About Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square

533 W. New England Ave.
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Located in the artsy area of Hannibal Square in Downtown Winter Park. Enjoy French food in a casual elegant atmosphere for lunch or dinner.Daily fares of Filet Migon, Grouper Provencale & traditional prepared Escargot. Fabulous private wine Cellar for parties up to 30. Perfect for corporate dinners, birthday celebrations or a lunch gathering. Meet your friends for a cocktail before at our beautiful piano lounge Hannibal"s on The Square. Live music Wednesday to Saturday evenings. ****Please let us know in your reservation request if you would like to sit in the Chez Vincent dining room or in Hannibal's lounge dining room****

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 599-2929

Website:
http://www.chezvincent.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Gagliano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Gingerbread martini
  • Martini
Gingerbread martini
Martini

Private Dining

Private Wine Cellar can seat up to 30 guests. Hannibal"s On The Square also available for private events.

Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Orlando
Best Restaurants in Winter Park ›

romantic (17)
special occasion (16)
neighborhood gem (11)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
notable wine list (7)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
good for groups (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good,but not great French food ,rather e ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good,but not great French food ,rather expensive, a once a year place when you have so many excellent restaurants in winter park. Good parking

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Small intimate restaurant with very good ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Small intimate restaurant with very good. I love going to Chez Vincent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was raw, almost. Presentation was a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was raw, almost. Presentation was atrocious. The chef should spend more time in the kitchen rather than out front serving his customers port from a tacky Eiffel Tower container.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Ambience was wonderful and loved the mus ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ambience was wonderful and loved the music. The food was good but not superb. The service was excellent, very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I love Chez Vincent and H ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I love Chez Vincent and Hannibals. The owner makes an effort to personally come say hello and the wait staff is incredibly service oriented as well as friendly. They made my birthday celebration memorable!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening from beginning to end. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful evening from beginning to end. The server was extremely helpful with wine and menu selections. After our delicious meal our group went into the bar to enjoy the live music . A very fun evening!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The bar, the food, the service and the setting are second to none! Everything on the menu is top notch. Definitely try the frog legs, the escargot (in Garlic Butter) and the Duck. Absolutely fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish was prepared with care very d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Every dish was prepared with care very delicious. Service was attentive without being overbearing. Very interesting wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing meal and outstanding s ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Always an amazing meal and outstanding service. Always go out on a business dinner there when we're in Orlando on business

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We felt like we were in France again (where we lived for 20 years). Authentic atmosphere and food as a charming French waiter as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice meal, ambience not what we wanted.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Celebrating college graduation of our son and daughter. Made a reservation for Chez Vincent but we were seated on the Hannibal side. Very noisy particularly after the band started. Band was good but we wanted a quiet meal where we could have conversation. Day before Mother's Day so I expect seating on Chez Vincent side was filled due to that but we had a reservation. . . Food was very good as always and service was good though busy dealing with large crowd.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Drowning in sauce

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Well prepared food however the sauces were flooding the plate and not necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Special quiet night

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We went on a Thursday, when it was less crowded. The service was just right! The recommendations were spot on. We had just enough attention, but left to a quiet romantic dinner.

We had the duck and filet. Both were in credible! I highly recommend a visit! They even politely waited as my date and I stayed and enjoyed our time! Thank you.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A French Favorite

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Went to Chez Vinent to celebrate my birthday. It was fantastic ! The lamb with blue cheese sauce was prefect. The lamb was so tender and the sauce was rich and creamy. I had the frog legs for an appetizer. They were the best I have ever had. I would highly recommend Chez Vincent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had anything less than a deli ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I've never had anything less than a delicious meal at Chez Vincent's. I can't say that about many restaurants. Our Easter lunch was yummy!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CRITIQUE

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

ESCARGOT EXCELLENT, WINE GOOD, SERVICE AVERAGE, OVER ALL EXPERIENCE UNDER WHELMING AND ORDINARY. WILL NOT COME BACK AS IT IS OVER PRICED ON TOP OF IT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Attentive professional service in a quie ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Attentive professional service in a quiet elegant atmosphere enjoying deliciously prepared food with no pretensions. Duck Breast was elegant said guest; Steak au poivre wonderful, said husband; snails and vegetables perfect said I. And all agreed the chocolate soufflé was best ever had and we've tried many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Way to spend an evening

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

I've been here several times before. Always expect the best food and the best service and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, great location and the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was amazing, great location and there is a bar with live Jazz music on one side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good!

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Well all I can say is this is I have a great meal and wine everytime I have lunch in Winter Park!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum Yum

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

As always we had a very good lunch. I can't wait to go again soon. The wine was also very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new standard for French Cuisine

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

It was my wife's birthday; and, we had never tried this quaint spot on New England Avenue’s Hannibal Square.

To start, we ordered a nice sauterne with seared foie gras, which was perfectly seared and served with an excellent reduction and toast points, which we enjoyed with a sweet sauterne.

My wife chose the rack of lamb, and, I had the loin of venison. Both were cooked perfectly, served with piped mashed potatoes, baby vegetables, and cabbage. The food was cooked perfectly.

I chose the excellent Chateau Picque Caillou from Graves in Bordeaux, a blend of 50% merlot and 50% cabernet sauvignon.

For dessert, we had the crème brulé, and an exceptional cheese platter.

Throughout the meal, the service was superb; and, well coordinated with the bar. We will be back; and, maybe even if it's not a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No better place for a truly upscale lunc ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

No better place for a truly upscale lunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in the food for the Valenti ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Disappointed in the food for the Valentines celebration. Limited pre fix menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Consistently excellent

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

We have been going to Chez Vincent since it opened 19 years ago. The food is always excellent and service professional. It's also nice that the owner/chef takes time to greet diners when time permits.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Decided to try this restaurant on Christmas night. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced! The service was amazing. Would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tres Bon

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

We enjoyed lunch at our favorite French Restaurant in Winter Park...the location is so charming it is like taking a staycation trip to France without the airfare. You can smell how wonderful the food is as soon as you walk in the door...the aroma of the sauces cooking is sensational. The Chicken Crepe and Trout Almondine were fabulous as always . Remy our server was delightful in every way...a nice addition to the restaurant. He recommended the espresso chocolate souffle and we are so glad he did....pure heaven. We are looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The restaurant was full-probably to show support for Paris but the wait staff were very attentive, taking the time to show my younger daughter how to fold her napkin just so. The french onion soup was delicious as was the scallops-super large and juicy! Cannot wait to go back again soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Chez Vincent review

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Food and service were outstanding! Wine list has a little bit of everything.

Will make a return visit. Chef stopped by our table - nice touch!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful anniversary dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Our server was wonderful, and I believe French. The escargot was delicious, the filet mignon au poivre was awesome, as were the sea scallops in a tarragon sauce. The only real complaint we had was the bread. I really expected warm, fresh french bread. What we got seemed like something bought from the grocery store and left over from lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Disappointed Beyond Belief

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

I had been to Hannibal's before & enjoyed it but this time the service was poor; especially when you walk in & the hostess tells you that there is your table by pointing & you can seat yourself, the food was inedible & the only thing I truly enjoyed was the music by the piano player David Witte who made the night worthwhile!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Nice atmosphere BUT:

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

We were seated right away in Hannibals where we liked the ambiance and the room temperature much better. Pace of service was a bit slow and they conveniently were out of the less expensive wine that we picked out. The escargot came out quickly and was delicious but our dinners took over 45 min to come out; I know that good food takes time. Before my brother ordered, we specifically told them to not put any peas on his plate or near his food as he is deathly allergic but then someone else brought out the plates and there were peas on it! This was the kitchen's fault as we saw the waiter write it down in a big note! Everything was pretty tasty but not sure it was worth the price. There was a pianist providing nice dinner music and took requests. I'd go back for drinks or dessert but probably not dinner.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Long time favorite

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Always a good experience at Chez Vincent. The food is always good to great. The service is solid but not spectacular. The wine list is substantial but a bit overpriced. Lunch on a Saturday is a peaceful and relaxing experience

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Disappointed

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

This is the first time I have been to this restaurant when there was no one else there for lunch. It was a little eerie. I was disappointed in what I ordered. The young man who waited on us was very good but I'm not sure I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Special Occasion or Just Because

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

A classy, romantic restaurant with very good food and excellent service. I can't believe I had never eaten here. The ambiance was "special occasion" but the prices were "just because". Service was attentive, yet not overbearing and management was engaged with the guests. We had the nightly prix fixe which was flavorful and well presented.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely evening

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

Reservation was promptly handled. Food was excellent, service was attentive and wine list was extensive. Lovely special evening for my wife's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez Vincent

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

We have always had great food, great wine, and great service. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Winter Park restaurant away from the crowds!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

Alas, this was the last night of Magical Dining 2015. We actually ordered off the regular menu. The rack of lamb with blue cheese sauce was delectable. The sauce wasn't too thick and the lamb was cooked to perfection. I also had the garlic escargot. We warned the waiter that we would need extra bread to dip and he made a separate trip just to check our supply. One of my companions had the filet and said it was delicious. The other person had duck and after having a bite I can say it was (just as expected) great. The portions were perfect and service top notch.

We were very pleased and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Magical dining failure

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

I came for my birthday & tried the magical dining menu, my salad was delicious but our main courses were so spicy that we had to send them back to the kitchen it was so disappointing as I'd had my heart set on that dish, the table next to us also sent their food back so it wasn't just me, French food has never been spicy to my knowledge, the desert was also a let down with the creme brûlée being so warm that it was like jello underneath the top that peeled off in one piece not crispy like it should be. I guess you have to pay the big bucks to get the good food there. A meal for me doesn't matter how much it costs as long as I feel I got an experience that covered my cost & Chez Vincent $33 for 3 courses was a massive overcharge, our server wasn't even bothered that we didn't enjoy the food & I have had many many better magical dining experiences at other places in the past. My birthday was a complete flop. Very disappointing, I've already told all my foodie friends to give this place a miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Food was good (not great).

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

I expected better. Waiter pointed to our table (vs. seating us). Sauces on entrees seemed off as far as presentation went. The rest of the plate looked nice-this looked maybe rushed-it was weird. Went for magical dining but doubt I'd go back-didn't find it worth the price (even for magical dining). Don't get me wrong, it was good but it was lacking something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.