About Chez Zee

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (75)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Good for Birthdays (51)
See All
Sunday Lunch (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (47)
Great for Lunch (43)
Comfort Food (42)
Good for Groups (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Casual (37)
Cozy (35)
Fun (30)
Romantic (29)
Authentic (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Gluten Free Options (26)
Business Meals (24)
Live Music (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Seasonal (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Healthy (13)
Private Room (13)
Family Style (12)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Historic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fireplace (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Organic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was on the spot and very friendl ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was on the spot and very friendly. We went for Sunday brunch, a very popular time. Reservation is a must. The gluten free pancakes are some of the very best. The atmosphere is lively and the decor is fun. Very enjoyable experience. One of our favorite places. Never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This could not have been a better lunch ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

This could not have been a better lunch experience! My friend who works for our company and I were celebrating her 25th office anniversary. Chez Zee put a celebrate banner on the table, a sign, and brought out a fabulous beautifully decorated dessert. The service was superb and the food delicious. terrific ambiance. And parking! I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, I am a repeat customer. I usu ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent, I am a repeat customer. I usually got to Chez Zee 12 times a year for friends lunch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an 82nd birthday. When we go ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went for an 82nd birthday. When we got to our table it was decorated with a "happy birthday" sign. The food was delicious and we all enjoyed every bite. Our server, Matt, was just perfect -- not too much service, not too little. We will not be waiting for a special occasion to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid brunch. Definitely needed a reser ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Solid brunch. Definitely needed a reservation but had no issue with being seated right on time. Definitely going to make this a repeat thing every so often. The price is pretty good and the food is great.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful brunch. The creme brûlée Frenc ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful brunch. The creme brûlée French toast and Lobster Benedict were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for Saturday Brunch. The food and s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went for Saturday Brunch. The food and service were very good. There was a little bit of a wait (less than 10 minutes) despite having a reservation, which is probably reflective of how well the place is liked given that it was really busy at 1:00 pm. I would definitely go here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Many choices for lunch/brunch with casua ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Many choices for lunch/brunch with casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great atmosphere and service. T ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a great atmosphere and service. Tasty food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very patient, accommodating, a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Staff was very patient, accommodating, and very attentive. Food was warm and as expected. Very good! Great lunch/brunch location and probably dinner too. Never eaten there for dinner but imagine it is delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and waitstaff. Food is delici ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and waitstaff. Food is delicious and such a variety !

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Chez Zee, a place that we have loved since its inception. In addition to the excellent food, we really enjoyed Rich Harney playing piano. They had the bright red baby grand set up in the middle of the restaurant, allowing the music to be heard throughout. All in all, a perfect evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee for brunch is one of my favorit ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Chez Zee for brunch is one of my favorite things. It's always delicious and the atmosphere is lovely. They have a wonderful brunch menu. We do enjoy the piano, but because of the noise, you can barely hear it. The chatter of diners is very loud on crowded days. I've been coming here for many years and will for many more, I'm hoping.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good, coffee latte was not very ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good, coffee latte was not very good. But would recommend for brunch.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, atmosphere, and service! Ver ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, and service! Very friendly staff!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Great servic ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Great service from new waiter. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Historic, Private Room, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a year-end dinner here, early on ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a year-end dinner here, early on New Years' Eve. From the moment we arrived, the evening was memorable. The holiday decorations were lovely. The noise level was a bit high, but this was a celebratory evening. We were surrounded by an older crowd with some younger people in sight, too. Our server was helpful and efficient. We had cocktails first (specials for the evening). They were very good, and gave us time to enjoy the music (piano player and a lounge singer). The dinner was delightful, cooked perfectly and delicious. We both had very tasty appetizers followed by steak. The tenderloin and New York strip both were exactly right and delicious. The sides were perfect, too. We were out of space, so we took a dessert sampler home with us to share. Their cakes are all wonderful. We will go back, for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great and the food was t ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was great and the food was tasty! Although it's a large restaurant, we felt we had a lot of privacy.

Tags: Private Room, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have dined at Chez Zee for decades and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have dined at Chez Zee for decades and I have to say my most recent experience was my most disappointing. To begin with, I was a bit put off by having to leave a credit card number to secure a reservation.

When we arrived, we were seated in a very high traffic area near the front door and kitchen door. We asked to be moved, but were told there were no available tables. As we were a two top and the only visible tables were four tops, we accepted this answer only to see two of the three four tops us seated with two people.

The entire service seemed off--not just for us, but for those around us. Tables sitting with no drinks for long periods of time. Additionally, our food was just adequate. The Eggs Benedict were watery, when they are generally some of the best around.

Hoping this was just an unusual bad day, but it will likely be some time before I return as this was a less than stellar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Chee Zee has been, and will be our speci ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chee Zee has been, and will be our special occasion place. Love everything about restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rachael will be missed. We are honored t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Rachael will be missed. We are honored to enjoy the fellowship at Chez Zee and all of the kind wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee always provides great food and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chez Zee always provides great food and a great atmosphere for both the meat eaters and vegan’s in our party. Chez Zee is our go to celebration location in Austin. They can find quite nooks in an otherwise noisy venue if you request one.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 20th anniversary was made very speci ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our 20th anniversary was made very special thanks to Chez Zee's staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for great food, atten ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

If you are looking for great food, attentive service and wonderful ambiance visit Chez Zee!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pecan chicken... to die for.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Pecan chicken... to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great. Had the special soup....pr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always great. Had the special soup....prime rib and veggie... wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stopped here for lunch as recommended by ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Stopped here for lunch as recommended by Long Center on the way to see performance there an could not be more surprised by the great food selections and super staff. Will defiantly be back when in the area again as we are from Georgetown. So everybody must go there and enjoy the delights.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good location close to downtown and east ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good location close to downtown and east side good food and charming decor

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Chez Zee; however the staff ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Always enjoy Chez Zee; however the staff was prepared to serve a dinner menu and Brunch was advertised on the website, which i why I selected this restaurant. They were very accommodating, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed the brunch on Christmas Eve. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed the brunch on Christmas Eve. It was busy and cheerfully decorated. The server gave us great service and information. Everyone found selections to enjoy!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee was the perfect place for a Chr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Chez Zee was the perfect place for a Christmas Eve brunch. The food is always delicious. It was decorated in fine style for the Christmas holiday. We had live piano music for the first part of our meal. Anytime we have a special occasion, we book a table at Chez Zee!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, People Watching, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my husband here for his birthday ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Brought my husband here for his birthday and they went all out with a little sign, banner and complimentary piece of lemon rosemary cake. The brunch was incredible, our entire family tried different things and were full to the brim, thanks Chez Zee!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee is a classic. The Christmas dec ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Chez Zee is a classic. The Christmas decorations made the cozy restaurant festive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Waited 40 minutes to be seated.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Waited 40 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Loved the spinach artichoke dip and fres ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Loved the spinach artichoke dip and fresh chips. So good! We also really loved our entrees for dinner (chicken fried steak and angel hair pasta with shrimp). The only hiccup was that my husband ordered a side salad and it never came out. Also try the butterscotch pudding. It was incredible! Great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Chez Zee is great for a festive holiday ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Chez Zee is great for a festive holiday brunch. The food is good. Menu is extensive. Crisp thick bacon is very good. Service was exceptional. The waiter was happy to bring a drink not on the menu, and generally was very unhurried and mellow.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy Chex zee, but this time ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We always enjoy Chex zee, but this time my food was over cooked, the bubbles were flat and the services was slow in the beginning. We still had a nice time, but somewhat disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Our family chooses Chez Zee for special ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our family chooses Chez Zee for special occasions and we usually enjoy Sunday Brunch. It is a wide ranging menu with classic breakfast items, variations on classics and original dishes. There is something to please everyone. We were early this time so we missed the magician who comes at 11am on Sundays but we have been thoroughly entertained by him in the past. I have also enjoyed dessert from Chez Zee and would recommend this restaurant for anyone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a lovely, Austin place. The ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is such a lovely, Austin place. The food is always excellent, desserts divine. People are friendly and helpful. We especially love taking out of town friends here. It's the best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.