Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

About Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort

Chops Steakhouse is a fine addition to the dining options at El Conquistador Resort. The seductive atmosphere and innovative menu excite all the senses. Partake in a juicy steak or succulent seafood and make sure to leave room for one of our signature desserts all while enjoying the sultry atmosphere at the resort's signature restaurant.
Private dining rooms are also available for a more exclusive dining experience.

1000 Ave El Conquistador
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Puerto Rican

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 6:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
El Conquistador Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 863-1000 ext. 6789

Website:
http://www.elconresort.com/Things-to-Do/Dining/Fine-Dining/Chops-Steakhouse

Entertainment:
Join us on the weekends for specials and live entertainment ranging from smooth saxophone music to local bohemia.

Parking Details:
The resort offers both valet and self parking options for guests joining us for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Donovan Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
For a more exclusive dining experience private dining rooms are available for gatherings of 8 to 100 people. Whether you are looking to host an executive dinner or celebrate a special occasion our private dining rooms are sure to be your perfect fit as the décor of the Private Rooms reflect the ambience of the restaurant.

Select Private Rooms are equipped with High Definition Plasma TVs capable of displaying your presentation or sporting events. Wireless internet access is also available.

To further enrich your dining experience you can choose additions such as Champagne Toasts and Specialty Cakes created by our talented Executive Pastry Chef.

Advance reservations are required.

Private Party Contact:
Wilson Celleri: (787) 863-6789

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room

Chops Steakhouse - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (0)
Neighborhood Gem (0)
Good for Groups (0)
Business Meals (0)
Sort By:
S
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Over priced steaks that were tough and overcooked. Nothing memorable other than the $30 parking fee for a poor $200 dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Went to dinner with the Family and everyone's meal was delicious!! The service was also outstanding. Over all a really great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was amazing, service was excellent, ambiance was very nice. Would definitely recommend. That being said...our dining experience was overshadowed a bit by a staff meeting that took place immediately prior to our reservation time. We were seated late, and the wait staff seemed very on edge. It detracted from the experience, but I certainly don't blame the wait staff. There was a man, who I can only assume was the manager, who was milling around the restaurant and observing the wait staff. I didn't like that... very uncomfortable. Would have been a bit better if he had bothered to stop by our table and said hello or asked how our meal was.

I don't think this was a normal night so I rated the restaurant very well...I can only assume it is usually a more relaxed environment. However, that was very much not the case during my visit. Still would recommend this restaurant though.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great steakhouse. Great atmosphere !!! Great service

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service, cuisine and ambiance were superb. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are staying at the Waldorf or Las Casitas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Ate here with our family on vacation. Rooms are beautiful, but choice of artwork bizarre and actually embarrassing for families. Hostess tried to put us in back table in secondary room though restaurant half empty and we had reservation, we declined that table. Food was excellent though and servers tried.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was pretty good. The waiter was terrible. He treated my wife like she was second class. Only asked me about food and wine.. She laughed it off but would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This overpriced steakhouse is positioned as the premier restaurant at the El Conquistador hotel. My wife and I each had the $58, 12 oz filet mignon. We both ordered it medium...both steaks came to the table raw...not rare, raw. We sent them back and after 15 min, they came back rare again.
The $11 side baked potato was overlooked and tasteless. The best things we ordered were the shrimp cocktail appetizer and the side of asparagus...both terrific.
Our two kids ordered from the kids menu and got over cooked filets which we also had to send back.
Overall, stick to the Stingray restaurant at the resort and try the sesame crusted seared tuna...much better than the filet at Chops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fantastic meal at the resort. Very friendly to the kids who thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Chops is not cheap, be we expected that and enjoyed the meal. Steaks were perfect. Sides were on the smaller side, but delicious. Wine list is really strong. Carlos was a tremendous waiter who made the kids enjoy things even more. Great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was good but the service was absolutely terrible. Our waiter did not even greet us never mind check in with us. It took 90 minutes from placing the order for our food to be served. No one refilled my drink or even came by to tell us where running behind. There was another table right near us that waited just as long and food was served cold. They caused a big scene and ended up leaving in the middle of their dinner. If the service was better I would recommend the food but ... it wasn't. Go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We recently ate at Chops twice when we were staying at Las Casitas at El Conquistador. Food was absolutely delicious! Salads and sides were so tasty also. Desserts were absolutely huge, I mean huge! We could have shared 1 with 5 people. Chops is pricey but that is to be expected at any nice steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Good food. Great service. Best restaurant at the resort! A bit pricey but all of the resort restaurants are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Chateaubriand was excellent. Crab cake app was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were staying at El Conquistador and I wanted to take my husband to a nice dinner for his 40th birthday, so I made reservations at Chops. The decor of the steakhouse is very retro- with dark wood and deep red tones. The menu is large enough for a non-steak eater like myself to find something delicious as well as satisfying a meat eater like my husband. The wait staff was outstanding- attending to our every need. The food was very good and they even brought out a cake and ice cream and sang to my husband. It was a memorable meal and we would love to return the next time we find ourselves at the hotel.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Carnes en términos no deseados(se llevaron un plato 3 veces y el churrasco seguía fuera de término), pobre presentación de platos, 2 horas esperando por la comida. Precios excesivos ($29 por un churrasco, $11 por acompañante, $2 chimichurri)

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were a party of 12 and we sent back at least 3meals for different reasons! Being that it was New Years Eve, we expected both the food and service to be exceptional, it fell short on so many levels! I would not recommend this restaurant. La Piccola restaurant in the resort was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. The steak and plentiful sides were terrific. The waitress knowledgeable and friendly. The bartender makes a terrific island lemongrass martini.
The grilled lobster was over cooked .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great steaks! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The steaks here are great. Since you are at a resort the options often seem limited, but I felt this was an excellent experience for our family on the higher end of price scale. Staff is very attentive, wine and drink selection good. Desserts are very good. There signature chocolate cake is huge and enough for 4 people. I thought the cake was a little dry. The brownie which one of my sons ordered was a better choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was great, the service was friendly and helpful. It was a nice surprise for a hotel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was ok no music at all very quiet Carlos the waiter was excellent tho and way to pricey

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I will make this quick, this is the "best" restaurant in El Con Resort, hands down. Will it blow your mind away? No way, we have too many amazing restaurants in US to even consider it, but it is as close to a high end steak house experience you will find outside of the US.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, great presentation, awesome service! Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Chops was outstanding! The ambiance was great! The food incredible and the service was perfect. A special thanks to our waiter Carlos. He was very accommodating and helped us navigate the menu and wine list. Someone in our party has a gluten allergy and Carlos was able to make her dinner an enjoyable experience! We ate here in two separate occasions and asked for Carlos on the second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent meal. Danielle was very attentive. Very nice and personable. Recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was above excellent! The steak which i always order rare was done perfectly and melted in your mouth. Sides and chopped salad was also delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Excelent service, food and drinks!
Really nice place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good service and great food. Recomendet for romantic dinner and anniversary

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food with wonderful presentation. A little on the expensive side, but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The other restaurants in this resort are good but not great. They are also very expensive. Chops stood out among the rest. The food was excellent. Worth the price. Our waiter was extremely attentive and friendly. He was ready to answer any questions. The ambiance is very romantic. I really enjoyed the experience overall. However, be prepared to spend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything was amazing.. I really spent a good time.. Service, food, table and the soft music was really good. The place was comfortable and quite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Are here 2x. Service was great both times. Waldorf salad excellent. New York Strip was "good" - not very tender...ordered Oscar style...crab was super bland. Filet was GREAT.
Brownie/ice cream/popcorn dessert an A+++++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Rib-eye was cooked to perfection. My wife had the short rib which she tore to pieces - which is unusual for her. Our son had the NY Strip Steak which he tore to pieces - which he always does. Food is a little overpriced but keep in mind this steakhouse is at a vacation resort. I don't mind paying $$$ for a good meal but even for a resort the prices are a bit high at Chops!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 13, 2016

While staying at Las Casitas for our 25th wedding anniversary we chose Chops for our Anniversary dinner. Being it was low season we had no trouble getting a table at the time we wanted. Our waiter Chris was very professional. He created a rose out of my wife's napkin which was interesting. We both chose the prime rib special which came with a side dish. There was plenty to share between ourselves with some leftover. The prime rib was very tender and cooked to our liking. The mixed drinks were delicious and not weak. Overall a great place to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2016

My sons and I had an enjoyable dining experience. The service was excellent. We dine regularly at locations such as Morton's, Ruth Chris, etc., and we found the service at Chops surpassed these restaurants. Food presentation was on point. Steaks were cooked to the appropriate temperature. Courses were served properly. Our only negative observation was the price point. We paid about 30% more for this meal than we would've paid for the same meal at Morton's. Wine prices by the bottle are double the same prices found elsewhere. You're a captive customer base staying at the resort. We left feeling good about the dinner, but we will have to think twice about going back again due to the price point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2016

My filet mignon was overdone. When it was brought back cooked appropriately (medium rare), the waiter forgot my mushrooms.

We were there for date night and my husband had to eat his chewy, poor quality NY strip first while I watched him.

Wasted $250 for a date night. Massively overrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great ambiance, awesome food and service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2016

On our final night of vacation we took the kids (3) to Chops. We had the most amazing waitress, Heidi. The food as usual was delicious. After dinner my husband and I went to the bar for a drink and again the bartenders were so pleasant and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.