Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Chops

Chops brings to you the best that Virginia Beach has to offer. We source the freshest fish and the most tender cuts of beef. Our menu selections change with the season to make sure your meal is always top notch. Our wine list is hand selected to match any meal, or just to enjoy with friends on our patio. Our team of top notch bartenders craft the finest cocktails that change with the season, while bringing you all of your favorite classics. Chops offers lunch daily, and brunch on Sundays. We bring all of this to you in an upscale, energetic, and comfortable atmosphere. Catering to locals and visitors alike. Chop's will be your new favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach.

336 Laskin Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Tuesday-11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Wednesday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Thursday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Friday- 11-4 Lunch 4-11 Dinner
Saturday- 11-4 Lunch 4-11 Dinner
Sunday- 11-3 Brunch/Lunch 3-9 Dinner
Happy Hour- Every Day 4-7, exceptions- Mothers Day, New Years Eve, Valentines Day.

Cross Street:
Arctic or Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 222-9508

Website:
http://www.chopsvb.com/

Parking Details:
There is free parking located on 32nd street at The 31 Ocean Complex, The Shoppes.

Executive Chef:
Tomas Carroll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Casual (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Waterfront (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server Gaston was very attentive and entertaining. We started with a Manhattan which was very good.
Although the food was very good, the prices are expensive compared to similar beach restaurants. We tried the smoked chicken and the seared tuna from the chef's menu and the caesar salad and petit filet from the classic side. The caesar was good but at $9 seemed small for the price. The smoked chicken was very good although the rosti potato beneath was overly spicy; $15 was a fair price for this appetizer.
The chili spiced tuna was delicious but at $26 was overly expensive for 4 medallions (total 4 oz is my estimate) and no accompaniment. The petit filet was also good but again, the $33 price for the lonely piece of beef left us wanting. Additional sides were offered with the filet and we did enjoy the brussel sprouts. The addition of a simple side, i.e. a scoop of quinoa salad, some roasted tomatoes or a small portion or seasonal roasted vegetables would go a long way to increasing the value of the meal. Great meal but a little pricey.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was good. I didn't like paying extra for potatoes etc. At times the restaurant was noisy and​ hard to have conversations across the table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service and great food to match, steak was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

For the Price and Expectation of a Class A Steakhouse the noise level in the bar area was terrible, Food and Service was Great but all was lost due to what I mentioned above .
Will not return or recommend due to this ,

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I will definitely go back, the staff were outstanding. The food tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Wonderful dinner!!! The food was amazing & the staff made an amazing meal even better!! Janet our server was very knowledgeable about the menu, making recommendations & staying in contact with us throughout the evening. There was a large party having an event there the night that we dined with them, which slowed down the kitchen somewhat. The manager came to our table several times to talk to us & keep us up on the kitchen situation. He also provided us with a complimentary dessert! Which was artful & really tasty!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and enjoyed ourselves. The lighting was great and the noise level was super low. We enjoyed our meal but I wish the amount of food was greater (esespecially the jumbo shrimp cocktail) there were only 4 shrimps. That is my only complaint. Great experience and I will recommend Chops to everyone I know.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was a great experience. The only issue we had was our water was not automatically refilled. We had to wait for awhile to get our glasses refilled with water.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our waitress janet was great...with many good recommendations and follow up to ensure all of our food was exactly how we wanted it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went for restaurant week in Virginia Beach. Great food and service was excellent. Atmosphere is very nice rather for casual or an evening out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Trying a new place during Virginia Beach Restaurant Week.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great place. Great food. Great service. Great wine selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been to chops multiple times and I'm already a huge fan. The food is awesome and I like the ambiance. The only thing negative that I can say is that my date didn't enjoy her cocktails. She tried the chops martini and was not impressed. She also tried the mai tai and she said it was flavorless. Overall we had a wonderful experience as always

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

CHOPS is an amazing place to have dinner. The atmosphere is great and the food is amazing. Great experience overall!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great(!) Valentine's Day date night here with my wife. Loved the food! It's one of the more expensive restaurants we've eaten at locally...on par with other steak houses such as Ruth's Chris. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding restaurant , great atmosphere steaks cooked to perfection!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great Food. Great Service. Would definitely recommend to steak lovers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The lamb and cowboy steak was very good

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Great service. I highly recommend it. The steaks were cooked to perfection

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My Boyfriend and I first time was amazing! Food was wonderful and the staff especially our server was beyond friendly. My boyfriend had a great birthday dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a great dining experience with amazing service and outstanding food! Such an enjoyable date night! Will definitely be going back!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food and service were good. Dining room could be cozier, our party probably would have preferred to sit in bar area we determined but glad to try dining area.

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have talked about but never eaten at Chops until now. We decided to give it a try based on positive feedback on our neighborhood nextdoor site regarding new chefs and staff. Happy we did! My husband went with the traditional steak options (soup, caesar, filet) and I went with three of the Chef's tasting menu options - tuna carpaccio, special ravioli and scallops. Everything from both sides was very excellent. Steak was perfectly cooked. Tuna carpaccio was good but the jalepenos must be eaten with the beats to neutralize - otherwise the jalepenos overwhelm (to the point where it should be a server's note). I wish they briefly explained the chef's menu at top (it is a small plates menu) vs. leaving it to the server - it would have made perusing the menu less confusing. The waiter loved on the cheesecake of the day - white chocolate and coconut - which was only OK. My husband had the bourbon cake and caramel which was solid / as expected. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was excellent, service was spot on. I would recommend to anyone looking for a terrific dinner experience. Fortunately we were in the dining room as opposed to the bar are which seemed a bit noisy (to be expected)

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A bunch of the staff from Ruth's Chris defected to Chops taking the average steakhouse to a new level. They finally are worth the prices. Always loved the place but it was plagued by poor service and average food. They got it right now.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Lunch menu was not very inclusive of what may be some of their known steak and seafood specialties. Burger wraps and sandwiches. Waiter was amazing and offered some off the menu items if we were interested. Very close to boardwalk and attractions. Food very well prepared. Enjoyable

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Although we are locals, we seemingly only get to Chops for New Years Eve and Valentine's Day, promising ourselves to visit throughout the year. After our dinner experience on New Years Eve, we're rethinking that promise. We were sat promptly at our 7:45 reservation time, but it took almost an hour to get our entrees and it was obvious that our very nice server was overworked.
She had multiple tables and there didn't seem to be a "section" to her assignment, which made her getting back to our table even more difficult.
She was so overworked and out of sorts, for instance. that she brought our desserts out with nothing to eat them with....
When we asked her about the time it seemed to be taking to get what we ordered, she made mention of a staffing shortage. Seems to me that a restaurant the class of Chops would've done a better job at making certain there were ample staffing for one of the largest nights of the year...
I'm afraid next time we'll be at Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had our New Year's Eve dinner at Chops. It was absolutely terrific. Javier was our server and was spot on. The meal was excellent, served promptly but not feeling rushed. We will dine there again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice place for dinner for special occasion or casual dinner, the grilled Salmon was very delicious. I would visit again.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Chops has the best service. The food was great as usual. My favorite by far.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Was just an overall disappointing experience. Very nice ambiance but food was okay (taste)- presentation (not good at all). Server was a little condescending when we mentioned our Groupon. Bottom line is that I don't ever care to dine there again

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our meals were both exceptional. We will return soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The overall rating of food quality on a scale of 1-10 I give it a 6. Didn't really enjoy the steak not very fresh. Waiter attire dirty.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Excellent service and food with live entertainment. Visit every time I go to Virginia Beach and it remains consistent in the quality of the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It took an hour and 20 minutes to get our food and when we did get our food it was cold. We were seated in the bar area and the music was way too loud.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very good food, wine and service. Good value for money

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our waiter was great!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The steak was very good. I ordered the burger medium, but it came out well done. Did not have the time or energy to asked for another burger.

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The server was extremely nice and was responsive. They reacted well to my criticism about the steak. Otherwise, the tuna tartar was dry and tasteless. The steak was mediocre. The carrot cake was indistinguishable as such.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.