Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Chops

4.4
401 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Chops brings to you the best that Virginia Beach has to offer. We source the freshest fish and the most tender cuts of beef. Our menu selections change with the season to make sure your meal is always top notch. Our wine list is hand selected to match any meal, or just to enjoy with friends on our patio. Our team of top notch bartenders craft the finest cocktails that change with the season, while bringing you all of your favorite classics. Chops offers lunch daily, and brunch on Sundays. We bring all of this to you in an upscale, energetic, and comfortable atmosphere. Catering to locals and visitors alike. Chop's will be your new favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach.
Gastón E. Peralta
Manager
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday- 4-10 Dinner
Tuesday- 4-10 Dinner
Wednesday- 4-10 Dinner
Thursday- 4-10 Dinner
Friday- 4-10 Dinner
Saturday- 4-10 Dinner
Sunday- 4-9 Dinner
Happy Hour- Every Day 4-7, exceptions- Mothers Day, New Years Eve, Valentines Day.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 222-9508
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eric Nelson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Arctic or Pacific Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is free parking located on 32nd street at The 31 Ocean Complex, The Shoppes.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 401 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good. Enjoyed the salmon, steak and mussels. Service was excellent. Clean & modern interior and nice. Happening scene in the bar area. Very lively

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Love this place the food and service is amazing and Thursday you can get a gourmet burger for $5.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Over priced; wait staff directed us to the most expensive wines on the menu, we discovered the reasonable priced wines on another page

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Waiter was excellent. Food was great, however, felt the prices were high since no vegetables/side dish came with the seafood. Eggplant pasta was good but skimpy on ricotta. Creme brulee was soupy, butter cake excellent but both very small for price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great food and service, the beef tips are fantastic.

Gaston is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great atmosphere and great food! Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great steak and nice location. Service was fast and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We love everything about Chops. The food is fantastic and service is top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Absolutely one of the best meals we've had anywhere. The staff is wonderful, attentive and genuinely concerned that our visit was pleasant. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food was good but presentation was very bland. Plates were not decorated in any way and lacking gin color.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We had an excellent time! Our waiter was superb and the food was great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great customer service. Food was just mediocre for the price

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

The food was amazing. Our waiter was very attentive but not intrusive. The waiter was awesome in suggesting that we order a bottle of wine being more cost effective rather than ordering by the glass. Service was impeccable and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

It was delightful! Such engaging wait staff and such delicious food plus an excellent wine list. I highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

This was the second time eating at Chops while in town on business. The manager remembered me from a visit several months ago. Fortunately it was restaurant week in Virginia Beach and the chef had prepared some great selections! I had the brined pork chop which was prepared wonderfully with great flavors. Dessert was exceptional! A perfect sized tasting of chocolates. The waiter was incredibly professional! Will eat there again on my next visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2018

The server was excellent. The drinks were awesome. The overall meal was good, however the shrimp appetizers were the best ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Mike our waiter was great such a nice and pleasant person and so sweet to my mother

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our waiter, Grady, was wonderful, and ensured our first Chops experience was a positive one. His recommendations were spot on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

My wife and I have been to Chops many times including this time which was a belated Valentine's Day dinner. We always enjoy the delicious food and usually it is a bustling place. It was the quietest we have ever seen it since we were there on the Friday night after Valentine's Day. We really enjoyed the quiet and had such a wonderful time. The service was superb and the food was, as usual, delicious. The bar drinks were excellent as well. We would recommend Chops any time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Enjoyed our evening at Chops. The food is delicious and the service is great. Very attentive; no detail is over looked. Very well managed. We frequent this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The best place to have dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

asked for quiet table off to the side- they put us in the middle of a large room. Server (Gustavo) was amazing, funny and very attentive. Steaks were some of the best I've had in years. Price was moderate to high but worth it for a special occasion. Other than the seating (and it really was not that bad)- the experience was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was healthy and delicious! I will definitely eat here again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Had a great experience for my very first time at Chops! However, one of the waitresses that served our table wasn’t friendly, she never acknowledged our presence at all and that offended my wife. Nevertheless, our waiter and food was the best and I would definitely recommend Chops to my coworkers, friends, and family...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We went for Valentine's Day. We were seated at a two top between two other couples despite there being plenty of other tables available. The server was a bit off. The steak bites were coated in something weird. The Valentine's Day special was $85 per person but if you ordered the same thing off the menu, it was much cheaper. What a scam!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Our first time here and was really impressed. Please a romantic but also casual vibe. Nice bar area and seating throughout, even outside. The service was great. Our server was attentive and great with recommendations and making sure we were taken care of.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This visit was for my wife's Birthday and it was also Valentines Day. I even added the Birthday information when I made the reservation . The fact that it was her Birthday was not even recognized or even mentioned by staff at all . We were seated near the bar which did not make the evening feel anymore special . We were not dressed as bar goers , we were there for a special night out . The food is very expensive for what you get . Though it may be quite satisfying if you are looking for something along the lines of a light meal . No I did not complain , nor do I ever unless it is absolutely necessary . I normally let things play out and see how restaurants are when not pushed to be exceptional . And Chops proved to be mediocre . The trip to Virginia Beach was Not worth it to go to this restaurant .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Early valentines day dinner. Scallops were delicious. Nice ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Enjoyed the meal and will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Amazing place!
Occasion: Spouse’s birthday.
Everything was amazing! EVERYONE was very, very nice and welcoming! Our waiter (Greg) and waitress in training (Yashira) took GREAT care of us! Special thanks to them for making our 1st time experience memorable! *Hearts*

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Wonderful time on New Years! Food was fantastic and reasonable for the portions and quality. This was my first time and I will absolutely be back, possibly to order a variety of apps. A very special way to ring in the new year!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Chops on New Years Eve. The service was good and I would return again. The only thing I wish was available is valet parking. Other than that, things were great!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

NY strip was so incredibly dry. Horrible.
Ribeye was better but cooked unevenly so portions we're nearly raw.
Waiter was forgetful and not very attentive.

On the good side, all the seafood portions we're wonderful.

Maybe an off night for the restaurant and staff but I will not be going back. Total bill was $250 before tip. Would've been more satisfied with a steak from a chain steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Service seemed a bit slow at times. Ordered a drink from the menu and it was only when I asked later, because I didn't receive it, that they did not have the ingredients for it. Also had to ask for normal drink refills. A bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 29, 2017

While the food was good and the company better, we ended up with a $500+ bill for 5 adults who only drank 1 bottle of wine and none who had an entree over $35. To say it was unexpectedly overpriced would be an understatement.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

5 of us went to dinner. The service and food was excellent. They even let my daughter and I split an entree. Desserts were fantastic. The cocktails were a little strong for me but Im a light weight. 3 others said the drinks were perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

The service and food was fantastic. It might have been the best steak I have ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

This was our third time at Chops and they are consistent! Last time we visited VA Beach, we went two nights in a row! I had the Crabcakes and my appetizer was the scallops. Both had a light texture with a robust cheesy flavor from the squash (scallops) and rice (crabcake). As a Marylander, I was pleased with the Crabcakes as well.

Ok so now the real review.... my fellow OpenTable homies. Did y'all see that we went THREE TIMES!?? We 👏🏼went 👏🏼three👏🏼 times! When your food is so good, you are WILLING to spend $200 per bill (party of 4), I ain't wasting time! I don't know what kind of crack they shimmied in those dishes to keep us coming back but it's an addiction (you know like Coca Cola used to do back in the day). As we were planning our trip we literally saved SPECIFICALLY to go to Chops: "clothes ✔️, toiletries ✔️, electronics ✔️, kids ✔️, $200 so we can go back to Chops ✔️"... really. Just go; you're in good hands.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

As always, CHOPS delivers amazing food & service. My server recommended the corn, carrot and goat cheese trio icecream and I was blown away by the unique flavors.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 23, 2017

Awesome meal. Had 2 other people with me that was impressed. We will definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11