Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Christian Michael's Ristorante

A unique downtown dining experience. Located on the corner of Third and Wall Streets in downtown Chico, Christian Michaels prepares California Cuisine, Italian, Mediterranean, Asian and other seasonal dishes to tempt your palate. Selections include fresh seafood, steak, pasta, salads, desserts, a full bar and an extensive wine selection. Allow us to host your next business luncheon, reception or any other celebration.

192 E. Third Street
Chico, CA 95928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Happy Hour: Daily: 4:00pm - 6:00pm & 11:00 - 6:00 Fridays; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00 pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00pm
Reservation are for "DINNER ONLY" No bar tables or small plate menu reservation.
First come first serve " BAR ONLY"

Cross Street:
Wall Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 894-4005

Website:
http://chicochristianmichaels.com/

Entertainment:
Early Dine Chef Dinner is $20 for a 3-course meal served everyday from 5:00pm – 6:00 pm. Daily Happy Hour from 4:00pm - 6:00 pm with small plate menu also served in bar all night. Bar food extras include Mama Mia Mondays, Taco Tuesdays, Wine Wednesdays with 25% off all wines. Monthly wine dinners and an extensive wine list with 28 offered by the glass or in flights. Join us to cool off before and after great downtown events including Thursday night farmer’s market and music in the park.

Catering:
From just appetizers to full service meals we are here to help. Lunch and breakfast drop-offs and set-ups available. Great for pharmaceutical or office meetings. Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking lot which is metered until 6:00pm only and free on holidays. Plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Christian Michael

Private Party Facilities:
Our private banquet room holds up to 31 people and has a full audio and video system.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Carlos: (530) 864-0421

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners- Come enjoy a six course dinner paired with exquisite wines.If you wish to be added to our wine dinner invitation list you can like us on face book or ask to be added on your reservation in notes.

Christian Michael's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for Birthdays (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is hyped up way too much. I made a reservation for prom and it was extremely overpriced for the entrees, the service was mediocre and the 18% gratuity added to each check is absolutely ridiculous. I would not tip that much for the food because it was not very good, my salmon was cooked decently but my dates pasta was in watery sauce, the service wasn't great and the menu selection needs to be broadened. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We chose this restaurant in Chico because we wanted to eat at a nice restaurant to celebrate our son's graduation. We were also looking for a place that would offer some gluten free options and that took reservations. We were very pleased with our choice!! The food/drink and the service were all top notch and we would definitely choose to eat at Christian Michael's Ristorante again!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Despite a very crowded room due to university graduation weekend, our servers were prompt, didn't rush us and were helpful with suggestions. My sister had the halibut special and I couldn't resist the prime rib. Both delicious, arrived hot, nicely presented. I brought half my dinner home for another meal as my portion was huge! Our waiter, David, was efficient and attentive. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food at an extremely moderate price: $25 per person for a champagne brunch on Mother's Day (kids were half price). The food was great--creative use of high-quality ingredients--and the service was outstanding. I told the waitress I would drink only one glass of champagne, because I was driving. She came back several times to refill my wife's glass, but never asked me if I wanted more--a gesture I appreciated. It's all too easy to think "oh, what can one more glass hurt?" When presented with the bill, the waitress explained that the gratuity was already included because it was a holiday event (even though we were only a part of four), but the service was so excellent I added a modest additional tip--about 10 percent. As we chatted outside the restaurant before getting into our cars (we'd arrived separately), the waitress came outside, tapped me on the shoulder, and thanked me. I tend to tip generously anyway, especially for good service, but that was a first for me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Very nice setting. Service was good. Kitchen got our order wrong and one person had to wait for the correction. Manager made special effort to apologize and speed up the correction. Our main criticism is that the food is mediocre, which is a shame because it's one of the nicest white tablecloth and crystal restaurants in downtown Chico.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day and other special events can be tough for restaurant staff and patrons alike. Christain Michaels kept it all together, and provided a great meal, atmosphere and experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Enjoyed an excellent meal with extremely friendly and efficient service. Would highly recommend and will return for another good meal .

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Pre theatre dinner excellent on all counts - Attentive staff, variety of dinner options which are flavorful as well as attractive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We always enjoy Christian Michaels because it's one of the few places to eat in Chico where you can actually talk with your tablemates and not be drowned out by music or loud diners. The setting is serene. The bar area has more energy, which is fine, and it's not distracting when you're in the dining room. The food is always good though I think the menu would benefit from a bit more variety. Still I hope it never changes in terms of being a place where I know that the meal will be quiet and relaxed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was excellent. The server was charming but made many mistakes. He forgot my salad after we had a discussion about the anchovies (he prompted it). He forgot the mussels appetizer, one entree was brought out at least 5 minutes after the others. It had clearly been under the heat lamp a long time. Etc.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Private Room, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent service, timely seating, pleasant surroundings, great food selection, early seating a great value, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Mediocre is all one can say. Fairly upscale Olive Garden cooking; sad wine list but Ronnie our waiter was great! I see a better future for him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was just as, if not more impressive. We went for Easter brunch and I was impressed with the price and quality of the food. They brought us berry bread and fresh fruit while we waited for our food, and it was delicious! They also did a great job of making sure our champagne glasses were always full! I will definitely return and I recommend them to everyone I know!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We went on April 14th and had a birthday lunch for 3 of the 6 ladies attending. Very nice waitress and our food was delicious. Always a lovely place for a special lunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. And we especially liked or waiter, David. He is a gem! Advised us on all aspects of the meal, and was so nice. Great meal. We will definitely be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It's nice to see that Chico still provides genuine customer service in the food industry.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Over the years, have been to Christian Michaels (CM) many times, several of those to show my granddaughter the difference between going out to dinner and "dining." Every time she comes to Chico, she requests to "dine at Christian Michaels."

On this last occasion, one of our group of five was celebrating her 50th. When given a choice of Chico restaurants, she selected CM and we weren't disappointed. Had requested the booth at 6:30 on a busy Saturday. I arrived early and the table was set up, and our server (Bill) honored, with style, every request we made during the two hours we dined there. We loved out time there and I always know I will be happy when I leave CMs. I would recommend to anyone - in fact, my niece is coming in November and I'm already making plans to dine there with her and her husband. Thanks for all!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is my gkids favorite place for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very good meal (fish special and salad). In fact, our dinner was outstanding! Dessert was great too (coconut cheesecake--loved it). Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Pleasant staff, great service, good atmosphere, nice fish selections, my entree was a bit salty, husband's selection was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Did not care for one of the entrees. Size of meal was small for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went with my niece for dinner
Love the new menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed our Valentine's Day lunch very much! Wonderful and quiet. Our server was very pleasant and made sure we had everything we needed. We look forward to coming back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

U got to come in and check out Christian's new menu 💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

As usual, the food at Christian Michaels was great. I had a lobster ravioli which was delicious accompanied with a side salad...very tasty. My friends had the filet which they said was cooked perfectly. Our waiter was superb....very helpful and very good!
I'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great location in downtown. Super servic by all wait staff

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Birthday lunch

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Zman loves this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Met a friend for lunch at Christian Michaels. My first time there for lunch; her first time there ever. It was a quiet afternoon due to stormy weather, which lended itself well to an extended lunch get-together. Service was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and made some excellent recommendations. He was attentive but not intrusive. The food was beyond our expectations for lunch. Both the bisque (tomato jalapeno) and the salad (charred romaine) were innovative and extremely tasty. The caramel turtle cheesecake was the perfect finish to a very enjoyable lunch experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The ambiance and service is incredible. The menu online is $5 cheaper than the actual restaurant prices, so be prepared for that. Drinks are exceptional here, I ordered the Roaring 20's and loved it. The crab cakes were our favorite dish.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Jamie is awesome
U don't have to ask for anything
She just KNOWS 🥓☕️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The filet mignon was unfortunately tough. The kitchen agreed with this assessment and removed it from the bill. Everything else was very nice, and the service was outstanding, which isn't always true in other Chico restaurants. I enjoy happy hour at CM's several times a month and will return for dinner again but not for beef.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always great. We have never been disappointed. Great food, service and at the heart of downtown Chico.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Menu didn't match website. We selected this restaurant based on vegetarian options but all vegetarian entrees had been removed. Salad description did not match what was served; romaine lettuce is not field greens. Should not include the wine's year on wine list if that is not what is served. We ordered a 2006 but were served a 2009 at the same price.
Thank goodness the waiter was awesone; that is the only thing that saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food, exceptional service, and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The service and staff at Christian Michael's were excellent. Our waiter was very friendly, helpful, and thorough. We first ordered an appetizer of crab cakes. These were the best crab cakes I have ever had. For the main dish I ordered their Filet Mignon, which featured whipped potatoes, and asparagus. This meal was delicious and everything was spot-on; 5 star for sure. For desert I ordered a slice of caramel and almond New York style cheesecake. I was very surprised with the quality of the cheesecake, and how you could taste every flavor in it. This place definitely deserves a 5 star rating for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch!! The service was excellent and the food was delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We met friends for lunch (birthday lunch). I ordered a cosmopolitan and think it's the best in town. My friends ordered the turkey sandwich and loved it. My mother and I ordered the crab melt on croissant. It was not great, I have to say. I usually love my lunches there but this had more cheese than crab and was kind of a mess - way too much cheese. The service was great - lots of attention when we needed it. This is the first time I had reserved a table using the Open Table reservation system and was impressed. I got immediate feedback and confirmation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

This was a business dinner on Monday night. It was perfect: got a quiet table in a cozy area, the service was not intrusive, the food and presentation exceeded expectations! We had the swordfish that was the special addition to the menu that night. Who knew that "inland" seafood in Chico could be so fabulous?! We come from the Bay Area and thus are self-described snobs when it comes to fresh fish. Both my business colleague and I commented on how moist the fish was, and it was free of those dark spots that are sometimes not well-trimmed from swordfish and have a strong taste. This swordfish was perfectly trimmed (all-white center cuts), and the flavor was superbly fresh. Our thanks go to the kitchen staff for this! The fish was topped with a sweet-tart chili glaze (Southeast Asian style), and was presented on steamed bok choy and mashed potatoes. California comfort food! Yum. Our chardonnay by the glass, though not any well-known name brand, was the perfect companion to the dish. I don't ever write restaurant reviews, but I do often appreciate and benefit from the reviews of others. So, it is time to repay some gratitude for the effort that other diners make in sharing their experiences. I also think it's important to support the work of those in the restaurant business who are doing a good job. Thank you to everyone at Christian Michael's for making the road trip of a business traveler a bit more comfortable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My friends and family gathered at Christian Michael's for their Sunday brunch. Bottomless champagne is only a $4 addition when you order an entree. This was a great deal for the champagne lovers in my family. I ordered the breakfast pizza and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is a unique dish and it was the largest of all the breakfasts at the table. I had plenty of leftovers! Other people at our table were slightly disappointed with the smaller portion size; however, everyone was pleased with the quality of the food. I wish they served brunch on other days besides Sunday! Thanks to Open Table, we were able to reserve a table for 10 and enjoy our own private room. This is truly a hidden gem as far as brunches in Chico go.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.