About Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square

533 W. New England Ave.
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Located in the artsy area of Hannibal Square in Downtown Winter Park. Enjoy French food in a casual elegant atmosphere for lunch or dinner.Daily fares of Filet Migon, Grouper Provencale & traditional prepared Escargot. Fabulous private wine Cellar for parties up to 30. Perfect for corporate dinners, birthday celebrations or a lunch gathering. Meet your friends for a cocktail before at our beautiful piano lounge Hannibal"s on The Square. Live music Wednesday to Saturday evenings. ****Please let us know in your reservation request if you would like to sit in the Chez Vincent dining room or in Hannibal's lounge dining room****

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 599-2929

Website:
http://www.chezvincent.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Gagliano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Private Dining

Private Wine Cellar can seat up to 30 guests. Hannibal"s On The Square also available for private events.

Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Spectacular menu, great ambiance. Custom ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Spectacular menu, great ambiance. Customer service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre set menu was disappointing. The reg ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Pre set menu was disappointing. The regular menu is so much better. Had we known about ore set menu we wouldn't have gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Enjoyable experience. Friendly staff. W ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyable experience. Friendly staff. Will return again sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome. The Chez Vicent came to our tab ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome. The Chez Vicent came to our table for salute and server delicious liquor .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Finally got to try this great little pla ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Finally got to try this great little place in WP. Disappointed with the food (pre-fix), may try and come back on a normal night and give them a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Valentines day and their special menu ha ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines day and their special menu had no dairy free options. i was miserable but sucked it up for my girlfriend

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Wonderful service, delish food and great ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful service, delish food and great atmosphere. Pricey

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Vincent is an amazing chef who makes his ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Vincent is an amazing chef who makes his guests feel like he is hosting them in his home. The wine list is extensive and Vincent chose a wonderful bottle of red for us. Try the escargot or the cheese plate for an appetizer. We both had seafood (shrimp and corvina) and both were cooked to perfection. Creme brûlée (of course) is the house specialty and did not disappoint. We will be back to Chez Vincent again.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently there for a special birthday ce ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Recently there for a special birthday celebration - the food did not disappoint!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Reasonably quiet, good for normal conver ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Reasonably quiet, good for normal conversation. Food and service was excellent. Piano player/singer was enjoyable and not too loud. Cocktails and wine were excellent and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were wonderful. Th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. The only drawback is that the lighting is so dark that it is hard to read the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went there at 9:30 at night after mak ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went there at 9:30 at night after making a reservation. We went there based on a recommendation that it was very gluten free friendly. The chef didn't want to make any dishes on the menu gluten free because we were the only people in the restaurant. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a lovely lunch. Highly recommend ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had a lovely lunch. Highly recommend the soups. We each tried one and they were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very expensive, poor food quality but go ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very expensive, poor food quality but good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Another consistently great meal at Chez ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Another consistently great meal at Chez Vincent. We have been enjoying Chef Vincent's fine food for nearly 20 years and have never been disappointed. He took a chance on Hannibal Square 19 years ago when it was considered a dangerous neighborhood,blazed a trail for others to follow with the result of Hannibal Square being a fabulous dining and entertainment destination. Best French restaurant in the Orlando area and we can't wait to dine there again.Here's to the next 20 years!!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Vincent always provides an outstand ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Chez Vincent always provides an outstanding dining experience. The menu is varied and the cream of mushroom and the souffle are the best ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 46th anniversary, we both had ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was our 46th anniversary, we both had the mussels and the duck which was delicious.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding experience! We were here for ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Outstanding experience! We were here for Christmas day and it was really special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Christmas dinner for two at a v ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Romantic Christmas dinner for two at a very nice French restaurant in a charming area of Winter Park. Portions are not out of control but just right and very tasty. The shrimp in tarragon sauce is as delicious and the chocolate soufflé was too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First we reserved for Chez Vincent and t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

First we reserved for Chez Vincent and they sat us in Hannibals which is trendy bar atmosphere attached to Chez Vincent. It was nice but we were expecting a quaint dinner in a quiet French restaurant, not a bar. Portions were smaller than expected and the food was midiocre at best. The servers were pleasant but managed to spill the entrees on a guest at our table and knocking over a bottle of wine on another. We are easy going and recognize it was a mistake but we were at least expecting a visit from the manager or owner to apologize, but nothing! We will not return!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Without a doubt, the best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Without a doubt, the best restaurant in Central FLorida. Chef Vincent is a master artist of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall food was good however crepes wer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Overall food was good however crepes were overcooked and service was very slow ...an escargot order was very late. Long after others were served. Not their best day

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

It was a very quiet Monday evening for a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 5, 2016

It was a very quiet Monday evening for a birthday dinner. Great experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chez Vincent's is one of our top go to p ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chez Vincent's is one of our top go to places for special occasions. Every time we take the 50 minute drive to the city, we leave wondering why we don't come here more often. The food is excellent as well as the service. We did not care to much for sitting by the door, but we did get great attention by the whole staff! We went to celebrate my birthday, and will be back again soon. The Scallops were Devine with the tarragon sauce. We always love the escargot in garlic butter. We asked for more bread for dipping up every bit of the goodness.

We were delighted by the chef's visit to our table. Keep doing what you are doing. . . And we will be back over and over!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was looking for something special for th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Was looking for something special for the 'holiday' other than the usual places. Season's 52, Bonefish, Red Lobster etc....Wanted something quiet and romantic. Chez Vincent's was the ideal spot. Great Place in at Hannibal's on the Sq.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mushroom soup was the best I've ever had ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Mushroom soup was the best I've ever had, and the turkey w/port and cranberry sauce (for Thanksgiving) was superb, as was the service. The latter was on par with New Orleans and the finest in European service. We shall return, hopefully soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Restaurant! I would love to go bac ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Restaurant! I would love to go back again! See you soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were disappointed. Food was quite go ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were disappointed. Food was quite good but not exceptional as is usually the case. Only 1 waiter so he wasn't as attentive as usual. We will try it again to see if this was an off night or a change.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a lovely dinner; love the French ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a lovely dinner; love the French atmosphere and menu! The table settings are quite proper w crisp white linens. My husband had the filet medallions and I had grouper in a Grand Marnier sauce that was impeccably prepared. Both delicious! Staff is friendly and the pace is relaxed. This is a great date spot or good option for a business dinner. We will be sure to return soon, thanks!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent a nice evening here with my wife. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Spent a nice evening here with my wife. Food was very good. Ambience was perfect for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Gracious service ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent experience. Gracious service for a party of seven and each praised their food selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the atmosphere and food very muc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere and food very much. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I enjoyed yet another fab ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed yet another fabulous lunch at our favorite french restaurant Chez Vincent. The food was wonderful and showed off Chef Vincent's sensational sauces as always. We have been going to Chez Vincent for years and never disappointed. We were delighted with the newest addition our lovely server Carmen. She was professional, yet warm and friendly, and very knowledgeable about wine, all making for a relaxed leisurely lunch we truly enjoyed. Carmen is a true gem and a welcome asset to Chez Vincent!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. I had the escargot and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was amazing. I had the escargot and my fiancé had the French onion soup as an appetizer. Both were phenomenal. The fresh hot bread was great as well. We were deciding between two bottles of Bordeaux and our server recommended another popular choice and it was wonderful. Although we didn't have very "French" entrees, they were delicious anyway. I had the gruyere BLT and he had the sundried tomato stuffed burger. Both came with amazing delicious seasoned potatoes. The restaurant was clean and had a great atmosphere. Definitely going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez Vincent is a place we like to go fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Chez Vincent is a place we like to go for a nice date night. The wine list is awesome and the food is great. The escargot appetizer is my favorite. Love the French White Burgundy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was average - my fish was over ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was average - my fish was over cooked and the bread was very ordinary. I would not return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was excellent. The waiter was F ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent. The waiter was French & very charming. I will be going back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great decision! Looking for a pla ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a great decision! Looking for a place to meet a friend visiting from out of town and I thought back to the beautiful venue and expertly mixed cocktails. Hannibal's on the Square is an outstanding choice! Will makes perfect drinks, Katie was an excellent server, and the chef knocked our socks off with delicious food. It's a must try! We're glad we decided to have dinner and not just cocktails. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THE best French restaurant in Orlando/Wi ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2016

THE best French restaurant in Orlando/Winter Park. This is quickly becoming our go to "date night" for my husband and myself due to beautiful ambiance, great food and personalized service which includes a kiss on the check by the owner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went the day after Hurricane Matthew. N ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Went the day after Hurricane Matthew. Not surprisingly, not busy. Quality of the food was very good. We had filet and lamb. Ordered medium rare, both came medium. A for taste, C- for prep.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.