About Chimayo

368 Main Street
Park City, UT 84060
View Larger Map

Step through our door and you will feel as if you leaped across the border. Start with a signature Chimayo Margarita, a locals favorite, next try the stuffed Avocado Salad, or the not to miss.Arturo’s Tortilla Soup; his grandmother's recipe, and the cult favorite, Crown Roast of Barbecue Spareribs. Chimayo has something for everyone, cozy booths, fireplaces, children's options and great service. After a long day on the mountain Chimayo is not to be missed!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open nightly at 5:00

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 649-6222

Website:
http://www.billwhiterestaurantgroup.com/chimayo.html

Catering:
Contact our Sales and Events Department for specific information. 435-649-7850 or Tracy Lee tlee@billwhiteenterprises.com

Parking Details:
Paid parking on Main Street from 11am-8pm, 7 days a week. Free parking behind Chimayo in the China Bridge Parking Structure four hour limits. Excluding Sundance Festival.

Public Transit:
Free Bus System throughout Park City and a Free Trolley on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Arturo Flores

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chimayo has two private dining spaces. The downstairs room seats up to 65 guests. The upstairs room seats up to 85 guests.

Chimayo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Park City Area
Best Restaurants in Park City ›

Fit for Foodies (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Hot Spot (17)
See All
Romantic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food and service. The waiter w ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and service. The waiter was very helpful and we loved our choices.

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've got allergies and they were totally ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've got allergies and they were totally accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chimayo's was recommended as one of four ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Chimayo's was recommended as one of four in the area we should go to. After reviewing all 4 menus, Chimayo's stood out as the best menu. We were not disappointed. Every bite we took was superb. One of the best meals we have ever eaten out. We were celebrating a birthday and the evening was very special. Our service was outstanding. I would highly recommend it and would go back the next time I am in town- before trying something new.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food but nothing special for the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Decent food but nothing special for the price. Atmosphere and build out was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

One of the best meals I've had! Ceviche ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of the best meals I've had! Ceviche appetizer and the Trout fajitas! Both were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting Park City and wanted to eat in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Visiting Park City and wanted to eat in a restaurant on Main Street. Lots of activity, fun location, nice decor. Menu had some odd sounding things but the beet salad was amazing and small plates interesting. Entrees are pricey maybe because of their 2-fors. We did enjoy it

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our first visit to Chimayo's an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our first visit to Chimayo's and after reading a few negative reviews were a little apprehensive. However, we were forearmed with a 2 for 1 coupon so the high priced menu didn't bother us too much. We were warmly greeted and seated in a nice booth feeling a little more at ease. Unfortunately our server needed a refresher course in customer service. First, having never tried "Elk", I asked how it was prepared and was told to "treat it like filet mignon" while turning away to greet another customer. Upon his return, we explained that my wife didn't eat red meat and asked if chicken could be substituted on the Tostada? He answered, "no" and excused himself again to try and take drink orders for a group of ladies that weren't even seated yet. He returned and agreed to ask the chef on substitutions. He did and returned with a rather stern "no he will not". OK, we got the message, we'll move along. In summary, the Elk filet was a one time experience for me, interesting taste, quite lean. My wife ordered the Black Cod which was quite good. We'll probably return to Chimayo on their special "Thirsty Thursday" night where $5 Margarita's and a very reasonably priced Mexican menu is offered to give them or at lease our server another chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We visit Chimayo once or twice a year wh ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We visit Chimayo once or twice a year when we visit Park City. Our service this time was outstanding and the food is always great. The price tag is steep but I think that you find this in every restaurant in Park City.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chimaya was recommended to us and my par ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Chimaya was recommended to us and my party of three were NOT disappointed. Two had the sea scallops and one had the Duck Enchiladas. All meals were beautifully presented, delivered in a timely fashion, hot and very tasty. We arrived a few minutes late for our reservation due to parking issues from the Art Festival and yet the staff was gracious and made us feel welcome. I look forward to returning and trying more of their delightful food. It was my friends birthday and they brought her a dessert that was plenty for the the three of us to taste and enjoy! Well done Chimaya!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great evening and dinner at Chi ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a great evening and dinner at Chimayo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Everything we ordered from the savory cr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Everything we ordered from the savory crabmeat guacamole to the incredible duck enchiladas and scallops was so savory and delicious. The margaritas were spectacular!! I had asked for a skinny margarita and it was perfect. The service was excellent, friendly and attentive and we were accommodated with a nice window seat on the main level due to my daughters wheelchair. I was happy to see that the front entrance was accessible - since many of the restaurants in old town PC are not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was arrogant and it took almo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waiter was arrogant and it took almost an hour to get our entrees. The food was good but there are many other restaurants in the Park City area with better food and certainly better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Entrees at $40-$50 has to be impeccable. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Entrees at $40-$50 has to be impeccable. My trout fajitas had a big piece of fish but rest was ok and an unusual spice mix that was. . . almost Indian

Who can really eat $50 dollars of anything other than a piece of prime beef?

Expensive, small Utah sized margaritas.

Good bread instead of chips, but wanted chips.

Atmosphere was like Casa Bonita. Packed with stuff. If we hadn't been able to sit on main floor, we would have left.

Great dessert. Hot Chocolate cake and ice cream. Go for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

A co-worker and I were able to get away ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A co-worker and I were able to get away from the city one evening, and we decided to try Chimayo. We were so pleased with our choice! We just happened to be there for Thirsty Thursday and were able to enjoy $5 margaritas. Usually drink specials are small or watered down, but their margaritas were in normal sized glasses and did not disappoint. The quacomole app was light and tasty, and the bread brought to the table came with an amazing cilantro dip. YUM! By the time our meals came, we were already full and in love with Chimayo. Not a lot of entree selections on the menu, but our meals were fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing short ribs. The best. Not too bb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Amazing short ribs. The best. Not too bbq. Great trout fajitas too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was nice. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food. Ambience was good ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food. Ambience was good except for a very large party (possibly from a conference) that was a little loud and made the restaurant feel more like a banquet setting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chimayo is the best place for an intimat ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Chimayo is the best place for an intimate get together, date night, or quiet dinner. The service is impeccable, the food always delicious and the hostesses are such a joy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food !!' Amazing service and ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food !!' Amazing service and waiter !!

Ask to be seated upstairs !!' Downstairs is horrible and dark with zero atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Chimayo was a vacation hit! We have bee ...

 
 (Shreveport)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chimayo was a vacation hit! We have been to Park City/Deer Valley numerous times, but this was our first trip to Chimayo. Out of our whole vacation, this was everyone's highlight meal. The crab guacamole was delicious and a must have. My husband had the elk, father had duck enchiladas, brother had trout fajitas, and we had chicken nachos...all dishes were spectacular! We will return on our next trip and every trip there after that. :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Chimayo! We especially appreciat ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We love Chimayo! We especially appreciate their Thirsty Thursday specials! The pomegranate margarita and taco salad are some of our favorites, but you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sauce and or marinade on crown rib roast ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Sauce and or marinade on crown rib roast was overly sweet and frankly terrible.

Server brought Plata (meats/cheeses) at the same time as the salad....

Server was asked to box appetizer to take out at diners end and it was not done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

This place was GREAT. Seriously, one of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This place was GREAT. Seriously, one of the best meals we have ever had, anywhere in the world. The trout fajitas were just amazing, and the tuna taco (not really a taco, more like a whole ahi filet with a shell and salad) was perfectly prepared. Even the kids' menu was great, with a slew of "fancy drink" options for the littles. It's not inexpensive, but it was worth the splurge. Service was friendly and helpful. I would definitely opt for the main dining room if given the option, as the downstairs seemed a bit stuffy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was recommended this restaurant from s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was recommended this restaurant from some Park City locals and I absolutely loved it. The signature rib dinner was the best ribs I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Chili Margaritas, excellent Ce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Loved the Chili Margaritas, excellent Cevicke and the trout tacos were all hits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow and inattentive. T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was very slow and inattentive. The menu talks a good game but the food was dull.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Chimayo has a unique menu but could bene ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Chimayo has a unique menu but could benefit from a little selective editing. Everything is just a bit over done in a "Southwest meets Vegas" kind of way. The ceviche starter is an ample serving for 3-4 people but too much tomato almost overwhelmed the seafood. Our waiter was trying very, very hard to provide a high level of service yet came off as a bit obsequious and still got part of our order wrong. The food presentation is where things really got crazy. The rib entree arrived looking like a volcanic eruption. A half rack or ribs was rolled into a circle standing up on the side, centered on the plate with mashed potatoes sandwiched between two onions rings balanced on the top and then a handful of un-cut chives and 3-4 thin breadsticks sticking out the top like July 4th sparklers. The entire dish was surrounded in a bed of homily. All very tasty but too many elements and bizarre to behold. The ahi tacos were presented a top one giant hard taco shell on a bed of lettuce and...those thin breadsticks sticking out on top. The shell was cemented upright on the plate with a hummus like paste and surrounded by mango salsa. Again, the dish was tasty but "Las Vegas" like in presentation. The trout fajitas were the most balanced dish in terms of flavor and presentation. Appetizing without going overboard. Overall, the menu could benefit from embracing a "less is more" philosophy to allow the food to speak for itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We ate at several restaurants in Park Ci ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We ate at several restaurants in Park City, Main Street, during our recent stay and found Chimayo to be the pick of the litter. Creative would be the best description. When you take a picture of your entrée, you have a creative meal. The Ribs were served in the shape of a beehive and tasted as good as they looked. Service was excellent, place was crowded on a Saturday night, for good reason. Overall we were a bit disappointed with the caliber of high end restaurants in Park City, so we were pleased to find Chimayo's on the last evening of our trip.

Nice job to the Management, often that holds the key.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and nice atmosphere but a litt ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food and nice atmosphere but a little pricey. Had the tuna tacos and friends had elk, all were high quality meals. No complaints on the food quality. Not a "loud" restaurant so kids would stick out like a sore thumb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing in Almost Every Way

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We're vegetarians, and chose Chimayo because of a few tasty-sounding options on the dinner menu. After being seated, we were handed abbreviated "Special" Thursday night menu, which included only one veggie entree: "Wild Mushroom Enchiladas." We ordered two appetizers, guacamole (pedestrian) and bean dip (way too salty.) Both came with tortilla chips that looked and tasted like they were right out of the grocery-store bag.

We waited over an hour for the entree, joking to ourselves that we were the only vegetarians the staff had ever seen that we had called their bluff by ordering the token veggie entree, that they were out foraging for the mushrooms. No such luck. The mushrooms were tough, rubbery button mushrooms, the sauce right out of the jar, also oversalted. During our hour-long wait we never saw our server, though the busboys were attentive to our water glasses. The server offered no explanation or apology for the wait or for her disappearance.

Overall, one of the most disappointing restaurant experiences we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

My favorite place in Park City! It's alw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My favorite place in Park City! It's always predictably a beautiful meal. I travel, and it's a must -have when I'm I the area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the place!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We are from Texas and loved the decor , food was fabulous , service great.

First time in Park City and thought everything about the place was terrific.

Will see Chimayo next time we're in town.

Jo Ann Robinson

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

better than expected!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was excellent and our service professional, Season was very helpful! This is not just another nice restaurant...this is a culinary 'happening". Very impressive from start to finish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Park City, UT

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

As a local, this is our favorite restaurant in Park City, UT. The food is excellent and very flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Should not be missed....

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

There are many good restaurants in and around Park City, but Chimayo by far has everyone else beat. The exquisite food, presentation and service is second to none.

The restaurant interior is well done, interesting to look at and comfortable.

Mike Court is far and away the finest server ever. Julie and Mary Lou are the most gracious and welcoming hostesses. No matter how crazy the evening is, they always make you feel you are the only people in the room. Always smiling. Priceless.

Of course Arturo is a chef beyond words. Pure genius.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday dinner

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Nice place or go for a nice evening out

Pros: Very good food and service from Mike was great.

Cons: Menu is a little pricey even for Park City and Corkage @ $25 is too high!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favs. Always consistent.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

One of our favs. Always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of PC's best

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Recently moved to Park City and Chimayo is already one of our favorite restaurants. Food and presentation are fantastic. The shortribs are a must, you will have leftovers for days!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good value

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Chimayo! The atmosphere is the be ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I love Chimayo! The atmosphere is the best and the food is divine. Honestly, the only downside is the price of entrees - quite spendy. We went with a 2 for 1 entree coupon, which made all of the difference.

We ordered the ceviche and the crab and corn soup for appetizers and didn't expect them to be that large! Our entrees came next (buffalo steak and black cod) and we couldn't finish even half of each, but highly recommend both.

I've eaten at Chimayo several times and had never had a bad dish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.