Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort

4.3
147 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Chops Steakhouse is a fine addition to the dining options at El Conquistador Resort. The seductive atmosphere and innovative menu excite all the senses. Partake in a juicy steak or succulent seafood and make sure to leave room for one of our signature desserts all while enjoying the sultry atmosphere at the resort's signature restaurant.
Private dining rooms are also available for a more exclusive dining experience.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Puerto Rican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 863-1000 ext. 6789
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Donovan Campbell
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For a more exclusive dining experience private dining rooms are available for gatherings of 8 to 100 people. Whether you are looking to host an executive dinner or celebrate a special occasion our private dining rooms are sure to be your perfect fit as the décor of the Private Rooms reflect the ambience of the restaurant.

Select Private Rooms are equipped with High Definition Plasma TVs capable of displaying your presentation or sporting events. Wireless internet access is also available.

To further enrich your dining experience you can choose additions such as Champagne Toasts and Specialty Cakes created by our talented Executive Pastry Chef.

Advance reservations are required.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Wilson Celleri: (787) 863-6789
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
El Conquistador Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The resort offers both valet and self parking options for guests joining us for dinner.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Join us on the weekends for specials and live entertainment ranging from smooth saxophone music to local bohemia.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room
What 147 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Food and service was great. We had 3 steaks, two NY and a Mignon, we asked them medium. Very well cook except for one of the NY, which we ask for medium and it was medium-well more towards well. The side dishes, go with the mushrooms there are awesome. We had a Martini which was also very good. You can bring your own wine and they will uncorked it for a $25 charge. Will repeat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Very pricey and we did not actually need a reservation as there was not a lot of people dinning. I ordered the NY strip steak which was well flavored and did not require steak sauce; always a plus. Staff was very friendly and we had the nicest waitress. Due to the price I would not necessarily visit again, however the food was tasteful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Our first experience at Chops was so great, we returned two nights later. The pork belly appetizer is a must and again, we
Ordered twice. Both waiters we had were phenomenal in both suggesting various craft cocktails and their attentiveness . The skillet brownie with warm
Caramel popcorn , honey Brussels sprouts and creamed corn were all delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2017

Within this amazing resort stands our favorite steakhouse on the planet! The ambience, quality of food, service all perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Not sure how wallpaper with nude women in various positions fits into a high end steakhouse branding. Overlooking that the food was delicious. Nice wine selection

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2017

This restaurant was exceptional! Food was awesome and our server was great! Definitely will visit again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2017

Chops was a great place to eat last night. Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

My fiancé and I have ate at Chop's four times during our stay at El Conquistador. We absolutely love the food and the service. Two of our servers, Carlos and Orlando were so friendly along with the rest of the staff. They gave us tremendous service and kept us coming back each night. We would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone staying at the resort!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 6, 2017

Excelent food and service by Carlos Gonzalez. I Will be back...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 2, 2017

very satisfied with the quality of food and outstanding Service!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for wife's birthday. Had a great meal and staff did a great job with kid requests. Birthday desert and guitar player was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a cocktail at the bar before dinner - the bartender was very pleasant and attentive, and knew how to make a drink. Our server in the restaurant was very polite, and the timing of the food was appropriate - as well as prepared correctly. The atmosphere of this restaurant is quite stunning - done in deep red colors, and a 1920-1930's theme.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 29, 2017

Celebrated a 50th anniversary at Chops. Our waiter was excellent, he was knowledgeable and understood we were making an evening out of our dinner. The drinks and pours were above average. The food was delicious, especially the steak and vegetables. The key lime pie was outstanding as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 27, 2017

Went to restaurant as it was one of several "fine dining" choices for the inclusive meal plan offered by El Conquistador resort. The restaurant was so good on June 24 that we went back on June 27! We got filet both times, and it was tender and cooked perfectly. Would recommend to anyone and would go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2017

Outstanding meal. Salads and steak entrees were excellent. Cocktails also. Caramel cheesecake too. Don't miss the truffle fries or Brussels sprouts. If I get back, definitely ordering the churasco with caramelized onions again. Divine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2017

My family and I had dinner at Chops while staying at the El Conquistador resort and could not have been any happier with our meals. My filet was thick and flavorful and cooked PERFECTLY. The rolls and crab cakes were delicious and the desserts were out of this world! Can't recommend Chops enough!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Osbel was one of the best waiters! He was friendly and knowledgeable. Great meal all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2017

Quite expensive. For party of 2, it costs 130 box plus tips. The steak here "medium well" is like "well" cooked, so ours is somewhat over cooked than expect. The adding lobster tail is too small to charge for $20. The starter lamb is much more impressive than the main dish. The service is perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2017

Excellent Filet Mignon. Great service. reasonable cost.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 28, 2017

Very Disappointed with Service and Food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was exceptional. I came with my family of 7 and the servers (led by Carlos) were on top of everything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2017

Last nights of vacation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome waitress! I love the atmosphere and everyone was respectful. The food you could tell is good quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2017

Carlos was our waiter, very knowledgeable about all the food and wine. Afterwards we had drink at the bar, Madeline was very friendly. She handled the bar and the entire restaurant drinks with a smile

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2017

Service was excellent !
Food very very good but also very expensive .
My teenage sons raved about the lamb chops and truffle fries ! Excellent Waldorf salad and grouper and very large shrimp cocktail appetizer .everything is a la carte though so be careful of $.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food but a bit expensive even for Puerto Rico and the less expensive 5 star restaurants surrounding the hotel

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent- totally Mortons's level.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Our family of 5 celebrated the Easter holiday with a delicious dinner at Chops while we were vacationing at El Conquistador resort. All of our steaks were prepared perfectly, as were the 3 sides that we shared. We did not love the wedge salad -- a very strong blue cheese along the lines of a Stilton was incorporated into the salad and it overpowered the other ingredients. Otherwise, our food was really delicious. We all loved the design and ambiance of the restaurant. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone vacationing at the resort or staying nearby.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2017

WAY OVER-PRICED FOR THE QUALITY OF MEATS THEY SERVE. FILET MIGNON WAS DRY AND AND BLAND. THE PRIME RIB WAS AVERAGE AT BEST! THE MASHED POTATOES WERE DULL AND BLAND (THINK HOSPITAL FOOD). VERY DISAPPOINTED- WE LIVE NEAR A MAJOR URBAN CITY IN THE NORTHEAST SO MAYBE WE'RE SPOILED WITH EXCELLENT CUISINE... THIS IS A DEFINITE NO GO IN THE FUTURE... MY DAUGHTER COMMENTED THAT THE STEAK AT THE JAPANESE RESTAURANT (BLOSSOMS) NEXT DOOR WAS WAY BETTER! CAVEAT EMPTOR.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2017

We visited Chops twice while on our trip to the El Conquestaor. It is an amazing experience. The food is great as is the service. The staff could not be more friendly. Looking forward to our next dinner at Chops.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2017

Really great option to treat the family during vacation - just the right atmosphere to enjoy with both young and old. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2017

Eli our waiter and the food and atmosphere were delightful! A must dine while at el conquistador resort . We are very happy repeat customers!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2017

Went to chops on a date while on vacation . Over priced for every item. The rib eye steak was tasty but the scallops that were also ordered was not good. Salty and fishy tasting . The asparagus was tender but steamed apparently meant also no seasoning....
The au gratin potatoes were so small for two it was absurd and tasted smoked which didn't work.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2017

The Lamb chops for the appetizer was outstanding! The lobster tail was to die for and the steaks are cook to perfection! We are here twice that's how good the food was here! Perfect for birthdays celebrations and anniversaries, or just date night. Love it love it loved it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2017

Food was good quality, service friendly and accommodating but slow. Very expensive for family of 4. Too dark in restaurant, slightly depressing, needs light or color.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2017

The place has a great layout and lighting.
I had the steak churrasco. It was a little tough but very tasty. My wife had the tuna. She said that it did not taste fresh and she did like it. My Mom had the pistachio grouper and she didn't feel that it was fresh. She also thought that it was not grouper. It was a substitute fish like dolphin. Don't order the ice tea it is terrible. The service was great. The people were extremely nice. An average entree is in the $30-$55 range.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was wonderful but the food for the price was not. I had the grouper and while a lot of food, it was bland. The homemade bread and honey butter were probably my favorite part of the meal. I would not return to that location. There are other places within the hotel and in Fajardo that are better priced, with much better food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant is billed as fine dining at the resort but the patrons show up in swimsuits, shorts, tee shirts and jeans.
Saturday evening was somewhat busy and it seemed that it was understaffed. Never asked if we would like a second drink with dinner or had additional water offered during the meal.
We were a party of two and our waiter had other larger tables in addition to us so he spent much of his time catering to them.
When our meal was ready the other staff members brought it to the dinning area but had to wait until our waiter was available to bring it to the table, all the while we were watching the food sit out on the serving table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was delicious and interesting. The lamb appetizer is really awesome. Chris was my waiter and he was great - very professional, attentive, and friendly. Overall, this is a great dining experience!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Permanently Closed - Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort