Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Chicken and the Egg

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Kids Eat Free

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1/2 Off Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

2 for $25

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

$2.50 Mimosas + $5 Bloody Mary's

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Kids Eat Free

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Tuesdays after 5 PM, kids eat free with the purchase of an adult entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1/2 Off Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

2 for $25

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Includes 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, and 2 desserts. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

$2.50 Mimosas + $5 Bloody Mary's

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 23, 2017 - Jul 23, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (65)
Great for Brunch (65)
Casual (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Local Ingredients (45)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (37)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Cozy (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Family Style (21)
Kid-friendly (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Fun (18)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Disabled Access (14)
Healthy (12)
Private Room (11)
Seasonal (10)
Organic (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great Beer (8)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Romantic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Server was very polite but possibly over sat in his section as he did not make it around to refill drinks during the meal. Overall great experience we will definitely return:)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Food for all four of us was very good. Price quality service all very good. The one complaint is that there is a tremendous problem with noise- concrete for wooden ceiling. Some steps should be taken to try to address the noise issue

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for my Mother's Day dinner and I was expecting the full regular menu only to be told they were only serving brunch food all day. I was very disappointed bc I was expecting to be able to order their dinner menu as I had already had a big breakfast that day. I would recommend in the future offering both menus or when they call to confirm the reservation letting people know that it's a brunch only menu. I was very disappointed especially on Mother's Day. I had been looking forward to the dinner menu for a long time

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is our family's go-to for all occasions. Staff is friendly from the door to the floor! The poutine is my weakness, but my sons drool over the country fried steak which is hand pounded and perfectly breaded, not to mention the size of their faces! We had a party of 8 and we're seated comfortably, no squishing at all. I love Chicken and the Egg!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Healthy, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I absolutely love Chicken and the Egg! Brunch is amazing and their food is amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent choice for Mother's Day Brunch. Enjoyed by all ages from mid 30's to upper 80's.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was excellent and so was the food can't wait to come back !!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious! Service was knowledgeable and attentive. Make a reservation or plan to wait!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my first time at Chicken and the egg but it won't be my last. We dined here for Mother's Day brunch and everything was amazing! The food, the service, and the ambience. It's incredibly easy to get to - just make sure to snag a reservation ahead of time. This neighborhood gem gets pretty packed- for good reason!

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I tool my mom here for Mothers breakfast .It was out first time. We really enjoyed the food. The staff was very friendly. I will return with my husband and family. Maybe it will be our go to spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

They did not have enough staffing and although our service staff were very nice, it took a long time to get our meals, the orders were not entirely correct and they were not very impressive. Our wait staff went out of their way to make it right, but the whole experience was not not as good as it could have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We decided to finally try The chicken and the egg after nearing a relative brag about the food. The food was definitely great. We had made a reservation so the wait was minimal. The only issue we had was tthe service. Our waitress seemed to be a but overwhelmed with the amount of tabkes she had. It took 10 minutes or more just to get some butter for my biscuit (which they do not offer butter and jelly when the food is brought, as Sunday brunch is mostly breakfast foods). But we are going back tonight for a weekday dinner. Maybe it won't be as bbusy as aa sunday brunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My only complaint is the noise level. Two of our guests use hearing aids and the ambient noise made conversation very difficult.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was cold even though it was brought out tooo soon when we were still eating salads!
Very disappointing tasting , don't know what happened since the 1st & only other time we ate here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were there for a small baby shower. The staff took excellent care of us and our server paced the meal perfectly and was present without being obtrusive. It was the perfect venue for a small gathering like that. The food was wonderful and the service was stellar.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Two girlfriends and I got together for a Saturday morning Brunch. We each ordered different menu items and shared along with mimosas. The atmosphere was comfortable but upscale. The price was just right for the occasion and the quality of the food.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had a wonderful time. My waiter Zach was outstanding. He was attentive, courteous and friendly. Our food was delicious. The alcoholic drinks were tasty and potent but very small. A $13 drink had three swallows worth of libation. Still, I had two $13 drinks, and a delicious entree called poutine. My husband had the meatloaf and he thought it was the very best meatloaf he'd ever had, aside from my home cooked meatloaf of course. :) We would definitely go again. I'm 100% sure we will visit in the near future, because their breakfast and brunch can't be beat. They have $3 mimosas and $4 bellinis. You can't find great food and reasonable drinks just anywhere, so if you plan to visit, I recommend you have breakfast or brunch here. They don't serve alcohol until 12:30 on Sundays however, per state law.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Organic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food was absolutely magical. I was so surprised because that was our first time coming but won't be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We go to Chicken and The Egg as often as we can, even though it is an hour away. The food is always delicious, the service is always excellent, and we always have a great dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very pleasant as always. I was asked if I mind switching as they had a large group coming and needed my seat. I switched to the bar. It was unfortunate experience at the bar. I needed napkins and utensils but had to stop another server to get them because the waiters at the bar completely ignored me. They were inattentive and never asked if I needed anything until after the mgr came by to check on me. By then I just wanted my check so I could leave. This may be an isolated event because I eat there twice a week and never have any issues. Other times, they are exceptional in the customer service area. Of course, the food was great as always. No complaint there.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Dancing, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My family dined at the start of dinner service and were met with warm smiles by the staff. The restaurant was bright, spacious and free of clutter. The food came on time and was delicious down to the last bite. Even my kids cleaned their plates which is not normal for them. Definitely worth a return visit.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great date night! Service was amazing. Drinks were phenomenal.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The server was very rude towards us. He said something a long the lines of he would kick us out but he can't to another group of people who were dining. He said this because we were in the restaurant towards the time of them closing and the other tables was there too. I thought that was very rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

1st time visiting. My husband and I went after church for brunch. Most of the meals on brunch menu has eggs and I don't like eggs but I was able to finds something that didn't. Everything was great. It was storming terribly and on the way out we were given a complimentary umbrella. I thought that top everything. Yes we plan on going again to try out the dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our waitress was really quick! We had a couple of people ask us how we were doing. The food came out really fast even though it was a very busy time on a Sunday. Had to make reservations and we got a seat within a few minutes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Chicken and the Egg is a staple restaurant for me and my friends. Although bottomless mimosas are no longer available, at $2.50 each, it's still a great value for a Saturday or Sunday brunch. The traditional southern menu is only enhanced by being locally sourced and I've never eaten a bad meal here. Service can sometimes be spotty depending on how busy it is, and I'd definitely recommend ALWAYS making a reservation regardless.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

20 minute wait with reservations for a party of 3 at 11:45am. Waited for 10 minutes for coffee. Ordered the worst blood Mary's we have ever had. They tasted like mustard. The food was average to above average. The snuckerdoodle French toast was not what we thought it would be or what it could be. Other 3 entree where pretty good. The waitress was very nice, but had far to many custimers for her ability.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time. Live w/i 5 miles. 2 of us had a half round table so view and privacy was great. Will brunch there "often"; overall great experience.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is my second time I have been here and once again ordered chicken and waffles and the chicken had to be sent back due to being undercooked. The waffles get harder the longer they sit on your plate. While the flavors are good it's disappointing with the chicken issues I had again. I will go back but order something different. Sierra our server is awesome! Both times I have been fortunate to have her and glad we had her! She is very attentive and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Server was new and made some errors but management was great and corrected things as soon as they were aware.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I love this restaurant! Everything I have eaten here has been amazing. The brunch menu is delicious, and their dinner menu is wonderful as well! The food is fresh, flavorful and wonderfully prepared. The staff is very friendly and professional as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is a favorite restaurant when in Marietta, wanting non-ethnic fare & a place where I can hear our table's conversation clearly. I also love that I don't have to fight for a parking space like I do when I choose a restaurant on the Square. My waiters here have always been down to earth and delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food, great service. Love the ambience of the restaurant. Fried chicken is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was our first time here and we'll definitely be back. This is creative southern comfort food at its best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came in for Easter and I know that is a busy day but our service was not good. The food was fine. The sorghum butter for the biscuits was a highlight.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our first visit, a bit pricey but it's a must have.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The environment was nice with nice decor. Fast service and the food tasted amazing!!!! The French toast was the best I've had since living in Atlanta!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very enjoyable Easter brunch. Very crowded but noise level was only moderate.
As always, food was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch nailed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have had brunch at Chicken and the Egg a few times and always enjoyed it. It's a good idea to get reservations, because it can get busy on the weekend. This time, we went there for Easter brunch. My daughter loves their sausage, and my son loves their benedicts. Keep in mind that they do not serve alcohol until 12:30, so if you want a bloody mary or a mimosa with your brunch make your plans accordingly. Despite being very busy, our server was totally on top of things and we had a great meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.