About Christian Michael's Ristorante

192 E. Third Street
Chico, CA 95928
View Larger Map

A unique downtown dining experience. Located on the corner of Third and Wall Streets in downtown Chico, Christian Michaels prepares California Cuisine, Italian, Mediterranean, Asian and other seasonal dishes to tempt your palate. Selections include fresh seafood, steak, pasta, salads, desserts, a full bar and an extensive wine selection. Allow us to host your next business luncheon, reception or any other celebration.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Happy Hour: Daily: 4:00pm - 6:00pm & 11:00 - 6:00 Fridays; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00 pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00pm
Reservation are for "DINNER ONLY" No bar tables or small plate menu reservation.
First come first serve " BAR ONLY"

Cross Street:
Wall Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 894-4005

Website:
http://chicochristianmichaels.com/

Entertainment:
Early Dine Chef Dinner is $20 for a 3-course meal served everyday from 5:00pm – 6:00 pm. Daily Happy Hour from 4:00pm - 6:00 pm with small plate menu also served in bar all night. Bar food extras include Mama Mia Mondays, Taco Tuesdays, Wine Wednesdays with 25% off all wines. Monthly wine dinners and an extensive wine list with 28 offered by the glass or in flights. Join us to cool off before and after great downtown events including Thursday night farmer’s market and music in the park.

Catering:
From just appetizers to full service meals we are here to help. Lunch and breakfast drop-offs and set-ups available. Great for pharmaceutical or office meetings. Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
Street and public parking lot which is metered until 6:00pm only and free on holidays. Plenty of parking.

Executive Chef:
Christian Michael

Private Party Facilities:
Our private banquet room holds up to 31 people and has a full audio and video system.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Carlos: 5308640421x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners- Come enjoy a six course dinner paired with exquisite wines.If you wish to be added to our wine dinner invitation list you can like us on face book or ask to be added on your reservation in notes.

Restaurant Photos

  • Pork Osso Bucco - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
  • Beef Te - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
  • Bacon Potato Pizza - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
Pork Osso Bucco - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
Beef Te - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA
Bacon Potato Pizza - Christian Michael's Ristorante, Chico, CA

Christian Michael's Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chico
Best Restaurants in Chico ›

Romantic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love the food and the servers r the b ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We love the food and the servers r the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to celebrate my grandsons bi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to celebrate my grandsons birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm always pleased with my experience at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I'm always pleased with my experience at Christian Michael's. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is great. This time there were not very many people so it was nice and quiet, until the baby that someone brought started crying loudly. Who brings a baby to this kind of restaurant? Thankfully we were able to ignore it for the most part. Otherwise, another very pleasant and romantic dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although my friends thought we could go ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Although my friends thought we could go to Applebee's or Olive Garden

After they got their food

It was CLEAR

Good food

Good service

EVERY TIME

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the Basa Fish it was very good! The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had the Basa Fish it was very good!

The oil & balsamic isn't the best the Focaccia bread was ok not to special. I haven't been in the restaurant for a year so, last few times food was terrible but last night thought try it again, this time was yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A wonderful place to celebrate our daugh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A wonderful place to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. The food was delicious, the service was good, the drinks were good. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An excellent meal, the service was great ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

An excellent meal, the service was great, good advice on entree choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way! Great service, d ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent in every way! Great service, delicious food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic here from the s ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was fantastic here from the service to the food to the ambiance. Highly recommended. Our server was very friendly and professional. Their food is outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must-try restaurant in Chico. White ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A must-try restaurant in Chico. White table cloths, superb service, nice variety of food. Chef-owner Christian is a creative guy who really enjoys pleasing his customers. Was there recently for both dinner and Sunday brunch. Can't go wrong with either.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good is consistently good, with a few ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good is consistently good, with a few exceptions. Lose the charred lettuce salad! Wine list could be better. BYOB if you want exceptional wine with meal. A true "table cloth" setting with great décor and window seating. Bar is lively, and there is private room for large groups. Would like to see more "specials." How about a tasting menu? Great spot overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious cuisine, excellent service, an ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious cuisine, excellent service, and pleasant ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christian Michael's is our must go to in ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Christian Michael's is our must go to in Chico. Knowledgeable servers, great food, romantic decor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised by the food. Great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the food. Great meal had by everyone

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was well prepared with creative sid ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was well prepared with creative sides such as polenta, and different types of mashed potatoes. Portions were large and cooked to perfection. The service was outstanding. Our waiter was cheerful, efficient, and assured everyone was well taken care of. Atmosphere was elegant yet relaxed, lively but not too loud. Excellent playlist for background music. All of us enjoyed our food and the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Usually food is fabulous at CM. On this ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Usually food is fabulous at CM.

On this night it was quite average. Large 2 inch lumps in the mashed potato. Very little sauce on the filet. Other diners next to us were offered "specials" we were not offered. The hostess tried to seat us in the banquet room instead of regular dining....which we of course declined. I think they just had an "off" night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a nice dinner with friends! Food ta ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had a nice dinner with friends! Food tasty! Service excellent!

One of the few places to have a conversation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My gkids will only eat at two places Her ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My gkids will only eat at two places

Here and now Hudson's

We love the food and the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our waiter. Don't remember his nam ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Loved our waiter. Don't remember his name. We were there Sunday night and he was bald. Young guy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good atmosphere and great service at a l ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good atmosphere and great service at a local gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had another great meal and experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had another great meal and experience at Christian Michael's. Nobody cooks fish better in Chico. The fresh Alaskan cod was done to perfection with a light lemon caper sauce that did not overpower. The side dishes were very good also. We had the dark chocolate torte for desert and it was yummy. I have never had a bad meal here and the service is always spot on and very friendly.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My coworkers and I were in town for busi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My coworkers and I were in town for business. We decided to try Christian Michael's because we were looking for something a little different. The food was very tasty and our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and made great recommendations. A few of us had the cucumber jalapeño margarita and it was awesome! Definitely an upscale place for Chico. We will surely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place to take the gkids for brunch ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best place to take the gkids for brunch

Service and food is always great

We love u guys 💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu hasn't changed in 20 years so i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The menu hasn't changed in 20 years so is getting quite old. The food on this occaision was not up to par. Green beans tasted old and over cooked. Meat was not medium rare; Salmon overcooked.

Nice restaurant that needs up-dating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome Kids r really excited for Hudson ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome

Kids r really excited for Hudson's to open soon💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is awesome The servers r the be ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is awesome

The servers r the best in Chico 💜😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Aaron was terri ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and service. Aaron was terrific. We celebrated our anniversary there and it was fantastic. A bit pricey, but we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food and service. The dining room ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food and service. The dining room was extremely noisy due to a group of loudmouths at an adjacent table. Acoustic damping would be appreciated, unless of course the aim is to keep things loud so customers will drink more booze.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is my favorite restaurant in the Ch ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the Chico area. The food is exquisite, the menu offers excellent variety and the service is always first rate. I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of attention to the fact that this was both a birthday and an engagement announcement and I had to ask that a candle be put on the dessert. We were not made to feel "special" as I expected that we would be.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good food. Wonderful service. Was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good food. Wonderful service. Was a bit surprised it wasn't more crowded. Not sure how to get a younger vibe in the dining area, but that would liven up the place. The prices are very reasonable as well. Perhaps opening up the walls so the bar and restaurant are together would help.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ummmmm💜 Always great

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Ummmmm💜

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mom and sister drove three hours to m ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 17, 2016

My mom and sister drove three hours to meet us for brunch

They loved it 💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife was served a different dish than ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 4, 2016

My wife was served a different dish than described on the menu, had an allergic reaction and became ill. The kitchen substituted the sauce from the "special" for the one described in the menu as well as substituting "potato whip" for what should have been a potato gratin. Unacceptable. If you don't have something then apologize and offer something else. Most customers will just be annoyed, but for some it is actually unsafe.

My dish was under-seasoned, and unremarkable in every way. Poorly reheated polenta (portions were still congealed), and drowning in a bland sauce. The pork shanks were cooked decently enough, but overall the dish was lack luster.

This was a second time here, and the food quality has dropped drastically. I'd recommend avoiding until there is a significant management or kitchen change. There are far better options in Chico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

The food and service was very good. It ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food and service was very good. It was a Monday evening and there were only a few patrons. Even though we were seated at a small table for two. We would have preferred a larger table so that we weren't bumping our knees and the table top would not be so crowded with dishes. We probably could have been seated elsewhere if we had asked, but we put up with it. Also, the dining area was too warm. The air should have been turned up a bit. We both felt a bit hot and humid.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome as always Where else can u eat g ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome as always

Where else can u eat good food

While ur gkids color on the table covers💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my dad here for Father's Day and we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my dad here for Father's Day and we all enjoyed it very much, even though we ordered a variety of things. I had the eggs benedict with crab and my step mom had a Huevos Rancheros. Hard to do both well, but they did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

With 87 yr parents it took an hour to ge ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 19, 2016

With 87 yr parents it took an hour to get food. we had a reservation and it wasn't packed. they omitted an entrée and we had to ask for the salad before the entre. nothing to really eat like bread and butter for an hour with old folk for father's day. no handicap parking other than across the street. just a disappointment all around! Mgr did not staff appropriately, but may be the norm. food was not stellar. I make a better cesear dressing than what we got. my folks with hearing aides had issues with the acoustics. it was like they were pushing the booze rather than the food. the breakfast bread was a laugh for 3 people waiting an hour for food. Hollandaise was so salty it was pitiful. First time there and not impressed. Again, UNDERSTAFFED ON FLOOR AND KITCHEN! you would think the owner would want turnover for more $. Server was Mason and he kept making excuses and would just disappear.

I have no desire to give personal information for response from the owners. Let's just say they have been there since it opened, I grew up in the area but am now in the east bay, and did a lot of driving for my folks for a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Had an awesome Sunday Brunch and we had ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had an awesome Sunday Brunch and we had the crab crepes.They were wonderful!!! The other guy with us had the crab cake sandwich and it was great!!! Highly recommend this restaurant for we had a wonderful dining experience there!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a Father's Day brunch. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there for a Father's Day brunch. The food was excellent, prices were more than reasonable, and the service was outstanding. The Bacon Bloody Mary was an inspired cocktail for the event. My wife had the crabcake eggs benedict and said it was excellent.

I had the chorizo omelette, which I thought was a little overpriced at $17, but I enjoyed it very much. We both had the excellent potato-scallion cake. My grandson really enjoyed the French toast, made with a croissant. The champagne was a little on the sweet side, but that's okay for breakfast. The coffee was excellent and the waiter never let my cup go dry. We had a wonderful time and we will be back for other meals and occasions. A great discovery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate anything 💜 Thx ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to celebrate anything 💜

Thx Aaron for being so good with the kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.