Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Trattoria Romana In WakefieldTrattoria Romana In Wakefield
(1244)
Italian | Wakefield, Rhode Island, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
Coast Guard HouseCoast Guard House
(261)
Seafood | Narragansett, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
Trio Rhode IslandTrio Rhode Island
(821)
Seafood | Narragansett, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
TwoTen Oyster Bar & GrillTwoTen Oyster Bar & Grill
Reviews Coming Soon
Seafood | Wakefield, Rhode Island, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
MaharajaMaharaja
(2)
Indian | Narragansett, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
Break Hotel - Chair 5Break Hotel - Chair 5
(65)
American | Narragansett, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
The Lawn at Castle Hill InnThe Lawn at Castle Hill Inn
(61)
American | Newport, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
The Dining Room at Castle Hill InnThe Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
(1468)
Contemporary American | Newport, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
Safari Room RestaurantSafari Room Restaurant
(294)
Contemporary American | Newport, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
Jamestown FiSHJamestown FiSH
(482)
Seafood | Jamestown, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
@ The Deck@ The Deck
(132)
Contemporary French / American | Newport, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
Bouchard Restaurant and InnBouchard Restaurant and Inn
(1576)
Contemporary French | Newport, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
The Grill at Forty 1 NorthThe Grill at Forty 1 North
(464)
Contemporary American | Newport, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
The Mooring RestaurantThe Mooring Restaurant
(2795)
Seafood | Newport, Rhode Island
Reserve Now
The Skybar Dining Room at The Clarke Cooke HouseThe Skybar Dining Room at The Clarke Cooke House
(52)
Contemporary American | Newport, Rhode Island
Reserve Now

About ChopHouse Grille

191 Old Tower Hill Rd
Wakefield, RI 02879
View Larger Map

Dedicated to serving the freshest ingredients delivered from local farmers and fishermen to our finest hand selected high quality meats; we are committed to serving you the best Rhode Island has to offer.

With a menu featuring aged steaks, generous sides, desserts made by Sweet Cakes Bakery and an innovative late night bar menu, we are sure to appeal to individuals who appreciate a traditional dining experience.

From business luncheons to rehearsal dinners, ChopHouse Grille is the ideal location. Let our culinary team help create a special menu sure to impress any discerning culinary palate.

We look forward in becoming your favorite dining destination.

ChopHouse Grille is located right off of Route 1 in Wakefield, Rhode Island, open seven days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Hours
Sunday - Thursday 4pm - 9pm
Friday & Saturday 4pm - 10 pm

Late Night Menu
Served nightly Sunday - Thursday 9pm-11pm; Friday and Saturday 10pm - midnight.




Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 284-0797

Website:
http://www.chophousegrilleri.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Chris Jones and Chef Jay Bourassa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

ChopHouse Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Incredibly slow, lack of attention to service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We arrived hungry, and unfortuately after ordering a drink things ground to a halt. 45 minutes into dinner we were wondering when our salad / apps were coming. Another 45 minutes later we let our waitress know we were no longer interested in the dinners we ordered an hour and a half ago. She said she informed the manager, who then stopped by and said 'hi nice to see you', and didn't mention a thing about the long wait or our complaint. The waitress was not new, as she commented on remembering us from a year ago.

Unfortunately this won't be on our list of places to bring guests this summer. It will be a long time before I'm ready to go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was excellent and the wait staf ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was excellent and the wait staff would fantastic with my seven year old grandson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Undecided

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I couldn't agree on a place until we remembered Chop House we always have a great time there food , great bar and excellent Staff. The owner has come by a number of times and asked how things were . You don't see that much anymore its a nice touch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant, very pleasant wait staf ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice restaurant, very pleasant wait staff. Food was served quickly, but wasn't above average. Have eaten there before and the food was much better. Maybe just an off night. Will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

As former Cranston residents we believe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

As former Cranston residents we believe that South County really leaves much to be desired in fine dining and great restaurants. Yes, we do have a few favorites and now that we have found CHOP HOUSE, we have certainly added it to our list of great places to dine in the area.

The menu is varied, and we love the great selection of appetizers and salads and sometimes combine the two for a meal.

Love the easy access and the quiet ambiance of the 3rd level which we frequent often.

We will definitely try brunch soon!

Thank you.

Cliff and Elaine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chop House Grill provides some great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Chop House Grill provides some great menu choices from Steaks to Seafood to a few really good Italian Selections. I had the Chicken Parmesan over noodles and it was excellent. My wife had the NY Steak and it was cooked perfectly to order and was delicious. The wait staff is attentive and prompt.

We started with speciality cocktails ( they have an extensive list of custom cocktails) and ended with a great lemon cheesecake. Everything was very well done.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very nice.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

It was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was terrible

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife out for mothers day, waiter eventually arrived took drinks order and said would be back with bread, drinks took forever then waiter asked if we were ready to order. Asked where the bread was, said he forgot.

Ordered a cesar to split and asked to add anchovies, main course for my wife chicken pasta dish. For me filet mignon with french fries (need the carbs as diabetic)

Salad arrived minus anchovies some debate whether the were coming inconclusive (they never did)

Filet mignon arrived minus french fries which waiter claimed were not ordered (incorrect) could not cut the filet with a steak knife

Took my wifes meal to go and left mine on the table

Paid the bill and left, will not be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Very comfortable atmosphere....great win ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very comfortable atmosphere....great wine selection.....food was delicious! Service was great- looking forward to our next visit!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good meal

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Good steaks, prime rib, prime dip on a roll. Bread served hot/possibly homemade. Overall a good dinner. Book so that you do not have to wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We usually eat at the bar. The bartende ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We usually eat at the bar. The bartenders are alway very attentive and offer great suggestions. They even give us samples if they get something new in stock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will be back

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

When the Chop House first opened up, we were not impressed, but new management and wait staff has solved that problem. We have been to the Chop House twice under the new management and it has gotten better with each visit. The service is very good and the food was excellent. It helps that some of our favorite service staff from other area restaurants now work here and it makes it very comfortable going here. One thing on the food. I usually order Prime Rib, but the end cut because I like the flavor. I try to get medium rare, but understand that it is not always possible to get it medium rare. My last two end cuts were both medium rare as I had ordered and I was very happy with that. My wife also enjoyed her food and the service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not happy with new menu

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

It has been a couple of months since we had last gone here for dinner - we were looking forward to the shrimp and corn fritters which we always order as an appetizer. Unfortunately Charlie changed the menu and they were taken off. In fact a lot of my favorites were removed and some of the classic dishes like the chicken and penne with vodka sauce had an "upgrade" which now includes spinach, garlic, and tomato. I am sure this would appeal to quite a few people but I am fussy and I don't eat spinach nor pieces of tomatoes (its a texture thing with me) so I didn't order this dish. I asked the waitress when they changed the menu and she informed me it had been about 2 weeks ago and that they would be changing it seasonally to offer more seasonal dishes. Well, I am not certain the chef realizes what foods are considered Spring-like. From the appetizers to the main courses there seemed to be a general theme going and it definitely was NOT Spring. There were several places where the "main" ingredient or garnish was either pumpkin or sweet potato which belongs more on a Autumn menu.... and of course I am not thrilled about either. Disappointed they took off the lyonnaise potatoes and added a gorganzola potato instead. I do not eat Blue Cheese! So, after weeding out all the dishes I wouldn't eat I was left with 2 or 3 items that I would consider ordering. I settled on the fish and chips - a very underwhelming dish. The fish was so thin around the edges that I had to saw through it to get a piece - it was drive and chewy. I will not order this again. We probably won't be back until the next menu change which will be some time in June.; that is, if they bring back some of our favorites.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Reservations were taken in time. Service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Reservations were taken in time. Service and food were excellent. We were not rushed at all. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Losing the edge

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This eatery started out like gangbusters with excellent food and impeccable service but with transfer of day to day management from initial owner to partner, quality of food and service has slipped a notch. Seafood is often lately overcooked and tough and dry. Risotto has been substituted for rice. Service has slowed. Still good food and service but no longer great as in the first couple of years of business. On a positive note, new management has added a couple of vegetarian entrees to the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Valentines Day Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

First time visiting this restaurant was on Valentine's Day. We had a reservation for 6pm and showed up a little early. We did not have to wait at all and was shown to our seats right away. Our waitress was very pleasant and helpful with the menu. We both wanted to try something new and she pointed us in the right direction on what to try. The food was very good and came out quickly. Only complaint was the calamari was slightly chewy, but other than that no complaints. Our drinks were also very good. I had a cider sangria that I would definitely get again. Will visit this restaurant again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious but pricey

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food, great atmosphere and great service but WAY too overpriced for what we received.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Nice Surprise

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went on a Sunday evening. It was quiet. The food was excellent. The server was very nice and helpful. Looking at the lay-out, we suspect the restaurant and bar may be much louder in the summer months, or a Friday evening. The menu has a wide range. Everything from pizza to fine steaks. We went with the steaks and they were excellent.

It is easy to get to; right off the exit on route 4 coming and going to the beaches.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Prime Rib

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent service and food. The prime rib was perfect as usual. I miss the edamame soybeans (w/ salt/pepper) but Charlie indicated they are to be added back to the menu due to high demand. Awesome the owner is on premise and looks for feedback.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great meal and I appreciated ou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great meal and I appreciated our waiters advice on the specials! The Duck was awesome and it did not disappoint us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great presentation.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Best baked scallops around South County, perfectly seared. Prime rib was cooked perfectly. This was my first time visiting Chop House grill, it is now my favorite restaurant in South County.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

There was a private party the night we were there and the music was blaring. We had to yell at the table to be heard.

The service and food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Service was great.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was OK

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The service was excellent.

They served fresh hot bread from the oven, which was very good.

I had ordered the Bolognese which had very meaty delicious flavor. My issue was the lack of pasta that was served with it. It should have been more. I finished my plate and had a lot of sauce left over, that I would have liked to eat with the pasta. I didn't leave hungry but I didn't leave full.

She ordered the pork special with mashed potatoes. The mashed were average at best. Nothing special. The pork was just a piece of pork loin. Also, nothing special.

We did have the pumpkin fritters, which were excellent.

Again, it wasn't bad, but there are other restaurants in the area that give you a better value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and food was exceptional We w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Service and food was exceptional We would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will return

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Everything was great ! First time here and will definitely be back. Buffalo calamari app was really tasty!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Chophouse

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Visited chophouse grill for the first time--Great service and good appetizer. Meals took a little longer than expected and without complaining the waitress brought two extra drinks over-- and apologized to us. We didn't mind-no rush. Chicken Parmesan was good although the chicken was a little bit chewy- perhaps frozen chicken? The baked cod was also good but was presented on a plate-- was expected to be in a fisherman's platter with breadcrumbs butter and lemon on top. Overall I would give it four out of five stars-servers and staff was very attentive but not overbearing

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful and tasty

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The Chop House Grille is a great addition to the South County food scene. It has been remarkable updated and the food is outstanding. From the gorgeous bar to the private, romantic tables, everything is perfect, enjoy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Affordable options. They offered to spli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Affordable options. They offered to split the great burger we shared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

An "off night"

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

We have been going to this restaurant about once a month for a couple of years now and it never fails to exceed expectations. We had heard Charlie was retiring and his absence was noticeable on this latest visit. Lots of new faces in host, bus and wait staff and things were not operating as smoothly as usual. There were three in our party and entree was delivered to one person. After 5 minutes we caught the eye of our waitress who returned with the other two meals. Mine was the baked haddock and it was only lukewarm and not seasoned well. Rice was tepid and soggy. The fish and chips were "great" according to the person who ordered them and the salmon "wasn't right" according to that diner. Perhaps it was a rare "off night" and next visit will be back to the exceptional standard we know and expect from Chophouse.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Chop House

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Great atmosphere and bar. Food always good. New high tops on 2nd level a great new touch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great atmosphere, restaurant week specia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Great atmosphere, restaurant week specials very good with amazing price! Very nice waitress. Very sweet & eager to please without hovering.....very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great meal in a casual place with great ambiance.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Wonderful service, good menu, nice setting. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food wasn't anything to rave about. Fir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Food wasn't anything to rave about. First the fritters were under cooked. The fact that the kitchen asked if they could butterfly a steak in order to cook it medium well lead me to believe they did not know how to cook a steak which made sense since it was completely dry and not very appealing. Fish was dry... Overall not a great food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

EXCELLENT MEAL

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

This was my second visit to Chophouse. Both times it was an EXCELLENT dining experience. The atmosphere has such a great ambiance, the food is superb, and the wait staff very friendly. I highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Large portions, tasty food.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

We went here for my birthday dinner. Although the food was very good and the waiter was very attentive, I can't give this restaurant a really high rating. It was not my scene--very much a sports bar, with multiple TVs on multiple games and more people at the bar than at tables. Also, there portions were so giant that we took half the food home with us. If all of that is to your liking, give it a try, but if you want a more intimate, romantic setting, you can skip it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Awfully good but awfully loud, too

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

The Chop House is the best steak house in Wakefield, but they also offer very good seafood dishes, particularly the scallops. For lighter fare their burger, as well as amazing buffalo chicken tenders are not to be missed. It's not cheap, and it can be tough to get in here during the Summer season. They're not open for lunch anytime of the year, unfortunately.

My only serious complaint about the Chop House is the noise level. It's a combination of a 747 landing at JFK airport and a Rolling Stones Concert. We often choose not to come here specifically because of it, in fact. I respectfully recommend that the restaurant invest some of their notable profits into noise abatement technology - it would be money well spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Chop House is confused.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2015

Chop House could be a great go to place for steaks, drinks and good food. Instead it is trying to be a sports bar with big screen TVs featuring the Kardashians and sports during a nice dinner for two. Our wait person was not informative. We asked about special, only to hear them described at length with many more additions by another server. We did enjoy our wine choice, the warm loaf of bread. For the price, the rib eye was not high quality. It was cooked nicely though and the accompanying potato was hug. Also enjoyed the asparagus wrapped in bacon. But at over $30 per entrée, we found the environment distracting due to the volume of music and the televisions. This will not be a regular haunt for us. Rather spend a little more at the Capital Grille for much better service and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This is a go to place for two academics ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

This is a go to place for two academics who appreciate casual dinner dishes such as gourmet burgers and fries, local oysters and chowder and gourmet prime rib, spaghetti Bolognese all on the same dinner menu. The temperature of the food is hot when it needs to be, rare as requested and the service is attentive but not overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

We visited the Chophouse Grille twice and were not disappointed. The first visit was for our anniversary and it was excellent. The food was great, the waiter was outstanding. He found out that it was our anniversary and the restaurant gave us a free dessert. It was wonderful. The 2nd visit was just as great. We went with our daughter and friend and the food was excellent, service great. We will certainly visit the Chophouse Grille again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.