About Chez Zee

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Rosemary Cake
Fried Dill Pickle Chips
Crabmeat Quisadillas
Crab Cake Benedict
Croissants And Strawberry Butter
Honey Kissed Ham And Cheese Omelet
Sausage Eggs Benedict
Breakfast In Bread French Toast
Fried Pickles
Biscuits and Gravy
Chicken and Waffles
Creme Brulee French Toast
Salmon Omelette
Salmon & Creamcheese Bagel
Crabcake Salad
Chicken Enchiladas
Zee Mexican Martini
Grilled Chicken Mediterranean Plate
New Orleans Pecan Chicken
Chocolate Pumpkin Cheesecake
migas
Zee Migas
Avocado Omelette
Tuna Nicoise
Coconut Creme Pie
Southern Style Pork Chops And Eggs
Arugula Salmon Salad
Sharon's Angel Hair Pasta With Chicken
Frozen Bellini
Surf and Turf Benedict
Happy Hour: Fried Dill Pickles, Fish Tacos, Spinach And Artihoke Dip

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
American
Austin
5 More
Most Booked
Austin
Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
American
Austin
Most Booked
Austin
Best Restaurants in Northwest ›

great for brunch (186)
neighborhood gem (152)
special occasion (139)
See All
great for lunch (134)
good for groups (124)
romantic (76)
fit for foodies (75)
kid-friendly (51)
late-night find (27)
hot spot (23)
great for outdoor dining (20)
notable wine list (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always fabulous. Today we ha ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food is always fabulous. Today we had the Baked Polenta Eggs Benedict and Chez Zee's legendary coconut cream pie. The food was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Chez Zee's is a destination for us whenever we come to Austin. We'd almost drive down from Fort Worth just to have brunch here.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed having brunch in this lon ...

Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed having brunch in this long-time Austin spot. Probably the best bacon I've had in recent memory. Will be back again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistantly good. great desserts as we ...

Dined 6 days ago

Consistantly good. great desserts as well as really good food.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Waitress, Rachel, was wonderful! The pe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Waitress, Rachel, was wonderful! The pear mimosas also excellent and recommended by Rachel. The noise could not be helped as there was a table next to us where the 2 elderly people were sitting with a much younger loud man.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chee Zee is always excellent, service an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Chee Zee is always excellent, service and food can't be beat

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting ambience aka decorations. W ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Interesting ambience aka decorations. Would recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I had very high expectations after being ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I had very high expectations after being referred here by a friend. The food was good, but not great! I've had several much better brunch experiences. To make matters worse the server WAS HORRIBLE! She never asked if my husband and I needed anything, I had to ask for a mimosa three times. The manager and owner apologized for the service, but I will never dine there again.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful, excellent customer service and was very kind. The food was great, beautiful presentation and exceptionally fresh. The ambience is nice, it was a bit loud, but it was noon to be fair. Can't wait to try Chez Zee for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ViLee

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. My restaurant reservation fit perfectly with my daughter's and my reservations to enjoy the Jazz Society's second Sunday afternoon jazz event. The whole afternoon was beyond compare. I plan to do a repeat performance next month.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed with this brunch! Lov ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Never disappointed with this brunch! Love it!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch deliciousness & oops

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a 10am Sunday reservation, and we were seated immediately upon an on time arrival. Our server was top notch. I had a cappuccino and a mimosa while my daughter had lemonade. The drinks were perfect. My daughter ordered a single triangle of their Creme Brûlée French Toast, which she said tasted great, but she only ate the center of it because she said the crust edge was over cooked and hard as rock. She also had the Beef Tenderloin Benedict which she sent back because she the meat was tough and chewy... I had to force her to send it back because she was just going to let it go to waste and have me pay for a meal she didn't eat. She ordered the Southern Grilled Pork Chops and eggs as a replacement meal, and she enjoyed that. I had the Breakfast in Bread French Toast breakfast platter which was SO good. My only complaint was that for such thick pieces of bread I would have enjoyed more berries... There was the equivalent of a strawberry and a half inside, a total of three blueberries and four slices of banana. But, it really was delicious!!! Needless to say, I understand that not every visit and every meal at a restaurant will be perfect, and I have enjoyed Chez Zee for years... So, it still gets a thumbs up from me.☺️👍🏽

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Place to Go To

Dined on June 4, 2016

I have been going to Chez Zee since it started and have always enjoyed it. It is friendly, colorful, the wait staff is attentive, and the food is of excellent quality which has been maintained over the years. My friends and I have never been disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loyal Customer

Dined on May 31, 2016

We've been eating at Chez Zee since it was Chez Fred. Sharon Watkins' sense of humor and color make the dining areas jolly. Lots of colored lights, odd and challenging art, unusual lamps. Often good music, too. It's quiet enough for a conversation, vibrant to elevate the spirit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

chez zee

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We met for their all-day happy hour, and every aspect of the visit was outstanding. The fried pickles are a must, the martini was perfect and the chicken BLT was perfectly prepared. Their desserts are always top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

a '1 TIME' negative experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

My partner & I eat at Chez Zee 3-4 times a month. We have met friends there on Memorial Day for several years to enjoy hamburgers. Memorial Day 2016 we met with friends for a total of 7 people. All ordered hamburgers. Overall this time all were disappointed. They did not have wheat buns, the burgers were not hot, the fries were not hot. I don't want this '1 TIME' negative experience to cloud our overall enjoyment. I was really disappointed because we invited friends who were disappointed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on May 29, 2016

Reserved a table for five, and requested a high chair. The table was not ready at the reservation time, reminded the hostess that we needed a high chair and table for five. We had to wait fifteen minutes past our reservation time, and were seated at a table for four with no high chair. The hostess asked where to put a high chair, as there obviously was not enough room. Two adults had to share one side of a regular sized table for four. The creme broulle french toast appetizer was unusually dry, almost as if it were over-cooked. Service was much slower than usual, and the food was not up to the expected standard. The eggs benedict were served without hollandaise, and the waitress was unapologetic. The Zee Migas were drowned in queso. Someone asked for Tabasco (twice before anything was brought to the table) and was given some no-name Louisiana Hot Sauce. To add insult to injury, we saw a bottle of genuine Tabasco on a nearby table. Overall, our dining experience was very disappointing. Finally, when we left the restaurant there was only one person working at the valet stand, so we waited and waited and waited to get our car.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super family brunch!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a reservation for 8 that grew to 11 at the last minute. Chez Zee was soooo wonderful about the last minute change. Though they were not able to seat us at one table at first, the overflow was at a table next to the main group. They then gave us the option of joining the tables. Perfect! Service from Alyssa was out of this world.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, excellent

Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food, even now that I'm having to follow a gluten-free diet. It was awesome to see so many gluten-free choices for brunch. Service was excellent. I could talk to my friends without having to yell (although that did get a bit tougher when the piano was being played; he was excellent too though). I always enjoy Chez Zee. Just wish the parking was better.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The experience was very good as we were ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The experience was very good as we were celebrating a birthday and an anniversary. The food was served quickly and I would recommend it highly. WE all had a good time and loved the big chair in the waiting area. Took some great pictures !

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great celebration

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was excellent. We really appreciated the special touches for a birthday celebration. I had not inquired in advance, but upon arrival I mentioned it. They immediately brought out a personalized standard, decorative ribbons, and later a celebration dessert on a lovely platter with happy birthday written on it. It made everyone extra happy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love to take friends to Chez Zee for l ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I love to take friends to Chez Zee for lunch as a way to celebrate special occasions. It's always a treat!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Unique restaurant

Dined on May 22, 2016

The ambiance was really cool, and the food was good with large portions. Service was not great, but they were accommodating for our party of 7.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for a celebration!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Seven of us came here to celebrate my daughter's graduation and it was wonderful! Excellent food, cocktails and service. The waitstaff gave us plenty of time and space to enjoy ourselves, while being available to us if we needed anything. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

better brunch food

Dined on May 21, 2016

My main course was pretty pricey and mediocre. I'd say come here again for the brunch or dessert but not the pricey main courses. It's great that you can make a reservation though. Beautiful piano playing and christmas light all over.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As usual great

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service and food is always great, we brought friends who loved it and said they would return. We always expect a great evening when we eat at Chez Zee and have never been let down.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food!

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Always good food!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Vibrant and fun with good food!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and overall a wonderful experience. We went to Sunday brunch at 2:00 - had reservations. Seated immediately, drinks and order taken in a timely fashion. As it was nearing the brunch-dinner switch (i'm assuming) our server didn't refill water or check on us much after our food was delivered. Would definitely go back and recommend to others!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a gem!

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our fifth time going to Che Zee (fourth for brunch). We had made reservations for four, however my daughter came in from college and so we had to ask for a table for five. Without blinking an eye the staff made it happen. Very impressive considering how busy they were. The food was great and our server was fantastic. Our guests from Michigan were very impressed and want to make sure to add this to their agenda on their next visit as well!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch in town!

Dined on May 15, 2016

With a reservation, we were seated immediately. Our server was friendly, helpful and attentive. The brunch was reasonably priced and delicious. The adult beverages were a bit pricey. Valet parking was complimentary. A+++

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service, cold food

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We did not call over a manager, just said it to our waiter, but most of the food we ordered was moderately warm to cold.... the biscuits and gravy were hard and cold... the bacon was cold. My grits were great, as was my egg. But who wants cold biscuits and gravy and cold bacon.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great breakfast . The best pancakes and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great breakfast . The best pancakes and egg Benedict I ever tasted.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch ! Loved that it is gf frien ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great brunch ! Loved that it is gf friendly ! I would recommend the pancakes. The coffee also was amazing. The whole experience with the option of outdoor dining makes you want to come back the next day !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food...all very good! The se ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed the food...all very good! The service was excellent especially since a mistake was made on my part (placed the reservations for pm instead of am). Yet everyone was so gracious in accommodating us. Thank you for that. Our waitperson Lance was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Was there for Mother's Day dinner. The p ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was there for Mother's Day dinner. The prime rib was cooked perfectly. The sea bass was perfectly flakey. And the pork chop flavorful. Dessert? Of course... Banana cream pie... Yummy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Definite Do Over

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food. Great service. Menu has a great deal of variety. Love the ambience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Mothers Day to Remember

Dined on May 8, 2016

My 91 year old grandmother was dazzled, my mom was impressed and I got to sit back a enjoy the fact that I picked the location for an amazing Mothers Day experience. Food was spectacular and ambience lovely. Piano player was great too! Even my 11 year old son was pleased. I had been previously for a bridal shower and found that experience to be wonderful too! The pork tenderloin with cherry sauce, yummy! The mushroom soup, I would have licked the dish clean had I been in private.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as usual

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been coming to Chez Zee for Mothers Day for 9 years. Always awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to Chez Zee. We enjoyed the food and the ambiance. There was a piano player who played at the appropriate level adding to the overall experience. Our waitress was excellent and was attentive to our needs.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Let me start by saying the food was delicious and the service very good. Unfortunately, they have 3 very small 2-person tables in the room by the kitchen that are too small with almost no room. They are squeezed in so tight, it is very difficult to pull the chair out to sit down. If you get the last table, you are in the corner and one person has to look at 2 walls for the entire meal. Terrible ambiance. On this occasion, we were given the 2nd table but there was no way we could get in one of the chairs because of the person at the adjoining table. We had to move the table over a bit so we could squeeze in the chairs. There wasn't even an inch to spare. Luckily, one of the managers moved us to another 2-person table on the other side of the room. It was still a small table but the area was much roomier. I know they tried to accommodate as many people as possible but being squeezed in doesn't make for an enjoyable event. Once we were moved, my mom and I had a pleasant Mother's Day brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience like usual. We had ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful experience like usual. We had reservations for Mother's Day brunch. Seated right on time. Our server was prompt, polite, courteous. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was great. All around great experience. I had the crab cake eggs Benedict and the eggs were perfectly poached.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.