About Chicken and the Egg

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sea Scallops - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Pimento Cheese Fritters - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Sticky Sorghum Cake - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Oysters - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Spoonbread & Sorghum Butter - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Redfish - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Shrimp & Grits - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Crabcake Eggs Benedict - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Potato Casserole - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
buttermilk biscuits - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Butterbean hummus - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Deviled Eggs - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Farm House Cheeseburger - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Chocolate Spoon Cake With Strawberry Ice Cream - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Georgia Shrimp And Sweet Corn Gnocchi - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Beet Salad - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Two Egg Breakfast - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
FGT Burger (With Pimento Cheese & Fried Green Tomato) - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Fried Chicken Wings - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Braised Pork And Clams Over Fettucine - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Grilled Blood Orange Manhattan - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Four Egg Open Faced Garden Omelette - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Plant Sandwich And Fries - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Wild Mushroom Risotto - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Pimento With Toast And Celery - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Eggplant Mannicoti - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA
Fish Fry ( Calamari And Rock Shrimp) - Chicken and the Egg, Marietta, GA

Specials

Kids Eat Free Tuesdays

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

2 for $25 Menu

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

$10 Bottomless Mimosas and $5 Bloody Mary's

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Kids Eat Free Tuesdays

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Bring the family in for supper on Tuesday night between 5:00 PM and 9:00 PM and get one free kids meal with the purchase of an adult entree. Make a reservation and let us know you are coming!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 23, 2016 - Dec 20, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us on Wednesdays for 1/2 priced bottles of wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 12, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

2 for $25 Menu

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us on Thursdays for our 2 for $25 menu. Menu includes one appetizer, two entrees, and two desserts. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 12, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

$10 Bottomless Mimosas and $5 Bloody Mary's

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM to 3:00 PM for brunch, bottomless mimosas, and bloody mary's. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 12, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Atlanta
Best Food
Northwest Atlanta
Best Service
Northwest Atlanta
3 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Atlanta
Best Value
Northwest Atlanta
Most Booked
Northwest Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

Great for Brunch (37)
Comfort Food (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Local Ingredients (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Organic (11)
Romantic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Family Style (8)
Cozy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant for breakfast. Food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant for breakfast. Food was excellent! Highly recommend, but make reservations as it was crowded for walk ins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was above and beyond, food was m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was above and beyond, food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great food, great people, and great serv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food, great people, and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the first time for their Thanks ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for the first time for their Thanksgiving special. It was great, and was an interestingly different take on standard (smoked). Service was at least Very Good, even though you could tell the press of the Thanksgiving crowd was affecting them a bit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

How incredibly disappointing. We went fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

How incredibly disappointing. We went for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a set menu of just a few items. Nothing arrived at the table warm. There's nothing like cold gravy over some thin slices of deli-style smoked turkey. Then the pecan pie was sweetened by dark molasses, giving it a bitter taste. Nothing subtle about any flavors. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

Food was just ok. Felt it was expensive ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was just ok. Felt it was expensive Thanksgiving meal for what you got. Did not like the smoked turkey at all. Very Very smokey.

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I went here for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I went here for Thanksgiving- and the restaurant had a special, limited holiday menu. Overall, the food was very good. The standouts were the cornbread stuffing, mac and cheese and ham. Neither my husband nor l liked the turkey. It was smoked, and had such a strong, smokey flavor you could not even taste the meat. I'd like to try the location again on a non-holiday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It's a bit unfair for me to review this ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It's a bit unfair for me to review this restaurant, since it was on Thanksgiving Day, and there was a limited menu, but you asked. I give them points alone for even being open on Thanksgiving. They were quite busy, and they handled to volume very professionally. The atmosphere was pleasant. The food was good, but I have a hard time saying that anything was memorable as far as the food goes. Still, I refer to my first point, they were open.

I will try to return on a normal business night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have gone to Chicken and Egg for the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have gone to Chicken and Egg for the past 3 years for Thanksgiving but this year we were disappointed with the meal. While the service was quick, the smoked turkey breast tasted processed. The cornbread dressing was gummy. Sides were not really hot and just plopped on the plate. The pecan pie had good flavor but was soft and a sliver.

The restaurant does have a consistently good weekind brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Thanksgiving dinner!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Thanksgiving dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went here for Thanksgiving day dinner ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here for Thanksgiving day dinner with the whole family. The menu had a lot of options, but was also a simple special occasion menu. Everyone enjoyed every food they selected as well as dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a disappointment!! The food was te ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

What a disappointment!! The food was terrible. My mashed potatoes were lukewarm, the turkey was over smoked, the green bean casserole was "swimming" in soup and the cornbread dressing was hard as a rock. I felt like it was a rip off for $27.00. I have eaten dinner there and it was fine, but Thanksgiving dinner was a disaster. Not sure why - maybe they weren't prepared for such a large crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I had a very good time

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had a very good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my mom for Thanksgiving, loved most ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Took my mom for Thanksgiving, loved most all the food. It was easy to find and get in and out (my mom is disabled). The menu choices were good. Don't know what was up with those rolls, though. They were very bland next to all the lovely farm-fresh home-cooked dishes.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our family generally enjoys cooking for ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family generally enjoys cooking for holidays; however, my father passed away in September, so we were looking for something fun and different for our Thanksgiving meal together. Adorable atmosphere. This menu was specifically for Thanksgiving, so it was a selection of two entrees, about five vegetables (all starch except green beans, which were in a mushroom soup casserole) and three desserts, not hard to make absolutely delicious. My mashed potatoes were very good. Beyond that, NO. Turkey was VERY smoky, dressing was arguably the worst I've ever had, heavy laden with sage, and I like a little sage in my dressing. My mother's serving was so brown that she couldn't even cut through it, and asked for a fresh serving. The corn and green beans were not special at all and tasted like "prefab". There was approximately one tablespoon of gravy barely visible on the turkey. Our table was directly in front of the door, so my daughter and I were blinded by the sun throughout our meal. Server did well getting the food out, which is great since the restaurant was completely full. Honestly, I can't believe any chef would be proud to serve that meal to the masses, especially on Thanksgiving. It left us with the thought of "Well, other than the food, we had a great Thanksgiving!" Which we did.....we were thankful to be together, just very disappointed in our meal choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Meat portion could have been larger. Sid ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Meat portion could have been larger. Side dishes were decent but not worth the cost. The meal did not merit the price for the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We ate here for Thanksgiving. The food a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We ate here for Thanksgiving. The food and service were amazing! Can't wait to go back. Please come to Johns Creek!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Casual, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere was great, but t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food and atmosphere was great, but the service was what sold it. I will definitely come back and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid Food Good Value for the Money. I w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Solid Food Good Value for the Money. I would say it is worth the Drive

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Phenomenal lunch at an extremely reasona ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Phenomenal lunch at an extremely reasonable price. Will definitely dine here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Zumindest einmal sollte man in den USA E ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Zumindest einmal sollte man in den USA Eggs Benedict essen. Ich habe heute mir das heute zum Sonntagsbrunch gegönnt. Im "Chicken and the Egg", einem netten Restaurant mit lokaler Farm to Table Küche. Es hat köstlich geschmeckt, die Bedienung war super freundlich. Woran ich mich leider nie gewöhnen werde, dass einem, kaum dass man die Gabel abgelegt hat, die Rechnung auf den Tisch gelegt wird... ich hatte so leider keine Chance auf einen 2. Kaffee oder ein Dessert. Das ist leider total ungemütlich! 🇺🇸🍳☕️ At least once during a visit to the USA everybody should eat Eggs Benedict. I treated myself today for Sunday brunch a visit to the " Chicken and the Egg". A nice restaurant with local farm to table cuisine. It was delicious. The service was very friendly. The only thing that I will never get used to, is that you get the bill, right after you laid down your fork. I didn't even have the chance to order a 2nd coffee or dessert. This is very uncomfortable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely love the concept of this rest ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely love the concept of this restaurant, good quality food and a lot of different dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fresh ingredients. Enjoyed our selection ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fresh ingredients. Enjoyed our selection. Server was nice but absent during most our brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service felt a bit rushed Eggs a bit un ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service felt a bit rushed

Eggs a bit undercooked

Heard good things about this place so willing to give it another try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I have a lot of food allergies and I am ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I have a lot of food allergies and I am also gluten sensitive. I wish there were a few more gluten free options. I went with an omelet to be on the safe side but our waiter was not well versed in what could be made gluten free. Other than that, he was very attentive!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall it was a good experience. I'm no ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. I'm not hard to impress, and it's very hard to mess up breakfast. I walked in and was immediately greeted by the host who recognized my reservation and seated us quickly. We were greeted by the waitress who was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Food: I had the French toast and fried chicken. The food was good. Not the best I've had but good. The butter for the toast was different but very good; the chicken was moist and well seasoned. My girlfriend, it was her birthday, had the crab/crawfish omelette and she loved it. It came with a home style biscuit and bacon. I tasted it and did not care for the dish but I'm not a seafood kind of guy. We also had the mimosas or shall I say bottomless mimosas. Which isn't a bad deal for $10.

Ambiance is more so modern country style, dim lighting, open space. The place is huge inside.

Overall, we had a nice brunch and would definitely go back. Staff was very friendly and made the experience worth while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food was wonderful. Braised short ribs w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was wonderful. Braised short ribs were superb. Waitress and waiter were very attentive but not over bearing. Location was in a strip mall but a lot of fun.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My Nashville fried chicken sandwich was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My Nashville fried chicken sandwich was delicious and huge. A meal in itself. Homemade piemento cheese is pretty tasty, too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the bottomless mimosas

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love the bottomless mimosas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

While the food was good it was impossibl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

While the food was good it was impossible to talk at the table due to the excessive ambient noise from other customers. They seriously need to sound dampen the environment to make it more enjoyable. Highly recommend to make a reservation if you want brunch table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Great food! Enjoyed everything that we o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food! Enjoyed everything that we ordered service was great as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fantastic, the prices and o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was fantastic, the prices and overall experience were good but it was a bit disappointing for "brunch" as it was very quiet and the bottomless mimosas were very slow to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was very well prepared and the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was very well prepared and the staff was attentive to every request. The decor is very homey and inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant! The food is deli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I love this restaurant! The food is delicious and I can always find something new to try. HINT: If you like brussel sprouts--you must try theirs!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Organic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a bit pricey for date night but we e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Was a bit pricey for date night but we enjoyed the great meal and great service

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The salmon was excellent.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The salmon was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there and had invited guests ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time there and had invited guests for brunch. Mediocre service with uninspiring food and presentation. Donuts were like hockey pucks with overly sweet frosting; food had to be returned as stone cold; horrible plate presentation. Was shocked it had great reviews in past. Disappointing on multiple things. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Great place for brunch and going out wit ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great place for brunch and going out with girlfriends! Not too noisy that you can have a conversation and menu is upbeat and not cookie-cutter!

Tags: Organic, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A place as nice as this, I am shocked to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A place as nice as this, I am shocked to find "truck stop" towels in the bathroom. Maybe consider upgrading your hand towels.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Went for suppe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great dining experience. Went for supper, not busy. Service was ok, food fantastic!!! The braised beef short ribs were so good. The kale Cesar salads was perfectly cheesy. I'd skip to pimento fritters, but the tomatoes jam that came with it--unbelievable! Definitely, will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.