About Christian Michael's Ristorante

192 E. Third Street
Chico, CA 95928
View Larger Map

A unique downtown dining experience. Located on the corner of Third and Wall Streets in downtown Chico, Christian Michaels prepares California Cuisine, Italian, Mediterranean, Asian and other seasonal dishes to tempt your palate. Selections include fresh seafood, steak, pasta, salads, desserts, a full bar and an extensive wine selection. Allow us to host your next business luncheon, reception or any other celebration.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Happy Hour: Daily: 4:00pm - 6:00pm & 11:00 - 6:00 Fridays; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00 pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00pm
Reservation are for "DINNER ONLY" No bar tables or small plate menu reservation.
First come first serve " BAR ONLY"

Cross Street:
Wall Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 894-4005

Website:
http://chicochristianmichaels.com/

Entertainment:
Early Dine Chef Dinner is $20 for a 3-course meal served everyday from 5:00pm – 6:00 pm. Daily Happy Hour from 4:00pm - 6:00 pm with small plate menu also served in bar all night. Bar food extras include Mama Mia Mondays, Taco Tuesdays, Wine Wednesdays with 25% off all wines. Monthly wine dinners and an extensive wine list with 28 offered by the glass or in flights. Join us to cool off before and after great downtown events including Thursday night farmer’s market and music in the park.

Catering:
From just appetizers to full service meals we are here to help. Lunch and breakfast drop-offs and set-ups available. Great for pharmaceutical or office meetings. Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking lot which is metered until 6:00pm only and free on holidays. Plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Christian Michael

Private Party Facilities:
Our private banquet room holds up to 31 people and has a full audio and video system.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Carlos: (530) 864-0421

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners- Come enjoy a six course dinner paired with exquisite wines.If you wish to be added to our wine dinner invitation list you can like us on face book or ask to be added on your reservation in notes.

Restaurant Photos

  • Pork Osso Bucco - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
  • Beef Te - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
  • Bacon Potato Pizza - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA

Report a photo problem

Pork Osso Bucco - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
Beef Te - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
Bacon Potato Pizza - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA

Christian Michael's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ambiance and service is incredible. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

The ambiance and service is incredible. The menu online is $5 cheaper than the actual restaurant prices, so be prepared for that. Drinks are exceptional here, I ordered the Roaring 20's and loved it. The crab cakes were our favorite dish.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Jamie is awesome U don't have to ask for ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Jamie is awesome

U don't have to ask for anything

She just KNOWS 🥓☕️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet mignon was unfortunately tough ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The filet mignon was unfortunately tough. The kitchen agreed with this assessment and removed it from the bill. Everything else was very nice, and the service was outstanding, which isn't always true in other Chico restaurants. I enjoy happy hour at CM's several times a month and will return for dinner again but not for beef.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. We have never been disappo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always great. We have never been disappointed. Great food, service and at the heart of downtown Chico.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu didn't match website. We selected ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Menu didn't match website. We selected this restaurant based on vegetarian options but all vegetarian entrees had been removed. Salad description did not match what was served; romaine lettuce is not field greens. Should not include the wine's year on wine list if that is not what is served. We ordered a 2006 but were served a 2009 at the same price.

Thank goodness the waiter was awesone; that is the only thing that saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food, exceptional service, and nic ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food, exceptional service, and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and staff at Christian Micha ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The service and staff at Christian Michael's were excellent. Our waiter was very friendly, helpful, and thorough. We first ordered an appetizer of crab cakes. These were the best crab cakes I have ever had. For the main dish I ordered their Filet Mignon, which featured whipped potatoes, and asparagus. This meal was delicious and everything was spot-on; 5 star for sure. For desert I ordered a slice of caramel and almond New York style cheesecake. I was very surprised with the quality of the cheesecake, and how you could taste every flavor in it. This place definitely deserves a 5 star rating for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch!! The service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch!! The service was excellent and the food was delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We met friends for lunch (birthday lunch ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We met friends for lunch (birthday lunch). I ordered a cosmopolitan and think it's the best in town. My friends ordered the turkey sandwich and loved it. My mother and I ordered the crab melt on croissant. It was not great, I have to say. I usually love my lunches there but this had more cheese than crab and was kind of a mess - way too much cheese. The service was great - lots of attention when we needed it. This is the first time I had reserved a table using the Open Table reservation system and was impressed. I got immediate feedback and confirmation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a business dinner on Monday nig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

This was a business dinner on Monday night. It was perfect: got a quiet table in a cozy area, the service was not intrusive, the food and presentation exceeded expectations! We had the swordfish that was the special addition to the menu that night. Who knew that "inland" seafood in Chico could be so fabulous?! We come from the Bay Area and thus are self-described snobs when it comes to fresh fish. Both my business colleague and I commented on how moist the fish was, and it was free of those dark spots that are sometimes not well-trimmed from swordfish and have a strong taste. This swordfish was perfectly trimmed (all-white center cuts), and the flavor was superbly fresh. Our thanks go to the kitchen staff for this! The fish was topped with a sweet-tart chili glaze (Southeast Asian style), and was presented on steamed bok choy and mashed potatoes. California comfort food! Yum. Our chardonnay by the glass, though not any well-known name brand, was the perfect companion to the dish. I don't ever write restaurant reviews, but I do often appreciate and benefit from the reviews of others. So, it is time to repay some gratitude for the effort that other diners make in sharing their experiences. I also think it's important to support the work of those in the restaurant business who are doing a good job. Thank you to everyone at Christian Michael's for making the road trip of a business traveler a bit more comfortable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group raved about the bacon wrapped ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our group raved about the bacon wrapped meatloaf and the baja fish with angel hair pasta and fresh vegetables was luscious. Our server was a hoot and made a great meal that much more enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and the servers r the b ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We love the food and the servers r the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to celebrate my grandsons bi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to celebrate my grandsons birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm always pleased with my experience at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I'm always pleased with my experience at Christian Michael's. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is great. This time there were not very many people so it was nice and quiet, until the baby that someone brought started crying loudly. Who brings a baby to this kind of restaurant? Thankfully we were able to ignore it for the most part. Otherwise, another very pleasant and romantic dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although my friends thought we could go ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Although my friends thought we could go to Applebee's or Olive Garden

After they got their food

It was CLEAR

Good food

Good service

EVERY TIME

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the Basa Fish it was very good! The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had the Basa Fish it was very good!

The oil & balsamic isn't the best the Focaccia bread was ok not to special. I haven't been in the restaurant for a year so, last few times food was terrible but last night thought try it again, this time was yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A wonderful place to celebrate our daugh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A wonderful place to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. The food was delicious, the service was good, the drinks were good. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An excellent meal, the service was great ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

An excellent meal, the service was great, good advice on entree choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way! Great service, d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent in every way! Great service, delicious food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic here from the s ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was fantastic here from the service to the food to the ambiance. Highly recommended. Our server was very friendly and professional. Their food is outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must-try restaurant in Chico. White ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A must-try restaurant in Chico. White table cloths, superb service, nice variety of food. Chef-owner Christian is a creative guy who really enjoys pleasing his customers. Was there recently for both dinner and Sunday brunch. Can't go wrong with either.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good is consistently good, with a few ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good is consistently good, with a few exceptions. Lose the charred lettuce salad! Wine list could be better. BYOB if you want exceptional wine with meal. A true "table cloth" setting with great décor and window seating. Bar is lively, and there is private room for large groups. Would like to see more "specials." How about a tasting menu? Great spot overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious cuisine, excellent service, an ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious cuisine, excellent service, and pleasant ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christian Michael's is our must go to in ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Christian Michael's is our must go to in Chico. Knowledgeable servers, great food, romantic decor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was well prepared with creative sid ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was well prepared with creative sides such as polenta, and different types of mashed potatoes. Portions were large and cooked to perfection. The service was outstanding. Our waiter was cheerful, efficient, and assured everyone was well taken care of. Atmosphere was elegant yet relaxed, lively but not too loud. Excellent playlist for background music. All of us enjoyed our food and the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised by the food. Great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the food. Great meal had by everyone

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Usually food is fabulous at CM. On this ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Usually food is fabulous at CM.

On this night it was quite average. Large 2 inch lumps in the mashed potato. Very little sauce on the filet. Other diners next to us were offered "specials" we were not offered. The hostess tried to seat us in the banquet room instead of regular dining....which we of course declined. I think they just had an "off" night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a nice dinner with friends! Food ta ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had a nice dinner with friends! Food tasty! Service excellent!

One of the few places to have a conversation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My gkids will only eat at two places Her ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My gkids will only eat at two places

Here and now Hudson's

We love the food and the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our waiter. Don't remember his nam ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Loved our waiter. Don't remember his name. We were there Sunday night and he was bald. Young guy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good atmosphere and great service at a l ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good atmosphere and great service at a local gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had another great meal and experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had another great meal and experience at Christian Michael's. Nobody cooks fish better in Chico. The fresh Alaskan cod was done to perfection with a light lemon caper sauce that did not overpower. The side dishes were very good also. We had the dark chocolate torte for desert and it was yummy. I have never had a bad meal here and the service is always spot on and very friendly.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My coworkers and I were in town for busi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My coworkers and I were in town for business. We decided to try Christian Michael's because we were looking for something a little different. The food was very tasty and our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and made great recommendations. A few of us had the cucumber jalapeño margarita and it was awesome! Definitely an upscale place for Chico. We will surely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place to take the gkids for brunch ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best place to take the gkids for brunch

Service and food is always great

We love u guys 💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu hasn't changed in 20 years so i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The menu hasn't changed in 20 years so is getting quite old. The food on this occaision was not up to par. Green beans tasted old and over cooked. Meat was not medium rare; Salmon overcooked.

Nice restaurant that needs up-dating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome Kids r really excited for Hudson ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome

Kids r really excited for Hudson's to open soon💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is awesome The servers r the be ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is awesome

The servers r the best in Chico 💜😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Aaron was terri ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and service. Aaron was terrific. We celebrated our anniversary there and it was fantastic. A bit pricey, but we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food and service. The dining room ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food and service. The dining room was extremely noisy due to a group of loudmouths at an adjacent table. Acoustic damping would be appreciated, unless of course the aim is to keep things loud so customers will drink more booze.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is my favorite restaurant in the Ch ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the Chico area. The food is exquisite, the menu offers excellent variety and the service is always first rate. I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of attention to the fact that this was both a birthday and an engagement announcement and I had to ask that a candle be put on the dessert. We were not made to feel "special" as I expected that we would be.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.