About Christian Michael's Ristorante

192 E. Third Street
Chico, CA 95928
View Larger Map

A unique downtown dining experience. Located on the corner of Third and Wall Streets in downtown Chico, Christian Michaels prepares California Cuisine, Italian, Mediterranean, Asian and other seasonal dishes to tempt your palate. Selections include fresh seafood, steak, pasta, salads, desserts, a full bar and an extensive wine selection. Allow us to host your next business luncheon, reception or any other celebration.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Happy Hour: Daily: 4:00pm - 6:00pm & 11:00 - 6:00 Fridays; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00 pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00pm
Reservation are for "DINNER ONLY" No bar tables or small plate menu reservation.
First come first serve " BAR ONLY"

Cross Street:
Wall Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 894-4005

Website:
http://chicochristianmichaels.com/

Entertainment:
Early Dine Chef Dinner is $20 for a 3-course meal served everyday from 5:00pm – 6:00 pm. Daily Happy Hour from 4:00pm - 6:00 pm with small plate menu also served in bar all night. Bar food extras include Mama Mia Mondays, Taco Tuesdays, Wine Wednesdays with 25% off all wines. Monthly wine dinners and an extensive wine list with 28 offered by the glass or in flights. Join us to cool off before and after great downtown events including Thursday night farmer’s market and music in the park.

Catering:
From just appetizers to full service meals we are here to help. Lunch and breakfast drop-offs and set-ups available. Great for pharmaceutical or office meetings. Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking lot which is metered until 6:00pm only and free on holidays. Plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Christian Michael

Private Party Facilities:
Our private banquet room holds up to 31 people and has a full audio and video system.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Carlos: 5308640421x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners- Come enjoy a six course dinner paired with exquisite wines.If you wish to be added to our wine dinner invitation list you can like us on face book or ask to be added on your reservation in notes.

Restaurant Photos

  • Pork Osso Bucco
  • Beef Te
  • Bacon Potato Pizza
Pork Osso Bucco
Beef Te
Bacon Potato Pizza

Christian Michael's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Energetic

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chico
Best Restaurants in Chico ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My coworkers and I were in town for busi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

My coworkers and I were in town for business. We decided to try Christian Michael's because we were looking for something a little different. The food was very tasty and our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and made great recommendations. A few of us had the cucumber jalapeño margarita and it was awesome! Definitely an upscale place for Chico. We will surely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place to take the gkids for brunch ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best place to take the gkids for brunch

Service and food is always great

We love u guys 💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu hasn't changed in 20 years so i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The menu hasn't changed in 20 years so is getting quite old. The food on this occaision was not up to par. Green beans tasted old and over cooked. Meat was not medium rare; Salmon overcooked.

Nice restaurant that needs up-dating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome Kids r really excited for Hudson ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome

Kids r really excited for Hudson's to open soon💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is awesome The servers r the be ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is awesome

The servers r the best in Chico 💜😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Aaron was terri ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and service. Aaron was terrific. We celebrated our anniversary there and it was fantastic. A bit pricey, but we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food and service. The dining room ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food and service. The dining room was extremely noisy due to a group of loudmouths at an adjacent table. Acoustic damping would be appreciated, unless of course the aim is to keep things loud so customers will drink more booze.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is my favorite restaurant in the Ch ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the Chico area. The food is exquisite, the menu offers excellent variety and the service is always first rate. I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of attention to the fact that this was both a birthday and an engagement announcement and I had to ask that a candle be put on the dessert. We were not made to feel "special" as I expected that we would be.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good food. Wonderful service. Was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good food. Wonderful service. Was a bit surprised it wasn't more crowded. Not sure how to get a younger vibe in the dining area, but that would liven up the place. The prices are very reasonable as well. Perhaps opening up the walls so the bar and restaurant are together would help.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ummmmm💜 Always great

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Ummmmm💜

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mom and sister drove three hours to m ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My mom and sister drove three hours to meet us for brunch

They loved it 💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife was served a different dish than ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My wife was served a different dish than described on the menu, had an allergic reaction and became ill. The kitchen substituted the sauce from the "special" for the one described in the menu as well as substituting "potato whip" for what should have been a potato gratin. Unacceptable. If you don't have something then apologize and offer something else. Most customers will just be annoyed, but for some it is actually unsafe.

My dish was under-seasoned, and unremarkable in every way. Poorly reheated polenta (portions were still congealed), and drowning in a bland sauce. The pork shanks were cooked decently enough, but overall the dish was lack luster.

This was a second time here, and the food quality has dropped drastically. I'd recommend avoiding until there is a significant management or kitchen change. There are far better options in Chico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

The food and service was very good. It ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food and service was very good. It was a Monday evening and there were only a few patrons. Even though we were seated at a small table for two. We would have preferred a larger table so that we weren't bumping our knees and the table top would not be so crowded with dishes. We probably could have been seated elsewhere if we had asked, but we put up with it. Also, the dining area was too warm. The air should have been turned up a bit. We both felt a bit hot and humid.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome as always Where else can u eat g ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome as always

Where else can u eat good food

While ur gkids color on the table covers💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my dad here for Father's Day and we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my dad here for Father's Day and we all enjoyed it very much, even though we ordered a variety of things. I had the eggs benedict with crab and my step mom had a Huevos Rancheros. Hard to do both well, but they did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

With 87 yr parents it took an hour to ge ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

With 87 yr parents it took an hour to get food. we had a reservation and it wasn't packed. they omitted an entrée and we had to ask for the salad before the entre. nothing to really eat like bread and butter for an hour with old folk for father's day. no handicap parking other than across the street. just a disappointment all around! Mgr did not staff appropriately, but may be the norm. food was not stellar. I make a better cesear dressing than what we got. my folks with hearing aides had issues with the acoustics. it was like they were pushing the booze rather than the food. the breakfast bread was a laugh for 3 people waiting an hour for food. Hollandaise was so salty it was pitiful. First time there and not impressed. Again, UNDERSTAFFED ON FLOOR AND KITCHEN! you would think the owner would want turnover for more $. Server was Mason and he kept making excuses and would just disappear.

I have no desire to give personal information for response from the owners. Let's just say they have been there since it opened, I grew up in the area but am now in the east bay, and did a lot of driving for my folks for a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Had an awesome Sunday Brunch and we had ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had an awesome Sunday Brunch and we had the crab crepes.They were wonderful!!! The other guy with us had the crab cake sandwich and it was great!!! Highly recommend this restaurant for we had a wonderful dining experience there!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a Father's Day brunch. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there for a Father's Day brunch. The food was excellent, prices were more than reasonable, and the service was outstanding. The Bacon Bloody Mary was an inspired cocktail for the event. My wife had the crabcake eggs benedict and said it was excellent.

I had the chorizo omelette, which I thought was a little overpriced at $17, but I enjoyed it very much. We both had the excellent potato-scallion cake. My grandson really enjoyed the French toast, made with a croissant. The champagne was a little on the sweet side, but that's okay for breakfast. The coffee was excellent and the waiter never let my cup go dry. We had a wonderful time and we will be back for other meals and occasions. A great discovery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate anything 💜 Thx ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to celebrate anything 💜

Thx Aaron for being so good with the kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zack and Alyssa always have fun here The ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Zack and Alyssa always have fun here

The food is yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A pleasant experience, nice atmosphere, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A pleasant experience, nice atmosphere, if a bit noisy, but it was Champagne Brunch :) The service was excellent, unobtrusive and very polite. The food was fresh, well-prepared and well presented; the prices, reasonable. A good corner spot eatery in Chico, recommended for families, couples and visitors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My gkids love this place

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My gkids love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome time with my sis It's the server ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Awesome time with my sis

It's the servers who keep us coming back

Ok the food rocks too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party of four experienced Christian ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Our party of four experienced Christian Michael's Ristorante for the first time. The occasion was celebrating two birthdays for lunch. We were unanimous in our praises for exceptionally tasty sandwiches and salads. My salad was the best Caesar salad I have ever tasted! I'd love to have the recipe for the salad dressing. I must mention the French fries that came with the sandwiches. They were prepared with perfection, crispy and flavor plus! Our waiter, Mason, took care of our requests and was a true professional, giving us excellent service. We all left Christian Michael's with a smile on our faces for the wonderful culinary experience we enjoyed, agreeing that Christian Michael's is a cut above other restaurants we have tried. We are anxious to return for lunch and dinner as well. We will share our wonderful experience with our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At first, I was impressed that I was con ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

At first, I was impressed that I was contacted twice by the restaurant to verify my reservation for 10 people. But after we waited more than an hour after we'd ordered for our food, we had to wolf down our meals to get everyone out who had other things still to do that day. I felt there was a lot of blaming and not enough attention to a very large party who was very easy to seat, quick to order, and not tricky in any way. Maybe this restaurant handles small groups more gracefully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Graduation dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Lovely food, company and occasion. Five of us enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So very disappointed. We had Crab Cakes ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

So very disappointed.

We had Crab Cakes that looked and tasted like they had been deep fried, then reheated. Seafood ravioli that was undercooked and covered with a chalky white sauce. Costco has better seafood ravioli!

Lobster bisque that tasted like canned tomato soup with a few flakes of lobster.

Two really odd tasting salads- didn't finish. Barely edible.

A fish dish that also had the chalky white sauce. No imagination here!

$171 later and all I can say is that we aren't going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Christian Michaels Ristorante is a hidde ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Christian Michaels Ristorante is a hidden Gem in Chico! Our family Graduation dinner was handled perfectly by our server, Matthew. His patience, professionalism and quiet attentive service was exemplary. Food preparation and presentation was excellent !!! I will be back the next time I visit Chico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easy Reservations

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was easy to book the reservation on line. I asked for window seating for four which we received. However, next time I'll specify double-side seating for four at a window. We were in a booth-type seat that didn't allow for conversation from across the table.

Our waiter was extraordinarily attentive and friendly, which we all appreciated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Kids love that they can draw on the tabl ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Kids love that they can draw on the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for any holiday

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for any holiday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. The service was great and the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved it. The service was great and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

💜 best brunch in Chico Food is great Se ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

💜 best brunch in Chico

Food is great

Service is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Based on recommendations from websites and neighbors we chose this spot for a first time dining experience in Chico, California.

Very comfortable, clean, well designed and pleasant restaurant. The food we excellent, service very prompt and helpful. Management team responded to a request to meet us, and chatted about the location and the community. It was a good first impression and we would return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Not that good

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I ate there for brunch and while the service was good I did not care for the food too much. I didn't care for an item I originally ordered and was able to return it and get something else which I'm grateful for. My meal was ok, nothing special. One thing missing from the menu was toast which my friend wanted as well. When I eat breakfast food items I enjoy eating toast with it and it isn't even an option as an ala carte item. Also, at the start of the meal the waitress brought out something I assume was sponge cake with powdered sugar on top. My friend and I did not care for this as it was very bland. Perhaps CM would consider offering something else. Perhaps bread since they don't offer toast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great dinner and great service Thanks f ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great dinner and great service

Thanks for singing HB to my gdgtr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

R friends were traveling from Idaho They ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

R friends were traveling from Idaho

They are still talking about how good the food was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's the servers that us keep coming bac ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

It's the servers that us keep coming back

Sure the food is good

But it's great service always with a smile

Thx all u great ppl who work so hard to keep us all so HAPPY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place to eat

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

The wife and I enjoyed our 51st wedding anniversary with special service and great food.

I would recommend Christian Michael's to all that would like to spend a nice special occasion or romantic evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good. Only complaint was drinks like orange juice coffe tea and milk extra charge without disclosure when ordering.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.