About Chino Latino

2916 Hennepin Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55408
View Larger Map

Serving street food from the hot zones in both small and large portions for sharing, Chino Latino ignites fireworks of flavor in Uptown's most spectacular bar and distinctive dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Latin / Spanish, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 1:00am, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
West Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 824-7878

Website:
http://www.chinolatino.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available after 5:15pm for $8. (cash only)

Executive Chef:
Todd Bolton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chino Latino
Chino Latino
Chino Latino
Chino Latino
Chino Latino
Chino Latino
Habanero Hell Poppers
Pork Vindaloo
Chicken And Pork Bbq Plate
Bulgogi
Jerk Chicken
Chicken Skewers With Fried Rice
Bang bang firecracker wings
Nachos Del Sol
Tres Leche Brownie
Stoli Diet W/Kettle
Moscow Mule
Wok Glazed Green Beans
Sangria
Blackberry Mojito
Black Laab
Tacos
Bluemoon Spring Seasonal Ale
Plantains Nachos
carne asada
Kung Pao Chicken
Paella
empanadas
Caterpillar Roll
Scorpion Roll
Mojitos
Señor Itchy's Crab Balls
Pu Pu Platter
s'mores
Sushi
Spring Rolls
Pupu Plater
Drinks!
Sushi Platter
fish tacos
Mango Caterpillar Roll
Crack Ho Mojito (With Vile's Of Raspberry, Blackberry And Passion Fruit)
Cucumber Avocado Rolls
Chorizo Fundido
Puerto Rican Pork Belly Stew
Street Vendor Head On Prawns
Kimchi Short Ribs
Queso Fundido
Uncle Pho Martini
Siam Sunrays
Pisco Sour
Samosas
Plaa Thawt Lat Phrik
Adobo Chicken Meat Sword
Margarita
Deep Fried Snickers With Vanilla Ice Cream
Crab Balls
Tostadas de Tinga
Fried Bananas with Coconut Ice Cream
Chicken potstickers
carnitas tacos
House Of Wang Salt & Pepper Shrimp
Belafonte Banana Boat Chicken
Esquites
Chicken & Pork Skewers
Coconut Shrimp Curry
Blue Hawaiian
Big Kahuna Polynesian Pupu Platter
Yoshi's Smokin' Hot Rock
Sake Bomb
French Toast of the dead
Guinea Pig

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No one refuses an invitation to Chino Latino. Beyond the wildly flavorful menu, daring cocktails and dazzling décor, parties of up to 80 can now enjoy the sexy new private Party Room. The Party Room offers guests a sophisticated private event space right in the heart of Uptown.

Chino Latino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (108)
Hot Spot (88)
Special Occasion (85)
See All
Fit for Foodies (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (70)
Late-night Find (41)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Romantic (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An amazing dining experience! Service wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

An amazing dining experience! Service was great and food was outstanding! Great place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server, great food, lots of fun fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great server, great food, lots of fun for my sisters bday. Loud place though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

it's our favorite place to take our out- ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

it's our favorite place to take our out-of-state visitors...they always love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go with a group! Lots of ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place to go with a group! Lots of fun food and drinks to try out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

we were very happy with the drinks but t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

we were very happy with the drinks but the food was not every good and the menu was kinda hard to find something for everyone.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The wings were very good! Our service wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The wings were very good!

Our service was quicker than expected too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, great food, astonish ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Impeccable service, great food, astonishingly good margaritas. Wholeheartedly recommend the pork buns and sushi sampler. Astonishing to me that this place is still thriving after so many years. Hard to maintain the cool the way they do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mojitos are awesome!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Mojitos are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very accommodating my rese ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The staff was very accommodating my reservation was for 17 people. 21 of us ended up showing up that night and they found it extra table for us immediately. The food was wonderful and the staff was patient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My out of town guests really appreciated ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My out of town guests really appreciated the ambiance and the food. They loved it! I personally loved the Senegalese Peanut Curry. The only complaint came a day later when we realized that there was a bit of a wham bam thank you ma'am experience. We would have loved for the shared food to come staggered and to have been there longer. Overall great. Next time we will order one food at a time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun venue with good "street food" served ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fun venue with good "street food" served family style. Crowd runs young and loud. Food was good; price was fair given that you are paying for a "scene" as well as for food. Our server could not have been nicer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I brought my daughter in for a celebrati ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I brought my daughter in for a celebration meal as she had gotten her first job.. She liked it, s I didn't give 5 stars on service because I felt rushed. she was eating the last of her tacos, and someone walks by and takes her plate. I almost said something to management , but didn't. I didn't like that though. otherwise it was okay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We dined at ChinoLatino last night for m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We dined at ChinoLatino last night for my granddaughters birthday. The service was ok, the waitress was busy - it looked like she had many tables she was serving. Very disappointed in the food, we had the queso dip - it was very runny, more like a sauce than a dip. We requested more tortilla chips and were given some in a bag. We ordered the Molcajete, the beef was tough and gristley, the chorizo was stringy. The grilled onions were impossible to cut with a butter knife. We had the S'Mores platter for dessert, it was way overpriced for what it was. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I love Chino's. The food is great alway ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I love Chino's. The food is great always. The staff is super friendly and helpful. It is a little dark in the evening and loud but if you don't mind it creates a fun and upbeat atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're there for a birthday, especial ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

If you're there for a birthday, especially for a 21st birthday, a chino bomber is a must. Great place for appetizers and drinks, whether its late night happy hour or for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I love the atmosphere at Chino! I also ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I love the atmosphere at Chino! I also love their pineapple mojitos! We had a party of 11 and I wished they would've given us a little more room, other than that super service and food! They were kind enough do separate bills, I just forewarned them. I'll go as long they're open! They even printed happy birthday with my sisters name right on the menu. 5☆

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience. Food is excel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a great experience. Food is excellent and unique. A must stop every time we are in the Cities.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very noisy and the food was not a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was very noisy and the food was not as good as I would have expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Chino Latino was awesome and so much fun ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Chino Latino was awesome and so much fun! My husband and I were visiting Minneapolis from NYC and a friend recommended it. Awesome atmosphere, great service, and delicious food --we ate the leftovers all weekend long! Super unique place. Would definitely recommend it and would go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic! The service was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was fantastic! The service was very fast and informative. We ordered the house margarita, and our server explained it was an authentic margarita, without sweet and sour, but with lime juice. He said it might taste stronger. It was superb! Just what a margarita should taste like! We tried the jerk chicken skewer appetizer. Although they were tasty, I did not reminisce about Jamaica while eating this, as cilantro has no place in "jerk" seasoning, in my book. Still good, though. We split a large type of make your own soft taco meal. Out of this world! SOOO much food. Very, very good, with every possible add in you could want. Barely saved room for dessert, but had to try the fried bananas with coconut ice cream. The perfect finale. Not too sweet, great mix of hot and cold. We definitely will be craving a visit back here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the energetic and sleek feel of t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I love the energetic and sleek feel of this place – like a high end classy restaurant. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The plantain nachos and the "Swinger" Platter were good, but too big a portion. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service! Great food! Love that the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service! Great food! Love that they write special notes in the menus and bring out sparkles for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Where to begin? This is a fun mix ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Wow! Where to begin? This is a fun mix of cultures and foods. The place was packed, even on a Sunday night. Food was very diverse and served hot. Everyone in your party will be able to find something to enjoy. The drinks are fun and stand out, using fresh (whole) pineapples and coconuts as the "glasses". Overall the food was good to very good, but the place is a fun experience. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the pork belly steam bun appetizer. ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love the pork belly steam bun appetizer. It's always good, but this time we ordered w extra sauces on side, and that took it to fantastic. Requested a booth, and although there were at least seven open booths, that request was completely ignored. Next time I will call first and make sure. It makes all the difference! The sushi sampler is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Chino Latino was awesome! Great drink me ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chino Latino was awesome! Great drink menu and the place is just a cool place to be in. I had an awesome experience with service and all the staff I encountered. I work in a restaurant and so I feel like I have slightly higher expectations when it comes to service and Chino rocked! Would definitely recommend going

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I've heard really good things about Chin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I've heard really good things about Chino Latino and I decided to make my first visit on my birthday, I ordered ceviche, and the waiter came back to tell me they had ran out of that, on my birthday and I got popusas which I did not end up eating, the waiters did nothing about The inconvinice, besides that it was a fun place to be

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Planned a surprise birthday party here f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Planned a surprise birthday party here for my boyfriend. Awesome food and awesome service! Really fun night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food quality does not match the pric ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food quality does not match the pricing in many dishes. The Cuban Pork had little flavor and there was gristle in the barbacoa tacos, but the waitress did not offer a discount or no charge for it when we told her.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed. Haven't been here in years ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Disappointed. Haven't been here in years and was so excited to go back. I was even present at the grand opening 16 years ago!

Our experience tonight was quite disappointing, however. We ordered many dishes including tacos, sushi roll, shrimp fried rice, green beans, among other things. We had three children present at the table and the server did not bother to reiterate or point out how spicy some of the dishes actually are. The children were only able to eat less than half of what we ordered. When I pointed this out to the server, he responded matter-of-factly that what I ordered was intended to be spicy. My point is that good servers should make customers aware and point out these things when they are not obvious. He did not even offer or suggest an alternative he-- just rushed off.

Besides that, nothing was great. Everything seemed over-marinated/sauced. Definitely lots of sodium and sugar in almost all the dishes. The fried rice was wet. They had seemingly poured some kind of sauce all over it. The beef and chicken tacos were also drenched in sauce. I love sauce, so this is not about that. It's more about balance, which none of the dishes had.

Disappointed. Would not recommend. I wish we had not gone back so we could still have the same good memories of more positive experiences in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

I ordered the coconut shrimp and jasmine ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I ordered the coconut shrimp and jasmine rice with a curry seasoning, My rice was extremely soupy. The curry was almost undetected in the flavor of the shrimp or rice. My server was really sweet and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Chinos ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Chinos. Food was great, but a little noisy atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Far too loud to converse. Food was very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Far too loud to converse. Food was very good. Service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

good times as always. a pleasure to shar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

good times as always. a pleasure to share with new friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was too worried about how much ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Waitress was too worried about how much ordering from the bar would decrease her tip.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

thanks for personalizing the occasion. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

thanks for personalizing the occasion. thats why we keep coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely one of the coolest fusion res ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Definitely one of the coolest fusion restaurants I've ever been to. The atmosphere is amazing, the food delicious, and the service was super friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prices were way too high for sushi. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The prices were way too high for sushi. Origami across the street is wonderful and affordable compared to the rolls at Chino. I just expected better food for the asking price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was good and my friends and I h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was good and my friends and I had a awesome time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great service, food, and energy. Love th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great service, food, and energy. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was great I absolutely loved ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This place was great I absolutely loved it! Would recommend for others!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.