Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Chicken and the Egg

4.4
1408 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Comfort Food
  • Casual
Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(678) 388-8813
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Marc Taft
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1408 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

So delicious the country fried steak was amazing and best chicken and waffles in town for sure we will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Comfort foods at their best. Eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast,waffles,grits, egg benedict...we've tried them all and have been more tham happy with each item. friendly servers. Good tea; even better mimosas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was delicious service was quick and very good. Didn’t know it was going to be brunch as opposed to dinner though. Yet and still everything was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very nice Mother’s Day brunch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was very good, especially the fried green tomatoes. Expected the chicken to be tastier given that’s their specialty...crispy, but needed seasoning. Was our first time (went for Mother’s Day); will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I absolutely LOVE this restaurant! I stumbled on it by accident but this was such an amazing little find. The ambiance is great, the food is wonderful and the prices are amazing! I've only gone during brunch so I can't speak to the lunch menu but the breakfast menu is very health conscience and I believe they use local ingredients. The staff is very nice, a little slow, but nice none-the-less. I would strongly suggest making reservations however, they are always so packed it might be very difficult to walk in and grab a seat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Chicken and Egg is an excellent choice for brunch. The food is fresh, delicious, and reasonably priced. This was my second time going and the experience made Mother's Day even more special.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I had heard a lot about this restaurant but it did not meet expectations. I am not sure if they were just busy for Mother's Day, but the service was slow. I do not mean that getting our food was slow, it was even for our server to get our water, bring our drinks, check on us, etc. My kids liked the breakfast sweet goods but my husband and my egg specialty dishes were just standard fare.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

For a Mother’s Day Brunch it was a decent experience for the $. Wife had asked if onions could be left off her order and the waiter went to the kitchen to find out. Came back and said unfortunately not the way it was prepared. Wife decided ok its worth it I will take it anyway. When the plate arrived not only did it still have onions cooked into (which was expected) but was garnished all over the top with chopped green onions. Had the waiter just gone the extra step and known that they could have at least left off the garnish it would have been much nicer. Seems such an obvious adjustment to me. That aside, we will likely go back one day.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This is a special occasion hot spot for us. Little disappointed this time as the chairs at our table were metal banquet chairs unlike the rest of the restaurant were nice wooded ones. Waitress was nice but a bit slow on refills and I had to ask for coffee. Other than those minor issues the place is always a "10"

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food and service was excellent! Great place for brunch with a large or small group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food always tastes great whether it’s for brunch or dinner. Service is great and Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere to eat with friends and family on any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I love this place!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

it was just ok, nothing special, my order was wrong but let it go, young children were very loud, so if your looking for a quiet place to chat and catch up probably not the place. food was fair nothing write home about

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Server did not provide her name. I had noted that it was my husbands birthday, but, this was not acknowledged and they did not provide a free dessert at the end of the meal, really disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Fantastic food. Clean, bright and a little noisy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We enjoyed an early Mother’s Day dinner. The staff was excellent - very attentive and helpful. The food was good, the service was better, and the atmosphere was nice too.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Menu has quite a selection. Some of the items are very southern but with a unique twist. I got the chicken and waffles. Chicken was good but not outstanding nor were the waffles. I would possibly go back to try another menu item, however, I do think prices are high for what you get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Brought my 92 year young Mom for dinner the evening before Mothers Day. The waitress was fabulous! We enjoyed it and the banana pudding was outstanding. And thank you for seating us at a booth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Waiter was pleasant everything was perfect. was seated in a timely Manor. Atmosphere is always good friendly. definitely will be going back and telling friends about it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent food, very good service. I would definitely visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great service! We had an amazing waitress and everything came out fast and correct!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Our server was very attentive, explained specials, and after eating there for another group friends occasion, the food did not disappoint. Everyone enjoyed their meal!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The server, Heather, was very short and rude. Food was ok and atmosphere was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Love the taste of the chicken!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Heather was an excellent server. Funny, attentive, and knowledgeable of delishious foods to try

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

OK, the food was good, however:
- the shrimp and grits portion was way too small, maybe 3 tablespoons of grits? My friend ordered it and very disappointed. I had the salmon, and although very tasty, the portion was the smallest I have ever been served anywhere. Everything, sides etc, were a very poor value for the prices charged.
I would come back for dinner, nor for breakfast? Based on this experience. Really a shame as the place itself is lively and our server was charming .

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 3, 2018

I had high expectations from all the reviews I read and just the overall rating of the restaurant but I was greatly disappointed when my girlfriend’s food came out and the meat was over cooked as well as the fries. My food was a little better but the sides were both almost cold when they got in front of me. I wanted to give the place a second chance but at the end of the meal I realized that it’s probably not in my best interest to go back. Unfortunately we both have stomach aches from the food still ... 4 hours later

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Very good food, good service. Didn't wait long to receive food after ordering. Would definitely come again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Always good food; great for friends and family to gather; casual eating. Would recommend and will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Usually we love Chicken and the Egg. It has great farm-to-table meals, handcrafted drinks, and great desserts. This time left a little to be desired.

There were about 8 parties total while we were there and I counted 4-5 waitstaff and a manager.
However, our server was almost non-existent. I think she visited us 3 times. Once to take our order, once to bring missing sauces, and once to drop off the check. She did not bring out our food and could not be found when we discovered that two of the dishes were missing dipping sauces. We finally had to flag down the manager after about 7-10 minutes. When they did arrive, there was no apology.

The timing of the courses was too fast. The rolls came out moments before our salads - almost at the same time. No one finished their salads before the main course arrived. I think I got 5 fork-fulls before the entrees arrived. Not a leisurely meal (except for waiting for the condiments).

The food tasted great as usual.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Everyone seemed to enjoy their meal, service could have been better.
Always best to make a revsation especially if you have a party of 6 or more.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We went for brunch. The GA eggs benedict is amazing. The eggs were fresh, and cooked perfectly. The star was the Canadian bacon, as it added the necessary salt and "yumminess" to the dish.
Our server was attentive without hovering.
We'll definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We unfortunately had a bad experience. Food was terrible and lights were so bright. Server was very nice though!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

They haven’t updated the menu in ages. The supposedly “seasonal” offerings never change.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great ambiance, solid wine choices. Great food! We had a couple super picky people and two foodies with us and there was something for everyone. The service was a little slow and she did not know how to open a wine bottle, but I’ll give her a break because I think she’s new. Other than that great place would definitely go there again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

This is a great spot for lunch! You can get the lunch special for $10 which includes a drink, entree + two sides. Delicious food for a great price with wonderful service!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We now know why we haven’t been back to The Chicken & The Egg in years. It’s not a pleasant experience on many levels. We had a 1:45pm brunch reservation and ultimately just grabbed a seat at the bar at 2:20pm after that long of a wait for a reservation. (The hostess was not in a good mood and had no answers for us on being seated.) So fine- just glad to get a couple seats at the bar. Then the bar area we sat was sticky so after waiting a few minutes I pulled out a wipe from my purse to clean it and neither bartender got the hint from that. The guy next to us even asked to borrow the wipe since his space had not been cleaned earthier. We still and we had to ask for them to clean it. No apologies, no smile. In fact, as little acknowledgment as possible. Ordered drinks (they were ok) and had to get the bartenders attention to order the appetizer. They seemed like were just trying to get through their shift. Ordered 2 types of Benedict and both asked for crispy/well-done bacon. It came before we even could finish our appetizer. And the bacon was barely cooked. The food was not flavorful or plated well. For the price of that food we could be gone to a lot nicer restaurants for brunch. We agreed the experience was best described as “meh” and will not be going back to The Chicken & The Egg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Food was well prepared, staff was friendly and attentive, but not intrusive.
Would recommend and go back myself.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Uneven service but great food!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
36