About Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square

533 W. New England Ave.
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Located in the artsy area of Hannibal Square in Downtown Winter Park. Enjoy French food in a casual elegant atmosphere for lunch or dinner.Daily fares of Filet Migon, Grouper Provencale & traditional prepared Escargot. Fabulous private wine Cellar for parties up to 30. Perfect for corporate dinners, birthday celebrations or a lunch gathering. Meet your friends for a cocktail before at our beautiful piano lounge Hannibal"s on The Square. Live music Wednesday to Saturday evenings. ****Please let us know in your reservation request if you would like to sit in the Chez Vincent dining room or in Hannibal's lounge dining room****

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 599-2929

Website:
http://www.chezvincent.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Gagliano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Gingerbread martini - Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square, Winter Park, FL
  • Martini - Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square, Winter Park, FL
Gingerbread martini - Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square, Winter Park, FL
Martini - Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square, Winter Park, FL

Private Dining

Private Wine Cellar can seat up to 30 guests. Hannibal"s On The Square also available for private events.

Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
Live Music (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chez Vincent's is one of our top go to p ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chez Vincent's is one of our top go to places for special occasions. Every time we take the 50 minute drive to the city, we leave wondering why we don't come here more often. The food is excellent as well as the service. We did not care to much for sitting by the door, but we did get great attention by the whole staff! We went to celebrate my birthday, and will be back again soon. The Scallops were Devine with the tarragon sauce. We always love the escargot in garlic butter. We asked for more bread for dipping up every bit of the goodness.

We were delighted by the chef's visit to our table. Keep doing what you are doing. . . And we will be back over and over!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was looking for something special for th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Was looking for something special for the 'holiday' other than the usual places. Season's 52, Bonefish, Red Lobster etc....Wanted something quiet and romantic. Chez Vincent's was the ideal spot. Great Place in at Hannibal's on the Sq.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mushroom soup was the best I've ever had ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Mushroom soup was the best I've ever had, and the turkey w/port and cranberry sauce (for Thanksgiving) was superb, as was the service. The latter was on par with New Orleans and the finest in European service. We shall return, hopefully soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Restaurant! I would love to go bac ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Restaurant! I would love to go back again! See you soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were disappointed. Food was quite go ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were disappointed. Food was quite good but not exceptional as is usually the case. Only 1 waiter so he wasn't as attentive as usual. We will try it again to see if this was an off night or a change.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a lovely dinner; love the French ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a lovely dinner; love the French atmosphere and menu! The table settings are quite proper w crisp white linens. My husband had the filet medallions and I had grouper in a Grand Marnier sauce that was impeccably prepared. Both delicious! Staff is friendly and the pace is relaxed. This is a great date spot or good option for a business dinner. We will be sure to return soon, thanks!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent a nice evening here with my wife. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Spent a nice evening here with my wife. Food was very good. Ambience was perfect for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Gracious service ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent experience. Gracious service for a party of seven and each praised their food selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the atmosphere and food very muc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere and food very much. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I enjoyed yet another fab ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed yet another fabulous lunch at our favorite french restaurant Chez Vincent. The food was wonderful and showed off Chef Vincent's sensational sauces as always. We have been going to Chez Vincent for years and never disappointed. We were delighted with the newest addition our lovely server Carmen. She was professional, yet warm and friendly, and very knowledgeable about wine, all making for a relaxed leisurely lunch we truly enjoyed. Carmen is a true gem and a welcome asset to Chez Vincent!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. I had the escargot and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was amazing. I had the escargot and my fiancé had the French onion soup as an appetizer. Both were phenomenal. The fresh hot bread was great as well. We were deciding between two bottles of Bordeaux and our server recommended another popular choice and it was wonderful. Although we didn't have very "French" entrees, they were delicious anyway. I had the gruyere BLT and he had the sundried tomato stuffed burger. Both came with amazing delicious seasoned potatoes. The restaurant was clean and had a great atmosphere. Definitely going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez Vincent is a place we like to go fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Chez Vincent is a place we like to go for a nice date night. The wine list is awesome and the food is great. The escargot appetizer is my favorite. Love the French White Burgundy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was average - my fish was over ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was average - my fish was over cooked and the bread was very ordinary. I would not return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was excellent. The waiter was F ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent. The waiter was French & very charming. I will be going back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great decision! Looking for a pla ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a great decision! Looking for a place to meet a friend visiting from out of town and I thought back to the beautiful venue and expertly mixed cocktails. Hannibal's on the Square is an outstanding choice! Will makes perfect drinks, Katie was an excellent server, and the chef knocked our socks off with delicious food. It's a must try! We're glad we decided to have dinner and not just cocktails. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THE best French restaurant in Orlando/Wi ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2016

THE best French restaurant in Orlando/Winter Park. This is quickly becoming our go to "date night" for my husband and myself due to beautiful ambiance, great food and personalized service which includes a kiss on the check by the owner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went the day after Hurricane Matthew. N ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Went the day after Hurricane Matthew. Not surprisingly, not busy. Quality of the food was very good. We had filet and lamb. Ordered medium rare, both came medium. A for taste, C- for prep.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I was disappointed, I invited friends to ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was disappointed, I invited friends to have a great French meal and it was mediocre at best. We had to ask for the bread when our salads were served, we than received cold bread that was sliced paper thin which was falling apart (a mess). The Blackened Grouper was a broiled frozen grouper filet with a sauce poured over it, nothing blackened, and tasteless, accompanied by unidentifiable cabbage. The pork was shredded and smeared across the plate. Our waiter was very nice and his excuse for the food was that they had a private party in the cellar.

I have been to Chez Vincent in the past and it was always good French food and service, the meal we received was not worth the drive across town.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was amazing. From appetizer th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was amazing. From appetizer through dessert. It was so good I am returning with another friend so she can see how wonderful it is.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Main dining room is cramped, table behin ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Main dining room is cramped, table behind me, guests were bumping into my chair constantly.

Although the food was good, my expectations were higher. Ordered the French onion soup, which you would think would represent quality in a French cusine, was bland. Portion sizes extremely small.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We always enjoy Chez Vincent and go seve ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We always enjoy Chez Vincent and go several times a year. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. The food is amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't waste your money!! Looks can be ve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Don't waste your money!! Looks can be very deceiving! Beautiful place, great jazz trio makes a very pleasant place, but.... As soon as we stepped at the door, we saw that this place would be very disappointing... They just left us waiting for a long time until someone came and ask if we had a reservation. We reserved it trough Open Table but they could not find it. A very small table was offered to us right next to the jazz trio, but it was not ready to seat and we spent 10 more minutes waiting for them to clean the table. It was so small and uncomfortable that every time the bass player would move, he would hit my chair or the table (not his fault, it was just so tight). The onion soup looked like dirt water, no flavour and very thin. The grouper was ok, but the sauce tasted terrible. Rice and vegetables that came with it had no seasoning at all. The chocolate cake tasted like it came from a box. My husband ordered the bavaroise and it was simply awful!

I really wonder how this kind of place manage to make money. Maybe that's because people accept to have bad food just because they are in a good environment... Priorities...

Tags: Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The only complaint was that the chairs w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The only complaint was that the chairs were too comfortable! I wanted to curl up and sleep instead of eat! Everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Magical dining, though this ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We went for Magical dining, though this is our third time here. We wish we would have had the young French waiter, as in the past, as he was soooo professional & knowledgeable. I'm not sure if our server was distracted, or treated us differently as we were using a select menu? He was good, but we did have to wait for assistance/another drink, & the courses came out too quickly. The food here never disappoints. My husband's grouper entree was very small portion though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great experience,would go back.Service ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great experience,would go back.Service was amazing and food was exceptional .

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I went during Magical Dinin ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A friend and I went during Magical Dining season, and I couldn't believe the plush seats at the table we were given-- we felt like royalty! My friend & I chose different items from each course, so we could sample a variety of menu items, and none of them disappointed! The piano music added to the pleasant atmosphere. Great food--and a wonderful experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Tables very close together. Your 'neighb ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Tables very close together. Your 'neighbor ' can hear everything. Not best for a date night...

Also, very warm inside restaurant- actually sweating while eating inside - not so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

This is the best restaurant meal I have ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This is the best restaurant meal I have had in Central Florida in YEARS! Absolutely outstanding cuisine, ambience, and service. I cannot wait to go back!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really, really good French Onion Soup, b ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Really, really good French Onion Soup, but everything else was average to below average - as if it were from a box. The grouper with Grand Marnier was sliced so thin I still am not sure it wasn't flounder, and the glaze was practically flavorless. Too bad, because after that perfect soup I was anticipating a wonderful meal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We enjoyed it. (We don't get out much.) ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We enjoyed it. (We don't get out much.) But honestly, we cook much better at home. Bread was stale. Snails ordinary but good. Pork tenderloin not tender, but tasty. Coq au vin was delicious. Creme brulee ordinary. (Ours is better.) Chocolate cake good but not special.

My wife loved the French waiter's accent. Sheesh!

We would have been happier with the value if we could have brought our own wine for an uncorking charge. This was not allowed.

So with only one glass each, the $33 per person for two came to $125 with tip. Not a great value.

But fun and enjoyable anyway. Maybe I need French lessons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Our dinner was outstanding and the servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding and the service was excellent. Will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great table! Great food! Great service! ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great table! Great food! Great service! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stuffy atmosphere and the only good dish ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Stuffy atmosphere and the only good dish was thr Ahi tuna. Everything wlse was subpar. Will not eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

My friend & l came for Magical Dining & ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 22, 2016

My friend & l came for Magical Dining & ran into other friends. The staff was happy to put our tables together & accommodate our unexpected fun evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We greatly enjoyed chez Vincent It was ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We greatly enjoyed chez Vincent It was our first time and the magical dining was phenomenal. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was absolutely terrible. The groupe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was absolutely terrible. The grouper was fishy tasting and the sauce had no flavor. The coq au vin was flavorless. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

The food was disappointing for this cali ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The food was disappointing for this caliber of restaurant. They have really scaled back the quality of their ingredients for the magical dining pre fixed menu. We told the waitress at the end of our meal that it was a disappointment, and she insisted that we speak with the manager, who never showed up to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

We chose Chez Vincent's because we've ne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We chose Chez Vincent's because we've never eaten at an authentic French restaurant, and the price was affordable, as they participated in Magic Dining. The prix fixe menu offered an appetizer, entre and dessert for $33.00. I tried escargot. Delicious sauce. All our food was excellent, especially the sauces that accompanied each course. The regular menu prices are probably fair for really good food, but we'll have to wait for another Magic Dining session.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was good, food was good, really ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Service was good, food was good, really quiet, attractive decor

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first visit to Chez Vincent ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 19, 2016

This was our first visit to Chez Vincent and we tried it because of the Magical Dining special. The service was GREAT. We ordered salmon and grouper. The grouper was fishy and we had to return it to the kitchen and get the salmon. The salmon was very tasty and absolutely delicious. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and soft music.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.