Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About Chianti Cafe & Restaurant 17th Ave Uptown

At Chianti we believe that our past and continuing success is a result of our commitment to provide:



The best possible Italian dining experience

The most professional, friendly service

An attractive, comfortable setting

The best possible prices

1438 17 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB T2T 0C8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday, Sunday: 1:00pm - 10:00 pm
Holidays: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
14th St SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 229-1600

Website:
http://www.chianticafe.ca/17-index.htm

Catering:
We can provide take-out requests for up to 200 people. For more information, please contact the restaurant

Private Party Facilities:
Chianti can accommodate groups up to 100 people, including a custom menu that suits your price range. Please email us for our set menus.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (587) 830-3188

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Chianti Cafe & Restaurant 17th Ave Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for a Date (3)
See All
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
51 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our waiter was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service, great food! The waitress reviewed our order by memory - impressive. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was good for the price. Found the service was "okay". Not bad but we were the ones that asked for refills on water and pop. Food came out correct and the price was right. Was expecting a bit more attention to our table. I'd go back, in no way was it to the point of bad service. It just could have been better.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Highly disappointing evening meal. We have visited this restaurant off and on for its entire life cycle of about 35 years. This was the worst ...............

First impression was that the floor was dirty and unsweeped. Service was actually pretty good from an attentive young man. However, the meal was totally uninteresting. The calamari was nicely cooked but completely tasteless. We are unsure how you make a caesar salad totally bland. Soggy lettuce with cheese would be a kind description. My saltimbocca was again completely bland with a brown sauce of unknown origins.

We made comments to our server but no response from anyone. We will not waste our time or money again at this location.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good was great but they were very busy for Valentine's Day and I had to flag down a server after we had not been approached in 15 minutes. Our server did a great job. Super noisy as there were so many people and some very loud ones!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The best Caesar salad in Canada!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I was very happy to enjoy a great Christmas Eve feast at Chiantis. It had been years since I'd been there and it still produces delicious italian food.
For the purposes of constructive criticism they do need to update the decor to match the quality of the food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I brought our kids (5 & 3) to dinner on Christmas Eve. Kids menu was pretty good. Lots of options on the adult menu as well as the daily specials and chefs specials. Overall a good experience (although both my and my wife's meals was a bit "garlicy"),

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A classic with great food at reasonable prices. I have loved this place from the first time I went in the 90's.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wonderful meal. 10 of us with 4 kids under 6 - fast, lots to eat and special requests accommodated. Thanks, Natalie, Brad, Patrick and t-Rex for the wonderful tomato swans!!

The kids always love it here. Would definitely go again with the whole crew!

Patti & Kevin

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 18, 2016

enjoyable experience but the restaurant could use some TLC. Is looking old and rather shabby. Food was good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was not too bad...it is usually consistent every time we go. They seemed short staffed so it took longer for everything.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

A quieter night and the chef got the sauce on the veal special just perfect. The salmon my partner had was very good (ask for the sauce on the side). Our server was very attentive and friendly. Thanks Patrick

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good value for the money. Attentive wait staff, although once our meal was done, it took far too long to get our bill.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Typical was good and enjoyed the meal and the wine. Outdoor has a new patio was was worth the visit

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was definitely not a night to remember. The waiter, through either overwork or just not listening, managed to mess up a number of things. The appetizer was served lukewarm. The pasta was not only lukewarm, but also overcooked. I won't be rushing back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 9, 2016

The hostess at the door was disorganized however our waiter took over and he was outstanding. Kept everything running smoothly and made recommendations when asked to do so.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was low quality and tasted like food from the grocery store not homemade. The beer selection was very small

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Chianti was great! The atmosphere has totally changed, it is really nice! We ordered the house Vino which was served in a beautiful glass decanter.
Apps were fast and delicious !! The main course meals were massive... And for the price very good!
The server was very attentive and made excellent recommendations. Look forward to going back again! Thanks Chianti!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been to Chianti before and have always really enjoyed it. We chose to go there for Valentine's Day and we were very disappointed. The food was terrible and this service wasn't much better:(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is consistent. I know what to expect everything I go. Unfortunately, nowhere was it indicated online, when we made reservations, or when we were seated that they were not offering the Sunday pasta deal that day. Waiter seemed preoccupied with socializing with other staff. Did not ask us about the food. He took a long time to get food and the bill to us.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Got there at 5 for an early Valentine's supper. Seemed like staff wasn't really prepared, little things like water at the table and lighting a candle didn't occur until mid meal. Seemed like the staff wasn't really dailed in. Overall mediocre service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Very good specials and the quality is as good or better than some higher priced restaurants. My wife an I were well looked after and the owner always stops by to see how things are going. We had the place nearly to ourselves and we'd love to see others enjoying this very good establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 14, 2015

Classic Italian. Delicious as always. Thanks Chianti :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Food, service and drinks were awesome. Will be back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 14, 2015

Had dinner this past Sunday with a group of 7. We all ordered pasta, but 4/7 orders had some changes to it (rose sauce instead of cream sauce, red sauce instead of curry sauce, etc...) and our waiter got all our orders correct even though he didn't write any of it down. He was polite, attentive and very efficient. I don't remember his name, but he was in his early 20's, tall and Asian. Waters were always filled and dirty plates were removed quickly.
We were all happy with our pasta dishes. We were also very surprised at the serving sizes. We have eaten at the Chianti's on 32nd and at Crowfoot and their serving sizes are probably only 2/3 of what this location served us.
Will definitely come back to this location when I'm really hungry for pasta :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2015

The server neglected to confirm if we we were waiting for additional guests and we waited for at least 20 minutes before being offered drinks and appetizers. The server also neglected to offer additional beverages including water after the initial serving. The server neglected to visit the table to ensure that all was satisfactory. It is very unfortunate as we used to frequently visit this location and had very fond memories of our experiences there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 30, 2015

Everyone was looking forward to going to Chianti's but no one thought the service was very good. We couldn't hear what the server was saying and he would just stand there staring at us. Bus staff didn't clear the dishes. We were offered bread 20 minutes after paying the bill. (Not sure what that was all about.) Bravo, Chefs! Too bad, Servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 27, 2015

We had a great time at the downtown Chianti's! Our server was very attentive and was very eagar to please! We had an awesome meal and would definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 22, 2015

Attended pasta frenzy night (tuesday) and from the time we sat down to left it wasn't the most memorable time. Waited almost 10 minutes before the server came to take a drink order. Then an additional 10 minutes to take a food order. We received bread and asked for some more and he forgot. Had to track down someone else to get more after waiting 20 minutes. After 30-40 minutes the food arrived, that was the best part of the time. The manager did offer desert for the "bread" mix up.

Looking around the restaurant was packed and only 2 servers tending to tables. It appears that everyone was suffering delays in getting things. I think they were very understaffed.

The food is amazing and full of flavour. If your going to have discounted pasta nights and especially in the summer. Have more people there to serve tables

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 12, 2015

I had a lunch meeting and it took 1hr and 15m to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2015

thought when I booked the reservation it said mothers day specials i.e. brunch .... nothing even had a chalk board with pricing for pasta on sale that they would not honour and was on the door on the way out as well , won't be back

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 9, 2015

Server was brilliant. Food was of a higher quality than the menu prices led me to expect. Am awfully tempted to eat there regularly and get fat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2015

great value, great portion. taste pretty good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2015

My partner and I came to Chianti for Valentines day dinner. The only reservation we could make was for 5 pm and there was only two other couples in the restaurant at this time. We were seated in a converted 'closet' space... It felt like a back room and we promptly seated ourselves to an open part of the restaurant. The bread was dry and not like foccacia at all... The deep fried zucchini appetizer was very delicious however, the lasagna was a fail. Mediocre at best... I would try a different place next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Food was spectacular it didn't quite a 5 star rating for me just because the appetizer was too small and overpriced... We ordered the Scampi which is 4 small baby tails of lobster for $12 it was more like a sample than an appetizer. The ambience would've been better if people didn't bring their kids. We were having a nice romantic Valentines dinner until a table with kids were seated beside us. But overall 4/5, Gordon Ramsay would be proud!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Service was amazing, food was nice and hot. Not super cramped like the willow park location which is nice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2015

Great service, wonderful patience & accomodations for little kids ( 4 & under) and yummy food. We were not rushed, but everything came well prepared and with time to enjoy. Kids all LOVED the 'black sauce' for the bread!

Thanks, again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on January 25, 2015

Our first impression was great. We were seated quickly and served well. The food was good and the menu was huge.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 15, 2014

Waitress was very nice and friendly but service was slow. we stood at the front for 10min before anyone acknowledged we were there. Drinks and bread were slow to come out but the food was fabulous so all was forgiven in the end.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.