About Chianti Cafe & Restaurant 17th Ave Uptown

1438 17 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB T2T 0C8
View Larger Map

At Chianti we believe that our past and continuing success is a result of our commitment to provide:



The best possible Italian dining experience

The most professional, friendly service

An attractive, comfortable setting

The best possible prices

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday - Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
14th St SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 229-1600

Website:
http://www.chianticafe.ca/17-index.htm

Catering:
We can provide take-out requests for up to 200 people. For more information, please contact the restaurant

Private Party Facilities:
Chianti can accommodate groups up to 100 people, including a custom menu that suits your price range. Please email us for our set menus.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 5878303188x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chianti Cafe & Restaurant 17th Ave Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.9

ambience

3.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
41 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

enjoyable experience but the restaurant ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

enjoyable experience but the restaurant could use some TLC. Is looking old and rather shabby. Food was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was not too bad...it is usually con ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was not too bad...it is usually consistent every time we go. They seemed short staffed so it took longer for everything.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

A quieter night and the chef got the sau ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A quieter night and the chef got the sauce on the veal special just perfect. The salmon my partner had was very good (ask for the sauce on the side). Our server was very attentive and friendly. Thanks Patrick

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good value for the money. Attentive wait ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good value for the money. Attentive wait staff, although once our meal was done, it took far too long to get our bill.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Typical was good and enjoyed the meal an ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Typical was good and enjoyed the meal and the wine. Outdoor has a new patio was was worth the visit

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was definitely not a night to remember. The waiter, through either overwork or just not listening, managed to mess up a number of things. The appetizer was served lukewarm. The pasta was not only lukewarm, but also overcooked. I won't be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Good as usual.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The hostess at the door was disorganized however our waiter took over and he was outstanding. Kept everything running smoothly and made recommendations when asked to do so.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Bad food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was low quality and tasted like food from the grocery store not homemade. The beer selection was very small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Chianti was great! The atmosphere has to ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Chianti was great! The atmosphere has totally changed, it is really nice! We ordered the house Vino which was served in a beautiful glass decanter.

Apps were fast and delicious !! The main course meals were massive... And for the price very good!

The server was very attentive and made excellent recommendations. Look forward to going back again! Thanks Chianti!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Chiantis was not very good

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been to Chianti before and have always really enjoyed it. We chose to go there for Valentine's Day and we were very disappointed. The food was terrible and this service wasn't much better:(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Consistent food, but service could be better

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is consistent. I know what to expect everything I go. Unfortunately, nowhere was it indicated online, when we made reservations, or when we were seated that they were not offering the Sunday pasta deal that day. Waiter seemed preoccupied with socializing with other staff. Did not ask us about the food. He took a long time to get food and the bill to us.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Valentine's Day

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Got there at 5 for an early Valentine's supper. Seemed like staff wasn't really prepared, little things like water at the table and lighting a candle didn't occur until mid meal. Seemed like the staff wasn't really dailed in. Overall mediocre service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Quiet night

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Very good specials and the quality is as good or better than some higher priced restaurants. My wife an I were well looked after and the owner always stops by to see how things are going. We had the place nearly to ourselves and we'd love to see others enjoying this very good establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Classic Italian. Delicious as always. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

Classic Italian. Delicious as always. Thanks Chianti :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food, service and drinks were awesome. W ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Food, service and drinks were awesome. Will be back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

Had dinner this past Sunday with a group of 7. We all ordered pasta, but 4/7 orders had some changes to it (rose sauce instead of cream sauce, red sauce instead of curry sauce, etc...) and our waiter got all our orders correct even though he didn't write any of it down. He was polite, attentive and very efficient. I don't remember his name, but he was in his early 20's, tall and Asian. Waters were always filled and dirty plates were removed quickly.

We were all happy with our pasta dishes. We were also very surprised at the serving sizes. We have eaten at the Chianti's on 32nd and at Crowfoot and their serving sizes are probably only 2/3 of what this location served us.

Will definitely come back to this location when I'm really hungry for pasta :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Service levels are poor

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

The server neglected to confirm if we we were waiting for additional guests and we waited for at least 20 minutes before being offered drinks and appetizers. The server also neglected to offer additional beverages including water after the initial serving. The server neglected to visit the table to ensure that all was satisfactory. It is very unfortunate as we used to frequently visit this location and had very fond memories of our experiences there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great Italian food, poor service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Everyone was looking forward to going to Chianti's but no one thought the service was very good. We couldn't hear what the server was saying and he would just stand there staring at us. Bus staff didn't clear the dishes. We were offered bread 20 minutes after paying the bill. (Not sure what that was all about.) Bravo, Chefs! Too bad, Servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Awesome server

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

We had a great time at the downtown Chianti's! Our server was very attentive and was very eagar to please! We had an awesome meal and would definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Understaffed

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

Attended pasta frenzy night (tuesday) and from the time we sat down to left it wasn't the most memorable time. Waited almost 10 minutes before the server came to take a drink order. Then an additional 10 minutes to take a food order. We received bread and asked for some more and he forgot. Had to track down someone else to get more after waiting 20 minutes. After 30-40 minutes the food arrived, that was the best part of the time. The manager did offer desert for the "bread" mix up.

Looking around the restaurant was packed and only 2 servers tending to tables. It appears that everyone was suffering delays in getting things. I think they were very understaffed.

The food is amazing and full of flavour. If your going to have discounted pasta nights and especially in the summer. Have more people there to serve tables

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

I had a lunch meeting

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 12, 2015

I had a lunch meeting and it took 1hr and 15m to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

let down by lack of mothers day specials

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

thought when I booked the reservation it said mothers day specials i.e. brunch .... nothing even had a chalk board with pricing for pasta on sale that they would not honour and was on the door on the way out as well , won't be back

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Tasty and affordable.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Server was brilliant. Food was of a higher quality than the menu prices led me to expect. Am awfully tempted to eat there regularly and get fat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

good place

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 26, 2015

great value, great portion. taste pretty good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Culinary arts at its best!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Food was spectacular it didn't quite a 5 star rating for me just because the appetizer was too small and overpriced... We ordered the Scampi which is 4 small baby tails of lobster for $12 it was more like a sample than an appetizer. The ambience would've been better if people didn't bring their kids. We were having a nice romantic Valentines dinner until a table with kids were seated beside us. But overall 4/5, Gordon Ramsay would be proud!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nothing Special

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

My partner and I came to Chianti for Valentines day dinner. The only reservation we could make was for 5 pm and there was only two other couples in the restaurant at this time. We were seated in a converted 'closet' space... It felt like a back room and we promptly seated ourselves to an open part of the restaurant. The bread was dry and not like foccacia at all... The deep fried zucchini appetizer was very delicious however, the lasagna was a fail. Mediocre at best... I would try a different place next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Service was amazing, food was nice and hot. Not super cramped like the willow park location which is nice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family Dinner

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

Great service, wonderful patience & accomodations for little kids ( 4 & under) and yummy food. We were not rushed, but everything came well prepared and with time to enjoy. Kids all LOVED the 'black sauce' for the bread!

Thanks, again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

italy feel

 
·Dined on January 25, 2015

Our first impression was great. We were seated quickly and served well. The food was good and the menu was huge.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Waitress was very nice and friendly but ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 15, 2014

Waitress was very nice and friendly but service was slow. we stood at the front for 10min before anyone acknowledged we were there. Drinks and bread were slow to come out but the food was fabulous so all was forgiven in the end.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Chef's specials DELICIOUS, regular menu great too

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on November 28, 2014

This was the original Chianti's and still has the same menu as the other locations but also has the Chef's specials which are unique for this location. We had a friend in from out of town and wanted to go to this area....you can't go wrong with Chianti's and this still holds true.

We thought we would go for the regular menu but all three of us were enticed by the Chef's Specials. We were not disappointed. The combination of chicken breast rolls stuffed with spinach and lite ricotta and covered thinly with a delicious white sauce was truly a heavenly tasteful sensation. This was accompanied by lightly boiled carrots there were tasty and cooked "just right" as well as roast potatoes (nice and crispy on the outside) and lightly boiled broccoli.

Soooo delicious...

We didn't have room for dessert but were so happy we had chosen this restaurant and hope the chef keeps this dish on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

wineanddine

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

The fusilli olio with my veal was wonderful. The veal was done medium just as I like it. The chicken special with spinach and squash rolled inside was great according to my wife. The salads dressing were better this time out. Less oil on the Mista and the Spinach salad dressing was perfect. The chefs and owners continue to improve their product.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Weekly salmon special was excellent! Hea ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Weekly salmon special was excellent! Healthy portion and well prepared. Very busy before the hockey game, but service remained efficient. Appreciate the variety of good wines available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rarely disappoints!

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

Another lovely date night. Friendly service, as always. Weekly specials are interesting & varied. Wine selection is growing regularly. Thanks for the yummy new Malbec, Brad!

See you all again in a few weeks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Not quite there

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 21, 2014

The atmosphere here is not great. It has a hollow feel to the room, and the music was bad top 20 songs on low volume. Waiter was very friendly, and the good was fine for the price you pay. My boyfriend ordered a pasta dish with clams, and they arrived very sandy and apparently not well cleaned. Honestly, pay the extra cash and go somewhere nice of you're looking for a memorable meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Thanks, again!

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Another wonderful 'date night'. We love the specials and Bobo's way with a sauce! Great service, as always! Specials are becoming more varied and the pastas remain yummy!! Count on us again, this week!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 26, 2014

Our waitress was very lovely...and tall!! The food was delicious and the portions were perfect. I love Chianti!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our evening at Chianti - good ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 14, 2014

We enjoyed our evening at Chianti - good food, friendly attentive service. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

wineanddine

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 22, 2014

Very attentive service and the owner makes a point of speaking with patrons. They are reviving some past menu favorites. Loved the Modigliani (seafood in a curry cream sauce on linguini).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

New owners

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 1, 2014

The new management is very focused on making improvements. They are also looking at changing the wine menu and going back to having specials that rotate more often. The servers are very personable and attentive and we always have a good time. Affordable and good for couples, groups or families.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.