Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Chicken and the Egg

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Kids Eat Free

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1/2 Off Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

2 for $25

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

$2.50 Mimosas + $5 Bloody Mary's

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Kids Eat Free

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Tuesdays after 5 PM, kids eat free with the purchase of an adult entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1/2 Off Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

2 for $25

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Includes 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, and 2 desserts. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

$2.50 Mimosas + $5 Bloody Mary's

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (52)
Comfort Food (49)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Casual (35)
Local Ingredients (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Bar Seating (25)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fun (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Family Style (13)
Authentic (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Healthy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Organic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Private Room (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great Beer (5)
People Watching (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Every single time we go we have a great experience. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

I had the beef short ribs which were beyond delicious! Also the fish dip to start which was also very good. Service was top notch. A very good experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and great food. The 2 for twenty five on Thursday night is fantastic.
Great Job

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for brunch. Enjoyed our food, the eggs were fluffy and delicious. Service was great. Cocktails were tasty. They were very efficient from check in to check out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Was very nice and quiet. Family enjoyed. Since my son has Asperger, this was perfect since noise seems to upset him.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always fresh. Great service. Perfect for breakfast/brunch with friends and family. Great mimosa deals for the branching crowd!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Comfort Food, Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food is always fresh and inventive. The service is always outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I love the brunch! Very flavorful food but they have stopped the bottomless mimosas during brunch...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was our first time dining here, but won't be our last. Everything was perfect. We dined on a Thursday night and the special is on Thursday's, two dinners for $25.00. We shared an appetizer, chose our (2) entrees and 2 desserts. An outstanding value! Can't wait to do it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great vibe. Think open, sleek barn feel or true farm to table. Biscuits and gravy are a must. You can get them as an appetizer or side. Bar is huge like old fashioned saloon appeal. Lastly, variety of mimosas!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, great service. I recommend reservations for brunch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went for the Brunch, the food was good but you need to make a reservation if you want to go. The walk-in time was 1:30- 2:00, this was at 12:30 when we arrived and they close at 3:00 for Brunch. They used to have bottomless Mimosa's but stopped that a couple of weeks ago and now sell just by the glass. Still very reasonable. I would recommend them. Victoria (Jen) was great. I would recommend asking for her section if possible.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, very friendly staff. Breakfast Poutine was AMAZING, must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place close to where we live. They have a great selection. The pimento cheese fritters are. Must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a great time. Great food, nice atmosphere, fresh local ingredients. A really nice place to go with friends for a relaxing, quiet evening where you have time to talk. I would love to come back for brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food wasn't very good except for the biscuits. Crab cakes were wet and tasted if vinegar. Hash brown casserole was bland and too wet .

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent service. Social server who was knowledgeable in menu. Environment conducive for interaction w/my spouse. Food was unique and yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was great! Staff was ok. Location was nice. A little pricey for breakfast foods. Would go back for a 2nd try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The only downside is the noise level especially if you have a large group like we did. "Across the table" conversation was difficult. But I would go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We selected this restaurant because it had good food selection and was near our friend's home. Reviews looked good. We made a reservation abut when we arrived on time, they told us were were "checked in" and it would be a wait. They told this to others so we assumed they just didn't understand "reservations" and maybe we were just "getting our name in ahead" of walk ins? Not sure. Yet, after 30 minutes and many others going before us, we checked again wondering what was going on. They looked at me baffled and then sat us immediately. This did not start our experience well. The server was the saving grace as she was honest and helpful and super fun. The food was just ok. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great country fried steak! Mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts were pretty awesome as well. I would definitely come back. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent meal. Only room for improvement in our opinion would be for the courses to come out less hurriedly. At the very least, one dish should follow when the previous course has been completed.

Very delicious appetizers. Fun bar selection. Local draught beer. Superb entrees.

Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always goof food and friendly service - this night was no exception.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service every time , novice level just right, great mimosas god Sunday brunch after 12:30

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious food and service. Wonderful ambiance and perfect semi private spacing

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was excellent. She checked a couple of times with the kitchen to make sure that the contents of the food did not contain dairy since I was taking an antibiotic that was not to include eating milk, cheese, etc. She was even aware of items not containing wheat since we would like to bring our daughter with celiac disease soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious!!! The poutine is always a hit! Great mimosas as always. Not bottomless anymore but your drink about the same now that they are 2.50. The service was so awesome Nick was amazing! So friendly and knowledgeable. Love this neighborhood gem of a place. Will keep coming back of course!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Girls brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall a great restaurant! The food is amazing and the service is outstanding!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Chicken and the Egg is one of our favorite restaurants. There is enough space between tables so you can talk to each other without feeling conspicuous, and the menu selections are a nice mix of traditional comfort foods with on-trend elements and generous portions. Service is always friendly and fast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was cooked to perfection. The restaurant has a nice comfortable atmosphere with a neighborly feel. The wait staff was attentive and eager to serve. Great experience. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day dinner date. We enjoyed the shortened menu. Chicken was delicious and served with the two sides is how I wish it was on the main menu. NY strip cooked perfectly. Glad we chose C&E for this night. All around great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food! The biscuits and gravy were delicious! And the $10 bottomless mimosas on Sundays are great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I made reservations over a month ago for 10 women. One week before the reservation I added 4 more ladies. We all arrived on time and ready to sit. We waited 25 minutes only to be escorted to two separate tables that were completely away from each other. We asked the hostess to please move the tables together. Rather than assist she looked at us like we were crazy. We ended up moving the tables ourselves because they were too incompetent to figure it out.

Our server Karidan was fantastic. She handled us wonderfully.

Around 3:15 we asked for another round of bottomless mimosas that the majority had ordered. We were told last call had already happened. We noticed that there were about 13 mimosas sitting on the bar. We asked if we could have those. They said no and proceeded to dump all of them in the sink in front of us.


This will be the last time they will ever get my business. I was disgusted by the way we were treated. We were also told a manager was too busy to speak with us. I'll be posting this same review on all social media

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

DELICIOUS FOOD AS ALWAYS- I've been here many times. Food is great, nice decor. Make a reservation- very busy on the weekends.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service was fabulous, however we waited a little too long to be seated. Our reservations were for 1:00 pm and we were seated after that even though we arrived early.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my second visit for brunch and the food was fairly good. The homemade donuts were too dried out and the icing on the chocolate tasted like canned icing. I will not purchase them again! My biggest complaint is that it is TOO NOISY!!! The four of us could barely hear each other so it was a strain to carry on a conversation and made for a less pleasant experience. Our server was excellent! I will be back to give it one more try, but not in the near future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quick seating ( had a reservation ) One entree was not hot but corrected very quickly. Service and food are consistently good. We dine here often and look forward to coming back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was just OK. Smaller portion sizes but slightly overpriced. Service was mediocre. Not memorable at all. Great ambiance and unlimited mimimosas on the weekend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Comparable to restaurants ITP, price and featured plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.