Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Christian Michael's Ristorante

4.5
512 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for Birthdays
A unique downtown dining experience. Located on the corner of Third and Wall Streets in downtown Chico, Christian Michaels prepares California Cuisine, Italian, Mediterranean, Asian and other seasonal dishes to tempt your palate. Selections include fresh seafood, steak, pasta, salads, desserts, a full bar and an extensive wine selection. Allow us to host your next business luncheon, reception or any other celebration.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Happy Hour: Daily: 4:00pm - 6:00pm & 11:00 - 6:00 Fridays; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00 pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00pm
Reservation are for "DINNER ONLY" No bar tables or small plate menu reservation.
First come first serve " BAR ONLY"
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(530) 894-4005
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christian Michael
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our private banquet room holds up to 31 people and has a full audio and video system.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kristen Carlos: (530) 864-0421
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
From just appetizers to full service meals we are here to help. Lunch and breakfast drop-offs and set-ups available. Great for pharmaceutical or office meetings. Please contact us for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wall Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street and public parking lot which is metered until 6:00pm only and free on holidays. Plenty of parking.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Early Dine Chef Dinner is $20 for a 3-course meal served everyday from 5:00pm – 6:00 pm. Daily Happy Hour from 4:00pm - 6:00 pm with small plate menu also served in bar all night. Bar food extras include Mama Mia Mondays, Taco Tuesdays, Wine Wednesdays with 25% off all wines. Monthly wine dinners and an extensive wine list with 28 offered by the glass or in flights. Join us to cool off before and after great downtown events including Thursday night farmer’s market and music in the park.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Wine Dinners- Come enjoy a six course dinner paired with exquisite wines.If you wish to be added to our wine dinner invitation list you can like us on face book or ask to be added on your reservation in notes.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 512 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

It was very nice meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Graduation

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Very average, outdated restaurant. Nothing pretty, To many rules and regulation, ( no splitting of entrees, you will be charged $18.00 extra if you do ). We wanted a salad as a main course from the salad menu and the waiter decided to make it a "main course salad" so he could charge more. At the "end of the dinner" we where told that the restaurant will charge an automatic 18% gratuity because it is "graduation week". That is gauging in our opinion. Should have told us that in the beginning of the dinner. My cocktail glass was broken (fractured) from the top to the bottom. After pointing that out to the waiter he said "thanks" no apology, no refill, nothing, he just took my glass away (still half full) and never replaced it.
There are a lot of other and better choices of restaurants in Chico,

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Poor service for having such a high reputation and while celebrating a special celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We were celebrating a college graduation and they made our experience so memorable. It was a little noisy but only because of the large parties celebrating Chico graduations so noise was because of the happiness around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Food was good, particularly the prime rib special, and requests for accommodation to changes to the menu item handled with no issues. Service was good even though it was very busy being graduation weekend. Enjoyable meal in a nice atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Great dinner experience. Excellent food, Great service. Will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Excellent food and service! Robert is a great waiter! Salmon was delicious as were the crab cakes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wait staff very attentive to all of our needs for attending a concert ... great food and ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent food and great service. Consistently good restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Always a great place to go. Great wine list and menu options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

My daughter and I loved Christian Michael’s! We had come in from out of town to check out the University and they look the time to get us a special table and the food was outstanding! No problem at all with some special requests I needed. We had a great time here. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Amazing service, food and ambiance! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I had an amazing experience. I took my girlfriend out for her birthday. Overall the food was outstanding, the server we had was great (I believe his name was Ronny) very friendly environment, the manager was one of the friendliest I've seen out of restaurants. I can't wait to come back. Amazing food and an outstanding place to go for a date. By far would recommend the tiramisu as well ;) thank you for the amazing experience. ❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

I have a dairy and wheat allergy and our server went above and beyond to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Kind, caring and capable service!! We will be back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Very nice downtown restaurant but a bit off the crowded streets so parking us good, food is delightful and its classy but not overdone. Very charming and comfortable. The bar is casual, easy and relaxing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Our server,Joshua was very friendly and attentive.Had an amazing filet meatloaf,delicious.The salmon dinner and the creme burlee dessert was awesome!! Highly recommend this restaurant for all occasions and gatherings of friends.Great atmosphere and wonderful food!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We were very pleased with this restaurant. We wanted a place that served excellent cuisine where we can hear each other talk without raising one’s voice. We had a very nice booth for the six of us and really enjoyed ourselves. Unlike a place like Sierra Nevada Brewery, where one has to practically shout to be heard over the din of fellow diners, this restaurant was quiet and a great place to catch up while we were served by a pleasant and attentive waiter named Matt. We highly recommend this establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This is our seventh Easter at their restaurant. We love it and they take such great care of us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Most of our dining experiences at CM have been consistently good. Our most recent visit was best described as mediocre. Food was not particularly pleasing to the palate, but not bland by any means. The service, on the other hand, was lacking the detail expected from previous visits to CM. The server was aloof, almost to the point of pretentiousness. Regardless, the overall experience was minimally acceptable and hopefully not indicative of downward spiral for CM

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Very tasty food and quick service. We came for our 9th wedding anniversary and enjoyed it very much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

My husband and I had our first date at Christian Michaels and we return ever year on the anniversary of that date. It’s a special day for us and the food, staff, and atmosphere never disappoint!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We were there for a birthday celebration. It was delightful. Wonderful service and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Always exceptional food and service. Can not go wrong with CM. Consistently a gastronomical delight,

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2018

The food and ambiance are what keep us going back to Christian Michaels. They also have great happy hour/small bite options and fun cocktails. On this particular evening we also had a wonderful server who provided exceptional service. He made great suggestions and was attentive without being intrusive.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 2, 2018

The food was fine, we did not enjoy it nor did we hate it. Do not eat the rosemary garlic focaccia bread if you are there for a first date; the garlic is strong.
Our server was pleasant to our faces, but we could hear him talking about us to his coworkers. We were shocked by the rudeness.
Rude service aside, I would still not recommend this restaurant as the food was poor in taste and flavor compared to the pricing. An entree valued at $19 is not very expensive, but one would still expect good flavor.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2018

First time visit...enjoyable and pleasing but nothing special for a high end restaurant.

It would be nice to have soups as a choice with salads and why is there so much pork? Bacon crusts are not what all meat eaters want.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2018

The food was much better the last time I was there - it's really not an Italian rest.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

It was really good good and priced decently. Our waitress seemed to be a little too busy but it was still a nice date night place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

We took my son and his girlfriend (starving students) out for a nice dinner on a Saturday night. Service was a bit slow for my taste, perhaps understaffed, but the waiter (Robert) was friendly and gracious. Started with well made cocktails and appetizers that disappeared quickly. Main entrees were very good to the point there was no room for the great looking desserts. Had a very enjoyable experience. One of the top choices for dinner in Chico.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Good food, good service, pleasant surroundings...only complaint was the music turned up too loud but they lowered it upon request.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 24, 2018

I drove & my mother took me to the restaurant for lunch for my birthday. The food was not very good at all. We both left & not very happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2018

Patrick was very accommodating in turning down the music which was a little loud for my taste. Only drawback was that the tables are awfully close together when there was a huge section of the restaurant not in use - would love if they could spread the tables out in seasons when they are not as busy. Food and wine were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent food and attentive service. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2017

First time here on wife's b'day. Turned out we hit "wine Wednesday" and the entire wine list was 25% off. Splurged on a bottle from a favorite Napa winery and the discount was a nice surprise. Food was very good. Beet salad was tasty though could have benefited from actual chunks of goat cheese vs. a light dusting. Didn't care for the flash seared romain salad. We had the seafood tortellini and the bacon wrapped meat loaf. Both were dishes I'd order again. Service was attentive but not overly so. Very quiet evening in the dining room with just us and 3 other dinner parties. The bar had much more going on and was pretty full but did not overly intrude on the dining room. We will be back, on a Wednesday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

We have eaten here on several special occasions. The service is always impeccable and they always make everything and everyone feel special. The food is mostly things you wouldn’t find in common places. I find the prime rib to be exceptional, and if you save room for dessert the creme brûlée is one of the best I’ve ever tasted. Price is a little high but you get what you pay for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2017

We invited a few friends to my husband's birthday party. The waiter was very attentive and the service was great. They were very gracious about serving the wine we provided. They provided a champagne bucket for the prosecco. We arrived early for the dinner specials, which have soup or salad, an entree and a dessert. The meal was delicious. And unlike most places the dessert is from the normal dessert menu, and is well worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

There were six ladies for a birthday lunch for two of the six. We had a great waiter who was attentive, fun, funny and very nice. Lunch was good. The restaurant was loud as there were several other groups of ladies having lunch and a good time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13