About Chimayo

368 Main Street
Park City, UT 84060
View Larger Map

Step through our door and you will feel as if you leaped across the border. Start with a signature Chimayo Margarita, a locals favorite, next try the stuffed Avocado Salad, or the not to miss.Arturo’s Tortilla Soup; his grandmother's recipe, and the cult favorite, Crown Roast of Barbecue Spareribs. Chimayo has something for everyone, cozy booths, fireplaces, children's options and great service. After a long day on the mountain Chimayo is not to be missed!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open nightly at 5:00

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 649-6222

Website:
http://www.billwhiterestaurantgroup.com/chimayo.html

Catering:
Contact our Sales and Events Department for specific information. 435-649-7850 or Tracy Lee tlee@billwhiteenterprises.com

Parking Details:
Paid parking on Main Street from 11am-8pm, 7 days a week. Free parking behind Chimayo in the China Bridge Parking Structure four hour limits. Excluding Sundance Festival.

Public Transit:
Free Bus System throughout Park City and a Free Trolley on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Arturo Flores

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chimayo has two private dining spaces. The downstairs room seats up to 65 guests. The upstairs room seats up to 85 guests.

Chimayo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Park City Area
Most Booked
Park City Area
Best Restaurants in Park City ›

fit for foodies (44)
special occasion (31)
romantic (21)
See All
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (13)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chimayo is the best place for an intimat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Chimayo is the best place for an intimate get together, date night, or quiet dinner. The service is impeccable, the food always delicious and the hostesses are such a joy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food !!' Amazing service and ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food !!' Amazing service and waiter !!

Ask to be seated upstairs !!' Downstairs is horrible and dark with zero atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Chimayo was a vacation hit! We have bee ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chimayo was a vacation hit! We have been to Park City/Deer Valley numerous times, but this was our first trip to Chimayo. Out of our whole vacation, this was everyone's highlight meal. The crab guacamole was delicious and a must have. My husband had the elk, father had duck enchiladas, brother had trout fajitas, and we had chicken nachos...all dishes were spectacular! We will return on our next trip and every trip there after that. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Chimayo! We especially appreciat ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We love Chimayo! We especially appreciate their Thirsty Thursday specials! The pomegranate margarita and taco salad are some of our favorites, but you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sauce and or marinade on crown rib roast ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Sauce and or marinade on crown rib roast was overly sweet and frankly terrible.

Server brought Plata (meats/cheeses) at the same time as the salad....

Server was asked to box appetizer to take out at diners end and it was not done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

This place was GREAT. Seriously, one of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This place was GREAT. Seriously, one of the best meals we have ever had, anywhere in the world. The trout fajitas were just amazing, and the tuna taco (not really a taco, more like a whole ahi filet with a shell and salad) was perfectly prepared. Even the kids' menu was great, with a slew of "fancy drink" options for the littles. It's not inexpensive, but it was worth the splurge. Service was friendly and helpful. I would definitely opt for the main dining room if given the option, as the downstairs seemed a bit stuffy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was recommended this restaurant from s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was recommended this restaurant from some Park City locals and I absolutely loved it. The signature rib dinner was the best ribs I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Chili Margaritas, excellent Ce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Loved the Chili Margaritas, excellent Cevicke and the trout tacos were all hits.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow and inattentive. T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was very slow and inattentive. The menu talks a good game but the food was dull.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Chimayo has a unique menu but could bene ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Chimayo has a unique menu but could benefit from a little selective editing. Everything is just a bit over done in a "Southwest meets Vegas" kind of way. The ceviche starter is an ample serving for 3-4 people but too much tomato almost overwhelmed the seafood. Our waiter was trying very, very hard to provide a high level of service yet came off as a bit obsequious and still got part of our order wrong. The food presentation is where things really got crazy. The rib entree arrived looking like a volcanic eruption. A half rack or ribs was rolled into a circle standing up on the side, centered on the plate with mashed potatoes sandwiched between two onions rings balanced on the top and then a handful of un-cut chives and 3-4 thin breadsticks sticking out the top like July 4th sparklers. The entire dish was surrounded in a bed of homily. All very tasty but too many elements and bizarre to behold. The ahi tacos were presented a top one giant hard taco shell on a bed of lettuce and...those thin breadsticks sticking out on top. The shell was cemented upright on the plate with a hummus like paste and surrounded by mango salsa. Again, the dish was tasty but "Las Vegas" like in presentation. The trout fajitas were the most balanced dish in terms of flavor and presentation. Appetizing without going overboard. Overall, the menu could benefit from embracing a "less is more" philosophy to allow the food to speak for itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We ate at several restaurants in Park Ci ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We ate at several restaurants in Park City, Main Street, during our recent stay and found Chimayo to be the pick of the litter. Creative would be the best description. When you take a picture of your entrée, you have a creative meal. The Ribs were served in the shape of a beehive and tasted as good as they looked. Service was excellent, place was crowded on a Saturday night, for good reason. Overall we were a bit disappointed with the caliber of high end restaurants in Park City, so we were pleased to find Chimayo's on the last evening of our trip.

Nice job to the Management, often that holds the key.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and nice atmosphere but a litt ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food and nice atmosphere but a little pricey. Had the tuna tacos and friends had elk, all were high quality meals. No complaints on the food quality. Not a "loud" restaurant so kids would stick out like a sore thumb.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing in Almost Every Way

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We're vegetarians, and chose Chimayo because of a few tasty-sounding options on the dinner menu. After being seated, we were handed abbreviated "Special" Thursday night menu, which included only one veggie entree: "Wild Mushroom Enchiladas." We ordered two appetizers, guacamole (pedestrian) and bean dip (way too salty.) Both came with tortilla chips that looked and tasted like they were right out of the grocery-store bag.

We waited over an hour for the entree, joking to ourselves that we were the only vegetarians the staff had ever seen that we had called their bluff by ordering the token veggie entree, that they were out foraging for the mushrooms. No such luck. The mushrooms were tough, rubbery button mushrooms, the sauce right out of the jar, also oversalted. During our hour-long wait we never saw our server, though the busboys were attentive to our water glasses. The server offered no explanation or apology for the wait or for her disappearance.

Overall, one of the most disappointing restaurant experiences we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

My favorite place in Park City! It's alw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My favorite place in Park City! It's always predictably a beautiful meal. I travel, and it's a must -have when I'm I the area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the place!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We are from Texas and loved the decor , food was fabulous , service great.

First time in Park City and thought everything about the place was terrific.

Will see Chimayo next time we're in town.

Jo Ann Robinson

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

better than expected!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was excellent and our service professional, Season was very helpful! This is not just another nice restaurant...this is a culinary 'happening". Very impressive from start to finish!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Park City, UT

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

As a local, this is our favorite restaurant in Park City, UT. The food is excellent and very flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Should not be missed....

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

There are many good restaurants in and around Park City, but Chimayo by far has everyone else beat. The exquisite food, presentation and service is second to none.

The restaurant interior is well done, interesting to look at and comfortable.

Mike Court is far and away the finest server ever. Julie and Mary Lou are the most gracious and welcoming hostesses. No matter how crazy the evening is, they always make you feel you are the only people in the room. Always smiling. Priceless.

Of course Arturo is a chef beyond words. Pure genius.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday dinner

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Nice place or go for a nice evening out

Pros: Very good food and service from Mike was great.

Cons: Menu is a little pricey even for Park City and Corkage @ $25 is too high!

Tags: romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favs. Always consistent.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

One of our favs. Always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of PC's best

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Recently moved to Park City and Chimayo is already one of our favorite restaurants. Food and presentation are fantastic. The shortribs are a must, you will have leftovers for days!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good value

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Chimayo! The atmosphere is the be ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I love Chimayo! The atmosphere is the best and the food is divine. Honestly, the only downside is the price of entrees - quite spendy. We went with a 2 for 1 entree coupon, which made all of the difference.

We ordered the ceviche and the crab and corn soup for appetizers and didn't expect them to be that large! Our entrees came next (buffalo steak and black cod) and we couldn't finish even half of each, but highly recommend both.

I've eaten at Chimayo several times and had never had a bad dish!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was subpar for the price, even ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was subpar for the price, even with locals two for one we spent more than if we had went elsewhere in town. They also took off veggie fajitas which with vegetarian friends they looked forward to that and what we got was a plate of broccoli and corn and squash no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Wonderful service and great atmosphere! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful service and great atmosphere! Food was incredible as well.

Overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered the duck enchiladas and short ri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Ordered the duck enchiladas and short ribs to split between 3 adults after a hike and we still had left overs! The ribs were tender. Presentation was beautiful. However, seems like they got lazy with the flavors and freshness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was extremely adequate. My fish ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was extremely adequate. My fish was cooked perfectly but the squash was bland and the sauce was more of a design on the plate than an enhancement to the meal. It was horribly loud. We were in a booth but could hardly hear each other. And the prices were abusive, just like all Bill White's restaurants. He takes advantage of the people in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Excellent every time

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This was our third dining experience at Chimayo and it was perfect—just like the two times before. The entire staff takes such good care of us. We always go for our wedding anniversary and they make the evening so special. We LOVE Chimayo for its cozy atmosphere and creative, DELICIOUS food. You cannot go wrong with the elk loin, or shrimp and fish ceviche. The new chocolate cake on the menu was divine. Everyone must try it. Chimayo is a 10/10

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

April 2016: Chimayo served up one of the best restaurant meals I've had in a long time. The chile relleno appetizer was very good, but even better was the salsa-like side that was served with it. We had the salmon and the trout fajitas, and both were excellent, and again the sides stole the show: The guacamole, the sour cream (was that cayenne that made it a little spicy and off-white?), the pico de gallo salsa, the peppers and sauce. Yumm. And the house margarita deserves a special mention, too. Friendly service, nice ambiance, superb food presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely, lovely evening. Great food, ambiance, attentive service - looking forward to eat there again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative menu with fresh ingredients and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Creative menu with fresh ingredients and lovely combinations. Chopped salad was excellent. Chicken fajita special was memorable for the Vegetables served with it--Brussel sprouts were a welcome surprise. The chicken was nothing special--just a sliced breast. Service was impeccable. You have to be willing to dig deep in your wallet because it is not cheap. While the food was very good, I do not think the price point matched up well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening, dinner was outstanding

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Dinner was wonderful presentation exceptional. Will definitely return again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our absolute favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

One of our absolute favorite restaurants in Park City!

The food is fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not a Mexican restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

This is not a normal Mexican restaurant. The only Mexican items are on the kids menu. The cheapest entree is around $30. It's a cute place though!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent service, Atmosphere, and Food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

If you are looking for amazing service, a vibrant atmosphere, and uniquely created food this place is the place for you. I highly recommend the scallops and spare ribs.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We come to Park City every year for a fa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We come to Park City every year for a father sons ski adventure and this is the only restaurant we go back to every time. Amazing food and the service is top notch! Thank you for another great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale Mexican with Kid-Friendly Options

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Very tasty food and prompt, attentive service. We especially enjoyed our starters, the ceviche and the snow crab guacamole. The duck enchiladas were a neat twist on typical Mexican restaurant dishes, and the rest of the menu looked equally inventive and appealing. Our not-very-adventurous-when-it-comes-to-food child appreciated the kids' menu, which included simpler Mexican fare, such as quesadillas and burritos, but prepared to the same delicious standards. We also appreciated the ease and willingness with which the server and the kitchen handled a special request of raw veggies for our son. The generous plate of tomatoes and cucumbers kept him well occupied during the time it took to replace his burrito, which came out with the wrong filling the first time around. The replacement was handled quickly and professionally, with appropriate apologies for the error. We would love to come back and try some of the other yummy-looking menu options if we make it back to Park City.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Upscale Mexican Food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

I thought the food was good but overpriced. I ordered the vegetable fajitas , but really was looking for chicken fajitas but they said they were unable to make.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Same price as other high end restaurants ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Same price as other high end restaurants in the neighborhood and not nearly half as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was excellent and the service wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.