About Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square

533 W. New England Ave.
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Located in the artsy area of Hannibal Square in Downtown Winter Park. Enjoy French food in a casual elegant atmosphere for lunch or dinner.Daily fares of Filet Migon, Grouper Provencale & traditional prepared Escargot. Fabulous private wine Cellar for parties up to 30. Perfect for corporate dinners, birthday celebrations or a lunch gathering. Meet your friends for a cocktail before at our beautiful piano lounge Hannibal"s on The Square. Live music Wednesday to Saturday evenings. ****Please let us know in your reservation request if you would like to sit in the Chez Vincent dining room or in Hannibal's lounge dining room****

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 599-2929

Website:
http://www.chezvincent.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Gagliano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Private Wine Cellar can seat up to 30 guests. Hannibal"s On The Square also available for private events.

Chez Vincent & Hannibal's on the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (13)
special occasion (13)
romantic (11)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
good for groups (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice meal, ambience not what we wanted.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Celebrating college graduation of our son and daughter. Made a reservation for Chez Vincent but we were seated on the Hannibal side. Very noisy particularly after the band started. Band was good but we wanted a quiet meal where we could have conversation. Day before Mother's Day so I expect seating on Chez Vincent side was filled due to that but we had a reservation. . . Food was very good as always and service was good though busy dealing with large crowd.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Drowning in sauce

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Well prepared food however the sauces were flooding the plate and not necessary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special quiet night

Dined on March 31, 2016

We went on a Thursday, when it was less crowded. The service was just right! The recommendations were spot on. We had just enough attention, but left to a quiet romantic dinner. We had the duck and filet. Both were in credible! I highly recommend a visit! They even politely waited as my date and I stayed and enjoyed our time! Thank you.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A French Favorite

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Went to Chez Vinent to celebrate my birthday. It was fantastic ! The lamb with blue cheese sauce was prefect. The lamb was so tender and the sauce was rich and creamy. I had the frog legs for an appetizer. They were the best I have ever had. I would highly recommend Chez Vincent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had anything less than a deli ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I've never had anything less than a delicious meal at Chez Vincent's. I can't say that about many restaurants. Our Easter lunch was yummy!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

CRITIQUE

Dined on March 27, 2016

ESCARGOT EXCELLENT, WINE GOOD, SERVICE AVERAGE, OVER ALL EXPERIENCE UNDER WHELMING AND ORDINARY. WILL NOT COME BACK AS IT IS OVER PRICED ON TOP OF IT

food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive professional service in a quie ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Attentive professional service in a quiet elegant atmosphere enjoying deliciously prepared food with no pretensions. Duck Breast was elegant said guest; Steak au poivre wonderful, said husband; snails and vegetables perfect said I. And all agreed the chocolate soufflé was best ever had and we've tried many.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Way to spend an evening

Dined on March 22, 2016

I've been here several times before. Always expect the best food and the best service and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing, great location and the ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was amazing, great location and there is a bar with live Jazz music on one side.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Good!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Well all I can say is this is I have a great meal and wine everytime I have lunch in Winter Park!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum Yum

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

As always we had a very good lunch. I can't wait to go again soon. The wine was also very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new standard for French Cuisine

Dined on February 22, 2016

It was my wife's birthday; and, we had never tried this quaint spot on New England Avenue’s Hannibal Square. To start, we ordered a nice sauterne with seared foie gras, which was perfectly seared and served with an excellent reduction and toast points, which we enjoyed with a sweet sauterne. My wife chose the rack of lamb, and, I had the loin of venison. Both were cooked perfectly, served with piped mashed potatoes, baby vegetables, and cabbage. The food was cooked perfectly. I chose the excellent Chateau Picque Caillou from Graves in Bordeaux, a blend of 50% merlot and 50% cabernet sauvignon. For dessert, we had the crème brulé, and an exceptional cheese platter. Throughout the meal, the service was superb; and, well coordinated with the bar. We will be back; and, maybe even if it's not a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

No better place for a truly upscale lunc ...

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

No better place for a truly upscale lunch!!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed in the food for the Valenti ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Disappointed in the food for the Valentines celebration. Limited pre fix menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently excellent

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

We have been going to Chez Vincent since it opened 19 years ago. The food is always excellent and service professional. It's also nice that the owner/chef takes time to greet diners when time permits.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic!

Dined on December 25, 2015

Decided to try this restaurant on Christmas night. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced! The service was amazing. Would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tres Bon

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

We enjoyed lunch at our favorite French Restaurant in Winter Park...the location is so charming it is like taking a staycation trip to France without the airfare. You can smell how wonderful the food is as soon as you walk in the door...the aroma of the sauces cooking is sensational. The Chicken Crepe and Trout Almondine were fabulous as always . Remy our server was delightful in every way...a nice addition to the restaurant. He recommended the espresso chocolate souffle and we are so glad he did....pure heaven. We are looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Experience!

Dined on November 15, 2015

The restaurant was full-probably to show support for Paris but the wait staff were very attentive, taking the time to show my younger daughter how to fold her napkin just so. The french onion soup was delicious as was the scallops-super large and juicy! Cannot wait to go back again soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez Vincent review

Dined on October 17, 2015

Food and service were outstanding! Wine list has a little bit of everything. Will make a return visit. Chef stopped by our table - nice touch!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Wonderful anniversary dinner

Dined on October 11, 2015

Our server was wonderful, and I believe French. The escargot was delicious, the filet mignon au poivre was awesome, as were the sea scallops in a tarragon sauce. The only real complaint we had was the bread. I really expected warm, fresh french bread. What we got seemed like something bought from the grocery store and left over from lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2

Disappointed Beyond Belief

Dined on October 10, 2015

I had been to Hannibal's before & enjoyed it but this time the service was poor; especially when you walk in & the hostess tells you that there is your table by pointing & you can seat yourself, the food was inedible & the only thing I truly enjoyed was the music by the piano player David Witte who made the night worthwhile!!

food4
ambience5
service4

Nice atmosphere BUT:

Dined on October 10, 2015

We were seated right away in Hannibals where we liked the ambiance and the room temperature much better. Pace of service was a bit slow and they conveniently were out of the less expensive wine that we picked out. The escargot came out quickly and was delicious but our dinners took over 45 min to come out; I know that good food takes time. Before my brother ordered, we specifically told them to not put any peas on his plate or near his food as he is deathly allergic but then someone else brought out the plates and there were peas on it! This was the kitchen's fault as we saw the waiter write it down in a big note! Everything was pretty tasty but not sure it was worth the price. There was a pianist providing nice dinner music and took requests. I'd go back for drinks or dessert but probably not dinner.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Long time favorite

Dined on October 3, 2015

Always a good experience at Chez Vincent. The food is always good to great. The service is solid but not spectacular. The wine list is substantial but a bit overpriced. Lunch on a Saturday is a peaceful and relaxing experience

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

Disappointed

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

This is the first time I have been to this restaurant when there was no one else there for lunch. It was a little eerie. I was disappointed in what I ordered. The young man who waited on us was very good but I'm not sure I would go back again.

food4
ambience4
service5

Special Occasion or Just Because

vip
Dined on October 1, 2015

A classy, romantic restaurant with very good food and excellent service. I can't believe I had never eaten here. The ambiance was "special occasion" but the prices were "just because". Service was attentive, yet not overbearing and management was engaged with the guests. We had the nightly prix fixe which was flavorful and well presented.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening

Dined on September 30, 2015

Reservation was promptly handled. Food was excellent, service was attentive and wine list was extensive. Lovely special evening for my wife's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chez Vincent

Dined on September 30, 2015

We have always had great food, great wine, and great service. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Winter Park restaurant away from the crowds!

Dined on September 30, 2015

Alas, this was the last night of Magical Dining 2015. We actually ordered off the regular menu. The rack of lamb with blue cheese sauce was delectable. The sauce wasn't too thick and the lamb was cooked to perfection. I also had the garlic escargot. We warned the waiter that we would need extra bread to dip and he made a separate trip just to check our supply. One of my companions had the filet and said it was delicious. The other person had duck and after having a bite I can say it was (just as expected) great. The portions were perfect and service top notch. We were very pleased and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2

Magical dining failure

Dined on September 29, 2015

I came for my birthday & tried the magical dining menu, my salad was delicious but our main courses were so spicy that we had to send them back to the kitchen it was so disappointing as I'd had my heart set on that dish, the table next to us also sent their food back so it wasn't just me, French food has never been spicy to my knowledge, the desert was also a let down with the creme brûlée being so warm that it was like jello underneath the top that peeled off in one piece not crispy like it should be. I guess you have to pay the big bucks to get the good food there. A meal for me doesn't matter how much it costs as long as I feel I got an experience that covered my cost & Chez Vincent $33 for 3 courses was a massive overcharge, our server wasn't even bothered that we didn't enjoy the food & I have had many many better magical dining experiences at other places in the past. My birthday was a complete flop. Very disappointing, I've already told all my foodie friends to give this place a miss.

food3
ambience2
service3

Food was good (not great).

Dined on September 27, 2015

I expected better. Waiter pointed to our table (vs. seating us). Sauces on entrees seemed off as far as presentation went. The rest of the plate looked nice-this looked maybe rushed-it was weird. Went for magical dining but doubt I'd go back-didn't find it worth the price (even for magical dining). Don't get me wrong, it was good but it was lacking something.

food4
ambience4
service4

Fit for French Foodies

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

Great location! Good food and good service...we will be back👏

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3

Food was really bad for the price we paid.

Dined on September 19, 2015

We got the Salmon and Filet Mignon. Neither the Salmon nor the Filet were good. Both entrees were accompanied by the same FROZEN veggies. I felt I was eating a piece of paper instead of real food. We also got a very tiny dessert. At least the taste there was good, though the size was minimal. Definitely will never return there. I can eat at Les Chef de France way much better food for even less money.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time there, and we lo ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

This was our first time there, and we love the ambience we love the people very casual very good experience

food4
ambience2
service2

Unmet expectations

Dined on September 16, 2015

We were disappointed in your service because 1 table was not set properly 2waiters served men before ladies 3 Cabernet was served cold 4 dished were taken before we finished 5 loose floor board under my chair moved every 6time someone walked by . Expected more from a "fine Restaurant"

food3
ambience1
service4

Chez Vincentian Hannibal sq is NOT a fin ...

Dined on September 15, 2015

Chez Vincentian Hannibal sq is NOT a fine dining restaurant. Dining area choices include a small, noisy, warm dining/bar area with tightly packed tables served by a waiter and bartender or a large, quite, comfortable bar/ lounge area served by the bartender. We choose the bar/lounge. Bartender did his best in taking our order and delivering the food. French onion soup was good. My wife's petit grouper was drenched in a brown sauce. A big kick after a bite. My chicken was OK. What really impressed was how thin the kitchen was able to slice the cake! Magical dining was not so magical

food5
ambience3
service4

Chez Vincent puts the "Magical" in Magical Dining

Dined on September 12, 2015

My boyfriend and I had come on our second visit to Chez Vincent to meet friends for magical dining and it was just that. The menu was fantastic and the service was just as great. The venue was a little warm and the restaurant full, but the noise level was fairly quiet. The wine list was superb as I had the Loveblock Sauvignon Blanc to go with my grouper ending with the best creme brulee that I have had in the Orlando area. After dinner, the chef himself stopped by our table to introduce himself and offer us a delicious shot (poured right out of the Eiffel tower). It was a pleasant evening and we look to return in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1

There service was horrendous and they ra ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

There service was horrendous and they ran out of a lot of items

food5
ambience2
service2

Too Hot, Too Noisy, Too Crowded..Great Food

Dined on September 12, 2015

Took the family here for my 22nd Anniversay. We arrived 15 mins early for our reservation but didn't get seated till almost 30mins after the reservation time. Even then they wanted to sit us in Hannibal's vs Chez Vincent. They then wanted to sit us outside. In retrospect I should have gone with that cause it was cooler outside then in the resturant itself. If they have AC. IT'S BROKEN! as I was perspiring the entire time it was so hot. Service only got better AFTER we purchased the 2nd bottle of wine and they saw we were going to spend a little (in my opinion) They food was great and for that I am glad we went. The salmon made my son cry it was so good. The grouper was great. The Coq au vin inspired me and the one I made Sunday came out better. Overall, great food but not worth going back. It just didn't live up to my expectations for the event I was bringing my family there.

food2
ambience2
service3

Not too impressive for French cuisine. ...

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

Not too impressive for French cuisine. Not kids friendly atmosphere.

food1
ambience4
service1

Horrible. If I could give the food and s ...

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

Horrible. If I could give the food and service less than one star I would. Our waiter was trying his best but they were severely understaffed. We waited forever for everything. Food was not worth the wait. My dinner companion had the crab cake which was basically raw dough wrapped around a piece of crab sitting in a lukewarm puddle of Italian dressing. His grouper "filet" was blackened (not specified on the menu) and was pieces of multiple filets scattered on the plate. My dinner was a bit better but definitely not worth the wait. We were served incorrect entrees as well, which led to longer waits. Avoid at all costs.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.