About Chicken and the Egg

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast and Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 7:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Food
Kennesaw / Marietta
6 More
Best Service
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Ambiance
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Value
Kennesaw / Marietta
Fit for Foodies
Kennesaw / Marietta
Neighborhood Gem
Kennesaw / Marietta
Most Booked
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

great for brunch (78)
neighborhood gem (75)
fit for foodies (67)
See All
good for groups (55)
great for lunch (41)
special occasion (41)
kid-friendly (31)
romantic (17)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
826 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I went for brunch, and it was great! Min ...

Dined 5 days ago

I went for brunch, and it was great! Minus the distance, because I live in Stone Mountain, it was worth it. The bottomless mimosas are EVERYTHING!!!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Southern Cuisine At Its Best

Dined 7 days ago

I can not rave about this restaurant enough. The food is incredible. From the pimento cheese and fried green tomatoes to the catfish and meatloaf, they have the best truly southern food in the area. The fact that it is farm to table makes it even better. Everything is always fresh and scrumptious. The restaurant does tend to get a little loud during brunch times but that is just a testament to their wonderful food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was good but not hot...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good but not hot...

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Six of us went for Mother's Day Brunch and were not disappointed. From the bottomless mimosas to the delicious food, it was a great experience. Service was a bit sluggish but to be expected on a busy holiday. Will return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Give this neighborhood gem a try

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had brunch with my daughter, a friend and her daughter. Made reservations in March for Mother's day. Arrived around 12:25 and still waited about 15 minutes. We were seated in a corner booth, loved that! The menu had a nice variety and the restaurant is open and airy. My one concern was 3 of us ordered bottomless Mimosas. We receive the first round. The server came back with another round when we were about finished and didn't offer anymore, she brought the check. It would have been nice for her to check back more frequently and refill our glasses, otherwise what's the point of bottomless?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brought My mom and Aunt here for Mother's day brunch and once again the food was amazing! They loved it, it was their first time being here and they both said the will come back! Wonderful place for Brunch!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great place for breakfast

Dined on May 8, 2016

If you're looking for a breakfast/brunch location, you can't go wrong with Chicken and the Egg. Our party of 5 enjoyed everything we ordered. Our reservation time on Mother's Day was honored perfectly and the service was good. Besides the food being very good, it came out of the kitchen very fast. The biscuits and gravy are particularly good - make sure to choose something that comes with one. I would definitely eat here again. Next time, will try it for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

EARLY MOTHER'S DAY DINNER

Dined on May 6, 2016

Decided on Chicken & the Egg for an early Mother's Day dinner, knowing that the restaurant (like most) would probably have a set menu on Saturday & Sunday, which we cannot stand. We have dined here before and both food & service were very good. This time around we were a bit disappointed with the service piece of it while impressed with the food. Upon arriving we were greeted by very young hosts & hostesses. While polite they lacked a certain sophistication that I would expect for a restaurant of this nature. Our server was truly emotionless and lacking in personality that we have had in a while. It wasn't that he wasn't nice but he was not very informative or social. When I asked about the Wild Boar he told us it was very good then said that he never had it but his other guests said it was good. Why does a server not know how something tastes? Shouldn't they be made to try the foods so that they can explain it? We also felt rushed through the dinner. Still working on appetizers when salads came and then immediately entrees came without barely a breath in between. As I said, food was excellent! I do recommend you have more of children's menu that isn't just typical children fare. Some people want their kids to eat a variety and diverse menu. I would have liked to give a smaller portion of some of your other great meals (I know this is atypical from what most parents get their kids). In closing, my suggestion is to improve on training service staff to be personable, time food better and know the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Early dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

Meeting a friend for an early dinner, we were greeted politely and seated promptly. I was dining with a cast on my hand after recent surgery and the wait staff was able to make dinner recommendations based on knowledge of offerings that would be easy handled. I ordered the shrimp and grits and it was amazing! Staff was attentive but didn't hover. Very nice experience close to the Square.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Overall; great

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was excellent. The service and seating with a reservation was fabulous. Our only complaint is that our server had something in his nostril that we thought might fall in our food.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was great, and the chicken a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was great, and the chicken and biscuits were really good. We tried them for the first time at the Taste of Marietta festival, and they were hands down our favorite of the day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The biscuits are to die for!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful and brought us biscuits to enjoy while waiting on our meal and they were absolutely amazing! I had the fried chicken and waffles and thoroughly enjoyed both. We had a wonderful brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We go The C & E on Fridays after a long work week. The service is always fantastic. They allow us to relax and feel at home. The food is very good. I've tried most things on the menu. Their appetizers are really good. Black Eyed Pea Hummus is amazing! The menu looks like it just got updated today, so a few things are new. Can't wait to go back and try some new stuff! The Skillet Cookie is very good too!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointing Visit

Dined on April 17, 2016

We have eaten at Chicken & The Egg on several occasions and have always enjoyed it. Our last visit, the chicken was dry/lukewarm, like it had been cooked hours earlier and kept under a warmer and several people in our party ordered the double burger that you could ring grease out of. Everyone had water to drink and the bill was over $50 for 4 people. For $50 I would like to be able to say that we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Completely wonderful!!!! Everything we ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Completely wonderful!!!! Everything we ordered was fantastic and the service was superb!!!!! Definitely will be back. Reservations are a must do for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Was great !

Dined on April 14, 2016

Was great !

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent brunch! We enjoyed an early (9 ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent brunch! We enjoyed an early (9:45) family brunch on a Sunday morning. The food was out quickly and we were on our way in 45 minutes. The fried chicken and biscuits entree was delicious and the Blue Plate is the perfect traditional southern breakfast. Kids have a good selection and who doesn't love a grilled cheese to start the day!?! Coffee was great! Another wonderful meal!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant in W. Marietta.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was great. You have to try the pork quesadilla. We went on a Saturday night. There wasn't a wait. People in the area obviously don't know of this hidden gem in their community. The menu changes seasonally. I can't wait to try the items on the summer menu. I will definitely be going back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food, Service, and Ambiance. M ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent Food, Service, and Ambiance. My first time there and a truly enjoyable experience! Definitely cost efficient and plenty for your dollar!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's Bday was a hit!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Mom decided she wanted to do a brunch instead of a birthday dinner this year. I was secretly hoping she'd pick this place, and she did! As always the staff is warm and welcoming, the food is delicious and the mimosas were great! We will definitely be returning in the near future. The black-eyed pea hummus and the breakfast poutine are always two of my favorites!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Comfort Food Near Home

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our dinner experiences at Chicken and the Egg are consistently good, and this visit with visiting family members was no different.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

🐣

Dined on April 8, 2016

Good food in a great atmosphere for casual dining. Service is always top-notch and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 3, 2016

I've been wanting to try Chicken and the Egg out and finally had the opportunity to do so. The food was amazing. Perfect portions for the money. And the $10 bottomless mimosas were great!! The atmosphere was perfect. We used open table to make reservation and really didn't have to wait long for Sunday afternoon. Our server had a great sense of humor and was patient with us while we sipped our mimosas. There was separate dining room for large parties. Plenty of bar seating as well. I highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love coming here and can't wait ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

I always love coming here and can't wait to get back. Great service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were amazing as alw ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food and service were amazing as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go-to brunch place!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Great variety of yummy food. Bottomless mimosa are a plus too!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

By far best brunch I have had in awhile. ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

By far best brunch I have had in awhile. So good

food5
ambience5
service5

The Saturday Brunch menu is amazing! An ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Saturday Brunch menu is amazing! And the $10 bottomless mimosas is a bonus!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Brunch

Dined on March 26, 2016

I decided to try this place for the first time on my birthday with a group of people and they did not disappoint! Not only was the food delicious but the bottomless Mimosas were excellent and not watered down like some places do. I always brunch for my birthday and have high expectations from over the years and Chicken and the Egg meet every single one. Our server was fabulous, the food was delicious and the host and managers were wonderfully accommodating when I had three more people than my reservation was originally booked for. This is definitely going to be added to my list of favorite brunch spots. AMAZING!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Meal Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Enjoyed another fine meal. Short rib was tender and delicious that's why it's a sure choice. Wife had NC catfish meal for the first time and would definitely get again; generous portion cooked (fried) perfectly. Service was exceptional largely due to our waiter Hurley. So attentive but not hovering so we couldn't enjoy. One of our go-to places to dine!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service!

Dined on March 18, 2016

We've been there 4 times now, and every time we go we have had a different server. Each time, they are WELL informed about their menu and products. They know their menu so they can answer any questions you might have. It's a very nice change from so many restaurants where you ask a question about an item on the menu and the server just looks at you and says 'I don't know', but they don't want to even find out. The Chicken and the Egg is great! Their appetizers are amazing and the Skillet Cooking with ice cream is the BEST!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Ordered the Challah French toast. Sounde ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Ordered the Challah French toast. Sounded great, but it appeared to be made with regular bread the French toast itself was just warm..not like it just came off the grill. The combination cinnamon cream cheese and healthy portion of marmalade on top made for a topping "soup" that really didn't work, and that I think probably contributed to the not so warm French toast. My wife's "lite" egg white and spinach plate included a heavily buttered English muffin. That said, the service was very good and we will give this restaurant another try at some point.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at great prices. Our go to in Marietta.

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food at great prices. Our go to place in Marietta. Try the Gouda grits!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on March 11, 2016

I am really happy to have a farm to table restaurant in our neighborhood. The brunch is awesome! Who doesn't love a mimosa? The food is really good, but OK Café fried chicken was better the other night.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

We loved the flash fried oysters and cha ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

We loved the flash fried oysters and charred Brussel sprouts as appetizers. The oysters were very light and crispy and the Brussel sprouts had great flavor. The Fried chicken was excellent as were the accompanying greens. Next time we'll skip the specialty cocktails and go for the tried and true. Charming atmosphere with little noise. Great to be able to comfortably carry on a conversation. Wonderful menu with many tempting choices.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome for Sunday brunch! What a great ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Awesome for Sunday brunch! What a great menu. If you can't find something you like then you should never eat out ever again.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous Dinner

Dined on March 5, 2016

Chosen for an early dinner in proximity to the Marietta Square. Fabulous "healthy home cooking" ... using the term "healthy" in reference to fresh, whole foods. Located in a strip mall, but not at all strip-mallish inside. Contemporary, yet comfortable interior. Fried green tomato appetizer and Black Eyed Pea hummus appetizer were great, well seasoned, with good remoulade and tomato jam accompaniments, respectively. Husband ordered the buttermilk fried chicken with mashed and braised collards. Neither of us have EVER had collards and this was an unexpected, nice introduction. I had Georgia trout over a sweet potato hash with ham and apples; and roasted brussels sprouts that were cooked so that they were just barely softened. Everything beautifully seasoned. Server had a little difficulty with the wine cork, which provided a bit of humor to start off the evening ... but this was her only downfall!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was wonderful and very consid ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The server was wonderful and very considerate. Food was excellent as always.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu Very Interesting ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We wanted to try something different on way home from airport for a mid morning breakfast so we chose it based on menu & reviews solely! Menu looked great; a lot of flavors with great options. My husband had the poutine which he ate at record pace; said it was very good but thyme flavor overpowering and would've preferred something other than chicken. We r from Canada so r familiar with great poutine. I had chicken fried steak w/gravy on the side so I expected it a tad dry but was seriously over cooked; the hash browns & eggs were very tasty and biscuit average. To end, because my husband cannot resist, he ordered the house made donuts; they were not like any donut we've tried. They were neither yeast or cake but kind of gooey then dry and zero flavor. 3 of them stuck to a plate covered with different toppings; I don't recommend them. Service was excellent all around and it's a nice brunch type atmosphere!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Chicken and the Egg

Dined on March 5, 2016

Being in the US Navy we travel all over. My wife and I keep outstanding restaurants we visit in our hearts and memories. Chicken and the Egg offered a classic southern breakfast with a modern twist. A true gourmet meal and designer farmhouse atmosphere. We will be back...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.