About Chicken and the Egg

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (47)
Great for Brunch (41)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Sunday Lunch (32)
Casual (32)
Good for a Date (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Good for Groups (27)
Special Occasion (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fun (18)
Cozy (18)
Kid-friendly (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Organic (13)
Family Style (12)
Healthy (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Seasonal (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Romantic (5)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1045 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food and service. Wonderful am ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food and service. Wonderful ambiance and perfect semi private spacing

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!! The poutine is always a hit ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious!!! The poutine is always a hit! Great mimosas as always. Not bottomless anymore but your drink about the same now that they are 2.50. The service was so awesome Nick was amazing! So friendly and knowledgeable. Love this neighborhood gem of a place. Will keep coming back of course!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Overall a great restaurant! The food is ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall a great restaurant! The food is amazing and the service is outstanding!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken and the Egg is one of our favori ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Chicken and the Egg is one of our favorite restaurants. There is enough space between tables so you can talk to each other without feeling conspicuous, and the menu selections are a nice mix of traditional comfort foods with on-trend elements and generous portions. Service is always friendly and fast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was cooked to perfection. The resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was cooked to perfection. The restaurant has a nice comfortable atmosphere with a neighborly feel. The wait staff was attentive and eager to serve. Great experience. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Day dinner date. We enjoyed t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines Day dinner date. We enjoyed the shortened menu. Chicken was delicious and served with the two sides is how I wish it was on the main menu. NY strip cooked perfectly. Glad we chose C&E for this night. All around great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food! The biscuits and gravy were d ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food! The biscuits and gravy were delicious! And the $10 bottomless mimosas on Sundays are great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations over a month ago for ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I made reservations over a month ago for 10 women. One week before the reservation I added 4 more ladies. We all arrived on time and ready to sit. We waited 25 minutes only to be escorted to two separate tables that were completely away from each other. We asked the hostess to please move the tables together. Rather than assist she looked at us like we were crazy. We ended up moving the tables ourselves because they were too incompetent to figure it out.

Our server Karidan was fantastic. She handled us wonderfully.

Around 3:15 we asked for another round of bottomless mimosas that the majority had ordered. We were told last call had already happened. We noticed that there were about 13 mimosas sitting on the bar. We asked if we could have those. They said no and proceeded to dump all of them in the sink in front of us.

This will be the last time they will ever get my business. I was disgusted by the way we were treated. We were also told a manager was too busy to speak with us. I'll be posting this same review on all social media

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

DELICIOUS FOOD AS ALWAYS- I've been here ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

DELICIOUS FOOD AS ALWAYS- I've been here many times. Food is great, nice decor. Make a reservation- very busy on the weekends.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was fabulous, howev ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service was fabulous, however we waited a little too long to be seated. Our reservations were for 1:00 pm and we were seated after that even though we arrived early.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second visit for brunch and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my second visit for brunch and the food was fairly good. The homemade donuts were too dried out and the icing on the chocolate tasted like canned icing. I will not purchase them again! My biggest complaint is that it is TOO NOISY!!! The four of us could barely hear each other so it was a strain to carry on a conversation and made for a less pleasant experience. Our server was excellent! I will be back to give it one more try, but not in the near future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Quick seating ( had a reservation ) One ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quick seating ( had a reservation ) One entree was not hot but corrected very quickly. Service and food are consistently good. We dine here often and look forward to coming back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was just OK. Smaller portion sizes ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was just OK. Smaller portion sizes but slightly overpriced. Service was mediocre. Not memorable at all. Great ambiance and unlimited mimimosas on the weekend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Comparable to restaurants ITP, price and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Comparable to restaurants ITP, price and featured plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chicken and the Egg delivers again - we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Chicken and the Egg delivers again - we had our favorites - shrimp and grits and fried chicken. Honeysuckle fizz is my new favorite cocktail. Our waitress provided the perfect combination of attentiveness and allowing us great conversation without interruption. We never go wrong when we have a fun date night with friends here! Worth the drive "out west"!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Fit for Foodies, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was lovely and the food was de ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The staff was lovely and the food was delicious! We could hear our conversation-always important!

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, , Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We usually come for Sunday Brunch. We r ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We usually come for Sunday Brunch. We really enjoyed coming to dinner and are sure to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch. Good and service were ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for brunch. Good and service were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice brunch. Our group of 6 all ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very nice brunch. Our group of 6 all had a wonderful time

Tags: , Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Large portions, great options and delici ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Large portions, great options and delicious food! In and out in less than an hour for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Stopped in for date night and had a grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Stopped in for date night and had a great meal!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took the family for dinner. We have bee ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Took the family for dinner. We have been a couple of times and the food is always delicious. Only disappointment was the chocolate cake. Why would you change to that horrible cake when you had the huge chocolate cake before? Not even close to being the same. Meals were very good as usual. Service is always "MEH". Host was a young kid who couldn't be bothered to speak to us during the walk to the table and didn't know better than to seat a family with an 8 year old in the bar area. Server was nice but lacked personality, didn't tell us about any specials or recommend anything. Took the order, delivered it, checked back and ran. A monkey could do that. Train your servers and host better and this place becomes one of the best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, mimosas & service as always.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, mimosas & service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious dinner with great service! The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious dinner with great service! The burger is so flavorful and I highly recommend it. Also, the short rib entree and banana cheesecake were big hits at our table. We love to eat here because it is a relaxed setting with quality food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good with good portions. O ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was very good with good portions. Only down side were the seats. Very loose and gave the feeling they were going to collapse.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 stars: Excellent food and service. Gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

5 stars: Excellent food and service. Great place to meet friends or have a date night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I have been to t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This is the second time I have been to this restaurant and it was just as great as the first time. When the second experience is fantastic then you know the first one wasn't a fluke. Same way if the first one was a miss then you give it a second shot. Love this place and the staff are excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved the food. My husband an ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Absolutely loved the food. My husband and I went here for a date night and was not disappointed. We had the chicken and waffles and short ribs- both plates empty :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious, you h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious, you have to try the poutine! A great dining experience and the best $10 bottomless mimosas at brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I love The Chicken and The Egg. The food ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I love The Chicken and The Egg. The food and drinks are wonderful, but it is so loud! It's hard to make conversation with the person across the table from you. Regardless, the service is awesome and overall it's hard to beat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I go here on average once a month. Unfor ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I go here on average once a month. Unfortunately, yesterday's experience was probably the worst I've had. Two out of our four meals were wrong, all of the bills were wrong and the waiter did not seem to know the menu well when we asked questions about sides, substitutions and adding on items. I'll be back, but I hope the service is better next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to The Chicken and the Egg for ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I've been to The Chicken and the Egg for dinner several times, but this was my first brunch experience. We made a reservation and were seated right away, the starters came out promptly and the meals were served after ample time was provided for the starters. Everything was perfect and I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Will go again. Will recommend ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Very nice. Will go again. Will recommend to friends

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Family Style, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was simply delicious and very e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was simply delicious and very enjoyable. I had the chicken poutine was very delicious and I will be going back just for this.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip to the restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our second trip to the restaurant. Our first trip was pretty good. Good enough to when one of our very few "date nights," was again available, we decided to return. This time, our experience was, at best, sub-par. The food was far below the standard I would expect, and not nearly the quality to fit the excellent ambiance. The ambiance is great. The chef seems to have some really good ideas on dish strategy. That said, the taste of our meals was so mediocre, that neither my wife nor myself ate very little. Service was "ok." Not very attuned to the fact we weren't eating almost any of our meals.

Was pretty disappointing, and I can't say that we will ever return, particularly for a chance as few and far between as the opportunity to just be together without kids. There was a large party in the private dining room, and maybe that contributed to some of the sub-standard meal prep. The Bayou pasta was well below what I expected. A decent amount of shrimp (4-5), ONE tiny sliver of chicken, and 6-8 small pieces of sausage. In the end, the sauce killed it. Basically it just tasted like butter that had been dumped out of a skillet they had roasted the andouille. The sauce just gave the whole dish an overtly andouille taste, that was not good at all.

My wife's dish, Country Fried Steak, was dry, and not at all up to the level I would have anticipated for a restaurant that promotes quality food. The portions were HUGE (compliment), but she ate about 10% of her dinner, and decided that it just didn't taste good.

Funny sidenote: As big as the Country Fried Steak dinner was (humongous), the apple cobbler she ordered for desert was TINY. Also to that point, the apple cobbler didn't taste fresh, and she ate two bites, and decided it was also not great.

We generally are not restaurant critics, but hopefully the mgmt will take this as constructive criticism. Also would have been nice to have some nightly specials... There were none

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Every time my family visits The Chicken ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Every time my family visits The Chicken and the Egg we have an extraordinary meal. The food is always memorable, and the service is exemplary. If we are looking for something special, this is the place we choose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here for brunch 4 times . be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been here for brunch 4 times . between the great food and the bottomless Mimosa's

you cant beat it

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Live Sports, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really like this place and will be bac ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I really like this place and will be back again but the one thing is the reservation really doesn't matter for them. We didn't wait for long time but specifically requested a booth. She put us not in the booth but other people in booth without reservation at the same time with us. Then she was trying not to even look at us or say something. Kind of rude! However the service was great!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place! Food is always great ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love this place! Food is always great and menu has lots to choose from. Great spot for southern classics and american cuisine. Weeknight specials offer great value and it's the best place in Marietta for Sunday Brunch. This is always at the top of our list when looking to get together with friends or family. Service is consistently good and everyone is friendly. Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.