About Chez Zee

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Rosemary Cake - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Fried Dill Pickle Chips - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Crabmeat Quisadillas - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Crab Cake Benedict - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Croissants And Strawberry Butter - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Honey Kissed Ham And Cheese Omelet - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Sausage Eggs Benedict - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Breakfast In Bread French Toast - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Fried Pickles - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Biscuits and Gravy - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Chicken and Waffles - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Creme Brulee French Toast - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Salmon Omelette - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Crabcake Salad - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Salmon & Creamcheese Bagel - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Chicken Enchiladas - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Zee Mexican Martini - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Grilled Chicken Mediterranean Plate - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
New Orleans Pecan Chicken - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Chocolate Pumpkin Cheesecake - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
migas - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Zee Migas - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Avocado Omelette - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Tuna Nicoise - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Coconut Creme Pie - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Southern Style Pork Chops And Eggs - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Arugula Salmon Salad - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Sharon's Angel Hair Pasta With Chicken - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Frozen Bellini - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Surf and Turf Benedict - Chez Zee, Austin, TX
Happy Hour: Fried Dill Pickles, Fish Tacos, Spinach And Artihoke Dip - Chez Zee, Austin, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Austin
American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Northwest ›

Great for Brunch (79)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Good for Birthdays (61)
Sunday Lunch (56)
Good for Groups (54)
Great for Lunch (54)
Good for a Date (50)
Comfort Food (40)
Cozy (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Casual (35)
Romantic (32)
Fun (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Kid-friendly (27)
Gluten Free Options (26)
Authentic (22)
Live Music (21)
Business Meals (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Private Room (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Healthy (11)
Family Style (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Modern Decor (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One can never go wrong to go to Chez Zee ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

One can never go wrong to go to Chez Zee. Great, festive atmosphere and excellent food. The deserts are to DIE for! Sharon does it right!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service went beyond expectation. We ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

the service went beyond expectation. We were celebrating an anniversary and birthday. food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and Chez ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and Chez Zee went out of their way to make it festive -- great job!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the menu could use a little updati ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 30, 2016

While the menu could use a little updating, the desserts are top notch and the staff goes all out to make a birthday honoree feel special.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Sharon and her team have created a wonde ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Sharon and her team have created a wonderful and distinctive Austin treasure. We love eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met another couple for dinner at Chez ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We met another couple for dinner at Chez Zee, and had a great time. The food was delicious; the service was great and it's a real fun place to go to and get immersed in the festive decorations and ambiance. It's a bit pricey, but you're partially paying for the experience of being there. There was live piano music the night that we went there, which was a very nice addition to the atmosphere. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Chee Zee is our "go to" destination for ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chee Zee is our "go to" destination for every birthday, anniversary, New Years, etc... Austin has so many trendy, high energy places to eat- I love the ambiance of Chee Zee. Not for everyone- but it fits us to a tee.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love going to Chez Zee. A single ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Always love going to Chez Zee. A single serving of the prime rib which my husband and I split was almost too much for us. Great value. They made me a prickly pear martini which was maybe the best martini I have ever had!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and experience. I only wis ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service and experience. I only wish the reservation notes had been read, as I'd requested a high chair at the time the reservation was made and I had to ask for one again after being shown to the table. Otherwise, great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place, one of our ho to restau ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Love this place, one of our ho to restaurants. Always consistent and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Chez Zee is a cozy, pretty restaurant wi ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Chez Zee is a cozy, pretty restaurant with food that is consistently delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent! The wait staff ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was excellent! The wait staff was superb. Attentive and service to please. The hostess was attentive as well. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fried pickles

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great fried pickles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I enjoy Sunday Brunches at Chez Zee and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I enjoy Sunday Brunches at Chez Zee and there is often a wait. This week, I had a time constraint so I made a reservation in advance. I arrived early, but did not check in until my designated reservation time, only to be handed a pager and had to wait another 20 minutes as the entire waiting area cleared before I was seated.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Chez Zee is always a lovely reminder of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Chez Zee is always a lovely reminder of traditional-untraditional Austin. My food arrived a bit cold this time, but one really can't complain as the local "feel" is always warming.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting menu providing many unique c ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Interesting menu providing many unique choices. Superb bakery creations for dessert. Reasonable prices. Excellent,attentive, informed service without being intrusive. Wonderful ambiance. Package completed by the music of the great James Polk on piano.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon was a little dry, but probabl ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The salmon was a little dry, but probably that was my fault as I ordered it well done. My friend's trout was perfect. Desserts: crème brulee and decadent chocolate cake were generously portioned and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to Chez Zee with a half dozen frien ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Went to Chez Zee with a half dozen friends for a birthday dinner. I ordered a bacon-wrapped filet, which came with mashed potatoes and asparagus, and a caesar salad. Everything was great. The filet was cooked exactly as I ordered it. The other diners were also pleased. Desserts were a big hit--enormous pieces of cake, easily enough for 2 to share. Prices are slightly high, but what one expects when ordering food of this quality. The bill for my wife and me, which included my salad, two entrees, two desserts, and a bottle of wine, was approx $120. Chez Zee also accommodated a diner's food allergy, even to the point of bringing special bread and unseasoned olive oil to the table.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Smoked salmon eggs Benedict was deliciou ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Smoked salmon eggs Benedict was delicious! I usually have the breakfast in bread French toast but wanted something a little lighter. Haven't had a bad meal here yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a great time for our family Sunda ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time for our family Sunday Brunch. We will definitely be back. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stephen took great care of us, & made th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Stephen took great care of us, & made the experience complete!! Food was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee never disappoints. Good food an ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Chez Zee never disappoints. Good food and outstanding service. The desserts are always so good. You can't leave without having one!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our friends were in town from Houston an ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our friends were in town from Houston and Chez Zee never disappoints. Great meal and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking is ridiculous. Food is over pri ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Parking is ridiculous. Food is over priced. Too bready. Need healthy brunch options other than salad. I remember why I don't go there much.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We ordered a special dinner item during ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We ordered a special dinner item during brunch and they prepared it quickly and excellently. So appreciate their going out of the way to make the meal special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Atmosphere. Great food . Most of u ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Atmosphere. Great food . Most of us had fish , which was very tasty. Service personnel were friendly and attentive. Didn't have any problem getting good reservation on Friday night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I loved the online reservation! Thank yo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I loved the online reservation! Thank you so much!!

See you again soon!

Edwina W.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Music great but very noisy! One of my f ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Music great but very noisy! One of my favorites! Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccccccccccccccc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a lovely lunch on the patio. Food wa ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Had a lovely lunch on the patio. Food was excellent, as it always is, with an abundance of choices. Only negative was mosquito bites on our ankles.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Chez Zee is one of the gems in Austin. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Chez Zee is one of the gems in Austin. The decor is classic quiche in many ways. It's a happy place to be. You get smiles and genuine desire to please from the staff. The waiters are pros. They are more than helpful. And people seem to be smiling at the other tables, which is always a clue as to ambiance. Go. It'll become a regular for you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Stephen was an amazing server - the food ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Stephen was an amazing server - the food was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the authenticity of the art deco ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Enjoyed the authenticity of the art deco...great selection of choices. Great bread and mouth watering croissants!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

LOVE Chez Zee! My only issue is the park ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

LOVE Chez Zee! My only issue is the parking, although the complimentary valet is nice.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great neighborhood find! Definite ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Such a great neighborhood find! Definitely worth checking out for a variety of occasions! There seems to be a very large amount of regulars and it was such a good ambiance!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

My parents were meeting my boyfriend's p ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My parents were meeting my boyfriend's parents for the first time and this was the perfect spot! There were enough options on the menu for even the pickiest eaters and the atmosphere was great for a meeting of the parents. The perfect amount of fanciness without being over priced and stuffy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good the service was excell ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was good the service was excellent but the noise level made it difficult for us to hear each other talk. If it weren't for the noise level, I would recommend this restaurant unconditionally for casual dining. But the noise level was such that I would add that the restaurant is noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service, the food was exquisite! We ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service, the food was exquisite! We both had the steak salad and it was absolute the best meat to date!! Tender and seasoned well. The bread and smoky garlic red pepper olive oil adds a robust flavor of yum!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was Leonard and he was VERY a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our server was Leonard and he was VERY attentive all evening for our group of 11 diners.

Our appetizers & entrees were served in a timely manner and everything was delicious.

We have been to Chez Zee numerous times and will continue to come back for special occasions or when we're just not in the mood to cook at home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the fact they have valet parking. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Love the fact they have valet parking. Very extensive selections on the menu, including gluten free pastas.

Food was very good. Service was prompt and people were friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.