About Chops

336 Laskin Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Chops brings to you the best that Virginia Beach has to offer. We source the freshest fish and the most tender cuts of beef. Our menu selections change with the season to make sure your meal is always top notch. Our wine list is hand selected to match any meal, or just to enjoy with friends on our patio. Our team of top notch bartenders craft the finest cocktails that change with the season, while bringing you all of your favorite classics. Chops offers lunch daily, and brunch on Sundays. We bring all of this to you in an upscale, energetic, and comfortable atmosphere. Catering to locals and visitors alike. Chop's will be your new favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Tuesday-11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Wednesday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Thursday- 11-4 Lunch 4-10 Dinner
Friday- 11-4 Lunch 4-11 Dinner
Saturday- 11-4 Lunch 4-11 Dinner
Sunday- 10-3 Brunch/Lunch 3-9 Dinner
Happy Hour- Every Day 4-7, exceptions- Mothers Day, New Years Eve, Valentines Day.

Cross Street:
Arctic or Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 222-9508

Website:
http://www.chopsvb.com/

Parking Details:
There is free parking located on 32nd street at The 31 Ocean Complex, The Shoppes.

Executive Chef:
Tomas Carroll

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

special occasion (20)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (12)
See All
fit for foodies (11)
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Daniel was great and very fri ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Daniel was great and very friendly and professional Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

No more Chops

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were interested in Chops because it advertises “dry aged beef” which the wife likes, so when we checked the website for a potential Mother’s Day lunch, and saw a headline stating “Mother’s Day Specials, select here for reservations”, we did. A week later, upon being seated, in the restaurant, we asked about the Mother’s Day Specials and were told, there were none, only the normal brunch menu, which was lame, as was the food. We removed “Chops” from our dining list, as should you.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect spot for a quiet Mother's Day brunch. Mom had the spinach & feta omelet, and Dad had the Crab Benedict. Each dish was delicious and seasoned perfectly. Our waiter was very attentive without being a bother. Their orange crush is wonderful - not as overly sweet as some other locations and goes down smooth.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5

The food and the service was fantastic. ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food and the service was fantastic. We had a great spot by the front window, too. All was perfect until a large party was seated near us. They were quite loud. Without all of that noise, it would have been a perfect dinner experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation for a week in Virginia Beach. We went out to eat every night at local restaurants. The other restaurants were good but Chops was the best. The atmosphere was elegant and the service was very attentive. I got the steak and my wife got the fish and both meals were terrific. The portions were also very generous. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch

Dined on April 20, 2016

We visited Chops for our granddaughter's 16th birthday. The food was tremendous and the service excellent. It is rather expensive, but worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

me and miss c

Dined on April 8, 2016

This was a first time experience. We went for the escargot which was excellent. THE DINNERS THAT FOLLOWED WERE FIRST CLASS . TRY THE LEMON CHEESECAKE. IT WAS SPECIAL. THE VENUE WAS UPSCALE. THE WAITER, STEPHEN, IS A COMPLETE PROFESSIONAL AND very INTERESTING. YOU CANNOT LET LIFE GO BY WITHOUT TRYING CHOPS.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had heard of Chops from friends and with so many restaurants in this area, we finally got to try it. The food was exceptional and the bottle of wine was a rare gem. Our waiter advised us on selections of both and we were pleasantly surprised with our otherwise unusual recommendations. The atmosphere was modern yet cozy. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Expected Better

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter evening, restaurant very quiet, maybe 3 other tables. That being said service should have been excellent. Steak was excellent but clam chowder was not tasty & Mac & cheese was super salty & I love salt.

food2
ambience3
service3

Very disappointing I've been there numer ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Very disappointing I've been there numerous times . Steak over cooked just disappointing .

food4
ambience4
service4

Good was good as usual!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good was good as usual!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were a group of 8 and it was restaura ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

We were a group of 8 and it was restaurant week. Food was good. The people who ordered off the regular menu liked their dishes better and the people who ordered off restaurant week felt it was fine, but nothing special and limited choices. Daniel was our waiter and took very good care of us. One negative.....as we were a group, tips were added automatically, which we understand (especially in a tourist area) however, this was computed on the total including tax, instead of the food and beverage total alone. This is a computer programming issue on the part of the house, and in no way should reflect on our waiter. Chops should address this as it seems rather tacky on their part.

food5
ambience5
service5

Have been meaning to try this place out ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Have been meaning to try this place out and was glad I did with the family. I was hesitant to bring the kids but our waiter was excellent and kid friendly- even cracking some Dad jokes to make this "fancy pants place" comfortable for them. Wine list was fantastic, appetizer was brought out very fast, food was well portioned and cooked to perfection. Everyone finished their plate which is a huge compliment since that is a rarity for us. Thank you so much, we really enjoyed ourselves-will recommend to friends and families!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was great from the Red Wine Sangria to the Rib-eye steak. This place is great. The vibe in the room was great and our waiter was very friendly and professional. A very romantic scene and the menu is not too pricey. I definitely will eat here again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

STEAK!

Dined on February 5, 2016

I almost always have the filet mignon. It's one of the top 3 I've ever had. Salads and sides are good as is the bread.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Not what I expected

Dined on January 1, 2016

Host and waitstaff very slow to welcome patrons. My food, the Mahi Mahi, was over salted. Not a cozy place and nobody gives you a warm fuzzy feeling which I do expect when dining in a supposedly good restaurant.

food2
ambience2
service1

Don't go during holidays.

Dined on December 5, 2015

My husband and I went to chops 2 weeks ago. Loved it, we couldn't believe how wonderful the food was. Service was great, all in all a great night. We decided to take his sister there for her birthday this past saturday. First they stuck us in the bar area in the high top chairs , which I do not like. She said no regular tables were available. My husband noticed that no one was back there the entire time we were there. It took forever to get a drink then even longer to order our food. My chicken was dry and over cooked. When asked if we would like anything else, my husband said no just the check. That was the fastest thing we got. Not sure if I'll go back at this point.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner rocked!

Dined on November 13, 2015

My husband and I visited Chops to celebrate our 22nd anniversary for the 1st time Friday evening. Although the bar was very popular, we were put in a quiet booth in the corner. Our waitress was attentive, the food was amazing (my husband is a tough critic on steak and his melted in his mouth) and the wine was great. We would recommend Chops for anyone celebrating a special occasion or just looking for wonderful food and a warm place to spend date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steak

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

The menu is very comprehensive, but they named the restaurant Chops for a reason. The steaks are done precisely as ordered with the flavor you would expect in this price range. The double pork chop is outstanding if you don't want beef. The wine list is extensive, with something for everyone at every price point. The sides are are also well prepared. The service was attentive but not intrusive. Be aware that Chops is not cheap. It is a very good steakhouse and you pay for what you get, which is about all you can ask for in a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Very good mid week pick duringbthecoff season.

Dined on October 27, 2015

Food was good, beautiful decor, great bar. Staff very friendly and polite. Definitely recommend for an evening out.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! Enjoyed the atmo ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was delicious! Enjoyed the atmosphere, very nice place.

food5
ambience5
service4

The food and ambience is always amazing. ...

Dined on October 11, 2015

The food and ambience is always amazing. I didn't give all 5 stars this time because they had me down as 12pm reservation when I actual had it for 2pm and open table sent me a confirmation saying so. Also they had one server for the entire shift this particular day.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for Date Night

Dined on October 9, 2015

Had 7p reservations, immediately seated and promptly greeted. Our waiter was awesome, very attentive. The food was incredible. The bone-in ribeye was huge...we had the leftovers for lunch the next day. This is a great restaurant with outstanding food AND service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Bangin Burger!

Dined on October 9, 2015

We return over & over because the food is so good and the ambiance is so cool. Known for the best steaks ever, I cannot believe how good their burgers are! The happy hour menu rocks!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

I have eaten here in the past and it was ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

I have eaten here in the past and it was a wonderful experience , but my last two visits have had horrible service for an expensive price. If they were packed I could have overlooked it , but it was not busy and the server was still bad. Off my list now, too many other options in this price range that have their act together

food4
ambience5
service5

Love the small plates

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

The scallops were awesome. I've never had them with a Mediterranean-like preparation- artichokes, Sun-dried tomatoes, olives & capers. The steak fries are really good-- thick and crispy on outside. Enjoyed eating outside and listening to live music.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Second Time even better than the First

Dined on September 12, 2015

We have visited this restaurant twice and nothing was bad. Service was outstanding, and all the food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Food as Always

Dined on September 12, 2015

It took a while to be seated (@5 minutes standing around waiting) and we were the only ones in the resturant at the time, and it also seemed to take an inordinate amount of time to get our entrees, again with not many people there, but it may have been because of a shift change. Regardless, as always, the server was great and the meal was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

It was ok. A bit overpriced for the qua ...

Dined on September 7, 2015

It was ok. A bit overpriced for the quality of food, but ok if you are staying nearby, want a steak and don't feel like driving anywhere.

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice meal :-)

vip
Dined on September 7, 2015

Nice meal :-)

food4
ambience5
service4

Great family dinner very good steaks

Dined on September 6, 2015

Great family dinner very good steaks

food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty, great service, very accommodating

Dined on August 23, 2015

While walking the VA Beach boardwalk, we were disappointed that not a single restaurant could or more so was willing to accommodate my daughter's food allergies. Chop's on the other hand, went out of their way to make a tasty meal that she enjoyed. Bottom line in comes down to caring... The waitress cared, the chef cared. The only problem I had with the menu was I couldn't make up my mind between several tasty options. I had the NY strip whuch was well seasoned and cooked to the perfect temp nd roasted mushrooms which were delicious as well. My wife had the chicken which was equally delicious. One of my children had the salmon and Brussels. She wasn't fond of the plantains, but left no remnants of everything else. The artichoke, spinach dip to start the meal was also great. They also had a great selection of beer and my only criticism was that they did have any malbec. The pinot that we had was nice though. Thanks Chops for a fabulous dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

first time, last time

Dined on August 2, 2015

we've lived in Va Beach for 5 years now and have yet to find an independent alternative to Ruth's Chris. Some friends came from NY to visit and treated us to dinner, but the reservation was up to me. Chops was eh, ok...but good enough to satisfy someone who is just looking for a decent meal and won't blink at beach prices. First of all, the host stand is imprproperly positioned - no one knows where to go when they wAlk in. Second, the booth we were sat in was a bit cramped for 4 people. There are some nice corner booths and high bistro tables but we weren't so lucky. Not a huge deal, I get that they're trying to optimize space. On to the meal. The drinks came one at a time and we had to flag down the server several times. He was cordial, but just kind of going through the motions. My 18 ounce Ribeye was tender and well cooked, although I wasn't crazy about the seasoning (I'm of the opinion that s&p are just fine if the meat is good). Mashed potatoes and Brussels Sprouts were flat. One of us ordered the Salmon which was over a bed of (probably frozen) diced potatoes which she didn't touch. Server didn't seem to notice, or care? My friend devoured his King Cut Filet and my wife loved her NY Strip. Creme Brûlée was the real McCoy. Overall, slightly overpriced but no alarms went off, except that the s&p shakers on the table had very loose tops and were greasy. Someone needs to make sure the severs manicure their tables better.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great wait staff!

Dined on July 30, 2015

Kieran, our waiter, was superb! His knowledge of the wine list was outstanding. His attention to our every need was exceptional. My wife and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and he helped make this a wonderful night! Please pass on our thanks again to him!

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Pretty good

vip
Dined on July 29, 2015

Been meaning to go here for a while as i am kind of a snob when it comes to a good filet. But my tastes are not always same as others. I like a medium rare filet with a nice crust and a Bernaise sauce on the side. First no sauce so can't make a good comparison. Really should have. But the steak had a nice crust and was cooked perfect. I have to say this one if they had the sauce could have made it up the list. So many may like. Martini drink menu. Didn't really like any of the specialties. I think could use an overhaul of the cocktail menu a bit. And not very strong Overall would go back but doesn't make it on my list of favorite steak houses

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

Could have been better

vip
Dined on July 26, 2015

I think we just had a bad experience because of our server, but overall the place could be good. We decided to go with small plates and got calamari, shrimp tempura, Brussel sprouts and a salad. The calamari was nothing to write home about and was hard and chewy. The shrimp was very good as were the salad and sprouts. We sat outside and there was a band playing (Sat nite) which was really nice as the weather was perfect for eating outside. In general the menu looked expensive for full entrees but we didn't try them so I can't comment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dinner

Dined on July 18, 2015

We live in Virginia Beach and have been coming to this restaurant since they opened. The food is consistently good. The menu is changed seasonally so there is always something new to try. There is a wide variety of appetizers; we like the meatballs, crispy oysters, seared scallops, Beet salad, tuna stack, beef tartar and roasted zucchini, something for everyone! For this dinner we enjoyed the NY strip, the mahi special, grilled salmon and sesame seared tuna. All were cooked as requested and delicious. We hardly ever have room for dessert but took a piece of carrot cake home and thoroughly enjoyed it also. Our server Bill was very knowledgeable about the wines and recommended a great bottle to go with our dinner. If you haven't tried this restaurant, you are missing a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

okay

vip
Dined on July 4, 2015

Service was good and attentive. Soup came out luke warm. Dinner portion of Mahi was small based on price.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

We went there to celebrate my daughter 1 ...

vip
Dined on July 3, 2015

We went there to celebrate my daughter 17th birthday. We really enjoyed the food. The service was excellent.. Definitely recommend this restaurant----- We'll definitely will be back whenever come to Va beach.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.