About Chianti Grill - Roseville

2050 Snelling Ave North
Roseville, MN 55113
View Larger Map

Chianti Grill features authentic and contemporary Italian cuisine along with aged angus steaks and fresh seafood. The award winning food is complimented by an extensive wine list featuring selections from California, Italy and around the world. Chianti Grill's friendly service and warm inviting atmosphere make for a memorable experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Daily Happy Hour (Lounge Only) from 2:00pm to 6:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour (Lounge Only) 9:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 644-2808

Website:
http://www.chiantigrill.com/

Catering:
Large party menu service available; off-site catering available by appointment.

Parking Details:
Ample parking, handicap parking

Public Transit:
Bus stop close to building

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining areas for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (651) 644-2808

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Manicotti - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
  • Bruschetta - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
  • Bacon Wrapped Scallops - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
  • Spicy Chicken Penne - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
  • "Butcher's Secret" Sirloin - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
  • Side Of Vegetables Medley - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
  • tortellini - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
  • Crab Cakes - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
  • Hunter's Pasta With Grilled Chicken  - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN

Report a photo problem

Manicotti - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
Bruschetta - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
Bacon Wrapped Scallops - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
Spicy Chicken Penne - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
"Butcher's Secret" Sirloin - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
Side Of Vegetables Medley - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
tortellini - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
Crab Cakes - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN
Hunter's Pasta With Grilled Chicken  - Chianti Grill - Roseville, Roseville, MN

Chianti Grill - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Romantic (60)
Casual (53)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Great for Lunch (48)
Comfort Food (47)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Cozy (46)
Fireplace (40)
Great for Brunch (36)
Good for Groups (36)
Business Meals (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Authentic (27)
Fun (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Outstanding Value (23)
Family Style (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Seasonal (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Healthy (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Disabled Access (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were excellent as usual ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were excellent as usual. Because it was my birthday I got a free desert along with the $10 birthday coupon I get for being a member of their club. The only complaint was having to wait for our reservation 12 minutes past the time, even though we were early.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reservations allowed us to be seated rig ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Reservations allowed us to be seated right away. Good service, food was plentiful, waitress very helpful. Food prices a little high, would like to see lower prices. Otherwise, a very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely excellent service excellent f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely excellent service excellent food I had the duck breast there is only one other place that they do it this well. I wish that they would have it on their menu all the time, it was the special. The two other meals in our group we're just as good The Chianti Grill will be a regular stop for us

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good as always. Great italian and Ameri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Good as always. Great italian and American dishes that are flavorful and delicious. Can't wait to get in again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The atmosphere, decor, and service were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The atmosphere, decor, and service were great, and our server was so sweet and accomodating. However, I have never been that disappointed in food at a restaurant before. I ordered the zuppa di pesce (a seafood stew with tomato sauce) and it was the opposite of fresh. Everything had that strong fishy flavor, not the good kind. Every vegetable on the dish was obviously from a can or badly thawed from frozen (even the diced tomatoes) and I couldn't even bring myself to eat half of it. Wouldn't have been a problem if the soup wasn't 25 DOLLARS. If you charge that much for a seafood dish, it should have at least SOME fresh ingredients. Totally disgusting. Soggy and fishy and gross.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I have been here many times and always o ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I have been here many times and always order the chicken parmesan. This is the first time I was unhappy with my meal. My portion was less than half the usual portion I always get. I would have said something to the server but we did not see the server again until the check showed up. It was also our 15th wedding anniversary and we went here to celebrate because we love this restaurant. We were never even acknowledged that it was our anniversary even though my wife stated so on are OpenTable reservation. Been going to this restaurant at its current location and it's former location for over 16 years now and this is the first time we have ever been disappointed. We chose this restaurant for our anniversary and I wish we would have gone somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Always great food! We eat here a lot and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always great food! We eat here a lot and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive service. Food came quickly an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Attentive service. Food came quickly and was tasty. Noise level was just right, with no blaring music.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, , Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu has changed and we were a bit d ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The menu has changed and we were a bit disappointed that our favorite lunch entree no longer comes with a side of Fettuccine. On the other hand, we both require gluten-free items and the menu offers many excellent choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A great evening meal, as usual. We were ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 9, 2017

A great evening meal, as usual. We were seated by the fireplace -- so warm and romantic. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. He remembered us from a prior visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually come here for Sunday brunch, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We usually come here for Sunday brunch, and I know it is best to sign up or call for reservations, as it is a popular place for this. We had reservations and were seated promptly in one of the nice tall- backed booths, which makes it nice for sound level for visiting. Our waiter was friendly and prompt in removing dishes that we were done with. We especially enjoy the

personalized made omelets at the brunch. For the brunch tables, staff were great at replenishing food items when they got low. A variety of choices, I also enjoyed the thick bacon, and choices of fresh fruit and flavored yogurt. Various breads and desserts like layered cakes and cheese cake items.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Wish salads stil ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and service. Wish salads still had seasame seeds.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined many times and enjoy the gr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Have dined many times and enjoy the great food. Very nice place but twice have had less than good service. Having to ask for an appetizer; for silverware. Server spills water & ice knocking the fork off my plate and not making the rounds for empty water glasses. If your salad plate is picked up with silverware then the dinner plate would need new silverware. These are the little things that make the meal. They just don't seem to be as attentive as the servers at their partner Porterhouse Restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

As always and for any occasion, Chianti ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always and for any occasion, Chianti Grill, Roseville, is outstanding. It is a restaurant that should be on everyone's list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been to the restaurant before for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had been to the restaurant before for a Saturday lunch with a couple's group. The food and service were excellent. So, we decided to go back for our 14th wedding anniversary. The service was "fair," at best. It took us a while to see the server. Then, she took our orders for an appetizer, drinks, and main course. We elected to have a salad with our meal. The salad was served before the appetizer. I had to ask for bread, and getting water refills was a major task. While the food was very good, the overall experience left a bad taste in our mouths. Moreover, while we were leaving, no one at the front desk thanked us for coming. Because of that, we'll never come back for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were seated in a booth near the firep ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were seated in a booth near the fireplace but adjacent to the kitchen. The whole evening time and again we had banging on the wall which we were told was the dishwasher (person, not machine) It did not make our anniversary celebration very pleasant. As we were leaving we realized we had not been offered dessert. We probably would not have had any . I imagine we will come again but be cautious where we are seated.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Sunday brunch is awsome. The chef makes ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Sunday brunch is awsome. The chef makes a great personal omlet

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the years Chianti Grill gives consi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Over the years Chianti Grill gives consistently good service and food. The fireplace is especially lovely in winter. Charming staff too. My only complaint is the occasionally snarky host/hostesses and the lack of special care and attentiveness when ordering off the gluten free menu. On more than one occasion I have been served the regular version. For someone more sensitive it could be a genuine safety issue. I know it's expensive, but an easy fix is to serve gf meals on different colored or shaped dishes. They also have a few staff members that obviously think the whole gf thing is made up and therefore don't view it as a possibly life-threatening allergy. Obviously if you're that sensitive, you can't eat in this type of restaurant, period. But, it would be nice if certain staff members were a little more cautious and respectful. In the end, I will be back. No place is perfect. But Chianti Grill sure is close!

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another good meal, I keep ordering somet ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Another good meal, I keep ordering something different.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, an excellent outlet. Chianti in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall, an excellent outlet. Chianti in Roseville has always been my neighborhood favorite. Staff are polite and accommodating and service is excellent. The music was somewhat loud on that day (12/31), but I was told they had some problem with the volume settings or other. Otherwise, everything else was just great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was fantastic as usual. We go there a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was fantastic as usual. We go there all time and the service and happy hour is so worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are wonderful. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service are wonderful. The specials always seem to be top notch as well as the every day menu. I recommend Chianti highly and will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good Italian and very professional ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good Italian and very professional service. Never disappoints.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service even on New Years ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service even on New Years Eve! My wife had the shrimp and lobster linguini and I had the manicotti! Both were excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for an early new year ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I went for an early new years eve meal. Sue was our waitress (whom we have had before). Her service is excellent and we always love the food here. Enjoy the specialty drinks they are always coming up with also. We can always count on a good experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants! And the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! And the service is always great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great atmosphere! Service wa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere! Service was awesome! This will be a place we go often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined here in the past and have ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have dined here in the past and have always had a great meal and wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and food! Celebrated a bi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Service and food! Celebrated a birthday with desert on the house (chocolate cake exempt). We had a reservation and were seated immediately! Relaxing atmosphere, really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was good. Buffet food was cold, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was good.

Buffet food was cold, both soup and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Birthday lunch

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not bad. A little over priced. $9-10 fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Not bad. A little over priced.

$9-10 for a glass of pretty ordinary wine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Our service was fantastic. They let us k ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our service was fantastic. They let us know they were ready to take our order when we were ready but they didn't hover. Food was outstanding as always. Our favorite Roseville restaurant!

Tags: Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Business Meals,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, nice atmosphere, good wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious food, nice atmosphere, good wine and drink selection. Always a good choice for date night! Good happy hour as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ordered My usual a fillet Medium rare, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Ordered My usual a fillet Medium rare, came out and looked like a 4- 6 0z (it was less than 1/2 thick and well done), first time I have ever been disappointed at Chianti and we have been going since it opened

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service and food. We did not have ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service and food. We did not have to wait long.. Though I wish it were a tad bit quieter. I loved the waitress Kelsea- was fantastic and very efficient!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I have eaten at Chianti Grill on several ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I have eaten at Chianti Grill on several occasions. I always wonder why we go back, we always feel so rushed. In our last visit the server had no personality, rushed us and made menu decisions for us without asking our choice...side, dressing etc. He did not give us time to enjoy our appetizer before bringing our salads,and then our main dish. He was a very inept server

. If I had just this one time to base my opinion to return, or not, I would never return! Our experience was not enjoyable at all. Rushed and stressful more adequately describes our expensive dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Way to noisy

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Way to noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was dry with little flavor. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was dry with little flavor. The service was slow but it was a busy day and expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food ok, service excellent, but front st ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food ok, service excellent, but front staff a huge disappointment. I checked in, gave my name & time of my reservation, was seated, and served. Later I received an email that the Chianti Grill had cancelled my reservation! I telephoned the restaurant, explained the situation to them & they were rude & didn't help me. I had to contact Open Table to get it corrected. I learned that the Chianti Grill mistook my name for another diner by the same name, refused to apologize, and never offered an explanation. I will not be back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.