Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Chicken and the Egg

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Kids Eat Free

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1/2 Off Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

2 for $25

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

$2.50 Mimosas + $5 Bloody Mary's

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Kids Eat Free

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Tuesdays after 5 PM, kids eat free with the purchase of an adult entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1/2 Off Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

2 for $25

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Includes 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, and 2 desserts. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

$2.50 Mimosas + $5 Bloody Mary's

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (71)
Great for Brunch (61)
Casual (60)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Local Ingredients (46)
Good for a Date (40)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Special Occasion (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Cozy (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Kid-friendly (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fun (19)
Authentic (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Healthy (15)
Family Style (14)
Organic (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Seasonal (10)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Private Room (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent!!! From out of town visiting my grandmother with my wife and daughter and we had a remarkable experience. Everything was excellent. The food was beyond expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

I loved it. I will go back again. The breakfast was awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

'Afternoon nap' is perfect if you can't make a decision, and want to try it all. And, I did want a nap after!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our breakfast at the Chicken and Egg. The breakfast poutine is my favorite with a good cup of coffee and a glass of fresh orange juice. We have tried many of the breakfast places ITP and OTP, this one is definitely worth the drive and is our favorite.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everything we tried was amazing! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and the food was tasty, with filling portions! Family friendly or date night either way you will love the food, service, and atmosphere!
The Ballance Family- NC

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Chicken and the Egg never disappoints! Great food and atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic southern fare with a modern, but not pretentious twist. Huge location and big tables suitable for large parties. Friendly service along with excellent cocktails make for a great spot to have an extended dinner experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing!! Make it your next stop. For reals. My husband and I drove 30 minutes to eat here based on reviews. Worth every mile....we'll be back and soon. Great decor and ambiance...we got there pretty early for dinner so not at all crowded. Our server (Amanda?) was excellent. We had the fish dip that rocked and the beet/arugula salad. Salad was only thing we didn't love - there was some spice in there that didn't jive with the blue cheese and apple...maybe cumin? Whatever - we still ate every last stinkin' bite so clearly not complaining. My husband had THE BEST shrimp and grits we have ever had anywhere and trust me, we've ordered a few! I had the short ribs which were also out of this world. Great portions - could not finish mine so the hubs polished it off. OH! They also give you a basked of these super tasty little yeast rolls with some sweet butter something to slather on (as if it was needed!). And HOMEMADE banana pudding for dessert. And prices where unreal. I kinda wish they'd charge more - how can they stay open?? Seriously - they were TOO reasonable. Again, not complaining. GO. Hear they have outstanding brunch too but that it gets totally packed out. Not a fan of that but we may brave the masses. Thanks so much Chicken & Egg. We love ya'll!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and service as always. Clean establishment , friendly and quick service. Food is always hot. Southern food with flair.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I have been to this restaurant a handful of times. It was very enjoyable to bring my sister (who was visiting), especially because of the Southern Cuisine. Each time I have gone, the staff are most friendly and knowledgeable. During part of the year, they have a "two for $25" special on Thursdays which cannot be beat! Sunday brunch is quite crowded, so the noise level is high. I prefer to go during the week. Overall, a great spot!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 5, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in the Atlanta area. Upscale southern cooking in a country modern decor. Very tasty food at reasonable prices. Tables are spaced apart so that noise level is moderate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We've been here mutiple times, esp. for brunch. We have always enjoyed it but our last visit was a disapointment. Our server was friendly and cheerful but never once did anyone refill our water glasses, I Shared my water with the woman we invited for brunch, and cocktails and food took much longer than usual to come. At one point we were told it was a slow computer. What should have been a pleasant, one hour, brunch took over two hours. I hope this isn't a new normal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This farm to table restaurant is a joy to visit... the decor gives a peaceful vibe, the food is fresh and local and prepared well, the service was friendly, knowledgeable and quick, but not rushed... the food was so good. Had brunch and the breakfast poutine was so delicious and the fried green tomatoes with pimento fondue and tomato jam... let me die a happy woman now... had their seasonal watermelon lemonade and it was fantastic... will be back, save me a table!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is one of my favorite places in Atlanta. The fresh, locally sourced food is consistently outstanding. It is a lovely, relaxing location for a weekend brunch. Be sure to try the pimento cheese as a starter, and don't miss the Cajun omelet

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Got me in and out quickly, and the food was simple and excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Awesome, farm to table, never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Everything was wonderful except the noise level. My guest and I had to sit right next to each other and even then it was hard to hear.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Seldom do you find a place where is all comes together. This is the place. Great atmosphere. Wonderful food. Fanominal service.

We were there for a birthday celebration with a large party. The staff was super attendant. My niece is Vegan. They went as far as modifing their dishes to meet her needs. They even created an off the menu salad dressing just for her.

Just can't say enough!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were excited to try the double stack burger with comeback sauce, but one bite changed that! Totally disappointed that a "farmstead fare" place uses processed American cheese slices on the burger. Ruined the whole experience and our appetites. Server even never came by to check on us after our food was delivered, despite working nearby cleaning other tables.

This is our third visit and the last two have been really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good quality good just a tad bit expensive for the amount of food, but overall it was one of the best brunch locations in Marietta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I was really disappointed in the food. I got the fried chicken and biscuits and it was lacking flavor. My side of eggs had no seasoning. Same with the hash brown casserole. My mom got the eggs Benedict and she said the English muffins tasted stale and had a chemical taste to them. There are so many better options for brunch in Atlanta. Honestly, even chick fil a makes a better chicken biscuit. The only plus was friendly service. I should have known when I reserved a table for Saturday brunch at the last minute and the restaurant was only half full.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We have been eating at Chicken & the Egg for several years and have always enjoyed the food. This visit was no exception. We enjoyed the meal and even had enough for the following day's lunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Good enough that I would go again when I am entertaining company.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Crowd on Father's Day - inexperienced wait staff

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We dined at the restaurant because it was Father's Day and we were doing something special for my husband. My son was really excited about the chicken and waffles and I had the chicken and french toast. The food was enjoyable and we look forward to using OpenTable again to book reservations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I didn't realize, when I made the reservation for Father's Day, that my family had a similar bad service experience last year. I really used to enjoy this restaurant; but after 2 bad experiences, we will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Made a reservation and were seated on time on a busy Sunday morning, but waited forever to have someone come to our table. Despite lots of staff being visible, service and kitchen were both VERY slow. Food was good, but by the time it arrived poor service had already ruined the experience. Waitress was very polite and knowledgeable we just couldn't ever seem to find her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers' Day Brunch was awesome courtesy of the Chicken and the Egg! Everything from the wait staff to the food was exceptional as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The mimosas are the amazing! We drove from McDonough because my Husband wanted to go to the PGA Superstore. It was so good, we went back Sunday for Father's Day.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always a nice meal at Chicken and the Egg. Great food, friendly service, quiet enough to converse. One of our favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food and atmosphere were excellent. Liked the ability to make a reservation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The wait was not long, the waitress had a great attitude. Explained everything . Very accommodationing. Thank you for a great Sunday brunch♡♡♡

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Best brunch I have ever had in my life. Will be returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Real men eat fried chicken salads on Sunday mornings. Sayin....

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our server Frances was amazing. This place has officially become "our spot" , for my friend and I. Great food, great place and great service. Worth the half ride up from Atlanta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We've eaten here every 2-3 months, in the last 2 years. We live 45 miles away. Usually it's very good food, the service always seems to be lacking some, but this visit was a huge disappointment. My husband who is diabetic, sugar was low, so we asked for orange juice to help bring it up, in 25 years we've never had a restaurant charge us for it. They weren't busy, yet it still took over 30 minutes to get our food and it was cold. Talking with our server didn't yield any results other than, oh I'm sorry. Our meal was $80 for 4 and it was a waste of money and time. Not sure when or if we'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The restaurant was only about 10-15% full. After being promptly seated we waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged and we gave our drink orders. After 10 more minutes our drinks finally arrived. There was one group of 8 and they were clearly the focus of the waitstaff. At that point we decided this was not going to work, we got our check, paid it and left.

Clearly, any restaurant at 6PM on a Friday that is fully staffed and not attentive to the few patrons in the establishment is not going to provide a positive experience.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Bathroom had some plumbing issues and it was a little loud but the food was great as well as service so really no major complaints. We were sat right with our reservation time as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.