About Chicken and the Egg

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sea Scallops - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Pimento Cheese Fritters - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Sticky Sorghum Cake - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Oysters - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Spoonbread & Sorghum Butter - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Redfish - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Shrimp & Grits - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Crabcake Eggs Benedict - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Potato Casserole - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
buttermilk biscuits - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Butterbean hummus - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Deviled Eggs - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Farm House Cheeseburger - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Chocolate Spoon Cake With Strawberry Ice Cream - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Georgia Shrimp And Sweet Corn Gnocchi - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Beet Salad - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Two Egg Breakfast - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
FGT Burger (With Pimento Cheese & Fried Green Tomato) - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Fried Chicken Wings - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Braised Pork And Clams Over Fettucine - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Grilled Blood Orange Manhattan - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Four Egg Open Faced Garden Omelette - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Plant Sandwich And Fries - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Wild Mushroom Risotto - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Pimento With Toast And Celery - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Eggplant Mannicoti - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Fish Fry ( Calamari And Rock Shrimp) - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (44)
Great for Brunch (37)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
See All
Local Ingredients (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Casual (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Kid-friendly (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (12)
Authentic (11)
Organic (11)
Healthy (11)
Family Style (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Romantic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1010 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice. Will go again. Will recommend ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice. Will go again. Will recommend to friends

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Family Style, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second trip to the restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our second trip to the restaurant. Our first trip was pretty good. Good enough to when one of our very few "date nights," was again available, we decided to return. This time, our experience was, at best, sub-par. The food was far below the standard I would expect, and not nearly the quality to fit the excellent ambiance. The ambiance is great. The chef seems to have some really good ideas on dish strategy. That said, the taste of our meals was so mediocre, that neither my wife nor myself ate very little. Service was "ok." Not very attuned to the fact we weren't eating almost any of our meals.

Was pretty disappointing, and I can't say that we will ever return, particularly for a chance as few and far between as the opportunity to just be together without kids. There was a large party in the private dining room, and maybe that contributed to some of the sub-standard meal prep. The Bayou pasta was well below what I expected. A decent amount of shrimp (4-5), ONE tiny sliver of chicken, and 6-8 small pieces of sausage. In the end, the sauce killed it. Basically it just tasted like butter that had been dumped out of a skillet they had roasted the andouille. The sauce just gave the whole dish an overtly andouille taste, that was not good at all.

My wife's dish, Country Fried Steak, was dry, and not at all up to the level I would have anticipated for a restaurant that promotes quality food. The portions were HUGE (compliment), but she ate about 10% of her dinner, and decided that it just didn't taste good.

Funny sidenote: As big as the Country Fried Steak dinner was (humongous), the apple cobbler she ordered for desert was TINY. Also to that point, the apple cobbler didn't taste fresh, and she ate two bites, and decided it was also not great.

We generally are not restaurant critics, but hopefully the mgmt will take this as constructive criticism. Also would have been nice to have some nightly specials... There were none

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Every time my family visits The Chicken ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Every time my family visits The Chicken and the Egg we have an extraordinary meal. The food is always memorable, and the service is exemplary. If we are looking for something special, this is the place we choose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here for brunch 4 times . be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been here for brunch 4 times . between the great food and the bottomless Mimosa's

you cant beat it

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Live Sports, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really like this place and will be bac ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I really like this place and will be back again but the one thing is the reservation really doesn't matter for them. We didn't wait for long time but specifically requested a booth. She put us not in the booth but other people in booth without reservation at the same time with us. Then she was trying not to even look at us or say something. Kind of rude! However the service was great!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place! Food is always great ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love this place! Food is always great and menu has lots to choose from. Great spot for southern classics and american cuisine. Weeknight specials offer great value and it's the best place in Marietta for Sunday Brunch. This is always at the top of our list when looking to get together with friends or family. Service is consistently good and everyone is friendly. Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Spicy blood Mary was well balanced. I o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spicy blood Mary was well balanced. I ordered Fried chicken and biscuits w poached eggs. They consistently poach eggs perfectly!!! Fried chicken was crispy. Biscuits were perfect. Hash brown casserole was good but prefer crusty and brown. Overall best brunch I've had in a very long time. Great brunch menu!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place with clean, fresh feel a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Beautiful place with clean, fresh feel and modern farmhouse decor. Good options on brunch menu, pretty well executed. Service was a bit spotty, but no major fails. Great for large parties. Many big table options, and not overcrowded like too many restaurants are now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Always fantastic any time of day. Neighb ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always fantastic any time of day. Neighborhood gem with a great team. Try the brunch, burgers, entrees, and signature drinks and desserts. Midtown in Marietta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambiance. Good cocktails. Appetizer ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice ambiance. Good cocktails. Appetizers were great. Entrees were good. Server was friendly and had good recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Although they were out of one of the fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Although they were out of one of the food items on their limited New Year's Eve menu and one of their beer choices, we enjoyed the meal. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our experience overall was good. There w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our experience overall was good. There were some errors with timing of delivery of food and coffee was cold. Otherwise, a very nice evening. Would visit the restaurant again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time for brunch and was as good as ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time for brunch and was as good as our dinners. Glad we went and would go again. Prompt and friendly service and fun choices for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious New Year menu! Filet and fried ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious New Year menu! Filet and fried chicken were both excellent. Mushroom toast was superb as was the dark chocolate peppermint dessert. We arrived early in the evening so it wasn't yet crowded and we could enjoy the quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We always love going to the Chicken & th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We always love going to the Chicken & the Egg. The food is always delicious. The staff is always friendly and they do an excellent job from the beginning to the end of the meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, , Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Everyone in my party lov ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious food. Everyone in my party loved their meal (& bites of each others' food). Peppermint pot de creme & egg nog creme brûlée were excellent ends to our meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great food and great service! Kee ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always great food and great service! Keep coming back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some interesting items and an eclectic m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Some interesting items and an eclectic menu that is, a bit random...

Some highlights are there but some misses as well.

We will come back as we would like to continue to try some of the items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had brunch and the Eggs Benedict was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had brunch and the Eggs Benedict was the BEST I have ever had! Even the English muffin was toasted just right. Ordered eggs runny, and they were PERFECTION. Great flavors.

The Poutine is also outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food! If you want bottomless ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food!

If you want bottomless mimosas don't get a table on a Sunday before 12:30!

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soggy scrambled egg whites that soaked t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Soggy scrambled egg whites that soaked the English muffin, which was barely toasted-not brown at all. We had to ask for butter for our blueberry muffins. I suggest First Watch or J Christopher's instead for breakfast. There should be more choices on their menu for customers who don't eat meat or just want a healthier breakfast. We will stick to their dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The restaurant itself is beautiful. We w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The restaurant itself is beautiful. We went on Saturday for brunch and of course bottomless mimosas. The mimosas were great, but the food was under seasoned. Severely under seasoned. I wouldn't go back, but if you like bland food, you'd love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Can't go wrong at Chicken and the Egg, e ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Can't go wrong at Chicken and the Egg, especially for brunch. Bottomless mimosas, not too strong but they give you a good start to your day. Everything is delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was tasty. My beet salad was go ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The food was tasty. My beet salad was good. My son had the kale salad, which was better. My salmon was perfectly cooked. My son had the chicken and waffles-yum. They provided a complimentary dessert for my son's birthday, which was very cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brussel sprout appetizer was amazing!!!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Brussel sprout appetizer was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As usual, we really enjoyed our meals. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

As usual, we really enjoyed our meals. The dining experience is a little noisy for Brunch, but is to be expected with Bottomless Mimosas :-)

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I meet friends for brunch once a month a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I meet friends for brunch once a month and we end up at Chicken & Egg often. Great food and the menu is always changing. Excellent bar selection too for those late Sunday brunches. I've also gone there for special nights like New Years Eve and pre-Xmas with the fam. Service is always top notch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Vegetarian and carnivoro ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful food. Vegetarian and carnivorous options were both amazing! Staff is always friendly, and great to support a locally owned business!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding! The food was excelle ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Simply outstanding! The food was excellent, and the service was even better. A very nice neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and a cozy nice atmospher ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Delicious food and a cozy nice atmosphere. Nice to have this quality local restaurant in the area. Comfort southern style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good food, noise level is a bit m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always good food, noise level is a bit much...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Awesome as usual!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Awesome as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rustic environment with great service! I ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Rustic environment with great service! Inexpensive bottomless mimosas with AWESOME food selection.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading reviews from unhappy forme ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

After reading reviews from unhappy former customers I wondered what was it going to be like? I am here to tell you it was a delightful experience and I will come again. It was again birthday brunch to celebrate my birthday and I loved the farm to Table, my unusual omelet was delicious, and the others in our party enjoyed their meal. Great service wonderful menu. Awesome 5 stars from me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, , Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! Was in Marietta visiting my ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

What a find! Was in Marietta visiting my grandmother and found this place via the OpenTable app for brunch. Everything was absolutely fantastic, from food to service. Gram had the Belgian waffle and cleaned her plate! Mom had the Yo Holla!, which was delicious. I had the Afternoon Nap, which was not only delicious as well but was definitely truth in advertising. Deducted 1 star from Ambiance only because the dining room is very loud, so it was very hard for my 91-years-young gram to hear the conversation at our table. All in all a truly wonderful place. Would definitely return and highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed this dining experience very m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We enjoyed this dining experience very much. The southern egg rolls were delicious and so were the salmon and country fried steak. The restaurant was clean and had a touch of holiday decor. Service was very good and we left knowing that we'd be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant for breakfast. Food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great restaurant for breakfast. Food was excellent! Highly recommend, but make reservations as it was crowded for walk ins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the bread of the day

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Loved the bread of the day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was above and beyond, food was m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service was above and beyond, food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great food, great people, and great serv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food, great people, and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.