About Chops

336 Laskin Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Chops brings to you the best that Virginia Beach has to offer. We source the freshest fish and the most tender cuts of beef. Our menu selections change with the season to make sure your meal is always top notch. Our wine list is hand selected to match any meal, or just to enjoy with friends on our patio. Our team of top notch bartenders craft the finest cocktails that change with the season, while bringing you all of your favorite classics. Chops offers lunch daily, and brunch on Sundays. We bring all of this to you in an upscale, energetic, and comfortable atmosphere. Catering to locals and visitors alike. Chop's will be your new favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Tuesday-11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Wednesday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Thursday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Friday- 11-4 Lunch 4-11 Dinner
Saturday- 11-4 Lunch 4-11 Dinner
Sunday- 11-3 Brunch/Lunch 3-9 Dinner
Happy Hour- Every Day 4-7, exceptions- Mothers Day, New Years Eve, Valentines Day.

Cross Street:
Arctic or Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 222-9508

Website:
http://www.chopsvb.com/

Parking Details:
There is free parking located on 32nd street at The 31 Ocean Complex, The Shoppes.

Executive Chef:
Tomas Carroll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Authentic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fireplace (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was just an overall disappointing experi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Was just an overall disappointing experience. Very nice ambiance but food was okay (taste)- presentation (not good at all). Server was a little condescending when we mentioned our Groupon. Bottom line is that I don't ever care to dine there again

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Our meals were both exceptional. We will ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our meals were both exceptional. We will return soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall rating of food quality on a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The overall rating of food quality on a scale of 1-10 I give it a 6. Didn't really enjoy the steak not very fresh. Waiter attire dirty.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent service and food with live ent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Excellent service and food with live entertainment. Visit every time I go to Virginia Beach and it remains consistent in the quality of the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It took an hour and 20 minutes to get ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It took an hour and 20 minutes to get our food and when we did get our food it was cold. We were seated in the bar area and the music was way too loud.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Very good food, wine and service. Good v ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very good food, wine and service. Good value for money

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great!

vip
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was very good. I ordered the b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The steak was very good. I ordered the burger medium, but it came out well done. Did not have the time or energy to asked for another burger.

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The server was extremely nice and was re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The server was extremely nice and was responsive. They reacted well to my criticism about the steak. Otherwise, the tuna tartar was dry and tasteless. The steak was mediocre. The carrot cake was indistinguishable as such.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Quality of food and service was excellen ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Quality of food and service was excellent. We always look for a great steak house when traveling and we found one in VA Beach - Chops!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chops exceeded our expectations . Very w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Chops exceeded our expectations . Very well priced for the quality. Service was exceptional, it was attentive and everyone was very polite. We highly recommend Chops to anyone looking for a classy atmosphere and a delicious meal at a fair price. It is a must visit!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Sunday Brunch in Virginia Beach.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best Sunday Brunch in Virginia Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was out of this world. Bewar ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was out of this world. Beware of the meats though, they are huge!!! I ordered prime rib and had enough for lunch and dinner the next day. Food was great, staff was out of this world and although it is a little pricey, you get more than your money's worth. The Chops Martini is also very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous steaks, especilly the filet mig ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fabulous steaks, especilly the filet mignon. I enjoyed the sautéed mushrooms & the broccolini. Our friends ordered the rack of lamb, which they said was amazing. The martinis were as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We sat outside and it was a very nice en ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We sat outside and it was a very nice environment. Not on the beach, but it was still nice to be outside while dining. We didn't go inside the restaurant, so not sure what that was like, but outside was clean. We were served promptly and the food was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

will not return. was on my "a" list. n ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2016

will not return. was on my

"a" list. no more. service is no existent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

This was our second visit to the restaur ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our second visit to the restaurant, we view it as a neighborhood gem! The selection of drinks, steak and seafood are great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I also did a review on Tripadvisor. My ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I also did a review on Tripadvisor. My friend & I couldn't say enough about our meals. Portions were more than ample. Your menu was not overwhelming with too many selections. Sides were different & excellent. I had the small steak with scallops, melted in my mouth! Even though the bar is separated, we found the noise level way too high. Service was excellent, the chefs top notch. Next time we're in VA Beach, we'll be back to Chops.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food services amazing

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food services amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will be very blunt it was terrible. I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2016

I will be very blunt it was terrible. I have no idea what is going on with the place but all the times before it was excellent. It has gone so far down hill I'm not sure we will ever go back. For the price tag there which has increased sadly it is not worth it at all. I would rather grill steak at home to ensure its quality and done just right including the sides. From start to finish it was bad-this includes the salad, entre, sides, and the disgusting dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I truly enjoyed the entire experience. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I truly enjoyed the entire experience. Everyone enjoyed their food. My Blackened Chicken Pasta was the best I've had outside of Louisiana. They served so much I couldn't eat it all. I tried. It was good as leftovers the next night. Our waiter was very attentive and we didn't want for anything. I didn't realize they had private parking in the back. I will do that next visit. I found a new spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our main complaint is that we had two or ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our main complaint is that we had two orders of mussels. Looking back they should have been sent back as they were teeny! and stringy, not fresh and several shells were empty. AND wouldn't mind getting a credit or be invited back for mussels of good quality. We had another place to go, so we didn't send back. The Cosmo martini was not as good as in other bar/restaurants, so won't order again. Our main meal was excelletn. Our server, Steve, was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food. My hats off to the chef ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very good food. My hats off to the chef who prepared all courses of the meal perfectly.

Server was just OK. Not overly knowledgeable and somewhat shoddy appearance. A disconnect from the type of establishment I would think Chops wants to be perceived as.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding food!! Started with the mus ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Outstanding food!! Started with the mussels and they were some of the best I've ever had. Wife and I shared the 16oz ribeye and it was perfect. Perfectly cooked (med rare), perfectly seasoned, perfectly delicious. We had the brussel sprouts and mushrooms with it. Would definitely recommend this place and we certainly will be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went early on Memorial Day weekend. No ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Went early on Memorial Day weekend. No one was there but I got the calamari and the prime rib sandwich. Everything we delicious and the service was great. Can't really tell the real level of service when you are the only one in the place but I was happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server Daniel was great and very fri ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Daniel was great and very friendly and professional Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No more Chops

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were interested in Chops because it advertises “dry aged beef” which the wife likes, so when we checked the website for a potential Mother’s Day lunch, and saw a headline stating “Mother’s Day Specials, select here for reservations”, we did. A week later, upon being seated, in the restaurant, we asked about the Mother’s Day Specials and were told, there were none, only the normal brunch menu, which was lame, as was the food. We removed “Chops” from our dining list, as should you.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect spot for a quiet Mother's Day brunch. Mom had the spinach & feta omelet, and Dad had the Crab Benedict. Each dish was delicious and seasoned perfectly. Our waiter was very attentive without being a bother. Their orange crush is wonderful - not as overly sweet as some other locations and goes down smooth.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and the service was fantastic. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food and the service was fantastic. We had a great spot by the front window, too. All was perfect until a large party was seated near us. They were quite loud. Without all of that noise, it would have been a perfect dinner experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Great Restaurant

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation for a week in Virginia Beach. We went out to eat every night at local restaurants. The other restaurants were good but Chops was the best. The atmosphere was elegant and the service was very attentive. I got the steak and my wife got the fish and both meals were terrific. The portions were also very generous. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top Notch

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 20, 2016

We visited Chops for our granddaughter's 16th birthday. The food was tremendous and the service excellent. It is rather expensive, but worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

me and miss c

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2016

This was a first time experience. We went for the escargot which was excellent. THE DINNERS THAT FOLLOWED WERE FIRST CLASS . TRY THE LEMON CHEESECAKE. IT WAS SPECIAL. THE VENUE WAS UPSCALE. THE WAITER, STEPHEN, IS A COMPLETE PROFESSIONAL AND very INTERESTING. YOU CANNOT LET LIFE GO BY WITHOUT TRYING CHOPS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had heard of Chops from friends and with so many restaurants in this area, we finally got to try it. The food was exceptional and the bottle of wine was a rare gem. Our waiter advised us on selections of both and we were pleasantly surprised with our otherwise unusual recommendations. The atmosphere was modern yet cozy. We will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected Better

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter evening, restaurant very quiet, maybe 3 other tables. That being said service should have been excellent. Steak was excellent but clam chowder was not tasty & Mac & cheese was super salty & I love salt.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very disappointing I've been there numer ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Very disappointing I've been there numerous times . Steak over cooked just disappointing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good was good as usual!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Good was good as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were a group of 8 and it was restaura ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2016

We were a group of 8 and it was restaurant week. Food was good. The people who ordered off the regular menu liked their dishes better and the people who ordered off restaurant week felt it was fine, but nothing special and limited choices. Daniel was our waiter and took very good care of us. One negative.....as we were a group, tips were added automatically, which we understand (especially in a tourist area) however, this was computed on the total including tax, instead of the food and beverage total alone. This is a computer programming issue on the part of the house, and in no way should reflect on our waiter. Chops should address this as it seems rather tacky on their part.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been meaning to try this place out ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Have been meaning to try this place out and was glad I did with the family. I was hesitant to bring the kids but our waiter was excellent and kid friendly- even cracking some Dad jokes to make this "fancy pants place" comfortable for them. Wine list was fantastic, appetizer was brought out very fast, food was well portioned and cooked to perfection. Everyone finished their plate which is a huge compliment since that is a rarity for us. Thank you so much, we really enjoyed ourselves-will recommend to friends and families!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was great from the Red Wine Sangria to the Rib-eye steak. This place is great. The vibe in the room was great and our waiter was very friendly and professional. A very romantic scene and the menu is not too pricey. I definitely will eat here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.