Chops

4.5
418 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Chops brings to you the best that Virginia Beach has to offer. We source the freshest fish and the most tender cuts of beef. Our menu selections change with the season to make sure your meal is always top notch. Our wine list is hand selected to match any meal, or just to enjoy with friends on our patio. Our team of top notch bartenders craft the finest cocktails that change with the season, while bringing you all of your favorite classics. Chops offers lunch daily, and brunch on Sundays. We bring all of this to you in an upscale, energetic, and comfortable atmosphere. Catering to locals and visitors alike. Chop's will be your new favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach.
Gastón E. Peralta
Manager
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday- 4-10 Dinner
Tuesday- 4-10 Dinner
Wednesday- 4-10 Dinner
Thursday- 4-10 Dinner
Friday- 4-10 Dinner
Saturday- 4-10 Dinner
Sunday- 4-9 Dinner
Happy Hour- Every Day 4-7, exceptions- Mothers Day, New Years Eve, Valentines Day.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 222-9508
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eric Nelson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Arctic or Pacific Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is free parking located on 32nd street at The 31 Ocean Complex, The Shoppes.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 418 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great food, great atmosphere.. Expect to pay a premium, but the quality is good...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

From the door the reception was very welcoming. Our server Grady was exceptional above and beyond all that could be expected. Gaston the manager was extremely personable and attentive. Especially with our young son (3) who hugged him on the way out! Drinks were top notch! Cudos to the drink makers!!! The meal. Well..... I went above in asking for what I nwas looking for and let me say this, not only did i get all i was looking for but i also left preparation up to the chef and let me tell you this, impressed is an understatement. It was sooooo good that if I could've fit more in this belly of mine, I would have ordered seconds. Nice job to the entire staff tonite. You all did a solid job. My family and I were all very happy. Thank you very much!
Respectfully,
Chris Jenkins and family.
Scranton, Pa

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Dine here tonight for my 23rd anniversary. Wow, the food was great and the service was beyond exceptional!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The steaks and sea scallops were excellent. The service and the manager/owner were great and very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

My husband loved their scallops dish with the spaghetti squash. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu. We will differently go back before we leave. I also, would love to learn how they make their spaghetti squash.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 22, 2018

My wife's drink was expensive but in a large glass and was good.

My meal was excellent. The strip steak was flavorful and my baked potato was good. Warning: my "medium" steak was closer to medium rare (which was okay with me). My "brown cake" dessert was good. Caesar salad was okay.

My wife's meal was lackluster. The crab soup was good but nothing special. The salmon was unevenly cooked, and the fingerling potatoes were cooked but still crunchy (so not fully cooked in our mind). She got the Fun with Chocolate dessert. She got about 1 tablespoon of ice cream and a few chunks of hard, stale brownies that also totaled about 1 tablespoon. Luckily, the dessert was included in her meal, so we did not have to pay $9 for this.

Service was mostly okay, but my meal was delivered wrong so I had to send it back. I ordered "Oscar style" and it came plain. Thus, my wife was half-finished with her meal before I even got mine. The waiter was apologetic, but I would have expected a visit from a manager or something.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Generally, my experience was good, but a few little things to note. Initially, I showed early for my reservation and was seated immediately. But, then I sat for quite a time before my server came to get me started. The remainder of the service was pretty good and attentive. The food wasn’t what I would have expected for the expense. I ordered the 14oz New Tork Strip and although the tenderness and cooking were to my preference, the steak was pretty flavorless. I don’t usually have to season my food, I prefer the natural taste. This was one of the few times I had to put salt on my steak to bring out the flavor. Lastly, the risotto was very bland and if the idea was to be subtle, maybe it was too subtle. Spending $43 plus gratuity for food of this so-so quality was not expected. The atmosphere seemed to present as higher end, but the result missed the bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

This was one of our last dates before baby...my husband enjoyed the steak and I loved the salmon. Excellent server..very attentive even though she had a number of tables. Only thing that through a hiccup in the night was almost having our car towed because of the new meters at the oceanfront (as of April 1 apparently) in front of the restaurant that were confusing. Luckily the very nice meter guy came in to ask who the car belonged to!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The restaurant is quiet with a great staff. The food is very good and my wife and I feel that the restaurant has the best fillet mignon in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Amazing...especially the Manager! From assisting my grandparents with seating in the restaurant while I paid the parking meter, to his sense of humor, patience and above all, cutting up my 90 year old grandfathers steak in bite sizes so he could eat it. Eric, the server has so much patience with my elderly grandparents, and such a pleasant and friendly attitude. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. I go frequently anyway, and now, I will become a regular patron now. I always have good service at Chops, and I hope that the service continues.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We wanted to try this restaurant and it was a very nice experience. We were there for mothers day. The fixed rice part of the menu was well worth it. for pone price you get a lot of food and choices. the crab soup was great and my rock fish was perfect. My wife had the pork chop and she really loved it. the desert was great with her having cheese cake and I had the special chocolate. Cant wait to go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We enjoyed taking "Mom" to lunch as an alternative to the typical brunch menu. Outstanding food, a nice 3 course special menu selection, and Eric was an excellent waiter. Drinks are a bit overpriced (read tourist prices).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was good, this is a pic of the scallops, which were nicely prepared.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This restaurant has surpassed my expectations. The service staff was extremely attentive. The food was amazing and the portions were great. I will be back in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Wow! First time here and really enjoyed atmosphere and food! Service phenomenal. Traveling for business and wanted to expand where I go to eat! Chop offers a weekly bar special , a happy hour menu on food and drink, and a 3 course prix fixxe menu for $35! Enjoyed their $5 house wines during happy hour too! Shrimp on Wednesday for $2 a piece (regularly $3.50). Excellent....lightly battered and phenomenal aouile dipping sauce! Ordered only 3 but could have ordered many more and made it my meal! So many great things to order on happy hour and bartender insisted on burger and fries. Wow again for only $8 and $5 on Thursdays! Bacon, cheddar, and huge steak fries! I can't wait to come back and try the blackened steak bites and buffalo calamari! Service was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Very good restaurant for a nice date and good service highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Second visit in 3 days. Delightful dining experience. Manager is professional and helpful. Staff is well trained. Food is excellent, nicely prepared , tasty and beautifully presented. Will return again when in the area. Made our visit so special. Great wine selection also.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Food was very good. Enjoyed the salmon, steak and mussels. Service was excellent. Clean & modern interior and nice. Happening scene in the bar area. Very lively

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Love this place the food and service is amazing and Thursday you can get a gourmet burger for $5.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Over priced; wait staff directed us to the most expensive wines on the menu, we discovered the reasonable priced wines on another page

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Waiter was excellent. Food was great, however, felt the prices were high since no vegetables/side dish came with the seafood. Eggplant pasta was good but skimpy on ricotta. Creme brulee was soupy, butter cake excellent but both very small for price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great food and service, the beef tips are fantastic.

Gaston is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great atmosphere and great food! Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great steak and nice location. Service was fast and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We love everything about Chops. The food is fantastic and service is top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Absolutely one of the best meals we've had anywhere. The staff is wonderful, attentive and genuinely concerned that our visit was pleasant. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food was good but presentation was very bland. Plates were not decorated in any way and lacking gin color.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We had an excellent time! Our waiter was superb and the food was great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great customer service. Food was just mediocre for the price

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

The food was amazing. Our waiter was very attentive but not intrusive. The waiter was awesome in suggesting that we order a bottle of wine being more cost effective rather than ordering by the glass. Service was impeccable and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

It was delightful! Such engaging wait staff and such delicious food plus an excellent wine list. I highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

This was the second time eating at Chops while in town on business. The manager remembered me from a visit several months ago. Fortunately it was restaurant week in Virginia Beach and the chef had prepared some great selections! I had the brined pork chop which was prepared wonderfully with great flavors. Dessert was exceptional! A perfect sized tasting of chocolates. The waiter was incredibly professional! Will eat there again on my next visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2018

The server was excellent. The drinks were awesome. The overall meal was good, however the shrimp appetizers were the best ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Mike our waiter was great such a nice and pleasant person and so sweet to my mother

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our waiter, Grady, was wonderful, and ensured our first Chops experience was a positive one. His recommendations were spot on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

My wife and I have been to Chops many times including this time which was a belated Valentine's Day dinner. We always enjoy the delicious food and usually it is a bustling place. It was the quietest we have ever seen it since we were there on the Friday night after Valentine's Day. We really enjoyed the quiet and had such a wonderful time. The service was superb and the food was, as usual, delicious. The bar drinks were excellent as well. We would recommend Chops any time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Enjoyed our evening at Chops. The food is delicious and the service is great. Very attentive; no detail is over looked. Very well managed. We frequent this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The best place to have dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

asked for quiet table off to the side- they put us in the middle of a large room. Server (Gustavo) was amazing, funny and very attentive. Steaks were some of the best I've had in years. Price was moderate to high but worth it for a special occasion. Other than the seating (and it really was not that bad)- the experience was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was healthy and delicious! I will definitely eat here again!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11