Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Chicken and the Egg

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (36)
Great for Brunch (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
See All
Comfort Food (29)
Casual (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Cozy (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (12)
Organic (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (8)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Romantic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was my second visit to the restaurant (a first for my friends) and it wasn't a great experience like my first visit. To start they seated us at a table that hadn't been wiped off and was covered in pancake syrup. It took almost 30 minutes for 3 mimosas each time we ordered. All 3 of us ordered the seafood omelet and comes out as one huge flat egg with all the toppings in the middle. It not folded like an omelet and it didn't include any melted cheese. Two of us ordered turkey sausage but they gave my friend pork, which she doesn't eat. I was really disappointed after raving to them about how great my experience was on my first visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious farm to table brunch with mimosas is the perfect way to relax with my girlfriends on a Sunday.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great dining experience, delicious food, but like so many, the food portions were way too large.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We live near the restaurant so it is an easy trip for Sunday Brunch. We made a reservation the evening before. The food is good and filling. I have no complaints about that. We were sitting at a table near the exit on a cold day and there was a glare from the sun, every time someone left and they held the door open we had an arctic blast. I should have asked for another table. The Service was another problem. We ordered bloody marys and mimosas and an appetizer of fried green tomatoes. Then we ordered entrees. The green tomatoes never came, the drinks came as the entrees were being served. I had to ask for ketchup twice - I like it on my potatoes. I have had the entree served before the drinks here before. They seem to want you served and gone fairly quickly. No time for drinking cocktails, no time for more than one. We will go back because it’s close and the food is good. The Service seems disjointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Location, service, food and price - all amazing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We visited on Sunday. The visit started off a little sketchy because the hostess seated us at an obviously dirty table and did not offer to clean it. When we asked for it to be cleaned she swiped the salt off the table with a paper towel. We had to insist that she clean it with spray and a wet cloth. Fortunately. Roxanne our server was awesome and the food was good as well. I had chicken and waffles and my husband had Bubba's Benedict. The ambience and decor is lovely.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great casual dinning. Decent value. Good service. Great stop for brunch and after 1230 memosa.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Good food, drinks and ambiance. Can’t wait to go back!

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Food was very good, but seemed a little overpriced. The hostess was not very friendly, but our server was very good!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Room was a bit cool, but it was really cold outside and the exit door located in the main dining room was being used. Probably would have been a good night to encourage diners to use the main/front door.
Food was great! We got the Charred Brussels Sprouts as an appetizer. Bravo! They were wonderful. I suspect we could have eaten a plate full of them. I got the Bayou Pasta; the dish was a tasty, good sized portion. Served hot, which I loved. My wife got the shrimp and grits which she enjoyed, but remarked was bit spicy for her taste. My brother and his wife enjoyed the Country Fried Steak; they scraped their plates clean so it must have been good. My sister, the hippie dippie vegtranarian from the 60's, had the Beet Salad and a bowl of the Mushroom Soup, which she enjoyed. Not too awful busy, we were able to enjoy each others company, and trade war stories about how we, as a family, are supporting the American medical welfare system for doctors. We were not rushed and just had a great evening. We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Happy to find Chicken and the Egg open for New Years Day brunch! We made a reservation and were immediately seated. Staff gave us good attention. Menu was long and varied to suit our tastes. Had a great kids menu as well. We were a group of five celebrating the new year.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Food is excellent. Service is great. We love the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

My husband and I had dinner reservations for New Year’s Eve and my husband ordered prime rib which came with beans and mashed potatoes. He counted 5 beans on his plate and the amount of potatoes was sad. He was still hungry. I ordered the grouper which was okay but nothing worth 25 bucks. I usually don’t do reviews I just don’t return if I have a bad experience but this was a night out without our daughter and we spent with tip 90 some bucks. Our waitress was all over the place and forgot to bring us rolls after being asked twice. So we left it alone. My husband asked for a coke and never got it as well. Just a bad experience and upsetting for such a pretty restaurant in Mariett.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent food. A very nice selection on their New Year’s Eve menu. Barrel-aged drinks are too pricey relative to their other menu prices. Well-paced service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

I have visited this location twice and both times the food was great and service excellent. The drinks were good as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. We were seated within minutes of our reservation time and the food was excellent and affordable. Great atmosphere and kid friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Inattentive service. Slow to have drink refills, bring the check, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Was looking for gluten free options which were advertised , but only had salad as an option...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Brunch food is great. Get the poutine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Brunch was fantastic, as was the music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Chicken and the Egg is the best for brunch, we never leave disappointed. This time around we tried dinner and ummm it was not so good. We'll stick to brunch.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Although my dish was tasty, it was tepid and I really prefer my food hot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2017

This is one of my absolutely favorites local places to dine. My wife and I enjoyed an amazing Christmas Eve dinner date together.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Everything was delicious. My husband orders the fried chicken and was disappointed in the Mac and cheese and dry breast. But everyone else was thrilled with their food. The scallops and Brussels sprouts were to die for. The cocktails were strong and delicious. We were very pleased with our Christmas Eve dinner here!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2017

We always enjoy dining here and your 2 for $25 can't be beat. Tonight we met friends and had the BEST WAITRESS, Siearra. She is so sweet and knowledgeable, we love to see her. Everyone there is wonderful, we think this is the best restaurant in Georgia!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Our dinner was very tasty - our server was friendly, but forgetful. My husband asked for some condiments to go with his meal and those never arrived until after he was already finished. At this price point, we do expect a higher level of service. Also, water glasses went empty with no offers of refills and the restaurant was not that busy

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Favorite brunch spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2017

When I made the reservation I noted that we wanted a booth and that it was for my sons birthday. When I checked in and gave my name for the reservation they asked me if I wanted a booth or a table.
The waiter was a bit awkward. Our main course was served while we were still eating our salads to name one issue.
The food was great.
I would like to see healthier options such as a main course salad and more options for non fried foods, perhaps another fish options with more vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Second time coming here and had a great overall experience! Delicious food and definitely recommend making reservations as they are pretty busy !

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2017

The experience was very good. Polite servers, fast paced, great service, attentive.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Servers should be taught not to interrupt conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food is good, but it seems as if the servers or their sections are mismanaged on Sundays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The service was slow and inattentive. Food was great though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Lovely restaurant and really nice people! Food was delicious, everyone was friendly and service was great. The server and kitchen accommodated our special request. The restaurant supports local agricultural producers and is a Georgia Organics Member. It's a great place to eat!

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Excellent food and service... Enjoyed some unique choices for brunch such as Breakfast Poutine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The Chicken and the Egg was a bit heavy handed with the salt shaker this time around, but I wouldn't let that stop you. The Wild Boar Meatballs were by far the table favorite, however the Poutine the most disappointing since our last experience. Overall, everyone enjoyed their dining experience and won't let these couple of items turn us away in the future. Very good Southern fare!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Been here many times for breakfast and the food and service is always very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Absolutely awesome experience!!! Will definitely recommend and be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.