About Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square

533 W. New England Ave.
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Located in the artsy area of Hannibal Square in Downtown Winter Park. Enjoy French food in a casual elegant atmosphere for lunch or dinner.Daily fares of Filet Migon, Grouper Provencale & traditional prepared Escargot. Fabulous private wine Cellar for parties up to 30. Perfect for corporate dinners, birthday celebrations or a lunch gathering. Meet your friends for a cocktail before at our beautiful piano lounge Hannibal"s on The Square. Live music Wednesday to Saturday evenings. ****Please let us know in your reservation request if you would like to sit in the Chez Vincent dining room or in Hannibal's lounge dining room****

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 599-2929

Website:
http://www.chezvincent.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Gagliano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Gingerbread martini
  • Martini
Gingerbread martini
Martini

Private Dining

Private Wine Cellar can seat up to 30 guests. Hannibal"s On The Square also available for private events.

Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Notable Wine List (18)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great table! Great food! Great service! ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great table! Great food! Great service! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stuffy atmosphere and the only good dish ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Stuffy atmosphere and the only good dish was thr Ahi tuna. Everything wlse was subpar. Will not eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

My friend & l came for Magical Dining & ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

My friend & l came for Magical Dining & ran into other friends. The staff was happy to put our tables together & accommodate our unexpected fun evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We greatly enjoyed chez Vincent It was ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We greatly enjoyed chez Vincent It was our first time and the magical dining was phenomenal. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was absolutely terrible. The groupe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was absolutely terrible. The grouper was fishy tasting and the sauce had no flavor. The coq au vin was flavorless. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

We chose Chez Vincent's because we've ne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We chose Chez Vincent's because we've never eaten at an authentic French restaurant, and the price was affordable, as they participated in Magic Dining. The prix fixe menu offered an appetizer, entre and dessert for $33.00. I tried escargot. Delicious sauce. All our food was excellent, especially the sauces that accompanied each course. The regular menu prices are probably fair for really good food, but we'll have to wait for another Magic Dining session.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was good, food was good, really ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Service was good, food was good, really quiet, attractive decor

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first visit to Chez Vincent ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

This was our first visit to Chez Vincent and we tried it because of the Magical Dining special. The service was GREAT. We ordered salmon and grouper. The grouper was fishy and we had to return it to the kitchen and get the salmon. The salmon was very tasty and absolutely delicious. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and soft music.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal. We tried it during Orlan ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent meal. We tried it during Orlando magical dining month. They had a wine pairing option which we opted for.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my time at Chez Vincent ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I really enjoyed my time at Chez Vincent, the food was delicious, the staff were friendly. The wine pairings with the food were really well done, overall it was a really enjoyable experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Definitely not a "magical dining" experi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Definitely not a "magical dining" experience. Food was mediocre and the portions were very small. We were rushed through the meal even though the restaurant was not crowded. The service was below par. This restaurant is definitely not on our list of fine dining!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

My roommate and I went this past weekend ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My roommate and I went this past weekend for Magical Dining. It kills me to leave this review because I was SO excited beforehand about this restaurant, but it was not what I had expected. At all. Immediately walking in you can see that there's no hostess/waiting area, so you essentially have to flatten yourself against the wall because you're trying to stay out of the staffs way. We had a reservation at 8pm and still had to wait for the table, but they were busy so it's understandable. The real issue was the service and the food. Our waitress acted like she'd rather shoot herself in the face than be working there. I had to ask twice for the wine list, which is odd for a French restaurant. I ordered the pork tenderloin with the country Dijon sauce, escargot, and the creme brûlée. Escargot was great, I'll give them that. I ordered a second helping but when I asked the waitress where they got them from she looked at me like I had three heads and said she had no idea. Why doesn't she know where the food she serves comes from? I found that a little odd too. The pork tenderloin was mushy and cold in the middle and the sauce looked like it had been thrown up onto the plate by a drunk guy rather than a chef spooning it on. It was everywhere. They threw some random veggies and a little lump of cold mashed potatoes onto the plate as well. My creme brûlée was also cold, my roommates was lukewarm. I'm not sure why everything except the escargot was so cold? It's like they had set everything up hours ago and let it sit on the counter until someone ordered it later that night.

So, needless to say, I won't be coming back or recommending Chez Vincent's to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Many small slip-ups in service, such as ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Many small slip-ups in service, such as not bringing us the wine list as requested, then coming back to take orders.

Food was less than expected. My wife and I order different entrees, but they looked the same, sauce was the same and sides were the same. Bland. We were disappointed as they did a very good job with a party we held there a few years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Band too loud. Could not talk at our tab ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Band too loud. Could not talk at our table without yelling. Get rid of the band. If I want to go to a bar, I will go to a bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Escargot and salmon were overcooked, the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Escargot and salmon were overcooked, the bread and dessert were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Had a lovely meal in a lovely atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Had a lovely meal in a lovely atmosphere. Enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely terrible customer service and ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Absolutely terrible customer service and extremely disappointing. Brought my parents for dinner after hearing so many wonderful things. Took 5 minutes to be greeted and sat with a reservation. Took 10 mins for a server to finally come to the table and bring our menu's, he merely dropped them off, was rude and never returned! We waited 15 mins for him to come back...needless to say we didn't stick around to find out how much worse our service could get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We did the magical dining with the wine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We did the magical dining with the wine pairing and it was all so very good. Authentic French cuisine with an excellent wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for magical dining to support a cau ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Went for magical dining to support a cause. We have never been there and thought it would be a great way to try the restaurant and see if we would come back.

Ordered the chicken and it was fall off the bone, but should have said bone in chicken on the menu. The sides that came with it were cold and seemed as though they were made a few days ago. The onion soup came out and burnt mine and my friends entire mouth (still recovering from the burn a few days later). My boyfriend wasn't very satisfied with his fish entree - there wasn't much of a flavor to it. The creme brûlée was the best thing out of the experience.

The one thing that bothered me was I made a reservation on OpenTable, gave them my name and they didn't have it down when I told it to the person. Some guy in a blue shirt came by and whispered something and said put them over there (in the corner of the restaurant) even though the restaurant was practically empty. I felt as though our party of 6 were treated differently for any of numerous reasons.

I wouldn't go back or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We went to celebrate out anniversary dur ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went to celebrate out anniversary during the Magical Dining and we definitely enjoyed ourselves and the food was great. We enjoyed the escargot so much we ordered a second one. The French onion soup was fantastic as was my goat cheese salad. For entrees we got the pork and grouper. Both were very good....but I liked my grouper better. Looking forward to going there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Magical Dining experience was outsta ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Magical Dining experience was outstanding and the food was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were disappointed in the fish (suppos ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were disappointed in the fish (supposedly grouper, but probably tilapia) and the service was spotty. The coq au vin was really dry. Took forever to get bread, never got the glass of wine I ordered, just an overall disappointment. Plus the temperature in the restaurant was very warm and made the meal uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

I made a reservation for Chez Vincent. W ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I made a reservation for Chez Vincent. We were seated in the bar area which was very noisy. The service was poor. Our deserts were brought without silverware. We waited 15 minutes for menus. We waited longer then expected for our food. The amount of food was tiny. My slice of cake was a sliver. The entrees were OK but small.

While we were eating, entertainment started in the bar right next to out table. We could not talk to each other without yelling.

All in all a bad experience. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

This was a great find. It was worth the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was a great find. It was worth the money. The waiters were very friendly and dressed well.

I loved the "curtain rods" LOL. The velvet seats were so elegant.

AIHI tuna was the best. I will return.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took part in Orlando's Magical Dining ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We took part in Orlando's Magical Dining month with Chez Vincent as our first choice to kick off the month of dining. Our table was ready right away. We chose the wine pairing fixed menu at $55 each instead of the regular $33. This was the best idea as the glasses were very small serving and didn't last through each course. Both my husband and I had the Escargot as an appetizer. They were really well prepared and we enjoyed them. For our entrees my husband had the Grouper and I had the Coq Au Vin. The grouper was okay and not really anything special. The chicken was well prepared with a tasty sauce. Both entrees were served with green beans and carrots as sides. They weren't very impressive and seemed like an after thought. For dessert we ordered the 3 layer chocolate cake. This was the big disappointment. Our 3 layer cake was sliced super thin and seemed like they were trying to conserve cake or were running out during the evening. Overall, everything was okay. It was our first visit to Chez Vincent and I can't imagine us craving to return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great restaurant! Along with two friends ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great restaurant! Along with two friends my wife and I went to Chez Vincent to experience the Magical Dining program. We selected the menu with wine pairing and we thought Vincent did a good job pairing wines with his food. I had the pork, which was a little too done but tasty. My wife had the Coq Au Vin and it was a little too dry as well. Overall, we enjoyed our dining experience. The Chef-owned restaurant offers good food at a reasonable price. It is a different experience, which everyone should experience at least once. Portions were a little too small and I suggest increasing them by 20% or so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best French restaurant in Orange County.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Best French restaurant in Orange County.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT FOOD, GREAT VALUE, GREAT SERVICE! ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

GREAT FOOD, GREAT VALUE, GREAT SERVICE! WOULD RECOMMEND FOR ANY OCCASION

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to seat ourselves, which is unusu ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had to seat ourselves, which is unusual; then my party was not asked if we wanted anything to eat or drink, no menu brought to us, we waited 45 minutes. Food and drinks were being served around us. We got up and left due to lack of service. Was there to see a friends' live music show, but won't be returning for personal outing.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food!! Our only real complaint wa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food!! Our only real complaint was that we were trying it because of the magical dining and the portions were literally for kids under 5. The chocolate cake was so thin that if you put a quarter under it, you could tell if it was heads or tails. I ate when we got home, which you shouldn't have to do after going out to eat. We try and eat at as many different places for magical dining and have seen small portions which is understandable I suppose but this place took the cake (literally).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

My fish had a few bones... Just a little ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My fish had a few bones... Just a little off from the quality of Chez Vincent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Chez Vincent/Hannibals is a staple in Wi ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Chez Vincent/Hannibals is a staple in Winter Park. My friends and I visit it often, usually going to Hannibals, the bar/bistro side, for drinks, light bites and to listen to music and dance.

This visit we went to experience the Magical Dining Month in Orlando. We at in the Bistro, had a great corner table by the window. The setting was elegant and great for people watching.

The food was delicious, however, the kitchen must've been overwhelmed as it took about 30 minutes to get our first course and about 20-30 minutes between each course. We were asked if we wanted anything else and we hadn't yet had our third course. It seemed we had about 3 different waiters which may have contributed to the problem.

Our drinks were comped due to the wait which was very nice of them and also an appropriate gester all things considered.

One of our favorite places and we will certainly go back!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Dancing, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I had reservations for 2 that were not h ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had reservations for 2 that were not honored. Host blamed open table and said it happens all the time. Showed him my email confirmation and that open table showed openings later that night. Host was indifferent at best. There were at least 3 open tables while I was standing there. When I arrived there seemed to be 3 groups of people waiting. No one was being helped. The host seemed overwhelmed by that small number. No apology or accommodation was offered. Very disappointed. Was looking forward to their magical dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Mushroom soup outstanding. Salmon entree ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Mushroom soup outstanding. Salmon entree perfectly prepared. The owner/chef comes around often, a nice touch that makes you feel appreciated.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to this restaurant for magical d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We went to this restaurant for magical dining for a birthday dinner. I have found over the last 3 years that I won't be getting the magical dining menu in the future. The food is not as good since they are offering a deal. As for this meal one of the reasons we chose the restaurant was for the menu which was offering grouper. We are very experienced with fish and knew right away the fish they served as grouper was not grouper. I understand not being able to serve grouper due to the price but don't put it one the menu. They had other nice choices which we would have chosen had we known that we would be served a fish like tilapia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, great experience! Would ret ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, great experience! Would return for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter dropped a Knife on my back should ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Waiter dropped a Knife on my back shoulder and staining my dress shirt. The Chocolate soufflé was not fully cooked and we had to wait 20 mins after they picked up our main course dishes. The soufflé was ordered 65 minutes prior to receiving it when the waiter stated 30-40 mins to cook since it takes time to make. The service quality was just okay, not happy with overall experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Very nice restaurant. Service was friend ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Service was friendly and professional. The scallops were great. Nice, extensive wine list.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

while I love going to Hannibal Square an ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

while I love going to Hannibal Square and trying each restaurant this one is a let down. It was our anniversary so we wanted to go some where quite, romantic which yes this setting is nice. However, they did not care when ask are you celebrating anything today and we told them yes our anniversary, and for a manager or the chef not to come by when there are only 2 other tables in the restaurant that have guests. Soup, we started with French onion, give it a 4 out of 10. Nothing different here then any other one we've had. Dinner I ordered the Lamb shank the flavor was good but, the meat was not tendor, other places it falls off the bone here I had to rip and cut to get it off the bone. wife ordered the filet with peppercorn sauce, the sauce was good, but quality of meat poor, very chewy to be a filet. Dessert, we ordered 2 Soufflés. one black berry which the berry tasted as they were frozen then puraid to the sauce, I ordered the one same tasted processed. over all for the full meal bottle of wine and dessert just didn't get the wow factor. Other French restaurants blow this out of the water. I should have gone to Café de France on Park Ave. we have been there and that is amazing 10 out of 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Good,but not great French food ,rather e ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good,but not great French food ,rather expensive, a once a year place when you have so many excellent restaurants in winter park. Good parking

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.