Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Chops

Chops brings to you the best that Virginia Beach has to offer. We source the freshest fish and the most tender cuts of beef. Our menu selections change with the season to make sure your meal is always top notch. Our wine list is hand selected to match any meal, or just to enjoy with friends on our patio. Our team of top notch bartenders craft the finest cocktails that change with the season, while bringing you all of your favorite classics. Chops offers lunch daily, and brunch on Sundays. We bring all of this to you in an upscale, energetic, and comfortable atmosphere. Catering to locals and visitors alike. Chop's will be your new favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach.

336 Laskin Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Tuesday-11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Wednesday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Thursday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Friday- 11-4 Lunch 4-11 Dinner
Saturday- 11-4 Lunch 4-11 Dinner
Sunday- 11-3 Brunch/Lunch 3-9 Dinner
Happy Hour- Every Day 4-7, exceptions- Mothers Day, New Years Eve, Valentines Day.

Cross Street:
Arctic or Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 222-9508

Website:
http://www.chopsvb.com/

Parking Details:
There is free parking located on 32nd street at The 31 Ocean Complex, The Shoppes.

Executive Chef:
Tomas Carroll

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Romantic (17)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Waterfront (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Top Rated Food and Service. And you pay for quality. The menu is excellent featuring meat and seafood dishes beautifully prepared and presented. Free parking is available from the back, but no parking in the front at the entrance.

Wine list is adequate for the menu. Bar/drinks are very good and many brands.

We were not rushed, and enjoyed our visit immensely. THIS IS 5 STAR CUISINE AND 5 STAR SERVICE. We will return often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and service were good. Overall it was pricey for what you get but overall it was a good dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Superb food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Gaston is our favorite waiter of all time, food and service was outstanding! I am recommending Chops to all of my friends and family.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The service was GREAT!! Everyone was so helpful and super nice! The food was okay, I was disappointed in the mac and cheese and mashed potatoes but the lamb chops were delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nothing short of excellent. From the service to the food preparation, we couldn't have had a more pleasurable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This steak was the best I've had in a very long time. I ordered the filet, rare, and it was perfectly cooked. And the bourbon cream sauce was added deliciousness. The attentive wait staff made the entire dining experience even better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very disappointing. I made reservations one month ago for a party of seven. The chicken and waffles were just awful. No one else at the table enjoyed their meal. Very embarrassing when you're entertaining out of town guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good food, everything is ala carte. Ice ambiance and good service

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our waiter Gaston was AMAZING. Try the Korean Chili Spiced Tuna, You wont regret it. Overall an awesome meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We are a retired couple and we go out once a month with another retired couple. We have been doing this for several years. We usually go to the oceanfront in the winter. We like to get appetizers to share and also desserts to share at the end. I knew Chops was pricey. I was expecting that. I had the petite filet mignon, $33. Ok. However, the $5.00 baked potato and $2.00 extra for the potato toppings??? Really? The scallops appetizer consisted of two scallops, $14. The dessert portions were not for sharing. We have been to a lot of places in our years of doing this and have had wonderful meals and reasonable prices. I would not return to Chops nor would I recommend it.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great location, newer development safe relaxed classy feel. Nice temperature, sounds..flat iron was delicious and 14oz strip well seasoned. Service lacking and at slow period..food great even though had to reheat flatiron..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server Gaston was very attentive and entertaining. We started with a Manhattan which was very good.
Although the food was very good, the prices are expensive compared to similar beach restaurants. We tried the smoked chicken and the seared tuna from the chef's menu and the caesar salad and petit filet from the classic side. The caesar was good but at $9 seemed small for the price. The smoked chicken was very good although the rosti potato beneath was overly spicy; $15 was a fair price for this appetizer.
The chili spiced tuna was delicious but at $26 was overly expensive for 4 medallions (total 4 oz is my estimate) and no accompaniment. The petit filet was also good but again, the $33 price for the lonely piece of beef left us wanting. Additional sides were offered with the filet and we did enjoy the brussel sprouts. The addition of a simple side, i.e. a scoop of quinoa salad, some roasted tomatoes or a small portion or seasonal roasted vegetables would go a long way to increasing the value of the meal. Great meal but a little pricey.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was good. I didn't like paying extra for potatoes etc. At times the restaurant was noisy and​ hard to have conversations across the table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service and great food to match, steak was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

For the Price and Expectation of a Class A Steakhouse the noise level in the bar area was terrible, Food and Service was Great but all was lost due to what I mentioned above .
Will not return or recommend due to this ,

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I will definitely go back, the staff were outstanding. The food tasted great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Wonderful dinner!!! The food was amazing & the staff made an amazing meal even better!! Janet our server was very knowledgeable about the menu, making recommendations & staying in contact with us throughout the evening. There was a large party having an event there the night that we dined with them, which slowed down the kitchen somewhat. The manager came to our table several times to talk to us & keep us up on the kitchen situation. He also provided us with a complimentary dessert! Which was artful & really tasty!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and enjoyed ourselves. The lighting was great and the noise level was super low. We enjoyed our meal but I wish the amount of food was greater (esespecially the jumbo shrimp cocktail) there were only 4 shrimps. That is my only complaint. Great experience and I will recommend Chops to everyone I know.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was a great experience. The only issue we had was our water was not automatically refilled. We had to wait for awhile to get our glasses refilled with water.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our waitress janet was great...with many good recommendations and follow up to ensure all of our food was exactly how we wanted it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went for restaurant week in Virginia Beach. Great food and service was excellent. Atmosphere is very nice rather for casual or an evening out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Trying a new place during Virginia Beach Restaurant Week.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Private Room, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great place. Great food. Great service. Great wine selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been to chops multiple times and I'm already a huge fan. The food is awesome and I like the ambiance. The only thing negative that I can say is that my date didn't enjoy her cocktails. She tried the chops martini and was not impressed. She also tried the mai tai and she said it was flavorless. Overall we had a wonderful experience as always

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

CHOPS is an amazing place to have dinner. The atmosphere is great and the food is amazing. Great experience overall!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great(!) Valentine's Day date night here with my wife. Loved the food! It's one of the more expensive restaurants we've eaten at locally...on par with other steak houses such as Ruth's Chris. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding restaurant , great atmosphere steaks cooked to perfection!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great Food. Great Service. Would definitely recommend to steak lovers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The lamb and cowboy steak was very good

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Great service. I highly recommend it. The steaks were cooked to perfection

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My Boyfriend and I first time was amazing! Food was wonderful and the staff especially our server was beyond friendly. My boyfriend had a great birthday dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a great dining experience with amazing service and outstanding food! Such an enjoyable date night! Will definitely be going back!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food and service were good. Dining room could be cozier, our party probably would have preferred to sit in bar area we determined but glad to try dining area.

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have talked about but never eaten at Chops until now. We decided to give it a try based on positive feedback on our neighborhood nextdoor site regarding new chefs and staff. Happy we did! My husband went with the traditional steak options (soup, caesar, filet) and I went with three of the Chef's tasting menu options - tuna carpaccio, special ravioli and scallops. Everything from both sides was very excellent. Steak was perfectly cooked. Tuna carpaccio was good but the jalepenos must be eaten with the beats to neutralize - otherwise the jalepenos overwhelm (to the point where it should be a server's note). I wish they briefly explained the chef's menu at top (it is a small plates menu) vs. leaving it to the server - it would have made perusing the menu less confusing. The waiter loved on the cheesecake of the day - white chocolate and coconut - which was only OK. My husband had the bourbon cake and caramel which was solid / as expected. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was excellent, service was spot on. I would recommend to anyone looking for a terrific dinner experience. Fortunately we were in the dining room as opposed to the bar are which seemed a bit noisy (to be expected)

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A bunch of the staff from Ruth's Chris defected to Chops taking the average steakhouse to a new level. They finally are worth the prices. Always loved the place but it was plagued by poor service and average food. They got it right now.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Lunch menu was not very inclusive of what may be some of their known steak and seafood specialties. Burger wraps and sandwiches. Waiter was amazing and offered some off the menu items if we were interested. Very close to boardwalk and attractions. Food very well prepared. Enjoyable

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Although we are locals, we seemingly only get to Chops for New Years Eve and Valentine's Day, promising ourselves to visit throughout the year. After our dinner experience on New Years Eve, we're rethinking that promise. We were sat promptly at our 7:45 reservation time, but it took almost an hour to get our entrees and it was obvious that our very nice server was overworked.
She had multiple tables and there didn't seem to be a "section" to her assignment, which made her getting back to our table even more difficult.
She was so overworked and out of sorts, for instance. that she brought our desserts out with nothing to eat them with....
When we asked her about the time it seemed to be taking to get what we ordered, she made mention of a staffing shortage. Seems to me that a restaurant the class of Chops would've done a better job at making certain there were ample staffing for one of the largest nights of the year...
I'm afraid next time we'll be at Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.