About Chicken and the Egg

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Scallops
Pimento Cheese Fritters
Sticky Sorghum Cake
Oysters
Redfish
Spoonbread & Sorghum Butter
Shrimp & Grits
Crabcake Eggs Benedict
Potato Casserole
buttermilk biscuits
Butterbean hummus
Deviled Eggs
Farm House Cheeseburger
Chocolate Spoon Cake With Strawberry Ice Cream
Georgia Shrimp And Sweet Corn Gnocchi
Beet Salad
Two Egg Breakfast
FGT Burger (With Pimento Cheese & Fried Green Tomato)
Fried Chicken Wings
Braised Pork And Clams Over Fettucine
Grilled Blood Orange Manhattan
Four Egg Open Faced Garden Omelette
Plant Sandwich And Fries
Pimento With Toast And Celery
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Eggplant Mannicoti
Fish Fry ( Calamari And Rock Shrimp)

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Atlanta / Georgia
Contemporary American
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Kennesaw / Marietta
7 More
Best Food
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Service
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Ambiance
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Value
Kennesaw / Marietta
Fit for Foodies
Kennesaw / Marietta
Neighborhood Gem
Kennesaw / Marietta
Most Booked
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

great for brunch (69)
neighborhood gem (62)
fit for foodies (56)
See All
good for groups (52)
great for lunch (44)
special occasion (40)
kid-friendly (36)
romantic (13)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chicken and the Egg is a favorite "go t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Chicken and the Egg is a favorite "go to" location when I'm in Marietta, either for personal or business purposes. It is a solid restaurant, with an ever changing menu of locally sourced items. Always delicious, always fresh, always friendly. Highly recommended.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is amazing! I've been here with fri ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food is amazing! I've been here with friends, children, and family. The atmosphere is great and I've always had good waitresses. One of my favorite places to visit in Marietta.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose to do brunch for our weekly dat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We chose to do brunch for our weekly date and picked Chicken and the Egg because of many favorable reviews, as well as the online menu. It exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to go back. The food was amazing and just the right amount, and you can't beat the prices. Our server was helpful and attentive. Totally recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat here every Friday. The staff is ve ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I eat here every Friday. The staff is very friendly and Chefs meals are a mouth watering delight!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first experience and I actua ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my first experience and I actually drove from Decatur to meet friends for brunch! Atmosphere was EXCELLENT!!!! I will definitely make the drive again.....SOON!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Recommended by a friend and can't thanks ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Recommended by a friend and can't thanks him enough to trying out this amazing place. A great place to catch up with family and friends plus good foods

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was okay, service was okay, but goo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was okay, service was okay, but good place to brunch with a group

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was great! Nick's service was e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was great! Nick's service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great brunch spot! The menu of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a great brunch spot! The menu offers traditional options as well as dishes with a more modern spin. The cocktail list is excellent. The food is always fast and fresh, and service is fantastic every time. It is very kid friendly, and great for groups as well. Definitely need a reservation as it is always packed on the weekends! We dine here often and have never been disappointed. It's a favorite place to take our out of town guests too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've now visited this restaurant twice. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've now visited this restaurant twice. First time for Brunch with the girls. Second time with hubby and the grandkids. I got the French toast for brunch. It was delicious. When I went for dinner I got the chicken and waffles. It was tasty too! The coating on the chicken was a bit sweet but I still thought it was good. The service was outstanding. Unfortunately, my husband didn't think it was anything special but I really like the place so I plan to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chicken and The Egg was amazing! Goo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The Chicken and The Egg was amazing! Good food, great service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and really sweet server.

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and really sweet server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

CATFISH...if you love it get it here! Se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

CATFISH...if you love it get it here! Served griddled or fried, huge ,juicy, flaky fillet.

Paired with their slow braised greens and black-eyed peas...mmmmmm! Can be found on both blue plate lunch and dinner menu. Their hanger steak is outstanding also for dinner. This is one of my favorite go to places . Give it a shot, it might become one of yours. BEST SUNDAY BRUNCH IN MARIETTA.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

$10 bottomless mimosas were delightful! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

$10 bottomless mimosas were delightful! All food was enjoyed and perfectly cooked!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food and service. Thoroughly ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. Thoroughly impressed with everything from appetizers through desserts. Everyone at the table raved about everything we ate.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here for brunch many times (wh ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I've been here for brunch many times (which is fantastic!) but this was our first dinnet there. We were not disappointed. The food was beyond amazing and my husband couldn't have asked for a better birthday dinner. In fact our friends, who live almost 2 hours away were debating how and when to make a special trip back to go again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A local favorite! A great spot with grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A local favorite! A great spot with great options every time I go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Great food. The chicke ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great experience. Great food. The chicken and waffles were fantastic. The southern egg rolls were off the charts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined for Father's Day and the food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined for Father's Day and the food was DEEEEEELISH!! Our entire party -mom, dad, sister, brother, and I- had snickerdoodle French toast and fried chicken. Simply divine!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was some of the best food I have ever ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was some of the best food I have ever eaten. I had the Crab Cake Benedict and it was delicious! The food was a huge hit with my step-children. They both are insisting we come back for their birthdays. It was Father's Day and with the reservation we were seated right away. Service was outstanding as well! Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very prompt with reservation and overall ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very prompt with reservation and overall excellent. Our favorite restaurant for breakfast.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-time customer, great food. That bei ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Long-time customer, great food. That being said, a person in my party had their order wrong. Waitress never apologized, and food took another 20 minutes to arrive. Expected better!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great brunch! Not so hot on the lunch/di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great brunch! Not so hot on the lunch/dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for the first time for Fath ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went here for the first time for Father's Day breakfast. I made the reservation on OT and they sat us after only a minute even though we were a few early. Everything we ordered including the coffee was delicious. We go out to breakfast a lot, so we were definitely impressed that every single thing on our plates was perfect! Our two kids meals were a dollar less than other places, but you don't get a drink. Prices overall were average to high, but if the quality is consistently as good as it was when we went, we'll definitely be back and just bring our own milk cups for our girls. The decor and ambiance was also really nice - loved it for breakfast. I could see it transitioning well for lunch and dinner too with the mix of booths, tables and high tops. For reference, we had eggs, scrambled and over well, chicken biscuits, hashbrown casserole, cheese grits, bacon and kids French toast - all excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing chicken and waffles.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing chicken and waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very friendly staff!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very friendly staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Waitress was very nice.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Waitress was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Date night dinner with husband

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

For Starters we had Pimento cheese and celery and Fried Green tomatoes (pimento cheese fondue, tomato jam). All was great, really loved the tomato jam.

Our Entrees were Hanger steak and Enchanted Springs Mountain Trout. The cheddar tater tots with the steak was a bite size helping of grandma's cheesy potato casserole. The lemon butter coating on the Trout was just the right sweetness atop the fish.

Ended withDessert: Banana pudding with bourbon soaked wafers really set it apart. Sticky Bun Bread Pudding topped with cinnamon ice cream was so special.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. Great staff. Loved everyth ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Amazing food. Great staff. Loved everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've always been huge fans of the Chick ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We've always been huge fans of the Chicken and the Egg. It is our go to for brunch with friends visiting from out of town. We tried some different items this visit, and now we love it even more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the trout dish! Very light and tas ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved the trout dish! Very light and tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for breakfast and brunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Restaurant is not far from the Marietta Square, and while there can be heavy traffic (getting here even during the week after the morning rush hour), the food makes the trip worthwhile. Reservations are highly recommended as large groups will walk in without notice because the restaurant is in a shopping center with lots of parking and in a heavily traveled area.

The two of us shared one order of the green tomatoes with pimento cheese as our appetizer, which was delicious. We then enjoyed one order each of the fried chicken and French toast, their most popular menu item. The fried chicken was boneless and tender. The French toast using Hallah bread was light and delicious. If you aren't hungry, one order could be shared. We also had juice and coffee, and the total came to over $40, not including tip, which I thought was a bit pricey but I would definitely come back.

Our server was very nice and efficient despite the unexpected large group that showed up at opening when we arrived (and with a reservation).

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I went for brunch, and it was great! Min ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I went for brunch, and it was great! Minus the distance, because I live in Stone Mountain, it was worth it. The bottomless mimosas are EVERYTHING!!!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Southern Cuisine At Its Best

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I can not rave about this restaurant enough. The food is incredible. From the pimento cheese and fried green tomatoes to the catfish and meatloaf, they have the best truly southern food in the area. The fact that it is farm to table makes it even better. Everything is always fresh and scrumptious. The restaurant does tend to get a little loud during brunch times but that is just a testament to their wonderful food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was good but not hot...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good but not hot...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Six of us went for Mother's Day Brunch and were not disappointed. From the bottomless mimosas to the delicious food, it was a great experience. Service was a bit sluggish but to be expected on a busy holiday. Will return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Give this neighborhood gem a try

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had brunch with my daughter, a friend and her daughter. Made reservations in March for Mother's day. Arrived around 12:25 and still waited about 15 minutes. We were seated in a corner booth, loved that! The menu had a nice variety and the restaurant is open and airy. My one concern was 3 of us ordered bottomless Mimosas. We receive the first round. The server came back with another round when we were about finished and didn't offer anymore, she brought the check. It would have been nice for her to check back more frequently and refill our glasses, otherwise what's the point of bottomless?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brought My mom and Aunt here for Mother's day brunch and once again the food was amazing! They loved it, it was their first time being here and they both said the will come back! Wonderful place for Brunch!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for breakfast

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

If you're looking for a breakfast/brunch location, you can't go wrong with Chicken and the Egg. Our party of 5 enjoyed everything we ordered. Our reservation time on Mother's Day was honored perfectly and the service was good. Besides the food being very good, it came out of the kitchen very fast. The biscuits and gravy are particularly good - make sure to choose something that comes with one. I would definitely eat here again. Next time, will try it for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

EARLY MOTHER'S DAY DINNER

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Decided on Chicken & the Egg for an early Mother's Day dinner, knowing that the restaurant (like most) would probably have a set menu on Saturday & Sunday, which we cannot stand. We have dined here before and both food & service were very good. This time around we were a bit disappointed with the service piece of it while impressed with the food. Upon arriving we were greeted by very young hosts & hostesses. While polite they lacked a certain sophistication that I would expect for a restaurant of this nature. Our server was truly emotionless and lacking in personality that we have had in a while. It wasn't that he wasn't nice but he was not very informative or social. When I asked about the Wild Boar he told us it was very good then said that he never had it but his other guests said it was good. Why does a server not know how something tastes? Shouldn't they be made to try the foods so that they can explain it? We also felt rushed through the dinner. Still working on appetizers when salads came and then immediately entrees came without barely a breath in between. As I said, food was excellent! I do recommend you have more of children's menu that isn't just typical children fare. Some people want their kids to eat a variety and diverse menu. I would have liked to give a smaller portion of some of your other great meals (I know this is atypical from what most parents get their kids). In closing, my suggestion is to improve on training service staff to be personable, time food better and know the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.