Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

About Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort

Chops Steakhouse is a fine addition to the dining options at El Conquistador Resort. The seductive atmosphere and innovative menu excite all the senses. Partake in a juicy steak or succulent seafood and make sure to leave room for one of our signature desserts all while enjoying the sultry atmosphere at the resort's signature restaurant.
Private dining rooms are also available for a more exclusive dining experience.

1000 Ave El Conquistador
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Puerto Rican

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
El Conquistador Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 863-1000 ext. 6789

Website:
http://www.elconresort.com/Things-to-Do/Dining/Fine-Dining/Chops-Steakhouse

Entertainment:
Join us on the weekends for specials and live entertainment ranging from smooth saxophone music to local bohemia.

Parking Details:
The resort offers both valet and self parking options for guests joining us for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Donovan Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
For a more exclusive dining experience private dining rooms are available for gatherings of 8 to 100 people. Whether you are looking to host an executive dinner or celebrate a special occasion our private dining rooms are sure to be your perfect fit as the décor of the Private Rooms reflect the ambience of the restaurant.

Select Private Rooms are equipped with High Definition Plasma TVs capable of displaying your presentation or sporting events. Wireless internet access is also available.

To further enrich your dining experience you can choose additions such as Champagne Toasts and Specialty Cakes created by our talented Executive Pastry Chef.

Advance reservations are required.

Private Party Contact:
Wilson Celleri: (787) 863-6789

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room

Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Waterfront (5)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food and service was great. We had 3 steaks, two NY and a Mignon, we asked them medium. Very well cook except for one of the NY, which we ask for medium and it was medium-well more towards well. The side dishes, go with the mushrooms there are awesome. We had a Martini which was also very good. You can bring your own wine and they will uncorked it for a $25 charge. Will repeat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very pricey and we did not actually need a reservation as there was not a lot of people dinning. I ordered the NY strip steak which was well flavored and did not require steak sauce; always a plus. Staff was very friendly and we had the nicest waitress. Due to the price I would not necessarily visit again, however the food was tasteful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Our first experience at Chops was so great, we returned two nights later. The pork belly appetizer is a must and again, we
Ordered twice. Both waiters we had were phenomenal in both suggesting various craft cocktails and their attentiveness . The skillet brownie with warm
Caramel popcorn , honey Brussels sprouts and creamed corn were all delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Within this amazing resort stands our favorite steakhouse on the planet! The ambience, quality of food, service all perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Not sure how wallpaper with nude women in various positions fits into a high end steakhouse branding. Overlooking that the food was delicious. Nice wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

This restaurant was exceptional! Food was awesome and our server was great! Definitely will visit again!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Chops was a great place to eat last night. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My fiancé and I have ate at Chop's four times during our stay at El Conquistador. We absolutely love the food and the service. Two of our servers, Carlos and Orlando were so friendly along with the rest of the staff. They gave us tremendous service and kept us coming back each night. We would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone staying at the resort!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excelent food and service by Carlos Gonzalez. I Will be back...

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 2, 2017

very satisfied with the quality of food and outstanding Service!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Live Music, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for wife's birthday. Had a great meal and staff did a great job with kid requests. Birthday desert and guitar player was great.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a cocktail at the bar before dinner - the bartender was very pleasant and attentive, and knew how to make a drink. Our server in the restaurant was very polite, and the timing of the food was appropriate - as well as prepared correctly. The atmosphere of this restaurant is quite stunning - done in deep red colors, and a 1920-1930's theme.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Celebrated a 50th anniversary at Chops. Our waiter was excellent, he was knowledgeable and understood we were making an evening out of our dinner. The drinks and pours were above average. The food was delicious, especially the steak and vegetables. The key lime pie was outstanding as well.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Went to restaurant as it was one of several "fine dining" choices for the inclusive meal plan offered by El Conquistador resort. The restaurant was so good on June 24 that we went back on June 27! We got filet both times, and it was tender and cooked perfectly. Would recommend to anyone and would go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Outstanding meal. Salads and steak entrees were excellent. Cocktails also. Caramel cheesecake too. Don't miss the truffle fries or Brussels sprouts. If I get back, definitely ordering the churasco with caramelized onions again. Divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My family and I had dinner at Chops while staying at the El Conquistador resort and could not have been any happier with our meals. My filet was thick and flavorful and cooked PERFECTLY. The rolls and crab cakes were delicious and the desserts were out of this world! Can't recommend Chops enough!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Osbel was one of the best waiters! He was friendly and knowledgeable. Great meal all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Quite expensive. For party of 2, it costs 130 box plus tips. The steak here "medium well" is like "well" cooked, so ours is somewhat over cooked than expect. The adding lobster tail is too small to charge for $20. The starter lamb is much more impressive than the main dish. The service is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Excellent Filet Mignon. Great service. reasonable cost.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very Disappointed with Service and Food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was exceptional. I came with my family of 7 and the servers (led by Carlos) were on top of everything.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Last nights of vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome waitress! I love the atmosphere and everyone was respectful. The food you could tell is good quality.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Carlos was our waiter, very knowledgeable about all the food and wine. Afterwards we had drink at the bar, Madeline was very friendly. She handled the bar and the entire restaurant drinks with a smile

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Service was excellent !
Food very very good but also very expensive .
My teenage sons raved about the lamb chops and truffle fries ! Excellent Waldorf salad and grouper and very large shrimp cocktail appetizer .everything is a la carte though so be careful of $.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food but a bit expensive even for Puerto Rico and the less expensive 5 star restaurants surrounding the hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent- totally Mortons's level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our family of 5 celebrated the Easter holiday with a delicious dinner at Chops while we were vacationing at El Conquistador resort. All of our steaks were prepared perfectly, as were the 3 sides that we shared. We did not love the wedge salad -- a very strong blue cheese along the lines of a Stilton was incorporated into the salad and it overpowered the other ingredients. Otherwise, our food was really delicious. We all loved the design and ambiance of the restaurant. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone vacationing at the resort or staying nearby.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We visited Chops twice while on our trip to the El Conquestaor. It is an amazing experience. The food is great as is the service. The staff could not be more friendly. Looking forward to our next dinner at Chops.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

WAY OVER-PRICED FOR THE QUALITY OF MEATS THEY SERVE. FILET MIGNON WAS DRY AND AND BLAND. THE PRIME RIB WAS AVERAGE AT BEST! THE MASHED POTATOES WERE DULL AND BLAND (THINK HOSPITAL FOOD). VERY DISAPPOINTED- WE LIVE NEAR A MAJOR URBAN CITY IN THE NORTHEAST SO MAYBE WE'RE SPOILED WITH EXCELLENT CUISINE... THIS IS A DEFINITE NO GO IN THE FUTURE... MY DAUGHTER COMMENTED THAT THE STEAK AT THE JAPANESE RESTAURANT (BLOSSOMS) NEXT DOOR WAS WAY BETTER! CAVEAT EMPTOR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Really great option to treat the family during vacation - just the right atmosphere to enjoy with both young and old. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Eli our waiter and the food and atmosphere were delightful! A must dine while at el conquistador resort . We are very happy repeat customers!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Went to chops on a date while on vacation . Over priced for every item. The rib eye steak was tasty but the scallops that were also ordered was not good. Salty and fishy tasting . The asparagus was tender but steamed apparently meant also no seasoning....
The au gratin potatoes were so small for two it was absurd and tasted smoked which didn't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The Lamb chops for the appetizer was outstanding! The lobster tail was to die for and the steaks are cook to perfection! We are here twice that's how good the food was here! Perfect for birthdays celebrations and anniversaries, or just date night. Love it love it loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food was good quality, service friendly and accommodating but slow. Very expensive for family of 4. Too dark in restaurant, slightly depressing, needs light or color.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The place has a great layout and lighting.
I had the steak churrasco. It was a little tough but very tasty. My wife had the tuna. She said that it did not taste fresh and she did like it. My Mom had the pistachio grouper and she didn't feel that it was fresh. She also thought that it was not grouper. It was a substitute fish like dolphin. Don't order the ice tea it is terrible. The service was great. The people were extremely nice. An average entree is in the $30-$55 range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was wonderful but the food for the price was not. I had the grouper and while a lot of food, it was bland. The homemade bread and honey butter were probably my favorite part of the meal. I would not return to that location. There are other places within the hotel and in Fajardo that are better priced, with much better food.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant is billed as fine dining at the resort but the patrons show up in swimsuits, shorts, tee shirts and jeans.
Saturday evening was somewhat busy and it seemed that it was understaffed. Never asked if we would like a second drink with dinner or had additional water offered during the meal.
We were a party of two and our waiter had other larger tables in addition to us so he spent much of his time catering to them.
When our meal was ready the other staff members brought it to the dinning area but had to wait until our waiter was available to bring it to the table, all the while we were watching the food sit out on the serving table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was delicious and interesting. The lamb appetizer is really awesome. Chris was my waiter and he was great - very professional, attentive, and friendly. Overall, this is a great dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We were on the dining plan at El Conquistador and went here twice because the food was great and it was a great value for the plan. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the chocolate layer cake was unbelievable! Loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.