About Chicken and the Egg

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Scallops
Pimento Cheese Fritters
Sticky Sorghum Cake
Oysters
Spoonbread & Sorghum Butter
Redfish
Shrimp & Grits
Crabcake Eggs Benedict
Potato Casserole
buttermilk biscuits
Butterbean hummus
Deviled Eggs
Farm House Cheeseburger
Chocolate Spoon Cake With Strawberry Ice Cream
Georgia Shrimp And Sweet Corn Gnocchi
Beet Salad
Two Egg Breakfast
FGT Burger (With Pimento Cheese & Fried Green Tomato)
Fried Chicken Wings
Braised Pork And Clams Over Fettucine
Grilled Blood Orange Manhattan
Four Egg Open Faced Garden Omelette
Plant Sandwich And Fries
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Pimento With Toast And Celery
Eggplant Mannicoti
Fish Fry ( Calamari And Rock Shrimp)

Promotions

Kids Eat Free Tuesdays

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Kids Eat Free Tuesdays

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Bring the family in for supper on Tuesday night between 5:00 PM and 9:00 PM and get one free kids meal with the purchase of an adult entree. Make a reservation and let us know you are coming!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 23, 2016 - Dec 20, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Food
Kennesaw / Marietta
4 More
Best Service
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Ambiance
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Value
Kennesaw / Marietta
Most Booked
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

Great for Brunch (78)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Fit for Foodies (56)
See All
Good for Groups (54)
Great for Lunch (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Kid-friendly (35)
Romantic (16)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
878 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant offers a wonder varied ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant offers a wonder varied southern menu with focus on farm to table. Service is always wonderful, not hurried, knowledgeable of menu and options, and courteous.

Food is freshly prepared and offers a variety of meats including fish. Sides are yummy too.

We have eaten here several times. Be sure to check out facebook page for special events. Check out the Thursday 2 for $25!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!!..Great service!! ..Great at ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food!!..Great service!! ..Great atmosphere!! I will definitely be back real soon. My wife and I really enjoyed our dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish they were open later, as they clo ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I wish they were open later, as they closed at 9:00. I suggested it to friends because it's quieter than most contemporary high ceiling restaurants, though it got a bit hard to hear at our booth when the next booth got loud. Our waitress was very familiar with the food and could easily advise about gluten-free options. The manager was very friendly and checked on us, too. I've eaten here twice and enjoy the cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I eat at the Chicken and the Egg at leas ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I eat at the Chicken and the Egg at least once a month and probably have had everything on the menu at least once! And everything has been good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful breakfast! I have a food aller ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful breakfast! I have a food allergy that is sometimes very frustrating and difficult to work around but the chef made sure to watch out for my allergy I everything I had. Such great service and delicious food! Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a terrible experience. The hoste ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall a terrible experience. The hostess sat us next to a table with four small children, when there were many alternatives. The children ran around the entire time, very loud, food on floor etc. Our waitress served water reaching across us, and could not remember our order, so she had to re-confirm. When she cleared the table that the children had been at, she picked up a table mat off the floor and put it back on the table. YUK.

Food was okay at best, my catfish was mushy, not crispy. Had to ask twice for more ketchup for my fries. Bill was $120 for four (only one beer and one glass of wine). No where close to a good value.

Adding insult to injury, my credit card number was hijacked after our dinner with an attempted charge at a nearby grocery store.

Not even worth speaking to the management about. This place has a long way to go.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The restaurant is very noisy which makes ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The restaurant is very noisy which makes it very difficult to carry on a conversation. Food was inconsistent--chicken and waffles-good; eggs Benedict -below average. Server was attentive and efficient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food.

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast we had and the staff was ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great breakfast we had and the staff was very knowledgeable of the Menu. Not a long wait for you meal to be served.

I have not had lunch at this restaurant, but if the breakfast was great, then I would say that the lunch and Dinner would probably be the same,

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I was looking for something in the area ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was looking for something in the area that was unique and served a great brunch. While it was a bit risky taking my wife out for her birthday to a place neither of us had been to before, The Chicken and The Egg turned out to be a fantastic choice. Very clean, well decorated, friendly and helpful staff.... I would definitely recommend this place for brunch, we are going to come back for dinner very soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chicken and the Egg is usually one of my ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Chicken and the Egg is usually one of my favorite places to go, but this time their food was sub-par. Their menu was very bland and i was disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Pretty good, had the chicken and waffles ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Pretty good, had the chicken and waffles....chicken was hot, waffles were cold. Apps very good and the desserts are tasty as well. Love the presentation. Atmosphere is nice, but the country food makes it hard to qualify this venue as a foody place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch was great fun! Energetic c ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sunday brunch was great fun! Energetic crowd, $10 bottomless mimosas, and yummy food make Chicken and the Egg a favorite destination! The chicken and waffle is my family's hands down favorite.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service were great.

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very tasty brunch! Everything tasted fre ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very tasty brunch! Everything tasted fresh and option for bottomless mimosas an obvious plus.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best neighborhood restaurant in West Cob ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Best neighborhood restaurant in West Cobb...our "go to" family dinner night restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for brunch af ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My husband and I came here for brunch after I eyed "Snickerdoodle French Toast" on the menu (YUM)!

The atmosphere was country classic. It's deceptive looking from the outside (doesn't look like much), but there's actually a lot of space inside, including a great entertaining room for larger groups. Definitely make a reservation for brunch, because there was a wait!

There were lots of great food options, and my husband was delighted that they had appetizers and desserts for brunch too (haha). He got the chicken and waffles, and I got the aforementioned french toast. The orange juice was fresh squeezed, and we did cappuccinos (with chocolate milk!!) too. They have mimosas or $5 and bottomless mimosas for $10 (what a deal!). The kitchen was running a little behind, so our waiter brought us some biscuits and homemade strawberry jam while we waited. We hardly noticed the wait, but were happy to try the delicious biscuits!

Everyone was very friendly, the food was comforting and fantastic, and we will certainly go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted to find our new favori ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were delighted to find our new favorite restaurant in the Chicken and the Egg. From our first steps through the door, we found ourselves transported into a decadent humble eatery that put an exciting twist on southern comfort good. While some of our dishes were more successful than others, for example the fried green tomatoes and sticky bun bread pudding were stellar, the whole meal from beginning to end was fabulous. The excellent service, quick pacing of the meal, and beautiful ambiance made our celebratory meal absolutely magical.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere. Excellent for the occ ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great atmosphere. Excellent for the occcassion. I would definitely use them again. Liked menu options.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Chicken and the Egg is a favorite "go t ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Chicken and the Egg is a favorite "go to" location when I'm in Marietta, either for personal or business purposes. It is a solid restaurant, with an ever changing menu of locally sourced items. Always delicious, always fresh, always friendly. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is amazing! I've been here with fri ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food is amazing! I've been here with friends, children, and family. The atmosphere is great and I've always had good waitresses. One of my favorite places to visit in Marietta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose to do brunch for our weekly dat ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We chose to do brunch for our weekly date and picked Chicken and the Egg because of many favorable reviews, as well as the online menu. It exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to go back. The food was amazing and just the right amount, and you can't beat the prices. Our server was helpful and attentive. Totally recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here every Friday. The staff is ve ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I eat here every Friday. The staff is very friendly and Chefs meals are a mouth watering delight!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first experience and I actua ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my first experience and I actually drove from Decatur to meet friends for brunch! Atmosphere was EXCELLENT!!!! I will definitely make the drive again.....SOON!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Recommended by a friend and can't thanks ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Recommended by a friend and can't thanks him enough to trying out this amazing place. A great place to catch up with family and friends plus good foods

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was okay, service was okay, but goo ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was okay, service was okay, but good place to brunch with a group

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was great! Nick's service was e ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was great! Nick's service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great brunch spot! The menu of ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a great brunch spot! The menu offers traditional options as well as dishes with a more modern spin. The cocktail list is excellent. The food is always fast and fresh, and service is fantastic every time. It is very kid friendly, and great for groups as well. Definitely need a reservation as it is always packed on the weekends! We dine here often and have never been disappointed. It's a favorite place to take our out of town guests too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've now visited this restaurant twice. ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've now visited this restaurant twice. First time for Brunch with the girls. Second time with hubby and the grandkids. I got the French toast for brunch. It was delicious. When I went for dinner I got the chicken and waffles. It was tasty too! The coating on the chicken was a bit sweet but I still thought it was good. The service was outstanding. Unfortunately, my husband didn't think it was anything special but I really like the place so I plan to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chicken and The Egg was amazing! Goo ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The Chicken and The Egg was amazing! Good food, great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and really sweet server.

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and really sweet server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

CATFISH...if you love it get it here! Se ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

CATFISH...if you love it get it here! Served griddled or fried, huge ,juicy, flaky fillet.

Paired with their slow braised greens and black-eyed peas...mmmmmm! Can be found on both blue plate lunch and dinner menu. Their hanger steak is outstanding also for dinner. This is one of my favorite go to places . Give it a shot, it might become one of yours. BEST SUNDAY BRUNCH IN MARIETTA.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

$10 bottomless mimosas were delightful! ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

$10 bottomless mimosas were delightful! All food was enjoyed and perfectly cooked!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food and service. Thoroughly ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. Thoroughly impressed with everything from appetizers through desserts. Everyone at the table raved about everything we ate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here for brunch many times (wh ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I've been here for brunch many times (which is fantastic!) but this was our first dinnet there. We were not disappointed. The food was beyond amazing and my husband couldn't have asked for a better birthday dinner. In fact our friends, who live almost 2 hours away were debating how and when to make a special trip back to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A local favorite! A great spot with grea ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A local favorite! A great spot with great options every time I go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Great food. The chicke ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great experience. Great food. The chicken and waffles were fantastic. The southern egg rolls were off the charts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined for Father's Day and the food w ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined for Father's Day and the food was DEEEEEELISH!! Our entire party -mom, dad, sister, brother, and I- had snickerdoodle French toast and fried chicken. Simply divine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was some of the best food I have ever ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was some of the best food I have ever eaten. I had the Crab Cake Benedict and it was delicious! The food was a huge hit with my step-children. They both are insisting we come back for their birthdays. It was Father's Day and with the reservation we were seated right away. Service was outstanding as well! Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very prompt with reservation and overall ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very prompt with reservation and overall excellent. Our favorite restaurant for breakfast.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.