Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Chicken and the Egg

Chicken and the Egg is a neighborhood gathering spot that will serve sophisticated yet approachable American farmstead fare. Our name represents the cycle of life and the importance of sustainability. We want to help minimize the negative impact humans leave on this planet.

The menu at Chicken and the Egg features innovative twists on classic American dishes. The cuisine will incorporate seasonal ingredients from local farms and purveyors as well as sustainable beef, pork, poultry and seafood. Marc Taft is the chef/owner and will utilize approachable ingredients that are thoughtfully constructed and highlight what the earth has to offer.

800 Whitlock Avenue
Marietta, GA 30064
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

CLOSED ON MONDAY

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 388-8813

Website:
http://www.chickandtheegg.com/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering from 10-500 people. Please contact Elizabeth Taft for our special catering menus.

Executive Chef:
Marc Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chicken and the Egg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (41)
Casual (41)
Comfort Food (40)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fun (18)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Organic (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2017

By far the freshest breakfast in town. Every bite was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great place! Brunch was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was our 2nd visit, and we've finally decided we won't go back. We absolutely love the atmosphere and ambiance, but that's about it. We had a reservation, and still had to wait 15-20 minutes to be seated. The server recommended specials that weren't even available. After asking for an order of biscuits, we were given ONE biscuit. The food took a long time to arrive, and it wasn't very hot. That was the issue the first time, and we assumed that was a fluke. Unfortunately, this seems to be a consistent issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great seasonal menu and the best brunch around!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Charming little local restaurant. Omelettes are delicious and they have $2.50 mimosas on the weekends. Breakfast usually comes with delicious biscuits and fresh preserves. Service is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great place for brunch and one of the only places that is open for Saturday brunch. Quick and easy with great food and drink specials. Personal favorite is the Bubbas Benedict.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It was a little pricey, but the good was outstanding. Loved the atmosphere and the wait staff was very friendly. Didn't understand why they don't serve their water with ice, but other than that, we gave it 5 stars. Would love to go back for breakfast/brunch.,

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Celebrated a friends birthday at Chicken and the egg. She had skinny chick and I had afternoon nap. It was delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I have never had a meal at Chicken and the Egg that didn't leave me astounded. I got the Fried Green Tomato Benedict, and had to take a moment to collect myself after the first bite. The flavors are complex, familiar, and creative; I didn't want my meal to end!! I always recommend CATE to friends and out-of-town visitors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

CHICKEN AND THE EGG is a nice change of place to go you for something a little different. However, it is not a good place for conversation unless you are prepared to YELL at each other. You end up getting conversation bleeds from 2 table away as everyone tend to get louder to over-shadow the fact that they can't hear each other.

The food is not always as you "think" it will be. Example: A Crab Omelet seems like it would be whipped eggs stuffed with crab meat. What you get is a fluffy egg "disc" with some creamy concoction that has some crab meat in it poured on top of the eggs. It actually look s pretty disgusting but taste better than it appears. If you are one of those "texture" types, you won't like it.

For brunch, I requested a cappuccino - since they had a nice commercial machine sitting at the bar. However, the server told me that they were instructed to let guests know that cappuccinos could not be made. I noted that I could see the machine with a steam wand on it sitting at the bar, and he said "oh, they only use that for hot chocolate....sorry!" How odd!!

Cocktails are small and pricey. Although tasty at times, I have yet to feel they had any decent amount of liquor, but more fruit, juices, water, etc. Stick to water, tea or soda.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary with a Sunday brunch. The service was attentive without being over bearing. I had the French toast and bacon with a side order of the has brown casserole. My wife had the poutine.
It was our first visit and it was very good. The restaurant is very large but not loud.
We have added it to our 'list' of restaurants and will be returning for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I really enjoy coming here after my Saturday morning hikes. The mimosas area the best in the city and they're reasonably priced! I really liked the chicken biscuits! They truly give chick-fil-a a run for their money, and they're open on Sundays!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Nice atmosphere and great food! Food was fresh and service was good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

A fun and bright brunch location. The staff work together well to create an awesome guest experience and the food is beyond on-point.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Chicken and the Egg is my favorite place for brunch by far. The staff are always friendly and tentative, the ambiance is perfect, and the food is always wonderful. My favorite thing to order is the fried chicken and french toast. The fried chicken is some of the best I've ever had. Crust is very flavorful while the chicken is perfectly moist. The salty and savory seasoning of the chicken complements the sorghum butter and sweetness of the french toast.

Overall the food is great and the price is very reasonable!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This was my first visit to Chicken and the Egg after seeing an article about it in the AJC. Unfortunately, I will likely not be back.

The food was pretty good but the poor service completely overshadowed it. I took my wife there for brunch as a part of her birthday celebration. My wife could only say "you win some and you lose some" as we walked out of Chicken and the Egg.

The issues began when I first arrived. I had a 1:30PM reservation and walked through the front door at 1:29PM. It seems as if the staff do not understand the concept of "reservations," as we had to wait for 20+ minutes for our table and were seated after everyone else who was in the lobby (and some who walked in after we arrived).

When we were finally seated, it took 5+ minutes for a waiter to take our drink order and an additional 5-10 minutes for our drinks to be delivered (orange juice and Sprite, not a fancy mixed drink).

The french toast that I ordered never made it with the rest of my order. I mentioned this to the runner who brought our food (she said "it's on the way") and I also mentioned it to the original waiter who took our orders (who also replied that it would be there shortly). I slowly ate the rest of my food in hopes that my french toast would be delivered but it never came. I mentioned it again to our waiter about ten minutes later and he acted surprised that it was not yet there, but at no point did he bring it to the table. Eventually, a manager came over while we were paying our check after giving up on my french toast and said the waiter forgot to put in the order and took "full ownership" of the mistake (although he never took ownership when talking to me). I also forgot to mention that we ordered coffee when we sat down and it did not make it to our table until the meal was almost over, and we weren't even given spoons to stir with - we had to wipe off our knives and use them.

Pappadeaux' brunch in Alpharetta is a bit more pricey, but a much better brunch option IMO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love this resturant but super busy for Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My mother had the chicken and waffle, it was luke warm. I had country fried steak and eggs, the fried steak was bland, but all other sides were good.
We were seated near the bar area where the lighting was so dim that it was challenging to read the menu. Our server was sweet but slow. The servers cleaned the tables and served food, which is not hygenic. Overall, it was okay but will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Server was great and so was the food. They need to add some noise reduction panels as it was really really loud in there

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food and great service! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Outstanding service in a friendly atmosphere. The food was excellent. The cheese fritter appetizer was exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 6, 2017

GREAT SERVICE!!! Better than Chick-Fil-A. Food was goos. I attended brunch. Thedefinitely know how to fry some chicken.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic service and food ! We had a reservation and waited about 20 minutes for our table but it was worth it !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was so surprised by the hustle and bustle! Went for a Sunday brunch with girlfriends and had a great first-time experience! The place was 100% capacity but it didn't feel crowded. The booths are cozy, and there are large tables for families who were there after church. Great mimosas! the food was very good - I will definitely go back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Overall our experience was good. Our server was very friendly and helpful with the menu. Our food was delicious. My one and only complaint was were we were seated. We had made reservations for Sunday brunch and we got seated at a booth that easily sat 5 people. In order for us to chat and hear one another (only 2 of us) we had to sit next to each other and our legs were crammed under the table (my husband is 6'6"). I also had sunlight hitting my eyes most of the time which I ended up squinting and wanting to leave from it. The booth also had uneven cushions so I felt lop sided.

Just a hint for the host/hostess consider who you are seating and if the guest has to week just let them know you have the perfect table for them but it would be a few minutes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We selected this spot because of Open Table's top 100 Breakfast List. We loved it! Our server was knowledgeable , friendly, thoughtful, welcoming, but also unobtrusive. Our brunch items were well prepared with delicious flavor combinations. Plus...one the best mimosa's around, at a very reasonable price. We'll be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We came for our anniversary & had a delicous meal! Our servers were awesome & very accommodating. They even brought a candle in the dessert :) This is some of the best food we've had in the Atlanta area in our 4 years of exploring! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I enjoyed having brunch at Chicken and the Egg today. The service and food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Beef stroganoff was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always a go-to family get-together destination. We love the craft cocktails, unique yet comfortable dishes and amazing service!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We visited twice in one week. Both times the food was awesome. The first time the service was excellent. Our server was attentive and made sure everything was perfect. The second time our server seemed distracted. She forgot a drink, then brought the wrong one. Drinks were not regularly refreshed in a timely fashion. One person in our party had to get silverware set from a nearby table. One entree was delayed. Ran out of banana pudding after we ordered it. Did not have another dessert requested. Server brought a wrong dessert. By the time she brought the correct one, the rest of us were finished with ours. If our second experience had been our first we most likely would not have returned. Even though we really liked the food.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food and excellent wine/drink selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I absolute love the place. The staff is outstanding, friendly, helpful, and hospitable. I can't think of a better place for a quite bite, and just hanging out with friends. If you have not tried the place, you are truly doing yourself a huge disservice.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent!!! From out of town visiting my grandmother with my wife and daughter and we had a remarkable experience. Everything was excellent. The food was beyond expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I loved it. I will go back again. The breakfast was awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

'Afternoon nap' is perfect if you can't make a decision, and want to try it all. And, I did want a nap after!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our breakfast at the Chicken and Egg. The breakfast poutine is my favorite with a good cup of coffee and a glass of fresh orange juice. We have tried many of the breakfast places ITP and OTP, this one is definitely worth the drive and is our favorite.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everything we tried was amazing! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I tried Chicken n the Egg after seeing great reviews and ratings. I immediately fell in love when I entered-- the decor is right up my alley. I love a good rustic/industrial scene. I ordered a veggie plate, since I was there for lunch, and none of the sides were bad. None of them were good either. Unfortunately, this place is just a fancy Folks. I will try again before crossing off my list for eternity.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and the food was tasty, with filling portions! Family friendly or date night either way you will love the food, service, and atmosphere!
The Ballance Family- NC

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.