About Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort

1000 Ave El Conquistador
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

Chops Steakhouse is a fine addition to the dining options at El Conquistador Resort. The seductive atmosphere and innovative menu excite all the senses. Partake in a juicy steak or succulent seafood and make sure to leave room for one of our signature desserts all while enjoying the sultry atmosphere at the resort's signature restaurant.
Private dining rooms are also available for a more exclusive dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Puerto Rican

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
El Conquistador Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 863-1000 ext. 6789

Website:
http://www.elconresort.com/Things-to-Do/Dining/Fine-Dining/Chops-Steakhouse

Entertainment:
Join us on the weekends for specials and live entertainment ranging from smooth saxophone music to local bohemia.

Parking Details:
The resort offers both valet and self parking options for guests joining us for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Donovan Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
For a more exclusive dining experience private dining rooms are available for gatherings of 8 to 100 people. Whether you are looking to host an executive dinner or celebrate a special occasion our private dining rooms are sure to be your perfect fit as the décor of the Private Rooms reflect the ambience of the restaurant.

Select Private Rooms are equipped with High Definition Plasma TVs capable of displaying your presentation or sporting events. Wireless internet access is also available.

To further enrich your dining experience you can choose additions such as Champagne Toasts and Specialty Cakes created by our talented Executive Pastry Chef.

Advance reservations are required.

Private Party Contact:
Wilson Celleri: 7878636789x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room

Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in Fajardo ›

romantic (12)
special occasion (9)
notable wine list (5)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
scenic view (3)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Are here 2x. Service was great both tim ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Are here 2x. Service was great both times. Waldorf salad excellent. New York Strip was "good" - not very tender...ordered Oscar style...crab was super bland. Filet was GREAT. Brownie/ice cream/popcorn dessert an A+++++++

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place, good food!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Rib-eye was cooked to perfection. My wife had the short rib which she tore to pieces - which is unusual for her. Our son had the NY Strip Steak which he tore to pieces - which he always does. Food is a little overpriced but keep in mind this steakhouse is at a vacation resort. I don't mind paying $$$ for a good meal but even for a resort the prices are a bit high at Chops!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 13, 2016

While staying at Las Casitas for our 25th wedding anniversary we chose Chops for our Anniversary dinner. Being it was low season we had no trouble getting a table at the time we wanted. Our waiter Chris was very professional. He created a rose out of my wife's napkin which was interesting. We both chose the prime rib special which came with a side dish. There was plenty to share between ourselves with some leftover. The prime rib was very tender and cooked to our liking. The mixed drinks were delicious and not weak. Overall a great place to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced but not to be missed

Dined on April 21, 2016

My sons and I had an enjoyable dining experience. The service was excellent. We dine regularly at locations such as Morton's, Ruth Chris, etc., and we found the service at Chops surpassed these restaurants. Food presentation was on point. Steaks were cooked to the appropriate temperature. Courses were served properly. Our only negative observation was the price point. We paid about 30% more for this meal than we would've paid for the same meal at Morton's. Wine prices by the bottle are double the same prices found elsewhere. You're a captive customer base staying at the resort. We left feeling good about the dinner, but we will have to think twice about going back again due to the price point.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Stay away...massively overpriced and overrated

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

My filet mignon was overdone. When it was brought back cooked appropriately (medium rare), the waiter forgot my mushrooms. We were there for date night and my husband had to eat his chewy, poor quality NY strip first while I watched him. Wasted $250 for a date night. Massively overrated

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Puerto Rico

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great ambiance, awesome food and service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another Excellent Meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

On our final night of vacation we took the kids (3) to Chops. We had the most amazing waitress, Heidi. The food as usual was delicious. After dinner my husband and I went to the bar for a drink and again the bartenders were so pleasant and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was poorly prepared

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

For the price point the food was not near to the level it should have been. Stay away from the Prime Rib.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Pricey ! !!!!!!!!

Dined on March 28, 2016

Too expensive for the portion size of meals !!!!!!!!!

food2
ambience4
service1
value3

when you are a steak house you either ne ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

when you are a steak house you either need to know how to cook a steak rare or at least have the manager stop by after sending the steak back, before the end of the meal.

food3
ambience4
service5

Solid food, very good service.

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Solid food, very good service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night!

Dined on March 25, 2016

We really enjoyed chops....the food was great, service great, our son enjoyed his food too, great wine, we would definitely go back again and recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service & food!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great food and service. Prices are not cheap, but for a high quality dinner this is a 10 out of 10.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Adequate ..nothing overwhelming

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Chops steakhouse at the El Conquistador hotel in Puerto Rico is a very nice restaurant . Service was good ,ambiance is nice ...However for the price , comparable to many fine NYC steakhouses , is was just adequate .. Nothing was overwhelmingly delicious ..the steak was good.,cooked to order. The grouper was fine ..but certainly didn't walk away saying "wow ..one of my best meals ever " If you are staying at the resort and don't want to go off site you will have a good meal but don't expect for $200 price tag per couple for it to be amazing

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent service, food was cooked to perfection. Our server Danielle, was very knowledgeable with regards to the menu and she exceeded our expectations as a server. Job well done.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The food here was vey good. Not as good ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The food here was vey good. Not as good as a Ruth's Chris or BLT. Ambience was a bit too resorty, meaning there were lots of dressed down folks in flip flops and shorts and there were LOTS of noisy children. (This was true at the other El Conquistador restaurants we ate at, as well.). I suppose it's all about expectations. It's not fine dining. Hard to be with so many kids doing what kids do. I will hand it to the servers though: they tried to make it a very nice experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our server Ingrid was amazing and very attentive. She gave suggestions and was knowledgeable of the menu items. She made our experience that much better. Everything from the appatizers to desert was delicious! Would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Chops ok but...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was excellent however the coordination of the service must improve. We ordered salad and it was served late, next to the main course dinner. We were not finished eating the salad when dinner was brought to the table. We told them to please wait for us to finish the salad which they accepted. Upon finishing the salad, the food was brought back and served. The waiter was kind enough to say sorry for the mis coordination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

For a steakhouse at a resort this was a ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

For a steakhouse at a resort this was a wonderful experience that left our party of six delighted. Great service, delicious food, and a special evening. Unexpected at a resort, highly recommend.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I make better steaks

Dined on January 22, 2016

Wasn't impressed. The ambiance was great, the food not so much. My fiancé and I both got filets. Mine was over cooked and his was undercooked. My cheesy potatoes were basically boiled potatoes sitting in milk with a piece of cheese melted on top. He got garlic mashed potatoes that were basic mashed potatoes. I honestly don't think they know how to use seasonings here. Everything was very bland. I've had much better steaks at Texas Roadhouse for $40 less.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Heidi was fabulous! Great service and de ...

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

Heidi was fabulous! Great service and definitely made my boyfriend's birthday very special :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice place in hotel for a special night

Dined on January 17, 2016

I made a reservation at Chops b/c it seemed like the best restaurant in the hotel based on reviews and the menu, but I didn't try any of the other fine dining options. The food overall was very good and so was the service. I am from NY and I eat great food all the time, so I was not SO impressed but I think for vacation, if you want a special dinner, a little higher end, this is a great option!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

We had an amazing night at Chops our ser ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

We had an amazing night at Chops our server and server assistant were amazing and very attentive. The only downfall was the food the steaks were not rested properly and severely overpriced and my wife and I are used to NYC pricing!

food2
ambience3
service2

Long wait to get anything. Food arrived ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Long wait to get anything. Food arrived an hour later (45 minutes for kids menu!), and was nothing special.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

excellent food and service but way overpriced

Dined on December 23, 2015

$625 dollars for a family a five with only 4 alcoholic drinks is way to expensive. i found the service and food to be very good but the dinner was the most expensive i have ever had with my wife and 3 kids

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on November 21, 2015

Great food and excellent service. The waitress was so nice

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner.

Dined on November 7, 2015

The restaurant was fairly pricey but We had great service, great food, nice atmosphere, so in my book it was well worth it.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

My filet mignon wasn't cooked to my liki ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

My filet mignon wasn't cooked to my liking (I asked for medium well and got medium rare) so I had to send it back. Other than that, the meal was fantastic. Service was impeccable. Very friendly staff.

food3
ambience1
service2

Price higher than quality

Dined on October 18, 2015

Almost $400 incl tip and only 4 drinks. I would y mind paying that price if the meal and service were amazing but both were average. Sides were not hot. A couple requests were not met by the waiter -simple requests like regular butter and honey butter. May sound picky but for that money we should be attended to. Average compared to other 5 stars we have dined at.

food5
ambience5
service5

Danielle was GREAT, so ask for her!

Dined on October 10, 2015

The restaurant is al a carte but worth the price. I had the filet mignon (very tender & flavorful) with a 1/2 lobster tail. My boyfriend got the whole lobster tail and was very satisfied and surprised by the size. Cream of Spinach was good as well and enough for the both of us. Drinks were strong but isn't hat what you want? As indicated in the title, Danielle, was our waitress and was GREAT. She even brought him a fried Oreo out for his birthday and the entertainer played happy birthday on the saxophone. Very great dinner!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Pretty Darned Good

Dined on August 13, 2015

A good find for a hotel restaurant. Pricey, but that was not unexpected. Very good service, the beef was well served, well prepared. Presentation, atmosphere were fine - the service was just about top-notch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

Dined on August 6, 2015

There was some buzz about this place before we traveled. Everything was amazing. We had the best server I have ever had. She was funny, offered great recommendations, and took great care of us. Everything I tasted was perfect. Steak with chimichurri, potatoes au gratin, caprese salad, everything! If you are going to the El Conquistador, go to Chops!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice ribeye and churrasco. Sides were w ...

Dined on July 5, 2015

Nice ribeye and churrasco. Sides were well done. Nothing exotic here, but delicious. Beautiful setting.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in resort

Dined on June 25, 2015

The place, staff, and food were excellent. Thank goodness since the rest of the resort offered weak coffee and food with no "sabor".

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on June 19, 2015

It is pricey but it translates to great service and good food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Steaks!

Dined on June 15, 2015

The service was wonderful at Chops as expected for the price. Similar to a Ruth's Chris or Morton's in steak quality, portions of a la carte sides, and pricing. Loved everything and the 24 layer chocolate cake to go made the meal last into the next day!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing!!

Dined on June 12, 2015

Very romantic setting. The food and service was out of this world! Everything from the appetizers to the drinks to the prime rib was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

THe Chop House is a must at the El Conquistador!

Dined on May 29, 2015

The overall experience was wonderful. From the kind attentive hostess as we entered the restaurant, to the Bartender with her signature craft cocktails, to the attentive staff. The flatware was polished and the plates were hot. Our Bone-in Ribeye was cooked perfectly as we ordered it "Pittsburg Medium-rare." It had a perfect crust on the outside, well seasoned and tasted like butter!! The Crisp Maple Bacon is a must! The creamed spinach was had a wonderful silk texture. We finished everything on our plates! Ambience was perfect for a romantic dinner or a great business outing. We will definitely visit the El Conquistador again and reserve at The Chop House many times to come!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was awesome

Dined on April 2, 2015

Service was awesome, Orlando was our server, very attentive and gave great recommendations. Food was delicious. I had the macadamia crusted grouper, wonderful! My daughter had the fillet mignon,you could cut it with a butter knife it was so tender! My husband had the bone in ribeye, he said it was the best he ever had! We had the flash fried Oreos with coconut ice cream, who would have thought they could make Oreos better, but they did! Incredible views of the ocean while dining, prices were very reasonable. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious meal

Dined on March 28, 2015

service was excellent, bread and honey butter was delicious, our filets were cooked and seasoned perfectly. The potatoes were a little over cooked but still tasty. White chocolate crime brûlée was unique and tasty. I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.