About Chianti Grill - Burnsville

14296 Plymouth Avenue South
Burnsville, MN 55337
View Larger Map

Chianti Grill features authentic and contemporary Italian cuisine along with aged angus steaks and fresh seafood. The award winning food is complimented by an extensive wine list featuring selections from California, Italy and around the world. Chianti Grill’s friendly, professional service...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm,
Daily Happy Hour (Lounge Only) from 2:00pm to 6:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour (Lounge Only) 9:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat

Cross Street:
Country Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 892-7555

Website:
http://www.chiantigrill.com/

Catering:
Large party menu service. Off-site catering by appointment.

Parking Details:
Ample parking & handicap parking available.

Private Party Contact:
Court Winjum: 9528927555x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chianti Grill - Burnsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Best Food
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
4 More
Best Service
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Best Value
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Southern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Burnsville ›

special occasion (168)
neighborhood gem (98)
good for groups (90)
See All
romantic (84)
great for brunch (79)
great for lunch (77)
fit for foodies (75)
notable wine list (65)
great for outdoor dining (39)
kid-friendly (25)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (5)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite neighborhood ...

Dined 2 days ago

This is one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants where we are never disappointed in either the food or service. Our server tonight was excellent

food4
ambience5
service5

Our foursome had four different dishes, ...

Dined 3 days ago

Our foursome had four different dishes, and each was delicious, warm and excellent in presentation. Highly recommended! We sat at the bar later and really enjoyed the local feel and the very friendly (and generous) bar staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch buffet provides good food and good ...

Dined 3 days ago

Lunch buffet provides good food and good value. Restaurant is not excessively pound so excellent for visiting.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoy Chianti Grill every now and the ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We enjoy Chianti Grill every now and then but it's been awhile since our last visit. We typically start off with the crab claw appetizer, which are 6 small claws with drawn butter. A perfectly light way to start the meal. While we weren't particularly hungry, eating a little later than usual, the evening special was hard to resist. Grilled halibut is a favorite of mine and Chianti prepared it on a bed of corn risotto. It was outstanding. The halibut was cooked perfectly, staying moist and succulent, and the risotto turned out to be a nice complement to the meal. Our salads were nothing exceptional but decent and they do have a very nice vinaigrette. Our server Taylor, was wonderful. Upbeat, energetic, and chatty - without being overbearing. Easy to find and checked back just enough! Excellent service and I may have found a new favorite server! In all, a nice trip back to a local favorite!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food here once again - celebra ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food here once again - celebrating our anniversary. Waitress was knowledgeable and attentive. Highly recommend!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BRUNCH

Dined on May 15, 2016

First time having brunch at this neighborhood gem! I had heard favorable reviews about their brunch and will have to say it was even better than I was expecting. Delightfully, delicate pastries and hearty omelets and vast selections for even the finicky diners. Brunch fare and lunch fare. Exceptional value for the quality. Definitely will be back as will my friends!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

It's a beautiful restaurant with consist ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

It's a beautiful restaurant with consistently good food! My only disappointment is the server never offered us the specials. We saw them as we were leaving--including the halibut I wish we he been told about, and which I would have absolutely ordered.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but noisy

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was good but very noisy the nite we were there. Hard to visit.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and excellent service

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and excellent service

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed this time

Dined on May 8, 2016

Usually very good, this Mother's Day, hot food Buffet was significantly low ...

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Chianti grill can always be counted on f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Chianti grill can always be counted on for overall exceptional experience! We went mother's day and were seated immediately at our reservation time. I feel like the brunch buffet was a great value that day also. The food choices were amazing!

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Mother's day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We rate the venue as adequate for the price of the brunch. We were seated in the bar area and had lines of people for the brunch offering hanging over us as we ate. As an Italian restaurant, you would think they would showcase their offerings for potential future clients. The pastas were just so/so. The hand made omelets were very good. The service was adequate. It was busy and I feel they did not care if you were happy as there were many waiting for any available seats. I will look around in the future for other available brunches.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner was very tasty and always is when ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dinner was very tasty and always is when we eat here. However I have to say that the "upgraded" balsamic gorgonzola salad is pretty lacking in flavor. How about adding candied walnuts and/sliced pears to make the salad memorable.

food5
ambience4
service4

The staff are welcoming and the food is ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The staff are welcoming and the food is wonderful. I generally have a pasta - this time Penne Toscana which was delicious! He had Seafood Canaloni which he couldn't get enough of. The only drawback is that we're so full (because it's so good we eat too much) that we don't have room for their delicious desserts!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at Chianti Grill!

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I met some friends the other night at CG. As always, it's a great place to sit outside with a drink or dinner on nice days, and the inside ambiance is great too. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The food and wine are fantastic. A good selection of wines, beer, or the harder stuff. If you're in the south Metro of MSP/STP, you cannot go wrong here at Chianti Grill!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

disappointing experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

Had reservations for 12:30pm Sunday for a birthday dinner. Despite reservations, still had a bit of a wait though restaurant did not seem too busy. We asked for menus but were told (for the first time) that menu service was not available until after 2:00 pm--only brunch was being served. We were advised we could come back later, but that wasn't a viable option for us. I ordered coffee, black, my wife just wanted water. When we returned from our trip to the brunch line we both had coffee and I had a half dozen creamer cups surrounding my cup on the saucer. The coffee was lukewarm. In fact , most of the items from the buffet that were supposed to be hot were only lukewarm. The two pasta dishes were in a cream sauce, but neither had much flavor. A number of the items that were supposed to be available were not refilled in a timely fashion. The fresh fruit tray was badly dessicated and not refilled while we were there. The dessert table was also left sparsely filled. As we were leaving another couple was coming in and when they found out no menu dinners were available, promptly left. ( A wise decision we should probably have followed!)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What's not to like?

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was excellent, as was our server. Portions were more than adequate, even surprising. The atmosphere is something between a castle and a library, but in a good way . Professional service staff, but not stuffy. Have eaten there perhaps a half dozen times over the past couple of years, and always have been pleased.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great waiter!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Birthday dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went for Mother-in-Laws birthday dinner. Second year in a row she has requested CG. Great dinner for the adults along with our two teenage boys. Always have a good experience there. Food was great. Atmosphere is not loud although it's not quiet either. Service was really good as always. Went there once for brunch and everyone loved it. I think my son ate 6 omelets. Great wine menu.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food is always good.

Dined on April 26, 2016

They always produce a good meal. They have a very extensive menu to choose from, service is always has very good. This is a great place for a special outing and for groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Business dinner for 6. Everyone was plea ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Business dinner for 6. Everyone was pleased with the food and evening overall. Very diverse menu, which is great. Recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We are never disappointed when we come here, the food and service is outstanding and the value is just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nothing special

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was ok. My biggest complaint was we felt very rushed. Our waitress was VERY friendly and pleasant but we only had our salad for a minute or two and our entre was at our table. Immediately upon finishing our dinner we were asked about desert, and when we declined we were given our bill.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Why I always return to Chianti Grill

Dined on April 21, 2016

Time and time again I find myself returning to Chianti Grill because of the delicious food, served hot, by excellent waitstaff. The ambiance is comfortable and casual, yet refined. My husband and I live nearby, so when we want a pleasant evening out, or a Sunday brunch, Chianti Grill is a no-brainer.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been here several times. This visit ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Have been here several times. This visit was for my daughters birthday. As usual the food was great. (have never had a bad meal here) and the service was outstanding. Always on the top of the list for places to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Birthday

Dined on April 17, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner and drinks. We did mention to our waitress that it was my birthday. After we were done with dinner she asked if we wanted any dessert. Didn't mention my birthday. Somewhat disappointing because other times we've been there they recognized it! Very minor, but..... Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

We just went for brunch and were impressed with selection, quality and price. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Brunch!!!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Friends meet monthly for Sunday Brunch, only at Chianti Grill. BEST selection of awesome food. Especially like the made to order omelettes! The atmosphere is wonderful- it is always great food, great drink, great atmosphere inside and out. HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for a great meal. Fast and high ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Thanks for a great meal. Fast and high quality!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not my best experience at Chianti Grill

Dined on April 16, 2016

Having frequented Chianti Grill many times in the past, this last visit left me somewhat disappointed. While we were warmly greeted and quickly seated having a 6:45 reservation for 6, we were placed in the middle of a large room where a table for 4 and a table for 2 were pushed together, 3 chairs per side. The seating was tight for the two people in the middle and the smaller tabled rocked back and forth causing one patron to spill food on themselves. The traffic that paraded so close to our table made for an uncomfortable experience. The server was great and did a good job touching bases, answering questions and being patient with us giving us time to visit before and after our meal. We had drinks and entrees, nothing else. The entrees were good, but not "great". Everyone ate thier food and were satisfied with the portion sizes, but I dont think any of us would rush back to dine again given this latest experience. I have always considered Chianti a great place, but it feels as though they are satisfied with peoples historical perspective and didnt seem too interested in providing an experience to retain me as a future customer. I will probably return in the future having had far better experiences in the past, but not any time soon. However, another visit like the most recent one will be my last.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really love this restaurant but the po ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

I really love this restaurant but the portions seem to be getting smaller and the prices are

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Reliable

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Lasagna was really delicious. Enjoyed our lunch as we always do. We can count on this one.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Gluten free ravioli

Dined on April 12, 2016

I had the gluten free ravioli and was disappointed. It was far too heavy with cream and little meat. Looking for a light sauce with more meat .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thrilled with our dining experience

Dined on April 12, 2016

The service was great, the staff was engaging and very professional and the food was outstanding. I would not have any reservations about recommending the Chianti Grill to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were there for Sunday brunch. The fo ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We were there for Sunday brunch. The food was quite forgettable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch is a Amazing value and great vari ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Brunch is a Amazing value and great variety.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was great. We were there last ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our server was great. We were there last Saturday with a 7:45 reservation under Fuller. I don't remember her name. Great service, able to make recommendations, and knew the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2

While our dinners were wonderful as usua ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

While our dinners were wonderful as usual, we felt very rushed with the service. We hadn't finished our salads before the entrees came. I go to Chianti for a nice relaxing dinner, but this was very rushed.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was adequate at best. Very small po ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was adequate at best. Very small portions and not much flavor. The dessert was great, best part of the meal.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food

Dined on April 1, 2016

My steak was a little undercooked, therefore, not hot like I like it. The restaurant offered to cook me a new one but I knew I would be bringing leftovers home so I declined their offer. Our waiter, xviare (sp) was very good. We had an appetizer, salad, filet, dessert and after dinner drinks. We really like this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.