About Chez Zee

5406 Balcones Dr.
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

Chez Zee combines a Parisian-style bakery with a casual American-style bistro and offers guests award winning dessert selections. We have an ever-expanding lunch, dinner, and brunch menu, a full bar, as well as a private banquet party room to celebrate special occasions. All desserts are made on-site in our award winning bakery and all entrees are made to order with the best and local ingredients around. We're saving a chair for you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm. Friday: 11am-11pm. Saturday: 9am-11pm. Sunday: 9am-10pm

Cross Street:
2222

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 454-2666

Website:
http://www.chezzee.com/

Entertainment:
Pop Piano and Jazz Standards Monday, Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday mornings.

Catering:
In house private functions for parties of up to 150. Please email events@chezzee.com for event inquiries.

Parking Details:
When you arrive in our parking lot and see numerous cars (sometimes hundreds!!) do not be discouraged. Our complimentary valet will get you taken care of ASAP! If arriving by helicopter or jet, the wait may be just a tad bit longer...

Surface Parking, Self Park, Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Capital Metro Bus #19 stops in front of the restaurant

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chez Zee is THE spot in Austin to celebrate the special moments in people's lives. From New Year's to Christmas, Bar Mitzvahs and weddings to birthdays, come celebrate with us!

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Chez Zee has a complete private dining room with a private patio, sound system, beautiful decor and exquisite American cuisine and service. Chez Zee will gladly accommodate seated parties of up to 100 or cocktail style events up to 150 in The Gallery.

Chez Zee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
American
Austin
5 More
Most Booked
Austin
Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Lunch
Austin
American
Austin
Most Booked
Austin
Best Restaurants in Northwest ›

great for brunch (221)
special occasion (170)
neighborhood gem (167)
See All
great for lunch (148)
good for groups (133)
romantic (108)
fit for foodies (94)
kid-friendly (57)
hot spot (38)
late-night find (33)
great for outdoor dining (26)
notable wine list (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1861 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love to take friends to Chez Zee for l ...

Dined 3 days ago

I love to take friends to Chez Zee for lunch as a way to celebrate special occasions. It's always a treat!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Unique restaurant

Dined 6 days ago

The ambiance was really cool, and the food was good with large portions. Service was not great, but they were accommodating for our party of 7.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for a celebration!

Dined 6 days ago

Seven of us came here to celebrate my daughter's graduation and it was wonderful! Excellent food, cocktails and service. The waitstaff gave us plenty of time and space to enjoy ourselves, while being available to us if we needed anything. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

better brunch food

Dined on May 21, 2016

My main course was pretty pricey and mediocre. I'd say come here again for the brunch or dessert but not the pricey main courses. It's great that you can make a reservation though. Beautiful piano playing and christmas light all over.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As usual great

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service and food is always great, we brought friends who loved it and said they would return. We always expect a great evening when we eat at Chez Zee and have never been let down.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food!

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Always good food!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Vibrant and fun with good food!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and overall a wonderful experience. We went to Sunday brunch at 2:00 - had reservations. Seated immediately, drinks and order taken in a timely fashion. As it was nearing the brunch-dinner switch (i'm assuming) our server didn't refill water or check on us much after our food was delivered. Would definitely go back and recommend to others!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a gem!

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our fifth time going to Che Zee (fourth for brunch). We had made reservations for four, however my daughter came in from college and so we had to ask for a table for five. Without blinking an eye the staff made it happen. Very impressive considering how busy they were. The food was great and our server was fantastic. Our guests from Michigan were very impressed and want to make sure to add this to their agenda on their next visit as well!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch in town!

Dined on May 15, 2016

With a reservation, we were seated immediately. Our server was friendly, helpful and attentive. The brunch was reasonably priced and delicious. The adult beverages were a bit pricey. Valet parking was complimentary. A+++

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service, cold food

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We did not call over a manager, just said it to our waiter, but most of the food we ordered was moderately warm to cold.... the biscuits and gravy were hard and cold... the bacon was cold. My grits were great, as was my egg. But who wants cold biscuits and gravy and cold bacon.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great breakfast . The best pancakes and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great breakfast . The best pancakes and egg Benedict I ever tasted.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch ! Loved that it is gf frien ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great brunch ! Loved that it is gf friendly ! I would recommend the pancakes. The coffee also was amazing. The whole experience with the option of outdoor dining makes you want to come back the next day !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food...all very good! The se ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyed the food...all very good! The service was excellent especially since a mistake was made on my part (placed the reservations for pm instead of am). Yet everyone was so gracious in accommodating us. Thank you for that. Our waitperson Lance was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Was there for Mother's Day dinner. The p ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was there for Mother's Day dinner. The prime rib was cooked perfectly. The sea bass was perfectly flakey. And the pork chop flavorful. Dessert? Of course... Banana cream pie... Yummy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Definite Do Over

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food. Great service. Menu has a great deal of variety. Love the ambience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Mothers Day to Remember

Dined on May 8, 2016

My 91 year old grandmother was dazzled, my mom was impressed and I got to sit back a enjoy the fact that I picked the location for an amazing Mothers Day experience. Food was spectacular and ambience lovely. Piano player was great too! Even my 11 year old son was pleased. I had been previously for a bridal shower and found that experience to be wonderful too! The pork tenderloin with cherry sauce, yummy! The mushroom soup, I would have licked the dish clean had I been in private.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as usual

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been coming to Chez Zee for Mothers Day for 9 years. Always awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to Chez Zee. We enjoyed the food and the ambiance. There was a piano player who played at the appropriate level adding to the overall experience. Our waitress was excellent and was attentive to our needs.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Let me start by saying the food was delicious and the service very good. Unfortunately, they have 3 very small 2-person tables in the room by the kitchen that are too small with almost no room. They are squeezed in so tight, it is very difficult to pull the chair out to sit down. If you get the last table, you are in the corner and one person has to look at 2 walls for the entire meal. Terrible ambiance. On this occasion, we were given the 2nd table but there was no way we could get in one of the chairs because of the person at the adjoining table. We had to move the table over a bit so we could squeeze in the chairs. There wasn't even an inch to spare. Luckily, one of the managers moved us to another 2-person table on the other side of the room. It was still a small table but the area was much roomier. I know they tried to accommodate as many people as possible but being squeezed in doesn't make for an enjoyable event. Once we were moved, my mom and I had a pleasant Mother's Day brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience like usual. We had ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful experience like usual. We had reservations for Mother's Day brunch. Seated right on time. Our server was prompt, polite, courteous. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was great. All around great experience. I had the crab cake eggs Benedict and the eggs were perfectly poached.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Austin Love Chez Zee

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food served with excellent service! Nice music too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers Day OK

Dined on May 7, 2016

We did have a good time. The waitress was pleasant and attentive without being obtrusive. Disappointed in the limited brunch menu but the mothers loved the champagne and cranberry juice cocktail. And, as always, the desserts were outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

great brunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

The creme brulee french toast was awesome. Try it with the rum syrup for something extra special. The bloody marys can be made extra spicy upon request.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place! One of my faves of al ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I love this place! One of my faves of all time! Every time we come to Austin, we make sure to eat here! The service is always great, the food is always delicious, and the desserts and coffee is the perfect finisher!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Frequent Flyer

Dined on May 1, 2016

We usto go to this restaurant MANY times a month in the past. We made a reservation and they sat us down shortly after our arrival time. They were busy during brunch as always. Our appetizer came out around the same time as our meal. They were a bit slow on refilling drinks as well. I love this place but be warned if you go while they are busy. The service was great when they were present. She provided everything we needed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy to hear each other.

Dined on May 1, 2016

I love chezzee and it has been our place for celebrating. Not being able to hear each other when only sixofus was terrible

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Birthday Brunch at Chez Zee

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a great experience at Chez Zee for a birthday brunch with my parents and husband. The food, our waitstaff and the restaurant were all wonderful. The only complaint I would make is that the piano in the dining area was way too loud. I know the volume is not adjustable but it was very difficult for my older parents to hear our conversation and to speak loud enough for us to hear. The dining area was a little small for such a large instrument!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really loud and food depends on Chef Roulette

Dined on April 30, 2016

On the super duper up side, there was a lovely staff person who reacted at lightning speed when my seven year old spilled her lemonade at the table. It was a phenomenal feat, and a wonder that none were soaked. We were able to save the moment with some deft action. Thank you to that person, to whom, I would easily give a five star and extra tip. There was grace and caring by that person. Chez Zee is a beautiful concept, and best reserved when you're not needing an intimate group gathering. The noise is so loud, one almost cannot hear the person next to them, forget about the person on the opposite side of the table. My husband had ordered the Crab Cake Benedict on a more casual outing with our children. The look of dismay on his face and his questioning my 12 year old son if the food looked the same to him, made it evident that a repeat wonder of a favorite dish fell short of the mark. I too ordered a meal based on what I saw a waiter serving another table when I walked in. My plate did not have the same beautiful presentation. It is true that one feels jipped when the presentation is not as expected at the restaurant. That is part of the ambiance and the whole reason to go out is to enjoy the presentation of the food and devour it with utmost relish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre Motown Brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

We arrived a little early for our reservations but had no trouble finding mimosas to sip while we waited for the rest of our group to arrive. Food selected was the whole spectrum...from simple breakfast and omelets, to burgers, and crab cakes. No complaints and several folks took home some for lunch tomorrow. We were also delighted to have our waitress treat us to a sample of the crème brulee French toast. Delightful. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lisa

Dined on April 25, 2016

The best service anywhere I've eaten. Very tentative to 8 women at our table. Fried pickles were great! Everyone liked their entrees. Would prefer smaller portions and lower prices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will be back!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything we had was absolutely delicious. Can't wait to come back to Austin and enjoy Chez Zee again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on April 23, 2016

Found this restaurant by chance. It was awesome. I loved the decor, the lights, the live music. We were celebrating a birthday and the waiter brought the dessert out with a candle and happy birthday written in chocolate on the plate. I just wish they had white Zinfandel on the wine list but otherwise it was fantastic. Plan to go again soon.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An Austin gem

Dined on April 21, 2016

An Austin gem. Good service, quiet atmosphere is great for conversations, excellent food, generous portions. Definitely on both my lunch and dinner list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food, great for a girls night out

Dined on April 20, 2016

I met up with some girlfriends who were in town for dinner and drinks. The menu offered plenty of great options for all of our needs (one is vegan, one is low carb). We started the spinach artichoke dip served with tortilla chips because it was one of the gal's favorites. It was good, just not my cup of tea. The wine was fantastic and our entrees were perfectly prepared and tasty. The dessert was also very delicious...too delicious. I couldn't stop myself from eating it! The server was friendly, and did not bother us--which was fine since we had nowhere else to be. I love this place, it is always great food and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Zee

Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was great and so was the sevice. I was seated immediately which was necessary to prepare for my business lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4

Food was mediocre this evening. Bread wa ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was mediocre this evening. Bread was hard and appetizer size for the price was a huge let down.

food4
ambience4
service3

What brunch food should be. All the usua ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

What brunch food should be. All the usual plus interesting alternatives, all delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love Chez Zee

Dined on April 16, 2016

I love Chez Zee. The food is fantastic. The service is consistently wonderful. The atmosphere is fun...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Appetizers underwhelming. Waited 20 min ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Appetizers underwhelming. Waited 20 minutes for a server outside. Enjoyed the ambiance! Outside is fun! Great first date experience, thanks!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delightful, charming, and satisfying

Dined on April 7, 2016

Chez Zee is a delightful place with lots of cozy nooks, beautiful lighting, often quiet live music in the background -- and always fabulous food. The menu is diverse, exciting, and fun. The food is fantastically tasty. The staff is always super-friendly, attentive, and accommodating. On my last visit, the staff cheerfully accommodated my wife's unusual food allergies, making Chez Zee one of maybe 5 restaurants in Austin where she can eat. I'd recommend Chez Zee to anyone looking for a great and satisfying dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.