About Chez Zee

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Rosemary Cake
Fried Dill Pickle Chips
Crabmeat Quisadillas
Crab Cake Benedict
Croissants And Strawberry Butter
Honey Kissed Ham And Cheese Omelet
Sausage Eggs Benedict
Breakfast In Bread French Toast
Fried Pickles
Biscuits and Gravy
Chicken and Waffles
Creme Brulee French Toast
Salmon Omelette
Crabcake Salad
Salmon & Creamcheese Bagel
Chicken Enchiladas
Zee Mexican Martini
Grilled Chicken Mediterranean Plate
New Orleans Pecan Chicken
Chocolate Pumpkin Cheesecake
migas
Zee Migas
Avocado Omelette
Tuna Nicoise
Coconut Creme Pie
Southern Style Pork Chops And Eggs
Arugula Salmon Salad
Sharon's Angel Hair Pasta With Chicken
Frozen Bellini
Surf and Turf Benedict
Happy Hour: Fried Dill Pickles, Fish Tacos, Spinach And Artihoke Dip

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
American
Austin
3 More
Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Northwest ›

Great for Brunch (155)
Neighborhood Gem (126)
Special Occasion (123)
See All
Great for Lunch (101)
Good for Groups (90)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Romantic (57)
Kid-friendly (47)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Late-night Find (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Cozy (14)
Casual (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Live Music (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Authentic (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, good service, quiet evening a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 7 days ago

Good food, good service, quiet evening atmosphere, pleasant waiter

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Same name, but seemed like a completely ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Same name, but seemed like a completely different restaurant. I made the reservation on Open Table and put in the comments that this was a special Daddy/Daughter date night. I requested a table by the window. When we got there, the hostess barely looked up from her computer, sat us in the middle of the restaurant (when there were multiple window tables available) and walked away. The overall service followed the same flow and the food from entree to dessert was far from past experiences. My family and I have been to Chez Zee many times over the past years and had wonderful times, but things have changed. The place looks the same, but the heart and soul seem to be missing. I doubt we will return. Sad to see a great restaurant lose its edge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food is amazing and my date actually sai ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food is amazing and my date actually said this is now his favorite brunch location.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to come here because heard it was a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had to come here because heard it was a must brunch go to, and let me tell you it was not a disappointment. The whole atmosphere is very nice though a little on the loud side. The piano does make it much more soothing. Plus the complementary croissants we so warm and soft, it was great to start the meal off.

Now I gotta say we ordered the chicken and waffle, everyone has hyped me about this, and I was baffled by how good it was. The chicken was huge and so tender. The waffle was delicate and freshly cooked. Then when you add the pecan syrup, real pecan chunks can you believe that, the meal felt complete.

We also got the crab cake Benedict and it was pretty darn good too. The crab cake was fresh and tasted quite good with the cheesy sauce. The egg literally burst in my mouth. Though it did seem a bit watery. If you can fit it all in one bite in your mouth try because it is one of the most satisfying feels.

I gotta say we will be coming back when given the chance because this is a great was to get some good food on Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sad that we were seated in the back in a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Sad that we were seated in the back in an empty restaurant and when we asked to be seated away from the air the hostess was rude. Don't think I'll be going back even though there is no other place for creme brûlée French toast. Sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not a drinker, so can't speak to the win ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Not a drinker, so can't speak to the wine/liquor offerings, but Chez Zee is our family's go-to for special events or just "a nice dinner out." It's not super elevated or trendy cuisine, but it's always tasty and dependable - and that's worth a lot! The service is friendly, courteous, and helpful, but not intrusive. The atmosphere is festive, and there's often a pianist playing in the corner, which is nice. They make an effort to accommodate groups - even a bunch of high schoolers on prom night! We know we'll always have a great evening, with generous portions of good food (and probably leftovers!) when we go to our neighborhood restaurant, Chez Zee.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great food and service. Sinful de ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always great food and service. Sinful desserts. We celebrate all of our special events here.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you're looking for a great brunch in ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

If you're looking for a great brunch in Austin add this restaurant to your list. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed coming here for my birt ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I really enjoyed coming here for my birthday dinner. Our waitress was super patient and let me and my friends take time to talk to each other without rushing us out of our table. Great for a more mature crowd- not so much for children, for the sake of the adults.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here and enjoyed ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was my first time here and enjoyed everything. I had the prime rib and it was wonderful. The live music was nice and the restaurant has a nice open feeling, without feeling like you are eating with strangers.

I noticed the desserts as I was leaving... next time, that will be where I start my meal, they looked so good.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee never disappoints! We had a fa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Chez Zee never disappoints! We had a fabulous Sunday Brunch ... as always. I recommend Chez Zee to anyone who likes good service and great food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Great for families. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Never disappoints. Great for families. Food is wonderful. Cozy feel. Makes you smile.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheese was ok. Bread didn't need to be r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Cheese was ok. Bread didn't need to be roasted and buttered. Flat iron steak was ok. Fries were terrible. Dry and tasteless. Fish was ok. Desserts were dry and not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

As usual Chez zee delivers a wonderful e ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As usual Chez zee delivers a wonderful experience.My wife and I have enjoyed this place for the past 5 years,and fitting we spent our 5yr anniversary here

.The special,pistachio crusted halibut was delicious.However I must say the chicken fried steak needed more flavor.Even so we still loved our visit.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the peppercorn filet and thought ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had the peppercorn filet and thought it was very tasty and perfectly cooked. Nice ambiance and jazz smooth soft music. We had a great date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, as usual. I had ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food was delicious, as usual. I had shrimp and angel hair. It was good - but rich - and the seafood is always really fresh. My guest had a jalapeño cornbread stuffed chicken dish that was good, as well.

No complaints, other than the horrendous Christmas lights everywhere. My guest is a firefighter. The next table over had another firefighter. Both agreed it was against fire code to have that many (tacky) lights.

The service is always surprisingly good though and the food is reasonably priced and yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

NYStrip was perfect. Apple crisp desse ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

NYStrip was perfect. Apple crisp dessert equally wonderful. Great server and service. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very excited to try Chez Zee after ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I was very excited to try Chez Zee after seeing it listed on Open Table as one of the top 100 brunch spots in the country...yes, the country. So we made the road trip 82 miles from San Antonio to Austin.

Let me start off by saying staff is very friendly especially the hostess. Now on to the food... we started off with the complimentary croissants which were soooooo good, light, warm, and fresh!!! I am a croissant fanatic so this was right up my alley. My husband had the American breakfast (3 eggs, 3 meats, fruit, and potatoes) which was good, but standard. He liked the eggs (over medium) and the sausage. He did not care for the ham. We both felt the potatoes were just fried up with no seasoning. I had the Creme Brulee french toast platter. The french toast was good, but very dense. I now know that I prefer the traditional french toast. I substituted the regular syrup for the pecan bourbon syrup which was magnificent! Overall the food was good and we enjoyed the atmosphere. We would like to return and try the chicken and waffles (huge piece of chicken), but I highly recommend reservations especially if you are traveling like we were.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As a frequent customer they note our pre ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As a frequent customer they note our preferences n their system which includes table location.

They also had a HAPPY 34th ANNIVERSARY card on table for us ❤️

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the croissants as usual. The remain ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the croissants as usual. The remaining food was not so great. I ordered classic Eggs Benedict and was disappointed. The potatoes were not seasoned and tasted like they were frozen not fresh.

Seems like the ham was put on cold, the eggs were a undercooked (I like over easy but they were too easy), the muffin was not tasty either maybe because it was not toasted before hand.

Overpriced and not good.

I brought 3 friends that had never been there and some of their choices were better than mine but I am not eager to return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent business lunch: great food (pe ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent business lunch: great food (pecan chicken), service was top notch, and ambiance was perfect for a business conversation.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a wonderful Sunday brunch celebra ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a wonderful Sunday brunch celebrating my daughters birthday. Loved the extra touch at the table to recognize the celebration. Cranberry juice mimosa was delicious as was all of our dishes. Nothing better then the crescents and strawberry butter! Wonderfully delicious slice of birthday cake, lemon/lavender to finish off our celebration.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great and convinient,always nice staff a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great and convinient,always nice staff and parking easy

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, free valet parking and no ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service, free valet parking and no wait. Sigh a cute place with kind and very capable staff. It'll be a go-to breakfast spot for me.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good I've been going to this re ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always good I've been going to this resturant since it opened. It is a dependable resturant. I appreciate the good ingredients and the service is always spot on

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a friend's birthday. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's birthday. Our table was in direct line of the air conditioner and we were uncomfortably cold. On delivery, the food chilled immediately due to frigid air blowing on the table. The waitress was apologetic and comped my entree. Chez zee is a favorite place and I will continue to frequent it, however, I'll be cautious about seating In the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is one of the most consistent resta ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This is one of the most consistent restaurants in Austin. And given all the changes and closing a we have had over the last year or so it's great to know this place still delivers night in and night out.

It was a great family dinner for a teen girl's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinner and awesome desserts!'

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great dinner and awesome desserts!'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez Zee has maintained its wonderful re ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Chez Zee has maintained its wonderful reputation for years with great food, great service, and wonderful ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love having brunch at Chez Zee! We co ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love having brunch at Chez Zee! We cozied up to the bar and had a lovely meal while we watched the Summer Olympics. BJ provided great service! We'll be back. :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great value especially with 1/2 off on a ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

great value especially with 1/2 off on all bottles of wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were treated very special for our 53r ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were treated very special for our 53rd anniversary, including table decorations, which was a fun surprise and a free desert to share.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were great, as usua ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service were great, as usual. It is a great place to take friends for a special lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had lunch salads and the corn and shr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had lunch salads and the corn and shrimp bisque. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great choices for everyone! Can't wait ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great choices for everyone! Can't wait to try other options on the menu! Dog friendly too on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and services were superior. The ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food and services were superior. The steak in the steak salad was tender and excellent in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 6 people with 6 different entrees ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had 6 people with 6 different entrees and shared 4 desserts - every dish was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place. The atmosphere is cal ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love this place. The atmosphere is calming, vibrant & beautiful. Pianist is a wonderful & unique addition. The menu is full of yummy dishes. Very well known for their variety of scrumptious desserts. Outdoor sitting area has many fun things to keep the kids busy. Very unique, like Austin.

An Austin gem.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chez Zee went above and beyond to make m ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Chez Zee went above and beyond to make my wife feel special on her birthday. A special sign and sash on our table and a lovely dessert. They also made accommodations for our infant, including a nursing room and changing table. Great place for families!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.