About Christian Michael's Ristorante

192 E. Third Street
Chico, CA 95928
View Larger Map

A unique downtown dining experience. Located on the corner of Third and Wall Streets in downtown Chico, Christian Michaels prepares California Cuisine, Italian, Mediterranean, Asian and other seasonal dishes to tempt your palate. Selections include fresh seafood, steak, pasta, salads, desserts, a full bar and an extensive wine selection. Allow us to host your next business luncheon, reception or any other celebration.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Happy Hour: Daily: 4:00pm - 6:00pm & 11:00 - 6:00 Fridays; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00 pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00pm
Reservation are for "DINNER ONLY" No bar tables or small plate menu reservation.
First come first serve " BAR ONLY"

Cross Street:
Wall Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 894-4005

Website:
http://chicochristianmichaels.com/

Entertainment:
Early Dine Chef Dinner is $20 for a 3-course meal served everyday from 5:00pm – 6:00 pm. Daily Happy Hour from 4:00pm - 6:00 pm with small plate menu also served in bar all night. Bar food extras include Mama Mia Mondays, Taco Tuesdays, Wine Wednesdays with 25% off all wines. Monthly wine dinners and an extensive wine list with 28 offered by the glass or in flights. Join us to cool off before and after great downtown events including Thursday night farmer’s market and music in the park.

Catering:
From just appetizers to full service meals we are here to help. Lunch and breakfast drop-offs and set-ups available. Great for pharmaceutical or office meetings. Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking lot which is metered until 6:00pm only and free on holidays. Plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Christian Michael

Private Party Facilities:
Our private banquet room holds up to 31 people and has a full audio and video system.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Carlos: 5308640421x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners- Come enjoy a six course dinner paired with exquisite wines.If you wish to be added to our wine dinner invitation list you can like us on face book or ask to be added on your reservation in notes.

Restaurant Photos

Christian Michael's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chico
Best Restaurants in Chico ›

special occasion (34)
fit for foodies (20)
romantic (20)
See All
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (15)
great for lunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome time with my sis It's the server ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Awesome time with my sis It's the servers who keep us coming back Ok the food rocks too

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of four experienced Christian ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Our party of four experienced Christian Michael's Ristorante for the first time. The occasion was celebrating two birthdays for lunch. We were unanimous in our praises for exceptionally tasty sandwiches and salads. My salad was the best Caesar salad I have ever tasted! I'd love to have the recipe for the salad dressing. I must mention the French fries that came with the sandwiches. They were prepared with perfection, crispy and flavor plus! Our waiter, Mason, took care of our requests and was a true professional, giving us excellent service. We all left Christian Michael's with a smile on our faces for the wonderful culinary experience we enjoyed, agreeing that Christian Michael's is a cut above other restaurants we have tried. We are anxious to return for lunch and dinner as well. We will share our wonderful experience with our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

At first, I was impressed that I was con ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

At first, I was impressed that I was contacted twice by the restaurant to verify my reservation for 10 people. But after we waited more than an hour after we'd ordered for our food, we had to wolf down our meals to get everyone out who had other things still to do that day. I felt there was a lot of blaming and not enough attention to a very large party who was very easy to seat, quick to order, and not tricky in any way. Maybe this restaurant handles small groups more gracefully.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

So very disappointed. We had Crab Cakes ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

So very disappointed. We had Crab Cakes that looked and tasted like they had been deep fried, then reheated. Seafood ravioli that was undercooked and covered with a chalky white sauce. Costco has better seafood ravioli! Lobster bisque that tasted like canned tomato soup with a few flakes of lobster. Two really odd tasting salads- didn't finish. Barely edible. A fish dish that also had the chalky white sauce. No imagination here! $171 later and all I can say is that we aren't going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Christian Michaels Ristorante is a hidde ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Christian Michaels Ristorante is a hidden Gem in Chico! Our family Graduation dinner was handled perfectly by our server, Matthew. His patience, professionalism and quiet attentive service was exemplary. Food preparation and presentation was excellent !!! I will be back the next time I visit Chico!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Easy Reservations

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was easy to book the reservation on line. I asked for window seating for four which we received. However, next time I'll specify double-side seating for four at a window. We were in a booth-type seat that didn't allow for conversation from across the table. Our waiter was extraordinarily attentive and friendly, which we all appreciated.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Kids love that they can draw on the tabl ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Kids love that they can draw on the table

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for any holiday

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for any holiday

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it. The service was great and the ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved it. The service was great and the food was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

💜 best brunch in Chico Food is great Se ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

💜 best brunch in Chico Food is great Service is amazing

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

First time visit

Dined on April 30, 2016

Based on recommendations from websites and neighbors we chose this spot for a first time dining experience in Chico, California. Very comfortable, clean, well designed and pleasant restaurant. The food we excellent, service very prompt and helpful. Management team responded to a request to meet us, and chatted about the location and the community. It was a good first impression and we would return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not that good

Dined on April 24, 2016

I ate there for brunch and while the service was good I did not care for the food too much. I didn't care for an item I originally ordered and was able to return it and get something else which I'm grateful for. My meal was ok, nothing special. One thing missing from the menu was toast which my friend wanted as well. When I eat breakfast food items I enjoy eating toast with it and it isn't even an option as an ala carte item. Also, at the start of the meal the waitress brought out something I assume was sponge cake with powdered sugar on top. My friend and I did not care for this as it was very bland. Perhaps CM would consider offering something else. Perhaps bread since they don't offer toast!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner and great service Thanks f ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great dinner and great service Thanks for singing HB to my gdgtr

food5
ambience5
service5

R friends were traveling from Idaho They ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

R friends were traveling from Idaho They are still talking about how good the food was

food5
ambience5
service5

It's the servers that us keep coming bac ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

It's the servers that us keep coming back Sure the food is good But it's great service always with a smile Thx all u great ppl who work so hard to keep us all so HAPPY

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent place to eat

Dined on April 5, 2016

The wife and I enjoyed our 51st wedding anniversary with special service and great food. I would recommend Christian Michael's to all that would like to spend a nice special occasion or romantic evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good. Only complaint was drinks like orange juice coffe tea and milk extra charge without disclosure when ordering.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

My gdgtr loves it here She loves that sh ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

My gdgtr loves it here She loves that she can draw her server a picture on ur table Great place for brunch with my gkids💜😎

food5
ambience5
service5

Can with ppl who have never been here A ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Can with ppl who have never been here Always a great time

food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating a birthday Love this place ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Celebrating a birthday Love this place Good food and great service

food5
ambience5
service5

Gkids love this place💜😎

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Gkids love this place💜😎

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on March 4, 2016

Had been to Christian Michaels in a long time, but went for lunch with three friends. Food was good and the service was excellent. Mason who was our server, was friendly and fun and provided great service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Always a great time

food5
ambience5
service5

Went with my friend who has never been h ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Went with my friend who has never been here We had a great time

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Just ok.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The way the restaurant is configured is awkward. There is no room when you walk in the door. Nowhere to stand and wait. The bar is right there at the entry and tables are next to it. This creates a tiny pathway back to the main restaurant dining area. As you are walking to your table you feel uncomfortably close to both the people at the bar and at the tables. The food was just ok. The salad tasted a little bitter, maybe not enough dressing? I ordered the pork shanks. The meat was tasty but there wasn't much of it. The polenta served with it made a strange combo. Not good texturally. Service was good though. I probably won't go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Took a friend to a birthday brunch Alway ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Took a friend to a birthday brunch Always a great time 💜

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a wonderful atmosphere

Dined on February 16, 2016

Seated without waiting in a lovely setting. The food choices were good with an interesting special. We chose different things and both were delicious. Good value and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Mixed results

Dined on February 14, 2016

I've been to this restaurant 3 times now and I keep hoping they will get most, if not everything right. And yet, they continue to disappoint. Sometimes the food is just ok, other times it's quite good. The service has been consistently been poor to moderate at best. This latest visit, got off to a rough start. Despite having made reservations a month in advance, we arrived precisely at the appointed time at 7 PM on a Saturday night. Despite the fact that there were several empty tables suited for 2 diners like us, the very young and clearly inexperienced hostess informed us that our table was not ready and kept us waiting for 7 minutes. It was only after I informed the hostess that this was an unacceptable delay, did someone more senior come over and attempt to resolve the situation. The more senior person then attempted to seat us at a table near the kitchen in a very high traffic area. Once again, it was only after I stated that these arrangements were not suitable did the hostess move us to a better location. The server took well over 5 minutes just to come over and greet us and get our drink order. Then another 15 minutes to take our food order. I sill state though, that the server apologized for the rocky start and his performance improved considerably over the dinner. It is unlikely that I would return to this restaurant, which is a pity. They have such high potential to succeed. If only they could get all the various components right.

food5
ambience5
service5

The place was packed Arron r server was ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The place was packed Arron r server was awesome Food was amazing like always Thanks Christian Michael u rock😍

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

Dined on February 12, 2016

This restaurant has been our go to restaurant for a quiet dinners or celebration with friends or when holiday company is in town. It is always a hit with everyone...that is why it has been so popular for so many years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The family took me there for my birthday ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

The family took me there for my birthday because they knew it was one of my favorite restaurant. I'm usually pretty satisfied every time I'm there. I'm very familiar with the menu and felt the my salmon was undercooked and mash potatoes were overpowering with too much sour cream. Maybe a new cook?

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Great room.

Dined on February 7, 2016

What's not too like. Add the Early Bird special pricing and Bob's your uncle!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place anytime

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

We love this place anytime

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Chico

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Best food in Chico

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Dinner and a Show

Dined on January 18, 2016

The fish on special was a flaky white fish with crab mashed potatoes (actually the star of the meal) and asparagus. The asparagus was firm, tough to cut with the provided knife. The fish was cooked well, but perhaps bland to my expectations for a $25.00 special. I found the potatos actually overpowered the meal. The Olive Oil And Balsamic Bread Dip was decent, but nothing impressive. The Pomodoro was rich, but would've likely been better with a protein added. It was a generous serving. The food was filling and great as dinner before a show. I was happy to take my girlfriend out from Southern California to see the fine dining offered in Chico. It was not as experimental or adventurous as our pallets may of liked, but instead classic and traditional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Restaurant

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant and we look forward to going back. We were surprised when we walked in we were in a noisy bar, but the hostess took us to a beautiful cozy room. My husband ordered the ground filet mignon meatloaf and loved it. I had the grilled salmon with potato scallion cake, wonderful. We had the chocolate torte with Kona ice cream, a must try. Michael's has a very nice wine list and wonderful servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It awesome mexican mochas again

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

It awesome mexican mochas again

food5
ambience4
service4

Tonight we noticed r mexican mochas were ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Tonight we noticed r mexican mochas were not the same I asked the server if they had alcohol In a few minutes the manager came Said the bar tender stated they had the alcohol I said I come here a lot and this isn't right She offered us a shot of tequila at r expense Well that's not the point I have no idea what was wrong But both drinks were not right So we did finish them with r meal But we would have had more had they been right

food5
ambience5
service5

The place was packed the service was awe ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

The place was packed the service was awesome Great place for a Holiday meal

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Special Dinner

Dined on December 23, 2015

Food was excellent! All three dishes and the appetizer were great!! We had the ahi, the meatloaf, and seafood pasta. We started with the calamari which was served with an excellent sauce, not the typical red cocktail sauce.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.