About Chianti Grill - Burnsville

14296 Plymouth Avenue South
Burnsville, MN 55337
View Larger Map

Chianti Grill features authentic and contemporary Italian cuisine along with aged angus steaks and fresh seafood. The award winning food is complimented by an extensive wine list featuring selections from California, Italy and around the world. Chianti Grill’s friendly, professional service...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm,
Daily Happy Hour (Lounge Only) from 2:00pm to 6:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour (Lounge Only) 9:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat

Cross Street:
Country Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 892-7555

Website:
http://www.chiantigrill.com/

Catering:
Large party menu service. Off-site catering by appointment.

Parking Details:
Ample parking & handicap parking available.

Private Party Contact:
Court Winjum: 9528927555x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salted Caramel Tiramisu
  • Alfredo Passion
  • Chicken Saltambocca
  • Bruschetta
  • lunch buffet
  • Gluten Free Pasta El Fresco
Salted Caramel Tiramisu
Alfredo Passion
Chicken Saltambocca
Bruschetta
lunch buffet
Gluten Free Pasta El Fresco

Chianti Grill - Burnsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Best Food
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Best Service
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
2 More
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Burnsville ›

special occasion (162)
neighborhood gem (92)
great for brunch (81)
See All
good for groups (80)
great for lunch (72)
romantic (67)
fit for foodies (66)
notable wine list (60)
great for outdoor dining (41)
kid-friendly (21)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and service was outstandi ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service was outstanding! Kudos to Austin!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I suggest this for OpenTable allow a cho ...

Dined 5 days ago

I suggest this for OpenTable allow a choice when making reservation on your website to choose a table or a booth

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff and the food were excepti ...

Dined 5 days ago

The wait staff and the food were exceptional. We requested and were seated out on the patio because it was a great evening. The patio is located next to a busy road, so there was some loud trucks going by, but it was not loud enough to disrupt our conversation. The food was prepared perfectly, had totally awesome flavor and texture, and was presented well. The wait staff were there when you needed them, and not when you didn't. They were all very pleasant and knew their product well, and answered our few questions with complete knowledge of the ingredients. Our party of 4 enjoyed the evening, the food, and the environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Traditional Italian eatery. Food is deli ...

Dined 6 days ago

Traditional Italian eatery. Food is delicious and well-made. Creamy sauces, many pasta choices and good steaks. Good wine and drinks selection. This is not a good choice if you are on a strict health diet.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended for Fathers day. Excellent ...

Dined 7 days ago

We attended for Fathers day. Excellent quality and variety of food items. Attentive and warm server.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited for Father's day brunch. Bru ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We visited for Father's day brunch. Brunch can be a little hit or miss since it has to be kept hot and for a large volume of people. This was outstanding...we will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food preparation and taste has gone way ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food preparation and taste has gone way down. Went on Fathers day and we were disappointed in the food. Had been there many times before but seemed to have gone down. They served prime rib but the slicing was so small couldn't even see it on our plate.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chianti Grille has one of the best brunc ...

Dined 7 days ago

Chianti Grille has one of the best brunches around, at a very reasonable value. Made to order omelets and a wide variety of other tasty treats. I find the food and service consistently great.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have eaten at Chianti Grill numerous t ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I have eaten at Chianti Grill numerous times - both for lunch and dinner. The drinks are great, the specials are truly excellent and the service friendly and efficient. The weekday buffet is an outstanding value. I am amazed at how excellent the soups and pasta are for the price!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food! Recommend the spicy tenderl ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food! Recommend the spicy tenderloin tips!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Could use a bit more friendly service an ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Could use a bit more friendly service and attentiveness' at entering the door and from bartender service. Bar bill was almost as much as supper so they need to treat you like waitress's do. We even got an appetizer w/o plates or silverware. Food was good as always though. A feeling of disorganization from hostess's even with reservation, but arrived early. Went to bar for drink and appetizer and came back to be seated and had to wait for a table.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Took a long time (5+ mins) for anyone on ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Took a long time (5+ mins) for anyone on the floor to acknowledge us after being seated, although it was only 5:30 and not busy. Nice server once she did arrive. Entrees just weren't very good this time, and we always order the same 4 meals.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On first impression I liked the design a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

On first impression I liked the design and decor of your restaurant. Secondly, you have a nice variety on the menu at comparable prices. Your waiters and waitresses, in my experience of eating there 4-5 times, are very attentive and friendly. Glad to see you still have walleye on the menu, but the lunch portion seemed quite small. Otherwise the food is very good, and I always look forward to dining there (Burnsville location).

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chianti Grill continues to be a reliable ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Chianti Grill continues to be a reliable, excellent lunch, brunch, and dinner choice for my father and me. Food quality is always great, service is excellent, the facilities are always clean and bright. Please keep up the good work. Folks, you don't have to drive to Hennepin and Ramsey county for a good steak!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I was given a recommendation by two co-w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I was given a recommendation by two co-workers that this would be a great place to go from my birthday dinner. I did put down on my reservation that it was a birthday celebration and that I would like to sit outside. We were not acknowledged either of these when we checked in. It was a wonderful dinner and dessert but was upset that there was a place to put special requests but it seemed to be not looked at by the restaurant. I would let others know that the food and service was very good. Thank you for letting me do this survey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and service!!!

Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome food and service!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and drinks. Pleasant evening f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Good food and drinks. Pleasant evening for celebrating our 51st wedding anniversary.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's one of our favorite places, not onl ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It's one of our favorite places, not only do they send me a discount coupon for my birthday, they also give you a free dessert! Love it here!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Five friends gathered for a Birthday lun ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Five friends gathered for a Birthday lunch at Chianti I had reserved a table for five and it was waiting when we got there. We all decided to order the buffet, and it was excellent. The food was kept warm, and replaced as it started to go down. Our waitress very friendly, and provided us with outstanding service. We will certainly return for lunch again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner to celebrate ou ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

My wife and I had dinner to celebrate our 47th anniversary. We both thought the place was crowded for a Tuesday evening, but we had prior reservations so were able to get in right on time even though there was a number of people waiting for tables. We've celebrated our last 3 anniversaries at the Chianti Grill and always enjoy ourselves. The food was great, as usual, and service was spot on. We will be back again, even when it isn't our anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Greatly enjoy dining at Chianti....Wonde ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Greatly enjoy dining at Chianti....Wonderful Brunch and a great value....love comimg here with friends. Nice menu, good food, good wine list and lovely patio.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had never visited Chianti Grill and h ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had never visited Chianti Grill and have been meaning to try and get in as we heard it was very good. We were not disappointed. We had a reservation and arrived early and they got us in and didn't make us wait for our time. Our service was very pleasant. She was attentive, polite and very helpful when we had questions. The food was very good. It is a bit pricey so it would not be a place I would frequent on a regular basis. But for special occasions it is a must.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I can't say much. Expect good food, fri ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I can't say much. Expect good food, friendly service, and good ambiance. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Save your money

Dined on June 10, 2016

I am very confident in my review of Chianti Grill as we've eaten there many times. My husband always orders one of their steaks. Not one time have their cooks been able to properly grill his steak. This particular evening, he ordered the steak medium. He received a burned steak which was rare in the center. As this is a common theme at this establishment, it's clear that whomever is in charge of grilling steaks does not have any sort of training and is essentially destroying a $25 cut of beef.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Manicotti - their cheese is ama ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Love the Manicotti - their cheese is amazing! My friend had the lunch buffet and she loved the choices!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The place is a nice place to go, it is a ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The place is a nice place to go, it is a little bit spendy but most of the food is good. It would be nice to have a variety once and awhile.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Chianti Grill fills the bill

Dined on June 5, 2016

Met friends here on a spur of the minute get-together. Table was ready early. Service was superb. Noise level was fine - could actually hear our dining partners on a Saturday night. AND, the food was great, as usual.

Tags: outdoor eating, special occasions
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was simply a very nice night out for us.

Dined on May 29, 2016

We went out to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We had been there one other time for a party and we really enjoyed the food. To me it is unusual that a steak house has good pasta, but it was really good. That's what we had at the party and that's what we ordered this time. I can't say how much we enjoyed the food. The server was good, stopping back several times to check on us. When we had finished the meal, there was no pressure to buy a desert. Rather a simple, "Is there anything else I can get for you?" We did get a desert, and I would highly recommend the Chocolate Volcano Cake. The chocolate was still hot. I'd rate this an overall five stars except for the noise level. However, that is to be expected as the place was packed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on May 29, 2016

Unfortunately, we made our reservation through Open Table which didn't tell us that our only table option was a high-top. As we had two elderly family members with us, this was not going to work. The staff at Chianti went out of their way to find a way to accommodate us - even to the point of offering to move us midway through our meal.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite neighborhood ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants where we are never disappointed in either the food or service. Our server tonight was excellent

food4
ambience5
service5

Our foursome had four different dishes, ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our foursome had four different dishes, and each was delicious, warm and excellent in presentation. Highly recommended! We sat at the bar later and really enjoyed the local feel and the very friendly (and generous) bar staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great place. Always enjoy the food and atmosphere.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch buffet provides good food and good ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Lunch buffet provides good food and good value. Restaurant is not excessively pound so excellent for visiting.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoy Chianti Grill every now and the ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We enjoy Chianti Grill every now and then but it's been awhile since our last visit. We typically start off with the crab claw appetizer, which are 6 small claws with drawn butter. A perfectly light way to start the meal. While we weren't particularly hungry, eating a little later than usual, the evening special was hard to resist. Grilled halibut is a favorite of mine and Chianti prepared it on a bed of corn risotto. It was outstanding. The halibut was cooked perfectly, staying moist and succulent, and the risotto turned out to be a nice complement to the meal. Our salads were nothing exceptional but decent and they do have a very nice vinaigrette. Our server Taylor, was wonderful. Upbeat, energetic, and chatty - without being overbearing. Easy to find and checked back just enough! Excellent service and I may have found a new favorite server! In all, a nice trip back to a local favorite!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food here once again - celebra ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food here once again - celebrating our anniversary. Waitress was knowledgeable and attentive. Highly recommend!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BRUNCH

Dined on May 15, 2016

First time having brunch at this neighborhood gem! I had heard favorable reviews about their brunch and will have to say it was even better than I was expecting. Delightfully, delicate pastries and hearty omelets and vast selections for even the finicky diners. Brunch fare and lunch fare. Exceptional value for the quality. Definitely will be back as will my friends!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

It's a beautiful restaurant with consist ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

It's a beautiful restaurant with consistently good food! My only disappointment is the server never offered us the specials. We saw them as we were leaving--including the halibut I wish we he been told about, and which I would have absolutely ordered.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but noisy

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was good but very noisy the nite we were there. Hard to visit.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and excellent service

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and excellent service

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed this time

Dined on May 8, 2016

Usually very good, this Mother's Day, hot food Buffet was significantly low ...

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.