About Chez Zee

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Rosemary Cake
Fried Dill Pickle Chips
Crabmeat Quisadillas
Crab Cake Benedict
Croissants And Strawberry Butter
Honey Kissed Ham And Cheese Omelet
Sausage Eggs Benedict
Breakfast In Bread French Toast
Fried Pickles
Biscuits and Gravy
Chicken and Waffles
Creme Brulee French Toast
Salmon Omelette
Crabcake Salad
Salmon & Creamcheese Bagel
Chicken Enchiladas
Zee Mexican Martini
Grilled Chicken Mediterranean Plate
New Orleans Pecan Chicken
Chocolate Pumpkin Cheesecake
migas
Zee Migas
Avocado Omelette
Tuna Nicoise
Coconut Creme Pie
Southern Style Pork Chops And Eggs
Arugula Salmon Salad
Sharon's Angel Hair Pasta With Chicken
Frozen Bellini
Surf and Turf Benedict
Happy Hour: Fried Dill Pickles, Fish Tacos, Spinach And Artihoke Dip

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour All Night Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Half off any bottle of wine on Tuesdays all through the summer!. Special valid Jul 1, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour All Night Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Happy Hour all night, 5 PM to close, Wednesdays all through the summer. Specially priced appetizers, $5 signature cocktails, $4 local beers, $3 Frozen Drinks, and $2 off wines by the glass, we have it all!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 1, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Austin
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Northwest ›

Great for Brunch (176)
Special Occasion (134)
Neighborhood Gem (133)
See All
Great for Lunch (114)
Good for Groups (106)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Romantic (70)
Kid-friendly (48)
Late-night Find (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of the most consistent resta ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of the most consistent restaurants in Austin. And given all the changes and closing a we have had over the last year or so it's great to know this place still delivers night in and night out.

It was a great family dinner for a teen girl's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinner and awesome desserts!'

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great dinner and awesome desserts!'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez Zee has maintained its wonderful re ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Chez Zee has maintained its wonderful reputation for years with great food, great service, and wonderful ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love having brunch at Chez Zee! We co ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love having brunch at Chez Zee! We cozied up to the bar and had a lovely meal while we watched the Summer Olympics. BJ provided great service! We'll be back. :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great value especially with 1/2 off on a ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 7 days ago

great value especially with 1/2 off on all bottles of wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were treated very special for our 53r ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were treated very special for our 53rd anniversary, including table decorations, which was a fun surprise and a free desert to share.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were great, as usua ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service were great, as usual. It is a great place to take friends for a special lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had lunch salads and the corn and shr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had lunch salads and the corn and shrimp bisque. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great choices for everyone! Can't wait ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great choices for everyone! Can't wait to try other options on the menu! Dog friendly too on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and services were superior. The ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food and services were superior. The steak in the steak salad was tender and excellent in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 6 people with 6 different entrees ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had 6 people with 6 different entrees and shared 4 desserts - every dish was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place. The atmosphere is cal ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love this place. The atmosphere is calming, vibrant & beautiful. Pianist is a wonderful & unique addition. The menu is full of yummy dishes. Very well known for their variety of scrumptious desserts. Outdoor sitting area has many fun things to keep the kids busy. Very unique, like Austin.

An Austin gem.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chez Zee went above and beyond to make m ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Chez Zee went above and beyond to make my wife feel special on her birthday. A special sign and sash on our table and a lovely dessert. They also made accommodations for our infant, including a nursing room and changing table. Great place for families!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait time was equivalent to not having a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wait time was equivalent to not having a reservation, which was frustrating. If Chez Zee is going to utilize this service, it needs to honor reservations. Food, as always, was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I love Chez Zee but it is very loud. Ha ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love Chez Zee but it is very loud. Hard to have conversations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Gathering of old friends. We always choo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Gathering of old friends. We always choose chez zee--a favorite of ours. I had the eggs Benedict on crab cakes--outstanding. Our wait person, Eric, was attentive, very friendly and efficient--always smiling! We enjoyed our experience as usual. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the ambiance. The food could be b ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I love the ambiance. The food could be better. The menu doesn't change much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great server. Very respectful of the mee ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great server. Very respectful of the meeting we had going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was HORRIBLE, food was decent(on ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service was HORRIBLE, food was decent(once it arrived)

We had a reservation and restaurant was half full. We were waiting over 15 minutes to place our order(mind you, this was at lunch during the week and we only had an hour) and I had to track down the waitress even after waiting this long. Then we had to ask for bread and was never offered the cracked pepper for our oil we saw other tables getting. We then waited 20 minutes for our side salad....oh, but wait....we were getting our meal. I asked about our side salads, they asked if we still wanted them. Really? Then, we sat with our plates in front of us for a while, while our waitress passed by our table three times. Oh, then they boxed up our leftovers and brought us the check. Didn't even bother to ask if we wanted dessert. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE SERVICE.

I've been her before and wanted this to be our new business lunch restaurant, but, No.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Very nice service. Just quiet enough li ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very nice service. Just quiet enough live piano music

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Portabello mushroom omelet "nothing spec ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Portabello mushroom omelet "nothing special" said my husband.

Smoked Salmon eggs benedict - too much salmon and hollandaise sauce.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Too noisy. Great food and good service. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Too noisy. Great food and good service. Reservation snafu was well-handled.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Chez Zee is an old favorite (like for 20 ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Chez Zee is an old favorite (like for 20 years).

The service was friendly but my waffle did not have its butter and syrup delivered with it and it took too long to get that corrected. It was delicious, but it is best consumed while hot and that is kind of an obvious omission.

They have expanded seating but not parking, and that is an issue. The valet service is supposed to counter that, but valet parking for brunch...um. There are big lots across the street but they have scary signs, some of which say "No Chez Zee Parking." Given that it was Sunday and the lot was nearly empty, I parked there anyway. Noticed some employees walking from that lot as well.

It used to be priced as a value (I would go often) but now is pricey and I live further away, so it's just an occasional treat. It's still popular and sometimes crowded.

It's an excellent after-event place for dessert/coffee/libations if you are returning to north from events downtown.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The fried chicken breast was a little ov ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The fried chicken breast was a little overdone.

The grilled salmon was a little bland.

The key lime pie was not tart or cold.

It might have been an off night. Usually the food is great.

Also, the waiter began sweeping/vacuuming right next to us before we were through eating. There was a lot of dust in the air.

Please do not publish this. I just want the manager of Chez Zee to make adjustments. We love that restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great . As well as the servic ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great . As well as the service . Went to celebrate anniversary and was not disappointed . Will go back .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I love Chez Zee. The ambiance is quite m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I love Chez Zee. The ambiance is quite magical with the lights and the colors. The brunch is delicious. We had Eggs Sardou and Eggs Bemefict with crab cakes and it is was out of the world. The Mimosas were delish. We'll be back:)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Creme brulee French toast was awesome! W ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Creme brulee French toast was awesome! Would definitely go back for brunch to try their huge selection of eggs Benedict.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Of course it's a beautiful place the amb ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Of course it's a beautiful place the ambience is fantastic just walking up to the restaurant is gorgeous.… We are finally seated our waitress did not introduce ourselves nor asked us if we been there before and I was bringing a friend from Phoenix to enjoy a fabulous and fancy brunch... She didn't describe the menu or suggest any top local pics I don't know if she was standoffish because I have a strong personality or if I was just expecting top-notch service with top-notch ambience...The food was amazing I had a gluten-free Belgian waffle with whip cream strawberries and the upgrade to the syrup we also took the desert home and my friend love the strawberry butter.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Ten guests for brunch for a friend's bir ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Ten guests for brunch for a friend's birthday. Table was ready and appropriately decorated for a birthday with honored guest's name on table. The table was beautiful, guests were greeted and seated, and dishes were delicious. We all were impressed and will use this restaurant often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a cute place! The decor is unique a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Such a cute place! The decor is unique and charming. Have had my bridal shower here and was very very impressed. Brought a bachelorette party in for brunch. Everyone loved it there-thank you once again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent!! Enjoyed our meal ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was excellent!! Enjoyed our meal and time spent with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, love the ligting. Thei ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great atmosphere, love the ligting. Their signature strawberry butter and coursaists are to die lovely. Quick and friendly service. A go to for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food is always great place t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding food is always great place to meet a good friend for lunch

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee is my favorite restaurant for l ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Chez Zee is my favorite restaurant for lunch, and it works well for dinner as well. I love the variety of food on the menu, and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restroom (male/female) upset my wife and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Restroom (male/female) upset my wife and our guest. A single stall. Really.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Food was very subpar. Eggs over cooked. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was very subpar. Eggs over cooked. Crab cakes 90% filler. Potatoes cold. Croissants cold, hard and tasted day-old.

Wait staff was nice, but took eons even though we were among first in at opening and restaurant largely empty. Had to get up and go find the waitress twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Quirky place with great food and live mu ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Quirky place with great food and live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought 2 couples to Chez Zee, it was ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We brought 2 couples to Chez Zee, it was their first time there. They loved it. Made for a great evening for good friends to catch up over great food and drinks. Everyone was impressed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waitress-Grace-was very attentive an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waitress-Grace-was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Long time fan Brunch was disappointing: ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Long time fan

Brunch was disappointing: biscuits & gravy - barely warm & gravy almost flavorless

Dessert: love the key lime pie but this time the consistency was unpleasant - gelatanous- not what it usually is!

Will certainly revisit & expect a return to previous wonderful food experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.