About Chimayo

368 Main Street
Park City, UT 84060
View Larger Map

Step through our door and you will feel as if you leaped across the border. Start with a signature Chimayo Margarita, a locals favorite, next try the stuffed Avocado Salad, or the not to miss.Arturo’s Tortilla Soup; his grandmother's recipe, and the cult favorite, Crown Roast of Barbecue Spareribs. Chimayo has something for everyone, cozy booths, fireplaces, children's options and great service. After a long day on the mountain Chimayo is not to be missed!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open nightly at 5:00

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 649-6222

Website:
http://www.billwhiterestaurantgroup.com/chimayo.html

Catering:
Contact our Sales and Events Department for specific information. 435-649-7850 or Tracy Lee tlee@billwhiteenterprises.com

Parking Details:
Paid parking on Main Street from 11am-8pm, 7 days a week. Free parking behind Chimayo in the China Bridge Parking Structure four hour limits. Excluding Sundance Festival.

Public Transit:
Free Bus System throughout Park City and a Free Trolley on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Arturo Flores

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chimayo has two private dining spaces. The downstairs room seats up to 65 guests. The upstairs room seats up to 85 guests.

Chimayo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Park City Area
Most Booked
Park City Area
Best Restaurants in Park City ›

Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (21)
See All
Hot Spot (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
519 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dine at Chimayo every visit to Park C ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

We dine at Chimayo every visit to Park City and it is consistently delicious!!! The lux margarita was a perfect complement to the crab guacamole and nacho style chicken. Looking forward to our next visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and price is expected for the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food and price is expected for the area of park city. One of the best restaurants in Utah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fantastic. I had the BBQ sp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food is fantastic. I had the BBQ spareribs - amazing. Cooked in a crown roast - incredibly tender.

Service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the finest Mexican restaurant mea ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

One of the finest Mexican restaurant meals I have had. Arturo does a wonderful job in blending flavors and creating most interesting dishes.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chimayo is the jewel in Bill White's (Lo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Chimayo is the jewel in Bill White's (Local Restauranteur) crown. While he owns 7 restaurants and all are fantastic, Chimayo is truly special. It is southwestern but has menu items to serve all tastes. Food presentation is amazing, and food is delicious. I have never had a bad meal there and I eaten their dozens of times. Locals living in Park City wish Bill White would go back to offering 2:1 entrees (in off season) on the weekends as we would go more often. It is not a cheap place to eat! Wine list is fantastic! Tequila list even more so!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely dinner in a pretty restaurant. Fo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Lovely dinner in a pretty restaurant. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a favorite, always lively, always ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always a favorite, always lively, always excellent food and margaritas. Thanks for your consistently delicious evenings!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had friends in town and wanted them t ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had friends in town and wanted them to experience the creative cuisine. The staff are well trained, friendly. It never disappoints.!!!!😄

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. I made the reservation ov ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Disappointing. I made the reservation over a month ago. We arrived right on time, and instead of being shown to the lovely open four-top by the window, we were brought to a table in the near-empty basement. (In retrospect, I should have requested they reseat us.) Ambience in the basement is more akin to El Torito than a restaurant with $40-$50 entrees. Our server was very good; the food was just okay, and extremely overpriced, even for a very expensive resort area like Park City. My family and I agreed that we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Food and service were excellent would de ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food and service were excellent would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. We the duck enchilad ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was great. We the duck enchiladas and the crown ribs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chimayo is a decent southwestern restaur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Chimayo is a decent southwestern restaurant that is way overpriced. The food is good--not great--and costs twice as much as it should. Instead of two people being able to have a round of cocktails, dinner, and one desert for two for $75-100, expect to pay $150, more with two rounds of cocktails and two deserts. The food was better 5-10 years ago, when it seemed really inventive. Now its inventiveness is all about how decorative the garnishes and presentation are. If the food were truly gourmet Southwestern the prices would be understandable, but it is merely good or OK, not superlative. The tomatillo sauce on the mushroom enchiladas was too sour. The chicken and vegetables nacho style were a touch too salty. The chocolate fondue was exceptionally good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Fabulous decor and fresh, delectable cui ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Fabulous decor and fresh, delectable cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambiance and service We had the gu ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Nice ambiance and service

We had the guacamole which was excellent and the cod was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food...very unique! Wonderful ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent food...very unique! Wonderful atmosphere and attentive service! We enjoy a lovely dinner each time we go there.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. The waiter w ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful food and service. The waiter was very helpful and we loved our choices.

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've got allergies and they were totally ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I've got allergies and they were totally accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chimayo's was recommended as one of four ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Chimayo's was recommended as one of four in the area we should go to. After reviewing all 4 menus, Chimayo's stood out as the best menu. We were not disappointed. Every bite we took was superb. One of the best meals we have ever eaten out. We were celebrating a birthday and the evening was very special. Our service was outstanding. I would highly recommend it and would go back the next time I am in town- before trying something new.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food but nothing special for the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Decent food but nothing special for the price. Atmosphere and build out was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

The corn soup was wonderful The guacamo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The corn soup was wonderful

The guacamole was spicy didn't love the chips

Ribs looked fabulous and they were yummy mashed potatoes

Desserts to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One of the best meals I've had! Ceviche ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of the best meals I've had! Ceviche appetizer and the Trout fajitas! Both were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting Park City and wanted to eat in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Visiting Park City and wanted to eat in a restaurant on Main Street. Lots of activity, fun location, nice decor. Menu had some odd sounding things but the beet salad was amazing and small plates interesting. Entrees are pricey maybe because of their 2-fors. We did enjoy it

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our first visit to Chimayo's an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our first visit to Chimayo's and after reading a few negative reviews were a little apprehensive. However, we were forearmed with a 2 for 1 coupon so the high priced menu didn't bother us too much. We were warmly greeted and seated in a nice booth feeling a little more at ease. Unfortunately our server needed a refresher course in customer service. First, having never tried "Elk", I asked how it was prepared and was told to "treat it like filet mignon" while turning away to greet another customer. Upon his return, we explained that my wife didn't eat red meat and asked if chicken could be substituted on the Tostada? He answered, "no" and excused himself again to try and take drink orders for a group of ladies that weren't even seated yet. He returned and agreed to ask the chef on substitutions. He did and returned with a rather stern "no he will not". OK, we got the message, we'll move along. In summary, the Elk filet was a one time experience for me, interesting taste, quite lean. My wife ordered the Black Cod which was quite good. We'll probably return to Chimayo on their special "Thirsty Thursday" night where $5 Margarita's and a very reasonably priced Mexican menu is offered to give them or at lease our server another chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We visit Chimayo once or twice a year wh ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We visit Chimayo once or twice a year when we visit Park City. Our service this time was outstanding and the food is always great. The price tag is steep but I think that you find this in every restaurant in Park City.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chimaya was recommended to us and my par ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Chimaya was recommended to us and my party of three were NOT disappointed. Two had the sea scallops and one had the Duck Enchiladas. All meals were beautifully presented, delivered in a timely fashion, hot and very tasty. We arrived a few minutes late for our reservation due to parking issues from the Art Festival and yet the staff was gracious and made us feel welcome. I look forward to returning and trying more of their delightful food. It was my friends birthday and they brought her a dessert that was plenty for the the three of us to taste and enjoy! Well done Chimaya!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great evening and dinner at Chi ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a great evening and dinner at Chimayo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Everything we ordered from the savory cr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Everything we ordered from the savory crabmeat guacamole to the incredible duck enchiladas and scallops was so savory and delicious. The margaritas were spectacular!! I had asked for a skinny margarita and it was perfect. The service was excellent, friendly and attentive and we were accommodated with a nice window seat on the main level due to my daughters wheelchair. I was happy to see that the front entrance was accessible - since many of the restaurants in old town PC are not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was arrogant and it took almo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waiter was arrogant and it took almost an hour to get our entrees. The food was good but there are many other restaurants in the Park City area with better food and certainly better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Entrees at $40-$50 has to be impeccable. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Entrees at $40-$50 has to be impeccable. My trout fajitas had a big piece of fish but rest was ok and an unusual spice mix that was. . . almost Indian

Who can really eat $50 dollars of anything other than a piece of prime beef?

Expensive, small Utah sized margaritas.

Good bread instead of chips, but wanted chips.

Atmosphere was like Casa Bonita. Packed with stuff. If we hadn't been able to sit on main floor, we would have left.

Great dessert. Hot Chocolate cake and ice cream. Go for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

A co-worker and I were able to get away ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A co-worker and I were able to get away from the city one evening, and we decided to try Chimayo. We were so pleased with our choice! We just happened to be there for Thirsty Thursday and were able to enjoy $5 margaritas. Usually drink specials are small or watered down, but their margaritas were in normal sized glasses and did not disappoint. The quacomole app was light and tasty, and the bread brought to the table came with an amazing cilantro dip. YUM! By the time our meals came, we were already full and in love with Chimayo. Not a lot of entree selections on the menu, but our meals were fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing short ribs. The best. Not too bb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Amazing short ribs. The best. Not too bbq. Great trout fajitas too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was nice. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food. Ambience was good ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food. Ambience was good except for a very large party (possibly from a conference) that was a little loud and made the restaurant feel more like a banquet setting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chimayo is the best place for an intimat ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Chimayo is the best place for an intimate get together, date night, or quiet dinner. The service is impeccable, the food always delicious and the hostesses are such a joy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food !!' Amazing service and ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food !!' Amazing service and waiter !!

Ask to be seated upstairs !!' Downstairs is horrible and dark with zero atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Chimayo was a vacation hit! We have bee ...

 
 (Shreveport)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chimayo was a vacation hit! We have been to Park City/Deer Valley numerous times, but this was our first trip to Chimayo. Out of our whole vacation, this was everyone's highlight meal. The crab guacamole was delicious and a must have. My husband had the elk, father had duck enchiladas, brother had trout fajitas, and we had chicken nachos...all dishes were spectacular! We will return on our next trip and every trip there after that. :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Chimayo! We especially appreciat ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We love Chimayo! We especially appreciate their Thirsty Thursday specials! The pomegranate margarita and taco salad are some of our favorites, but you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sauce and or marinade on crown rib roast ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Sauce and or marinade on crown rib roast was overly sweet and frankly terrible.

Server brought Plata (meats/cheeses) at the same time as the salad....

Server was asked to box appetizer to take out at diners end and it was not done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

This place was GREAT. Seriously, one of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This place was GREAT. Seriously, one of the best meals we have ever had, anywhere in the world. The trout fajitas were just amazing, and the tuna taco (not really a taco, more like a whole ahi filet with a shell and salad) was perfectly prepared. Even the kids' menu was great, with a slew of "fancy drink" options for the littles. It's not inexpensive, but it was worth the splurge. Service was friendly and helpful. I would definitely opt for the main dining room if given the option, as the downstairs seemed a bit stuffy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was recommended this restaurant from s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was recommended this restaurant from some Park City locals and I absolutely loved it. The signature rib dinner was the best ribs I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.