Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

About Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort

Chops Steakhouse is a fine addition to the dining options at El Conquistador Resort. The seductive atmosphere and innovative menu excite all the senses. Partake in a juicy steak or succulent seafood and make sure to leave room for one of our signature desserts all while enjoying the sultry atmosphere at the resort's signature restaurant.
Private dining rooms are also available for a more exclusive dining experience.

1000 Ave El Conquistador
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Puerto Rican

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
El Conquistador Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 863-1000 ext. 6789

Website:
http://www.elconresort.com/Things-to-Do/Dining/Fine-Dining/Chops-Steakhouse

Entertainment:
Join us on the weekends for specials and live entertainment ranging from smooth saxophone music to local bohemia.

Parking Details:
The resort offers both valet and self parking options for guests joining us for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Donovan Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
For a more exclusive dining experience private dining rooms are available for gatherings of 8 to 100 people. Whether you are looking to host an executive dinner or celebrate a special occasion our private dining rooms are sure to be your perfect fit as the décor of the Private Rooms reflect the ambience of the restaurant.

Select Private Rooms are equipped with High Definition Plasma TVs capable of displaying your presentation or sporting events. Wireless internet access is also available.

To further enrich your dining experience you can choose additions such as Champagne Toasts and Specialty Cakes created by our talented Executive Pastry Chef.

Advance reservations are required.

Private Party Contact:
Wilson Celleri: (787) 863-6789

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room

Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Scenic View (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Waterfront (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Music (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Outstanding meal. Salads and steak entrees were excellent. Cocktails also. Caramel cheesecake too. Don't miss the truffle fries or Brussels sprouts. If I get back, definitely ordering the churasco with caramelized onions again. Divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My family and I had dinner at Chops while staying at the El Conquistador resort and could not have been any happier with our meals. My filet was thick and flavorful and cooked PERFECTLY. The rolls and crab cakes were delicious and the desserts were out of this world! Can't recommend Chops enough!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Osbel was one of the best waiters! He was friendly and knowledgeable. Great meal all around.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Quite expensive. For party of 2, it costs 130 box plus tips. The steak here "medium well" is like "well" cooked, so ours is somewhat over cooked than expect. The adding lobster tail is too small to charge for $20. The starter lamb is much more impressive than the main dish. The service is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Excellent Filet Mignon. Great service. reasonable cost.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very Disappointed with Service and Food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Last nights of vacation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome waitress! I love the atmosphere and everyone was respectful. The food you could tell is good quality.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Carlos was our waiter, very knowledgeable about all the food and wine. Afterwards we had drink at the bar, Madeline was very friendly. She handled the bar and the entire restaurant drinks with a smile

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Service was excellent !
Food very very good but also very expensive .
My teenage sons raved about the lamb chops and truffle fries ! Excellent Waldorf salad and grouper and very large shrimp cocktail appetizer .everything is a la carte though so be careful of $.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food but a bit expensive even for Puerto Rico and the less expensive 5 star restaurants surrounding the hotel

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent- totally Mortons's level.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our family of 5 celebrated the Easter holiday with a delicious dinner at Chops while we were vacationing at El Conquistador resort. All of our steaks were prepared perfectly, as were the 3 sides that we shared. We did not love the wedge salad -- a very strong blue cheese along the lines of a Stilton was incorporated into the salad and it overpowered the other ingredients. Otherwise, our food was really delicious. We all loved the design and ambiance of the restaurant. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone vacationing at the resort or staying nearby.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

WAY OVER-PRICED FOR THE QUALITY OF MEATS THEY SERVE. FILET MIGNON WAS DRY AND AND BLAND. THE PRIME RIB WAS AVERAGE AT BEST! THE MASHED POTATOES WERE DULL AND BLAND (THINK HOSPITAL FOOD). VERY DISAPPOINTED- WE LIVE NEAR A MAJOR URBAN CITY IN THE NORTHEAST SO MAYBE WE'RE SPOILED WITH EXCELLENT CUISINE... THIS IS A DEFINITE NO GO IN THE FUTURE... MY DAUGHTER COMMENTED THAT THE STEAK AT THE JAPANESE RESTAURANT (BLOSSOMS) NEXT DOOR WAS WAY BETTER! CAVEAT EMPTOR.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Really great option to treat the family during vacation - just the right atmosphere to enjoy with both young and old. Will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Eli our waiter and the food and atmosphere were delightful! A must dine while at el conquistador resort . We are very happy repeat customers!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Went to chops on a date while on vacation . Over priced for every item. The rib eye steak was tasty but the scallops that were also ordered was not good. Salty and fishy tasting . The asparagus was tender but steamed apparently meant also no seasoning....
The au gratin potatoes were so small for two it was absurd and tasted smoked which didn't work.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The Lamb chops for the appetizer was outstanding! The lobster tail was to die for and the steaks are cook to perfection! We are here twice that's how good the food was here! Perfect for birthdays celebrations and anniversaries, or just date night. Love it love it loved it!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food was good quality, service friendly and accommodating but slow. Very expensive for family of 4. Too dark in restaurant, slightly depressing, needs light or color.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The place has a great layout and lighting.
I had the steak churrasco. It was a little tough but very tasty. My wife had the tuna. She said that it did not taste fresh and she did like it. My Mom had the pistachio grouper and she didn't feel that it was fresh. She also thought that it was not grouper. It was a substitute fish like dolphin. Don't order the ice tea it is terrible. The service was great. The people were extremely nice. An average entree is in the $30-$55 range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was wonderful but the food for the price was not. I had the grouper and while a lot of food, it was bland. The homemade bread and honey butter were probably my favorite part of the meal. I would not return to that location. There are other places within the hotel and in Fajardo that are better priced, with much better food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant is billed as fine dining at the resort but the patrons show up in swimsuits, shorts, tee shirts and jeans.
Saturday evening was somewhat busy and it seemed that it was understaffed. Never asked if we would like a second drink with dinner or had additional water offered during the meal.
We were a party of two and our waiter had other larger tables in addition to us so he spent much of his time catering to them.
When our meal was ready the other staff members brought it to the dinning area but had to wait until our waiter was available to bring it to the table, all the while we were watching the food sit out on the serving table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was delicious and interesting. The lamb appetizer is really awesome. Chris was my waiter and he was great - very professional, attentive, and friendly. Overall, this is a great dining experience!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were on the dining plan at El Conquistador and went here twice because the food was great and it was a great value for the plan. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the chocolate layer cake was unbelievable! Loved it!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Over priced steaks that were tough and overcooked. Nothing memorable other than the $30 parking fee for a poor $200 dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Went to dinner with the Family and everyone's meal was delicious!! The service was also outstanding. Over all a really great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was amazing, service was excellent, ambiance was very nice. Would definitely recommend. That being said...our dining experience was overshadowed a bit by a staff meeting that took place immediately prior to our reservation time. We were seated late, and the wait staff seemed very on edge. It detracted from the experience, but I certainly don't blame the wait staff. There was a man, who I can only assume was the manager, who was milling around the restaurant and observing the wait staff. I didn't like that... very uncomfortable. Would have been a bit better if he had bothered to stop by our table and said hello or asked how our meal was.

I don't think this was a normal night so I rated the restaurant very well...I can only assume it is usually a more relaxed environment. However, that was very much not the case during my visit. Still would recommend this restaurant though.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great steakhouse. Great atmosphere !!! Great service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service, cuisine and ambiance were superb. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are staying at the Waldorf or Las Casitas.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Ate here with our family on vacation. Rooms are beautiful, but choice of artwork bizarre and actually embarrassing for families. Hostess tried to put us in back table in secondary room though restaurant half empty and we had reservation, we declined that table. Food was excellent though and servers tried.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was pretty good. The waiter was terrible. He treated my wife like she was second class. Only asked me about food and wine.. She laughed it off but would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This overpriced steakhouse is positioned as the premier restaurant at the El Conquistador hotel. My wife and I each had the $58, 12 oz filet mignon. We both ordered it medium...both steaks came to the table raw...not rare, raw. We sent them back and after 15 min, they came back rare again.
The $11 side baked potato was overlooked and tasteless. The best things we ordered were the shrimp cocktail appetizer and the side of asparagus...both terrific.
Our two kids ordered from the kids menu and got over cooked filets which we also had to send back.
Overall, stick to the Stingray restaurant at the resort and try the sesame crusted seared tuna...much better than the filet at Chops.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good service and food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantastic meal at the resort. Very friendly to the kids who thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Chops is not cheap, be we expected that and enjoyed the meal. Steaks were perfect. Sides were on the smaller side, but delicious. Wine list is really strong. Carlos was a tremendous waiter who made the kids enjoy things even more. Great spot.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good but the service was absolutely terrible. Our waiter did not even greet us never mind check in with us. It took 90 minutes from placing the order for our food to be served. No one refilled my drink or even came by to tell us where running behind. There was another table right near us that waited just as long and food was served cold. They caused a big scene and ended up leaving in the middle of their dinner. If the service was better I would recommend the food but ... it wasn't. Go somewhere else!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We recently ate at Chops twice when we were staying at Las Casitas at El Conquistador. Food was absolutely delicious! Salads and sides were so tasty also. Desserts were absolutely huge, I mean huge! We could have shared 1 with 5 people. Chops is pricey but that is to be expected at any nice steak house.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Good food. Great service. Best restaurant at the resort! A bit pricey but all of the resort restaurants are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Chateaubriand was excellent. Crab cake app was just ok.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were staying at El Conquistador and I wanted to take my husband to a nice dinner for his 40th birthday, so I made reservations at Chops. The decor of the steakhouse is very retro- with dark wood and deep red tones. The menu is large enough for a non-steak eater like myself to find something delicious as well as satisfying a meat eater like my husband. The wait staff was outstanding- attending to our every need. The food was very good and they even brought out a cake and ice cream and sang to my husband. It was a memorable meal and we would love to return the next time we find ourselves at the hotel.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Carnes en términos no deseados(se llevaron un plato 3 veces y el churrasco seguía fuera de término), pobre presentación de platos, 2 horas esperando por la comida. Precios excesivos ($29 por un churrasco, $11 por acompañante, $2 chimichurri)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.