treasure however, a little more for a little less $$ seems quite reasonable to me. It was so dark I had to use flashlight on my phone to read my menu. This was very uncomfortable. I need more light to read due to my vision getting worse. Please do not misunderstand my review. It is definitely a must do so much so this was our second visit unfortunately most likely our last due to the prices. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great historical setting. A bit pricey b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great historical setting. A bit pricey but like stepping back to the late 1700's. Worth the stop though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had lots of fun traveling back in tim ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had lots of fun traveling back in time in both atmosphere and food. The place was energetic and fun.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic colonial fare in Colonial Will ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Authentic colonial fare in Colonial Williamsburg. Wait staff in colonial garb. Spoon bread and muffins airways delicious. A little noisy from nearby groups the night we were there. Somewhat pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All staff in colonial costume, together ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

All staff in colonial costume, together with fiddler and guitar player duo who played colonial songs, topped off with a menu of colonial dishes created a unique atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was wonderful. We enjoyed dinning at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was wonderful. We enjoyed dinning at Cristiana Campbell's tavern wth our family. We love it. It's a beautiful jewel at Colonial Williamsburg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening From start to finish. Got ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great evening

From start to finish.

Got in a tad early too.

Go back in a heartbeat

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant when you get in, food came in a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Pleasant when you get in, food came in a timely manner BUT the food came out barely warm! For the price, I expect freshly cooked, not spooned out of a steam table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Can't beat the candlight atmosphere and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Can't beat the candlight atmosphere and the consistently good seafood. Live music and song. Candles on every table.....bring a flashlight, seriously, if you can't read the menu in low light. Our waitress had too many tables and service was really slow....but we really weren't in a rush and were well entertained by the harpist and singer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Have been coming here for years...ambian ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Have been coming here for years...ambiance is great, especially having Mrs. Campbell come over to chat, but the quality of the food could be better; to have a Crab Cake dinner in the Tidewater area and not see any Lump Crab in the Cake for a cost of >$36 is disappointing to say the least. I get that you are paying for the historical characters as well as the musician, but would rather pay a few $$$ more and have a good Crab Cake. Disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.