About Chez Zee

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Rosemary Cake
Fried Dill Pickle Chips
Crabmeat Quisadillas
Crab Cake Benedict
Croissants And Strawberry Butter
Honey Kissed Ham And Cheese Omelet
Sausage Eggs Benedict
Breakfast In Bread French Toast
Fried Pickles
Biscuits and Gravy
Chicken and Waffles
Creme Brulee French Toast
Salmon Omelette
Salmon & Creamcheese Bagel
Crabcake Salad
Chicken Enchiladas
Zee Mexican Martini
Grilled Chicken Mediterranean Plate
New Orleans Pecan Chicken
Chocolate Pumpkin Cheesecake
migas
Zee Migas
Avocado Omelette
Tuna Nicoise
Coconut Creme Pie
Southern Style Pork Chops And Eggs
Arugula Salmon Salad
Sharon's Angel Hair Pasta With Chicken
Frozen Bellini
Surf and Turf Benedict
Happy Hour: Fried Dill Pickles, Fish Tacos, Spinach And Artihoke Dip

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour All Night Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Half off any bottle of wine on Tuesdays all through the summer!. Special valid Jul 1, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Happy Hour All Night Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Enjoy Happy Hour all night, 5 PM to close, Wednesdays all through the summer. Specially priced appetizers, $5 signature cocktails, $4 local beers, $3 Frozen Drinks, and $2 off wines by the glass, we have it all!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 1, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
American
Austin
3 More
Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Northwest ›

great for brunch (192)
neighborhood gem (153)
special occasion (145)
See All
great for lunch (130)
good for groups (125)
fit for foodies (91)
romantic (78)
kid-friendly (55)
late-night find (27)
hot spot (27)
great for outdoor dining (23)
notable wine list (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chez Zee is my favorite restaurant for l ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

Chez Zee is my favorite restaurant for lunch, and it works well for dinner as well. I love the variety of food on the menu, and the service is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restroom (male/female) upset my wife and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Restroom (male/female) upset my wife and our guest. A single stall. Really.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Food was very subpar. Eggs over cooked. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very subpar. Eggs over cooked. Crab cakes 90% filler. Potatoes cold. Croissants cold, hard and tasted day-old.

Wait staff was nice, but took eons even though we were among first in at opening and restaurant largely empty. Had to get up and go find the waitress twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Quirky place with great food and live mu ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Quirky place with great food and live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought 2 couples to Chez Zee, it was ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

We brought 2 couples to Chez Zee, it was their first time there. They loved it. Made for a great evening for good friends to catch up over great food and drinks. Everyone was impressed.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waitress-Grace-was very attentive an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress-Grace-was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Long time fan Brunch was disappointing: ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Long time fan

Brunch was disappointing: biscuits & gravy - barely warm & gravy almost flavorless

Dessert: love the key lime pie but this time the consistency was unpleasant - gelatanous- not what it usually is!

Will certainly revisit & expect a return to previous wonderful food experience

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

An Austin staple, brunch is excellent. D ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

An Austin staple, brunch is excellent. Drop the mic great for brunch! Excellent desserts, friendly waitstaff, good coffee, tons of GF choices and non GF choices, and a fun atmosphere while having an accommodating noise level for intimate conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was a great night but we go there oft ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was a great night but we go there often. And will go again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my last time at Chez Zee since ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was my last time at Chez Zee since I am relocating from Austin. I love this restaurant!

The food is consistently great. My complaint on this visit was the wait staff. Our waiter was all hovering over us in the beginning of the evening, then not responding as the evening went on.

I had a selzer wth a splash of cranberry - he charged me $3.50 for the cranberry and $2.50 for the water! Once I complained, he did have management revise the bill to $3.50.

Mistakes on the bill have happened at 2 previous meals. I suggest that everyone carefully read their dining tab. I am sure it is just the wait staff not being careful since management has always been responsive to the mistakes.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I was celebrating my birthday with lifel ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday with lifelong girlfriends and Chez Zee was the perfect setting. Our waiter was nice without being obsequious and a wonderful mind reader! He helped the flow of the meal beautifully . As far as noise levels...my table might have gotten a little loud, but very late in the lunch hour! Thanks, Chez Zee!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been dining here since it opened as ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Have been dining here since it opened as Chez Fred. Outstanding, updated menu, fun décor with original art, romantic setting, soft light, unobtrusive service. Always excellent presentation and food. A favorite since 1980.Best dessert menu in Austin, all on display. patio can be loud with a large group, but this is rare and you just have to ask and they will seat you away from it. Reservations are always ready when you arrive-even if you are a few minutes early. If I operated a restaurant, I would want it to be like Chez Zee.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Huevos Rancheros for 14.99??? They weren ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Huevos Rancheros for 14.99??? They weren't the best. Ambiance was nice, drinks were good... but thats it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We are regulars at Chez Zee but I have t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We are regulars at Chez Zee but I have to say this was a disappointing dining experience. The quiche was overcooked, the omelette was swimming in some sort of sauce that did not live up to the description on the menu and my biscuits and gravy were on the verge of being cold. The only thing that we were not disappointed in was the Creme Brule French Toast. I had asked for a table in the atrium away from the piano player but, unfortunately, we were seated almost right next to the piano which made it difficult to hear at times. We are not giving up on Chez Zee, just disappointed that we didn't have a better experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

All time favorite breakfast place in Aus ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

All time favorite breakfast place in Austin. Outstanding service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the second time I've been to Che ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the second time I've been to Chez Zee - this time for brunch on a Saturday. The food was still good, just not as good as the first time. I recommend going on a Sunday for brunch (and fresh pastries).

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance was Awesomest! It really w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The ambiance was Awesomest! It really was. Everyone was very hospitable. I was entertaining a Community Partnering Colleague and he absolutely loved it. The piano has to be one of my absolute fave pianos in all of Austin, Texas!

The cuisine was absolutely decadent! The evening was absolutely perrrrrrfecto!!!

Angela ..

Former Ms. Austin Plus America 2012 & 2013

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location and they accept reservati ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great location and they accept reservations which for a lunch meeting is a definite plus. The staff was very polite and customer service oriented. The food is good but it's not great. Portion size is good but the food just seemed middle of the road. In the past we have gone to Che Zee for brunch which was much better. I would still recommend and go again but with adjusted expectations.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I went with a group of colleagues to cel ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I went with a group of colleagues to celebrate a co-worker's birthday. We made a reservation online and let them know we were celebrating and they decorated the table and gave us free cake!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Complimentary Birthday dessert made a gr ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Complimentary Birthday dessert made a great birthday lunch celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was GREAT. We went to the Jazz ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our meal was GREAT. We went to the Jazz Festible after the meal and it too was very good!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place has been recommended to me ma ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This place has been recommended to me many times and we were not disappointed in the least. Fantastic atmosphere with a piano player and AMAZING food. Don't take my word for it, make a reservation and see for yourself.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was fantastic! First time visit. Se ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was fantastic! First time visit. Service was attentive. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waffles were great! The Migas didn't ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The waffles were great! The Migas didn't have flavor so I was disappointed. I loved this place before but breakfast could've had some taste.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great good with great service ! Desserts ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great good with great service ! Desserts were excellent‼️My trout was cooked perfect and my friends pork with cherry sauce was scrumptious !!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for dessert and late night d ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place for dessert and late night dining. Also nice to get together with friends for lunch or snacks. Live music some nights. Well-renowned for brunch, especially creme brulee French toast. Try the lemon rosemary cake - it's delicious with a divine buttercream frosting. You can even share the flourless chocolate torte with your gluten free friends. The Aztec corn and shrimp bisque is a long-lived favorite. Enjoy it with the fresh baked bread that comes complimentary with your order.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Booked a reservation for our daughter's ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Booked a reservation for our daughter's 21st birthday. They gave us a quiet, corner spot with a Happy 21st Birthday table sign greeting her. The meal was delicious and, of course, we couldn't leave without enjoying a couple of their delicious desserts. Another wonderful special occasion at Chez Zee!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Chez Zee for a birthday celeb ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We went to Chez Zee for a birthday celebration and Chez Zee went out of their way to make it a memorable experience! There was a Happy Birthday sign on the table when we arrived. Everyone loved the food and dessert was awesome! Chez Zee even provided a special birthday dessert with 'Happy Birthday' written on the plate in chocolate. Thanks Chez Zee for an amazing evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can honestly say that every time my wi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I can honestly say that every time my wife and I have gone there to eat, it has been a wonderful experience. From the food to the staff. The creme brule french toast is absolutely my favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The creme brulee french toast was delici ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The creme brulee french toast was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was my first time and i loved the mus ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was my first time and i loved the music service lighting i enjoyed it definately a place i would go back to

Tags: romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite place for brunch, always go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our favorite place for brunch, always good service and good food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I picked Chez Zee for celebrating a frie ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I picked Chez Zee for celebrating a friends birthday. This is our go to restaurant for our group. Great food , experienced service, the food comes out in a timely manner, hot, and looking great. The staff knows the dishes, so if you order something you haven't had before staff can

Describe the ingredients and tell you about the preparation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The menu is relatively diverse, and all ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The menu is relatively diverse, and all dishes were well prepared and well presented. Wait staff was attentive, but not intrusive. I've visited Chez Zee multiple times and their consistency in quality of food and service is quite high, such that I need to remind myself to frequent Chez Zee more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always eat at Chez Zee when we are in ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We always eat at Chez Zee when we are in Austin. It is consistent in the quality of food, service and atmosphere. We have been customers for at least 20 years and have never been disappointed. And, the desserts are wonderful!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is the best place for a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This restaurant is the best place for a Sunday brunch. They never cease to amaze me with their service and great food.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I enjoyed the food, making a re ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Although I enjoyed the food, making a reservation was completely pointless. We waited just as long as if we hadn't made one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is always fabulous. Today we ha ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is always fabulous. Today we had the Baked Polenta Eggs Benedict and Chez Zee's legendary coconut cream pie. The food was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Chez Zee's is a destination for us whenever we come to Austin. We'd almost drive down from Fort Worth just to have brunch here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed having brunch in this lon ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really enjoyed having brunch in this long-time Austin spot. Probably the best bacon I've had in recent memory. Will be back again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistantly good. great desserts as we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Consistantly good. great desserts as well as really good food.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.