Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square

Located in the artsy area of Hannibal Square in Downtown Winter Park. Enjoy French food in a casual elegant atmosphere for lunch or dinner.Daily fares of Filet Migon, Grouper Provencale & traditional prepared Escargot. Fabulous private wine Cellar for parties up to 30. Perfect for corporate dinners, birthday celebrations or a lunch gathering. Meet your friends for a cocktail before at our beautiful piano lounge Hannibal"s on The Square. Live music Wednesday to Saturday evenings. ****Please let us know in your reservation request if you would like to sit in the Chez Vincent dining room or in Hannibal's lounge dining room****

533 W. New England Ave.
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 599-2929

Website:
http://www.chezvincent.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Gagliano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Private Dining

Private Wine Cellar can seat up to 30 guests. Hannibal"s On The Square also available for private events.

Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Authentic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed escargots as our appetizer and creme brûlée for dessert. For our main course, I had the grouper in Grand Marnier sauce and she enjoyed her salmon in a raspberry and sherry reduction. Our server was attentive and helped us with our dining decisions. The wine list was extensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Entrees were great server was good! The creme brulee was ok. We had a reservation for two but they put us next to the piano performer... the performer is great lovely man but we could not talk at all! It was my wife's birthday and we could not talk much!. The neighbors on the next table were complaining too. I would suggest that the performer sings a couple of songs and takes a break leaving more time for people to have a conversation. I think i would like to come back but if I get the same table I will ask for a table change

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excited to finally try this restaurant after hearing about it over the years. Went there for the magical dining menu and was not disappointed but underwhelmed with the food. Nice cozy layout and great ambiance. Service was good and thoughtful. Unsure if the underwhelming food was due to the magical dining but the food came out rather quickly as if it was already prepped and waiting. The French onion soup had good flavor but was served in a glass bowl. The soup also looked a mess and didn't show the prototypical cheesy crust you would expect. I was super excited to try the coq au vin as it's one of my favorite dishes. The chicken was good but lacking some seasoning and the wine reduction sauce not as flavorful as it should of been. The dessert I had was underwhelming but my dates creme brûlée was very good. Not bad overall but I would rather go to another French restaurant if given the choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The service and food here is wonderful…Beef Filet cooked to our request with a light sauce, tender vegetables served creatively and a large fluffy mound of mashed potatoes. The appetizer of escargot in puff pastry was delightfully delicate. The Creme Brulée excellent as well as the chocolate crepe. Server took an extra moment to select a cabernet and chardonnay glass of wine based on our description of what we usually like…perfect. Always dependably French!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a lovely experience. The food was delicious and the wine pairings also enjoyable. Service was also exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were seated and then ignored for some time. Seemed the waiter was more interested in his appointment book than serving dinners. When he finally attended us it went very well. Must have been an off night?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I visited this restaurant last year for magical dining and the flavor of the food was amazing. I could not stop raving about it. This year the food was very bland. I had to add salt to my meal, which I never do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. The atmosphere was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Dinner was fabulous. My reason for only giving 3 stars for service came at the very end. My friend and I requested that our leftovers be boxed up. We were very disappointed that they only boxed up the protein. So instead of having a great lunch the next day with all the leftovers, all we had was the meat. Please ask next time if we want everything boxed up. I would sure appreciate it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 29, 2017

As always we enjoyed our evening at Chez Vincent. The food was delicious and the presentation was great.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 26, 2017

cute little place just enough off the beaten path of Park St in Winter Park - food was great, very extensive wine list, service was top notch as well. peeked into Hannibal's which is attached to Chez Vincent - had live music and looked like fun.....next time...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I were so excited to kick start the Magical dining month with a new place, especially a French restaurant because it reminded of our time spent in Paris before kids. We usually make at least 6-8 Magical dining reservations each season/year to try new places/dishes with friends & family. We selected the Ahi Tuna first course, Blackened Grouper Grand Mariner seared with a Grand Marnier sauce and the Saumon au Framboises
poached salmon with a raspberry & sherry sauce, all amazing. Friendly staff, but it felt very rushed. We were asked repeatedly how our food and wine tasted after each course was delivered before we actually got a chance to taste it! We were only there an hour , about to finish up when one of the staff said to a new couple walking through the door, while gesturing at us, (I'm paraphrasing) "we aren't ready for you because they are still at your reserved table". Needless to say we left very abruptly and went elsewhere to continue our date. Wow! Not exactly the experience I was expecting , but will not allow it to rain on the rest of the magical foodie celebration season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding customer service from all owner, waitress and the bar staff .... must check it out ... truly a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were given a gift certificate by our children and thoroughly enjoyed our "date" night. Food was delicious (best French Onion soup I"ve ever had) and service was very good! We both got different fish dinners and sample each others plates. Neither of us could decide who had the better meal as they were both exceptional! It is a place we wouldn't have normally gone to as I'm not usually a fan of French food, but I believe I've changed my mind since my meal and dessert at Chez Vincent! It was definitely a wonderful experience and we will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had a great experience. The food, as always, was great, and our server, Tomas was attentive and very pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Salty food and poor service. Our entrees tasted like they were TV dinners.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Whenever we eat at Chez Vincent (we like to start with a drink at the Hannibal's bar, but we always dine on the Chez Vincent side), we expect a delicious meal. We're never disappointed, and we're always pleasantly surprised by some small touch - it could be the way the evening's special throws a twist on a traditional French recipe, or a great conversation with the chef, or a discovery that we love espresso creme brulee..or all three!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very good French cuisine, an outstanding wine list and quick, friendly service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food and wonderful service! Great place to meet the colleagues for drinks or for some fine dining. Menu may be limited, but has a great variety that should accommodate most anyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was a tail of two meals. My wife and I are new to the city and decided to check out Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square for a date night. When we arrive, we were able to seat ourselves wherever since the restaurant was very open for 7:45 on a Friday night. Our server was nice and enticed us with the specials of the evening. The dessert for the evening was a chocolate soufflé, which I ordered for myself to give them plenty of time to prepare it. We had escargot as an appetizer, and a couple of glasses of wine. I ordered the Filet with a peppercorn sauce and the scallops while my wife ordered the Degustation.....a selection of offered entrées w/ coordinating sauces from the land, which included Rack of Lamb, Chicken Paupiette, Tenderloin of Pork, Filet Mignon, & Free Range Venison. This is the point where our experiences diverge, my food was prepared perfectly, where as my wife's meal was a bit of a train wreck. The chicken and venison were overcooked, and the filet, lamb and venison were poorly trimmed and full of sliver skin, so bad actually she couldn't even cut through the lamb with her steak knife. Our server was MIA after the food was delivered so we were unable to complain in a timely fashion, and when he came back to clear our table, my wife informed him of the way the food was brought out. To which he politely thanked her for her input. That's it. Now we expected to have the chef or manager visit us at this point...nope, no one. But the Chef did visit the table next to us while we were having our appetizer, so it does apparently happen. After a few minute, my soufflé arrived, but our waiter never asked if my wife wanted dessert. He made an incorrect assumption. He apologize and took her order of Apple Tarte Tatin. Again, her's was poorly executed. The apples were great, but the pastry was rubbery, like it was microwaved. The waiter comped her dessert, but all & all, this was way too expensive a meal for this type of experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent French fare with an amazingly quaint and elegant atmosphere. One of the best brunches I've had in Orlando. No wonder thus place has so many awards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I have never had a bad meal here. We keep coming back because it's so lovely to have a bit of France in our menu. The French Onion Soup - oh yeah - and their veal is noteworthy. Love that the bartender made my drink exactly as I asked, and we had a great wine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food and service are always exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Chef Vincent was wonderful as we celebrated our anniversary this past Tuesday. However, our server never put our order in for our appetizer of frog legs. This was THE item we were looking forward to until we decided on entree. We also felt rushed by our server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Started with a horrible waiter, manager took over our table.

Food was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chez Vincent is our favorite French restaurant. Followed Chez Vincent from Cafe de France as a chef to opening his own restaurant many years ago. Never disappointed with the quality taste of his creations. My kids enjoy eating at Chez Vincent too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is very good. I would visit again for the food quality; however, I will stay away because of the service and smell of sewer. The occasion was Mother's Day. The server rushed us at every opportunity regardless that they were not full. She worked other stations forgetting to bring drinks we ordered. Finally, at the end of the meal there was a strong smell of sewer. When we mentioned it the server just stated it was normal and happens frequently. Probably will not return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service is not of an upscale restaurants - Food during Mother's Day was cold and need better pastry chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The decor was wonderfully French, as was the service. The menu looked delicious, but the waiter was unable to be of much assistance with food allergies. I settled on an omelet, my friends in the party had the eggs benedict. The food was fair, not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Chez Vincent is reliably good every time. We especially enjoy talking to the chef during our visit. I think it speaks well of a restaurant when the chef makes a personal appearance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great service, incredible food, and a lovely night for my date and myself. I'd definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Chez Vincent offers impeccable service and excellent food. The wine selection is superb as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had a delightful server. The food was wonderful! Their wine list is very extensive. Overall great quality.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First, I was not informed of the fixed priced menu. $35.00 was quite steep for salad or soup, a tiny, tiny piece of salmon/veggies and only 2 choices of dessert.
Second, my friend was not informed of the wine choice she had asked for, that is was unavailable and it was 30 minutes later before the server told her.
Third, I brought a bottle of champagne for my sister's birthday and the corkage fee was $25.00. WOW....
Overall not a great experience for Easter brunch/birthday. Very disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Chez Vincent's is always great....our recent visit was exceptional!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We went on a weeknight. It was quiet. We were glad. The soups were extraordinary. Service was attentive and professional.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent French food. The seafood stood out. Very good service in a cute atmosphere. Don't pass on the dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everything about Chez Vincent was great. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly, and the food was outstanding. I highly suggest the apple soufle for dessert... it was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Drove from Davenport to try this restaurant. Nice ambiance and authentic decor. Menu had excellent choice for both apps and mains. Food was excellent. Service was prompt and courteous. Value much better than similar restaurants on I- Drive. If you are looking for French at,osphere and food this is worth the drive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.